About Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

1111 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Savor innovative cuisine and sophisticated surroundings at the Ambassador Hotel Kansas City. Reserve is a vibrant downtown dining gem, with a warm setting distinguished by a chic décor, elegant marble walls and lofty 20-foot ceilings.

For gourmet breakfasts, business lunches and intimate dinners alike, guests may select from an inventive, locally sourced seasonal menu perfectly complemented by signature cocktails and an impressive wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm.
Bar/ Lounge: Sunday - Thursday: 7:00am - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 7:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-7700

Website:
http://www.reservekc.com/

Entertainment:
Live music On select dates.

Parking Details:
Private gated lot. Reserve patrons are welcome to share the lot with hotel guests free of charge on a first-come first-serve basis.

Executive Chef:
Shaun Brady

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weekend Brunch
Private Dining
Wine Dinners
Chef's Table
Holiday Parties
Rehearsal Dinners
Weddings

Restaurant Photos

  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
  • Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve
Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Ambassador Hotel offers 3 unique private dinning options including our Grand Ballroom, Founders Room and Reserve Restaurant.

Ambassador Hotel - Reserve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
2 More
American
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Downtown / River Market ›

special occasion (17)
fit for foodies (17)
romantic (17)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (9)
great for lunch (9)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful setting, an interesting and u ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful setting, an interesting and unique Kansas City spot that rings true to our city's character. However, we dined during Sunday brunch and the service was very slow, if not inept for no apparent reason. Food was okay, but nothing that I'd crave to go back for, nor would I want to try again during another meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Great server, great ambiance, but pretty ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Great server, great ambiance, but pretty dead for dinner on a weeknight. The steak I had was good but not great. Moscow mule was way too sweet. Overall, would come back for the vibes but order something else.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very quiet the night we ate here - but s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very quiet the night we ate here - but still a nice ambiance in this hotel lobby dining area. Very pleasant seating. Food was good, service excellent. Enjoyed our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful boutique hotel with top notch ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Beautiful boutique hotel with top notch restaurant. Great service & amazing food.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Time and Good Food

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We were looking for a nice meal and a reasonably quiet place to be able to talk and relax. The Ambassador Hotel fit the bill perfectly. We had great service and a nice meal. We were able to visit and even watch the Royals game in the background. The menu offers a good variety and price range. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terriffic!

Dined on May 24, 2016

Love this place. Food and atmosphere are wonderful, service and food is top notch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They accommodated a large family group i ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

They accommodated a large family group including infants for a graduation dinner. Good food. Excellent service. Memorable

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

forgettable food and service

Dined on May 8, 2016

My omelet was dry and tasteless, the cubed potatoes that accompanied the omelet tasted like they had been fried in grease that was weeks old. The service was poor-I had to ask someone other than our server to have my water glass and coffee cup refilled, and our server was nowhere to be seen for most of our meal.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were drawn in by the scones and the corned beef hash - and both were delicious, as was the brioche French toast. Definitely worth checking out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The Ambassador hotel and its restaurant are hidden gems in an otherwise business only district in Kansas City. The decoration of the hotel, and restaurant, scream of a time of high style and massive wealth while the menu charms with comfortable foods cooked in new ways. Our table of four was taken care of very well while dining here, our waitress stopped by many times during our dinner and food came at a good cadence. As to the food, everyone enjoyed their starters and main dishes. My tomato soup was hearty and flavorful, unlike a boring tomato soup it had hints of spice and a nice basil undertone. For the main course I ate the mushroom penne which had a lovely and light cream sauce that really allowed the mushrooms to shine. Finally I finished off the meal with a creative take on banana cream pie, that is the bananas had been flambed. All in all, this is a fantastic restaurant and certainly worth a visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celetrated National Assistant's Day

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a great lunch and really enjoyed the atmosphere. This was not our first visit. Service was very good. Love the truffle fries. Everyone in our group was very pleased with their lunch. Delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, great service. Atmosphere was great and quiet. Perfect for a business lunch or lunch date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food

Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Ambassador Hotel a year ago and had dinner at the Reserve. Dinner was so good on our wedding night that we decided to go back for our 1st anniversary. The food was still amazing, the restaurant wasn't busy and our service was incredible! We will be back next year!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Downtown Gem

Dined on April 16, 2016

This has become one of our favorite restaurants in KC. Food and service are great. It's a great place to have a dinner and conversation with friends. The executive chef, Shawn, gives it a personal touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful atmosphere @this lovely boutiq ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere @this lovely boutique hotel Fantastic service & food = the talented chef came to visit w/ us at our table⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ambassador

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We enjoyed dinner with friends at the Ambassador. The flatbreads were delicious as was the salmon. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place, our little KC secret sp ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Love this place, our little KC secret spot!!! 10/10!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always a pleasure

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Every time we have dinner at Reserve, we wonder why we don't come more often. It is a delightful setting, the service is always top notch, and Sean is a creative and exceptionally talented chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food quality and service

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food quality and service

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Neighborhood Secret

Dined on March 27, 2016

Have been here for brunch and dinner several times. It's better than you expect from a hotel lobby restaurant. The food is always delicious, the servers are helpful and cheery, and I love the space. It's very intimate and comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Would highly recommend this place

Dined on March 26, 2016

Would highly recommend this place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Gem Downtown

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

We had dinner here prior to going to the theater for a play. Our waitress was very conscious of our time frame and got us served very nicely. It was a special treat that the chef, who is Irish, came out to say hello, since it was the day after St. Patrick's Day. We had a very fun chat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on March 11, 2016

I love the atmosphere at the Reserve. It's fancy but not stuffy. The food is excellent and all of the staff are friendly and attentive. I also love the off-street parking which is hard to come by in downtown KC. It always feels like a special occasion there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A different Gem of a restaurant

Dined on March 6, 2016

Was looking for something just a little off the ordinary path last Friday night. Found the Ambassador through Open Table. Though the earliest reservation they offered on line was 7:45, the staff said there really was no wait so we were welcome to come any time. The first thing we noticed when going in was the décor. So totally different from most Kansas City restaurants. Very modern eclectic look. You just felt like you were going to be treated well. After seating, we were offered a generous wine selection or cocktails which were fantastic. Understand, this is a smaller restaurant so they are not going to blow you away with pages and pages of selections but, what they had was very good. We got the menus and notices that there was not a wide selection of foods. Just like the wines though, each item seemed to be special and well thought out. I appreciate a place where you aren't offered fifty different items because the restaurant has no faith in their chef to serve what he feels is a good selection. All in all, I would have to say it was a very FUN evening. Well worth a try for locals.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Dinner Spot

Dined on February 20, 2016

This is a hidden gem. Food & drinks were excellent, Service was amazing, & atmosphere was perfect. If you have the pleasure of having Chalis (sure spelled wrong) as your bartender/server I am certain you will return. The salmon & chocolate martini were AMAZING! The menu has a lot to offer but isn't overwhelming, food portions were perfect, & the drinks are some of the besr downtowm. Ask about the specials; the surf & turf was an amazing treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine like Royalty

Dined on February 18, 2016

At Reserve you are treated like "royalty." The Reserve is an eclectic restaurant with very a attentive wait staff. It is quiet and you feel like you are the only ones in the room, like a private dining just for you. The food was delicious and not out of line in price. We had a most wonderful experience at the Reserve. It was a special occasion and we felt special throughout the dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beyond Expectations

Dined on February 7, 2016

Our first visit and our server was very charming and caring. Add that to the fantastic food and we will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

We went for brunch and loved it! The Brie and ham stuffed French toast was outstanding! We also loved the bagel and "Irish cured" salmon. The restaurant was very quiet and comfortable, exactly what our group wanted. Service was excellent too!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Underwhelmed

Dined on January 28, 2016

We booked dinner for 4 as I'd heard good things about Reserve albeit primarily lunch reviews. While our food was fine it wasn't at the level of many other options downtown / crossroads. Especially considering the price, you can find a better meal and better cocktails spending the same or less.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good and portions what you woul ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Food was good and portions what you would expect for the price. All most full and noise level wasn't bad. Look forward to the new expanded bar We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Our service was not good and we were overcharged.

