About Ancaster Mill

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada's most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Pearle Hospitality's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from nearby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Ancaster Mill also offers private rooms from 10-to 205 guests for Weddings, Special Occasions and Corporate Events. Our Special Event Consultants will co-ordinate and personalize your entire event. Our modern amenities, friendly and attentive staff and fantastic cuisine will ensure to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Rochelle Trask /Vicki DeNardis: 905-648-1828x

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ancaster Mill
  • Ancaster Mill
  • Onion Soup
  • Sirloin Steak With Twice Baked Potato
  • Tri Tip Steak With Shrimp
  • Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Ancaster Mill
Ancaster Mill
Onion Soup
Sirloin Steak With Twice Baked Potato
Tri Tip Steak With Shrimp
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
Great for Brunch
Toronto / Ontario
Scenic View
Toronto / Ontario
6 More
Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Southern Ontario
Best Ambiance
Southern Ontario
Romantic
Southern Ontario
Special Occasion
Southern Ontario
Most Booked
Southern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Ancaster ›

Special Occasion (135)
Scenic View (133)
Great for Brunch (89)
See All
Romantic (86)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Good for Groups (58)
Great for Lunch (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed a return visit with friends,Food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a return visit with friends,Food good,service good,only problem,being elderly the noise level bothered me.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We drive from Buffalo, NY to dine at thi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

We drive from Buffalo, NY to dine at this beautiful restaurant and are never disappointed.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great atmosphere - BEAUTIFUL location! T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great atmosphere - BEAUTIFUL location! There was a waterfall directly beside our seat. Lots of great outdoor seating as well. It is quite pricey but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Am not satisfied with the vegetables. I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Am not satisfied with the vegetables. I would think there would be a better selection of grilled or lightly greased veggies. The sesame bokchoy was a nice light change. I find the hot veggies are more miss than hit.

It would also be nice to have a seasonal soup. I know it's been hot this summer but soups are often s nice, light selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Lovely restaurant great food, good servi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lovely restaurant great food, good service. The one thing that I was disappointed with was that when I made the reservation I specifically told them it was for an anniversary. When I got there I also mentioned it to the server but nothing was done for the occasion but I saw other tables receiving something for their occasions. It was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely amazing as always. We were ma ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Absolutely amazing as always. We were married here and return every year for our anniversary. We are never disappointed. The food is always different and such wonderful choices which sometimes makes us wish there were more of us to order one of everything. The staff and service is by far superior to any other location, always attentive and so very friendly. Every year it's like celebrating our anniversary with friends. Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location is superb as is the decor. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The location is superb as is the decor. The lunch service was very good but slow. The soup claimed to be a Minestrone; it was not. I did not enjoy it. The lingcod was fine. The bed of chopped zucchini and peas and what not on which it lay was tasty. The lettuce/watercress thingy superfluous. The shrimp dumplings were shrimp dumplings. I did enjoy the confit potatoes side order. I recommend that small labels identify the the wonderful pies on display; I did not get what I thought I was getting. However, my dessert was very tasty as was the Tom Collins starter. JosephM

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. It was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. It was made great by an accomplished friendly server, a beautiful nature view and a very spacious and comfortable table for the 4 of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 35 wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We celebrated our 35 wedding anniversary. The food, the atmosphere, the service was excellent! Can't wait to go again. The waitress was so warm and nice. She even went outside and took a picture for us with the beautiful falls in the background. Loved it'

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only glitch in our experience was th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The only glitch in our experience was that we waited over 30 minutes to be seated. I know it can be difficult to judge timing at a buffet brunch but hopefully this can be rectified by better spacing of reservations.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Ancaster Old Mill has provided my wi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Ancaster Old Mill has provided my wife and I with endless memories. From our wedding day, to our routine brunches and anniversary celebrations. The service is unparalleled! We will continue to use the Ancaster Old Mill for our special occasions, as they always deliver on their promise of an excellent dining/overall experience.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and location. The noise l ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and location.

The noise level was much too loud which limited conversation. My sisters seat was hit by the washroom door each time it opened.

I walk with a cane and was almost knocked over by a child that hit me on the left side then cut in front of me. They were quite a few inattentive parents that Sunday judging by the wailing of children.

I have decided not to host my wedding brunch there due to the factors which the restaurant has no control.

