About Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine

324 North Great Neck Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

NEW LOCATION! 324 N. Great Neck Road. You can travel 5,000 miles for an original Greek dinner or you can come on down to Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine. Home made authentic Greek food using local produce. Open for lunch and dinner Tues-Sunday with live belly dancers on select nights. If Greek food is what you are craving, then let John and Antonia show you all about Greek FILOXENIA (hospitality)

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Virginia Beach Boulevard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 340-4343

Website:
http://ammosvb.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
81 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrated my wife's birthday early whil ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday early while our son was in town and we all love Greek food so it was an easy decision. The food was fantastic and the service was awesome. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best feature of this restaurant is i ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The best feature of this restaurant is its (da) food! Very nice Greek food. Best I've had in my 30 odd years in the area. Very tasty and the best you'll get unless you head to Athens.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

the food was good could have been warmer ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

the food was good could have been warmer when we got it it was luke warm served too fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Charming, but hard to find. Delicious an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Charming, but hard to find. Delicious and felt authentic. Family-owned.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Authentic Greek cuisine made with fresh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Authentic Greek cuisine made with fresh ingredients. Visit every time I'm in the area -- worth the trip. Neighborhood gem.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent meal. This is the plac ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another excellent meal. This is the place to go for Greek food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought one could only eat authentic G ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I thought one could only eat authentic Greek food at a Greek Festival, but I stand corrected. You can dine on all of your favorites right here. Our waitress was attentive. The food came quickly and the portions were big enough to have left overs. I can confidently recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum, yum, yummy authentic Greek food. S ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Yum, yum, yummy authentic Greek food. Service is excellent, food is well prepared and tasty. Staff is friendly and attentive, never letting my water glass get empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought it was mediocre food for the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We thought it was mediocre food for the price. The AC was not working well, and they had to use a big fan next to our table. Probably won't go there again. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient though!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Very noisy! Had belly dancers. Food oka ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very noisy! Had belly dancers. Food okay. Green beans overcooked and mushy. Salmon overcooked and not fresh tasting. Others had seafood moussaka special which was different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is very good, but not worth $22 ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is very good, but not worth $22 for lamb kabob. Two very small skewers. The service is slow; finished plates stay on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We enjoyed the food and wine, and though ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed the food and wine, and thought that the dancing show was a lot of fun too - would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and the most wonderfu ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent and the most wonderful service from Sofia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a group of 15, great service and gre ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Had a group of 15, great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. We had no wait since we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great. We had no wait since we had reservations. We did not wait long for food. Our waitress Megan was amazing. We had a great experience and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In my Comfort Zone

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2016

I have eaten at a few Greek restaurants and this is my favorite. The food is authentic and always perfectly prepared. The staff is warm and friendly as well as efficient. There are no long waits and all staff are great at answering any questions about menu selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

2nd time there for dinner, though they w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2016

2nd time there for dinner, though they were out of the "specials of the day", the items ordered were really good. Service 1st time was really good, this 2nd time it was a bit slow, only two servers for over 12 tables during dinner time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good authentic Greek food. And great ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Good authentic Greek food. And great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding authentic Greek food.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2016

The branzino was outstanding and fresh. Everything was fresh and the staff friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service and great food!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Superb service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meaghan

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2016

I had made reservation for dinner for my wife and myself, for our anniversary. Neither of us knew what to expect on our first visit to your restaurant.

Our server introduced herself as Meaghan. From that moment everything was perfect. She was helpful with all of our questions and knew the menu extremely well. Her suggestions for food and wine really helped to make our first visit the very best that it could be. We will definitely be coming back. If the entire staff is anything like Meaghan I think that we will be returning often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were both outstandi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food and service were both outstanding. Had read the reviews prior to our visit and was not disappointed. Highly recommend the Meatlovers platter(the lukaniko sausage is amazing!) and the Pastitsio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Greek Food

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 2, 2016

This restaurant is one of our favorites. The food is always superb, the service excellent

and the family atmosphere is over the top!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Greek Food

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Ammos is consistently good. Food is fresh with generous portions. We enjoy eating outside in the spring and summer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A gem in Virginia Beach

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2015

A friend told me about the restaurant, we decided to try. We are tired of all the others in the area.

What a surprise-everything from the service, to the food, was more than we expected

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Authentic, Romantic Favorite

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Ammos is always awesome. This visit, we requested outdoor seating in mid-December. The staff was happy to clean off a table & serve us on the patio. We enjoyed a romantic dinner completely secluded on their lovely deck while still having an attentive, friendly waiter.

