About Anson11

303 North Oregon St
Ste 110
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Mills Building in the heart of Downtown El Paso and next to the famous Plaza Theatre, Anson11 offers delicious American Bistro dishes paired with exquisite wine and great customer service. Our first floor Bistro has a more casual bar scene and offers a variety of entrees, salads, sandwiches and flatbreads. Enjoy fine dining on our second floor which offers a more intimate and upscale experience where each dish is both familiar yet completely new in the way its flavor arouses the palate. From Prime steaks to fresh seafood flown in fresh daily, Anson11 is not just a restaurant but an entire experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bistro (First floor)
Sunday-Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm/ Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:00pm

Fine Dining (Second Floor)
Closed Sunday's
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm/Friday's-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mills

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 504-6400

Website:
http://www.anson11.com/

Parking Details:
We are able to validate parking for Anson11 customers, provided there are no special events downtown, in which case the parking lots have special event rates.

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castillo

Private Party Facilities:
No matter if it’s a quaint dinner for 8 of your closest friends, or a banquet for 100 of your co-workers, Anson11 would love to be the venue for your next big celebration.
If you or your organization would like to reserve a date for an event, we would be pleased to sit down with you to make sure every detail is covered. It’s not what we do, it’s how we live.

Private Party Contact:
Ileana Martinez: (915) 504-6407

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anson11 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Business Meals (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Historic (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Private Room (8)
Authentic (8)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined a day ago

It was a good environment with good music. Service was great by our waiter Chris, thank you Chris! Great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

The staff is attentive, the chef is extremely talented and flexible when it comes to minor changes. I love this place

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were excellent. But it's quite expensive with prices one expects in New York or San Francisco.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service and great food. 10 out of 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very fancy place to take your date. Very pleased with the service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely wonderful dining and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food at reasonable price, excellent service, close to key attractions (theater, symphony).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food, ambiance, and servers were excellent! Especially our waiter, Christopher was very kind.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great ambiance, wife loved it. Definitely would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very creative meals, energetic/ friendly staff, and very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had our Valentine's Day date here both this year and last year. Both times were fantastic however this year was at least 40 percent more expensive without an attendant boost in quality or service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and wine. The service was excellent. I would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very accommodating. Great food and wait staff was incredible

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary with a nice dinner in the Bistro area.

The music level is a bit high for my liking, but still enjoyable to have a conversation and not be shouting.

The service was great, the food (Scottish Salmon and Oven Roasted Chicken) were delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice ambiance. The foie gras was wonderful. The asparagus should have been peeled.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Ordered the roasted chicken. Way too dry, I was dissatisfied with the side portions as well.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always a great dining experience, can't wait to come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My boyfriend and I celebrated our 3 years last Saturday. It was our first time for the fine dinning experience. We had the 7 course meal, along with two cocktails each. Each bit was a insane. It was culinary art at its best! We enjoyed every bite! The cocktails were in point! I had the jalapeño cilantro margarita, actually had two because I thought it was delicious. I don't remember our servers name but he did a wonderful job! 5 stars! Outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The wine list was lacking, I understand you want product to rotate but unacceptable for fine dining. It's one of the newest fine dining in El Paso, but some more seasoned FD establishments already do it right, and dare I say better? Can't recommend A11, maybe it just wasn't for me, but for my FD needs I'll be dining elsewhere. Give it a try, maybe I missed something.

