Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Amelie

4.5
138 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Wine Bar
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Amélie is a concept of a modern wine bar lounge located in the trendy Nob Hill district of San Francisco.

With its dramatic wall of lushly lit wine bottles and soaring wooden wine shelves, Amélie fuses the cool American urban with the chic Parisian modern, emerging as an irresistible blend of international hip.

Whether you’re looking for a romantic rendezvous, a place to unwind for happy hour or a lively hangout, you’ll find the perfect spot at Amélie.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
5.30 pm to 10 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 292-6916
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Polk Street and Washington Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus lines: 1, 10, 12, 19, 27, 47, 49
Cable car lines: Powell & Hyde, California
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music every Sunday 630 pm to 930 pm
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 138 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 27, 2017

We loved it! Service was great, top notch drink/wine list, and food was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2017

Our family dined at Amelie and had a wonderfully meal. The host could not have been more accommodating and treated my twin girls as if they were regulars. Great casual spot with a great wine and charcuterie selection as well as delicious pizzas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2017

Amelie has always been my favorite place to catch up with friends and have a glass (or two...or three) of wine. The people who work there are incredibly sweet and accommodating, as well as knowledgeable of the wines that they offer. There isn't any pretentious vibe at all, which I find to be common in most wine bars. The menu is always changing, but that keeps things fresh and exciting every time you go. The overall vibe here is very hip and European. I've always recommended this place to friends and I find that they always enjoy coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service! The guys who work there are very kind and the food is excellent! They have a great selection of wines...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

Perfect for a girls night out or chill date. Loud, but can still conversate. I recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Had an amazing time at Amelie. Great wine selection at great price and added a small chocolate plate to top it off. Cozy setting with energetic vibe. A+, will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Love Amelie. Great wine menu, great cheese and charcuterie. Perfect for a date or wine with friends. They have good wine flights at happy hour as well. Not a huge food menu, but great place for small bites and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2017

There were 5 of us who enjoyed their appetizers. Our French waiter was very accommodating and friendly. The price was reasonable, the ambience was cozy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Always love Amelie, great wine and great atmosphere. Perfect date night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2017

Amelie was amazing. Really authentic French dishes and an extensive wine list. The live music was a great plus. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place to grab wine and cheese/meat platter. Had the most flavorful ravioli with black truffle. A+

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2016

A go-to for dates and catching up with old friends. Great happy hour with build your own flights. And they have burrata, yum! Super great staff with an awesome wine list :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Best meal I'm a LONG time. Will save me on airfare to Paris.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 30, 2016

A good wine bar is hard to find so happening upon Amelie was a stroke of luck. Waiters know their wines and make wise suggestions. Wine plus charcuterie was a fine pre theater meal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was terrific. Waiter was friendly and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2016

The French style tapas (finger foods or beer or wine foods) are excellent, reasonablely priced, especial if go during Happy Hours (5pm-7pm). RVSP is recommend because seats are limted if you have a party of over 5 or more people. The wine flights are an excellent value and great for matching with their vaiety of foods from escargot, mushroom flata bread, chicken pate, to their cheese board (formage) with slices of salami, cold cuts, mustards and relishes. Great value and bang for the buck.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2016

So good!!!!! The eggplant caviar was amazing!!!!! And our server was a gem and he was from Marseille France! So authentic and handsome 😉

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 3, 2016

Way too noisy-the music was too loud to have a conversation. The people at the table next to us were bothered by the loud music too. We asked twice and they asked at least once to have it turned down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Met my friend there for a nice catch up. Great food, service and ambience!! Wine was amazing!! Will most definitely go back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2016

crowded on a friday night, but the staff was very courteous and helped with wine choices as they were particularly knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 26, 2016

The service was amazing and they guys were so knowledgeable! Amazing quality of food and the wine selection was impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2016

As always wine and ambiance make for a great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2016

Love love love Amelie. Like taking a mini vacay to Paris. Amazing sommeliers, orgasmic food, top shelf wine for every taste, wonderful music, sexy atmosphere. You will make friends and family at this place. I must emphasize to let one of their sommeliers to choose a wine for you even if you think you're not a wine drinker. They will find something you love and come back for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Amelie was very accommodating. I made a reservation and had an unexpectedly large party but the staff did their absolute best to make sure everyone was comfortable. My only small point is that I wish we could've ordered a glass of wine while waiting for the table to open since I came a little early but it was also a very busy night so I understand that the staff may not have been able to do so even if that was an option.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 12, 2016

Amelie is always good and has never disappointed me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2016

Great wine selection and great knowledge

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 27, 2016

Amelia has a great wine list and good ambiance (plus, super convenient location on Polk). The food flavors were really good (burrata was excellent) but it came with barely any bread compared to the cheese ratio and service was slow enough that it made it a little frustrating. Still a good spot for wine night with friends - but wouldn't take a date there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome charcuterie and wine selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2016

Awesome, amazing, beautiful, sublime food, extraordinary wine list, simply gorgeous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 10, 2016

Amelie is a standout spot for happy hour, but the menu also suggests that any meal would probably still be a value. Happy hour offers a great price for a custom flight. The happy hour flatbread was also delicious, and the salads were copious and delicious. Service was warm and also in French when we requested it--merci! I can't wait to go back to try more wines and French food items!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2016

Such an amazing wine bar with great wine flight deals and an amazing HH! The service is also amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2016

Memorable and personalized service, delicious dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2016

Great buzz, very good food, nice crowd, incredible service. Our waiter could not have been a nicer or more engaging person.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2016

Liked the food, tastes very good, and very unique. Servers are very friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2016

Good service, decent food and wine list. Great neighborhood. I'd go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2016

Have been to their New York restaurant and wanted to try San Francisco for a family get-together. Had a great time, enjoyed the mood, and the tapas nature of the menu. We tried many of the offerings and liked everything, especially the quiche (very rich). Good wine wine as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2016

It is refreshing that Amelie and others are providing a wonderful meal, with out the huge cost that some SF restaurants are charging. This restaurant is on my repeat list!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2016

OO noisy to enjoy talking unless you shouted which many were doing. Wine flights were good and perhaps the food was but could not even hear to order or ask about the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2016

Amazing ambiance, food and service for a fun evening out on Polk. Started with two glasses of Malbec and a delicious cheese plate that came with honey and fruit dips and a sack (yes, a sack) of warm bread. Then had the beat salad (which came in a mason jar!) and the cured salmon. Amazing attention to detail in plating and flavors. Ended with the fudge pieces for dessert, which were so rich and a delightful surprise from what we had thought it would be. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2016

The Dates were good
Goat cheese was good
Wine was fine
Dessert was boring
The place was half full on a weekend

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Amelie