About Amsterdam Cafe

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Amsterdam Cafe
Amsterdam Cafe

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Alabama
Neighborhood Gem
Alabama
American
Alabama
2 More
Most Booked
Alabama
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

Neighborhood Gem (48)
Great for Lunch (39)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Hot Spot (13)
Casual (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrific! I will surely go back if I'm e ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Terrific! I will surely go back if I'm ever back. The service was terrific. Was a bit noisy.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was amazing!! Great variety, everyt ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was amazing!! Great variety, everything tasted amazing!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam Cafe was a wonderful experienc ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amsterdam Cafe was a wonderful experience all around. There were 6 of us in our party. Everyone loved their food!!! I got the salmon with roasted asparagus, and it was fabulous; especially the asparagus!! A must try if in Auburn, AL.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lunch place in Auburn. Consistently ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Best lunch place in Auburn. Consistently good - one of the best blackened chicken caesar salads out there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I came here with my who were visiting. I ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I came here with my who were visiting. I had never been before and Amsterdam Cafe is now one of my favorite spots to visit! Whether for a quick bite, drinks, or a big dinner, Amsterdam Cafe is an amazing restaurant!

Tags: Private Room, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Authentic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met two friends for dinner and enjoyed s ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Met two friends for dinner and enjoyed sitting outside since inside upstairs is so noisy. Fans kept the temperature just right even on a late summer evening. Would have liked having a little more lighting as it grew dark out. I had the rum salmon salad, blackened, one of my friends had the same grilled, both of them were very good. Generous portions of salmon that were perfectly cooked. Reservations handled well; our table was waiting when we arrived.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I ordered the EL Benedict. Brisket was a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I ordered the EL Benedict. Brisket was all fat. The server made it right but where is quality control? This should have never been plated in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Eggs Benedict with pork and avocado was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Eggs Benedict with pork and avocado was great! We always get the lobster egg roll appetizer and we're never disappointed. Sausage and cheese omelet was also a hit. One of the best places for brunch in Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Sunday morning brunch spot!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Sunday morning brunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amsterdam is always a favorite, and did ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amsterdam is always a favorite, and did not disappoint on our recent visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's always a Great experience at Amster ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's always a Great experience at Amsterdams. Drinks, Food & Service.

An Auburn Icon for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food! Located close to campus an ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Awesome food! Located close to campus and an easy walk on game day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Consistently excellent. It's also a goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Consistently excellent. It's also a good place for dinner, but that category was not listed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service is excellent! Food is quite tas ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Service is excellent! Food is quite tasty! I eat at Amsterdam at least once a month with family or friends. I've always been pleased with the quality of the food, and the fact that local products are used makes it very appealing.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The front room where we were seated was ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The front room where we were seated was so loud it was ridiculous. I don't exactly know why it was so loud because it was Wednesday evening at 7:30 p.m. Maybe it's the acoustics? It seemed like people were literally screaming, screeching, and yelling. I was very surprised and disappointed because it was so exhausting just attempting to speak with my date or hear her. It got better within about 30 minutes. Maybe we're just lame, but you need to know what you're getting into if you bring a date here. Perhaps you can ask for seating in the back? Food was a click above average. Service was so-so.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We had a party of 16 and had one person ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had a party of 16 and had one person taking care of us which caused a delay throughout the night, especially at the end when we paid our bills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

My wife and I have dined at Amsterdam se ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Amsterdam several times since we moved to Auburn, and we love taking friends, family and visitors along to share in enjoying this local favorite. The service is always above-and-beyond and the food is always delicious. See you again soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Organic, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. Ordered off t ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was great as always. Ordered off the Sunday Brunch menu for the 1st time & it was SO good!!! We will definitely be back for Sunday Brunch again soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner. Our serve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner. Our server was very knowledgeable about the food and wine list. We had just moved our college age son into his apartment at Auburn University, and were happy to find a nice relaxed atmosphere at this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Again this place did not disappoint. We ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Again this place did not disappoint. We love it and appreciate the fact that they accept reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One of our favorite places to eat in Aub ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat in Auburn! Wish they would expand seating, but still a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great cafe in Auburn with really good fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great cafe in Auburn with really good food and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

My husband and I took our two college ag ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My husband and I took our two college age boys and a buddy of their's for dinner Saturday night. The restaurant is in a strip center, but is pretty cute inside - nothing fancy but has some personality. We sat in the back in a booth and service was friendly and prompt. I had the shrimp and grits. Excellent. Boys all had sandwiches and my husband had the seared tuna. All pretty good! Was it amazing..? Probably better said; very good. Will we return..? Yeah maybe.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have always had a great meal at Amste ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have always had a great meal at Amsterdam Cafe. On this day we were there for Sunday Brunch after looking at their brunch menu online, before making a reservation. After we were seated and got our drinks, they informed us that because of graduation weekend, the brunch menu was fixed with only three items, :-( . They would not permit any exceptions as my wife wanted an omelet, and that was not on the special menu. I found that strange as the restaurant was not very busy.

