About American Seasons

80 Centre Street
Nantucket, MA 02584
View Larger Map

American Seasons is situated in the heart of the downtown historic district of Nantucket. It has become a hugely popular restaurant, well known for its creative and thoughtful take on contemporary seasonal cooking, coupled with friendly , attentive service.

The menu focuses on locally grown ingredients, carefully prepared, cooked and presented in a natural style.

Featuring over 500, American-produced wines, American Seasons’ award-winning, hard-to-get wine list is admired and emulated across the country.

Chef-Owner Neil Ferguson looks forward to welcoming you through the door of this Nantucket favorite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven days a week serving dinner 5:30-10pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-7111

Website:
http://www.americanseasons.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Neil Ferguson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

American Seasons “Meatloaf Sandwich - American  Seasons
Seared Maine Day Boat Scallops - American  Seasons
Half Poussin - American  Seasons
Duck - American  Seasons
Wolfe Neck Farm Bone-In Sirloin - American  Seasons
Lobster Bisque - American  Seasons
Creme Brulee - American  Seasons
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork Shank - American  Seasons
Wild Blueberry & Lemon Tart - American  Seasons
Flying Elvis - American  Seasons
English Toffee and Caramel Cake - American  Seasons
Chili Glazed Organic Salmon - American  Seasons
Charcuterie plate - American  Seasons
Rosoto - American  Seasons
Lobster & Mushroom Pancake - American  Seasons
Kim-Chee Pancakes- Bbq Pork Belly, Smoked Shrimp, Sesame - American  Seasons
Fried Sourdough Bread- Crème Fraîche, Dill, Trout Roe - American  Seasons
Grilled Short Rib Of Beef- Royal Trumpet Mushrooms, Fargola Pasta - American  Seasons
Speculoos Cookie & Coffee Ice Cream Sandwich- Salted Caramel, Mocha Granola - American  Seasons

American Seasons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Nantucket ›

Fit for Foodies (32)
Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Organic (4)
Historic (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

we've spent every weekend on Nantucket t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

we've spent every weekend on Nantucket this past summer and only went to American Seasons after Labor Day. It was the best meal we ahd the entire time

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicously prepared halibut on a bed of ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicously prepared halibut on a bed of veggies was simply terrific, inventive and flavorful. We will be back when next on Nantucket.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was decent but far too salty, maybe ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was decent but far too salty, maybe it was an off night as I had heard rave reviews about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious! Everything was so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Everything was so fresh. The flavors are mixed so well. We had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely evening, wonderful food ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a lovely evening, wonderful food service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ate here for dinner our first night on ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ate here for dinner our first night on Nantucket. We will go back before we leave. Already made reservations for our next trip.

Food was delicious & deserves a 10.0 rating. Service was excellent & we were welcomed as if we were regulars on this first visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big plates. Small food. But great valu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Big plates. Small food. But great value if preparation, presentation, locale and taste are important.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

American Seasons offers delicious, local ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

American Seasons offers delicious, locally sourced food. On this occasion, my husband and I split a salad of local tomatoes with feta cheese and watermelon. He then ordered scallops and I chose the hamachi crudo with grapefruit and fennel in a ginger dressing. For our entrées, I chose the lobster salad with fresh vegetables that included zucchini, artichokes, and avocado. My husband ordered cod which was pan roasted and prepared with a lemon purée and fennel.

The service was outstanding, and the food was creative and delicious! We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous. Service was great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was fabulous. Service was great. Definitely recommend to others and return again ourselves

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was really disappointing, during toma ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was really disappointing, during tomato season, that the tomato appetizer, t supposedly garnished with melon, consisted of one single slice of tomato and numerous large chunks of melon. The combination wasn't particularly successful to begin with--too much cloying sweet from the melon-- but the tomato slice was literally buried, effectively lost. It was a melon appetizer.

The ribeye was ok, an excellent cut of beef and nicely grilled, but, again, the heavy-handed omnipresence of olive flavors in the sauce overpowered the meat.

It's Nantucket; when you eat out, you're going to pay through the nose, and that's a given. It's easier to tolerate the island gouge, however, when what you eat tastes good, or, minimally, meets your expectations.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent main courses although a couple ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent main courses although a couple of the portion sizes were on the small side. Appetizers were not quite as good. Dessert was outstanding. Would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not to be missed on Nantucket. Food, ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Not to be missed on Nantucket. Food, service and atmosphere are all exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I would like to thank you very much for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I would like to thank you very much for a pleasant and memorable meal! I was quit intrigued about tasting what Nantucket's Michelin starred chef would create and I left that evening with a feeling that I just experienced a chef's tremendous love and care for the freshest ingredients. The Hamachi loin crudo appetizer was incredibly fresh and cleansing, but the star of the night was the Halibut dish. The whole plate of food was superb!! From the seaweed butter sauce, to the salsify, to the flavorful, delicately dressed golden purslane, to the perfectly cooked filet, the entire dish was seasoned and executed flawlessly!! Not to mention the sage, bacon infused petite house made dinner role that preceded our meal. The roasted peach with pistachio cake and vanilla ice cream and comforting crumbles was tasty as well. For a a desert like that, the chef is kind of at the mercy of the natural sweetness of the peach, but the little pistachio cake that shared the plate was that dishes highlight for me. It was almost as if the flour used was spelt or even pistachio, resulting in an incredibly light and airy little cake with a slight accent of lemon. Given that everything on Nantucket is a bit pricey, I have no qualms about returning next season for a special evening of quality dining. Overall it was a wonderful way to conclude our yearly visit to the island :) From an inspired new admirer, thank you and best of luck!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was ridiculously slow (almost 3 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was ridiculously slow (almost 3 hours for dinner) due to the kitchen being short staffed, apparently due to a family issue so they said. Amazing that an operation on the level of American Seasons can fall apart so fast being down one individual.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Food and wait staff service was very goo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and wait staff service was very good; however, the hostess/ manager was very condescending and dismissive of our request for a different table when ours was unacceptable. There were other tables available when we requested a new table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Setting was excellent, service superb, f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Setting was excellent, service superb, food was well presented and tasty. Our only complaint was the portion sizes were too small for the price. Ate at another top Nantucket restaurant the next night and the portions were 50-75% larger.

