About American Seasons

80 Centre Street
Nantucket, MA 02584
View Larger Map

American Seasons is situated in the heart of the downtown historic district of Nantucket. It has become a hugely popular restaurant, well known for its creative and thoughtful take on contemporary seasonal cooking, coupled with friendly , attentive service.

The menu focuses on locally grown ingredients, carefully prepared, cooked and presented in a natural style.

Featuring over 500, American-produced wines, American Seasons’ award-winning, hard-to-get wine list is admired and emulated across the country.

Chef-Owner Neil Ferguson looks forward to welcoming you through the door of this Nantucket favorite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven days a week serving dinner 5:30-10pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-7111

Website:
http://www.americanseasons.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Neil Ferguson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Bisque
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork Shank
Chili Glazed Organic Salmon
Wild Blueberry & Lemon Tart
Seared Maine Day Boat Scallops
Flying Elvis
Creme Brulee
English Toffee and Caramel Cake
Charcuterie plate
Duck
Half Poussin
American Seasons “Meatloaf Sandwich
Wolfe Neck Farm Bone-In Sirloin
Rosoto
Lobster & Mushroom Pancake
Grilled Short Rib Of Beef- Royal Trumpet Mushrooms, Fargola Pasta
Speculoos Cookie & Coffee Ice Cream Sandwich- Salted Caramel, Mocha Granola
Fried Sourdough Bread- Crème Fraîche, Dill, Trout Roe
Kim-Chee Pancakes- Bbq Pork Belly, Smoked Shrimp, Sesame

American Seasons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Cape Cod and the Islands
Romantic
Cape Cod and the Islands
Special Occasion
Cape Cod and the Islands
1 More
Most Booked
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Nantucket ›

special occasion (19)
fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
See All
romantic (16)
notable wine list (11)
great for outdoor dining (10)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding. Service was fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. Service was fantastic and wine list was well constructed. We enjoyed this meal immensely and the bartender Eleanor was very helpful and personable. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous setting off of Nantucket Main S ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fabulous setting off of Nantucket Main Street, with fantastic food.unfortunately the waiter was poor. Rachel who may have been a manager and/or owner made the experience better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We were seated indoors for a 6pm reserva ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were seated indoors for a 6pm reservation. It was too dark; I would have liked to see what I was eating... Found the food to be ok, nothing spectacular. Having dined at other local restaurants throughout the week, we found this place to be underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

American Seasons has terrific food and w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

American Seasons has terrific food and wonderful service. On this occasion, we split a bass crudo appetizer. It was fresh and delicious! I chose to order three appetizers and no entrée. I enjoyed gazpacho with crab, a fresh tomato salad, and foie gras. All were fabulous. I also ordered a rosé champagne that I loved. My husband chose the tomato salad and a chicken entree. We split a dessert that consisted of a roasted peach, a pistachio cake, and vanilla ice cream. We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant on Nantucket!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the striped bass served over summe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I had the striped bass served over summer squash which was fabulous. Portion size is a little small. Wife had a summer squash casserole which was also delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While the food was absolutely delicious ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While the food was absolutely delicious I have to agree for the prices (even at Nantucket prices) the portions were too small. I was hungry only an hour after my meal which included two delicious breads, the crudo and the steak. The steak was cooked perfectly to my taste, the bread was delicious. The drinks were quite good as well. While the restaurant and area are cute, the only qualm I had are the portions. I would go again and again if the portions reflected the prices. Like 15% more would have sufficed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Just not the same as the past. A bit ov ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just not the same as the past. A bit over priced for the value.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service, very good preparation on ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great service, very good preparation on both fish dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unique pairings of well-prepared food. A ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Unique pairings of well-prepared food. A lovely warm setting for dining indoors or out. Great martinis!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet dinner

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

What a wonderful dinner we had! The food was superb, the presentation very appealing, and the service perfect. We were there for restaurant week and enjoyed three fabulous courses. This is one of the best restaurants on Nantucket. Look for it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Right ! We are NYC foodies that vis ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Just Right ! We are NYC foodies that visit the island each year and this was our first visit to the New American Seasons !! We will be back !! It was delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Best meal on island! Excellent ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing! Best meal on island! Excellent service and the best food, period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The worst service!! Rude waitress... Couldn't wait to leave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

sublime

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

Delicious food, sublime wine great service and suggestions from waitstaff and sommelier. A very warm welcome and a very memorable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seasonal Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

It is always a pleasure to eat at American Seasons. As the name of the restaurant suggests they tailor their menu to the season. I have never been disappointed with my meal and drink. The wait staff is attentive and knowledgable. Give it a try, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Special Place

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Love the ambience.

Our server was adequate but not the caliber I would expect at a restaurant of this caliber and reputation and considering it was a slow evening.

A bit pretentious.

The nicest and friendliest person was the girl who cleared our plates and reset... .

Limited menu but very high quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A great late fall meal!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

The meal was, as usual, fabulous. The venison cooked to perfection. Our waiter was witty, knowledgeable and spot on with his choices. A perfect Thursday evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had an amazing experience at American ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

We had an amazing experience at American Seasons on Nantucket last night. The service was friendly, attentive and fun. The food was all exceptionally executed. The best pork belly I have ever had. The restaurant is situated in a quiet neighbor and offers a very comforting environment. I strongly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant, quiet location

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

The restaurant was a short walk from our hotel. Far enough from the main streets, so a quiet, romantic spot. The food was really delicious - both portions & quality. The main room is a little small, so it would not accommodate large groups, but there is a large outdoor space. Nonetheless, there was privacy, and great experience. We will return in the summer months!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 13, 2015

Chef Neil ferguson at American seasons is doing wonderfully tasty food! Definitely takes very good care of the ingredients he chooses to use. We were very happy with the service, the wine, and the food. The game terrine is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ridiculously GREAT food and EXCELLENT service!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

