Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi
  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi
  1. Distance: 2.80mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.43mi
  4. Distance: 3.56mi

About Ancaster Mill

One of the most sought after restaurants for a Sunday brunch or a dinner celebration, Ancaster Mill epitomizes the spirit of great hospitality. By looking to the harvest for inspiration, our chefs are able to provide guests with a culinary experience that highlights the spectacular local, seasonal ingredients from our Earth to Table farm and Craft Cut butcher.
Situated beside a creek, with a large dining room built out overlooking the falls, Ancaster Mill is in demand year-round for weddings, family or corporate events and celebrations. Restored to keep its authentic character intact, this is a place where ambience fuses with fine food and great service.

548 Old Dundas Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 3J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 648-1828

Website:
http://www.ancastermill.ca/

Catering:
A wide variety of catering options are available for 10-1000 guests. Whatever your theme or style, our talented team of hospitality professionals create memorable events.

Parking Details:
The Ancaster Mill offers complimentary onsite and Valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Ancaster Mill also offers private rooms from 10-to 205 guests for Weddings, Special Occasions and Corporate Events. Our Special Event Consultants will co-ordinate and personalize your entire event. Our modern amenities, friendly and attentive staff and fantastic cuisine will ensure to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Rochelle Trask /Vicki DeNardis: (905) 648-1828

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

LUNCH-Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Sunday Dinner at Ancaster Mill!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

LUNCH-Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

LUNCH-Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $40.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Ancaster Mill's LUNCH Prix Fixe includes choice of appetizer, main & dessert. Special valid May 24, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Featuring our Sunday Brunch or Sunday Supper with Dad approved specials

Sunday Dinner at Ancaster Mill!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Gather at the table for seasonal, chef inspired dishes to share with family and friends. Every Sunday evening, served family-style. $49/person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please let us know any allergies upon booking. Special valid May 28, 2017 - Sep 28, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Ancaster Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Sunday Lunch (26)
See All
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Great for Brunch (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Historic (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Family Style (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Waterfront (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Healthy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Business Meals (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very Tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service as always! The food was excellent and the greeting when entering the door was amazing. Had a young guy on crepes and waffles who was new to it, his first day, and he did Amazing!!!! Give that guy a raise!

Thanks again Ancaster Mill, always a pleasure!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing service our waiter was an gem. I keep coming here cause the food is yummy and the staff is stellar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely Mother's day buffet dinner. The service was great and the view was as well. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome Mother's Day Brunch! My daughter and I throughly enjoyed our time together at this fine restaurant. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good but a bit pricey at $65 per meal (Mother's day brunch buffet).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, wonderful family dinner. High prices but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My wife and I were married at the mill and visit yearly to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

While ambiance and service is always top notch at the mill, we were a bit disappointed in the food this year. We both ordered the pork cheek dish and were surprised to learn that the majority of the meat was actually pork loin (6 pieces of loin and 2 pieces of cheek). The flavours were OK but did not meet expectations when you consider the price point. $36 for pork loin is a bit steep.

We will continue returning every year however we hope our next visit will improve on this year's experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic Sunday family afternoon. Will go back for sure !!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great night out, the food overall was excellent, but we did have a piece of tenderloin that was pretty tough, couldn't finish it, lots of white gristle running through it. Left about 1/3 of the tenderloin.
The Old Mill is always a great place, would be a little hesitant to order the tenderloin next time. It was part of a 5 course meal so it wasn't a huge issue. If it was my main entree I would have had to send it back.
Great table, wonderful view, and we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent as usual.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I expected a better experience based on the reputation. The Valet did not offer to park our car. My wife is handicapped. I dropped her off at the door and went an found parking. The Prime rib was cold! We booked an early sitting to save money but were given a full amount bill. It was adjusted. We were told pricing had changed and that early pricing doesn't apply to holidays. The service was a little slow but given the day understandable. Overall for what your paying the
experience should not be riddled with negative points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent meal great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. It was an enjoyable evening spent with family. Sitting by the waterfall was an incredible experience. Service was attentive and not intrusive. We were surprised with a take home order of dessert after we had finished our meal as we were told "the pies are baked fresh everyday"

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Beautiful surroundings. Lovely lunch. A great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Once again great service and top quality dinner. Mains of duck, sturgeon and cerevice were cooked to perfection, homemade bread and desserts delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 29, 2017

beautiful resteraunt with a beautiful atmosphere. great tasting food although the menu is quite complicated (be prepared to ask questions). i ordered a steak for 45 dollars. it came with a few onions and potatoes and some spinache. definitely was overpriced for the amount of food i got, although the food was extremely tasty and the scenery was very impressive, its too expensive :P

if ur cheap and like to get the "bang for ur buck" this aint the place but if u want a wonderful dinner and experience, this is a must try i suppose

