Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Ampersand27

Flavourfully Imagined, Locally Immersed.

10612 - 82 (Whyte) Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
106 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2727

Website:
http://www.ampersand27.com/

Parking Details:
We have a huge IMPARK parking lot right next door. This is the largest lot on Whyte Ave and offers over 300 stalls of parking. After 6:00pm it is only $3.00 for the entire evening.

Executive Chef:
Greg Myshynuik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for your special events! We offer wedding buyouts, company launch parties and everything else you could imagine for your amazing special event! Let us cater to your every desire.

Ampersand27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Tapas (12)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This place had the most amazing steak tartar I have ever tasted! The inside of the restaurant was beautiful, very unique decor. Very good food portions for the price. Waitress was super friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

I have been to Ampersand three times now and each time has excellent service. The menu is small yet filled with interesting ingredients.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My boys and I celebrated my birthday here. The food was pretty good, but not a definitely must try. My boys couldn't find anything they would like ( there is no kids menu) so we got creative with the adult menu and eventually they settle for a flat bread pizza and fries with duck fat dipping sauce. I ordered the lamb, it was quite fatty. I realize lamb is generally fatty but this seemed a little more than usual. My dish was quite spicy. My craft beer took a very long time to arrive, my kids ice-cream just as long, not sure what the slow service was about, it was a Monday night at probably a quarter filled capacity. The server was very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The interior decorator did an amazing job! I will be back to show my interior design student friend the interior decor. Likely won't order food , maybe an appetizer. Definitely will not choose this as a special family occasion out.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2017

& and 27 was amazing. The charcuterie board was only surpassed by the house crafted cocktails. The drinks alone will bring me back. Great ambiance for dates or a group. Our server went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This place is where you want to go for group parties or just a casual night out
Good quality food for reasonable price
The gin selection is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Service is always great here. Second visit with my spouse a year later. We had started with a charcuterie platter, with Genoa, pastrami, grey owl goat cheese and Manchego cheese with inhouse pickle assortment. It was good but it seems they had changed their pickle recipe for the carrots. On the first visit the carrots had a distinctive flavour of Cardamom, which we fell in love with, but not this time. I still think a preselected daily board for a set price is needed or even a set price with the option to pick so many items would be a good option. We believe the wine list is minimally acceptable and quite expensive. Beer and gin menu is quite large and seems reasonable enough for pricing. Menu had also changed to a paper booklet you might find more fitting as a schedule for a child's school concert than for food, previously was a single cardstock board. We had ordered the tenderloin with warm potato salad and the Haddock with a popcorn puree for our mains. My wife had ordered the tenderloin well done (a sin, I know) it came out more like the crispy edges of a pot roast and not a steak. Taste was fine but the baking and high heat to cook had changed what it should of been, a well done tenderloin. The sides were delicious. Haddock was well made and not overdone, the popcorn puree was delicious but way too much as it covered everything on the plate including the celery root romulade. I would either plate this dish differently (it was served in a low bowl) to separate the foods or have less puree. Dessert was good, had shared the chocolate cheesecake. For a no bake cheese cake the texture was a good density with a hint of citrus. I am now sold that a no bake cheese cake can be good. It seems that this establishment is still willing to take some chances with menu items ( popcorn puree), but the Kentucky fried quail was missed this visit. It is items like this that seperate a place that offers new culinary adventures versus run of the mill.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We attended Ampersand27 for my wife's birthday. The server was excellent, very friendly and went through the menu very thoroughly. For an appetizer we had a Cauliflower dish. I found the sauce rather acidic, my wife liked it.
My wife had Halibut for the main entree which she really enjoyed. I had the Lamb shoulder. It was very tender and seasoned perfectly. Both portions were reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This is a wonderful venue for casual or business lunch our dinner. The atmosphere is pleasantly casual and the good and service are excellent. The noise level is comfortable and the environment is pleasant.

Great selection of wines, especially BC vineyards. Very reasonable prices.
Highly recommended

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and service. This is the place to go if you like gin and Tonics, and cheese with meat trays.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overall we enjoyed our dining experience, service was fabulous, the roasted cauliflower was unique and excellent, I ordered the lamb which was tender and tasty, my daughter ordered the pork chop which was very tough to cut.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great atmosphere, and the service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Brunch for my mom's 89th birthday. Food & service were indifferent. Chicken & waffles came out well after the other brunch plates. Wasn't really worth the wait, waffles were undercooked, chicken was juicy but the coating slid off, not a good sign.
On a positive note, the waiter was great, and the Apple bread was fantastic, the highlight of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had a fantastic time which was amplified by our service. Waitress and Bartender was exceptional.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have eaten at Ampersand27 a few times and unfortunately it is not consistent. This latest visit was an attempt to introduce Ampersand to some friends, the meal fell flat. The service was very slow and some of the menu items that I had enjoyed in the past were disappointing. The Forest Floor pizza had very few mushrooms and no arugula as indicated on the menu. The Shishito peppers were interesting and enjoyed by all of the diners. The Buttered Eggplant had some interesting flavours but the star of the dish was inedible. I asked the server what type of eggplant was in the dish and he indicated that it was a Japanese eggplant. It was far too tough to cut no less chew. The slow service left no time for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal and great service.... however the prices seem a little too close to the sky.... I would only eat here again if I won lottery

