About Amelie

1754 Polk Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
View Larger Map

Amélie is a concept of a modern wine bar lounge located in the trendy Nob Hill district of San Francisco.

With its dramatic wall of lushly lit wine bottles and soaring wooden wine shelves, Amélie fuses the cool American urban with the chic Parisian modern, emerging as an irresistible blend of international hip.

Whether you’re looking for a romantic rendezvous, a place to unwind for happy hour or a lively hangout, you’ll find the perfect spot at Amélie.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, French

Hours of Operation:
5.30 pm to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Polk Street and Washington Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 292-6916

Website:
http://ameliewinebar.com/ameliesf/

Entertainment:
Live music every Sunday 630 pm to 930 pm

Public Transit:
Bus lines: 1, 10, 12, 19, 27, 47, 49
Cable car lines: Powell & Hyde, California

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Cheese Plate - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Wine - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Oysters - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Wine Flight - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Comté - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Smoked Salmon Tartine - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Comte Cheese And Jambon De Paris Croque Monsieur - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Carignan - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Plateau Apero - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Fresh Veg - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Beer - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Macarons - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Warm Pistachio Goat Cheese - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Duck Confit With Gratin Dauphinois - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Cheese - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Natural Wine - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Brie And Pear Apetizers - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Fish Platter - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Comte raw milk cheese  - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Goat Ch - Amelie, San Francisco, CA
Mousse De Foie Volaille Au Madeira And Onion Jam - Amelie, San Francisco, CA

Amelie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (5)
Special Occasion (3)
See All
Good for a Date (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best meal I'm a LONG time. Will save me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Best meal I'm a LONG time. Will save me on airfare to Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good wine bar is hard to find so happe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

A good wine bar is hard to find so happening upon Amelie was a stroke of luck. Waiters know their wines and make wise suggestions. Wine plus charcuterie was a fine pre theater meal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was terrific. Waiter was friend ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was terrific. Waiter was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The French style tapas (finger foods or ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The French style tapas (finger foods or beer or wine foods) are excellent, reasonablely priced, especial if go during Happy Hours (5pm-7pm). RVSP is recommend because seats are limted if you have a party of over 5 or more people. The wine flights are an excellent value and great for matching with their vaiety of foods from escargot, mushroom flata bread, chicken pate, to their cheese board (formage) with slices of salami, cold cuts, mustards and relishes. Great value and bang for the buck.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

So good!!!!! The eggplant caviar was ama ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

So good!!!!! The eggplant caviar was amazing!!!!! And our server was a gem and he was from Marseille France! So authentic and handsome 😉

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too noisy-the music was too loud to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Way too noisy-the music was too loud to have a conversation. The people at the table next to us were bothered by the loud music too. We asked twice and they asked at least once to have it turned down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Met my friend there for a nice catch up. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Met my friend there for a nice catch up. Great food, service and ambience!! Wine was amazing!! Will most definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

crowded on a friday night, but the staff ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

crowded on a friday night, but the staff was very courteous and helped with wine choices as they were particularly knowledgeable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was amazing and they guys we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The service was amazing and they guys were so knowledgeable! Amazing quality of food and the wine selection was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always wine and ambiance make for a g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As always wine and ambiance make for a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amelie was very accommodating. I made a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amelie was very accommodating. I made a reservation and had an unexpectedly large party but the staff did their absolute best to make sure everyone was comfortable. My only small point is that I wish we could've ordered a glass of wine while waiting for the table to open since I came a little early but it was also a very busy night so I understand that the staff may not have been able to do so even if that was an option.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amelie is always good and has never disa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amelie is always good and has never disappointed me.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine selection and great knowledge

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great wine selection and great knowledge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amelia has a great wine list and good am ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amelia has a great wine list and good ambiance (plus, super convenient location on Polk). The food flavors were really good (burrata was excellent) but it came with barely any bread compared to the cheese ratio and service was slow enough that it made it a little frustrating. Still a good spot for wine night with friends - but wouldn't take a date there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome, amazing, beautiful, sublime foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Awesome, amazing, beautiful, sublime food, extraordinary wine list, simply gorgeous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amelie is a standout spot for happy hour ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Amelie is a standout spot for happy hour, but the menu also suggests that any meal would probably still be a value. Happy hour offers a great price for a custom flight. The happy hour flatbread was also delicious, and the salads were copious and delicious. Service was warm and also in French when we requested it--merci! I can't wait to go back to try more wines and French food items!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Such an amazing wine bar with great wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Such an amazing wine bar with great wine flight deals and an amazing HH! The service is also amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable and personalized service, deli ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Memorable and personalized service, delicious dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great buzz, very good food, nice crowd, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great buzz, very good food, nice crowd, incredible service. Our waiter could not have been a nicer or more engaging person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Liked the food, tastes very good, and ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Liked the food, tastes very good, and very unique. Servers are very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service, decent food and wine list. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Good service, decent food and wine list. Great neighborhood. I'd go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Have been to their New York restaurant and wanted to try San Francisco for a family get-together. Had a great time, enjoyed the mood, and the tapas nature of the menu. We tried many of the offerings and liked everything, especially the quiche (very rich). Good wine wine as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Value

