About Ancaster Mill

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada's most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Pearle Hospitality's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from nearby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Ancaster Mill also offers private rooms from 10-to 205 guests for Weddings, Special Occasions and Corporate Events. Our Special Event Consultants will co-ordinate and personalize your entire event. Our modern amenities, friendly and attentive staff and fantastic cuisine will ensure to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Rochelle Trask /Vicki DeNardis: (905) 648-1828

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (58)
Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Romantic (42)
Great for Brunch (41)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Historic (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Seasonal (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Cozy (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Waterfront (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fireplace (12)
Business Meals (12)
Fun (11)
Family Style (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Private Room (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Casual (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been there before, food was / an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been there before, food was / and thankfully is excellent.

Disappointed that we had a reservation and had to wait 25 minutes to be seated without a simple apology or offer to sit at the bar and have a drink.

We were informed that they were very busy.

Also, when booking, advised that it was my wife's birthday, no one even acknowledged the occasion.

As well, I get the whole " nouveau cuisine ", but they have drastically downsized their portions .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Amazing food and service. Each ingredien ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and service. Each ingredient is carefully crafted and no detail is missed. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the new menu, was lovely ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyed the new menu, was lovely evening with friends and family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic dinn ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic dinner date for Valentine's Day and it was absolutely stunning. We will be coming back, food was amazing and so was the scenery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Family Style, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time celebrating Valentin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time celebrating Valentine's Day at the Ancaster Mill. The food and service were both fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to like the Old Mill. The meals h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

I used to like the Old Mill. The meals have become rather uninspiring and just too simple. We visited the Old Mill in the beginning of December and then in mid February and I found a couple of the same items still on the menu. I'm looking for a culinary sophistication from the Old Mill. I have not found it this time...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our server was attentive, personable and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was attentive, personable and efficient. The wide variety of food at brunch was lovely. The noise level was a bit high due to the crowd at that time.

All in all it was a good experience. My one disappointment was that I had been assured a birthday recognition for our guest.( a cupcake or something similar).....I had called to double- check that this would happen. It never did.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at your restaura ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time at your restaurant. Your staff are outstanding...very friendly and knowledgable. The food was great! A little pricey perhaps...however, we will be back. We would like to come in the spring/summer to see the grounds from the dining area...

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the atmosphere, great service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere, great service, good size portions, excellent food and ideal scenic venue. This is a rare treat where the restaurant overlooks a cascading waterfall and stream, and the authentic design makes you feel like you are in a special place.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite place. I love Sunday ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is my favorite place.

I love Sunday branch.

All food is made in house and of very good quality.

The venue is fantastic.

Many people come with babies.

Tags: , Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Very good experience overall. Eggs Bened ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good experience overall. Eggs Benedict and other hot trays were not hot at all. Loved the waffles and chocolate fountain. Mimosas were a great touch! Service was top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Cozy, , Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good selection of food for brunch. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good selection of food for brunch. A big appetite makes it a good value.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The brunch was good and Michael our serv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The brunch was good and Michael our server was awesome.....the ambiance at the Mill is still one of my favorites!! Although, we ate at Spencer's in Burlington (same owners) last Sunday and their brunch had a higher quality feel to it. ( Better oysters, crab, etc) Also the mimosas, cappuccinos and espressos were all included in the brunch price at Spencer's. So overall a better value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was so good ,The table we sat a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was so good ,The table we sat at was great ,we asked for a window table and got it . Would have been nice if the table behind us was not so loud you could not hold a conversation with our friend as we could not hear ,That was the only complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was recommended by a frie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The restaurant was recommended by a friend who said it was his favourite and he did not disappoint. Well worth an hour drive to meet up with good friends.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful and attentive service over a d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wonderful and attentive service over a delicious meal with great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been for the brunch at the Mill ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been for the brunch at the Mill a few times. This time was more of a disappointment. It's a buffet so the server doesn't have to do much. Our server was not at all friendly and was very slow at the few things he was called on for. I waited ten minutes to get a cup of coffee.

Some items on the buffet were exceptional, the prime rib, the bread and several of the desserts.

The omelette made to order was ho hum and many of the vegetables on the hot buffet were not even warm they were cold.

