Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

+39 Italian Restaurant+39 Italian Restaurant
(72)
$$$$
Italian | Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 5 times today
Magnolia Wine KitchenMagnolia Wine Kitchen
(238)
$$$$
Wine Bar | Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 12 times today
Centro RestaurantCentro Restaurant
(1684)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 48 times today
Django RestaurantDjango Restaurant
(1898)
$$$$
French | Downtown Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 26 times today
BubbaBubba
(392)
$$$$
Southern | Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 18 times today
MaloMalo
(653)
$$$$
Latin American | Downtown Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 16 times today
801 Chophouse – Des Moines801 Chophouse – Des Moines
(1071)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 32 times today
RoCARoCA
(396)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 14 times today
GoldfinchGoldfinch
(183)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 11 times today
Splash Seafood Bar and GrillSplash Seafood Bar and Grill
(1206)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 17 times today
The Stuffed Olive - Des MoinesThe Stuffed Olive - Des Moines
(53)
$$$$
American | Des Moines, Des Moines
Vivian's Diner & DrinksVivian's Diner & Drinks
(132)
$$$$
American | Downtown Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 1 time today
Eatery AEatery A
(349)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 23 times today
HarbingerHarbinger
(97)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 14 times today
Alba RestaurantAlba Restaurant
(237)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Des Moines, Des Moines
Booked 14 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Americana - Des Moines

The Americana in Des Moines is a restaurant and lounge that serves cocktails, pasta, salads and sandwiches with a cabaret vibe. Guests can also stop in for the bombshell brunch, which offers 30 different items, a grilled cheese station and a potato bar. Don't forget to add the bottomless mimosa and bloody Mary bar to complete the brunch experience.

The Americana menu includes share plates with lamb skewers, Asian lettuce wraps, truffle fries, American nachos and much more. Enjoy entrées that include grilled sirloin, the loaded rib eye and the Boursin NY strip, all made from pure Omaha Black Angus beef. Make sure to check out the Americana signature dishes like the lamb chops and bacon wrapped meatloaf for even more options.

1312 Locust Street, Suite 102
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
15th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 283-1312

Website:
http://americanadsm.com/

Entertainment:
The restaurant, located downtown, provides a panoramic view of the Pappajohn Sculpture Garden. Americana is a short distance from The Temple for Performing Arts, as well as the Des Moines Civic Center.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking is available on Grand, Locust, 15th, and 13th. There are also 10 hour meters on Walnut St. All meters are free after 6:00 pm. The lots directly east, west, and south of the restaurant are available FREE to guests after 5 pm. Additionally, there is the Allied Parking Ramp located at 12th and Mulberry, available all day, free after 8:00 pm. The Nationwide Skywalk is open until 2 am.

Public Transit:
Des Moines DART Downtown Shuttle Service makes frequent stops through downtown Des Moines throughout the day and into the evening.

Executive Chef:
Dan Warren

Private Party Facilities:
Our various dining areas provide a beautiful setting for any occasion and can be customized to accommodate up to 60 guests for a seated meal or 150 for a cocktail reception. We also offer a variety of off site catering options.

Private Party Contact:
Alicia V.: (515) 283-1312

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 22, 2015

Our service at American was amazing. My mom and I were celebrating our birthdays and the little birthday cakes were so adorable and delicious! The brunch selection was great - this time they had chicken tenders, which were AMAZING, especially with that spicy BBQ sauce that went with them. I hope they have the tenders every time! The cheesy potatoes were also a hit at my table, and the biscuits and gravy are always a must get. Bacon could have been crispier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Everything else was really good, I would say that the dessert, chocolate something was awesome. The service was as good as fine dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Excellent dinner and service as always! We enjoy it each and every visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Everything was great :) wide variety of brunch food !! My only con is that it could have been a little hotter. But will definitely be back:)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2015

this is only my 2nd time at Americana, i would love to eat there more often but money is tight. my boyfriend and i ate there on valentine's for dinner, we also ate at Americana last year as well for Valentine's day, this is a new tradition of ours :)

food was amazing!! best steak ever!! and Americana isnt even a steak house, no fat on my steak what so ever, the moscow mules are awesome, over all a great place to go on a date or to take the family

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2015

Lovely place, highly recommend it for a couple outing or with a group of friends. The Turtle Smore dessert is amazing

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2015

Very nice setting for our romantic Valentine dinner. Our food was outstanding, like always at Americana!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2015

Food was very slow at coming to the table. That is all I have to say. But I will keep typing to make a 50 word review which in itself is quite annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Booked our reservations online, very simple. Got there went upstairs into the more romantic of the seating area for dinner & the service was great. Not to mention the food too!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 7, 2015

I always enjoy the food and service and atmosphere at Americana. I hate sitting in the table/booth seats. Always seem like you're dining with others and hard to talk with the person you came with. Makes what should be a great dinner less than stellar.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 7, 2015

