Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About American Seasons

American Seasons is situated in the heart of the downtown historic district of Nantucket. It has become a hugely popular restaurant, well known for its creative and thoughtful take on contemporary seasonal cooking, coupled with friendly , attentive service.

The menu focuses on locally grown ingredients, carefully prepared, cooked and presented in a natural style.

Featuring over 500, American-produced wines, American Seasons’ award-winning, hard-to-get wine list is admired and emulated across the country.

Chef-Owner Neil Ferguson looks forward to welcoming you through the door of this Nantucket favorite.

80 Centre Street
Nantucket, MA 02584
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven days a week serving dinner 5:30-10pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-7111

Website:
http://www.americanseasons.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Neil Ferguson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

American Seasons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Really great and very romantic atmosphere. Service was top notch. One of our top 3 go to restaurants on Nantucket.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had an early dinner reservation so we could make a 7P performance which left us with the odd situation of being the only diners. We were treated like royalty and enjoyed a delicious dinner. These folks know how to cook fish. I appreciated the wine suggestion. We will be back when on this beautiful Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We celebrated our 18the wedding anniversary. The experience was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food is really special ... unusual pairings with wow factor in presentation and flavor. Portions are right-sized. Wine selections terrific. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

One of the pleasures of "Restaurant Week" is getting a wonderful meal at a bargain price. My wife and I have been to American Seasons on quite a few occasions over the years and this was one of our best meals ever there. Great service and ambiance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Overall, very good. We went during Nantucket Restaurant week, so menu might have been a tad limited. Had the Ricotta Cavatelli and the scallops to start- -both excellent! And the apple cake for dessert was delicious. They received an overall 4 star rating due to semi-rude hostess (she made a crack about "oh, web reservations, then you'll be outside"...in a negative tone) and waiter was a little snooty when I commented on the entree having a bit too much sauce. Easy walk from Nantucket center. Would recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always make certain to visit here when on the island. Very cozy and amazing food.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Food was top-notch. Sea scallops were the best I can recall having. The lamb neck was incredibly tender and cooked to perfection. From the bread to the dessert, everything seemed to be done with particular attention to detail and it showed through in presentation and flavor. Service was as good as the food. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was spectacular . Wine was great but extremely overpriced ( think of 300% mark up ) . Service could use some improvement which I hope occurs as the season progresses .

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing experience from beginning to end at American Seasons!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Love the atmosphere even though a bit noisy. We were all very disppointed in the appetizers. They were basically inedible. Very odd combinations of things that did not work and over dressed. However we were reasonably satisfied with the entrees. It is a fun lively place but food could stand improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We visited nantucket on our honeymoon and went to American seasons our second night there. By far one of the best meals we had on the island. The food was perfectly cooked, seasoned appropriately and we really enjoyed our window seating. Overall we had a spectacular meal and I would not hesitate to return again. What a luxurious yet comforting menu... something that is not always the norm in causal fine dining. Thanks so much

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We sat at the bar and had a bite. Our bartender could not have been more friendly or helpful! A great spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Another great meal with terrific hosts. Rachel is about good as it gets as a host and Neil's preparations are unique and world class.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We visited for the first time on their last night of the season...and we are already planning to return next season. It was absolutely incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was wonderful: creative and delicious. From appetizers to the entrees to the desserts, each dish was very well prepared and the service excellent. Our only "but" -as I see another diner mentioned -- was the wine list. It was very expensive and in several cases, felt overpriced for what the wine was. The restaurant would do well to have a wider selection of wines at more reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

American Seasons has been a favorite of ours for many years. The food is well prepared and presented, the service attentive and the ambiance cozy and warm. Our only difficulty was with the wine selection. Although the choices were good, it was difficult to find more moderately priced wines. This is fine for a special occasion, but would discourage us from coming more frequently.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My husband and I ate here for our anniversary inner after many referrals from friends. Unfortunately it was not what we expected. The menu was incredibly limited and the portions were small and the meal was significantly overpriced. I have no problem paying good money for great food. This wasn't the case here. The service however was outstanding! They were very attentive and polite. I will give this restaurant another shot, during the summer when there are more people and a livelier atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent service. After we placed our dinner order, we asked if the restaurant could accommodate two friends stranded by a cancelled ferry. Not only were we moved to a larger table, but the meals came out of the kitchen at the same time as if we ordered all together.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Outstanding meal, creative menu, well executed, knowledgeable service, great wine list. A bit noisy, decor could be refreshed. The new chef has strongly carved out his own niche with food - could do the same with the decor. Portions could be a bit larger.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Great service, cocktails, starters. Venison and duck entrées were excellent. Beautiful intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It was wonderful. Food was excellent, we even got warm freshly made bacon and basil bread to start us off. Nothing tops that. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We came with great expectations, given all the hype and difficulty in getting reservation, but disappointed all around. There are better restaurants in Nantucket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

we've spent every weekend on Nantucket this past summer and only went to American Seasons after Labor Day. It was the best meal we ahd the entire time

