About Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar

Mission Street
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Andre's Bouchee Bistro and Wine Bar proudly shares a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Executive Chef Benoit Petel prepares authentic French Bistro cuisine with a Californian Coastal flair. Our friendly atmosphere buzzes with excitement and energy that makes you feel you're dining in one of the small neighborhoods inside Paris. Andre’s Bouchée and Wine Bar also features wine by the glass and a full wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Friday - Sunday 12:00 - 2:30pm
Wine bar opens at 4:30 pm daily til 9:30pm.


Dinner is served seven nights weekly from 5:30pm-9:30pm . Andre's Bouchee Wine Merchant open during hours of operation

Cross Street:
Ocean Ave. and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 626-7880

Website:
http://www.andresbouchee.com/

Parking Details:
Available parking on Mission Street

Executive Chef:
Benoit Petel.

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant can accommodate large parties up to 60 people, with a set menu.
Semi- private wine cellar with a capacity of sixteen.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Lemaire: 8316267880x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar also has special winemaker dinners featuring some of the top producers in the world. Please contact the restaurant for dates and details of upcoming events.

Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Romantic
California Central Coast
5 More
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (29)
See All
Notable Wine List (29)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is one of my favorite restaurants and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It is one of my favorite restaurants and our go to for special occasions. The food and service are amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wouldn't recommend it. 15 min waiting ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I wouldn't recommend it. 15 min waiting for a table with an empty restaurant while being watched by the maitre. Decent food, but horrible wine by the glass recommended by the waitress. Down part from an amazing trio to Carmel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We like this place and have been many ti ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We like this place and have been many times. My dinner, Scallops and veal, was extraordinary. My wife had the mussels and onion soup was barely average. iPad wine list is very good, but a bit pricey.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our second time here and we were happy t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our second time here and we were happy to return. The food is creative, authentic, and delicious. Staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Absolutely love this place. The food is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely love this place. The food is always incredible and inventive. The staff is delightful. They always make us feel welcome and we making dining here an EVENT rather than just a meal. They know what wines to recommend within our budget and taste profiles. They can recommend appetizers and entrees to tempt everyone's taste buds. We always want to try one of everything and share as not wanting to miss out on any of their wonderful creations. We opt for each ordering something different and sharing. The service is typical French style with each course drawn out so you can savor each course and try multiple courses without being rushed and stuffed. The English Channel Dover Sole was incredible. The sweetbreads in foie gras sauce were also delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, food, wine. Does everythi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great service, food, wine.

Does everything well.

Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for a true French res ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If you are looking for a true French restaurant experience this is the place. Excellent wine list and menu. Service was attentive but not overbearing. It is hard for a restaurant to control but there were two tables of very loud parties in our section of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well executed French food. Simple menu w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Well executed French food. Simple menu with staples like foie gras. The service and food both excellent and the value is on point. We recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always one of the "go to" places in Carm ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always one of the "go to" places in Carmel when looking for duck, rabbit, veal or something else a little yummy but different. The main courses we had were pretty to look at, paired beautifully with sauces, and accessorized with savory and proper-sized sides.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was okay -- had the duck and steak ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was okay -- had the duck and steak filet -- nothing great, but it was mildly tasty. Portions really small, but that's okay though it took over 45minutes to get the main course. Very noisy. I didn't really have a waiter, but a great bus girl who kept water filled. Been here a few times and think I will take a break from making it my first destination to eat when I visit Carmel twice a year. LA restaurants must spoil me as the steak filet was like something from a mid level chain restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The menu had bad choices and half of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The menu had bad choices and half of them were unavailable. The food was average at best. The service was inattentive. Yuck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

A small very French menu. Really good fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A small very French menu. Really good food and ambience makes for a lovely dinning experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Good help w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Good help with wine by the glass pairing. New chef since last winter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highlights: + Food and presentation were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Highlights:

+ Food and presentation were solid executions of French classics

+ Delicious French wines by the glass

+ Friendly, competent service

Critiques:

- Open kitchen did not complement ambiance

- Everything a bit salty

- Creme of mushroom soup a bit too thick

- Service was a little inconsistent

- Bread was burnt black on the underside, yet still served

- Steak was undercooked in one small area, but otherwise delicious.

Overall, it was a very decent meal, and we left feeling very satisfied, but just not quite 5-stars all around.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Forgot that it was Bastille Day, but wha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Forgot that it was Bastille Day, but what a fortuitous day to come in!