When the brunch is $50 this kind of food quality is unacceptable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Went Jan 28th for my birthday. It was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went Jan 28th for my birthday. It was a cold Sat night. Standing in a long line at the reception desk by the front door waiting for our table was chilli and annoying.

Our table had a lovely view of the waterfall. Our Server was very friendly and efficient. The menu however was, to say the least minimal. There were no appetizers that appealed to us. May we recommend adding a garden salad or even better a Caesar or Greek salad not all diners like Kale. The bread which was a foccacia was excellent. The Entree menu was also minimal but having said that, we are steak eaters and the aged ribeye was AMAZING. It was accompanied by spinach and mushrooms and potatos. This meal was without doubt one of the most delicious we have had in a long time. Yes we would go back for the steak but it would be nice to have a better choice in appetizers.

Thank you

Lora Belvedere

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very cold at tables beside the floor to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very cold at tables beside the floor to ceiling windows.

The menu is very very limited. No specials.

We had such a long wait for our food they gave us a glass of wine each on the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed the food which was carefully ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed the food which was carefully prepared and tastefully presented. The waiters were attentive, yet they did not "hover" - a good balance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well above expectations in all important ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Well above expectations in all important criteria. Server Brian is a wonderful ambassador to your fine dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience. I highly recommend the squash risotto and the 45 day dry aged steak (my husband's choice). We received complimentary sparkling wine to toast our anniversary!

We loved it and will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful dinner here. Great fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a wonderful dinner here. Great food, beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot for special occasions, dates ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great spot for special occasions, dates or family Sunday dinners. Food is fantastic and service staff is attentive and courteous. The grounds themself including the waterfalls are amazing and worth viewing on their own.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I come every year on our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I come every year on our anniversary. We look forward to coming each year and are never disappointed with the food or service. The complimentary mimosa's are a special treat and there is such a great variety of brunch options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We've been going there for Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We've been going there for Sunday Brunch for number of years because the food is great.

Last Sunday we were shock how much the restaurant has changed. The service was terrible of course; dishes were never picked up by servers unless we asked them to take them away.

constant asking for water and coffee. Also the attitude was not pleasant.

This is not a complaint. Please don't get me wrong but, the music was too loud (it was never this loud in the past by the way).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great venue. Excellent food that is wel ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great venue. Excellent food that is well made. attentive staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was amazing and friendly. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The staff was amazing and friendly. The food is always great.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booking with Open Table was efficient. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Booking with Open Table was efficient. Location of restaurant very scenic. Good fresh, local inspired cuisine. Well presented dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We didn't find it as good as it has been ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We didn't find it as good as it has been. We had expected more for New Year's Day.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a wonderful experience and an out ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a wonderful experience and an outstanding location!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So nice to be able to have a lunch over ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

So nice to be able to have a lunch over the holidays! food and experience was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Nice atmosphere! Lovely view ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food!

Nice atmosphere!

Lovely view of the waterfalls!

Always enjoy this restaurant!

Staff are excellent! Especially the servers!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location and setting are perfect, so ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The location and setting are perfect, so the view is outstanding. The salad was wonderful but the main course (seafood dish) was disappointing; lacked colour, taste and seafood pieces were very small. The service is very good.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious Arctic Char. Highly recommend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious Arctic Char. Highly recommend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant experience. Service was e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Service was excellent food was good and the setting is spectacular.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After all these years -- decades really ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

After all these years -- decades really -- my party of three had its first disappointing experience. The turkey was tasteless, the stuffing needed some herbs to make it come alive and there was a thimbleful of gravy. Only the red cabbage was flavourful. We were so discouraged that we didn't order either dessert or specialty coffee and just went home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Christmas Eve dinner was superb..... As ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner was superb..... As usual, the Ancaster Old Mill delivered elegance, both in style and cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated four birthdays, from five ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We celebrated four birthdays, from five to eighty two and everyone had a great time for all even the two non celebrants. It will be remembered as a special family event.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding evening for ambiance, was co ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding evening for ambiance, was concerned about the service. In particular, we had asked the server if their were any nuts in the rizzoto when it arrived, we did not hear from him until much later, by then the dish was getting cold. He had forgotten until we got his attention.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.