About Ancaster Mill

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada's most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Pearle Hospitality's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from nearby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Ancaster Mill also offers private rooms from 10-to 205 guests for Weddings, Special Occasions and Corporate Events. Our Special Event Consultants will co-ordinate and personalize your entire event. Our modern amenities, friendly and attentive staff and fantastic cuisine will ensure to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Rochelle Trask /Vicki DeNardis: 905-648-1828x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ancaster Mill
  • Ancaster Mill
  • Onion Soup
  • Sirloin Steak With Twice Baked Potato
  • Tri Tip Steak With Shrimp
  • Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Ancaster Mill
Ancaster Mill
Onion Soup
Sirloin Steak With Twice Baked Potato
Tri Tip Steak With Shrimp
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
Great for Brunch
Toronto / Ontario
Continental
Toronto / Ontario
6 More
Best Overall
Southern Ontario
Best Service
Southern Ontario
Best Ambiance
Southern Ontario
Romantic
Southern Ontario
Special Occasion
Southern Ontario
Most Booked
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Ancaster ›

scenic view (138)
special occasion (138)
great for brunch (101)
See All
romantic (95)
fit for foodies (66)
good for groups (63)
great for lunch (46)
neighborhood gem (33)
great for outdoor dining (19)
notable wine list (14)
kid-friendly (13)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The place was beautiful, the service was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

The place was beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was amazing. Really loved the experience and I thought it worth a lot more than we paid!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved a table for Sunday Brunch on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

I reserved a table for Sunday Brunch on July 24th. At the time I reserved, I asked if possible that we have a window near the waterfalls or by a wall. We were given a fantastic table right in front of the waterfalls. It was amazing. My sister frequently goes to the Mill but this is only my second time and will certainly return. The surroundings are unlike anything else around, staff was extremely friendly and the food was just right.

Thanks again.

Nancy Miller

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We got married at Ancaster Mill a year a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

We got married at Ancaster Mill a year ago and we went back for brunch as we heard it was fantastic. Everyone was right it was great, our server was polite and didn't push us or anything.

If anyone wants to have a expensive brunch, that's worth the price it's here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took a very dear friend who was visiting ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Took a very dear friend who was visiting from Sweden. I really wanted this to be fab and the Ancaster did not disappoint. Such a variety of excellent food choices. We so enjoyed our Sunday morning and our visitor will be singing your praises all the way home!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing atmosphere! We have had much be ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Amazing atmosphere! We have had much better here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It took forever to have anyone come to o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It took forever to have anyone come to our table after we were seated. The service was terrible throughout. Coffee was not warmed up. Servers removed cutlery with plates and didn't replace it. Everything we needed or wanted had to be asked for. Staff in the hot food area ignored diners. The food and setting may have been lovely, but it was not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Excellent Brunch Menu. Wide variety of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent Brunch Menu. Wide variety of items. Good Service.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

What a lovely location and ambience. Wit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a lovely location and ambience. With company, big or small, the great scenery and food is a must for Hamiltonians.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Every year we come to the Old Mill, we ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Every year we come to the Old Mill, we were married there and like to return on our anniversary. We've noticed in the last couple of years there has been a decline in the taste of the food. This year my husband ordered the steak in which he was very disappointed. I had the cavetelli which was satisfactory. We didn't have any desire to stay for dessert based on our dinner. My husband commented that the cut of the steak was poor and taste was bland.

We'll likely continue coming for our anniversary for nostalgic reasons and hope that the quality of food improves.

The service, as always was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Pro: Food was good and there were a lot ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pro: Food was good and there were a lot of variety. View of fall in some dining areas

Con: Had a reservation for 12 but did not get a table until 12:45. We requested a table by the falls and I thought we waited so long because they were trying to get us a table by the falls.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

My husband and I went to the Ancaster Mi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I went to the Ancaster Mill recently for brunch. I had heard a few wonderful comments about it and had to see for myself. Our wait wasn't too long and we were seated sort of in the middle section where all food was easily accessible, Mimosas, Bloody caesars and Kir Royale were the choices of alcoholic beverages with our brunch and did not disappoint. The food was delicious -I enjoyed vasts amounts of crab leg, oysters on the half shell and smoked salmon. There is something for everyone. Salads with both a mix salad and vegetable salad, a cheese varietal, hot food items and of course the dessert table! Will come back again and celebrate something else!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although we had made reservations, we ha ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Although we had made reservations, we had to wait more than 30 minutes, before we were seated.

