Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 2.11mi
  3. Distance: 2.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 2.11mi
  3. Distance: 2.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 2.11mi
  3. Distance: 2.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 2.11mi
  3. Distance: 2.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.77mi

About Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine

. Home made healthy and authentic Greek food using local produce. Gluten free and vegetarian menus available. Open for lunch with live belly dancers on select nights. If Greek food is what you are craving, then let John and Antonia show you all about Greek FILOXENIA (hospitality)! OPA!

324 North Great Neck Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Virginia Beach Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 340-4343

Website:
http://ammosvb.com/

Entertainment:
Live Greek Music every Friday (Call for times)
Belly Dancing show every Saturday at 8pm

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Romantic (2)
Cozy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fantastic! Menu items for everyone. Even the kiddos.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was horrible. We've eaten at many Greek restaurants and this one was way below average. Our server, Maya, was very sweet. However, the service couldn't overcome the poor quality and taste of the food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

First visit from out of town. The Octopus, lamb and vegetarian lasagna were all excellent. I wish we lived in the area.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was amazing the gyros were filling and delicious salmon was cooked to perfection and the house fries were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a really nice date night here. We chose to go on a Saturday where they have belly dancing at 8 PM. It was very fun and added to the whole experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Authentic Greek food. The service was very good. Worth the drive

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved the food and service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was exceptional​, made to order, nice balance of spices. Decent size portions. Service was outstanding. Will definitely go back to try other entrees.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Us four adults and our two year old found Ammos quite good and inviting. We enjoyed the mixed mezze, Greek salads, lamb chops, grilled salmon, baklava and Greek coffee. And, the St George red wine was quite good and not expensive. When the youngest member of our party needed to explore, the staff reveled in entertaining him with coloring books and a bubble blowing kit which fascinated him. We plan on returning soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent place. Great food. Will return . The staff is courteous

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was our first visit to the restaurant. Tt was recommended by family members who live in the area (since we were from out of town on a business trip) as a good place to meet up for dinner and chat. There were seven of us and we purposely made reservations at the top of their dinner hour on a Tuesday night, hoping to avoid a crowd. We had the place to ourselves for a good hour and a half before the tables began to fill up. Our waitress was friendly and very attentive. The food portions were very generous. We all took food home with us. Everything was delicious. I was taken aback by the price for a glass of Ouzo, so watch out for the bar drink prices if you order. It was cold and rainy, so we weren't outside for long, but they do have tables out there for nicer days. A word of warning when you come. The restaurant is in a small shopping center and it is hidden in the back. When we got off the main road and turned onto the property, we thought our GPS had made a mistake and sent us the wrong way. The restaurant's sign is very hard to see from the road and you actually see the back of the place before you see the front!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great meal and superb service from Ntiana. Salads and appetizers were wonderful. Highly recommend the flaming saganaki grilled octopus. Lollipop lamb chops were tender and flavorful. Baklava and Greek coffee were delicious. Thanks for accommodating our large crowd and making our son's 21st birthday special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was my boyfriend's first time trying Greek food. I made sure we got saganaki for an appetizer, which came with the dramatic fire, "Ompa", and taste delicious. He has the lamb and I had the Greek Combo. Both were very good. His lamb chops were especially good. For dessert we had baklava. The waitress we had was very attentive (not in an annoying way though).

Overall our experience was very positive. We will go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Good food and healthy portions, great flavors
.the restaurant never seems to be fully staffed, we went early for a pre-dinner drink, never even got waited on.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food and service were excellent! Most authentic Greek I've had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service were good. Although I ran a little late, they quickly found a solution. The only problem I had is that they charged my credit card more than the bill. I have contacted the restaurant and I hope they will fix it soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic Greek food, outstanding service, and a fun atmosphere. Found this restaurant because I was craving Greek food and was thoroughly impressed. There was a belly dancer there for entertainment on Saturday night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our first visit to Ammos was good. I love Greek cuisine so I was excited to try this. They have belly dancing on Saturday night which was entertaining but it was very loud and difficult to talk to our friends. The food was good, but overpriced. I ordered the beef kebabs for $20 which were two kebabs, maybe 4 ounces of meat on each one, and 4 undercooked potato wedges. I substituted a Greek salad that was not worth the $3 upcharge. The desserts were very good, the rice pudding was rich and creamy. The baklava was good but fell apart while cutting because the filling was so dense. Overall, a good meal but not sure it was worth the price.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really nice meal for our first visit. Ntiana our waitress was very friendly, funny, and professional. Mezze sampler was ample and tasty. Horiatiki salad was fresh, with plenty of feta, though it could have used a bit more vinaigrette. Lemon chicken soup with orzo was excellent. Grilled lamb kabobs were good, but a bit small in portion for the price. Moussaka was very flavorful. I wish that orzo had been offered as a side, as their yellow rice was like Uncle Ben's. Green beans were overcooked. Mouzo (ouzo infused chocolate mousse), baklava, and chocolate martini were all great. Nice selection of Greek wines. Overall, a very good experience. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We dined here Christmas Eve and it was great! Belly dancer was fun to watch and drummer was great. Both before and after the entertainment we could talk and hear each other as compared to other places where we have eaten that are so noisey on Christmas Eve!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday early while our son was in town and we all love Greek food so it was an easy decision. The food was fantastic and the service was awesome. We'll definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The best feature of this restaurant is its (da) food! Very nice Greek food. Best I've had in my 30 odd years in the area. Very tasty and the best you'll get unless you head to Athens.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

the food was good could have been warmer when we got it it was luke warm served too fast

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Charming, but hard to find. Delicious and felt authentic. Family-owned.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Authentic Greek cuisine made with fresh ingredients. Visit every time I'm in the area -- worth the trip. Neighborhood gem.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another excellent meal. This is the place to go for Greek food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I thought one could only eat authentic Greek food at a Greek Festival, but I stand corrected. You can dine on all of your favorites right here. Our waitress was attentive. The food came quickly and the portions were big enough to have left overs. I can confidently recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Yum, yum, yummy authentic Greek food. Service is excellent, food is well prepared and tasty. Staff is friendly and attentive, never letting my water glass get empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We thought it was mediocre food for the price. The AC was not working well, and they had to use a big fan next to our table. Probably won't go there again. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient though!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very noisy! Had belly dancers. Food okay. Green beans overcooked and mushy. Salmon overcooked and not fresh tasting. Others had seafood moussaka special which was different.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is very good, but not worth $22 for lamb kabob. Two very small skewers. The service is slow; finished plates stay on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed the food and wine, and thought that the dancing show was a lot of fun too - would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent and the most wonderful service from Sofia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Had a group of 15, great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great. We had no wait since we had reservations. We did not wait long for food. Our waitress Megan was amazing. We had a great experience and will return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2016

I have eaten at a few Greek restaurants and this is my favorite. The food is authentic and always perfectly prepared. The staff is warm and friendly as well as efficient. There are no long waits and all staff are great at answering any questions about menu selections.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2016

2nd time there for dinner, though they were out of the "specials of the day", the items ordered were really good. Service 1st time was really good, this 2nd time it was a bit slow, only two servers for over 12 tables during dinner time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Good authentic Greek food. And great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2016

The branzino was outstanding and fresh. Everything was fresh and the staff friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Superb service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.