About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
See All
Casual (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Waterfront (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Romantic (9)
Family Style (9)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Fun (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Historic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had 730 reservation on Valentine's Day. After waiting 15 minutes with them seating multiple parties I finally asked what was happening. They informed that they had to seat walk ins who had been waiting a long time for a table? Finally manager came over and seated us after 20 minutes of waiting. I would not have been seated after 20 minutes if I had not made a complaint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The seafood was excellent. We went for a Valentine's dinner date. My wife had the Alaskan cod and I had the sand dabs (sole). The service was very good considering that it was very busy. The restaurant is looking a little tired and so a little re-model maybe in order. Overall, a very good evening of food and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time ,and let me say definitely a lasting first impression. Wonderful customer service Jenny was such a sweetheart so helpful during our visit. Would definitely come back.food was great , such a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The best freshest seafood! GREAT service and a wonderful place to dine with your dog!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Anthony's La Mesa has been a landmark since the 1960s. The lake and the "undersea garden" décor make it something unique. Great food and consistently good service make us regulars at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Seated in a reasonable amount of time, great server contact, wine list was good- could use a better-quality of wines by the glass. Enjoyed beautiful seats next to 'pond' (great ambiance), with a feeling of separation from other patrons and still checked frequently by waitress. Food was very good, especially having the 'Combo Plates' for variety. Also, cannot forget the wonderful dessert (Z.Cake w/ Spumoni Ice cream). Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Romantic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The prices were a little high for what you got. The fish and chips were pretty average and the French fries were below average. They don't have the good bread that they used to serve, just a in rolls. Our server was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Such a nice restaurant! My server Max was beyond adorable and provided wonderful service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been going to this Anthony's since it opened in the 60's. It really could use some refreshing as it is showing it's age. The food is still great and it is fun to meet old friend's there to reminisce about "the good old days"! I also like that they never hurry us to leave when there visiting!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have enjoyed Anthony's for years as a place for excellent food and a unique style. The food is still excellent but the customer service is a mediocre; I got the wrong dish and had to eat my corrected order after most of my friends were done with nary an apology. Then they had the audacity to charge a 2% service charge for us four couples splitting our bills!!! I hate to be "nickel and dimes". Poorly done, Anthony's. If your food wasn't so darned good, I would not come back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food items - including delicious sand dabs and breaded shrimp. The rice was delicious as well and the tomato butter on warm bread was delicious... A little step up is necessary on service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always enjoyable to dine at Anthony's. The food is good and reasonably priced. The red clam chowder is the best.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We've been coming here since they opened. Not regularly but often. Never disappoints.

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We ate at Anthony's san diego for our honeymoon 3 years ago. We were sad to hear the bay location was closing and tried to eat there, but with a 2 hour wait we decided to go to the la mesa location instead. It just wasnt the same. The calamari was luke warm and bland. The waiter had no personality. The lobster portion was tiny and crab bites were just plain disgusting. We were very disappointed and will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I made a reservation and we had to wait for our table even though there were many open tables when we were seated. Then we had to wait for a bit before our server came to our table. Evidently, they were short on staff. Our server was friendly and the food was good. The ambience wasn't that good and there were a lot of tables that didn't get bussed. It was kind of messy and unorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service...Becca was best waitress! She was friendly and made our visit very memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My husband and I hadn't been to Anthony's for years and he said he wanted to go for our 40th anniversary. I made reservations but we arrived earlier than expected (we live in the mountains). They had no trouble accommodating us at the earlier time. Our meal was fantastic! We also shared a wonderful appetizer; the stuffed mushroom is to die for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My ahi on pasta was fine but my friend's meal was not so much. The Asian veggies were described as having broccoli as well as other vegs. When she got it there was no broccoli and the rest was mostly cabbage. And the fish was served on top of the vegs, not plated beside it. She was disappointed and neither of us would order that dish again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Decor was dated however having one of the booth seats overlooking the "lake" is kind of cool. You forget that you are right next to an interstate. The food not the best thing I've ever eaten. Actually was pretty meh. I had the shrimp trio, shrimp cooked well but everything accompanying just seemed very processed. The crab stuffed mushroom was a portabella with crab and a kraft single melted on top. I had never been to an Anthony's but probably will not return to one, was a last minute option after several places we tried had hour plus waits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was good. The ambiance was fine. The restaurant was relatively quiet; not noisy or dominated by TV screens as some places are. We enjoyed our dinner. Our server was very nice and knowledgeable about the dishes on the menu. All in all, Anthony's is a fine restaurant and a great value for your dining out experiences.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

