About Amerigo - Memphis

1239 Ridgeway Road
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Amerigo is a casual, energetic, affordable neighborhood Italian restaurant serving a blend of traditional and modern Italian cuisine. Authentic pastas, hand-made pizzas, fresh seafood and wood-fired steaks offer something for everyone at Amerigo. Our restaurant is warm and inviting, with friendly yet professional service. Whether it be a romantic dinner for two, or a family reunion for fifty, allow us to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00-2:00; Lunch Daily: 11:00-4:00; Dinner Monday-Saturday: 4:00-10:00, Sunday 4:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-4000

Website:
http://amerigo.net/

Catering:
Whether you're feeding 10 people or 500 people, Amerigo will deliver our fresh, hand-crafted meals right to your door! Family-style salads and made-to-order pastas make the perfect meal for your meeting or special event. We also provide full-service catering for large off-site events, such as wedding receptions, corporate receptions and holiday parties.

Executive Chef:
Ben Hickey

Private Party Facilities:
Host your next event at Amerigo! We offer two private dining rooms for meetings, rehearsal dinners, receptions and other special events. Each of our two rooms can accommodate up to 20 seated guests, or you can book the full private space for groups of up to 40 people. Customized menus, wireless internet and an A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. Contact us today, and allow our staff to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Private Party Contact:
Allison Swan: 9018484009x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat Dad to his favorite filet & pasta! We will be serving brunch, lunch & dinner this Father's Day, along with featured specials.

Amerigo - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Best Restaurants in East Memphis ›

special occasion (20)
great for lunch (19)
good for groups (18)
See All
romantic (14)
neighborhood gem (13)
fit for foodies (11)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (7)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

A good meal with great service. Decor le ...

Dined 7 days ago

A good meal with great service. Decor leaves a little something to be desired.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good place to catch up with friends

Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was excellent, the staff friendly and engaging, even though busy our reservation time was promptly honored.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I wanted to take a date & thought Amerigo's Not So

Dined on May 1, 2016

I've frequent Amerigo's & previously had a guy that was an excellent waiter. He never allowed my glass to get empty before refilling. I made reservations & arrived. Once seated table had no napkins nor utensils. Waitress seated us & took long time to come back and take beverage request. Once beverages were served she took very long time to come back & take order. Me & my date ordered Salmon and was told it was only cooked one standard way medium but once we got our meal the salmon looked like Chicken it was so overcooked. She never offered us salads or appetizer it seemed she was uncomfortable. I proceeded to ask her a question and ask her to come a little closer because she couldn't hear me, but she seemed uncomfortable with that request also. I have enjoyed Amerigo's in times past, but not sure if I will ever take someone there that I want to have a spoil free outing with. It was a very disappointing evening. The comfort level was not there it seemed uptight & the waitress personality made me uncomfortable. I left her a minimum tip when I would have normally easily tipped 20-25%.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Food Here is Great!!!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Outstanding flavors in everything I ate...my wife enjoyed hers too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

All was good. We enjoyed our meal.

Dined on April 30, 2016

All was good. We enjoyed our meal.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good experience

Dined on April 8, 2016

I went for lunch a couple of weeks ago without reservations and ended up having to go somewhere else. This time and I had reservations and a pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife asked for a romantic surprise, and it was!

Dined on March 3, 2016

GPS had us circling the shopping mall but it was worth circling the block. Delicious and well presented food, attentive service and great decor. It more than made up for the location and view of a parking lot.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for lunch!

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Amerigos food is always good, especially the flame grilled salmon with salsa and beans. Salads are all delicious as well.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mike4all

Dined on February 13, 2016

Very excellent experience. Need to eat here more often. Service and food was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good food

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for lunch, one of my favorite restaurants, and was warmly greeted and quickly seated. Nice waitress was pleasant and attentive. Our entree was brought before we ever received our appetizer. Ordered coffee and dessert sand waited for coffee. Food was terrific as always, but the lost appetizer order is unacceptable. Always a favorite place to eat, a great value, and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and delicious food! The ti ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service and delicious food! The tiramisu was absolutely perfect! What a great date night. My fiancé and I will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure dining at Amerigo! The ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Always a pleasure dining at Amerigo! The staff is excellent and very professional!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant Dining Experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

Very elegantly appointed restaurant. Service was exception, as was the food. Prices were reasonable, considering this quality. Highly recommended!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Cheese Fritters and Shrimp Bisque are ex ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Cheese Fritters and Shrimp Bisque are excellent to start with!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

Dined on January 16, 2016

The Italian food here was amazing!!! I've never tasted anything like it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a great value for a really good dining experience

