Ampersand27

4.3
687 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
Real food for real people!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Canadian, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 757-2727
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Fan Zhang
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
106 Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have a huge IMPARK parking lot right next door. This is the largest lot on Whyte Ave and offers over 300 stalls of parking. After 6:00pm it is only $3.00 for the entire evening.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please contact us for your special events! We offer wedding buyouts, company launch parties and everything else you could imagine for your amazing special event! Let us cater to your every desire.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 687 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Meal took longer than expected, and food was not as creative as I expected, but still good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The atmosphere in the restaurant is amazing, the staff are very efficient , professional and genuine. The food is very well thought out, incredible flavours and perfect portion sizes!
I highly recommend Ampersand27!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Great food & service. Only thing that dampened the evening was the hard adjustment on the eyes from the light outside to the darkness inside (as I was facing towards the open outside), my eyes definitely hurt by the time we left.

Otherwise everything was extremely tasty and service was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We were a group of 8 that absolutely loved your restaurant! Amazing food, exceptional service! Will definitely be back :)

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Pathetic restructuring of the same old dishes. Trying to be hip but ridiculous. Food so blah and unspectacular given a few
exceptions. Could not eat some dishes. This place used to have so much zing. When it opened all of Ed was raving about the pork belly--now it is squished into some doughy tacos. Vile. We had a table of 4 and lots of dishes had 3 items.. could not the waiter have suggested that they add a 4th piece, we don't mind paying. It would have been the elegant thing to do. They are too busy explaining sharing and family style and order of food that they miss all the details. As a frequent diner, I am going elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The restaurant and service was great! Good was good, nothing to special. The one thing that I didn’t enjoy was how the food is served. They do this thing called “family style” and all the food comes out at different times. My boyfriend and I wanted to get an appetizer and than 2 main entrees but they told us that’s not how it work everything comes out one by one. Was very strange and proably wouldn’t go back if they keep the service like that. Great food and friendly service but wouldn’t go back any time soon

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The food was great and the place is beautiful. The value is really good.
The front desk host was rude and the service in general was not impressive. I could not see smiles from the servers at all. Only one guy serving water was kind with everybody.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Excellent meal. Four of us shared many tasty plates. Found the three scallops for $23. a bit overpriced. Would have been nice if waiter had asked us if we wanted four scallops as there were four of us (would have paid additional, even though pricy).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Amazing meal with some of the best service in Edmonton! A great restaurant to share a culinary journey with a group of people you love!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

This was our third visit and it did not disappoint. All plates are to be shared. Our favorites would be the calamari, scallops and foie gras, gnocchi, and house smoked salmon. My least favorite was the steak tartare. It lacked seasoning.
The wine list is great and nice beer selection. Pricey evening though. Not a place you would frequent but worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The restaurant has changed quite a bit since I was last there. They've raised the prices and call it "family style" but the portions are not family friendly at all. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Everything was better than anticipated

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We had never tried Ampersand 27 and were excited to try it for our friend's birthday.
Just know that they are VERY inflexible with their menu and with honoring or acknowledging a birthday. We asked if there was anything/dessert wise for her birthday and we were told the restaurant did not do this.
One of the ladies did not want the fries with her sandwich and asked if it would be possible to exchange it for a side salad and she was told that this would NOT be possible. She offered to pay more for a different side and the manager declined her this option.
Overall the food was good but we will not be back for a future visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

I like the concept of Ampersand:
Shareable plates, interesting combinations, local ingredients. Had their flatbread and enjoyed it.
On the appetizers and maIn dishes there is way to much sauce on everything. Basically drowns out any dish. Next time I will ask for all sauces on the side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Amazing as usual!!

thank you for accommodating the request for a booth.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Pork buns we're amazing

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 19, 2018

My girlfriend and I went on our first date here back in November. At the time we thought it was incredible, it was this stunning gem of a restaurant that stood out from the rest of Whyte Ave. The food was breathtaking, and the atmosphere was simply magical. We really looked forward to making it an annual spot to go back to. We came back this past Saturday and the new menu was horrible. Everything was "family style" with dishes supposedly designed to be shared despite still being single serving sizes. Everything was drowned in sauces that were bland and frothy. The entire experience left a lot to be desired and the restaurant seemed like a hollow example of its former self. It felt like they sold out just to fit in. We missed that uniqueness. Used to be worth the price, now it just seems like an overpriced Moxie's

