About Amsterdam Cafe

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Amsterdam Cafe, Auburn, AL
Amsterdam Cafe, Auburn, AL

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Good for a Date (28)
Casual (28)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Romantic (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (6)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Historic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not a huge menu but everything we ordere ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Not a huge menu but everything we ordered was delicious. Loved the lobster rolls for appetizer even though we weren't sure there was lobster in them. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Crawfish & Turnip Greens soup was delici ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Crawfish & Turnip Greens soup was delicious, spicy but not hot. Soups always seems to be served luke warm, I like mine hot.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was mediocre at best. The crab ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was mediocre at best. The crab cakes were cool to the touch and more cake than crab. We did not find any lumps of lobster in the lobster rolls. This was my second time Amsterdam Cafe this month. I will not go back.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Virginia took good care of our party. Th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Virginia took good care of our party. The scallops were outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved Amsterdam! The food an ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Absolutely loved Amsterdam! The food and service were outstanding! It was our first time but it want be our last!! AUmazing place to dine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Pleasant at ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Pleasant atmosphere. Great food. Takes reservations. Hidden treasure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is an excellent seafood restaurant wi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 15, 2016

It is an excellent seafood restaurant with great dishes. I enjoyed the crab cake avocado sandwich but mine wasn't as good as the hype I've heard about it. There was nothing wrong with it, it just wasn't the best thing on the menu. I had some of my date's shrimp and grits, however, and that dish was incredible. I had one bite and was very impressed. Although it is twice the price of the crab cake sandwich, it was well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Had a great experience. The food was coo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had a great experience. The food was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as always. I could make a mea ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful, as always. I could make a meal on lobster rolls!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amsterdam has consistently very good foo ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amsterdam has consistently very good food at reasonable pricing for a finer restaurant. Servers are always among the better. I much prefer a cozy dining atmosphere and generally most seating fits that order.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. I made reservations on ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience. I made reservations online for 12:30 on Sunday. We arrived about five minutes early. When we gave our name to the receptionist, he took us directly to our table. Impressive. And the food and service were equally so. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday lunch/brunch and place was very b ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Sunday lunch/brunch and place was very busy - perhaps understaffed - took order and delivered check. Slow for water / coffee refills - food arrived in waves. Biscuits under cooked

Salmon was very good - been there before and service was very good suspect this was an understaff situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amsterdam Cafe never disappoints! Alway ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amsterdam Cafe never disappoints! Always great with reservations, solid service, excellent food and a great atmosphere. We always choose to eat there when in Auburn.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a must place for eating while in ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is a must place for eating while in Auburn. Food is always consistently good. Service is over the top (Meghan especially). They go out of the way to insure that you are satisfied with everything. I highly recommend it. The crab cake/avocado sandwich is a must! Shrimp and Grits are good....oh yes, the Rum salmon salad is good.....just a few suggestions! I'm booking my next reservation today.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are from Louisiana and were visiting ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are from Louisiana and were visiting our daughter who attends Auburn. She was looking for a good meal! We had a great visit and the food was enjoyed by all! Will definitely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So appreciate the willingness of staff t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 1, 2016

So appreciate the willingness of staff to move the set-up table from back room dining to outside at last minute. Really nice of them!!

One order (club sandwich) was not brought out with the other 11 orders. Nothing was mentioned by waiter to the guest. Finally after a long time (we all were waiting and not eating), the guest asked a waiter why it wasn't out. He said it was due to a kitchen mishap. The guest should have been told something when the rest of us got our food and also updated on it until it was brought. She might have changed her order to get something quicker. Communication would have been better!

