About Amore Mio

1457 Palatine Rd
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192
View Larger Map

At Amore Mio, our goal is to provide you with the freshest, most authentic meal possible. We pride ourselves on using fresh ingredients and organic vegetables from our very own garden when in season. What we provide for you, our customer, is produced at a high quality and never less than what we would expect for ourselves. Our greatest joy is providing our community with a comfortable atmosphere, friendly service, and of course, healthy excellent food. We hope you enjoy your meal as much as we do making it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 358-5506

Website:
http://www.amoremioil.com/

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Amore Mio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Northwest Suburbs
Italian
Northwest Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Hoffman Estates ›

Neighborhood Gem (9)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
See All
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
98 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our meals were not good! We have been t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meals were not good! We have been to amore mio many times but probably wont be good going back after tonight's experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The food was delicious, only disappointm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was delicious, only disappointment was that they were out of their tiramisu. Glad I found this gem on open table, I've probably driven by this strip center tons of time and never noticed this restaurant was there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, not a good experience, wh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Unfortunately, not a good experience, which is sad, because we have loved Amore Mio in the past. But, evidently they have either gone downhill or were having a very off night. Very disappointed. We hadn't been here in a while and went with another couple. Service was SLOW (they had more bus people than wait staff) and it was 6pm and not full. The food was mediocre and both the prosecco and the sauvignon blanc were awful. The prosecco had obviously been open for a while or was watered down or both - not chilled, no bubbles and awful flavor - like flat water - and cost $8 for a small glass. The sauvignon blanc was also old - yellowed - bleh. My husband got the salmon special - very bad - the sauce was overwhelming and watery and the salmon wasn't fresh. Our friend got spaghetti and sausage - how can you mess that up? Dry! You have to pay extra to get a salad and the bruschetta appetizer they gave us was not fresh. I could smell it when they sat it on the table - ugh. The only good thing was the bread - it was at least warm and relatively fresh. They didn't offer to refill anyone's ice tea and the bus people kept trying to take things before we were ready as though they were rushing us out! We may not go back again even though they are so close in our neighborhood. There are better places for less money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The restaurant is small, not an awful ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The restaurant is small, not an awful experience though. The food was really good. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Good food and service. Nice to have a r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Good food and service. Nice to have a restaurant you can walk to.....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The veal Parmesan, eggplant tower and ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The veal Parmesan, eggplant tower and exotic bombs are must-have eats here. Honestly, I'm pretty sure anything here would be good, but those have become my favorites.

The service is friendly, almost overly so, and I don't mean that in a bad way at all. They're exceptionally interested in making sure you and yours have a great time eating here.

Definitely has ruined me for other Italian places nearby, looking right at you, Maggiano's. For a place that was less than 10 minutes away from where my wife and I have lived for 5 years, my only regret was not finding them sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This wonderful neighborhood restaurant i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This wonderful neighborhood restaurant is always a pleasurable place to dine. Food is very good and service with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Oh my gosh the food was fantastic. I would recommend trying the daily specials since they were outstanding. The service was also very good. It's a small but very nice restaurant located in a strip shopping center. You wouldn't think it had such great food and is that nice by just looking at the outside. You could easily walk right past it. However I would say it's well worth the effort to gain banditry it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A favorite of ours

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

We have been here many times and the food, service and atmosphere is always great! Quiet, quiant. It is a bit smaller of a restaurant, but that's what we love about it. Not a big chain. Family ran. Delicious food. We will continue to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Eggplant Tower appetizer was excelle ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The Eggplant Tower appetizer was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

70th Birthday Celebration

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was great, especially the eggplant tower and the molten chocolate dessert.

