Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Amsterdam Cafe

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Casual (18)
See All
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Fun (11)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great Beer (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Private Room (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Very slow service. Not usual for this restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect setting for our family birthday celebration. Fast & efficient service. Excellent food.

My FAVORITE Auburn restaurant!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Best waitress ever! Food was fine. Would definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Just another glorified, overpriced bar in Auburn, Alabama

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service and food with business colleagues in the downstairs room. We were not rushed even though we closed the place down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was absolutely perfect. We loved our food and our server. Delicious.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

If you want a great meal in a great place; then visit Amsterdam.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Food was incredible, service was great, but the decor could be updated. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Love the food at Amsterdam and have been going here for years. My only complaint is the noise level in the main floor dining area. It's really hard to carry on a conversation when it's full. But really, otherwise it's a great place. Especially the outdoor area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I love taking the family for Sunday brunch. Not a real extensive menu but what is on it is very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had an excellent meal with four college students. Michael our server was excellent- it was my daughters birthday and he somehow picked up on that and brought her a piece of cake at the end of our meal. My scallops were awesome. I love this place- only criticism is group of ladies next to us was so loud we could not carry on our own conversation. I have eaten here 10+ times have nothing but great food and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was not as memorable as in the past. Good service.
Hard to have conversations due to noise level.
Wine was not worth the price. Good Beer choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good atmosphere, great food, excellent service, definitely a place you will want to visit often.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent waitress, prices (on lunch menu) a bit too high, the "lobster roll" appetizer was not very good at all (and priced too high).

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was so so. Food the same. Expensive for what the food was. Loud, lots of kids and tvs. Shrimp tails on the shrimp on a pasta dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I usually love the food at Amsterdam. The past couple I've been there has been very different than what I expect. Even the world famous CRAB CAKE AND AVOCADO sandwich was not the same. I really hope they get things together there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great the price was pretty high due to Valentine's Day, I'm assuming. Be better if the menu had a few more options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wife and I had a great Valentine dinner at Amsterdam Cafe. It's one of our favorite places to eat. We drove from Montgomery to enjoy their Valentine dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went there for Valentine Day. I had the grilled pork chop with mashed potatoes and collard greens and it was very good. Howver, my wife, who is allergic to garlic could not find anything on the menu that she liked or that didn't have garlic in it. She select 4 different entrees' and each time the waiter said they had garlic in them. Finally she selected the cobb salad, but had to settle for oil and vinegar dressing because all of their other dressings had garlic. So, overall, it wasn't a pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

New Menu is great - had the Tuna Wraps. Was interested to see how they pulled them off - they were outstanding. Great job at updating the menu without going too crazy.
Kept the long-standing staples, brought back the Lamb Burger (THANKS!), and have new items that look great and I will have to try.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always our favorite place, and top choice for a dinner date. Best restaurant in Auburn! Thank you Amsterdam!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service, value and ambience were very good. Given that our reservation was at a high demand time, February 13th, and everything went well, this added to the experience..

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We chose The Amsterdam Cafe for Sunday Brunch for our daughter's birthday. The food was just ok, but nothing special. The service from the male waiter set the tone for the whole meal. His seemed as if he was inconvenienced by our being there. Three of our party ordered coffee. When he came to refill the coffee he only refilled two of our cups and I had to call him back to fill the third. When we mentioned ordering Bloody Mary's he let us know in a snarky manner that we couldn't order them until after 12 pm. We were there past 12 before we left and he never offered to sell us the drinks we had asked about earlier. He also never offered dessert before he brought our ticket. I tipped my minimum of 15%, but for good service I usually tip 20% to 30%. It was his loss and the restaurants loss because we wI'll not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had table in back dining room and it was very nice. Food was very good. We had NY strip and lobster roll appetizer.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I probably eat at Amsterdam Cafe on Gay Street in Auburn, AL an average of once a week. They have a couple of gluten-free options (which I require) and I seem to be able to eat one of them, the Rum Salmon salad, at least once a week! It is reliably yummy. I substitute all romaine lettuce for the mixed spring greens because I find romaine stands up better to a piece of salmon hot off the grill, and I get the salmon blackened. This salad comes with mango, toasted pecans, and a tangy citrus dressing. They serve this salad every day and night. Although I think there are other gluten-free items, I almost always get the Rum Salmon salad at lunch. Our only (minor) complaint about the restaurant is that it can be hard to hear conversation if the restaurant is crowded.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Menu always has unique offerings and the food is always fresh. Service is excellent. Restaurant can be loud when crowded making it difficult to carry a conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had an amazing time!! we were celebrating a friend's birthday who had never eaten at Amsterdam before. She really enjoyed herself. We sat in the back room (honestly, I never knew the back room existed! It was extremely beautiful!) The $15 bottomless Mimosas were the absolute best I have ever had. The unfortunate part for us was because we did a late brunch (1pm), some of the food choices were already 86'd for the day (Chicken and Waffles and the Seasonal Pancakes and Bacon). However, the other options we decided to go with were phenomenal. I had the Steak and Eggs (OMGGGGGG!!!!!) and another person in the party had the Shrimp N' Grits. The grits were so think and creamy and delicious, and they gave her a decent portion of shrimp as well. Alone, I think I may have spent $35-40, including tip. I will definitely be back here soon!!!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The evening was awesome until we went out and my friend's car had been towed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was at best mediocre. I had the short rib and it lacked flavor and was borderline dry. My friend said his meal was " poor." Our impression was that food is prepared in advance and reheated. Not worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a great time celebrating our daughter's 30th birthday. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Food selection was great--lots of options to pick from. Fun atmosphere!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food and service was, as always, consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was outstanding except for the seating area which made it difficult to carry on a conversation. I would return, however, I would request to be seated in the lower downstairs section or outside if weather permitted, not up front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I was not impressed with the menu choices or the food quality. We had a group of 7 and all of our food came out at different times...some several minutes after the other. I use to love this place, but I will probably not go back. There are better options in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great restaurant with impeccable food options and great non rushed service. Definitely a gem off the beaten track.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tapas, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amsterdam Cafe never disappoints! The Rum Salmon Salad will keep us coming back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was a little slow but that was to be expected on New Year's Eve. Everyone in our group of eight enjoyed their food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not sure how I managed to attend Auburn University, but never made it to Amsterdam Cafe. Now I've been three times in 4 months and every visit has been wonderful! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.