About Amelie

1754 Polk Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
View Larger Map

Amélie is a concept of a modern wine bar lounge located in the trendy Nob Hill district of San Francisco.

With its dramatic wall of lushly lit wine bottles and soaring wooden wine shelves, Amélie fuses the cool American urban with the chic Parisian modern, emerging as an irresistible blend of international hip.

Whether you’re looking for a romantic rendezvous, a place to unwind for happy hour or a lively hangout, you’ll find the perfect spot at Amélie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, French

Hours of Operation:
5.30 pm to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Polk Street and Washington Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 292-6916

Website:
http://ameliewinebar.com/ameliesf/

Entertainment:
Live music every Sunday 630 pm to 930 pm

Public Transit:
Bus lines: 1, 10, 12, 19, 27, 47, 49
Cable car lines: Powell & Hyde, California

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Amelie
Amelie
Amelie
Amelie
Cheese Plate
Wine
Oysters
Wine Flight
Comté
Comte Cheese And Jambon De Paris Croque Monsieur
Smoked Salmon Tartine
Plateau Apero
Beer
Fresh Veg
Carignan
Warm Pistachio Goat Cheese
Macarons
Comte raw milk cheese
Mousse De Foie Volaille Au Madeira And Onion Jam
Brie And Pear Apetizers
Cheese
Fish Platter
Natural Wine
Goat Ch
Duck Confit With Gratin Dauphinois

Amelie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
San Francisco
Notable Wine List
San Francisco
Vibrant Bar Scene
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Russian Hill ›

notable wine list (19)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
See All
romantic (14)
special occasion (9)
fit for foodies (8)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such an amazing wine bar with great wine ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Such an amazing wine bar with great wine flight deals and an amazing HH! The service is also amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable and personalized service, deli ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Memorable and personalized service, delicious dishes.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great buzz, very good food, nice crowd, ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Great buzz, very good food, nice crowd, incredible service. Our waiter could not have been a nicer or more engaging person.

food5
ambience5
service5

Liked the food, tastes very good, and ve ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Liked the food, tastes very good, and very unique. Servers are very friendly.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service, decent food and wine list. ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Good service, decent food and wine list. Great neighborhood. I'd go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on May 10, 2016

Have been to their New York restaurant and wanted to try San Francisco for a family get-together. Had a great time, enjoyed the mood, and the tapas nature of the menu. We tried many of the offerings and liked everything, especially the quiche (very rich). Good wine wine as well.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Value

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

It is refreshing that Amelie and others are providing a wonderful meal, with out the huge cost that some SF restaurants are charging. This restaurant is on my repeat list!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

OO noisy to enjoy talking unless you sho ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

OO noisy to enjoy talking unless you shouted which many were doing. Wine flights were good and perhaps the food was but could not even hear to order or ask about the menu.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing ambiance, food and service for ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Amazing ambiance, food and service for a fun evening out on Polk. Started with two glasses of Malbec and a delicious cheese plate that came with honey and fruit dips and a sack (yes, a sack) of warm bread. Then had the beat salad (which came in a mason jar!) and the cured salmon. Amazing attention to detail in plating and flavors. Ended with the fudge pieces for dessert, which were so rich and a delightful surprise from what we had thought it would be. Will definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service3

The Dates were good Goat cheese was goo ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

The Dates were good Goat cheese was good Wine was fine Dessert was boring The place was half full on a weekend

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Dark, packed, hot, loud - not my scene, ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Dark, packed, hot, loud - not my scene, but clearly popular. Friendly, attentive staff.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always enjoyable

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I love Amelie. It's my go to wine bar. Great cheese plate, great wine, great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Recommend Amelie

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

This is by far one of my favorite wine bars in SF. They also have amazing food. Reminds me of living in the south of France.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect meal

Dined on February 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for Valentine's day and I've never had a more perfect meal. The food was delicious, came out quickly and we had a delicious bottle of wine to go with it all. They gave us a massive serving of bread to start (I hate when restaurants skimp on the bread!) and the waiters were attentive and polite. We left so happy we picked Amelie for our special V-day date!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

What a cheese plate

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Ordered the large meat and cheese plate and did not regret it!! Great wine list. Also amazing dessert.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best wine bars in SF!

