About Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar

Mission Street
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Andre's Bouchee Bistro and Wine Bar proudly shares a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Executive Chef Benoit Petel prepares authentic French Bistro cuisine with a Californian Coastal flair. Our friendly atmosphere buzzes with excitement and energy that makes you feel you're dining in one of the small neighborhoods inside Paris. Andre’s Bouchée and Wine Bar also features wine by the glass and a full wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch is served Friday - Sunday 12:00 - 2:30pm
Wine bar opens at 4:30 pm daily til 9:30pm.


Dinner is served seven nights weekly from 5:30pm-9:30pm . Andre's Bouchee Wine Merchant open during hours of operation

Cross Street:
Ocean Ave. and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 626-7880

Website:
http://www.andresbouchee.com/

Parking Details:
Available parking on Mission Street

Executive Chef:
Benoit Petel.

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant can accommodate large parties up to 60 people, with a set menu.
Semi- private wine cellar with a capacity of sixteen.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Lemaire: 8316267880x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar also has special winemaker dinners featuring some of the top producers in the world. Please contact the restaurant for dates and details of upcoming events.

Andre’s Bouchée Bistro and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Romantic
California Central Coast
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
4 More
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

fit for foodies (36)
romantic (35)
special occasion (34)
See All
notable wine list (31)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for lunch (8)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highlights: + Food and presentation were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Highlights:

+ Food and presentation were solid executions of French classics

+ Delicious French wines by the glass

+ Friendly, competent service

Critiques:

- Open kitchen did not complement ambiance

- Everything a bit salty

- Creme of mushroom soup a bit too thick

- Service was a little inconsistent

- Bread was burnt black on the underside, yet still served

- Steak was undercooked in one small area, but otherwise delicious.

Overall, it was a very decent meal, and we left feeling very satisfied, but just not quite 5-stars all around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Forgot that it was Bastille Day, but wha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Forgot that it was Bastille Day, but what a fortuitous day to come in!

Always enjoy this little gem, but it was even more delightful when decorated; despite the horrors of Nice, the crowd refused to be deterred from celebrating; the prix fixe menu was perfectly executed and good value w/the perfect wine pairings. Look forward to returning for some of our favorites on the complete menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My duck was excellent, but my wife's sal ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My duck was excellent, but my wife's salmon had an unpleasant olive based sauce. Dessert was good. They waive corkage if you buy one of their bottles as well, which is a great policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It is always a pleasure to introduce our ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It is always a pleasure to introduce our family and friends to Andre's. The menu keeps changing with new surprises but keeps the favorites, French Onion Soup and Filet Mignon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decidedly mediocre selection of food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Decidedly mediocre selection of food and decidedly mediocre preparation. Dramatically undercooked sea bass and bland oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant has changed since the dea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The restaurant has changed since the death of Andre. The staff, everyone working at the restaurant is as good as it gets, lovely, no complaints. Sunday evening dining in Carmel is not the same experience as a week night so perhaps that was part of the disappointment. It has a nice little bar and the atmosphere is inviting, stop in for a glass of wine or cocktail.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food here was phenomenal. The oyster ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food here was phenomenal. The oysters were fresh, the tartine had great flavours, and the steak was amazing. The tatin had just the right amount of sweetness and tartness. The sommelier was very helpful and while the "standard" wine option wasn't to our palate, he took the time to understand what we liked and suggested a great wine, instead of pushing what he thought was a good wine. Overall, one of the best meals in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food choices were varied and cre ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food choices were varied and creative. The fois gras and seabass were especially good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well prepared gourmet French food. Nice ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Well prepared gourmet French food. Nice wine list for appropriate pairings with the food we ordered we enjoy. Ambiance and service were excellent. Location in Carmel, CA a few blocks away from a gorgeous beach walk is another plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Special themed pairing dinners (usually ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Special themed pairing dinners (usually every other Monday) are a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful setting, very kind and graciou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

beautiful setting, very kind and gracious staff, great wine list, tasty and wonderful food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant , pleasing service. Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Lovely restaurant , pleasing service. The Dover sole was the best.....perfectly cooked, then deboned by our waitress. I would recommend this restaurant and will return .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was superb. Can't wait to try t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was superb. Can't wait to try the Bone Marrow Appetizer again. The Entrecote was perfectly done, and such a good flavor. The wine list is very expensive, and the corkage for the special wine I brought was pretty steep, but besides that, loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so impressed!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything we had at Andre's was absolutely fantastic. Best ribeye steak either one of us have EVER had in our 80+ combined years. Every dish was unique and impeccably executed. Too bad we live on the east coast....this would be a regular for us if we lived in CA.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad night, bad dinner.

