About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

Scenic View (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (18)
Kid-friendly (10)
Romantic (10)
Casual (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Waterfront (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just the best choices of seafood in the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Just the best choices of seafood in the county. So many choices and options to have it prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was good, a little pricey, should o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

food was good, a little pricey, should offer a salad with menu not as additional price. offering one vegetable asparagus? should have more options on veggies. overall good -place to eat occasionally.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress , Dakota, was delightful. S ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress , Dakota, was delightful. She was charming, extremely helpful, patient, and knowledgeable. I was Celebrating my 75th birthday and was so happy I chose Anthony's.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As it has been for years they continue t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

As it has been for years they continue to serve fresh seafood in a calm. relaxing environment.

We LOVE that we can reservations there now.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family has been coming to this locat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our family has been coming to this location since it opened in 1962. The quality of the food has deceased to the point it is not worth coming here any more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The patio next to the small lake and fou ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The patio next to the small lake and fountain is dog-friendly. Next time we're definitely bringing our pup. Beautiful surroundings. The food and service are consistently good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great amosphere along with outstanding s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great amosphere along with outstanding service. The food was delicious and can't wait to go back again and again!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most delicious, relaxing, coz ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of the most delicious, relaxing, cozy dinners I have had. The service was superb! The staff were friendly, attentive and understanding of little ones and their needs. There is also a dog park that can be reserved (away from other diners, so quiet) and several ducks on the small lake that make it wonderful to watch. They also have a fish market with fresh selections. The menu item we wanted was not in the kitchen so they went to the market and acquired it for us. There are heaters outside and also blankets are provided.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in East County for fresh seaf ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best place in East County for fresh seafood dishes. Lovely view of the pond. Delicious specialty cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the patio dining along the lake ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We love the patio dining along the lake with fountain and ducks. The food and service are good at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and perfect neighborhood res ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food, and perfect neighborhood restaurant with an area for your canine family members. My family had lunch there on Sunday and brought along our small dogs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anthony's has been a favorite destinatio ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Anthony's has been a favorite destination for our family for over 30 years!

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food as usual....BUT...it seem ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Very good food as usual....BUT...it seems they cut down on the size of the fish portion and the fry portion...Still the BEST shrimp and the fish was great just less than usual....Hope this isn't the trend with Anthony's....because I have been going to them since they were on kettner blvd.....thanks

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Casual, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good food and very friendly service. En ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food and very friendly service. Enjoyed sitting next to window and seeing the lake...then the fountain of water that lights up at night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Healthy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizer was not very good. We had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The appetizer was not very good. We had the wantons and they were overcooked and had a minimal barely perceivable amount of filling. The entres were horrendous. My wife had a shrimp dish and the shrimp were overcooked. The shrimp had the consistency of hardened rubber. I had the swordfish that was also overcooked and dry. The swordfish steak was obviously not fresh and had a mildly unfavorable taste. The general theme seemed to be to overcook anything that was requested. The serving sizes were exceptionally small, especially when the overinflated price of the plate is taken into account. We ordered a draft beer shortly after sitting down, the waitress returned and said they were out of that particular brand. No big deal, except they still attempted to charge for the beer that was not in stock and never served. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone, unless I don't like you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I was a little disappointed in my go-to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was a little disappointed in my go-to restaurant. I specifically indicated on our reservation that our party of 11 was for a special occasion - 60th wedding anniversary. When we were being seated - it was at 3 four-tops that hadn't been set yet and was behind a large glass partition in the back of the restaurant with in spitting distance of the bus-boy's station. Not a particularly appealing set up for our get together. There was another set up for 12 on the other side of the glass partition. The tables were set and moved together as if some thought was put into seating a large party. I asked to be moved there and the hostess made a big deal about moving us there because it was set for another party. She finally relented and we sat down where we wanted to sit. The waitress was new but friendly and attentive. The other party showed up about 90 minutes after we sat down. It appeared to be a girls-night-out event. Nothing special - nothing like a 60th wedding anniversary. The hostess lack of interest in our party was quite a drawback to a special evening. It's as if my reservation was an afterthought for the hostess and she just wanted to stick us in the back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to Anthony's for our 36th Annive ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went to Anthony's for our 36th Anniversary. We like the food quality and the view of the lake. We were almost ignored for the first 10 minutes, however, and that put a slightly negative spin on an otherwise great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Anthony's is a long-time staple and you ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Anthony's is a long-time staple and you can always be assured of a great meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved all our varied meals. Great famil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved all our varied meals. Great family dining. Service was excellent . Surprisingly nice atmosphere and ambience

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our waitress was ve ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was great. Our waitress was very helpful with menu choices. The swordfish and salmon we both had was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Both my guest and I loved the salmon. W ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Both my guest and I loved the salmon.

