About Ampersand27

10612 - 82 (Whyte) Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A7
View Larger Map

Flavourly Imagined, Locally Immersed.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
106 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2727

Website:
http://www.ampersand27.com/

Parking Details:
We have a huge IMPARK parking lot right next door. This is the largest lot on Whyte Ave and offers over 300 stalls of parking. After 6:00pm it is only $3.00 for the entire evening.

Executive Chef:
Greg Myshynuik

Private Party Facilities:
The Memory Bank
Our private dining room located right off our main dining room. This beautiful
room boasts contemporary décor and is completely private. It’s ideal for an
intimate party or business meeting. It has a Bluetooth integrated TV, allowing
for easy set up. It can be set up for a cocktail style arty or for a seated dinner.
The Memory Bank’s capacity is 32 people.

The Mixer
Located right off our lounge, this room is private but still offers views of the restaurant
allowing your guests to still feel the vibrancy of a busy night. It’s warm and inviting,
contemporary and comfortable, with a fire place and soft seating. This room can be set up with large banquet style tables, or multiple small tables for a cocktail
style party. It also has a Bluetooth integrated TV, which can be used for a presentation or to
customize your event. The Hospitality Suite’s capacity is 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Nathin or Chris info@ampersand27.com: 780-757-2727x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for your special events! We offer wedding buyouts, company launch parties and everything else you could imagine for your amazing special event! Let us cater to your every desire.

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We will be doing a 5 course seated meal this evening! Pricing and Menu to be sent out by December 1st!

Ampersand27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
1 More
Most Booked
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Old Strathcona ›

Fit for Foodies (52)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Modern Decor (35)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Romantic (22)
Tasting Menu (20)
Casual (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Tapas (19)
Fun (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (13)
People Watching (11)
Business Meals (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Fireplace (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Cozy (9)
Family Style (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Private Room (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Healthy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for a late lunch with friends after ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Went for a late lunch with friends after visiting the craft fair at the U of A. A great selection of craft beers and some quality wine was the first order of business. Our server Julianne was one of the best servers we have had anywhere. She knew the beers and wines and made excellent recommendations followed by more great recommendations for our charcuterie board and our Salty Pig Flatbread.

We relaxed and enjoyed a wonderful late lunch, taking time to enjoy each of the items on the board.

A great lunch experience, we will be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food experience was quite go ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall the food experience was quite good. Started a bit slowly, waiting for some time for someone to take our initial drink order. We were told that 3 - 4 dishes for 2 people would be about right as portions were 'Alberta sized' relative to typical tasting menus. We ordered the duck salad (the favourite), the short rib ravioli, pork belly and autumn vegetable salad. When the food arrived was surprised at the largess of the plates. All were good, though the autumn vegetable salad greens were a bit bland, and could have used some extra seasoning. One recommendation I would make is to reduce the portion sizes for some of the dishes e.g. duck salad and autumn veggies to allow for a broader tasting experience across more dishes than just 3 - 4. There were some great looking items but narrowing down was difficult and felt like missed an opportunity to try more of the menu. I thought the dessert options were a bit weak, though we tried the 'after eight' crème brulee which was tasty, a bit thick for a brulee, again large portion.

It is extremely noisy there so if a quiet meal and conversation is what you are looking for this is probably not right the place.

I would definitely go back to try more, experience the custom charcuterie offering and some of the mains.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything from ambience, drinks, food t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything from ambience, drinks, food to service was amazing. Prices are a bit high but completely worth it. We completely enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Private Room, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch with out of town friends. Se ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great lunch with out of town friends. Service was amazing - very willing to adjust menu items for special diet. Great atmosphere to visit and connect while shopping Whyte Ave.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing, we went for my husb ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food is amazing, we went for my husband's birthday. It was quite busy so the service seemed quite slow for the amount of staff that there was. But then the food came and everything was forgiven. It was delicious , the sharing dishes I thought were small but they are not. The flavors are rich and authentic. I will definitely go back there. Try the Canadian sour cocktail. Very good!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our evening at &27 was excellent - great ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our evening at &27 was excellent - great to find an exceptional restaurant open on a Monday night. It was just my husband and I but the sharing-heavy menu still worked well. We had a charcuterie board with bison salami, sheep pecorino and an elk-blueberry terrine. The terrine particularly was terrific. We also had a duck salad sharing plate and a duck entree - both very good. The chocolate cheesecake was devastatingly rich and they kindly fancied it up for my husband's birthday and then comped it too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was quite good, although the ki ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was quite good, although the kitchen did make a mistake on our order. They were out of the wine I selected and their recommendation of a substitute wine was not a good choice. They have many kinds of gin and they make their own tonic, which I was quite excited to try, but it missed the mark and was not what I was expecting or hoping for. I'd go back, but definitely not for the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great spot to bring out of town clients ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great spot to bring out of town clients for a nice meal

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great server who had nothing bu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a great server who had nothing but great recommendations for my wife and my first time at this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Organic, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visiting the restaurant and I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

First time visiting the restaurant and I love the decor and the food was fantastic our server was Kelly and she was very friendly funny and totally enjoyed everything. We were celebrating my friends 60 Birthday Lunch and we be back again soon.

Thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only downside of this restaurant is ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The only downside of this restaurant is the fighting program that is on the TV. I think that it really detracts from the overall experience. Food, service, ambience is great so that just takes away from the situation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was OK, my wife and I shared 4 apps ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was OK, my wife and I shared 4 apps. Everything seemed to be a bit one note however. When we ordered 4 apps the server stopped us and told us he would only order 2 and then check if we wanted more.... I WANTED 4. First 2 were prawns and cauliflower, even though they both had lots of garnish all we could taste was curry. Shame. Pork belly was great but they used a splatter plate. Great, trendy, whatever. Except it clearly sat under a heat lamp and baked the splattered sauce onto the plate. Double shame. I give this restaurant a resounding Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My wife and friend found the seafood gum ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife and friend found the seafood gumbo to be excellent. I found the chicken running with blood to be unsatisfactory. I sent it back but they sent it backto me! They said that is the way it should be. First and last time for me at the restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

our dinner at &27 was absolutley fantast ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

our dinner at &27 was absolutley fantastic. this is now our favourite go-to restaurant when we visit edmonton.

Tags: Wood Oven, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprised a good friend with lunch to ce ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Surprised a good friend with lunch to celebrate her birthday - she loved it and will definitely be back - just like I was.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fist time here for brunch. Service was e ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fist time here for brunch.

Service was excellent and the eggs Benedict was tastey. However the food was quite cold..

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome as per usual, really en ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was awesome as per usual, really enjoyed the waiters suggestions. Found the service to be a little lacking - waiter was hardly at the table and there were empty drinks/dishes etc taking up space at an already small table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a girl's night out with my favo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was a girl's night out with my favourite friend and we had such a good time. I'd go back in a heartbeat. In particular our server (Greg) was brilliant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall good experience however would su ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Overall good experience however would suggest an extra server over lunch as was slow & seemed like our server (who was great) had too many tables. Had I had a time crunch over lunch I would have had to rush to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great restaurant. Good food. Nice quanti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great restaurant. Good food. Nice quantities. Joey was an amazing host. Top guy.

I will visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jenelle was a delightful server, food wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Jenelle was a delightful server, food was terrific, everything was superb.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for my moms Bday. 5 of us in t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Came here for my moms Bday. 5 of us in total. Our server was amazing. Quality of the food was awesome! The charcuterie selection is great and I find it a great value! Love the 'sharing' style of the food. Get to try a little of everything! We will definatley be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at this restaurant. First ti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Second time at this restaurant. First time was really loud, this time was not. The food was amazing for every person at our table. It defiantly isn't cheap to eat here, but the food was great, service was great so we had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great cheerful service, awesome food and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great cheerful service, awesome food and atmosphere! Can't wait to return

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went out for a quiet evening with fri ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We went out for a quiet evening with friends and I chose Ampersand because my experience so far was quite pleasant. This time around it was quite noisy - table next to us was so loud that at some points we couldn't hear what was being said at our table.

My meal was excellent (gnocchi) but I have heard from my friends that ravioli were too salty. Charcuterie was, unfortunately, disappointment - too runny (pate), or dry (other pate & cheese.

Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great looking restaurant with great serv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great looking restaurant with great service. Portion size for charcuterie was on the small side and nothing that couldn't be purchased at Itialian Center. Duck pate was runny and tasted odd.

Probably more fun to go to with a large group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

A beautiful atmosphere and even better f ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A beautiful atmosphere and even better food! So worth the price! I would've even paid more for how wonderful everything was! Great, friendly service as well. Everyone needs to try it :)

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tapas, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations to bring my best frien ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made reservations to bring my best friend there for the start of a girls weekend away. We sat for over 15 minutes with no one coming to the table. Three various waiters looked at our table and turned their heads away. People that were seated after us and received service. Got up and walked out. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I went to Ampersand27 with 5 of my cowor ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I went to Ampersand27 with 5 of my coworkers on a Friday evening and we had a wonderful time!! Great atmosphere, great food, great drinks, and overall a fabulous place to try!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Unfortunately despite Open Table allowin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Unfortunately despite Open Table allowing a reservation, the restaurant was closed for a corporate function. Disappointing and inconvenient to say the least.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Knowledgeable server, great wine, amazin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Knowledgeable server, great wine, amazing charcuterie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was closed due to extende ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The restaurant was closed due to extended kitchen repair. I had not received any notice from them. We had to turn and look for alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We really enjoyed our meal. I have been ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal. I have been there before for lunch and found the entire meal was way too salty so I wasn't anxious to return. We were staying downtown to celebrate a birthday so we chose to try it again. I am glad we did. The charcuterie was phenomenal. I enjoyed the ability to choose what items were going on my board with the help of our knowledgeable server. We also ordered flatbread which was very tasty but the spread on it was very salty. I would ask for it not to be on there next time.

I have never been to a restaurant before where I found anything too salty to enjoy before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server was wonderful with suggesting ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our server was wonderful with suggesting which items to choose for our charcuterie board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a good place to sit and chat with f ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It's a good place to sit and chat with friends while enjoying meal.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again, we really enjoyed our time a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Once again, we really enjoyed our time at &27. Our waitress remembered us from a previous visit and was personable and fun. The food was delicious - we started with charcuterie and then I had the captain's catch and my husband had the tenderloin. We had to splurge on dessert, and I loved every last morsel of my creme brûlée.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious sharing dishes serve to perfec ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Delicious sharing dishes serve to perfection. Amazing serving staff always willing to cater to your needs! Will provide options for allergies or create custom cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The menu was original and the food was t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The menu was original and the food was tasty. We enjoyed the evening with our friends

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a very nice evening at the restau ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a very nice evening at the restaurant. The food was very good and served in an appealing way. The music was a little loud (for us) but nice to have.

The most outstanding thing was the waitress. She was very knowledgable about all the dishes and beer selections. Very well spoken and caring and made sure we had everything we needed.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Tapas, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was just a bit chilly, air blowing ov ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It was just a bit chilly, air blowing over our heads in that particular area and no real option to move.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.