About Anokha

4015 Lauderdale Drive
Richmond, VA 23233
View Larger Map

Anokha is a groundbreaking restaurant located across from the hip Short-Pump Town Center in Richmond’s West End, serving signature Nouveau Indian Cuisine. Anokha, which denotes “Unique”, offers diners a new take on Indian food, mixing the flavors and spices of India with western cooking techniques and the finest seasonal ingredients. Anokha’s cuisine offers a symphony of Indian flavors and spices that is sure to excite both the neophyte and the connoisseur alike. We hope you will join us soon in our intimate and contemporary dining room to enjoy our sumptuous offerings paired with a selection from our hand selected wine list or relax in our cozy lounge savoring a fine single malt scotch or a top-shelf tantalizing cocktail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 360-8686

Website:
http://www.anokha.us/location.html

Anokha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Spicy (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Romantic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
79 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in Short Pump. I love the atmosphere. The food is amazing and the service is excellent. They are very attentive without being overbearing. I have never had a bad meal here!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Some of the best food I've ever had! Where has Indian cuisine been my whole life! Going back in a few days, gotta have it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was great - but was a little slow in delivery. The place was packed for Valentines Day. Room was cold - many ladies kept their coats on. Will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always Great food! Best Indian Food in Richmond. The Korma Curry is the best.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food, service and dining experience! Cannot wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful food, well prepared and presented. The staff was very polite and helpful. Make a reservation, it can be busy.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I love Anokha. This time was no different. The food is excellent and the staff is very friendly and attentive. They make you feel like they're glad you are there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Highest praises for Anokha. Food, service, arrangement of tables, etc. Excellence all the way around!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We go back to Anokha for all the things we love about it. First of all, the flavor is outrageously delicious. I'm not an Indian food expert but their fare has all the ingredients for a tasting paradise. The servers were extremely attentive, engaging but not intrusive and the cost was very reasonable....especially for the flavors they gave you!

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Anokha always serves Indian cuisine that is some of the best tasting I've had anywhere in the country. I go once a week and never tire of menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Consistently great food and service. Never disappoints and the beat Indian food in the Richmond area.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Vegan, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The korma was better this time. Right amount of heat. Love this place. The sampler apps are so good too. We always get the vegetable sampler and of course an order or 2 of the garlic naan! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best Indian food in the area! Attentive friendly professional service. One of the few restaurants that will draw us out of the city to Short Pump. We've never had a less than stellar experience here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Incredible value. $30 for 2 but we ate like kings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good food but a very noisy place. Their music was very loud and unpleasant.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

wE HAD BROUGHT SOME AMERICAN FRIENDS WHO HAD NOT TASTED iNDIAN FOOD. tHEY THROUGHLY ENJOYED THE FOOD AND THE SERVICE AND WE HAD A GREAT TIME.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Terrific meal for this British curry-phile family. A taste reminiscent of home. Courteous and responsive staff, excellent food, good ambiance and great value. Love the dial-in spiciness scale.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Delicious food and service - an enjoyable overall experience - we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Exceptional food and service. The lamb and goat were meltingly tender, all of the sauces were delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu. Very good wine selection.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good food and great service. Nice little bar.

Nice sized portions and the Naan bread very well done.

Several Indian beers to choose from.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Cozy, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Decent food, good ambience. I wish chicken from my curry (chettinad) was better cooked. Lamb curry awesome. Cocktails were great !!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great authentic Indian cuisine with variety and awesome heat if you like it. Loved the lamb vin d'alhoo

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Hands down the best Indian restaurant in Richmond. The appetizer sample was definitely worth it. I know I'll be back several times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My husband and I are always happy with the food and service here.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 1, 2016

If you're in the Richmond area and have a hunger for AUTHENTIC Indian food, than quite simply, this is the place you MUST eat at. The food was incredible, the ambiance delightful, and the prices reasonable. Great place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 26, 2016

RICMOND'S GEM!

