About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (35)
Casual (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Waterfront (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (13)
Cozy (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Historic (12)
Authentic (11)
Healthy (10)
Family Style (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quick Bite (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fireplace (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

I LOVE this Anthony's!! I'm sad it's the only one now. I hope it never goes away. The staff is wonderful, courteous, helpful and fun. The food is delicious. The only down fall is that the grilled sandwiches are really greasy on the outside. But I had no problem eating it! Thank you for everything!

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family loves this restaurant. The food is good and the ambiance is even better. We really enjoy sitting out on the patio around the lake. Within our group, we had fish and chips which were really perfect, the crab/shrimp Louie Salad, clam chowder, and the chicken piccata (for the non-fish lover). We were celebrating a birthday and the waiter brought an enormous piece of cake with spumoni.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Loved the shrimp, crab & avocado salad! Great service, great food & a great view of the lake made for a very nice experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Celebrated a birthday low key. Sat on dog friendly patio! With the lake right in front of the table- great ambiance. The waiter was on point all night and the food was very good and high quality without being overpriced. I ordered the swordfish, brought half of it home- great portion size. Would recommend and will come back! I love that I can dine with my dog!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, beautiful atmosphere and friendly staff

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything about the food was delish. The restaurant is nice too and it's great that it is casual dress. Our waitress was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We always enjoy our meal at Anthony's but this time it seemed extra good. My husband ordered the sculpin and I the light meals kabob. Everything was superb especially the service provided by Jose who was attentive and very pleasant to chat with! Thank you!

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Miss the waterfront location, so will be out here more often. You have a great tradition!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful food with along service. We were also happy to find out that we would be able to bring our dogs with us to dine in a special area. This restaurant was recommended by my grandmother who visited the previous location 40 years ago. We are so happy that we took her advice. We will definitely be coming back. The Crab stuffed Mushroom is a sharable appetizer with great flavor. My husband had the fried calamari and loved it as well. We highly recommend this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I have been going to Anthony's since the 60's. love that it hasn't changed much. Food is good. Service is great. It is good for large groups.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This has been one of our favorite restaurants for years. Glad to see it continues to be a place we can still go to for an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The patio area on the large pond is beautiful. It's perfect for dogs to watch the ducks in the water. This is definitely a dog-friendly place. Consistently good seafood!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Hostess not friendly at all!! The served tried his best but was spread very thin. The crab and shrimp cocktail was very good but the fried shrimp was medicore.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very pleasant setting for a very good seafood dinner. Wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive. Will certainly go again when in the area.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

First off, the wait staff was excellent. We sat by the lake for Happy Hour, which was nice except it was unusually windy that day. The food was good and I especially like how they mince the celery in the shrimp cocktail. I thought it was a bit pricey (for two people during Happy Hour, I spent $102 including an 18% tip).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Exceptional clam chowder.
Great view.
Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

food was acceptable, neither good or bad. made reservations but the hostess didn't seem to care one way or the other. she never asked. restaurant ambience was rather tired and dull.
environment did not reflect the higher cost of the menu. server gets a C-+

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great meal & great service! Love the shrimp scampi & my husband loves the shore combo. We also love the view of the lake while we eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My family celebrated my niece's birthday and had a great meal to boot. A very pleasant time was had by all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was extremely attentive. The ambience was perfect for outdoor dining. The interior was too dark, so perhaps indoor tables would be romantic for some diners, but we had a large family affair and our lakeside patio setting was outstanding. Thanks Anthony's for a truly perfect dinner!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food and beautiful view. Took our dog and he had a blast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very beautiful venue. I am very disappointed in the quality of the food. In addition, I had asked my plate to be prepared gluten-free and dairy-free, and they completely ignored both requests.

