About Angus Club Steakhouse

135 E 55th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A modern steakhouse with seafood specialities, headlining an impressive selection of USDA prime black Angus beef steaks, all dry-aged-on-site for 30 - 35 days.
Both upstairs and downstairs feature a main dining room and bar area; downstairs stars 4 private party rooms which are all available for customized parties and special events. All dining rooms provide an intimate, romantic ambiance. The combination of harmonious beige ceilings, custom made vintage chandeliers, reclaimed barn wood and snake-skin walls, with classic oak wood floors creates a wonderful art-deco inspired setting.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM to 11:00 PM
Saturday: 4:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Sunday: 4:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Lexington Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 588-1585

Website:
http://angusclubsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
EDWARD AVDYLI

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Private Dining

Angus Club Steakhouse hosts events in a number of elegant rooms. Our luxuriously decorated rooms can host anywhere from 8 to 40 people for a sit down dinner you’ll never forget. Our upstairs dining area comes complete with a private bar and can accommodate 40 guests for a sit down dinner.

Angus Club Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (14)
special occasion (14)
romantic (10)
See All
great for lunch (10)
good for groups (8)
notable wine list (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribeye was exceptional. Best I have ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The ribeye was exceptional. Best I have ever tasted. Love the selection of small batch bourbons available for an Old Fashion. Service was excellent and very good at anticipating when you needed them.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my sons for dinner service and food ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Took my sons for dinner service and food were outstanding...

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for meetings, or any kin ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent place for meetings, or any kind of occasions. Terrific culinary and libation qualitative experience with superb service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent

Dined on May 19, 2016

The proper way to cook a port house, great job Chef Eddie. Always great wine list and impeccable service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful for steak in the city

Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated a 80th, 50th and 19th birthday and our server went out of his way to make our dinner a night to remember. The steaks were phenomenal, some of the the best we've ever had. In addition to all the special service we received, we did not mind the price for the meal we got!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

What an unexpected surprise. Food and se ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

What an unexpected surprise. Food and service was very good!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've eaten all the Steakhouses in NYC. M ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I've eaten all the Steakhouses in NYC. Must say was surprised by the quality of beef. The staff was very friendly. Will consider going back.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was an issue

Dined on May 2, 2016

While the food was good (we had bacon, shrimp, onion/ tomato, steak for 3, and sides...), the service was less than adequate. It took too long for our drink orders to be taken, wait staff seemed to be looking the other way every time we searched for our waiter, and our requested wine could not be found. The room temperature was too warm and it required us to ask (and walk over to wait staff to get their attention) multiple times for it to be adjusted (not even sure it ever was). The restaurant seemed nice enough and the host ultimately did appear and asked how everything was, but too little too late for me. My opinion was already formed. Hopefully, the wait staff will improve to match the food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still the best steakhouse in the city. A ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Still the best steakhouse in the city. Always consistent, rarely misses the the mark. Great appetizers and sides as well. Also quiet enough to carry on a conversation which cannot be said for most other steakhouses.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Angus club

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was okay, nothing outstanding. Service was very professional and impressive. Dining was very nice.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Old world and old style steakhouse!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Traditional steakhouse menu. Service is excellent without feeling intrusive. Everyone makes you feel so welcome. The steaks are some of the best in the City. Try the salad with the shrimp, bacon and fresh peas!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service with top of the line f ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Fantastic service with top of the line food. Possibly the best steakhouse I've ever been to.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service very pleased ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent food and service very pleased would definitely go again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Lunch

Dined on April 14, 2016

Petite filet was excellent as usually. My friend had the steak sandwich and he loved it. Never had the fries there and it was great too.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXQUISITE!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

From the moment of arrival to departure the service was excellent: attentive, cordial, and professional. The venue Finely decorated; the food and wine Outstanding and delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse Ive ever been to. Top no ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Best steakhouse Ive ever been to. Top notch service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night wth my Poo

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We love Angus. Very pricey. We ordered the twin lobsters and the sea bass. Both entrees are absolutely delicious. Drinks are a bit on the pricey side as well. Cooked vey well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great steak

Dined on March 18, 2016

i've tried lots of steakhouse in NY but this place is the best. totaly worth what you paid...

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Angus Steakhouse

Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was great and flavorful and the service was right on the money. I would return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find for lunch.

Dined on March 7, 2016

I found this restaurant on Open Table and chose it for location. I was very happy to have found it as the food was great and the service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was impeccable. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Food was just good but not great. Good p ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was just good but not great. Good place for a business lunch because it's quiet

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints!