Very good personal service with the owner checking and delivering courses. There was something each of us enjoyed as a main course. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice little family owned place tucked aw ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Nice little family owned place tucked away in a shopping center. Good food for the money. Be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Mediocre food; slow service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Mediocre food; slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Service started out great and then after ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Service started out great and then after we got out food our waitress was nowhere to be found. The food was subpar. The cheese ravioli was ok but the chicken salsacalbo was awful. No I didn't complain, that's my fault. Seating is extremely tight. I would not recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We Will Be Going Back

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Really excellent food at very reasonable prices. The menu offers something for everyone. You can taste the freshness of the ingredients. The service is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentines Day Delight

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Made a reservation in advance to celebrate Valentines Day, I did not know what to expect as the restaurant was a bit smaller but it was still a great ambiance. The service was prompt, even though it seemed the restaurant was pretty full, it did not deter from any of the experience and attentiveness of the staff to make it a good experience. The food was filling and reasonable priced for the Valentines Day weekend. I would definitely dine here again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Italian

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food is genuine Italian. Loved the portion sizes and the quality of the food. I feel like I am at a small little restaurant in Italy when I come here. Truly a neighborhood gem. I wish this place the absolute best of luck and hope it stays in the neighborhood for many years to come. I am definitely going to be going here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Second time we've dined here for a speci ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Second time we've dined here for a special occasion. The food was just as good as the first time. (I decided to go for pumpkin ravioli which was surprisingly good!) When they are busy on such popular days, they do seem to struggle to be as attentive as I could wish, and the location is not upscale at all which might bother some people (I hope they grow and move), but overall I recommend it because of the excellence of food, friendliness, professionalism, and intimacy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Frozen

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Cold bursts of wind are barely protected by a rigged inner door. If you are close say goodbye to your hot food. We decided no more trips back until the weather is warmer. With a bit more thought they could easily eliminate that issue.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food and great service

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The preparation on the lamb chops and the pork tenderloin was perfect. The service was excellent It's just a great place to go and unwind and enjoy some good Italian food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food - good value

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Each member of our table of 4 ordered a different entree. We were all pleased with our orders. The complimentary Bruchetta was the best we had ever had. The prices were very good considering the quality of the food. we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Any night you go, it's going to be great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Amore Mio is the place we go when in the mood for a nice dinner or a special dinner. It's friendly atmosphere and great food has been consistent for all of the 15 years we've been going. Fresh picked home grown vegetables in the summer are a plus you won't find anywhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, fresh and excellent preparation.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Warm atmosphere, excellent service and a favorite for our family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Relaxing vibe and excellent food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

We've always wondered the quality of food served at Amore Mio. Our son was attending martial arts classes a few doors down and we were looking for a convenient place to have dinner for his 9th birthday. Amore Mio was a great choice. It was on a Monday evening so it was not very busy. Staff was friendly and efficient. We were greeted with a tasty sampling of their bruchetta which my son proceeded to devour. We ordered fried calamari for appetizer which as was a plenty to share between me, my wife and son. For the main entrees I ordered the spaghetti & meatballs (which I typically order on my first time at an Italian restaurant), my wife ordered the Cavatelli and my son the Chicken Parmesan. We all loved our dishes. Quality was very good. Server told us that they make most of the pasta in house which makes a big difference. I would rate Amore Mio better than some of the more known Italian restaurants in the northwest suburbs. My son liked it so much that he commented to our server - "compliments to the chef". Very pleased with the quality, ambiance and service. Will plan to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality Food ~ Family Owned TLC

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

Our family of five, including three children age 11-13, had a really nice holiday meal there recently. It was our first visit, and won't be our last. The quality is very good - fresh ingredients, perfectly cooked and served with care. The staff was totally accommodating of our children's simpler tastes and even suggested re-sizing portions in addition to separating some ingredients as my son requested. What made it nice, is that our server did all of this so willingly, and truly cared about our enjoyment. The kids gobbled up their meals completely, and commented that the food was " amazing." Our food was very delicious as well. The only thing average about this restaurant was the decor. It is located in a strip mall, and while the seating and ambiance is pleasant, it has a very plain feel overall. Adding some rich Tuscan colors and finishes, would transform this from a a good restaurant to a destination.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very service, attentive yet not invasive ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Very service, attentive yet not invasive. Tasty good chief

