About Ancaster Mill

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada's most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Pearle Hospitality's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from nearby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Ancaster Mill also offers private rooms from 10-to 205 guests for Weddings, Special Occasions and Corporate Events. Our Special Event Consultants will co-ordinate and personalize your entire event. Our modern amenities, friendly and attentive staff and fantastic cuisine will ensure to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Rochelle Trask /Vicki DeNardis: 905-648-1828x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ancaster Mill
  • Ancaster Mill
  • Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
  • Sirloin Steak With Twice Baked Potato
  • Tri Tip Steak With Shrimp
  • Onion Soup
Ancaster Mill
Ancaster Mill
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Sirloin Steak With Twice Baked Potato
Tri Tip Steak With Shrimp
Onion Soup

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
Great for Brunch
Toronto / Ontario
Continental
Toronto / Ontario
7 More
Best Overall
Southern Ontario
Best Food
Southern Ontario
Best Service
Southern Ontario
Best Ambiance
Southern Ontario
Romantic
Southern Ontario
Special Occasion
Southern Ontario
Most Booked
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Ancaster ›

special occasion (138)
scenic view (135)
great for brunch (99)
See All
romantic (99)
good for groups (70)
fit for foodies (66)
great for lunch (40)
neighborhood gem (37)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome staff, awesome food and incredib ...

Dined 6 days ago

Awesome staff, awesome food and incredible ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3

We were expecting a lot more "wow" consi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were expecting a lot more "wow" considering the price and difficulty in getting a reservation. The food was good but it wasn't "great" .... maybe we set our expectations too high. The property and dining areas are beautiful. Our server was sporadic .... we won't rush back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top of the Sunday brunch List!

Dined on June 5, 2016

It takes a lot to impress me for Sunday Brunch and when a venue hits it on all fronts its really an occasion to share it with like-minded folks. Ancaster Mill in itself is a spectacular setting and the property has taken advantage of its Natural Surroundings to the fullest to compliment a stellar food line-up with great views throughout the many dining rooms. Then you have the food...the variety and quality make it in a league with world renown eateries. From the prime rib carving station with many options than just prime rib to the seafood station to the salads, variety f fresh breads, butters, and desert station they pretty much cover it all. Even you traditional eggs Benny or omelettes are tops and not merely taken for granted staples to serve on a buffet line. And then to make it really shine is a very professional and dedicated staff that give you great service with a never ending smile, touche!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect venue!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great meal with excellent service from Kyle and the ambiance is perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Rushed meal. Wouldn't return.

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

We went for lunch on a Thursday and the restaurant was not very busy. There were only 4 other tables of customers (2 to 4 people per table) and it was the start of lunch time (not the end) so there is not really any valid excuse for how rushed our meal was served. We ordered drinks as well as our soup and our main course. I clearly stated "we will start with whisky sours and then we'll have soup and ....". They served us our soup and bread first. Half way through our soup they served us our drinks and before we were done our drinks they served us our main course. We were very surprised a restaurant of this level wouldn't know that drinks should be served first and time allowed to enjoy them before they serve the bread and appetizers. Or they should have at least asked if we wanted it with our meal. Our table should have been a pretty view of the waterfalls but instead a delivery truck pulled up and we listened and watched rolling trays of supplies being brought in. We were sitting by the door and they had the door propped open so we listened to the rattling of the stainless steel trolleys of food being delivered during our lunch. Unusual to be making deliveries by the front entrance way past all of the restaurant windows and at the peak of lunch time. Not very professional. As far as the food, it definitely wasn't as good as we were expecting. The bread was very good as was the roast beef sandwich. Just make sure and ask for the beef to be cooked more than usual as we had it medium and it came rare. We also had the smoked salmon flatbread. The salmon was excellent but the flatbread was definitely not normal flatbread. The dough was very thick and it was more like a bun and very doughy. The soup was excellent though. We went else where for coffee and dessert. Definitely wouldn't recommend or return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Gem.

