About Angus Club Steakhouse

135 E 55th Street
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

A modern steakhouse with seafood specialities, headlining an impressive selection of USDA prime black Angus beef steaks, all dry-aged-on-site for 30 - 35 days.
Both upstairs and downstairs feature a main dining room and bar area; downstairs stars 4 private party rooms which are all available for customized parties and special events. All dining rooms provide an intimate, romantic ambiance. The combination of harmonious beige ceilings, custom made vintage chandeliers, reclaimed barn wood and snake-skin walls, with classic oak wood floors creates a wonderful art-deco inspired setting.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM to 11:00 PM
Saturday: 4:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Sunday: 4:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Lexington Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 588-1585

Website:
http://angusclubsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
EDWARD AVDYLI

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 8:00PM

Mon - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Private Dining

Angus Club Steakhouse hosts events in a number of elegant rooms. Our luxuriously decorated rooms can host anywhere from 8 to 40 people for a sit down dinner you’ll never forget. Our upstairs dining area comes complete with a private bar and can accommodate 40 guests for a sit down dinner.

Angus Club Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome steak and awesome wine list

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Awesome steak and awesome wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Angus Club service was excellent. They a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Angus Club service was excellent. They are very concerned about the quality of their food. We had a tough cut of porter house steak. Staff asked us to be honest with our assessment so they can keep the food to their food to the highest standards. We were impressed and will recommend Angus Club to others.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite steakhouse in the city. Top ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My favorite steakhouse in the city. Top notch beef, properly cooked and served by a good wait staff. Friendly management makes for a very enjoyable evening. A pleasure too not have the noise of most steakhouses. Starters and sides are excellent as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful in how we were treated and fed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

wonderful in how we were treated and fed, delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I was lucky to arrive early for dinner a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I was lucky to arrive early for dinner and found out about the $1 oyster and half price cocktail for Happy Hour. Dinner was great too and the Cappuccino I had after the dinner was REALLY good.

I was just worried about the payment on the Mastercard that I'm still waiting for the numbers to come, the Manager seemed to have problem using my MC Diners Card together with my US$ MC, but I'm sure the restaurant will work it out right with the bank and I'll contact them if not.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend raved about her steak!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My girlfriend raved about her steak!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I enjoyed this restaurant a lot: Great f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I enjoyed this restaurant a lot: Great food and great atmosphere as well as great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Filet was delicious and theTruffle C ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The Filet was delicious and theTruffle CreamCorn & Angus potato's were aswell, I would definitely recommend Angus Club Steakhouse if you are looking for a great steak.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived early so the restaurant was q ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We arrived early so the restaurant was quite empty, the maitre d passed our table several times but never stopped by to say hello. Expensive for very mediocre steak. The filet mignon seemed second rate, marbling okay but excess fat is not. The mashed potatoes tasted like glue; great baked potato and wonderful steak sauce , the chef's secret recipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was spectacular!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive average food. No ambiance.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Expensive average food. No ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Best and most consistent steak in the ci ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Best and most consistent steak in the city. Always top notch. Great appetizers and sides as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ribeye was exceptional. Best I have ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The ribeye was exceptional. Best I have ever tasted. Love the selection of small batch bourbons available for an Old Fashion. Service was excellent and very good at anticipating when you needed them.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my sons for dinner service and food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Took my sons for dinner service and food were outstanding...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place for meetings, or any kin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent place for meetings, or any kind of occasions.

Terrific culinary and libation qualitative experience with superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The proper way to cook a port house, great job Chef Eddie. Always great wine list and impeccable service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful for steak in the city

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated a 80th, 50th and 19th birthday and our server went out of his way to make our dinner a night to remember. The steaks were phenomenal, some of the the best we've ever had. In addition to all the special service we received, we did not mind the price for the meal we got!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What an unexpected surprise. Food and se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

What an unexpected surprise.

Food and service was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I've eaten all the Steakhouses in NYC. M ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I've eaten all the Steakhouses in NYC. Must say was surprised by the quality of beef. The staff was very friendly. Will consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was an issue

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

While the food was good (we had bacon, shrimp, onion/ tomato, steak for 3, and sides...), the service was less than adequate. It took too long for our drink orders to be taken, wait staff seemed to be looking the other way every time we searched for our waiter, and our requested wine could not be found.

The room temperature was too warm and it required us to ask (and walk over to wait staff to get their attention) multiple times for it to be adjusted (not even sure it ever was).

