About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
San Diego
Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

Scenic View (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Great for Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Romantic (16)
Kid-friendly (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and very friendly service. En ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and very friendly service. Enjoyed sitting next to window and seeing the lake...then the fountain of water that lights up at night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Healthy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizer was not very good. We had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

The appetizer was not very good. We had the wantons and they were overcooked and had a minimal barely perceivable amount of filling. The entres were horrendous. My wife had a shrimp dish and the shrimp were overcooked. The shrimp had the consistency of hardened rubber. I had the swordfish that was also overcooked and dry. The swordfish steak was obviously not fresh and had a mildly unfavorable taste. The general theme seemed to be to overcook anything that was requested. The serving sizes were exceptionally small, especially when the overinflated price of the plate is taken into account. We ordered a draft beer shortly after sitting down, the waitress returned and said they were out of that particular brand. No big deal, except they still attempted to charge for the beer that was not in stock and never served. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone, unless I don't like you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I was a little disappointed in my go-to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was a little disappointed in my go-to restaurant. I specifically indicated on our reservation that our party of 11 was for a special occasion - 60th wedding anniversary. When we were being seated - it was at 3 four-tops that hadn't been set yet and was behind a large glass partition in the back of the restaurant with in spitting distance of the bus-boy's station. Not a particularly appealing set up for our get together. There was another set up for 12 on the other side of the glass partition. The tables were set and moved together as if some thought was put into seating a large party. I asked to be moved there and the hostess made a big deal about moving us there because it was set for another party. She finally relented and we sat down where we wanted to sit. The waitress was new but friendly and attentive. The other party showed up about 90 minutes after we sat down. It appeared to be a girls-night-out event. Nothing special - nothing like a 60th wedding anniversary. The hostess lack of interest in our party was quite a drawback to a special evening. It's as if my reservation was an afterthought for the hostess and she just wanted to stick us in the back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to Anthony's for our 36th Annive ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went to Anthony's for our 36th Anniversary. We like the food quality and the view of the lake. We were almost ignored for the first 10 minutes, however, and that put a slightly negative spin on an otherwise great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Anthony's is a long-time staple and you ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Anthony's is a long-time staple and you can always be assured of a great meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved all our varied meals. Great famil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved all our varied meals. Great family dining. Service was excellent . Surprisingly nice atmosphere and ambience

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our waitress was ve ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was great. Our waitress was very helpful with menu choices. The swordfish and salmon we both had was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Both my guest and I loved the salmon. W ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Both my guest and I loved the salmon.

We were earlier than our reservation but were accommodated with our request for a window table.

Disappointed that there weren't more ducks!!!

I chose this so that two old friends could visit over lunch. Most restaurants are way too noisy now.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place and we will come back. A ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love this place and we will come back. All of our meals were perfect and we had a large party this time. Service was great!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fish nicely prepared, knowled ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent fish nicely prepared, knowledable server

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here a few times, always reall ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I've been here a few times, always really happy with our food and service. Enjoy the option for outside dining and the special attention servers take to make sure everything is all right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD, WE HAD A DOG ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD, WE HAD A DOG WITHAND THE STAFF WERE VERY ACCOMODATING, BRINGING HIM A BOWL OF WATER WHEN THEY BROUGHT OUR MEALS OUT TO THE PATIO FOR US. THE VIEWS ARE GORGEOUS, THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE PLACES TO EAT IN SAN DIEGO AT REASONABLE PRICES. WE HAVE NEVER HAD A BAD MEAL HERE.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place...our go to for special ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love this place...our go to for special occasions. Also, great for weekday happy hour drinks and snacks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ok - inside cute. Pasta dish not ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was ok - inside cute. Pasta dish not good tasted like kraft cheese but octopus appetizer and ahi appetizer were tummy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

Very nice meal, with exceptional service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very nice meal, with exceptional service for large group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is also a great place to bring your ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is also a great place to bring your friendly dog.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A little pricey, but a beautiful, romant ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A little pricey, but a beautiful, romantic place for a special occasion (it was our 20th wedding anniversary!)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had some out of town guests & had to bri ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Had some out of town guests & had to bring them here! The food is good & the atmosphere is unique, especially for La Mesa. Looks like an under water cave inside that overlooks a lake complete with ducks & and water fountains. The service is usually good. Some of the servers have been working there since the earth cooled, so they can be a bit crabby, but since it's a seafood establishment it's ok! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am not sure what the bill was as it wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I am not sure what the bill was as it was taken care of by my sister-in-law as a gift for our 46th Wedding Anniversary. Greer our waitress and Humberto, our bus boy, went above and beyond in making sure everything was perfect for our dining experience. Our Bay Side lunches were delicious with the freshest ingredients and the portions large enough that 2 of us brought home leftovers.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We celebrated my wife's 80th birthday wi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We celebrated my wife's 80th birthday with family. There was seven of us and all was happy. If I had to complain it would be the baked potato was a little on the cool side other than that the meal was a great success. We sat by the window overlooking the pond, very relaxing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lady waiter was very pleasant and at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our lady waiter was very pleasant and attentive and the food was good.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have a special outdoor area for dog ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

They have a special outdoor area for dogs.