Always enjoy eating here! Food is excellent. I enjoyed a refreshing, non alcoholic citrus mint beverage, which was quiet refreshing on a hot July day! Chicken Korma was tender enough to cut with the serving spoon. The Penner was delicious! I love the fact that whatever "heat" you order (mild, spicy or SPICY), you actually get what you order! Thank you again for a delicious meal and a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall it was a great evening. Our guests felt uncomfortable as their baby was a little fussy. They felt badly for disrupting the ambiance. The wait staff tried to be understanding by entertaining the baby. The food was very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 22, 2016

This Restaurant is located in a "strip mall" type setting , but I did not get that location feel once inside. The establishment has done good job at obliterating the outside and pumping up the ambience inside. The food was delicious and there is an adequate wine list.... what a taste of India!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent food. We enjoy ourselves every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2016

My wife and I went here for Sunday brunch as an alternative to the usual eggs or hamburgers. What a wonderful experience. The staff was uniformly pleasant, personable, and efficient. The menu options evidence more creativity then in other Indian restaurants in Richmond. Everything was deliciously and attractively prepared. While my wife had been here before with Indian co-workers, this was my first time. Anokha is an extremely attractive and spotless establishment and I will absolutely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Seated immediately, outstanding service... attentive, pleasant, well informed and there but not too much hovering.... the food is excellent; Lamb, shrimp and chicken were all excellent. Curry dishes in our group got rave reviews, my Saag was superb .....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2016

This the best Indian Restaurant in Richmond! The food and service is always outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Anokha is a drive if you don't live near the Short Pump area but it's a worthwhile trip. The food is superb. Everything we had from nan to chicken tikka to lamb saag was fabulous. The service is good and responsive and the ambiance is warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was just excellent ! The atmosphere was elegant and quiet- as I most enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2016

This is our favorite place! The food is amazing, the service is outstanding,and the restaurant is gorgeous. My husband and I have had almost everything on the menu and it's always delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is one of our favorite Indian restaurants and we always enjoy it. We took some friends this time and they were very impressed. Good food and wine and at good prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Another excellent lunch at Anokha - always great food and service to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

This is our second dining at Anokha and we're anxious to go again. The food quality is high, the entrée choices are many, and the differences in tastes are striking. We are vegetarians and we had no problem finding many options on their menu. In fact, it was hard to make a choice, and our server was most helpful in this regard, from the appetizers to the mains. They can prepare the food with six different spice levels, and at our server's recommendation we chose one at 3 and one at 4. Both were very tasty, and the difference was significant. While the "4" didn't cause any burning in the mouth, it caused some perspiration to occur. I can't imagine trying a 5 or 6, but I'm sure there are those who do. The restaurant is on the small side, so making reservations is recommended. The noise level was relatively low and casual conversation was very easy - which we appreciate very much. They have tasteful decorations and cloth table coverings which gives the restaurant an elegant feeling. They have a large menu of sweet alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks to choose from, but we chose to order wine by-the-glass and it was a good compliment to the meal, as well as a good value. We first found this restaurant by asking our Indian friends for a recommendation, which we think speaks for the authentic quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Good food, nice waiters, nice ambiance. If you don't like it spicy, be sure to tell them to tone the spice waaaay down. A 3 on their spicy scale might be a 5 to you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2016

We love the big bold taste here at Anokha. Service is excellent, the food is wonderful, and it's a perfect place for a small foodie group to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2016

A must for anyone desiring an authentic North Indian Cuisine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2015

OK. I feel like I'm cheating on TripAdvisor where I usually post. Anokha offers a great dining experience in West End Richmond. I think the food must be pretty authentic because we often see Indians there. We find the cuisine, service and ambiance quite good. Slightly more expensive that the run of the mill Indian restaurant, but an excellent value. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2015

We've eaten at Anokha many times and it never disappoints! The food is delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2015

This is our go-to Indian restaurant in the neighborhood. We try to order either a different app or entree each time, but always get the cauliflower appetizer - fab! I also love the Tandoori Chicken Tikka.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2015

I'm not sure how to classify Anokha-- certainly it's Indian, but there's some type of American flair that separates it from the rest. First off, you feel like you're in a restaurant rather than some rajah's throne room... (music is definitely 21st century and fits well with the decor, albeit a few decibels on the loud side).

The food-- TOO many decisions-- nearly everything looks very good on the menu and no sampler platter to be found. So, forced to make a decision, my party went all tandoor (and one butter chicken) and no regrets. My lamb was very generous and was spicier than the hot curry sauce that was served with it. Appetizers again were pretty generous and tasty.

Service was efficient, unobtrusive-- couldn't ask for more.

I look forward to heading back and digging in to another unique and tasty meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 14, 2015

This is always one of our favorite spots for dinner - this visit was no excpetion to that. We will be back soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food is wonderful but the wait staff are even better -- responding to your needs, keeping your water glasses filled, but not intrusive or hovering. Friendly and responsive place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.