Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 39 times today

Amsterdam Cafe

4.5
555 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu, Sun 11:00 am–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 11:00 am–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(334) 826-8181
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Miguel Figueroa
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Samford Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 555 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 12 hours ago

just moved back to Auburn and first visit in several years. Food was awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

My son and I were in town catering an event. We tried Amsterdam Cafe because we couldn’t get reservations at Acre. We probably will eat at Amsterdam every time we come to Auburn. The food was great. The service was excellent. My son tried the crab cake and avocado sandwich. He can’t wait to have it again. I would go back just for the sweet rum vinaigrette.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our go to restaurant for date night. Never disappointed

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The overall experience was great. The waiter that we had for our table was polite and knowledgable about the menu. If there was an issue with the food or drink, it was taken care of immediately. Great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Food and service was amazing... I would highly recommend to anyone ... no disappointments.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I made a reservation for the Sunday after the A-Day game early on in the week. When my friend and I arrived we were sat promptly, but the area was small, cramped, and definitely ruined the experience for us a bit. We were sat at a small two top near the entrance on one side of the partition by the booths. There was a table already dining behind my seat, and I chose that seat to give my guest more room, and her seat was by one of the travel paths. I was pretty uncomfortable because the girl seated behind me had her chair pulled out quite a bit and I had to kind of squeeze into my seat. Our chairs were butted up against each other, not even a piece of paper could have fit between the chairs because of the lack of room. I'm of average size, and the girl behind me was as well. She kept bumping the chair, and that really annoyed me. I had to bump her back for her to get the hint that she kept hitting my chair. My friend and I work in the service industry, and we understand that it was a busy brunch, but where I work I always try to accommodate guests with reservations in better seating since they went out of their way to make a reservation and plan ahead. We didn't say anything because we knew it was busy and hoped the food would make up for this. It didn't. The food was delicious, but because of the poor seating it took away from the experience. Our server, Michael, was great and I would recommend him to anyone. I'm an alumni and usually tell people visiting to stop by Amsterdam Cafe since it's an Auburn staple, but I'll definitely make sure to tell them to make a note to sit at a table or booth with plenty of room when they make a reservation. I know I can't expect my experience will be the same for another. I might go back when I visit again, but it won't be my first choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Good food good service
People are really nice. Put it on your list of places to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great tacos and steak sub!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was good, service was great. Only down side was the parking. The greeter could not tell us other options for parking as the lot out front and to the left side was full. On the website, it mentioned parking next door at the Exxon, but when we did, the manager came out and told us to move.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We brought our friends to Amsterdam bc it is one of our favorite restaurants in. Auburn. The food and drinks were fantastic as always but service greatly disappointed us this time. We ordered drinks that sat at the bar for nearly 10min. We almost got up to get them ourselves. Our water glasses were always empty. The waitress seemed to lack social skill as if it were her first day.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

There are two very different sections of the restaurant: the front is a dive like bar and the back is a sleek modern dining room. We were not asked which section we preferred The hostesses could see we were dressed up and should have seated us in the nicer area. Or at least asked. There were plenty of sears for a party of 3 in both food was good but calamari was too salty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Waiter was given too many people to serve, salad came at the end of the meal and had to cancel dessert order after 20 minutes .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Class of 1961 Monthly Dinner Outing back area great location for our group, just a bit loud!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Brought 2 couples visiting from out of town. The food and the service was great!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Diverse menu
Very friendly
Good drink menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Took my brother out to Easter brunch and Amsterdam’s was actually not my first choice but the only place I could get a reservation last minute. Can I just say I’m glad this happened! One of the best dining experiences I’ve had in a long time! I got the crab crusted salmon and it was to die for and he got the crab cake sandwich which we highly recommend! We expected to have a wait even with our reservation because it was Easter, but no they sat us right away. The service was also exceptionally fast! We had our meals within 35 minutes of being seated!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great place for Sunday Brunch. 2nd year in a row we have met my son, an Auburn student, for Easter Brunch-lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Very limited vegetarian items. Not flexible on making things vegetarian

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Excellent selection of appetizers, lively atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Service was a bit slow and noise higher than normal but it was a busy night. The food though was a bit sub-par. Have eaten there many times and always pleased. This time...not so much. I will go back though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Good location when students are in town. Good not great. Noisy

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was pretty good overall but the service was soooo SLOW. Our waiter was Baxter and while he was nice enough he just seemed oblivious to what was going on around him and did not seem to be in hurry about anything. We also had a 3 year old and 8 month old with us which also did not seem to register with him at all that a slight sense of urgency might be a good thing. We sat down at 12:30pm and walked out of there at 2pm and all we ordered was a pulled chicken sandwich, a crab cake sandwich and a basket of chips. It wasn't that the food took a long time after we ordered...it was that he took an incredibly long time taking our order. It took over 30 minutes to get our full order in to him. Long story short...the food is good but if you get Baxter, ask for a different server...unless you've got lots of time to kill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great service and a tasty food.
However, At the front desk, my reservation was not recognized. Good thing I showed her an e-mail confirmation from the open table. Then she still could not find my reservation. I had a 6:30pm but she had put me down different times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent place for consistent quality of food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Very nice experience. Salmon was really good and vegetables nicely charred

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Our go-to restaurant in Auburn. It was particularly loud this time, which detracted from an otherwise good evening. We passed on desert because the noise was deafening. A large party group should have been seated downstairs. I'm glad they were having fun, but we didn't need to experience their party!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was ok- though our server paid more attention to the larger parties at the tables behind us. I guess he thought he’d net a better tip from the larger group? 2 in our party ordered steak and were never given steak knives- basically had to cut steaks with the equivalent of a butter knife. Food was not as good as what I’ve grown to expect from Amsterdam- particularly given the price point. All in all, not horrible, but definitely not worth going out of the way for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Food was great as always. Never miss a chance to dine at Amsterdam during our Auburn trips!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We have been to Amsterdam's Restaurant many times over the years...always delicious and unique with great atmosphere and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Excellent!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Loved our server, Lauren. We were seated outside on a chilly evening, yet despite the unwillingness of the other tables of al fresco diners to share their heaters, her service made up for the cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Absolutely loved the crab cake sandwich. This is one of my favorite restaurants in Auburn. Can’t wait to get back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We both had the house salad with gorgonzola dressing (very good) and seared tuna (very meh). What a strange combination of textures. The over-generous sesame seed coating for the tuna along with the fried rice and broccolini resulted in a very grainy experience, while the tuna was unpleasantly soft. Would not order this dish again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We always have a wonderful time! Great service!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

we lated very long time for a very simple order

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Great time. Food was very Good! Loved the atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food and service were both great. We try to eat there at least once each time we visit Auburn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great food; service and atmosphere. A gem in Auburn

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Always enjoy going to Amsterdam when we come to Auburn.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14