Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

American Seasons

4.4
265 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Cozy
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Seasonal
American Seasons is situated in the heart of the downtown historic district of Nantucket, and will be open for Brunch and closed for dinner this Mother's day. It has become a hugely popular restaurant, well known for its creative and thoughtful take on contemporary seasonal cooking, coupled with friendly , attentive service.

The menu focuses on locally grown ingredients, carefully prepared, cooked and presented in a natural style.

Featuring over 500, American-produced wines, American Seasons’ award-winning, hard-to-get wine list is admired and emulated across the country.

Chef-Owner Neil Ferguson looks forward to welcoming you through the door of this Nantucket favorite.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Seven days a week serving dinner 5:30-10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(508) 228-7111
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Neil Ferguson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 265 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 2 days ago

We found it highly over rated. The food lacked even a modest "wow" and the service was no more attentive than the local burger joint. The cozy atmosphere people mention is certainly evident, but this is a restaurant riding on nostalgia. Sorry, we hoped for nothing more than a decent experience but found only the ambiance special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I booked this reservation to treat a friend (who was celebrating her 60th) and her husband. The husband arrived feeling ill and spent the majority of time in the rest room. They told me that the staff was so wonderful, kind, and helpful throughout. They, unfortunately, took their meals to go, but I think the staff deserves praise for their compassionate empathy! Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Fabulous meal here during Restaurant Week. Naz (sp?) took great care of us with his knowledge of the menu and good sense of humor. Always a great meal here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

One of my favorite spots on the island. So cozy and intimate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Divine place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

It’s early in the season and I suspect that they were training some new wait staff. We’ve been going there for years, old ownership and new, and the service is usually great. I expect that they’ll work the bugs out in the next week or two.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

This is one of our favorite Nantucket restaurants. We attended during Restaurant Week, For appetizers I had an absolutely delicious roasted pear and parsnip soup while my husband had the vidalia onion and bacon tart with duck egg which he really liked. We both had the veal canneloni which was perfectly prepared with veal that was almost meltingly soft and flavorful. The sauce along with the vegetables made this a perfect dish. I should also note we were served fresh from the oven rolls one of which had bacon it. So good! For dessert we shared a lemon posset with blackberry compote and candied lemon. The flavors were refreshing and the combinations were spot on. If I had one tiny criticism it would be that the posset was not set well. It should have been firmer. Service was excellent throughout the meal. The restaurant itself is warm and cozy with a covered patio that is popular during the warm weather months.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We come here every year. Always fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Very good food including Nantucket scallops. Seafood scampi was very good, salty for my taste but my friend disagreed. Early dining, so quieter than usual. I would hesitate to return. Prices quite reasonable for Nantucket.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Restaurant seated us very close to others even though there were several empty tables and it was difficult to hear.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Best food on Nantucket. My opinion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Restaurant had a cozy, charming atmosphere. The service was a bit slow but overall good. The food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

It is always a lovely dining experience there!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We ate dinner at American Seasons during Daffodil Festival weekend. Fantastic meal, one of the best we've ever eaten! The restaurant is quaint and cozy. Service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It was a wonderful experience as was our first visit. The ambiance was exquisite, food was delicious and the service was impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Another great meal at American Seasons! The Duck was fabulous. A great start to another "season".

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 3, 2017

IT WAS NIGHT AFTER CHRISTMAS STROLL AND JUST KIND OF REGULAR...EXPECTED MORE WOW

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Great restaurant,stellar wine list, pricey. Only negative was we were served two small pieces of bread, charged $18! We really weren't asked if we wanted bread and there was no mention on menu or by the server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Once again best meal! Thank you Ameican Season, for the amazing food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2017

There were few restaurants still open this late in the season on Nantucket, but we were directed here by our hotel. It was a great suggestion! The waiter was very helpful with both food and wine selection. The food was lovely and the ambiance quiet and conducive to conversation. I would recommend to friends and return myself.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2017

Best food on the island. Always wonderful. Love the cozy space. Been coming to ACK for 21 years. Food is pretty good everywhere. But American Seasons is a stand out. Miss Racheal terribly!!!! Bring her back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

Delicious food, and the entire staff was wonderful!! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 23, 2017

I went with my husband. We had nice quiet conversation. The staff was friendly. Our female server seemed shy and new, but a well-seasoned male server was able to describe the dishes and make tantalizing recommendations. The menu had to be explained to us, as it was so creative that it was difficult to imagine. We ended up sharing two appetizers and one entree and one desert. All was very tasty and ALL was made in-house. I would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Picked this spot to celebrate our wedding anniversary based on the good reviews. Really pleased with both the food and friendly service. The place was very cozy and would be ideal on cold winter evening. My husband and I both agreed that it was fantastic. We will definitely return during a future visit!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Food was excellent which is the most important thing. Service was pretty poor- lack of experienced waitstaff. My friend and I were mostly ignored for the majority of our dinner. I couldn't even get a refill on a glass of water - waited 15 minutes for that. Skipped dessert and walked to the local ice cream parlor for a scoop instead! Cheaper and served with a smile!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

We thought the dinner was creative and very seasonal. Though both of us were not a fan of the bacon rolls. It is the first time in a long time that both of us had trouble picking an entree from several good choices. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Wonderful staff and excellent food in a nicely restored very historic home.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 2, 2017

Well paced service with delicious offerings that were very well executed in perfect portions. We finished everything including dessert!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 30, 2017

When we arrived, we were seated on a Terrace that was enclosed by plastic sheeting. It was a very cool night and while the area was warm enough, cozy it was not. We asked to be seated inside and were told we had to have specified indoor seating for that to have happened. We then asked To sit in the bar area and were told it was full. When we left, the bar was empty and there were several empty tables inside. Dinner was delicious and our waiter was excellent but none of us would return. We do understand that a restaurant must take care of its regulars but we definitely felt marginal. Too many other excellent choices on this beautiful island.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 24, 2017

Very pricey, small portions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

A wonderful meal from start to finish. Lovely romantic ambiance. Exquisite gourmet fare. Charming service. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 13, 2017

We had a delicious meal at American Seasons; it never disappoints, and the service is exceptional. Can't wait to go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 12, 2017

Fantastic food, cozy atmosphere, and just overall great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 28, 2017

Need healthy (not heavy cheesy entrees) for vegetarians. More options for tween/teens.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2017

The most incredible dining experience I have ever had. Amazing food, ambiance, and service. Went for our anniversary and worth every penny

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Really great and very romantic atmosphere. Service was top notch. One of our top 3 go to restaurants on Nantucket.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 13, 2017

We had an early dinner reservation so we could make a 7P performance which left us with the odd situation of being the only diners. We were treated like royalty and enjoyed a delicious dinner. These folks know how to cook fish. I appreciated the wine suggestion. We will be back when on this beautiful Island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

We celebrated our 18the wedding anniversary. The experience was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

The food is really special ... unusual pairings with wow factor in presentation and flavor. Portions are right-sized. Wine selections terrific. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7