About American Kitchen Bar & Grill

American Kitchen Bar & Grill is a take on traditional American dishes made with fresh, locally-sourced ingredients from our Florida Family of Farms.

Share a communal table or intimate booth with friends and family and take your taste buds down “Gin Lane” with American Kitchen’s revival on classic cocktails with a modern twist.

You can choose from a variety of menu selections such as “For the Table” or “Tidbits from the Pantry. Start with a family-style Low Country Boil or Signature Smoke Platter followed up with Pretzel Dusted Fried Okra or Brown Butter Kitchen Fries. View our living garden where we harvest all of our greens and herbs used to create our signature dishes. American Kitchen Bar & Grill proudly takes part in the farm to table movement with food inspired by regional American cuisine. We invite you to come join us and experience our dynamic menu and hand-crafted cocktails.


1905 Hotel Plaza Blvd.
Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: 12pm-4pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Bar Hours: Mon-Thurs 12:00pm-12:00am; Fri-Sat 12:00pm-2:00am; Sun 12pm-12am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 827-3080

Website:
http://www.americankitchenbarandgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Free Valet Service and Hotel Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Venoy Rogers

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Manic Mondays

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Tacos & Tequila Tuesday

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Pizza & Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Tasting Thursdays $15

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Flight Fridays, Live Music

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

American Kitchen Saturday Live

Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

American Kitchen Service Industry Sundays!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Manic Mondays

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

All You Can Eat Burgers and Draft Beer For Only $15 Available from 5:00 PM till 10:00 PM Every Monday Night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 24, 2017 - Jun 24, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Tacos & Tequila Tuesday

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

$3 Artisan Tacos, $4 Tequila Drinks and $6 Premium Margaritas Available from 5:00 PM till 10:00 PM Every Tuesday Night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 24, 2017 - Jun 24, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Pizza & Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Pizza Pie + Bottle of Wine $25 Available from 5:00 PM till 10:00 PM Every Wednesday Night! House wine only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 24, 2017 - Jun 24, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Tasting Thursdays $15

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

3 Chef Created Small Plates + Glass of Wine or Draft Beer $15 Available from 5:00 PM till 10:00 PM Every Thursday Night! House wine and Draft beer only!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 24, 2017 - Jun 24, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Flight Fridays, Live Music

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Flight Fridays, Live Music and $12 Beer Flights. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 3, 2017 - Jul 3, 2017 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

American Kitchen Saturday Live

Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Live Music, All Day Happy Hour and Creative $6 Bar Snacks. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 4, 2017 - Jul 4, 2017 on Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

American Kitchen Service Industry Sundays!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

First Drink Free with Pay Stub or ID From Any Hospitality Employer. $6 Creative Bar Snacks All Night. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 5, 2017 - Jul 5, 2017 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 8:00PM

American Kitchen Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Organic (3)
See All
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined a day ago

Simple and rustic, but the pizza was very underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food!! Presentation was impeccable!! We did everything from drinks , food and dessert!! Chocolate cake is a must! Cocktails were fresh as in fresh lemon and Tito's!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food and service again for the second night! Wish this restaurant was nearer to home in Northern VA😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food and service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It wasn't what I expected when looking at reviews, but was pleased with what it was. Somehow, I had the impression that it was more up scale, but it was rather casual. Which was good, but not what I was expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with a colleague after a day of work in the Orlando area. The beef short rib was cooked sous vide and was very tender & tasty, with a nice, rich sauce. My colleague had the Waygu burger and he seemed pleased with it. Lots of food, couldn't finish it all, and I'm a scratch eater. Not exactly in a restaurant row, worth the effort to find it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Obsequious service
The short rib was a bone and gristle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I loved the farm to table idea. Everything is locally grown, raised or "fished". They grow all their herbs for the bar right at the bar and for the restaurant right in the restaurant on an old farm truck. The food was good with options like chicken and waffles, wehole whet pizzas, local seafood and macaroni and cheese.

NOTE: The restaurant/hostess did something with our reservation that cannceled it out of the system, so our 1000 point dinner did not calculate on my account. Had to go through customer service to get the points posted. I would just double check at the podium and then check your points the following day.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The DESCRIPTION of the food preparation got me there -- the idea of local sourced meats and vegetables and so on. But I didn't see all that much care in terms of the actual food. It wasn't bad - but I can't say it was all that good either. The steak in particular was very tough -- As for the decor -- liked the pickup but other than that the place is one big open hall -- not very personable --- the service was slow and that was surprising considering there were only about five tables occupied -- soooo -- it was okay. Overpriced for the quality of food though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was quite good and the salad was grown on site. My only complaint and it's not huge is the cost was a bit more then I expected. 2 entrees, a bar drink and desert ran $100.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

