Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Amsterdam Cafe

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Groups (22)
Casual (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Cozy (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fun (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Authentic (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

One of our go-to restaurants for a great meal with great service. They also make a wonderful spicy Bloody Mary! I recommend reservations as it's a popular spot not far from the edge of campus and the Hotel Auburn.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Awesome place for brunch or dinner. Just make sure to make a reservation before you go ,since it's one of the best restaurants in auburn. I've been there a couple times and it never disappoints

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Scenic View, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Unfortunately they were short-staffed the night we were there. Our server had too many tables, and even when we brought it to management's attention - twice, nothing was done. We had to wait 20 minutes to order a drink and 30 minutes for her to come back and say they didn't have what we ordered. NOT okay! She blamed it on the bartender, but by then the restaurant was only 1/2 full, so I don't believe she was being honest.
Finally the manager did apologize, but they didn't do anything other than say we're sorry. Won't be going back - WAY too many good choices in Auburn to bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Seated right on time! Loved the bartender and hostess. Food was good, however table agreed seafood was okay. Jambalaya and avacado crab sandwich did not live up to the talk- too much filling with only one thing slice of avocado. Would recommend the macaroni and fried chicken. Atmosphere was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good original and different food and atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were here over Homecoming weekend at Auburn so it was extremely busy. We were seated on time, our waiter was great and food was good! We had blackened redfish, fried chicken with Mac and cheese, all good, but the jambalaya was just ok- was very rice heavy and not much else in it. Apple cobbler was very tasty. Only complaint I had was the table and seats were very wet when we sat down. We would def come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

As first-timers, we were very pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere. We we're seated in a downstairs room not pictured in my online research. It had a bright and yet still cozy feel with an upscale, modern and elegant decor. There was also an atmospheric patio and a more casual main dining room. The menu had a good variety of lighter vs heavier selections and with a good variety of price ranges. Our server (I'm sorry I didn't get her name) did an excellent job on a very busy home football game weekend night. We had reservations and were seated with very little wait. We had a great bottle of wine at a reasonable price-point. The house specialty crab cake avocado sandwich was wonderful! That was one item we ordered to share. The kitchen halved the sandwich for us and plated it separately. It was a nice service touch. All in all, I'd have to say The Amsterdam surpassed my expectations! We'd definitely recommend it and will go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amsterdam is always consistently good. Great option for game weekends because they take reservations.....but call several weeks in advance!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Have eaten here many times and the past few times the food has been just, 'Meh.' The only saving grace was the service. May take it out of our 'rotation' of restaurants we frequent for awhile...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Very good food & drinks. Plus plenty left over since portions are generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Sunday lunch was good but the service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were seated in the back room - very nice atmosphere! Conversation was easy until a large group in the room became unusually loud celebrating a birthday. Returned to normal after they thankfully left.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 2, 2017

In town Saturday for the game. Our group had a late lunch and it was AUsome. We all tried the Crab Cake and Avocado Sandwich! Oh my goodness! We are still talking about how great it was....best crab cake ever! Can't wait to come back and try more of the menu!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Service was slow. Food & atmosphere were really good. Enjoyed our time but not the best dining experience I have ever had. Was better the last 2 times I had dinner here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very good food, nice verity of choices. Fair pricing. Great service. Smelled a little musty, damp. Overall very good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Reunion with roommate from 1967 and two others and the Cafe had been recommended for lunch. We were seated at large booth allowing us space to share photos and conversation
Our server Missy S was a dear and so helpful with our order. Helpful, never intrusive. Made sure we were comfortable staying past our lunch in order to visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our waitress, Lauren, was great!
We enjoyed our meal and will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Office lunch! Fast service and good food! We really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was a busy night. Service was slow and very good. For example, you had to ask for a steak knife, and go to the bar to get a glass of wine. Food was very marginal especially for the price. Steak was burned, scallops were fishy and tuna was like a lunch bowl at dinner prices. Soup was excellent as was the chocolate chip bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food with a young atmosphere. Bar service was and always has been slow. Will always go back because the food is so good. Appetizers are great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good food, however the bloody Mary's were way too hot and Worcester sauce laden.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were passing thru town and wanted to stop at one of our favorites! The food was outstanding, as usual. Lobster rolls, crab cakes, and chicken mac/cheese. I had a mojito and glass of chardonnay with dinner. My husband sampled a few draft beers. Our server was absolutely delightful.
My suggestions for this visit would be to update the wine menu. There were only two options for chardonnay by the glass and both were low quality compared to the food quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always a favorite! The food is consistently outstanding, great service, even better management, and a fabulous atmosphere. When we have a choice of where to go in Auburn, Amsterdam is always our pick.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our server was top notch and the hostess made us feel special. Great meal to celebrate our first son going off to college. He and we were very happy and had great food, service and time to tell stories and enjoy the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

All was very good! My adult kids had the Crab cake avocado sandwich and loved it! Great attentive waitress! Good spot to take family in auburn!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Went for Anniversary dinner and it was a good choice. Only complaint was the noise level. Would go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We choose Amsterdam Cafe to take our daughter to as her last meal with mom/dad during move-in. Service was great. Food was excellent. We really enjoyed the pimento cheese plate! Husband is a craft beer drinker and was pleased with the selection. Daughter had salmon and loved it. We liked because it was small and quiet versus some of the other places we had eaten around town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server seemed to be spread too thin. She had tables all over the restaurant and barely gave us any attention. Most of the staff seemed frantic and unmanaged this night, which was different than my usual experiences here. My food was good, but both of my friends got salads and couldn't even finish them because they were overdressed and soggy. It was disappointing because they hadn't been to Amsterdam in a while and I had promised them it would be good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

First time and we were not disappointed! There were three of us and we all loved everything we ordered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Funeral for get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My daughter goes to Auburn. this is one of our favorite restaurants when we visit. A llittle pricey for students budget so we always take a couple of her friends. Food is very good. recommend reservations

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and service. The avocado and crab cake sandwich was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Every time we go to the Amsterdam Cafe, we're always pleased. Great food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Best food I have had in Auburn and great value, there was a variety on the menu and all 3 courses we had including the wine were delicious

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Spicy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amsterdam is always great. Service is always excellent. A good happy place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food is consistently delicious...attentive wait staff...interesting decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wow, what a neighborhood gem. Shrimp n' grits were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always a nice atmosphere, good service and great food. The limited menu assures that everything is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Nice place for a dinner date, good food, a bit pricey, smaller portions but left room for desert, bread pudding was very good, make an early reservation the place fills up, don't be alarmed when they take you toward the restroom to seat you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.