About an

2800 Renaissance Park Place
Cary, NC 27513
View Larger Map

AN, which means “to dine” in Vietnamese, showcases an array of exquisite flavors that blends traditional Asian ingredients with modern European influences. The team of Culinary Director Chef Steven Devereaux Greene and Chef De Cuisine Joshua Hughes portrays the styling of East meets West. The approach is to harness unique and local products and transform them into a vision of elegant simplicity. All of the dishes include the highest quality, locally sourced produce and seek to create a memorable experience for you and your palate.

AN, features a sushi bar and raw bar, which adds another dimension to the various delights offered here. A meal would not be complete without an Asian inspired cocktail or glass of wine from our award winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30PM; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harrison Avenue/Weston Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 677-9229

Website:
http://www.ancuisines.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Hughes

Private Party Facilities:
ãn provides the perfect setting for your special event. Whether it’s an important board meeting, sales meeting or family celebration, our 2 beautifully decorated Wine Rooms offer an intimate backdrop for any occasion. We customize a menu to fit your needs and provide detailed service for parties of 10 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Whittington: 9194474136x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up on our website for special events and annoucements happening at An!

Restaurant Photos

an Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cary
Best Food
Cary
Best Service
Cary
5 More
Best Ambiance
Cary
Best Value
Cary
Fit for Foodies
Cary
Special Occasion
Cary
Most Booked
Cary
Best Restaurants in Cary ›

special occasion (109)
fit for foodies (106)
romantic (71)
See All
good for groups (52)
notable wine list (48)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for lunch (30)
hot spot (25)
great for outdoor dining (19)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Meticulous attention to detail, excellen ...

Dined 2 days ago

Meticulous attention to detail, excellent service, personalization of food and service alone. Really added up to a lovely time!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything! Every time I have been there ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything! Every time I have been there, the experience has been wonderful. I really appreciate it, though, that the wait staff knows about gluten-free options.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the service and quality and presen ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Loved the service and quality and presentation of the food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great customer service and the best food ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great customer service and the best food in town! The service seems to be over and beyond every time we visit An's Cuisine. The food melts in your mouth and you will want more! Thanks a wonderful experience to all the staff

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best buffet I've ever had

Dined on May 8, 2016

they should do it more often; not just mothers day

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

almost

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated our 26th anniversary here. Service is always far superior to anywhere in Raleigh. We were slightly disappointed in both the change in dressing for the Asian Salad and in the Thai Wings, which were overdone. The bar is always a pleasure and the wine list is extensive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food and exceptional service. ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Delicious food and exceptional service. The cookies are a MUST!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

Dined on April 27, 2016

We love to dine at "an" as it is always great! Joe was once again our waiter and love him to pieces! He remembered our daughter in laws name and she has only been there on one other occasion... he recommended two dished that I had and wonderful decision. Can't wait to go again. Thanks for the great evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not what it used to be...

Dined on April 26, 2016

First time here in a couple of years and boy have things slipped. From unique and flavorful dishes to bland fish just a step or two above what you'd expect at Applebees. Presentation was spectacular and service was expert, but the current cuisine is far from inspired. For the prices you pay it needs to be a unique and memorable experience. Instead one just leaves feeling like what could have been. They were only 10 days into their new spring menu, so *maybe* they get a pass on that... The "opentable" online booking wouldn't allow bookings at anything but 5 or 7:30, so we chose 5. The place was literally empty until 6:30, only us, so I'm really annoyed that they didn't allow booking at 5:30 or 6, obviously they need to hold some seats, but *all*? I guess this former gem is not long for this world, maybe that's inevitable with places like these.

food5
ambience5
service5

Solid as always! Get the SAS roll ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Solid as always! Get the SAS roll ...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another success!

