About Anna's Asian Grill and Sushi Bar

1804-06 W Irving Park Rd
Chicago, IL 60613
View Larger Map

When you visit ANNA'S, you'll experience the authentic home cooking that Chef Noy and owner Anna Makmok (mother and daughter!) have enjoyed all their lives. Their inventive, expansive and affordable menu features the cuisines of Thailand, Japan, Korea, India, Laos and beyond. Start with something crispy - like Japanese stuffed avocado or tempura, Thai chicken wings or Indian samosa. Perhaps a Japanese pork kabob or Peking duck bun is more to your liking. Saigon and Bangkok rolls, Miso, Tom Yum or Volcano soup plus a salad will round out your first course. For a main dish, try Mongolian steak or chicken, ginger scallops, or Laotian curry noodles. ANNA'S original sushi items are much in demand and include Chef's Signature dishes and nearly 30 varieties of makimono! Or you can choose by the piece and design your own dinner from the sushi bar. See you at ANNA'S!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Thai

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Tuesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am-10:00pm , Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ravenswood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 975-3404

Website:
http://www.annasasiangrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of meter parking right in front of the restaurant. Also there are free street parking on both side of Ravenswood.

Public Transit:
We are located right next to the Irving Park Brown Line.

Anna's Asian Grill and Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
See All
Special Occasion (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Romantic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steamed dumpling and the papaya sal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The steamed dumpling and the papaya salad was very tasty. Also had some sushi which was very fresh and good. Great byob restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, great ambiance, great servic ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, great ambiance, great service, but byob.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

No frills sushi at its best! The fish is ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

No frills sushi at its best! The fish is always fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food, service and ambiance is always ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food, service and ambiance is always top notch. Anna's proves to be my favorite go-to sushi/ Asian restaurant in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was ok. place was cool. service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

food was ok. place was cool. service was good. hard to find parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was very good. We tried the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The service was very good. We tried the stuffed avocado reviewers recommended, and it wasn't for me. I like my sushi fresh, light and simple. That said, the sashimi was excellent and I enjoyed every roll that I tried. Only drawback is the music. Oh god, the music. Nineties pop at its most cringeworthy. Britney, NSync, Celine Dion, Backstreet Boys. Why, Anna's, why?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Expected More...but it wasn't bad

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The stuffed avocado was as good as you've heard. The sushi was great. I didn't really care for the entrees (and I tasted 3 different options). They weren't bad, just same old, same old.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Ok Pan-Asian food, good flavors, and gen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Ok Pan-Asian food, good flavors, and generous portions. Menu is a bit overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food at Anna's is excellent. Withou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food at Anna's is excellent. Without question every item we ordered was special and the service was attentive. Open Table did not say this was a BYOB restaurant so we needed to settle for water with our meal which was disappointing. We'd go back again but with some wine or sake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Foodie lovers

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food speaks for itself. I especially like the sushi quality. The padseewee with beef is fantastic. The sweet potato roll is flavorful and get 2 right away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading the reviews, we expected t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

After reading the reviews, we expected the service to be a little slow and mentally prepared. However, and maybe it's because we dined at 9, the service couldn't have been faster, more attentive, or more personable! To start, DEFINITELY get the fried avocado. The mixture of textures and flavors can't be missed: it's fried to perfection and covered with their homemade spicy mayo and unagi sauce. The spicy miso was comforting and had just the right amount of heat, and the crunchy maguro roll will have us coming back. We can't say enough about how friendly the servers were, and the music was just what we needed to have a little fun (90s pop). Great job, guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious! The outside does ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

The food was delicious! The outside does not look like much, but the interior of the restaurant is beautiful and charming. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a winner!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I've probably been a dozen times, and I always look forward to going back. We introduced an Asian friend to Anna's last week, and he gave it a thumbs-up, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Visited this restaurant twice now, and both times have been great. Perfect size restaurant to have a special occasion dinner party. You can actually hear what the person next to you is saying!! Food is excellent (especially the stuffed avocados) and it's BYOB, so the bill is affordable. Can't say enough good things about this place. I will definitely be a repeat customer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service tonight was a little slow bu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service tonight was a little slow but I can't blame the staff as the crowd might have been a little heavier than expected...when they were at our table they were very attentive...3rd year in a row there with my girlfriend for Valentine's day and we are already looking forward to next year...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We really like that although we were 10 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We really like that although we were 10 minutes late from our reservarion, we were still seated pretty quickly. Some of the tables are small which can be a little tricky but they're good about bring out your next dish once you've finished one. The server was great about checking how things were going and making sure our drinks were full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food - slow service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went on the Saturday before Valentine's day w/ an 8pm reservation. Restaurant was full but not at capacity. We were initially seated right next to the front entrance. Anna's doesn't have a dual door entry, nor did they construct a temporary entryway structure to create some relief between the entrance and the outdoors. The temperature outside was 5 degrees F; so we requested a move which was accommodated. However, after our move we did not have a waiter come to our table for a 35 minutes - thus the disappointing service. Once service began our waiter was fairly attentive.

