About Amsterdam Cafe

410 South Gay Street
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

You'll find a plate for every palate at Amsterdam Cafe. Our menu consists of soul-pleasing selections that include family favorites, seasonal highlights, and timeless classics. Taste any of our daily specials, award-winning sandwiches, and market fresh seafood, and you will find them to be full of flavor and what you are looking for in a meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Monday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Samford Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 826-8181

Website:
http://amsterdamcafeauburn.com/

Parking Details:
We have parking in front and on both sides of the restaurant, behind the Exxon (formerly BP) or in the church parking lot next door with Cafe labelled on the end of each parking spot.

Executive Chef:
Walter Brown

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Amsterdam Cafe
Amsterdam Cafe

Amsterdam Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Alabama
Neighborhood Gem
Alabama
American
Alabama
1 More
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

Neighborhood Gem (47)
Special Occasion (41)
Great for Lunch (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Groups (34)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Brunch (12)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The front room where we were seated was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

The front room where we were seated was so loud it was ridiculous. I don't exactly know why it was so loud because it was Wednesday evening at 7:30 p.m. Maybe it's the acoustics? It seemed like people were literally screaming, screeching, and yelling. I was very surprised and disappointed because it was so exhausting just attempting to speak with my date or hear her. It got better within about 30 minutes. Maybe we're just lame, but you need to know what you're getting into if you bring a date here. Perhaps you can ask for seating in the back? Food was a click above average. Service was so-so.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We had a party of 16 and had one person ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had a party of 16 and had one person taking care of us which caused a delay throughout the night, especially at the end when we paid our bills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

My wife and I have dined at Amsterdam se ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Amsterdam several times since we moved to Auburn, and we love taking friends, family and visitors along to share in enjoying this local favorite. The service is always above-and-beyond and the food is always delicious. See you again soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Organic, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. Ordered off t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was great as always. Ordered off the Sunday Brunch menu for the 1st time & it was SO good!!! We will definitely be back for Sunday Brunch again soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner. Our serve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner. Our server was very knowledgeable about the food and wine list. We had just moved our college age son into his apartment at Auburn University, and were happy to find a nice relaxed atmosphere at this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Again this place did not disappoint. We ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Again this place did not disappoint. We love it and appreciate the fact that they accept reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One of our favorite places to eat in Aub ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat in Auburn! Wish they would expand seating, but still a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great cafe in Auburn with really good fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great cafe in Auburn with really good food and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

My husband and I took our two college ag ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My husband and I took our two college age boys and a buddy of their's for dinner Saturday night. The restaurant is in a strip center, but is pretty cute inside - nothing fancy but has some personality. We sat in the back in a booth and service was friendly and prompt. I had the shrimp and grits. Excellent. Boys all had sandwiches and my husband had the seared tuna. All pretty good! Was it amazing..? Probably better said; very good. Will we return..? Yeah maybe.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have always had a great meal at Amste ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have always had a great meal at Amsterdam Cafe. On this day we were there for Sunday Brunch after looking at their brunch menu online, before making a reservation. After we were seated and got our drinks, they informed us that because of graduation weekend, the brunch menu was fixed with only three items, :-( . They would not permit any exceptions as my wife wanted an omelet, and that was not on the special menu. I found that strange as the restaurant was not very busy.

It would have been nice to know this in advance as this was disappointing. We thought of leaving but too much of a hassle to find another place without a long wait, (the reason for making reservations to begin with). We ended up staying and the meal was OK (the server was friendly and attentive though), but we would have appreciated knowing this before we were seated....

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter was absolutely fantastic on a bus ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waiter was absolutely fantastic on a busy graduation day. Food was great as usual. It was a little warm inside the restaurant, but it was 200 degrees outside and the place was full. An AC can only do so much. Great experience on a great day!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I made reservations here for my graduati ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I made reservations here for my graduation. I wanted everything that day to go and smoothly as possible. Thanks to Amsterdams, it did. They had the tables and staff ready to go as soon as we walked in. Very pleased with my experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

food was go as always. When my husband w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

food was go as always. When my husband was ready to order wine, the waitress was busy with another table and continued there for a long time. So long our food came and got cold before anyone got our wine order and we had to flag another waitress down to do that.