Dined on May 26, 2016

A delightful spot to have lunch on a summer day, with a superb view of the waterfall. The staff were exceedingly charming and the food outstanding. Delicate flavours and just the right size portions. Desserts are all made on the premises: the pecan pie is fabulous but the others are just as yummy - especially the mint chocolate ganache. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner and even better service. Be ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great dinner and even better service. Beautiful scenery as we sat next to the waterfall in the Fallsview Room. Steak was grilled perfectly. Will definitely come back for special occasions and date nights.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a delicious meal. Our table had a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a delicious meal. Our table had a fantastic view of the water. Our server Kyle was delightful and helpful. Amy the hostess provided a wine list a few days prior. The night was romantic and very special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our first anniversary here ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated our first anniversary here and were seated at a romantic table by the water fall and served 2 glasses of sparkling wine upon arrival. Nice touch! Sundays are "family style" and we loved it! The food was amazing with a wonderful selection of wines! Ancaster Mill is such a gem of a place!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I like fresh vegetables. Pickled vegeta ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I like fresh vegetables. Pickled vegetables just did not cut it. Sorry.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

overpriced

Dined on May 8, 2016

The overall experience was enjoyable and a good place to bring my mother for Mother's Day until I received the bill. It was double the price and I wasn't informed of this when j set up the reservation. I should have been informed and this frustrated me because I paid double the price and received nothing extra than if I had come on a normal Sunday. This was unreasonable and unfair. Flowers or extra menu items should've been included if the price was raised, because it makes it difficult for people to treat their mothers when the price is that high, and unexpectedly.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great

Dined on May 6, 2016

we went for our engagement dinner. the staff was terrific food was delicious. view was perfect. overall a very memorable night for us

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Setting and Great Food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great dynamic waterfall view. All of our dishes were beautifully prepared and presented. The chef was able to adapt menu choices for the vegan and gluten free requirements of our party. Wonderful service with reasonable prices. Enjoyed the refreshing lunch mocktails!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

We went to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Well, it was an excellent meal, the service was good and the cost was a little on the high, it was still an excellent evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice But Over-Priced

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food, service and atmosphere. However, $50/person for a self-serve buffet is unreasonable and unjustifiable. That fact lowered my overall rating to only "fair" in the value category.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Lovely dinner out with a friend

Dined on April 29, 2016

Service was attentive and nicely timed to give us lots of time to visit. My duck dish was attractively plated but the medium rare duck breast which looked great, was too tough to chew. The braised duck leg was better. I liked the bean and celery root mixture that it was served with but beans should be cooked enough that you can crush them with your tongue on the roof of the mouth. Under cooked beans are hard to digest. My friend and I both ordered the romaine gem lettuce. We liked it but my family would find it underdressed. The chocolate dessert was heavenly. The setting is beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday Supper

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Sunday Supper was a really nice idea! It was our first time there for that. We have been to the Sunday Brunch and really liked that. We were celebrating our 24th wedding anniversary and the scenic views were very romantic. One comment about the supper is that it would have been nice for each of us to have a leg of duck rather than sharing one. Other than that, it was very good and the food was delicious.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fabulous !!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Such a wonderful spot for a get together. Incredible food, outstanding service and great view! Truly 5 star every time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scenic Views are Beautiful!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Early Mother's Day Brunch to avoid the crowds in two weeks. At first I was disappointed the valet parking guy was no where to be found when we drove up and waited a few minutes so we dropped off the grandmas and went to park the car. It turned out to be a good thing because after brunch we slowly wandered up by the waterfall and the new path and across the bridge to the new chapel. It was a lovely slow walk back to the car and gave us the opportunity to take pictures. The chapel is gorgeous! We had our wedding reception in the 1812 room 25 years ago this September and if this had been open back then we would definitely have booked it as well. We are never disappointed by the food and ambiance at this location and will be back again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, As Always!

Dined on April 17, 2016

There's not much left to say about the Ancaster Mill - they know how to be amazing hosts, whether for for their restaurant or for weddings. I always enjoy going back for our anniversary (we got married there in 2014), and look forward to each visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Perfect Ambience

Dined on April 15, 2016

Perfect setting for the perfect anniversary. Staff were helpful, courteous, and well timed. Food and wine were excellent. All of which allowed us to enjoy a perfect memorable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Especially good for seafood lovers although it had a bit of everything. My only complaint was my egg benny was a bit on the cool side. Fresh oysters were the highlight. We tried both the prime rib and lamb and it was delicious.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just go!!!!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

What a completely wonderful place! BEAUTIFUL inside and out, wonderful service by very knowledgeable waitstaff, perfectly delicious - and beautifully presented - food. Just go! You will NOT be sorry!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect as usual

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great brunch. Highly recommended. We will come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Brunch!