The food reminded me of cafeteria or hospital food quality, with hard clumps in the rice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Historic, Authentic, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was overall a nice experience, the waitress was a bit scattered but, very nice. The Calamari came out cold after we waited for it and we sent it back and it just go reheated and not cooked fresh or taken off check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great Food, Excellent Server. Only comment had reservations and had to wait 20 mins to be seated. The reason I had reservations was that I didn't want my elderly mom to wait, unfortunately we did, however the server was very quick.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We've been coming to Anthony's for years. Hard to believe the couple we invited to dinner had never been! They were not disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Anthony's is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is delicious and the service is always first rate!

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was excellent
The server was wonderful as is the surroundings and food. Will be back👍

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Waterfront, Cozy, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Been coming here for years because if good service & delicious seafood. In fact, I'm coming back tomorrow to meet a girlfriend for a late lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dog's birthday

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We came for a family reunion and to remember a lost sibling, and so it was good that we had to wait a long time to get served, first the drinks, and onward from there. There was lots of time to talk, and in our case, that was good. But if you are hungry, you could get grouchy. The food is worth it, really good, and service when it does finally happen is pleasant. My husband and I returned a few nights later to see if this was a consisent problem, and noticed that the crowd thins out, at least on weekdays, after 7:30. Our reservations were on a weekend at 6:30, so an hour makes a difference~!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We've been going to this Anthony's for going on 45 years. The food has always been fairly good and it did not disappoint this time either. Since the restaurant has implemented some policies I don't care for, we pretty much only go twice a year for birthdays.

Policies that are a turnoff.
Dog Friendly restaurant. I have virtually zero interest in going to a restaurant where people are allowed to bring their dog (s). It's fine for Anthony's to have this policy just as it's fine for me to choose to spend my money elsewhere.
Mandatory 2% service charge. Did not see this displayed anywhere until I got my bill. Not a biggie, but I don't like it, I tip less because of it, and I'm more likely to patronize restaurants that don't have this mandatory charge. I would rather they just charge me an extra 50 cents for my entree.
Suggested tipping amounts printed on the bill are obscene. 18%, 20%, and 22% tip. ALL employees from the waitstaff, to front end, to dishwashers are now making $11.50 an hour for an unskilled labor job. If I tip even $10 (10%) on a $100 dining bill, I am now paying the equivalent of $21.50 and hour for someone to take my order and bring me my food. Yes, I know all about tip pooling. Doesn't change my opinion. It's still basically unskilled labor. Suggesting I pay up to the equivalent of $31.50 and hour for unskilled labor is just asinine.

So Anthony's has me twice a year for mandatory birthday celebrations, but that's it. Too many other great competing choices for my dining dollars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Loved everything aout this place! Food was great and service was awesome!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great, as always!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Historic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Disappointed in the fish and chips after hearing such great things about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Just excellent food and service. Just love the fresh seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Seafood's prepared as you like, always fresh; try the salmon, med-rare & coleslaw!! Yes, coleslaw, best dressed in town. Salina & Santiago are Servers Extraordinaire!! Arturo rules the upbeat bar, always has an engaging smile! Bring your well behaved pups to dine outside in a dog-exclusive patio facing the lake & ducks/swans!! Tell them, Sheltiemomm sent you.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Historic, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had 730 reservation on Valentine's Day. After waiting 15 minutes with them seating multiple parties I finally asked what was happening. They informed that they had to seat walk ins who had been waiting a long time for a table? Finally manager came over and seated us after 20 minutes of waiting. I would not have been seated after 20 minutes if I had not made a complaint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The seafood was excellent. We went for a Valentine's dinner date. My wife had the Alaskan cod and I had the sand dabs (sole). The service was very good considering that it was very busy. The restaurant is looking a little tired and so a little re-model maybe in order. Overall, a very good evening of food and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time ,and let me say definitely a lasting first impression. Wonderful customer service Jenny was such a sweetheart so helpful during our visit. Would definitely come back.food was great , such a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We LOVE Anthony's. Disappointed that the other locations have closed. The food is great, and the staff is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.