About Ampersand27

Flavourfully Imagined, Locally Immersed.

10612 - 82 (Whyte) Ave
Edmonton, AB T6E 2A7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
106 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2727

Website:
http://www.ampersand27.com/

Parking Details:
We have a huge IMPARK parking lot right next door. This is the largest lot on Whyte Ave and offers over 300 stalls of parking. After 6:00pm it is only $3.00 for the entire evening.

Executive Chef:
Greg Myshynuik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for your special events! We offer wedding buyouts, company launch parties and everything else you could imagine for your amazing special event! Let us cater to your every desire.

Ampersand27 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Romantic (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Business Meals (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Casual (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Cozy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
People Watching (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Tapas (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

We made a reservation and our table was in the lounge in front of the door. It was drafty and cold. We ordered he tenderloin and the steak was delicious but the potatoes were puréed to the point of soup. We all agreed that we like our potatoes with some texture. Flavours were good though. Wouldn’t rush back but it’s ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food, lovely and knowledgable staff, and an overall superb experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

Friendly, efficient and helpful service, food tasted great, nice quiet atmosphere and elegant decor. First time for us, but will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Came in for Saturday brunch. All our dishes were excellent, and staff were wonderful, attentive and engaging. Fantastic coffee too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I've been to ampersand before and there is a reason I keep coming back, the food and the amazing cocktails. Two words, popcorn puree, I know it sounds unconventional but it is amazing. You will be picking your plate. Their cocktail menu is new and has an amazing selection with variety and quality ingredients. The staff were very attentive and authentic which just added to our experience. I was there with my friend, we were celebrating her birthday and me recent engagement and the staff made us both feel like celebrities and very special as we celebrated together.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Overpriced. In my opinion it is a dennys steak. I hear the brunch is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

I really loved our server. I can't remember her name unfortunately but I've had her serve me a couple times. She's very knowledgeable about the menu and really appreciate her opinion on what I choose to order. I do wish there were some less expensive wine options on the menu, my date did choose the restaurant however I felt bad picking out the wine as they were all very pricey.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

The service was quick, efficient and attentive without being overbearing. The oysters were outstanding though we had to ask for more lemons and there could have been more sauces... The visual space was inviting including the sculptural wall climbers and the lighting. Music was way too loud...
The halibut and beet salad was luscious...

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

It was a great night. Not the first reservation we held there and most certainly not the last! Thanks again!!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great food and service!! Great wine list and atmosphere is stellar!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Ampersand 27 was a fantastic way to begin a magical evening with my wife. The food was simply amazing and plentiful. The service was fantastic, and the ambiance was relaxed and enjoyable. Definitely would recommend the experience to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Greeted nicely
Had steak tartar for appetizer and beet salad
Both were delicious
Steak main and Halibut both perfectly done
Leaping stag wine
Great flavours
Great service
Definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Went to Ampersand 27 to celebrate a birthday. Nice ambience, tasty food! Pork Belly Buns, Duck Fat potato salad very delicious! A nice variety on the menu to suit everyone.
Our server could've stepped it up a notch or two but we still had a good experience and would recommend it.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Organic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Went with friends and we all enjoyed it! Delicious food, creative dishes. Nice selection. Very good service, not rushed. Loved the ambience ... my only concern was the noise level. It was sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation at our table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2017

There were 5 of us and we were having a family style meal. We ordered a steak as part of that and they overlooked it. When I told the server she tried to say it was because we sent it back to get cut into more slices as there were 5 of us and they cut it into 3. That said I call BS as there’s no way to goes from medium rare to medium well! She should have fired another steak or taken it off the bill. She had no interest is doing anything for us! As a rule of thumb I tend to stay away from restaurants not willing to accept responsibility for their mistakes. There are may great restaurants in Edmonton...this isn’t one of them. The total bill that night was over $700...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

The food was fabulous and the gin and tonic list (over 40 options) was unreal!!

The charcuterie options for starters really made the experience unique and I already regret not trying more options for cheeses!!

We were there on a Monday and it was a quiet, intimate setting on a blustery day. The servers were very attentive and yet still gave us our space to keep the romance feel to things.

I will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Would like more dinner items on the lunch menu! Overall was a great experience. Our waiter deserves a raise for how excellent he was! My mom enjoyed her birthday lunch so much.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Ampersand is one of my go to spots and I'm always happy with my experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

I went here for my first anniversary with my girlfriend and the service was wonderful. the manager in particular went out of her way to make sure we were having a good night, was incredibly charming, and offered us a free glass of special wine with our dessert in honour of the occasion.

The sharing plates are a little small, but the menu is diverse with lots of different levels of pricing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Food was good. Beet salad was exceptional. Oysters were very fresh, great quality, with a clean briny ocean flavour and a nicely balanced gastrique. Charred shishito peppers were also delicious. For the mains, the tenderloin was perfectly seasoned and prepared, but the garlic “mash” was a bizarre foam and when paired with what was basically a puréed ratatouille, it made for a disjointed, ill conceived dish. There needed to be some level of textural side with that dish, like actual veg or actual starch, not just purées. I get it - you want to sell your sides, but a $35 6oz piece of protein shouldn’t be disappointing. The poached halibut was delicious and perfectly cooked but also a one-trick pony. Just protein with a very buttery burre blanc. Needed something to lift it. Veg, acid - anything. Crab risotto was poorly conceived and was not a table favourite: poorly matched elements, unbalanced acidity, not well seasoned, poor quality crab. Cocktails sounded remarkable but not remotely memorable. What sounded bold was flat, and what was poised as unique was muddled. The apple cake however was delicious. Overall disappointing. Also, don’t ask whether or not it’s a special occasion in the reso if you don’t acknowledge it. Better to not ask than ask and not care.

