About American Kitchen Bar & Grill

American Kitchen Bar & Grill is a take on traditional American dishes made with fresh, locally-sourced ingredients from our Florida Family of Farms.

Share a communal table or intimate booth with friends and family and take your taste buds down “Gin Lane” with American Kitchen’s revival on classic cocktails with a modern twist.

You can choose from a variety of menu selections such as “For the Table” or “Tidbits from the Pantry. Start with a family-style Low Country Boil or Signature Smoke Platter followed up with Pretzel Dusted Fried Okra or Brown Butter Kitchen Fries. View our living garden where we harvest all of our greens and herbs used to create our signature dishes. American Kitchen Bar & Grill proudly takes part in the farm to table movement with food inspired by regional American cuisine. We invite you to come join us and experience our dynamic menu and hand-crafted cocktails.


1905 Hotel Plaza Blvd.
Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: 12pm-4pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Bar Hours: Mon-Thurs 12:00pm-12:00am; Fri-Sat 12:00pm-2:00am; Sun 12pm-12am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 827-3080

Website:
http://www.americankitchenbarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Free Valet Service and Hotel Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Venoy Rogers

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

American Kitchen Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

3.5

value

3.6

Noise

Quiet

50% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
See All
Comfort Food (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined 4 days ago

Hervorragendes New York Strip Steak gegessen. Als zusätzliche Beilage kann ich nur die Signature Fries empfehlen. Der Earthquake Cake als Nachtisch war unbeschreiblich! Preis-Leistung war top und wer im B Resort & Spa nächtigt bekommt auch noch einen 20% Rabatt Gutschein.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Fantastic food and great service. Alex did an awesome job

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Poor poor service for a restaurant that was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Overall was a good experience as food was good and customer service was wonderful.
The menu however could use an update as I barely knew what anything was or included and prices are high. Also wasnt many options. Serving was not enough to fill you up although it was tasteful. I had a Conventional Coconut cocktail which was great! And should been since its $13.
I wouldnt eat there again as a family though, more as a drink or 2 drop in.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Fresh, finest quality, delicious foods and absolutely fantastic cocktails!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Made Reservations stating it was for My Husband's 70th Birthday. We arrived early and sat at the bar. I asked the bartender for his menu of specialty drinks that I saw online. He said they didn't have a drink menu. At our table my husband ordered Cape Canaveral Rock Shrimp and Grits $26. Very small bowl and very few shrimp. I ordered Chicken and Waffles $25. One Waffle and small piece of chicken breast. That's ALL. The quality of the food was good but the quantity was not worth the price. We ordered Cheese cake and Key Lime pie $9 each. No recognition for the occasion although I mentioned it several times. I would NOT recommend it or do a return visit. Service was tolerable. We are Florida residents and HATE how our Tourist are treated sometimes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was not good at all. Service was awful... took forever to get a manager to talk to. It wasn't even busy and the server was no where to be found. It was us and 3 tables. The place was empty. For a resort, I expect more. The best thing I had was the burger from room service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food. Very pricey and somewhat small portions. Very nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The new menu items are so fresh and sophisticated flavors. The avacado appetizer was so good. Spicey with an amazing fresh cilantro lime sauce. Wow.
Great service with really enthusiastic staff. We were treated beautifully and enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The restaurant is located at the B Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida. My experience with restaurants in hotels has been mixed but after a long drive, we thought we'd take a chance. The server told us the restaurant tries to source all their ingredients locally. The offerings on the menu looked creative but not inexpensive. We opted for the night special which were pulled pork tacos and tequila The tacos were reasonably priced and delicious. Besides the flavorable pork, they were filled with pickled red onion and fresh cilantro. The margarita was ok. At the time we were there, the restaurant was not busy. If we happen to stay at the B Resort again, we would probably eat at this restaurant again.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Excellent service and food was great--farm fresh.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our server Kabir was amazing and made the high quality food even better - great experience. Try the skirt steak or the chicken and waffles and wash it down with the passion fruit margarita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Simple and rustic, but the pizza was very underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing food!! Presentation was impeccable!! We did everything from drinks , food and dessert!! Chocolate cake is a must! Cocktails were fresh as in fresh lemon and Tito's!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food and service again for the second night! Wish this restaurant was nearer to home in Northern VA😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food and service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It wasn't what I expected when looking at reviews, but was pleased with what it was. Somehow, I had the impression that it was more up scale, but it was rather casual. Which was good, but not what I was expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with a colleague after a day of work in the Orlando area. The beef short rib was cooked sous vide and was very tender & tasty, with a nice, rich sauce. My colleague had the Waygu burger and he seemed pleased with it. Lots of food, couldn't finish it all, and I'm a scratch eater. Not exactly in a restaurant row, worth the effort to find it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Obsequious service
The short rib was a bone and gristle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I loved the farm to table idea. Everything is locally grown, raised or "fished". They grow all their herbs for the bar right at the bar and for the restaurant right in the restaurant on an old farm truck. The food was good with options like chicken and waffles, wehole whet pizzas, local seafood and macaroni and cheese.

