About Aly's Restaurant

451 Second Street
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Aly's Restaurant features exquisite wine country cuisine. It's elegant ambiance is the perfect setting for couples, small groups, an intimate private event, birthday or wedding dinners, business meetings, and wine tastings.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday-Monday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 697-7082

Website:
http://www.alysbyalebru.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking, public lot parking on weekends as well.

Executive Chef:
Rafa and Richard

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aly's Restaurant
  • Aly's Restaurant
Aly's Restaurant
Aly's Restaurant

Aly's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Best Food
California Central Coast
Best Service
California Central Coast
9 More
Romantic
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Solvang ›

Romantic (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding. The staff was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding. The staff was very attentive and very helpful without being intrusive. One of the best dining experiences we have enjoyed in the Solvang area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Aly's is our favorite place for a quiet ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Aly's is our favorite place for a quiet dining experience on a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm friendly service, oh! and the food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Warm friendly service, oh! and the food was very good too. Unfortunately not vegan friendly, but some options for vegetarians.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in Solvang again for a few night ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were in Solvang again for a few nights, and couldn't wait to take our friends to Aly's to celebrate a birthday. This is a favorite of ours - and we are never disappointed. We were surprised to find that our reserved table was decorated for the occasion. We were greeted warmly by the server and owner, Richard. The experience was just as it has always been in the past - outstanding. The food is beautifully presented, and exquisitely prepared. The sangiovese wine produced by the house is very good - you'll be tempted to take a case home!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the four course tasting menu with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had the four course tasting menu with wine pairings. It was excellent and the first time I tried collar steak, which is a cut from the back of the pig's neck. It was served with an onion and mushroom gravy that still makes my mouth water when I think about it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service. Good wine m ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

excellent food and service. Good wine menu. would recommend. 5 stars

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small fine dining restaraunt .pleasant a ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Small fine dining restaraunt .pleasant and efficient service .food was good not exceptional .wine recomendation excellent

Heart or town centre which in iself was well worth a visit as we felt we were back in denmark .

Tags: Special Occasions, Notable Wine List, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Richa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Richard and Amanda are wonderful!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed this, our first, visit to Aly ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We enjoyed this, our first, visit to Aly's. Our only issue was with the Service. Both of the wait staff people were friendly and helpful and did their best. However, there were clearly not enough of them. There was no hostess nor were there bussers. Consequently, all the service burden fell on just the two people at the cost of efficient service to the customers. We think that in order to provide a truly good dining experience, Aly's needs to boost the size of the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was subpar. Very surprising, consid ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was subpar. Very surprising, considering the rave reviews. Filet was cooked very unevenly and had a weird texture. I strongly suspect it had been frozen previously. Duck was overcooked and tasted like a ham steak. Macaroni was the worst I've ever had - very little, watery sauce with loads of chives. The lobster in the macaroni was actually good and seemed fresh. The wine was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Richard (Owner) and Amanda (server) make ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Richard (Owner) and Amanda (server) make every dinner a special occasion. Menu is small but food and presentation is excellent. Wine list is good representation of Santa Barbara Co wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Solvang for a girls weekend. Gr ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went to Solvang for a girls weekend. Great find for dinner to top off a day of wine tasting in the Lompoc Valley. Filet was fantastic,as was the Halibut. Highly recommended and plan to visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had the chef selections with the wine ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had the chef selections with the wine pairing and were very pleased. We made reservations, but there were only 3 or 4 tables being used on a Thursday evening at 7:45PM. Service was great, food was innovative, wine was great. We will certainly return if we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Give me more more Lobster Mac & Cheese p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Give me more more Lobster Mac & Cheese please! Love that the food is fresh, organic, delicious and beautifully plated. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needed to impress my date and found this ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Needed to impress my date and found this gem of restaurant on Open Table. We got the fixed dinner paired with wine. The staff was well educated on the food and wine which made for a pleasant experience. Two thumbs!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's very nice to have a great restauran ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It's very nice to have a great restaurant in Solvang. Be patient, this is made to order, and appreciate the experience. It's a reward

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always an outstanding experience. Chefs ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always an outstanding experience. Chefs tasting was delicious. Crab trio app was awesome. Richard is a pro. Even though the restaurant was crowded from 4th of July traffic, service was still excellent. We eat here two to three times per year when in town. Would not miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for dinner before Shrek at Theat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went for dinner before Shrek at Theaterfest. It was a convenient location, the owner came out and discussed wines with us, and we enjoyed our meal very much. We would definitely recommend it to a friend and may return before another Theaterfest show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An incredible dining experience every ti ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

An incredible dining experience every time. The owners make you feel like family. Every bite is heaven.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in Solvang to attend ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife and I were in Solvang to attend a wedding and decided to make a long weekend of it. We were told of this place from some locals and were we glad we took them up on their recommendation! It was hands down one of the high-lights of our trip! The food was Michelin star worthy as was the wine list. The décor is quaint with some really cool antique pieces throughout the dining room. Our server was awesome and we left feeling really special. If you are in Solvang or Buellton, look this place up. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection from start to finish! Loved ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Perfection from start to finish! Loved this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect date night for a married couple

