Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 2.11mi
  3. Distance: 2.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 2.11mi
  3. Distance: 2.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 2.11mi
  3. Distance: 2.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 2.11mi
  3. Distance: 2.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.77mi

About Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine

. Home made healthy and authentic Greek food using local produce. Gluten free and vegetarian menus available. Open for lunch with live belly dancers on select nights. If Greek food is what you are craving, then let John and Antonia show you all about Greek FILOXENIA (hospitality)! OPA!

324 North Great Neck Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Virginia Beach Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 340-4343

Website:
http://ammosvb.com/

Entertainment:
Live Greek Music every Friday (Call for times)
Belly Dancing show every Saturday at 8pm

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience! Waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful. Great great authentic Greek dishes! Very good time...

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Best part of the evening was my waitress. She was quiet and pleasant coupled with attentive and professional.

I had the horiatiki salad and tzatziki, both were incredibly delicious and I would recommend both, highly.

The down part...there’s a smell as soon as you walk in the door, kind of a moth ball mixed with musty smell...could be their cleaner, could be moth balls...I don’t know. The place looks clean, so I’m not sure, but it doesn’t set the tone for a phenomenal dinner...which is a shame, because the service I had coupled with the food, was great.

Also, for a Friday evening, the place was nearly empty...I’m not sure why...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was really yummy, and the waiter was so nice.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

me and my husband went to Virginia Beach on an anniversary trip and we ate here for our anniversary dinner we had such a great time the food was spot on and we went on Saturday evening for the belly dancers. It was wonderful, so much fun everyone was having a great time. The next time we come in from Ohio we will be there. It is a have to do on a Saturday night. Don't miss out on this. Fabulous food and fun. Who could ask for more. My husband is Greek and loved the Greek macaroni, I got the chicken lemon orzo soup it was not lemony enough for me but I asked the waiter to bring me a few lemon wedges and 3 later was absolutely perfect for me. [I just like it a little tangy] we had the baklava cheesecake and lemony crème Brule they were both great. Go try and enjoy

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Good options for Greek beer and wine. Nice retsina. The catch of the day was a whole fish. It was excellent but so big that two of us could have shared it. The Greek coffee was disappointing. It was weak, no foam on top, not sweet enough. Xoriatiki salata was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Tasty food, be sure and enjoy some appetizers prior to feasting on delicious food. Santorini Greek wine was the perfect accompaniment. Asked for more green beans in lieu of French fries (seemed out of place in a Greek restaurant). Great place!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent Greek food and professional service. One of our favorite restaurants in all of Hampton Roads

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was delicious and it was plenty. The service was great. I truly have no complaints. Very friendly staff and great atmosphere. Mostly everyone was dressed nice. Did not see anyone in jeans or tennis shoes. Nice place to take someone on a date I think. Some nights they have live entertainment so I suggest calling ahead to find out when they're having it. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great service and dining experience. Mezze platter and saganaki appetizers were delicious. Meat platter entrée was very good, though beef kabobs were a bit overcooked. Belly dancer was friendly and entertaining. The only real "other" was that the temperature became uncomfortably warm, so there may have been an issue with the air conditioning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fantastic! Menu items for everyone. Even the kiddos.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was horrible. We've eaten at many Greek restaurants and this one was way below average. Our server, Maya, was very sweet. However, the service couldn't overcome the poor quality and taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

First visit from out of town. The Octopus, lamb and vegetarian lasagna were all excellent. I wish we lived in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was amazing the gyros were filling and delicious salmon was cooked to perfection and the house fries were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a really nice date night here. We chose to go on a Saturday where they have belly dancing at 8 PM. It was very fun and added to the whole experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Authentic Greek food. The service was very good. Worth the drive

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was exceptional​, made to order, nice balance of spices. Decent size portions. Service was outstanding. Will definitely go back to try other entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Us four adults and our two year old found Ammos quite good and inviting. We enjoyed the mixed mezze, Greek salads, lamb chops, grilled salmon, baklava and Greek coffee. And, the St George red wine was quite good and not expensive. When the youngest member of our party needed to explore, the staff reveled in entertaining him with coloring books and a bubble blowing kit which fascinated him. We plan on returning soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent place. Great food. Will return . The staff is courteous

