About Amerigo - Memphis

1239 Ridgeway Road
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Amerigo is a casual, energetic, affordable neighborhood Italian restaurant serving a blend of traditional and modern Italian cuisine. Authentic pastas, hand-made pizzas, fresh seafood and wood-fired steaks offer something for everyone at Amerigo. Our restaurant is warm and inviting, with friendly yet professional service. Whether it be a romantic dinner for two, or a family reunion for fifty, allow us to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00-2:00; Lunch Daily: 11:00-4:00; Dinner Monday-Saturday: 4:00-10:00, Sunday 4:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-4000

Website:
http://amerigo.net/

Catering:
Whether you're feeding 10 people or 500 people, Amerigo will deliver our fresh, hand-crafted meals right to your door! Family-style salads and made-to-order pastas make the perfect meal for your meeting or special event. We also provide full-service catering for large off-site events, such as wedding receptions, corporate receptions and holiday parties.

Executive Chef:
Ben Hickey

Private Party Facilities:
Host your next event at Amerigo! We offer two private dining rooms for meetings, rehearsal dinners, receptions and other special events. Each of our two rooms can accommodate up to 20 seated guests, or you can book the full private space for groups of up to 40 people. Customized menus, wireless internet and an A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. Contact us today, and allow our staff to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Sloan: 9018484009x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Ravioli - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Shrimp Scampi - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Fettuccine Imperial (off menu) - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Craft Beer - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Cheese Fritters - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Chicken Acuto - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Home Smoked Turkey Panini & Caesar Salad - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Mushroom Ravioli - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Shrimp Scampi - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Fettuccine Imperial (off menu) - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Craft Beer - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Cheese Fritters - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chicken Acuto - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Home Smoked Turkey Panini & Caesar Salad - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us at Amerigo for New Year's Eve! Regular menu offered with chef specials. Limited reservations available by calling the restaurant.

Amerigo - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, depending on what you order, i ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, depending on what you order, is very good to excellent. They have a killer chicken picata. The servers are very good at showing up when you need them without being obtrusive. The ambiance is quite NY Italian and very pleasant. All in all a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always outstanding! Everything w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is always outstanding! Everything was amazing as always!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us celebrated my daughter's birt ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Four of us celebrated my daughter's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was not too noisy so we could actually hear each other talk. We began with wine and calamari as an appetizer which was very tasty. We each had a different entree and were equally satisfied with chicken piccata, lasagne, mushroom ravioli and crab cakes on a bed of white beans salsa. The meal was finished with their chocolate pecan fudge brownie with a candle on top. The waiter had remembered her birthday and served the dessert with a lit candle and a smile!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great. Three of the four ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything was great. Three of the four meals would rate five stars. The fourth meal was okay but the chicken was tough and chewy. We will go back to see if this an exception. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always outstanding---never had a bad mea ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always outstanding---never had a bad meal or dining experience here!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Ordered pasta with grilled chicken. Came ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Ordered pasta with grilled chicken. Came without the chicken. When it did come it was tough, like it was microwaved. Pasta was way overcooked and not hot. Told the waiter and he apologized, but no manager came by and nothing was done

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

I will not return for a special occasion ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I will not return for a special occasion because of the poor bartenders but food was great...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We went on a recommendation and we were ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went on a recommendation and we were so pleased! We ordered the calamari and it was delicious. One thing I didn't like was that you had to pay for a salad to have with your entree rather than it coming with it. We thought that was a little much. Our meal was filling and delicious. Large portions and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Once again, a delicious meal at Amerigo' ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Once again, a delicious meal at Amerigo's, with outstanding service. We are always assured of good selections and our waitress on this occasion was personable, attentive, and overall very professional.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, consistently good food and gr ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

As always, consistently good food and great staff. Our "go to" place for business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Salmon was way overcooked. Service was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Salmon was way overcooked. Service was pretty good. But the value based on the meal was pretty middle of the road.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been wanting to try this restaura ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have been wanting to try this restaurant for a good while and finally got the opportunity to try it with my fiancé. It was great service, amazing food, and overall and an amazing experience! We are even considering using this restaurant for the rehearsal dinner location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't usually do lunch on vacation. had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Don't usually do lunch on vacation. had a tremendously enjoyable time.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent service, best waiter I've had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

excellent service, best waiter I've had for several months.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Someone at my table had ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Food was great. Someone at my table had undercooked food and they handled the problem immediately. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

My wife and I were visiting from Austin ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My wife and I were visiting from Austin TX, our GPS could not locate the restaurant so we called for directions; the manager was very helpful and got us there in just a few minutes, once inside we were met by a very friendly staff. The food and the atmosphere were excellent and the waiter was very friendly. We highly recommend this for any occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. WAIT STAFF EXCELLEN ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. WAIT STAFF EXCELLENT. THIS IS A GREAT FIND IN EAST MEMPHIS.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we eat there at least 2x/month and it is ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

we eat there at least 2x/month and it is consistent. sometimes the service is slow.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I have several business lunches and like ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I have several business lunches and like Amerigos because they always accommodate my seating preferences. I like the way they cook my salmon just the way I like it, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I like to eat at Amerigo's for business ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I like to eat at Amerigo's for business lunches and easy dinners- the staff always accommodates us when we request a quiet table for ease of conversation. The food is varied enough for everyone's tastes and consistently good. We are "frequent flyers" with Amerigo's and will continue to be.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our first time in Memphis & this ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 5, 2016