Dined on April 22, 2016

So, to preface, I am a frequent guest at AN. However, there are times when things go above and beyond any expectations. Our last visit was one of those times. Say what you want about the pricing, the portion size, the value, etc. For my tastes and my budget, these are a non issue. I continue to return to this excellent place because of the incredible staff. Half of a restaurant visit is the staff and the level of service and at AN, their staff makes it a world class experience. Thank you again to the lovely Jessica who takes pride and joy in remembering the regulars and makes sure that you feel as if you are welcomed into her home. Laura, the resident wine expert created a fun and interesting experience when it came to our wine. We especially loved the guessing games. Alisson, one of our excellent servers was always on hand for anything that we needed. Of course, special thanks to our Chef de Cuisine, Josh Hughes, for creating such a special menu for us. Lastly, of course, I want to thank Brandon for putting this all together. Brandon is one of the longest tenured staff at AN and over the years has always ensured that the overall experience is top notch. Through all f our visits, he has remembered our preferences and tastes which makes it such an easy and relaxed dining experience. This great team of professionals are why we continue to return time and time again. Thank you AN for making us feel so special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi coming from a former new york ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Best sushi coming from a former new yorker

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and incredible food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Everyone is so kind and treats you well. Food is fantastic and atmosphere is nice. If one or two guests I recommend sitting at the sushi bar. Sushi is great, waiter's wine pair suggestion was on point. Snapper was delicious. 5-Stars all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

fancy place!

Dined on April 16, 2016

It's amazing to me how they take the scraps of meat, that most people wouldn't eat, make a fancy sauce to go on it and then sell it like its a delicacy! Since when did a pork skin & fatback become a delicacy???????

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beyond Expectations

Dined on April 15, 2016

Every aspect of the dinner were beyond expectations. The quality of food and service was exceptional. In addition they overheard us speaking of an anniversary and gave us free dessert without our prompting. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday, reservations are highly recommended. Very pretty restaurant, modern and classy. He ordered the Rainbow Roll sushi, and I ordered the Vegetable Mango sushi roll. Both were delicious, his with large, fresh pieces of seafood. I then ordered the Chicken & Waffles (wrapped in bacon!), which was very tasty. He ordered the Ahi Tuna, a gorgeous cut of meat, very generous portion. They brought fresh cookies at the end for his birthday, also very good. Would definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Had a great time, food is consistently great, the two of enjoyed ourselves very much. Seafood is always fresh and delicious. It is always difficult to decide what to order!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful find!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Wonderful food, every mouthful a new taste sensation. Some of the best food we have ever experienced - every dish exceeded expectations. Service was unobtrusive, yet attentive, picking up that we were both going to share everything, and delivering the food split into individual portions without needing to even ask for extra plates. Highly recommended to foodies and everyone else. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Unimpressive...

Dined on March 28, 2016

I was excited about the dining experience at an, as this was my first time at the restaurant, but was underwhelmed. The restaurant is beautiful, great ambiance and service, but the food left much to be desired. The sushi was excellent, but we also ordered the Thai Wings and Chicken and Waffles and felt the flavors were very bland. The presentation was impressive, but the flavors uninspiring.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Service weak

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had two servers yet it took 30 minutes to take a drink order and over an hour to place our food order, and we had to flag down a waitress to get that in.. It wasn't even busy. The food was good, but I do not plan to go back because the service was so weak, and there are too many other places with comparable sushi with better service.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

my favorite restaurant.

Dined on March 14, 2016

the only thing better than the food is the service

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impressed the BF

Dined on March 12, 2016

How wonderful to find such an unusual menu - foie gras was absolutely to die for. I couldn't get enough of the Uni. Was my third visit, my boyfriend's first. Really Wow-ed him! Coming back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The An Ramen, and Garlic Thai Prawns wer ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The An Ramen, and Garlic Thai Prawns were delicious and the cookies for dessert were amazing as well!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I remember better from this restaurant

Dined on March 11, 2016

It's been a while since we have been to An. Beautiful restaurant, pleasant staff, but not outstanding. The coconut parsnip soup was fabulous, but also the highlight of our meal. The 2 sushi rolls we ordered were nice, but did not stand out at all compared to any other Asian restaurant. Past visits to An had been a unique experience, innovative dishes, this not so much. An seems to have gone too far on the minimalist approach and the food is suffering- the dish that was supposed to have 5 elements, including a duck spring roll were so tiny you could not taste anything but pastry, one of the other elements was covered in what tasted like soggy frozen puff pastry. Here's hoping An returns to its former glory.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Taste can't make up for small servings

Dined on March 6, 2016

I ate at An for a special occasion with my fiancé. While our service was substandard, the food itself was delicious. Unfortunately, the price of the food and the small portions overshadowed the taste of the food. We order 3 sushi rolls to split at $15+ per roll and were disappointed to see how little sushi $50 got us. Ambiance was nice even in a small two person table along the wall.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went for our anniversar ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary dinner. Wonderful experience! the staff was polite and attentive. Will definitely be back :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Worth the visit. Hard to find at night, ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Worth the visit. Hard to find at night, but I would return again

food5
ambience4
service5

An is always a top meal! Ask for Brandon ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