It would have been nice to know this in advance as this was disappointing. We thought of leaving but too much of a hassle to find another place without a long wait, (the reason for making reservations to begin with). We ended up staying and the meal was OK (the server was friendly and attentive though), but we would have appreciated knowing this before we were seated....

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter was absolutely fantastic on a bus ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waiter was absolutely fantastic on a busy graduation day. Food was great as usual. It was a little warm inside the restaurant, but it was 200 degrees outside and the place was full. An AC can only do so much. Great experience on a great day!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I made reservations here for my graduati ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I made reservations here for my graduation. I wanted everything that day to go and smoothly as possible. Thanks to Amsterdams, it did. They had the tables and staff ready to go as soon as we walked in. Very pleased with my experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

food was go as always. When my husband w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

food was go as always. When my husband was ready to order wine, the waitress was busy with another table and continued there for a long time. So long our food came and got cold before anyone got our wine order and we had to flag another waitress down to do that.

Lastly, I ordered the Tuna but the sides accompanying the dish were WAY over salted..I think we will go back but it will be a while before we do.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I usually feel like I could eat anything ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I usually feel like I could eat anything on the menu here; really great menu for food and beverage. This visit was busier than usual and our experience was not as good as I expected. I felt like the menu was too big and Amsterdam was offering a bit more than they could deliver with quality. This is not an inexpensive restaurant - when you are charging 25-36 dollars for an entire', there are no excuses! I would like to see less menu selections and higher quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Our server was great but getting food fr ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our server was great but getting food from kitchen was very slow. We have never had this before. Usually service is quick

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This restaurant is consistency excellent ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This restaurant is consistency excellent, and I consider it as one of the top two places in Auburn to bring out-of-towners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was extremely disappointed after seein ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was extremely disappointed after seeing so many positive reviews for this restaurant. I took my brother here for his birthday (he's a student at the university and I flew in from Chicago), and found it dirty, dark, and wholly underwhelming. The food is far too expensive for the quality of taste and presentation, both of which were bland and unremarkable. We tried the lobster egg rolls as an appetizer, which was definitely the best item we tried and would recommend to diners. However, their Lamb Burger was nothing more than a hamburger with tzatziki sauce (I would've expected some seasoning to the burger), and their much lauded Crab Cake & Avocado Sandwich had next to no taste. Dessert was a joke - their chocolate cake is nothing more than the frozen kind you find in any chain restaurant. It was still slightly frozen and covered in corn flakes. Aside from the food, half of the upper seating area was covered in large food crumbs, which were left during the entirety of our meal. Go for drinks and appetizers, and move on to another restaurant for dinner.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was very good. I had the salmon ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was very good. I had the salmon salad which had the best piece of salmon I have ever eaten! The sweet potato chips were also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had several different business associ ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had several different business associates coming into town for a business meeting. I needed a place that could seat ten on fairly short notice and could accommodate our need to be isolated as much as possible. I knew that Amsterdam's had a room in the back that would work perfect for our meeting. I booked the reservation and requested a table in the back. They were very accommodating and helped me make the dinner a success.

Thanks for all of your help, friendly service and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & a great venue for a co-worke ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good food & a great venue for a co-worker's retirement luncheon. We had a group of 15 and the back private room was great for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place!!!!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit but definitely on the return ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First visit but definitely on the return list! Our waitress was welcoming, helpful, and attentive. To say our food was delicious is a real understatement! Our party of four was seated in what appeared to be a newer section and the beautiful surroundings only added to our very positive experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam is one of my favorite places t ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amsterdam is one of my favorite places to go Plus - my granddaughter has been working there as hostess for several years

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner tonight at ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner tonight at Amsterdam cafe. The roasted chicken was cooked to perfection, and the duck was melt in your mouth exquisite. The cheesecake was sinfully decadent. We throughly enjoyed our stout cocktails from the bar. Our server Sarah Catherine was very knowledgeable in helping us select the perfect entrees for our personal preferences. Overall Amsterdam is a perfect setting for an ideal date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for our anniversary. The food wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went for our anniversary. The food was amazing. Not a big choice but the chef would work with you with food allergies. The drinks were fixed perfectly. Everything was so good we went back a day later with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.