About Ambli Gourmet Eatery & Wine

600 S. Holly St.
Unit 114
Denver, CO 80246
View Larger Map

Ambli is one of Denver’s best culinary experience specializing in global gourmet cuisine. From our chic decor to our savory dishes, you’ll find food choices designed to tempt the palate while introducing new flavors from all over the world. You’ll find influences from Indian, Italian, Asian and Latin American cuisine. Enjoy our To Go menu or dine with us in our tapas lounge. Call for Lunch reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Indian

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Closed
Tues - Fri: Lunch 11:00am-2:00pm
Tues - Thur: Dinner 4:30pm-9:00pm
Fri - Sat: Dinner 4:30pm-9:30pm
Sun Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Leetsdale

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 355-9463

Website:
http://www.amblidenver.com/

Entertainment:
Food & Drink Specials! Specials are not valid on Holidays.

Sunday Dinner
Dinner for two - $35 - Select Menu Only

Tuesday
Tapas Tuesday. Discounted Tapas - $20/Btls of all House Wines

Wednesday
$20 Taco & Marg Special. Special includes 3 Brisket or 3 Fish Tacos, small side salad or fries plus an Owner's Margarita. $20 Btls of House Chardonnay

Thursday
$8 Flatbreads & $8 PEI Mussels - $3. Bowl of Fries. $20 carafes of Rum Sangria

Friday
$5 All Vodka and Gin Martinis. Limit 2 pp. requires purchase of 1 Tapa or 1 Entree per person. (4:30-6:30)

Catering:
Call us directly at 303-355-9463 for more details on catering options.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Ricardo Morffin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Ambli Gourmet Eatery & Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Global, International
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Food
Denver
3 More
Best Value
Denver
Fit for Foodies
Denver
Neighborhood Gem
Denver
Best Restaurants in Central ›

fit for foodies (103)
neighborhood gem (100)
special occasion (63)
See All
good for groups (53)
romantic (37)
hot spot (25)
notable wine list (19)
great for lunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first time at this restaura ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first time at this restaurant. Great food and excellent service. I had the veggie plater. The blend of Indian and East African spices worked very well and did not overpower the dish. Service was very good, prompt but not hovering. Great find. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

my friend and I visited late afternoon o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

my friend and I visited late afternoon on a Friday and tried some of the small plates - delicious. we were not disappointed with any of them. we also tried two desserts - again I say - delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Thai was my second time at Ambls. Enjoye ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Thai was my second time at Ambls. Enjoyed it so much I brought friends the second time. The tapas are unusual and very tasty. Still haven't had a main meal yet but the Ambli's salad and the flatbread were great. We will be going back. Service was friendly. Doesn't look like much from outside but inside is charming

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Ambli for the first time on Tues ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went to Ambli for the first time on Tuesday night and was not disappointed. Turns out Tuesday nights are 'Tapas Tuesday' and they have great deals on not only Tapas but bottles of wine! The Tapas were exceptional and particularly enjoyed the Lobster Shooters - breaded lobster in a shooter of excellent coconut curry sauce. For dinner we had the Wasabi Fish and Chips (excellent) and the Kuka Paka (tender chicken in a curry sauce) - both of which were fantastic. For dessert we finished with a Blueberry Flan which was so unique and delicious.

Besides the food being great the service was even better! From first walking into the restaurant to having appetizers to our meal, every encounter with the staff was fantastic. Very friendly, helpful and happy we were there.

We certainly look forward to our next visit to Ambli!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with an interesting variety o ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food with an interesting variety of cultural flavored

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We all enjoyed ourselves - great food, g ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We all enjoyed ourselves - great food, great company, great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was lovely. The food is good and the ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was lovely. The food is good and the place is very comfortable. Love sitting at the bar. It's easy meeting people sitting next to you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always love to go to Amble. I hate t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We always love to go to Amble. I hate to tell you just how wonderful tapas night is. The last time we went there were three of us. We each made a selection and then a fourth selection for the middle of the table. This is gobs of food and it is fun to eat from small plates and get to experience many tastes. We especially liked the calamari and bruschetta.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambli never disappoints. Fabulous food. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ambli never disappoints. Fabulous food...fabulous service!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and staff is excellent and they hav ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and staff is excellent and they have the best sangria I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 5th or 6th time that we have ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is the 5th or 6th time that we have brought friends to Ambli! We love it here and so has everyone that we've introduced to it. The atmosphere is wonderful, the service is always friendly and efficient and the food is consistently amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Would return only for appetizers. Gre ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Would return only for appetizers.