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

Convenient location on Polk St close to a number of other bars. Sophisticated and romantic; perfect for a date. Excellent selection of wines from France and around the world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best wine bar in the entire San Francisc ...

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

Best wine bar in the entire San Francisco

food5
ambience5
service5

Once inside the restaurant, we looked ar ...

Dined on September 15, 2015

Once inside the restaurant, we looked around and everyone seemed to have a great time, as soon as we sat and finished our meals and of course our wine glasses, we understood why such a great vibe. The food was very tasty, the wine list impressive with wines from almost every region and the service impeccable. Can't wait to go back. Thanks Amelie.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4

Not what was expected

Dined on September 2, 2015

Very small and loud atmosphere. Not a lot of tables.

food4
ambience2
service3

Not romantic because it is WAY too loud

Dined on August 23, 2015

The food was good, but the ambiance was not "romantic" as billed, it was like a disco level of sound for the music and impossible to talk. The sound was overwhelming. It's really too bad because we would have had a good time if we'd been able to hear each other.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Hang out place

Dined on August 22, 2015

I came here for happy hour with another friend on Friday ~5:30 pm, people were already sitting at bar counter and having good time. Nice wine list w/ choice of happy hour menu. I Noise level was just right, not too quiet or too loud. Our waiter was very helpful, he tried to stop us when we try to get too many plates !! Food was also great. I'd come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

great food, intriguing wines, great service

vip
Dined on June 18, 2015

my gf and I love this spot. We go probably once a month and had our anniversary dinner here. They have rotating wine flights with quirky band/singer names. Even if you order the same one every time you always try something different. Their food is on point, maybe a tad on the expensive side but fits within most city budgets. Go at happy hour if you find it out of your range. You can keep a meal for 2 with 2 flights at around $50. Try the aperitif board, flat breads, burrata, it's all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1

Hit and Miss

vip
Dined on June 13, 2015

It's been a year or two since I've dined here. The food is still great, actually it's delicious, but the service and overall experience leaves much to be desired for. I wasn't going to leave a review, but since they reported me as a no-show on open table, even though my party arrived 15 minutes before our reservation time and we paid with credit cards, I decided it was worth writing something. We had to wait at the bar before being seated, which was fine since we got there early. We got seated near the back booth. We were halfway through our dinner and the server asked if we'd like to move to another table. Why? Why would we want to be moved when we're perfectly happy where we were seated and enjoying our meal already. How disruptive to our meal would that experience be??? Then they seated a big group at the booth next to us. They didn't bother us at all, but by the time they finished drinking or eating, one of the folks in their group passed out and they just left him there by himself. I felt sorry for the guy, but I couldn't miss the photo opportunity. I don't know what happened to him. My party left while he was still snoozing all alone. No one tried to wake him up, check on him, or move him. Perhaps the staff couldn't see him. Most restaurants wouldn't allow this sort of behavior, but hey I guess anything goes at Amelie.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely happy hour

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

Seven days a week between 5:30 and 7pm, you too can enjoy the excellent value that is Amelie's happy hour. Yes, they honor reservations for it; you're not limited to partaking of these deals in the bar area. Don't be fooled by the short list of three options. Just two of them were plenty to satisfy my happy hour companion and me. The wine flight is a great value: choose any three wines by the glass to serve as your tastings for a mere $10. And the plateau apero ($20) was an impressive spread of meats, cheeses, and accouterment. It took quite an effort to finish it. The baguette that came with it was addicting, too. This is definitely my favorite happy hour in SF now: I'll be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1

