HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine

4.5
120 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Greek
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Casual
  • Quiet Conversation
Home made healthy and authentic Greek food using local produce. Gluten free and vegetarian menus available. Open for lunch with live belly dancers every Saturday night at 8pm. Greek inspired BRUNCH Sat & Sun. If Greek food is what you are craving, then let John and Antonia show you all about Greek FILOXENIA (hospitality)! OPA!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Greek, Mediterranean, Breakfast
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm Brunch: Sat & Sun 9am-2pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 340-4343
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Virginia Beach Boulevard
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment

Belly Dancing show every Saturday at 8pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 120 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.2
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipVBdiner (Richmond)
3.0  Dined 6 days ago

We love the food here and came on a Saturday evening. We had forgotten that they provide a belly dancer on Saturday nights and, while that is a fun experience, there are no tables where it is possible to have a quieter dinner at that time. The show was good but the music is extremely loud and it would be nice for patrons, who are not interested in the belly dancing, to have a quieter area for dining.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

The restaurant was hosting some sort of event in the main dining area and they were VERY loud. Staff apologized several times and as the group finally began to leave, it got much better. We had grilled pork chops and pastitsio as our entrees both of which were very good. The Greek salad was excellent! We will return on a night that is hopefully less noisy!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was fresh and authentic. Cannot wait to go back and try more selections.

Report
Helpful
WildChild (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Excellent food. Great server. Awesome Place. Truly a neighborhood gem.

Report
Helpful
vipCgirl (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

Great food! Very fresh ingredients. Loved it. Friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on November 18, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Ammos. It is tucked away off of the main road behind a building, and when you walk into the restaurant, you are met with an open floor plan and candles. We enjoyed our drinks, the food (especially the rice/chicken soup) and would definitely recommend this place to others.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Miami)
5.0  Dined on November 15, 2017

Excellent food. Very nice staff. Even met the owner who was very sweet.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on November 13, 2017

We always go to Ammos when we are in the neighborhood.
Delicious food. Good ambiance.
Great service
We have never been disappointed.
The meatballs are all beef with just the right amount of seasoning.

Report
Helpful
vipsli6 (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on November 4, 2017

Always a fulfilling experience at Ammos. Have been here multiple times and will be back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Adelaide / SA)
5.0  Dined on October 27, 2017

Great food, great service, fun place for a date! Enjoyed our visit. Always a great time, would recommend to all my friends and family!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Adelaide / SA)
5.0  Dined on October 13, 2017

Great experience! Waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful. Great great authentic Greek dishes! Very good time...

Report
Helpful
vipOahuPerfection (Richmond)
3.0  Dined on October 13, 2017

Best part of the evening was my waitress. She was quiet and pleasant coupled with attentive and professional.

I had the horiatiki salad and tzatziki, both were incredibly delicious and I would recommend both, highly.

The down part...there’s a smell as soon as you walk in the door, kind of a moth ball mixed with musty smell...could be their cleaner, could be moth balls...I don’t know. The place looks clean, so I’m not sure, but it doesn’t set the tone for a phenomenal dinner...which is a shame, because the service I had coupled with the food, was great.

Also, for a Friday evening, the place was nearly empty...I’m not sure why...

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was really yummy, and the waiter was so nice.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on August 12, 2017

me and my husband went to Virginia Beach on an anniversary trip and we ate here for our anniversary dinner we had such a great time the food was spot on and we went on Saturday evening for the belly dancers. It was wonderful, so much fun everyone was having a great time. The next time we come in from Ohio we will be there. It is a have to do on a Saturday night. Don't miss out on this. Fabulous food and fun. Who could ask for more. My husband is Greek and loved the Greek macaroni, I got the chicken lemon orzo soup it was not lemony enough for me but I asked the waiter to bring me a few lemon wedges and 3 later was absolutely perfect for me. [I just like it a little tangy] we had the baklava cheesecake and lemony crème Brule they were both great. Go try and enjoy

Report
Helpful
Marigo (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on July 29, 2017

Good options for Greek beer and wine. Nice retsina. The catch of the day was a whole fish. It was excellent but so big that two of us could have shared it. The Greek coffee was disappointing. It was weak, no foam on top, not sweet enough. Xoriatiki salata was excellent.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on July 20, 2017

Tasty food, be sure and enjoy some appetizers prior to feasting on delicious food. Santorini Greek wine was the perfect accompaniment. Asked for more green beans in lieu of French fries (seemed out of place in a Greek restaurant). Great place!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent Greek food and professional service. One of our favorite restaurants in all of Hampton Roads

Report
Helpful
NettaW (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was delicious and it was plenty. The service was great. I truly have no complaints. Very friendly staff and great atmosphere. Mostly everyone was dressed nice. Did not see anyone in jeans or tennis shoes. Nice place to take someone on a date I think. Some nights they have live entertainment so I suggest calling ahead to find out when they're having it. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
vipGucci135 (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on July 8, 2017

Great service and dining experience. Mezze platter and saganaki appetizers were delicious. Meat platter entrée was very good, though beef kabobs were a bit overcooked. Belly dancer was friendly and entertaining. The only real "other" was that the temperature became uncomfortably warm, so there may have been an issue with the air conditioning.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2017

Fantastic! Menu items for everyone. Even the kiddos.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6