About Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar

Mission Street
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Andre's Bouchee Bistro and Wine Bar proudly shares a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Executive Chef Benoit Petel prepares authentic French Bistro cuisine with a Californian Coastal flair. Our friendly atmosphere buzzes with excitement and energy that makes you feel you're dining in one of the small neighborhoods inside Paris. Andre’s Bouchée and Wine Bar also features wine by the glass and a full wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Friday - Sunday 12:00 - 2:30pm
Wine bar opens at 4:30 pm daily til 9:30pm.


Dinner is served seven nights weekly from 5:30pm-9:30pm . Andre's Bouchee Wine Merchant open during hours of operation

Cross Street:
Ocean Ave. and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 626-7880

Website:
http://www.andresbouchee.com/

Parking Details:
Available parking on Mission Street

Executive Chef:
Benoit Petel.

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant can accommodate large parties up to 60 people, with a set menu.
Semi- private wine cellar with a capacity of fourteen.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Lemaire: (831) 626-7880

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar also has special winemaker dinners featuring some of the top producers in the world. Please contact the restaurant for dates and details of upcoming events.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Spend a romantic evening with somebody special! Price Fixed Menu for the evening. Please contact restaurant for details.

Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Authentic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good. Local, very tast ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good. Local, very tasty and just the right amount. I did think it was a little on the pricey side. Our waiter was perfect....just attentive enough.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were really disappointed in Andre's B ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined 6 days ago

We were really disappointed in Andre's Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar. When they came to take our order, we tried to just order appetizers while we further perused the menu and settled in with a glass of wine and the waitress told us that we had to put our entire order in at once. So we rushed to make our decision and order. Then the appetizers, soups and salads all arrived at once. You would have thought they were trying to rush us out so that they could turn the table but the restaurant only had a handful of people in it. One of my dining companions told the waitress that she needed to slow things down as we were afraid our entrees were going to show up minutes later. I guess the waitress took that to heart as after we finished the appetizers/salad/soup our dirty plates sat on the table for 10-15 minutes before I just started stacking them to get them out of the way and the waitress finally came back to clear them. The food was ok overall. We had the sweetbreads and they hadn't been cleaned very well. It was the rushed approach to the food and the poor service that really killed the experience for all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Service from server and the busser was a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Service from server and the busser was anazing. Our cheve salad was fantastic, as was the bread was wonderful. My medium rare filet was crossing to near well done ( only a sliver of pink, which made the steak dry and gummy, but the sauces helped cover the dryness. Tartlette was ok, and coffee perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What can I say...on a scale of 10 (being ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What can I say...on a scale of 10 (being the highest) my experience was a 20!!! Every course was perfect including the wine. Elizabeth, the owner, is so charming. We LOVED it!!! It is a MUST!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Carmel! Love the mushroom ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Best place in Carmel! Love the mushroom soup!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous time! Pairing the wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a fabulous time! Pairing the wine with the menu was a great choice! Staff was very accommodating and patient.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for special occasion.. Our N ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place for special occasion.. Our New Year's Eve Dinner was amazing...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first dining experience at Andre's B ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our first dining experience at Andre's Bouchee, but we will definitely return! It was our 46th anniversary, and this was a wonderful choice! Loved everything about the place, and our food selections were great! We shared the foie gras terrine, which was wonderful rich and needed to be shared! and shared a salad also - super fresh with a great vinaigrette! I loved the duck confit with lentils, and hubby had the abalone, which he thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Table was not ready at reservation the m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Table was not ready at reservation the me, had to wait about 30 minutes. Food was not hot when served. Had to be sent back to be re-heated. Noise level was vey loud. Crowded, tables very close to each other. Food was just okay, nothing special. All in all not a good value, will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very nice French restaurant in the heart ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very nice French restaurant in the heart of Carmel by the Sea. An excellent assortment of classic dishes and superb wines. Be sure and get the mushroom soup.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived and waited for our table but ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We arrived and waited for our table but that was not the issue. Our waitress was lacking any knowledge of the menu or guidance until she told someone at the table that the Waygu steak was wonderful. It was inedible. The carpaccio was salty and you could not taste anything else. My veal and scallops were small in portion but most importantly lacking any taste. I selected this restaurant because I wanted foie gras. It was good but not outstanding which I expected. This was a very special evening for my family and everyone was disappointed at a high price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Such a pleasant dinner on Christmas Eve! ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Such a pleasant dinner on Christmas Eve!! Jacque was such a great help in choosing wines. My mussels were meaty and juicy, the pommel frites were fresh and crispy and the filet was good. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Birthday lunch lunch with Foie Gras and ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Birthday lunch lunch with Foie Gras and Escargot was great but the mushroom soup was the best soup I have ever had in my life.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A warm, authentic French Bistro in the h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A warm, authentic French Bistro in the heart of Carmel with terrific food

