About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Scenic View (23)
Casual (17)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Waterfront (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (8)
Family Style (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good. The ambiance was fin ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was good. The ambiance was fine. The restaurant was relatively quiet; not noisy or dominated by TV screens as some places are. We enjoyed our dinner. Our server was very nice and knowledgeable about the dishes on the menu. All in all, Anthony's is a fine restaurant and a great value for your dining out experiences.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, , Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My past experiances have always been goo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

My past experiances have always been good (birthdays, anniversary, special occasion) and thought that treating our out of town reps to this for a business meal was a sure thing. Made reservations 2 weeks in advance for 25 people. Received 2 calls from restaurant to confirm this and upon arrival did not have area set for seating the guests and were short staffed. We had to move tables around for seating. Had a preselected menu done so that the amount of foods requested would be minimized and not all over the entire menu. 3 appetizers, 3 main courses, 3 pre selected wines, 2 desserts. Hoped this would make things easier for staff. Slow for drinks and refills. Upon arriving with entrees the staff "auctioned' off the plates - did not know who had ordered what. Some plates piping hot, some luke warm. Spoke to manager and received a discount, but that was not the anticipated outcome, had hoped my group would have the same great experience that I usually receive. Note to self: Good for parties of up to 5, but more than that will be difficult for staff to accommodate well.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service very inaccurate. Server tried to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service very inaccurate. Server tried to correct with no success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Love the Shore Combo, red-skinned mashed ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love the Shore Combo, red-skinned mashed potatoes and cole slaw with pineapple dressing. Service was great. Love the lake and duckies.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a wonderful place to take a date or ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Just a wonderful place to take a date or be with friends. Dog friendly and WONDERFUL Seafood that is always consistently prepared. Squid Steak is a favorite along with the Shore Combo. Coleslaw & Brussel Sprouts are the best. Just a Gem.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, , Kid-friendly, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We so enjoy Anthony's. The service is a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We so enjoy Anthony's. The service is always the best as well as the food. We were enjoying our Christmas get together and the decorations were so pretty. Helped to make this a special place that we love to come to...holiday or not. Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been going to anthonys since I firs ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Have been going to anthonys since I first came to san diego in 1960 downtown. Have liked some things over the years but they went away and somethings are still there like shrimp Louie. Aways enjoyed the food and atmosphere at all Anthonys even LaJolla which is gone. Remember the lines in LaMesa on the weekends but it was always worth waiting. Still love your white clam chowder.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The shrimp are good, the fries are great ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The shrimp are good, the fries are great, the price is up! I hadn't eaten at Anthony's in a long time & was surprised how the prices have gone up! The lack is still beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Birthday lunch, Mom loved her lobs ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great Birthday lunch, Mom loved her lobster and free dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our meals from the Ann ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our meals from the Anniversary menu!

Tags: Quick Bite, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, , Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been going to Anthony's for over ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have been going to Anthony's for over 40 years. I do not believe I have ever been disappointed with a meal there. This was no exception. My wife and I had a quiet dinner with my son and his wife. We all left very satisfied. A feature Anthony's has that we did not take advantage of this time is dining outside with your dog. They even have a menu for canines. Especially on a nice summer day, it is great to have a relaxing meal outside and to be able to bring your dog along and get him his own meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We all used to love Anthony's. The food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We all used to love Anthony's. The food was not good - blah - no taste - panko cod. I feel bad for the restaurant. Please bring back Mama Ghio's favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Lunch was okay.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Lunch was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

-Great outdoor dining complete with a do ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

-Great outdoor dining complete with a dog park, doggie menu, bocce ball court.

-Inside bar area and lobby has a cool under the sea cave theme that manages to be contemporary, but retains some mid-century charm.

-Great service and an expanded wine menu.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I haven't eaten at Anthony's for many ye ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I haven't eaten at Anthony's for many years and had my doubts about returning as I did not remember being that impressed the last time I was there. I was recently visiting from out of town and went to dinner there with my family. I have to say overall it was a very lackluster meal. The only parts of it that were good were the coleslaw and the halibut filet. The service was decent but, given the multitude of other options, I don't plan to return the next time I am in town.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious fish tacos, completely fulfill ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Delicious fish tacos, completely fulfilling and satisfyimg. Water fromt view, sea air, not crowded, although I went on a weekday. $$

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Fun, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It use to be wonderful, but something ha ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It use to be wonderful, but something happened with the new menu and after Mama Ghio died. Went there to eat in the Seventies all the time. Loved the Crab Louie salad and all the great fish dishes. The decor is very tacky and the food just isn't the same. I know times change but with The Brigitine across the freeway I am surprised they are still in business.

