About Ampersand27

10612 - 82 (Whyte) Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A7
View Larger Map

Flavourly Imagined, Locally Immersed.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
106 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2727

Website:
http://www.ampersand27.com/

Parking Details:
We have a huge IMPARK parking lot right next door. This is the largest lot on Whyte Ave and offers over 300 stalls of parking. After 6:00pm it is only $3.00 for the entire evening.

Executive Chef:
Greg Myshynuik

Private Party Facilities:
The Memory Bank
Our private dining room located right off our main dining room. This beautiful
room boasts contemporary décor and is completely private. It’s ideal for an
intimate party or business meeting. It has a Bluetooth integrated TV, allowing
for easy set up. It can be set up for a cocktail style arty or for a seated dinner.
The Memory Bank’s capacity is 32 people.

The Mixer
Located right off our lounge, this room is private but still offers views of the restaurant
allowing your guests to still feel the vibrancy of a busy night. It’s warm and inviting,
contemporary and comfortable, with a fire place and soft seating. This room can be set up with large banquet style tables, or multiple small tables for a cocktail
style party. It also has a Bluetooth integrated TV, which can be used for a presentation or to
customize your event. The Hospitality Suite’s capacity is 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Nathin or Chris info@ampersand27.com: (780) 757-2727

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for your special events! We offer wedding buyouts, company launch parties and everything else you could imagine for your amazing special event! Let us cater to your every desire.

Ampersand27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (40)
Modern Decor (37)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Tapas (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Casual (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Fun (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fireplace (13)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Family Style (9)
Private Room (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always have a fantastic experience her ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

I always have a fantastic experience here the food and ambience are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an evening out with friends and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

This was an evening out with friends and we had a great time. Also, I am a vegan and my friends are not; however, the chef was so kind in creating a wonderful quinoa and vegetable dish for me. It was fantastic!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed the food, atmosphere ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the service! The best part was definitely the gentleman playing the acoustic guitar and singing, set the perfect mood for Valentines Day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So good, i would recommend it to a frien ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

So good, i would recommend it to a friend for sure!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While my eggs Florentine was tasty, the ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

While my eggs Florentine was tasty, the brunch options are limited and my companion found it a challenge to select something that he'd like. A few 'common lunch items' beyond a sandwich might go a long way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, tasty cocktails and wonderfu ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food, tasty cocktails and wonderful service as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time visit and we had heard ma ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our first time visit and we had heard many good things about the restaurant. We were not disappointed! Service was attentive without being overbearing; we asked for recommendations and enjoyed absolutely everything we tried. Small plates for sharing meant we could try a lot of unique and tasty foods. Good wine list, although all selections were expensive ... I would like to see a less expensive choice there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Disabled Access, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, People Watching, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was wonderful. Having been t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The server was wonderful. Having been there many times, I wanted to bring a friend for her birthday. We were very disappointed at the quality of food. We won't go back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We found Ampersand on the internet and d ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We found Ampersand on the internet and decided to give it a try. The location was suitable and it had good ratings. We were not disappointed. The menu is more suite for shareables which was fine for us since it gave us a variety of different things to try. The menu is limited though so if you're a beef and potatoes person then you may struggle with finding suitable options. If you like trying different dishes like elk, quail and rabbit then I would recommend it. The atmosphere was very pleasant and it was easy to carry on a conversation with our dinner party. My only negative comment would be that after we paid our bill the server did not even come back to refill our water glasses.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Breakfast before going to the farmers ma ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Breakfast before going to the farmers market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I always have a wonderful time here, whe ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I always have a wonderful time here, whether on a date or out with friends. Everything I try ends up being a new favorite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I fear lunch time is not the best time t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I fear lunch time is not the best time to go to Ampersand27. It was quite a disappointing experience. The menu offerings are not that great and it is really expensive for what you get. I'd recommend the place for dinner rather. The experience I had for dinner was much more enjoyable in terms of food and prices are fair. The staff otherwise is really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I always enjoy coming to this place. It ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I always enjoy coming to this place. It has somehow become one of my favourite places, especially for special occasions. The food has never been disappointing and always perfect for sharing. The service is always top-notch and definitely a place I will continue going to for food and drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Used to really love this place but they ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Used to really love this place but they have recently changed the menu and we really miss some of the old favourites. Sad to say we will not be returning. Very disappointed in the changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very nice evening, a table of s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had a very nice evening, a table of six of us but it didn't feel too noisy to talk and enjoy each others' company. And the food. Wow. Yum! I wish i was eating some right now.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New menu is disappointing - we used to l ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 25, 2017

New menu is disappointing - we used to love &27, but when we showed up for dinner last week we discovered they have a new chef and a new menu. All of our favourites (the asian shrimp especially) are gone! The replacements are....ok. Not as interesting a selection but of the three dishes we did try two were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

@ 27 has been one of the brunch spots we ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

