About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (43)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
See All
Casual (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Waterfront (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Authentic (14)
Romantic (13)
Historic (12)
Disabled Access (12)
Family Style (11)
Healthy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fireplace (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter was exceptionally good. Food was great an overall nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

A quiet, comfortable setting.
The staff are very nice & welcoming, they pay attention to your needs in great detail.
The seafood is fresh and very delicious.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

As always it was delicious. Our waitress was outstanding, my husband loves to tease and she gave back as good as she got which made the evening even more fun. I am sorry I don't remember her name but she was wonderful Our reservations were for 6 PM Sat. night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Everyone raved about their meal. The service and our waitress was the best ever!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Even though it was kind of busy, our server did a great job of keeping up with our needs. He was helpful and pleasant. The food was good, as usual. Their fish is always fresh, and I like the variety of the Shore Combo with 3 different types of fish. We also like the cole slaw with the pineapple dressing and their red-skinned mashed potatoes are tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food, great service, and complete with a nice view of their private lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We celebrated mother's day. Upon arrival hostess told us we would have to wait 45mins even though we had reservations. Ended up with a table 20mins later aftet i complained to the manager. Food was OK, soup was not hot, coconut shrimp we ordered had no flavor, barely any coconut, along with cold frys. A little pricey plus a 4% surcharge to our bill for unknown reason. Not sure if we'll go back.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very disapolnting! We checked in before our reservation time but after an hour wait I went up to them and they couldn't find our name. They then set us where I had requested not to sit, right next to a door so we were cold everytime anyone went in or out of the patio. All in all it was a very disappointing mothers day dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our "reservation" was for 12:15. It is not a reservation. It is priority seating. After waiting 30 minutes, we were still 3rd on the list. Unacceptable. We left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was inattentive and food quality and portion was below expectations for price. Will not return or recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Reservation did not get us a table. Still needed to wait 30 minutes.
Food and service were very good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Anthony's has been around for as long as I can remember, and it's always been one of the best places in town for a seafood dinner. Whether you want crab, lobster, shrimp, or just a good old fashioned fish & chips plate, you can find it here.

The decor is definitely... well, let's just say it reminds me of the Disneyland submarine ride from the 60's or 70's. But that's part of the place's charm. I love to sit by the window and watch the ducks on the lake while the family has dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great restaurant, great view of the lake, and very reasonable price for quality food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We loved everything from the start. Staff was amazing especially the manger and Ricardo our waiter, everyone was super nice and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The view is just lovely. Dog friendly patio also lovely. Bocce area too cute. Attentive service if not always accurate.
It's old fashioned and a bit blue haired but nice for lunch. The coleslaw has a nice pineapple tang. The fresh seafood counter is very expensive.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I host my 2 longtime friends every third month for our monthly lunch and Anthony's La Mesa is my choice. I like the choices on the menu as well as the ambiance. The staff are friendly and very efficient.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were celebrating our 40th anniversary with our son. My son and i are amateur chefs and enjoy good food. The service was excellent and the food was great. We had appetizers and meals finishing with a shared hot fudge sundae. Thank you, our special day was a little more special at your restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants to go to in San Diego. Great fresh seafood accompanied with a wonderful atmosphere. The pecan crusted fish was a bit bland this time but it was still good.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love the waterfall on the lake in the back. Beautiful views. Had a difficult time getting waited on. A new employee brought us bread, and no one came to take our drink order or food order. Servers just kept walking past. Finally I said is there a server for this table. The manager came over appolized. The servers thought someone was taking care because the bread was on the table. Policy is not to put bread on table till you take order. The manager gave us a free dessert. Yummy mud pie. Love when management cares, and doesn't blame the victim.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I have been going to Anthony's since I was a child when they were located across the street from the old airport. Always good food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Even with a reservation we had a 10 minute wait. One entree that was subpar was the skewer. The fish had a lot of dark meat in it and the diner found it inedible. The diners who had the fish and chips and crab salad said their meals were satisfactory.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have always gone to Anthony's at the embarcadero, and were heartbroken when they closed. It was such a delight to discover La Mesa. We loved the ambiance. the water view is wonderful, and watching the ducks was great fun. We bought a gift certificate for some friends and they went the next day. They loved it as much as we did.

