Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Aly's Restaurant

Aly's Restaurant features exquisite wine country cuisine. It's elegant ambiance is the perfect setting for couples, small groups, an intimate private event, birthday or wedding dinners, business meetings, and wine tastings.

We are pleased to offer you a traditional style dinning experience; where you may enjoy your food, wine and company un-rushed. We allot between 1-2 hours for you to enjoy each other in this experience. If you desire a quicker pace please let us know and we will be happy to accommodate you.

Though we love children, our restaurant isn't very Children Friendly. For those Children that are well behaved we will accommodate them the best we can.

451 Second Street
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Farm-to-table, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday-Monday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 697-7082

Website:
http://www.alysbyalebru.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking, public lot parking on weekends as well.

Executive Chef:
Richard Bruce

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wine

Aly's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Thanks for the great food and attentive service! We had a fantastic time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Aly's in Solvang. The restaurant was cosy with about 15 tables. We found both the service and food excellent. I had the filet mignon and she had the sea bass. The wine, salads and desserts were great. It was a little expensive for normal dinner out but for a special occasion no problem. Would do it again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Aly's is a nice fine dining offering in Solvang. The décor is old fashioned and antique-y, but the food is definitely on the modern side. The grilled lobster salad had edible "sand" (my parenthesis, not theirs). An unusual pork cut--from the collarbone -- had bands of fat like pork belly but was lean over all. The smoked scallop was an interesting experiment eaten together with cornbread and papaya salad, but tasted fine by itself. The waitresses were glowing with their smiles and kindness.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Spotty would best describe our experience here. Service was given by enough people that it should have been perfect, but it was spotty. Someone asked how everything was more often than the food was delivered as expected. Some things weren't as described. The lobster macaroni and cheese, however, was the best my husband had ever had!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Took the wife to dinner on a short overnight to Solvang. Had read some nice reviews of Aly's Restaurant and it was a short walk from our hotel. Made reservations but showed up a bit early. No problem being seated. Small staff but very, very attentive. Ambiance was very nice in the room. Quiet elegance without being overdone. Menu was good but not to extensive. The server was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. My wife had a wonderful (local wild) Chanterelle mushroom salad and I had a roasted tomato soup to start. Both excellent. She had a quinoa risotto and I had scallops with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. Both entrees were great. We split and orange crepe for desert and, because the staff is small and there was one large party, it took quite a while to come out. The ice cream on it had melted. Tasted good but a little disappointing. Not inexpensive but very good overall. 2 starters, 2 entrees, 1 desert, 1 glass of wine and a coke = $135. before tip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Third meal here and it is beyond words every time. Very personalized service and unique food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Aly's was a great overall experience. We were seated quickly and attended to throughout the evening without feeling like we were being hovered over. This isn't a large restaurant, maybe 10 -12 tables, so you do feel like you get personalized service in a more intimate setting. My wife enjoyed the chef's tasting menu, while I had an appetizer and main course. The dinner rolls came out piping hot and both of us enjoyed each of our courses.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was great tasting, portions were a little small. the place was quiet and romantic

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great food and service. Excellent Ciopinno on Sunday, and no corkage charge.
We will make this a habit.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Highly recommended! Filet was perfectly prepared!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good, the service was excellent, but the price was too high.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Aly's is a very special restaurant. All aspects of our dining experience--food, preparation, service, ambiance, exceeded our expectations. Having eaten at many fine restaurants all over the US and in European countries, Aly's holds its own with any. Will be returning!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It is a small, intimate place that serves wonderful food. I ordered the tasting menu and loved every bite. The chef was very responsive to my allergies and sensitivities. He even adjusted the courses to remove nuts and gluten from the dishes, so that I could eat them all.
I would definitely go back, when we are in the area again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Querétaro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food from appetizers through dessert. Aly is a gracious and engaging hostess and chef Richard's special Brazilian dishes are truly delicious. It may take a while for the food to come out of the kitchen, but it's worth the reasonable wait.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service in Solvang (of all places). This is not a tourist stop, so you'll have to find it on the side street. It's quiet and a great place to carry on a conversation. If you are looking for a bar scene and lots of noise, this is not the place. Probably the best food in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

My favorite date night restaurant. Such great
Ambiance and the food is exceptional. We are fans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience. We did feel like we were in someone's living room/dining room which was very cozy. Really shows that less is more with decor.
Now for food and service, many, many stars for such a delicious meal and very attentive, friendly ladies helping us. Aly and her husband have done a terrific job.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

we went for new years eve, and it was wonderful! the best service, a sweet and fun evening, delicious food. pretty perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A wonderful romantic New Years Eve.
Food and wine were spectacular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I love this restaurant. The staff is so friendly and they make you feel like family. The food is outstanding and wine is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Fabulous Christmas dinner. Charming and the food was delicious.

