About American Cut

363 Greenwich Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

American Cut is LDV Hospitality’s new American, signature steakhouse, brought to life by Iron Chef Marc Forgione. Located in the heart of Tribeca at 363 Greenwich Street, between Franklin and Harrison.

Our 180-seat restaurant combines modern design with art deco accents, culminating in a monumental space filled with fine food, spirits and culinary prowess.

We invite you to indulge in our spectacular Tomahawk Ribeye Chop for two or try our Seafood Tasting featuring our signature Chili Lobster paired with a glass of wine from our extensive wine list.

With two private dining rooms and a private bar for groups of all sizes, we are the perfect location for intimate special events, large-scale after-work parties and everything in between.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin & Harrison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-4736

Website:
http://www.ldvhospitality.com/brands/american-cut/

Entertainment:
Monday Night Football in The Morrison Room

Executive Chef:
Marc Forgione

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • American Cut
  • American Cut
  • American Cut
  • American Cut
American Cut
American Cut
American Cut
American Cut

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

American Cut offers a variety of private events spaces perfect for corporate or social private dining occasions. We offer a selection of private event menus curated to best fit you and your guests’ needs.

American Cut Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Romantic (39)
See All
Good for Groups (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Hot Spot (28)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Can't wait to come back to try the non-r ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Can't wait to come back to try the non-restaurant week menu!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

"I love the energetic feel of this place ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

"I love the energetic feel of this place – It was dark , but vibrant. I especially enjoyed the Chili lobster as an appetizer. The drinks were terrific. Overall , one of the best dining experiences I've had in quite a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a great meal.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Really a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went here for nyc restaurant week. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I went here for nyc restaurant week. The service was amazing. Our server was very attentive. However, I did not enjoy eating in their basement with no AC. It was very hot and they only had a couple fans. Other than that, I really enjoyed the food and drinks. Very pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Over 20 minute wait for table. Food ave ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Over 20 minute wait for table. Food average.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Noise level was way beyond energetic—mor ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Noise level was way beyond energetic—more like cacophonous. Very difficult to hear anything; a state not helped by oddly boisterous and overly-loud music. Adequate food couldn't make up for the sub-par atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The feel of the restaurant was very invi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The feel of the restaurant was very inviting. I loved the feel of a dimly lighted restaurant; and that's what I got at American Cut. I could never enjoy steak outside of a steak house the same again. The steak and salmon was well seasoned. Would recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to American Cut on the recommend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went to American Cut on the recommendation of another friend. The food was fantastic and my wife described the atmosphere as "the sexiest restaurant" she had ever been in. Overall great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the surf turf combination -- ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoyed the surf turf combination -- a tomahawk rib eye with Chili lobster -- cooked to perfection and accompanied by a beautiful Saint Estephe Bordeaux recommended by their excellent sommelier Chris. Terrific nite! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse in NY. Outstanding food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best steakhouse in NY. Outstanding food and service. Can't be beat. My wife loves the fish dishes as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite reservation, we waited 45 min fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Despite reservation, we waited 45 min for the table. Food itself was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

booked a table for 9 pm, got seated at 9 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

booked a table for 9 pm, got seated at 9:45. We saw several people leave because they were fed up with waiting. These people know how to TAKE a reservation. They don't know how to HONOR the reservation. Once seated food was good. But they are laughing at their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This is my 4th time dining at American C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is my 4th time dining at American Cut. I usually only go for Restaurant Week because I'm ballin' on a budget. The food and service has always been amazing, every single time. My only feedback, and I know they are trying to flip tables quick for us on Restaurant Week but the courses came out so quickly it made the evening unenjoyable and there was not even time to digest. I get it cause they'll make more money off another table but would very much still like to enjoy my meal not at race speed

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent. More than a steakhouse. A t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent. More than a steakhouse. A top notch restaurant in every way. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing bar tenders! Had the best cockta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

amazing bar tenders! Had the best cocktails. Also, ambiance was amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere, but is quite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, but is quite noisy during dinner time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the restaurant week menu. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went for the restaurant week menu. The deal was great for three courses. Everything was delicious and presented beautifully.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While our waiter was lovely the service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

While our waiter was lovely the service was pretty appalling. Is it ever okay to clear plates that guests are still using? Or move the spread the guests are using from the bread plate to the table and then clear the plate...Without saying a word to the guests. Should a guest actually have to say, hey, I'm not finished, when they are very clearly not finished as half of their appetizer is still on the plate? Where plates needed that badly? The dining room was pretty empty. I've literally never had to fight so hard to keep my plate, it was ridiculous and uncomfortable.

I will say the food was good. I asked for my steak rare and the steak came out very rare... Which was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

This is a fairly stereotypical steakhous ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This is a fairly stereotypical steakhouse but none the less good for that. Dark wood interior, spacious and pleasant. The food is on the pricey side but is still good value. The steaks are very well cooked and presented and the sharing ones are especially good. Service is friendly and helpful. The wine list is good but, again, on the expensive side. This place is good for a celebration but may be a bit rich for everyday dining unless you work in the financial offices in the vicinity and have an expense account.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were rushed through our meal. Waitres ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were rushed through our meal. Waitress never asked us how we wanted our steaks. Disappointed in the restaurant week menu as the sundae was just a miniature of the regular dessert. Noise level was so bad we couldn't really have a conversation. Tables were too close together. Steaks were good but my husband didn't appreciate having his steak cut. When the manager asked us how our meal was going, he had a new steak brought to us but then I had to stop eating my meal while waiting for his new steak to return. His plate also had his side of potatoes already on it, which was not replaced .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Rushed Rushed & More Rushed ~ Why even ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Rushed Rushed & More Rushed ~ Why even participate

in Restaurant Week if it is such a bother!!!