Great martinis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food. Great service. We'll go back ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great food. Great service. We'll go back for sure...flavors were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! Reviewers are right: this i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

What a find! Reviewers are right: this is a great hidden gem.

Recommendations by the wait staff were spot on. Cocktails were excellent. Wine list could get a little more exciting, especially pairings with complex spices in the menu, but that is a very minor quibble. We will be recommending this to anyone visiting Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The first time my wife & I went to Ambli ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The first time my wife & I went to Ambli's it was amazing. Great energy and we were warmly greeted by one of the owners. We arrived early and wanted to hang out at the bar but there was no space. One of the owners took us to the bar and made a space for us to chill while we waited. Things got better from then on. We received excellent service & attention to detail. We got to meet both owners and they both seemed genuinely interested in who we were and what we were hoping for in our dining experience. We left very impressed and were looking forward to bring our friends when they came to visit from New Mexico.

Last week we took our friends to Ambli and we were incredibly disappointed. The greeter seemed uninterested. We got a great table below the bar but it took forever to get our server . When he arrived once again he seemed uninterested, a couple of times he didn't even stop, he just walked by slowly looking at us? We ordered cocktails and that took longer than expected. We had to flag our server down again to place our order. Our entrees took forever to arrive but they were worth the wait...almost.

Bottom line, we may go back ourselves but we don't feel comfortable taking friends with and we would probably ask to be served by someone more into their job.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was nothing of what I expected, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was nothing of what I expected, it was much better. I also loved the way it looked inside, just beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh, my gosh, is Ambli over the top. The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Oh, my gosh, is Ambli over the top. The food is terrific. The staff was delightful, and the co-owner was always walking about making sure that everything was okay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden joint in a nondescript mall, but ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Hidden joint in a nondescript mall, but don't let the appearance fool you. Lovely mix of dishes, paired with a good wine selection and good service. As for value - the Sunday $35 Dinner special for two was a steal! Excellent place for a bigger group of people who are more on the adventurous side. I am not sure it would suit many fussy eaters/kids, but see the menu and decide for yourself.

While all dishes were excellent, two things I observed: The fish in the coconut curry was slightly overdone for my taste, and the beef tenderloin naan tostadas were by far the star of our meal - high praise given the rest were no slouches.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were amazing. Our f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and service were amazing. Our family had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the delicious food. We ordered several of the tapas and main dishes and shared them, which is really what their menu is designed for. I highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be going again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Ambli, and we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our first time at Ambli, and we can't wait to go back! Everything was delicious!! Definitely don't miss the garlic shrimp or lobster shooter tapas. I had the Mexican brisket, and my husband had the Kuku Paka chicken, both of which were delicious. Our server was great, the ambiance is really fun, and the owner/manager was amazing. Definitely a little hidden gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Since I discovered this restaurant one m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Since I discovered this restaurant one month ago, I have returned 3 times. The food is light, but tasty, the presentation is elegant and the wait staff is gracious. The diversity of flavors makes you feel that you've traveled abroad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Green Curry Mahi was luscious and my com ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Green Curry Mahi was luscious and my companion's Chicken Tika Masala was, as she said, the best she had ever eaten! Service was quite attentive for a casual spot, friendly, not formulaic. Moving our time up a bit was not a problem.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We heard about Ambli from friends and re ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We heard about Ambli from friends and read the Denver Post reviews. We were so impressed by the selection, food, and service. We shared tapas and one entre. The wine was perfect as were the cocktails. Nathan was charming as was the ambiance. We have already made another reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm, welcoming neighborhood gem! Outs ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Warm, welcoming neighborhood gem! Outstanding international food. We loved it!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant is absolutely one of my ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant is absolutely one of my Favorites!!! Excellent food & flavors, great service, adventurous menu!!! After working in a five star five diamond Las Vegas resort for five years I was hard-pressed to find anything that compared to such high end quality, AMBLI goes above and beyond expectations!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambli is consistently great. We hadn't b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Ambli is consistently great. We hadn't been to the restaurant for quite a while because it's difficult to book a reservation at the last minute which is what we seem to do. We were meeting up with some old friends from Hawaii and thought Ambli would have great food and would be a convenient meeting place. We were right on all counts. The food was great though we 'only' had eight of the 13 tapas and all three of the desserts. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambli is a neighborhood jewel of a resta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Ambli is a neighborhood jewel of a restaurant for fine wine and dining. The enthusiastic delightful owners want their guests to experience unique and delicious gourmet food in their most charming setting. The AMbli waiters are efficient and accommodating to your wishes. The tapas are elegantly prepared as well as the entries and desserts. Plus, there are specials on various nights that will appeal to a wide variety of guests. Don't miss AMBLI!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. Everything on t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We love this restaurant. Everything on the menu is great and the ambiance is not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff and food are fabulous. Love that ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Staff and food are fabulous. Love that it's a neighborhood place!

