HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Anna's Asian Grill and Sushi Bar

4.4
87 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Asian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. When you visit ANNA'S, you'll experience the authentic home cooking that Chef Noy and owner Anna Makmok (mother and daughter!) have enjoyed all their lives. Their inventive, expansive and affordable menu features the cuisines of Thailand, Japan, Korea, India, Laos and beyond. Start with something crispy - like Japanese stuffed avocado or tempura, Thai chicken wings or Indian samosa. Perhaps a Japanese pork kabob or Peking duck bun is more to your liking. Saigon and Bangkok rolls, Miso, Tom Yum or Volcano soup plus a salad will round out your first course. For a main dish, try Mongolian steak or chicken, ginger scallops, or Laotian curry noodles. ANNA'S original sushi items are much in demand and include Chef's Signature dishes and nearly 30 varieties of makimono! Or you can choose by the piece and design your own dinner from the sushi bar. See you at ANNA'S!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Asian, Japanese, Thai
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch & Dinner: Tuesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am-10:00pm , Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(773) 975-3404
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ravenswood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are plenty of meter parking right in front of the restaurant. Also there are free street parking on both side of Ravenswood.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are located right next to the Irving Park Brown Line.
What 87 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4  based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipTORiaJ (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on April 25, 2017

Loved all the dishes we tried but they were out of the wings and they were also out of the touted fried banana dessert. Loved the stuffed avocado and the sake soy ribs. We also had three excellent rolls and the pork and duck buns all good! In warmer weather their patio will be really nice.

Report
Helpful
kflicka (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on April 20, 2017

The fried avocado was delicious! As was the pad Thai. The patio was not open yet which was disappointing, but once it is, it looks like a really great option away from the city street noise.

Report
Helpful
vipkd8r (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on April 15, 2017

I really like the fried avocado dish, very good. Everything else was good. I really wanted to sit outside but the patio wasn't open when we went :(

Report
Helpful
Sunil (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on February 24, 2017

My third or fourth time at Anna's and have loved the food every time. Go there!

Report
Helpful
Fluflu (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 21, 2017

I read that the fried avocado was really good, so we tried it, and they don't lie! It was awesome! A new twist to avocado! I had the pan-fried noodle with chicken and it was delicious. Did not disappoint. The nigiri-style sushi was also very good, the fish was almost like melt-in-your-mouth! No fish smell or after-taste.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 4, 2017

Annas has always been amazing. I feel like each time I come here the experience is better than the last. I have been going here for the past 3 years (hopefully making it 4 next week) with my wife for Valentines Day. We decided to have our post wedding dinner here this past Saturday. They were able to accommodate our group of 13 plus our 2 year old son. I can say that the service was exceptional, very attentive, and not intrusive. Everyone agreed that everything we ordered was absolutely delicious. We ordered a little bit of everything (sushi and stuffed avocado were faves) please try the ceviche everyone in our party was happy to try this Asian version as we regularly eat ceviche at home. One of the best things about Annas is that they are BYOB and the servers provide buckets with ice to keep everything chilled. I can't wait to go back to Annas everyone else said they would definitely be going back as well. I can not help but sing their praises enough. Thank you for always proving my wife and I with an amazing dining experience. I say my thanks by continuing to recommend everyone I know to your restaurant and look forward to hopefully seeing you on Valentines Day

Report
Helpful
vipbcurlie (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on January 11, 2017

BYOB, great sushi, terrific service. What more could you ask for?

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a group of 10 for NYE. Our server was wonderful. Everyone enjoyed their food. The only dish that was kind of mediocre was the Pho. Otherwise, the gyoza, lettuce wraps, veggie dumplings, noodle dishes, rice dishes and sushi were all very good. We had a really nice time. I wish I remembered our servers name, he was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
mmack (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on December 9, 2016

Get ready for a lot of Backstreet Boys. Food's good though.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Indiana)
3.0  Dined on November 26, 2016

Really liked the food, neat place. Nowhere on Open Table or their website does it mention that's it's a BYOB restaurant. No liqueur license. Probably wouldn't have booked here, had I known.
That being said, there was wine next door and they were great in getting glasses, presentation of chilled wine and red.

Report
Helpful
Saro (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on September 23, 2016

We've been there three times now and have brought friends to experience. i think that says everything.

Report
Helpful
vipDebbie (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on July 22, 2016

The steamed dumpling and the papaya salad was very tasty. Also had some sushi which was very fresh and good. Great byob restaurant.

Report
Helpful
SusanE (Raleigh)
4.0  Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, great ambiance, great service, but byob.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on June 11, 2016

No frills sushi at its best! The fish is always fresh and delicious.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on May 22, 2016

The food, service and ambiance is always top notch. Anna's proves to be my favorite go-to sushi/ Asian restaurant in Chicago.

Report
Helpful
joe60 (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on May 13, 2016

food was ok. place was cool. service was good. hard to find parking.

Report
Helpful
mmack (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on April 23, 2016

The service was very good. We tried the stuffed avocado reviewers recommended, and it wasn't for me. I like my sushi fresh, light and simple. That said, the sashimi was excellent and I enjoyed every roll that I tried. Only drawback is the music. Oh god, the music. Nineties pop at its most cringeworthy. Britney, NSync, Celine Dion, Backstreet Boys. Why, Anna's, why?

Report
Helpful
vipLisa (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on April 9, 2016

The stuffed avocado was as good as you've heard. The sushi was great. I didn't really care for the entrees (and I tasted 3 different options). They weren't bad, just same old, same old.

Report
Helpful
vipEmilio (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on April 2, 2016

Ok Pan-Asian food, good flavors, and generous portions. Menu is a bit overwhelming.

Report
Helpful
vipriversail (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on March 10, 2016

The food at Anna's is excellent. Without question every item we ordered was special and the service was attentive. Open Table did not say this was a BYOB restaurant so we needed to settle for water with our meal which was disappointing. We'd go back again but with some wine or sake.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5