My past experiances have always been good (birthdays, anniversary, special occasion) and thought that treating our out of town reps to this for a business meal was a sure thing. Made reservations 2 weeks in advance for 25 people. Received 2 calls from restaurant to confirm this and upon arrival did not have area set for seating the guests and were short staffed. We had to move tables around for seating. Had a preselected menu done so that the amount of foods requested would be minimized and not all over the entire menu. 3 appetizers, 3 main courses, 3 pre selected wines, 2 desserts. Hoped this would make things easier for staff. Slow for drinks and refills. Upon arriving with entrees the staff "auctioned' off the plates - did not know who had ordered what. Some plates piping hot, some luke warm. Spoke to manager and received a discount, but that was not the anticipated outcome, had hoped my group would have the same great experience that I usually receive. Note to self: Good for parties of up to 5, but more than that will be difficult for staff to accommodate well.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service very inaccurate. Server tried to correct with no success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love the Shore Combo, red-skinned mashed potatoes and cole slaw with pineapple dressing. Service was great. Love the lake and duckies.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Just a wonderful place to take a date or be with friends. Dog friendly and WONDERFUL Seafood that is always consistently prepared. Squid Steak is a favorite along with the Shore Combo. Coleslaw & Brussel Sprouts are the best. Just a Gem.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We so enjoy Anthony's. The service is always the best as well as the food. We were enjoying our Christmas get together and the decorations were so pretty. Helped to make this a special place that we love to come to...holiday or not. Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Have been going to anthonys since I first came to san diego in 1960 downtown. Have liked some things over the years but they went away and somethings are still there like shrimp Louie. Aways enjoyed the food and atmosphere at all Anthonys even LaJolla which is gone. Remember the lines in LaMesa on the weekends but it was always worth waiting. Still love your white clam chowder.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The shrimp are good, the fries are great, the price is up! I hadn't eaten at Anthony's in a long time & was surprised how the prices have gone up! The lack is still beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great Birthday lunch, Mom loved her lobster and free dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our meals from the Anniversary menu!

Tags: Quick Bite, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have been going to Anthony's for over 40 years. I do not believe I have ever been disappointed with a meal there. This was no exception. My wife and I had a quiet dinner with my son and his wife. We all left very satisfied. A feature Anthony's has that we did not take advantage of this time is dining outside with your dog. They even have a menu for canines. Especially on a nice summer day, it is great to have a relaxing meal outside and to be able to bring your dog along and get him his own meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We all used to love Anthony's. The food was not good - blah - no taste - panko cod. I feel bad for the restaurant. Please bring back Mama Ghio's favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Lunch was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

-Great outdoor dining complete with a dog park, doggie menu, bocce ball court.

-Inside bar area and lobby has a cool under the sea cave theme that manages to be contemporary, but retains some mid-century charm.

-Great service and an expanded wine menu.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I haven't eaten at Anthony's for many years and had my doubts about returning as I did not remember being that impressed the last time I was there. I was recently visiting from out of town and went to dinner there with my family. I have to say overall it was a very lackluster meal. The only parts of it that were good were the coleslaw and the halibut filet. The service was decent but, given the multitude of other options, I don't plan to return the next time I am in town.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Delicious fish tacos, completely fulfilling and satisfyimg. Water fromt view, sea air, not crowded, although I went on a weekday. $$

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Fun, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It use to be wonderful, but something happened with the new menu and after Mama Ghio died. Went there to eat in the Seventies all the time. Loved the Crab Louie salad and all the great fish dishes. The decor is very tacky and the food just isn't the same. I know times change but with The Brigitine across the freeway I am surprised they are still in business.

