Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Amsterdam Cafe

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Casual (28)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Business Meals (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (20)
Fun (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Authentic (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Healthy (10)
Private Room (9)
Seasonal (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Family Style (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great Beer (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was cold, like the waiter Michael let it sit way too long. Asked Michael for hotter fries and he brought back what seemed like the same fries that someone tried to heat in the microwave, but still did not get hot enough. It took forever to get Michael's attention to get a ginger ale refill. Overall, the food had great flavors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

First time there. Good food, nice atmosphere and a good price for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was good. Reserved a table for twenty people but they did not mention that it was going to be multiple tables, so our party had to set at separate tables😒

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was outstanding, and our waitress, Tricia (? - we were there Thursday night in a booth near the front) was great! She was very attentive and most personable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

fabulous as always ... service / food / whole experience was great. That's why we keep going back when we have a ladies lunch!!!!!!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Dumbest waitress in the world. All I kept hearing was her telling people she was sorry. Food was no big deal. Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I checked some of the available categories in what I would recommend the restaurant for, but I did not find the one that seemed especially appropriate. It's closest to a French provincial restaurant. The food is excellent and reasonably priced, as is the wine list. The service staff are very competent and friendly. Basically, this is a special place with a devoted local clientele, as well as plenty of out-of-town vitiators. We no longer live in New Orleans full time, but we make a point to eat at Cafe Degas on each visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome wines and great food... love the bar area..
Great place to hang out with your friends..
Employees are all nice an friendly...

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everyone enjoyed their meal and there were quite a few "that was the best..." comments around. Especially, my dad who hardly ever says he had a great dish. It was a little loud, but the staff was really attentive. It was a nice place to have a "Pre-Mother's day" Dinner! Open Table was also a great asset and made planning the evening a lot easier.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at Amsterdam Cafe! Large reservations are always accepted (our group usually needs about 15 seats) and it's nice to know we can all gather and sit together at one big table (instead of a few tables that are near each other). The lunch menu is really varied and very reasonably priced. We never feel rushed and the staff is always friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and atmosphere for a special occasion. Very diverse menu with something for everyone.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Graduation weekend

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was excellent, but atmosphere was bar-like.
Super loud, hard to visit. Strange entrance with up/down around the middle of the restaurant.
traffic of patrons and wait staff would get congested
I'd recommend your food in a second, but I'm past my "bar days."-
probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a large party for a graduation brunch. The service and food were great! Sometimes with a large group, its difficult to get everything right, but our server had no problems. Drinks, appetizers, main courses all came out at the appropriate times, and everyone enjoyed their meal. Thanks so much for adding to our special day.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We've eaten at Amsterdam every time we visit Auburn and had another very enjoyable meal with excellent service. Our steaks were outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a wonderful supper in honor of our son's graduation! Our food was excellent and the atmosphere was festive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great outdoor dining!! Crab cake and avocado sandwich was phenomenal along with the Mexican cheese dip appetizer. Cocktails were right on point as well. Fantastic overall experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our "go to" place for out of town visitors. Service is always good, good menu and wine list, too. Everything on the menu is good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious food! Atmosphere was excellent. Will definitely go there again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We went to Amsterdam Cafe for my husbands birthday and we are new to the area. We were happy that they took reservations and we were seated very quickly. The service was average, needed a cocktail and waited for quite a while before we could get a servers attention. The food was ok. We got the lobster egg rolls that were ok, the egg roll itself was very doughy and neither of us could taste lobster at all. My husband got the salmon which he was unimpressed with. I got the New York strip. It had a great flavor, was cooked as I had ordered but it was really a tough piece of meat. We both had the truffle fries, they were good as was the grilled asparagus. I had made a note when I made the reservation on Open Table that we were celebrating my husbands b-day and they didn't make note of it. They also don't give you a free/complimentary dessert for your bday (it was the actual day of his birthday) which I thought was customary at most restaurants. We had a cup of coffee that was good and the chocolate dessert. It was yummy. In all, it was an average meal that had such promise but fell short.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had a group of friends in from out of town for lunch - you all knocked it out of the park!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was my third time dining at Amsterdam. I treated myself to an entree (I wasn't footing the bill) and ordered the bologense pasta. It had great flavor, and I even had leftovers to take home! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a more upscale quality dining experience. Will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I would definitely recommend Amsterdam Cafe to anyone that is looking for a good brunch spot. My party's favorites were the Lobster Egg Rolls, "El Benedict", Chicken and Waffles, and the Crabmeat and Avocado Sandwich.

We will definitely be making a trip back when we come to Auburn!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amsterdam cafe is one restaurant you can count on to have exceptional food and service every time you visit.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent service coupled with a great selection of beers and wines. Food was wonderful. Try the fried chicken with Mac 'n cheese.

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Waiter was awkward and inexperienced, food was average for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always good food and service. We made reservations and our table was ready as soon as we arrived. The server was attentive, but not at all intrusive. The food, as always , was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Perfect Easter brunch!! Good variety of choices and fresh ingredients.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious holiday brunch with family at Amsterdam Cafe when we were visiting Auburn. Everyone enjoyed their meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My son is a student at AU and my daughter and I came in from out of town to pick him up for an Easter Brunch--it was delicious--our waiter was Nick (hope I am remembering correctly) and he was GREAT--excellent server and so nice. Food and drinks were delicious--we will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a great server, excellent food and overall superb dining experience celebrating my daughter's birthday. I live out of town, but Amsterdam Cafe is my go-to restaurant in Auburn. They never disappoint!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice place for Sunday Brunch. I was a little disappointed in the grits, too thick for my liking. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had steak was not tender and scallops,mashed potatoes was hard,cabbage was all right . Have had better.was disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

First time eating here for lunch. Our waitress was great and food just as good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 8, 2017

For the excellent quality of food they have very fair pricing. Never disappointed in the service or wonderful cuisine.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great place to eat. The shrimp and grits is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Sunday Brunch with our son and his fiance. Sat outside, was a gorgeous day. Great !!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amsterdam is my favorite restaurant in town. It has a great atmosphere and delicious food! The Turkey Wraps are amazing.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.