About Anokha

4015 Lauderdale Drive
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

Anokha is a groundbreaking restaurant located across from the hip Short-Pump Town Center in Richmond’s West End, serving signature Nouveau Indian Cuisine. Anokha, which denotes “Unique”, offers diners a new take on Indian food, mixing the flavors and spices of India with western cooking techniques and the finest seasonal ingredients. Anokha’s cuisine offers a symphony of Indian flavors and spices that is sure to excite both the neophyte and the connoisseur alike. We hope you will join us soon in our intimate and contemporary dining room to enjoy our sumptuous offerings paired with a selection from our hand selected wine list or relax in our cozy lounge savoring a fine single malt scotch or a top-shelf tantalizing cocktail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 360-8686

Website:
http://www.anokha.us/location.html

Anokha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Food
Richmond
1 More
Best Service
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Authentic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Good for Birthdays (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Spicy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrific meal for this British curry-phi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Terrific meal for this British curry-phile family. A taste reminiscent of home. Courteous and responsive staff, excellent food, good ambiance and great value. Love the dial-in spiciness scale.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and service - an enjoyabl ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Delicious food and service - an enjoyable overall experience - we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food and service. The lamb a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Exceptional food and service. The lamb and goat were meltingly tender, all of the sauces were delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu. Very good wine selection.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food and great service. Nice little ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good food and great service. Nice little bar.

Nice sized portions and the Naan bread very well done.

Several Indian beers to choose from.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Cozy, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Decent food, good ambience. I wish chick ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Decent food, good ambience. I wish chicken from my curry (chettinad) was better cooked. Lamb curry awesome. Cocktails were great !!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great authentic Indian cuisine with vari ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great authentic Indian cuisine with variety and awesome heat if you like it. Loved the lamb vin d'alhoo

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. Hands ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Hands down the best Indian restaurant in Richmond. The appetizer sample was definitely worth it. I know I'll be back several times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I are always happy with t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My husband and I are always happy with the food and service here.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is out of this world!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're in the Richmond area and have ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 1, 2016

If you're in the Richmond area and have a hunger for AUTHENTIC Indian food, than quite simply, this is the place you MUST eat at. The food was incredible, the ambiance delightful, and the prices reasonable. Great place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RICMOND'S GEM! Always enjoy eating here! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 26, 2016

RICMOND'S GEM!

Always enjoy eating here! Food is excellent. I enjoyed a refreshing, non alcoholic citrus mint beverage, which was quiet refreshing on a hot July day! Chicken Korma was tender enough to cut with the serving spoon. The Penner was delicious! I love the fact that whatever "heat" you order (mild, spicy or SPICY), you actually get what you order! Thank you again for a delicious meal and a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall it was a great evening. Our gues ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall it was a great evening. Our guests felt uncomfortable as their baby was a little fussy. They felt badly for disrupting the ambiance. The wait staff tried to be understanding by entertaining the baby. The food was very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This Restaurant is located in a "strip m ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 22, 2016

This Restaurant is located in a "strip mall" type setting , but I did not get that location feel once inside. The establishment has done good job at obliterating the outside and pumping up the ambience inside. The food was delicious and there is an adequate wine list.... what a taste of India!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Delightful

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2016

My wife and I went here for Sunday brunch as an alternative to the usual eggs or hamburgers. What a wonderful experience. The staff was uniformly pleasant, personable, and efficient. The menu options evidence more creativity then in other Indian restaurants in Richmond. Everything was deliciously and attractively prepared. While my wife had been here before with Indian co-workers, this was my first time. Anokha is an extremely attractive and spotless establishment and I will absolutely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent all around...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Seated immediately, outstanding service... attentive, pleasant, well informed and there but not too much hovering.... the food is excellent; Lamb, shrimp and chicken were all excellent. Curry dishes in our group got rave reviews, my Saag was superb .....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This the best Indian Restaurant in Richm ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2016

This the best Indian Restaurant in Richmond! The food and service is always outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh so yummy

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Anokha is a drive if you don't live near the Short Pump area but it's a worthwhile trip. The food is superb. Everything we had from nan to chicken tikka to lamb saag was fabulous. The service is good and responsive and the ambiance is warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and great service.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was just excellent ! The atmos ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was just excellent ! The atmosphere was elegant and quiet- as I most enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THE best Indian food!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2016

This is our favorite place! The food is amazing, the service is outstanding,and the restaurant is gorgeous. My husband and I have had almost everything on the menu and it's always delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Favorite Indian Restaurant

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is one of our favorite Indian restaurants and we always enjoy it. We took some friends this time and they were very impressed. Good food and wine and at good prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Another excellent lunch at Anokha - always great food and service to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Outstanding Indian Restaurant

