About America Restaurant, Trump Toronto

Located on the 31st floor, America Restaurant is a welcome addition to Bay St.'s thriving social scene. Open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, America presents a diverse range of innovative gourmet dishes rooted in classic regional flavours.

325 Bay Street
31st Floor
Toronto, ON M5H 4G3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bay & Adelaide

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 637-5550

Website:
http://americarestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Markus Bestig

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

America Restaurant, Trump Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Scenic View (7)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

The Venue is beautiful, great decor the staff was extremely professional and polite. The food was delicious I don't have any negative feedback regarding the dinner. Vale parking was also a great feature. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice guys and great food. The summerlicious menu is definitely valued for money. The grilled flat iron cooked for exactly the right amount of time, tender and al dente. The complimentary house made whit chocolate and berry fudge is amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I came here for Summerlicious. I ordered the iceberg wedge lettuce salad, beef Wellington and chocolate cake. All three dishes were delicious and exceeded my expectations. I will definitely come back for their regular menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

it took us 2 hours to finish 3 courses. food was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Confused prior to our meal. Phoned to confirm reservation, received email to cancel. Had to call and rereserve. Mentioned it was birthday, they did nothing, not even a H.B. Atmosphere amongst staff low, as they didn't know if they will have jobs when Trump was sold to Marriott. The food was presented well and editable. Wine was 21.00 6oz glass, white Niagara. Special drinks were reasonable and when requested barperson wrote down recipe. Overall it was o.k.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Came to the restaurant for the lunch offerings from Summerlicious 2017. The atmosphere is bright and pleasant. Enjoyed the high ceiling and wall art. Corn bisque is well seasoned and smooth. Pan seared sea bream has nice crisp skin and cooked perfectly. Pants cotta was light but very flavourable. The food was well worth the price. We left happy and tummy satisfied.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We had a very nice meal - food was excellent. Only real complaint was the noise level. We were trying to have a business discussion and the noise made it difficult to have a quiet, confidential conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

They made an effort to accommodate my friend's allergy and provided a knowledgeable advice regarding the wine. We had a wonderful evening. Highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Maybe because it is summerlicious!? Slow service. Food tastes soso. Quite disappointed. And our server messed up with the bill. Don't think I will revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Good service, menu is rather conservative and nothing too special. View is nice, ambiance is not as good as the pictures online have shown. The restaurant experience overall is good. But be ready to battle with some strange people with attitudes here. Had two horrific encounters with rude guests in the elevator for both times that I came the restaurant/hotel, it pretty much ruined my mood for the day, both times.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

it was nice, the summerlicious menu had good variety. however the flat iron steak was not consistently cooked. my girlfriend and I ordered the flat iron steak however the taste was completely different. My steak was cooked well with great flavour however my girlfriends steak tasted quite bland and awful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We attempted to get a reservation last summer during summerlicious, but could NEVER find one. We had gone there for a drink a few times, but never for dinner. We finally got a reservation this year for summerlicious. We had wanted to get a reservation earlier, but the only time available was 9:30 pm. We were seated, and then the waiting began.......... Our appetizers took a bit to come out, but our dinner wasn't served until 10:45! The place was practically empty, so we were confused as to why we couldn't get a reservation earlier.
The waitress attempted to keep us satisfied and offered us cornbread and gave us some shpeel about our food being late due to the one 1 well done steak that we had ordered. She returned with exactly 2 tiny squares of cornbread and said "Sorry, we had no more." She actually placed the 2 tiny pieces on the table and told the other couple we were with (sorry, you guys don't get any.) When we asked where our food was, she had told us that the kitchen closed at 10:30. The fact that they took a reservation for 9:30 was baffling to us.
Once the food arrived, my food was ice cold. She replaced it with a new one, and also took our wine off of the bill which was nice, but ultimately, her response to our complaints was quite cold and aloof. Food was ok, but nothing to write home about.
Needless to say, we won't be back there again. We were under the impression that the standards would be higher for the Trump Hotel, but we were sadly mistaken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Although I was not totally impressed with my starter (corn bisque), the rest of the meal was flavorful and prepared well. I found the atmosphere cozy and the staff friendly. I would go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vegan, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Having eaten at just about every O&B restaurant our expectations were high. Perhaps too high, as both of us felt slightly let down with the food and the presentation. Our waitress was very amiable and knowledgeable about the food and the place.
I understand the restaurant is closing with the new ownership, so I feel it doesn't matter enough whether we liked the place or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great Food, excellent service. Good place to wine and dine clients, or specail meal with friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Summerlicious dinner was well cooked, great service for our party of 8. Complimentary chocolate bark to finish the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

the salad was dry, and the portion was a bit small, but other then that it was fine

