About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (34)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Casual (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Waterfront (15)
Cozy (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Authentic (11)
Family Style (11)
Healthy (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Historic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Fun (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal & great service! Love the shrimp scampi & my husband loves the shore combo. We also love the view of the lake while we eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

My family celebrated my niece's birthday and had a great meal to boot. A very pleasant time was had by all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was extremely attentive. The ambience was perfect for outdoor dining. The interior was too dark, so perhaps indoor tables would be romantic for some diners, but we had a large family affair and our lakeside patio setting was outstanding. Thanks Anthony's for a truly perfect dinner!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food and beautiful view. Took our dog and he had a blast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very beautiful venue. I am very disappointed in the quality of the food. In addition, I had asked my plate to be prepared gluten-free and dairy-free, and they completely ignored both requests.

The food reminded me of cafeteria or hospital food quality, with hard clumps in the rice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Historic, Authentic, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was overall a nice experience, the waitress was a bit scattered but, very nice. The Calamari came out cold after we waited for it and we sent it back and it just go reheated and not cooked fresh or taken off check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great Food, Excellent Server. Only comment had reservations and had to wait 20 mins to be seated. The reason I had reservations was that I didn't want my elderly mom to wait, unfortunately we did, however the server was very quick.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We've been coming to Anthony's for years. Hard to believe the couple we invited to dinner had never been! They were not disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Anthony's is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is delicious and the service is always first rate!

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything was excellent
The server was wonderful as is the surroundings and food. Will be back👍

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Waterfront, Cozy, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Been coming here for years because if good service & delicious seafood. In fact, I'm coming back tomorrow to meet a girlfriend for a late lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dog's birthday

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We came for a family reunion and to remember a lost sibling, and so it was good that we had to wait a long time to get served, first the drinks, and onward from there. There was lots of time to talk, and in our case, that was good. But if you are hungry, you could get grouchy. The food is worth it, really good, and service when it does finally happen is pleasant. My husband and I returned a few nights later to see if this was a consisent problem, and noticed that the crowd thins out, at least on weekdays, after 7:30. Our reservations were on a weekend at 6:30, so an hour makes a difference~!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We've been going to this Anthony's for going on 45 years. The food has always been fairly good and it did not disappoint this time either. Since the restaurant has implemented some policies I don't care for, we pretty much only go twice a year for birthdays.

Policies that are a turnoff.
Dog Friendly restaurant. I have virtually zero interest in going to a restaurant where people are allowed to bring their dog (s). It's fine for Anthony's to have this policy just as it's fine for me to choose to spend my money elsewhere.
Mandatory 2% service charge. Did not see this displayed anywhere until I got my bill. Not a biggie, but I don't like it, I tip less because of it, and I'm more likely to patronize restaurants that don't have this mandatory charge. I would rather they just charge me an extra 50 cents for my entree.
Suggested tipping amounts printed on the bill are obscene. 18%, 20%, and 22% tip. ALL employees from the waitstaff, to front end, to dishwashers are now making $11.50 an hour for an unskilled labor job. If I tip even $10 (10%) on a $100 dining bill, I am now paying the equivalent of $21.50 and hour for someone to take my order and bring me my food. Yes, I know all about tip pooling. Doesn't change my opinion. It's still basically unskilled labor. Suggesting I pay up to the equivalent of $31.50 and hour for unskilled labor is just asinine.

