About Ampersand27

10612 - 82 (Whyte) Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A7
View Larger Map

Flavourly Imagined, Locally Immersed.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
106 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2727

Website:
http://www.ampersand27.com/

Parking Details:
We have a huge IMPARK parking lot right next door. This is the largest lot on Whyte Ave and offers over 300 stalls of parking. After 6:00pm it is only $3.00 for the entire evening.

Executive Chef:
Greg Myshynuik

Private Party Facilities:
The Memory Bank
Our private dining room located right off our main dining room. This beautiful
room boasts contemporary décor and is completely private. It’s ideal for an
intimate party or business meeting. It has a Bluetooth integrated TV, allowing
for easy set up. It can be set up for a cocktail style arty or for a seated dinner.
The Memory Bank’s capacity is 32 people.

The Mixer
Located right off our lounge, this room is private but still offers views of the restaurant
allowing your guests to still feel the vibrancy of a busy night. It’s warm and inviting,
contemporary and comfortable, with a fire place and soft seating. This room can be set up with large banquet style tables, or multiple small tables for a cocktail
style party. It also has a Bluetooth integrated TV, which can be used for a presentation or to
customize your event. The Hospitality Suite’s capacity is 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Nathin or Chris info@ampersand27.com: (780) 757-2727

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for your special events! We offer wedding buyouts, company launch parties and everything else you could imagine for your amazing special event! Let us cater to your every desire.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ampersand27, Edmonton, AB
Ampersand27, Edmonton, AB
Ampersand27, Edmonton, AB

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Wine and Dine that special person in your life! $50 per person not including tax and gratuity! Wine Specials all night! The evening will have live Guitarist. Please check our social media for the menu!!

Ampersand27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Modern Decor (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Tapas (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Casual (20)
Fun (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Authentic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fireplace (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Private Room (8)
Family Style (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (6)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were very pleased with the menu and q ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

We were very pleased with the menu and quality of food. The charcuterie and sharing plates gave us the chance to experiment with foods, that we have never tried before. Their drink menu was extensive and affordable...the variety of gin and tonic drinks was outstanding! Overall, we loved it and would go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, great food, wonderful ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, wonderful cocktails. Service has improved since previous visit. Love it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When we called to see if it was open on ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we called to see if it was open on New Years Day, the host was extremely rude. "I picked up the phone so yes-we're open". Then when we walked in she unwelcoming as if we were an inconvenience, not acknowledging us, no smiles, looking away -not a great first impression when you first walk in. If it wasn't for the bartender turning things around, providing remarkable service, and the great food we would rated this a bad experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First off, the service was outstanding. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First off, the service was outstanding. Our waitress was attentive and went the extra mile to make our evening memorable. The food was decent and the atmosphere was really nice. My issue was the price. I understand it was new years but 300$ for two people to have dinner is outrageous. There was a set menu and nowhere in any email was there a mention of the price. Even the menus at the restaurant didn't mention the cost. I was shocked when the bill came to say the least. I will certainly never return here, I feel ripped off. The dinner should have been half that price. Terrible.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Wonderful lunch with my friend! Excelle ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful lunch with my friend! Excellent food and service. Lovely server. Would definitely recommend !!

THANK YOU.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Green Thai Curry was very tasty but luke ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Green Thai Curry was very tasty but lukewarm; Forest Floor flatbread was likewise tasty but looked uninspired. Not too many child - inspired menu selection.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great but their alcohol is ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was great but their alcohol is super expensive. A can of beer is $7, but because its called cider (for a can) its $12 😧 A 9oz glass of wine is $15-20. We opted to order food and have drinks when we got home and we still managed to spend $80 on the 3 dishes we shared. Definitely $$$. The seafood Thai curry is ah-mazing, and the rib-eye was cooked perfectly, but we could have done without the booze they set on fire. Didn't add much and took away from the sautéed mushrooms flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

There was 5 of us just after christmas. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 28, 2016