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The chefs menu with the wine pairing was the perfect choice. It definitely had a mature feeling with it's decor. My husband and I are in our mid 30's and have been married for 8 years so we were looking for something that had a great menu even if it wasn't flashy. The staff was on it and we felt well taken care of. They had an awesome old jazz station playing that made it feel romantic and sentimental.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The lobster bisque was amazing.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The lobster bisque was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great new restaurant in Solvang. The c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

A great new restaurant in Solvang. The chef knows what he is doing. Our meal was really excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Outstanding Dining Experience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had dinner for my birthday and every aspect was exquisite, the food, service and ambiance. Amanda and Richard are amazing and make you feel welcome and like you are with family. This restaurant is way above the location in Solvang but it is a treasure to have there. Don't miss this wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aly's

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic food, wine and service! Our server was very professional and knew the menu very well. I would recommend Aly's to anyone looking for a quiet or romantic setting.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem. Very good!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Hidden gem. Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aly's is a must if you are in Solvang!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here on our last night in Solvang. The warm spinach salad with scallops was outstanding, the Mac and cheese with lobster was so yummy, and the salmon entree was delicious. Had a very nice conversation with Richard, the owner/chef. They kindly split all three dishes between my husband and me. I highly recommend Aly's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a little one day getaw ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife and I had a little one day getaway to Solvang and wanted to try a place that wasn't the usual Danish fare that is served through most of the town. We chose this place and we are so glad we did. The restaurant is small and has about 12-15 tables total which made it even better as the meal was more intimate and almost felt as if you were dining at a close friend's home. Our server was is the owner and he is incredibly pleasant and a good conversationalist as well. The service was great, and as visitors to a local hide away we felt immediately welcomed as opposed to outsiders.

The food was fantastic and incredibly fresh! I had the lamb and my wife had the duck and both were excellent. That paired with a hearty cabernet rounded the whole meal out. We only wish I wasn't shellfish allergic or we would have done the tasting menu. Additionally the desserts were to die for. I had the panna cotta paired with a 10 year port and my wife had the creme brulee .

This will be our go to place next time we come to Solvang.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This is a dining experience not just an ordinary restaurant. It's where you go when presentation is just as important as flavors. Setting is very intimate. I'm sad it's taken me this long to go to a new favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

not impressed

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

not a good experience.

very quiet restaurant.

food was very bland, overcooked, mac/cheese app was from a box i think.

full review on yelp.

service lacking

didn't come to check on us, we asked 3 times throughout the night for more water.

will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very nice dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our dining experience was very good. The food, service, and ambiance were all very good. Our server (can't recall his name) was from Brazil and he was quite knowledgeable of the local wines, beyond those they pour there. I highly recommend the Chef's Wine-Food Pairing. It was prepared with a lot of care.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasting menu at Aly's

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tasting menu with the wine pairing. Great care was taken to create pairings and recipes that complemented each other. Not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was great, food was amazing!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Server was great, food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Doing it all

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a delightful dining experience in this small restaurant in this scenic little town of Solvang. We had the menu with wine and all four courses were excellent. The initial course was lobster tail on Asian coleslaw, followed by fish and fillet of beef plus desert. The maitre d' was also the co-owner and the maker of the second wine in our dinner, his own delicious white wine. The atmosphere was quite and refined, soft lighting and nice views into a small alley way garden and quite street. A wonderful way to end the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

My wife and I live in LA and spent a night in Solvang as a getaway. The highlight of the trip was Aly's. Everything we had was fantastic, service was remarkable and the ambiance was perfect. We will come back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic and intimate spot

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We enjoyed the quiet environment in the restaurant but when two couples began to exchange

pleasantries, it wasn't so quiet any longer. The service was excellent and our server was a

delightful young woman who surprised us for our anniversary with an appertif. We were a

bit worried about finding a healthy choice in a french restaurant but the salmon was grilled

to perfection and we were grateful when the chef agreed to grill mine longer than he may

have liked, but it was perfect for me! We hope to go back again when we return to Solvang.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

A lovely discovery in a tourist town

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

In a town overladen with ersatz tourist-oriented, pseudo-Danish restaurants, Aly's Restaurant was a very welcome find. It's a neighborhood French bistro with a very personal touch and creative menu. We both opted for the four-course tasting menu ($60, $80 with wine pairings) and were delighted with our meals. The ambiance is surprisingly nice for a commercial space, including some fine antiques. Service was quite excellent and very personable; the owner, Richard, serves tables himself. Also a vintner, Richard offers a solid wine list that doesn't favor his own label. In short, Aly's has become our go-to for our next visits to Santa Ynez.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and enjoyed a delicious dinner, relaxed yet elegant setting and superb service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the more unIque dining experience ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

One of the more unIque dining experiences in the valley. Richard, owner and chef, always takes great care of us. Try as many of the dishes as you can. Fish taco appetizer is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.