About American Tap Room - Richmond, VA

1601 Willow Lawn Drive
Suite 840
Richmond, VA 23230
View Larger Map

This is American Regional Cuisine at its classic, pub-inspired best. The food is fun and what we like to call “approachable”. You’ll also enjoy some twists on the classics with taste-inspired ideas like our Ahi Tuna Tacos and Cheesesteak Egg Rolls. At the American Tap Room we believe in using local ingredients as much as possible and, yes, everything we serve goes well with beer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bistro, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11:00am - 11:00pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 12am
Friday - Saturday 11:am - 1am
Sunday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Main St- in the Shoppes at Willow Lawn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 308-9013

Website:
http://www.americantaproom.com/

Parking Details:
Open lot at the Shoppes at Willow Lawn

Executive Chef:
Erik Hopkins

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

American Tap Room - Richmond, VA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
See All
special occasion (2)
kid-friendly (1)
fit for foodies (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
70 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I thought the service and overall atmosp ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I thought the service and overall atmosphere of the restaurant was wonderful, the extra ability to make reservations for special occasions was a real bonus. My servers went out of there way to make my total experience an excellent one.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

This was our first visit, for brunch on ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first visit, for brunch on Fathers Day. Five staff members called out, so things were not running smoothly. Many things were wrong, but everyone remained calm and professional. The manager stopped by to apologize and provided an accommodation discount. All in all we would go back again because in spite of the people shortage, the food was very good.

food1
ambience1
service2

I would not go back.

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

I would not go back.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Service

Dined on March 13, 2016

The hostess and waitress were friendly, bubbling, young ladies. Their personalities immediately gave off good vibes. My mother and father loved their food and were amazed to find crab corn chowder on the menu. I ordered the fish and chips- the chips/fries were delicious, but the fish had no taste. My boyfriend ordered the Tap Room Burger and also his burger had no flavoring/seasoning, but he loved the fries. We ordered a brownie sundae for dessert, which was delightful- the brownie was very moist. So, although two entrees were bland, we had a great time. I would recommend this restaurant, but suggest that one not order the two entrees that had no taste.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Awful Place

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

A true disappointment. For being a Tap Toom, no one here knows anything about beer. The beer selection is weak, nothing the chains haven't caught on to. Speaking of chains, the food quality is horrendous. Think TGIFs without the consistency or price. Aside from the servers lack of knowledge, they are generally inept and they can't find or keep a good one. Generally speaking, your time and money will be better served some place else. I'm just hoping this place fails sooner than later and someone with some common sense and knowledge on running a successful tap room buys it.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Good Food, bad management

Dined on March 6, 2016

I have been here before and enjoyed the experience. This time, things seemed to have gone down hill. First of all, when we arrived they did not have our reservation. Not sure it that was the faulty of the restaurant or OpenTable, but luckily they had room for us to be seated right away. But the air-conditioning was was too cold. We asked them to turn it down and they did. They were out of several things on the menu which was a disappointment. It's a tap house, and the beer wasn't on the menu, they handed you a piece of paper with the beer typed on it. Only they were out of several of the beers too. The waitress was marginal. It's a shame. The food is very good, the prices reasonable, the atmosphere nice. I think they just need new management or something. I may give it another try, but not for awhile!

food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Food was ok, service was very slow, orders wrong

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food tasted fine (my salmon was good, and the pretzel was great), but my wife's steak was overcooked. Service was slow, and both orders had mistakes. Servers seemed to try to upsell us multiple times, and the bill was ridiculously overpriced for what we got.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy marshmallow

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

If you have not tried the pretzels with your choice of sauces as an appetizer then you are missing out. If you have tried it then you must also try the salty and sweet combo of marshmallow sauce. Yummy!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

From start to finish, my guests and I en ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

From start to finish, my guests and I enjoyed dining at American Tap Room. The food was very good and our server made frequent visits to make sure we were doing well. I will definitely be back

food2
ambience3
service3

The Server was great, but the service fr ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

The Server was great, but the service from the kitchen was terrible. The restaurant was empty but the kitchen was very slow.....and the excuse was that they were backed up; doesn't make sense.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great First American Tap Room Experience

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

This was my first ATR experience and the Richmond one was super. The menu is extensive and interesting (I loved my mahi mahi with spinach and rice). It was also half-price wine night (it was a Thursday), so I went for a nice French Sauvignon Blanc that seemed to be priced at even less than half the normal price. My bill, however, had it at just half off. It was no biggie and small error, I think, that I didn't catch until later.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2

My daughter's 18th birthday

Dined on October 28, 2015

Considering we were celebrating my daughter's 18th birthday I would have thought the service/ waitress would be a little more attentive to our needs and checked on the table more.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

