About Andrew's 228

228 South Adams St.
Tallahassee, FL 32301
View Larger Map

For more than 30 years, Andrew's has been a part of Downtown Tallahassee. Located next door to The Capitol and City Hall, Andrew's is the perfect spot for downtown dining. If you're looking for award winning Italian cuisine with great steaks, fresh seafood and a big city feel, Andrew's 228 is the place for you.Andrew's 228

SUMMER SPECIAL, 4 Course Dinner for Two for only $49.99!

The menu and daily specials are complimented by a full bar, desserts and coffees, and a comprehensive and comprehensible wine list.

228's delicious starters included Butternut Squash Ravioli, Lobster/Shrimp 'Cargot' and Tempura Fried Oysters.

Follow up 228's delicious appetizers with the Tuscan Chicken, Grouper Picatta, or Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Jefferson

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 222-3444

Website:
http://andrewsdowntown.com/

Catering:
Host your next private party, business meeting, banquet and/or rehearsal dinner in one of 228's private rooms. 228 can accommodate parties from two to 50.

We invite you to visit us at 228; reservations are encouraged for small and required for large parties

Parking Details:
A lot of on street parking and Kleman Plaza Garage, with 1300 parking spaces, only one block away. Starting at 5:00PM Monday through Saturday we have complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Glen Mayer

Private Party Facilities:
Host your next private party, business meeting, banquet and/or rehearsal dinner in one of 228's private rooms. 228 can accommodate parties from two to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Brandi Phillips: 850-222-0153x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Snapper
  • Fork And Knife Burger
  • Creme Brulee
  • Beef Tips With Penne Pasta In A Vodka Sauce
  • Clam & Mussel Arraboata
Snapper
Fork And Knife Burger
Creme Brulee
Beef Tips With Penne Pasta In A Vodka Sauce
Clam & Mussel Arraboata

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Andrew's 228 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (5)
special occasion (5)
romantic (5)
See All
good for groups (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

You can count on a delicious meal at Andrews 228!

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Always a treat to eat at Andrews 228! Interesting menu with a nice variety of choices using local ingredients, beautifully presented!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A birthday dinner to remember

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I really enjoyed my meal. We were celebrating a birthday. Perfect romantic andsweet place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All around great experience

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Four of us had a great experience at 228 on a Saturday night at 6. Everything was fresh, well-prepared, and as visually attractive as it was delicious. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Laura1

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had my son's rehearsal dinner here several years ago and it has remained one of our favorite dinner venues. The dining area is small and intimate. Noise level is conducive to actually carrying on conversation with your partner.

Food and service are always good.

We do miss seeing the eggplant rollotini on the menu. And the penne ala vodka.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Highly recommend

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I are not into the loud bar scene- this restaurant is located near FSU, but offers a nice, quiet, intimate atmosphere. Really good food, affordable prices, nice wine list, something for everyone. Our only complaint was that our food was being brought out too fast (our salad arrived while we had just started on our appetizer), but when I requested slower service, our waiter took care of it. We really enjoyed our meal and would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

more a special occasion or night out restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This is the second time i've eaten here, the food is very good but the portions are average in size. The ingredients are good and visual display is pleasing. The service is good but sparse and best suited to a leisurely dinner. I think the restaurant tries to be more than it is but i would eat here again but not on a regular basis. The prices are ok for the quality of food but not a great value for money. Its a good 7 out of 10 for me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

February 14th

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Romantic in every possible way. Great staff. Great food. Great music. Set my reservation in advance for February 14th and I wasn't disappointed. Table is ready at the time requested.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall nice meal. Customer service was ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Overall nice meal. Customer service was excellent! Greeting could you some enthusiasm, but we didn't have to wait. Meal was a little pricey, but it was a designed 4 course meal. Braised short rib was phenomenal. Desert was lacking something, as two of the three options were edible. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that wants a warm, romantic environment for there loved one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I spent 240$ on dinner for two and have ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I spent 240$ on dinner for two and have never been more rushed. The waiter hovered over us when we were clearly talking intimately so he could pressure us to order quickly. I understand the need to flip tables on a busy night but when you're a paying customer and it's a special occasion no one should be treated like that.

Also, the food was mediocre at best and extremely expensive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Lovely Dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We were visiting relatives and wanted to repay their hospitality; Andrew's 228 fit the bill perfectly. We all had great meals and enjoyed great company.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice little spot, low key

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We enjoyed our meals at this restaurant. The homemade butters served with bread were a special treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice ambiance

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Went here for the first time with another couple for a nice night out. It's a small restaurant only open for dinner below Andrew's Grill. When you enter the dining area you feel warm and welcome. It's cozy with eclectic yet upscale design and furnishings with jazz music playing. They have a fairly significant wine list and a good variety of food on the menu as well. Everyone's food was good and not terribly overpriced. It wasn't necessarily the best food I've ever eaten, but it's a cool place to check out if looking for a local restaurant with a little more character. We had the short ribs, dijon brie chicken, paella, and filet, all of which were good.