Sorry, but I was trying to entertain out of town inlaws last minute and with no reservations at the Brig. I had no other easy choice available but Anthony's.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

A fiends birthday luncheon. Good food an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

A fiends birthday luncheon. Good food and wonderful service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Anthony's. Fresh seafoo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We always enjoy Anthony's. Fresh seafood - nice variety.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the food and the servi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and the service. It was my husband's birthday and his first time at the restaurant . We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We decided to go to this location rather ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We decided to go to this location rather then then one in downtown San Diego and was pleasantly surprised. It is a lovel location on a small lake with both indoor and outdoor seating. The menu offered a large amount of options and everything that my group of 3 had was delicious. Our server was very attentive and the whole experience will definitely bring me back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here about once a month. Service i ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I eat here about once a month. Service is usually great. I enjoy the lobster tails and shrimp scampi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I absolutely adore this place! The food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I absolutely adore this place! The food is absolutely wonderful, but the service tops all. I took my parents here for my mom's birthday and they made it above and beyond special. We were the last people in the restaurant on a Saturday night and we did not feel rushed one bit. Such kind accommodating staff with out of this world food. I will be coming here many many more times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anthony's has been a go-to place for my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Anthony's has been a go-to place for my family and me since the mid- 60's. I learned to enjoy fish dinners there as a young man. Great food and reasonable prices are still the standard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal and nice friendl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and nice friendly service. The food was delicious. Looking out on the lake and ducks was a plus.

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I marked this restaurant a little low be ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I marked this restaurant a little low because I had some issues with the food and our waiter. That being said, I think this is a lovely restaurant and the rest of our party was happy with their food once they received it. I think the issue was that we had an inexperienced waiter. I don't want to disparage the restaurant because of one incident and I did call the management later to discuss the issues. I was assured that someone (the Owners) would reach out to me. If that happens I would change my rating.

UPDATE

The restaurant did reach out to me and apologized for the issue we had. They even gave me a $25 gift card!! I really didn't want/expect anything I just wanted to discuss my issue so that they would be aware. Great customer service, Great restaurant - Am most appreciative that they responded to my concerns positively!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

excellent food as usual. Great seafood, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

excellent food as usual. Great seafood, oysters I had were absolutely outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, , Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation of a party of 9 fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We made a reservation of a party of 9 for 6:30 and received a confirmation. We arrived at 6:25 and was advised that due to an unexpected crowd of people we would have to wait about 30-45 minutes. We were not seated till 7:20. No apology's except the hostess that was trying to do her best to keep everyone happy. Sadly a manager never showed their face. Wait staff was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Went there to celebrate my birthday and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Went there to celebrate my birthday and it happened to be during Restaurant Week. It was very busy, but we were seated about 10 minutes after we arrived. I had the 3 course lobster special dinner and it was outstanding. Our family's been dining at Anthony's for over 40 years and we've never been disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I table outside on the mail open table ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I table outside on the mail open table site. We got there an half hour early to make sure it was set up. It was not, but the hostess said that they would set a table for us. We waited 40 minutes and then asked if the table was ready. We were told "inaminute". Then we were taken to a table inside. When I said we have a table outside, the waitress went back to the hostess. The hostess said not possible because they were so busy. While we ate there were empty tables by us and definitely outside. I guess the staff did not want to be bothered during restaurant week in San Diego. Fine, we will go across the freeway to the Brigatine. Their service, ambience, and food are always very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had to wait around 20 minutes for our ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had to wait around 20 minutes for our reserved table but hostess apologized due to it being restaurant week. Service was excellent. Food that we ordered (Filet with garlic Shrimp) was under seasoned, warm (not hot) and Filet was placed on top of Mashed Potatoes leaving an unappetizing 1/8 cup of blood pooling over my Mashed Potatoes. Pink Potatoes anyone? LOL. I believe if the Filet had time to rest after being grilled, that would've eliminated the pink mashed potatoes. I'd come back. This was the first time the food was off. Service was excellent though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Great prices and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and service! Great prices and the scenery is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just the best choices of seafood in the ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Just the best choices of seafood in the county. So many choices and options to have it prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was good, a little pricey, should o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

food was good, a little pricey, should offer a salad with menu not as additional price. offering one vegetable asparagus? should have more options on veggies. overall good -place to eat occasionally.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress , Dakota, was delightful. S ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Our waitress , Dakota, was delightful. She was charming, extremely helpful, patient, and knowledgeable. I was Celebrating my 75th birthday and was so happy I chose Anthony's.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As it has been for years they continue t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

As it has been for years they continue to serve fresh seafood in a calm. relaxing environment.

We LOVE that we can reservations there now.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family has been coming to this locat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our family has been coming to this location since it opened in 1962. The quality of the food has deceased to the point it is not worth coming here any more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The patio next to the small lake and fou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The patio next to the small lake and fountain is dog-friendly. Next time we're definitely bringing our pup. Beautiful surroundings. The food and service are consistently good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great amosphere along with outstanding s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great amosphere along with outstanding service. The food was delicious and can't wait to go back again and again!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most delicious, relaxing, coz ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of the most delicious, relaxing, cozy dinners I have had. The service was superb! The staff were friendly, attentive and understanding of little ones and their needs. There is also a dog park that can be reserved (away from other diners, so quiet) and several ducks on the small lake that make it wonderful to watch. They also have a fish market with fresh selections. The menu item we wanted was not in the kitchen so they went to the market and acquired it for us. There are heaters outside and also blankets are provided.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fireplace, , Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.