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicously prepared halibut on a bed of veggies was simply terrific, inventive and flavorful. We will be back when next on Nantucket.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was decent but far too salty, maybe it was an off night as I had heard rave reviews about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Everything was so fresh. The flavors are mixed so well. We had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a lovely evening, wonderful food service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ate here for dinner our first night on Nantucket. We will go back before we leave. Already made reservations for our next trip.

Food was delicious & deserves a 10.0 rating. Service was excellent & we were welcomed as if we were regulars on this first visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Big plates. Small food. But great value if preparation, presentation, locale and taste are important.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

American Seasons offers delicious, locally sourced food. On this occasion, my husband and I split a salad of local tomatoes with feta cheese and watermelon. He then ordered scallops and I chose the hamachi crudo with grapefruit and fennel in a ginger dressing. For our entrées, I chose the lobster salad with fresh vegetables that included zucchini, artichokes, and avocado. My husband ordered cod which was pan roasted and prepared with a lemon purée and fennel.
The service was outstanding, and the food was creative and delicious! We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was fabulous. Service was great. Definitely recommend to others and return again ourselves

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was really disappointing, during tomato season, that the tomato appetizer, t supposedly garnished with melon, consisted of one single slice of tomato and numerous large chunks of melon. The combination wasn't particularly successful to begin with--too much cloying sweet from the melon-- but the tomato slice was literally buried, effectively lost. It was a melon appetizer.

The ribeye was ok, an excellent cut of beef and nicely grilled, but, again, the heavy-handed omnipresence of olive flavors in the sauce overpowered the meat.

It's Nantucket; when you eat out, you're going to pay through the nose, and that's a given. It's easier to tolerate the island gouge, however, when what you eat tastes good, or, minimally, meets your expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent main courses although a couple of the portion sizes were on the small side. Appetizers were not quite as good. Dessert was outstanding. Would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Not to be missed on Nantucket. Food, service and atmosphere are all exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I would like to thank you very much for a pleasant and memorable meal! I was quit intrigued about tasting what Nantucket's Michelin starred chef would create and I left that evening with a feeling that I just experienced a chef's tremendous love and care for the freshest ingredients. The Hamachi loin crudo appetizer was incredibly fresh and cleansing, but the star of the night was the Halibut dish. The whole plate of food was superb!! From the seaweed butter sauce, to the salsify, to the flavorful, delicately dressed golden purslane, to the perfectly cooked filet, the entire dish was seasoned and executed flawlessly!! Not to mention the sage, bacon infused petite house made dinner role that preceded our meal. The roasted peach with pistachio cake and vanilla ice cream and comforting crumbles was tasty as well. For a a desert like that, the chef is kind of at the mercy of the natural sweetness of the peach, but the little pistachio cake that shared the plate was that dishes highlight for me. It was almost as if the flour used was spelt or even pistachio, resulting in an incredibly light and airy little cake with a slight accent of lemon. Given that everything on Nantucket is a bit pricey, I have no qualms about returning next season for a special evening of quality dining. Overall it was a wonderful way to conclude our yearly visit to the island :) From an inspired new admirer, thank you and best of luck!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was ridiculously slow (almost 3 hours for dinner) due to the kitchen being short staffed, apparently due to a family issue so they said. Amazing that an operation on the level of American Seasons can fall apart so fast being down one individual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and wait staff service was very good; however, the hostess/ manager was very condescending and dismissive of our request for a different table when ours was unacceptable. There were other tables available when we requested a new table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Setting was excellent, service superb, food was well presented and tasty. Our only complaint was the portion sizes were too small for the price. Ate at another top Nantucket restaurant the next night and the portions were 50-75% larger.

At American Seasons I had the halibut.. Very well prepared, excellent dish, but the size of the portion made it look like I had been given a half portion.

Fix that and you have me for life.. Excellent setting and service..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.