Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Ammos Authentic Greek Cuisine

4.4
131 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Greek
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Casual
  • Quiet Conversation
Located in Chambord Commons in Virginia Beach, Ammos serves Authentic Homemade Recipes. Dishes are complimented with a great selection of Greek Wines and Friendly Service in a Casual and Elegant Setting. OPA!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Greek, Mediterranean, Home cooking
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Weekend: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Weekdays: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 340-4343
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Virginia Beach Boulevard
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Ammos welcomes you to the one of a kind experience with Janeeda’s Classic Belly Dance Show. This is a family friendly show that is sure to make for a memorable night. Show starts every Saturday at 8pm. Reservations are recommended.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 131 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.2
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This was our first visit to Ammos, and we were impressed with the food and service. A very large birthday party arrived as we were eating, so the noise level was a bit higher than what I assume is normal. Outside dining would be nice, but due to excessive pollen not chosen for our visit....maybe next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Located in an inconspicuous location for such an authentic feel. When we walked in we were greeted by a hostess who walked us to a booth location. Very quite and low key. Our waiter was very astute and well versed in choosing the wine selection and top notch meal. As suggested we ordered the recommended meals for the evening. The meal portions were very large and worth saving for a midnight snack. It is well worth the curiosity and continued effort to visit again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went for Easter buffet and after seeing it decided it wasn't worth $35.00. Only a few people were there surprisingly for a buffet. Ordered off menu and was disappointed in salmon. Very dry. Greek salad which is usually my favorite was very vinegary. Everything else was ok...not great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I enjoyed this restaurant, as of most I visit. The menu selection was good, and it included a wide variety of dishes. I ordered the Brioche French Toast with a side of home fried potatoes and Greek sausage and found it most appetizing and cooked to perfection. The service and staff were courteous and attentive. The restaurants atmosphere and conditions were great. Parking and accessibility was good. I will look forward to returning to this establishment again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Fantastic meal, great service. My husband had the special, seafood moussaka, which he said was delicious. The potato and garlic dip was awesome. We will be back when in VA Beach!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good, fresh, healthy food. We have eaten here several times and the food is consistently delicious. Good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

This place was amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great service. Waitress made an excellent Greek wine recommendation. Bright & dry, similar to a Pinot Grigio, that fit both of our meals perfectly. She had the Vegetable Mousaka: Layers of eggplant, zucchini, potatoes, peppers, and béchamel sauce. A nice thick block that she couldn't finish. Took a doggie bag home. Delicious. I had the house special, Seafood Mousaka: eggplant and zucchini with shirmp, calamari, and scallops in the béchamel sauce. Awesome. For dessert, she had a big piece of flaky baklava which was wonderful. The baklava is big enough to share. I had the chocolate mousse with Ouzo. I thought the Ouzo overpowered the mousse. Otherwise a great dinner evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The food was great and the Saturday night Belly Dancing was a lot of fun.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Went for restaurant week, really good food and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Entree plates were cold. Salad plate was warm. Overall the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We love the food here and came on a Saturday evening. We had forgotten that they provide a belly dancer on Saturday nights and, while that is a fun experience, there are no tables where it is possible to have a quieter dinner at that time. The show was good but the music is extremely loud and it would be nice for patrons, who are not interested in the belly dancing, to have a quieter area for dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The restaurant was hosting some sort of event in the main dining area and they were VERY loud. Staff apologized several times and as the group finally began to leave, it got much better. We had grilled pork chops and pastitsio as our entrees both of which were very good. The Greek salad was excellent! We will return on a night that is hopefully less noisy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was fresh and authentic. Cannot wait to go back and try more selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Excellent food. Great server. Awesome Place. Truly a neighborhood gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Great food! Very fresh ingredients. Loved it. Friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Ammos. It is tucked away off of the main road behind a building, and when you walk into the restaurant, you are met with an open floor plan and candles. We enjoyed our drinks, the food (especially the rice/chicken soup) and would definitely recommend this place to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Excellent food. Very nice staff. Even met the owner who was very sweet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2017

We always go to Ammos when we are in the neighborhood.
Delicious food. Good ambiance.
Great service
We have never been disappointed.
The meatballs are all beef with just the right amount of seasoning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Always a fulfilling experience at Ammos. Have been here multiple times and will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

Great food, great service, fun place for a date! Enjoyed our visit. Always a great time, would recommend to all my friends and family!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Great experience! Waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful. Great great authentic Greek dishes! Very good time...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Best part of the evening was my waitress. She was quiet and pleasant coupled with attentive and professional.

