Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar

Andre's Bouchee Bistro and Wine Bar proudly shares a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Executive Chef Benoit Petel prepares authentic French Bistro cuisine with a Californian Coastal flair. Our friendly atmosphere buzzes with excitement and energy that makes you feel you're dining in one of the small neighborhoods inside Paris. Andre’s Bouchée and Wine Bar also features wine by the glass and a full wine list.

Mission Street
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Friday - Sunday 12:00 - 2:30pm
Wine bar opens at 4:30 pm daily til 9:30pm.


Dinner is served seven nights weekly from 5:30pm-9:30pm . Andre's Bouchee Wine Merchant open during hours of operation

Cross Street:
Ocean Ave. and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 626-7880

Website:
http://www.andresbouchee.com/

Parking Details:
Available parking on Mission Street

Executive Chef:
Benoit Petel.

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant can accommodate large parties up to 60 people, with a set menu.
Semi- private wine cellar with a capacity of fourteen.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Lemaire: (831) 626-7880

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar also has special winemaker dinners featuring some of the top producers in the world. Please contact the restaurant for dates and details of upcoming events.

Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1096 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic everything! Service was impeccable, food was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wine prices are very high with little room to bail out-only a few wines under$100.
The food was excellent, although my wife thought the duck legs were salty.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful place for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been at this restaurant 4 times before and this restaurant has never disappointed me. It's literally the BEST culinary experiences I've had in years!! Everything is fabulous. From the appetizers, soups, entrees and desserts, you cannot go wrong. ❤❤❤❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Amazing in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our appetizers and entrees were prepared to perfection. What soared them to amazing heights was the chefs ability to combine his ingredients to amazing texture and taste. Thank you for an awesome evening.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better!
Try the bone marrow................decadent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Convenient location, great food, good service, nice interior! It will be perfect if everybody keep their voice down!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Andre's Bouchee has quickly become one of our favorite spots in Carmel. The chef is so creative, the food is so tasty, and the presentations are always gorgeous. Everyone on staff is top notch; knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and also casual.

If you want classic French dishes, you'll find those here, but the real hidden gem about Andre's Bouchee is their Monday Night Supper Club. The supper club really shows off the creativity of the chef; he starts with a theme, which can be anything from pig or calf to abalone or artichoke. With that theme he creates a four-course prix fixe meal, from amuse bouche to dessert, with every dish containing the theme ingredient.

My wife and I have tried the supper club several times over the last year and we have never been disappointed, so I highly recommend it. It doesn't happen every Monday...maybe once or twice a month depending on the time of year so sign up for their email list so you'll get advance notice.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

wine prices are completely ridiculous, which is detrimental to the whole experience.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Attentive service. Delicious table side English Channel Dover sole. Highly recommend! Wonderful wine pairing (Chateau Nuef de Paux white 2012). Bread and butter (bread is chewy in the middle with perfect crispness for crust) absolutely divine. It's the "small things."

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Very pleasant experience in a nicely appointed, quiet setting. Owned and run by the Chef and his Wife. Excellent wine list and country French cooking!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a delightful meal for six, plus (sleeping) baby. We all enjoyed the food and great wine selection. The service was impeccable. We would absolutely recommend to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Always a must when we come to Carmel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The mushroom soup and the French onion soup were outstanding, and the bread ( from Lafayette Bakery) was superb, served warm and with warm butter. The filet of sole was so moist and tender that we thought it been a sous vide preparation. The pot de creme was excellent, but the tart tatin was really poorly done with virtually uncooked apples and unbaked dough for a "crust." I allowed them this one poor performance because the rest of the food and the service were so really good. I will return, but no forgiveness next time should I receive such an egregiously bad dessert, and they are not moderately priced. The wine list is excellent and actually not overpriced, but seriously lacking in German rieslings. We very much enjoyed actually being able to talk in normal tones and hear each other well enough to have a real conversation which really contributed to the enjoyment of a great -albeit slightly flawed-meal, something one experiences all too rarely when dining out nowadays. And I must compliment them again on the outstanding, friendly, and helpful service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We enjoyed our experience. Great food, service, and ambiance. We'll come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