Dined on April 3, 2016

We went to the Ancaster Mill for brunch this past Sunday to celebrate our first anniversary. My husband and I had our wedding here, so we already knew the food was incredible, but the brunch blew us away! There was so much variety, and everything we had tasted amazing! Our server was very attentive, even though the Mill was very busy. We will definitely be back in the future and have decided to make this brunch an annual anniversary celebration!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and perfect ambiance

Dined on April 2, 2016

Short ribs were incredible. All the food was amazing and the service was impeccable. Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter dinner at The Mill

Dined on March 27, 2016

Just didn't feel like cooking Easter dinner this year and I'm glad I didn't! The food was outstanding and the service so good. Our waiter was the best, he was always there when we needed him, knowledgeable and kind. Food was fabulous, we had the lamb and chicken. Salad and veggies served family style which we loved. Cooked just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a great time at the Easter Brunch. The service was fantastic and we really enjoyed all of the food offered. It was also a nice spot to get some family photos.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, Amazing food, Perfect Dinner

Dined on March 20, 2016

Went for a celebratory dinner after getting engaged earlier in the day. Once the waiter heard about the great news he immediately brought us complimentary champagne. Such a nice touch. All of the staff were AMAZING, very friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic as well. I was thoroughly impressed. All around perfect dinner in a lovely setting. I will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was amazing!!!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food and service was amazing!!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Brunch

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food selection was excellent. Noisy because restaurant was full with families included. The scenery was very nice - you forget that you're still mid city.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a find!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We went here on a Sunday because they were one of the few restaurants were open and it was not a pub style place. Sunday Supper was the only thing on the menu. It was not what we were used to, but it was very good. It's kinda like dinner for 2, but a lot better food. We chose the bacon wrapped sturgeon, which was meaty and kinda fishy. I liked it 'but my wife didn't. We chose the ribs second, which we both loved. The atmosphere was elegant and comfortable. The views were just amazing. We would love to try the regular menu (only if they weren't 2 1/2hours away).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for Sunday brunch, this was our thi ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch, this was our third time and it has always been excellent. The seafood is always a hit and the dessert bar is great as well. It's a great spot for special occasions and the building itself is absolutely gorgeous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Brunch but Expensive

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent brunch but expensive. 2 adults and 1 child is $155 with tax and tip relegating Ancaster Mill for special occasions only. There are no other complaints, every dish on its own would make an excellent meal, service is above reproach, valet parking is complimentary as are a selection of alcoholic beverages (Cesar's, mimosas, etc.).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My opinion

Dined on February 21, 2016

The eggs Benedict were cold, the variety was excellent as were the crepes. The price for a six year old was way too high. A fantastic place for photo taking.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

We decided to go for a nice dinner on a sat night and chose The Ancaster Mill. It was fairly busy but you would never know. The waiter was very attentive, the food amazing and the atmosphere awesome. Overall a great experience and very good value for your money. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful character, great food.

Dined on February 20, 2016

The price tag is a little high but the food is very well planned, prepared and presented. Locally sourced, and awesome wait staff. Always a wedding or two on the premise. Beautiful site.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A Good Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I attended this past Valentine's with my Girlfriend. The food was excellent, the staff were friendly and courteous and overall it was a good time. I did find the table we were given odd, since we were the only couple (or anyone for that matter) seated at a table that wasn't directly against a window or wall. This made us feel a little centred out, and awkward. Our server was wonderful, however, and made up for the seating arrangement. She spoke softly and kindly, and was quite helpful in avoiding foods that my Girlfriend is allergic to. Tip: Go earlier than later. We went around 5 o'clock for dinner and had no wait for our reservation. When we left around 6 or 7, there was a lineup of at least four couples waiting to be seated. Pros: + Good selection of food, accommodating for allergies + Extreme care and craftsmanship in every dish + Nice mood lighting, fantastic view. Cons: - Awkward music choice (conflicting assortment of Jazz, Smooth Jazz, Lounge, and Techno) - Awkward seating choice (personal experience)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch at the Ancaster Mill. The food and service was wonderful! Thank you for the memories.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

sunday brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

So originally we thought the reservation was for valentines day special menu, turns out it was for Sunday brunch. It is quite expensive $47 an adult but this includes champagne. There are several different food stations to choose from including hot room and cold room. It didn't impress me compared to their regular menu but it gives nice options especially for groups. The atmosphere is beautiful and quite kid friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.