About Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar

Mission Street
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Andre's Bouchee Bistro and Wine Bar proudly shares a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Executive Chef Benoit Petel prepares authentic French Bistro cuisine with a Californian Coastal flair. Our friendly atmosphere buzzes with excitement and energy that makes you feel you're dining in one of the small neighborhoods inside Paris. Andre’s Bouchée and Wine Bar also features wine by the glass and a full wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Friday - Sunday 12:00 - 2:30pm
Wine bar opens at 4:30 pm daily til 9:30pm.


Dinner is served seven nights weekly from 5:30pm-9:30pm . Andre's Bouchee Wine Merchant open during hours of operation

Cross Street:
Ocean Ave. and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 626-7880

Website:
http://www.andresbouchee.com/

Parking Details:
Available parking on Mission Street

Executive Chef:
Benoit Petel.

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant can accommodate large parties up to 60 people, with a set menu.
Semi- private wine cellar with a capacity of sixteen.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Lemaire: 8316267880x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar also has special winemaker dinners featuring some of the top producers in the world. Please contact the restaurant for dates and details of upcoming events.

Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
2 More
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

romantic (33)
special occasion (33)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (4)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special themed pairing dinners (usually ...

Dined 5 days ago

Special themed pairing dinners (usually every other Monday) are a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful setting, very kind and graciou ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

beautiful setting, very kind and gracious staff, great wine list, tasty and wonderful food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely restaurant , pleasing service. Th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Lovely restaurant , pleasing service. The Dover sole was the best.....perfectly cooked, then deboned by our waitress. I would recommend this restaurant and will return .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb. Can't wait to try t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was superb. Can't wait to try the Bone Marrow Appetizer again. The Entrecote was perfectly done, and such a good flavor. The wine list is very expensive, and the corkage for the special wine I brought was pretty steep, but besides that, loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so impressed!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything we had at Andre's was absolutely fantastic. Best ribeye steak either one of us have EVER had in our 80+ combined years. Every dish was unique and impeccably executed. Too bad we live on the east coast....this would be a regular for us if we lived in CA.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food0
ambience0
service0

Bad night, bad dinner.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The service was extremely slow. At one point the couple sitting next to us lost patience and asked the waiter what was taking so long! The restaurant was half full. We waited almost an hour for a first course of onion soup. Good, not great! Then about 30 minutes later our entrées arrived. My husband and I both ordered mussels. They arrived with a beautiful presentation of copper bowls. I counted eleven mussels in my bowl, my husband must have had at least double that number. I could not eat mine. The amount of fresh thyme in the bottom was so overwhelming. My husband had no thyme in his. We won't return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

good food, I like this place

Dined on June 4, 2016

I like this place, its expensive but I like it and go there when in the area. Not as good as it was with the old chef last year but I will still go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first time I went to a French restau ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

The first time I went to a French restaurant. The food is great, and the wine they suggest is also wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just as we had hoped for

Dined on May 28, 2016

We we're looking for a great French restaurant and we found one. jaques was very helpful choosing our wine. The food and the service were top notch. The menu changes frequently so it insures fresh and seasonable dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Such a great little restaurant in Carmel ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Such a great little restaurant in Carmel! You must try the mushroom soup, it's the best I've ever had!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

New imaginative chef plus the great Jacq ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

New imaginative chef plus the great Jacques Melac as sommelier plus a fantastic enthusiastic staff -- we had come here for many years, then slacked off for the sameness of the menu. Now we are back again with great enthusiasm in a restaurant that is both lovely and fun!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

French Onion Soup en par with Paris Bistros

Dined on May 20, 2016

Had lunch at Andre's Bouchée , a classic French bistro with classic French cuisine. The Onion Soup Gratinee' was as good as that which we've enjoyed in Paris and Provence and I got the Moules Mariniere with frites with moules which were huge and Ina broth which was so good that I sopped up every drop with my buttered ( European butter, of course) baguette and even asked for more. To top it off, as my husband and I were celebrating my birthday, we were treated to dessert with each of us getting a meringue and a cocoa coated truffle.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What A Special Evening!

Dined on May 17, 2016

We had an incredible evening! A special menu and wine pairing tempted two of us and it was over the top. The Prince and the Pauper entree was spectacular = Lobster and Goat! I had Mushroom Soup with Truffle Oil and it was a hit with everyone. The Steak Tartare on an Oyster as an amuse bouche was excellent. We loved everything and the creativity of the courses was so far above so many local restaurants to guarantee our return. At the end of the evening we were unable to get an Uber or a Lyft to come for us and the restaurant called a driver they knew who brought us home for a very reasonable price! Such a sweet gesture.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Creative food dining experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

Friendly owners and excellent food experience that is creative and outside the box. However, the service can be slow and it can be a bit noisy if one is looking for a quiet evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French food in Carmel

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We go to Andre's every time we go to Carmel. We went for a late lunch. My wife had french onion soup and "the best Croque Madame anywhere." She is still talking about it. I had seared foie gras as my appetizer and an entree of saute scallops. Service was wonderful. The wine list is very extensive. You will not go wrong eating here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Surprise!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We noticed the menu selection had changed since our last visit five months ago. Our server confirmed the menu was created by a new Chef who started in January, 2016. The evening experience was filled with delicious surprises!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Interesting but not up to expectations....