Despite a good meal, I will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The last two times I have been to the An ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The last two times I have been to the Ancaster Mill (in the past two months) there were 2-3 staff members outside in the valet area but both times, no one welcomed us at the outside doors, directed us to the entrance (3 doors to choose from can be confusing), or even opened a door for us (I thought that would have been a nice touch). This time our reservation was for noon, when got inside we had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated, which was fine. The waiting room was packed - maybe they could start offering the mimosas at that point?

Our server(s) were really nice and friendly, mimosa's were offered, but coffee was not offered to those not drinking (they had to request it). Plates were cleared promptly.

Food selection, and presentation is impressive. The girl who makes the crepes is very nice, and does a really good job. I brought her over some strawberries and she happily cut them up for me to put into my crepe.

I am not sure if anything can be done about this, but the restaurant was SO LOUD!! Guests seem to be screaming over each other. The last time I was there it was the same (10:00am seating), I thought it was because we were next to a table full of children, but this time it was the same - maybe even louder.

We were celebrating two birthdays that day, and at the end of our meal our servers brought out a tangy lemon meringue cup for each of the birthdays - which was a nice touch! Thanks to your staff!

Stopped for a quick bathroom break on the way out and had to wait in line for a few minutes - the bathrooms are so very for a venue that size - maybe there are more bathrooms that I am not aware of. Otherwise not bad, and they were clean - the lady next to me was calling for toilet paper - hers had run out, and no paper towels - everyone was using a roll of toilet paper on the counter to dry their hands.

Love the waterfall, nice venue, and overall a great place to eat. I will always highly recommend the Ancaster Mill.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We arrived from Alberta and stopped to v ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We arrived from Alberta and stopped to visit with family before continuing on to NB . There were six family members getting together for brunch and reliving old times in Ancaster . The food was excellent and there were lots of choices to suit everyone's taste . The mill itself is worth the visit ! The staff were very friendly and helpful . We will be back on our next visit to On. We did find it noisy in the area that we were sitting but there was a lot of people and one group was celebrating a birthday .

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family attended the Ancaster Mill to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our family attended the Ancaster Mill to celebrate my husband's birthday.

We opted to have the 4 course dinner where the restaurant serves small portions of the favourites. What a great experience to sample foods that we would not normally order.

Everything was beautifully prepared and presented and very satisfying.

The server, David, was attentive, friendly and respectful.

We were surprised when the waiter came out with a birthday candle as we don't recall stating our occasion.

It was a memorable, special night

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined a few times here before, b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have dined a few times here before, but this was the first time we came for brunch. Overall, it was clear we purchased quantity over quality. We did not think it was worth the hefty price tag. My husband got food poisoning from the seafood, no exaggeration. We also arrived to our table and one of our saucers below a coffee cup was stuck to the table under a large mound of icing. We were the first seating so it's a mystery how that even happened. Overall, I'd still recommend Ancaster Mill for dining, but the brunch was well below expectations and not worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

This was my first visit to the Ancaster ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was my first visit to the Ancaster Mill. I had heard the brunch was good so I decided to take my parents to celebrate a special occasion. We arrived shortly after 9:30 am, and there was a glut of people waiting in the lobby. This was confusing. Apparently there was a delay in opening and seating parties. About 15 min later we were seated. The food was good. Selection was very interesting. The spot is beautifully situated by a small falls and some gardens. Inside the resteraunt it was a bit loud. We commented that some jazz or classical music would have helped. The top 40 music that was playing cheapened the setting. Wait staff was very professional but personable, helpful and friendly. Perhaps consider offering a discount for vegetarians. Meat and seafood are much more expensive than vegetarian offerings.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent but not as much hot food selec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent but not as much hot food selection as I was expecting.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Ancaster Mill is a fabulous spot for wed ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ancaster Mill is a fabulous spot for weddings, get togethers with friends or intimate couples dining. A gorgeous property setting involving the old mill falls with lots of outside scenery and in door use of old rock glass and wood. Staff was helpful, knowledgeable, attentive and respectful. Great menu using locally sourced produce by season (greens, vegetables snd fruit). Food selection was interesting, unique and very delicious, with definite value. We had a great time over a late Friday lunch. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have written our review to Annie Smit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have written our review to Annie Smith and she has responded to us by phone.

We do not want our review to her published.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Value for $ not where it should be $40-5 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Value for $ not where it should be $40-50/person is quite expensive.