We were earlier than our reservation but were accommodated with our request for a window table.

Disappointed that there weren't more ducks!!!

I chose this so that two old friends could visit over lunch. Most restaurants are way too noisy now.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place and we will come back. A ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love this place and we will come back. All of our meals were perfect and we had a large party this time. Service was great!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fish nicely prepared, knowled ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent fish nicely prepared, knowledable server

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here a few times, always reall ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I've been here a few times, always really happy with our food and service. Enjoy the option for outside dining and the special attention servers take to make sure everything is all right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD, WE HAD A DOG ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD, WE HAD A DOG WITHAND THE STAFF WERE VERY ACCOMODATING, BRINGING HIM A BOWL OF WATER WHEN THEY BROUGHT OUR MEALS OUT TO THE PATIO FOR US. THE VIEWS ARE GORGEOUS, THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE PLACES TO EAT IN SAN DIEGO AT REASONABLE PRICES. WE HAVE NEVER HAD A BAD MEAL HERE.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place...our go to for special ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love this place...our go to for special occasions. Also, great for weekday happy hour drinks and snacks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ok - inside cute. Pasta dish not ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was ok - inside cute. Pasta dish not good tasted like kraft cheese but octopus appetizer and ahi appetizer were tummy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

Very nice meal, with exceptional service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very nice meal, with exceptional service for large group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is also a great place to bring your ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is also a great place to bring your friendly dog.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A little pricey, but a beautiful, romant ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A little pricey, but a beautiful, romantic place for a special occasion (it was our 20th wedding anniversary!)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had some out of town guests & had to bri ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Had some out of town guests & had to bring them here! The food is good & the atmosphere is unique, especially for La Mesa. Looks like an under water cave inside that overlooks a lake complete with ducks & and water fountains. The service is usually good. Some of the servers have been working there since the earth cooled, so they can be a bit crabby, but since it's a seafood establishment it's ok! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am not sure what the bill was as it wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I am not sure what the bill was as it was taken care of by my sister-in-law as a gift for our 46th Wedding Anniversary. Greer our waitress and Humberto, our bus boy, went above and beyond in making sure everything was perfect for our dining experience. Our Bay Side lunches were delicious with the freshest ingredients and the portions large enough that 2 of us brought home leftovers.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We celebrated my wife's 80th birthday wi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We celebrated my wife's 80th birthday with family. There was seven of us and all was happy. If I had to complain it would be the baked potato was a little on the cool side other than that the meal was a great success. We sat by the window overlooking the pond, very relaxing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lady waiter was very pleasant and at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our lady waiter was very pleasant and attentive and the food was good.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have a special outdoor area for dog ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

They have a special outdoor area for dogs.

The window view of the pond was refreshing on a hot day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great water feature visible from outdoor ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great water feature visible from outdoor and indoor dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Getting a little dated, but the food and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Getting a little dated, but the food and service can't be beat. Nice lake out back with a pet friendly area along the shore (no swimming allowed, no beach).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

6 of us always celebrate our birthdays a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

6 of us always celebrate our birthdays at Anthony's together. We love the unique architecture & decor, personalized & professional service, big windows with nice view. The clam chowder is excellent. We always enjoy the appetizers with cocktails, esp. lemon martini.The pollock with parsley lemon rice is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my wife and I love this place and the fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

my wife and I love this place and the food is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner with friends. Wanted ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Anniversary dinner with friends. Wanted to go somewhere that had been around a long time as have we. Menu has changed and some old favorites were not on the menu (fried scallops). Looked like they were trying to upscale the menu.

Food was fine, just not wonderful. We had a good time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.