About American Cut

363 Greenwich Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

American Cut is LDV Hospitality’s new American, signature steakhouse, brought to life by Iron Chef Marc Forgione. Located in the heart of Tribeca at 363 Greenwich Street, between Franklin and Harrison.

Our 180-seat restaurant combines modern design with art deco accents, culminating in a monumental space filled with fine food, spirits and culinary prowess.

We invite you to indulge in our spectacular Tomahawk Ribeye Chop for two or try our Seafood Tasting featuring our signature Chili Lobster paired with a glass of wine from our extensive wine list.

With two private dining rooms and a private bar for groups of all sizes, we are the perfect location for intimate special events, large-scale after-work parties and everything in between.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin & Harrison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-4736

Website:
http://www.ldvhospitality.com/brands/american-cut/

Entertainment:
Monday Night Football in The Morrison Room

Executive Chef:
Marc Forgione

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • American Cut
  • American Cut
  • American Cut
  • American Cut
American Cut
American Cut
American Cut
American Cut

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

American Cut offers a variety of private events spaces perfect for corporate or social private dining occasions. We offer a selection of private event menus curated to best fit you and your guests’ needs.

American Cut Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown ›

special occasion (51)
fit for foodies (46)
notable wine list (35)
See All
good for groups (35)
romantic (33)
hot spot (25)
vibrant bar scene (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful service over cooked steak. Wolfgan ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Awful service over cooked steak. Wolfgangs down the street is way better as are a number of other steakhouses such as old homestead, Maestros, Del Friscos, and of course quality meats.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unremarkable. Good steak, as one would ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Unremarkable. Good steak, as one would expect at this level of steakhouse. But nothing special about the steak or sides. Also, the wine list had only 5 or so bottles of red wine under $100. Markup for bottles was higher than I see at other steakhouses I frequent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A staple - Forgione does his thing! Bes ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

A staple - Forgione does his thing! Best Ceasar salad I ever had. Steaks are prime time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always. Truly is my favorite re ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great as always. Truly is my favorite restaurant in NYC

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food,Great service.We really enjoy ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food,Great service.We really enjoy this restaurant because you can get an excellent steak with lots of other options. The Angry Lobster is a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remarkable service, we felt so welcomed ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Remarkable service, we felt so welcomed with great food and a wonderful atmosphere. For being such high quality food with such style, in a beautiful restaurant the vibe was casual and friendly. A superb balance and good setting for the TriBeCa neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on June 8, 2016

I was recommended this place at the last minute to take out my nephew and his girl friend. American Cut could not have been more perfect. The drinks, food and service was impecable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true steakhouse gem . . .

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food, and superb service! Thoroughly enjoyed the playful rethinking of staple steakhouse plates. Dined in the downstairs dining room and was treated to a (rare—by Manhattan restaurant trends/standards) quiet evening of delicious food and drink with enjoyable conversation at "normal" speaking levels.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience

Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful Meal, outstanding service, Jarred was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service5

First time here based on recommendation. ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

First time here based on recommendation. Food and service were good. There was an issue with air conditioning so the room was extremely hot. They had fans on floor to try and cool down. Not acceptable and made experience pretty poor. Not what I would expect for a place I just spent $200 for a meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved everything about this place but th ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Loved everything about this place but the noise level. It was definitely a popular spot with several loud parties around us but would definitely go back! The food - the service - the food.....loved it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Just fantastic! Steak was outstanding

Dined on May 18, 2016

Just fantastic! Steak was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal or superb wine list.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful meal or superb wine list.

food5
ambience3
service5

The steaks were simply incredible. Porte ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The steaks were simply incredible. Porterhouse for 2 awesome as was the tomahawk for 2. Seafood tower was also outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual a stellar evening at American C ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