Additionally it would have been better to have all families with small children located into one part of the restaurant. The restaurant certainly has the space so this would make the dining e perience of those without children more enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The atmosphere was really friendly and t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The atmosphere was really friendly and the scenery outside the window was really beautiful. The food as always was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

think they could seat people for brunch ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

think they could seat people for brunch as they arrive instead of waiting until after 9:30

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

An enjoyable dining experience for all f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

An enjoyable dining experience for all four of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed with the Ancaster Mil ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Never disappointed with the Ancaster Mill! Delicious food, and great setting!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for a special anniversary lunch. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We went for a special anniversary lunch. It was fantastic! However, I would have found it expensive for a simple lunch date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, great service with gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great atmosphere, great service with great staff. Food was great and great place for business meeting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The place was beautiful, the service was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The place was beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was amazing. Really loved the experience and I thought it worth a lot more than we paid!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved a table for Sunday Brunch on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I reserved a table for Sunday Brunch on July 24th. At the time I reserved, I asked if possible that we have a window near the waterfalls or by a wall. We were given a fantastic table right in front of the waterfalls. It was amazing. My sister frequently goes to the Mill but this is only my second time and will certainly return. The surroundings are unlike anything else around, staff was extremely friendly and the food was just right.

Thanks again.

Nancy Miller

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We got married at Ancaster Mill a year a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We got married at Ancaster Mill a year ago and we went back for brunch as we heard it was fantastic. Everyone was right it was great, our server was polite and didn't push us or anything.

If anyone wants to have a expensive brunch, that's worth the price it's here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took a very dear friend who was visiting ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Took a very dear friend who was visiting from Sweden. I really wanted this to be fab and the Ancaster did not disappoint. Such a variety of excellent food choices. We so enjoyed our Sunday morning and our visitor will be singing your praises all the way home!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing atmosphere! We have had much be ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Amazing atmosphere! We have had much better here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It took forever to have anyone come to o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It took forever to have anyone come to our table after we were seated. The service was terrible throughout. Coffee was not warmed up. Servers removed cutlery with plates and didn't replace it. Everything we needed or wanted had to be asked for. Staff in the hot food area ignored diners. The food and setting may have been lovely, but it was not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Excellent Brunch Menu. Wide variety of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent Brunch Menu. Wide variety of items. Good Service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

What a lovely location and ambience. Wit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a lovely location and ambience. With company, big or small, the great scenery and food is a must for Hamiltonians.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Every year we come to the Old Mill, we ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Every year we come to the Old Mill, we were married there and like to return on our anniversary. We've noticed in the last couple of years there has been a decline in the taste of the food. This year my husband ordered the steak in which he was very disappointed. I had the cavetelli which was satisfactory. We didn't have any desire to stay for dessert based on our dinner. My husband commented that the cut of the steak was poor and taste was bland.

We'll likely continue coming for our anniversary for nostalgic reasons and hope that the quality of food improves.

The service, as always was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Pro: Food was good and there were a lot ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pro: Food was good and there were a lot of variety. View of fall in some dining areas

Con: Had a reservation for 12 but did not get a table until 12:45. We requested a table by the falls and I thought we waited so long because they were trying to get us a table by the falls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

My husband and I went to the Ancaster Mi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I went to the Ancaster Mill recently for brunch. I had heard a few wonderful comments about it and had to see for myself. Our wait wasn't too long and we were seated sort of in the middle section where all food was easily accessible, Mimosas, Bloody caesars and Kir Royale were the choices of alcoholic beverages with our brunch and did not disappoint. The food was delicious -I enjoyed vasts amounts of crab leg, oysters on the half shell and smoked salmon. There is something for everyone. Salads with both a mix salad and vegetable salad, a cheese varietal, hot food items and of course the dessert table! Will come back again and celebrate something else!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although we had made reservations, we ha ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Although we had made reservations, we had to wait more than 30 minutes, before we were seated.

Dining room was very noisy and very crowded.

Although the food was exquisite, we overall prefer Ancaster Mill's sister company Spencer's in Burlington.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a great experience! The food, se ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a great experience! The food, service ,ambiance and attention to detail were perfect. We celebrated our 55 wedding anniversary and it was a totally, successfull affair.

A more extensive menu would most likely be appreciated by most diners.

Helmut Klauss

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.