Many NY'ers can well afford to dine out~ Restaurant week is a gateway to new restaurants

Sometimes it it make or break!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very disappointed. Ordered 2 pastrami r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very disappointed.

Ordered 2 pastrami ribeye.

Very tough and grisly .

Unedible. The waiter removed one from the bill..

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

We went for restaurant week. Standard fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went for restaurant week. Standard food offering on the menu, well executed. Nice ambiance/decor and great service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not great value for restaurant week:: We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Not great value for restaurant week::

Went there for restaurant week and did not get great value for the price it felt like.

Starters (Oysters and S&W bacon) were great.

Entree (Hanger Steak and Brisket) were pretty mediocre at best. The hanger steak was a little tough and had several "funky bits" in it, although the sides (spinach and mashed potatos) were good. In all honesty, if I had had the regular hanger steak for dinner, I would have felt disappointed.

Dessert was good but tiny in portion size

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We used the restaurant week menu and sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We used the restaurant week menu and started with the oysters and a Caesar salad. Both were delicious. Our entrees were the hangar steaks with pastrami spices, cooked to perfection. The vegetables were delicious mashed potatoes and because I am lactose intolerant, I was able to get a substitution of sautéed spinach. The waiter was most solicitous and even got me raspberry sorbet instead of strawberry shortcake or pot au Crème. Both of us had glasses of wine which is why the bill was more.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice fun hop place. Deserts were go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very nice fun hop place. Deserts were good along with portions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Went here for a birthday celebration exp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Went here for a birthday celebration expecting a decent meal and left disappointed. Had no problem with the reservations and was seated promptly. The wait staff was excellent. The biscuits/muffins were very good. Appetizers were the tuna tartare, caeser salad (presentation was memorable) and the steak knife wedge salad. All were underwhelming. I had the hangar steak which was cooked perfectly (medium rare) but was overwhelmed with the pastrami seasoning covering the entire steak. The ribeye that was ordered was basically all fat. The chicken ( I realize it's a steakhouse, but one member of the party does not enjoy steak) was bland, with the exception of the leg. The sides were tasty, but how can you go wrong with all that butter.

The noise level made it very difficult to hear the conversation at our own table. In addition, half way through the dinner it seemed as if the air conditioning stopped working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Very hot in dining room

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very hot in dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

This was our first time dining at Americ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first time dining at American Cut. We were celebrating my 41st birthday! The food was delicious and our waiter, Numar was great!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I stayed in New York for three nights an ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I stayed in New York for three nights and I ate at America's Cut on two of those evenings. A little on the pricey side, but goo services and very tasty steaks and seafood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good and unusual New York cut steak ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very good and unusual New York cut steak. Great to try something unusual. Noise levels were very too high, but such is life. Good service, good food, just a little privet - especially the wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was not bad but especially steak (w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was not bad but especially steak (we ordered NY cut and one more 30days dry aged steak) wasn't impressed...

My wife and me could't taste that both of them were 30days dry aged. In addition, I ordered medium rare but they came medium or medium well done.

However, its atmosphere is very nice and waiters are also good.

I hope your improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Absolut outstanding We are a Swedish f ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolut outstanding

We are a Swedish familfamilly,

spending some time NY

Always staying at

the exelent Greenwich Hotel.

American Cut.

One of the best restaurants so far

We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music too loud and a little obnoxious. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Music too loud and a little obnoxious. Would have preferred to be able to comfortably hear my dinner companions during conversation and listen to something a little more laid back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

First time at American Cut. Girlfriend's ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

First time at American Cut. Girlfriend's short ribs were too salty, and my steak was too hard and chewy. For the price one pays at this restaurant, this place was not worth it AT ALL. Easily the worst steakhouse I have ever been to. Basically went in with Ruth Chris expectations and came out thinking I just ate at Applebee's.

Service was actually pretty good, but quality of food supersedes everything else.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Reservation was made for Sat for group o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Reservation was made for Sat for group of 7 for 6:30 but we were running late. I called to notified the restaurant that we would be running 30 minutes late, they were quite accommodating. When we arrived, the host greeted us and informed us about the temperature at the main dinning room was a little warmer than usual and if we would like to sit somewhere else. The temperature was comfortable, just not cold. Sommelier recommended a similar wine I wanted but at a 30% cheaper.

Overall, the service at American Cut was at tentative. Ceviche and oysters in the seafood tower were fresh. Bone marrow and grilled octopus are must. They were so delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Notable Wine List, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorably outstanding food, and great se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Memorably outstanding food, and great service. I give it my highest recommendation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The AC was out in the dining room on Fri ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The AC was out in the dining room on Friday eve 7/8

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic meal with exceptional service! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic meal with exceptional service! Just perfect for a special date night with my husband.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dine out frequently and rarely leave f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I dine out frequently and rarely leave feedback, but I make exception for standout experiences. Unfortunately, this was a negative standout. In fact, it was abhorrent and reminded me of a Times Square tourist trap steak house (and yes, it was packed with tourists who don't know better - and locals who will probably never return lured in by an attractive facade).

The NYC Cut steak was truly disappointing, and little else we ordered made up for it. Combine that with very poor service and you've got a formula for another likely casualty in the restaurant industry. I saw our waiter once, expressed my opinion that the steak was lackluster after he asked. Likely out of shame and embarrassment, he chose to ignore the feedback. He also decided to hide and not bring out the check himself despite a relatively empty restaurant.

There are many great steak options in the city, so don't waste your time.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.