I had the horiatiki salad and tzatziki, both were incredibly delicious and I would recommend both, highly.

The down part...there’s a smell as soon as you walk in the door, kind of a moth ball mixed with musty smell...could be their cleaner, could be moth balls...I don’t know. The place looks clean, so I’m not sure, but it doesn’t set the tone for a phenomenal dinner...which is a shame, because the service I had coupled with the food, was great.

Also, for a Friday evening, the place was nearly empty...I’m not sure why...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was really yummy, and the waiter was so nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

me and my husband went to Virginia Beach on an anniversary trip and we ate here for our anniversary dinner we had such a great time the food was spot on and we went on Saturday evening for the belly dancers. It was wonderful, so much fun everyone was having a great time. The next time we come in from Ohio we will be there. It is a have to do on a Saturday night. Don't miss out on this. Fabulous food and fun. Who could ask for more. My husband is Greek and loved the Greek macaroni, I got the chicken lemon orzo soup it was not lemony enough for me but I asked the waiter to bring me a few lemon wedges and 3 later was absolutely perfect for me. [I just like it a little tangy] we had the baklava cheesecake and lemony crème Brule they were both great. Go try and enjoy

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Good options for Greek beer and wine. Nice retsina. The catch of the day was a whole fish. It was excellent but so big that two of us could have shared it. The Greek coffee was disappointing. It was weak, no foam on top, not sweet enough. Xoriatiki salata was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 20, 2017

Tasty food, be sure and enjoy some appetizers prior to feasting on delicious food. Santorini Greek wine was the perfect accompaniment. Asked for more green beans in lieu of French fries (seemed out of place in a Greek restaurant). Great place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent Greek food and professional service. One of our favorite restaurants in all of Hampton Roads

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was delicious and it was plenty. The service was great. I truly have no complaints. Very friendly staff and great atmosphere. Mostly everyone was dressed nice. Did not see anyone in jeans or tennis shoes. Nice place to take someone on a date I think. Some nights they have live entertainment so I suggest calling ahead to find out when they're having it. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Great service and dining experience. Mezze platter and saganaki appetizers were delicious. Meat platter entrée was very good, though beef kabobs were a bit overcooked. Belly dancer was friendly and entertaining. The only real "other" was that the temperature became uncomfortably warm, so there may have been an issue with the air conditioning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Fantastic! Menu items for everyone. Even the kiddos.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was horrible. We've eaten at many Greek restaurants and this one was way below average. Our server, Maya, was very sweet. However, the service couldn't overcome the poor quality and taste of the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2017

First visit from out of town. The Octopus, lamb and vegetarian lasagna were all excellent. I wish we lived in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was amazing the gyros were filling and delicious salmon was cooked to perfection and the house fries were awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a really nice date night here. We chose to go on a Saturday where they have belly dancing at 8 PM. It was very fun and added to the whole experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2017

Authentic Greek food. The service was very good. Worth the drive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved the food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was exceptional​, made to order, nice balance of spices. Decent size portions. Service was outstanding. Will definitely go back to try other entrees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Us four adults and our two year old found Ammos quite good and inviting. We enjoyed the mixed mezze, Greek salads, lamb chops, grilled salmon, baklava and Greek coffee. And, the St George red wine was quite good and not expensive. When the youngest member of our party needed to explore, the staff reveled in entertaining him with coloring books and a bubble blowing kit which fascinated him. We plan on returning soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent place. Great food. Will return . The staff is courteous

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4