Tags: romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

my review

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

I will start off by saying the food was great however the service was terrible. Not sure if it was because we were not dressed up but they treated us like we had a disease. The waitress did not say a word to us just poured our water. I actually watched a group of waitess and the manager talking for about 20 minutes and pointing fingers at us. The staff was so unfriendly that it made us very uncomfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

Not the same second time around

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Two friends I was hosting chose the first night of legislative session, thus it was a crowded, raucous night. My actual disappointment however was that the chef couldn't handle cooking properly with the crowd. I ordered same wonderful three nights earlier grouper dinner. Was terribly overcooked vegetables and fish. Service with same waitress was about the same - not particularly attentive but calm and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Inattentative service

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on November 17, 2015

Visit started well. Handled drink orders very nicely. Meals were ordered and one guest made a request to modify presentation. Specifically very light sauce on the pasta. The meal that was served was swimming in sauce. When the stealth server finally returned he inquired whether the guest wanted the meal wrapped. Made no query as to why only the chicken was eaten. An uneaten plate full of pasta, swimming in sauce raised no red flags. The guest was too polite to make an issue out of this with friends from Texas as the guests. She did comment after leaving that she never wished to return and I am certain she shared her observations with all three bridge clubs this week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The hostess was ok. She seemed confused. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The hostess was ok. She seemed confused. Our server didn't know the wine list and had to send someone else over she wasn't that sure of the menu and had to go ask a few things before we placed the order. The food was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food connoisseur

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

I was looking for a local restaurant with good atmosphere & great food. Andrews 228 did not disappoint. Our waitress was welcoming & knowledgeable about their new wines & specials. We were able to talk & enjoy our meal. I will certainly return again & I will recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Tallahassee's best

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Great place for a special occasion, a romantic dinner, or to impress a new client. Excellent wine and craft beer list. The atmosphere was cozy and pleasant, and the service was very good. We had an issue with one of our appetizers and it was handled immediately. We had several appetizers, salads, and desert, and everything was excellent, fresh, and tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Special occasion fine dining in unique setting!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

We went for a family dinner during FSU parents weekend and it was perfect. We were celebrating my birthday and it was close enough to campus for a short drive yet far enough to get away from all the campus noise and activities to enjoy a special evening with our family. The food was delicious and all our dishes had amazing flavors. The desserts were a delight and everything was presented beautifully. Andrews 228 was a treasure because the ambiance was warm and inviting. It was a unique experience to be downstairs in a serene setting away from the hustle and bustle on the street. We would definitely go back again for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Gem downtown Tallahassee.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The food was great. The service equally great. It was parents weekend at FSU and it fit the bill for an excellent dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the nicer options in Tallahassee

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Andrews 228 is the nicer restaurant that is downstairs from Andrew's Grill. We went during FSU Parents Weekend so you had to have a reservation if you planned on getting in. We were seated as soon as we arrived and received good service while we were there. The atmosphere was nicer than most restaurants in Tallahassee. The food was just okay. Most of us had the grouper which did not come out as hot as I would have liked. It was not a wow dish but I am definitely a food snob. Other people I spoke with who ate there said they loved the Dijon Chicken which I almost ordered and should have. They also loved the Rib Eye Steak.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Gem in Tally!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

What a find! We were in Tally to visit our son and wanted to treat him to a special meal ... Andrew 228 was an experience he will always remember! We will definitely be back!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great place

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food and service and atmosphere were all great. Excellent menu with lots of choices and all prepared in wonderful manner. Would go back for special occasions or just a great meal at a fair price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Southern Food with Savior Faire!

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

This is a Tallahassee gem. The valet parking saved us since our evening date coincided with a 'Downtown Get Down".

The Snapper was wonderful and the flavors complex. The Shrimp and Grits were absolutely a delight to the taste buds!

Using Open Table to make my booking helped me make them aware of our time constraints for our meal (we had a concert to attend!).

I recommend Andrews 228 to anyone wanted comfort food with class!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, always a staple in Tallahassee.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

My only gripe was that the hostess didn't tell us our table was ready over an hour after we checked in with a reservation. Got a drink at the bar and then went downstairs for our meal though, and every bite was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent service and food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overcooked my Grouper, then served me Snapper

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2015

Way over-salted and overcooked my grouper - as a matter of fact, everything was way too salted.

When I got the re-cook, it was actually Snapper Filet - guess they didn't think I would know. Two very different textures - at my second piece of fish, but because it appears they reheated the original sides, they were still salty, dead and not good at all...

Sorry to be so harsh, but man, it's restaurant 101 stuff...the entire party's dishes were equal failure as well.

Nothing tasted fresh - maybe that's why it was over-salted to much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

We were celebrating our 17th anniversary ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

We were celebrating our 17th anniversary so wanted a "foodie" experience. Andrew's did not disappoint, especially considering they have revamped the menu.