Though I will say this, the ground floor bistro area offers (not their sandwiches of course) food with as much flavor as their 1st floor counterparts at a reasonable price. Stay their instead.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Private Room, Historic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Hope to be able to write a review regarding the food and service, but not this time. After making a reservation 4 days in advance through Open Table (received confirmation and reminder), the restaurant called an hour prior to our reservation and said they couldn't accommodate the reservation made at 4pm (an hour before the phone call). When I explained I had made the reservation days ago they immediately rescinded and said they would accommodate us. I should have known better as there was a Broadway show at the theater...which we were going to like most other diners that night. We arrived to find many others in the same situation - reservation made through Open Table, but restaurant had no reservation. The hostess kept telling us it would be soon, but 50 minutes later we were still waiting. We finally made the decision to leave as we needed to eat (husband is diabetic) and get to the theater before show started. We were HUGELY disappointed as we have heard many wonderful things about Anson11 and we were also celebrating our wedding anniversary. Yes, we understood but crummy to have such expectations for a nice evening to be spoiled. Best thing would have been for the hostess (or maybe even better the manager...who spoke to NO ONE) tell us "sorry" and invite/encourage us to come back at another time. Lesson learned eat somewhere else (many restaurants on Mesa Street or at home) on theater nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Unfortunately won't be back!. Our reservations were at 6 and we were never seated with a play to attend at 7:30 at the Plaza Theater. There was a line with others waiting and the poor hostess was doing her best to accommodate. We had not eaten prior, had already paid for parking in the garage and stayed because we thought it would be "any minute". Ended up seating ourselves at the bar about 6:50 p.m. and the bartender was nice enough to put a rush on our appetizers which was all we could order based on short time available. Appetizers were okay, food allergy to most of the shell fish items so options were limited. It could have been nice but was not so much!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food came out quick considering how busy they were.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Perfect service and perfect food, I absolutely would recommend this establishment to anyone. A+ all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The 2 Floor is a totally different Restaurant, everything was PERFECT! The Chef and all the staff does a FANTASTIC JOB! It is just amazing, GREAT PLACE TO BE, It's a no brainer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Efrain was friendly, knowledgeable and talkative. We asked for drink recommendations and guidance with the steaks. His suggestions were good and he checked on us often. The atmosphere was pleasant and the bar scene seemed lively.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The tasting menu was intriguing and delicious. The wine Somm was extremely knowledgeable. Service from the bus boy, hostessand server were World class

I would go again in a heartbeat

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My partner and I had a date at the Anson 11 Bistro. I've been here several times with a date and we would always have a great experience. But this time it was not a good experience! First of all they had booked two parties that were about 12 to 24 people. It is a "Bistro" NOT a "Banquet Hall"! The large group should have been booked at the Anson 11 Restaurant. In addition, the music was so loud, sitting right next to my date we could barely hear each other. Not very intimate "bistro" which we went here on our first date to have a great meal and talk to get to know each other. I was wondering where the dance floor was since this went from a intimate bistro to a "disco" nightclub! I'll think about making reservations at Central Cafe next time.

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Anson 11 is a nice place for special occasions. We went to the restaurant to celebrate me mom's 60th birthday. We had the seven course chef's tasting menu, which was excellent, accompanied by a nice bottle of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The staff was great we even has The Bistro manage Albert came by and visited with us. all the staff made us feel like we were special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Kitchen closes at 10 -- we made a reservation for a later than normal date night at 9 pm. When we walked in the staff seemed annoyed and we were not greeted very kindly. Reservation? Who cares... Someone walked us to our table without a word and almost no eye contact. Our server was lovely and made the experience nice. The steak came out way over seasoned and too spicy -- couldn't even taste the meat. The kitchen was very accommodating and brought out another one, no problem. If you want to enjoy a nice meal, go early, lest you feel like the bane of existence to most of the staff. The restaurant insists on itself very much, but overall experience was, meh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made reservation a month in advance and I still got seated at a table that I didn't want by the busy entrance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love it I had my 24th birthday here and it was wonderful and service outta this world