NOTE: The restaurant/hostess did something with our reservation that cannceled it out of the system, so our 1000 point dinner did not calculate on my account. Had to go through customer service to get the points posted. I would just double check at the podium and then check your points the following day.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The DESCRIPTION of the food preparation got me there -- the idea of local sourced meats and vegetables and so on. But I didn't see all that much care in terms of the actual food. It wasn't bad - but I can't say it was all that good either. The steak in particular was very tough -- As for the decor -- liked the pickup but other than that the place is one big open hall -- not very personable --- the service was slow and that was surprising considering there were only about five tables occupied -- soooo -- it was okay. Overpriced for the quality of food though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was quite good and the salad was grown on site. My only complaint and it's not huge is the cost was a bit more then I expected. 2 entrees, a bar drink and desert ran $100.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

we were there for Thanksgiving and service was awesome. thanks Michelle!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The entrees were both very good especially the grilled shrimp and scallops. Service from Betsy was personable and efficient. The valet parking is complementary. Very nice dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Went on Magical Dining Menu, as I wanted the rock shrimp and grits. You had to look really hard to find the shrimp in a huge bowl of grits. Could not have been more than 6, and rock shrimp are little. Husband had the salmon, he said it was "OK". Waitress was outstanding, did everything she could to accommodate us. When I complained about lack of shrimp, she told the manager, and $4.50 was taken off the bill. All in all, though, it was a very disappointing experience. Upon looking at the regular, non Magical Dining Menu, there is nothing on that menu that would make me go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We selected this restaurant because it was on the listing for the magical dining month in Orlando. It was a little hard to fine because it's actually in Hotel B. Great restaurant good with a good variety of food. I would definitelyrecommend this restaurant. The food is natural , no artificial ingredients, locally grown produce. Truly enjoyed my meal and the waiter service was excellent .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Over priced horrible service. Screwed up the meal twice and nothing said other than oops. Menu items fresh to table was a complete joke. Frozen desert and the food was cold. Not worth going at all and manager did not even care about how bad it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Needed some serious cleaning
Food looked good, service was polite but slow.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Unfortunately the food was truly terrible. Our waitress was wonderful, our cocktails were very good. In the end the very apologetic manager only charged us for our cocktails. Potential there, but certainly not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great decor, service was very attentive, food was first rate. Fresh ingredients, well prepared. All you can eat burger, fries and all you can drink beer special on Mondays for $10 is an incredible deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Don't waist your time on this one, food is way overpriced, service very slow, not impressed with food as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was not that good. The best thing was the margarita. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food that was good like the jerk skirt steak and the spoon bread was great but the other food was so so even blah, cream corn, deviled eggs, salad. The service was kind of slow as well. Overpriced burger was $26!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Let's start off on the positive side: the staff here is pretty good. They're attentive and helpful.

Now on to the rest. We chose this restaurant to visit based on reviews and ratings on a few apps. Unfortunately, when we visited, the menu had recently been completely scrapped and overhauled to create a new image. Instead of the reasonably priced food we expected, we were paying for subpar salads priced as if they were prime rib or market fresh fish.

I'm not kidding on this. I ordered a chicken Caesar salad for over $20. Ok, we were too hungry at that point to turn back so we tried to make the best of it. The Caesar salad is hard to mess up. In messing up, they are overachievers. It was served on a skillet (?!) and was basically a wedge salad. It was sliced in quarters and you received two quarters with a bit of cheese and 2 slices of chicken on it. So basically I paid for half a head of lettuce with no dressing (I squeezed lemon from a drink on it just to give it flavor) and a meager few slices of poultry.

It tasted just like you would expect plain farm fresh salad to taste like. Fresh lettuce. Hooray.

The new menu is awful for the palate and the pocketbook. It was no wonder this place was deserted on a Friday night. Steer clear unless you enjoy ridiculously bland food for ridiculously high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was empty when I went in. Had the special. It was OK. Loved the music they played! Decor is cute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is clearly a restaurant surviving on being in a hotel. I hoped it'd be nice but it was everything all the other review stated. I ordered sliders and the bun was a larger hamburger bun broken into 4 pieces. Pretty embarrassing for any chef. The salad bar was minimal. They were out of 2 beverages we wanted. The server was slow an blamed how busy they were, which was sad because there were 6 full tables. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was fine, the food was pricey, and the quality was below average. For the cost, you'd be better off at a chain restaurant like Chili's.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 29, 2016

From the bright Red farm truck doubling as a salad bar, to the farmhouse decor, spending time in the American Kitchen is visually enjoyable. The menu is simple, American homestyle and a bit overpriced. I guess it's expected close to Disney. The wait staff was attentive, the bar service prompt, however the kitchen is slow. There were only six people in the restaurant, including our party of four, and a rib platter, grouper dish, and a pair of hot dogs took about 30 minutes from order to table. The other patrons experienced a similar level of service. Maybe we caught the chef on an off-night. The server was friendly, we'll give them another shot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The design is fun, the wait staff is very good, and there was a lot of open space, which seems unusual. I'm used to dodging and bumping into tables on the way to my table. This layout isn't crammed with tables, so it's very inviting.

Having said that, the prices are high for the quality of the food. The quantity seemed fine, but it wasn't as top-notch as the prices suggest. The gigantic piece of prime rib was super tough, which was incredibly suprising to me, as it was not only the most expensive thing on the menu, but also the "daily special", and labelled "all-you-can-eat". Disappointing, although the shrimp and grits that my wife had were okay.

We didn't have drinks, but there is also a separate bar area that looked fine, with the same open floor plan. Very inviting.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2016

the food we had was solid.. huge portions, burgers were solid choices.. it was a little annoying hearing once, twice, thrice that they were out of something. some beer options, some entree options, some dessert options all got the same 'sorry we are out of this' or 'sorry we are changing our menu and no longer have this dish'

it's not a problem if they say this up front, or offer some comparable alternative, but finding out as you go to order was not well received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.