About Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

1111 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Savor innovative cuisine and sophisticated surroundings at the Ambassador Hotel Kansas City. Reserve is a vibrant downtown dining gem, with a warm setting distinguished by a chic décor, elegant marble walls and lofty 20-foot ceilings.

For gourmet breakfasts, business lunches and intimate dinners alike, guests may select from an inventive, locally sourced seasonal menu perfectly complemented by signature cocktails and an impressive wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm.
Bar/ Lounge: Sunday - Thursday: 7:00am - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 7:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-7700

Website:
http://www.reservekc.com/

Entertainment:
Live music On select dates.

Parking Details:
Private gated lot. Reserve patrons are welcome to share the lot with hotel guests free of charge on a first-come first-serve basis.

Executive Chef:
Shaun Brady

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weekend Brunch
Private Dining
Wine Dinners
Chef's Table
Holiday Parties
Rehearsal Dinners
Weddings

Restaurant Photos

  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Ambassador Hotel offers 3 unique private dinning options including our Grand Ballroom, Founders Room and Reserve Restaurant.

Ambassador Hotel - Reserve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
2 More
American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

fit for foodies (19)
romantic (18)
special occasion (16)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great wait staff. The food was great, no ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great wait staff. The food was great, no wait for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best kept secret in the KC food scene. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best kept secret in the KC food scene. Executive Chef is amazing. Mary Kate is a gifted mixologist. Off the chart customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a jewel in downtown KC. We were lo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

What a jewel in downtown KC. We were looking for a nearby restaurant before attending a musical at the Quality Playhouse Theater and found the perfect place! The Happy Hour specials were delicious and at great prices!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from our server and the be ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service from our server and the beet salad was sensational.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Close to the Power and Light District bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Close to the Power and Light District but not in the thick of things, the Reserve is inside the Ambassador Hotel. The ambiance and decor were beautiful! The restaurant wasn't crowded for a Saturday night, but even if it were it seemed you'd be able to hear well. We arrived early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The tables are spacious without putting too much distance between you and your dining companions. The seats were comfortable, if a bit difficult to get in and out of because they were too heavy to slide easily. The wine list was ample, and I had a very nice dirty martini from the well-stocked bar. The service was great -- friendly and attentive but not hovering. But the most important part -- the food! The menu seemed small at first glance, but EVERYTHING we had was delicious! My friends and I opted for ordering a bunch of small plates, so we had the prosciutto flatbread, gorgonzola and beef flatbread, (the flatbread is more like pita than cracker) the KC sliders, truffle bacon deviled eggs (let me repeat that...TRUFFLE...BACON....DEVILED....EGGS), and the crispy pork belly tacos. and for dessert....chocolate chip bread pudding with a glass of port wine. The waiter was laughing at us because after the meal we looked so satisfied, relaxed, and happy! Just....YUM. Go. Now.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place, service and food.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great place, service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was ok. Nothing extraordinary. I ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Brunch was ok. Nothing extraordinary.

I wish we had a refill of water but our server didn't come by often to check on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting, an interesting and u ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful setting, an interesting and unique Kansas City spot that rings true to our city's character. However, we dined during Sunday brunch and the service was very slow, if not inept for no apparent reason. Food was okay, but nothing that I'd crave to go back for, nor would I want to try again during another meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great server, great ambiance, but pretty ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great server, great ambiance, but pretty dead for dinner on a weeknight. The steak I had was good but not great. Moscow mule was way too sweet. Overall, would come back for the vibes but order something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Very quiet the night we ate here - but s ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very quiet the night we ate here - but still a nice ambiance in this hotel lobby dining area. Very pleasant seating. Food was good, service excellent. Enjoyed our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful boutique hotel with top notch ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Beautiful boutique hotel with top notch restaurant. Great service & amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Time and Good Food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were looking for a nice meal and a reasonably quiet place to be able to talk and relax. The Ambassador Hotel fit the bill perfectly. We had great service and a nice meal. We were able to visit and even watch the Royals game in the background. The menu offers a good variety and price range. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terriffic!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Love this place. Food and atmosphere are wonderful, service and food is top notch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They accommodated a large family group i ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

They accommodated a large family group including infants for a graduation dinner. Good food. Excellent service. Memorable

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

forgettable food and service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My omelet was dry and tasteless, the cubed potatoes that accompanied the omelet tasted like they had been fried in grease that was weeks old. The service was poor-I had to ask someone other than our server to have my water glass and coffee cup refilled, and our server was nowhere to be seen for most of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were drawn in by the scones and the corned beef hash - and both were delicious, as was the brioche French toast. Definitely worth checking out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The Ambassador hotel and its restaurant are hidden gems in an otherwise business only district in Kansas City. The decoration of the hotel, and restaurant, scream of a time of high style and massive wealth while the menu charms with comfortable foods cooked in new ways. Our table of four was taken care of very well while dining here, our waitress stopped by many times during our dinner and food came at a good cadence. As to the food, everyone enjoyed their starters and main dishes. My tomato soup was hearty and flavorful, unlike a boring tomato soup it had hints of spice and a nice basil undertone. For the main course I ate the mushroom penne which had a lovely and light cream sauce that really allowed the mushrooms to shine. Finally I finished off the meal with a creative take on banana cream pie, that is the bananas had been flambed. All in all, this is a fantastic restaurant and certainly worth a visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Celetrated National Assistant's Day