Food was great - tried several of their specialty rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Cute little hidden Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We came here for our Vday dinner. The food was good and the ambiance was nice. It was pretty packed so the service was a bit slow to a point where we were seated and then waited 20 min for someone to atleast give us menu to look at.. They forgot about us, but apologized for it. Small little place so when its packed you sit so close to people that you can hear other conversations. The place is good for semi romantic date nights or just casual dinner. Overall we had a good time. The fried stuffed Avocados were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Yummy

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I almost hate letting others who haven't been here know how excellent it is. It's always delicious here. The sushi is delicious, and they have really nice-sized portions. And their hot dishes are just as delicious. Highly recommend Annie's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is fantastic. Anything we've ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food is fantastic. Anything we've ever ordered has been great. The service is exemplary. I marked down for ambiance only because we used to go to Anna's place on Lake Street which I found to be a more attractive setting. That said, this space is rather lovely if rather small and a bit cramped.. It's BYOB but they don't charge a corkage fee and they accommodate you so well with the wine you bring in. If its a white they bring an ice bucket for you. They bring you glasses and they open the wine. We live 40 miles from this restaurant but we intend to put it on our rotation of places to go. That should say something about how great the food and experience are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fun BYOB for New Years Eve!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Place was super busy, so service was slow, especially when filling up water glasses. However, the whole staff works as a team and when our waitress was busy, another one jumped in to help. The food was great and the prices were good. We didn't care for how the food came out, though. There were six people in our party and we all received our food at different times, over a 15+ minute period. However, it was NYE and they place was packed! Would definitely go back on any regular night to test out the service again. Did I mention that this place is BYOB?!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great sushi, wonderful curry, fabulous noodles

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We went to Anna's for a late lunch on New Year's Eve. The sweet potato tempura roll was amazing. The Panang Curry was great, and the server cheerfully accommodated my special request to switch out the bell peppers for broccoli. The Drunken Noodles were a huge hit as well. Conversation-friendly, and wonderful, friendly service.

The absolutely only thing that was less than enjoyable was a cold draft from the front door; next time I'll ask to sit even farther away from the door. Overall excellent food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

romantic

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

it was very friendly, romantic and very calm and relaxing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anna's food is terrific

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

We love the food and fun atmosphere BYOB makes it a real gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Yummy small plates and excellent sushi!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

I took my wife here for birthday lunch and we found an absolute gem. The storefront is a little hard to find, but this is a must try. We went on a Sunday afternoon for lunch and it was not busy, but we were given very friendly, attentive, and fast service. We had our 18 month daughter with us and they were so accommodating and friendly towards her. The Southeast Asian flavors in the small plates were so good and the sushi was fresh, tasty, and presented gorgeously. The small plates are priced well for the portion and the menu is extensive. The owner Dennis spent a lot of time chatting with us and was genuinely interested in our thoughts about the food and the restaurant. We will definitely be back and will bring friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

This has become our go-to neighborhood restaurant -- I've probably introduced a dozen people to Anna's, and everyone loves it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious sushi and a very favorable byo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Delicious sushi and a very favorable byob policy with no corkage fee made for a great, inexpensive date night for me and my love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi at its finest.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Spent my bday here. It was very enjoyable. The service was impeccable and the sushi was delicious. They kept our 8 bottles of booze on ice and a great place to celebrate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best new restaurant of the year

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

My wife and I try a lot of new restaurants. We got a recommendation from a friend to try Anna's and it was everything she described and more. She told us that we had to try to fried avocado appetizer and it may be one of the best apps we have ever had. Great texture, presentation and taste (it is spicy but amazing). Since our first visit we have had sushi delivered and been back once in person. Both experiences were as good as the first, and we took another couple when we went back in person. They raved about it too. We shared the chicken shumai (sp?), the fried avocado (again) and a scallop small plate, and then got two entrees to share (the Pad Laos and the Korean BBQ short ribs). Everything was great. I should also note that the service was attentive and the waitress extremely pleasant and informative. Cannot wait to go back (and it is within walking distance of our home).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's a Don't Miss Restaurant

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

I've probably been to Anna's a dozen times or more, and it's consistently amazing. I love it as do the 15 or 20 people I've introduced to Anna's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff could not have been nicer and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

The staff could not have been nicer and our server was outstanding and attentive. The food was delicious and nothing was left on the table. My boyfriend considers himself a connoisseur of ramen soup and told everyone the soup was the best he's ever tasted. Coming from someone who makes his own broth for all types of soups, he'll definitely return to Anna's.

My only complaint would be lack of air conditioning. A fan was set up for the table next to us so I moved to sit near the fan as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Delicious!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Stuffed avocado is incredibe! Sashimi is fresh & some of the best crab racoon I've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very poor service, felt rushed out of the place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Felt rushed out of the place even though we were the only ones in there, small portions and horrendous curb appeal. Would not recommend at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The service was good and the setting was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

The service was good and the setting was nice but the food was very disappointing. Bland and lukewarm. I had high hopes and none of my expectations were met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

so awesome!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

such wonderful variety and everything we got was simply delicious. the korean ribs was out of this world. the staff was attentive and i think it was quite affordable for the quality and quantity of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Pan-Asian Neighborhood Place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2015

This place is an unexpected find. Nice atmosphere, great quality food, at reasonable prices.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Awesome!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 10, 2015

Love the food, loved Andy, the manager, and there's nothing we've ever ordered that wasn't great! I look forward to going back again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just OK

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

This was my second visit and I haven't changed my original rating. It is just OK. Nothing stands out as truly taste-worthy and the menu, while Asian eclectic, is not inspiring in any way. I've ordered a variety of foods from most o the regions represented and I felt it all had similar flavors - which regionally, they should not.

The restaurant space is hardly inviting and I had no temptation to linger over coffee or a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Valentine's Day Treat

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

I went here for valentines day and I had a wonderful time. The food was great, we were seated right away and the server was very attentive. I especially liked the pre-fix menu, it takes the hassle out of trying to look through the whole menu so you can focus on your date. I can't wait to be back and try some new dishes!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Words cannot describe!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 29, 2015

I love Anna's. The owners (and their mom) are the nicest people in the world and the food is outstanding. The menu is Pan-Asian, but everything is absolutely fantastic, because they use very high-quality ingredients, and the recipes are so awesome! Get here - NOW!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.