About Angus Club Steakhouse

135 E 55th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A modern steakhouse with seafood specialities, headlining an impressive selection of USDA prime black Angus beef steaks, all dry-aged-on-site for 30 - 35 days.
Both upstairs and downstairs feature a main dining room and bar area; downstairs stars 4 private party rooms which are all available for customized parties and special events. All dining rooms provide an intimate, romantic ambiance. The combination of harmonious beige ceilings, custom made vintage chandeliers, reclaimed barn wood and snake-skin walls, with classic oak wood floors creates a wonderful art-deco inspired setting.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM to 11:00 PM
Saturday: 4:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Sunday: 4:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Lexington Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 588-1585

Website:
http://angusclubsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
EDWARD AVDYLI

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Private Dining

Angus Club Steakhouse hosts events in a number of elegant rooms. Our luxuriously decorated rooms can host anywhere from 8 to 40 people for a sit down dinner you’ll never forget. Our upstairs dining area comes complete with a private bar and can accommodate 40 guests for a sit down dinner.

Angus Club Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I decided to treat ourselv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

My friend and I decided to treat ourselves to a good steak dinner while visiting NYC. Angus Club Steakhouse came highly recommended and it did not disappoint. The atmosphere in the restaurant lends itself to intimate conversation and invites diners to slow down to savor their meals. And savor is absolutely what should be done, because the food is divine! I had a shrimp cocktail appetizer which was fantastic, a filet mignon that I'd like to write a love letter to (and the homemade steak sauce? I considered proposing marriage to the chef just to get the recipe), and mashed potatoes that were so smooth and buttery they brought tears to my eyes. I highly recommend Angus Club Steakhouse!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in NYC. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants in NYC. We stumbled across this place last year on our visit to NYC and we made it a point to return this year. The service is wonderful and the food is amazing. We would highly recommend the Angus Club Steakhouse and we will definitely be returning next year.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great apps and dry aged meats very atten ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

great apps and dry aged meats

very attentive service

handsome interior, but

we had a early res. and on arrival we were told there was a private party in the upstairs dining room and we would have to be seated in the downstairs room

this dining area is down 2 floors which was a problem since we both have knee issues

we felt the restaurant should have let us know of the situation before our arrival

we were dining in the downstairs space, alone, for at least 2 hours with excellent service

feeling like we were in the middle of a ball field

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was very nice, not many people there. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

It was very nice, not many people there. So we basically had the whole place to ourselves, food was very good and the waitress gave me good advice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Quiet and outstanding steak & wine.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Quiet and outstanding steak & wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced and good but not great. I pr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Over priced and good but not great. I prefer Ruths Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

The food and service never let you down. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and service never let you down. Prefer this place by far to the Capital Grill or the Palm. Portions are huge and tasty. Great lobster tails, lamb chops, steaks. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great meal at Angus Club. My fa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a great meal at Angus Club. My favorite steakhouse in the city. Porterhouse this time was superb. When the shell side is as tender as the the fillet side you know you have a great piece of meat. Great appetizers as well. What's also great is the serine nature of the restaurant not the load raucous screaming as in most steakhouses. Refreshing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great, food was really good ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Service was great, food was really good and the wine was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I normally eat at Keen Steakhouse on 36t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I normally eat at Keen Steakhouse on 36th but they were booked so my boss and I tried ACS since it is only 4 blocks from the office and it was amazing. We say downstairs and the decor was very nice, staff friendly and attentive and most importantly food delicious. I will definitely return with my husband, friends, or coworkers again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifully-appointed downstairs dining ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Beautifully-appointed downstairs dining area and bar.

Outstanding steak - not over-seasoned.

More Montreal old-style steakhouse than New York glitz.

Well worth the visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is excellent. Crab cakes are the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food is excellent. Crab cakes are the best I ever had. Every side dish I tried was amazing. Service is elegant and attentive. This place is a total gem.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Angus Club Steakhouse was absolutely won ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Angus Club Steakhouse was absolutely wonderful! I went for a birthday dinner date and enjoyed every part of the evening. The wine was wonderful, the service was outstanding and the steak was the best steak I've ever had in my life! Would highly recommend for a special date night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was just perfect. Everyone ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everything was just perfect. Everyone was friendly and caring. One of the managers stopped by table few times just to see if everything was ok. Steak was just perfect one of the best calamaris I had .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

as usual the dining experience here is c ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2016

as usual the dining experience here is consistantly good highlighted by superior steaks..The ambiance upstairs is fsr greater than that downstairs...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful and classy place. Excellent se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Beautiful and classy place. Excellent service. The food is awesome, especially the crab cake and steaks. Love the expertise and will come back the next chance I get.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my husband there for his birthday. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Took my husband there for his birthday. Food was exceptionally good and had a nice wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome steak and awesome wine list