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

This place hits the mark every time. The food and service are outstanding. I'm just surprised it's not more crowded but I think hidden off the main street keeps it a neighborhood secret gem. I've also booked a private business event for our Partner group (50+) and was impressed with the price and the feedback I received from the group

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine Day Couples.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We get together with a bunch of couples every year & choose a steakhouse. Last year we used Angus and was so impressed, we came back again for this Valentine's Day. The food and service is excellent. In fact both times they gave us a private room at no extra charge. The place is eye appealind and definitely a great impression for a date night. Highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING

Dined on February 14, 2016

went here with my wife AWESOME experience , we had the steak awesome taste , great flavors and quaity, already recommended to friends !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great. I had the filet mignon, it was huge and cooked just the way I like it. I was on a first date. The waiter was chatting up my date and when we needed another cocktail he was nowhere to be found. The price was high but comparable to any steak house of that quality food. The ambiance was that of a lower grade restaurant. To many tables in the dinning room. Very little room for diners and staff to walk around without you feeling like you're in the way. Did not have a private club feeling. Definitely would not repeat .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steak and wine in a beautiful restaurant!

Dined on February 12, 2016

I came to Angus a couple of nights ago with 2 friends. The restaurant itself is beautiful! I was first to arrive so I grabbed a glass of the house Cabernet Sauv at the bar downstairs. Their wine list has a nice variety of reds (didn't pay much attention to the whites) that pair well with their food. From light to full bodied, you should be able to easily find something that you, your partner, and your friends will enjoy. The bartender was very helpful as she described the wines and poured a couple tastes for me before I made my choice. I saw several private rooms with large parties dining; they looked very nice and comfortable. My friends and I were seated in the main dining area; other diners ranged from couples, to business meetings (or so it looked like it), to families. The lighting is great, dim but not like those restaurants where you need to pull out a flashlight just to read a menu. We started with salads- big and super fresh! We shared the filet mignon and sirloin and they were both cooked to perfection, juicy, so tender, and served to us from a sizzling hot plate by the servers. This was the best steak I've ever been served in the city. We also got the truffle mac and cheese and sauteed broccoli, both very flavorful (definitely go with sauteed over steamed!). The servers was attentive, not overbearing. Overall, we had a great experience and can't wait to go back again for the steak and wine!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and exceptional service

Dined on February 11, 2016

My experience at Angus Club Steakhouse was one of a kind. The food was magnificent - from the garden salad to the mac&cheese to the filet mignon. Everything was very nicely crafted and displayed. We couldn't ask for better service either. Our water and wine glasses were always full and the food placed on our plates with ease and delicacy. We loved the experience! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice steak dinner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining!

Dined on February 10, 2016

I've been to many steak houses in NY and this is by far one of my new favorites. From the second I walked in the door, I was greeted with a smile by the hostess, my coat was checked and I was walked right to my table. The steak was like butter, it literally melted in my mouth. The drinks were top notch and since it was my birthday dinner the manager even sent over a drink on the house. Needless to say, I will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Excellent!

Dined on February 5, 2016

Food, ambiance and service are simply excellent. Service and team are superb. Angus is my "go to steakhouse in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5

I got food poisoning from the Tuna tarta ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

I got food poisoning from the Tuna tartare.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Business group had a great time

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been several times before and selected for a business group of 6. 2 foodies from Chicago and others from NY. All loved the restaurant, food, atmosphere (upstairs) and service. Although thoughts originally centered on fish, everyone had steak and all were happy. Great wine selections by bottle. By glass could be improved. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was superb. Loved it!

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Everything was superb. Loved it!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not your typical steak house

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Most high end steak houses have that snooty feel, not Angus. Every time I have come here the staff has been warm, friendly and helpful. The food is on par with any of the fine steakhouses in NYC. They have several rooms which have an intimate feel. The decor is warm and cozy. Great experience when you are looking for a top notch venue .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service3

A bit surprised by the prices. Very expe ...

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

A bit surprised by the prices. Very expensive for a this type of steakhouse. Except prices like this at a BLT or Quality Meats. We were pretty much the only people in the resturant. . Food came out way to quick to even enjoy a conversation

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on January 20, 2016

Filet was perfect. Sides were excellent sides. I have to bring back sides for my co-workers. Never had bad food. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT STEAKHOUSE!

Dined on January 13, 2016

One of, if not THE, best steakhouses in the city. Amazing bacon strips, best lamb chops in the world and delicious steak always cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic Steak House

Dined on January 10, 2016

The service was a standout. Professional and customer centric. Small nicely decorated room with lots of space between tables. Our porterhouse steak [for one] was a great meal for two with a side.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service!!!!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Great food and friendly staff! Server took the time to make a connection with us. Servers came to our table frequently to make sure everything was terriffic!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the Best Steakhouse in the City

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

This has become my go to steakhouse because they serve superb, perfectly cooked steak of all kinds. But, it's not all steak. The appetizers and sides are all great and they have enlarged their fish menu which is also quite good. If you are in the mood for steak give them a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.