The window view of the pond was refreshing on a hot day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great water feature visible from outdoor ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great water feature visible from outdoor and indoor dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Getting a little dated, but the food and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Getting a little dated, but the food and service can't be beat. Nice lake out back with a pet friendly area along the shore (no swimming allowed, no beach).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

6 of us always celebrate our birthdays a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

6 of us always celebrate our birthdays at Anthony's together. We love the unique architecture & decor, personalized & professional service, big windows with nice view. The clam chowder is excellent. We always enjoy the appetizers with cocktails, esp. lemon martini.The pollock with parsley lemon rice is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my wife and I love this place and the fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

my wife and I love this place and the food is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner with friends. Wanted ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Anniversary dinner with friends. Wanted to go somewhere that had been around a long time as have we. Menu has changed and some old favorites were not on the menu (fried scallops). Looked like they were trying to upscale the menu.

Food was fine, just not wonderful. We had a good time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful place. I dont know why II've n ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful place. I dont know why II've never been there before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Reviewed previously following dining on ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Reviewed previously following dining on 22 April 2016. No changes to submit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought our dog and sat outside. What a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Brought our dog and sat outside. What a beautiful place to have your meal and enjoy the surrounding. The dog upon sitting was brought a bowl of water and a treat. The food we had was delicious and all around was a great evening meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Good food !

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service! Good food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pet Friendly

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Been going to the La Mesa location for as long as I can remember. I love how it has evolved. Great outdoor area by the pond. Kids can feed ducks, there is an enclosure for your fur kid, and even a bocce ball court! It kept a 3 and 4 year old well occupied so we could enjoy our dinner!

My daughter got a grilled cheese with crab, the filling was wonderful, but the bread was greasy with a strong taste.

My mom ordered shrimp scampi, but received shrimp with pasta.

Other than those two cons, I love this place!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Very impressed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Visited for Mothers Day with 2 children 3 and 5 years of age. The view of the pond and watching the ducks kept the children entertained and allowed the adults to enjoy their meal in peace and quiet. The food was delicious and served rather quickly. We never go anywhere for fear of our children misbehaving. It was nice being able to enjoy fine dining ( steak and lobster) in a restaurant with our children. We will definitely be returning, maybe next time outside by the pond where dogs are permitted to sit with you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Celebrated Mother's Day -

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The lobster and coconut shrimp were really good, as well as the chowder! Our server was the best too!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As we remembered

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The restaurant is pretty much the same as many years ago. Clean, cool location, and unique decor, all with the great view of the pond and of course, the ducks. Clientele was a bit old at our Sunday lunch, but maybe that is typical for that day and time. Service was excellent. Fried calamari could have been crisp, and the veggies (carrots) were a bit undercooked for their size, but otherwise the food was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful water view

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went with a small party for a special occasion. The food was excellent, the staff friendly, the service quick, and the ambiance perfect. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anthony's in La Mesa

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We dine at Anthony's often. I have never been disappointed with it. The Food is good. Service is excellent!!! I just hope they never leave La Mesa.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anthony's Fish Grotto, Grossmont/La Mesa

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Always a favorite, especially with locals in the area. Friendly staff. Excellent, personalized style of service. Was a favorite of ours when we lived in San Diego County. The Margaritas are excellent. Nice selection on the menu, including for those less interested in fish dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Quality of food is always dependably excellent and service is usually very good as well. And you can't beat the scenery.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Not So Fresh Fish

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We have always loved Anthony's, but their prices have increased, but not the quality of food. $18.00+ for a salad is a lot to pay, with very few ingredients. I ordered the "Fresh" halibut, but could definitely tell that is had been frozen. Frozen is not "fresh". Especially at $35.00+ dollars for a baked potato and previously frozen piece of halibut. If you are going to charge top prices, then the food needs to be top quality. My husband had the two lobster tails and he said they were salty. You really need to take a look at the quality of your food vs. what you are charging for it. I have to say, though, the bread and butter and your house dressing is always good!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.