Dining room was very noisy and very crowded.

Although the food was exquisite, we overall prefer Ancaster Mill's sister company Spencer's in Burlington.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a great experience! The food, se ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a great experience! The food, service ,ambiance and attention to detail were perfect. We celebrated our 55 wedding anniversary and it was a totally, successfull affair.

A more extensive menu would most likely be appreciated by most diners.

Helmut Klauss

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, menu, service and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, menu, service and value. Have already recommended this venue to friends,

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We dined for our first wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We dined for our first wedding anniversary. I loved the menu, and was eager to try the Rabbit Turine. It was delicious! My main was tenderloin, which was almost cooked to how I like it, almost. The only thing I didn't care for was the crispy potatoes. The texture and taste was weird for me. The hubby liked them though, so I was alone there. Was 2 dinners, and appetizer and two drinks worth $160? Not really, but it's a tradition since we had our wedding reception there. Suck up the price since it's only once a year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was amazing. My mother can't hav ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was amazing. My mother can't have any salt in her food. So at sunday brunch the waiter and chef went and made for her a wonderful salmon dish with no added salt. This was our fifth time at the Ancaster Mill....we will definitely return. It's our favourite. Thank you for such wonderful service.

Regina Marusic

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Setting and atmosphere was outstanding. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Setting and atmosphere was outstanding.

There was no lack of choice for variety on the menu of top quality items.

Waiter/Waitress were very accommodating and friendly making us feel most welcome and at home in a professional manner.

We thoroughly enjoyed the occasion and look forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was May first time at Ancaster Mill r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was May first time at Ancaster Mill restaurant.

We came in group of 6 for Sunday brunch

Food was good but we had to wait almost 20 min to be seated even with the confirmed reservation.

There is not many warm food choices for vegetarians. Loved prosecco.

Personally I wasn't happy with the place I was seated; yes I did make a request during my reservation.

There was not enough room at the table. Everyone was very squished.

It was very loud and almost felt like train station eatery.

Not sure if I go back.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Have been to Ancaster Mill 5 times now. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Have been to Ancaster Mill 5 times now. Every time when I left, I told myself that I want to come back soon. Good food quality and variety, great service, great environment. One of my most favourite restaurants, even though it's an hour drive away!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at this establishment many ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I have dined at this establishment many times over the years and have never been disappointed until lunch on June 30th.

Three of my guests had the steak sandwich. It was tough and all three left a good portion of it on their plates. I had the smoked salmon on flat bread. It was forgettable with little flavour and certainly not worth the $21 charge. My other guest had the Spanish omelette. He said it was acceptable but no different from any omelette you would get anywhere else.

Fortunately it was a beautiful day and with the waterfall in the background and the outdoor setting it helped make up for what was lacking in the culinary department but unfortunately didn't do much for how I felt as a hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent fine dining, healthy dining, r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent fine dining, healthy dining, romantic dining, and business dining. A great option, when price is not a concern. If you can appreciate high quality food, service and ambiance, then it is a great value.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location of the restaurant is outsta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The location of the restaurant is outstanding. The meal option we chose was done in a "shared platter" fashion which was very enjoyable. What does suffer from that approach is that the chef does not present to meal to you as a piece of art on a plate. The chef was very willing and did a great job of accommodating the 3 vegans and 3 meat eaters that were at our table. Thanks very much for a memorable special occasion!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

If only there was a no child section thi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

If only there was a no child section this place would be perfect. My favourite brunch place by far. The most courteous service as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed our evening but more choice on t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Enjoyed our evening but more choice on the menu would be nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time at the Ancaster ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second time at the Ancaster Mill, we went the first to celebrate a special event with 4 people and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The most recent time was a very special occasion both of my daughters were graduating University in the same week and we wanted to mark the occasion with a very nice quiet family meal! I requested a table through OPEN TABLE to be quiet as well as if possible in a specific location in the Mill,I also called the Friday before to confirm the table and explained how special the day was to be and again the need for a quiet table.

Much to our disappointment upon arriving we were place in the middle of the Restaurant near a lot of hustle and noise and exactly not were we had asked to be placed.