GO here if you like seasonal dishes that taste amazing.. AS is always changing the menu for each season and each dish is a huge hit. I had the beet salad and the venison and both were SO good. Great wine list and the servers really give you the impression that they love working there.. rare to find these days.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

We ate at several restaurants over Columbus weekend and this was one of the best. Chicken was cooked to perfection and TASTY TOO!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

This was our first visit to the restaurant. Food was outstanding. Service was very good. I would recommend end the restaurant for foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you only go to 1 restaurant on ACK, make it AS

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 25, 2015

I went back on my last night on the Island because I'd enjoyed it so much the first time and it was even better second time around. The restaurant is understated and beautifully lit, the staff are friendly and very helpful. I can't praise the chef and his team enough - the food was absolutely superb. I chose the leek soup - you have to try this - it is exceptional and comes with some theatre. The taste was amazing - so clever.

My favourite restaurant in the whole of the US!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

Dining alone isn't easy but the team at American seasons made it so. Beautiful restaurant with subdued lighting and rustic furniture to compliment the relaxed yet elegant setting.

Amazing food - I mean amazing. Go there tomorrow.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative and delicious

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner at American Seasons. Food was prepared perfectly. One drawback is the menu is quite small, there was only one main course that a vegan who eats fish could order.

And there was only one appetizer special off the written menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

GREAT EATS ON NANTUCKET

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

I visit my daughter who is a "year rounder" on the Island of Nantucket. As this Island is a gathering place for the summer crowd it would certainly require a good selection of restaurants or it would be doomed to fail. American Seasons certainly fits the bill as among the best of the island's offerings. As I have been coming to ACK as the island is known, for a few years now, I have had the chance to sample some of its fare. A new chef owner has appeared on the scene in American Seasons and he has brought a restaurant, that was certainly no slacker in the past, up several notches. Among our delicious plates was the tuna tartar, the gnocchi, the rabbit terrine, the chicken Ballotine, the pork and the halibut. All were great. As the name of the restaurant implies, however, the menu changes regularly so these items may not be there when you arrive. However, if they are an example of the fare then you are in for a treat. The service was great. The noise level is loud so don't expect a quiet table in the corner or anywhere for that matter. But you're in for a very good night if you've got some friends you want to share great conversations and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved American Seasons!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

Like many Nantucket restaurants, American Seasons is small and quaint. Our server was friendly and the food delicious- we would definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New ownership means changes

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

We had enjoyed American Season in the past and made reservations not knowing that it was now under a new ownership/chef. The food is still outstanding and so beautifully created. It is too bad that the place is so dark that one can only smell and taste the preparation and not see it. The terrine of rabbit and foie gras is a true taste treat in textures and flavours, but I could not tell what color of the plate on which it was served on or observe how it looked on the plate because of the lighting - a shame. Berkshire pork chop is also a great dish to try. Each dish is so carefully and uniquely created. This is not an inexpensive restaurant and the menu on the web site lists no prices, but perhaps the $225 per person for the Flowers Tasting Dinner (5/15) should have been a clue. The wine list is absolutely incredible, but it is almost impossible to find a red wine under 3 digits and it goes up from there. None of this seems to have any impact on the crowd that was there. The place was packed and seating is crowded in the main dining room. The table of eight behind us was spending well over $1000 in wine and most were ordering $45 entrees and were obviously not worried about the bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Beautiful spot consistantly excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Service was friendly and spot on...ambiance cant be beat Food was amazing as always...

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food at American Seasons!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Tucked away on a side street, American Seasons is a wonderful restaurant to sit outside or in. Our meal and service were outstanding. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Excellent food. Classic dishes with an original twist. Great service. Must go to in Nantucket.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food but pricey

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

We enjoyed this restaurant with some caveats. The food was good. Prices were high. Even the chicken was nearly $40. Least expensive wine was $60/bottle. No kids options. My daughter asked for a salad with no dressing. It came out on top of an oil emulsion. When we complained to the waiter he claimed that that is not dressing - just an emulsion! That said the ambiance was nice and the staff in general friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Still rock solid

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

They need to improve their wine list, but overall rock solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

One of Favorite Meals Ever

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

Our dinner at American Seasons was perfect. I had the heirloom tomatoes and the lobster salad. My husband had the sockeye salmon. We shared the chocolate and cherries for dessert. All four were fabulous. The vegetables were incredibly fresh and the flavors subtle and delicious. The chef is brilliant - every bite was interesting and a little different from the last. I wish I could describe it better. The service was friendly, timely and low key. Our waitress was just lovely. The atmosphere was romantic and upbeat. Everyone seemed in a good mood, and why shouldn't they be? I will go back every time I come to Nantucket.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was tasty

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

This restaurant came highly recommended by the owners of our nantucket rental house. Food was creatively prepared and the cost was slightly less than many of the other nantucket eateries. We dined there our last night in the island after all our kids and grandkids left. It was busy but nice and quiet. Open Table made it easy to find and make a reservation Friday afternoon for Friday night dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great go to place. One of our favorites ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Great go to place. One of our favorites. Very unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Will not return!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Service was slow. Drink order took forever and when came waitress spilled two drinks on one of us dinning. The salad was very small and not very good. The main courses were fair at best. They did not even offer a comp for spilling the drinks or to pay for cleaning her clothes. Cross that off as a restaurant we will not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

A consistent Nantucket standout. No shor ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

A consistent Nantucket standout. No shortcuts anywhere. They want you back, and to tell your friends. And you will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time since new ownership and it was spot on

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

Really enjoyed the new menu though it did not differ significantly. Food preparation and execution was delicious. The hostesses were friendly and accommodating and table service equally as good. Will definitely go back many more times b

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.