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service was extremely slow. At one point the couple sitting next to us lost patience and asked the waiter what was taking so long! The restaurant was half full. We waited almost an hour for a first course of onion soup. Good, not great! Then about 30 minutes later our entrées arrived. My husband and I both ordered mussels. They arrived with a beautiful presentation of copper bowls. I counted eleven mussels in my bowl, my husband must have had at least double that number. I could not eat mine. The amount of fresh thyme in the bottom was so overwhelming. My husband had no thyme in his. We won't return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Delightful

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food, I like this place

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I like this place, its expensive but I like it and go there when in the area. Not as good as it was with the old chef last year but I will still go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A favorite in Carmel. Menu a nice change ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

A favorite in Carmel. Menu a nice change from the CA cuisine that pervades the central coast. Always great oysters and sweet breads if that is your thing. Wonderful wine list and a staff that can be very helpful in picking something off the beaten track.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The first time I went to a French restau ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The first time I went to a French restaurant. The food is great, and the wine they suggest is also wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as we had hoped for

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We we're looking for a great French restaurant and we found one. jaques was very helpful choosing our wine. The food and the service were top notch. The menu changes frequently so it insures fresh and seasonable dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a great little restaurant in Carmel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Such a great little restaurant in Carmel! You must try the mushroom soup, it's the best I've ever had!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

New imaginative chef plus the great Jacq ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

New imaginative chef plus the great Jacques Melac as sommelier plus a fantastic enthusiastic staff -- we had come here for many years, then slacked off for the sameness of the menu. Now we are back again with great enthusiasm in a restaurant that is both lovely and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French Onion Soup en par with Paris Bistros

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Had lunch at Andre's Bouchée , a classic French bistro with classic French cuisine. The Onion Soup Gratinee' was as good as that which we've enjoyed in Paris and Provence and I got the Moules Mariniere with frites with moules which were huge and Ina broth which was so good that I sopped up every drop with my buttered ( European butter, of course) baguette and even asked for more.

To top it off, as my husband and I were celebrating my birthday, we were treated to dessert with each of us getting a meringue and a cocoa coated truffle.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What A Special Evening!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We had an incredible evening! A special menu and wine pairing tempted two of us and it was over the top. The Prince and the Pauper entree was spectacular = Lobster and Goat! I had Mushroom Soup with Truffle Oil and it was a hit with everyone. The Steak Tartare on an Oyster as an amuse bouche was excellent.

We loved everything and the creativity of the courses was so far above so many local restaurants to guarantee our return.

At the end of the evening we were unable to get an Uber or a Lyft to come for us and the restaurant called a driver they knew who brought us home for a very reasonable price! Such a sweet gesture.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative food dining experience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Friendly owners and excellent food experience that is creative and outside the box. However, the service can be slow and it can be a bit noisy if one is looking for a quiet evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Best French food in Carmel

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We go to Andre's every time we go to Carmel. We went for a late lunch. My wife had french onion soup and "the best Croque Madame anywhere." She is still talking about it. I had seared foie gras as my appetizer and an entree of saute scallops. Service was wonderful. The wine list is very extensive. You will not go wrong eating here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Surprise!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We noticed the menu selection had changed since our last visit five months ago. Our server confirmed the menu was created by a new Chef who started in January, 2016. The evening experience was filled with delicious surprises!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting but not up to expectations....

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This is an excellent looking restaurant with plenty of space between tables and a magnificent wine list. However the kitchen was very slow. My friend had an excellent onion soup preparwith flair and a roast duck that he said was superb. On my side of the table, I found the menu far too limited for an expensive restaurant and my beef bourgeon was extremely fat and not prepared at all like the conventional version of this dish which is more like a zesty stew and served that way all over the world but not here. The crowning disappointment was that the beef was so fat that I had dismiss the dish after giving it a try since I thought the beef would be delicious but it was served in a log shape like a holiday winter desert. Sorry that the great waiter was really wasted. Wine steward likewise was wonderful. Did I tell you that wait between my friend's onion soup and the entrees was close to an hour? This has been a great restaurant before and I hope it will be able to excel in the future

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Consistently setting a high bar

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed dining here for many years and the food remains some of the best Carmel has to offer. We share almost every plate and started with the foie gras with a reduced wine sauce. Each bite is so amazing. Then the sweetbreads were so lightly sauteed. The chef has it all going on! Mussels in white wine and garlic, rare veal with perfectly cooked scalops, and we went back to our room very happy. If you haven't eaten here, give it a try and you will be glad you did so. Service is wonderful and not overly bothersome as some places can be. After each bite we usually say"we should just leave now and we could die happy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was great. Onion ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Everything we ordered was great. Onion soup, baby kale salad, beef tatare(awesome) & short rib. Short rib was phenomenal. Great service & wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We had a wonderful time celebrating my w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating my wife's birthday. The food, wine and service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a special occassion

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I booked this reservation for my boyfriend's birthday as we were having a romantic weekend in Carmel. By the time we got to the restaurant we actually celebrating his birthday and our engagement, so we were in a very festive mood. The setting was quiet, and the restaurant is small, so you can have a conversation with your dining partner without any crazy noise.

