About America Restaurant, Trump Toronto

325 Bay Street
31st Floor
Toronto, ON M5H 4G3
View Larger Map

America Restaurant is the newest addition to Bay Street's thriving social scene from Canadian lifestyle leaders INK Entertainment and Oliver & Bonacini Restaurants. Located on the 31st floor, this unique and modern 110-seat milieu remains true to the recognizable Trump modern-meets-luxury style brand. Open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, America presents a diverse range of innovative gourmet dishes rooted in classic regional flavours.

On Saturday evenings, the bold and luxe America transforms into a unique on top of the world supper club where patrons can indulge in an ultra-intimate, late-night venue offering both high entertainment and fine dining. For bottle service or late night table reservations, please call 416.637.5550.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bay & Adelaide

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 637-5550

Website:
http://americarestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
Late Night America is open on Saturdays, 10:30pm to 2:00am.

For bottle service or late night table reservations, please call 416.637.5550.

Executive Chef:
Bill Osborne

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
America Restaurant, Trump Toronto
Toasted bbq corn
gin and tonic
Poutine (Off Menu Item)
Oysters

America Restaurant, Trump Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Scenic View (34)
See All
Romantic (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Good for Groups (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dancing (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love it , will go back again.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love it , will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were greeted by our host who promptly ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We were greeted by our host who promptly showed us to the dining area, we were given the option to select a table. The waitress was very pleasant/friendly, she listened to our needs and recommended dishes accordingly for starters and desert. Excellent menu options so it was tough to pick one however Mr. had the Butcher's grill and I had the lamb; all presented well and cooked to perfection! Great selection of wines. Not too noisy just very nice music in the background. Excellent décor, great wall art, warm and classy place to celebrate a special occasion. I really enjoyed my birthday dinner and I definitely look forward to returning in the near future!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would not go back as the it was expensiv ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Would not go back as the it was expensive for what you received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Pleasant staff in a vaguely funereal roo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Pleasant staff in a vaguely funereal room that almost has a view (the terrace does have a view but in the restaurant itself you only see the people on the terrace). The staff is pleasant and efficient. The food is serviceable but nothing special. The biggest problem is the noise, made worse by a thumping sound system wholly inappropriate for dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great time. Would definitely c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a great time. Would definitely come back - great atmosphere, food, friendly staff!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place. The service was top not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Beautiful place. The service was top notch, however, we were one of 3 tables. Apparently, it's slow season. Lobster ravioli appetizer was amazing. Would definitely go back to order that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food experience was outstanding. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food experience was outstanding. The restaurant was almost empty, maybe four tables were being used, and the service was a tad slow. I would've thought with the lack of patrons, the service would have been top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

delicious food at a great price with a w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

delicious food at a great price with a wonderful staff...not my first time, and won't be my last.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Service and wonderful experience! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great Service and wonderful experience! The staff at America Toronto are top notch and will try their best to accommodate your needs.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I like to give 3.8 stars but since that ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I like to give 3.8 stars but since that doesn't exist I am giving 4. Environment is good but food is just average. So value is only 3 stars.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for the Summerlicious lunch . G ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for the Summerlicious lunch . Good value. We tried to book online for a larger group 4 - 8 but could not find a reasonable time; eventhough, when we arrived, after booking for 2, most of the restaurant was empty.

Loved the chicken and waffle.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice setting. I would not be in a rush t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice setting. I would not be in a rush to go back. My app was good, my main was most disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Fun and exciting for a family, especial ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Fun and exciting for a family, especially if Toronto isn't your

everyday scene. Food was interesting.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My medium rare steak showed up blue rare

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My medium rare steak showed up blue rare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

