About Amerigo - Memphis

1239 Ridgeway Road
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Amerigo is a casual, energetic, affordable neighborhood Italian restaurant serving a blend of traditional and modern Italian cuisine. Authentic pastas, hand-made pizzas, fresh seafood and wood-fired steaks offer something for everyone at Amerigo. Our restaurant is warm and inviting, with friendly yet professional service. Whether it be a romantic dinner for two, or a family reunion for fifty, allow us to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00-2:00; Lunch Daily: 11:00-4:00; Dinner Monday-Saturday: 4:00-10:00, Sunday 4:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-4000

Website:
http://amerigo.net/

Catering:
Whether you're feeding 10 people or 500 people, Amerigo will deliver our fresh, hand-crafted meals right to your door! Family-style salads and made-to-order pastas make the perfect meal for your meeting or special event. We also provide full-service catering for large off-site events, such as wedding receptions, corporate receptions and holiday parties.

Executive Chef:
Ben Hickey

Private Party Facilities:
Host your next event at Amerigo! We offer two private dining rooms for meetings, rehearsal dinners, receptions and other special events. Each of our two rooms can accommodate up to 20 seated guests, or you can book the full private space for groups of up to 40 people. Customized menus, wireless internet and an A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. Contact us today, and allow our staff to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Sloan: 9018484009x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Ravioli - Amerigo - Memphis
  • Shrimp Scampi - Amerigo - Memphis
  • Fettuccine Imperial (off menu) - Amerigo - Memphis
  • Craft Beer - Amerigo - Memphis
  • Cheese Fritters - Amerigo - Memphis
  • Chicken Acuto - Amerigo - Memphis
  • Home Smoked Turkey Panini & Caesar Salad - Amerigo - Memphis
Mushroom Ravioli - Amerigo - Memphis
Shrimp Scampi - Amerigo - Memphis
Fettuccine Imperial (off menu) - Amerigo - Memphis
Craft Beer - Amerigo - Memphis
Cheese Fritters - Amerigo - Memphis
Chicken Acuto - Amerigo - Memphis
Home Smoked Turkey Panini & Caesar Salad - Amerigo - Memphis

Amerigo - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Great for Lunch (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time and we were very pleased with ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time and we were very pleased with the quality and taste of the food. Enjoyed our leftovers as well. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We are from Baltimore, and wish we had a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We are from Baltimore, and wish we had an Amerigo's here! The Salmon was among the best we've had anywhere, and Michael, our server was awesome!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good. And they offer lunch ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Consistently good. And they offer lunch prices on Sunday along with brunch items. Pasta and fish on cedar plank always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amerigos is a really good restaurant. It ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amerigos is a really good restaurant. It has a quiet dignnified atmosphere, and a wide variety of foods - all cooked really good - to meet the most difficult diner's needs.I eat at Amerigos for business lunches at least 2X a week and when I am having a large famly dinner I like to go there bacause everyone seems to order something different and I don't get hosed like at some restaurants. Lunch portions are really perfect and at a reasonable price. Dinner portions are really shareable and, of course, a bit more.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Did not realize when I booked for birthd ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Did not realize when I booked for birthday lunch that they had a Sunday Brunch and it was

a pleasant surprise and loved the menu....Crab cake Benedict was delicious and so was

the omelet. Good value and friendly service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Slow service. Salad served with no dress ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Slow service. Salad served with no dressing. Then waited 10 minutes before anyone checked on us. Had to get up and flag someone down. Doesn't seem like they are engaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Great food, great service. Amerigo has b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food, great service. Amerigo has been around a long time and they continue to provide amazing food and service. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall very good, however this is the s ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall very good, however this is the second time the chicken was a little tough. Either bad supplier or preparation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group enjoyed ourselves very much! W ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our group enjoyed ourselves very much! We didn't have to ask for anything the waiter and rest of the staff were very good in making feel appreciated. Overall a good place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal. Unhurried. Service was perfe ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal. Unhurried. Service was perfect. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town for business, had reservations ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

In town for business, had reservations was seated in the bar, service was slow food had been sitting under heat lamp way to long because one iof our meals did not get made. Servers never came around to the end . Bad food bad service 😬

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Chicken picata was very good but could u ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Chicken picata was very good but could use more sauce. Much of the angel hair was very dry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The service and food were excellent and ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service and food were excellent and reasonably priced, especially with the early bird pricing. The cheese fritters, lasagna, and gelato (blueberry cheesecake) were all tasty. Our server Pamela, as well as the managers, were all friendly and attentive throughout the entire dinner. I will definitely return for future visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite spots in the area. T ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of our favorite spots in the area. The food is great and the service is usually outstanding. We got our food super fast this time. I love being able to make reservations on line so easily