My first visit was okay... just okay. My sage pork on Saturday evening was possibly the best pork dish I have ever had. Perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked with thoughtful, delicious sides. The service, as with my previous visit, was exceptional. Only one negative remark is that by the time we left (7:00), it was so noisy, it was difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 31, 2015

We had a great night out that started at Americana. The food was great and the service was outstanding. I would recommend it for anyone in Des Moines.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 31, 2015

We were searching for a place to eat a brunch on Saturday and we stumbled upon this place. Upon entering you thought it would be a pretty good restaurant. We were seated instantly because of our reservations made online...very cool! The waiter took us on a tour, another very cool! Then set us free to explore the buffet. The food looked great, so we loaded up. There were plenty of options. I tried some biscuits and sausage g gravy, looked delish, not so much. I visited the grilled cheese station. It wasn't anything special, the guy going the grilled cheese wasn't very friendly. Overall food was mediocre at best, it would be fun to go back without kids and eat off the menu and of course have some drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 30, 2015

We don't usually spend that much money on dining. For this budget, I wasn't impressed. Food was fine, but not great. Sides were pre-determined with the meat. It was really noisy. Our table was right up against the railing on one side, and the waitress station on the other side. Not exactly the romantic evening out that I had hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2015

Although noisy, food is great and they accommodate theatre crowd by getting you through dinner in time. Tapa selections terrific (try the Brussels sprouts or grilled artichokes) and fab Mac & cheese, brunch is also outstanding! Staff is accommodating and friendly. Definitely a place to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2015

First time diner. Liked the look. The food was good. I was taking clients there for a dinner. They really liked it. It is a place I will return to for my own enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 23, 2015

Great experience as usual. Food was very good. Had not tried the Prime Rib served Fri and Sat. Ordered and it was cooked as I like it and the flavor was great! Would recommend this to anyone. Also tried some of the cheese grits that came with another meal and they were really good. Have had cheese grits a lot in the South and these could compete.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 10, 2015

I had the Miso Noodles and am still thinking about them. YUM. When the food deliverer dropped off our dinners, we asked for a speedy re-visit by the server so that we could order/have dessert in time to make our 7:30 show, but the server didn't come back until we needed the bill. If we'd been in less of a rush that would have been no big deal. I'd go back, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2015

My husband and I went to brunch on New Years Day and had a reservation. We waited about 2 minutes for our table and headed up a flight of stairs. The stairs should have been built a little wider as people went from the food which was downstairs to their table upstairs it was a tight fit for people to pass each other with plates. Your drink is not included in the brunch price unless you purchase the unlimited Bloody Mary or Mimosa for $30 which is also is a build your own drink bar. The downside to the drink bar is you wait for the waitress to bring the alcohol for you to mix and as the bar got increasingly busy, it was very hard to get refills. The food was great and included a mashed potato bar, fruits pastries, salads, fajita bar, breakfast items and a grilled cheese station that you place your order on an order sheet and check back in a few minutes under a heat lamp. I placed my order and went back about 10 minutes later only to find they had lost my order or someone took my sandwich instead of theirs. The waitress told me the cook on that line was "new" and had only been working there for 3 weeks. To me that is not "new". Regardless of that mishap we would definitely visit again and request a main level seat to avoid the akward stairs. We have three children and while there were several kids/babies in the restaurant (which was actually quite annoying) with it being so crowded and small, this is not the atmosphere for kids and I wouldn't think of bringing ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2015

One of the best places for brunch on the weekends in Des Moines- definitely grab a reservation though, it's packed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2014

Too loud. Food was mediocre.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 28, 2014

Sunday brunch is awesome. What I like about Americana is the fact that they do not rush you. They are happy to let you stay as long as you want and enjoy the experience. Waiters are great and pay attention to detail.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 28, 2014

1st time we have been to the brunch and we were overwhelmed with the choices and the quality of the food. Excellent time as always. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2014

We booked a table for 12 to celebrate our son's college graduation from Iowa State. We couldn't find any restaurants in Ames, Iowa that would take a reservation of that size on graduation weekend, so we looked to Des Moines. Americana had a great menu and good recommendations. The service was outstanding and the food was excellent.

On the plus side, the management brought us a dozen glasses of champagne, on the house, to toast our new graduate. What a great gesture! The food was excellent and they had a bunch of interesting plates and food combinations. The waitstaff were very attentive and took care of every request very promptly. Consequently, we added to the 18% tip they had already built into the food bill.

The only downside to this outing was that they show Prime Rib as a specialty of the house served on the weekends, but at 6:00 on a Saturday night, they had run out and did not have enough to fill all the food orders. Two of our party had to change what they ordered and that was very unfortunate, though what they ended up getting was just fine. Also, the noise level was pretty high and it was a bit hard to hear conversations not right next to you.