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Went for Summerlicious and loved the food: I had the summer squash salad, spinach cheese ravioli and Panne Cotta--Superb. My friends had the other selections and were just as happy with their choices. The food was so good that I want to go right back and eat there again soon.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Really classy and impressive ambience. Food is good and service is even better. Business should improve now that the Trump name is removed from the hotel where the restaurant locates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The restaurant is on the 31st floor, so I've expected to have a better view of the city, which wasn't how it turned out to be as the windows were small. The theme was a little too dark for the liking. One thing that really turned me off was small fruit flies. Went for dinner with 4 adults, overall it was Ok.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Beautiful interior and atmosphere!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a reservation and we were seated right away. Our server was very attentive and very pleasant. The chef was very accommodating-they were serving Summerlicious Menu however when we requested if it was possible to have the Tomahawk Rib Steak, the chef graciously said it was perfectly fine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very nice design and a great menu. Food was not very tasty though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Unfortunately this restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. I was not happy the moment we arrived as the hostess seated us with one menu for 4 people, said they were short of menus and the restaurant was not busy. The seats were worn and dirty. The halibut was very good but the New York steak was flavourless. Our server provided excellent service though. I would not reserve again considering the price point lacked the kind of service and fine dining expected.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Fantastic meal and service. Kitchen was highly attentive to allergy and customized a dish for me. Food was some of the best I've had in a long time, beautiful innovative and delicious. And you can't beat the view from the top! Will return!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great food, fantastic service and unique atmosphere. Loved it!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Exceptional service and food was amazing. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The place itself was remarkable, makes for great pictures. The food tasty and a few options . Dessert was disappointing and not a good selection :( waiters were nice but didn't have the knowledge expected and a bit of a language barrier :(. Super nice though .

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Booked Mothers Day brunch for 10am but it didn't start until 11am. Ordered off the menu instead. Waited 45 minutes for food to arrive while all the staff set up the brunch. Food was awful. Dry flavourless eggs and over cooked bacon. McDonalds literally would have been better. Won't be returning...ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Not thrilled. Meal was meh, unseasoned and flat. I expected more from O&B. Price was as expected : ), but the value wasn't. Both our server and our sommelier were very pleasant and knowledgeable, but our glasses were left dry in a pretty quiet room, and our table was never crumbed, something I'd expect at this level. The room itself is nice, but the wooden tables are pretty chipped and beat up. At this level, the details are noticed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I think if Trump ever stepped foot in that dump he too would be annoyed, amazed and angry.
The waiters were dressed like they were at their Mother's weeknight dinner, the bus boys were dressed like they were at their waiters Mother's weeknight dinner and the service was absolutely pathetic. Got water and a plate of sliced lemons and limes that were hard because they had been sitting since the day prior. The wine and app never showed up, so we left and will never return. Oh, and by the way, the place was empty! Wonder why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was delicious, staff was very pleasant. |Would go back anytime.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Unfortunately only booked dinner reservations assuming it still functioned as a restaurant/night club. Extremely dissapointed to find out when we arrived they had changed this in 2017. No more DJ or night life.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent start to finish. Great cocktail ,salad, and entrees, (truffle fries were amazing). The portion sizes were generous, our waitress was attentive, helpful with the wine list....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great atmosphere and incredible staff. Never a disappointment in this restaurant !

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very friendly. Perfect place to catch up

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The ambiance was excellent and the service very good.

While I enjoyed the food very much, do I feel it was worth the price I paid? No.

Dinner was delicious, without question, but nothing earth-shattering as the prices alongside each menu item had suggested. The Tomahawk steak for two was $150 and I would have valued that plate at $90-100, maximum - but perhaps I don't understand the costs associated with preparing a dish such as this.

Would I be willing to try this restaurant again? Yes, absolutely. But if after the second visit, I find the food does not reflect the price, I cannot say I would return again.

I don't mind paying top dollar for a top quality product. But the product must match the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A bit expensive but very nice place and the waiter was very helpful and friendly. Food was good!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a great lunch at America, with delicious food and great service! I would definitely recommend America.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.