had a 7:00 resi on a Friday night, asked for a certain sparkling wine on menu , they did not have, asked for an abalone appy on menu, they did not have, green salad was poor, dressing overly sour , had mussels they were good, had combo scallops and veal entrée both undercooked and veal tough, duck confit was good, cheese platter for dessert not nearly the nice presentation provided on an previous visit, cheeses was presented like an appetizer with a lot of bread not what you'd expect for dessert with some fruit or honey or jellies to ad flavor .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful French fare at Carmel reasonable prices. Excellent wine list and a staff this is knowledgeable and helpful in assisting in making a good selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful experience! Out of the 5 dinners we had during our stay in Carmel this was definitely the best food. Excellent service and wine list. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing food. Probably the best Cod I have ever had (of at least a 1000 cods). I feel like going back just to discover the other items on the menu.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Abalone appetizer was not seasoned and tough. Service was attentive and friendly. Wine offerings were extensive but vast majority were overpriced with no value for the money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a very nice meal here last Friday night. The head chef wasn't there that evening but our meals were still all delicious. My friend especially enjoyed the sweetbreads, the duck with lentils & bacon was delightful, and the crab that came with the steak was also noteworthy. We left satisfied and happy.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Andres' is very dependable for French food with a modern flair. Excellent food, service and wine list. Not too formal or pretentious. But still white tablecloths and attention to detail both in the food and service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome wine list and the sommelier was on point. Walked by this place 1,000 times. Will go back all the time now.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The restaurant's Chef Benoit Petel is highly touted in the Monterey-Carmel CA food magazines but he was no where to be found on the night we dined. Instead, two young kids served up our meals with food that was tasteless, under-cooked or over-cooked, cold and greasy. A few hours later, I became very ill and had to expel the meal from my system. An absolutely dreadful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. My boyfriend and I celebrated Valentine's Day and our anniversary all in one night and chose to return to a tried a true favorite Andre Bouchee Bistro. I was happy to see the friendly faces of the wonderful staff who always remember you. The wine list is extensive with a sommelier who knows his stuff. The food is portioned perfectly and the flavor is on point.
Looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day, 4-course set menu with just 2 options - should be easy to get the food out right? Wrong. Took almost two hours. We went through 4 servings of bread during our extended wait, which was ok since the portions were minuscule. Service was very uneven, and price was insultingly pretentious for what was received. Lighting was insanely loud for Valentine's Day - patisserie across the street is much better value, food, and ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lovely, Lovely. We made reservations when we knew we'd be in Carmel, and a few days before the date, the restaurant called to be sure we knew that since it was Valentine's Day, there was a Prix Fixe menu and cost (we didn't know, and appreciated the heads up).

Checking the menu I noticed some foods I can't eat and emailed. Not a problem, they had it handled.

From the moment we walked in, everything was terrific. The staff was knowledgeable. They worked so well together as a team that service was seamless. Very good wine list. It was a 5-course menu, which normally would be too much for me. However, the flavors and portions were so clearly thought-through (and so well paced) that it was a pleasure. My date particularly loved the abalone/gnocchi, but everything was delicious (including particularly good coffee).

The menu included amuse bouche (oyster for him/cheese for me), appetizer (abalone for him/risotto for me), salad (dressed elegantly), duck for him/salmon for me, dessert (chocolate tart for him, homemade ice cream for me)

I'd recommend the restaurant without hesitation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing tastes, original recipes, great service. It's a bit on the pricey side but I think it's well worth it for the unique menu and high quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food. Great wine list. Excellent service and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food and service were excellent, but the prices are a bit over the top. It is Carmel after all, but I would look at other places also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent!! Creative dishes which not only looked good but were good. Salads were perfectly dressed. Entrees were delicious. We have been here eachTime when passing through Carmel and have never been disappointed.

Wait staff is very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very overpriced restaurant , we went there year ago and really lived it . This place got in terms of value and presentation of the dishes . I would stick with appetizers ( we got escargot and muscles and it was good ).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

All the good stuff like veal chop, bone in ribeye steak snail with puff pastry was no longer available.
I order duck dishes, it cooks with grease Mexican bean . It not so traditional French cuisine you are still paying over price food filled with cheaper Mexican ingredion, which are not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a wonderful evening, we felt like we had a personal chef cooking for us. The service was friendly while also respecting our time. Everything we ordered was outstanding/over the top.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went there on the evening of Martin Luther King holiday. The restaurant was not packed but they did not expect the "crowd" they had because there were only two wait staff serving about 5 tables and only 1 cook. Yet, they all performed superbly. Service was prompt, efficient and friendly. The cook that flew solo that night deserved some high praise. The steak and seared foie gras I ordered were done perfectly. My friend's abalone was excellent as well. We live in the Bay Area where there are plenty of great restaurants so I don't give high praises liberally. We spend two weeks in Monterey/Carmel every three months or so. Looking forward to coming back to Andre the next time we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food was very good. Local, very tasty and just the right amount. I did think it was a little on the pricey side. Our waiter was perfect....just attentive enough.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were really disappointed in Andre's Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar. When they came to take our order, we tried to just order appetizers while we further perused the menu and settled in with a glass of wine and the waitress told us that we had to put our entire order in at once. So we rushed to make our decision and order. Then the appetizers, soups and salads all arrived at once. You would have thought they were trying to rush us out so that they could turn the table but the restaurant only had a handful of people in it. One of my dining companions told the waitress that she needed to slow things down as we were afraid our entrees were going to show up minutes later. I guess the waitress took that to heart as after we finished the appetizers/salad/soup our dirty plates sat on the table for 10-15 minutes before I just started stacking them to get them out of the way and the waitress finally came back to clear them. The food was ok overall. We had the sweetbreads and they hadn't been cleaned very well. It was the rushed approach to the food and the poor service that really killed the experience for all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.