All that being said, I would definitely eat there again and recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 14, 2014

Great ambience for either a couple out for a fun brunch to wrap up the weekend or a group of friends to discuss the weekend adventures.

The drink bar is spot on but do try the menu drink as well. Yummy Peach Bellini.

I recommend reservations for Sunday. The place gets busy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2014

it's a great concept executed well but with all the accouterments of a party and even kid centered experience. everything from lunch to large brunches and even very large conferences are laid out well with excellent service and very good food. they also have some of the best happy hour small plates and cocktails in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 13, 2014

Always love to enjoy the delicious food and unlimited vodka.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 7, 2014

One of the best brunch places out there. Well worth the money!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 6, 2014

I had made a reservation online. They had called and confirmed my reservation but when I got there they did not have my reservation. Thankfully they were slow and we're able to get us in very quick. If there had only been 2 or 4 of us I wouldn't have been worried but we had a party of 12. After that the service was awesome and the food was amazing as ever!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2014

Loved the ambience and looked like they had a great selection of drinks, but I had much higher expectations for a panini than what I was served. Service was great though, but if I were to come back, I'd head straight to the bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 29, 2014

We once again absolutely loved our experience at Americana. Everyone in our group had something different and every one of us said our meals were great. The service was quick and very friendly. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a delicious meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 23, 2014

We had another great brunch experience at Americana. The bacon was nice and crispy and the mashed potato bar was fun! The biscuits were a little too crispy and the potatoes were a little bland, but easy to spice up with some toppings. The chicken and spinach crepes are a favorite of mine but seemed a little bland this time. I also miss one of my favorites, the chicken parmesan! Our service was wonderful and we had a great time. Best brunch in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 23, 2014

Huge selection. I loved the mashed potato bar and the bagels with smoked salmon & creme fraiche. Regular breakfast items, as well as hearty lunch offerings and desserts. Loud at times, but in a vibrant way with groups enjoying their Sunday outing.

Come hungry, as you'll want to try it all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2014

Reserved this last minute for a quick business dinner. Great service, generally friendly folks and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 17, 2014

We really like Americana. We've been several times, and have always had wonderful service. The atmosphere is fun - good music in the background, there are televisions in the bar area, the building is older, there is loft-style dining, nice charm to the building. The food is good too. One thing to keep in mind....they have dishes like meatloaf and mashed potatoes and macaroni and cheese, but they add subtle flavoring to these meals, and to most that we've tried, that changes the taste enough that if you have 'your mom's mac and cheese and meatloaf' taste in mind, that is not what you'll get. At least not unless your mom added truffles to the mac-n-cheese. The flavors are very good, but be sure to ask the waitress beforehand if you have any questions. But remember, this is a nice change from the everyday eatery - if you want real down home-cookin' there are restaurants out there that address those tastes. The staff has always been very nice, service is prompt and prices are reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 16, 2014

This was our first visit to Americana; we chose it based on reviews of their Sunday brunch. Got there a little late (1pm), as we were on our way to the 2:30pm DM Symphony performance, so knew the buffet might be a little picked over. We were disappointed to find the smoked salmon almost gone (we could have made a meal of that alone!), but otherwise the selection seemed pretty good for the tail-end of a brunch buffet. We especially liked the made-to-order grilled cheese bar, and the tomato soup that went with it was excellent. Crepes with fresh fruit were a nice choice, but we found the other desserts (apple crisp, waffle bread pudding, some other thing we couldn't put a name too) to be pretty blah. We didn't avail ourselves of the Mimosa and Bloody Mary bars, but they were another nice option. Service was pretty good; our server gave us a nice tour of the buffet which was helpful for first-timers. Overall, we felt it was a good value for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 16, 2014

going there for brunch. Service was very good and the choices of the food at Brunch were great. It was quite busy and for the price, the brunch was excellent [not cheap, but not out of the world].

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 15, 2014

We recently had a small surprise party here and can not say enough good things about our experience. They accommodated every request with a smile, right down to bringing out the cake we brought with candles lit so we could sing Happy Birthday. Our waiter was wonderful. The food was fantastic. Overall it was just a really outstanding experience and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 9, 2014

Just highly overrated! Expensive cheap food. Who wants chafing dish pancakes, lackluster cheesy potatoes & greasy brisket hash? Then Americana is just for you. Mashed potato bar for brunch? Nothing special pork breakfast meats. The blintzes were my favorite. So they had a spread for a lettuce salad and a pretty fresh fruit tray. Oh and they'll make grilled cheese sandwiches to order, whoopee! The tomato soup was delicious but the mac and cheese must have been canned cheese sauce - bleh! And the NOISE LEVEL, OMG you couldn't hear yourself think, let alone hope to visit with your group. They proceeded to seat us upstairs - I DON"T THINK SO - but accommodated us quickly on main floor. I'm not going up and down steps for buffet/bar.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 8, 2014

Great place for groups of around 8 or so....classy food and average beer selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.