About an

2800 Renaissance Park Place
Cary, NC 27513
View Larger Map

AN, which means “to dine” in Vietnamese, showcases an array of exquisite flavors that blends traditional Asian ingredients with modern European influences. The team of Culinary Director Chef Steven Devereaux Greene and Chef De Cuisine Joshua Hughes portrays the styling of East meets West. The approach is to harness unique and local products and transform them into a vision of elegant simplicity. All of the dishes include the highest quality, locally sourced produce and seek to create a memorable experience for you and your palate.

AN, features a sushi bar and raw bar, which adds another dimension to the various delights offered here. A meal would not be complete without an Asian inspired cocktail or glass of wine from our award winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30PM; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harrison Avenue/Weston Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 677-9229

Website:
http://www.ancuisines.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
ãn provides the perfect setting for your special event. Whether it’s an important board meeting, sales meeting or family celebration, our 2 beautifully decorated Wine Rooms offer an intimate backdrop for any occasion. We customize a menu to fit your needs and provide detailed service for parties of 10 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Whittington: 9194474136x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up on our website for special events and annoucements happening at An!

Restaurant Photos

Miso Chilean Sea Bass
Sushi
Izakaya & Oshinko
Edamame Hummus With Rice Crackers
Scallops
Sashimi
Sashimi Sampler
Hot & Sour Tamarind Soup
Deep fried soft shell crab
Sea bass
Wok-Seared Beef
Chicken & Rice
Dynasty Sampler

an Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cary
Best Food
Cary
Best Service
Cary
5 More
Best Ambiance
Cary
Best Value
Cary
Fit for Foodies
Cary
Special Occasion
Cary
Most Booked
Cary
Best Restaurants in Cary ›

fit for foodies (101)
special occasion (99)
romantic (67)
See All
good for groups (55)
notable wine list (49)
neighborhood gem (42)
great for lunch (33)
hot spot (24)
great for outdoor dining (23)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating our anniversary and it was perfect. Raymond , our waiter, was fantastic. The perfect amount of attention. We started by sharing the Spicy tuna 2 ways roll. My husband ordered the lamb chop entree and I had the snapper. Both were superb. We finished with the rhubarb dessert and drinks. Delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is off the charts, me and my ...

Dined 7 days ago

This place is off the charts, me and my friends get consistent service and high quality food every visit. You get what you pay for, and I don't mind paying for quality.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to An many times, and have ...

Dined 7 days ago

We have been to An many times, and have never been disappointed. We keep it for special occasions, which we seem to have had a lot of lately, but we have also been there for lunch. Service it attentive without being intrusive. Wait staff remember us from previous visits, which always surprises us! I had the Lamb entrée, which was a small portion, but beautifully prepared and presented, and it was delicious. We shared the Thai wings and the Foie Gras as appetizers. The wings were generous, the foie Gras is small, but exquisite. I can't comment on the sushi, but my husband and son both had it, and always enjoy it. It is my husband's favorite place to go for sushi, and he loves sushi. He says it is always very fresh, and he primarily eats the plain raw fish. This is not an inexpensive restaurant, but you get what you pay for, and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The sushi is authentic and fresh. We or ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

The sushi is authentic and fresh. We ordered several small plates, sushi and drinks for a total of $200 for the two of us. The server was very unattentive. We brought a cave collection bottle of Far Niente wine from our wine club with them (an does not carry any Far Niente) and despite a $25 corkage fee, the waitress wanted to check the wine list before agreeing and would not chill the wine other than an offer to "stick it in the fridge". I was embarrassed, so agreed to order a bottle that was already chilled off their wine list - which was a very affordable list. I can assure you the restaurant profited less than $25 on my $40 bottle. It was a 20 minute wait for the initial cocktail order and 45 minutes before she returned to take our dinner order. There is usually a parting treat of sweets and we were told to wait for it to arrive. We waited 20 minutes after paying our bill and it never arrived. We will not return. There are too many other good places to go.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was spot-on. The food was fa ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was spot-on. The food was fantastic with a fun and adventurous menu. We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my husband to An's for lunch for ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I took my husband to An's for lunch for his birthday. The meal and service was great. My 7 year old loved the restaurant! He thought that the food was excellent and scored his experience a 9/10. He wants to return for his birthday! My only complaint is that they do not have a kid's menu. It isn't a big issue for my son because he likes to eat just about everything. However, this could be an issue for some kids. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely experience, as always.

