Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

About Anna's Asian Grill and Sushi Bar

When you visit ANNA'S, you'll experience the authentic home cooking that Chef Noy and owner Anna Makmok (mother and daughter!) have enjoyed all their lives. Their inventive, expansive and affordable menu features the cuisines of Thailand, Japan, Korea, India, Laos and beyond. Start with something crispy - like Japanese stuffed avocado or tempura, Thai chicken wings or Indian samosa. Perhaps a Japanese pork kabob or Peking duck bun is more to your liking. Saigon and Bangkok rolls, Miso, Tom Yum or Volcano soup plus a salad will round out your first course. For a main dish, try Mongolian steak or chicken, ginger scallops, or Laotian curry noodles. ANNA'S original sushi items are much in demand and include Chef's Signature dishes and nearly 30 varieties of makimono! Or you can choose by the piece and design your own dinner from the sushi bar. See you at ANNA'S!

1804-06 W Irving Park Rd
Chicago, IL 60613
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Thai

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Tuesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am-10:00pm , Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ravenswood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 975-3404

Website:
http://www.annasasiangrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of meter parking right in front of the restaurant. Also there are free street parking on both side of Ravenswood.

Public Transit:
We are located right next to the Irving Park Brown Line.

Anna's Asian Grill and Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
85 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The fried avocado was delicious! As was the pad Thai. The patio was not open yet which was disappointing, but once it is, it looks like a really great option away from the city street noise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My third or fourth time at Anna's and have loved the food every time. Go there!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I read that the fried avocado was really good, so we tried it, and they don't lie! It was awesome! A new twist to avocado! I had the pan-fried noodle with chicken and it was delicious. Did not disappoint. The nigiri-style sushi was also very good, the fish was almost like melt-in-your-mouth! No fish smell or after-taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Annas has always been amazing. I feel like each time I come here the experience is better than the last. I have been going here for the past 3 years (hopefully making it 4 next week) with my wife for Valentines Day. We decided to have our post wedding dinner here this past Saturday. They were able to accommodate our group of 13 plus our 2 year old son. I can say that the service was exceptional, very attentive, and not intrusive. Everyone agreed that everything we ordered was absolutely delicious. We ordered a little bit of everything (sushi and stuffed avocado were faves) please try the ceviche everyone in our party was happy to try this Asian version as we regularly eat ceviche at home. One of the best things about Annas is that they are BYOB and the servers provide buckets with ice to keep everything chilled. I can't wait to go back to Annas everyone else said they would definitely be going back as well. I can not help but sing their praises enough. Thank you for always proving my wife and I with an amazing dining experience. I say my thanks by continuing to recommend everyone I know to your restaurant and look forward to hopefully seeing you on Valentines Day

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

BYOB, great sushi, terrific service. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a group of 10 for NYE. Our server was wonderful. Everyone enjoyed their food. The only dish that was kind of mediocre was the Pho. Otherwise, the gyoza, lettuce wraps, veggie dumplings, noodle dishes, rice dishes and sushi were all very good. We had a really nice time. I wish I remembered our servers name, he was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Get ready for a lot of Backstreet Boys. Food's good though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Really liked the food, neat place. Nowhere on Open Table or their website does it mention that's it's a BYOB restaurant. No liqueur license. Probably wouldn't have booked here, had I known.
That being said, there was wine next door and they were great in getting glasses, presentation of chilled wine and red.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We've been there three times now and have brought friends to experience. i think that says everything.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The steamed dumpling and the papaya salad was very tasty. Also had some sushi which was very fresh and good. Great byob restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, great ambiance, great service, but byob.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2016

No frills sushi at its best! The fish is always fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food, service and ambiance is always top notch. Anna's proves to be my favorite go-to sushi/ Asian restaurant in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2016

food was ok. place was cool. service was good. hard to find parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The service was very good. We tried the stuffed avocado reviewers recommended, and it wasn't for me. I like my sushi fresh, light and simple. That said, the sashimi was excellent and I enjoyed every roll that I tried. Only drawback is the music. Oh god, the music. Nineties pop at its most cringeworthy. Britney, NSync, Celine Dion, Backstreet Boys. Why, Anna's, why?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The stuffed avocado was as good as you've heard. The sushi was great. I didn't really care for the entrees (and I tasted 3 different options). They weren't bad, just same old, same old.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Ok Pan-Asian food, good flavors, and generous portions. Menu is a bit overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food at Anna's is excellent. Without question every item we ordered was special and the service was attentive. Open Table did not say this was a BYOB restaurant so we needed to settle for water with our meal which was disappointing. We'd go back again but with some wine or sake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food speaks for itself. I especially like the sushi quality. The padseewee with beef is fantastic. The sweet potato roll is flavorful and get 2 right away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2016

After reading the reviews, we expected the service to be a little slow and mentally prepared. However, and maybe it's because we dined at 9, the service couldn't have been faster, more attentive, or more personable! To start, DEFINITELY get the fried avocado. The mixture of textures and flavors can't be missed: it's fried to perfection and covered with their homemade spicy mayo and unagi sauce. The spicy miso was comforting and had just the right amount of heat, and the crunchy maguro roll will have us coming back. We can't say enough about how friendly the servers were, and the music was just what we needed to have a little fun (90s pop). Great job, guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2016

The food was delicious! The outside does not look like much, but the interior of the restaurant is beautiful and charming. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2016

