About Amsterdam Cafe

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Amsterdam Cafe, Auburn, AL

Report a photo problem

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Casual (23)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
Historic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was a little slow but that was t ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was a little slow but that was to be expected on New Year's Eve. Everyone in our group of eight enjoyed their food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not sure how I managed to attend Auburn ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not sure how I managed to attend Auburn University, but never made it to Amsterdam Cafe. Now I've been three times in 4 months and every visit has been wonderful! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam is my favorite restaurant in A ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amsterdam is my favorite restaurant in Auburn! The service is always great and the food always hits the spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!!!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a wonderful time at Amste ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always have a wonderful time at Amsterdam! It's our favorite place in town!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Spicy, Fun, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food Great service. Some food items ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good Food Great service. Some food items seemed to have been prepped and frozen. They were tasty... That would be the only thing to improve/ to get 5 stars from me!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food, drinks, and service were excellent ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food, drinks, and service were excellent as always. Very good selections from the menu as well as the daily special. Besides an extensive wine list, Amsterdam Cafe has a very good beer list from all the usual suspects to high test specialty brands.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always. Shrimp and Grits is ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious as always. Shrimp and Grits is a very good entree and the crab cake croissant is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great group meal. They don't try to ove ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great group meal.

They don't try to over do things with the trendy food o' the minute - always good solid execution, great quality and very good for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservations at Amsterdam after, I ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Made reservations at Amsterdam after, I admit, we had tried to get into some of the newer restaurants but without luck. All reservations taken. We have eaten here at Amsterdam before and always liked it but thought we would try something new. I'm glad we ate at Amsterdam. The other restaurants required a credit card with some outrageous fee if you don't keep the reservations. I understand the risk they take and that there are rude people that won't cancel reservations but Amsterdam has no such policy and I appreciate that.

Our dining experience was great! Very attentive and friendly waitress. I had the Mahi burger and it was delicious. My daughter had the lamb burger which she enjoyed. My husband had the burger special of the day which he said was very good. We like the front room of the restaurant. It seems a little more cozy but the back part is ok just a little noisy.

All in all a great place to eat. We highly recommend it and we will go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Most of us had the c ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Never disappoints! Most of us had the crab avocado sandwich which was delicious. The sweet potato chips were a great starter. Have enjoyed two very special celebrations here. Great memories. Thanks Amsterdams!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We love Amsterdam Cafe and have held num ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We love Amsterdam Cafe and have held numerous special occasion events there. This was a graduation lunch party of 10. Our only complaint is that we were seated right in front of the door and it was a VERY cold day. Every time the door opened we were blasted with cold air. We asked to be moved to the back room and the staff tried to accommodate us but were unable to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We ate at Amsterdam Café the night befor ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We ate at Amsterdam Café the night before my daughter's graduation at Auburn. The only negative I had was we were a party of 9 and were sat at the very front near the front door and it was close to freezing outside so it was cold. Our location in the restaurant could have been better. Our food and service were excellent though and we had everything from sandwiches to steaks. I had the ribeye steak and it was excellent and cooked perfectly. I ate every bite of it. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Not a huge menu but everything we ordere ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Not a huge menu but everything we ordered was delicious. Loved the lobster rolls for appetizer even though we weren't sure there was lobster in them. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Crawfish & Turnip Greens soup was delici ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Crawfish & Turnip Greens soup was delicious, spicy but not hot. Soups always seems to be served luke warm, I like mine hot.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was mediocre at best. The crab ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was mediocre at best. The crab cakes were cool to the touch and more cake than crab. We did not find any lumps of lobster in the lobster rolls. This was my second time Amsterdam Cafe this month. I will not go back.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Virginia took good care of our party. Th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Virginia took good care of our party. The scallops were outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved Amsterdam! The food an ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Absolutely loved Amsterdam! The food and service were outstanding! It was our first time but it want be our last!! AUmazing place to dine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Pleasant at ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Pleasant atmosphere. Great food. Takes reservations. Hidden treasure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is an excellent seafood restaurant wi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 15, 2016

