About Ampersand27

10612 - 82 (Whyte) Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A7
View Larger Map

Flavourly Imagined, Locally Immersed.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
106 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2727

Website:
http://www.ampersand27.com/

Parking Details:
We have a huge IMPARK parking lot right next door. This is the largest lot on Whyte Ave and offers over 300 stalls of parking. After 6:00pm it is only $3.00 for the entire evening.

Executive Chef:
Greg Myshynuik

Private Party Facilities:
The Memory Bank
Our private dining room located right off our main dining room. This beautiful
room boasts contemporary décor and is completely private. It’s ideal for an
intimate party or business meeting. It has a Bluetooth integrated TV, allowing
for easy set up. It can be set up for a cocktail style arty or for a seated dinner.
The Memory Bank’s capacity is 32 people.

The Mixer
Located right off our lounge, this room is private but still offers views of the restaurant
allowing your guests to still feel the vibrancy of a busy night. It’s warm and inviting,
contemporary and comfortable, with a fire place and soft seating. This room can be set up with large banquet style tables, or multiple small tables for a cocktail
style party. It also has a Bluetooth integrated TV, which can be used for a presentation or to
customize your event. The Hospitality Suite’s capacity is 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Nathin or Chris info@ampersand27.com: 780-757-2727x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for your special events! We offer wedding buyouts, company launch parties and everything else you could imagine for your amazing special event! Let us cater to your every desire.

Ampersand27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

Fit for Foodies (83)
Good for Groups (77)
Special Occasion (58)
See All
Hot Spot (38)
Romantic (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Brunch (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Late-night Find (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our brunch was exceptional, the service ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our brunch was exceptional, the service was thoughtful and attentive and the experience was memorable. Well done.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The taste of the food was excellent but ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

The taste of the food was excellent but two out of our three meals came out cold. We had ordered brunch & eggs were not cooked to our requests & some items on the plate were ice cold & others were warm. Very inconsistent. Service wasn't the greatest either & if I had realized this was the same location as the prior restaurant I wouldn't have booked reservations. It wasn't very busy but was still extremely hard to have a pleasant conversation with all the noise echoing in the room from other tables. Sound is an issue here. Never have had the greatest experience regardless of the restaurants name at this location & would not bother going back or recommending. Prices are high for the quality being served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The server was friendly, but since the p ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The server was friendly, but since the patio was open and facing Whyte Ave, the noise level inside the restaurant made conversation almost impossible due to the noise coming from traffic. The food was okay, but nothing really stood out as amazing. The place was very expensive; too expensive, in my opinion, for food that was kind of bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Wow! I officially love Ampersand. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wow! I officially love Ampersand. The space is beautiful, comfortable and unique. The food is fantastic. Wonderful flavours, great presentation and good portions. The service is very good. Your people know what they are serving and can tell you about the drinks and the food but are never overbearing or stuffy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a treat to eat here! Our server w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a treat to eat here! Our server was fantastic. Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here for my birthday! The food was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went here for my birthday! The food was excellent...the Cauliflower appetizer was super memorable, the pork was juicy and delicious and my husband's steak was awesome. Kuddos to the chefs!

Unfortunately we were seated next to a table of six who were VERY loud, so my husband and I weren't able to have a quiet, relaxing conversation.

Also of concern, the service was very haphazard. Our server was excellent at the beginning with great suggestions, but it appeared he got far too busy and the service just declined as the meal went on. By the time we wanted to pay the bill we had to wait half an hour before he finally came with the credit card machine.

While I used to work in the service industry, and can understand servers becoming slammed, I do have certain expectations when paying $200 for a meal for two people. Sadly the service did not meet up to this.

So I definitely would recommend the food. However, the service was very concerning. For this reason I'm not sure if we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Love the share plate approach and the ab ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Love the share plate approach and the ability to tailor the meal to suit your appetite. We enjoyed everything we tried (braesola - so good), and truly appreciated the advice and attention of our excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, lovely window seat. Excel ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service, lovely window seat. Excellent server. Food was delicious, well presented, but could have been a bit hotter. Great cappuccino.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love having lunch at this restaurant, go ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Love having lunch at this restaurant, good food seamless service. Great atmosphere for a business lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was amazing. He recommended every ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server was amazing. He recommended everything we had and nailed it all including the drinks!! Will be back to see Cole

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to give &27 a go on the stren ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We decided to give &27 a go on the strength of its Instagram feed! Delicious, tasteful images are rare 😎

As there was a large party with rather "active" kids, we decided to sit on the patio - which was great, more secluded tha expected but open to the action on Whyte.

