About Anson11

303 North Oregon St
Ste 110
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Mills Building in the heart of Downtown El Paso and next to the famous Plaza Theatre, Anson11 offers delicious American Bistro dishes paired with exquisite wine and great customer service. Our first floor Bistro has a more casual bar scene and offers a variety of entrees, salads, sandwiches and flatbreads. Enjoy fine dining on our second floor which offers a more intimate and upscale experience where each dish is both familiar yet completely new in the way its flavor arouses the palate. From Prime steaks to fresh seafood flown in fresh daily, Anson11 is not just a restaurant but an entire experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bistro (First floor)
Sunday-Thursday 11:00am-10:00pm/ Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:00pm

Fine Dining (Second Floor)
Closed Sunday's
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm/Friday's-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mills

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 504-6400

Website:
http://www.anson11.com/

Parking Details:
We are able to validate parking for Anson11 customers, provided there are no special events downtown, in which case the parking lots have special event rates.

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castillo

Private Party Facilities:
No matter if it’s a quaint dinner for 8 of your closest friends, or a banquet for 100 of your co-workers, Anson11 would love to be the venue for your next big celebration.
If you or your organization would like to reserve a date for an event, we would be pleased to sit down with you to make sure every detail is covered. It’s not what we do, it’s how we live.

Private Party Contact:
Ileana Martinez: (915) 504-6407

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Anson11, El Paso, TX

Report a photo problem

Anson11 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Historic (10)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Private Room (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Scenic View (6)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hope to be able to write a review regard ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 4 days ago

Hope to be able to write a review regarding the food and service, but not this time. After making a reservation 4 days in advance through Open Table (received confirmation and reminder), the restaurant called an hour prior to our reservation and said they couldn't accommodate the reservation made at 4pm (an hour before the phone call). When I explained I had made the reservation days ago they immediately rescinded and said they would accommodate us. I should have known better as there was a Broadway show at the theater...which we were going to like most other diners that night. We arrived to find many others in the same situation - reservation made through Open Table, but restaurant had no reservation. The hostess kept telling us it would be soon, but 50 minutes later we were still waiting. We finally made the decision to leave as we needed to eat (husband is diabetic) and get to the theater before show started. We were HUGELY disappointed as we have heard many wonderful things about Anson11 and we were also celebrating our wedding anniversary. Yes, we understood but crummy to have such expectations for a nice evening to be spoiled. Best thing would have been for the hostess (or maybe even better the manager...who spoke to NO ONE) tell us "sorry" and invite/encourage us to come back at another time. Lesson learned eat somewhere else (many restaurants on Mesa Street or at home) on theater nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Unfortunately won't be back!. Our reser ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 4 days ago

Unfortunately won't be back!. Our reservations were at 6 and we were never seated with a play to attend at 7:30 at the Plaza Theater. There was a line with others waiting and the poor hostess was doing her best to accommodate. We had not eaten prior, had already paid for parking in the garage and stayed because we thought it would be "any minute". Ended up seating ourselves at the bar about 6:50 p.m. and the bartender was nice enough to put a rush on our appetizers which was all we could order based on short time available. Appetizers were okay, food allergy to most of the shell fish items so options were limited. It could have been nice but was not so much!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food came out quick considering how busy ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 4 days ago

Food came out quick considering how busy they were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The 2 Floor is a totally different Resta ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 6 days ago

The 2 Floor is a totally different Restaurant, everything was PERFECT! The Chef and all the staff does a FANTASTIC JOB! It is just amazing, GREAT PLACE TO BE, It's a no brainer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Efrain was friendly, knowledgeable and t ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 6 days ago

Efrain was friendly, knowledgeable and talkative. We asked for drink recommendations and guidance with the steaks. His suggestions were good and he checked on us often. The atmosphere was pleasant and the bar scene seemed lively.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The tasting menu was intriguing and deli ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The tasting menu was intriguing and delicious. The wine Somm was extremely knowledgeable. Service from the bus boy, hostessand server were World class

I would go again in a heartbeat

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I had a date at the Anson ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My partner and I had a date at the Anson 11 Bistro. I've been here several times with a date and we would always have a great experience. But this time it was not a good experience! First of all they had booked two parties that were about 12 to 24 people. It is a "Bistro" NOT a "Banquet Hall"! The large group should have been booked at the Anson 11 Restaurant. In addition, the music was so loud, sitting right next to my date we could barely hear each other. Not very intimate "bistro" which we went here on our first date to have a great meal and talk to get to know each other. I was wondering where the dance floor was since this went from a intimate bistro to a "disco" nightclub! I'll think about making reservations at Central Cafe next time.

