Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 4/23
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

4.4
562 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Scenic View
  • Neighborhood Gem
Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 463-0368
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Severin Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 562 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, great service, beautiful view of the lake.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Birthday dinner foods were great. Service excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We still miss the Harbor location but will always return because of the great food and staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

It was a special occassion for my son and I. He was thrilled to have the opportunity to try the sword steak and he enjoyed it immensely. Additionally and very rarely is Manhatten claim chowder offered, so a real treat for us too. The waitress was so attentive and apologetic for drinks arriving after a slight wait but I felt there was no need for the apology since they arrived in goodtime. The view of Murray Lake was a nice touch to a great meal. We will be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Everyone was very friendly and the food was very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I have been dining at a Anthony's Fish Grotto since the 70's. Although I do not live in San Diego anymore, my wife and I usually go there once a year for a mini-vacation. This time we went to see the Padres vs Giants game. We were disappointed to learn that Anthony's by the bay had closed down. That was our favorite spot to dine.
This time we visited La Mesa Anthony's which happened to be right next to the Best Western we were staying in. How convenient! I had Alaskan Cod which for some reason was not the best cod I have eaten. It had a different kind of sauce which maybe had something to do with the taste. I asked for some tarter sauce and that made it more palatable.
Overall, we enjoyed dining there. The lake view was great and we watched as people dining outside brought their dogs. How cool, a eating place to bring you pet!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

My husband and I were visiting from Texas and this restaurant was recommended to us. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and will return next time we’re back in San Diego.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We were on the patio, which was so pretty. I think it has inspired my brother to make himself a shady outdoor area with flowers and comfy seating! The waitresses and busboys very attentive and no request is a problem. A lovely place to sit and catch up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We had a delightful time sitting outdoors along the Lake. There was plenty of shade, sun if you wanted. We were entertained by the fountains of water, numerous kinds of ducks swimming about, and light playing on the plants. Our food was superb, and we had a very nice wine, and drink list to choose from. The staff was pleasant, and welcoming. We felt very well taken care of, so we had a very memorable experience for our mother's 98th Birthday. She even received a Birthday card with all the staffs names, wishing her a Happy Birthday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

As always the food was delicious and the service excellent! It’s why it’s a favorite of mine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

My parents remembered this restaurant from their first trip to San Diego 32 years ago. They were raving about how wonderful the atmosphere was so went back again this week. They had so many good things to say - great atmosphere, good food, and server was friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Family birthday dinner. Requested outdoor seating. A little cool but provided blankets. Our server, Omar was great. He accommodated the pace of our ordering beverages and food items. Assisted our 5 year old grandson with duck food. Our meals were great and timely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Our first experience with Anthony's was when they had their location on the pier in San Diego - so delicious we went back 2 nights in a row for dinner with our family while traveling in the area. The La Mesa location was worth the drive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We both had the seafood Cobb salad. We were offered blue cheese dressing which seems an odd choice for seafood, we went with Louie. It’s not really a Cobb salad, the seafood was salmon, albacore, and bay shrimp. Our server Rachel didn’t pester us but did always seem to show up just as we needed something! Try to get a window seat!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We have been going to Anthony’s forever. This time we were almost disappointed in some of the dishes. The calamari appetizer was poor, while presented nicely, the breading was not very good. The fish and chips were excellent, as always. The breading on the sole was very salty while the vegetables were done perfectly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Our first time to this Anthony’s. We loved sitting in a booth overlooking the lake. Our food and wine was delicious. We hope to come again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Normally I would give Anthony’s a much higher rating. Perhaps it was an off night...Monday.
The waitress was just ok. Never checked on how we were enjoying the meal until the end. My daughter and I had the fish kabobs, from the light menu. The fish was way over cooked, and the baked potato barely warm. My grandson had the pasta on the kids menu, and it was very bland. My husband had the fish and shrimp dinner which he said was great.
It was my daughter’s birthday, and they did give her a free dessert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The Food was average at best and not worth the price. Not much flavor and the fried fish was soggy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