Dined on June 15, 2016

Lovely experience, as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my wife on her birthday. Foo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went for my wife on her birthday. Food and service excellent. Appetizers were awesome recommend the asparagus and potstickers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience

Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I came again to celebrate our anniversary, and found that the quality and standards have only improved. This was a wonderful experience, and I would like to commend and thank everyone at An for making our anniversary dinner such a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son was visiting and we wanted to do ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My son was visiting and we wanted to do something special. My wife and I had been to An previously and were impressed by both the food and service. They did not let us down. The three of us all ordered the kaiseke and the 8 courses did not disappoint. From the canapes to the sushi, sea bass, filet and desserts, each course was better than the next. My kudos to the chef. And like General MacArthur, we shall return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to An, our fir ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our second visit to An, our first visit was so exceptional that we decided that a second visit was necessary before I came back to the New York Area. As before the everything was amazing. One of the great things about An is that between each of your courses they give you little things to try and the continued attention of the servers is beyond your expectations. If you live or visit Raleigh you MUST go to this restaurant. Each server is amazing and extremely knowledgeable. I wish there was an "An" in the New York Area. Should I visit Raleigh again, this restaurant will be the first one I will go to and maybe the second one also.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There aren't enough adjectives to desicr ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

There aren't enough adjectives to desicribe An, the restaurant, food and service are excellent. Food is unbelievable if you love sushi you have to go here. Their regular menu is also so delicious you don't know what to choose, make sure you ask your waiter/waitress if they have a recommendation. They have an extensive wine list and they can recommend one if you are not sure what you would like to drink with your dinner. I was visiting from New York area and I wish An had a location here, because I would eat here at least once a week if not twice. The wait staff is the best. The service impecable. If you go ask to be seated by Joe he was the one waited on us and his recommendations were on the mark.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

The crab cakes a delish and you can never go wrong with hamachi nigiri!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the mango roll. Service is always e ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Love the mango roll. Service is always exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an A+

Dined on June 4, 2016

An's is probably one of my favorite RTP spots to eat. We consistently have Joe as our waiter and it amazes me on how he remembers facts. Food is always good. Wish it wasn't quite as loud as it is but I can live with it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner at An

Dined on May 28, 2016

The sushi was wonderful! The wine selection was outstanding. I had the Ahi Tuna for the main course and it was good. Adding a serving of rice to the Ahi tuna entrée would have improved the experience. I needed something to consolidate the flavors on the plate and the rice would have been just the thing. I wish I had thought to ask. The wait staff were professional and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

disappointed.

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I spent our 25th wedding ann ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary at An, it was just wonderful! Everything we had was spectacular. Alway one of our top picks for a special dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love the food and space at "an" . We ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We love the food and space at "an" . We could have a serious conversation with our Iowa cousins and not have to shout. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Business Dinner Location

Dined on May 24, 2016

My colleagues and I had a business dinner at An Cuisines this evening. The atmosphere was just right. The service was timely, professional, and our waitress was excellent. We had a comfortable dining experience. We will return to this location in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Meticulous attention to detail, excellen ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Meticulous attention to detail, excellent service, personalization of food and service alone. Really added up to a lovely time!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything! Every time I have been there ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything! Every time I have been there, the experience has been wonderful. I really appreciate it, though, that the wait staff knows about gluten-free options.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the service and quality and presen ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Loved the service and quality and presentation of the food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great customer service and the best food ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great customer service and the best food in town! The service seems to be over and beyond every time we visit An's Cuisine. The food melts in your mouth and you will want more! Thanks a wonderful experience to all the staff

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best buffet I've ever had

Dined on May 8, 2016

they should do it more often; not just mothers day

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

almost

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated our 26th anniversary here. Service is always far superior to anywhere in Raleigh. We were slightly disappointed in both the change in dressing for the Asian Salad and in the Thai Wings, which were overdone. The bar is always a pleasure and the wine list is extensive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food and exceptional service. ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Delicious food and exceptional service. The cookies are a MUST!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

Dined on April 27, 2016

We love to dine at "an" as it is always great! Joe was once again our waiter and love him to pieces! He remembered our daughter in laws name and she has only been there on one other occasion... he recommended two dished that I had and wonderful decision. Can't wait to go again. Thanks for the great evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not what it used to be...

