About American Cut

363 Greenwich Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

American Cut is LDV Hospitality’s new American, signature steakhouse, brought to life by Iron Chef Marc Forgione. Located in the heart of Tribeca at 363 Greenwich Street, between Franklin and Harrison.

Our 180-seat restaurant combines modern design with art deco accents, culminating in a monumental space filled with fine food, spirits and culinary prowess.

We invite you to indulge in our spectacular Tomahawk Ribeye Chop for two or try our Seafood Tasting featuring our signature Chili Lobster paired with a glass of wine from our extensive wine list.

With two private dining rooms and a private bar for groups of all sizes, we are the perfect location for intimate special events, large-scale after-work parties and everything in between.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday : 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin & Harrison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-4736

Website:
http://www.ldvhospitality.com/brands/american-cut/

Entertainment:
Monday Night Football in The Morrison Room

Executive Chef:
Marc Forgione

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • American Cut
  • American Cut
  • American Cut
  • American Cut
American Cut
American Cut
American Cut
American Cut

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

American Cut offers a variety of private events spaces perfect for corporate or social private dining occasions. We offer a selection of private event menus curated to best fit you and your guests’ needs.

American Cut Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Romantic (37)
See All
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Hot Spot (25)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall it was good - but the signature ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall it was good - but the signature tomahawk steak ($145) came out cold and was underwhelming. - the octopus was also very good but the portion sizes were tiny. The desserts were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This was the best meal we have had in 20 ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was the best meal we have had in 2016

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time at the restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the restaurant. The only negative was the ladies in my party stated that the bartender did not make a very good cosmo. Had to add more cranberry cocktail juice to drink.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Jared was wonderful! Great service and g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Jared was wonderful! Great service and great suggestions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hi there. Did I receive my 1000 points f ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Hi there. Did I receive my 1000 points for this reservation? When we arrived at the restaurant they didn't have record of our reservation. We were seated but want to make sure I receive the 1000! Thx.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything is great except for the long ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything is great except for the long wait to get seated. After waiting 45 min the hostess still didn't know how long it would take to seat us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent dining experience. Only comme ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Only comment is lack of bread basket choices as I cannot eat seeds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was exceptional! I wish there w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was exceptional! I wish there was a restaurant like this in the United States.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To begin with i like to share my birthda ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

To begin with i like to share my birthday experience. Had to give this place 3 stars overall due to the food poisoning I caught the night of (Don't worry I'll spare the details on my symptoms). Ordered the dry aged NY Strip because they were out of the wagyu beef. It was a bummer at first until I realized I am allergic to pastrami which is the main spice on their next most popular steak option the Rib-Eye. Inquired with our server if the rib eye can be done without the spices due to my limited options and the kitchen refused. Had to settle with the NY Strip (blah).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value5

Menu not very extensive.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Menu not very extensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and my rare-medium rar ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent service and my rare-medium rare steak was done perfectly. Biscuits with herb butter are so tasty as were the sides (beef fat fries and sunchoke/spinach).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So loud we couldn't hear each other talk ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

So loud we couldn't hear each other talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Server was super helpful. Great ambience ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Server was super helpful. Great ambience. Good food. My steak was a little undercooked but it was still very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great menu, and everything we ate was su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great menu, and everything we ate was superb. Great service. We got great advice about food selection. Nice decor and vibe inside. Great spot for a birthday date! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't wait to come back to try the non-r ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Can't wait to come back to try the non-restaurant week menu!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak. Happy to pay extra for qual ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great steak. Happy to pay extra for quality, but charging for a coke refill? Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

"I love the energetic feel of this place ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

"I love the energetic feel of this place – It was dark , but vibrant. I especially enjoyed the Chili lobster as an appetizer. The drinks were terrific. Overall , one of the best dining experiences I've had in quite a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a great meal.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Really a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went here for nyc restaurant week. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I went here for nyc restaurant week. The service was amazing. Our server was very attentive. However, I did not enjoy eating in their basement with no AC. It was very hot and they only had a couple fans. Other than that, I really enjoyed the food and drinks. Very pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Over 20 minute wait for table. Food ave ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Over 20 minute wait for table. Food average.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Noise level was way beyond energetic—mor ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Noise level was way beyond energetic—more like cacophonous. Very difficult to hear anything; a state not helped by oddly boisterous and overly-loud music. Adequate food couldn't make up for the sub-par atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The feel of the restaurant was very invi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The feel of the restaurant was very inviting. I loved the feel of a dimly lighted restaurant; and that's what I got at American Cut. I could never enjoy steak outside of a steak house the same again. The steak and salmon was well seasoned. Would recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to American Cut on the recommend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went to American Cut on the recommendation of another friend. The food was fantastic and my wife described the atmosphere as "the sexiest restaurant" she had ever been in. Overall great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the surf turf combination -- ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoyed the surf turf combination -- a tomahawk rib eye with Chili lobster -- cooked to perfection and accompanied by a beautiful Saint Estephe Bordeaux recommended by their excellent sommelier Chris. Terrific nite! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse in NY. Outstanding food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best steakhouse in NY. Outstanding food and service. Can't be beat. My wife loves the fish dishes as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite reservation, we waited 45 min fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Despite reservation, we waited 45 min for the table. Food itself was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