Lastly, I ordered the Tuna but the sides accompanying the dish were WAY over salted..I think we will go back but it will be a while before we do.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I usually feel like I could eat anything ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I usually feel like I could eat anything on the menu here; really great menu for food and beverage. This visit was busier than usual and our experience was not as good as I expected. I felt like the menu was too big and Amsterdam was offering a bit more than they could deliver with quality. This is not an inexpensive restaurant - when you are charging 25-36 dollars for an entire', there are no excuses! I would like to see less menu selections and higher quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Our server was great but getting food fr ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our server was great but getting food from kitchen was very slow. We have never had this before. Usually service is quick

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This restaurant is consistency excellent ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This restaurant is consistency excellent, and I consider it as one of the top two places in Auburn to bring out-of-towners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was extremely disappointed after seein ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was extremely disappointed after seeing so many positive reviews for this restaurant. I took my brother here for his birthday (he's a student at the university and I flew in from Chicago), and found it dirty, dark, and wholly underwhelming. The food is far too expensive for the quality of taste and presentation, both of which were bland and unremarkable. We tried the lobster egg rolls as an appetizer, which was definitely the best item we tried and would recommend to diners. However, their Lamb Burger was nothing more than a hamburger with tzatziki sauce (I would've expected some seasoning to the burger), and their much lauded Crab Cake & Avocado Sandwich had next to no taste. Dessert was a joke - their chocolate cake is nothing more than the frozen kind you find in any chain restaurant. It was still slightly frozen and covered in corn flakes. Aside from the food, half of the upper seating area was covered in large food crumbs, which were left during the entirety of our meal. Go for drinks and appetizers, and move on to another restaurant for dinner.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was very good. I had the salmon ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was very good. I had the salmon salad which had the best piece of salmon I have ever eaten! The sweet potato chips were also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had several different business associ ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had several different business associates coming into town for a business meeting. I needed a place that could seat ten on fairly short notice and could accommodate our need to be isolated as much as possible. I knew that Amsterdam's had a room in the back that would work perfect for our meeting. I booked the reservation and requested a table in the back. They were very accommodating and helped me make the dinner a success.

Thanks for all of your help, friendly service and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & a great venue for a co-worke ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good food & a great venue for a co-worker's retirement luncheon. We had a group of 15 and the back private room was great for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place!!!!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit but definitely on the return ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First visit but definitely on the return list! Our waitress was welcoming, helpful, and attentive. To say our food was delicious is a real understatement! Our party of four was seated in what appeared to be a newer section and the beautiful surroundings only added to our very positive experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amsterdam is one of my favorite places t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amsterdam is one of my favorite places to go Plus - my granddaughter has been working there as hostess for several years

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner tonight at ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner tonight at Amsterdam cafe. The roasted chicken was cooked to perfection, and the duck was melt in your mouth exquisite. The cheesecake was sinfully decadent. We throughly enjoyed our stout cocktails from the bar. Our server Sarah Catherine was very knowledgeable in helping us select the perfect entrees for our personal preferences. Overall Amsterdam is a perfect setting for an ideal date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for our anniversary. The food wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went for our anniversary. The food was amazing. Not a big choice but the chef would work with you with food allergies. The drinks were fixed perfectly. Everything was so good we went back a day later with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service, great food.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrific experience! I ordered the 1/2 ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Horrific experience! I ordered the 1/2 fried chicken dinner and was told the breast would not be included in the meal. I asked if they were substituting another piece or coming down off the price and the waitress said she would have to go ask. Then she came back and told me I would receive a leg, a thigh, and and a half of leg and a half of thigh so it would be four pieces. At first I thought she was joking, and I asked if it will still be the full price and again, she had to go ask. Another woman came over and was quite rude and snappy acting like I was the one out of line for asking the question. This is not what was advertised on the menu. No apology, no offer to make it right, and we all know, a leg, a thigh and a half of leg and thigh do not equal a half of chicken. How do you even split a leg in half??? Needless to say we got up and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Love it. Great service. Great food. Wil ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Love it. Great service. Great food. Will be back often!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, prices were high for t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was good, prices were high for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

No trip to Auburn is complete without a dining experience at Amsterdam. Really enjoy the food and friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter's 16th birthday dinner with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

My daughter's 16th birthday dinner with friends was a big success. Amsterdam's never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty but Expensive

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was great and service was good. However, the prices were a bit high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Our second time to eat here over a 4 da ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our second time to eat here over a 4 day period. We love the food, service, and overall offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently good food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Consistently good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We had a reservation on a busy Friday ni ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a reservation on a busy Friday night (graduation weekend). We were seated immediately. Service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite place in Auburn. We hav ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our new favorite place in Auburn. We have thought Acre was the promo place but after eating at Amsterdam twice this week end we have moved them to the top of a very short list.

The appetizers, calamari, smoked oysters, and mussels were outstanding. Our entrees, pork chop, scallops, tuna, and snapper were perfectly prepared and some of the best tasting food we have had anywhere. The service both nights, was excellent and they can serve you quickly or allow you to slow the pace and enjoy. Just outstanding all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous!!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Celebrating Auburn graduate. Food was lovely. Server was very helpful In selecting dishes. I had a red snapper special with risotto that melted in your mouth. One of the best dishes I have ever experienced!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Have to try the crab cake sandwich and lobster egg rolls! Great atmosphere and food. No problems with a party of 10+ people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A small neighborhood restaurant worth the wait

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Don't overlook the fact that this restaurant is off the beaten path! The executive chef is regionally famous and keeps the menu fresh and exciting. I've never had a bad experience here, and consider it one of the showplaces of the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.