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Every single dish that we had a unique, delicious flavour. The cocktails were great too.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We sat outside on the patio. It was great spot to people watch. But the construction across the street was very loud, so that's the only thing I could complain about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

It was overpriced for what it was and very limited menu. If I wanted meat and cheese I could just go to a deli. They should advertise they only do appetizers and chucuterie stuff

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went to ampersand for the anniversary. The interior was nice and had a special feel to it. there was certainly something about knowing that the furniture pieces are locally made. We were impressed with food presentation as well as the combination of simplicity and sophistication of the ingredients. Staff was helpful and accommodating. We thought about sitting on the patio, but chose to sit inside as the patio was too close to the the driveway (I never understood eating good food while breathing in fuel emissions... to each their own, i guess). We were considering desert, but never got to it as we were full after the main meal (and took some home for later).

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The decor of the restaurant is very nice and right when we entered, the service was top notch. Both the hostess and our waiter were professional and very friendly. Our food was quite tasty as well. We came for brunch and ordered the Chicken and Waffles, Shumshaka, Pastrami sandwich, and the Lifestyle bowl. Most notable was the chicken which was was juicy, tender, and crispy, and the lifestyle bowl which was very refreshing. The accompanying lemongrass dressing was tasty and the whole bowl was a very generous serving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I always enjoy an early evening at Ampersand27. The food and decor are amazing. It's a very different dining experience based around shared plates and boards so be prepared for that; there are entrees on the menu but I haven't had the opportunity to try them yet. There's too much good stuff on the shared plates! But the cherry on all this is the build your own gin and tonic menu. The dizzying choice of gins and flavoured tonics is mind blowing. I definitely recommend for a special evening out if you're looking to splurge.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Highly recommended! Fantastic food, great food service...very enjoyable!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

2nd visit, our first visit was exceptional and very unique with the shareable menu. This visit, there was 5 women, we ordered 2 flatbreads, 1 salad, a meat and cheese board and seafood soup. Possibly enough food for 3 women that are light eaters. Flatbreads were flat with no taste. Very disappointed with our 2nd visit. Service was slow, our fellow was very seldom seen and he only had one other table - the other table had 3 men, probably hoping for a better tip. Too bad we are generally high tippers. The place was not very busy, a strong indication of what is to come. Step it up &27 or another interesting dining place gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Went in to have a taste of the food while considering hosting our wedding party here in one of their private dining rooms. Was absolutely blown away by the service, decor and most importantly the food! Everything we had was to die for. Highly recommended!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great charcuterie selection along with soda and gin menu. The server made some tasty recommendations. Had the beet salad and pork belly buns-all delicious. Only negative was we sat on the patio and it was pretty noisy and it felt like we were sitting amongst the pedestrians. Could use more of an ambience outside. Overall, really delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food and drinks were fantastic. Everything was presented well and definitely not over done. I would recommend to anyone looking for fun night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Charcuterie is the best ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Have been here numerous times. Always have enjoyed. Appears that there is a change in management and that the details, service and food are not as top notch as they once were. Hopefully, this is a small hiccup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I like this place and the wait staff, but pass on the patio, the noise level from speeding cars is more than annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 16, 2017

All of the food served to our party of 6 was delicious. Steak was cooked perfectly! Waiter was super patient with our 2 year old grandson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food there is absolutely amazing. Perfectly seasoned and the portions are perfectly sized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing night out. Everyone was well accommodated and pleased with the meal. Service was insanely good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was excellent. The beer and cocktail menu were extensive and different. Although the restaurant was nowhere near full, we sat at our table for 15-20 minutes without being acknowledged by a server. The overall experience would have been amazing if the service was up to par with food and beverage.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Our server was especially knowledgeable and friendly. A little noisy.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our only criticism would be the noise level. A bit of a challenge having a four way conversation. Otherwise a very enjoyable evening with great service. Thank you Jillian.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was amazing, service was great. Very high end food for the prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Incredible dishes that come out in the most magically unexpected ways. Everything made with the utmost care and attention to detail, even the drinks. Beyond exceptional service. Amazing atmosphere and vibe. Beautiful decor that compliments the dishes presentation. A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great girls night at Ampersand27 this past weekend. We shared a charcutterie board and a few other dishes (roasted cauliflower, tenderloin and tomato salad). Everything was delicious. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Amazing food and customer service. We went there to celebrate my husband's birthday. Too bad that I could not remember the husband name but he was amazing!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.