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a great lunch and really enjoyed the atmosphere. This was not our first visit. Service was very good. Love the truffle fries. Everyone in our group was very pleased with their lunch. Delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, great service. Atmosphere was great and quiet. Perfect for a business lunch or lunch date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Ambassador Hotel a year ago and had dinner at the Reserve. Dinner was so good on our wedding night that we decided to go back for our 1st anniversary. The food was still amazing, the restaurant wasn't busy and our service was incredible! We will be back next year!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Downtown Gem

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This has become one of our favorite restaurants in KC. Food and service are great. It's a great place to have a dinner and conversation with friends. The executive chef, Shawn, gives it a personal touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere @this lovely boutiq ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere @this lovely boutique hotel

Fantastic service & food = the talented chef came to visit w/ us at our table⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambassador

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We enjoyed dinner with friends at the Ambassador. The flatbreads were delicious as was the salmon. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place, our little KC secret sp ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Love this place, our little KC secret spot!!! 10/10!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always a pleasure

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Every time we have dinner at Reserve, we wonder why we don't come more often. It is a delightful setting, the service is always top notch, and Sean is a creative and exceptionally talented chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food quality and service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Food quality and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Neighborhood Secret

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Have been here for brunch and dinner several times. It's better than you expect from a hotel lobby restaurant. The food is always delicious, the servers are helpful and cheery, and I love the space. It's very intimate and comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would highly recommend this place

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Would highly recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Gem Downtown

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We had dinner here prior to going to the theater for a play. Our waitress was very conscious of our time frame and got us served very nicely. It was a special treat that the chef, who is Irish, came out to say hello, since it was the day after St. Patrick's Day. We had a very fun chat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I love the atmosphere at the Reserve. It's fancy but not stuffy. The food is excellent and all of the staff are friendly and attentive. I also love the off-street parking which is hard to come by in downtown KC. It always feels like a special occasion there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A different Gem of a restaurant

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Was looking for something just a little off the ordinary path last Friday night. Found the Ambassador through Open Table. Though the earliest reservation they offered on line was 7:45, the staff said there really was no wait so we were welcome to come any time.

The first thing we noticed when going in was the décor. So totally different from most Kansas City restaurants. Very modern eclectic look. You just felt like you were going to be treated well.

After seating, we were offered a generous wine selection or cocktails which were fantastic. Understand, this is a smaller restaurant so they are not going to blow you away with pages and pages of selections but, what they had was very good.

We got the menus and notices that there was not a wide selection of foods. Just like the wines though, each item seemed to be special and well thought out. I appreciate a place where you aren't offered fifty different items because the restaurant has no faith in their chef to serve what he feels is a good selection.

All in all, I would have to say it was a very FUN evening. Well worth a try for locals.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Dinner Spot

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This is a hidden gem. Food & drinks were excellent, Service was amazing, & atmosphere was perfect. If you have the pleasure of having Chalis (sure spelled wrong) as your bartender/server I am certain you will return. The salmon & chocolate martini were AMAZING! The menu has a lot to offer but isn't overwhelming, food portions were perfect, & the drinks are some of the besr downtowm. Ask about the specials; the surf & turf was an amazing treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine like Royalty

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

At Reserve you are treated like "royalty." The Reserve is an eclectic restaurant with very a attentive wait staff. It is quiet and you feel like you are the only ones in the room, like a

private dining just for you. The food was delicious and not out of line in price. We had a most wonderful experience at the Reserve. It was a special occasion and we felt special throughout

the dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond Expectations

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Our first visit and our server was very charming and caring. Add that to the fantastic food and

we will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We went for brunch and loved it! The Brie and ham stuffed French toast was outstanding! We also loved the bagel and "Irish cured" salmon. The restaurant was very quiet and comfortable, exactly what our group wanted. Service was excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Underwhelmed

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

We booked dinner for 4 as I'd heard good things about Reserve albeit primarily lunch reviews. While our food was fine it wasn't at the level of many other options downtown / crossroads. Especially considering the price, you can find a better meal and better cocktails spending the same or less.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was good and portions what you woul ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Food was good and portions what you would expect for the price.

All most full and noise level wasn't bad. Look forward to the new expanded bar

We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our service was not good and we were overcharged.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We were a group of eight women having lunch. The restaurant week menu was very disappointing with only two items, at the same price they would normally cost on your regular menu. Two ladies plates were brought out wrong. A burger ordered well done with no mayo came out rare with mayo. When returned to the waiter, they brought the same burger back out, just reheated a little. Server was inattentive; never asked us individually what we wanted to drink, so I only had water. I ordered a cookie skillet for dessert and it was non-cooked and soupy in the middle. For this poor service, we were charged a 20% service fee, and then on top of that, automatic gratuity added to each bill. We were very disappointed.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

client dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

I brought my clients in for dinner. Service was poor based on how busy they were. Our table didn't get bread and had empty drinks for too long. We also had 3 courses and our plates were never cleared. The food tasted fine. Really cool and romantic place! It was quiet and perfect for our group. They did have happy hour specials running which was a plus. I was a little embarrassed because the service was so terrible. Otherwise everything was just fine.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.