At American Seasons I had the halibut.. Very well prepared, excellent dish, but the size of the portion made it look like I had been given a half portion.

Fix that and you have me for life.. Excellent setting and service..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were greeted by the manager, ushered ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were greeted by the manager, ushered into the restaurant where we were seated, as preferred, on the patio, and then encountered several of the very pleasant staff who helped make our experience the best it could be. Service was excellent and the food tops the other restaurants in which we ate every night for the week we were on the island. Do not miss treating yourself to a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All great flavors, from apps, meals ad d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

All great flavors, from apps, meals ad desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was as nice a complete dining exper ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was as nice a complete dining experience as we've had. Every thing was perfect. The halibut was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arguably one of the best chefs working o ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Arguably one of the best chefs working on Nantucket if not the best.

Service could be a bit better in keeping with the high quality of the food served. Engaging sommelier and very talented pastry chef.

We had a very enjoyable meal and I would be very happy to recommend this gem to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing scenery, directly on Jetties Bea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Amazing scenery, directly on Jetties Beach. Try and score a table for a unique sunset experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding. Service was fa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. Service was fantastic and wine list was well constructed. We enjoyed this meal immensely and the bartender Eleanor was very helpful and personable. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous setting off of Nantucket Main S ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fabulous setting off of Nantucket Main Street, with fantastic food.unfortunately the waiter was poor. Rachel who may have been a manager and/or owner made the experience better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We were seated indoors for a 6pm reserva ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were seated indoors for a 6pm reservation. It was too dark; I would have liked to see what I was eating... Found the food to be ok, nothing spectacular. Having dined at other local restaurants throughout the week, we found this place to be underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

American Seasons has terrific food and w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

American Seasons has terrific food and wonderful service. On this occasion, we split a bass crudo appetizer. It was fresh and delicious! I chose to order three appetizers and no entrée. I enjoyed gazpacho with crab, a fresh tomato salad, and foie gras. All were fabulous. I also ordered a rosé champagne that I loved. My husband chose the tomato salad and a chicken entree. We split a dessert that consisted of a roasted peach, a pistachio cake, and vanilla ice cream. We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant on Nantucket!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the striped bass served over summe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I had the striped bass served over summer squash which was fabulous. Portion size is a little small. Wife had a summer squash casserole which was also delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While the food was absolutely delicious ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While the food was absolutely delicious I have to agree for the prices (even at Nantucket prices) the portions were too small. I was hungry only an hour after my meal which included two delicious breads, the crudo and the steak. The steak was cooked perfectly to my taste, the bread was delicious. The drinks were quite good as well. While the restaurant and area are cute, the only qualm I had are the portions. I would go again and again if the portions reflected the prices. Like 15% more would have sufficed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Just not the same as the past. A bit ov ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just not the same as the past. A bit over priced for the value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service, very good preparation on ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great service, very good preparation on both fish dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unique pairings of well-prepared food. A ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Unique pairings of well-prepared food. A lovely warm setting for dining indoors or out. Great martinis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gourmet dinner

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

What a wonderful dinner we had! The food was superb, the presentation very appealing, and the service perfect. We were there for restaurant week and enjoyed three fabulous courses. This is one of the best restaurants on Nantucket. Look for it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Right ! We are NYC foodies that vis ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Just Right ! We are NYC foodies that visit the island each year and this was our first visit to the New American Seasons !! We will be back !! It was delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Best meal on island! Excellent ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing! Best meal on island! Excellent service and the best food, period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The worst service!! Rude waitress... Couldn't wait to leave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

sublime

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

Delicious food, sublime wine great service and suggestions from waitstaff and sommelier. A very warm welcome and a very memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seasonal Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

It is always a pleasure to eat at American Seasons. As the name of the restaurant suggests they tailor their menu to the season. I have never been disappointed with my meal and drink. The wait staff is attentive and knowledgable. Give it a try, highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Special Place

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Love the ambience.

Our server was adequate but not the caliber I would expect at a restaurant of this caliber and reputation and considering it was a slow evening.

A bit pretentious.

The nicest and friendliest person was the girl who cleared our plates and reset... .

Limited menu but very high quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A great late fall meal!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

The meal was, as usual, fabulous. The venison cooked to perfection. Our waiter was witty, knowledgeable and spot on with his choices. A perfect Thursday evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had an amazing experience at American ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

We had an amazing experience at American Seasons on Nantucket last night. The service was friendly, attentive and fun. The food was all exceptionally executed. The best pork belly I have ever had. The restaurant is situated in a quiet neighbor and offers a very comforting environment. I strongly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant, quiet location

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

The restaurant was a short walk from our hotel. Far enough from the main streets, so a quiet, romantic spot. The food was really delicious - both portions & quality. The main room is a little small, so it would not accommodate large groups, but there is a large outdoor space. Nonetheless, there was privacy, and great experience. We will return in the summer months!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.