Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Amsterdam Cafe

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Lunch (30)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Casual (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Cozy (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Fun (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Business Meals (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Authentic (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (3)
Organic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 hours ago

Food is consistently delicious...attentive wait staff...interesting decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow, what a neighborhood gem. Shrimp n' grits were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Nice place for a dinner date, good food, a bit pricey, smaller portions but left room for desert, bread pudding was very good, make an early reservation the place fills up, don't be alarmed when they take you toward the restroom to seat you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A group of friends got together for lunch. The food was delicious, service was great and the atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food is wonderful!! The staff is very well qualified!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Amsterdam Cafe offers a casual atmosphere for authentic Southern fine dining.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Met here to eat and talk with old friends. Amazing food!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great local resturaunt - lots of seating options. Inside and out. Tried the " must eat before you die" crab cake crossiant sandwich. Very delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Miguel (the chef) has done a wonderful job of creating some great menu items - several different choices for everyone's tastes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Although I'm often tempted to try other items on the menu, I invariably order the Rum Salmon Salad, blackened. Delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

An ok dinner. I had the turkey wrap and it was pretty good. Everyone seemed pleased with their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amsterdam's is a local favorite, good food...great choices. Their crab cakes are the best I have ever had...even better than what I have ordered on the coast.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious but slow yesterday. It was Father's Day and our daughter had to leave before we were finished to get to work because it took 45 minutes to get our food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service is well oriented. The food is decent and meets what is expected of a restaurant of its billing.
I will return in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great place to meet up with friends or take that special someone out for a romantic meal.
The service is top notch and the food is great. We have Sunday Brunch regularly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Our party included 5 children under the age of 12 and 6 adults. The menu selection was varied enough that everyone found something to their liking. Special request as to the preparation of the salmon was handled and it was perfect. The server was very attentive and checked on us more than once and was not flustered by the size of our group or by the children. The lettuce wraps with tuna was perfect for at healthy, light meal. My husband highly recommends the rum salmon salad and the crab cakes and avocado sandwich was ordered by two of our group .. and they were very pleased. We are never disappointed by Amsterdam Cafe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was cold, like the waiter Michael let it sit way too long. Asked Michael for hotter fries and he brought back what seemed like the same fries that someone tried to heat in the microwave, but still did not get hot enough. It took forever to get Michael's attention to get a ginger ale refill. Overall, the food had great flavors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

First time there. Good food, nice atmosphere and a good price for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food and service was good. Reserved a table for twenty people but they did not mention that it was going to be multiple tables, so our party had to set at separate tables😒

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The service was outstanding, and our waitress, Tricia (? - we were there Thursday night in a booth near the front) was great! She was very attentive and most personable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

fabulous as always ... service / food / whole experience was great. That's why we keep going back when we have a ladies lunch!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Dumbest waitress in the world. All I kept hearing was her telling people she was sorry. Food was no big deal. Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I checked some of the available categories in what I would recommend the restaurant for, but I did not find the one that seemed especially appropriate. It's closest to a French provincial restaurant. The food is excellent and reasonably priced, as is the wine list. The service staff are very competent and friendly. Basically, this is a special place with a devoted local clientele, as well as plenty of out-of-town vitiators. We no longer live in New Orleans full time, but we make a point to eat at Cafe Degas on each visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome wines and great food... love the bar area..
Great place to hang out with your friends..
Employees are all nice an friendly...

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everyone enjoyed their meal and there were quite a few "that was the best..." comments around. Especially, my dad who hardly ever says he had a great dish. It was a little loud, but the staff was really attentive. It was a nice place to have a "Pre-Mother's day" Dinner! Open Table was also a great asset and made planning the evening a lot easier.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at Amsterdam Cafe! Large reservations are always accepted (our group usually needs about 15 seats) and it's nice to know we can all gather and sit together at one big table (instead of a few tables that are near each other). The lunch menu is really varied and very reasonably priced. We never feel rushed and the staff is always friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food and atmosphere for a special occasion. Very diverse menu with something for everyone.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Graduation weekend

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was excellent, but atmosphere was bar-like.
Super loud, hard to visit. Strange entrance with up/down around the middle of the restaurant.
traffic of patrons and wait staff would get congested
I'd recommend your food in a second, but I'm past my "bar days."-
probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a large party for a graduation brunch. The service and food were great! Sometimes with a large group, its difficult to get everything right, but our server had no problems. Drinks, appetizers, main courses all came out at the appropriate times, and everyone enjoyed their meal. Thanks so much for adding to our special day.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've eaten at Amsterdam every time we visit Auburn and had another very enjoyable meal with excellent service. Our steaks were outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a wonderful supper in honor of our son's graduation! Our food was excellent and the atmosphere was festive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great outdoor dining!! Crab cake and avocado sandwich was phenomenal along with the Mexican cheese dip appetizer. Cocktails were right on point as well. Fantastic overall experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our "go to" place for out of town visitors. Service is always good, good menu and wine list, too. Everything on the menu is good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious food! Atmosphere was excellent. Will definitely go there again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We went to Amsterdam Cafe for my husbands birthday and we are new to the area. We were happy that they took reservations and we were seated very quickly. The service was average, needed a cocktail and waited for quite a while before we could get a servers attention. The food was ok. We got the lobster egg rolls that were ok, the egg roll itself was very doughy and neither of us could taste lobster at all. My husband got the salmon which he was unimpressed with. I got the New York strip. It had a great flavor, was cooked as I had ordered but it was really a tough piece of meat. We both had the truffle fries, they were good as was the grilled asparagus. I had made a note when I made the reservation on Open Table that we were celebrating my husbands b-day and they didn't make note of it. They also don't give you a free/complimentary dessert for your bday (it was the actual day of his birthday) which I thought was customary at most restaurants. We had a cup of coffee that was good and the chocolate dessert. It was yummy. In all, it was an average meal that had such promise but fell short.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had a group of friends in from out of town for lunch - you all knocked it out of the park!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was my third time dining at Amsterdam. I treated myself to an entree (I wasn't footing the bill) and ordered the bologense pasta. It had great flavor, and I even had leftovers to take home! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a more upscale quality dining experience. Will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I would definitely recommend Amsterdam Cafe to anyone that is looking for a good brunch spot. My party's favorites were the Lobster Egg Rolls, "El Benedict", Chicken and Waffles, and the Crabmeat and Avocado Sandwich.

We will definitely be making a trip back when we come to Auburn!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.