About American Cut

363 Greenwich Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

American Cut is LDV Hospitality’s new American, signature steakhouse, brought to life by Iron Chef Marc Forgione. Located in the heart of Tribeca at 363 Greenwich Street, between Franklin and Harrison.

Our 180-seat restaurant combines modern design with art deco accents, culminating in a monumental space filled with fine food, spirits and culinary prowess.

We invite you to indulge in our spectacular Tomahawk Ribeye Chop for two or try our Seafood Tasting featuring our signature Chili Lobster paired with a glass of wine from our extensive wine list.

With two private dining rooms and a private bar for groups of all sizes, we are the perfect location for intimate special events, large-scale after-work parties and everything in between.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin & Harrison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-4736

Website:
http://www.ldvhospitality.com/brands/american-cut/

Entertainment:
Monday Night Football in The Morrison Room

Executive Chef:
Marc Forgione

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • American Cut
  • American Cut
  • American Cut
  • American Cut
American Cut
American Cut
American Cut
American Cut

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

American Cut offers a variety of private events spaces perfect for corporate or social private dining occasions. We offer a selection of private event menus curated to best fit you and your guests’ needs.

American Cut Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown ›

special occasion (41)
fit for foodies (37)
good for groups (34)
See All
notable wine list (27)
romantic (24)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I stayed in New York for three nights an ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

I stayed in New York for three nights and I ate at America's Cut on two of those evenings. A little on the pricey side, but goo services and very tasty steaks and seafood!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good and unusual New York cut steak ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good and unusual New York cut steak. Great to try something unusual. Noise levels were very too high, but such is life. Good service, good food, just a little privet - especially the wine list.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was not bad but especially steak (w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was not bad but especially steak (we ordered NY cut and one more 30days dry aged steak) wasn't impressed...

My wife and me could't taste that both of them were 30days dry aged. In addition, I ordered medium rare but they came medium or medium well done.

However, its atmosphere is very nice and waiters are also good.

I hope your improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Absolut outstanding We are a Swedish f ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolut outstanding

We are a Swedish familfamilly,

spending some time NY

Always staying at

the exelent Greenwich Hotel.

American Cut.

One of the best restaurants so far

We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music too loud and a little obnoxious. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Music too loud and a little obnoxious. Would have preferred to be able to comfortably hear my dinner companions during conversation and listen to something a little more laid back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

First time at American Cut. Girlfriend's ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

First time at American Cut. Girlfriend's short ribs were too salty, and my steak was too hard and chewy. For the price one pays at this restaurant, this place was not worth it AT ALL. Easily the worst steakhouse I have ever been to. Basically went in with Ruth Chris expectations and came out thinking I just ate at Applebee's.

Service was actually pretty good, but quality of food supersedes everything else.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Reservation was made for Sat for group o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Reservation was made for Sat for group of 7 for 6:30 but we were running late. I called to notified the restaurant that we would be running 30 minutes late, they were quite accommodating. When we arrived, the host greeted us and informed us about the temperature at the main dinning room was a little warmer than usual and if we would like to sit somewhere else. The temperature was comfortable, just not cold. Sommelier recommended a similar wine I wanted but at a 30% cheaper.

Overall, the service at American Cut was at tentative. Ceviche and oysters in the seafood tower were fresh. Bone marrow and grilled octopus are must. They were so delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorably outstanding food, and great se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Memorably outstanding food, and great service. I give it my highest recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The AC was out in the dining room on Fri ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The AC was out in the dining room on Friday eve 7/8

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic meal with exceptional service! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic meal with exceptional service! Just perfect for a special date night with my husband.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dine out frequently and rarely leave f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I dine out frequently and rarely leave feedback, but I make exception for standout experiences. Unfortunately, this was a negative standout. In fact, it was abhorrent and reminded me of a Times Square tourist trap steak house (and yes, it was packed with tourists who don't know better - and locals who will probably never return lured in by an attractive facade).

The NYC Cut steak was truly disappointing, and little else we ordered made up for it. Combine that with very poor service and you've got a formula for another likely casualty in the restaurant industry. I saw our waiter once, expressed my opinion that the steak was lackluster after he asked. Likely out of shame and embarrassment, he chose to ignore the feedback. He also decided to hide and not bring out the check himself despite a relatively empty restaurant.

There are many great steak options in the city, so don't waste your time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful service over cooked steak. Wolfgan ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Awful service over cooked steak. Wolfgangs down the street is way better as are a number of other steakhouses such as old homestead, Maestros, Del Friscos, and of course quality meats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We loved it. Order the cauliflower.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We loved it. Order the cauliflower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unremarkable. Good steak, as one would ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Unremarkable. Good steak, as one would expect at this level of steakhouse. But nothing special about the steak or sides. Also, the wine list had only 5 or so bottles of red wine under $100. Markup for bottles was higher than I see at other steakhouses I frequent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A staple - Forgione does his thing! Bes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A staple - Forgione does his thing! Best Ceasar salad I ever had. Steaks are prime time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great as always. Truly is my favorite re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great as always. Truly is my favorite restaurant in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food,Great service.We really enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food,Great service.We really enjoy this restaurant because you can get an excellent steak with lots of other options. The Angry Lobster is a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Remarkable service, we felt so welcomed ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Remarkable service, we felt so welcomed with great food and a wonderful atmosphere. For being such high quality food with such style, in a beautiful restaurant the vibe was casual and friendly. A superb balance and good setting for the TriBeCa neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I was recommended this place at the last minute to take out my nephew and his girl friend. American Cut could not have been more perfect. The drinks, food and service was impecable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true steakhouse gem . . .

