Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi
  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi
  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi

About Ancaster Mill

One of the most sought after restaurants for a Sunday brunch or a dinner celebration, Ancaster Mill epitomizes the spirit of great hospitality. By looking to the harvest for inspiration, our chefs are able to provide guests with a culinary experience that highlights the spectacular local, seasonal ingredients from our Earth to Table farm and Craft Cut butcher.
Situated beside a creek, with a large dining room built out overlooking the falls, Ancaster Mill is in demand year-round for weddings, family or corporate events and celebrations. Restored to keep its authentic character intact, this is a place where ambience fuses with fine food and great service.

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Scenic View (50)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Romantic (40)
Great for Brunch (39)
Good for a Date (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Cozy (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Seasonal (18)
Authentic (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Healthy (12)
Waterfront (9)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Organic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We have been there a few times for weddings, but the brunch (while a little pricey) is off the charts. Service is top notch and the food was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent Sunday Brunch. Magical winter setting. There was a super selection of food that caters to all tastes, along with a fully attentive staff. Great experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Always a pleasure. Best Sunday brunch around. Great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Unfortunately, we were seated in an open busy and noisy area so that ruined our whole dining experience!! Way too loud with music and people surrounding us.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Farm to table menu was creative and delicious. As always service was exceptional. Wait staff greeting staff were all exceptional. Only down side was the lack of service or recognition to the 3 of us sitting at the bar waiting to get asked if we wanted a drink. Our meals arrived hot and cooked just as we asked for. Great sitting next to the windows watching the water flow over the falls. Love the ambiance . We will come here many more times in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Fantastic location, beautiful views while eating dinner. Food was also fantastic, and service good. They were very apologetic, and comp'd our drinks and desserts because we waited longer than normal for our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2018

The live music was a little loud. I came to the mill for the waterfall and ambiance. It was a little to much having the music. With the view the restaurant has i don’t think the music is needed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Michael was outstanding, he made my birthday brunch very special. Would definitely return and request him!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Ancaster Mill is always terrific. We were married there and love to go for brunch every year the week of our anniversary.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Excellent on every level! Always impressed! Always return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Waited 15 to be seated. Food was bland. I remember it being better in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Had a wonderful dinner to celebrate birthday. The food was very tasty and the service was excellent. Highly recommended and its for sure worth a drive to Ancaster. See you soon.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 27, 2018

WOW! We thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our first year of marriage at this lovely restaurant. The food and ambiance was spectacular. Our server was very attentive and even went out of his way to make sure our special requests were met. We asked him if we could sit by the fire place and have our dessert even though it was in a separate room of the restaurant. We will definitely be back. Thank you!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2018

We had cornish hen. Felt that there was too much meat and not enough veggies

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2018

The food was outstanding and the setting quite beautiful. It is on the pricey side, but the price is matched by exceptional quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2018

So delicious, I only wish my stomach was larger so I could try it all!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2018

The service was impeccable, however the food was barely warm. I felt the price was a bit much for what we received.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2018

It was a delightful experience. The food was tasty and the view was beautiful

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The service and the view were very good and extremely well done. The food on the other hand was just terrible. Me and my girlfriend got salmon for the start and it was so poorly done and tasted so bad we both couldn't finish for the meals I got a 14 Oz steak and it was good but not for the price I'd expect a steak like that to be 35 at the most it was not that well done for the price. My girlfriend got a mushroom pasta and it was so bad she couldn't finish it. I tried it and couldn't stomach it. I can't recommend this to anyone and me and my girlfriend are both very disappointed with the ancaster mill

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Fantastic place. Such great atmosphere and ambiance. Server was fantastic and knowledgeable about all the food which was also incredible. Can't wait to go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2018

food was exceptional and the service was beyond what one would expect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Sorry..wrote that it was my husbands retirement but no acknowledgment on that..didn't really enjoy the food :(

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Food was well presented, served nice and hot and the waiters were very polite and attentive to our needs.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Wonderful as always, both food and service.
Always a joy!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2017

What a beautiful spot! The service and general experience were just outstanding. We've been here a number of times, and always love the place. Food this time was a little less abundant and tasty than usual, but maybe it was the chef's night off.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2017

My husband and I have made it a habit of enjoying a meal out to celebrate the Christmas season. This year and last year we have chosen the Ancaster Mill and have not been disappointed. I am on a gluten free diet and I was pleasantly surprised when I was served a gluten free bread with olive oil and balsamic - the waiter even remembered that I wasn't able to
have dairy (casein specifically). We enjoyed the wonderful vegetables - didn't know that Brussels Sprouts could be shredded. We loved our dinner and the attention to detail we received from our server. Nothing was a bother to him. Of course we will be back. I also noted the friendliness of all the staff.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Our meal was pleasant but I found the luncheon menu to be a little condensed with not much variety. For instance I wouldn't be coming to the Ancaster for a ham sandwich!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Service was excellent, left us alone as we caught up with old friends. Soup as amazing and everyone loved the entrees. The ambiance is fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2017

A great site with a terrific team and excellent food. The changing menus is a big plus as we eat there frequently.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Our important business lunch went very well thanks in part to the venue. Thank you for your attentiveness, kindness and for such an amazing atmosphere. I would recommend choosing this restaurant for any business luncheon or dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Once again we had a very enjoyable brunch with friends for our annual Christmas get together. Michael has been our waiter for the third year in a row and his service is very professional and hospitable. We hope we're seated at one of his tables next year. The food, as always, was delicious and there was a wide variety.
We were at the very back of the restaurant with a great view of the waterfall. A little chilly though as we were right beside the exit door which was opened about a half dozen times during our stay. All in all a very positive experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2017

The staff and scenery plus ambiance make this place special. We go for Sunday Brunch at special times of the year and really enjoy ourselves. The food is good and very fresh!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Our waitress Stephanie was wonderful! The restaurant looks so pretty decorated for the holidays.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I had an excellent time here, we had the tasting menu with wine pairing and we could barely finish our desserts! Our server was knowledgeable and attentive, but allowed for us to enjoy our time together without being persistent in seeing how we were enjoying ourselves (wasn't coming by every few minutes to check in on us)

overall it was an excellent experience !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We have decided to forego Christmas presents with friends this year and instead enjoy an amazing brunch at the Ancaster Old Mill. It’s a lovely place to enjoy good food...amazing buffet...and to reconnect in a quiet setting. Wait staff are so friendly and attentive. We had a window table with a view of the stream running by. Great place for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2017

The Ancaster Old Mill is one of my favourite restaurants. It is nestled in a quiet, secluded part of Ancaster surrounded by trees and immaculate grounds. What is most striking as you approach the restaurant, is the most beautiful man made waterfall you will ever see. If you get seated in the Falls room you can watch the waterfall up close through huge windows as you eat your meal. As you enter the facility you are greeted by a friendly hostess who takes you to your seat. The waiter then promptly takes your order and presents you with an excellent choice of wines. I like the way the meal is presented and there is enough so that you are not left feeling hungry. I usually go here for special occasions as I like the quiet, romantic ambiance. I would definitely give this restaurant five stars plus.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2017

I proposed to my gf . Everything was perfect. Their staff are super friendly and super professional. 💍👫🥂💕 thank you so much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a special place to have a fantastic meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Live Music, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Food was good however overpriced. Menu small. Not enough choices.
Wine was outrageously overpriced.
Service was really good. Was a good meal. Would not return. There are far too many other venues to go to....very nice atmosphere however. The deciding factor for not returning was the price of a 9 oz glass of wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Excellent location, easy access from the highway and spectacular setting. Was like been in an old English countryside pub only with excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.