Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi
  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi
  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi

About Ancaster Mill

The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada's most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Pearle Hospitality's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from nearby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Ancaster Mill also offers private rooms from 10-to 205 guests for Weddings, Special Occasions and Corporate Events. Our Special Event Consultants will co-ordinate and personalize your entire event. Our modern amenities, friendly and attentive staff and fantastic cuisine will ensure to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Rochelle Trask /Vicki DeNardis: (905) 648-1828

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Featuring our Sunday Brunch on Easter Sunday
Cost: $51 for Adults, $26 for Children (age 5-14 years)

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Featuring an all day Brunch Buffet from 9:00am - 8:00pm
Cost: $67 for Adults, $31 for Children (age 5-14 years)

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (51)
Special Occasion (48)
Romantic (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Great for Brunch (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Historic (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Seasonal (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Fun (15)
Waterfront (12)
Fireplace (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Family Style (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Healthy (10)
Business Meals (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Authentic (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great. Very picturesque. Awesome desserts. I found the menu a "little" limited.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband nicked his nostril shaving before we left (!! :) :) ) and it would not stop bleeding. When we arrived and were seated, he felt incapacitated by the profuse bleeding and had to use the washroom for 20 minutes while applying pressure. Our waiter, Michael, kindly brought him something to help stop the bleeding. It was out- of- the -way kindness that is rare these days. We very much appreciated his caring gesture and hope we are fortunate enough to see him next time we go for a Sunday Brunch. Thank you again, Michael!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Historic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service. Very attentive to keeping coffee full and table cleared during courses.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

WOW what a fantastic Sunday Brunch experience. My second visit. I invited a girlfriend of many many years to share in the wonders of AncasterMill. I spoke of it so much that she was anxiously awaiting the day. The expansive food selections, both hot and cold were unique, endless and delicious. The team did everything possible to ensure our visit was a memorable and positive expereince, from the time we arrived through the main doors until the time we left. Our server Kevin was a delight, absolutely amazing at his craft, knowlegeable, attentive, humourous, paramount customer service at it's BEST!!!! Just the right amount of conversation to make us feel very comfortable, never intrusive. He totally understands what it take to be in a league of his own within the hospitality industry. I would hope and fully expect that he is commended by the management team of your group on his hard work.
My girlfriend was so impressed with the setting ambience food etc that she is hoping to have her daughter's bridal shower here. LOVED LOVED LOVED the entire day!! Thank you all very much. I will DEFINITELY be back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Live Music, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fantastic brunch experience overall, with exemplary service, beautiful venue, and a great variety of fresh menu items. Staff standout as highly engaged and welcoming - everyone is on their game.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My family and I had a great time. Our server was amazing with my two year old... several forks hit the ground :). As always great experience and would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Disappointed that there are no vegan options on the menu. Chef was able to make something but the creativeness was lacking and it's the same option everytime. Vegetables and pasta. I would expect that a true chef would be able to make a high calibre dish on the fly with ingredients on hand. I've had better high quality options come out of restaurants with cooks vs chefs. Really disappointed that your restaurant only caters to the meat eater and not diverse cultures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very nice place.A little pricey but very beautiful and Service was great food was good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Romantic elegant fancy times! We will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We went for their Sunday Night Dinner. I think this would be suitable for those with sophisticated palates. I don't think I could survive as a rich person if this is the food they eat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We went for Sunday supper on the 26th. Sat at a quiet two person corner booth by the window. Great value and amazing food. We especially enjoyed the terrines. Our server was very attentive and friendly (can't remember her name). We'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fireplace, Fun, Cozy, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Hot Spot, Authentic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Had the opportunity to try new foods. The Maple Alexander cocktail and the chocolate orange tort was especially delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been there before, food was / and thankfully is excellent.
Disappointed that we had a reservation and had to wait 25 minutes to be seated without a simple apology or offer to sit at the bar and have a drink.
We were informed that they were very busy.
Also, when booking, advised that it was my wife's birthday, no one even acknowledged the occasion.
As well, I get the whole " nouveau cuisine ", but they have drastically downsized their portions .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was good overall, not many options for non alcoholic drinks, or coffee. As for the menu, I'm just going to say small all the way, small printing, small variety, small. The food was definitely good but not fantastic or excellent, meat was somehow dry. Friendly, polite and courteous staff.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing food and service. Each ingredient is carefully crafted and no detail is missed. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the new menu, was lovely evening with friends and family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic dinner date for Valentine's Day and it was absolutely stunning. We will be coming back, food was amazing and so was the scenery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Family Style, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great time celebrating Valentine's Day at the Ancaster Mill. The food and service were both fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I used to like the Old Mill. The meals have become rather uninspiring and just too simple. We visited the Old Mill in the beginning of December and then in mid February and I found a couple of the same items still on the menu. I'm looking for a culinary sophistication from the Old Mill. I have not found it this time...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was attentive, personable and efficient. The wide variety of food at brunch was lovely. The noise level was a bit high due to the crowd at that time.
All in all it was a good experience. My one disappointment was that I had been assured a birthday recognition for our guest.( a cupcake or something similar).....I had called to double- check that this would happen. It never did.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time at your restaurant. Your staff are outstanding...very friendly and knowledgable. The food was great! A little pricey perhaps...however, we will be back. We would like to come in the spring/summer to see the grounds from the dining area...