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is an excellent looking restaurant with plenty of space between tables and a magnificent wine list. However the kitchen was very slow. My friend had an excellent onion soup preparwith flair and a roast duck that he said was superb. On my side of the table, I found the menu far too limited for an expensive restaurant and my beef bourgeon was extremely fat and not prepared at all like the conventional version of this dish which is more like a zesty stew and served that way all over the world but not here. The crowning disappointment was that the beef was so fat that I had dismiss the dish after giving it a try since I thought the beef would be delicious but it was served in a log shape like a holiday winter desert. Sorry that the great waiter was really wasted. Wine steward likewise was wonderful. Did I tell you that wait between my friend's onion soup and the entrees was close to an hour? This has been a great restaurant before and I hope it will be able to excel in the future

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently setting a high bar

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed dining here for many years and the food remains some of the best Carmel has to offer. We share almost every plate and started with the foie gras with a reduced wine sauce. Each bite is so amazing. Then the sweetbreads were so lightly sauteed. The chef has it all going on! Mussels in white wine and garlic, rare veal with perfectly cooked scalops, and we went back to our room very happy. If you haven't eaten here, give it a try and you will be glad you did so. Service is wonderful and not overly bothersome as some places can be. After each bite we usually say"we should just leave now and we could die happy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Everything we ordered was great. Onion ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Everything we ordered was great. Onion soup, baby kale salad, beef tatare(awesome) & short rib. Short rib was phenomenal. Great service & wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time celebrating my w ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating my wife's birthday. The food, wine and service was fantastic.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for a special occassion

Dined on April 24, 2016

I booked this reservation for my boyfriend's birthday as we were having a romantic weekend in Carmel. By the time we got to the restaurant we actually celebrating his birthday and our engagement, so we were in a very festive mood. The setting was quiet, and the restaurant is small, so you can have a conversation with your dining partner without any crazy noise. The sommelier was helpful, but of course offered only wines that were at the top end of my price range, and when I asked about lower priced ones he discarded them as flat and flavorless, so they lost a star on that one because why have 53 pages of wines just to have them- quality trumps quantity any day of the week- my opinion. We ended up going for a Lucia Pinot, and it was good. We started off with the oysters which were from Morro Bay-- they were delivered fresh that afternoon and tasted perfectly briny like they were just out of the sea, and served with a tasty mignonette and a side glass of champagne- nice touch. We then shared the tartine, and I literally could have eaten another portion as my entree. Such a creative way to serve escargot-- the sauce was incroyable! My fiance and had the skirt steak, which was cooked perfectly rare, the way he wanted it, and I had the Tere & Mer, which was braised veal and seared scallops. Really tasty, but there were more like separate items on a plate rather than two items that complemented each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Superb!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first experience dining here. From the moment we sat down to dine we felt special. The timing of the service was spot on and we never felt rushed to get to the next course or to clear the table for anyone else. The wine list was exceptional. The bone marrow appetizer left me dreaming about it. We had hear that the Duck is a must have, but the short rib was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the veal cheeks were to die for. Our server Austin was top notch. We are sure to return there whenever we want to dine in Carmel again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Hovering issues

Dined on April 10, 2016

All the staff was too attentive for our party and was actually annoying. The mushroom soup was very good, the mussels were OK, the mussel sauce pretty bland and the thyme not well blended, fries were very good. The wine was expensive for the quality.

Tags: notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service4

Way too heavy with the sauces. Crispy s ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Way too heavy with the sauces. Crispy sweetbreads when drowned in sauce are no longer crispy. Duck rillette very greasy. Beans in cassoulet under cooked.

food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Very disappointing experience.

Dined on March 25, 2016

This would be my first and hope last, sad review ever. It was Thursday night, we left our very lively hotel lobby with the life music playing, for a dinner and had a very disappointing dining experience. I did my research and hoped to have some great food to celebrate my mom's birthday. Only three tables were occupied, the place was a lonely planet...Soup was just ok and bone marrow appetizer was miserable. Trout was good, stake was not worth ordering. Music for a minute was played to load and later shut down completely. Well, I know for sure, I'll not give a second try at this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Small Dishes, Intimate Atmosphere