An is always a top meal! Ask for Brandon, who is an exceptional waiter, and always has great suggestions for any diners taste. Warm cookies at the end of the meal is a must.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Phenomal Lunch thanks to our server, Brandon Kelly

Dined on March 4, 2016

My wife and I have been visiting An for quite some time. We always have some high expectations of our visits to AN, and to date, there has yet to be any negative experience. Our visit for lunch on Friday 04 March was by far our best and most enjoyable experience to date. Our server, Brandon, has taken care of us before, but this trip he truly outdid himself. We left our lunch choices in his hands and let him guide us through an impeccable and unforgettable menu, as well as wonderful wine pairings. It was truly impressive that he has been able to remember, and incorporate all of our specific tastes and preferences. All of our seafood dishes were perfect and left us eagerly awaiting the next bit of goodness to come. Our meal included fresh shucked oysters, extremely fresh and tasty sashimi, wonderful flounder, some out of this world Pad Thai noodles, and of course, some decadent desserts. Per usual, the atmosphere was cozy and romantic, even during the mad lunch rushes. My wife and I like to linger and dine, which is often not the preferred M.O during busy lunches, however, at no time did we feel rushed or uncomfortable. In fact, we were continuously reassured and encouraged to take as much time as we wanted. While An is certainly not the cheapest place, the ambiance, the food, and of course, most importantly, the service of Brandon and the rest of the staff make every penny worth it. My wife and I will certainly return again, and of course, will request Brandon as our host each and every time. He is a true professional and represents An with integrity and dedication. The food continues to shine and really showcases the Asian Fusion talents of the cooking staff. Don't forget to order the chocolate macadamia nut cookies before you leave!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded Expectations

Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was exceptional, the service was consistently better than good, and the environment was a breath of fresh air.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great fusion food

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Came here on my own got terrific service. Wines by the glass are decent. Really loved the food delicate but flavorful. Poker with the bloood orange glaze was delicious and not cloying. Parsnip soup with lobster was simply delicious

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 10 in the World

Dined on February 27, 2016

I am well traveled and eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world. An is in my top 10 of the world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An is always a sure thing, whether it is ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

An is always a sure thing, whether it is for a special occasion dinner or for a business dinner. The staff is impeccably trained and the flavors intense. You won't get 5lbs. of food on your plate, but you will get a plate of just enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First rate responsive service and sushi to die for

Dined on February 24, 2016

I advised An in the form of assistant manager, Michael Golder, that we were else rating my wife's birthday, that she loved sushi, and that she recently discovered that she needed to eat gluten free. Mr. Golder could not have been more gracious and responsive, advising those options of sushi that were gluten free and those that could be modified to comply. When we arrived the waiter, Joe, was aware of the situation and told us he had been informed and had already perused the menu for items he could suggest. WOW. In addition to all this, the food and the service were impeccable. Best sushi in the area by far. Go if you are in doubt.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Corporate Dinner Event

Dined on February 23, 2016

Food and Service were excellent. Noise level left much to be desired. A table of 8 could not hear each other due to the noise level of other diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal dining experience

Dined on February 18, 2016

Wait staff friendly and professional ; food presentation and taste incredible; ambiance relaxing and pleasant; a definite repeatable experience... again and again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

Service is usally better!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I have been to AN many times before and the food and service is usually very good. I have been to AN with a very large party and the service was much better, they gave me a cracked tea cup or my tea! They were not busy at all, because of the ice storm there where a lot of cancelation, you would think the service would be better because they had very few people dinning this night. food took along time, to come, didn't give us, plates for appetizers until we asked for them. The Pork & Buns was very good!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, decedent food. Worth every penny.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing atmosphere and food. From presentation to taste, everything was spot on. Did the 5 course chef tasting for valentine's day and had an amazing time. The service was exceptional and the employees were extremely knowledgeable about each dish the chef prepared. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to have a world class meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat, although a bit pricey.

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food here was tasty. Service was good. The only complaint I have is that if you are coming here for just sushi, there are other sushi places in the area which taste just as good but are significantly cheaper.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.