and an excellent sommelier (Jacques). It's a real treat to spend the evening at

Bouchée.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Best meal and service we've enjoyed in C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Best meal and service we've enjoyed in Carmel! From the abalone/mushroom appetizer and mushroom soup w truffle oil, to our entrees of branzino and Dover sole, and the finishing touch of a freshly baked tart tatin, all the dishes were perfectly prepared and delicious. Our server was friendly, helpful and gracious. We've been visiting Carmel for years, but Andre's Bouchee is one place we'll visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Wonderful Soups and Salad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great service. Wonderful Soups and Salads. Ok main plates. A bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was ok. But for the price, I expected ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was ok. But for the price, I expected a lot better. The food was presented nicely, but it was way too salty. Ambiance is nice and homey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing dinner. Packed place on Thanksgi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing dinner. Packed place on Thanksgiving night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charming bistro with incredible food, wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Charming bistro with incredible food, wine and staff.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very thankful they were open Thanksgivin ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very thankful they were open Thanksgiving Day. The chef was very attentive to an allergy that was an ingredient in many items on the menu. We had a very pleasurable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. A real find.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and service. A real find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Skip this place -- had to leave after no ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Skip this place -- had to leave after not being served 20 mins after being seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not very crowded on a week night. Pleasa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Not very crowded on a week night. Pleasant service Quite French (e.g. Butter/cream). Great Onion soup. Also whole Dover Sole was very good

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food, service and ambiance were excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food, service and ambiance were excellent. Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent French cuisine in the middle o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent French cuisine in the middle of Carmel by the Sea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a very friendly and accommodatin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This is a very friendly and accommodating restaurant. Host was awesome, food was good and service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great meal with friendly and at ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a great meal with friendly and attentive service.Lauren was our server and Jacques was our sommelier.Our 6th experience and never disappointed.The mussels are a must.Country bread from Lafayette bakery is always appreciated.Looking forward to our next visit. Favorite Carmel restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good. Ambian ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and service were very good. Ambiance would have been better if lighting was not so bright.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful sweetbreads and an amazing win ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Wonderful sweetbreads and an amazing wine list. Service very professional; our favorite in Carmel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is outstanding. I took my best ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food is outstanding. I took my best friend for her first dinner in Carmel...it could not have been better. Great service...but, the food is what stood out...the mushroom soup and the veal with scallops were incredible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nos gustó que tuvieran horario para comi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Nos gustó que tuvieran horario para comida al medio día...por lo general los restaurantes en Carmel abren para cena ...

La comida deliciosa...muy buen vino, y la atención inmejorable...volveremos pronto ...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Family Style, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hard to beat this restaurant.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Hard to beat this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a superb wine pairing with a foi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Enjoyed a superb wine pairing with a foie gras Monday Supper Club menu. Highly recommend the splurge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French restaurant without a French chef. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

French restaurant without a French chef...and you could tell

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had an exceptional meal here with ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had an exceptional meal here with very authentic French offerings on the menu. Fantastic filet mignon with a delicately flavored sauce. The veal chop was supersized and perfectly cooked. The filet mignon, much smaller but apprpriate. You will not get mammoth portions here, but cuisine and flavors are superb.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was very good and friendly w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The service was very good and friendly without being too friendly. The food was wonderful, my mushroom soup and Mer & Terre entree were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The evening was a fantastic experience!! ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The evening was a fantastic experience!!!! The staff was highly professional and friendly.

We had a delightful table where we could entertain a very private conversation in a decor and ambiance that was so romantic with candlelight and a complimentary glass of champagne for the occasion.

The Abalone appetizer was extraordinary good, our Filet Mignon and Sweetbread was prepared perfectly to our taste Oh! so good and our bottle of french wine was very good and affordable.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters were amazing, but we were cravin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Oysters were amazing, but we were craving Tabasco. Mussels were gigantic, fries were good. Rabbit legs were good but flavors didn't feel special. The star of the night was the scallops and veal! Amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Every it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Every item was delicious. The ambiance was relaxed, inviting, and warm. The staff was the same. We will happily return here!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't believe we haven't been here befor ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Can't believe we haven't been here before. Everything was perfect - food, wine, service, ambiance. We absolutely loved the steamed mussels (better than what we have had in France), mushroom soup (just the right amount of creaminess), gnocchi, filet mignon and duck. The service was professional and friendly. Great wine list, although a bit pricier than most local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.