booked a table for 9 pm, got seated at 9 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

booked a table for 9 pm, got seated at 9:45. We saw several people leave because they were fed up with waiting. These people know how to TAKE a reservation. They don't know how to HONOR the reservation. Once seated food was good. But they are laughing at their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This is my 4th time dining at American C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is my 4th time dining at American Cut. I usually only go for Restaurant Week because I'm ballin' on a budget. The food and service has always been amazing, every single time. My only feedback, and I know they are trying to flip tables quick for us on Restaurant Week but the courses came out so quickly it made the evening unenjoyable and there was not even time to digest. I get it cause they'll make more money off another table but would very much still like to enjoy my meal not at race speed

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent. More than a steakhouse. A t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent. More than a steakhouse. A top notch restaurant in every way. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing bar tenders! Had the best cockta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

amazing bar tenders! Had the best cocktails. Also, ambiance was amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere, but is quite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, but is quite noisy during dinner time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the restaurant week menu. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went for the restaurant week menu. The deal was great for three courses. Everything was delicious and presented beautifully.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While our waiter was lovely the service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

While our waiter was lovely the service was pretty appalling. Is it ever okay to clear plates that guests are still using? Or move the spread the guests are using from the bread plate to the table and then clear the plate...Without saying a word to the guests. Should a guest actually have to say, hey, I'm not finished, when they are very clearly not finished as half of their appetizer is still on the plate? Where plates needed that badly? The dining room was pretty empty. I've literally never had to fight so hard to keep my plate, it was ridiculous and uncomfortable.

I will say the food was good. I asked for my steak rare and the steak came out very rare... Which was great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

This is a fairly stereotypical steakhous ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This is a fairly stereotypical steakhouse but none the less good for that. Dark wood interior, spacious and pleasant. The food is on the pricey side but is still good value. The steaks are very well cooked and presented and the sharing ones are especially good. Service is friendly and helpful. The wine list is good but, again, on the expensive side. This place is good for a celebration but may be a bit rich for everyday dining unless you work in the financial offices in the vicinity and have an expense account.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were rushed through our meal. Waitres ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were rushed through our meal. Waitress never asked us how we wanted our steaks. Disappointed in the restaurant week menu as the sundae was just a miniature of the regular dessert. Noise level was so bad we couldn't really have a conversation. Tables were too close together. Steaks were good but my husband didn't appreciate having his steak cut. When the manager asked us how our meal was going, he had a new steak brought to us but then I had to stop eating my meal while waiting for his new steak to return. His plate also had his side of potatoes already on it, which was not replaced .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Rushed Rushed & More Rushed ~ Why even ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Rushed Rushed & More Rushed ~ Why even participate

in Restaurant Week if it is such a bother!!!

Many NY'ers can well afford to dine out~ Restaurant week is a gateway to new restaurants

Sometimes it it make or break!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very disappointed. Ordered 2 pastrami r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very disappointed.

Ordered 2 pastrami ribeye.

Very tough and grisly .

Unedible. The waiter removed one from the bill..

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

We went for restaurant week. Standard fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went for restaurant week. Standard food offering on the menu, well executed. Nice ambiance/decor and great service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not great value for restaurant week:: We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Not great value for restaurant week::

Went there for restaurant week and did not get great value for the price it felt like.

Starters (Oysters and S&W bacon) were great.

Entree (Hanger Steak and Brisket) were pretty mediocre at best. The hanger steak was a little tough and had several "funky bits" in it, although the sides (spinach and mashed potatos) were good. In all honesty, if I had had the regular hanger steak for dinner, I would have felt disappointed.

Dessert was good but tiny in portion size

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We used the restaurant week menu and sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We used the restaurant week menu and started with the oysters and a Caesar salad. Both were delicious. Our entrees were the hangar steaks with pastrami spices, cooked to perfection. The vegetables were delicious mashed potatoes and because I am lactose intolerant, I was able to get a substitution of sautéed spinach. The waiter was most solicitous and even got me raspberry sorbet instead of strawberry shortcake or pot au Crème. Both of us had glasses of wine which is why the bill was more.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.