About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (42)
Casual (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Waterfront (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Cozy (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (12)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Family Style (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (5)
Historic (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fish and chips...I haven't been to a place that beats them...I always have the same thing...my husband usually has the Cajun catfish.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was great, the ambience was nice, if not a bit noisy. We have eaten at Anthony's several times, and enjoy it very much. The food selection is great. But now that the one in La Mesa is the only one in San Diego, it gets pretty crowded. Glad to be able to make reservations in order to get seated in a reasonable amount of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We finally got our usual back area after the manager moved us but our group of 10-16 always sits along the back wall. Our server, Gio was wonderful, great mood, friendly, knowledgeable and very attentive! She was one of our best servers. The manager Gina was very nice and helpful, too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Very nice evening, good food & reasonable prices. Kudos to our server Chad for being attentive, pleasant, and friendly. People like him make dining out a pleasure.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Truly average experience here. Really a landmark location that has not kept up with the times. From decor to menu to food quality, just not up to par with the dining scene in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I have heard about this restaurant so I decided to try it for our 13th wedding anniversary. Everything was great. Even though I told the waitress it was our anniversary we did not get anything extra, like a small desert. Overall I loved it, will return again when I am in San Diego.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Seven ladies had a great time. The waiter was attentive, but not overly so. Water was replenished often. The food was good and our complimentary birthday desserts were delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I have eaten at Anthony's several times and have never been disappointed! The only complaint I have is the surcharge for their payroll expenses! This will probably keep me from ever eating here again! Their prices are a little high compared to other seafood restaurants I visit and feel that the surcharge is a rip off!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was good but not great. It certainly was not worth the $70 bill at the end. I could have made this meal at home for a fraction of the price. Other than that, the staff was very nice and the view was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

All 8 of us had a wonderful meal celebrating Don's 83rd Birthday and Don most certainly enjoyed his wonderful dessert! Thanks to your server, who was delightful and so helpful to each of us. We will all be back to the BEST RESTAURANT near San Diego! Thanks again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Organic, Vegan, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Anthony's Fish Grotto has been a favorite since my parents took me there when I was a little kid. No where else in San Diego has you dining on a beautiful pond, AND... the fried shrimp are simply the best in the world.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our waiter Santi is always a treat! He told me the Cucumber Martini was good and it was great!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

It was a Monday evening and the day after Father's Day, so we weren't too surprised to find the restaurant fairly empty. The décor is really dated and the music being piped reminded us that the normal customer base is in their 60's. We would have liked a bit more time to enjoy our drinks before our dinner was served, but the food was good and would have suffered if we delayed eating.
I had indicated when making the reservations that we were celebrating a birthday. No mention or acknowledgement was made of this at any time during our visit. Rather than embarrass my husband, I didn't pursue this with our server.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We waited 35 minutes for a table, with a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great family atmosphere with a nice view of the adjacent lake. Good service and great food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Awesome place + cool stuff + excellent quality food = Happy Us, cant ask for more. We are surely coming back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I have been eating at Anthony's for over 60 years. Never disappointed. We went on Father's Day and received a window seat as requested. A new addition is a dog friendly outdoor dining area

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Anthony's La Mesa continues to be one of the "hidden jewels" in East County. Lovely ambiance, great service, and a nice, varied menu.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Good overall, as always, but not outstanding. Octopus appetizer was fabulous - a pleasant surprise. I ordered ono, which means "the best fish" in Hawaiian. Waitress assured me it was fresh. Came out over-cooked, rubbery, and tasteless. I sent it back; she suggested having it grilled, and I said OK, but not cooked so much. Came back a little better, but still not up to snuff. My wife ordered a shrimp/crab Louie salad, and was disappointed - not up to the standards we've been used to in eating there for 50 years. Service and ambience were great.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was not as good as I remember. They kept turning the music up so loud it was hard to carry on conversation...80's music!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The fish was perfect. Our waitress was sweet and attentive. She bought us white chocolate cheesecake to celebrate our 21st anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our server and the rest of the staff made my wife's birthday a special one. Also, the scallops, fish, oysters, and the rest were phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

So happy we decided to try some place new! We had a fabulous time! Food was excellent and our server Carlos provided 5 star service! We spent a relaxing afternoon outside eating by the lake! What a wonderful neighborhood gem!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We always like Anthony's. The food was good and it is one of the few places you can get sand dabs. The cod was a little dry. The sculpin was so-so.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

After waiting 15 minutes for a server to acknowledge us everything was great!

We had to ask for a server!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Waiter was exceptionally good. Food was great an overall nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

A quiet, comfortable setting.
The staff are very nice & welcoming, they pay attention to your needs in great detail.
The seafood is fresh and very delicious.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

As always it was delicious. Our waitress was outstanding, my husband loves to tease and she gave back as good as she got which made the evening even more fun. I am sorry I don't remember her name but she was wonderful Our reservations were for 6 PM Sat. night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everyone raved about their meal. The service and our waitress was the best ever!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Even though it was kind of busy, our server did a great job of keeping up with our needs. He was helpful and pleasant. The food was good, as usual. Their fish is always fresh, and I like the variety of the Shore Combo with 3 different types of fish. We also like the cole slaw with the pineapple dressing and their red-skinned mashed potatoes are tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

It's a shame you lost your harbor site to developers. It was also fun to eat at.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, great service, and complete with a nice view of their private lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made reservations for 5:30 on Mothers Day, which also happened to be the day my daughters graduated from SDSU. Restaurant was very busy but we were seated in a very timely manner on the patio. Our waitress was extremely friendly and gave us great suggestions on the menu. Sitting on the patio was a bit cool but we were offered warm blankets for laps and there were numerous propane heaters around the area. The appetizers, the food and dessert were all very good . Anthony's Fish grotto was an excellent choice for us to celebrate with my daughter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great Beer, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We celebrated mother's day. Upon arrival hostess told us we would have to wait 45mins even though we had reservations. Ended up with a table 20mins later aftet i complained to the manager. Food was OK, soup was not hot, coconut shrimp we ordered had no flavor, barely any coconut, along with cold frys. A little pricey plus a 4% surcharge to our bill for unknown reason. Not sure if we'll go back.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very disapolnting! We checked in before our reservation time but after an hour wait I went up to them and they couldn't find our name. They then set us where I had requested not to sit, right next to a door so we were cold everytime anyone went in or out of the patio. All in all it was a very disappointing mothers day dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant is great. The reservation process is a joke. This restaurant shouldn't be on Open Table. Although I had a confirmed reservation at a specific time and arrived early, the response was that I would be put on a first come first served list. Consequently the one hour wait was due to the many walk-in people. Had I known that would be their process, I would have made a reservation somewhere else where reservations mean something.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service. A hidden gem in the La Mesa area. Always a hit for Mothers Day.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our "reservation" was for 12:15. It is not a reservation. It is priority seating. After waiting 30 minutes, we were still 3rd on the list. Unacceptable. We left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was inattentive and food quality and portion was below expectations for price. Will not return or recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Anthony's has been around for as long as I can remember, and it's always been one of the best places in town for a seafood dinner. Whether you want crab, lobster, shrimp, or just a good old fashioned fish & chips plate, you can find it here.

The decor is definitely... well, let's just say it reminds me of the Disneyland submarine ride from the 60's or 70's. But that's part of the place's charm. I love to sit by the window and watch the ducks on the lake while the family has dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.