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was our first visit to the restaurant. Tt was recommended by family members who live in the area (since we were from out of town on a business trip) as a good place to meet up for dinner and chat. There were seven of us and we purposely made reservations at the top of their dinner hour on a Tuesday night, hoping to avoid a crowd. We had the place to ourselves for a good hour and a half before the tables began to fill up. Our waitress was friendly and very attentive. The food portions were very generous. We all took food home with us. Everything was delicious. I was taken aback by the price for a glass of Ouzo, so watch out for the bar drink prices if you order. It was cold and rainy, so we weren't outside for long, but they do have tables out there for nicer days. A word of warning when you come. The restaurant is in a small shopping center and it is hidden in the back. When we got off the main road and turned onto the property, we thought our GPS had made a mistake and sent us the wrong way. The restaurant's sign is very hard to see from the road and you actually see the back of the place before you see the front!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great meal and superb service from Ntiana. Salads and appetizers were wonderful. Highly recommend the flaming saganaki grilled octopus. Lollipop lamb chops were tender and flavorful. Baklava and Greek coffee were delicious. Thanks for accommodating our large crowd and making our son's 21st birthday special.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was my boyfriend's first time trying Greek food. I made sure we got saganaki for an appetizer, which came with the dramatic fire, "Ompa", and taste delicious. He has the lamb and I had the Greek Combo. Both were very good. His lamb chops were especially good. For dessert we had baklava. The waitress we had was very attentive (not in an annoying way though).

Overall our experience was very positive. We will go back.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good food and healthy portions, great flavors
.the restaurant never seems to be fully staffed, we went early for a pre-dinner drink, never even got waited on.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food and service were excellent! Most authentic Greek I've had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service were good. Although I ran a little late, they quickly found a solution. The only problem I had is that they charged my credit card more than the bill. I have contacted the restaurant and I hope they will fix it soon.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic Greek food, outstanding service, and a fun atmosphere. Found this restaurant because I was craving Greek food and was thoroughly impressed. There was a belly dancer there for entertainment on Saturday night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our first visit to Ammos was good. I love Greek cuisine so I was excited to try this. They have belly dancing on Saturday night which was entertaining but it was very loud and difficult to talk to our friends. The food was good, but overpriced. I ordered the beef kebabs for $20 which were two kebabs, maybe 4 ounces of meat on each one, and 4 undercooked potato wedges. I substituted a Greek salad that was not worth the $3 upcharge. The desserts were very good, the rice pudding was rich and creamy. The baklava was good but fell apart while cutting because the filling was so dense. Overall, a good meal but not sure it was worth the price.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really nice meal for our first visit. Ntiana our waitress was very friendly, funny, and professional. Mezze sampler was ample and tasty. Horiatiki salad was fresh, with plenty of feta, though it could have used a bit more vinaigrette. Lemon chicken soup with orzo was excellent. Grilled lamb kabobs were good, but a bit small in portion for the price. Moussaka was very flavorful. I wish that orzo had been offered as a side, as their yellow rice was like Uncle Ben's. Green beans were overcooked. Mouzo (ouzo infused chocolate mousse), baklava, and chocolate martini were all great. Nice selection of Greek wines. Overall, a very good experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We dined here Christmas Eve and it was great! Belly dancer was fun to watch and drummer was great. Both before and after the entertainment we could talk and hear each other as compared to other places where we have eaten that are so noisey on Christmas Eve!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday early while our son was in town and we all love Greek food so it was an easy decision. The food was fantastic and the service was awesome. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The best feature of this restaurant is its (da) food! Very nice Greek food. Best I've had in my 30 odd years in the area. Very tasty and the best you'll get unless you head to Athens.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

the food was good could have been warmer when we got it it was luke warm served too fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Charming, but hard to find. Delicious and felt authentic. Family-owned.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Authentic Greek cuisine made with fresh ingredients. Visit every time I'm in the area -- worth the trip. Neighborhood gem.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another excellent meal. This is the place to go for Greek food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I thought one could only eat authentic Greek food at a Greek Festival, but I stand corrected. You can dine on all of your favorites right here. Our waitress was attentive. The food came quickly and the portions were big enough to have left overs. I can confidently recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Yum, yum, yummy authentic Greek food. Service is excellent, food is well prepared and tasty. Staff is friendly and attentive, never letting my water glass get empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We thought it was mediocre food for the price. The AC was not working well, and they had to use a big fan next to our table. Probably won't go there again. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient though!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very noisy! Had belly dancers. Food okay. Green beans overcooked and mushy. Salmon overcooked and not fresh tasting. Others had seafood moussaka special which was different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is very good, but not worth $22 for lamb kabob. Two very small skewers. The service is slow; finished plates stay on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.