Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Angus Club Steakhouse

A modern steakhouse with seafood specialities, headlining an impressive selection of USDA prime black Angus beef steaks, all dry-aged-on-site for 30 - 35 days.
Both upstairs and downstairs feature a main dining room and bar area; downstairs stars 4 private party rooms which are all available for customized parties and special events. All dining rooms provide an intimate, romantic ambiance. The combination of harmonious beige ceilings, custom made vintage chandeliers, reclaimed barn wood and snake-skin walls, with classic oak wood floors creates a wonderful art-deco inspired setting.

135 E 55th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM to 11:00 PM
Saturday: 4:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Sunday: 4:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Lexington Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 588-1585

Website:
http://angusclubsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
EDWARD AVDYLI

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Private Dining

Angus Club Steakhouse hosts events in a number of elegant rooms. Our luxuriously decorated rooms can host anywhere from 8 to 40 people for a sit down dinner you’ll never forget. Our upstairs dining area comes complete with a private bar and can accommodate 40 guests for a sit down dinner.

Angus Club Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
See All
Business Meals (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Cozy (9)
Private Room (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fireplace (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always enjoyable. had the beef barley soup, daughter had lobster bisque and husband had caesar salad. all good. salmon was excellent as were the lamb chops. will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Porterhouse for two was of extreme high quality, cooked perfectly and as good as any top steak house in New York minus the pomp, circumstance and noise.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Simply Great!

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Pros: Food(Porter house) was excellent. It was somehow noisy at the time of my visit, but it depends on when you visit, I think.
Cons: They forgot to provide breads and didn't correct without any reason even though were requested. Other services and attentions were nice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our experience at Angus Club Steakhouse was wonderful. We only had one night in NYC so we looked at many options and decided on this. We were very happy that we did. The ambiance was very pleasant, service was impeccable without being overbearing, and the steak was truly incredible. We had the Porterhouse for 3 (there were 3 of us) and the dry aged beef was cooked to perfection with unbelievable flavor. We will definitely return here next time we are in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Incredible service. Unbelievable fantastic food. A must go to if in NY!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great salmon and red velvet cake. Attentive service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The salmon is only ok, but the steak, which they are known for, is absolutely excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I ordered the surcharged bone-in steak from the Restaurant Week menu, but it wasn't worth: the quality of meat was low, large inedible stiff nerve zones, cooked unevenly. I doubt the weight was the one declared. The dessert was poorly served, without anything fancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was wonderful as usual. Great ambiance and perfect for conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

All I need to say is way much better than peter Luger. Must Try porterhouse steaks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Ordered 3 lbs of lobster at 6pm and was told not availavle. Ordered a steak no char received fully charred steak. Tried to eat but couldn't. Disappointing experience overall, but the owner represented his restaurant well and assured us of better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

the service was excellent starting with escort down to our table.the owners came to our table to make sure everything was good. the staff was excellent and the food was great.i recommended this restaurant to my friends.
thanks for excellent service
robert boehning
upper east side

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nothing stands out about this place. OK food, I've had better steaks for not as much money. The creamed spinach isn't very good, the mashed potatoes had no flavor tasted as if they came from a box.
The wine list isn't very big and the few choices aren't very exciting.
Go to Keen's or Empire steakhouse for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The porterhouse steak for two was amazing. Sides are served family style--try the truffle mac and cheese!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A little Midtown East gem. Shhhhh!! Don't tell everyone!!! Filet mignon was delicious. Service was superb. And you can have a conversation on the main floor with without shouting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Chosen as the location for our team holiday lunch and we couldn't be much happier. Delicious food and ambience. Set the perfect mood for our lunch.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great potential not realized. The decor, the seats, table and noise level was very good. So, business meet and greet place and not expensive table cloth dining for the near Bloomingdales location. Then again.... Staff nice but not trained.The wait staff were busy chatting and did not see diner's gestures for service for 5 minutes. The steak sandwich was with great bun, great fries, but inexpensive strip streak ala memories of Tad's Steakhouse sizzler.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I had a long layover from Munich to Honolulu. This was the one place I needed to hit while in NYC. Just like last time.....FANTASTIC porterhouse and incredible service. We even had a 10-month old with us this time.....wondered how the staff would be. They were incredibly accommodating.....made all of us feel very welcome.
I'll be back. Again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were very impressed with the restaurant. The staff was friendly and very attentive. We all loved our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I found Angus Club through opentable during a trip into the city. This is a great place for leisurely dining on a special occasion or on a theater night. My wife and I had the porterhouse steak for two. It was excellent. We finished the steak and had desert. Also a great wine that was recommended by the waiter. If we had had appetizers, we may not have been able to finish the steak. The service was great. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