There was 5 of us just after christmas. Initially I was taken with the decor, lovely, cool atmosphere. Our server was very nice and attentive. 4 out of 5 had the ribeye. It was very fun as it came on a cast iron skillet, which the server then poured on alcohol and flambed the skillet. Very delicious. Was difficult to maneuver all the plates because with the skillets came a seperate plate for the side and another plate to put the steak onto...was not much space. I had short rib ravoil..very tasty! Also the tempura shrimp...very tasty as well. We ordered dessert, was average. We sent back the chocolate cheeseccake as it had no flavour and was very over-cooked. Received apologies from the kitchen, which they admitted it was over cooked. It was taken off our bill. There is a general hum of conversation heard, wasnt overbearing. Would absolutely go back for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place! Nice food!!! I really liked ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nice place! Nice food!!! I really liked their ambience. Food quality was very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to @27 a few times now and I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have been to @27 a few times now and I love this place. The food is excellent, different, and good selection. Good decor, great atmosphere and the service we had at this last visit was excellent (I haven't had poor service as yet). The sharing plates were delicious, alas, we shared so much that we had a hard time with the main event, which was also delicious. Ampersand 27 is now one of my favorite Edmonton dining spots.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is not very large portions, but ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is not very large portions, but it is delicious and very high quality. Expensive too

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

We had a terrific evening at Ampersand27 ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a terrific evening at Ampersand27. The food was delicious and unique. Loved the decor and Courtenay looked after us with terrific service. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet but not dull, knowledgeable and pr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Quiet but not dull, knowledgeable and professional service staff, excellent charcuterie options and value.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, soooo delicious. Perfec ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food, soooo delicious. Perfect size menu. Great for sharing so you can try different dishes. Also great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Great ambience. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was excellent. Great ambience. Nice space for small or larger groups. Menu is unique. Not overpriced. Great cocktails.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a great meal with great service. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Was a great meal with great service. We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to this establishment. We ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our first time to this establishment. We came with high expectations based on recommendations of excellent food and service. We found both to be as promised. Wonderful flavour, friendly knowledgable wait staff, and wonderful atmosphere! Josh did a fabulous job of selecting wines to go with our meal. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we dined early on a Wednesday ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Although we dined early on a Wednesday evening and the restaurant was not busy, the service was very slow. There is an interesting menu but the wine by the glass is more expensive than most decent restaurants. The pizzas we ordered sounded interesting but were mediocre. Maybe stick to building your own checuterie instead. Not sure I would go back....

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had the maple butter pork belly and th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I had the maple butter pork belly and the rock road dessert. It was fantastic. And the service was top notch.

I will be back. :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went after the ballet. I have been wanti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went after the ballet. I have been wanting to go there for some time. Food was great! Our waiter was knowledgeable on wine and food pairing. Atmosphere was nice, just the right mouse level. I tried something new bison tongue!! It was delicious. I will be going back.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elk special was great; scallop special w ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Elk special was great; scallop special was underwhelming in spite of the waiters over the top description.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This is definitely one of the "must eat" ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is definitely one of the "must eat" places in Edmonton. The ambiance is classy without being stuffy and the food is first rate. You should try the charcuterie for sure. You cannot go wrong with any of the entrees and the prices are extremely reasonable for food this great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere and food were perfect for ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The atmosphere and food were perfect for our work function, however the service was quite slow and so though we had planned on dessert, we didn't end up having time for it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We went here to celebrate my husband's b ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We went here to celebrate my husband's birthday. The server we had was amazing, very attentive but not to much. I have food allergies and the server was very informed with everything on the menu and what I could and couldn't have and were willing and able to make modifications. The meal we had was amazing. I had the Seared Albacore Tuna and my husband hand the short rib ravioli for the app both were full of flavour and would highly recommend. For the main I had the Brined & Smoked Half Chicken and my husband had 10 oz Chimi-Chipotle AAA Striploin. The chicken had a nice Applewood smoked flavour and was very juicy. The steak was done perfectly and was very tender. I love the décor of this restaurant its modern and comfortable.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a late lunch with friends after ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went for a late lunch with friends after visiting the craft fair at the U of A. A great selection of craft beers and some quality wine was the first order of business. Our server Julianne was one of the best servers we have had anywhere. She knew the beers and wines and made excellent recommendations followed by more great recommendations for our charcuterie board and our Salty Pig Flatbread.

We relaxed and enjoyed a wonderful late lunch, taking time to enjoy each of the items on the board.