Dined on April 26, 2016

First time here in a couple of years and boy have things slipped. From unique and flavorful dishes to bland fish just a step or two above what you'd expect at Applebees. Presentation was spectacular and service was expert, but the current cuisine is far from inspired. For the prices you pay it needs to be a unique and memorable experience. Instead one just leaves feeling like what could have been. They were only 10 days into their new spring menu, so *maybe* they get a pass on that... The "opentable" online booking wouldn't allow bookings at anything but 5 or 7:30, so we chose 5. The place was literally empty until 6:30, only us, so I'm really annoyed that they didn't allow booking at 5:30 or 6, obviously they need to hold some seats, but *all*? I guess this former gem is not long for this world, maybe that's inevitable with places like these.

food5
ambience5
service5

Solid as always! Get the SAS roll ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Solid as always! Get the SAS roll ...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another success!

Dined on April 22, 2016

So, to preface, I am a frequent guest at AN. However, there are times when things go above and beyond any expectations. Our last visit was one of those times. Say what you want about the pricing, the portion size, the value, etc. For my tastes and my budget, these are a non issue. I continue to return to this excellent place because of the incredible staff. Half of a restaurant visit is the staff and the level of service and at AN, their staff makes it a world class experience. Thank you again to the lovely Jessica who takes pride and joy in remembering the regulars and makes sure that you feel as if you are welcomed into her home. Laura, the resident wine expert created a fun and interesting experience when it came to our wine. We especially loved the guessing games. Alisson, one of our excellent servers was always on hand for anything that we needed. Of course, special thanks to our Chef de Cuisine, Josh Hughes, for creating such a special menu for us. Lastly, of course, I want to thank Brandon for putting this all together. Brandon is one of the longest tenured staff at AN and over the years has always ensured that the overall experience is top notch. Through all f our visits, he has remembered our preferences and tastes which makes it such an easy and relaxed dining experience. This great team of professionals are why we continue to return time and time again. Thank you AN for making us feel so special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi coming from a former new york ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Best sushi coming from a former new yorker

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and incredible food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Everyone is so kind and treats you well. Food is fantastic and atmosphere is nice. If one or two guests I recommend sitting at the sushi bar. Sushi is great, waiter's wine pair suggestion was on point. Snapper was delicious. 5-Stars all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

fancy place!

Dined on April 16, 2016

It's amazing to me how they take the scraps of meat, that most people wouldn't eat, make a fancy sauce to go on it and then sell it like its a delicacy! Since when did a pork skin & fatback become a delicacy???????

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beyond Expectations

Dined on April 15, 2016

Every aspect of the dinner were beyond expectations. The quality of food and service was exceptional. In addition they overheard us speaking of an anniversary and gave us free dessert without our prompting. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday, reservations are highly recommended. Very pretty restaurant, modern and classy. He ordered the Rainbow Roll sushi, and I ordered the Vegetable Mango sushi roll. Both were delicious, his with large, fresh pieces of seafood. I then ordered the Chicken & Waffles (wrapped in bacon!), which was very tasty. He ordered the Ahi Tuna, a gorgeous cut of meat, very generous portion. They brought fresh cookies at the end for his birthday, also very good. Would definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Had a great time, food is consistently great, the two of enjoyed ourselves very much. Seafood is always fresh and delicious. It is always difficult to decide what to order!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful find!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Wonderful food, every mouthful a new taste sensation. Some of the best food we have ever experienced - every dish exceeded expectations. Service was unobtrusive, yet attentive, picking up that we were both going to share everything, and delivering the food split into individual portions without needing to even ask for extra plates. Highly recommended to foodies and everyone else. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Unimpressive...

Dined on March 28, 2016

I was excited about the dining experience at an, as this was my first time at the restaurant, but was underwhelmed. The restaurant is beautiful, great ambiance and service, but the food left much to be desired. The sushi was excellent, but we also ordered the Thai Wings and Chicken and Waffles and felt the flavors were very bland. The presentation was impressive, but the flavors uninspiring.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Service weak

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had two servers yet it took 30 minutes to take a drink order and over an hour to place our food order, and we had to flag down a waitress to get that in.. It wasn't even busy. The food was good, but I do not plan to go back because the service was so weak, and there are too many other places with comparable sushi with better service.

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.