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Anson 11 is a nice place for special occ ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Anson 11 is a nice place for special occasions. We went to the restaurant to celebrate me mom's 60th birthday. We had the seven course chef's tasting menu, which was excellent, accompanied by a nice bottle of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The staff was great we even has The Bist ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The staff was great we even has The Bistro manage Albert came by and visited with us. all the staff made us feel like we were special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen closes at 10 -- we made a reserv ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Kitchen closes at 10 -- we made a reservation for a later than normal date night at 9 pm. When we walked in the staff seemed annoyed and we were not greeted very kindly. Reservation? Who cares... Someone walked us to our table without a word and almost no eye contact. Our server was lovely and made the experience nice. The steak came out way over seasoned and too spicy -- couldn't even taste the meat. The kitchen was very accommodating and brought out another one, no problem. If you want to enjoy a nice meal, go early, lest you feel like the bane of existence to most of the staff. The restaurant insists on itself very much, but overall experience was, meh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Made reservation a month in advance and ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made reservation a month in advance and I still got seated at a table that I didn't want by the busy entrance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

I love it I had my 24th birthday here an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love it I had my 24th birthday here and it was wonderful and service outta this world

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for a special celebration o ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Perfect spot for a special celebration or a romantic evening with amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Last night my husband, son and I went to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Last night my husband, son and I went to Anson11 for my bday! I wanted to try a new fine dining restaurant and I can say the ambiance was nice. We were escorted from the door, on the elevator up stairs and to our table. However the food was very expensive for the portion of food we received. The taste of the food was mediocre. I tasted better at a 3 or 4 Star ⭐️ establishment. The dish below is something similar to the dish I had last night. The dish on the top right was pasta with ribeye (pappardelle) that was ordered for my son and tasted like basic beef stroganoff. I cant see myself going there again but the experience & customer service was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great dinning experience. The cocktails ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great dinning experience. The cocktails were well done the steaks cooked perfectly and our server Art was very attentive and professional. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The King Salmon, Lamb, and Filet Mignon ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The King Salmon, Lamb, and Filet Mignon plates were delicious! The truffle mac and cheese is excellent and a very good sized portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my birthday dinner. Ate the bla ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went for my birthday dinner. Ate the black squid ink corazetti and braised pulpo. Delicious! Drinks were good. Staff prompt and courteous. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time. It was especial ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a wonderful time. It was especially special with the Plaza lights visible from the windows. Great food. Steaks were cooked well and the sides were delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner...EXTREMELY expensive!! ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious dinner...EXTREMELY expensive!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This place is one of El Paso's finest! I ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This place is one of El Paso's finest! I've been several times & they've not disappointed. The drinks are still good, though a bit on the chintzy side. The wine list is extensive, with choices from around the world and with (relatively) reasonable prices. The food, from first course to dessert, just never fails to impress. Not only is the food fresh in taste but also thrilling in the preparation as well as the presentation. The service can be uneven, this evening particularly so (server seemed more interested in the comfort of another table than providing us with even basic attention; long, long waits between dishes; incomplete check [the wine was not included]), but it was a quite busy (& noisy) night, which is something it had not been on previous visits. While it can be considered an expensive restaurant, the value is that I've had comparable dishes in other cities & paid much more than @ Anson 11, though I hope this doesn't encourage them to raise the prices ;-) I look forward to enjoying many more wonderful meals here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I were out celebrating our b ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I were out celebrating our birthdays. From beginning to end the staff were very attentive and made our experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud music, made the experience sli ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very loud music, made the experience slightly uncomfortable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We really enjoyed our meal! The cauliflo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal! The cauliflower soup was velvety and delicious-we highly recommend it! We came for lunch but plan to return for dinner soon. Driving around the roadwork and construction was a bit of a pain but well worth the effort!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time, great food and even better s ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great time, great food and even better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was terrific. The menu chan ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service was terrific. The menu changed and they eliminated some of my favorites. Very disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I wish I remembered our waiters name but ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I wish I remembered our waiters name but o do not. Great service, very attentive, extremely knowledgeable on May subjects as well as the good, and he was very personable. My step sister and I greatly enjoyed the evening. The. Igbo we went, there were only 3-4 diners in the restaurant; it was during the week right before Christmas.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The kitchen ran out of the fig and burra ...

