About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (35)
Scenic View (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Waterfront (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Fun (7)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Took my elderly Mom to Anthony's for her BD. We enjoyed sangria and view of the lake by our table. Several elderly people were also there for lunch, staff was very accommodating to customers with canes and walkers. Unfortunately I noted it was my Mom's B.D. on reservation , along with telling the waiter when we ordered drinks. No mention of her B.D. !!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Have eaten many times and enjoyed it every time. Love the Gulf Shrimp Salad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We have been to Anthony's numerous times and this time didn't disappoint either. The food was delicious. We had the crab and shrimp cocktail and the wedge salad which we hadn't had before. The fish scallop and shrimp kabob was amazing. Thanks for again for a wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great Birthday celebration ended up being 22 of us. Everyone loved it and had so much fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 6, 2017

It was great. Seated quickly, wait staff was positive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The waitress assigned to our table took 30 minutes after we were seated to take our order. Other restaurant employees had to intervene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Third generation customers here, we no longer have our Dad with us but we love this place for family groups ! ! !

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was delicious as always. The day boat scallops were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Tasty food, great view, and lovely service. We go here fairly often, but this time was a big group and our waitress handled things perfectly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Only complaints: loud, obtrusive canned music in outdoor patio. Service was a little disorganized, but friendly.
Outdoor landscaping needs more attention: overgrown, uncared for. Please spruce up!!

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We were saddened to see the closing of the original Anthony's. However, we were very pleasantly surprised at how wonderful this Anthony's is! Keep up the good work. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2017

As always we had a most enjoyable meal. Our waiter Chad was very attentive. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent place to eat. Every time I go I find something that I haven't tried and it's always prepared great. Very consistent. Thanks for being such a great place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I enjoy this restaurant regularly. But on this occasion the service was a bit slower than usual. Otherwise all was fine.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The music was a little loud this time but usually it is not. My in-laws love this place so we go at least once a month. Food is always good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Usually enjoy everything about this restaurant. This is the first time I was truly disappointed in the food. I usually go with a fish or salad entre. This time tried a new item... surf and turf south of the border style. Too bland! Won't stop me from going back or recommending. Service is always with a smile, environment is light and upbeat, and food is usually quite good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Anthony's is our go-to restaurant for meeting with friends, easy casual dining. This time we noticed a 4% surcharge. I called the next day and I was given a thorough explanation as to why. Our server was a little off on being timely and in the order of getting our drinks and requested items to us. I did take a bottle of wine and paid a $10 corkage fee, which I think is extremely reasonable.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

I think live Tiki era music would be incredible in this iconic establishment, its cool as can
be. The food needs an update but I love this place and I am bringing all my guests to it.
-tikisnob

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 18, 2017

From the minute you hit the driveway there is ambience. The entrance is a giant sea shell. Some may say it is a little dated but we thought it was just wonderful. It makes you feel like you are near the ocean throughout the restaurant with faux rock walls, mosaics and the ocean color decor. Outside is a separate eating area with umbrellas where you can enjoy a leisurely meal with a furry friend as dogs are allowed. We requested a window seat to view the lake that included water features and water foul. Such a wonderful setting. We started our meal with complimentary bread basket with two rolls that had a wonderful garlic butter. Then we ordered the shrimp cocktail and some calamari. We both ordered the steak and lobster ($29.99/per person) and everything was great. We were there about 2 pm so there was no rush and we just enjoyed the surroundings and our food. We also had a fabulous waitress who tended to all our needs. Our plates cleared by the staff quickly and never waited for a drink. Next time we want to sit on the lovely patio area, maybe even bring our dogs.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had a separate dog friendly outdoor dining area away from the main restaurant. Noise level was low so easy to converse. Service was attentive and timely. Food was prepared well and came to the table warm and well seasoned. Decor a little dated.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service and food were excellent! We enjoyed the booth by the window and looking out over the beautiful lake. This is a family favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This is the second time our August Birthday ladies celebrated our birthdays at Anthony's La Mesa. We had a very nice time dining outdoors by the little lake. The food was good, too. Will probably come to Anthony's again next year to celebrate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Loved the ambience of the restaurant and the service was good. Food was delicious. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went there for my birthday. Family was hesitant because of the negative reviews on Yelp but I insisted that since it is my birthday and I dont want to cancel the reservation, well just go to try it no matter how the experience will go. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. None of the negative reviews was true. The place was fantastic. All the staff were friendly, food was superb and the man-made lake have a little fountain with swimming ducks. My kids enjoyed feeding the ducks. You can buy duck feed for 0.30/scoop. Our server was so friendly with the kindest voice ever. She gave me a free dessert for my birthday. We will definitely be back at Anthonys to celebrate our next family celebrations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Server Max was great. Great place for an older crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised on the restaurant 's water view and that the food is as delicious as always.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This place is kitschy and fun. Great outdoor seating with a dog friendly patio and enclosure!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Waterfront, Fun, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere & good service. Always passed but never stopped by, friends recommended & glad they did. Will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food, great service & a great lake view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating her birthday and Anthony's is our go-to restaurant for all of our special occasions. We love the food, the service, the wine, and the ease of the crowd. Recommend it to anyone who want a good meal in a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food is not great but my 92-year-old mother loves it so that's why we came here. The seating along the pond is nice and the service is very good. The staff is always very accommodating.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Absolutely wonderful, in a time when so much keeps changing it was just like going back in time that I remember as a young man. Taking your high school sweetheart to a classy place to eat. Years later, going in it was so impressive, professional and the service was great. It brought back so many great memories and it's still the shrimp I remember. It simply melted in my mouth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Wonderful dog friendly patio, along a lake, and a little doggie menu too! Happy hour is awesome! I Love the clam chowder.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great fish and chips...I haven't been to a place that beats them...I always have the same thing...my husband usually has the Cajun catfish.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was great, the ambience was nice, if not a bit noisy. We have eaten at Anthony's several times, and enjoy it very much. The food selection is great. But now that the one in La Mesa is the only one in San Diego, it gets pretty crowded. Glad to be able to make reservations in order to get seated in a reasonable amount of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We finally got our usual back area after the manager moved us but our group of 10-16 always sits along the back wall. Our server, Gio was wonderful, great mood, friendly, knowledgeable and very attentive! She was one of our best servers. The manager Gina was very nice and helpful, too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Very nice evening, good food & reasonable prices. Kudos to our server Chad for being attentive, pleasant, and friendly. People like him make dining out a pleasure.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Truly average experience here. Really a landmark location that has not kept up with the times. From decor to menu to food quality, just not up to par with the dining scene in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I have heard about this restaurant so I decided to try it for our 13th wedding anniversary. Everything was great. Even though I told the waitress it was our anniversary we did not get anything extra, like a small desert. Overall I loved it, will return again when I am in San Diego.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Seven ladies had a great time. The waiter was attentive, but not overly so. Water was replenished often. The food was good and our complimentary birthday desserts were delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.