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Aly's served exceptional food and provided great, upbeat service. We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Aly's was our choice for Christmas eve and it did not disappoint. It felt like we were special guests in someone's home. Aly is delightful and makes sure you are taken care of even when service is difficult (as it was on this holiday due to several large groups arriving and ordering all at once). While the meal was slow to arrive, we were kept apprised of its progress, given ample wine to tide us through the waits and then rewarded with an excellent meal. The wine pairings with the meal were special and very reasonably priced as an add on (only $20 for a 3-course pairing). We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our second time going to Solvang, CA, and we knew we wanted to dine at Aly's. My husband had their Tasting Menu and by the looks on his face with all the verbal yums, he was in heaven. I am gluten free and Amanda and Mark ensured that I had the perfect meal. I had the wild salmon and it was delicious, topped off by the creme brûlée. We love this place...so we made reservations for the following evening, as well, and invited our friends to join us. Again, my husband had the Tasting Menu and I had filet....fabulous!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had seen good reviews and were very pleased that the meal even exceeded our expectations. The food was beautifully presented and deliciously interesting. We've not had a silkier creme brûlée. The atmosphere was warm and we found the waitress and chef gracious and welcoming. We can't wait to get back!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Although pricey ($100 each, including lovely wine pairings and welcome champagne), the special Thanksgiving menu was well worth every penny. We received a warm welcome and service throughout remained the same. I expected the food to be good based on prior reviews, however I wasn't prepared for how extraordinarily good the turkey dinner was. Once Richard described the preparation involved, I understood--rare to see that level of care taken (preparation and presentation). Will definitely return to try out the regular menu. Aly, Richard and the staff all deserve high praise for the obvious pride taken in this wonderful restaurant and the treatment of their customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a very disappointing Thanksgiving day meal. After a good salad course, the turkey entree arrived an hour later, full of gristle and stone cold. The pecan pie was average and the wines were unexceptional. This experience cost us over $200. So far, the restaurant has not replied to my complaint, so I assume they are not concerned. I would avoid Aly's.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

If you come to Solvang and you don't go here, you are missing a delicious wine-pairing life event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The absolute best!!!!! Organic, local, fresh, unique, creative, molecular, beautiful, delicious, service service service.
Aly is a winemaker, Richard is the chef. Before I moved to the area I would come from Palos Verdes where there is a plethora of good food to eat here. I think it's gotten better, Aly knows all about wine. More so than most folks in the wine industry! Proper glasses for proper wines. Paired wines. Kind hearts. That matters in service and food.
Can't say anything more. I've been twice in three days! That says something!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The staff were so friendly & accommodating & went above & beyond to make my birthday dinner a wonderful experience. Food was excellent & chef was very friendly as well & brought me a yummy birthday cake with gelato. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a lovely birthday dinner for two here. Aly herself greeted us and made us feel welcome. The service was outstanding with our waitress even giving us a tasting of some of the wines that Aly's family produces locally. The chef came out to make sure our entrees were to our liking. I had fresh diver scallops that were delicious. My husband had a duck entree that looked incredible and he really enjoyed. We will absolutely return to Aly's when we visit Solvange again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Richard, Aly and staff provide an amazing dining event! We will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service was the highlight of the restaurant. I usually like a limited menu, but this was a bit too limited. It seems that there's no particular dress code. What we had was just great. The appetizers were generous enough to satisfy a lighter appetite.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My husband & I recently celebrated our 40th Anniversary so we went to Aly's for dinner. The food (amazing combinations between food & wine), service (very attentive and friendly) and atmosphere (background music and an elegant setting) gave us a wonderful evening. The four courses of the Chef's Tasting Menu were brought out in a manner to allow us to enjoy each others company and the menu/wine without being rushed. If you are looking for a place to slow down your pace of life in a peaceful environment with great food and service, this dining experience is one you will not forget....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Enjoyed an excellent dinner with great service on a Friday evening. Very surprised to see few diners in the restaurant, especially after we had attempted to delay our reservation by 45 mins and were told that we could not. If your focus in dining in Solvang is delicious food, with very solid service, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Cozy, romantic. Great food, great wine selection... not very many beers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding. Went here for my wife's Birthday off a recommendation and I wasn't let down. The service was excellent, solid wine selection and the food was Amazing. The menu is small, but covers all bases. Also like the fact the the Chef's Special can be selected by as little as one in the party. The owners were under the weather that night, but I'm told they are often at the restaurant and great hosts. We will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were practically the only ones there on a Friday night at 7:00 p.m. The room smelled of old cooking grease when we walked in. Our server was lovely, and tried to make us feel welcome, but the food was mediocre, at best. The meat served with the fixed price dinner had a lot of fat and tough tendons, but was smothered in a delicious gravy. Crepes could barely be cut and housed melted ice cream. In general, very old-fashioned. Not the place for a major celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had an excellent meal. Service was friendly and pleasant. Had a nice, brief chat with the owner who stopped by to check on things. This place is a real gem. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Aly's restaurant is superb. Aly and her husband made our anniversary the best ever and I can't wait to go back again next year as we said we would make that our special anniversary place every year from now on. Alys food quality is the best.

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.