About Amsterdam Cafe

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Alabama
Neighborhood Gem
Alabama
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

special occasion (44)
neighborhood gem (43)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
great for lunch (39)
good for groups (35)
great for outdoor dining (27)
romantic (22)
great for brunch (20)
notable wine list (15)
hot spot (14)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Always good

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Always good

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, great food.

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service, great food.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrific experience! I ordered the 1/2 ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Horrific experience! I ordered the 1/2 fried chicken dinner and was told the breast would not be included in the meal. I asked if they were substituting another piece or coming down off the price and the waitress said she would have to go ask. Then she came back and told me I would receive a leg, a thigh, and and a half of leg and a half of thigh so it would be four pieces. At first I thought she was joking, and I asked if it will still be the full price and again, she had to go ask. Another woman came over and was quite rude and snappy acting like I was the one out of line for asking the question. This is not what was advertised on the menu. No apology, no offer to make it right, and we all know, a leg, a thigh and a half of leg and thigh do not equal a half of chicken. How do you even split a leg in half??? Needless to say we got up and left.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it. Great service. Great food. Wil ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Love it. Great service. Great food. Will be back often!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Service was good, prices were high for t ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was good, prices were high for the quality of the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

No trip to Auburn is complete without a dining experience at Amsterdam. Really enjoy the food and friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter's 16th birthday dinner with ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

My daughter's 16th birthday dinner with friends was a big success. Amsterdam's never disappoints!

food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Tasty but Expensive

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was great and service was good. However, the prices were a bit high.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Our second time to eat here over a 4 da ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our second time to eat here over a 4 day period. We love the food, service, and overall offerings.

food4
ambience4
service2

Consistently good food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Consistently good food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation on a busy Friday ni ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a reservation on a busy Friday night (graduation weekend). We were seated immediately. Service and food were excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our new favorite place in Auburn. We hav ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our new favorite place in Auburn. We have thought Acre was the promo place but after eating at Amsterdam twice this week end we have moved them to the top of a very short list. The appetizers, calamari, smoked oysters, and mussels were outstanding. Our entrees, pork chop, scallops, tuna, and snapper were perfectly prepared and some of the best tasting food we have had anywhere. The service both nights, was excellent and they can serve you quickly or allow you to slow the pace and enjoy. Just outstanding all around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Celebrating Auburn graduate. Food was lovely. Server was very helpful In selecting dishes. I had a red snapper special with risotto that melted in your mouth. One of the best dishes I have ever experienced!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Have to try the crab cake sandwich and lobster egg rolls! Great atmosphere and food. No problems with a party of 10+ people.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A small neighborhood restaurant worth the wait

Dined on May 5, 2016

Don't overlook the fact that this restaurant is off the beaten path! The executive chef is regionally famous and keeps the menu fresh and exciting. I've never had a bad experience here, and consider it one of the showplaces of the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster egg roll was fantastic. We sat o ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Lobster egg roll was fantastic. We sat outside which was really nice. Great brunch spot.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Golf Outing

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had eight guys in town for a weekend golf outing at the Robert Trent Jones course. We've been to Amsterdam before and it is very consistent. Parking is a pain, but can be overcome. My only complaint was that three of our entrees came with green rice which in our world is white rice cooked with various green herbs. This green rice was so spicy we couldn't eat it. When we were done I mentioned it to our server that the menu should flag the heat, she replied well it's green rice" and walked away implying we should know that. Left with a bad taste ( literally ) in our mouth.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amsterdam is great

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. The servers are efficient and friendly. We especially recommend Lauren and Cameron. The bartender makes excellent cocktails and the right pour. They have an excellent bourbon selection. The chef accommodates our special requests perfectly. We also love their desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A real gem

Dined on April 25, 2016

Truely meets the definition of a neighborhood gem. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. One of the best presentations of grouper I have had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Crab Cake and Fried Green Tomato ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Awesome Crab Cake and Fried Green Tomato BLT Sandwiches!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

spectacular food and ambiance!

Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary here Friday evening and had an awesome experience. The Shrimp and Grits appetizer was the highlight of the meal for me, and my husband loved his Pepper Jack Grilled Chicken sandwich. The atmosphere was lively but not too loud and the décor was wonderful. We can't wait to go back and try the outdoor dining some summer evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

When visiting our Auburn student we alwa ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

When visiting our Auburn student we always eat brunch at Amsterdam Cafe. Great service (Alex you do a GREAT job!) and nice food selections. Please put the dutch baby back on the brunch menu, a favorite of ours.

food5
ambience4
service3

Great brunch selection.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great brunch selection.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Anniversary night

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was good and the food awesome! However, not best place for our occasion because of the noise. For a regular night out or a night out with friends, this would be perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful (as before) ... ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Everything was wonderful (as before) .... appreciate them going the extra mile so we could make the movie .... food is spectacular!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

GRANDKIDS VISIT

Dined on March 30, 2016

Food was very good and all enjoyed. Samatha was very nice with kids and waited on us as we expected.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good selection of daily specials, e ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good selection of daily specials, extremely large portions, and full bar with an extensive wine list.

food5
ambience5
service4

Always a great choice, never have been d ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Always a great choice, never have been disappointed

food4
ambience5
service4

Sat outside on the patio, pretty nice en ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Sat outside on the patio, pretty nice environment. Cocktails are on the higher side, but the food is priced fair. My fish dish was really good. I much prefer Amsterdam to Hamilton's down the street.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Amsterdam Cafe - reliably good

Dined on March 23, 2016

Amsterdam Cafe is both a neighborhood gem and a favorite hip spot for lunch or dinner. The food is reliably good to excellent, but down to earth - nothing very fancy. If I had to pick just one place to eat in Auburn, this would probably be it. Selections range from sandwiches to seafood to steak. There is a nice outdoors area when weather is good - its only drawback is that diesel fumes from trucks coming and going in the gas station next door can sometimes waft in. Inside has a nice ambiance, but the acoustics are bad and it is hard to hear your dinner companions. Large groups are seated downstairs, where the acoustics are even worse. Good wine selection. Where we always take out-of-town guests.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant for the most part.

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

The food and service at Amsterdam Café are some of the best in Auburn. We had brunch there on Sunday. We opted to get the "unlimited Mimosas for $15. They were 90% OJ and 10% Champagne. We brought this to the attention of our waitress who was more than attentive. She brought us another 1/2 glass of champagne. However, it was obvious the manager had an issue with this - and we went back to receiving the 90% OJ drinks. DEFINATELY NOT a good choice for brunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Reservations

Dined on March 13, 2016

We made reservations for 7 people for 12:00 on Sunday and arrived 2 minutes early. We were told that a table, there is only 1 that will accomadate that many, was not available as there was a party of 6 which had just been seated. We were told they had reservations also. We asked to speak to the Manager who told us that the seated party did not have reservations and that the Hostess had instead made an error in seating them. After waiting 15 minutes we were seated in an area which was supposed to remain closed. The resulting meal and service were fine; however, the Hostess should have been more honest and should have been more accomadating rather than to suggest that we either eat outside, no tables there for 7, or wait for another couple to leave so that 2 tables could be pushed together giving cramped seating for 7.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Not attentive to gluten-free

Dined on March 7, 2016

Although the restaurant was not busy at 7:00, we were seated in the very back table in a nearly empty room. My salad that was specified to be gluten-free was not. It had cracker crumbles all over it. I would have expected the chef to apologize or the salad to have been compted. I don't think my waitress understood the severity of that type of mixup for someone with celiac disease. The food was great, and I would try it once more to see if it was just an off night.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BIG HIT

Dined on February 21, 2016

Took family from out of town that had never been. Loved, loved! Said they will definitely want to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very consistent and unique foods. Never ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very consistent and unique foods. Never had a bad meal here.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

THIS IS A KEEPER....WE WILL BE BACK...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Never been to Auburn...but when we return this will be on our places to eat again...wonderful service and outstanding food...don't miss this place

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Valentine's Sunday brunch was very good, ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Sunday brunch was very good, regular menu, eggs beny, tacos, Bloody Mary all good! Had a reservation but waited 15 minutes to seat. Hostess said "oooops".

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+ overall

Dined on February 6, 2016

Excellent service and food! Perfect for a birthday celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam Cafe

Dined on January 30, 2016

Our group of 10 all ordered different entrees. EVERYTHING was delicious...from the scallops, to the pork chops, to the tuna, to the burger. The sweet potato chips were cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam's Excellence

Dined on January 25, 2016

Our experience was fabulous ... from the area we were seated, to the food & the service. All 12 of us agreed it was a "do-over". Waiter mentioned the comment I posted on Open Table re: making a movie .... and he made sure we received our food in a very timely manner. Overall -- wonderful .. will definitely make Amsterdam's a habit!!!!!!

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.