I've probably been a dozen times, and I always look forward to going back. We introduced an Asian friend to Anna's last week, and he gave it a thumbs-up, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Visited this restaurant twice now, and both times have been great. Perfect size restaurant to have a special occasion dinner party. You can actually hear what the person next to you is saying!! Food is excellent (especially the stuffed avocados) and it's BYOB, so the bill is affordable. Can't say enough good things about this place. I will definitely be a repeat customer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service tonight was a little slow but I can't blame the staff as the crowd might have been a little heavier than expected...when they were at our table they were very attentive...3rd year in a row there with my girlfriend for Valentine's day and we are already looking forward to next year...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We really like that although we were 10 minutes late from our reservarion, we were still seated pretty quickly. Some of the tables are small which can be a little tricky but they're good about bring out your next dish once you've finished one. The server was great about checking how things were going and making sure our drinks were full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went on the Saturday before Valentine's day w/ an 8pm reservation. Restaurant was full but not at capacity. We were initially seated right next to the front entrance. Anna's doesn't have a dual door entry, nor did they construct a temporary entryway structure to create some relief between the entrance and the outdoors. The temperature outside was 5 degrees F; so we requested a move which was accommodated. However, after our move we did not have a waiter come to our table for a 35 minutes - thus the disappointing service. Once service began our waiter was fairly attentive.

Food was great - tried several of their specialty rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We came here for our Vday dinner. The food was good and the ambiance was nice. It was pretty packed so the service was a bit slow to a point where we were seated and then waited 20 min for someone to atleast give us menu to look at.. They forgot about us, but apologized for it. Small little place so when its packed you sit so close to people that you can hear other conversations. The place is good for semi romantic date nights or just casual dinner. Overall we had a good time. The fried stuffed Avocados were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2016

I almost hate letting others who haven't been here know how excellent it is. It's always delicious here. The sushi is delicious, and they have really nice-sized portions. And their hot dishes are just as delicious. Highly recommend Annie's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food is fantastic. Anything we've ever ordered has been great. The service is exemplary. I marked down for ambiance only because we used to go to Anna's place on Lake Street which I found to be a more attractive setting. That said, this space is rather lovely if rather small and a bit cramped.. It's BYOB but they don't charge a corkage fee and they accommodate you so well with the wine you bring in. If its a white they bring an ice bucket for you. They bring you glasses and they open the wine. We live 40 miles from this restaurant but we intend to put it on our rotation of places to go. That should say something about how great the food and experience are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Place was super busy, so service was slow, especially when filling up water glasses. However, the whole staff works as a team and when our waitress was busy, another one jumped in to help. The food was great and the prices were good. We didn't care for how the food came out, though. There were six people in our party and we all received our food at different times, over a 15+ minute period. However, it was NYE and they place was packed! Would definitely go back on any regular night to test out the service again. Did I mention that this place is BYOB?!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2015

We went to Anna's for a late lunch on New Year's Eve. The sweet potato tempura roll was amazing. The Panang Curry was great, and the server cheerfully accommodated my special request to switch out the bell peppers for broccoli. The Drunken Noodles were a huge hit as well. Conversation-friendly, and wonderful, friendly service.
The absolutely only thing that was less than enjoyable was a cold draft from the front door; next time I'll ask to sit even farther away from the door. Overall excellent food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2015

it was very friendly, romantic and very calm and relaxing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2015

We love the food and fun atmosphere BYOB makes it a real gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 6, 2015

I took my wife here for birthday lunch and we found an absolute gem. The storefront is a little hard to find, but this is a must try. We went on a Sunday afternoon for lunch and it was not busy, but we were given very friendly, attentive, and fast service. We had our 18 month daughter with us and they were so accommodating and friendly towards her. The Southeast Asian flavors in the small plates were so good and the sushi was fresh, tasty, and presented gorgeously. The small plates are priced well for the portion and the menu is extensive. The owner Dennis spent a lot of time chatting with us and was genuinely interested in our thoughts about the food and the restaurant. We will definitely be back and will bring friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2015

This has become our go-to neighborhood restaurant -- I've probably introduced a dozen people to Anna's, and everyone loves it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Delicious sushi and a very favorable byob policy with no corkage fee made for a great, inexpensive date night for me and my love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Spent my bday here. It was very enjoyable. The service was impeccable and the sushi was delicious. They kept our 8 bottles of booze on ice and a great place to celebrate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2015

My wife and I try a lot of new restaurants. We got a recommendation from a friend to try Anna's and it was everything she described and more. She told us that we had to try to fried avocado appetizer and it may be one of the best apps we have ever had. Great texture, presentation and taste (it is spicy but amazing). Since our first visit we have had sushi delivered and been back once in person. Both experiences were as good as the first, and we took another couple when we went back in person. They raved about it too. We shared the chicken shumai (sp?), the fried avocado (again) and a scallop small plate, and then got two entrees to share (the Pad Laos and the Korean BBQ short ribs). Everything was great. I should also note that the service was attentive and the waitress extremely pleasant and informative. Cannot wait to go back (and it is within walking distance of our home).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2015

I've probably been to Anna's a dozen times or more, and it's consistently amazing. I love it as do the 15 or 20 people I've introduced to Anna's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2015

The staff could not have been nicer and our server was outstanding and attentive. The food was delicious and nothing was left on the table. My boyfriend considers himself a connoisseur of ramen soup and told everyone the soup was the best he's ever tasted. Coming from someone who makes his own broth for all types of soups, he'll definitely return to Anna's.
My only complaint would be lack of air conditioning. A fan was set up for the table next to us so I moved to sit near the fan as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.