About Amerigo - Memphis

1239 Ridgeway Road
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Amerigo is a casual, energetic, affordable neighborhood Italian restaurant serving a blend of traditional and modern Italian cuisine. Authentic pastas, hand-made pizzas, fresh seafood and wood-fired steaks offer something for everyone at Amerigo. Our restaurant is warm and inviting, with friendly yet professional service. Whether it be a romantic dinner for two, or a family reunion for fifty, allow us to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00-2:00; Lunch Daily: 11:00-4:00; Dinner Monday-Saturday: 4:00-10:00, Sunday 4:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-4000

Website:
http://amerigo.net/

Catering:
Whether you're feeding 10 people or 500 people, Amerigo will deliver our fresh, hand-crafted meals right to your door! Family-style salads and made-to-order pastas make the perfect meal for your meeting or special event. We also provide full-service catering for large off-site events, such as wedding receptions, corporate receptions and holiday parties.

Executive Chef:
Ben Hickey

Private Party Facilities:
Host your next event at Amerigo! We offer two private dining rooms for meetings, rehearsal dinners, receptions and other special events. Each of our two rooms can accommodate up to 20 seated guests, or you can book the full private space for groups of up to 40 people. Customized menus, wireless internet and an A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. Contact us today, and allow our staff to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Private Party Contact:
Allison Swan: 9018484009x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Mushroom Ravioli
  • Shrimp Scampi
  • Fettuccine Imperial (off menu)
  • Craft Beer
  • Cheese Fritters
  • Chicken Acuto
  • Home Smoked Turkey Panini & Caesar Salad
Mushroom Ravioli
Shrimp Scampi
Fettuccine Imperial (off menu)
Craft Beer
Cheese Fritters
Chicken Acuto
Home Smoked Turkey Panini & Caesar Salad

Amerigo - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (32)
great for lunch (30)
good for groups (28)
See All
romantic (23)
fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (18)
notable wine list (14)
great for brunch (11)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time we have ever been here, and w ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time we have ever been here, and we were blown out of the water. The best service you will get anywhere in Memphis, and the dinner was really awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambience was excellent. Very co ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and ambience was excellent. Very comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It had been many years ( around 6 years ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It had been many years ( around 6 years I believe ) since we had eaten at Amerigo's and I arrived hoping nothing had changed. I am happy to report the food is still superb, the bar still bustling and the service as excellent as always! We had made the move to the suburbs after having twins and Amerigo's was one of many restaurants we truly missed having in proximity for a quick bite. We ordered the famous Cheese Fritters to start and of course, they were as good as we remembered! They are still huge so unless you have a large party, I would recommend the four count order instead of the six. My husband ordered the lobster bisque next and I ordered the goat cheese salad with no walnuts and peppers. The bisque is quite good ( as I naturally stole many bites! ) but it is more of a chowder texture than most restaurants serve so keep that in mind before you order. My salad was fantastic as usual. They had forgotten the onion but our very attentive server had that fixed in seconds. My husband ordered the smoked chicken ravioli as an entree. He loved it and I cracked up at him forgetting the flash fried artichokes were not actually fried chicken. They look exactly like a chicken leg and my healthy food phobia husband took a large bite - his face was priceless. I ordered my favorite, the filet with rosemary compound butter, fettuccine Alfredo and fresh green beans. It was cooked perfectly. Again, the service was excellent. Our waiter was quite attentive and never missed a beat. The wine list had changed since we were there last and he was quite helpful in picking a new one for me. He graciously let us taste before ordering a bottle. The moment I loved best was that he informed us he had just turned in our entrees and actually seemed apologetic for it. I LOVED that he had timed our appetizers, starters and entrees! I am sick of going out to eat where your entree comes within minutes of both your appetizers and salads being placed ( at the same time, grrrrr ) on the table....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Amerigo's normally but not this t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love Amerigo's normally but not this time. I usually get the cheese balls and lasagna but decided to try something new, as did my wife. I got the seafood pasta and it was very disappointing with little flavor at a high price. It just wasn't very good. Especially at that price. She got the tortellini with crab meat. It was better than mine but not great. And the service was horrible which is not the norm. My wife didn't even want me to leave a tip which is extremely unusual. The waitress had no personality, was slow, to be asked for lemons, had to be asked for bread, never came around to see if we needed anything, and took forever to bring us the check and pick it up for payment. All in all it was the worst experience I've had there. I will not rush back though will probably give it another try. My advice- improve your recipes and replace that waitress. There are too many wonderful restaurants in town to try to complete with that offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Service was great. Food was hot and ver ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was great. Food was hot and very tasty. Noise level was a little loud, but not to the point of still able to hear conversations at your own table. I would recommend reserving a table though. They were busy.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They always excel at getting us out on t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

