About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

scenic view (30)
great for outdoor dining (28)
great for lunch (22)
See All
special occasion (21)
neighborhood gem (21)
good for groups (14)
romantic (11)
fit for foodies (11)
kid-friendly (9)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our lady waiter was very pleasant and at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our lady waiter was very pleasant and attentive and the food was good.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have a special outdoor area for dog ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

They have a special outdoor area for dogs.

The window view of the pond was refreshing on a hot day!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great water feature visible from outdoor ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great water feature visible from outdoor and indoor dining.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Getting a little dated, but the food and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Getting a little dated, but the food and service can't be beat. Nice lake out back with a pet friendly area along the shore (no swimming allowed, no beach).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

6 of us always celebrate our birthdays a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

6 of us always celebrate our birthdays at Anthony's together. We love the unique architecture & decor, personalized & professional service, big windows with nice view. The clam chowder is excellent. We always enjoy the appetizers with cocktails, esp. lemon martini.The pollock with parsley lemon rice is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my wife and I love this place and the fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

my wife and I love this place and the food is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner with friends. Wanted ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Anniversary dinner with friends. Wanted to go somewhere that had been around a long time as have we. Menu has changed and some old favorites were not on the menu (fried scallops). Looked like they were trying to upscale the menu.

Food was fine, just not wonderful. We had a good time.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful place. I dont know why II've n ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful place. I dont know why II've never been there before.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Reviewed previously following dining on ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Reviewed previously following dining on 22 April 2016. No changes to submit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought our dog and sat outside. What a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Brought our dog and sat outside. What a beautiful place to have your meal and enjoy the surrounding. The dog upon sitting was brought a bowl of water and a treat. The food we had was delicious and all around was a great evening meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Good food !

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service! Good food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pet Friendly

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Been going to the La Mesa location for as long as I can remember. I love how it has evolved. Great outdoor area by the pond. Kids can feed ducks, there is an enclosure for your fur kid, and even a bocce ball court! It kept a 3 and 4 year old well occupied so we could enjoy our dinner!

My daughter got a grilled cheese with crab, the filling was wonderful, but the bread was greasy with a strong taste.

My mom ordered shrimp scampi, but received shrimp with pasta.

Other than those two cons, I love this place!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Very impressed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Visited for Mothers Day with 2 children 3 and 5 years of age. The view of the pond and watching the ducks kept the children entertained and allowed the adults to enjoy their meal in peace and quiet. The food was delicious and served rather quickly. We never go anywhere for fear of our children misbehaving. It was nice being able to enjoy fine dining ( steak and lobster) in a restaurant with our children. We will definitely be returning, maybe next time outside by the pond where dogs are permitted to sit with you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Celebrated Mother's Day -

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The lobster and coconut shrimp were really good, as well as the chowder! Our server was the best too!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As we remembered

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The restaurant is pretty much the same as many years ago. Clean, cool location, and unique decor, all with the great view of the pond and of course, the ducks. Clientele was a bit old at our Sunday lunch, but maybe that is typical for that day and time. Service was excellent. Fried calamari could have been crisp, and the veggies (carrots) were a bit undercooked for their size, but otherwise the food was good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful water view

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went with a small party for a special occasion. The food was excellent, the staff friendly, the service quick, and the ambiance perfect. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anthony's in La Mesa

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We dine at Anthony's often. I have never been disappointed with it. The Food is good. Service is excellent!!! I just hope they never leave La Mesa.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anthony's Fish Grotto, Grossmont/La Mesa

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Always a favorite, especially with locals in the area. Friendly staff. Excellent, personalized style of service. Was a favorite of ours when we lived in San Diego County. The Margaritas are excellent. Nice selection on the menu, including for those less interested in fish dinners.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Quality of food is always dependably excellent and service is usually very good as well. And you can't beat the scenery.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Not So Fresh Fish

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We have always loved Anthony's, but their prices have increased, but not the quality of food. $18.00+ for a salad is a lot to pay, with very few ingredients. I ordered the "Fresh" halibut, but could definitely tell that is had been frozen. Frozen is not "fresh". Especially at $35.00+ dollars for a baked potato and previously frozen piece of halibut. If you are going to charge top prices, then the food needs to be top quality. My husband had the two lobster tails and he said they were salty. You really need to take a look at the quality of your food vs. what you are charging for it. I have to say, though, the bread and butter and your house dressing is always good!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Anthony's was able to provide us with ou ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Anthony's was able to provide us with our seating request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anthony's has been our go to place for f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Anthony's has been our go to place for family and friends since i was a child and i am almost 70 now so it has been for a while. Always special and local. I love the place. They were glad to see us and we were about 10 which included one infant and a 2 year old. My mother's birthday at 88. All was wonderful but the food was disappointing. It was enough of a serving but when i ordered the usual which was a salad it was not good enough to eat even half. However there were several great orders among us and two other disappointments. It just seemed a little tired. I feel real bad writing this because I want it to be perfect - perhaps i too got too old.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good but service slww

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

the waitress was very kind and attention was good but slow I think she was on many tables at the time food and prices were good

