About Amsterdam Cafe

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Alabama
Neighborhood Gem
Alabama
American
Alabama
1 More
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

neighborhood gem (42)
fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (39)
See All
great for lunch (39)
good for groups (35)
great for outdoor dining (24)
great for brunch (18)
romantic (16)
notable wine list (16)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was extremely disappointed after seein ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I was extremely disappointed after seeing so many positive reviews for this restaurant. I took my brother here for his birthday (he's a student at the university and I flew in from Chicago), and found it dirty, dark, and wholly underwhelming. The food is far too expensive for the quality of taste and presentation, both of which were bland and unremarkable. We tried the lobster egg rolls as an appetizer, which was definitely the best item we tried and would recommend to diners. However, their Lamb Burger was nothing more than a hamburger with tzatziki sauce (I would've expected some seasoning to the burger), and their much lauded Crab Cake & Avocado Sandwich had next to no taste. Dessert was a joke - their chocolate cake is nothing more than the frozen kind you find in any chain restaurant. It was still slightly frozen and covered in corn flakes. Aside from the food, half of the upper seating area was covered in large food crumbs, which were left during the entirety of our meal. Go for drinks and appetizers, and move on to another restaurant for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was very good. I had the salmon ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good. I had the salmon salad which had the best piece of salmon I have ever eaten! The sweet potato chips were also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had several different business associ ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had several different business associates coming into town for a business meeting. I needed a place that could seat ten on fairly short notice and could accommodate our need to be isolated as much as possible. I knew that Amsterdam's had a room in the back that would work perfect for our meeting. I booked the reservation and requested a table in the back. They were very accommodating and helped me make the dinner a success.

Thanks for all of your help, friendly service and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & a great venue for a co-worke ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good food & a great venue for a co-worker's retirement luncheon. We had a group of 15 and the back private room was great for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place!!!!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit but definitely on the return ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First visit but definitely on the return list! Our waitress was welcoming, helpful, and attentive. To say our food was delicious is a real understatement! Our party of four was seated in what appeared to be a newer section and the beautiful surroundings only added to our very positive experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam is one of my favorite places t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amsterdam is one of my favorite places to go Plus - my granddaughter has been working there as hostess for several years

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner tonight at ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner tonight at Amsterdam cafe. The roasted chicken was cooked to perfection, and the duck was melt in your mouth exquisite. The cheesecake was sinfully decadent. We throughly enjoyed our stout cocktails from the bar. Our server Sarah Catherine was very knowledgeable in helping us select the perfect entrees for our personal preferences. Overall Amsterdam is a perfect setting for an ideal date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for our anniversary. The food wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went for our anniversary. The food was amazing. Not a big choice but the chef would work with you with food allergies. The drinks were fixed perfectly. Everything was so good we went back a day later with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service, great food.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrific experience! I ordered the 1/2 ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Horrific experience! I ordered the 1/2 fried chicken dinner and was told the breast would not be included in the meal. I asked if they were substituting another piece or coming down off the price and the waitress said she would have to go ask. Then she came back and told me I would receive a leg, a thigh, and and a half of leg and a half of thigh so it would be four pieces. At first I thought she was joking, and I asked if it will still be the full price and again, she had to go ask. Another woman came over and was quite rude and snappy acting like I was the one out of line for asking the question. This is not what was advertised on the menu. No apology, no offer to make it right, and we all know, a leg, a thigh and a half of leg and thigh do not equal a half of chicken. How do you even split a leg in half??? Needless to say we got up and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Love it. Great service. Great food. Wil ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Love it. Great service. Great food. Will be back often!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, prices were high for t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was good, prices were high for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent food and service

vip
·Dined on May 29, 2016

No trip to Auburn is complete without a dining experience at Amsterdam. Really enjoy the food and friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter's 16th birthday dinner with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

My daughter's 16th birthday dinner with friends was a big success. Amsterdam's never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty but Expensive

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was great and service was good. However, the prices were a bit high.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Our second time to eat here over a 4 da ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our second time to eat here over a 4 day period. We love the food, service, and overall offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently good food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Consistently good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We had a reservation on a busy Friday ni ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a reservation on a busy Friday night (graduation weekend). We were seated immediately. Service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite place in Auburn. We hav ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our new favorite place in Auburn. We have thought Acre was the promo place but after eating at Amsterdam twice this week end we have moved them to the top of a very short list.

