Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar

Andre's Bouchee Bistro and Wine Bar proudly shares a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Executive Chef Benoit Petel prepares authentic French Bistro cuisine with a Californian Coastal flair. Our friendly atmosphere buzzes with excitement and energy that makes you feel you're dining in one of the small neighborhoods inside Paris. Andre’s Bouchée and Wine Bar also features wine by the glass and a full wine list.

Mission Street
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Friday - Sunday 12:00 - 2:30pm
Wine bar opens at 4:30 pm daily til 9:30pm.


Dinner is served seven nights weekly from 5:30pm-9:30pm . Andre's Bouchee Wine Merchant open during hours of operation

Cross Street:
Ocean Ave. and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 626-7880

Website:
http://www.andresbouchee.com/

Parking Details:
Available parking on Mission Street

Executive Chef:
Benoit Petel.

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant can accommodate large parties up to 60 people, with a set menu.
Semi- private wine cellar with a capacity of fourteen.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Lemaire: (831) 626-7880

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar also has special winemaker dinners featuring some of the top producers in the world. Please contact the restaurant for dates and details of upcoming events.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Andre's Bouchee will be serving an Easter Menu on Sunday, April 16th. The price is $45 for adults and $25.00 for children. The hours 4:00pm - 8:30pm.

Please note: There will be a prix fixe menu for Easter.

Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. Always a must when we come to Carmel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The mushroom soup and the French onion soup were outstanding, and the bread ( from Lafayette Bakery) was superb, served warm and with warm butter. The filet of sole was so moist and tender that we thought it been a sous vide preparation. The pot de creme was excellent, but the tart tatin was really poorly done with virtually uncooked apples and unbaked dough for a "crust." I allowed them this one poor performance because the rest of the food and the service were so really good. I will return, but no forgiveness next time should I receive such an egregiously bad dessert, and they are not moderately priced. The wine list is excellent and actually not overpriced, but seriously lacking in German rieslings. We very much enjoyed actually being able to talk in normal tones and hear each other well enough to have a real conversation which really contributed to the enjoyment of a great -albeit slightly flawed-meal, something one experiences all too rarely when dining out nowadays. And I must compliment them again on the outstanding, friendly, and helpful service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We enjoyed our experience. Great food, service, and ambiance. We'll come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

had a 7:00 resi on a Friday night, asked for a certain sparkling wine on menu , they did not have, asked for an abalone appy on menu, they did not have, green salad was poor, dressing overly sour , had mussels they were good, had combo scallops and veal entrée both undercooked and veal tough, duck confit was good, cheese platter for dessert not nearly the nice presentation provided on an previous visit, cheeses was presented like an appetizer with a lot of bread not what you'd expect for dessert with some fruit or honey or jellies to ad flavor .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful French fare at Carmel reasonable prices. Excellent wine list and a staff this is knowledgeable and helpful in assisting in making a good selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful experience! Out of the 5 dinners we had during our stay in Carmel this was definitely the best food. Excellent service and wine list. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing food. Probably the best Cod I have ever had (of at least a 1000 cods). I feel like going back just to discover the other items on the menu.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Abalone appetizer was not seasoned and tough. Service was attentive and friendly. Wine offerings were extensive but vast majority were overpriced with no value for the money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a very nice meal here last Friday night. The head chef wasn't there that evening but our meals were still all delicious. My friend especially enjoyed the sweetbreads, the duck with lentils & bacon was delightful, and the crab that came with the steak was also noteworthy. We left satisfied and happy.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Andres' is very dependable for French food with a modern flair. Excellent food, service and wine list. Not too formal or pretentious. But still white tablecloths and attention to detail both in the food and service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome wine list and the sommelier was on point. Walked by this place 1,000 times. Will go back all the time now.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The restaurant's Chef Benoit Petel is highly touted in the Monterey-Carmel CA food magazines but he was no where to be found on the night we dined. Instead, two young kids served up our meals with food that was tasteless, under-cooked or over-cooked, cold and greasy. A few hours later, I became very ill and had to expel the meal from my system. An absolutely dreadful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. My boyfriend and I celebrated Valentine's Day and our anniversary all in one night and chose to return to a tried a true favorite Andre Bouchee Bistro. I was happy to see the friendly faces of the wonderful staff who always remember you. The wine list is extensive with a sommelier who knows his stuff. The food is portioned perfectly and the flavor is on point.
Looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day, 4-course set menu with just 2 options - should be easy to get the food out right? Wrong. Took almost two hours. We went through 4 servings of bread during our extended wait, which was ok since the portions were minuscule. Service was very uneven, and price was insultingly pretentious for what was received. Lighting was insanely loud for Valentine's Day - patisserie across the street is much better value, food, and ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lovely, Lovely. We made reservations when we knew we'd be in Carmel, and a few days before the date, the restaurant called to be sure we knew that since it was Valentine's Day, there was a Prix Fixe menu and cost (we didn't know, and appreciated the heads up).

Checking the menu I noticed some foods I can't eat and emailed. Not a problem, they had it handled.

From the moment we walked in, everything was terrific. The staff was knowledgeable. They worked so well together as a team that service was seamless. Very good wine list. It was a 5-course menu, which normally would be too much for me. However, the flavors and portions were so clearly thought-through (and so well paced) that it was a pleasure. My date particularly loved the abalone/gnocchi, but everything was delicious (including particularly good coffee).

