About Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

1111 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Savor innovative cuisine and sophisticated surroundings at the Ambassador Hotel Kansas City. Reserve is a vibrant downtown dining gem, with a warm setting distinguished by a chic décor, elegant marble walls and lofty 20-foot ceilings.

For gourmet breakfasts, business lunches and intimate dinners alike, guests may select from an inventive, locally sourced seasonal menu perfectly complemented by signature cocktails and an impressive wine list. Executive Chef Shaun Brady hails from Tippiery, Ireland and offers an unforgettable dining experience.

Reserve is located downtown Kansas City, open 365 days a year. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch. You can enjoy Happy Hour Monday - Friday. Reserve can accommodate most dietary needs. All guests of Reserve can enjoy complimentary self-parking next to the Ambassador Hotel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm.
Bar/ Lounge: Sunday - Thursday: 7:00am - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 7:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-7700

Website:
http://www.reservekc.com/

Entertainment:
Live music On select dates.

Parking Details:
Private gated lot. Reserve patrons are welcome to share the lot with hotel guests free of charge on a first-come first-serve basis.

Executive Chef:
Shaun Brady

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weekend Brunch
Private Dining
Wine Dinners
Chef's Table
Holiday Parties
Rehearsal Dinners
Weddings

Restaurant Photos

Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve, Kansas City, MO

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Ambassador Hotel offers 3 unique private dinning options including our Grand Ballroom, Founders Room and Reserve Restaurant.

Ambassador Hotel - Reserve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Kansas City / Kansas
American
Kansas City / Kansas
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City / Kansas
4 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Business Meals (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very much enjoyed our dinner at the Rese ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very much enjoyed our dinner at the Reserve. Very nice staff, the head chef served our dinner and checked to make sure we enjoyed it. Coq au Vin was delicious, wonderful atmosphere! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very warm but trendy upscale decor. Wait ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very warm but trendy upscale decor. Wait staff was fabulous, thanks Mary Kate! We had an amazing girls night and enjoyed everything we ate! Absolutely loved the whole evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice seating. Great to stare at yo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very nice seating. Great to stare at your pretty lady sitting in a comfy chair. Great mood lighting. Excellent food, with stylish plating.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My date and I were there to celebrate wi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My date and I were there to celebrate with a delicious brunch and found an amazing atmosphere. The decor was very eye appealing and our server was "superb"! We will definitely frequent for brunch again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the Coq au vin and steak and Guinne ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Both the Coq au vin and steak and Guinness pie were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful hidden gem in downtown Kansas ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful hidden gem in downtown Kansas City. The menu is varied, the food perfectly prepared and delicious, and the service impeccable. Beautifully restored venue! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Happy Hour, great drinks, we a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent Happy Hour, great drinks, we also ate Dinner here and the stuffed Salmon was incredible! We will definitely return. Love the ambiance, big chairs and booths - very cozy!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, but they need more servers.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food, but they need more servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

To start, they apparently didn't have ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

To start, they apparently didn't have our reservation... After booking with Open Table I then called that same evening and talked with the front desk. When we arrived, they acted like they didn't know anything about the reservation. However, there wasn't really anybody there, so they were able to accommodate our party. The food was great, but the service was TERRIBLE. We walked in with only one other table seated and it took us well over 3 hours to finish the meal. There was only one person tending to the tables AND the bar and as more people started coming, the service definitely did not improve. Definitely, DO NOT come here if you need to be time sensitive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Ambience is spot on. Food is DELICIOUS. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ambience is spot on. Food is DELICIOUS. Can't wait to return! More to experience.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a lovely boutique hotel atmosphere. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

What a lovely boutique hotel atmosphere. I feel like this is a hidden gem within the city. Food was fantastic as was the service. Definitely will be back. Thinking of hosting a party here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great birthday brunch at Reserve. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Had a great birthday brunch at Reserve. The food is very good - familiar dishes very well prepared and often with a twist.. I had the smoked salmon benedict and it was terrific. I especially love the ambiance and appreciate that it is normally a pretty quiet venue. We could talk at length, just like being home except way better. We will be back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service, great food, very reas ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service, great food, very reasonable! Will visit again when in Kansas City.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful. Chef came out a talk ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was wonderful. Chef came out a talked to us and gave us a wonderful bread pudding dessert. There was a wedding party there, so it was loud that evening, but usually, very quite and can chat easily with dinner mates. This night not so much. But the chef made up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Hidden gem in downtown. Great setting, w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Hidden gem in downtown. Great setting, wonderful service. Good was on point. The stuffed French toast was amazing. Veggie frittata at smidge too dry for my liking, but veggies were fresh and delicious.