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We were looking for a restaurant to celebrate Mother's Day with my wife and daughter. Specifically, I was searching for a restaurant with a patio. Ampersand 27 fit the bill. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent, the server was patient in explaining the menu, which was quite unique. She wanted to make sure that we did not over order. The food was delicious and the price was fair. The dining area was open, modern and the access to the patio was easy. All in all, an excellent experience. We shall definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The mother's day brunch deal was awesome. Everything served that day was delicious. Plus mom's got the giveaway bags full of goodies from Jacek, workhall. Worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Awesome as always. Great staff, great food. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Hostess was unfortunately very rude greetings us.
Made as feel as if we were an inconvenience.
Booked patio on OpenTable but was told by staff they are not setup to take bookings for the patio.
Service was slow and unattended.
Food was extremely overpriced.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We had planned my wife’s 50th birthday and advised the venue as such. The venue acknowledged the event multiple times leading up to our reservation. Once we got there and for the entire event no one acknowledged the event nor did the staff really seem to engage with out group. I didn’t find that the Power Salad was really very good value.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Our food took over an hour to arrive. When asked, we were told it was "being infused with extra love". We watched four tables walk out. When we received our bill, they had offered 10% off, which we thought was unacceptable. After speaking to a manager, we received a comped drink and 15% off - somewhat better, but for that kind of wait, we shouldn't have had to ask. If you can't accommodate that many reservations, you should limit them or staff accordingly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food, great service, really great service. My only complaint is that
we were in the main dining room. It was a beautiful warm night in Edmonton,
(I don't begrudge the warm weather or full moon) but with the doors open
to the busy street the noise was annoying. But this is minor compared to
the ambience and the great food. I highly recommend the lamb shank.
Good options for vegetarians as well.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Very good , Waitress was very knowledgeable about menu,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The restaurant is beautiful, the staff friendly and knowledgable and the food out of this world. A fantastic variety on the menu and an amazing array of drinks. The recommendations provided to us were delicious. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Service was excellent from accommodating a table change to bringing complimentary champagne when they discovered it was a first date, combined with a warm ambience and excellent veggie dishes made it an exceptional night!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We gathered as a family for Easter Sunday Brunch under difficult circumstances. Our server was amazing right from the beginning and accommodated our need for a table together as our group had grown from our initial reservation. The food was great and the ambiance just what we needed! Kudos to our server! She was the absolute best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Ampersand has always been a Brunch go-to for me. The Eggs Neptune never fail to please.

My fave server Cassie is as good as it gets. She is very personable and does a great job of making sure you feel relaxed.

Great food + Great service - can't ask for anything more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Food was amazing, service was very good we never found ourselves waiting for anything. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Great place. I would not hesitate to go back again in a heart beat. We loved this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food was fantastic, somewhat theatrical service ( not quite our fav) but overall a good evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food was phenomenal! I had the smoked salmon and duck fat potato salad and my friend had the lamb! Can't wait to come back for the chicken and pork chop!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The server was knowledgeable, professional & attentive.
The food was well prepared & creative..and the cocktail list led to enjoying a few too many,
All good though..Uber’d home.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The service was great! Waitress was lovely and helpful in offering options that were very good. Reasonably priced for the experience. Great gin selection and great food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Took my friend their for her birthday brunch. I ordered the chicken and waffles and she had the poached pears and French toast. I received (2) small waffles, a chicken drumstick and a thigh with a small salad on the side for $ 19.00. My friend received two very small French toasts with maybe 5 cubes of pears on top for $ 18.00. We both were not pleased with the tiny portions and literally had to find another place to satisfy our hunger. The food was also nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

As always, consistent brunch and the best service !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great food, great decor. Lots of options for yummy drinks. Service was excellent, our server was super knowledgeable, and gave us great suggestions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We went for my son's 19th birthday. The cocktail menu was sophisticated and excellent, while the wine we ordered was very good as well. The service was great and I loved the ambience of the restaurant. The cauliflower dish was excellent and so was the beef. The lamb was good, just not outstanding. I would eat here again, the food was so delicious. The menu is short and sweet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

I have eaten a number of times at this location and never been disappointed. The service has been excellent and the atmosphere is stellar.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18

Tweets by Ampersand27