Always enjoy this little gem, but it was even more delightful when decorated; despite the horrors of Nice, the crowd refused to be deterred from celebrating; the prix fixe menu was perfectly executed and good value w/the perfect wine pairings. Look forward to returning for some of our favorites on the complete menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My duck was excellent, but my wife's sal ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My duck was excellent, but my wife's salmon had an unpleasant olive based sauce. Dessert was good. They waive corkage if you buy one of their bottles as well, which is a great policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It is always a pleasure to introduce our ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It is always a pleasure to introduce our family and friends to Andre's. The menu keeps changing with new surprises but keeps the favorites, French Onion Soup and Filet Mignon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decidedly mediocre selection of food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Decidedly mediocre selection of food and decidedly mediocre preparation. Dramatically undercooked sea bass and bland oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant has changed since the dea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The restaurant has changed since the death of Andre. The staff, everyone working at the restaurant is as good as it gets, lovely, no complaints. Sunday evening dining in Carmel is not the same experience as a week night so perhaps that was part of the disappointment. It has a nice little bar and the atmosphere is inviting, stop in for a glass of wine or cocktail.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food here was phenomenal. The oyster ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food here was phenomenal. The oysters were fresh, the tartine had great flavours, and the steak was amazing. The tatin had just the right amount of sweetness and tartness. The sommelier was very helpful and while the "standard" wine option wasn't to our palate, he took the time to understand what we liked and suggested a great wine, instead of pushing what he thought was a good wine. Overall, one of the best meals in a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food choices were varied and cre ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food choices were varied and creative. The fois gras and seabass were especially good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well prepared gourmet French food. Nice ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Well prepared gourmet French food. Nice wine list for appropriate pairings with the food we ordered we enjoy. Ambiance and service were excellent. Location in Carmel, CA a few blocks away from a gorgeous beach walk is another plus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Special themed pairing dinners (usually ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Special themed pairing dinners (usually every other Monday) are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful setting, very kind and graciou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

beautiful setting, very kind and gracious staff, great wine list, tasty and wonderful food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant , pleasing service. Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Lovely restaurant , pleasing service. The Dover sole was the best.....perfectly cooked, then deboned by our waitress. I would recommend this restaurant and will return .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was superb. Can't wait to try t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was superb. Can't wait to try the Bone Marrow Appetizer again. The Entrecote was perfectly done, and such a good flavor. The wine list is very expensive, and the corkage for the special wine I brought was pretty steep, but besides that, loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so impressed!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything we had at Andre's was absolutely fantastic. Best ribeye steak either one of us have EVER had in our 80+ combined years. Every dish was unique and impeccably executed. Too bad we live on the east coast....this would be a regular for us if we lived in CA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad night, bad dinner.

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service was extremely slow. At one point the couple sitting next to us lost patience and asked the waiter what was taking so long! The restaurant was half full. We waited almost an hour for a first course of onion soup. Good, not great! Then about 30 minutes later our entrées arrived. My husband and I both ordered mussels. They arrived with a beautiful presentation of copper bowls. I counted eleven mussels in my bowl, my husband must have had at least double that number. I could not eat mine. The amount of fresh thyme in the bottom was so overwhelming. My husband had no thyme in his. We won't return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Delightful

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food, I like this place

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I like this place, its expensive but I like it and go there when in the area. Not as good as it was with the old chef last year but I will still go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A favorite in Carmel. Menu a nice change ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

A favorite in Carmel. Menu a nice change from the CA cuisine that pervades the central coast. Always great oysters and sweet breads if that is your thing. Wonderful wine list and a staff that can be very helpful in picking something off the beaten track.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The first time I went to a French restau ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The first time I went to a French restaurant. The food is great, and the wine they suggest is also wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as we had hoped for

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We we're looking for a great French restaurant and we found one. jaques was very helpful choosing our wine. The food and the service were top notch. The menu changes frequently so it insures fresh and seasonable dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a great little restaurant in Carmel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Such a great little restaurant in Carmel! You must try the mushroom soup, it's the best I've ever had!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

New imaginative chef plus the great Jacq ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

New imaginative chef plus the great Jacques Melac as sommelier plus a fantastic enthusiastic staff -- we had come here for many years, then slacked off for the sameness of the menu. Now we are back again with great enthusiasm in a restaurant that is both lovely and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French Onion Soup en par with Paris Bistros

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Had lunch at Andre's Bouchée , a classic French bistro with classic French cuisine. The Onion Soup Gratinee' was as good as that which we've enjoyed in Paris and Provence and I got the Moules Mariniere with frites with moules which were huge and Ina broth which was so good that I sopped up every drop with my buttered ( European butter, of course) baguette and even asked for more.

To top it off, as my husband and I were celebrating my birthday, we were treated to dessert with each of us getting a meringue and a cocoa coated truffle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What A Special Evening!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We had an incredible evening! A special menu and wine pairing tempted two of us and it was over the top. The Prince and the Pauper entree was spectacular = Lobster and Goat! I had Mushroom Soup with Truffle Oil and it was a hit with everyone. The Steak Tartare on an Oyster as an amuse bouche was excellent.

We loved everything and the creativity of the courses was so far above so many local restaurants to guarantee our return.

At the end of the evening we were unable to get an Uber or a Lyft to come for us and the restaurant called a driver they knew who brought us home for a very reasonable price! Such a sweet gesture.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative food dining experience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Friendly owners and excellent food experience that is creative and outside the box. However, the service can be slow and it can be a bit noisy if one is looking for a quiet evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Best French food in Carmel

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We go to Andre's every time we go to Carmel. We went for a late lunch. My wife had french onion soup and "the best Croque Madame anywhere." She is still talking about it. I had seared foie gras as my appetizer and an entree of saute scallops. Service was wonderful. The wine list is very extensive. You will not go wrong eating here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Surprise!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We noticed the menu selection had changed since our last visit five months ago. Our server confirmed the menu was created by a new Chef who started in January, 2016. The evening experience was filled with delicious surprises!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.