Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Angus Club Steakhouse

A modern steakhouse with seafood specialities, headlining an impressive selection of USDA prime black Angus beef steaks, all dry-aged-on-site for 30 - 35 days.
Both upstairs and downstairs feature a main dining room and bar area; downstairs stars 4 private party rooms which are all available for customized parties and special events. All dining rooms provide an intimate, romantic ambiance. The combination of harmonious beige ceilings, custom made vintage chandeliers, reclaimed barn wood and snake-skin walls, with classic oak wood floors creates a wonderful art-deco inspired setting.

135 E 55th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM to 11:00 PM
Saturday: 4:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Sunday: 4:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Lexington Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 588-1585

Website:
http://angusclubsteakhouse.com/

Public Transit:
By Subway:
M/E Line to 53rd St. & Lexington Avenue (walk 1 block)
6 Line to 51st St. (walk 1 block)
R,W,Q,N to 59th St. & Lexington Avenue (walk 4 blocks)

Executive Chef:
EDWARD AVDYLI

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Private Dining

Angus Club Steakhouse hosts events in a number of elegant rooms. Our luxuriously decorated rooms can host anywhere from 8 to 40 people for a sit down dinner you’ll never forget. Our upstairs dining area comes complete with a private bar and can accommodate 40 guests for a sit down dinner.

Angus Club Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was perhaps one of the best meals I have had in my life. Steak was cooked to perfection, staff was wonderful, and they were more than accommodating to our large party. Highly recommend this classic New York steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The service is terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Good menu options.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Barmaid was very friendly and attentive to all her customers. Wait staff was good. Steak cooked as ordered. Chocolate mouse cake was delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The staff (hosting & serving) delivered outstanding service. The food was plentiful and well prepared. Was a great experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I took my family to Angus during NYC Restaurant Week. Everyone loved it. The food was excellent: calamari, sirloin, filet mignon and the chocolate mousse cake is worth the calories. The ambiance is perfect for most occasions - birthdays, dates, anniversaries. It has a modern decor, the tables are well spaced out so you don't feel crowded yet it still feels cozy. The service was very good as well. We were so full from our appetizers and main course that we had to take our desserts home. We all agreed we would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I brought my friend Maya for restaurant week as she's never been. The portion size of the food and our waiter Jack was exceptional. I also appreciated that our table was by the window even though the seating was for 4 people. We even had the opportunity to meet the owner and the chef. I look forward to dining at Angus in the future

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I don't like grade inflation but the experience was top notch. I've written glowingly elsewhere on FB,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent !!! Delicious food and great service.
Beautiful, perfect!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent value for Resturant Week. Delicious steaks, fish and salads.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was delicious but the service was a bit slow the last time I was there.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Had NYC Restaurant week menu
Had sirloin steak
Clearly lower quality than their regular menu
Bit gristly and not tender (had it medium rare)

Wine took forever to arrive (after appetizers were delivered)

Seemed as if they lost interest in us once they realized that we were going for the restaurant week menu (which we asked for)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Went here for restaurant week for my co-workers birthday. It was amazing the steak was so flavorful and the atmosphere was great. If you want to go on a fancy date, I'd suggest this place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Top notch food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We went for restaurant week. We are steak lovers, and view restaurant week as a chance to try new steakhouses without breaking the bank.(although with a bottle of wine, tax and tip it is still a hefty price) Service was excellent. Gaby, was solicitous and very pleasant. When we mentioned one steakhouse we frequent, he indicated that there was no comparison- Angus was far superior. Unfortunately we did not think that. The fried calamari were good. I personally thought they could have been crisper. The sauce was excellent. The steak, a 14 oz sirloin, the same size and cut we get at one of our favorites, could not compare. While it was good- it was not excellent. It was salty, and not as tender as it could have been. We have had considerably better. The portion of mashed potatoes was skimpy. Desert, the chocolate mousse cake, was excellent. Overall, while a decent meal for restaurant week, I would not have been happy to have ordered that steak at the menu prices. As a prix fix dinner in Manhattan it was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The best French onion soup, bone in ribeye steak and caramel souffle ever and service to match!
The hostess, maitre d', wait staff and chef were friendly, warm and helpful.
For a wonderful dining experience, I highly recommend Angus Club Steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Went here for Restaurant week. Excellent service. Steak was huge and delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We went for restaurant week and the food was well worth the price. Service was amazing and drinks were great as well. Will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I go to Angus Club expecting to have great steak or lamb chops and I am never disappointed. The food is very good. My husband likes the salmon and sea bass. The room is nicely set up with space between tables as well.

