Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar

Andre's Bouchee Bistro and Wine Bar proudly shares a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Executive Chef Benoit Petel prepares authentic French Bistro cuisine with a Californian Coastal flair. Our friendly atmosphere buzzes with excitement and energy that makes you feel you're dining in one of the small neighborhoods inside Paris. Andre’s Bouchée and Wine Bar also features wine by the glass and a full wine list.

Mission Street
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Friday - Sunday 12:00 - 2:30pm
Wine bar opens at 4:30 pm daily til 9:30pm.


Dinner is served seven nights weekly from 5:30pm-9:30pm . Andre's Bouchee Wine Merchant open during hours of operation

Cross Street:
Ocean Ave. and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 626-7880

Website:
http://www.andresbouchee.com/

Parking Details:
Available parking on Mission Street

Executive Chef:
Benoit Petel.

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant can accommodate large parties up to 60 people, with a set menu.
Semi- private wine cellar with a capacity of fourteen.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Lemaire: (831) 626-7880

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar also has special winemaker dinners featuring some of the top producers in the world. Please contact the restaurant for dates and details of upcoming events.

Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice. I love French style dinners. Also the Chef was accommodating to my friends who has particular diet issues.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent all-around! Especially enjoyed the abalone, gnocchi, mushroom and seaweed appetizer--ormeaux--delicious and memorable! The servers were very personable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always a treat to dine here at Andre Bouchee... I LOVE Dover sole and it is hard to find on the west coast. they have finally put it on their menu, but sometimes have it even when it isn't on the menu. Service is great, and the food.... REALLY good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

My girlfriend and I came for dinner. We had a fabulous time! Our waiter, Rodrigo, was excellent and was fun to chat with. The food was really great. It was my first time trying escargot and raw oysters. Both were great! However, I think our eyes were bigger than our stomachs because we ordered 3 appetizers, shared a main dish, and shared the French onion soup - which was more than enough. However, I was glad I got the chance to taste a few different items because everything was delicious! The amstophere of the restaurant was very romantic and relaxing - including the bathrooms :)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was our first time dining here. Everything was excellent, from the wine, to the appetizers, to the main course. The abalone appetizer was incredible as was the escargot. Definitely would recommend Andres' to my friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Not nearly as good as in the past. The duck tasted like lentils not duck. The service was very competent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Wonderful service. Happy Hour was especially fun and very tasty. Wine selection excellent

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Delicious food, very nice server, good wine. Nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Don't waste your money. Food was below average and service was none.
Never going back. Steak was lacking sauce and it was gray except for grill marks.
Onion soup was good but the bread under the cheese wasn't even toasted.
The beef cheeks sauce was bland. What a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Cambridge)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Ambiente cálido. La atención excelente.
Lo recomiendo

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Special Bastille Day dinner, with wine pairing. Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a date night here and the food was wonderful, the service was perfect and the sommelier was a big help and very fun to talk with. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food was exceptional and shouldn't be missed. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This has been a favorite restaurant for us in the past here in Carmel. Our food was very good, but this year with the new owner my husband was very "put off" with the wine list. Considering we are in the heart of a great wine region the restaurant had practically no bottles under the $100-$200 price level. Really ridiculous. We were just out with our family for a fun evening and this made for a poor start to the meal. My husband said he would never go back. Too bad!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Good French food, my sweet breads were quite well done.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Good food. Wine list had only expensive options, which I appreciate (I love wine). However, there are nice wines out there costing less $500-1000 a bottle. There were literally 2 red bottles under $120 on the list ($89 and $69 which we ordered). The average price was $380 a bottle. I just think for such a "wine focused" restaurant they should offer wines ranging from all price points. Food was a solid but nothing special. Nice servers. Just extremely expensive for what it is (and I live in San Feancisco, I'm used to paying a lot).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good food, great service & atmosphere. Only suggestion is to not drown the Dover Sole in butter! (just put it on the side...the fish itself was perfect but unnecessairly smothered in butter). Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is a great place and needs to be considered a top option for those traveling to Carmel.
The veal/scallop dinner was wonderful, French onion soup to start was fantastic, and finishing with the beignets with chocolate and caramel sauces was wonderful as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

