About America Restaurant, Trump Toronto

Located on the 31st floor, America Restaurant is a welcome addition to Bay St.'s thriving social scene. Open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, America presents a diverse range of innovative gourmet dishes rooted in classic regional flavours.

325 Bay Street
31st Floor
Toronto, ON M5H 4G3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bay & Adelaide

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 637-5550

Website:
http://americarestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Markus Bestig

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

America Restaurant, Trump Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Business Meals (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Scenic View (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The place itself was remarkable, makes for great pictures. The food tasty and a few options . Dessert was disappointing and not a good selection :( waiters were nice but didn't have the knowledge expected and a bit of a language barrier :(. Super nice though .

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Booked Mothers Day brunch for 10am but it didn't start until 11am. Ordered off the menu instead. Waited 45 minutes for food to arrive while all the staff set up the brunch. Food was awful. Dry flavourless eggs and over cooked bacon. McDonalds literally would have been better. Won't be returning...ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Not thrilled. Meal was meh, unseasoned and flat. I expected more from O&B. Price was as expected : ), but the value wasn't. Both our server and our sommelier were very pleasant and knowledgeable, but our glasses were left dry in a pretty quiet room, and our table was never crumbed, something I'd expect at this level. The room itself is nice, but the wooden tables are pretty chipped and beat up. At this level, the details are noticed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I think if Trump ever stepped foot in that dump he too would be annoyed, amazed and angry.
The waiters were dressed like they were at their Mother's weeknight dinner, the bus boys were dressed like they were at their waiters Mother's weeknight dinner and the service was absolutely pathetic. Got water and a plate of sliced lemons and limes that were hard because they had been sitting since the day prior. The wine and app never showed up, so we left and will never return. Oh, and by the way, the place was empty! Wonder why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was delicious, staff was very pleasant. |Would go back anytime.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Unfortunately only booked dinner reservations assuming it still functioned as a restaurant/night club. Extremely dissapointed to find out when we arrived they had changed this in 2017. No more DJ or night life.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent start to finish. Great cocktail ,salad, and entrees, (truffle fries were amazing). The portion sizes were generous, our waitress was attentive, helpful with the wine list....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great atmosphere and incredible staff. Never a disappointment in this restaurant !

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very friendly. Perfect place to catch up

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The ambiance was excellent and the service very good.

While I enjoyed the food very much, do I feel it was worth the price I paid? No.

Dinner was delicious, without question, but nothing earth-shattering as the prices alongside each menu item had suggested. The Tomahawk steak for two was $150 and I would have valued that plate at $90-100, maximum - but perhaps I don't understand the costs associated with preparing a dish such as this.

Would I be willing to try this restaurant again? Yes, absolutely. But if after the second visit, I find the food does not reflect the price, I cannot say I would return again.

I don't mind paying top dollar for a top quality product. But the product must match the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A bit expensive but very nice place and the waiter was very helpful and friendly. Food was good!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a great lunch at America, with delicious food and great service! I would definitely recommend America.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Nice view and the food for Winterlicious was really very good. The Squash soup was delicious and the steak was perfect. mozzerella salad and turkey were also good. passed on dessert but it wasn't because the choices were poor. Good value for $28.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Beef rib tastes better than lamb. Overall good environment

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Service was really good. Attentive and yet not in your face.
Good presentation was lovely.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for lunch before attending the opera. Arrived early , waited only 2 minutes then was escourted to my table. Service was prompt and excellent. Food was amazing and great value. View was incredible . Could see the lake. Enjoyed my lunch experience at America Restaurant, Trump Toronto

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went with friends for winterlicious lunch. Food was delicious, timing was good and portion sizes were generous. But the service from our server (Brandon) was absolutely appalling. Our server provided no greeting and just abruptly took our orders. Midway into our starters, we noticed bread was given out to other tables by their servers but not ours. We had to flag down a busser/food runner for this.