There are two areas and upper area and lower area we were seated in the lower area . There was a celebration and a couple large events going on so I believe it was louder than usual. Good was outstanding. We had the seafood appetizer with shrimp, lobster, oysters, and clams. For he main course we shared the four person porterhouse. We liked ours rare which came out exactly that. Will be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Awesome service and ambiance.
Food was excellent!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was good and service was great. Just in town for the afternoon and saw this on a list of Steak Houses.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The steak was tough, the fish was oily and fishy and even the sautéed spinach didn't taste good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great service overall. Was flexible with my reservation, as we were a few minutes late. Were able to serve delicious food in a timely manner, leaving us plenty of time to make our show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

All I can say, everything was perfect from the time I walked in, I was very welcomed, the food was beyond my expectations, I just love their steaks as I'm a steak lover, the service was excellent, the ambiance, just everything was superb!!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Private Room, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My friend and I decided to treat ourselves to a good steak dinner while visiting NYC. Angus Club Steakhouse came highly recommended and it did not disappoint. The atmosphere in the restaurant lends itself to intimate conversation and invites diners to slow down to savor their meals. And savor is absolutely what should be done, because the food is divine! I had a shrimp cocktail appetizer which was fantastic, a filet mignon that I'd like to write a love letter to (and the homemade steak sauce? I considered proposing marriage to the chef just to get the recipe), and mashed potatoes that were so smooth and buttery they brought tears to my eyes. I highly recommend Angus Club Steakhouse!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in NYC. We stumbled across this place last year on our visit to NYC and we made it a point to return this year. The service is wonderful and the food is amazing. We would highly recommend the Angus Club Steakhouse and we will definitely be returning next year.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

great apps and dry aged meats
very attentive service
handsome interior, but
we had a early res. and on arrival we were told there was a private party in the upstairs dining room and we would have to be seated in the downstairs room
this dining area is down 2 floors which was a problem since we both have knee issues

we felt the restaurant should have let us know of the situation before our arrival

we were dining in the downstairs space, alone, for at least 2 hours with excellent service
feeling like we were in the middle of a ball field

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

It was very nice, not many people there. So we basically had the whole place to ourselves, food was very good and the waitress gave me good advice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Quiet and outstanding steak & wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Over priced and good but not great. I prefer Ruths Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and service never let you down. Prefer this place by far to the Capital Grill or the Palm. Portions are huge and tasty. Great lobster tails, lamb chops, steaks. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a great meal at Angus Club. My favorite steakhouse in the city. Porterhouse this time was superb. When the shell side is as tender as the the fillet side you know you have a great piece of meat. Great appetizers as well. What's also great is the serine nature of the restaurant not the load raucous screaming as in most steakhouses. Refreshing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Service was great, food was really good and the wine was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I normally eat at Keen Steakhouse on 36th but they were booked so my boss and I tried ACS since it is only 4 blocks from the office and it was amazing. We say downstairs and the decor was very nice, staff friendly and attentive and most importantly food delicious. I will definitely return with my husband, friends, or coworkers again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Beautifully-appointed downstairs dining area and bar.
Outstanding steak - not over-seasoned.
More Montreal old-style steakhouse than New York glitz.
Well worth the visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food is excellent. Crab cakes are the best I ever had. Every side dish I tried was amazing. Service is elegant and attentive. This place is a total gem.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Angus Club Steakhouse was absolutely wonderful! I went for a birthday dinner date and enjoyed every part of the evening. The wine was wonderful, the service was outstanding and the steak was the best steak I've ever had in my life! Would highly recommend for a special date night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.