About Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa

9530 Murray Dr
La Mesa, CA 91942
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto, located on its own private lake in La Mesa, offers delicious food, amazing service, and unmatched atmosphere. A complete menu offers both seafood and other meat choices. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. You can also enjoy cocktails in the bar or on the heated lake view patio. If you want to bring your dog along, there are special lakefront tables where you and your dog can enjoy and unwind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 8:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Severin Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 463-0368

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Located 0.9 miles from the Amaya Drive stop on the San Diego tTrolley.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - La Mesa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East County
Best Food
East County
Best Service
East County
2 More
Best Ambiance
East County
Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

Scenic View (29)
Special Occasion (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
See All
Great for Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Waterfront (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Family Style (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I haven't eaten at Anthony's for many ye ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I haven't eaten at Anthony's for many years and had my doubts about returning as I did not remember being that impressed the last time I was there. I was recently visiting from out of town and went to dinner there with my family. I have to say overall it was a very lackluster meal. The only parts of it that were good were the coleslaw and the halibut filet. The service was decent but, given the multitude of other options, I don't plan to return the next time I am in town.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious fish tacos, completely fulfill ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Delicious fish tacos, completely fulfilling and satisfyimg. Water fromt view, sea air, not crowded, although I went on a weekday. $$

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Fun, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It use to be wonderful, but something ha ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It use to be wonderful, but something happened with the new menu and after Mama Ghio died. Went there to eat in the Seventies all the time. Loved the Crab Louie salad and all the great fish dishes. The decor is very tacky and the food just isn't the same. I know times change but with The Brigitine across the freeway I am surprised they are still in business.

Sorry, but I was trying to entertain out of town inlaws last minute and with no reservations at the Brig. I had no other easy choice available but Anthony's.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

A fiends birthday luncheon. Good food an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

A fiends birthday luncheon. Good food and wonderful service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Anthony's. Fresh seafoo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We always enjoy Anthony's. Fresh seafood - nice variety.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the food and the servi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and the service. It was my husband's birthday and his first time at the restaurant . We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We decided to go to this location rather ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We decided to go to this location rather then then one in downtown San Diego and was pleasantly surprised. It is a lovel location on a small lake with both indoor and outdoor seating. The menu offered a large amount of options and everything that my group of 3 had was delicious. Our server was very attentive and the whole experience will definitely bring me back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here about once a month. Service i ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I eat here about once a month. Service is usually great. I enjoy the lobster tails and shrimp scampi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I absolutely adore this place! The food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I absolutely adore this place! The food is absolutely wonderful, but the service tops all. I took my parents here for my mom's birthday and they made it above and beyond special. We were the last people in the restaurant on a Saturday night and we did not feel rushed one bit. Such kind accommodating staff with out of this world food. I will be coming here many many more times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anthony's has been a go-to place for my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Anthony's has been a go-to place for my family and me since the mid- 60's. I learned to enjoy fish dinners there as a young man. Great food and reasonable prices are still the standard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal and nice friendl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and nice friendly service. The food was delicious. Looking out on the lake and ducks was a plus.

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I marked this restaurant a little low be ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I marked this restaurant a little low because I had some issues with the food and our waiter. That being said, I think this is a lovely restaurant and the rest of our party was happy with their food once they received it. I think the issue was that we had an inexperienced waiter. I don't want to disparage the restaurant because of one incident and I did call the management later to discuss the issues. I was assured that someone (the Owners) would reach out to me. If that happens I would change my rating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

excellent food as usual. Great seafood, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

excellent food as usual. Great seafood, oysters I had were absolutely outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation of a party of 9 fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We made a reservation of a party of 9 for 6:30 and received a confirmation. We arrived at 6:25 and was advised that due to an unexpected crowd of people we would have to wait about 30-45 minutes. We were not seated till 7:20. No apology's except the hostess that was trying to do her best to keep everyone happy. Sadly a manager never showed their face. Wait staff was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Went there to celebrate my birthday and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Went there to celebrate my birthday and it happened to be during Restaurant Week. It was very busy, but we were seated about 10 minutes after we arrived. I had the 3 course lobster special dinner and it was outstanding. Our family's been dining at Anthony's for over 40 years and we've never been disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I table outside on the mail open table ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I table outside on the mail open table site. We got there an half hour early to make sure it was set up. It was not, but the hostess said that they would set a table for us. We waited 40 minutes and then asked if the table was ready. We were told "inaminute". Then we were taken to a table inside. When I said we have a table outside, the waitress went back to the hostess. The hostess said not possible because they were so busy. While we ate there were empty tables by us and definitely outside. I guess the staff did not want to be bothered during restaurant week in San Diego. Fine, we will go across the freeway to the Brigatine. Their service, ambience, and food are always very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had to wait around 20 minutes for our ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had to wait around 20 minutes for our reserved table but hostess apologized due to it being restaurant week. Service was excellent. Food that we ordered (Filet with garlic Shrimp) was under seasoned, warm (not hot) and Filet was placed on top of Mashed Potatoes leaving an unappetizing 1/8 cup of blood pooling over my Mashed Potatoes. Pink Potatoes anyone? LOL. I believe if the Filet had time to rest after being grilled, that would've eliminated the pink mashed potatoes. I'd come back. This was the first time the food was off. Service was excellent though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Great prices and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and service! Great prices and the scenery is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just the best choices of seafood in the ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Just the best choices of seafood in the county. So many choices and options to have it prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was good, a little pricey, should o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

food was good, a little pricey, should offer a salad with menu not as additional price. offering one vegetable asparagus? should have more options on veggies. overall good -place to eat occasionally.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress , Dakota, was delightful. S ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Our waitress , Dakota, was delightful. She was charming, extremely helpful, patient, and knowledgeable. I was Celebrating my 75th birthday and was so happy I chose Anthony's.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As it has been for years they continue t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

