About Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

1111 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Savor innovative cuisine and sophisticated surroundings at the Ambassador Hotel Kansas City. Reserve is a vibrant downtown dining gem, with a warm setting distinguished by a chic décor, elegant marble walls and lofty 20-foot ceilings.

For gourmet breakfasts, business lunches and intimate dinners alike, guests may select from an inventive, locally sourced seasonal menu perfectly complemented by signature cocktails and an impressive wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm.
Bar/ Lounge: Sunday - Thursday: 7:00am - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 7:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-7700

Website:
http://www.reservekc.com/

Entertainment:
Live music On select dates.

Parking Details:
Private gated lot. Reserve patrons are welcome to share the lot with hotel guests free of charge on a first-come first-serve basis.

Executive Chef:
Shaun Brady

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weekend Brunch
Private Dining
Wine Dinners
Chef's Table
Holiday Parties
Rehearsal Dinners
Weddings

Restaurant Photos

Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Ambassador Hotel offers 3 unique private dinning options including our Grand Ballroom, Founders Room and Reserve Restaurant.

Ambassador Hotel - Reserve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Best Value
Kansas City
American
Kansas City
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Best Value
Kansas City, MO
American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing, setting and decor were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing, setting and decor were gorgeous - great architecture. Would go back anytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Reserve in the Ambassador Hotel is an ex ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Reserve in the Ambassador Hotel is an experience of total immersion in comfort, luxury and dining pleasure. The space is one that totally engulfs you in elegant comfort. The chef, even if away, makes the extra effort to let you know he appreciates your business. He even arranged to have a plate of cookies and a complimentary creme brulee sent to our table at the close of dinner.

The p.e.i. mussels in Guinness cream were excellent, as was the Steak and Guinness pie and the baked Salmon. While it doesn't need to be a special occasion to dine at Reserve, it makes every occasion there SPECIAL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Love the ambiance and the food is always great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Mary Kate was awesome! Love ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food. Mary Kate was awesome! Love the ambiamce5. We will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service in a posh setting!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great service in a posh setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always an oasis in bustling downtown Kan ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always an oasis in bustling downtown Kansas City. This boutique hotel and the restaurant Reserve are an added delight. Close to the Sprint Center, Reserve offers delicious food and appetizers to satisfy the fussiest eater to the experienced connoisseur! Their eclectic menu has something to offer for everyone from the flatbread pizza to a bowl of mussels. A fine dining experience is guaranteed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pork belly are good

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Pork belly are good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff. The food was great, no ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great wait staff. The food was great, no wait for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best kept secret in the KC food scene. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best kept secret in the KC food scene. Executive Chef is amazing. Mary Kate is a gifted mixologist. Off the chart customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a jewel in downtown KC. We were lo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What a jewel in downtown KC. We were looking for a nearby restaurant before attending a musical at the Quality Playhouse Theater and found the perfect place! The Happy Hour specials were delicious and at great prices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from our server and the be ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service from our server and the beet salad was sensational.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Close to the Power and Light District bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Close to the Power and Light District but not in the thick of things, the Reserve is inside the Ambassador Hotel. The ambiance and decor were beautiful! The restaurant wasn't crowded for a Saturday night, but even if it were it seemed you'd be able to hear well. We arrived early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The tables are spacious without putting too much distance between you and your dining companions. The seats were comfortable, if a bit difficult to get in and out of because they were too heavy to slide easily. The wine list was ample, and I had a very nice dirty martini from the well-stocked bar. The service was great -- friendly and attentive but not hovering. But the most important part -- the food! The menu seemed small at first glance, but EVERYTHING we had was delicious! My friends and I opted for ordering a bunch of small plates, so we had the prosciutto flatbread, gorgonzola and beef flatbread, (the flatbread is more like pita than cracker) the KC sliders, truffle bacon deviled eggs (let me repeat that...TRUFFLE...BACON....DEVILED....EGGS), and the crispy pork belly tacos. and for dessert....chocolate chip bread pudding with a glass of port wine. The waiter was laughing at us because after the meal we looked so satisfied, relaxed, and happy! Just....YUM. Go. Now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place, service and food.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great place, service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was ok. Nothing extraordinary. I ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Brunch was ok. Nothing extraordinary.