The restaurant seemed nice enough and the host ultimately did appear and asked how everything was, but too little too late for me. My opinion was already formed. Hopefully, the wait staff will improve to match the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Still the best steakhouse in the city. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Still the best steakhouse in the city. Always consistent, rarely misses the the mark. Great appetizers and sides as well. Also quiet enough to carry on a conversation which cannot be said for most other steakhouses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Angus club

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was okay, nothing outstanding. Service was very professional and impressive. Dining was very nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Old world and old style steakhouse!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Traditional steakhouse menu. Service is excellent without feeling intrusive. Everyone makes you feel so welcome. The steaks are some of the best in the City. Try the salad with the shrimp, bacon and fresh peas!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Fantastic service with top of the line f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Fantastic service with top of the line food. Possibly the best steakhouse I've ever been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service very pleased ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent food and service very pleased would definitely go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Petite filet was excellent as usually. My friend had the steak sandwich and he loved it. Never had the fries there and it was great too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXQUISITE!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

From the moment of arrival to departure the service was excellent: attentive, cordial, and professional. The venue Finely decorated; the food and wine Outstanding and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse Ive ever been to. Top no ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Best steakhouse Ive ever been to. Top notch service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date night wth my Poo

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We love Angus. Very pricey. We ordered the twin lobsters and the sea bass. Both entrees are absolutely delicious. Drinks are a bit on the pricey side as well. Cooked vey well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great steak

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

i've tried lots of steakhouse in NY but this place is the best. totaly worth what you paid...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Angus Steakhouse

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was great and flavorful and the service was right on the money. I would return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find for lunch.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

I found this restaurant on Open Table and chose it for location. I was very happy to have found it as the food was great and the service was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was impeccable. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just good but not great. Good p ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was just good but not great. Good place for a business lunch because it's quiet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Never disappoints!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

This place hits the mark every time. The food and service are outstanding. I'm just surprised it's not more crowded but I think hidden off the main street keeps it a neighborhood secret gem. I've also booked a private business event for our Partner group (50+) and was impressed with the price and the feedback I received from the group

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine Day Couples.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We get together with a bunch of couples every year & choose a steakhouse. Last year we used Angus and was so impressed, we came back again for this Valentine's Day. The food and service is excellent. In fact both times they gave us a private room at no extra charge. The place is eye appealind and definitely a great impression for a date night. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

went here with my wife AWESOME experience , we had the steak awesome taste , great flavors and quaity, already recommended to friends !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great. I had the filet mignon, it was huge and cooked just the way I like it. I was on a first date. The waiter was chatting up my date and when we needed another cocktail he was nowhere to be found.

The price was high but comparable to any steak house of that quality food. The ambiance was that of a lower grade restaurant. To many tables in the dinning room. Very little room for diners and staff to walk around without you feeling like you're in the way.

Did not have a private club feeling. Definitely would not repeat .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing steak and wine in a beautiful restaurant!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I came to Angus a couple of nights ago with 2 friends. The restaurant itself is beautiful! I was first to arrive so I grabbed a glass of the house Cabernet Sauv at the bar downstairs. Their wine list has a nice variety of reds (didn't pay much attention to the whites) that pair well with their food. From light to full bodied, you should be able to easily find something that you, your partner, and your friends will enjoy. The bartender was very helpful as she described the wines and poured a couple tastes for me before I made my choice. I saw several private rooms with large parties dining; they looked very nice and comfortable. My friends and I were seated in the main dining area; other diners ranged from couples, to business meetings (or so it looked like it), to families. The lighting is great, dim but not like those restaurants where you need to pull out a flashlight just to read a menu. We started with salads- big and super fresh! We shared the filet mignon and sirloin and they were both cooked to perfection, juicy, so tender, and served to us from a sizzling hot plate by the servers. This was the best steak I've ever been served in the city. We also got the truffle mac and cheese and sauteed broccoli, both very flavorful (definitely go with sauteed over steamed!). The servers was attentive, not overbearing. Overall, we had a great experience and can't wait to go back again for the steak and wine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and exceptional service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

My experience at Angus Club Steakhouse was one of a kind. The food was magnificent - from the garden salad to the mac&cheese to the filet mignon. Everything was very nicely crafted and displayed. We couldn't ask for better service either. Our water and wine glasses were always full and the food placed on our plates with ease and delicacy. We loved the experience! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice steak dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.