About Amerigo - Memphis

1239 Ridgeway Road
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Amerigo is a casual, energetic, affordable neighborhood Italian restaurant serving a blend of traditional and modern Italian cuisine. Authentic pastas, hand-made pizzas, fresh seafood and wood-fired steaks offer something for everyone at Amerigo. Our restaurant is warm and inviting, with friendly yet professional service. Whether it be a romantic dinner for two, or a family reunion for fifty, allow us to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00-2:00; Lunch Daily: 11:00-4:00; Dinner Monday-Saturday: 4:00-10:00, Sunday 4:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-4000

Website:
http://amerigo.net/

Catering:
Whether you're feeding 10 people or 500 people, Amerigo will deliver our fresh, hand-crafted meals right to your door! Family-style salads and made-to-order pastas make the perfect meal for your meeting or special event. We also provide full-service catering for large off-site events, such as wedding receptions, corporate receptions and holiday parties.

Executive Chef:
Ben Hickey

Private Party Facilities:
Host your next event at Amerigo! We offer two private dining rooms for meetings, rehearsal dinners, receptions and other special events. Each of our two rooms can accommodate up to 20 seated guests, or you can book the full private space for groups of up to 40 people. Customized menus, wireless internet and an A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. Contact us today, and allow our staff to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Sloan: (901) 848-4009

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Ravioli - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Shrimp Scampi - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Fettuccine Imperial (off menu) - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Craft Beer - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Cheese Fritters - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Chicken Acuto - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Home Smoked Turkey Panini & Caesar Salad - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN

Report a photo problem

Mushroom Ravioli - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Shrimp Scampi - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Fettuccine Imperial (off menu) - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Craft Beer - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Cheese Fritters - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chicken Acuto - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Home Smoked Turkey Panini & Caesar Salad - Amerigo - Memphis, Memphis, TN

Amerigo - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Romantic (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Private Room (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for lunch Sunday with another coupl ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for lunch Sunday with another couple. The service was very good. We ordered Bloody Mary's that are rather weak. The bread and olive oil is very good and plentiful. I ordered veal piccata and they had no veal. Switched to chicken picatta which was a disappointment. Pasta was over cooked and the sauce tasted more like fettuccine with hardly any lemon or capers. Husband ordered salmon and said it was good but he's had better at Amerigo's. Our friends ordered the crab cake Benedict and said it was delicious and it looked good her husband ordered chicken marsala he said was good. No salad comes with the meal, that cost an additional $4.00.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal was like eating rubber. My husb ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

The veal was like eating rubber. My husband and I could not even eat it. Sauce was too thick and gummy and Caprice salad had I slice tomato and one piece of mozzarella. Could not get bread until halfwY through dinner for it was still baking.

Overall it was not a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent sea food, good and rapid servi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent sea food, good and rapid service. Were next to the Bar but it was not noisy

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I truly enjoy this place! It's one of my ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I truly enjoy this place! It's one of my of my favorites 😊The only thing I don't like is they don't accept LARGE RESERVATIONS & that is a reason my large group hasn't gone back....even though we had a great time. The hassle of it all wasn't worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amerigo never fails to satisfy, and may ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Amerigo never fails to satisfy, and may very well be the best bang-for-buck dining establishment in Memphis---outstanding food, exceptional value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just a good restaurant - good food, dece ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Just a good restaurant - good food, decent prices, good service. I've enjoyed everything I've ordered. Of course, I'm kind of stuck on the Caesar salad with grilled chicken - absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had dinner on NYE eve and the place w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had dinner on NYE eve and the place was quiet. Our server went above and beyond to make our experience nice. The wine I ordered was not availabe and he let me taste 2 others to make an alternate choice. The cedar planked sea bass cannot be beat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we eat there several times each month an ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

we eat there several times each month and it is always consistently good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good eatery!Nice wine selection. Fo ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good eatery!Nice wine selection. Food very good and portion ample. Quite noisy but still able to talk

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

we eat there several times per month and ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

we eat there several times per month and recommend it to everyone we know!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch menu crab cake, portobello mushroo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lunch menu crab cake, portobello mushroom salad and bread are 10 of 10. Chicken Acuto was good but too "beany" (too many black beans and not enough carmelized onions, etc. in the mix.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I thought our reservation was for 630 fo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I thought our reservation was for 630 for four people, we got there and they said it was for two people at 5:45. So they canceled it. That is the default for O pen table. , We had to wait additional 30 minutes before a table was ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

The service was very rushed - salad pres ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The service was very rushed - salad presented before the appetizer.

We then had 2 bites of Salad and the Entree was presented.

The Eggplant was not prepared well - little taste.

While we were eating our entree the waitress came and bagged up our salad.

We felt very rushed.

Then at the end of the meal, it took forever to get the check.

I have eaten there before for lunch and was thrilled.