We started with martinis and I must say the drinks at Andrew's are always spectacular. You definitely get a good drink at a very good price.

For the appetizer, or small plate, we chose the tuna tartare dish. It was amazing, albeit small. The two of us shared but if you have a hearty appetite I would suggest each person have their own.

The bread selection was very good with two house-made compound butters. One was infused with truffle oil and the other citrus I believe. Amazing. Especially amazing were the small biscuits. I had to stop myself from eating all of them! Thankfully, Olga, our server, whisked them away in the nick of time!

Speaking of Olga, she was quite friendly and very responsive through the entire service, offering food and wine recommendations. I was torn between the shrimp and grits and the chicken fried pork chops. Olga recommended the pork--I was extremely happy that I followed her advice! First off, the portions were huge. Enough for two people to split. Second, the presentation and flavors were out of this world. Highly recommend this dish! My husband had the quinoa paella. A very unique and flavorful take on the Spanish classic.

We had a great moderately priced pinot noir from the Willamette Valley which was an excellent pairing with our entree selections.

We skipped dessert as we were both stuffed from dinner (and took leftovers home too!).

Overall, I would give 5 stars across the board. Great job on the new menu! I can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very dusty. Wife had an asthma attack d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

Very dusty. Wife had an asthma attack due to stale air

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

The pasta i ordered was very unique. It ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

The pasta i ordered was very unique. It was seafood and pork.. I opt out of the pork because I'm a vegetarian bit the flavor was perfect at a great price. The wine went very well with the dish and yhe atmosphere was quite and beautiful. We really had a great first date thank you Andrew's 228.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food not good and takes too long

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

This is the second time we've eaten here. The fist time we were with a big group for New Year's Eve. We were very excited we for reservations for our large party downtown that night. The service was good, as it was with our second experience, however, both times we are here the food was not good. Apparently they have a hard time cooking steak. The first time we had a few people in our party have to send steaks back for being overdone and last night I ordered the Filet medium-rare and it came out medium-well. It was terrible. We had a wait a while to get our food so when the steak finally came out I didn't want to send it back because I was starving. I showed the waiter and he agreed it was completely overdone. But good thing I had a coupon for a BOGO, because we were only comped my martini and nothing else. We even ordered dessert, but they didn't offer to even comp that! We won't be back.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Delightfully Delicious, Excellent Service

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

I came to celebrate a birthday dinner with my mother and Andrew's 228 did not disappoint. Our entire experience was pleasant, and the staff was friendly. Our server, Wade, was excellent and very knowledgeable about the menu. We enjoyed everything we ordered from the NY strip to the dessert. We definitely will recommend Andrew's 228 and visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No longer worthwhile

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

We've had good dining experiences here in the past but sadly this establishment is no longer on our list. Service was spotty, despite what appeared to be very low demand. Our server was frequently missing in action and all other employees flitted through the dining room making every effort to avoid contact.

One of our entrees was improperly prepared and while we were assured that it would be replaced within "5-7 minutes" neither the entree nor our server appeared for 15 minutes. Our appetizer and salad were tasty but both entrees were mediocre at best. Dessert was a disappointment also. All in all run of the mill food with unwarranted pricing ......... skip it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Fine dining

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

This is one of the best fine dining restaurants I have had the pleasure to experience. I don't eat upscale dining often, but when I do I want to have a memorable experience. Andrews228 delivered. I will definitely go back and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey . food was not really "new" or local.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Decor and menu need updating . Cheese board was great but steak and shrimp seemed old school- like a fancy restaurant from the 80s. The cooking talent and skills are there but Need more creativity and freshness.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food, great service! I don't like ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Great food, great service! I don't like loud piped in music, but everything else was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Andrews 228 TLH

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

Excellent food and service. Very good portions of food - plenty to eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was Bland.

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 29, 2015

I was expecting to be WOWed by my experience at Andrews 228, but instead it left me a little flat. The food was good - but that is all - just good. The steak was cooked as I requested and was very tender, but had no flavor. The mashed potatoes were also very bland, the Caesar salad was just a plate of lettuce. Others in my party complained about the same thing. For the price I was expecting more, and they did not deliver. The service was good, the wait staff was very professional and nice. I just wanted more from the food. I also noticed that my water glass felt gritty on the outside like it hadn't been rinsed thoroughly, and there was something on my bread plate as well. I don't have any desire to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Lovely Meal

vip
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

My husband and I went to 228 for date night and had a great experience. The food was amazing (the filet was cooked perfectly - rare - and the red snapper was fantastic) and there is a very nice wine list. Our server was gracious and knowledgeable about both the food and wine menu. Overall we had a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Romantic

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 19, 2015

This is an amazing restaurant. The lighting, music and wine made it an extra special evening.

Our waitress was amazing as well. She engaged with us and made our evening more special.

We will definitely be doing this again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.