This was the second time that I have had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was the second time that I have had lunch at America and both times the food has been outstanding, with wonderful presentation and exceptional service. I would highly recommend America!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was not busy when we went ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The restaurant was not busy when we went, it was interesting to see that the waiter was taking quite a while to take our order and to generally bring the food. The food was good but the chicken from the chicken and waffles on the summerlicious menu was overcooked and hard to chew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Went with a friend to this restaurant du ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went with a friend to this restaurant during the 2016 Summerlicious event. Food quality and service are excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to the Calvin bar many a time, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I've been to the Calvin bar many a time, so was very pleased the quality of their beverages and cocktails carries through to the restaurant upstairs. Since the summerlicious menu was running concurrent to our visit, we took advantage and ordered it in combination with the a la carte options. The chicken and waffles were excellent, as well as the steak tartare - perfectly spiced, yet light enough for lunch. Cod cakes and brulee were very good as well. The carbonara however, arrived as a surprisingly large, somewhat lacking portion.. Mouthfeel was far too dense/heavy, I imagine they went a bit heavy on the cream.. Of the two desserts, the chocolate mousse was one-note and even cloying at times, with the brownies being as dry and unappetising as packaged grocery-baked goods. However, being a frequent patron of the Trump tower in Chicago, I can attest the tartare and remainder of the summerlicious meal was very much on par with offerings I've had at numerous other trump -affiliated restaurants. Therefore I would return again for the regular menu. Service was great: polite, friendly and informative. We even watched the table next to us (a mother daughter pair) have their bill waived due to a small error (regarding dietary preferences), without being requested and accompanied by a very sincere apology from the maitre d - which we thought was phenomenal service. Highly recommended for lunch or a client meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very enjoyable. We enjoyed the food and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very enjoyable. We enjoyed the food and ambiance to Our!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here a few times with my boyfriend ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Been here a few times with my boyfriend and every time we've come we've been met with exceptional service and food has always been great. Love America!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suprisingly the food was really good...t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Suprisingly the food was really good...the place isn't just a name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had an amazing time at the Trump Resta ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had an amazing time at the Trump Restaurant. This is exactly how I imagined a Trump Hotel Restaurant would be like. The food was amazing. The servers were really nice and the service was very efficient. Would love to go back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food taste ok but the portion size is to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food taste ok but the portion size is too small. Tables are too close to each other, atmosphere feels noisy and very crowded. Place is right downtown and parking is very reasonable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The service was friendly and professiona ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was friendly and professional. The food was delicious with a great presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed. i'm glad I went for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was not impressed. i'm glad I went for Summerlicious, for the food to value ratio was fine. The ambiance was a bit harsh in purple lighting, the food was good but oversalted. I thought it was just okay, and that there are more venues in Toronto that give a better bang for buck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Summerlicious 2016 What we ordered: App ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Summerlicious 2016

What we ordered:

Appetizers: Chicken & Waffles, Peanut Hummus

Mains: Steak, Jambalaya

Desserts: Strawberry Shortcake, Rocky Road Mousse

The appetizers were absolutely delicious - especially the black peanut hummus which was the unexpected surprise! The mains and desserts were good but not outstanding. Surprisingly, the complimentary bread basket was one of the highlights of the meal! Absolutely delicious freshly-baked sourdough and cornbread served with a red pepper aioli.

IG: @thechewreview

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Came to America for Summerlicious and we ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Came to America for Summerlicious and we're not disappointed. The food was amazing and so was the service. The cornbread is probably the best I've ever had. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality is impressive even for summ ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food quality is impressive even for summerlicious! Pork shoulder is so tender and has a big portion. Definitely worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was a little slow. It took a whi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was a little slow. It took a while for our waitress to greet us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We already informed our waiter that we h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We already informed our waiter that we had to leave quickly and to bring all our food to us at once. The restaurant was not busy because it was a workday at 11:45am, she promised it wouldn't be a problem and would get us out in an hour. Not only was this not the case we had to wait for our next course and get her attention to get the next course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I enjoyed America overall. Decor was ama ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I enjoyed America overall. Decor was amazing and view was breathtaking. My only downfall for the night was my dessert. Had the blue cheese and it was not great at all. I was satisfied otherwise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great décor and service. Food was very g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great décor and service. Food was very good . The restaurant is not ideally suited for a romantic dinner as the tables are very close together with very few locations in the restaurant for intimacy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

