About Amsterdam Cafe

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Miguel Figueroa

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Casual (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Cozy (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Fun (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Authentic (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Live Sports (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Virginia was an amazing server for our large party (w/ separate checks). Thanks so much for a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a large party and sat out on the patio. Our server was excellent. The food was excellent. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a special occasion! Room with a bar can be configured for large parties. Excellent food! Lobster egg rolls are a must.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My one concern is the noise level in the upstairs dining area. We were there Friday at 7:00 and there was one empty table near us most of the time we were there. I sat in the middle of the booth with people on the each side of me. We had an age range from mid 40's to mid 70's. We found most of the time when people diagonally across from each other spoke some one in the middle had to repeat it. I suggest when people make a reservation you offer them upper or lower areas.

We are local people.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Amsterdam is ALWAYS a good place to meet friends for good food!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Amsterdam is always good - a go to place in Auburn. The food is consistently outstanding. It is a bit noisy; people enjoying themselves and having fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food and service was excellent!!
We enjoyed the Crab cake sandwich which was very tasty. Also loved the El Benedict (their version of Eggs Benedict )!!! And the lobster egg rolls and the homemade biscuits were delicious!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2017

After football game dinner. Not high expectations since close to college campus but wow we were wrong. We were pleasantly surprised. Calamari was great. Tuna was great. My husband got filet and it was acceptable but not great. Sides were good. Service was outstanding!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent as always! Amsterdam Cafe is always a favorite when we are in town! It is our favorite location to "tailgatel when we are In Auburn for games!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Fabulous service. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Wonderful! Table was ready to go when we arrived and even had water for everyone before we sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Our reserved table for 7 was given to another party, hostess mistake. After a bit of confusion and 15 minute wait, we were taken downstairs to a table. This area is MUCH nicer than main level. It does not have servers constantly bumping diners since main level is too crowded and too loud to visit. Cocktails and food were very good. Service maybe a bit slow but we were visiting and it did not bother use.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2017

love that they take reservations. always reliably good food and great service

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2017

The backroom is the best! Service and food were the best. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a large group for our Senior Homecoming dinner and the restaurant did a great job getting us seated (although we did have to split in half) and while the food was great, as always, 1/2 the group was finished before the other 1/2 even got their food. All in all, it was a great night with great friends! Thanks! AHS Seniors ‘18

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Homecoming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 13, 2017

auburn resident.... always on top of my favorite list

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of our favorite places in Auburn. Crab cakes with remoulade sauce is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Second time there, very good experience both times, will come back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Made a reservation on Open Table and when I arrived was told they had no tables and the app should not have allowed it. When digging in, the manager revealed the fact it should not have been allowed but my name was clearly in the system. They bent the rules and found an outside table which was a notch above being asked to leave. The manager did not acknowledge how he screwed up and he agreed to cover an appetizer which we had to ask for.

Food is always good but not worth this level of service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Hostesses were not very accommodating. If I hadn’t been there before and have a reservation, I probably would have left. Hostesses need to be friendlier and more helpful. Had a reservation and was helped by manager. Table service was very good! We were a table of 7. Brought me wrong dinner. Waiter was very good and very helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great food, energetic atmosphere! Every dish was delicious and creative and service was quick and friendly

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Definitely give this place a try when you are in Auburn. It's easy to make reservations on Open Table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was average at best, were out of potatoes at 10am, service was the worst I'd ever had will never go back

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

26th Birthday Celebration for party of 9
Great brunch and service too! Loved location and even good parking! We dined in the back dining room...very cool room and bar with beautiful features and display of wine bottles. Would definitely like to go again for dinner! Only negative: It was freezing inside!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We have been here a few times in the past and always enjoyed our meal. We went for brunch and had a reservation right at 10:00 when they opened. While my shrimp and grits were at least warm, the El Benedict and pancakes and bacon were cold. Not sure if the immediate rush on the kitchen was too much for them to handle the amount of food coming out at the same time but the quality was lacking this time. Usually spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food, great service. We reserved a spot on a home game day and they gave us a table even though the reservation was for closing time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amsterdam has become a traditional gathering for my group of 6 pre and post game. It just sets the right tone for fun and catch up time with friends. Staff is always helpful, courteous and friendly. I love this place!! Oh....and the food is outstanding!! The chef adds new items, there is always a special dish and he keeps the favorites. What a combination.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We were visiting from Mississippi and our friends recommended Amsterdam Cafe. We were not disappointed. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We have been here many times. Our food was mediocre at best and it too forever to get a glass of wine and when it came it was not what I had ordered nor a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food and service were both great. We especially liked the watermelon salad with salmon and we always have to get the crab and avocado sandwich. The turkey wrap is also great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great Rum Salmon Salad - a standard that I almost always order for lunch. Great, friendly service. They know me and have my iced tea ready when they see me coming.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

One of our go-to restaurants for a great meal with great service. They also make a wonderful spicy Bloody Mary! I recommend reservations as it's a popular spot not far from the edge of campus and the Hotel Auburn.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Awesome place for brunch or dinner. Just make sure to make a reservation before you go ,since it's one of the best restaurants in auburn. I've been there a couple times and it never disappoints

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Scenic View, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Unfortunately they were short-staffed the night we were there. Our server had too many tables, and even when we brought it to management's attention - twice, nothing was done. We had to wait 20 minutes to order a drink and 30 minutes for her to come back and say they didn't have what we ordered. NOT okay! She blamed it on the bartender, but by then the restaurant was only 1/2 full, so I don't believe she was being honest.
Finally the manager did apologize, but they didn't do anything other than say we're sorry. Won't be going back - WAY too many good choices in Auburn to bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Seated right on time! Loved the bartender and hostess. Food was good, however table agreed seafood was okay. Jambalaya and avacado crab sandwich did not live up to the talk- too much filling with only one thing slice of avocado. Would recommend the macaroni and fried chicken. Atmosphere was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good original and different food and atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were here over Homecoming weekend at Auburn so it was extremely busy. We were seated on time, our waiter was great and food was good! We had blackened redfish, fried chicken with Mac and cheese, all good, but the jambalaya was just ok- was very rice heavy and not much else in it. Apple cobbler was very tasty. Only complaint I had was the table and seats were very wet when we sat down. We would def come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

As first-timers, we were very pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere. We we're seated in a downstairs room not pictured in my online research. It had a bright and yet still cozy feel with an upscale, modern and elegant decor. There was also an atmospheric patio and a more casual main dining room. The menu had a good variety of lighter vs heavier selections and with a good variety of price ranges. Our server (I'm sorry I didn't get her name) did an excellent job on a very busy home football game weekend night. We had reservations and were seated with very little wait. We had a great bottle of wine at a reasonable price-point. The house specialty crab cake avocado sandwich was wonderful! That was one item we ordered to share. The kitchen halved the sandwich for us and plated it separately. It was a nice service touch. All in all, I'd have to say The Amsterdam surpassed my expectations! We'd definitely recommend it and will go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amsterdam is always consistently good. Great option for game weekends because they take reservations.....but call several weeks in advance!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.