About American Seasons

80 Centre Street
Nantucket, MA 02584
View Larger Map

American Seasons is situated in the heart of the downtown historic district of Nantucket. It has become a hugely popular restaurant, well known for its creative and thoughtful take on contemporary seasonal cooking, coupled with friendly , attentive service.

The menu focuses on locally grown ingredients, carefully prepared, cooked and presented in a natural style.

Featuring over 500, American-produced wines, American Seasons’ award-winning, hard-to-get wine list is admired and emulated across the country.

Chef-Owner Neil Ferguson looks forward to welcoming you through the door of this Nantucket favorite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven days a week serving dinner 5:30-10pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-7111

Website:
http://www.americanseasons.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Neil Ferguson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

American Seasons “Meatloaf Sandwich - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Seared Maine Day Boat Scallops - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Half Poussin - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Duck - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Wolfe Neck Farm Bone-In Sirloin - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Lobster Bisque - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Creme Brulee - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork Shank - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Wild Blueberry & Lemon Tart - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Flying Elvis - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
English Toffee and Caramel Cake - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Chili Glazed Organic Salmon - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Charcuterie plate - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Rosoto - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Lobster & Mushroom Pancake - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Kim-Chee Pancakes- Bbq Pork Belly, Smoked Shrimp, Sesame - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Fried Sourdough Bread- Crème Fraîche, Dill, Trout Roe - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Grilled Short Rib Of Beef- Royal Trumpet Mushrooms, Fargola Pasta - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA
Speculoos Cookie & Coffee Ice Cream Sandwich- Salted Caramel, Mocha Granola - American  Seasons, Nantucket, MA

American Seasons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cape Cod and the Islands
Contemporary American
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Nantucket ›

Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Historic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was wonderful: creative and del ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was wonderful: creative and delicious. From appetizers to the entrees to the desserts, each dish was very well prepared and the service excellent. Our only "but" -as I see another diner mentioned -- was the wine list. It was very expensive and in several cases, felt overpriced for what the wine was. The restaurant would do well to have a wider selection of wines at more reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

American Seasons has been a favorite of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

American Seasons has been a favorite of ours for many years. The food is well prepared and presented, the service attentive and the ambiance cozy and warm. Our only difficulty was with the wine selection. Although the choices were good, it was difficult to find more moderately priced wines. This is fine for a special occasion, but would discourage us from coming more frequently.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I ate here for our annive ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My husband and I ate here for our anniversary inner after many referrals from friends. Unfortunately it was not what we expected. The menu was incredibly limited and the portions were small and the meal was significantly overpriced. I have no problem paying good money for great food. This wasn't the case here. The service however was outstanding! They were very attentive and polite. I will give this restaurant another shot, during the summer when there are more people and a livelier atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent service. After we placed our ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent service. After we placed our dinner order, we asked if the restaurant could accommodate two friends stranded by a cancelled ferry. Not only were we moved to a larger table, but the meals came out of the kitchen at the same time as if we ordered all together.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal, creative menu, well ex ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Outstanding meal, creative menu, well executed, knowledgeable service, great wine list. A bit noisy, decor could be refreshed. The new chef has strongly carved out his own niche with food - could do the same with the decor. Portions could be a bit larger.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, cocktails, starters. Veni ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Great service, cocktails, starters. Venison and duck entrées were excellent. Beautiful intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was wonderful. Food was excellent, we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was wonderful. Food was excellent, we even got warm freshly made bacon and basil bread to start us off. Nothing tops that. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came with great expectations, given a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We came with great expectations, given all the hype and difficulty in getting reservation, but disappointed all around. There are better restaurants in Nantucket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

we've spent every weekend on Nantucket t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

we've spent every weekend on Nantucket this past summer and only went to American Seasons after Labor Day. It was the best meal we ahd the entire time

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicously prepared halibut on a bed of ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicously prepared halibut on a bed of veggies was simply terrific, inventive and flavorful. We will be back when next on Nantucket.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was decent but far too salty, maybe ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was decent but far too salty, maybe it was an off night as I had heard rave reviews about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious! Everything was so ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Everything was so fresh. The flavors are mixed so well. We had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely evening, wonderful food ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a lovely evening, wonderful food service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ate here for dinner our first night on ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ate here for dinner our first night on Nantucket. We will go back before we leave. Already made reservations for our next trip.

Food was delicious & deserves a 10.0 rating. Service was excellent & we were welcomed as if we were regulars on this first visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big plates. Small food. But great valu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Big plates. Small food. But great value if preparation, presentation, locale and taste are important.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

American Seasons offers delicious, local ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

American Seasons offers delicious, locally sourced food. On this occasion, my husband and I split a salad of local tomatoes with feta cheese and watermelon. He then ordered scallops and I chose the hamachi crudo with grapefruit and fennel in a ginger dressing. For our entrées, I chose the lobster salad with fresh vegetables that included zucchini, artichokes, and avocado. My husband ordered cod which was pan roasted and prepared with a lemon purée and fennel.

The service was outstanding, and the food was creative and delicious! We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous. Service was great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was fabulous. Service was great. Definitely recommend to others and return again ourselves

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was really disappointing, during toma ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was really disappointing, during tomato season, that the tomato appetizer, t supposedly garnished with melon, consisted of one single slice of tomato and numerous large chunks of melon. The combination wasn't particularly successful to begin with--too much cloying sweet from the melon-- but the tomato slice was literally buried, effectively lost. It was a melon appetizer.

The ribeye was ok, an excellent cut of beef and nicely grilled, but, again, the heavy-handed omnipresence of olive flavors in the sauce overpowered the meat.