A great lunch experience, we will be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food experience was quite go ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Overall the food experience was quite good. Started a bit slowly, waiting for some time for someone to take our initial drink order. We were told that 3 - 4 dishes for 2 people would be about right as portions were 'Alberta sized' relative to typical tasting menus. We ordered the duck salad (the favourite), the short rib ravioli, pork belly and autumn vegetable salad. When the food arrived was surprised at the largess of the plates. All were good, though the autumn vegetable salad greens were a bit bland, and could have used some extra seasoning. One recommendation I would make is to reduce the portion sizes for some of the dishes e.g. duck salad and autumn veggies to allow for a broader tasting experience across more dishes than just 3 - 4. There were some great looking items but narrowing down was difficult and felt like missed an opportunity to try more of the menu. I thought the dessert options were a bit weak, though we tried the 'after eight' crème brulee which was tasty, a bit thick for a brulee, again large portion.

It is extremely noisy there so if a quiet meal and conversation is what you are looking for this is probably not right the place.

I would definitely go back to try more, experience the custom charcuterie offering and some of the mains.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything from ambience, drinks, food t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything from ambience, drinks, food to service was amazing. Prices are a bit high but completely worth it. We completely enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, , Hot Spot, Private Room, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch with out of town friends. Se ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great lunch with out of town friends. Service was amazing - very willing to adjust menu items for special diet. Great atmosphere to visit and connect while shopping Whyte Ave.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing, we went for my husb ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food is amazing, we went for my husband's birthday. It was quite busy so the service seemed quite slow for the amount of staff that there was. But then the food came and everything was forgiven. It was delicious , the sharing dishes I thought were small but they are not. The flavors are rich and authentic. I will definitely go back there. Try the Canadian sour cocktail. Very good!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our evening at &27 was excellent - great ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our evening at &27 was excellent - great to find an exceptional restaurant open on a Monday night. It was just my husband and I but the sharing-heavy menu still worked well. We had a charcuterie board with bison salami, sheep pecorino and an elk-blueberry terrine. The terrine particularly was terrific. We also had a duck salad sharing plate and a duck entree - both very good. The chocolate cheesecake was devastatingly rich and they kindly fancied it up for my husband's birthday and then comped it too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was quite good, although the ki ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was quite good, although the kitchen did make a mistake on our order. They were out of the wine I selected and their recommendation of a substitute wine was not a good choice. They have many kinds of gin and they make their own tonic, which I was quite excited to try, but it missed the mark and was not what I was expecting or hoping for. I'd go back, but definitely not for the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great spot to bring out of town clients ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great spot to bring out of town clients for a nice meal

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great server who had nothing bu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a great server who had nothing but great recommendations for my wife and my first time at this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Organic, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visiting the restaurant and I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

First time visiting the restaurant and I love the decor and the food was fantastic our server was Kelly and she was very friendly funny and totally enjoyed everything. We were celebrating my friends 60 Birthday Lunch and we be back again soon.

Thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only downside of this restaurant is ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The only downside of this restaurant is the fighting program that is on the TV. I think that it really detracts from the overall experience. Food, service, ambience is great so that just takes away from the situation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was OK, my wife and I shared 4 apps ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was OK, my wife and I shared 4 apps. Everything seemed to be a bit one note however. When we ordered 4 apps the server stopped us and told us he would only order 2 and then check if we wanted more.... I WANTED 4. First 2 were prawns and cauliflower, even though they both had lots of garnish all we could taste was curry. Shame. Pork belly was great but they used a splatter plate. Great, trendy, whatever. Except it clearly sat under a heat lamp and baked the splattered sauce onto the plate. Double shame. I give this restaurant a resounding Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My wife and friend found the seafood gum ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife and friend found the seafood gumbo to be excellent. I found the chicken running with blood to be unsatisfactory. I sent it back but they sent it backto me! They said that is the way it should be. First and last time for me at the restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

our dinner at &27 was absolutley fantast ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

our dinner at &27 was absolutley fantastic. this is now our favourite go-to restaurant when we visit edmonton.

Tags: Wood Oven, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprised a good friend with lunch to ce ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Surprised a good friend with lunch to celebrate her birthday - she loved it and will definitely be back - just like I was.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fist time here for brunch. Service was e ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fist time here for brunch.

Service was excellent and the eggs Benedict was tastey. However the food was quite cold..

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.