It was our first time in Memphis & this was a great recommendation by Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was delicious as always!!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food was delicious as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time and we were very pleased with ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time and we were very pleased with the quality and taste of the food. Enjoyed our leftovers as well. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We are from Baltimore, and wish we had a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We are from Baltimore, and wish we had an Amerigo's here! The Salmon was among the best we've had anywhere, and Michael, our server was awesome!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good. And they offer lunch ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Consistently good. And they offer lunch prices on Sunday along with brunch items. Pasta and fish on cedar plank always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amerigos is a really good restaurant. It ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amerigos is a really good restaurant. It has a quiet dignnified atmosphere, and a wide variety of foods - all cooked really good - to meet the most difficult diner's needs.I eat at Amerigos for business lunches at least 2X a week and when I am having a large famly dinner I like to go there bacause everyone seems to order something different and I don't get hosed like at some restaurants. Lunch portions are really perfect and at a reasonable price. Dinner portions are really shareable and, of course, a bit more.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Did not realize when I booked for birthd ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Did not realize when I booked for birthday lunch that they had a Sunday Brunch and it was

a pleasant surprise and loved the menu....Crab cake Benedict was delicious and so was

the omelet. Good value and friendly service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Slow service. Salad served with no dress ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Slow service. Salad served with no dressing. Then waited 10 minutes before anyone checked on us. Had to get up and flag someone down. Doesn't seem like they are engaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Great food, great service. Amerigo has b ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food, great service. Amerigo has been around a long time and they continue to provide amazing food and service. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall very good, however this is the s ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall very good, however this is the second time the chicken was a little tough. Either bad supplier or preparation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group enjoyed ourselves very much! W ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our group enjoyed ourselves very much! We didn't have to ask for anything the waiter and rest of the staff were very good in making feel appreciated. Overall a good place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal. Unhurried. Service was perfe ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal. Unhurried. Service was perfect. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town for business, had reservations ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2016

In town for business, had reservations was seated in the bar, service was slow food had been sitting under heat lamp way to long because one iof our meals did not get made. Servers never came around to the end . Bad food bad service 😬

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Chicken picata was very good but could u ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Chicken picata was very good but could use more sauce. Much of the angel hair was very dry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The service and food were excellent and ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service and food were excellent and reasonably priced, especially with the early bird pricing. The cheese fritters, lasagna, and gelato (blueberry cheesecake) were all tasty. Our server Pamela, as well as the managers, were all friendly and attentive throughout the entire dinner. I will definitely return for future visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite spots in the area. T ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of our favorite spots in the area. The food is great and the service is usually outstanding. We got our food super fast this time. I love being able to make reservations on line so easily

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked the reservation via Open Table ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I booked the reservation via Open Table and our table was ready upon arrival. Lance was our server and definitely made our evening very pleasant. He was attentive without being too overbearing. He described the specials very well and was helpful when we inquired about other menu items. We had the crab cakes for an appetizer and these were definitely among the best we have ever had. For dinner, I order the filet mignon (medium). It was cooked perfectly and the potatoes and portobello mushrooms were delicious as well. My husband ordered the lasagna which was made with both beef and Italian sausage. He said it was very tasty. We opted not to have a dessert as we were trying to make it to a movie. If you go, ask for Lance. His bubbling personality was such a bonus and we will ask for him again when we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time we have ever been here, and w ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time we have ever been here, and we were blown out of the water. The best service you will get anywhere in Memphis, and the dinner was really awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambience was excellent. Very co ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and ambience was excellent. Very comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It had been many years ( around 6 years ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It had been many years ( around 6 years I believe ) since we had eaten at Amerigo's and I arrived hoping nothing had changed. I am happy to report the food is still superb, the bar still bustling and the service as excellent as always! We had made the move to the suburbs after having twins and Amerigo's was one of many restaurants we truly missed having in proximity for a quick bite. We ordered the famous Cheese Fritters to start and of course, they were as good as we remembered! They are still huge so unless you have a large party, I would recommend the four count order instead of the six. My husband ordered the lobster bisque next and I ordered the goat cheese salad with no walnuts and peppers. The bisque is quite good ( as I naturally stole many bites! ) but it is more of a chowder texture than most restaurants serve so keep that in mind before you order. My salad was fantastic as usual. They had forgotten the onion but our very attentive server had that fixed in seconds. My husband ordered the smoked chicken ravioli as an entree. He loved it and I cracked up at him forgetting the flash fried artichokes were not actually fried chicken. They look exactly like a chicken leg and my healthy food phobia husband took a large bite - his face was priceless. I ordered my favorite, the filet with rosemary compound butter, fettuccine Alfredo and fresh green beans. It was cooked perfectly. Again, the service was excellent. Our waiter was quite attentive and never missed a beat. The wine list had changed since we were there last and he was quite helpful in picking a new one for me. He graciously let us taste before ordering a bottle. The moment I loved best was that he informed us he had just turned in our entrees and actually seemed apologetic for it. I LOVED that he had timed our appetizers, starters and entrees! I am sick of going out to eat where your entree comes within minutes of both your appetizers and salads being placed ( at the same time, grrrrr ) on the table....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.