As usual a stellar evening at American Cut. My filet mignon was perfectly cooked to a well done temperature which is not always easy. Our sides, the glazed carrot and French fries were delicious. The best of course was the flourless candy bar cake!!! The staff was super attentive and cordial. We love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a large group of friends. Our ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great for a large group of friends. Our group sat in a large room in the back which was great for our party. Excellent steak and sides.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the dishes, biscuits steak tartar ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the dishes, biscuits steak tartare, porterhouse and Mac & cheese were simply amazing!

food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Inconsistent

Dined on April 30, 2016

First trip with a group of 4 was great but during the week. Went on a Saturday with a group of 6 and all the steaks were so undercooked that the cow walked over to our table and we took a bite out of him. Considering we all ordered medium it was a bit off.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5

Great space and great service. By NYC ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great space and great service. By NYC steakhouse standards, the steaks were disappointing and the table side sauce we had on one steak lacked any flavor and was a waste of money. Service was over and above and a vey cool space. Overall a lot of better steakhouse options in the city in terms of meat and food quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chef's special was a Chateaubriand with ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Chef's special was a Chateaubriand with morel mushrooms that made me want to take up residence. Bartender to busser to waiter were all top notch! We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Energetic and Sumptous

Dined on April 17, 2016

We visit the city often and are always in search of great spots we have hit a bunch, Lupa , Babbo Del Posto ,Jane, Carbones, Raos, Castatas, Aqua Grill This ranks right up there .. More of a Steak house with flair .... and a great Vibe and very well done inside

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best steaks in town

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and perfect setting for drinks and dinner after work. Very warm and fiendly staff. Came for dinner with m son after work. The only issue was the pace. They seemed to want to rush through things and asked repeatedly if we were ready for the next course every time we out our utensils down. Salad and entree and out we went in just over an hour. Would have preferred a slower pace.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool spot. Diffrent

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wanted to try something vibrant and new. Deffinetly diffent and vibrant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1

Too dark couldn't see anything. Appeared ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Too dark couldn't see anything. Appeared to be sat in a hallway, very exposed and loud. Wait staff were annoyingly intrusive and kept interrupting to ask if everything was ok. Like, every 2 minutes. Food was fine but nothing special.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent destination for a luxe dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

We love American Cut, and were happy to introduce it to friends from out of town! Wonderful attentive service throughout the meal by Tomas downstairs, which we prefer due to the lower noise level + better for conversation. Generous pours on the cocktails, the biscuits are SO good...each couple shared a steak for two (Porterhouse and Tomahawk) temp was off on one order and the kitchen gladly obliged to cook further...would have been preferable to have steak served on a warm platter instead of china plate, since it cooled too quickly. Sides were good (cauliflower!) All around a great meal, albeit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Friday night out

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Good overall. Nice cocktails. Great oysters, solid Caesar salad, neat presentation. The ribeye was so-so -- nice seasoning although fatty for my taste (even for a ribeye). Next time I'll get the strip I've enjoyed before, or try the lamb or veal. Love the carrot, liked the latkes. Pleasant service, only glitch was that the bar was backed up so wine for our first course was delayed.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food

Dined on March 31, 2016

Food and service was outstanding although I did find the noise level to be very distracting when it came to having conversation. My cosmopolitan was not good (too strong) and mentioned that. Ordered a second one, which didn't even look like the first but was no better so was very disappointed in my adult beverage selection. With a total bill of $356 for 3 people, the drinks should match the quality of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of NYC's finest

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Easily one of the best dining experiences I've had in NYC. Located in beautiful Tribeca, the restaurant has it all. The service, food, ambiance was all incredible. Marc Forgionne is a genius. Don't miss this restaurant. I can, with confidence, say that this is THE best steakhouse in Manhattan. Thank you for the amazing experience American Cut!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food and service - but music too loud