we were there for Thanksgiving and service was awesome. thanks Michelle!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The entrees were both very good especially the grilled shrimp and scallops. Service from Betsy was personable and efficient. The valet parking is complementary. Very nice dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Went on Magical Dining Menu, as I wanted the rock shrimp and grits. You had to look really hard to find the shrimp in a huge bowl of grits. Could not have been more than 6, and rock shrimp are little. Husband had the salmon, he said it was "OK". Waitress was outstanding, did everything she could to accommodate us. When I complained about lack of shrimp, she told the manager, and $4.50 was taken off the bill. All in all, though, it was a very disappointing experience. Upon looking at the regular, non Magical Dining Menu, there is nothing on that menu that would make me go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We selected this restaurant because it was on the listing for the magical dining month in Orlando. It was a little hard to fine because it's actually in Hotel B. Great restaurant good with a good variety of food. I would definitelyrecommend this restaurant. The food is natural , no artificial ingredients, locally grown produce. Truly enjoyed my meal and the waiter service was excellent .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Over priced horrible service. Screwed up the meal twice and nothing said other than oops. Menu items fresh to table was a complete joke. Frozen desert and the food was cold. Not worth going at all and manager did not even care about how bad it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Needed some serious cleaning
Food looked good, service was polite but slow.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Unfortunately the food was truly terrible. Our waitress was wonderful, our cocktails were very good. In the end the very apologetic manager only charged us for our cocktails. Potential there, but certainly not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great decor, service was very attentive, food was first rate. Fresh ingredients, well prepared. All you can eat burger, fries and all you can drink beer special on Mondays for $10 is an incredible deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Don't waist your time on this one, food is way overpriced, service very slow, not impressed with food as well.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was not that good. The best thing was the margarita. We will not be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food that was good like the jerk skirt steak and the spoon bread was great but the other food was so so even blah, cream corn, deviled eggs, salad. The service was kind of slow as well. Overpriced burger was $26!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Let's start off on the positive side: the staff here is pretty good. They're attentive and helpful.

Now on to the rest. We chose this restaurant to visit based on reviews and ratings on a few apps. Unfortunately, when we visited, the menu had recently been completely scrapped and overhauled to create a new image. Instead of the reasonably priced food we expected, we were paying for subpar salads priced as if they were prime rib or market fresh fish.

I'm not kidding on this. I ordered a chicken Caesar salad for over $20. Ok, we were too hungry at that point to turn back so we tried to make the best of it. The Caesar salad is hard to mess up. In messing up, they are overachievers. It was served on a skillet (?!) and was basically a wedge salad. It was sliced in quarters and you received two quarters with a bit of cheese and 2 slices of chicken on it. So basically I paid for half a head of lettuce with no dressing (I squeezed lemon from a drink on it just to give it flavor) and a meager few slices of poultry.

It tasted just like you would expect plain farm fresh salad to taste like. Fresh lettuce. Hooray.

The new menu is awful for the palate and the pocketbook. It was no wonder this place was deserted on a Friday night. Steer clear unless you enjoy ridiculously bland food for ridiculously high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was empty when I went in. Had the special. It was OK. Loved the music they played! Decor is cute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is clearly a restaurant surviving on being in a hotel. I hoped it'd be nice but it was everything all the other review stated. I ordered sliders and the bun was a larger hamburger bun broken into 4 pieces. Pretty embarrassing for any chef. The salad bar was minimal. They were out of 2 beverages we wanted. The server was slow an blamed how busy they were, which was sad because there were 6 full tables. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 30, 2016

The service was fine, the food was pricey, and the quality was below average. For the cost, you'd be better off at a chain restaurant like Chili's.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 29, 2016

From the bright Red farm truck doubling as a salad bar, to the farmhouse decor, spending time in the American Kitchen is visually enjoyable. The menu is simple, American homestyle and a bit overpriced. I guess it's expected close to Disney. The wait staff was attentive, the bar service prompt, however the kitchen is slow. There were only six people in the restaurant, including our party of four, and a rib platter, grouper dish, and a pair of hot dogs took about 30 minutes from order to table. The other patrons experienced a similar level of service. Maybe we caught the chef on an off-night. The server was friendly, we'll give them another shot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The design is fun, the wait staff is very good, and there was a lot of open space, which seems unusual. I'm used to dodging and bumping into tables on the way to my table. This layout isn't crammed with tables, so it's very inviting.

Having said that, the prices are high for the quality of the food. The quantity seemed fine, but it wasn't as top-notch as the prices suggest. The gigantic piece of prime rib was super tough, which was incredibly suprising to me, as it was not only the most expensive thing on the menu, but also the "daily special", and labelled "all-you-can-eat". Disappointing, although the shrimp and grits that my wife had were okay.