prepared food. Nice décor. Lacks ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A good experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We like to try new places, especially small local places. So we made a reservation via OpenTable. The place was very busy, but we were seated within about 10 minutes of our reservation. The table service was good with all the employees taking care of all the tables (we like that as opposed to larger places were staff is just standing around whilst others are very busy and it is hard to get attention). The food was very good. We had the Fried Calamari appetizer, with was excellent - it had the whole squids along with the rings. The wine and beer selection was limited as would be expected in a small restaurant, but we found choices to our liking. Overall an excellent experience and we will plan to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Yummy dinner

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We have always ordered carry out, but this is the first time we have actually dined in the restaurant. Loved it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice find. Weird location, but worth trip.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Excellent experience and a pleasant surprise. Try it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A little out of the way to get to but it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

A little out of the way to get to but it is a neighborhood gem. Don't expect much in the way of atmosphere but the Italian food is very good and the service was friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

A more Mio is a hidden gem in the suburb ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

A more Mio is a hidden gem in the suburbs. Outstanding service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Disappointed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Went there to celebrate our anniversary. We had several friends rave about the food so my expectations were very high prior to arriving. We were very excited to try some delicious Italian food made by the real pros! Well maybe our expectations were way too high?

The ambiance was truly lacking and the food was really nothing exceptional. It wasn't bad, but it certainly wasnt something I'd go head over heels for. If you're looking for EXCEPTIONAL Italian table fare, I'd go somewhere else. Our service was fine. The wine we had (Shiraz) was aweful. That one is on me. Don't think I'd go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Excellent - please transplant!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

We received a friendly welcome. The ambiance was simple and elegant. The service was professional, friendly, and truly excellent. We weren't rushed, yet not only our original server but almost anyone who walked by served us. The food was unpretentious and delicious. They value the "farm to table" approach and it shows in the freshness of the branzino and lemon caper chicken.

Location might make you hesitate as it's in a strip mall. But it didn't seem to deter many people who were dining around us. My only wish would be that the owner could to reestablish Amore Mio in a new location that is worthy. Please don't let the location deter you, but go ahead and dine at Amore Mio. Hopefully you too will wish to see it stand out and grow in a better location... just keeping its intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful family restaurant!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Great food, great service, fine wine list that isn't outrageously priced for the selections. Intimate and charming with very attentive staff. Thanks, Tawnie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

food and service were sub-par, not sure ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

food and service were sub-par, not sure if they have a new chef or not but we have had better meals there. instead of expending they have crammed several more tables into the small space. I learned everything I ever wanted to know about the diners next to us.... no privacy or intimacy at all if you are expecting a romantic dinner....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Great little spot

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Although we live several hundred miles from Hoffman Estates, we travel through the area often and always try to have dinner at Amore Mio. Our server, Tonya, was great, as usual, but all the staff make us feel very welcome. The food is terrific (we always have some to take home for another day) and we always find a nice wine to complement our meal. This is definitely a keeper!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Took friends out for their 46th wedding anniversary. Perfect little spot for a wonderful meal and great service. Everyone enjoyed their meal from soups, salads, entrees and desserts. All the pastas were freshly made, the crab ravioli was excellent as was the pork chop Vesuvio, chicken piccaata. Our server was attentive and helpful.

Everything was excellent and reasonably priced. A lovely little spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place to eat.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

The food was wonderful, hot, and used fresh ingredients. A great place to eat if you appreciate excellent Italian trattoria cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good Italian food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

The meal started off with the best Bruschetta around, followed by delicious Italian Sausage & Peppers and Chicken Marsala . The cheese Raviolis taste homemade and are wonderful. Service is always friendly and prompt. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We all loved this restaurant.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner at Amore Mio. The ambiance of this restaurant was lovely, the food delicious and the wait staff very attentive to our needs. We would definitely return here and will tell all our friends about this neighborhood gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.