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2016

It is refreshing that Amelie and others are providing a wonderful meal, with out the huge cost that some SF restaurants are charging. This restaurant is on my repeat list!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

OO noisy to enjoy talking unless you sho ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2016

OO noisy to enjoy talking unless you shouted which many were doing. Wine flights were good and perhaps the food was but could not even hear to order or ask about the menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing ambiance, food and service for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Amazing ambiance, food and service for a fun evening out on Polk. Started with two glasses of Malbec and a delicious cheese plate that came with honey and fruit dips and a sack (yes, a sack) of warm bread. Then had the beat salad (which came in a mason jar!) and the cured salmon. Amazing attention to detail in plating and flavors. Ended with the fudge pieces for dessert, which were so rich and a delightful surprise from what we had thought it would be. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Dates were good Goat cheese was goo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2016

The Dates were good

Goat cheese was good

Wine was fine

Dessert was boring

The place was half full on a weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Dark, packed, hot, loud - not my scene, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Dark, packed, hot, loud - not my scene, but clearly popular. Friendly, attentive staff.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Always enjoyable

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2016

I love Amelie. It's my go to wine bar. Great cheese plate, great wine, great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

High Recommend Amelie

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2016

This is by far one of my favorite wine bars in SF. They also have amazing food. Reminds me of living in the south of France.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect meal

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for Valentine's day and I've never had a more perfect meal. The food was delicious, came out quickly and we had a delicious bottle of wine to go with it all. They gave us a massive serving of bread to start (I hate when restaurants skimp on the bread!) and the waiters were attentive and polite. We left so happy we picked Amelie for our special V-day date!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What a cheese plate

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Ordered the large meat and cheese plate and did not regret it!! Great wine list. Also amazing dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of the best wine bars in SF!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2015

Convenient location on Polk St close to a number of other bars. Sophisticated and romantic; perfect for a date. Excellent selection of wines from France and around the world.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best wine bar in the entire San Francisc ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2015

Best wine bar in the entire San Francisco

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once inside the restaurant, we looked ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2015

Once inside the restaurant, we looked around and everyone seemed to have a great time, as soon as we sat and finished our meals and of course our wine glasses, we understood why such a great vibe. The food was very tasty, the wine list impressive with wines from almost every region and the service impeccable. Can't wait to go back. Thanks Amelie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what was expected

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2015

Very small and loud atmosphere. Not a lot of tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Not romantic because it is WAY too loud

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2015

The food was good, but the ambiance was not "romantic" as billed, it was like a disco level of sound for the music and impossible to talk. The sound was overwhelming. It's really too bad because we would have had a good time if we'd been able to hear each other.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great Hang out place

 
·Dined on August 22, 2015

I came here for happy hour with another friend on Friday ~5:30 pm, people were already sitting at bar counter and having good time. Nice wine list w/ choice of happy hour menu. I Noise level was just right, not too quiet or too loud. Our waiter was very helpful, he tried to stop us when we try to get too many plates !! Food was also great. I'd come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food, intriguing wines, great service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2015

my gf and I love this spot. We go probably once a month and had our anniversary dinner here. They have rotating wine flights with quirky band/singer names. Even if you order the same one every time you always try something different. Their food is on point, maybe a tad on the expensive side but fits within most city budgets. Go at happy hour if you find it out of your range. You can keep a meal for 2 with 2 flights at around $50. Try the aperitif board, flat breads, burrata, it's all good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hit and Miss

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2015

It's been a year or two since I've dined here. The food is still great, actually it's delicious, but the service and overall experience leaves much to be desired for. I wasn't going to leave a review, but since they reported me as a no-show on open table, even though my party arrived 15 minutes before our reservation time and we paid with credit cards, I decided it was worth writing something. We had to wait at the bar before being seated, which was fine since we got there early. We got seated near the back booth. We were halfway through our dinner and the server asked if we'd like to move to another table. Why? Why would we want to be moved when we're perfectly happy where we were seated and enjoying our meal already. How disruptive to our meal would that experience be??? Then they seated a big group at the booth next to us. They didn't bother us at all, but by the time they finished drinking or eating, one of the folks in their group passed out and they just left him there by himself. I felt sorry for the guy, but I couldn't miss the photo opportunity. I don't know what happened to him. My party left while he was still snoozing all alone. No one tried to wake him up, check on him, or move him. Perhaps the staff couldn't see him. Most restaurants wouldn't allow this sort of behavior, but hey I guess anything goes at Amelie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Lovely happy hour

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Seven days a week between 5:30 and 7pm, you too can enjoy the excellent value that is Amelie's happy hour. Yes, they honor reservations for it; you're not limited to partaking of these deals in the bar area. Don't be fooled by the short list of three options. Just two of them were plenty to satisfy my happy hour companion and me. The wine flight is a great value: choose any three wines by the glass to serve as your tastings for a mere $10. And the plateau apero ($20) was an impressive spread of meats, cheeses, and accouterment. It took quite an effort to finish it. The baguette that came with it was addicting, too. This is definitely my favorite happy hour in SF now: I'll be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.