Food was great as always!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a wonderful place for good food, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is a wonderful place for good food, good atmosphere and good service. Staff is always friendly and food very consistent. This is our go to place on weekends game day. Megan is a wonderful server.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure how I haven't been to Amsterdam ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Not sure how I haven't been to Amsterdam in all the years I've lived in Auburn, but this was my first visit. It was amazing! We had a party of 5 and everyone loved their meals, cocktails, and dessert. The husband will most definitely be taking me back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, was great. The crab cake was ab ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Overall, was great. The crab cake was absolutely. The server was amazing, the food was amazing, and the atmosphere was also amazing.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat! Food and services was e ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Always a treat! Food and services was exceptional. Very consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food at reasonable prices. Unique ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great food at reasonable prices. Unique menu items and appetizers mixed with traditional dishes. Great service. They also offer private dinning options as well as patio seating options (patio and private areas are good for business dinners as they are much quieter than the dining room). I highly recommend Amsterdam Cafe!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was out 3rd time to eat at Amsterda ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was out 3rd time to eat at Amsterdam Café and will not be our last. It's evident that the owners, management and employees strive to make any dining event a memorable one. Although we haven't experienced everything on the menu (yet), we've sampled enough to be convinced it's all great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, one of our favorite places i ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food, one of our favorite places in Auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Surprisingly, a lot of carbs and fried f ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Surprisingly, a lot of carbs and fried foods. I was hoping for more fresh food. Had to ask for fruit during Brunch, as it was not on the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Perfect spot for Sunday lunch! We enjoye ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Perfect spot for Sunday lunch! We enjoyed all of our entrees!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Food was fairly priced a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great service. Food was fairly priced and served hot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Family Style, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We actually went twice in one very busy ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We actually went twice in one very busy weekend. We did have reservations, one night we were sat slower than the other, but after being seated the service and food were great.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The atmosphere ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was excellent. The atmosphere was inviting and friendly. The waitress was very rude and unresponsive. We actually decided to leave before dessert because of the service. Please note, that I have been here several times and this was the first time that I received bad service. Typically the service is excellent. Overall, I would recommend this cafe.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

We really love Amsterdam and we've been ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We really love Amsterdam and we've been coming for years but I'm really disappointed by the changes. I ordered the tuna, which is the reason I came, and did not like that the sauce was different and the rice was spicy. The dish was my favorite before and I struggled to finish. The grouper was ordered by my sister in law and she said it was bland. The sauces offered were not a good fit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific! I will surely go back if I'm e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Terrific! I will surely go back if I'm ever back. The service was terrific. Was a bit noisy.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was amazing!! Great variety, everyt ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was amazing!! Great variety, everything tasted amazing!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam Cafe was a wonderful experienc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amsterdam Cafe was a wonderful experience all around. There were 6 of us in our party. Everyone loved their food!!! I got the salmon with roasted asparagus, and it was fabulous; especially the asparagus!! A must try if in Auburn, AL.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lunch place in Auburn. Consistently ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Best lunch place in Auburn. Consistently good - one of the best blackened chicken caesar salads out there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I came here with my who were visiting. I ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I came here with my who were visiting. I had never been before and Amsterdam Cafe is now one of my favorite spots to visit! Whether for a quick bite, drinks, or a big dinner, Amsterdam Cafe is an amazing restaurant!

Tags: Private Room, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Authentic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met two friends for dinner and enjoyed s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Met two friends for dinner and enjoyed sitting outside since inside upstairs is so noisy. Fans kept the temperature just right even on a late summer evening. Would have liked having a little more lighting as it grew dark out. I had the rum salmon salad, blackened, one of my friends had the same grilled, both of them were very good. Generous portions of salmon that were perfectly cooked. Reservations handled well; our table was waiting when we arrived.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I ordered the EL Benedict. Brisket was a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I ordered the EL Benedict. Brisket was all fat. The server made it right but where is quality control? This should have never been plated in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Eggs Benedict with pork and avocado was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Eggs Benedict with pork and avocado was great! We always get the lobster egg roll appetizer and we're never disappointed. Sausage and cheese omelet was also a hit. One of the best places for brunch in Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Sunday morning brunch spot!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Sunday morning brunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amsterdam is always a favorite, and did ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amsterdam is always a favorite, and did not disappoint on our recent visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's always a Great experience at Amster ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's always a Great experience at Amsterdams. Drinks, Food & Service.

An Auburn Icon for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.