WE tried Summerlicious menu, simply the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

WE tried Summerlicious menu, simply the best so far. Great service, food . Beautiful modern restaurant in Trump hotel high standards met absolutely, better than expected as reviews were different from time to time. We glad . Special thank you to chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was great and the food was delicious! The ambience is also very nice. My only complaint is that my boyfriend and I had reservations for 2.30 pm and I called at 1 pm to see if we could move up our reservation to 1.30 pm and they said they couldn't. When we did arrive the restaurant was less than 50% full. Therefore I don't understand why the reservations couldn't have been moved up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very small and the deserts ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was very small and the deserts sucked. The staff was great but not to go looking.

And the parking attendant told me parking was free, when I got there they took my car and parked it, but to my surprise when I went back to get my car they charged me $27 wow lying to make money, I will only go back if it's free it ant nothing special.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I reaIly like eating at America and this ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I reaIly like eating at America and this was a great experience for Summerlicious 2016. I started with a salad with grilled peaches. It was delicious. The lettuce was so fresh and it had a tangy dressing. My friend had chicken and waffles and it was delicious and not greasy

Next I had the bbq cauliflower with baked beans. Literally a large chunk of cauliflower covered in a delicious bbq sauce and grilled with a nice fancy baked beans. It was light and tasty. My friend had turkey carbonara and it was so good. It had smoked turkey as well and was topped with a soft boiled egg that you cracked on to run over the pasta.

Dessert was great. My friend had rocky road sundae which was brownie with chocolate mousse and marshmallows with a caramel drizzle. It was really nice (but she did say she found the brownie portion dry – I only had a small piece so didn’t notice the dry). I had their version of a cheese plate. It was a smoked blue cheese (really mild-almost not blue) with some pear, a toast crisp, tangy berry sauce drops and little tiny meringues. It was one of the nicest cheeses I’ve ever had. It was also a really large serving of cheese. I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had heard great things, but was disappoi ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Had heard great things, but was disappointed with the experience, especially for the cost. My wife and I went for lunch and were underwhelmed with the food, service, and atmosphere.

She ordered the beef tartare and fried chicken, and found both to be messy and overspiced. The chicken, in particular, looked a mess, and was covered with drops of various sauces and flavours, which looked like someone had accidentally melted M&Ms on the food. I had the prix fixe menu, with a tortilla / ceviche that was smothered in sauce and a steak which was unremarkable. The dessert, however, was outstanding!

Service was also disappointing - cocktails took an age, despite the restaurant being empty and were underwhelming, and they twice tried to deliver our items to the table next to us. There were lots of staff wandering around, but not many serving the few guests that were there, strangely.

The atmosphere and decor was also below what we expected - 'modern' tables that were scratched and uncovered, gouges in the wall and paint peeling behind the bench. There was also an influx of pre-teen boys that burst into the lounge about halfway through the meal, seemingly in town for a baseball tournament (they were all in shorts and T-shirts and there were several bats wielded about). While America IS a hotel restaurant, it was a scene more reminiscent of a Holiday Inn, rather than the Trump hotel.

Final verdict: Unremarkable food, disappointing service, and dramatically overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

I'm sad to report that America Restauran ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I'm sad to report that America Restaurant was a big disappointment. The food was sub-par at best and the service was almost non-existent. I regularly dine out at nice restaurants including places such as Hawksworth, Alinea, Bauhaus, and Atelier Crenn, and the food at America was not even in the same league as these other restaurants. The service was equally terrible and I had to make a point of calling the server over a couple of times during the night to fetch me another drink and top up my water.

The only saving grace is the atmosphere. If you’re looking for somewhere to hang out and have a few cocktails, it’s definitely a great venue. Otherwise, I’d find a different place for lunch, brunch or dinner (for the record, I had all three meals there to see if they were having a bad day).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Over - priced mediocre food. Have had b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Over - priced mediocre food. Have had better food. The pricing is outrageous for the amount that you get.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Great room. No lawyers! Good food but pr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great room. No lawyers! Good food but pricey. Service was slow - very few customers

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.