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere, great service, good size portions, excellent food and ideal scenic venue. This is a rare treat where the restaurant overlooks a cascading waterfall and stream, and the authentic design makes you feel like you are in a special place.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is my favorite place.
I love Sunday branch.
All food is made in house and of very good quality.
The venue is fantastic.
Many people come with babies.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good experience overall. Eggs Benedict and other hot trays were not hot at all. Loved the waffles and chocolate fountain. Mimosas were a great touch! Service was top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good selection of food for brunch. A big appetite makes it a good value.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The brunch was good and Michael our server was awesome.....the ambiance at the Mill is still one of my favorites!! Although, we ate at Spencer's in Burlington (same owners) last Sunday and their brunch had a higher quality feel to it. ( Better oysters, crab, etc) Also the mimosas, cappuccinos and espressos were all included in the brunch price at Spencer's. So overall a better value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was so good ,The table we sat at was great ,we asked for a window table and got it . Would have been nice if the table behind us was not so loud you could not hold a conversation with our friend as we could not hear ,That was the only complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The restaurant was recommended by a friend who said it was his favourite and he did not disappoint. Well worth an hour drive to meet up with good friends.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wonderful and attentive service over a delicious meal with great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been for the brunch at the Mill a few times. This time was more of a disappointment. It's a buffet so the server doesn't have to do much. Our server was not at all friendly and was very slow at the few things he was called on for. I waited ten minutes to get a cup of coffee.
Some items on the buffet were exceptional, the prime rib, the bread and several of the desserts.
The omelette made to order was ho hum and many of the vegetables on the hot buffet were not even warm they were cold.
When the brunch is $50 this kind of food quality is unacceptable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went Jan 28th for my birthday. It was a cold Sat night. Standing in a long line at the reception desk by the front door waiting for our table was chilli and annoying.
Our table had a lovely view of the waterfall. Our Server was very friendly and efficient. The menu however was, to say the least minimal. There were no appetizers that appealed to us. May we recommend adding a garden salad or even better a Caesar or Greek salad not all diners like Kale. The bread which was a foccacia was excellent. The Entree menu was also minimal but having said that, we are steak eaters and the aged ribeye was AMAZING. It was accompanied by spinach and mushrooms and potatos. This meal was without doubt one of the most delicious we have had in a long time. Yes we would go back for the steak but it would be nice to have a better choice in appetizers.
Thank you
Lora Belvedere

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very cold at tables beside the floor to ceiling windows.
The menu is very very limited. No specials.
We had such a long wait for our food they gave us a glass of wine each on the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed the food which was carefully prepared and tastefully presented. The waiters were attentive, yet they did not "hover" - a good balance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Well above expectations in all important criteria. Server Brian is a wonderful ambassador to your fine dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience. I highly recommend the squash risotto and the 45 day dry aged steak (my husband's choice). We received complimentary sparkling wine to toast our anniversary!

We loved it and will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a wonderful dinner here. Great food, beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great spot for special occasions, dates or family Sunday dinners. Food is fantastic and service staff is attentive and courteous. The grounds themself including the waterfalls are amazing and worth viewing on their own.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I come every year on our anniversary. We look forward to coming each year and are never disappointed with the food or service. The complimentary mimosa's are a special treat and there is such a great variety of brunch options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We've been going there for Sunday Brunch for number of years because the food is great.

Last Sunday we were shock how much the restaurant has changed. The service was terrible of course; dishes were never picked up by servers unless we asked them to take them away.
constant asking for water and coffee. Also the attitude was not pleasant.

This is not a complaint. Please don't get me wrong but, the music was too loud (it was never this loud in the past by the way).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great venue. Excellent food that is well made. attentive staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.