About Amsterdam Cafe

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Authentic (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was so so. Food the same. Expe ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was so so. Food the same. Expensive for what the food was. Loud, lots of kids and tvs. Shrimp tails on the shrimp on a pasta dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I usually love the food at Amsterdam. Th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

I usually love the food at Amsterdam. The past couple I've been there has been very different than what I expect. Even the world famous CRAB CAKE AND AVOCADO sandwich was not the same. I really hope they get things together there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Valentine's Day

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's Day

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great the price was pretty ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great the price was pretty high due to Valentine's Day, I'm assuming. Be better if the menu had a few more options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wife and I had a great Valentine dinner ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Wife and I had a great Valentine dinner at Amsterdam Cafe. It's one of our favorite places to eat. We drove from Montgomery to enjoy their Valentine dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went there for Valentine D ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I went there for Valentine Day. I had the grilled pork chop with mashed potatoes and collard greens and it was very good. Howver, my wife, who is allergic to garlic could not find anything on the menu that she liked or that didn't have garlic in it. She select 4 different entrees' and each time the waiter said they had garlic in them. Finally she selected the cobb salad, but had to settle for oil and vinegar dressing because all of their other dressings had garlic. So, overall, it wasn't a pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

New Menu is great - had the Tuna Wraps. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

New Menu is great - had the Tuna Wraps. Was interested to see how they pulled them off - they were outstanding. Great job at updating the menu without going too crazy.

Kept the long-standing staples, brought back the Lamb Burger (THANKS!), and have new items that look great and I will have to try.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always our favorite place, and top choic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Always our favorite place, and top choice for a dinner date. Best restaurant in Auburn! Thank you Amsterdam!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, value and ambience were ver ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The service, value and ambience were very good. Given that our reservation was at a high demand time, February 13th, and everything went well, this added to the experience..

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We chose The Amsterdam Cafe for Sunday B ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

We chose The Amsterdam Cafe for Sunday Brunch for our daughter's birthday. The food was just ok, but nothing special. The service from the male waiter set the tone for the whole meal. His seemed as if he was inconvenienced by our being there. Three of our party ordered coffee. When he came to refill the coffee he only refilled two of our cups and I had to call him back to fill the third. When we mentioned ordering Bloody Mary's he let us know in a snarky manner that we couldn't order them until after 12 pm. We were there past 12 before we left and he never offered to sell us the drinks we had asked about earlier. He also never offered dessert before he brought our ticket. I tipped my minimum of 15%, but for good service I usually tip 20% to 30%. It was his loss and the restaurants loss because we wI'll not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had table in back dining room and it ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had table in back dining room and it was very nice. Food was very good. We had NY strip and lobster roll appetizer.

Tags: , Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I probably eat at Amsterdam Cafe on Gay ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I probably eat at Amsterdam Cafe on Gay Street in Auburn, AL an average of once a week. They have a couple of gluten-free options (which I require) and I seem to be able to eat one of them, the Rum Salmon salad, at least once a week! It is reliably yummy. I substitute all romaine lettuce for the mixed spring greens because I find romaine stands up better to a piece of salmon hot off the grill, and I get the salmon blackened. This salad comes with mango, toasted pecans, and a tangy citrus dressing. They serve this salad every day and night. Although I think there are other gluten-free items, I almost always get the Rum Salmon salad at lunch. Our only (minor) complaint about the restaurant is that it can be hard to hear conversation if the restaurant is crowded.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu always has unique offerings and the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Menu always has unique offerings and the food is always fresh. Service is excellent. Restaurant can be loud when crowded making it difficult to carry a conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time!! we were celebra ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had an amazing time!! we were celebrating a friend's birthday who had never eaten at Amsterdam before. She really enjoyed herself. We sat in the back room (honestly, I never knew the back room existed! It was extremely beautiful!) The $15 bottomless Mimosas were the absolute best I have ever had. The unfortunate part for us was because we did a late brunch (1pm), some of the food choices were already 86'd for the day (Chicken and Waffles and the Seasonal Pancakes and Bacon). However, the other options we decided to go with were phenomenal. I had the Steak and Eggs (OMGGGGGG!!!!!) and another person in the party had the Shrimp N' Grits. The grits were so think and creamy and delicious, and they gave her a decent portion of shrimp as well. Alone, I think I may have spent $35-40, including tip. I will definitely be back here soon!!!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The evening was awesome until we went ou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The evening was awesome until we went out and my friend's car had been towed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was at best mediocre. I had the sho ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was at best mediocre. I had the short rib and it lacked flavor and was borderline dry. My friend said his meal was " poor." Our impression was that food is prepared in advance and reheated. Not worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food and service

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time celebrating our daughte ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a great time celebrating our daughter's 30th birthday. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Food selection was great--lots of options to pick from. Fun atmosphere!