It's Nantucket; when you eat out, you're going to pay through the nose, and that's a given. It's easier to tolerate the island gouge, however, when what you eat tastes good, or, minimally, meets your expectations.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent main courses although a couple ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent main courses although a couple of the portion sizes were on the small side. Appetizers were not quite as good. Dessert was outstanding. Would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not to be missed on Nantucket. Food, ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Not to be missed on Nantucket. Food, service and atmosphere are all exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I would like to thank you very much for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I would like to thank you very much for a pleasant and memorable meal! I was quit intrigued about tasting what Nantucket's Michelin starred chef would create and I left that evening with a feeling that I just experienced a chef's tremendous love and care for the freshest ingredients. The Hamachi loin crudo appetizer was incredibly fresh and cleansing, but the star of the night was the Halibut dish. The whole plate of food was superb!! From the seaweed butter sauce, to the salsify, to the flavorful, delicately dressed golden purslane, to the perfectly cooked filet, the entire dish was seasoned and executed flawlessly!! Not to mention the sage, bacon infused petite house made dinner role that preceded our meal. The roasted peach with pistachio cake and vanilla ice cream and comforting crumbles was tasty as well. For a a desert like that, the chef is kind of at the mercy of the natural sweetness of the peach, but the little pistachio cake that shared the plate was that dishes highlight for me. It was almost as if the flour used was spelt or even pistachio, resulting in an incredibly light and airy little cake with a slight accent of lemon. Given that everything on Nantucket is a bit pricey, I have no qualms about returning next season for a special evening of quality dining. Overall it was a wonderful way to conclude our yearly visit to the island :) From an inspired new admirer, thank you and best of luck!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was ridiculously slow (almost 3 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was ridiculously slow (almost 3 hours for dinner) due to the kitchen being short staffed, apparently due to a family issue so they said. Amazing that an operation on the level of American Seasons can fall apart so fast being down one individual.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Food and wait staff service was very goo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and wait staff service was very good; however, the hostess/ manager was very condescending and dismissive of our request for a different table when ours was unacceptable. There were other tables available when we requested a new table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Setting was excellent, service superb, f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Setting was excellent, service superb, food was well presented and tasty. Our only complaint was the portion sizes were too small for the price. Ate at another top Nantucket restaurant the next night and the portions were 50-75% larger.

At American Seasons I had the halibut.. Very well prepared, excellent dish, but the size of the portion made it look like I had been given a half portion.

Fix that and you have me for life.. Excellent setting and service..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were greeted by the manager, ushered ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were greeted by the manager, ushered into the restaurant where we were seated, as preferred, on the patio, and then encountered several of the very pleasant staff who helped make our experience the best it could be. Service was excellent and the food tops the other restaurants in which we ate every night for the week we were on the island. Do not miss treating yourself to a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All great flavors, from apps, meals ad d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2016

All great flavors, from apps, meals ad desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was as nice a complete dining exper ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was as nice a complete dining experience as we've had. Every thing was perfect. The halibut was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arguably one of the best chefs working o ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Arguably one of the best chefs working on Nantucket if not the best.

Service could be a bit better in keeping with the high quality of the food served. Engaging sommelier and very talented pastry chef.

We had a very enjoyable meal and I would be very happy to recommend this gem to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing scenery, directly on Jetties Bea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Amazing scenery, directly on Jetties Beach. Try and score a table for a unique sunset experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding. Service was fa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. Service was fantastic and wine list was well constructed. We enjoyed this meal immensely and the bartender Eleanor was very helpful and personable. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous setting off of Nantucket Main S ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fabulous setting off of Nantucket Main Street, with fantastic food.unfortunately the waiter was poor. Rachel who may have been a manager and/or owner made the experience better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We were seated indoors for a 6pm reserva ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were seated indoors for a 6pm reservation. It was too dark; I would have liked to see what I was eating... Found the food to be ok, nothing spectacular. Having dined at other local restaurants throughout the week, we found this place to be underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

American Seasons has terrific food and w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2016

American Seasons has terrific food and wonderful service. On this occasion, we split a bass crudo appetizer. It was fresh and delicious! I chose to order three appetizers and no entrée. I enjoyed gazpacho with crab, a fresh tomato salad, and foie gras. All were fabulous. I also ordered a rosé champagne that I loved. My husband chose the tomato salad and a chicken entree. We split a dessert that consisted of a roasted peach, a pistachio cake, and vanilla ice cream. We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant on Nantucket!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the striped bass served over summe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2016

I had the striped bass served over summer squash which was fabulous. Portion size is a little small. Wife had a summer squash casserole which was also delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While the food was absolutely delicious ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2016

While the food was absolutely delicious I have to agree for the prices (even at Nantucket prices) the portions were too small. I was hungry only an hour after my meal which included two delicious breads, the crudo and the steak. The steak was cooked perfectly to my taste, the bread was delicious. The drinks were quite good as well. While the restaurant and area are cute, the only qualm I had are the portions. I would go again and again if the portions reflected the prices. Like 15% more would have sufficed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Just not the same as the past. A bit ov ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just not the same as the past. A bit over priced for the value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service, very good preparation on ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great service, very good preparation on both fish dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unique pairings of well-prepared food. A ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Unique pairings of well-prepared food. A lovely warm setting for dining indoors or out. Great martinis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet dinner

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2016

What a wonderful dinner we had! The food was superb, the presentation very appealing, and the service perfect. We were there for restaurant week and enjoyed three fabulous courses. This is one of the best restaurants on Nantucket. Look for it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Right ! We are NYC foodies that vis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Just Right ! We are NYC foodies that visit the island each year and this was our first visit to the New American Seasons !! We will be back !! It was delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.