Probably won’t come back. There’s far better restaurants in the city who are doing shared plates with local / artisan ingredients. There was nothing really remarkable about Amperdand27 except the beet salad on our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Our third time here, but a little disappointed this time. Upon arriving for our reserved table, the hostess told us, “We have another reservation coming so we need you out of here by 7:45.” That was about 90min away, but it still felt rushed and rude. Turns out there were vacant tables and the reservation after us actually canceled — but we weren’t told that, so we rushed. Not sure we’ll be back, even if the cocktails are fab and the food is good. Our server was better, but the hostess set the stage for the evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Have been there several times, each one a pleasure

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The service was absolutely amazing and outstanding . The atmosphere is peaceful and the food was charming and tasteful and quaint. Definitely coming back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Thanks again ampersand, it's always a great meal, great environment and friendly service

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was awesome and our waitress was great! Ampersand was the best dining experience in a long time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food with great service. A bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for bday surprise dinner. Very nice location, people watch out the windows, atmosphere was great, interior decor was lovely. Highlight: we sat by the liquor cabinet apparently. The bartender had to retrieve a couple bottles. Joked with him and he was very engaging. We saw a cool bottle that intrigued and he offered a sample of the drink. Loved it and found a new rare favorite!
Memorable night
Thank u ampersand!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Second visit for a nice date dinner before a show. Good food, kind staff, and overall a good time. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

This place had the most amazing steak tartar I have ever tasted! The inside of the restaurant was beautiful, very unique decor. Very good food portions for the price. Waitress was super friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

I have been to Ampersand three times now and each time has excellent service. The menu is small yet filled with interesting ingredients.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My boys and I celebrated my birthday here. The food was pretty good, but not a definitely must try. My boys couldn't find anything they would like ( there is no kids menu) so we got creative with the adult menu and eventually they settle for a flat bread pizza and fries with duck fat dipping sauce. I ordered the lamb, it was quite fatty. I realize lamb is generally fatty but this seemed a little more than usual. My dish was quite spicy. My craft beer took a very long time to arrive, my kids ice-cream just as long, not sure what the slow service was about, it was a Monday night at probably a quarter filled capacity. The server was very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The interior decorator did an amazing job! I will be back to show my interior design student friend the interior decor. Likely won't order food , maybe an appetizer. Definitely will not choose this as a special family occasion out.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2017

& and 27 was amazing. The charcuterie board was only surpassed by the house crafted cocktails. The drinks alone will bring me back. Great ambiance for dates or a group. Our server went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This place is where you want to go for group parties or just a casual night out
Good quality food for reasonable price
The gin selection is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Service is always great here. Second visit with my spouse a year later. We had started with a charcuterie platter, with Genoa, pastrami, grey owl goat cheese and Manchego cheese with inhouse pickle assortment. It was good but it seems they had changed their pickle recipe for the carrots. On the first visit the carrots had a distinctive flavour of Cardamom, which we fell in love with, but not this time. I still think a preselected daily board for a set price is needed or even a set price with the option to pick so many items would be a good option. We believe the wine list is minimally acceptable and quite expensive. Beer and gin menu is quite large and seems reasonable enough for pricing. Menu had also changed to a paper booklet you might find more fitting as a schedule for a child's school concert than for food, previously was a single cardstock board. We had ordered the tenderloin with warm potato salad and the Haddock with a popcorn puree for our mains. My wife had ordered the tenderloin well done (a sin, I know) it came out more like the crispy edges of a pot roast and not a steak. Taste was fine but the baking and high heat to cook had changed what it should of been, a well done tenderloin. The sides were delicious. Haddock was well made and not overdone, the popcorn puree was delicious but way too much as it covered everything on the plate including the celery root romulade. I would either plate this dish differently (it was served in a low bowl) to separate the foods or have less puree. Dessert was good, had shared the chocolate cheesecake. For a no bake cheese cake the texture was a good density with a hint of citrus. I am now sold that a no bake cheese cake can be good. It seems that this establishment is still willing to take some chances with menu items ( popcorn puree), but the Kentucky fried quail was missed this visit. It is items like this that seperate a place that offers new culinary adventures versus run of the mill.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We attended Ampersand27 for my wife's birthday. The server was excellent, very friendly and went through the menu very thoroughly. For an appetizer we had a Cauliflower dish. I found the sauce rather acidic, my wife liked it.
My wife had Halibut for the main entree which she really enjoyed. I had the Lamb shoulder. It was very tender and seasoned perfectly. Both portions were reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This is a wonderful venue for casual or business lunch our dinner. The atmosphere is pleasantly casual and the good and service are excellent. The noise level is comfortable and the environment is pleasant.

Great selection of wines, especially BC vineyards. Very reasonable prices.
Highly recommended

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and service. This is the place to go if you like gin and Tonics, and cheese with meat trays.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overall we enjoyed our dining experience, service was fabulous, the roasted cauliflower was unique and excellent, I ordered the lamb which was tender and tasty, my daughter ordered the pork chop which was very tough to cut.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great atmosphere, and the service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.