Dined on January 9, 2016

Amerigo's is consistently great for their food and ambience and service. We dine out every week and it is consistently one of our favorite spots. Reservations are recommended. Our favorite entrees are the chicken piccata and the scallops Veneto. The menu has a great variety. Specials and regular dishes from the fire brick oven are always tasty. Prices are very reasonable and the loyalty program makes for even a better value. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Amerigo never disappoints. I show up hungry and leave full, with leftovers to take home!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Try the Early Bird special

Dined on January 7, 2016

A wide variety of choices are available from 4-6pm weekdays as Early Bird offers. Appetizers, salads and entrees. I've tried many and been pleased with every one of my selections. Portions are regular size (large). Ordered a salad and the Goat Cheese Penne last week. Few places one can eat for $12 in 2016!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

What a hidden gem, the food and its qual ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

What a hidden gem, the food and its quality is amazing we will be back. Great staff and service !

food4
ambience3
service5

Dinner before Christmas Concert

Dined on December 11, 2015

Dinner went very well and came out in plenty of time for us to make it to our function that evening! Thanks! I enjoy it every time I dine at Amerigo.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Dissapointed

Dined on December 8, 2015

We've been to Amerigos twice before and we were pleased both times. So when family came to visit we decided to bring them. We were however disappointed. The service was just alright. Had to keep waiting for her to attend, then she would forget things or misunderstand us, like asking for bread and receive one small loaf for 5 people and then never brought us more. It was like she was "off" that night. Most importantly everyone's food was mediocre especially for the price. My seafood pasta was hot and cold in spots like it had been heated in microwave. Then I barely any other seafood besides shrimp that was dry and tasteless. Other complaints with each of the 5 dishes at our table. We were disappointed and embarrassed we had given such rave reviews. I'm not sure what was going on with management or kitchen since last year. We won't be back due to the hefty price tag for something I could recieve at Olive Garden.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4

What happened to Gluten Free

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

We chose to go to Amerigo's at the beginning of the Thanksgiving holiday as a place with which we've been familiar as a "steady neighborhood" venue - and because the menu on the website indicated gluten free pizzas as well as pastas. We were thoroughly disappointed to find out that, in fact, they do not have gluten free pizzas, and the listing of gluten free pastas was not very accurate either. To his credit, our server provided a complex order for 6 people without fault (nearly a first for this restaurant), and we did manage to pick and choose to provide an appropriate gluten free meal for our out-of-town guest, but we were both disappointed that their apparent "public menu" was not available and concerned that their ability to really identify gluten free foods - in an era of increasing choice or need to follow such dietary restrictions - was clearly not a priority nor an availability here.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good vibes.... The birthday girl enjoye ...

Dined on November 23, 2015

Good vibes.... The birthday girl enjoyed herself...

food4
ambience4
service4

Great cedar plank salmon

Dined on November 18, 2015

This restaurant is basically Italian with great Pasta dishes but by far my favorite dish is the Cedar Plank Salmon. I live in Atlanta and we don t have Amerigo's so I always enjoy it when I go to Memphis. I go there just for the Salmon. Service was outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

I visit Amerigo frequently, especially f ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

I visit Amerigo frequently, especially for dates. And I've yet to be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

I loved this place. Great food and grea ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

I loved this place. Great food and great service. You are not sitting on top of one another at this place. They have not tried to pack too many tables on the floor. Great food and fantastic service. Their wine selection is like the liquor store plus 20 bucks. You can get a Alexander Silver Oak Cab for 95 bucks. It is 75 at the liquor store so you cannot beat their wine prices.

food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent meal at Amerigo

Dined on November 2, 2015

This is one restaurant in Memphis that always maintains it's excellent standards, I have never been let down or disappointed with a meal here. There is a very large choice on the menu and no matter what you choose it is always good. They consistently strike a perfect blend of friendly and casual but very efficient service which is just what I like.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

Dined on October 31, 2015

The food and atmosphere was great! I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service3

Removing food from table

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

Food and lunch was delicious as usual. Just a recurring issue that seems to happen every time we eat there. The service is good but all the servers seem compelled to clear the food off the table as quickly as possible; to the point of picking it up before you are finished. It has happened to me at least 6 times and the restaurant is not full so don't understand then rush. Is this a management mandate? Annoying to me and my out of town guests.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The thing that stood out to me was the m ...