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Awesome steak and awesome wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Angus Club service was excellent. They a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Angus Club service was excellent. They are very concerned about the quality of their food. We had a tough cut of porter house steak. Staff asked us to be honest with our assessment so they can keep the food to their food to the highest standards. We were impressed and will recommend Angus Club to others.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite steakhouse in the city. Top ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My favorite steakhouse in the city. Top notch beef, properly cooked and served by a good wait staff. Friendly management makes for a very enjoyable evening. A pleasure too not have the noise of most steakhouses. Starters and sides are excellent as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful in how we were treated and fed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

wonderful in how we were treated and fed, delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I was lucky to arrive early for dinner a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I was lucky to arrive early for dinner and found out about the $1 oyster and half price cocktail for Happy Hour. Dinner was great too and the Cappuccino I had after the dinner was REALLY good.

I was just worried about the payment on the Mastercard that I'm still waiting for the numbers to come, the Manager seemed to have problem using my MC Diners Card together with my US$ MC, but I'm sure the restaurant will work it out right with the bank and I'll contact them if not.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend raved about her steak!!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

My girlfriend raved about her steak!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I enjoyed this restaurant a lot: Great f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

I enjoyed this restaurant a lot: Great food and great atmosphere as well as great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Filet was delicious and theTruffle C ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The Filet was delicious and theTruffle CreamCorn & Angus potato's were aswell, I would definitely recommend Angus Club Steakhouse if you are looking for a great steak.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived early so the restaurant was q ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We arrived early so the restaurant was quite empty, the maitre d passed our table several times but never stopped by to say hello. Expensive for very mediocre steak. The filet mignon seemed second rate, marbling okay but excess fat is not. The mashed potatoes tasted like glue; great baked potato and wonderful steak sauce , the chef's secret recipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was spectacular!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive average food. No ambiance.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Expensive average food. No ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Best and most consistent steak in the ci ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Best and most consistent steak in the city. Always top notch. Great appetizers and sides as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ribeye was exceptional. Best I have ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The ribeye was exceptional. Best I have ever tasted. Love the selection of small batch bourbons available for an Old Fashion. Service was excellent and very good at anticipating when you needed them.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my sons for dinner service and food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Took my sons for dinner service and food were outstanding...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place for meetings, or any kin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent place for meetings, or any kind of occasions.

Terrific culinary and libation qualitative experience with superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2016

The proper way to cook a port house, great job Chef Eddie. Always great wine list and impeccable service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful for steak in the city

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated a 80th, 50th and 19th birthday and our server went out of his way to make our dinner a night to remember. The steaks were phenomenal, some of the the best we've ever had. In addition to all the special service we received, we did not mind the price for the meal we got!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What an unexpected surprise. Food and se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2016

What an unexpected surprise.

Food and service was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I've eaten all the Steakhouses in NYC. M ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2016

I've eaten all the Steakhouses in NYC. Must say was surprised by the quality of beef. The staff was very friendly. Will consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was an issue

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2016

While the food was good (we had bacon, shrimp, onion/ tomato, steak for 3, and sides...), the service was less than adequate. It took too long for our drink orders to be taken, wait staff seemed to be looking the other way every time we searched for our waiter, and our requested wine could not be found.

The room temperature was too warm and it required us to ask (and walk over to wait staff to get their attention) multiple times for it to be adjusted (not even sure it ever was).

The restaurant seemed nice enough and the host ultimately did appear and asked how everything was, but too little too late for me. My opinion was already formed. Hopefully, the wait staff will improve to match the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Still the best steakhouse in the city. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Still the best steakhouse in the city. Always consistent, rarely misses the the mark. Great appetizers and sides as well. Also quiet enough to carry on a conversation which cannot be said for most other steakhouses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Angus club

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was okay, nothing outstanding. Service was very professional and impressive. Dining was very nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Old world and old style steakhouse!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Traditional steakhouse menu. Service is excellent without feeling intrusive. Everyone makes you feel so welcome. The steaks are some of the best in the City. Try the salad with the shrimp, bacon and fresh peas!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.