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

This is our second dining at Anokha and we're anxious to go again. The food quality is high, the entrée choices are many, and the differences in tastes are striking. We are vegetarians and we had no problem finding many options on their menu. In fact, it was hard to make a choice, and our server was most helpful in this regard, from the appetizers to the mains. They can prepare the food with six different spice levels, and at our server's recommendation we chose one at 3 and one at 4. Both were very tasty, and the difference was significant. While the "4" didn't cause any burning in the mouth, it caused some perspiration to occur. I can't imagine trying a 5 or 6, but I'm sure there are those who do. The restaurant is on the small side, so making reservations is recommended. The noise level was relatively low and casual conversation was very easy - which we appreciate very much. They have tasteful decorations and cloth table coverings which gives the restaurant an elegant feeling. They have a large menu of sweet alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks to choose from, but we chose to order wine by-the-glass and it was a good compliment to the meal, as well as a good value. We first found this restaurant by asking our Indian friends for a recommendation, which we think speaks for the authentic quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Indian Cuisine

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Good food, nice waiters, nice ambiance. If you don't like it spicy, be sure to tell them to tone the spice waaaay down. A 3 on their spicy scale might be a 5 to you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful service!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2016

We love the big bold taste here at Anokha. Service is excellent, the food is wonderful, and it's a perfect place for a small foodie group to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic North Indian Food

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2016

A must for anyone desiring an authentic North Indian Cuisine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience at Anokha

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2015

OK. I feel like I'm cheating on TripAdvisor where I usually post. Anokha offers a great dining experience in West End Richmond. I think the food must be pretty authentic because we often see Indians there. We find the cuisine, service and ambiance quite good. Slightly more expensive that the run of the mill Indian restaurant, but an excellent value. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always delicious!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2015

We've eaten at Anokha many times and it never disappoints! The food is delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Indian food

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2015

This is our go-to Indian restaurant in the neighborhood. We try to order either a different app or entree each time, but always get the cauliflower appetizer - fab! I also love the Tandoori Chicken Tikka.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Oh lamb chop

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2015

I'm not sure how to classify Anokha-- certainly it's Indian, but there's some type of American flair that separates it from the rest. First off, you feel like you're in a restaurant rather than some rajah's throne room... (music is definitely 21st century and fits well with the decor, albeit a few decibels on the loud side).

The food-- TOO many decisions-- nearly everything looks very good on the menu and no sampler platter to be found. So, forced to make a decision, my party went all tandoor (and one butter chicken) and no regrets. My lamb was very generous and was spicier than the hot curry sauce that was served with it. Appetizers again were pretty generous and tasty.

Service was efficient, unobtrusive-- couldn't ask for more.

I look forward to heading back and digging in to another unique and tasty meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Another great meal

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 14, 2015

This is always one of our favorite spots for dinner - this visit was no excpetion to that. We will be back soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super Service

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food is wonderful but the wait staff are even better -- responding to your needs, keeping your water glasses filled, but not intrusive or hovering. Friendly and responsive place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The best Indian food I've had in Richmon ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2015

The best Indian food I've had in Richmond, great atmosphere, and very kind servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening with friends

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Sponsored a dinner with 5 friends at Anokha on a recent Friday night. Our round table was ready for us when we arrived. We ordered drinks and many appetizers and breads to start everything was amazing. I particularly liked the cauliflower dish. My Tandoor shrimp was accompanied by a luscious orange sauce and vegetables. One person who has an extensive travel background proclaimed her lamb main to be the best lamb she ever had. All in my party were happy at the end of the evening. Thank you Anokha, we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Looks are Deceiving

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2015

On the outside, this looks like just another spot in a strip mall but it was anything but typical. The atmosphere is tasteful, the food is wonderful and beautifully presented, the service attentive but not bothersome and the price is very reasonable for both the quality and quantity. The cauliflower appetizer, which our server recommended is absolutely delicious. Our lamb and chicken entrees were prepared to the amount of spiciness we requested and were wonderful. What a treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was the first time we had been in f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2015

This was the first time we had been in for lunch; we are ususally dinner goers Anokha, but the lunch was GREAT!!!! We will be back again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still Pleased

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 29, 2015

First time with group (8 people), next took siblings to dinner for birthday, and yesterday, husband and I for quiet dinner just the two of us. Each time has been consistently pleasant experience, and we love the food. Service is great - it's becoming a favorite for sure. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice for Talking

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2015

Quiet, nice atmosphere, good service, I just have decided I do not like Indian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

it was recommended

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2015

We were looking for a good Indian restaurant for a going away dinner. This was recommended by a good Indian friend. it was a great choice. Good food. Good service. We'll be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.