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was great. Very picturesque. Awesome desserts. I found the menu a "little" limited.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband nicked his nostril shaving before we left (!! :) :) ) and it would not stop bleeding. When we arrived and were seated, he felt incapacitated by the profuse bleeding and had to use the washroom for 20 minutes while applying pressure. Our waiter, Michael, kindly brought him something to help stop the bleeding. It was out- of- the -way kindness that is rare these days. We very much appreciated his caring gesture and hope we are fortunate enough to see him next time we go for a Sunday Brunch. Thank you again, Michael!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Historic, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service. Very attentive to keeping coffee full and table cleared during courses.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

WOW what a fantastic Sunday Brunch experience. My second visit. I invited a girlfriend of many many years to share in the wonders of AncasterMill. I spoke of it so much that she was anxiously awaiting the day. The expansive food selections, both hot and cold were unique, endless and delicious. The team did everything possible to ensure our visit was a memorable and positive expereince, from the time we arrived through the main doors until the time we left. Our server Kevin was a delight, absolutely amazing at his craft, knowlegeable, attentive, humourous, paramount customer service at it's BEST!!!! Just the right amount of conversation to make us feel very comfortable, never intrusive. He totally understands what it take to be in a league of his own within the hospitality industry. I would hope and fully expect that he is commended by the management team of your group on his hard work.
My girlfriend was so impressed with the setting ambience food etc that she is hoping to have her daughter's bridal shower here. LOVED LOVED LOVED the entire day!! Thank you all very much. I will DEFINITELY be back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Live Music, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fantastic brunch experience overall, with exemplary service, beautiful venue, and a great variety of fresh menu items. Staff standout as highly engaged and welcoming - everyone is on their game.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My family and I had a great time. Our server was amazing with my two year old... several forks hit the ground :). As always great experience and would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Disappointed that there are no vegan options on the menu. Chef was able to make something but the creativeness was lacking and it's the same option everytime. Vegetables and pasta. I would expect that a true chef would be able to make a high calibre dish on the fly with ingredients on hand. I've had better high quality options come out of restaurants with cooks vs chefs. Really disappointed that your restaurant only caters to the meat eater and not diverse cultures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very nice place.A little pricey but very beautiful and Service was great food was good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Romantic elegant fancy times! We will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We went for their Sunday Night Dinner. I think this would be suitable for those with sophisticated palates. I don't think I could survive as a rich person if this is the food they eat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We went for Sunday supper on the 26th. Sat at a quiet two person corner booth by the window. Great value and amazing food. We especially enjoyed the terrines. Our server was very attentive and friendly (can't remember her name). We'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fireplace, Fun, Cozy, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Hot Spot, Authentic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Had the opportunity to try new foods. The Maple Alexander cocktail and the chocolate orange tort was especially delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been there before, food was / and thankfully is excellent.
Disappointed that we had a reservation and had to wait 25 minutes to be seated without a simple apology or offer to sit at the bar and have a drink.
We were informed that they were very busy.
Also, when booking, advised that it was my wife's birthday, no one even acknowledged the occasion.
As well, I get the whole " nouveau cuisine ", but they have drastically downsized their portions .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was good overall, not many options for non alcoholic drinks, or coffee. As for the menu, I'm just going to say small all the way, small printing, small variety, small. The food was definitely good but not fantastic or excellent, meat was somehow dry. Friendly, polite and courteous staff.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing food and service. Each ingredient is carefully crafted and no detail is missed. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the new menu, was lovely evening with friends and family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic dinner date for Valentine's Day and it was absolutely stunning. We will be coming back, food was amazing and so was the scenery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Family Style, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great time celebrating Valentine's Day at the Ancaster Mill. The food and service were both fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I used to like the Old Mill. The meals have become rather uninspiring and just too simple. We visited the Old Mill in the beginning of December and then in mid February and I found a couple of the same items still on the menu. I'm looking for a culinary sophistication from the Old Mill. I have not found it this time...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was attentive, personable and efficient. The wide variety of food at brunch was lovely. The noise level was a bit high due to the crowd at that time.
All in all it was a good experience. My one disappointment was that I had been assured a birthday recognition for our guest.( a cupcake or something similar).....I had called to double- check that this would happen. It never did.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time at your restaurant. Your staff are outstanding...very friendly and knowledgable. The food was great! A little pricey perhaps...however, we will be back. We would like to come in the spring/summer to see the grounds from the dining area...

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere, great service, good size portions, excellent food and ideal scenic venue. This is a rare treat where the restaurant overlooks a cascading waterfall and stream, and the authentic design makes you feel like you are in a special place.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is my favorite place.
I love Sunday branch.
All food is made in house and of very good quality.
The venue is fantastic.
Many people come with babies.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.