So Anthony's has me twice a year for mandatory birthday celebrations, but that's it. Too many other great competing choices for my dining dollars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Loved everything aout this place! Food was great and service was awesome!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great, as always!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Historic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Disappointed in the fish and chips after hearing such great things about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Just excellent food and service. Just love the fresh seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Seafood's prepared as you like, always fresh; try the salmon, med-rare & coleslaw!! Yes, coleslaw, best dressed in town. Salina & Santiago are Servers Extraordinaire!! Arturo rules the upbeat bar, always has an engaging smile! Bring your well behaved pups to dine outside in a dog-exclusive patio facing the lake & ducks/swans!! Tell them, Sheltiemomm sent you.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Historic, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had 730 reservation on Valentine's Day. After waiting 15 minutes with them seating multiple parties I finally asked what was happening. They informed that they had to seat walk ins who had been waiting a long time for a table? Finally manager came over and seated us after 20 minutes of waiting. I would not have been seated after 20 minutes if I had not made a complaint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The seafood was excellent. We went for a Valentine's dinner date. My wife had the Alaskan cod and I had the sand dabs (sole). The service was very good considering that it was very busy. The restaurant is looking a little tired and so a little re-model maybe in order. Overall, a very good evening of food and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time ,and let me say definitely a lasting first impression. Wonderful customer service Jenny was such a sweetheart so helpful during our visit. Would definitely come back.food was great , such a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We LOVE Anthony's. Disappointed that the other locations have closed. The food is great, and the staff is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The best freshest seafood! GREAT service and a wonderful place to dine with your dog!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was more than adequate. Unfortunately, the bread was barely palatable. And our server was very slow to refill drinks and bread. It wasn't that busy. Ambiance was great!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been coming here for years, always enjoy our meal. Too bad that the bayside location is/has lost their lease. Very predictable coming here, not much ever changes. Mostly a place where older people go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Anthony's La Mesa has been a landmark since the 1960s. The lake and the "undersea garden" décor make it something unique. Great food and consistently good service make us regulars at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Seated in a reasonable amount of time, great server contact, wine list was good- could use a better-quality of wines by the glass. Enjoyed beautiful seats next to 'pond' (great ambiance), with a feeling of separation from other patrons and still checked frequently by waitress. Food was very good, especially having the 'Combo Plates' for variety. Also, cannot forget the wonderful dessert (Z.Cake w/ Spumoni Ice cream). Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Romantic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Night started on a down note, reserved table not ready when promised, however the manager (Who's name I can't remember) stepped in and made things right. Table was made available, complimentary drinks and a warm and understanding attitude. Food and service were great and at the end of dinner a complimentary dessert...outstanding
I highly recommend Anthony's.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The prices were a little high for what you got. The fish and chips were pretty average and the French fries were below average. They don't have the good bread that they used to serve, just a in rolls. Our server was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Such a nice restaurant! My server Max was beyond adorable and provided wonderful service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 7, 2017

If you really do not eat any seafood - there is not more than 2-5 options, which is disappointing, as most seafood restaurants do have more choices. The seafood we did get was very good. Unfortunately we were sat next to a group of 5 boisterous, semi-drunk adults who just did not care about others around them. We chose this place for a nice, quiet dinner, and that was not what we got. Staff did not do anything about it either, which was unfortunate as it really did ruin the ambiance we had hoped for.
The service was exquisite though - we hope to go back again and give it another try. The salad dressings are made in house and are delicious!
The view of the water was beautiful and what we had hoped for!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been going to this Anthony's since it opened in the 60's. It really could use some refreshing as it is showing it's age. The food is still great and it is fun to meet old friend's there to reminisce about "the good old days"! I also like that they never hurry us to leave when there visiting!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have enjoyed Anthony's for years as a place for excellent food and a unique style. The food is still excellent but the customer service is a mediocre; I got the wrong dish and had to eat my corrected order after most of my friends were done with nary an apology. Then they had the audacity to charge a 2% service charge for us four couples splitting our bills!!! I hate to be "nickel and dimes". Poorly done, Anthony's. If your food wasn't so darned good, I would not come back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food items - including delicious sand dabs and breaded shrimp. The rice was delicious as well and the tomato butter on warm bread was delicious... A little step up is necessary on service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always enjoyable to dine at Anthony's. The food is good and reasonably priced. The red clam chowder is the best.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We've been coming here since they opened. Not regularly but often. Never disappoints.

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We ate at Anthony's san diego for our honeymoon 3 years ago. We were sad to hear the bay location was closing and tried to eat there, but with a 2 hour wait we decided to go to the la mesa location instead. It just wasnt the same. The calamari was luke warm and bland. The waiter had no personality. The lobster portion was tiny and crab bites were just plain disgusting. We were very disappointed and will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I made a reservation and we had to wait for our table even though there were many open tables when we were seated. Then we had to wait for a bit before our server came to our table. Evidently, they were short on staff. Our server was friendly and the food was good. The ambience wasn't that good and there were a lot of tables that didn't get bussed. It was kind of messy and unorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service...Becca was best waitress! She was friendly and made our visit very memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.