We've never had a less than stellar experience at Ammos. The food is authentic (& amazing), worth a trip if for the Dip Trio alone. The tyrokafteri is the best I've ever eaten.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2015

This was my wife and I first time dining here. We love Greek food and always dined at Yannis until they closed a few months ago. We decided to try something new and we were very impressed. The food was great. My only complaint would have to be we were never offered or brought any bread, but all the other tables had bread. Other than that the service was good and the food was even better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good Greek food

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2015

Food was good, but not extraordinary. Greek green beans are my favorite and these had a lot of strings and not a lot of tomatoes. Greek salad had lettuce, and I like a Greek salad without it like served in Greece. Welcome was warm , server was a little too enthusiastic and energetic. He was attentive which was great, but he was very bubbly let's say. Gyro platter was good as was the other two entree's we had. Baklava cheese cake was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great time with family

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2015

We had a great time celebrating our oldest son's 26th birthday. The food was excellent, the service was great, and the atmosphere warm and cozy. We had been driving by the restaurant for years and finally decided to try it. Glad we did. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Greek food

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2015

Amazing authentic Greek food! Married into a Greek family this is about the closest to my husbands family's amazing recipes.I highly reccomend this restaraunt if you enjoy fresh authentic Greek cuisine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Greek Food.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2015

This restaurant never fails to provide excellent food, great service by waitresses/waiters,

and personalized attention by the owners/chefs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service with a smile. Our food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Excellent service with a smile. Our food was fresh, hot, and most definitely delicious. It's the best calamari I've had in a very long time. So fresh and perfectly cooked and seasoned. The lamb chops were delicious. The lemon potatoes were perfect as were the Greek style green beans. The gyro platter was excellent. The baklava was the best I've had in years. The Greek coffee was great. The belly dancing was a fun and unique experience which i really enjoyed. I would recommend this restaurant to lovers of authentic Greek food in Virginia Beach. It truly is a fantastic hidden gem in our city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a family group of seven includin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 17, 2015

We were a family group of seven including one child. The service was out standing. The server was was especially efficient and courteous in taking orders, answering questions, and serving the the food. We were most impressed by him. The food was outstanding. We hadn't eaten at Greek restuarn for along time. We were impressed by the performance of Juleema, the belly dancer. That added to the enjoyment of the evening. We should add we hadn't seen her perform for a long time since you were on the Beach. I should add that she's our daughter. We will recommend Ammos any time to our friends and neighbors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our goal was to come into Ammos and try ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Our goal was to come into Ammos and try an array of traditional cuisine on the menu. Being greek and from NY we have had our fair share of Greek food both at home and out at some of the best NYC resturaunt and diners. Pretty spot on for authenticity. From the perfect bachmeil (spelling doesn't count for some greek words in my case) on the partition, the good Thalima (fish rowe) , stuffed grape leaves, tender lamb chops and a cheesecake spin off of baklava** that was really good. Our waiter seemed to be greek and was very helpful and attentive. If you love greek food must try this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Limited waitstaff

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 18, 2015

Great place but be ready to wait if it is busy. We counted 3 people on the waitstaff. To be packed our waitress did the best she could. We loved the belly dancer and the food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Truly authentic and delicious Greek food!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 27, 2015

Forur of us enjoyed different food selections and each essentially licked-the-plate. Our wait staff was delightfully attentive without intruding. We enjoyed the music and dancing but our conversation, not surprisingly, had to stop due to the noise and energy. We have dined at this restaurant twice and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family loves Ammos.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 22, 2015

Ammos is our favorite Greek restaurant in the Hampton Roads area. The food is awesome and the serice is excellent (especially our favorite server Peter).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent gyro , very fresh ; friendly h ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2015

Excellent gyro , very fresh ; friendly helpful waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perfection!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 28, 2015

Fabulous in every way. Good Location, Lovely ambience, Welcoming Staff, Huge Menu with Everything you could want from a Greek restaurant and More. Best dining experience I have had in far to long, can't wait to go back :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely horrible.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 7, 2015

I was celebrating my birthday at your location. Everyones food was overcooked. It was absolutely horrible. The salmon was dry my chicken kabob was tuff like steak. I felt so embarrassed that i recommended this location fot my celebration. The only thing we enjoyed was the belly dancer. If i had to visit again i would eat prior to coming.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.