Throughout the meal, our server did pass by our table but didn't verbally checked up on us. By the end of the meal, we were just sitting geese waiting if he would hand us our bill. In the end, we had to ask for the bill from again, a busser.

We weren't a needy bunch but it seems that our server had zero interest in serving us. No interaction, just eat and leave. It was very chinese diner-like and it wasn't even busy. The bussers however, were more approachable and provided better service. We definitely expected better service from an O&B operated restaurant or well, any ordinary western restaurant really. I guess service comes at an extra cost for winterlicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This restaurant was a beautiful place to eat. The service was outstanding as well as the food. I was thoroughly impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service, tasty food. .

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service! I love most of the O&B restaurants as I always find it is good value for the food I'm getting and great service.

We came here to try out the Winterlicious menu. The food was beautifully presented and tasty, I did find it a bit on the salty side in both the beet salad and chicken and waffles dish. I had asked the server if the corn bread in the chicken and waffle dish be substituted with anything as I'm allergic to corn. He was great about it and quickly came back to tell me they could substitute for beans so I didn't have to change my order.

Must get the carrot cake, I don't usually like carrot cake but I was sold on the description and it definitely did not disappoint :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was my first time, but the service was very slow. It took 1 hour to serve the Winterlicious entrées and we lost our appetites. Sorry, will not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fantastic lunch as I had the sword fish. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My friends and I were very impressed with the overall experience. The wait staff were attentive and the overall presentation was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I like this restaurant for their decor. Just take a look at the pictures here. In person it is even more impressive. We went for Winterlicious on a Tuesday evening. The place was half full, which is fine with us. The food is also quite good. I liked the golden nugget squash soup, and lamb shoulder for main course was not bad either. The dessert was a warm caramel pudding with carrots and cream. Basically it was a carrot cake broken down into individual components. It was surprisingly delicious. The service was prompt and our waitress was friendly and attentive. Overall we had a great meal and evening.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I've made a reservation for winterlicious. My boyfriend and I decided to take my parents and try out the restaurant. The atmosphere at lunch was amazing. The interior is very nicely designed. The food is also great. The pumpkin ravioli are so good. The striploin is also great. The service was "meh" lack of energy from the server. We wanted to order coffees-- one of the serves said he was going to bring us a menu and disappeared. The desserts arrived and we were half way done before our server came to check in. Service not too good, atmosphere and food- amazing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Asked for a quieter corner for private discussion and was given a generous and beautiful space. I appreciate.

Ahi tuna is not as good compared to when under old management

While I waited for my guest on one came to ask if I want a glass of wine while waiting . I had to try to get someone's attention

Overall is still a good experience but it was much better under old management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Okay place to try for winterlicious or summerlicious, mostly for the atmosphere/ambience. Food looked great but in regards to taste was nothing spectacular. I've had much better steak at the Keg.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Amazing place, scrumptious food, outstanding service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Service was a bit weaker than expected. Meals were pushed out without all the ingredients on the plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good quality food. Service is perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Went for Winterlicious 2017. Delicious food but felt rushed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a wonderful time Sat night at America Restaurant - the view and the service was top notch. I really enjoyed the lounge area before getting seated for dinner. We had the table by the window - great view of the city. I'd recommend America for a date night or a few couples out for a fun night anytime. Great atmosphere and service. I'll be back again soon

G

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

They have really nice steak and astonishing plating starters.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nothing from O&B ever disappoints

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Was there for winterlicious. Good sized portions. Desserts were a bit lacking in flavour and plating. Would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Really enjoyed my experience at America! Staff were super friendly and we got our food on time. The ambiance of the whole place was on point! Really loved the aesthetic of the decor and would definitely come back again!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This place was very nice. Drinks are a tad expensive but other than that it is a lovely place.

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was superb and along with the food a reason to go back. Unfortunately, the experience was tarnished by lack of communication. I was called to find out about food allergies, I told them about a cauliflower allergy, yet the Amuse brought to me was cauliflower. Why ask ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.