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Perfect spot for a special celebration or a romantic evening with amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Last night my husband, son and I went to Anson11 for my bday! I wanted to try a new fine dining restaurant and I can say the ambiance was nice. We were escorted from the door, on the elevator up stairs and to our table. However the food was very expensive for the portion of food we received. The taste of the food was mediocre. I tasted better at a 3 or 4 Star ⭐️ establishment. The dish below is something similar to the dish I had last night. The dish on the top right was pasta with ribeye (pappardelle) that was ordered for my son and tasted like basic beef stroganoff. I cant see myself going there again but the experience & customer service was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great dinning experience. The cocktails were well done the steaks cooked perfectly and our server Art was very attentive and professional. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The King Salmon, Lamb, and Filet Mignon plates were delicious! The truffle mac and cheese is excellent and a very good sized portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went for my birthday dinner. Ate the black squid ink corazetti and braised pulpo. Delicious! Drinks were good. Staff prompt and courteous. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a wonderful time. It was especially special with the Plaza lights visible from the windows. Great food. Steaks were cooked well and the sides were delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious dinner...EXTREMELY expensive!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This place is one of El Paso's finest! I've been several times & they've not disappointed. The drinks are still good, though a bit on the chintzy side. The wine list is extensive, with choices from around the world and with (relatively) reasonable prices. The food, from first course to dessert, just never fails to impress. Not only is the food fresh in taste but also thrilling in the preparation as well as the presentation. The service can be uneven, this evening particularly so (server seemed more interested in the comfort of another table than providing us with even basic attention; long, long waits between dishes; incomplete check [the wine was not included]), but it was a quite busy (& noisy) night, which is something it had not been on previous visits. While it can be considered an expensive restaurant, the value is that I've had comparable dishes in other cities & paid much more than @ Anson 11, though I hope this doesn't encourage them to raise the prices ;-) I look forward to enjoying many more wonderful meals here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I were out celebrating our birthdays. From beginning to end the staff were very attentive and made our experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very loud music, made the experience slightly uncomfortable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal! The cauliflower soup was velvety and delicious-we highly recommend it! We came for lunch but plan to return for dinner soon. Driving around the roadwork and construction was a bit of a pain but well worth the effort!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great time, great food and even better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service was terrific. The menu changed and they eliminated some of my favorites. Very disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I wish I remembered our waiters name but o do not. Great service, very attentive, extremely knowledgeable on May subjects as well as the good, and he was very personable. My step sister and I greatly enjoyed the evening. The. Igbo we went, there were only 3-4 diners in the restaurant; it was during the week right before Christmas.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The kitchen ran out of the fig and burrata salad which I promptly replaced with an order of the Tiradito. Perfect in taste, balance, presentation. Next, we had mussels and fries - excellent sauce - it makes the dish. Next up was the red snapper entrée, the roasted chicken, and the pasta du jour. Lovely and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Terrible service, good but not great food. My husband, son and I decided to have a special meal together as we were in town visiting our son. On arrival, several tables were open, but we were shown to a large table set for three (the chairs were placed evenly around the table & were so far apart we had to move our place settings and chairs together to be able to hear each other) near the computer station and near a table set for a large party. I asked if we might have the table next to ours, a smaller one by a window set for four a little father from the party table, but we were curtly told that table was reserved for someone else. If we had received even decent service we would have been finished long before the other party arrived; as it was they arrived shortly before we left. After being seated, we sat and sat and sat. Finally someone took our drink orders and gave us menus. In the meantime, the large party was seated, brought drinks, menus and bread. We continued to wait. We asked for some bread, as we were hungry, but none came; however, the large party received seconds on bread. Finally our orders were taken. Finally some bread came after at least 30 min. Our food was served fairly quickly; it was good but not great - it certainly did not merit the very high prices. My scallops came to the table cold; I guess this place never heard of heating the plates. After finishing our dinners our waiter asked if we wanted dessert, which we did not. He then tried to pressure us into buying more drinks, which we declined, but my husband ordered coffee. When the coffee was delivered he again tried to pressure us into ordering more drinks. I have never had a waiter do that - it was absolutely uncouth and bizarre behavior. My husband and I eat out frequently and are used to fine dining at expensive restaurants. This was expensive, but the experience was far from fine - it was fairly miserable. We will not be returning. El Paso has better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.