Dined on October 26, 2015

The thing that stood out to me was the menu. The was a good mix of traditional Northern and southern Italian dishes, each with a fresh twist. Our server was very attentive in spite of also serving a large party. Great spot for family style Italian or a nice dinner for two.

food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointed this time

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

We have enjoyed Amerigo's as a neighborhood regular for good food and ambiance for years. The two of us were disappointed with the food this time -- neither the chicken marsala nor the chicken parmigiana were nearly as well prepared nor tasty as when we've ordered these meals in the past. My wife ordered the marsala with "a little sauce," and - as is too often the case - it had to be returned to the kitchen as it arrived swimming in sauce. This is a quality issue that is too often a problem with specific orders at Amerigo's, but one we've always excuses as we've just enjoyed the informality, pleasant surroundings, and typically good food. It was particularly annoying this time as the meals did not live up to expectations. We trust Amerigo's will resolve some obvious problems and return to its former level.

food4
ambience4
service4

The mussels and foccacia bruschetta were ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

The mussels and foccacia bruschetta were terriffic. I ordered a bottle of St. Francis merlot that was corked and was promptly replaced. Dinner was paced excellently. My wife and I enjoyed our selves very much.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently very good and this Sunday b ...

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

Consistently very good and this Sunday brunch visit no exception. Rave reviews all around on the food, from the BLT to the egg sandwich to the portabella salad. Service attentive without being pushy. A favorite of the adults and kids alike!

food4
ambience4
service4

Love this place

Dined on September 18, 2015

Food is always good. Service can be slow sometimes, but overall good place to eat . Love the pasta!!!😋

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Heavenly gluten free in Tennessee

Dined on September 13, 2015

Searched for "gluten free" on Google maps during Memphis TN travels and landed on Amerigo after scoping out the gf menu & prices via their website. Sunday early evening dining- sophisticated yet easy atmosphere (we were in jeans while most had equivalent to business casual on). While gf options aren't expansive (maybe a dozen or so combined of starters/salads/mains set apart as gf in a special section on the menu) nor too expensive for that scale of place (unless you're going seafood or steak), my husband and I (both gf) LOVED the dishes we ordered (goat cheese and walnut salad w/chicken for him and the most AMAZING chicken vesuvio for me). There was NO shortage of flavor or portion, AND they have a gf DESSERT- a BAKED GF DESSERT (also have gelato that can be gf)! Gf peanut butter blondie a la mode with chocolate drizzle (that I kind of regret sharing with the hubs and would love to plow through another one before leaving town :)). Other than gf, I'm a whole foodsie cook at home from scratch with flavor person, and I literally was EXCITED while eating and couldn't stop talking to friends & colleagues afterwards about my chicken and the blondie, strongly recommending they check out Amerigo. We walked a mile from our hotel to get there and it was easily worth every step! And besides the food, service was great (not real busy when we ate there)- our excellent server could describe the items I had questions about on the menu and knew that even though any pasta dish can be made with gf pasta, the sauces aren't all gf, just those designated in the special section of the menu. I chose my chicken vesuvio from his recommendation (and I commended him!) and after we scarfed the blondie, he mentioned that if we come back, the gelato is gf (minus a special flavor made with oreos) and amazing. Altogether, we walked away with full bellies, SUPER satisfied taste buds, and feeling good from our attentive/friendly servers- WELL worth the approx $50 (2 dishes, 1 dessert, 2 waters)!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Always delicious!

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

I've been dining at Amerigo...for years! I've never had a disappointing meal. We dine in often or I take advantage of the take-out Early Bird Special when alone. I usually order the acuto with salmon, but I love the seasonal special, fig flat bread, too. Last night I ordered the Nona salad and the Prince Edward Island mussels as my entree. The mussels, while perhaps a bit small, were absolutely delicious! Not too much butter. My husband dined on the veal piccata, his favorite (along with the lasagna). It was delicious! Our waiter, Delaney, was spot on. Knowledgeable, helpful, efficient, gracious. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was awesome!

Dined on September 3, 2015

Some of the best crab cakes and shrimp bisque soup I've ever had. Delicious pasta dishes and the tiramisu was wonderful. Quiet, elegant, romantic lighting, loved Amerigo's. It's now one of my favorite restaurants for dinner in Memphis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

Dined on August 20, 2015

I think everything was great and would definitely go again

food2
ambience2
service1

Fair at Best

vip
Dined on August 19, 2015

Waitress was untrained. Did not know menu. Brought wrong drinks and food. Food was uninspired and bland.

food3
ambience4
service3

I expected better

Dined on August 8, 2015

Food was good, but have had better there. Portobello appetizer was great. I was very disappointed in the tiramisu. It is usually my favorite dessert. Theirs was more like a huge piece of cake and missing the coffee flavour. Also I listed it was our 28th anniversary and all I expected was the waiter to say "congrats" or acknowledge it. Although it was printed on the reserve card that he picked up at the table -I think he did not even look at it. He did his job but was otherwise anti social. My husband's order came out wrong and one in our party of 4 got their dinner 10 min after the three of us got ours.I understand if they are busy or short staffed, but just expected better quality service and food. i do recall it being better there.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.