This was my husband's first time to eat there and I was very disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

The food, depending on what you order, i ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food, depending on what you order, is very good to excellent. They have a killer chicken picata. The servers are very good at showing up when you need them without being obtrusive. The ambiance is quite NY Italian and very pleasant. All in all a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always outstanding! Everything w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food is always outstanding! Everything was amazing as always!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us celebrated my daughter's birt ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Four of us celebrated my daughter's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was not too noisy so we could actually hear each other talk. We began with wine and calamari as an appetizer which was very tasty. We each had a different entree and were equally satisfied with chicken piccata, lasagne, mushroom ravioli and crab cakes on a bed of white beans salsa. The meal was finished with their chocolate pecan fudge brownie with a candle on top. The waiter had remembered her birthday and served the dessert with a lit candle and a smile!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great. Three of the four ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything was great. Three of the four meals would rate five stars. The fourth meal was okay but the chicken was tough and chewy. We will go back to see if this an exception. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always outstanding---never had a bad mea ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always outstanding---never had a bad meal or dining experience here!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Ordered pasta with grilled chicken. Came ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Ordered pasta with grilled chicken. Came without the chicken. When it did come it was tough, like it was microwaved. Pasta was way overcooked and not hot. Told the waiter and he apologized, but no manager came by and nothing was done

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

I will not return for a special occasion ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I will not return for a special occasion because of the poor bartenders but food was great...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We went on a recommendation and we were ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went on a recommendation and we were so pleased! We ordered the calamari and it was delicious. One thing I didn't like was that you had to pay for a salad to have with your entree rather than it coming with it. We thought that was a little much. Our meal was filling and delicious. Large portions and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Once again, a delicious meal at Amerigo' ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Once again, a delicious meal at Amerigo's, with outstanding service. We are always assured of good selections and our waitress on this occasion was personable, attentive, and overall very professional.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, consistently good food and gr ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

As always, consistently good food and great staff. Our "go to" place for business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Salmon was way overcooked. Service was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Salmon was way overcooked. Service was pretty good. But the value based on the meal was pretty middle of the road.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been wanting to try this restaura ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I have been wanting to try this restaurant for a good while and finally got the opportunity to try it with my fiancé. It was great service, amazing food, and overall and an amazing experience! We are even considering using this restaurant for the rehearsal dinner location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't usually do lunch on vacation. had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Don't usually do lunch on vacation. had a tremendously enjoyable time.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent service, best waiter I've had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

excellent service, best waiter I've had for several months.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Someone at my table had ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Food was great. Someone at my table had undercooked food and they handled the problem immediately. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

My wife and I were visiting from Austin ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My wife and I were visiting from Austin TX, our GPS could not locate the restaurant so we called for directions; the manager was very helpful and got us there in just a few minutes, once inside we were met by a very friendly staff. The food and the atmosphere were excellent and the waiter was very friendly. We highly recommend this for any occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. WAIT STAFF EXCELLEN ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. WAIT STAFF EXCELLENT. THIS IS A GREAT FIND IN EAST MEMPHIS.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we eat there at least 2x/month and it is ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

we eat there at least 2x/month and it is consistent. sometimes the service is slow.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I have several business lunches and like ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I have several business lunches and like Amerigos because they always accommodate my seating preferences. I like the way they cook my salmon just the way I like it, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I like to eat at Amerigo's for business ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I like to eat at Amerigo's for business lunches and easy dinners- the staff always accommodates us when we request a quiet table for ease of conversation. The food is varied enough for everyone's tastes and consistently good. We are "frequent flyers" with Amerigo's and will continue to be.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our first time in Memphis & this ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 5, 2016

It was our first time in Memphis & this was a great recommendation by Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was delicious as always!!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food was delicious as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time and we were very pleased with ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time and we were very pleased with the quality and taste of the food. Enjoyed our leftovers as well. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We are from Baltimore, and wish we had a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We are from Baltimore, and wish we had an Amerigo's here! The Salmon was among the best we've had anywhere, and Michael, our server was awesome!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good. And they offer lunch ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Consistently good. And they offer lunch prices on Sunday along with brunch items. Pasta and fish on cedar plank always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amerigos is a really good restaurant. It ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amerigos is a really good restaurant. It has a quiet dignnified atmosphere, and a wide variety of foods - all cooked really good - to meet the most difficult diner's needs.I eat at Amerigos for business lunches at least 2X a week and when I am having a large famly dinner I like to go there bacause everyone seems to order something different and I don't get hosed like at some restaurants. Lunch portions are really perfect and at a reasonable price. Dinner portions are really shareable and, of course, a bit more.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Did not realize when I booked for birthd ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Did not realize when I booked for birthday lunch that they had a Sunday Brunch and it was

a pleasant surprise and loved the menu....Crab cake Benedict was delicious and so was

the omelet. Good value and friendly service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.