About America Restaurant, Trump Toronto

325 Bay Street
31st Floor
Toronto, ON M5H 4G3
View Larger Map

America Restaurant is the newest addition to Bay Street's thriving social scene from Canadian lifestyle leaders INK Entertainment and Oliver & Bonacini Restaurants. Located on the 31st floor, this unique and modern 110-seat milieu remains true to the recognizable Trump modern-meets-luxury style brand. Open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, America presents a diverse range of innovative gourmet dishes rooted in classic regional flavours.

On Saturday evenings, the bold and luxe America transforms into a unique on top of the world supper club where patrons can indulge in an ultra-intimate, late-night venue offering both high entertainment and fine dining. For bottle service or late night table reservations, please call 416.637.5550.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bay & Adelaide

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 637-5550

Website:
http://americarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Late Night America is open on Saturdays, 10:30pm to 2:00am.

For bottle service or late night table reservations, please call 416.637.5550.

Executive Chef:
Bill Osborne

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
Toasted bbq corn
gin and tonic
Poutine (Off Menu Item)
Oysters

America Restaurant, Trump Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (45)
fit for foodies (39)
scenic view (38)
See All
great for lunch (33)
romantic (27)
good for groups (24)
hot spot (17)
great for brunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
late-night find (11)
notable wine list (9)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I like to give 3.8 stars but since that ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

I like to give 3.8 stars but since that doesn't exist I am giving 4. Environment is good but food is just average. So value is only 3 stars.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice setting. I would not be in a rush t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nice setting. I would not be in a rush to go back. My app was good, my main was most disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Fun and exciting for a family, especial ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fun and exciting for a family, especially if Toronto isn't your

everyday scene. Food was interesting.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My medium rare steak showed up blue rare

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

My medium rare steak showed up blue rare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Went with a friend to this restaurant du ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went with a friend to this restaurant during the 2016 Summerlicious event. Food quality and service are excellent.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to the Calvin bar many a time, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I've been to the Calvin bar many a time, so was very pleased the quality of their beverages and cocktails carries through to the restaurant upstairs. Since the summerlicious menu was running concurrent to our visit, we took advantage and ordered it in combination with the a la carte options. The chicken and waffles were excellent, as well as the steak tartare - perfectly spiced, yet light enough for lunch. Cod cakes and brulee were very good as well. The carbonara however, arrived as a surprisingly large, somewhat lacking portion.. Mouthfeel was far too dense/heavy, I imagine they went a bit heavy on the cream.. Of the two desserts, the chocolate mousse was one-note and even cloying at times, with the brownies being as dry and unappetising as packaged grocery-baked goods. However, being a frequent patron of the Trump tower in Chicago, I can attest the tartare and remainder of the summerlicious meal was very much on par with offerings I've had at numerous other trump -affiliated restaurants. Therefore I would return again for the regular menu. Service was great: polite, friendly and informative. We even watched the table next to us (a mother daughter pair) have their bill waived due to a small error (regarding dietary preferences), without being requested and accompanied by a very sincere apology from the maitre d - which we thought was phenomenal service. Highly recommended for lunch or a client meal.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very enjoyable. We enjoyed the food and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very enjoyable. We enjoyed the food and ambiance to Our!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suprisingly the food was really good...t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Suprisingly the food was really good...the place isn't just a name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had an amazing time at the Trump Resta ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had an amazing time at the Trump Restaurant. This is exactly how I imagined a Trump Hotel Restaurant would be like. The food was amazing. The servers were really nice and the service was very efficient. Would love to go back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food taste ok but the portion size is to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food taste ok but the portion size is too small. Tables are too close to each other, atmosphere feels noisy and very crowded. Place is right downtown and parking is very reasonable.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The service was friendly and professiona ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was friendly and professional. The food was delicious with a great presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed. i'm glad I went for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was not impressed. i'm glad I went for Summerlicious, for the food to value ratio was fine. The ambiance was a bit harsh in purple lighting, the food was good but oversalted. I thought it was just okay, and that there are more venues in Toronto that give a better bang for buck.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Summerlicious 2016 What we ordered: App ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Summerlicious 2016

What we ordered:

Appetizers: Chicken & Waffles, Peanut Hummus

Mains: Steak, Jambalaya

Desserts: Strawberry Shortcake, Rocky Road Mousse

The appetizers were absolutely delicious - especially the black peanut hummus which was the unexpected surprise! The mains and desserts were good but not outstanding. Surprisingly, the complimentary bread basket was one of the highlights of the meal! Absolutely delicious freshly-baked sourdough and cornbread served with a red pepper aioli.