We will be back many times. We are so glad that you are there. The inside Grotto decor is so welcoming.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My Mother and I took a dear family friend for her 95th birthday dinner. She choose Anthony's as her favorite place. The food was excellent, as we anticipated.
Service was ok. We got our salads and food timely, but then it got busy and we were left waiting for drinks , to go boxes, and the check. A few minutes I don't mind, but this was much longer than it should have been.
Overall though, a most pleasurable celebration for us.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I love lobster but haven't had any for 25 years. This was a special occasion, my 70th B-day, and it seems that everyone on staff knew it and greeted me. Greer was a very special server. The lobster was great, and dinner overall was perfect for all in my party. Thanks for a happy memory. JT

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Our family has been dining at Anthony's La Mesa regularly, since we moved to La Mesa in 1965, so it was no surprise when my Mom requested to have her 94th birthday lunch there, with our longtime neighbors & best friends. Our request for a window table, overlooking the BEAUTIFUL lake & scenery, was honored. Our waitress was patient & very accommodating, as we had a lot of "catching up" to do, having not seen each other for a while. Our food was just as described in the menu & everyone enjoyed their delicious selections. Our waitress brought their signature cake & spumoni ice cream to the table for my Mom (Anthony's spumoni ice cream is her favorite dessert) & the manager came over to wish my Mom happy birthday, which was a very nice gesture! Anthony's is a La Mesa landmark & a McRae family "tradition." I hope we'll be enjoying birthday lunches there for years to come!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great service & wonderful atmosphere! The scallops weren't the best. They were a bit tough and the sauce seemed too watery. The avocado shrimp and crab salad was amazing though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Anthony's delivers exactly what you would expect, nice sized portions, nothing fancy, professional staff. Only negative of our visit was the seating we were given in what was clearly the overflow/kid section. Asked about other options, but they were "reserved", hmmm guess I didn't know the secret handshake for a choice table. Note to hostesses everywhere, placing a group with an average age of 60+ amongst tables full of kids, when it is not necessary, equals little chance of repeated patronage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I LOVE this Anthony's!! I'm sad it's the only one now. I hope it never goes away. The staff is wonderful, courteous, helpful and fun. The food is delicious. The only down fall is that the grilled sandwiches are really greasy on the outside. But I had no problem eating it! Thank you for everything!

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family loves this restaurant. The food is good and the ambiance is even better. We really enjoy sitting out on the patio around the lake. Within our group, we had fish and chips which were really perfect, the crab/shrimp Louie Salad, clam chowder, and the chicken piccata (for the non-fish lover). We were celebrating a birthday and the waiter brought an enormous piece of cake with spumoni.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Loved the shrimp, crab & avocado salad! Great service, great food & a great view of the lake made for a very nice experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Celebrated a birthday low key. Sat on dog friendly patio! With the lake right in front of the table- great ambiance. The waiter was on point all night and the food was very good and high quality without being overpriced. I ordered the swordfish, brought half of it home- great portion size. Would recommend and will come back! I love that I can dine with my dog!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, beautiful atmosphere and friendly staff

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything about the food was delish. The restaurant is nice too and it's great that it is casual dress. Our waitress was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We always enjoy our meal at Anthony's but this time it seemed extra good. My husband ordered the sculpin and I the light meals kabob. Everything was superb especially the service provided by Jose who was attentive and very pleasant to chat with! Thank you!

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Miss the waterfront location, so will be out here more often. You have a great tradition!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful food with along service. We were also happy to find out that we would be able to bring our dogs with us to dine in a special area. This restaurant was recommended by my grandmother who visited the previous location 40 years ago. We are so happy that we took her advice. We will definitely be coming back. The Crab stuffed Mushroom is a sharable appetizer with great flavor. My husband had the fried calamari and loved it as well. We highly recommend this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I have been going to Anthony's since the 60's. love that it hasn't changed much. Food is good. Service is great. It is good for large groups.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This has been one of our favorite restaurants for years. Glad to see it continues to be a place we can still go to for an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The patio area on the large pond is beautiful. It's perfect for dogs to watch the ducks in the water. This is definitely a dog-friendly place. Consistently good seafood!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Hostess not friendly at all!! The served tried his best but was spread very thin. The crab and shrimp cocktail was very good but the fried shrimp was medicore.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.