I know it's more of a wine place, but I wish there were just a few good beers. We live in the beer capital of the U.S. and the beer selection is weak.

I still love the place!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Try Tapas Tuesdays

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a dinner for 9 there, it was great. It was a Tuesday and we were able to take advantage of the tapas specials - everything was really fantastic. It's in a strip mall and doesn't look like much from the outside but is great inside. The desserts were great, we got 2 of each.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place, fantastic food!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The only one negative - no kids menu. My friends' son didn't like a quesadilla they made for him.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent tapas!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Several friends had recommended Ambli, and we finally made reservations for a date night. The drinks, food, and service were all wonderful, and to top it off, we had a delightful conversation with one of the owners. We will most definitely make a point of visiting Ambli again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Don't judge a book by its cover.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I found this place looking around online, and I didn't think about where it was located. It's in a strip mall, and it doesn't look like much from the outside. However, upon entering, it was like stepping into a completely different world.

The service was friendly and prompt. The food was fantastic, and our group had a really good time. My favorite dishes were the pablano corn dip and the fig-habanero flatbread!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant Great value ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We love this restaurant Great value and lovely inside great service

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Tapas Tuesday is the time to go! The bir ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Tapas Tuesday is the time to go! The birthday dessert was also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambli continues to be our favorite resta ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Ambli continues to be our favorite restaurant in Denver. Not only is the food eclectic and delicious but the service is impeccable every time.

Our favorites include the Kuku Paka and the Mexico Brisket. The starters and flat bread are like a dinner all its own. You would never know this gem existed but the reviews speak for itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Ambli 3 times and will c ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We have been to Ambli 3 times and will continue to take friends there. Good food, nice ambience, and super wait staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attitude by owners? Really bad.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Normally I don't complain, but this is my second one about Ambli. Got a phone call three hours before reservation time of 5 pm. A woman's voice, not in the least welcoming, asked if we would be coming that evening. (Yes, we were.) Then she told me, in effect, that we would have to vacate our table in time for another reservation at 7:15. It was the manner in which she spoke, not in the least welcoming. If this is how they treat their customers, it doesn't matter how good the food is. I want to feel that I'm appreciated. This "get in get out" attitude is awful. This time I may not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a good time, went on Tapa Tuesday an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Had a good time, went on Tapa Tuesday and had a nice $20 Bottle of Pinot Noir and several Tapas. Beef Tenderloin Tapa and the Roasted Brussel sprouts were both very good. Nice atmosphere and very good service. A little away from Downtown but worth the $10 Uber ride.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty Tapas

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Went for "Tapas Tuesday" , would highly recommend. Reasonably-priced bottles of wine and amazing and creative tapas. Our waiter was attentive, fun, helpful. The whole experience was a delight!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.