As it has been for years they continue to serve fresh seafood in a calm. relaxing environment.

We LOVE that we can reservations there now.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family has been coming to this locat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our family has been coming to this location since it opened in 1962. The quality of the food has deceased to the point it is not worth coming here any more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The patio next to the small lake and fou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The patio next to the small lake and fountain is dog-friendly. Next time we're definitely bringing our pup. Beautiful surroundings. The food and service are consistently good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great amosphere along with outstanding s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great amosphere along with outstanding service. The food was delicious and can't wait to go back again and again!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most delicious, relaxing, coz ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of the most delicious, relaxing, cozy dinners I have had. The service was superb! The staff were friendly, attentive and understanding of little ones and their needs. There is also a dog park that can be reserved (away from other diners, so quiet) and several ducks on the small lake that make it wonderful to watch. They also have a fish market with fresh selections. The menu item we wanted was not in the kitchen so they went to the market and acquired it for us. There are heaters outside and also blankets are provided.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in East County for fresh seaf ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best place in East County for fresh seafood dishes. Lovely view of the pond. Delicious specialty cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the patio dining along the lake ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We love the patio dining along the lake with fountain and ducks. The food and service are good at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and perfect neighborhood res ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food, and perfect neighborhood restaurant with an area for your canine family members. My family had lunch there on Sunday and brought along our small dogs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anthony's has been a favorite destinatio ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Anthony's has been a favorite destination for our family for over 30 years!

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food as usual....BUT...it seem ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Very good food as usual....BUT...it seems they cut down on the size of the fish portion and the fry portion...Still the BEST shrimp and the fish was great just less than usual....Hope this isn't the trend with Anthony's....because I have been going to them since they were on kettner blvd.....thanks

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Casual, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great seafood and good service

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great seafood and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and very friendly service. En ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food and very friendly service. Enjoyed sitting next to window and seeing the lake...then the fountain of water that lights up at night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Healthy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizer was not very good. We had ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The appetizer was not very good. We had the wantons and they were overcooked and had a minimal barely perceivable amount of filling. The entres were horrendous. My wife had a shrimp dish and the shrimp were overcooked. The shrimp had the consistency of hardened rubber. I had the swordfish that was also overcooked and dry. The swordfish steak was obviously not fresh and had a mildly unfavorable taste. The general theme seemed to be to overcook anything that was requested. The serving sizes were exceptionally small, especially when the overinflated price of the plate is taken into account. We ordered a draft beer shortly after sitting down, the waitress returned and said they were out of that particular brand. No big deal, except they still attempted to charge for the beer that was not in stock and never served. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone, unless I don't like you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I was a little disappointed in my go-to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was a little disappointed in my go-to restaurant. I specifically indicated on our reservation that our party of 11 was for a special occasion - 60th wedding anniversary. When we were being seated - it was at 3 four-tops that hadn't been set yet and was behind a large glass partition in the back of the restaurant with in spitting distance of the bus-boy's station. Not a particularly appealing set up for our get together. There was another set up for 12 on the other side of the glass partition. The tables were set and moved together as if some thought was put into seating a large party. I asked to be moved there and the hostess made a big deal about moving us there because it was set for another party. She finally relented and we sat down where we wanted to sit. The waitress was new but friendly and attentive. The other party showed up about 90 minutes after we sat down. It appeared to be a girls-night-out event. Nothing special - nothing like a 60th wedding anniversary. The hostess lack of interest in our party was quite a drawback to a special evening. It's as if my reservation was an afterthought for the hostess and she just wanted to stick us in the back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to Anthony's for our 36th Annive ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went to Anthony's for our 36th Anniversary. We like the food quality and the view of the lake. We were almost ignored for the first 10 minutes, however, and that put a slightly negative spin on an otherwise great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Anthony's is a long-time staple and you ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Anthony's is a long-time staple and you can always be assured of a great meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved all our varied meals. Great famil ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved all our varied meals. Great family dining. Service was excellent . Surprisingly nice atmosphere and ambience

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our waitress was ve ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was great. Our waitress was very helpful with menu choices. The swordfish and salmon we both had was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Both my guest and I loved the salmon. W ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Both my guest and I loved the salmon.

We were earlier than our reservation but were accommodated with our request for a window table.

Disappointed that there weren't more ducks!!!

I chose this so that two old friends could visit over lunch. Most restaurants are way too noisy now.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.