A fun restaurant

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

The food is good and inventive. They have a great selection of local beers and a fun bar area that we so enjoy when the weather is nice and the bar is open to the street.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3

Beware - Rip off!

vip
Dined on June 30, 2015

Beer was fine; beware the food. At our waitress's recommendation, we ordered the house special. Besides being laughably small and mediocre, it was seriously overpriced. The waitress said it was comparable to another item on the menu that was 27.95; when the bill came, we were charged 36.95 for each entrée. I asked the waitress if there was a mistake and she insisted that was the price. It just doesn't make sense for a restaurant of this type to charge more for a mediocre entrée than fine restaurants do. Frankly, it ruined the experience. We cannot recommend it unless you are going just for the beer.

food3
ambience5
service5

Worst experience

vip
Dined on May 16, 2015

They were out of everything we requested. Didn't have the cider, beer or entrees we wanted. Don't go

food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific Times on Tap

vip
Dined on April 9, 2015

We have gone to the Tap Room many times. The pretzels with assorted dips are great. (you should always at least try the marshmallow- sweet and salt together) The bar is separate and behind closed doors if you prefer to be inside with the crowd our in the quiet dining area with your date. The food is unique and well prepared. We will be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 1st visit, and I had not one complaint

Dined on March 24, 2015

The ambiance was awesome, and the service was superb. I'm what my husband calls a food critic, and I couldn't find one thing to complain about. The desserts display was very appealing, but the taste of the blueberry creme brûlée was great. Prices were amicable because the portions were greater than I anticipated. This restaurant will definitely be the eatery that my family will frequent from now on. Great food great dessert great service , and the best location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2

The beer list was impressive, but they ...

Dined on February 22, 2015

The beer list was impressive, but they were out of the first two beers I selected which was a little disappointing. The food was so-so. Fish tacos were sort of bland as we're the shrimp and grits. May have been an off night -- the place was mostly empty at 6:30 on a Sunday evening.

food1
ambience2
service3

NOT SATISFIED FOR THE PRICE OF WHAT YOU PAY FOR

Dined on February 9, 2015

THANKS FOR THE GIFT CARD MY ROOMMATE GOT FOR XMAS BECAUSE IF I HAD TO PAY FOR THIS I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN HAPPY AND IM STILL NOT HAPPY. HAD TO ASK FOR WATER AND BREAD. ORDERED THE MEATLOAF DINNER. PLATE TO SMALL THEY EVEN PUT THE MEATLOAF ON TOP OF THE WHIPPED POOR-TATERS. I THOUGHT WHIPPED MEANT NO LUMPS WHAT A JOKE. THE POOR-TATERS HAD NO TASTE WHEN YOU HAD TO PICKUP YOUR MEATLOAF TO GET TO THEM. STRING BEANS WERE GOOD BUT THAT IS THE ONLY WAY YOU SERVE THEM. I LIKED THEM MY ROOMMATE WAS NOT TO KEEN ON THEM BUT IN MY OPINION WAS THE STRINGBEANS WRE KILLER THE ONLY THING ON THE PLATE. VERY DISSSSAPPOINTEDDDD. MIGHT GIVE ONE MORE TRY DONT KNOW YET

food5
ambience4
service5

Very good restaurant!

Dined on January 21, 2015

Great food - Kim K. was the absolute best! I had the Thai wings and they were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great neighborhood Restaurant/Bar

vip
Dined on January 17, 2015

We have been to the Taproom at least six times and we have been pleased each time. The food is really good. In particular we have enjoyed the hot pretzels with dipping sauces, the Flat Iron steak, the burgers, the Chicken and Waffles (ask for the spicy syrup on the side if you are worried about the heat) and the Mac and Cheese just to name a few of our favorites. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We met for a Christmas lunch and our wai ...

Dined on December 17, 2014

We met for a Christmas lunch and our waitor was Bob, the food was delicious and the waiter was excellent. Would absolutely recommend to frieds. Was a guess last summer and sat outside and also had a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5

ok

Dined on November 26, 2014

service was outstanding, food was not cooked properly --- rare isnt hard for a steak and over cooking it and then grossly under cooking wasnt what I desired or planned on paying for but we did. The kids steak was also over cooked

