About Ancaster Mill

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada's most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Pearle Hospitality's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from nearby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Ancaster Mill also offers private rooms from 10-to 205 guests for Weddings, Special Occasions and Corporate Events. Our Special Event Consultants will co-ordinate and personalize your entire event. Our modern amenities, friendly and attentive staff and fantastic cuisine will ensure to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Rochelle Trask /Vicki DeNardis: (905) 648-1828

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Onion Soup - Ancaster Mill, Ancaster, ON
Sirloin Steak With Twice Baked Potato - Ancaster Mill, Ancaster, ON
Tri Tip Steak With Shrimp  - Ancaster Mill, Ancaster, ON
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake - Ancaster Mill, Ancaster, ON

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Featuring a seasonal a la carte menu

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (52)
Great for Brunch (49)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Worth the Drive (34)
Historic (32)
Romantic (31)
Local Ingredients (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Seasonal (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Waterfront (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Family Style (14)
Fireplace (12)
Fun (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Private Room (11)
Authentic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Casual (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a wonderful dinner here. Great fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a wonderful dinner here. Great food, beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot for special occasions, dates ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great spot for special occasions, dates or family Sunday dinners. Food is fantastic and service staff is attentive and courteous. The grounds themself including the waterfalls are amazing and worth viewing on their own.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I come every year on our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I come every year on our anniversary. We look forward to coming each year and are never disappointed with the food or service. The complimentary mimosa's are a special treat and there is such a great variety of brunch options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We've been going there for Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We've been going there for Sunday Brunch for number of years because the food is great.

Last Sunday we were shock how much the restaurant has changed. The service was terrible of course; dishes were never picked up by servers unless we asked them to take them away.

constant asking for water and coffee. Also the attitude was not pleasant.

This is not a complaint. Please don't get me wrong but, the music was too loud (it was never this loud in the past by the way).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great venue. Excellent food that is wel ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great venue. Excellent food that is well made. attentive staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was amazing and friendly. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The staff was amazing and friendly. The food is always great.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booking with Open Table was efficient. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Booking with Open Table was efficient. Location of restaurant very scenic. Good fresh, local inspired cuisine. Well presented dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We didn't find it as good as it has been ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We didn't find it as good as it has been. We had expected more for New Year's Day.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a wonderful experience and an out ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a wonderful experience and an outstanding location!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So nice to be able to have a lunch over ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

So nice to be able to have a lunch over the holidays! food and experience was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Nice atmosphere! Lovely view ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food!

Nice atmosphere!

Lovely view of the waterfalls!

Always enjoy this restaurant!

Staff are excellent! Especially the servers!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location and setting are perfect, so ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The location and setting are perfect, so the view is outstanding. The salad was wonderful but the main course (seafood dish) was disappointing; lacked colour, taste and seafood pieces were very small. The service is very good.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious Arctic Char. Highly recommend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious Arctic Char. Highly recommend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant experience. Service was e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Service was excellent food was good and the setting is spectacular.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After all these years -- decades really ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

After all these years -- decades really -- my party of three had its first disappointing experience. The turkey was tasteless, the stuffing needed some herbs to make it come alive and there was a thimbleful of gravy. Only the red cabbage was flavourful. We were so discouraged that we didn't order either dessert or specialty coffee and just went home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Christmas Eve dinner was superb..... As ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner was superb..... As usual, the Ancaster Old Mill delivered elegance, both in style and cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated four birthdays, from five ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We celebrated four birthdays, from five to eighty two and everyone had a great time for all even the two non celebrants. It will be remembered as a special family event.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding evening for ambiance, was co ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding evening for ambiance, was concerned about the service. In particular, we had asked the server if their were any nuts in the rizzoto when it arrived, we did not hear from him until much later, by then the dish was getting cold. He had forgotten until we got his attention.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Perfect for a longer lunch meeting. Serv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Perfect for a longer lunch meeting. Service was excellent. Food was very nice, well presented, and memorable. Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pretty setting and friendly service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very pretty setting and friendly service. My only criticisms would be that we had a reservation but had to wait about 15 minutes because the table was not ready. The service started out well but then the waiter seemed to get lost for periods of time so that our meal took three hours, which is about an hour longer than I wanted to spend there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a beautiful sunny day with ice on ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was a beautiful sunny day with ice on the waterfall, making the beautiful of the restaurant and surrounding area outstanding. Loved the wood burning fireplace. Unfortunately the food and service was mediocre. The chestnut soup was tasty but the crème franchisee was way too much for the meager amount of soup. The kale salad was very salty - seemed someone had salted it to soften but had not adequately washed off the salt. The service was slow and mostly absent. Given this was a retirement lunch celebration, it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was excellent. Server was super ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was excellent. Server was super sweet and kind. Food was OK but presentation was gorg.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

the food and ambiance are wonderful. acc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