The menu included amuse bouche (oyster for him/cheese for me), appetizer (abalone for him/risotto for me), salad (dressed elegantly), duck for him/salmon for me, dessert (chocolate tart for him, homemade ice cream for me)

I'd recommend the restaurant without hesitation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing tastes, original recipes, great service. It's a bit on the pricey side but I think it's well worth it for the unique menu and high quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food. Great wine list. Excellent service and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The Mexican server rushed us through everything and did not go well with French food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food and service were excellent, but the prices are a bit over the top. It is Carmel after all, but I would look at other places also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent!! Creative dishes which not only looked good but were good. Salads were perfectly dressed. Entrees were delicious. We have been here eachTime when passing through Carmel and have never been disappointed.

Wait staff is very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very overpriced restaurant , we went there year ago and really lived it . This place got in terms of value and presentation of the dishes . I would stick with appetizers ( we got escargot and muscles and it was good ).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

All the good stuff like veal chop, bone in ribeye steak snail with puff pastry was no longer available.
I order duck dishes, it cooks with grease Mexican bean . It not so traditional French cuisine you are still paying over price food filled with cheaper Mexican ingredion, which are not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a wonderful evening, we felt like we had a personal chef cooking for us. The service was friendly while also respecting our time. Everything we ordered was outstanding/over the top.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went there on the evening of Martin Luther King holiday. The restaurant was not packed but they did not expect the "crowd" they had because there were only two wait staff serving about 5 tables and only 1 cook. Yet, they all performed superbly. Service was prompt, efficient and friendly. The cook that flew solo that night deserved some high praise. The steak and seared foie gras I ordered were done perfectly. My friend's abalone was excellent as well. We live in the Bay Area where there are plenty of great restaurants so I don't give high praises liberally. We spend two weeks in Monterey/Carmel every three months or so. Looking forward to coming back to Andre the next time we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food was very good. Local, very tasty and just the right amount. I did think it was a little on the pricey side. Our waiter was perfect....just attentive enough.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were really disappointed in Andre's Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar. When they came to take our order, we tried to just order appetizers while we further perused the menu and settled in with a glass of wine and the waitress told us that we had to put our entire order in at once. So we rushed to make our decision and order. Then the appetizers, soups and salads all arrived at once. You would have thought they were trying to rush us out so that they could turn the table but the restaurant only had a handful of people in it. One of my dining companions told the waitress that she needed to slow things down as we were afraid our entrees were going to show up minutes later. I guess the waitress took that to heart as after we finished the appetizers/salad/soup our dirty plates sat on the table for 10-15 minutes before I just started stacking them to get them out of the way and the waitress finally came back to clear them. The food was ok overall. We had the sweetbreads and they hadn't been cleaned very well. It was the rushed approach to the food and the poor service that really killed the experience for all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service from server and the busser was anazing. Our cheve salad was fantastic, as was the bread was wonderful. My medium rare filet was crossing to near well done ( only a sliver of pink, which made the steak dry and gummy, but the sauces helped cover the dryness. Tartlette was ok, and coffee perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What can I say...on a scale of 10 (being the highest) my experience was a 20!!! Every course was perfect including the wine. Elizabeth, the owner, is so charming. We LOVED it!!! It is a MUST!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Best place in Carmel! Love the mushroom soup!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a fabulous time! Pairing the wine with the menu was a great choice! Staff was very accommodating and patient.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place for special occasion.. Our New Year's Eve Dinner was amazing...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our first dining experience at Andre's Bouchee, but we will definitely return! It was our 46th anniversary, and this was a wonderful choice! Loved everything about the place, and our food selections were great! We shared the foie gras terrine, which was wonderful rich and needed to be shared! and shared a salad also - super fresh with a great vinaigrette! I loved the duck confit with lentils, and hubby had the abalone, which he thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Table was not ready at reservation the me, had to wait about 30 minutes. Food was not hot when served. Had to be sent back to be re-heated. Noise level was vey loud. Crowded, tables very close to each other. Food was just okay, nothing special. All in all not a good value, will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very nice French restaurant in the heart of Carmel by the Sea. An excellent assortment of classic dishes and superb wines. Be sure and get the mushroom soup.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We arrived and waited for our table but that was not the issue. Our waitress was lacking any knowledge of the menu or guidance until she told someone at the table that the Waygu steak was wonderful. It was inedible. The carpaccio was salty and you could not taste anything else. My veal and scallops were small in portion but most importantly lacking any taste. I selected this restaurant because I wanted foie gras. It was good but not outstanding which I expected. This was a very special evening for my family and everyone was disappointed at a high price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Such a pleasant dinner on Christmas Eve!! Jacque was such a great help in choosing wines. My mussels were meaty and juicy, the pommel frites were fresh and crispy and the filet was good. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Birthday lunch lunch with Foie Gras and Escargot was great but the mushroom soup was the best soup I have ever had in my life.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A warm, authentic French Bistro in the heart of Carmel with terrific food
and an excellent sommelier (Jacques). It's a real treat to spend the evening at
Bouchée.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Best meal and service we've enjoyed in Carmel! From the abalone/mushroom appetizer and mushroom soup w truffle oil, to our entrees of branzino and Dover sole, and the finishing touch of a freshly baked tart tatin, all the dishes were perfectly prepared and delicious. Our server was friendly, helpful and gracious. We've been visiting Carmel for years, but Andre's Bouchee is one place we'll visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great service. Wonderful Soups and Salads. Ok main plates. A bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.