I wish we had a refill of water but our server didn't come by often to check on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting, an interesting and u ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful setting, an interesting and unique Kansas City spot that rings true to our city's character. However, we dined during Sunday brunch and the service was very slow, if not inept for no apparent reason. Food was okay, but nothing that I'd crave to go back for, nor would I want to try again during another meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great server, great ambiance, but pretty ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great server, great ambiance, but pretty dead for dinner on a weeknight. The steak I had was good but not great. Moscow mule was way too sweet. Overall, would come back for the vibes but order something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Very quiet the night we ate here - but s ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very quiet the night we ate here - but still a nice ambiance in this hotel lobby dining area. Very pleasant seating. Food was good, service excellent. Enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful boutique hotel with top notch ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Beautiful boutique hotel with top notch restaurant. Great service & amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Time and Good Food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were looking for a nice meal and a reasonably quiet place to be able to talk and relax. The Ambassador Hotel fit the bill perfectly. We had great service and a nice meal. We were able to visit and even watch the Royals game in the background. The menu offers a good variety and price range. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terriffic!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Love this place. Food and atmosphere are wonderful, service and food is top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They accommodated a large family group i ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

They accommodated a large family group including infants for a graduation dinner. Good food. Excellent service. Memorable

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

forgettable food and service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My omelet was dry and tasteless, the cubed potatoes that accompanied the omelet tasted like they had been fried in grease that was weeks old. The service was poor-I had to ask someone other than our server to have my water glass and coffee cup refilled, and our server was nowhere to be seen for most of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were drawn in by the scones and the corned beef hash - and both were delicious, as was the brioche French toast. Definitely worth checking out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The Ambassador hotel and its restaurant are hidden gems in an otherwise business only district in Kansas City. The decoration of the hotel, and restaurant, scream of a time of high style and massive wealth while the menu charms with comfortable foods cooked in new ways. Our table of four was taken care of very well while dining here, our waitress stopped by many times during our dinner and food came at a good cadence. As to the food, everyone enjoyed their starters and main dishes. My tomato soup was hearty and flavorful, unlike a boring tomato soup it had hints of spice and a nice basil undertone. For the main course I ate the mushroom penne which had a lovely and light cream sauce that really allowed the mushrooms to shine. Finally I finished off the meal with a creative take on banana cream pie, that is the bananas had been flambed. All in all, this is a fantastic restaurant and certainly worth a visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Celetrated National Assistant's Day

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a great lunch and really enjoyed the atmosphere. This was not our first visit. Service was very good. Love the truffle fries. Everyone in our group was very pleased with their lunch. Delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, great service. Atmosphere was great and quiet. Perfect for a business lunch or lunch date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Ambassador Hotel a year ago and had dinner at the Reserve. Dinner was so good on our wedding night that we decided to go back for our 1st anniversary. The food was still amazing, the restaurant wasn't busy and our service was incredible! We will be back next year!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Downtown Gem

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This has become one of our favorite restaurants in KC. Food and service are great. It's a great place to have a dinner and conversation with friends. The executive chef, Shawn, gives it a personal touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere @this lovely boutiq ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere @this lovely boutique hotel

Fantastic service & food = the talented chef came to visit w/ us at our table⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambassador

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We enjoyed dinner with friends at the Ambassador. The flatbreads were delicious as was the salmon. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place, our little KC secret sp ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Love this place, our little KC secret spot!!! 10/10!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always a pleasure

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Every time we have dinner at Reserve, we wonder why we don't come more often. It is a delightful setting, the service is always top notch, and Sean is a creative and exceptionally talented chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food quality and service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Food quality and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Neighborhood Secret

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Have been here for brunch and dinner several times. It's better than you expect from a hotel lobby restaurant. The food is always delicious, the servers are helpful and cheery, and I love the space. It's very intimate and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would highly recommend this place

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Would highly recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Gem Downtown

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We had dinner here prior to going to the theater for a play. Our waitress was very conscious of our time frame and got us served very nicely. It was a special treat that the chef, who is Irish, came out to say hello, since it was the day after St. Patrick's Day. We had a very fun chat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I love the atmosphere at the Reserve. It's fancy but not stuffy. The food is excellent and all of the staff are friendly and attentive. I also love the off-street parking which is hard to come by in downtown KC. It always feels like a special occasion there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A different Gem of a restaurant

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Was looking for something just a little off the ordinary path last Friday night. Found the Ambassador through Open Table. Though the earliest reservation they offered on line was 7:45, the staff said there really was no wait so we were welcome to come any time.

The first thing we noticed when going in was the décor. So totally different from most Kansas City restaurants. Very modern eclectic look. You just felt like you were going to be treated well.

After seating, we were offered a generous wine selection or cocktails which were fantastic. Understand, this is a smaller restaurant so they are not going to blow you away with pages and pages of selections but, what they had was very good.

We got the menus and notices that there was not a wide selection of foods. Just like the wines though, each item seemed to be special and well thought out. I appreciate a place where you aren't offered fifty different items because the restaurant has no faith in their chef to serve what he feels is a good selection.

All in all, I would have to say it was a very FUN evening. Well worth a try for locals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Dinner Spot

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This is a hidden gem. Food & drinks were excellent, Service was amazing, & atmosphere was perfect. If you have the pleasure of having Chalis (sure spelled wrong) as your bartender/server I am certain you will return. The salmon & chocolate martini were AMAZING! The menu has a lot to offer but isn't overwhelming, food portions were perfect, & the drinks are some of the besr downtowm. Ask about the specials; the surf & turf was an amazing treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.