IG: @thechewreview

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Came to America for Summerlicious and we ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Came to America for Summerlicious and we're not disappointed. The food was amazing and so was the service. The cornbread is probably the best I've ever had. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality is impressive even for summ ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food quality is impressive even for summerlicious! Pork shoulder is so tender and has a big portion. Definitely worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was a little slow. It took a whi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was a little slow. It took a while for our waitress to greet us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We already informed our waiter that we h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We already informed our waiter that we had to leave quickly and to bring all our food to us at once. The restaurant was not busy because it was a workday at 11:45am, she promised it wouldn't be a problem and would get us out in an hour. Not only was this not the case we had to wait for our next course and get her attention to get the next course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I enjoyed America overall. Decor was ama ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I enjoyed America overall. Decor was amazing and view was breathtaking. My only downfall for the night was my dessert. Had the blue cheese and it was not great at all. I was satisfied otherwise.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great décor and service. Food was very g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great décor and service. Food was very good . The restaurant is not ideally suited for a romantic dinner as the tables are very close together with very few locations in the restaurant for intimacy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

WE tried Summerlicious menu, simply the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

WE tried Summerlicious menu, simply the best so far. Great service, food . Beautiful modern restaurant in Trump hotel high standards met absolutely, better than expected as reviews were different from time to time. We glad . Special thank you to chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was great and the food was delicious! The ambience is also very nice. My only complaint is that my boyfriend and I had reservations for 2.30 pm and I called at 1 pm to see if we could move up our reservation to 1.30 pm and they said they couldn't. When we did arrive the restaurant was less than 50% full. Therefore I don't understand why the reservations couldn't have been moved up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very small and the deserts ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was very small and the deserts sucked. The staff was great but not to go looking.

And the parking attendant told me parking was free, when I got there they took my car and parked it, but to my surprise when I went back to get my car they charged me $27 wow lying to make money, I will only go back if it's free it ant nothing special.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I reaIly like eating at America and this ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I reaIly like eating at America and this was a great experience for Summerlicious 2016. I started with a salad with grilled peaches. It was delicious. The lettuce was so fresh and it had a tangy dressing. My friend had chicken and waffles and it was delicious and not greasy

Next I had the bbq cauliflower with baked beans. Literally a large chunk of cauliflower covered in a delicious bbq sauce and grilled with a nice fancy baked beans. It was light and tasty. My friend had turkey carbonara and it was so good. It had smoked turkey as well and was topped with a soft boiled egg that you cracked on to run over the pasta.

Dessert was great. My friend had rocky road sundae which was brownie with chocolate mousse and marshmallows with a caramel drizzle. It was really nice (but she did say she found the brownie portion dry – I only had a small piece so didn’t notice the dry). I had their version of a cheese plate. It was a smoked blue cheese (really mild-almost not blue) with some pear, a toast crisp, tangy berry sauce drops and little tiny meringues. It was one of the nicest cheeses I’ve ever had. It was also a really large serving of cheese. I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had heard great things, but was disappoi ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Had heard great things, but was disappointed with the experience, especially for the cost. My wife and I went for lunch and were underwhelmed with the food, service, and atmosphere.

She ordered the beef tartare and fried chicken, and found both to be messy and overspiced. The chicken, in particular, looked a mess, and was covered with drops of various sauces and flavours, which looked like someone had accidentally melted M&Ms on the food. I had the prix fixe menu, with a tortilla / ceviche that was smothered in sauce and a steak which was unremarkable. The dessert, however, was outstanding!

Service was also disappointing - cocktails took an age, despite the restaurant being empty and were underwhelming, and they twice tried to deliver our items to the table next to us. There were lots of staff wandering around, but not many serving the few guests that were there, strangely.

The atmosphere and decor was also below what we expected - 'modern' tables that were scratched and uncovered, gouges in the wall and paint peeling behind the bench. There was also an influx of pre-teen boys that burst into the lounge about halfway through the meal, seemingly in town for a baseball tournament (they were all in shorts and T-shirts and there were several bats wielded about). While America IS a hotel restaurant, it was a scene more reminiscent of a Holiday Inn, rather than the Trump hotel.

