About American Kitchen Bar & Grill

1905 Hotel Plaza Blvd.
Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
View Larger Map

American Kitchen Bar & Grill is a take on traditional American dishes made with fresh, locally-sourced ingredients from our Florida Family of Farms.

Share a communal table or intimate booth with friends and family and take your taste buds down “Gin Lane” with American Kitchen’s revival on classic cocktails with a modern twist.

You can choose from a variety of menu selections such as “For the Table” or “Tidbits from the Pantry. Start with a family-style Low Country Boil or Signature Smoke Platter followed up with Pretzel Dusted Fried Okra or Brown Butter Kitchen Fries. View our living garden where we harvest all of our greens and herbs used to create our signature dishes. American Kitchen Bar & Grill proudly takes part in the farm to table movement with food inspired by regional American cuisine. We invite you to come join us and experience our dynamic menu and hand-crafted cocktails.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: 12pm-4pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Bar Hours: Mon-Thurs 12:00pm-12:00am; Fri-Sat 12:00pm-2:00am; Sun 12pm-12am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 827-3080

Website:
http://www.bresortlbv.com/

Parking Details:
Free Valet Service and Hotel Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Justin Leo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • American Kitchen Bar & Grill
American Kitchen Bar & Grill

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 8:00PM

American Kitchen Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Orlando
Best Restaurants in Lake Buena Vista ›

good for groups (4)
fit for foodies (3)
kid-friendly (3)
See All
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
25 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Don't waist your time on this one, food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Don't waist your time on this one, food is way overpriced, service very slow, not impressed with food as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food was not that good. The best thing ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was not that good. The best thing was the margarita. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The food that was good like the jerk ski ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food that was good like the jerk skirt steak and the spoon bread was great but the other food was so so even blah, cream corn, deviled eggs, salad. The service was kind of slow as well. Overpriced burger was $26!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Let's start off on the positive side: th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Let's start off on the positive side: the staff here is pretty good. They're attentive and helpful.

Now on to the rest. We chose this restaurant to visit based on reviews and ratings on a few apps. Unfortunately, when we visited, the menu had recently been completely scrapped and overhauled to create a new image. Instead of the reasonably priced food we expected, we were paying for subpar salads priced as if they were prime rib or market fresh fish.

I'm not kidding on this. I ordered a chicken Caesar salad for over $20. Ok, we were too hungry at that point to turn back so we tried to make the best of it. The Caesar salad is hard to mess up. In messing up, they are overachievers. It was served on a skillet (?!) and was basically a wedge salad. It was sliced in quarters and you received two quarters with a bit of cheese and 2 slices of chicken on it. So basically I paid for half a head of lettuce with no dressing (I squeezed lemon from a drink on it just to give it flavor) and a meager few slices of poultry.

It tasted just like you would expect plain farm fresh salad to taste like. Fresh lettuce. Hooray.

The new menu is awful for the palate and the pocketbook. It was no wonder this place was deserted on a Friday night. Steer clear unless you enjoy ridiculously bland food for ridiculously high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

It was empty when I went in. Had the spe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was empty when I went in. Had the special. It was OK. Loved the music they played! Decor is cute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This is clearly a restaurant surviving o ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is clearly a restaurant surviving on being in a hotel. I hoped it'd be nice but it was everything all the other review stated. I ordered sliders and the bun was a larger hamburger bun broken into 4 pieces. Pretty embarrassing for any chef. The salad bar was minimal. They were out of 2 beverages we wanted. The server was slow an blamed how busy they were, which was sad because there were 6 full tables. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Easy to get into, food average at best.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The service was fine, the food was pricey, and the quality was below average. For the cost, you'd be better off at a chain restaurant like Chili's.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

American Farmhouse

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

From the bright Red farm truck doubling as a salad bar, to the farmhouse decor, spending time in the American Kitchen is visually enjoyable. The menu is simple, American homestyle and a bit overpriced. I guess it's expected close to Disney. The wait staff was attentive, the bar service prompt, however the kitchen is slow. There were only six people in the restaurant, including our party of four, and a rib platter, grouper dish, and a pair of hot dogs took about 30 minutes from order to table. The other patrons experienced a similar level of service. Maybe we caught the chef on an off-night. The server was friendly, we'll give them another shot.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The design is fun, the wait staff is ver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The design is fun, the wait staff is very good, and there was a lot of open space, which seems unusual. I'm used to dodging and bumping into tables on the way to my table. This layout isn't crammed with tables, so it's very inviting.

Having said that, the prices are high for the quality of the food. The quantity seemed fine, but it wasn't as top-notch as the prices suggest. The gigantic piece of prime rib was super tough, which was incredibly suprising to me, as it was not only the most expensive thing on the menu, but also the "daily special", and labelled "all-you-can-eat". Disappointing, although the shrimp and grits that my wife had were okay.

We didn't have drinks, but there is also a separate bar area that looked fine, with the same open floor plan. Very inviting.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

good food, out of too many items

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

the food we had was solid.. huge portions, burgers were solid choices.. it was a little annoying hearing once, twice, thrice that they were out of something. some beer options, some entree options, some dessert options all got the same 'sorry we are out of this' or 'sorry we are changing our menu and no longer have this dish'

it's not a problem if they say this up front, or offer some comparable alternative, but finding out as you go to order was not well received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Took the family (youngest) for birthday ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Took the family (youngest) for birthday lunch Sunday. There were only a few patrons there so that was nice. A little pricey but this is Disney. The hamburgers were fantastic. There was a pasta dish with bison I can't remember the name of but everyone loved it. A cuban rueben was enjoyed. Wally the waiter was fantastic.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great burgers and loved the salad bar. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great burgers and loved the salad bar. Our waitress was a doll too. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Though it was slow and there weren't man ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Though it was slow and there weren't many occupied tables, the service was sluggish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Family lunch (late afternoon)

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Family of 2 adults and 3 kids (13, 10 & 4) looking for something quick and easy near Disney Springs without enduring the long lines inside. Easy location with free parking in a sharp hotel "B" Hotel and Spa.