They always excel at getting us out on time as we are limited to our lunch "hour" and we really appreciate it. Service is awesome and food is always good!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal with the wife during visit to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great meal with the wife during visit to Memphis. The bow tie pasta with vodka sauce and sausage was fabulous.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time visiting Amerigo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was my first time visiting Amerigo but it's definitely not my last! The food was delicious and our server was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was absolutely amazing...l ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My experience was absolutely amazing...loved every moment and the food was Excellent!!! Definitely will return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as always but I have ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was great as always but I have definitely had much better service. My companion and I felt we were being somewhat neglected.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

One of our favorite "go-to's"---consiste ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

One of our favorite "go-to's"---consistently good food and service, nice ambience and outstanding value! Perhaps our most "indispensable" restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Father's Day brunch and had ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day brunch and had the lasagne. It's one of the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

we eat there at least once per week and ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

we eat there at least once per week and always enjoy it!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was great, but the service was even better. Ashley and Sam behind the bar were friendly and attentive. Jessica on the dining room floor was terrific. Very attentive, honest and knowledgeable. All three made this an overall great time, and made my wife and I feel very welcome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had lunch with my mom and daughter and ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I had lunch with my mom and daughter and all of us got something different. Although their meals, shrimp bisque and crab cakes and chicken cannelloni, were good, my lunch special with the cedar plank salmon, leek potatoes, and zucchini/pepper medley was absolutely delicious. I hope you keep this choice on the menu.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was excellent as well. This was our second time to dine there. It's now on our list of special occasion restaurants.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, great wait staff. All ar ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food, great wait staff. All around very satisfying experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistent

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Amerigo's is always consistent and good. It's always a bit noisy in the restaurant for me but we let that go because we always know we will have a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

A good meal with great service. Decor le ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

A good meal with great service. Decor leaves a little something to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good place to catch up with friends

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was excellent, the staff friendly and engaging, even though busy our reservation time was promptly honored.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I wanted to take a date & thought Amerigo's Not So

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I've frequent Amerigo's & previously had a guy that was an excellent waiter.

He never allowed my glass to get empty before refilling. I made reservations & arrived.

Once seated table had no napkins nor utensils. Waitress seated us & took long time to come back and take beverage request. Once beverages were served she took very long time to come back & take order. Me & my date ordered Salmon and was told it was only cooked one standard way medium but once we got our meal the salmon looked like Chicken it was so overcooked. She never offered us salads or appetizer it seemed she was uncomfortable. I proceeded to ask her a question and ask her to come a little closer because she couldn't hear me, but she seemed uncomfortable with that request also. I have enjoyed Amerigo's in times past, but not sure if I will ever take someone there that I want to have a spoil free outing with. It was a very disappointing evening. The comfort level was not there it seemed uptight & the waitress personality made me uncomfortable. I left her a minimum tip when I would have normally easily tipped 20-25%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The Food Here is Great!!!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Outstanding flavors in everything I ate...my wife enjoyed hers too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All was good. We enjoyed our meal.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

All was good. We enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I went for lunch a couple of weeks ago without reservations and ended up having to go somewhere else. This time and I had reservations and a pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife asked for a romantic surprise, and it was!