Final verdict: Unremarkable food, disappointing service, and dramatically overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

I'm sad to report that America Restauran ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I'm sad to report that America Restaurant was a big disappointment. The food was sub-par at best and the service was almost non-existent. I regularly dine out at nice restaurants including places such as Hawksworth, Alinea, Bauhaus, and Atelier Crenn, and the food at America was not even in the same league as these other restaurants. The service was equally terrible and I had to make a point of calling the server over a couple of times during the night to fetch me another drink and top up my water.

The only saving grace is the atmosphere. If you’re looking for somewhere to hang out and have a few cocktails, it’s definitely a great venue. Otherwise, I’d find a different place for lunch, brunch or dinner (for the record, I had all three meals there to see if they were having a bad day).

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Over - priced mediocre food. Have had b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Over - priced mediocre food. Have had better food. The pricing is outrageous for the amount that you get.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Great room. No lawyers! Good food but pr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great room. No lawyers! Good food but pricey. Service was slow - very few customers

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I took my fiancé here for their birthday ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I took my fiancé here for their birthday. What an amazing place with a gorgeous view and exceptional service. Will definitely come back. Love the Trump Tower America.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible,It wasn't busy ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was terrible,It wasn't busy on a Wednesday night and the waitress took forever

to get our drinks .Would not go back 😒

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was phenomenal. Everything was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was phenomenal. Everything was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. It's a really find. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly and great service while food is ok

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Service was friendly and attentive, very good and I was pleasantly surprised. Some restaurants of this type have snooty waiters, the wait staff (2 of them) were excellent.

The food was okay, not bad at all but I wouldn't go back for the food. The scallops were overcooked, unfortunately. All of us had scallops and they were all a little overcooked. The cornbread appetizer was a delightful surprise. The risotto was slightly undercooked, you could feel the grit of the uncooked rice, not very pleasant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

not worth the money

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I have experienced many restaurants in Montreal and Toronto; and I had great expectations for America considering the reputation of group of owners, and considering it's on the 31st floor, expecting views....well very disappointing views as you are stuck between buildings, no views of the lake or other impressive buildings, and the space outside is tiny! you can barely walk nor sit comfortably to enjoy building scenery. As for food, it was decent, I've had better for cheaper. the ratio quality/price is not there. Our waiter, Scott was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

love the interior. i dont like the stiro ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

love the interior. i dont like the stiroin steak it wasn't well done.but staffs are courteous. I love the bar and dining. a littl bit pricey but it was awesome dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful from start to finish. Outstand ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful from start to finish.

Outstanding waiter, food and ambience.

Could have stayed all day!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful space

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

great service - from the maitre'd to the busboys - all were very friendly and accommodating.

as for the food - i found it not memorable. we had the fixed price menu (which was a great price btw) but the food was bland. the appetizer - a mushroom infused something covered with cream - was awful. then they served this curried risotto with eggs with albacore tuna - which to me was too dry. for a high level restaurant - and one of the O&B name - i expected a higher level. my friend had the burger and fries - the fries were so salty. save your money - go somewhere else.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

"Underwhelming" meal, excellent service.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Been wanting to try America since its rave reviews in Toronto Life. What a disappointment! The atmosphere was lovely--luxe, yet modern, with a cool vibe. Our server, John, was wonderful--attentive and helpful. Champagne, wine and cocktail were all great. Everything was perfect until the food arrived. Steaks were cooked as ordered, but were not particularly flavourful. My husband described his salmon as "tasteless." The roasted root vegetables (carrots and parsnips) were too sweet and were nothing special. Spinach and mushroom side was ok. The meal including one glass of champagne, three glasses of wine and one cocktail, plus tip, came to $450 for the three of us. Happy to spend that for an outstanding meal, but this failed to deliver. Won't be going back for dinner. May consider for drinks only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Elegant evening with great service and ambience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

An elegant setting with great service and ambience. Highly recommended, despite the Trump label.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small plate brunch is great.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Interesting and tasty stuff to try out, the small plate is pricy mind you, 2 people about $200 to try out everything.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was bad

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

One of our steak was cold and over cooked.

Service was good but because of the foods very dissapoined

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Dissapointment

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went there for Easter brunch and was very disappointed with the service. The waiter forgot to bring us food and they could not execute on the concept. They tried to do this dim sum style, but the wait staff did not bring all food to all tables. We saw other unhappy customers. We had to repeatedly ask for the dishes that we wanted. Based on this disappointing experience, I would not recommend this restaurant as we look for a combination of good food and good service and in this case, the service was very much sub-par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.