The appetizers, calamari, smoked oysters, and mussels were outstanding. Our entrees, pork chop, scallops, tuna, and snapper were perfectly prepared and some of the best tasting food we have had anywhere. The service both nights, was excellent and they can serve you quickly or allow you to slow the pace and enjoy. Just outstanding all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous!!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Celebrating Auburn graduate. Food was lovely. Server was very helpful In selecting dishes. I had a red snapper special with risotto that melted in your mouth. One of the best dishes I have ever experienced!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Have to try the crab cake sandwich and lobster egg rolls! Great atmosphere and food. No problems with a party of 10+ people.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A small neighborhood restaurant worth the wait

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Don't overlook the fact that this restaurant is off the beaten path! The executive chef is regionally famous and keeps the menu fresh and exciting. I've never had a bad experience here, and consider it one of the showplaces of the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lobster egg roll was fantastic. We sat o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Lobster egg roll was fantastic. We sat outside which was really nice. Great brunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Golf Outing

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had eight guys in town for a weekend golf outing at the Robert Trent Jones course. We've been to Amsterdam before and it is very consistent. Parking is a pain, but can be overcome.

My only complaint was that three of our entrees came with green rice which in our world is white rice cooked with various green herbs. This green rice was so spicy we couldn't eat it. When we were done I mentioned it to our server that the menu should flag the heat, she replied well it's green rice" and walked away implying we should know that.

Left with a bad taste ( literally ) in our mouth.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Amsterdam is great

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. The servers are efficient and friendly. We especially recommend Lauren and Cameron. The bartender makes excellent cocktails and the right pour. They have an excellent bourbon selection. The chef accommodates our special requests perfectly. We also love their desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A real gem

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Truely meets the definition of a neighborhood gem. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. One of the best presentations of grouper I have had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Crab Cake and Fried Green Tomato ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Awesome Crab Cake and Fried Green Tomato BLT Sandwiches!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

spectacular food and ambiance!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary here Friday evening and had an awesome experience. The Shrimp and Grits appetizer was the highlight of the meal for me, and my husband loved his Pepper Jack Grilled Chicken sandwich. The atmosphere was lively but not too loud and the décor was wonderful. We can't wait to go back and try the outdoor dining some summer evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When visiting our Auburn student we alwa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

When visiting our Auburn student we always eat brunch at Amsterdam Cafe. Great service (Alex you do a GREAT job!) and nice food selections. Please put the dutch baby back on the brunch menu, a favorite of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brunch selection.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great brunch selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Anniversary night

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was good and the food awesome! However, not best place for our occasion because of the noise. For a regular night out or a night out with friends, this would be perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful (as before) ... ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Everything was wonderful (as before) .... appreciate them going the extra mile so we could make the movie .... food is spectacular!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GRANDKIDS VISIT

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Food was very good and all enjoyed. Samatha was very nice with kids and waited on us as

we expected.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good selection of daily specials, e ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good selection of daily specials, extremely large portions, and full bar with an extensive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great choice, never have been d ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Always a great choice, never have been disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Sat outside on the patio, pretty nice en ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Sat outside on the patio, pretty nice environment. Cocktails are on the higher side, but the food is priced fair. My fish dish was really good. I much prefer Amsterdam to Hamilton's down the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amsterdam Cafe - reliably good

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Amsterdam Cafe is both a neighborhood gem and a favorite hip spot for lunch or dinner. The food is reliably good to excellent, but down to earth - nothing very fancy. If I had to pick just one place to eat in Auburn, this would probably be it. Selections range from sandwiches to seafood to steak. There is a nice outdoors area when weather is good - its only drawback is that diesel fumes from trucks coming and going in the gas station next door can sometimes waft in. Inside has a nice ambiance, but the acoustics are bad and it is hard to hear your dinner companions. Large groups are seated downstairs, where the acoustics are even worse. Good wine selection. Where we always take out-of-town guests.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Restaurant for the most part.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The food and service at Amsterdam Café are some of the best in Auburn. We had brunch there on Sunday. We opted to get the "unlimited Mimosas for $15. They were 90% OJ and 10% Champagne. We brought this to the attention of our waitress who was more than attentive. She brought us another 1/2 glass of champagne. However, it was obvious the manager had an issue with this - and we went back to receiving the 90% OJ drinks. DEFINATELY NOT a good choice for brunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.