The sommelier was helpful, but of course offered only wines that were at the top end of my price range, and when I asked about lower priced ones he discarded them as flat and flavorless, so they lost a star on that one because why have 53 pages of wines just to have them- quality trumps quantity any day of the week- my opinion. We ended up going for a Lucia Pinot, and it was good.

We started off with the oysters which were from Morro Bay-- they were delivered fresh that afternoon and tasted perfectly briny like they were just out of the sea, and served with a tasty mignonette and a side glass of champagne- nice touch.

We then shared the tartine, and I literally could have eaten another portion as my entree. Such a creative way to serve escargot-- the sauce was incroyable!

My fiance and had the skirt steak, which was cooked perfectly rare, the way he wanted it, and I had the Tere & Mer, which was braised veal and seared scallops. Really tasty, but there were more like separate items on a plate rather than two items that complemented each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely Superb!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first experience dining here. From the moment we sat down to dine we felt special. The timing of the service was spot on and we never felt rushed to get to the next course or to clear the table for anyone else. The wine list was exceptional. The bone marrow appetizer left me dreaming about it. We had hear that the Duck is a must have, but the short rib was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the veal cheeks were to die for. Our server Austin was top notch. We are sure to return there whenever we want to dine in Carmel again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hovering issues

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

All the staff was too attentive for our party and was actually annoying. The mushroom soup was very good, the mussels were OK, the mussel sauce pretty bland and the thyme not well blended, fries were very good. The wine was expensive for the quality.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Way too heavy with the sauces. Crispy s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Way too heavy with the sauces. Crispy sweetbreads when drowned in sauce are no longer crispy. Duck rillette very greasy. Beans in cassoulet under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Very disappointing experience.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

This would be my first and hope last, sad review ever. It was Thursday night, we left our very lively hotel lobby with the life music playing, for a dinner and had a very disappointing dining experience. I did my research and hoped to have some great food to celebrate my mom's birthday. Only three tables were occupied, the place was a lonely planet...Soup was just ok and bone marrow appetizer was miserable. Trout was good, stake was not worth ordering. Music for a minute was played to load and later shut down completely. Well, I know for sure, I'll not give a second try at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Outstanding Small Dishes, Intimate Atmosphere

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

The menu offered a number of small dishes which were very attractive – foie gras, veal sweetbreads, bone marrow, escargot, duck rillet and an assortment of cheeses, all my favorites. We had also read great reviews about the onion soup. I decided to order three small plates – foie gras, sweetbreads, and the duck rillet as I had such an impressive rillet of pork some time ago. Wife decided on the onion soup and the trout as the main course. The foie gras was truly outstanding, cooked just right with a wonderful orange sauce, and a generous amount, too. I also enjoyed the sweetbreads, one of my favorite dishes, again cooked just right and it also came with some spiny lobster meat! The onion soup wife had was also outstanding. We eat French onion soup often, and when we say outstanding, it really stands out!

Unfortunately, an inordinate amount of time elapsed between these courses and wife’s main course, the trout, and my third small plate, the duck rillet. Finally, but again unfortunately, the waiter had misunderstood my order for duck rillet and brought the duck confit, which was in the main course menu together with wife’s trout. I pointed out the mix up, but offered to take the duck confit anyway, but they promptly brought out the rillet, and gave me the confit anyway, which I tasted but then had it bagged as I was too full by now. The third small dish, duck rillet, unfortunately was good but not quite as outstanding as the first two, and the trout and duck confit were good, but again not quite as impressive as the onion soup, foie gras, or sweetbreads.The service was solicitous and professional, and except for the duck mix up and the delay between the appetizers and the main course (was it because they had to cook the duck confit?), it was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new find in Carmel

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We certainly have found a new place in Carmel that we will go to also in the future. The food and service are very good. Only thing we regretted was that the person that wanted to help us with the wine recommended us a wine that was twice as expensive as the one that we had in mind initially. My husband didn't have his reading glasses with him that night, so we saw this only when the bill arrived. This shouldn't happen in a classy place like this.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely French restaurant.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Everything was excellent except the time between the courses was too long to wait. Otherwise, I would have ranked it outstanding across the board.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Salt got the better of the chef

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Mignon de Veau et St. Jacques:

Veal was excellent, the scallops over salted

Le Canard en Pate:

Candied blood orange was saggy, the pate was over salted the rest of the dish was fine.

Le Filet de Boeuf Rossini:

Very good

Crème de Champignons :

Truffle oil - where?

Crème Brûlée:

Be careful mushroom taste on a Crème Brule is not everybody's thing and wasn't definitely ours.

Item not on the Web ~ Nougat Tartuffe?

Oh that was definitely missing the mark. The ice-cream didn't make it into the nougat territory

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.