Dined on March 30, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much and staff were wonderful. However, the music was far too loud and we could hardly hear ourselves speak. We were in the restaurant area - not the bar - so it was a shame as otherwise the evening was very enjoyable. Also, while the wine list was good, the wines were very over-priced for what they were. It does seem to us that few USA diners have wine with their meals. The pricing of wines (not just at this restaurant, but generally from our experience) may be the reason that the drinking of wine with meals is not common-place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome steak and awesome place!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Awesome steak and awesome place!

food2
ambience4
service4

Expected a bit more from the steak quali ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Expected a bit more from the steak quality. We have dined at the America cut in revel in Atlantic city and always loved it. This venue looked great but the meat was nothing spectacular. Especially for a $300 dinner for two I expected a bit more flavor and quality. Might go back for drinks but not for steak. Good service and attentive staff

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Unconscionable service aspects

Dined on March 25, 2016

The filet was "served" plopped down, with no garnish or presentation whatsoever, almost heathen-like. To charge $60+ For Dover sole that was very soggy and "oily" (not in a good, olive oil way) is unconscionable. The environment was insanely noisy, stressing normal, relaxing conversation. The music wasterrific, as was thelightingandatmosphete aside fromthenousiness. The lamb was very good, according to our guests.you are overpriced for the quality of both service and food - I am sorry to say. We could have gone to Capital Grille for the value. -Sincerely - Della Britton

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and ambiance! Outstanding food.

Dined on March 24, 2016

Our waiters were informed about the menu, and excellent with service. We enjoyed the meal and ice cream dessert! We will visit again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food

Dined on March 20, 2016

We went here for my husband's birthday. The food and service were excellent. He was really happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

All of the food was awesome. The Yellow ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

All of the food was awesome. The Yellowtail starter and Bell/Evans Chicken was delicious! The service was excellent. Only gripe, the loud club music has to go. Can't wait to return!

food5
ambience5
service5

I've never had a steak like the NY Cut - ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

I've never had a steak like the NY Cut - pastrami encrusted bone-in ribeye. My goodness!

food5
ambience3
service1

Upon seated offered water. Waiter told s ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Upon seated offered water. Waiter told specials. Said would be right back to get drink order. Bread and butter served. The four of us finished. Board with bread just removed no offer of more. Still no waiter. After 30 more minutes of asking bus boys for our waiter, we flagged down another waiter who said we were not his table and he did not know where are waiter was so he would "do us a favor" and take out order. We ordered dinner and drinks at same time. Never saw a waiter again. Never saw original waiter. No one asked about dessert To get check when even bus boys ignored us I had to call the restaurant from my cell and complain to receptionist. Bus boy then brought check. No manager. No waiter. Great food but horrible service!

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

deflated

Dined on March 8, 2016

After being to other Marc Forgione restaurants, and having wonderful dining experiences, I was very let down by American Cut. The service was fine and the steak itself was adequate and well prepared. What I was most unimpressed with was that simple things were not done well or even up to a normal standard. The shrimp cocktail came out mixed in the cocktail sauce, and when I say mixed, I mean drenched in sauce, and loaded with horseradish. My family has been making cocktail sauce for over 100 years, and sold to our retail fish stores for over 40 years in the past. I am not saying ours was the best ever, but it certainly was far better than what me and my guest were served. The tater tots did not have much flavor, and the pastrami rib eye, was great for a bite, but after that was far too rich to enjoy after that bite. Additionally, the wine list was out there, far higher mark up than the normal 2 to 3 times you see at a steakhouse. Unfortunately, this is a not a Forgione I would return to. Far better choices in that area. I have a feeling he will make changes so this is not a normal occurrence at his restaurants. Never before have I been served shrimp cocktail already mixed in the cocktail sauce and I would be hard pressed to see if anyone who knows shrimp has either.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Great music and atmospher ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Great service! Great music and atmosphere but just love the menu. Great variety and steaks are always done perfectly.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Steak

Dined on February 28, 2016

front desk was attentive, coat check girl didn't even smile once didn't appear to be very happy. Waiter could have checked on our food at least once. Main course came out abit too fast but for sure I would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.