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was, as always, consist ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food and service was, as always, consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was outstanding except for th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was outstanding except for the seating area which made it difficult to carry on a conversation. I would return, however, I would request to be seated in the lower downstairs section or outside if weather permitted, not up front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed with the menu choice ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I was not impressed with the menu choices or the food quality. We had a group of 7 and all of our food came out at different times...some several minutes after the other. I use to love this place, but I will probably not go back. There are better options in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great restaurant with impeccable food op ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great restaurant with impeccable food options and great non rushed service. Definitely a gem off the beaten track.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tapas, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amsterdam Cafe never disappoints! The Ru ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amsterdam Cafe never disappoints! The Rum Salmon Salad will keep us coming back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was a little slow but that was t ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was a little slow but that was to be expected on New Year's Eve. Everyone in our group of eight enjoyed their food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not sure how I managed to attend Auburn ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not sure how I managed to attend Auburn University, but never made it to Amsterdam Cafe. Now I've been three times in 4 months and every visit has been wonderful! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam is my favorite restaurant in A ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amsterdam is my favorite restaurant in Auburn! The service is always great and the food always hits the spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!!!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a wonderful time at Amste ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always have a wonderful time at Amsterdam! It's our favorite place in town!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Spicy, Fun, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food Great service. Some food items ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good Food Great service. Some food items seemed to have been prepped and frozen. They were tasty... That would be the only thing to improve/ to get 5 stars from me!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food, drinks, and service were excellent ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food, drinks, and service were excellent as always. Very good selections from the menu as well as the daily special. Besides an extensive wine list, Amsterdam Cafe has a very good beer list from all the usual suspects to high test specialty brands.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always. Shrimp and Grits is ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious as always. Shrimp and Grits is a very good entree and the crab cake croissant is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great group meal. They don't try to ove ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great group meal.

They don't try to over do things with the trendy food o' the minute - always good solid execution, great quality and very good for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservations at Amsterdam after, I ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Made reservations at Amsterdam after, I admit, we had tried to get into some of the newer restaurants but without luck. All reservations taken. We have eaten here at Amsterdam before and always liked it but thought we would try something new. I'm glad we ate at Amsterdam. The other restaurants required a credit card with some outrageous fee if you don't keep the reservations. I understand the risk they take and that there are rude people that won't cancel reservations but Amsterdam has no such policy and I appreciate that.

Our dining experience was great! Very attentive and friendly waitress. I had the Mahi burger and it was delicious. My daughter had the lamb burger which she enjoyed. My husband had the burger special of the day which he said was very good. We like the front room of the restaurant. It seems a little more cozy but the back part is ok just a little noisy.

All in all a great place to eat. We highly recommend it and we will go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Most of us had the c ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Never disappoints! Most of us had the crab avocado sandwich which was delicious. The sweet potato chips were a great starter. Have enjoyed two very special celebrations here. Great memories. Thanks Amsterdams!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We love Amsterdam Cafe and have held num ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We love Amsterdam Cafe and have held numerous special occasion events there. This was a graduation lunch party of 10. Our only complaint is that we were seated right in front of the door and it was a VERY cold day. Every time the door opened we were blasted with cold air. We asked to be moved to the back room and the staff tried to accommodate us but were unable to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We ate at Amsterdam Café the night befor ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We ate at Amsterdam Café the night before my daughter's graduation at Auburn. The only negative I had was we were a party of 9 and were sat at the very front near the front door and it was close to freezing outside so it was cold. Our location in the restaurant could have been better. Our food and service were excellent though and we had everything from sandwiches to steaks. I had the ribeye steak and it was excellent and cooked perfectly. I ate every bite of it. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Not a huge menu but everything we ordere ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Not a huge menu but everything we ordered was delicious. Loved the lobster rolls for appetizer even though we weren't sure there was lobster in them. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Crawfish & Turnip Greens soup was delici ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Crawfish & Turnip Greens soup was delicious, spicy but not hot. Soups always seems to be served luke warm, I like mine hot.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.