Sorry, but I was trying to entertain out of town inlaws last minute and with no reservations at the Brig. I had no other easy choice available but Anthony's.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

A fiends birthday luncheon. Good food and wonderful service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We always enjoy Anthony's. Fresh seafood - nice variety.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and the service. It was my husband's birthday and his first time at the restaurant . We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We decided to go to this location rather then then one in downtown San Diego and was pleasantly surprised. It is a lovel location on a small lake with both indoor and outdoor seating. The menu offered a large amount of options and everything that my group of 3 had was delicious. Our server was very attentive and the whole experience will definitely bring me back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I eat here about once a month. Service is usually great. I enjoy the lobster tails and shrimp scampi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I absolutely adore this place! The food is absolutely wonderful, but the service tops all. I took my parents here for my mom's birthday and they made it above and beyond special. We were the last people in the restaurant on a Saturday night and we did not feel rushed one bit. Such kind accommodating staff with out of this world food. I will be coming here many many more times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Anthony's has been a go-to place for my family and me since the mid- 60's. I learned to enjoy fish dinners there as a young man. Great food and reasonable prices are still the standard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and nice friendly service. The food was delicious. Looking out on the lake and ducks was a plus.

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I marked this restaurant a little low because I had some issues with the food and our waiter. That being said, I think this is a lovely restaurant and the rest of our party was happy with their food once they received it. I think the issue was that we had an inexperienced waiter. I don't want to disparage the restaurant because of one incident and I did call the management later to discuss the issues. I was assured that someone (the Owners) would reach out to me. If that happens I would change my rating.

UPDATE

The restaurant did reach out to me and apologized for the issue we had. They even gave me a $25 gift card!! I really didn't want/expect anything I just wanted to discuss my issue so that they would be aware. Great customer service, Great restaurant - Am most appreciative that they responded to my concerns positively!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

excellent food as usual. Great seafood, oysters I had were absolutely outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We made a reservation of a party of 9 for 6:30 and received a confirmation. We arrived at 6:25 and was advised that due to an unexpected crowd of people we would have to wait about 30-45 minutes. We were not seated till 7:20. No apology's except the hostess that was trying to do her best to keep everyone happy. Sadly a manager never showed their face. Wait staff was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Went there to celebrate my birthday and it happened to be during Restaurant Week. It was very busy, but we were seated about 10 minutes after we arrived. I had the 3 course lobster special dinner and it was outstanding. Our family's been dining at Anthony's for over 40 years and we've never been disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I table outside on the mail open table site. We got there an half hour early to make sure it was set up. It was not, but the hostess said that they would set a table for us. We waited 40 minutes and then asked if the table was ready. We were told "inaminute". Then we were taken to a table inside. When I said we have a table outside, the waitress went back to the hostess. The hostess said not possible because they were so busy. While we ate there were empty tables by us and definitely outside. I guess the staff did not want to be bothered during restaurant week in San Diego. Fine, we will go across the freeway to the Brigatine. Their service, ambience, and food are always very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had to wait around 20 minutes for our reserved table but hostess apologized due to it being restaurant week. Service was excellent. Food that we ordered (Filet with garlic Shrimp) was under seasoned, warm (not hot) and Filet was placed on top of Mashed Potatoes leaving an unappetizing 1/8 cup of blood pooling over my Mashed Potatoes. Pink Potatoes anyone? LOL. I believe if the Filet had time to rest after being grilled, that would've eliminated the pink mashed potatoes. I'd come back. This was the first time the food was off. Service was excellent though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.