The only nit I have is that sometimes it gets very loud because they occasionally have large tables there.

Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Absolute Gem.. great please AWESOME FOOD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always pleases. Great lambchops, lobster tails, mashed potatoes and peas. Good service and enjoyable time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Have dined here on 3 other occasions for dinner. Never had a complaint, the food was good. stopped in for lunch and had the prix fix menu at 39.95. Ordered rib eye ... big mistake ...complete garbage...it was 85% grizzle and fat hardly no meat...supermarkets have better quality meat... told the waiter... offered no apology or alternative...place was empty except for 4 other diners...seems they aren't doing too good if they serve this garbage ....they lost about 8 other customers from my family because of this experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent each time we visit. It's our go to place for steak . Compliments to chef and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Never fails to please. Came at the he last minute late Thursday night with husband, son and daughter in law. Had chopped salad, steaks and lamb chops. Delicious. Service attentive. Red Zinfandel wine excellent. Will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I took my friend for her birthday at this place and we loved it. The food was good, the service was superb and most of all they treated us like royalty there. I would certainly go back sooner than expected : ))

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic place! Recommend the porter house steak for 2, mac and cheeses with truffles.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always enjoyable. had the beef barley soup, daughter had lobster bisque and husband had caesar salad. all good. salmon was excellent as were the lamb chops. will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Porterhouse for two was of extreme high quality, cooked perfectly and as good as any top steak house in New York minus the pomp, circumstance and noise.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Simply Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Pros: Food(Porter house) was excellent. It was somehow noisy at the time of my visit, but it depends on when you visit, I think.
Cons: They forgot to provide breads and didn't correct without any reason even though were requested. Other services and attentions were nice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our experience at Angus Club Steakhouse was wonderful. We only had one night in NYC so we looked at many options and decided on this. We were very happy that we did. The ambiance was very pleasant, service was impeccable without being overbearing, and the steak was truly incredible. We had the Porterhouse for 3 (there were 3 of us) and the dry aged beef was cooked to perfection with unbelievable flavor. We will definitely return here next time we are in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Incredible service. Unbelievable fantastic food. A must go to if in NY!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great salmon and red velvet cake. Attentive service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The salmon is only ok, but the steak, which they are known for, is absolutely excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I ordered the surcharged bone-in steak from the Restaurant Week menu, but it wasn't worth: the quality of meat was low, large inedible stiff nerve zones, cooked unevenly. I doubt the weight was the one declared. The dessert was poorly served, without anything fancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was wonderful as usual. Great ambiance and perfect for conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

All I need to say is way much better than peter Luger. Must Try porterhouse steaks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Ordered 3 lbs of lobster at 6pm and was told not availavle. Ordered a steak no char received fully charred steak. Tried to eat but couldn't. Disappointing experience overall, but the owner represented his restaurant well and assured us of better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

the service was excellent starting with escort down to our table.the owners came to our table to make sure everything was good. the staff was excellent and the food was great.i recommended this restaurant to my friends.
thanks for excellent service
robert boehning
upper east side

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nothing stands out about this place. OK food, I've had better steaks for not as much money. The creamed spinach isn't very good, the mashed potatoes had no flavor tasted as if they came from a box.
The wine list isn't very big and the few choices aren't very exciting.
Go to Keen's or Empire steakhouse for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.