What has happened to customer service and listening to the customer we wont be back!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

Awesome staff, awesome food and incredib ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome staff, awesome food and incredible ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were expecting a lot more "wow" consi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were expecting a lot more "wow" considering the price and difficulty in getting a reservation. The food was good but it wasn't "great" .... maybe we set our expectations too high. The property and dining areas are beautiful. Our server was sporadic .... we won't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Top of the Sunday brunch List!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It takes a lot to impress me for Sunday Brunch and when a venue hits it on all fronts its really an occasion to share it with like-minded folks. Ancaster Mill in itself is a spectacular setting and the property has taken advantage of its Natural Surroundings to the fullest to compliment a stellar food line-up with great views throughout the many dining rooms. Then you have the food...the variety and quality make it in a league with world renown eateries. From the prime rib carving station with many options than just prime rib to the seafood station to the salads, variety f fresh breads, butters, and desert station they pretty much cover it all. Even you traditional eggs Benny or omelettes are tops and not merely taken for granted staples to serve on a buffet line. And then to make it really shine is a very professional and dedicated staff that give you great service with a never ending smile, touche!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect venue!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great meal with excellent service from Kyle and the ambiance is perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rushed meal. Wouldn't return.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We went for lunch on a Thursday and the restaurant was not very busy. There were only 4 other tables of customers (2 to 4 people per table) and it was the start of lunch time (not the end) so there is not really any valid excuse for how rushed our meal was served. We ordered drinks as well as our soup and our main course. I clearly stated "we will start with whisky sours and then we'll have soup and ....". They served us our soup and bread first. Half way through our soup they served us our drinks and before we were done our drinks they served us our main course. We were very surprised a restaurant of this level wouldn't know that drinks should be served first and time allowed to enjoy them before they serve the bread and appetizers. Or they should have at least asked if we wanted it with our meal.

Our table should have been a pretty view of the waterfalls but instead a delivery truck pulled up and we listened and watched rolling trays of supplies being brought in. We were sitting by the door and they had the door propped open so we listened to the rattling of the stainless steel trolleys of food being delivered during our lunch. Unusual to be making deliveries by the front entrance way past all of the restaurant windows and at the peak of lunch time. Not very professional.

As far as the food, it definitely wasn't as good as we were expecting. The bread was very good as was the roast beef sandwich. Just make sure and ask for the beef to be cooked more than usual as we had it medium and it came rare. We also had the smoked salmon flatbread. The salmon was excellent but the flatbread was definitely not normal flatbread. The dough was very thick and it was more like a bun and very doughy. The soup was excellent though. We went else where for coffee and dessert.

Definitely wouldn't recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Little Gem.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

A delightful spot to have lunch on a summer day, with a superb view of the waterfall. The staff were exceedingly charming and the food outstanding. Delicate flavours and just the right size portions. Desserts are all made on the premises: the pecan pie is fabulous but the others are just as yummy - especially the mint chocolate ganache. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner and even better service. Be ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great dinner and even better service. Beautiful scenery as we sat next to the waterfall in the Fallsview Room. Steak was grilled perfectly. Will definitely come back for special occasions and date nights.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delicious meal. Our table had a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a delicious meal. Our table had a fantastic view of the water. Our server Kyle was delightful and helpful. Amy the hostess provided a wine list a few days prior. The night was romantic and very special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our first anniversary here ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated our first anniversary here and were seated at a romantic table by the water fall and served 2 glasses of sparkling wine upon arrival. Nice touch! Sundays are "family style" and we loved it! The food was amazing with a wonderful selection of wines! Ancaster Mill is such a gem of a place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like fresh vegetables. Pickled vegeta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I like fresh vegetables. Pickled vegetables just did not cut it. Sorry.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

overpriced

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The overall experience was enjoyable and a good place to bring my mother for Mother's Day until I received the bill. It was double the price and I wasn't informed of this when j set up the reservation. I should have been informed and this frustrated me because I paid double the price and received nothing extra than if I had come on a normal Sunday. This was unreasonable and unfair. Flowers or extra menu items should've been included if the price was raised, because it makes it difficult for people to treat their mothers when the price is that high, and unexpectedly.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

great

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

we went for our engagement dinner. the staff was terrific food was delicious. view was perfect. overall a very memorable night for us

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Setting and Great Food!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great dynamic waterfall view. All of our dishes were beautifully prepared and presented. The chef was able to adapt menu choices for the vegan and gluten free requirements of our party. Wonderful service with reasonable prices. Enjoyed the refreshing lunch mocktails!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We went to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Well, it was an excellent meal, the service was good and the cost was a little on the high, it was still an excellent evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice But Over-Priced

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food, service and atmosphere. However, $50/person for a self-serve buffet is unreasonable and unjustifiable. That fact lowered my overall rating to only "fair" in the value category.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.