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food, and superb service! Thoroughly enjoyed the playful rethinking of staple steakhouse plates. Dined in the downstairs dining room and was treated to a (rare—by Manhattan restaurant trends/standards) quiet evening of delicious food and drink with enjoyable conversation at "normal" speaking levels.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful Meal, outstanding service, Jarred was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here based on recommendation. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

First time here based on recommendation. Food and service were good. There was an issue with air conditioning so the room was extremely hot. They had fans on floor to try and cool down. Not acceptable and made experience pretty poor. Not what I would expect for a place I just spent $200 for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Loved everything about this place but th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Loved everything about this place but the noise level. It was definitely a popular spot with several loud parties around us but would definitely go back! The food - the service - the food.....loved it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just fantastic! Steak was outstanding

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Just fantastic!

Steak was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal or superb wine list.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful meal or superb wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks were simply incredible. Porte ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The steaks were simply incredible. Porterhouse for 2 awesome as was the tomahawk for 2. Seafood tower was also outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

As usual a stellar evening at American C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

As usual a stellar evening at American Cut. My filet mignon was perfectly cooked to a well done temperature which is not always easy. Our sides, the glazed carrot and French fries were delicious. The best of course was the flourless candy bar cake!!! The staff was super attentive and cordial. We love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a large group of friends. Our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great for a large group of friends. Our group sat in a large room in the back which was great for our party. Excellent steak and sides.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the dishes, biscuits steak tartar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the dishes, biscuits steak tartare, porterhouse and Mac & cheese were simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Business dinner. Steaks, wine, bros.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Business dinner. Steaks, wine, bros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Inconsistent

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

First trip with a group of 4 was great but during the week. Went on a Saturday with a group of 6 and all the steaks were so undercooked that the cow walked over to our table and we took a bite out of him. Considering we all ordered medium it was a bit off.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Great space and great service. By NYC ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great space and great service. By NYC steakhouse standards, the steaks were disappointing and the table side sauce we had on one steak lacked any flavor and was a waste of money. Service was over and above and a vey cool space. Overall a lot of better steakhouse options in the city in terms of meat and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Chef's special was a Chateaubriand with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Chef's special was a Chateaubriand with morel mushrooms that made me want to take up residence. Bartender to busser to waiter were all top notch! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Energetic and Sumptous

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We visit the city often and are always in search of great spots we have hit a bunch, Lupa , Babbo Del Posto ,Jane, Carbones, Raos, Castatas, Aqua Grill This ranks right up there .. More of a Steak house with flair .... and a great Vibe and very well done inside

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steaks in town

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and perfect setting for drinks and dinner after work. Very warm and fiendly staff. Came for dinner with m son after work. The only issue was the pace. They seemed to want to rush through things and asked repeatedly if we were ready for the next course every time we out our utensils down. Salad and entree and out we went in just over an hour. Would have preferred a slower pace.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cool spot. Diffrent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Wanted to try something vibrant and new. Deffinetly diffent and vibrant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too dark couldn't see anything. Appeared ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Too dark couldn't see anything. Appeared to be sat in a hallway, very exposed and loud. Wait staff were annoyingly intrusive and kept interrupting to ask if everything was ok. Like, every 2 minutes. Food was fine but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Excellent destination for a luxe dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We love American Cut, and were happy to introduce it to friends from out of town! Wonderful attentive service throughout the meal by Tomas downstairs, which we prefer due to the lower noise level + better for conversation. Generous pours on the cocktails, the biscuits are SO good...each couple shared a steak for two (Porterhouse and Tomahawk) temp was off on one order and the kitchen gladly obliged to cook further...would have been preferable to have steak served on a warm platter instead of china plate, since it cooled too quickly. Sides were good (cauliflower!) All around a great meal, albeit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice Friday night out

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Good overall. Nice cocktails. Great oysters, solid Caesar salad, neat presentation. The ribeye was so-so -- nice seasoning although fatty for my taste (even for a ribeye). Next time I'll get the strip I've enjoyed before, or try the lamb or veal. Love the carrot, liked the latkes. Pleasant service, only glitch was that the bar was backed up so wine for our first course was delayed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Food and service was outstanding although I did find the noise level to be very distracting when it came to having conversation. My cosmopolitan was not good (too strong) and mentioned that. Ordered a second one, which didn't even look like the first but was no better so was very disappointed in my adult beverage selection. With a total bill of $356 for 3 people, the drinks should match the quality of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.