It is an excellent seafood restaurant with great dishes. I enjoyed the crab cake avocado sandwich but mine wasn't as good as the hype I've heard about it. There was nothing wrong with it, it just wasn't the best thing on the menu. I had some of my date's shrimp and grits, however, and that dish was incredible. I had one bite and was very impressed. Although it is twice the price of the crab cake sandwich, it was well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Had a great experience. The food was coo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had a great experience. The food was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as always. I could make a mea ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful, as always. I could make a meal on lobster rolls!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amsterdam has consistently very good foo ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amsterdam has consistently very good food at reasonable pricing for a finer restaurant. Servers are always among the better. I much prefer a cozy dining atmosphere and generally most seating fits that order.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. I made reservations on ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience. I made reservations online for 12:30 on Sunday. We arrived about five minutes early. When we gave our name to the receptionist, he took us directly to our table. Impressive. And the food and service were equally so. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday lunch/brunch and place was very b ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Sunday lunch/brunch and place was very busy - perhaps understaffed - took order and delivered check. Slow for water / coffee refills - food arrived in waves. Biscuits under cooked

Salmon was very good - been there before and service was very good suspect this was an understaff situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amsterdam Cafe never disappoints! Alway ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amsterdam Cafe never disappoints! Always great with reservations, solid service, excellent food and a great atmosphere. We always choose to eat there when in Auburn.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a must place for eating while in ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is a must place for eating while in Auburn. Food is always consistently good. Service is over the top (Meghan especially). They go out of the way to insure that you are satisfied with everything. I highly recommend it. The crab cake/avocado sandwich is a must! Shrimp and Grits are good....oh yes, the Rum salmon salad is good.....just a few suggestions! I'm booking my next reservation today.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are from Louisiana and were visiting ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are from Louisiana and were visiting our daughter who attends Auburn. She was looking for a good meal! We had a great visit and the food was enjoyed by all! Will definitely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So appreciate the willingness of staff t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 1, 2016

So appreciate the willingness of staff to move the set-up table from back room dining to outside at last minute. Really nice of them!!

One order (club sandwich) was not brought out with the other 11 orders. Nothing was mentioned by waiter to the guest. Finally after a long time (we all were waiting and not eating), the guest asked a waiter why it wasn't out. He said it was due to a kitchen mishap. The guest should have been told something when the rest of us got our food and also updated on it until it was brought. She might have changed her order to get something quicker. Communication would have been better!

Food was great as always!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a wonderful place for good food, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is a wonderful place for good food, good atmosphere and good service. Staff is always friendly and food very consistent. This is our go to place on weekends game day. Megan is a wonderful server.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure how I haven't been to Amsterdam ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Not sure how I haven't been to Amsterdam in all the years I've lived in Auburn, but this was my first visit. It was amazing! We had a party of 5 and everyone loved their meals, cocktails, and dessert. The husband will most definitely be taking me back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, was great. The crab cake was ab ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Overall, was great. The crab cake was absolutely. The server was amazing, the food was amazing, and the atmosphere was also amazing.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat! Food and services was e ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Always a treat! Food and services was exceptional. Very consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food at reasonable prices. Unique ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great food at reasonable prices. Unique menu items and appetizers mixed with traditional dishes. Great service. They also offer private dinning options as well as patio seating options (patio and private areas are good for business dinners as they are much quieter than the dining room). I highly recommend Amsterdam Cafe!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was out 3rd time to eat at Amsterda ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was out 3rd time to eat at Amsterdam Café and will not be our last. It's evident that the owners, management and employees strive to make any dining event a memorable one. Although we haven't experienced everything on the menu (yet), we've sampled enough to be convinced it's all great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, one of our favorite places i ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food, one of our favorite places in Auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Surprisingly, a lot of carbs and fried f ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Surprisingly, a lot of carbs and fried foods. I was hoping for more fresh food. Had to ask for fruit during Brunch, as it was not on the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Perfect spot for Sunday lunch! We enjoye ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Perfect spot for Sunday lunch! We enjoyed all of our entrees!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.