the food and ambiance are wonderful. accessibility is a little difficult but the friendly service and staff make up for that. the prime rib and seafood are always my highlight and the desert selection is wonderful. a great time was had by all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we're in town, we always plan a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Whenever we're in town, we always plan a trip to Ancaster Mill for their brunch. The views are wonderful and the food is always plentiful as well as quite tasty. My family started coming here almost 30 years ago and we plan to keep on visiting as frequently as possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely evening at the ancaster mi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a lovely evening at the ancaster mill for my anniversary! Food was delicious, service was outstanding and the scenery was spectacular! Defiantly a memory I wont forget. Highly recommended checking it out if you haven't. Prices aren't that bad either. When it comes to fine dinning you get what you pay for and I think it's a pretty affordable especially for the quality you get :D I'm a very satisfied costumer and will be going back for sure. two thumbs up here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Window views of the brook and waterfall ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Window views of the brook and waterfall are spectacular. Food is fantastic. Service is really good and valet parking is a bonus on cold winter days. For those so inclined there is a nice wine list and assortment of cocktails. Highly recommend the aged rib-eye steak. It would be hard to imagine anyone being disappointed in this venue.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an excellent meal, exceptional servi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Had an excellent meal, exceptional service, and a perfect view.

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy attending at your venue. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We always enjoy attending at your venue. Since moving to Dundas we have been to the Ancaster Mill a number of times and will be taking part in your Christmas Day dinner this year. Looking forward to a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating the end of my daught ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We were celebrating the end of my daughters University exams. We had a lovely lunch, the duck entree and the kale salad. Also we enjoyed the Niagara wine's from Inniskillen and Tawse. Thank for for a wonderful selection of our Niagara wines.

I have already told many people about our wonderful experience at your restaurant and the lovely setting. We will be back.

Thank you and wishing all of your staff a Wonderful and Safe Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

Linda

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and main course. Had t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent service and main course. Had the ribeye - out of this world good! Cooked medium well, usually difficult to do while maintaining the character of the meat but no issues here! Potatoes were a bit undercooked, otherwise this meal would get the highest rating. Desserts (apple pie and butter pecan pie) were delicious. Not the quietest restaurant but the noise level was quite acceptable. The views of the waterfall and stream, and the interior ambience, are incredible. Service is simply the best!!! We will keep going back for an incredible dining experience! Magical!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very polite but slow at ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was very polite but slow at best to clear the table and bring more drinks. The server at the table behind us blocked our ability to get out of our seats -- overall a poor layout, especially compared to the Cambridge Mill

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

For a truly delicious Sunday brunch, you ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

For a truly delicious Sunday brunch, you can't beat the Ancaster Mill. The food is excellent, with a great variety in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent. Wil ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Will make Ancaster Mills frequent dinner spot and looking forward to trying lunch there too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, wonderful atmosphere. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Outstanding food, wonderful atmosphere. My server was out of this world making a lovely night out into a fabulous dining adventure. Thank you Steve for a memorable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the ambiance and we had great servi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Love the ambiance and we had great service with Kevin who was very good humoured and knowledgeable. We missed two special occasions and finally made it in for a special dinner. We were pleased to be offered a tasting menu which was actually a course meal due to the large portion sizes. It was a wonderful treat and we hope they continue this concept from time to time. They went out of their way to give us a quiet table. Great fun. The ribeye course was very good but a bit too cool from sitting perhaps, otherwise very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is a bit overrated. Will ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The restaurant is a bit overrated. Will give another chance to see if the experience improves.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated a friend's special birthda ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We celebrated a friend's special birthday and it didn't disappoint!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating a birthday. The Anca ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday. The Ancaster Mill has a 'Sunday Supper' with two appetizers shared between the diners, a choice of one entree out of three, and a choice of pies for dessert (with our without whipped cream, ice cream etc.) Service was friendly and swift, though the hostess who escorted us to our table could have adjusted her pace to an older couple. Once seated, we had four or five servers over our two hours, all of whom were knowledgeable and friendly, though it felt a bit that they were a super-busy team trying to cover a lot of tables. The main dining room is quite noisy, given the hard surfaces which prevail. Our food was very good, and we had an enjoyable time - though we were reported as no-shows, despite the fact that we were a few minutes early, declared our reservation, and were there for two hours! Perhaps they crossed off the wrong couple - an easily understandable error. Overall, a very good time, with a good combination of part-time and full-time staff, and we would go again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Ancaster Mill is a longstanding 'spe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The Ancaster Mill is a longstanding 'special treat' when we travel back to see family and friends. The Sunday Brunch is one of the very best & the setting, service and food are excellent. We loved it for our special reunion celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time to Ancaster Mill. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was our first time to Ancaster Mill. We went for the Sunday brunch. Amazing! Delicious food. Beautiful venue. The friendliest and professional staff. Loved it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.