Typical family order of burgers, salad, chicken fingers and hot dogs the plates were cleared and not a morsel was left.

Price was lower than the typical spots we ate at through the week; $50-$60 (we don't have alcohol).

I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Priced way too high for food quality

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The cost of our meal compared to the quality and poorly prepared steaks was very disappointing. The grouper was good. The loud trivia during our dinner was also very challenging to talk over. Not worth the $$$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Less than wonderful, sad to say.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

I am so sorry to post a negative review but I really have little positive to say here. Low to average food, at best.

Very overpriced Shrimp and grits a dish my wife typically loves, but here would not even finish; a below average burger for me, (you have to try really hard to mess up a burger) and what my three children described as "tasteless" chicken strips (another miraculous feat for a group of kids who cannot be convinced chicken strips are not one of the four food groups.)

The one positive was the special, $10 all the burgers you can eat and all the draft beers you can drink.

For the value, particularly if you're not picky about your food, that's truly hard to beat. Otherwise, you're better off at Red Robin or dare I even say it, Friday's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

located in Disney hotel area

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

the food was just so-so, but the dessert was great. We had a 5:00 reservation because we skipped lunch. The restaurant was nearly empty. The salad bar was excellent as was the service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Super Bowl Sunday and we still received ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Super Bowl Sunday and we still received super service and great food. When I made the reservation I requested a table in the bar area with an unobstructed view of the TV to watch the Super Bowl game. The restaurant gave us exactly what we requested.

The salad bar is outstanding and loaded with the freshest meats, vegetables, greens, soups and homemade dressings. The fried chicken and waffles where very good and I asked for carrots in place of fried okra. Our server Mark was also the bartender. He didn't miss a beat and gave excellent table service

Will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had just arrived to the area. We're l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We had just arrived to the area. We're looking for something good with open seating available. This place was hard to find, our food took way to long to get served - it wasn't busy, so not sure the hold up, over priced and fair quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Do not eat there

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Very limited menu. I ordered chicken and it tasted like nothing. Very expensive for the kind of food ($35 for pork chops). Service was fair. Waiter went to the table twice because we called him. Never offered water or dessert. Maybe I expected more because it is in a hotel and I had been there before when it was American Q. This time it was empty, only 5 tables occupied on a sunday night. I will not go back and will not reccomend to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I read the reviews but I thought I would ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

I read the reviews but I thought I would give the place a chance. Next time I'll take reviews into consideration. The server was friendly but overall the service was slow. The greet was about 7 or 8 minutes. The drinks did drag, about 10 minutes and no bev naps. The entire dining experience took almost two hours, which was fine, we weren't in a hurry. But this isn't an quick in and quick out sort of place. When the food finally arrived it was hot but not amazing, we had burgers, which weren't bad. Ribs which were dry and hard and finally fried chicken that was a little dry and heavily seasoned with rose mary. I don't like rose Mary but plenty of people do. The waffle fries were good the okra was delightful. Food was dropped and we didn't see the server again for about 15 minutes. No check back and drink refills were hard to come by. At the end I was handed a stack of boxes to box my own food. Perhaps it's a personal thing but I've always found that annoying. There were a total of four tables in the restaurant and two servers on the floor. We shouldn't have had to wait for anything. The experience was disappointing. But it was Christmas and we made the most of our company. Environment is nice. Plenty to look out but not overwhelming. The truck is charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

It wasn't what we were expecting.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Apparently the menu had changed significantly but the menu on the website had not. Wasn't what we were expecting but the salad bar was good and the service was excellent - very friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Definitely a "miss" on service and quality

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

After reading excellent reviews of American Kitchen, we booked a table for our group of 10 adults on a Monday evening. Surprisingly when we arrived at 8pm there were only a handful of other diners. As we were all starving, we immediately ordered salads, soups, and drinks. Those that ordered salad bar were able to visit immediately, but sadly the other items, including the water and alcoholic drinks, did not arrive for well over 45 minutes. With only 5-6 other patrons in the restaurant we weren't sure what the hold up could be, although the manager did apologize that we had been the first table to order the Barrel of Margaritas and "no one was trained in how to make them". Eventually the other entrees arrived, which were fine, but not exceptional, especially after waiting well over an hour. We were surprised that even after a manager apology, our bill was not adjusted in any way for the extreme delay in drinks and food. We wanted to like this restaurant but unfortunately found it a miss on both service and quality and will not return in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Wedding Anniversary Meal

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We booked the restaurant on the expectation of a BBQ style meal, with the entrees served at the table and the salad bar on the flatbed. On arrival we found that this format had ended some 7 days earlier although the Opentable website was still offering it 3 days after the change.

The staff were very apologetic for the misleading information but explained fully the new style menu, with its speciality courses.

From that point on, we could not fault the service for both drinks and food and the quality of the food was exceptional and certainly made our Wedding Anniversary special!

We would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant and will certainly plan on going again.

Jim & Brenda Stuttard

UK

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good bbq...little pricey

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

Good bbq...little pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.