Our server was helpful and friendly and after ordering some cocktails - Bluebomb, Cherry Hickory, and Carribean Smoke, decided to go for a charcuterie and cheese board. Despite some of the more interesting meat items being sold out, we assembled a delicious range of teasers and textures. The in house prepared Buffalo Tongue was a highlight!

Desserts are massive - and I am surprised to say, could have been smaller (too much of a good thing...) but all in all we had a great time and will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter Michael was very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waiter Michael was very knowledgeable about the menu and his enthusiasm for his work was very evident.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my go to place for fabulous char ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is my go to place for fabulous charcuterie! I could eat it every day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We spent the evening there for my birthd ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We spent the evening there for my birthday and had an Amazing time. Very unique and tasty food, amazing service and we loved the vibe. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered sharing plates and they were ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We ordered sharing plates and they were very good. Sadly, one of our group cannot eat garlic. When she asked what she could order she was told "nothing". With further prodding there were two items on the menu. Seems pretty unusual and inflexible to me - that's a big menu, and only one appetizer and one main can be provided without garlic?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I liked the food and service but the noi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I liked the food and service but the noise level on the patio was dreadful. We couldn't hear each other at all. Wouldn't recommend sitting out there again. Other than that, it was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

One of my friends ordered a beverage tha ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my friends ordered a beverage that wasn't quite what she expected. While she was content to accept what was delivered a replacement swiftly appeared along with an apology that the first glass wasn't quite what was described. Everything arrived promptly and the food was quite tasty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sadly, our experience was not good. We a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Sadly, our experience was not good. We arrived on time for our reservation and were seated right away. It took quite a few minutes for the waitress to come and collect our drink order. By that time, we had already reviewed the menu. When we asked her about some of the food choices, she was not really able to articulate much about the meal, other than reading the words on the menu itself.

We ordered the bacon/beans appy. The bacon was good, however the beans and the pea-coloured sauce served with it did not really compliment the maple flavour in the bacon at all.

We ordered the Salty Pig and the Coop flatbreads. They took an hour to be brought out. When we confronted the waitress about the long wait, she checked and said that they were training someone which had caused the delay. Note to management - you should not train inexperienced staff during a dinner seating on a long weekend. Do lunches, or mid-week. if they have trouble prepping a simple, no-fail flatbread, they are not ready for the kitchen during peak hours.

The salty pig tasted good. The Coop did not. The corn sprinkled on it did nothing for the flavour and actually cheapened the overall look of the dish. The BBQ sauce seemed like a jarred variety and was overpowering any other flavours that were on there. A good scratch BBQ sauce should have obvious flavours of onions, spices, mustard kick, etc... This did not.

And finally, when we found a coarse hair in the salty pig - the only item worth eating - we had had enough. We tried to flag down the waitress for approx 5 minutes, however despite her walking past us twice, we ended up having to walk up to the bar to get her attention.

When we explained about the hair, she apologized, took the cost of one of the flatbreads off of the bill and gave us an overall 15% staff discount. Her parting words were that she would understand if we never went back again.

Overall, I would say that poor management was the root of all things wrong at this place. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Special occasion as my mom was visiting ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Special occasion as my mom was visiting from out of town. Decided to go here for brunch based on what I've heard, and wasn't disappointed. The chicken & waffles was a stand out, and the salmon eggs benedict was top notch. The "peanut fries" that came with the breakfast were outstanding, but the sandwich was underwhelming.

Coffee was great, and he price for 3 coffees and 3 dishes was quite reasonable.

Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had dinner there to celebrate friends ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had dinner there to celebrate friends of ours anniversary, the food was good, but the prices were outrageous for portion sizes. The alcohol is also way over priced.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

We sat outside and it was Canada Day, so ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We sat outside and it was Canada Day, so it was VERY loud on Whyte Avenue....which added to the patriotic feeling. Lots of trucks with Canadian flags honking horns. Our waitress was perfect.... she had a great personality for the job. It was just very busy, and thus service was a bit slow. We'll go back, though. Was a notch up from some of the bars in the neighbourhood.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very enjoyable experience!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Very enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for sharing. very good recommenda ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great for sharing. very good recommendations from our server. We found the wine list a bit pricey though

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

What an incredible experience! We loved ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

What an incredible experience! We loved everything about Ampersand 27: from the impeccable service to the charcuterie to the perfectly cooked entrees. And the duck is to die for! My birthday dinner at Ampersand will be long remembered-thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, though very rich. Server wel ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, though very rich. Server well educated on the menu and wine list, however he had an irksome, passive-agressive nonchalance that detracted grin the experience.