It was a special occasion. We hadn't been there in quite awhile. Everything had changed since the last time we'd been there. There were only two other tables with people at them so the restaurant seemed sort of cavernous. The menu had surprisingly few choices but the food we did order was good. The service was also good ( as it should have been given the few customers). The biggest drawback was the wine list. Almost no wines under $100 but many over $200 and way up. It was a special occasion so I was happy to spend more than usual for a good bottle of wine. The one that I selected (one 0f the less expensive ones) cost close to $200 and then turned out not to be available so I ended up spending even more for a bottle of wine that was OK but certainly not as good as other wines I've had that were much less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very personable staff from the sommelier to the server. Food is excellent, sort of traditional, with an upscale twist. Exceptional wine selection. A bit pricey, but cheaper than a flight to Paris

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Dropped in for some soup and salads. Great service, good bread, great salads, but the onion soup was too watery, lacked flavor and was a surprise miss for a French restaurant given it is a staple of the cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Three of us enjoyed the French Supper Club dinner which they have once a month. Food and service were wonderful. Jacques does a great job as sommelier.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent as always. Exquisite cuisine. Wonderful wine list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great rib eye! Good food overall! But a poor selection of desserts. Next time I would just go to the wine bar!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The best French dining experience for me in the previous few years, including several notable Michelin-stared restaurants in Napa, Tokyo and Kyoto. Very highly recommended.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My wife and I ate at Andre's this past holiday weekend. What is not to love. A Sommelier who has a great depth and breath of knowledge about an excellent wine list. Great great service from all the staff and of course- The reason you go there. The food. Try the bone marrow appetizer. Exquisite. We shared that and the Brie and you could actually have the Brie appetizer for dessert its so good. The moules are great ...not to be missed.
A great night out in Carmel and in the top 2-3 restaurants in the town for sure. Give it a try

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This is an excellent restaurant. Food prep was superb and the service was outstanding. That said, it was a Tuesday night so the place was almost empty when we arrived for our 7:00 reservation. We had to ask for a window seat despite the low number of patrons. Downside: although this restaurant is in Carmel, the cost of wines was awfully high on their extensive wine list, and we are used to Carmel prices. Portions on our meals were on the light side.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic everything! Service was impeccable, food was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wine prices are very high with little room to bail out-only a few wines under$100.
The food was excellent, although my wife thought the duck legs were salty.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and Wine are excellent! also service are no question for any one who really want that as top request. I love it.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful place for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I've been at this restaurant 4 times before and this restaurant has never disappointed me. It's literally the BEST culinary experiences I've had in years!! Everything is fabulous. From the appetizers, soups, entrees and desserts, you cannot go wrong. ❤❤❤❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Amazing in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our appetizers and entrees were prepared to perfection. What soared them to amazing heights was the chefs ability to combine his ingredients to amazing texture and taste. Thank you for an awesome evening.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better!
Try the bone marrow................decadent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Convenient location, great food, good service, nice interior! It will be perfect if everybody keep their voice down!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Andre's Bouchee has quickly become one of our favorite spots in Carmel. The chef is so creative, the food is so tasty, and the presentations are always gorgeous. Everyone on staff is top notch; knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and also casual.

If you want classic French dishes, you'll find those here, but the real hidden gem about Andre's Bouchee is their Monday Night Supper Club. The supper club really shows off the creativity of the chef; he starts with a theme, which can be anything from pig or calf to abalone or artichoke. With that theme he creates a four-course prix fixe meal, from amuse bouche to dessert, with every dish containing the theme ingredient.

My wife and I have tried the supper club several times over the last year and we have never been disappointed, so I highly recommend it. It doesn't happen every Monday...maybe once or twice a month depending on the time of year so sign up for their email list so you'll get advance notice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

wine prices are completely ridiculous, which is detrimental to the whole experience.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.