Dined on January 22, 2016

We were a group of eight women having lunch. The restaurant week menu was very disappointing with only two items, at the same price they would normally cost on your regular menu. Two ladies plates were brought out wrong. A burger ordered well done with no mayo came out rare with mayo. When returned to the waiter, they brought the same burger back out, just reheated a little. Server was inattentive; never asked us individually what we wanted to drink, so I only had water. I ordered a cookie skillet for dessert and it was non-cooked and soupy in the middle. For this poor service, we were charged a 20% service fee, and then on top of that, automatic gratuity added to each bill. We were very disappointed.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

client dinner

Dined on January 20, 2016

I brought my clients in for dinner. Service was poor based on how busy they were. Our table didn't get bread and had empty drinks for too long. We also had 3 courses and our plates were never cleared. The food tasted fine. Really cool and romantic place! It was quiet and perfect for our group. They did have happy hour specials running which was a plus. I was a little embarrassed because the service was so terrible. Otherwise everything was just fine.

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not Happy

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

The Hotel was easy to get to and parking available. The interior was really beautiful. We went for lunch, there was only one other person in the restaurant. The service was fine and as for the noise level - since it was empty - who knows! As for the food - not good at all. Salad looked nice but the dressing had too much vinegar. The steak pot pie was terrible. I have had stew that was better. I would not recommend this restaurant. There are so many good restaurants close by - there isn't any reason for anyone to eat here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food! Great service. We will ...

Dined on January 19, 2016

Fantastic food! Great service. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service4

First time here the food was great. Love ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

First time here the food was great. Loved the place cannot wait to go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week delight

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

Myself and The Wife had dinner here for restaurant week last Sunday and it didn't disappoint! The place was busy but not too loud and the staff were always attentive as we settled into a table in a corner. While this may be a restaurant in a hotel, it doesn't have the feel of many hotel restaurants and everything has a nice modern feel with a large bar as a focal point. After scanning the wine list we selected a bottle of very reasonably priced Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio. Actually, we were a little shocked at how cheap it was so couldn't turn it down. We had the mussels in the Guinness Sauce as a starter to share. The Wife is normally not a bread eater, but the sauce was so good she couldn't help herself from dipping a few slices into it! We then both selected off the special restaurant week, and while The Wife has the Cesar salad I went for the bacon truffle deviled eggs, which were the best deviled eggs I've had. A nice piece of crisp bacon on top For mains we went with crab stuffed Atlantic salmon and grilled skirt steak with truffle fries and while I enjoyed my steak, I think The Wife won that round! While already full it was restaurant week, so couldn't skip the dessert. I had the baked cookie skillet - a massive cookie nice and warm is a skillet covered with a ice-cream and a little chocolate sauce, while The Wife opted for the creme brulee which had a nice kick from the added Baileys! Finished off with a nice espresso, we were ready to brave the cold winter's night. Thanks to chef Shaun and the staff for a wonderful dinner.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, lunch, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was elegant and quiet on ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

The atmosphere was elegant and quiet on a Sunday evening. We had the orange carrot soup which was flavorful and bright. The mussels in guinness broth were outstanding. We had a wonderful evening and we felt like wehad a taste of inspired irish cuisine in downtown KC!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cool space. Our server Cody was ver ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Very cool space. Our server Cody was very knowledgable, and courteous. The salmon I ordered was very good as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shbelle

Dined on January 16, 2016

I loved the food here, and the restaurant was quiet! That's hard to find any more. I wish it was more obvious there was a restaurant inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A downtown treasure

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

It is easy to overlook the Ambassador Hotel - Reserve in thinking about dining out downtown. It is a little out of the main group of restaurants in Power & Light and hey, it's in a hotel so it can't be good, right? Wrong! Chef Shaun and team do a quality menu that will fit anyone's appetite and pocketbook. For foodies, there are lots of choices that are tasty and fun. For traditionalists, check out the steaks, burgers, and even grilled cheese! And by the way, the service is very good as well. Check it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.