Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Anokha

4.6
137 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Spicy
  • Good for a Date
Anokha is a groundbreaking restaurant located across from the hip Short-Pump Town Center in Richmond’s West End, serving signature Nouveau Indian Cuisine. Anokha, which denotes “Unique”, offers diners a new take on Indian food, mixing the flavors and spices of India with western cooking techniques and the finest seasonal ingredients. Anokha’s cuisine offers a symphony of Indian flavors and spices that is sure to excite both the neophyte and the connoisseur alike. We hope you will join us soon in our intimate and contemporary dining room to enjoy our sumptuous offerings paired with a selection from our hand selected wine list or relax in our cozy lounge savoring a fine single malt scotch or a top-shelf tantalizing cocktail.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(804) 360-8686
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 137 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great food. Good service. Good ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food is excellent. This is our favorite Indian restaurant in the Richmond area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Celebrated Mother’s Day with our good friends and their children. It was obviously very busy but the service was good and food was excellent as usual. Very pleased we chose this place to celebrate this special day. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent. We’ll be going again soon! The food is authentic Indian cuisine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Always a dining treat. Food is fresh and the menu delivers on all the Indian classics. Service is friendly and professional. And the refreshingly simple, contemporary decor manages to avoid the "kitschiness" of many Indian restaurants. No next day "Delhi-belly" here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Best food in town!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

As always, the food was tasty. We were seated promptly. There was a slight mix-up/confusion with our appetizer order. My date didn't have a fork or knife and wait staff never brought one despite coming to our table several times and seeing he was eating his food with the large serving spoon. Yes, we could have asked for utensils, but you would think they would have seen and just brought one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Excellent food and great service. Thank you so much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Visiting from Pennsylvania; food was exceptional, and we will visit again if back in Richmond area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

A friend from Europe was visiting Richmond. Anokhas food, service and atmosphere are wonderful, and my friend enjoyed herself. Many thanks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Very tasty food, enjoyed our meals and felt price paid was very reasonable. Atmosphere could use some updating, which would have made our experience more enjoyable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Scrumptious food and excellent hospitality!
We went here to celebrate our daughter’s birthday and it was amazing. The ambience of this restaurant is wonderful.
Overall, it was an amazing dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

On this visit we had a great New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc (again) and tried a vegetarian dish with mixed veggies in a mango sauce coupled with the lamb marsala.... both entrees were tasty, hot and delishious. Great recommendatios, Jessie!

Decor is relaxing and comfortable; music was lovely and we could actually have a cocnvesation and hear each other.

Thank you for another great dinning experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Anokha is always a favorite. Great wine selection, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Not the best

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The ambiance is a pleasant surprise: Nice music, modern decor, friendly greeting, immediate seating, good wine selection, etc... Easy menu to read with good suggestions from waitstaff.
Curteoius, attentive service with out hovering.

suggestion: pace service depending on customer/table availability. I've been there dtwice now with out of town house guests, wanting to sip wine and chat, but dinner came too quickly. Table availabiltiy was NOT a problem nor was time of nite.

Will look forward to retutning for dinner again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The food is experience delicious. Everything we've had has been tasty. The Gobi Manchurian was amazing, would have preferred more but I left full and satisfied with everything we ordered. The wait staff is attentive and quick to fill up your water glass. Definitely will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We love Anokha! Their service is wonderful...the food is amazing...we will continue to visit them as often as we can. We have already recommended them to our friends and family who have in turn spread the word. You won't be disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Awesome - excellent place to eat. Food is great as is the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Excellent food and excellent service as usual!
Thank you so much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great place to eat. I am never disappointed by the food or service. The staff is always very attentive. The food is great. This is my favorite Indian restaurant in Richmond.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

This is our favorite Indian restaurant in Richmond. We have been there too many times to count and we keep going back. The food is always delicious and the service and atmosphere are great! I would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Delicious! Beat indian food I have wver had. I wish I could go once a week. Perfect for dine in or take out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Always have a delicious meal and pleasant experience here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Very, very pleased with all- appetizer, entree and drinks! We will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 4, 2017

Always one of our favorites.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

The food was excellent

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 28, 2017

After having so many people rave about this restaurant, I was seriously underwhelmed by the food quality. The salads were heavily dressed and peppered which left an acidic taste on my palate. The paneer pakora was heavily breaded. The shining star in this dinner was the lasooni gobhi and even tomato glaze sauce wasn't well mixed to balance the sweet and savory. We ordered medium heat on both the paneer makhni and another paneer dish and there was absolutely no hint of heat on either. The final insult was the dessert which was abominable--we could have used a straw for the rice pudding as it was so watery and the chocolate torte must have been removed from the freezer 10 minutes before I ordered it.
Bottom line: Service was good, food not so much unless bland is your thing.
I would have given a higher rating for the value had the price point been lower.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 18, 2017

This place was recommended to me to take someone who was Vegetarian. The place is a typical strip mall conversion....it reminded me of a Pop up restaurant. However, having said that, the decor was simple an not off putting. The food was liked by everyone at the table. I am not a huge fan of Indian food, but I didn't go hungry. The person we took there was Indian and he gave the food a B. The service was okay; not perfect but okay. There were delays and we had to ask to get water filled, etc. The restaurant was nearly empty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Anokha is one of my favorite restaurants in Richmond. I usually give them 5 stars all the way around, but this visit for some reason the restaurant seemed to be having an 'off' night. Still have nothing but love for this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Always enjoy this restaurant- lunch is an amazing bargain with excellent food- dinner is equally good

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 16, 2017

This was our first bad experience at a restaurant that had been our favorite. The waiter didn't understand English well enough to take our orders. After bringing us the wrong entries, he was never able to get the correct order delivered.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 13, 2017

Last visit was OK.
Good quantity, good taste, less choice of food but good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Food is good from appetizers through entrees. Service is good and is attentive, but not rushed. Have dined here several times with varied dishes and have always been happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Our second time here and we were not disappointed! Came for our anniversary while we were in town for the Richmond Jazz festival! Great food and service!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 5, 2017

First timing dining here, but definitely will be back again! Food was so delicious. My husband has a tree-nut allergy, and they were attentive and walked us through recommendations from the menu. Fantastic service! Looking forward to visiting again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2017

Tremendous variety of entrees. Generous portions. Friendly, yet nearly invisible, the service is outstanding. Great advice on selecting meals and spice intensity. A fine range of affordable wines appropriate to the meal. Lunch has to be the best quality/value in Richmond.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Anokha is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Love this place. The chili paneer and chicken Korma are my favorites!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2017

Enjoyed myself! Great curry! Coconut lime soup is scrumptious!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4