Horrible Service, bad wine, noisy

Dined on April 25, 2015

Waiters walked by, seeing our table without water, without menus, without silverware, and even when we hailed them, walked right by! The wine by the glass we ordered was awful. For a wine bar, even if you don't buy a whole bottle, everything on the menu should be good!

food4
ambience2
service5

Great experience, except too loud

Dined on April 19, 2015

We have been to the NYC Amelie's, loved it, so wanted to try to SF location while there in mid-April for a seminar. We went with another couple. The wine was reasonably priced, food was very good - one member of our party had the duck, and found it as good as any he has had. The staff was very accommodating, professional, we tipped accordingly. The one downside is the noise, really guys, it's excessive, you can't have a conversation without shouting. and lots of "what? what'd you say?" You could turn down the sound system just a tad without losing the hip vibe you seem to want to project. The clientele would appreciate it. I would say we prefer the NYC location, a little smoother operation - nicer facility, nicer end of town, but no complaints whatever about the staff at the SF location - you guys were great.

food5
ambience2
service2

Decent last-minute resort

Dined on March 24, 2015

It was a busy night, so service was slow, and the ambiance was loud, and slightly disruptive from the rambunctious group sitting next to us - it's fine for a quick late-night casual bite.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience overall!! Would definit ...

Dined on March 1, 2015

Great experience overall!! Would definitely go back there for their Wine collection..

food5
ambience4
service4

There weren't many options in terms of f ...

Dined on February 23, 2015

There weren't many options in terms of food, but the wine selection makes up for that. The tastings are impactful and delicious and the snails tasted clean.

food3
ambience5
service3

V hip bar with eatery attached. I wouldn ...

Dined on February 21, 2015

V hip bar with eatery attached. I wouldn't call it a restaurant, more a U.S. modern-style brasserie. Waiter spoke French thou and the handy menu offers were kinda French style too. We enjoyed a lot.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely little restaurant for small French plates.

Dined on February 15, 2015

Amelie has a lovely wine selection, great food, and a dark, romantic atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

The wine list is extensive and trying th ...

vip
Dined on February 1, 2015

The wine list is extensive and trying the flights was fun! Also love their buratta- so good!

food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Place in the Neighborhood!

vip
Dined on January 19, 2015

Love this place! Definitely a neighborhood hot spot with an awesome atmosphere. The food, wine and prices are great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

I live right across the street but never ...

Dined on January 19, 2015

I live right across the street but never miss a chance to stop by Amelie. They have a great wine list and is perfect for a light dinner. The staff really know their stuff and have great recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent wine bar with excellent food

Dined on January 19, 2015

I took my wife here for her birthday. It is excellent. The wine selection and food were all wonderful as was the service. This is the only place in the US where I've seen Bulgarian wine (Traminer) available. There is a great selection of appetizers, small and large plates, cheeses and desserts. The service was top notch as was the reception. The owner provided a complimentary creme brule and two glasses of champagne in honor of my wife's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Amelie

vip
Dined on January 4, 2015

Very good food & wine served by a great staff all the ingredients for a wonderful evening

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

Dined on December 8, 2014

Great place. Was first time thee, got a booth table for 4 people and it was awesome. The wine our server recommended was outstanding. We ordered mushroom flatbread, pizza and cheese plate. The best cheese plate ever. It's a romantic and cozy spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great neighborhood find

Dined on November 15, 2014

The wait staff was attentive and helpful. There is a good selection of wine flights and wine by the glass to choose from. Noise level was "energetic" but we were able to easily carry on a conversation. Amelie is divided into two areas, the lounge/bar and the restaurant where you can make a reservation. We wanted someplace within walking distance. This was our first visit but we will definitely return.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

perfect date spot

vip
Dined on October 26, 2014

went here on a fantastic first date. don't be intimidate by the wine list. waiters, whom are all french, were super nice and helpful. i encourage you to try the assortments of meat and cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect!

vip
Dined on October 25, 2014

Always a great time! Great service, great food, and an endless wine list. Nice location for romantic date or a group of friends. Will go back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.