The whole grain toast was wonderful. I usually skip the toast but it was too good.

A friend had bagel & lox. Beautiful presentation.

Definitely want to come back for happy hour and/or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing, setting and decor were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was amazing, setting and decor were gorgeous - great architecture. Would go back anytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Reserve in the Ambassador Hotel is an ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Reserve in the Ambassador Hotel is an experience of total immersion in comfort, luxury and dining pleasure. The space is one that totally engulfs you in elegant comfort. The chef, even if away, makes the extra effort to let you know he appreciates your business. He even arranged to have a plate of cookies and a complimentary creme brulee sent to our table at the close of dinner.

The p.e.i. mussels in Guinness cream were excellent, as was the Steak and Guinness pie and the baked Salmon. While it doesn't need to be a special occasion to dine at Reserve, it makes every occasion there SPECIAL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 16, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Love the ambiance and the food is always great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Mary Kate was awesome! Love ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food. Mary Kate was awesome! Love the ambiamce5. We will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was a little thrown off when I walked ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I was a little thrown off when I walked in and there wasn't many people, but I must say the place was amazing. The food was soo yummy and cooked perfectly. I would definitely go back again and recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service in a posh setting!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great service in a posh setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always an oasis in bustling downtown Kan ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always an oasis in bustling downtown Kansas City. This boutique hotel and the restaurant Reserve are an added delight. Close to the Sprint Center, Reserve offers delicious food and appetizers to satisfy the fussiest eater to the experienced connoisseur! Their eclectic menu has something to offer for everyone from the flatbread pizza to a bowl of mussels. A fine dining experience is guaranteed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pork belly are good

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Pork belly are good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff. The food was great, no ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great wait staff. The food was great, no wait for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best kept secret in the KC food scene. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best kept secret in the KC food scene. Executive Chef is amazing. Mary Kate is a gifted mixologist. Off the chart customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a jewel in downtown KC. We were lo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 22, 2016

What a jewel in downtown KC. We were looking for a nearby restaurant before attending a musical at the Quality Playhouse Theater and found the perfect place! The Happy Hour specials were delicious and at great prices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from our server and the be ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service from our server and the beet salad was sensational.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Close to the Power and Light District bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Close to the Power and Light District but not in the thick of things, the Reserve is inside the Ambassador Hotel. The ambiance and decor were beautiful! The restaurant wasn't crowded for a Saturday night, but even if it were it seemed you'd be able to hear well. We arrived early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The tables are spacious without putting too much distance between you and your dining companions. The seats were comfortable, if a bit difficult to get in and out of because they were too heavy to slide easily. The wine list was ample, and I had a very nice dirty martini from the well-stocked bar. The service was great -- friendly and attentive but not hovering. But the most important part -- the food! The menu seemed small at first glance, but EVERYTHING we had was delicious! My friends and I opted for ordering a bunch of small plates, so we had the prosciutto flatbread, gorgonzola and beef flatbread, (the flatbread is more like pita than cracker) the KC sliders, truffle bacon deviled eggs (let me repeat that...TRUFFLE...BACON....DEVILED....EGGS), and the crispy pork belly tacos. and for dessert....chocolate chip bread pudding with a glass of port wine. The waiter was laughing at us because after the meal we looked so satisfied, relaxed, and happy! Just....YUM. Go. Now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place, service and food.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great place, service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was ok. Nothing extraordinary. I ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Brunch was ok. Nothing extraordinary.

I wish we had a refill of water but our server didn't come by often to check on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting, an interesting and u ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful setting, an interesting and unique Kansas City spot that rings true to our city's character. However, we dined during Sunday brunch and the service was very slow, if not inept for no apparent reason. Food was okay, but nothing that I'd crave to go back for, nor would I want to try again during another meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great server, great ambiance, but pretty ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great server, great ambiance, but pretty dead for dinner on a weeknight. The steak I had was good but not great. Moscow mule was way too sweet. Overall, would come back for the vibes but order something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Very quiet the night we ate here - but s ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very quiet the night we ate here - but still a nice ambiance in this hotel lobby dining area. Very pleasant seating. Food was good, service excellent. Enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful boutique hotel with top notch ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Beautiful boutique hotel with top notch restaurant. Great service & amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Time and Good Food

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were looking for a nice meal and a reasonably quiet place to be able to talk and relax. The Ambassador Hotel fit the bill perfectly. We had great service and a nice meal. We were able to visit and even watch the Royals game in the background. The menu offers a good variety and price range. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terriffic!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Love this place. Food and atmosphere are wonderful, service and food is top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They accommodated a large family group i ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2016

They accommodated a large family group including infants for a graduation dinner. Good food. Excellent service. Memorable

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.