This is the first time we've been to this location since the one closed in San Diego. The water view was very nice with ducks and fountains. The food was excellent, just like the old location. I love their coleslaw! The battered fish was great also.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Anthony's never fails to please! The setting with views over the lake, ducks paddling, fountains shooting sprays of water - and of course I had to get their fish and chips! Options available - veg instead of fries, green salad instead of coleslaw. My son enjoyed his snapper. Quick service since traffic made us 30 min late - very accommodating! I'd go back all the time - except we're up in VISTA!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at Anthony's La Mesa. The food was excellent. We met with manager Mr. Craig Ghio of the Ghio family and had an interesting discussion of the restaurant business in an San Diego. I expect all the seafood is top grade. The fish and chips were the best I have ever eaten! And I mean not only the fish, but also the french fries and the famous coleslaw. Mr. Ghio explained how he sources his product with particular detail. We have overlooked this gem for too long. We are going back soon.

John & Elizabeth Wilkie
San Carlos

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 13, 2018

We eat there regularly and the poor service was really abnormal. We will give another chance but this experience was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

We really missed the pier location and decided to take the short drive to La Mesa. What a pleasant surprise! It doesn’t have an ocean view but it does sit on a beautiful little and a quaint charm of an established restaurant! The food is the same high quality and the pineapple coleslaw we loved at the pier location. Overall, a great experience and we’ll be back every trip to San Diego!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was excellent but food and menu selections were very disappointing. Sadly, mediocre at best. Setting was nice. Expected better than average seafood... Not worth a repeat visit.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Waitress asked us what side my wife wanted with her salad, which confused us as to why a salad would come with a side. It didn't come with one and we were charged for something we didn't want. Food was dated, I just wanted some grilled fish. All they had was fish covered in sauce. The aforementioned salad was shredded iceberg lettuce pressed into a bowl with shrimp crab and avocado. Wasn't worth the price we paid for it. Stomach didn't feel right shortly after eating either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Excellent as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The place, the food and our waiter were great! except the girl that setup out table just threw our silverware on the table, a set thrown on a plate, and one set was thrown directly on the table and the rest on the actual napkin. She must have been in a rush but we were already sitting down so we thought that was disturbing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We enjoyed Anthony’s and recommend it, but I think "Open Table" forgot to mention to Anthony’s that our reservation was a double anniversary celebration, because we had to wait 15 min for a window table to open up for us at 5:15 at night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Liked everything about the experience except the surcharge. Found it a slap in the face.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

I have been going to Anthony's La Mesa since the mid 1950's, so I know to count of it for things you want a restaurant to be. Food is good, service and environment can't be beat. Ours was a lunch meal, but dinners are just as nice. Reservations recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

My friends were visiting from Oregon and we had a leisurely lunch right by the window. The fresh fish was excellently prepared and our server was very polite and attentive. They thoroughly enjoyed themselves and it was quiet so we could easily converse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Delicious & fun as always!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Today was my mother's birthday. I reserved for a party of 8 people that morning. We were guided to our seat by Anthony's hostess in an seating area that was breathtaking. We were immediately greeted by our waitress, Annette. The menu selection and everyone's meals were delicious and memorable! We had a wonderful here at Anthony's La Mesa. Thank you for all of your staff's services.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

As always, Anthony’s didn’t disappoint. Great food & friendly, accommodating service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food and service outstanding!
We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food and service were great! Sure miss the downtown location too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Anthony's is ALWAYS a win/win situation. Fish is fresh & delicious!! My husband LOVES that the fries are gluten free!! Annette, our server, was d'lightful. All 4 of us loved our meals. It's boring to always write the same review....but Anthony's is always good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2018

The restaurant has a lot going for it. Our food was very good. The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable which we needed as we rarely order fish. The atmosphere was excellent. They have a beautiful large pond right behind the restaurant. Our seats were right next to it. They had ducks and fish in the pond. Very georgeous and unexpected but so wonderful to see. They also had outdoor tables with many customers eating outside. I also like the walkway out side which lead to another parking lot besides the one right on front of the restaurant. We know we are going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

La comida deliciosa, como siempre.
Excelente servicio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Great service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15