We didn't have drinks, but there is also a separate bar area that looked fine, with the same open floor plan. Very inviting.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2016

the food we had was solid.. huge portions, burgers were solid choices.. it was a little annoying hearing once, twice, thrice that they were out of something. some beer options, some entree options, some dessert options all got the same 'sorry we are out of this' or 'sorry we are changing our menu and no longer have this dish'

it's not a problem if they say this up front, or offer some comparable alternative, but finding out as you go to order was not well received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Took the family (youngest) for birthday lunch Sunday. There were only a few patrons there so that was nice. A little pricey but this is Disney. The hamburgers were fantastic. There was a pasta dish with bison I can't remember the name of but everyone loved it. A cuban rueben was enjoyed. Wally the waiter was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great burgers and loved the salad bar. Our waitress was a doll too. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Though it was slow and there weren't many occupied tables, the service was sluggish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Family of 2 adults and 3 kids (13, 10 & 4) looking for something quick and easy near Disney Springs without enduring the long lines inside. Easy location with free parking in a sharp hotel "B" Hotel and Spa.
Typical family order of burgers, salad, chicken fingers and hot dogs the plates were cleared and not a morsel was left.
Price was lower than the typical spots we ate at through the week; $50-$60 (we don't have alcohol).
I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 24, 2016

The food was ok. For the price it was not that special. Our group ordered a variety of dishes and no one finished their meal. It was a Thursday evening at 7 and they were already out of three entrees, a starter and three draught beer choices. They had a live band, the covers of the songs were ok but it was so loud that our group couldn't talk from one end of the table to the other. Over all I'm not impressed enough to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 23, 2016

The cost of our meal compared to the quality and poorly prepared steaks was very disappointing. The grouper was good. The loud trivia during our dinner was also very challenging to talk over. Not worth the $$$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 22, 2016

I am so sorry to post a negative review but I really have little positive to say here. Low to average food, at best.

Very overpriced Shrimp and grits a dish my wife typically loves, but here would not even finish; a below average burger for me, (you have to try really hard to mess up a burger) and what my three children described as "tasteless" chicken strips (another miraculous feat for a group of kids who cannot be convinced chicken strips are not one of the four food groups.)

The one positive was the special, $10 all the burgers you can eat and all the draft beers you can drink.
For the value, particularly if you're not picky about your food, that's truly hard to beat. Otherwise, you're better off at Red Robin or dare I even say it, Friday's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 8, 2016

the food was just so-so, but the dessert was great. We had a 5:00 reservation because we skipped lunch. The restaurant was nearly empty. The salad bar was excellent as was the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Super Bowl Sunday and we still received super service and great food. When I made the reservation I requested a table in the bar area with an unobstructed view of the TV to watch the Super Bowl game. The restaurant gave us exactly what we requested.

The salad bar is outstanding and loaded with the freshest meats, vegetables, greens, soups and homemade dressings. The fried chicken and waffles where very good and I asked for carrots in place of fried okra. Our server Mark was also the bartender. He didn't miss a beat and gave excellent table service

Will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2016

We had just arrived to the area. We're looking for something good with open seating available. This place was hard to find, our food took way to long to get served - it wasn't busy, so not sure the hold up, over priced and fair quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Very limited menu. I ordered chicken and it tasted like nothing. Very expensive for the kind of food ($35 for pork chops). Service was fair. Waiter went to the table twice because we called him. Never offered water or dessert. Maybe I expected more because it is in a hotel and I had been there before when it was American Q. This time it was empty, only 5 tables occupied on a sunday night. I will not go back and will not reccomend to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 26, 2015

I read the reviews but I thought I would give the place a chance. Next time I'll take reviews into consideration. The server was friendly but overall the service was slow. The greet was about 7 or 8 minutes. The drinks did drag, about 10 minutes and no bev naps. The entire dining experience took almost two hours, which was fine, we weren't in a hurry. But this isn't an quick in and quick out sort of place. When the food finally arrived it was hot but not amazing, we had burgers, which weren't bad. Ribs which were dry and hard and finally fried chicken that was a little dry and heavily seasoned with rose mary. I don't like rose Mary but plenty of people do. The waffle fries were good the okra was delightful. Food was dropped and we didn't see the server again for about 15 minutes. No check back and drink refills were hard to come by. At the end I was handed a stack of boxes to box my own food. Perhaps it's a personal thing but I've always found that annoying. There were a total of four tables in the restaurant and two servers on the floor. We shouldn't have had to wait for anything. The experience was disappointing. But it was Christmas and we made the most of our company. Environment is nice. Plenty to look out but not overwhelming. The truck is charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.