Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi
  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi
  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi

About Ancaster Mill

One of the most sought after restaurants for a Sunday brunch or a dinner celebration, Ancaster Mill epitomizes the spirit of great hospitality. By looking to the harvest for inspiration, our chefs are able to provide guests with a culinary experience that highlights the spectacular local, seasonal ingredients from our Earth to Table farm and Craft Cut butcher.
Situated beside a creek, with a large dining room built out overlooking the falls, Ancaster Mill is in demand year-round for weddings, family or corporate events and celebrations. Restored to keep its authentic character intact, this is a place where ambience fuses with fine food and great service.

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Sunday Dinner at Ancaster Mill!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Sunday Dinner at Ancaster Mill!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Gather at the table for seasonal, chef inspired dishes to share with family and friends. Every Sunday evening, served family-style. $49/person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please let us know any allergies upon booking. Special valid May 28, 2017 - Sep 28, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Scenic View (56)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Good for a Date (38)
Romantic (38)
Local Ingredients (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Great for Brunch (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Great for Lunch (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Waterfront (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (13)
Healthy (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Organic (7)
Vegan (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Music (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic menu, service, ambiance. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I went to the Old Mill to celebrate our wedding anniversary (we also got married there and it was amazing!) The service was great, the food was amazing and it was a fantastic atmosphere to celebrate in. It was quiet and we were able to talk easily. They even gave us complementary champagne to celebrate. It is definitely worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Classy dinning, my absolute favourite for a day out.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent choices. Awesome quality. We were there for brunch

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Best brunch in Hamilton. Not the cheapest option by far but, with exceptional food and setting, you get what you pay for. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a great evening. I reserved the dinner online and told them that it was our anniversary, they reserved for us a table right by the water falls, it was beautiful. The staff were very friendly. Our waiter was very nice, wished us a happy anniversary, and gave us complementary champagne. He was attentive to our needs, and was not rushing us, which was nice with it being our anniversary. Our meal was delicious, the flavours in my pork and my wife's chicken were fantastic. Our desert was great too. We would highly recommend the Ancaster Old Mill, and would go back again.

Thanks for a nice evening,
Tim & Tina

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Just a fabulous place to visit and eat, very nice location and very nice ambiance with the water falls and historic buildings

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vegan, Fun, Cozy, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great venue. From the appearance to the food very good highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We are foodies, and not easily in awe of most meals in restaurants. But the food here, atmosphere and service was out of this world! The menu items were creative and exceptionally tasty using local produce. The presentation rivaled meals that we have enjoyed in Michelin rated restaurants in France. Bravo to the chef and the staff.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Beautiful setting; service great and food very good. Will go back again for sure

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Waterfront, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2017

As the restaurant entrance from the road is under reconstruction -- MUCH BETTER signage foe the detour would be very helpful. A member of staff kindly called to confirm my reservation but didn't mention the change of entrance -- wasted 1/2 hour trying to find it.
No hostess around when arrived and wandered/found our own way in -- it's not that clear ...

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food choice good, fresh with many local items. Far too noisy! Service excellent! A bit pricey for brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great fresh food with local ingredients and seasonal dishes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. After waiting about 15 minutes at the front which I thought was a little long, they made up for it by seating us in the falls view room. We had the pork chop and it was one of the best I've had. Enjoy!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

A pleasant amiable place to eat with beautiful surroundings ,excellent food and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Organic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Went for our 10th wedding anniversary. A small anecdote from the evening illustrates the excellence at this restaurant: upon being seated, free "champagne" was brought to my wife and I. My wife is 7.5 months pregnant and our server noticed and had actually filled her flute with non-alcoholic sparkling grape juice. I was impressed. The food and service were out of this world. One of the best dining experiences in my life across travels that have spanned 20+ countries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Ancaster Mill was an absolute delight. The venue is incredible with the waterfalls and foliage.
The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was fresh and delicious.
If you ever have a chance to try this restaurant...don't miss it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2017

"QUIET CONVERSATION" is a LAUGH!
The people in the restaurant were boorish; they had no idea of allowing others to carry on their own conversations.
I would not recommend this location for seniors!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had celebrated our son's birthday at Ancaster Mill two year ago (last year, we were not in Canada), and this year, he strongly hoped to go to Ancaster Mill for his birthday, again. They prepared a nice table. Service and food were excellent. They also prepared the birthday cake. My son was so happy and enjoyed the time. Thank you.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Nice View and Good experice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Enjoyed our Sunday Brunch the food was delicious 😋 great variety, nice and hot great juice bar and salad and loved the crepes

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Amazing food! Been some time going to something other than the chain "higher" end restaurants. I forgot what it is to eat exceptional food.

Only complaint, when making the reservation I mentioned that it was our first time back to the old mill in 21 years exactly to the day, we got married there and moved away right afterwards. I would've thought there would've been some mention of that during the meal . I wasn't looking for anything free it just would've been nice to have had some acknowledgement of that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent service and food is fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Meal and service were excellent. Bread was warm and delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Incredible view. Great food and variety for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We made the stop on our way home to Mi. from Muskoka, ON. Was fabulous . A beautiful Inn.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Waterfront, Fun, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Outstanding!! My husband and I are now going to celebrate every anniversary there! :) We are so fortunate to have such an amazing place locally!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Not only was it our Wedding Anniversary, this location is where my wife and I were married. The food was amazing 8 years ago, and it is still amazing now. The Rib Eye Steak was one of the best I have ever had, cooked to a perfect Medium Rare. The presentation of the food was great, and the sides of a garlic braised zucchini and potatoes were a nice compliment to the meal. My wife had the Chicken, and it was also very well done. The only downside was the noise level of the other diners, while there were only 5 other tables in the immediate area, they were all louder than normal, probably due to the waterfall right outside, but that did detract from the overall ambience just a little. Service was excellent, the waiter was very attentive and treated us very well.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very expensive. But no kidding, the Steak was the best I’ve ever eaten in my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Birthday , very rustic, great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

A most divine evening shared with my hubby, celebrating anniversry of our first date!! Romantic, intimate dining experience. We enjoyed the first menu of this year's harvest! Food was suberly presented and cooked! Champange for our special occasion, a nice touch!! Every part of the evening, stary night, full moon, waterfall, dinner, atmosphere, servers was exceptional!!!!! Well done and thank you so very much!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We loved it so much. It's absolutely gorgeous. Loved it so much were having our wedding there next year! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

My wife and I were married there 8 years ago and always go back for our anniversary. Every year the service is fantastic and the food is delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Had a nice time, pleasant environment, friendly staff, great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2017

great ambiance, spent evening with my Son celebrating 22nd birthday. We had a great time, I particularly loved the way that he was made to feel special. That was some feat and totally appropriate !

food was exquisite as always.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

very popular brunch place in a beautiful Mills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A very disappointing experience. I was there on Sunday July 23rd for a special occasion brunch. I had made reservations 3 weeks prior to this date requesting either a window table or a table in the waterfall room. I did not receive any feedback as to this not being possible. We ended up being seated at one of the worst tables in the restaurant, next to the buffet and also where all the wait staff were coming and going . The noise level was such that the two of us could not hear each other talk. WE ate as quickly as we could and left, our outing being totally spoiled

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was exceptionally good. The service was perfect and the Falls View Room is so beautiful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It is worth a drive to this restaurant. Always friendly always good food.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great Sunday brunch items, but be prepared for lots of little ones running a mock (great time for new parents to sit and enjoy a meal together, while a group of strangers watch their kids) 11:00am things seem to quiet down, a bit. Could be a few more vegan options considering The Ancaster Mills affiliation with local farms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.