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Mostly enjoy the menu.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Live in South Dakota so enjoy the Grato for the grab Louie I can't get in the Midwest. That and the oysters on the half shell. Great good and service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is an over priced cheesy restaraunt ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This is an over priced cheesy restaraunt. The service was slow, the food was Mediocre and overpriced. The decor was like an outdated Captain Nemo Disney ride. As soon as you walk in you smell an over bearing fishy odor and once in the outdated furnishings smelled and looked like a Grandmothers house. I dont get it... why are they still open? All of the native San Diegan crowds have lived here more than 20-30 years and never came in based on the exterior decor... This tradition should have been upheld. If you haven't been here before.....keep it that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Lovely dinner!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I took my adult granddaughter and a friend's adult granddaughter to dinner on Saturday at 6pm. We waited only 3-5 minutes for our table and they gave us the elevated booth that I requested. Our server was very personable and spot on with bringing anything we requested. All three of us cleaned our plates - delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always the food was delicious.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was great but our waitress was a bit off forgetting to bring 2 of the sides for 2 of our party of 3. Eventually we got them but that was thanks to a very on-the-ball bus boy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

meh...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Been here a few times now. Each time that host took forever to come to the counter. Last time she was in the seafood market area staring at us for about 5 minutes then decided to come over and seat us. Younger girl and I could tell she hated her job and did not give a you know what . Had to ask the server for silverware and napkins. Requested a heater he said he would bring it over and never did. Clam chowder bowl was awesome. Overall food was great and the price was reasonable. I might go back again but I'm not excited about it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Happy Birthday!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

I took my wife for her birthday on 2/23/16. This was not our first time at Anthonys. She was very happy with everything she ordered, as was I. Bunny, our waitress, was excellent. She was very friendly, accurate and did not rush us(which is very important to us). I requested, and received a booth overlooking the lagoon. My wife had the Halibut, which was cooked to perfection. She also had Clam Chowder and a Shrimp cocktail for an appetizer. Of course, she could not finish all her meal so she took some home for later. I scored a lot of points that night. Thank you for such a great experience. Of course we will return again and again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Problems With Reservation

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I made a reservation for five people at Anthony's Fish Grotto in La Mesa for my daughter's birthday. I specifically asked for a booth or table by the window with a view of the lake. When we got there, they had placed us in a weird little room near the kitchen. When I asked why, I was told that they had to accommodate larger parties of walk-ins. Really?? I had a reservation but they gave better tables to walk-ins!! Then we were placed at a booth by the automatic doors leading to the outdoor eating area--door noisily opened every few minutes and let the cold air in.

Finally, I asked to speak to the manager and she did an outstanding job in resolving the issue. She allowed us to sit at a booth by the window with a chair at the end for my granddaughter and it all worked out.

However, I am still not happy that they gave better tables to walk-ins and did not reserve a good table for my party. If I had not spoken to the manager we would have been stuck at an awful table and the evening would have been ruined. In spite of her intervention, the evening was not a complete success.

As to the food: it was adequate but not outstanding in any way. Rather bland and a bit on the high side price wise. Although I might go there for lunch, I would most likely not go for dinner again anytime soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, lousy atmosphere

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We enjoyed our meal - great food, lovely view of the pond and outdoor seating, but as we were finishing our meal, the customers next to us had finished their wine and dinner and were fighting - cursing and swearing. Embarrassing and ruined our evening. We let the front desk folks know as we were leaving - our waitress was aware, but I don't think she felt she could do anything. Too bad.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

BEST PLACE IN SAN DIEGO FOR FISH

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

I had friends in from out of town and I always take them at least once to Anthony's...We had the fish and shrimp combo...and it was special as usual....Our server Greer was great as I have had her on more than one occasion..I only eat at Anthony's for fish it is always fresh and done to perfection....I love the new reservation system......GREAT....thanks again for all my years of eating at your SPECIAL EATERY......

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service we better.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was great, service we better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dining experience!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The seafood combo we both ordered was fresh and delicious. The appetizers were very tasty. The service was prompt and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over priced.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food wasn't bad, but over priced. Sat by window of water, but nothing special. Service was fine.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Sweetheart Ravioli

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been a life long Anthony's customer. Anthony's La Mesa is a little gem tucked away in a quiet spot, easily accessible. The parking is plentiful and FREE! The staff is friendly and helpful. We celebrated Valentine's Day on Saturday evening and thoroughly enjoyed the red heart shaped lobster raviolis.

Thank you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A real gem

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Anthony's La Mesa is a special place. Our favorite choice is to eat outside by the water - it's peaceful and it's fun to see the antics of the ducks. The food is always superb especially their clam chowder and fish and chips.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We made reservations for 630. It was our ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We made reservations for 630. It was our Valentine's celebration and we had a baby sitter at home that we were paying by the hour. When we arrived at 620, we were added to the regular waiting list, even after they acknowledge that we had a reservation. After waiting for about 20-25 minutes; we left and were able to find another place nearby that had an opening. No one in the Staff apologized for the fact that our they didn't have a table for us. I don't care if their food is good or bad; their service was terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Very Good Seafood

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Just one of the best places for any types of seafood in the area. Consistent with their dishes and always has get choices for sides. Love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to eat! Beautiful atmosphere & tasty food. We love the bread & sundried butter that they serve as soon as you sit down. Tonight they were super busy so service was slower than usual. I had the shrimp scampi, which is normally amazing. Tonight it was in a puddle of oil/butter & the shrimp was a bit over cooked, but normally this is my favorite dish. My husband had the shore combo & it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.