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4

About What I Expected

Dined on November 23, 2014

Positives - our server was terrific; very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and other random questions we asked. I wish I had remembered his name to later pay a compliment. I had the butternut squash soup and a spinach salad. Both came as ordered and were very tasty. Negatives - it's a chain. For someone who generally avoids chains, there isn't a feel here of uniqueness. The hostess was on a personal call when we first arrived and her welcome statement was so mumbled that I had to ask her to repeat what she said. Our table was against the wall that separated the restaurant from the bar. The bass from the televisions was so intense we could feel the vibrations. It was also loud, though the wall. Again, I may be overly sensitive to these things as I do not normally patronize chains and/or "sports bars" type of places. If I was at the mall, shopping with friends, etc. I would definitely return if we wanted to have "real" food vs the fast food offerings at the mall. But to choose a place to go to dinner? Probably not.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2

Will probably never go again

Dined on November 16, 2014

The staff was very unorganized. We made a reservation and the host told us that he was going to clear our table and was gone for about 8 minutes. After waiting 15 minutes after we ordered we were told that they were out of the dish that my girlfriend ordered which was the pan seared jumbo scallops. She was then brought the menu and rushed into making another decision. I think the least that they could have done was have a manager acknowledge and apologize that we didn't get one of the meals that was ordered and offered a discount. Our waiter was nice but you could tell he was inexperienced.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service4

Food needs improvement.

Dined on November 7, 2014

Great location; beautiful dining room. Too bad the food does not come close to meeting the expectations of the setting.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service1

Poor Overall

Dined on October 27, 2014

Had to wait to be seated, no server at front door. Told gentleman that seated us that it was grandsons birthday, and surprise guest was coming to dine with us but was running late. Service was average. Grandsons birthday, cake brought to table in Martins box. Had to ask for silverware,and another beer. Waitress made nothing special, after telling her that grandson picked the restraunt, because he wanted the pretzel restraunt and it was his birthday. Had a guest come in from Northern VA and they were not satisfied either. Very few people in restraunt or bar area, no reason for lack of service, overall very unhappy for special occasion.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great for Birthday Celebration

vip
Dined on October 16, 2014

I took my boyfriend for dinner and we had a great time. The food and service were off the charts fabulous! Blair had a burger and decided that it was the best burger he has had in Richmond, VA. The cheese steak egg rolls will keep us coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service3

A Total Disappointment

Dined on September 21, 2014

We dined here for my Daughters Birthday after having been told that the restaurant was pretty good, alas we were misinformed. The service was average but the food was absolutely tasteless and bland. The brownie desert was more like cake rather than brownie. Needless to say we will not be returning

food2
ambience3
service2

An unknown

vip
Dined on September 7, 2014

We were a little disappointed. We had reservation which included a contact number, yet it was not until we got to the restaurant that we find out that part of the kitchen was non-operational due to an accident. It would have been nice if they had notified us before we showed up. Since what remained of the menu options we were not interested in, we decided to eat elsewhere.

food4
ambience5
service5

Mrs.Sanders

Dined on August 25, 2014

This is a great place dinning area was nice and my waitresses was very informative. But I did miss out on more options of food to order.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2

best part of the meal was the fries. wai ...

Dined on August 23, 2014

best part of the meal was the fries. waitress came to the table once after being served and we had to have someone hunt her down to pay our bill. not sure we'll go back for meal, but maybe a beer.

food3
ambience3
service1

Better for smaller groups based on our ...

Dined on August 19, 2014

Better for smaller groups based on our experience- food was great as usual but the waitress wasn't prepared for a group of 6 this night-

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Add Sunday brunch

Dined on August 17, 2014

Came for brunch , no longer offered. Need to promote to religious organization,s and social groups.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dinner

Dined on August 2, 2014

Awesome food. Awesome service. My recommendation is to make a reservation. People walking in were being told an hour to an hour and a half wait for a table. Its worth the wait though.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service1

waitress

Dined on July 26, 2014

Waitress did not have any knowledge of food what so ever. Did not check on us at all. I had to go to the bar to order more drinks and still she had not come back to our table.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service2

Frozen Dinner-Weak Drinks

Dined on July 21, 2014

Let me preface this by saying that I have a forgiving palate. Ordered the half chicken dinner. Chicken was pale and the meat was dry and hard. My mojito had no alcohol in it, therefore, as a limeade, it wasn't too bad. Won't go here again if I can help it.

food2
ambience3
service2

Hoped for better

Dined on July 12, 2014

Server was slow, waited to long for drink refills. When appetizer came out had to request small plates, my husband's dinner came to the table 2-3 minutes before mine, was not anything to brag about for either of us. And I think they used canned or jarred mushrooms on his rib eye. Blah!

Tags: notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4

Bad, just bad!

Dined on July 11, 2014

Great service. Great Beer. Horrible food. Just a decent bar in fancy clothes.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!

Dined on July 5, 2014

Great beer selection with rotating taps. Fantastic food. The chicken and waffles were exquisit. Beer pairings would have been helpful for meals, server didn't seem to know what would go well with dinner items.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.