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked the reservation via Open Table ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I booked the reservation via Open Table and our table was ready upon arrival. Lance was our server and definitely made our evening very pleasant. He was attentive without being too overbearing. He described the specials very well and was helpful when we inquired about other menu items. We had the crab cakes for an appetizer and these were definitely among the best we have ever had. For dinner, I order the filet mignon (medium). It was cooked perfectly and the potatoes and portobello mushrooms were delicious as well. My husband ordered the lasagna which was made with both beef and Italian sausage. He said it was very tasty. We opted not to have a dessert as we were trying to make it to a movie. If you go, ask for Lance. His bubbling personality was such a bonus and we will ask for him again when we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time we have ever been here, and w ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time we have ever been here, and we were blown out of the water. The best service you will get anywhere in Memphis, and the dinner was really awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambience was excellent. Very co ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and ambience was excellent. Very comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It had been many years ( around 6 years ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It had been many years ( around 6 years I believe ) since we had eaten at Amerigo's and I arrived hoping nothing had changed. I am happy to report the food is still superb, the bar still bustling and the service as excellent as always! We had made the move to the suburbs after having twins and Amerigo's was one of many restaurants we truly missed having in proximity for a quick bite. We ordered the famous Cheese Fritters to start and of course, they were as good as we remembered! They are still huge so unless you have a large party, I would recommend the four count order instead of the six. My husband ordered the lobster bisque next and I ordered the goat cheese salad with no walnuts and peppers. The bisque is quite good ( as I naturally stole many bites! ) but it is more of a chowder texture than most restaurants serve so keep that in mind before you order. My salad was fantastic as usual. They had forgotten the onion but our very attentive server had that fixed in seconds. My husband ordered the smoked chicken ravioli as an entree. He loved it and I cracked up at him forgetting the flash fried artichokes were not actually fried chicken. They look exactly like a chicken leg and my healthy food phobia husband took a large bite - his face was priceless. I ordered my favorite, the filet with rosemary compound butter, fettuccine Alfredo and fresh green beans. It was cooked perfectly. Again, the service was excellent. Our waiter was quite attentive and never missed a beat. The wine list had changed since we were there last and he was quite helpful in picking a new one for me. He graciously let us taste before ordering a bottle. The moment I loved best was that he informed us he had just turned in our entrees and actually seemed apologetic for it. I LOVED that he had timed our appetizers, starters and entrees! I am sick of going out to eat where your entree comes within minutes of both your appetizers and salads being placed ( at the same time, grrrrr ) on the table....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Amerigo's normally but not this t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love Amerigo's normally but not this time. I usually get the cheese balls and lasagna but decided to try something new, as did my wife. I got the seafood pasta and it was very disappointing with little flavor at a high price. It just wasn't very good. Especially at that price. She got the tortellini with crab meat. It was better than mine but not great. And the service was horrible which is not the norm. My wife didn't even want me to leave a tip which is extremely unusual. The waitress had no personality, was slow, to be asked for lemons, had to be asked for bread, never came around to see if we needed anything, and took forever to bring us the check and pick it up for payment. All in all it was the worst experience I've had there. I will not rush back though will probably give it another try. My advice- improve your recipes and replace that waitress. There are too many wonderful restaurants in town to try to complete with that offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Service was great. Food was hot and ver ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was great. Food was hot and very tasty. Noise level was a little loud, but not to the point of still able to hear conversations at your own table. I would recommend reserving a table though. They were busy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They always excel at getting us out on t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

They always excel at getting us out on time as we are limited to our lunch "hour" and we really appreciate it. Service is awesome and food is always good!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal with the wife during visit to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great meal with the wife during visit to Memphis. The bow tie pasta with vodka sauce and sausage was fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time visiting Amerigo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was my first time visiting Amerigo but it's definitely not my last! The food was delicious and our server was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was absolutely amazing...l ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My experience was absolutely amazing...loved every moment and the food was Excellent!!! Definitely will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as always but I have ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was great as always but I have definitely had much better service. My companion and I felt we were being somewhat neglected.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

One of our favorite "go-to's"---consiste ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

One of our favorite "go-to's"---consistently good food and service, nice ambience and outstanding value! Perhaps our most "indispensable" restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Father's Day brunch and had ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day brunch and had the lasagne. It's one of the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

we eat there at least once per week and ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

we eat there at least once per week and always enjoy it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was great, but the service was even better. Ashley and Sam behind the bar were friendly and attentive. Jessica on the dining room floor was terrific. Very attentive, honest and knowledgeable. All three made this an overall great time, and made my wife and I feel very welcome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had lunch with my mom and daughter and ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I had lunch with my mom and daughter and all of us got something different. Although their meals, shrimp bisque and crab cakes and chicken cannelloni, were good, my lunch special with the cedar plank salmon, leek potatoes, and zucchini/pepper medley was absolutely delicious. I hope you keep this choice on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was excellent as well. This was our second time to dine there. It's now on our list of special occasion restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, great wait staff. All ar ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food, great wait staff. All around very satisfying experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistent

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Amerigo's is always consistent and good. It's always a bit noisy in the restaurant for me but we let that go because we always know we will have a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

A good meal with great service. Decor le ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

A good meal with great service. Decor leaves a little something to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good place to catch up with friends

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was excellent, the staff friendly and engaging, even though busy our reservation time was promptly honored.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I wanted to take a date & thought Amerigo's Not So

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I've frequent Amerigo's & previously had a guy that was an excellent waiter.

He never allowed my glass to get empty before refilling. I made reservations & arrived.

Once seated table had no napkins nor utensils. Waitress seated us & took long time to come back and take beverage request. Once beverages were served she took very long time to come back & take order. Me & my date ordered Salmon and was told it was only cooked one standard way medium but once we got our meal the salmon looked like Chicken it was so overcooked. She never offered us salads or appetizer it seemed she was uncomfortable. I proceeded to ask her a question and ask her to come a little closer because she couldn't hear me, but she seemed uncomfortable with that request also. I have enjoyed Amerigo's in times past, but not sure if I will ever take someone there that I want to have a spoil free outing with. It was a very disappointing evening. The comfort level was not there it seemed uptight & the waitress personality made me uncomfortable. I left her a minimum tip when I would have normally easily tipped 20-25%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The Food Here is Great!!!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Outstanding flavors in everything I ate...my wife enjoyed hers too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All was good. We enjoyed our meal.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

All was good. We enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I went for lunch a couple of weeks ago without reservations and ended up having to go somewhere else. This time and I had reservations and a pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife asked for a romantic surprise, and it was!

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

GPS had us circling the shopping mall but it was worth circling the block. Delicious and well presented food, attentive service and great decor. It more than made up for the location and view of a parking lot.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.