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

The menu offered a number of small dishes which were very attractive – foie gras, veal sweetbreads, bone marrow, escargot, duck rillet and an assortment of cheeses, all my favorites. We had also read great reviews about the onion soup. I decided to order three small plates – foie gras, sweetbreads, and the duck rillet as I had such an impressive rillet of pork some time ago. Wife decided on the onion soup and the trout as the main course. The foie gras was truly outstanding, cooked just right with a wonderful orange sauce, and a generous amount, too. I also enjoyed the sweetbreads, one of my favorite dishes, again cooked just right and it also came with some spiny lobster meat! The onion soup wife had was also outstanding. We eat French onion soup often, and when we say outstanding, it really stands out! Unfortunately, an inordinate amount of time elapsed between these courses and wife’s main course, the trout, and my third small plate, the duck rillet. Finally, but again unfortunately, the waiter had misunderstood my order for duck rillet and brought the duck confit, which was in the main course menu together with wife’s trout. I pointed out the mix up, but offered to take the duck confit anyway, but they promptly brought out the rillet, and gave me the confit anyway, which I tasted but then had it bagged as I was too full by now. The third small dish, duck rillet, unfortunately was good but not quite as outstanding as the first two, and the trout and duck confit were good, but again not quite as impressive as the onion soup, foie gras, or sweetbreads.The service was solicitous and professional, and except for the duck mix up and the delay between the appetizers and the main course (was it because they had to cook the duck confit?), it was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great new find in Carmel

Dined on March 6, 2016

We certainly have found a new place in Carmel that we will go to also in the future. The food and service are very good. Only thing we regretted was that the person that wanted to help us with the wine recommended us a wine that was twice as expensive as the one that we had in mind initially. My husband didn't have his reading glasses with him that night, so we saw this only when the bill arrived. This shouldn't happen in a classy place like this.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely French restaurant.

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Everything was excellent except the time between the courses was too long to wait. Otherwise, I would have ranked it outstanding across the board.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Salt got the better of the chef

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Mignon de Veau et St. Jacques: Veal was excellent, the scallops over salted Le Canard en Pate: Candied blood orange was saggy, the pate was over salted the rest of the dish was fine. Le Filet de Boeuf Rossini: Very good Crème de Champignons : Truffle oil - where? Crème Brûlée: Be careful mushroom taste on a Crème Brule is not everybody's thing and wasn't definitely ours. Item not on the Web ~ Nougat Tartuffe? Oh that was definitely missing the mark. The ice-cream didn't make it into the nougat territory

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food, service and location

Dined on February 15, 2016

The entrees were very good. The escargot was excellent. The salads were so so. The location and service were good. Right off the Main Street in Carmel. The wine was very high priced. Consider bringing your own, although the corkage fee is $35.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Carmel's finest!

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

We came for a Valentine's lunch. My wife had French onion soup and duck breast with peppercorn sauce - wonderful. I had duck rillette with foie gras sauce and scallops in puff pastry. We shared 2 bottles of very good California wine. They have an extensive wine list. Our server Lauren was both knowledgeable and attentive. We come to this restaurant whenever we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second visit for lunch and it has be ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Our second visit for lunch and it has become our favorite spot in Carmel. Our server, Lauren, provided the perfect service from the moment we arrived. Anytime a server tells us the chef will prepare whatever we want, if he has the ingredients, we know it will be wonderful. It was. Order anything. It's all fantastic and will be served at whatever pace you desire.

food4
ambience5
service3
value2

The wine list is outstanding. Unfortuna ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The wine list is outstanding. Unfortunately, it was extremely difficult to find a bottle of wine for under $100+. It would be great if they offered a selection of more moderately priced wines. My wife had the scallops which were salty. She wanted to send them back but we had waited so long for our entre, 2+ hour meal, we just wanted to eat. I enjoyed the hanger steak. It was prepared very well. The staff was very personable. However, the service time between courses was too slow. Also, for the price I believe there are better alternatives in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful French Bistro Food

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

If you like French bistro food, this is the place to come. They have great onion soup and seafood. I recommend any of the scallop dishes or mussels. The service is very good, and the wine selection is perfect for the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice atmosphere, but overpriced

Dined on January 18, 2016

Fine ambiance and friendly service but I thought the food would be better, especially for the prices they charge.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful New Years Eve Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

The restaurant was beautifully decorated for the New Year. Fixed price dinner for the holiday while pricey, lived up to our expectations. The multi-course meal was well thought out, nicely presented, and professionally served. The only reason we did not give an overall 5 star is because when we made an observation intended as a recommendation to the "gentleman" who served our wine from an obviously chipped wine decanter, he was very flippant and unpleasantly defensive. We are still comfortable recommending this restaurant for a special occasion, just watch out for the chipped coffee saucers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

What a disappointment

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

I don't mind spending $350 for 3 people for dinner but I would expect decent service, not having to ask the runner for our server several times. I ordered 4 appetizers for my meal and our server asked me in which order I would like them. I replied I didn't care, just make it easy on the kitchen. I should have said "make it easy on the kitchen but don't bring them all at once". I received oysters, foie gras (barely heated) and escargot (also Luke warm) all at the same time. I suppose she needs more training or I need to be more specific. We've eaten here before with good food and service. Must have been an off night for them.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

nice little french restaurant

Dined on December 29, 2015

its nice to find a true French restaurant these days, in the lovely town of Carmel the menu was nice, and the preparation was well done excellent wine list if you enjoy old fine wines that are hard to find neighborhood atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service3

The food is rather bland yet expensive. ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

The food is rather bland yet expensive. The service is alright but nothing special. Very underwhelming, not coming back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.