We will go back but hopefully with another server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

While the restaurant itself is inviting ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

While the restaurant itself is inviting (knowledgeable waiters; solid atmosphere; upscale styling), the food is a bit of a letdown. We ordered four dishes to share between two of us, and apart from the mix-and-match charcuterie board, the dishes were all a little off. The tartare was too salty; the chicken/gnocchi poutine was awash in watery-gravy (and with all the mushrooms, the chicken was invisible); the shrimp tempura was too sweet (reminded me of shrimp scampi from Olive Garden, but not as good). I'd give the menu a A for effort, but the execution in most of the dishes was C+. That being said, it's the kind of stylish/chic place that people want to like. Guests probably review it better than it deserves because of its trendiness. Don't get me wrong, the food was not bad, it was decent, but we left a bit unsatisfied. I'd heard good things so I'm glad we checked it out, but I doubt we'll return.

And one final comment: while the waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly - his service bordered on great - I'm sick of being asked if "it's my first time at this restaurant" and then having to listen to a spiel about how a menu works. I know how a menu works. I've known how to read a menu for quite a while now. It's a bad sign if a restaurant feels the need to explain how the restaurant and/or its menu works.

Cheers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We are not from Edmonton, but visited th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We are not from Edmonton, but visited this restaurant because of a recommendation, supported by our own online research. Looking at Ampersand27's website, all of the features we've been asked to rank in our feedback to you, looked convincing; good enough for a special birthday evening meal. The reality was quite different: it was difficult to figure out what the ambiance of this restaurant is supposed to be; it was noisy yet it looked as though pockets of space were intended for a quiet meal, rather communal; the food (steak dish at $38) was very poor and way overpriced (and this is Alberta?); our server was full of verbage about the items on the menu, but that's where the attention to detail ended. He was brash and completely insensitive to his role in the service sector.

I am sorry to be so critical. Normally, we are not demanding dinners. We enjoy our food and the occasions when we can splurge and eat out. We were surprised by the price of the meal but felt a good steak, well cooked, is something to die for. We were disappointed.

In fairness, we did see other tables being waited on by far more pleasant and attentive servers. We just didn't have such a person. But this doesn't excuse the overcooked steak and the small amount of vegetables.

Sorry, no second visit from us! I doubt this would 'fly' in Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Service was fanastic and so was the food ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was fanastic and so was the food! The only thing that I didnt' like during this visit, was the air conditioning vent was right above the table and we were freezing. I wore my leather jacket the entire time I was there. Other than that, I love this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Almost everything went wrong. Once they ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Almost everything went wrong. Once they got it all together we were out the door in 4 hours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

My second time visiting, had a great mea ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My second time visiting, had a great meal and drinks. Perfect for sharing off the menu. The pork belly is my favourite! Im bringing my Mother for her birthday in less than a week.

Great food, Great service, Great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Third times the charm, A27 has pleased t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Third times the charm, A27 has pleased the pallet on every occasion. I especially enjoy the slow paced dining experience andknowledgeable staff. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Seafood Thai Green Curry was an abso ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The Seafood Thai Green Curry was an absolute flavour phenomenon, and I savoured every mouthful!

Their Creme Brulee was absolutely the BEST I've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good staff, the food is large porti ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very good staff, the food is large portions for what you pay. The shareable s are even portioned quite big. Had cauliflower and pork belly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service; however, ver ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent food and service; however, very small portions for money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

They made a last minute change to accomm ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

They made a last minute change to accommodate our increased numbers on the patio and the service was excellent and the food - lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not great which it should be for the price

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had heard a lot about this restaurant so 6 of us decided to try it. I am not sure if Edmontonians just do not get out a lot but I have to say that this was nothing special. We ordered 3 shared plates for 2 of us. All 3 dishes were not hot. The tempura shrimp were the highlight. The pastrami bites were fair and the pork belly was tasty but all would have been better if they would have been hot. Also overpriced. Highlight of the night was the creme brulee. Service was good but she looked so stern that it made me uncomfortable.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

the pork chop is amazing

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I took my niece here and it was her first time. She thought the food was amazing. The service was great, as usual, and the appetizers were wonderful. would certainly recommend this place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely spot, great food ideas, service i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Lovely spot, great food ideas, service is excellent as is the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Chef Ramsey Would Be Proud

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I watch Master Chef and drool over the amazing dishes created. They look exquisite. My meal came out looking like Chef Ramsey approved it himself. The favors....exquisite. Absolutely delicious and a beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent dishes and outstanding service

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

excellent dishes and outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.