@ 27 has been one of the brunch spots we have most enjoyed in Edmonton . The food and service were good as usual. Our waiter in particular was very good for this visit. I was very sad to see the brunch menu had changed and left off the favorite items of our group. I do wish the chicken and waffles, and porridge would make a return to the menu as those were the items that kept us coming back. Also the menu on open table itself needs to be updated to reflect the changes. We would dine here again but it will not be the same go to spot that it has been for us in the past.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Our sever was very knowledgeable about t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our sever was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave good recommendations. The food was a bit expensive for the portion sizes but was very tasty. It's a great place to go to share food; everyone gets to sample a little and experiment with new flavours. I'd go back for the charcuterie for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, service and food. As t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and food. As the name implies (as explained by our server, Micheal), it is more for sharing plates of eats while socializing, although there are a few plate meals available. While very good the menu is somewhat intimidating as for the charcuterie is all itemized and priced accordingly. It would Nice to see a couple of options where you could have a set price to pick a set number of items. Overall a wonderful place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the Charcuterie which was okay bu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had the Charcuterie which was okay but nothing exceptional for meats. I have had better in the city. Wine was expensive and minimal selection by the glass. Server was excellent and knew his wine and beer and helped with the ambiance!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We were very pleased with the menu and q ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were very pleased with the menu and quality of food. The charcuterie and sharing plates gave us the chance to experiment with foods, that we have never tried before. Their drink menu was extensive and affordable...the variety of gin and tonic drinks was outstanding! Overall, we loved it and would go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good experience, food and service. But t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good experience, food and service. But the place can be extremely noisy, not the best place for a quiet couple dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great atmosphere, great food, wonderful ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, wonderful cocktails. Service has improved since previous visit. Love it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When we called to see if it was open on ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we called to see if it was open on New Years Day, the host was extremely rude. "I picked up the phone so yes-we're open". Then when we walked in she unwelcoming as if we were an inconvenience, not acknowledging us, no smiles, looking away -not a great first impression when you first walk in. If it wasn't for the bartender turning things around, providing remarkable service, and the great food we would rated this a bad experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First off, the service was outstanding. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First off, the service was outstanding. Our waitress was attentive and went the extra mile to make our evening memorable. The food was decent and the atmosphere was really nice. My issue was the price. I understand it was new years but 300$ for two people to have dinner is outrageous. There was a set menu and nowhere in any email was there a mention of the price. Even the menus at the restaurant didn't mention the cost. I was shocked when the bill came to say the least. I will certainly never return here, I feel ripped off. The dinner should have been half that price. Terrible.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Wonderful lunch with my friend! Excelle ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful lunch with my friend! Excellent food and service. Lovely server. Would definitely recommend !!

THANK YOU.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Green Thai Curry was very tasty but luke ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Green Thai Curry was very tasty but lukewarm; Forest Floor flatbread was likewise tasty but looked uninspired. Not too many child - inspired menu selection.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great but their alcohol is ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was great but their alcohol is super expensive. A can of beer is $7, but because its called cider (for a can) its $12 😧 A 9oz glass of wine is $15-20. We opted to order food and have drinks when we got home and we still managed to spend $80 on the 3 dishes we shared. Definitely $$$. The seafood Thai curry is ah-mazing, and the rib-eye was cooked perfectly, but we could have done without the booze they set on fire. Didn't add much and took away from the sautéed mushrooms flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

There was 5 of us just after christmas. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 28, 2016

There was 5 of us just after christmas. Initially I was taken with the decor, lovely, cool atmosphere. Our server was very nice and attentive. 4 out of 5 had the ribeye. It was very fun as it came on a cast iron skillet, which the server then poured on alcohol and flambed the skillet. Very delicious. Was difficult to maneuver all the plates because with the skillets came a seperate plate for the side and another plate to put the steak onto...was not much space. I had short rib ravoil..very tasty! Also the tempura shrimp...very tasty as well. We ordered dessert, was average. We sent back the chocolate cheeseccake as it had no flavour and was very over-cooked. Received apologies from the kitchen, which they admitted it was over cooked. It was taken off our bill. There is a general hum of conversation heard, wasnt overbearing. Would absolutely go back for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place! Nice food!!! I really liked ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nice place! Nice food!!! I really liked their ambience. Food quality was very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to @27 a few times now and I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have been to @27 a few times now and I love this place. The food is excellent, different, and good selection. Good decor, great atmosphere and the service we had at this last visit was excellent (I haven't had poor service as yet). The sharing plates were delicious, alas, we shared so much that we had a hard time with the main event, which was also delicious. Ampersand 27 is now one of my favorite Edmonton dining spots.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, menu focuses a lot on chucu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place, menu focuses a lot on chucuterie, would be nice to see a larger menu outside of that. Great ambiance, reasonably priced, good wine list. Try the Woodward Canyon merlot.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is not very large portions, but ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is not very large portions, but it is delicious and very high quality. Expensive too

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

We had a terrific evening at Ampersand27 ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a terrific evening at Ampersand27. The food was delicious and unique. Loved the decor and Courtenay looked after us with terrific service. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet but not dull, knowledgeable and pr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Quiet but not dull, knowledgeable and professional service staff, excellent charcuterie options and value.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, soooo delicious. Perfec ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food, soooo delicious. Perfect size menu. Great for sharing so you can try different dishes. Also great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Great ambience. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was excellent. Great ambience. Nice space for small or larger groups. Menu is unique. Not overpriced. Great cocktails.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a great meal with great service. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Was a great meal with great service. We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to this establishment. We ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our first time to this establishment. We came with high expectations based on recommendations of excellent food and service. We found both to be as promised. Wonderful flavour, friendly knowledgable wait staff, and wonderful atmosphere! Josh did a fabulous job of selecting wines to go with our meal. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we dined early on a Wednesday ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Although we dined early on a Wednesday evening and the restaurant was not busy, the service was very slow. There is an interesting menu but the wine by the glass is more expensive than most decent restaurants. The pizzas we ordered sounded interesting but were mediocre. Maybe stick to building your own checuterie instead. Not sure I would go back....

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.