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

GPS had us circling the shopping mall but it was worth circling the block. Delicious and well presented food, attentive service and great decor. It more than made up for the location and view of a parking lot.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for lunch!

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Amerigos food is always good, especially the flame grilled salmon with salsa and beans. Salads are all delicious as well.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mike4all

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very excellent experience. Need to eat here more often. Service and food was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for lunch, one of my favorite restaurants, and was warmly greeted and quickly seated. Nice waitress was pleasant and attentive. Our entree was brought before we ever received our appetizer. Ordered coffee and dessert sand waited for coffee. Food was terrific as always, but the lost appetizer order is unacceptable. Always a favorite place to eat, a great value, and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service and delicious food! The ti ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service and delicious food! The tiramisu was absolutely perfect! What a great date night. My fiancé and I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure dining at Amerigo! The ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Always a pleasure dining at Amerigo! The staff is excellent and very professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Dining Experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Very elegantly appointed restaurant. Service was exception, as was the food. Prices were reasonable, considering this quality. Highly recommended!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheese Fritters and Shrimp Bisque are ex ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Cheese Fritters and Shrimp Bisque are excellent to start with!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The Italian food here was amazing!!! I've never tasted anything like it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a great value for a really good dining experience

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Amerigo's is consistently great for their food and ambience and service. We dine out every week and it is consistently one of our favorite spots. Reservations are recommended. Our favorite entrees are the chicken piccata and the scallops Veneto. The menu has a great variety. Specials and regular dishes from the fire brick oven are always tasty. Prices are very reasonable and the loyalty program makes for even a better value. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Amerigo never disappoints. I show up hungry and leave full, with leftovers to take home!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Try the Early Bird special

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

A wide variety of choices are available from 4-6pm weekdays as Early Bird offers. Appetizers, salads and entrees. I've tried many and been pleased with every one of my selections. Portions are regular size (large). Ordered a salad and the Goat Cheese Penne last week. Few places one can eat for $12 in 2016!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a hidden gem, the food and its qual ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

What a hidden gem, the food and its quality is amazing we will be back. Great staff and service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner before Christmas Concert

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Dinner went very well and came out in plenty of time for us to make it to our function that evening! Thanks! I enjoy it every time I dine at Amerigo.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Dissapointed

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

We've been to Amerigos twice before and we were pleased both times. So when family came to visit we decided to bring them. We were however disappointed. The service was just alright. Had to keep waiting for her to attend, then she would forget things or misunderstand us, like asking for bread and receive one small loaf for 5 people and then never brought us more. It was like she was "off" that night. Most importantly everyone's food was mediocre especially for the price. My seafood pasta was hot and cold in spots like it had been heated in microwave. Then I barely any other seafood besides shrimp that was dry and tasteless. Other complaints with each of the 5 dishes at our table. We were disappointed and embarrassed we had given such rave reviews. I'm not sure what was going on with management or kitchen since last year. We won't be back due to the hefty price tag for something I could recieve at Olive Garden.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

What happened to Gluten Free

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We chose to go to Amerigo's at the beginning of the Thanksgiving holiday as a place with which we've been familiar as a "steady neighborhood" venue - and because the menu on the website indicated gluten free pizzas as well as pastas. We were thoroughly disappointed to find out that, in fact, they do not have gluten free pizzas, and the listing of gluten free pastas was not very accurate either. To his credit, our server provided a complex order for 6 people without fault (nearly a first for this restaurant), and we did manage to pick and choose to provide an appropriate gluten free meal for our out-of-town guest, but we were both disappointed that their apparent "public menu" was not available and concerned that their ability to really identify gluten free foods - in an era of increasing choice or need to follow such dietary restrictions - was clearly not a priority nor an availability here.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.