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The kitchen ran out of the fig and burrata salad which I promptly replaced with an order of the Tiradito. Perfect in taste, balance, presentation. Next, we had mussels and fries - excellent sauce - it makes the dish. Next up was the red snapper entrée, the roasted chicken, and the pasta du jour. Lovely and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Terrible service, good but not great foo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Terrible service, good but not great food. My husband, son and I decided to have a special meal together as we were in town visiting our son. On arrival, several tables were open, but we were shown to a large table set for three (the chairs were placed evenly around the table & were so far apart we had to move our place settings and chairs together to be able to hear each other) near the computer station and near a table set for a large party. I asked if we might have the table next to ours, a smaller one by a window set for four a little father from the party table, but we were curtly told that table was reserved for someone else. If we had received even decent service we would have been finished long before the other party arrived; as it was they arrived shortly before we left. After being seated, we sat and sat and sat. Finally someone took our drink orders and gave us menus. In the meantime, the large party was seated, brought drinks, menus and bread. We continued to wait. We asked for some bread, as we were hungry, but none came; however, the large party received seconds on bread. Finally our orders were taken. Finally some bread came after at least 30 min. Our food was served fairly quickly; it was good but not great - it certainly did not merit the very high prices. My scallops came to the table cold; I guess this place never heard of heating the plates. After finishing our dinners our waiter asked if we wanted dessert, which we did not. He then tried to pressure us into buying more drinks, which we declined, but my husband ordered coffee. When the coffee was delivered he again tried to pressure us into ordering more drinks. I have never had a waiter do that - it was absolutely uncouth and bizarre behavior. My husband and I eat out frequently and are used to fine dining at expensive restaurants. This was expensive, but the experience was far from fine - it was fairly miserable. We will not be returning. El Paso has better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We had to wait a bit for our reservation ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had to wait a bit for our reservation but that was not a big deal. We had excellent service. My friend and I ordered the Anson Mule and it was excellent. We also ordered the fundido and that was really good. All of our entrees were outstanding.

I would like to return and try the second floor restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was very good, and the servic ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The dinner was very good, and the service was mostly fine. We had a question about the fish and they had someone come out to explain. But they never asked if my wife wanted another glass of wine, did not ask if we wanted dessert or coffee. However the food was very tasty and came out quickly. And they need a sign on the door that leads to the rest rooms. Not cheap but mostly worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great service, great food, great for the ...

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great service, great food, great for the holidays! Views of the San Jacinto Plaza, all the holiday lights and energy! Good celebratory restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eating in the bistro at Anson 11 was a d ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Eating in the bistro at Anson 11 was a delightful experience. My daughter and her 7 year old joined me on a Saturday night where the holiday tree lighting was across the street and the opera was performing at the restored Plaza Theater. The food was excellent: shashimi pepper appetizer, bronzini fish, salmon and a hamburger for the child. It was too cold to eat outside that night but I'll go back for that experience another time. The wine was excellent, the service good, and dessert of apple tart with ginger ice cream was incredible! It was a wonderful evening in El Paso with a special dinner that lived up to our expectations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent dinner for 8 people. Good serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent dinner for 8 people. Good service and great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal and service, the only (sl ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful meal and service, the only (slight) negative was the noise volume.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and really good, fresh foo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service and really good, fresh food. Pretty decent wine list. We grew up on, and LOVE, Mexican food in El Paso, but this restaurant was a nice change. Our server was very attentive and did a really great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most BEAUTIFUL dining room in El Paso be ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Most BEAUTIFUL dining room in El Paso besides the Dome Room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were good but the live ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food and service were good but the live music upstairs on the Friday I was there was really terrible and I will think twice about going back because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an incredible time! Service was fa ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Had an incredible time! Service was fantastic and dinner was tasteful. Worth the drive under crazy weather conditions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I made reservations for fine dinning and ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I made reservations for fine dinning and when I arrived I had to settle for the Bristo location. The atmosphere was pleasant. The food was ok. I ordered a New York strip medium and it came medium well. The asparagus was cold but the gorgon zola Mac n cheeses was great. It was a special occasion (wife's birthday) so I didn't want to complain but instead tried to smile through and enjoy the dinner. Probably would have been better in the fine dinning that I anticipated!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food not as good as how it used to be. ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food not as good as how it used to be. Ordered salad with ahi, didn't have it, pear pizza, no pear available. Food not great but it is so convenient to Plaza Theatre

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.