Aly's Restaurant

4.6
265 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Quiet Conversation
Aly's Restaurant features exquisite wine country cuisine. It's elegant ambiance is the perfect setting for couples, small groups, an intimate private event, birthday or wedding dinners, business meetings, and wine tastings.

We are pleased to offer you a traditional style dinning experience; where you may enjoy your food, wine and company un-rushed. We allot between 1-2 hours for you to enjoy each other in this experience. If you desire a quicker pace please let us know and we will be happy to accommodate you.

Though we love children, our restaurant isn't very Children Friendly. For those Children that are well behaved we will accommodate them the best we can.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Farm-to-table, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Thursday-Monday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 697-7082
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Richard Bruce
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On street parking, public lot parking on weekends as well.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I plan my trip to Solvang around Aly's restaurant schedule! The food is always amazing and the service is wornderful! Try their chef's menu and wine pairing! Always great and a good value!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Absolutely a must when in Solvang, CA. Intimate dining with just a few tables and the chef checks on every table periodically. Food was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

loved the restaurent aly’s made you feel like family. we enjoyed it so much we went back there before leaving. it will be one of our regular stops when in solvang

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Great food. Great service. Would do it all again and again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Chosen after reading reviews,all were spot on. Exceptional service, gave us samples of wine before ordering bottle. We both selected our meals and asked the chef to surprise us. Food was amazing, added a few personal things he chose and WOW.
A great choice !!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

What a lovely little surprise in Solvang! Our meals were very nice, and Aly's service was impeccable. My husband and I love our starters, he had the salad, and I had the tomato soup. The soup was excellent, very fresh, and not overly creamy. For our mains my husband had a fish item that was perfectly prepared, while I had the risotto. The risotto was very creamy, made with many wild mushrooms and locally sourced vegetables. If you're looking for a traditional risotto, I would not recommend this mixture of wild rice and other non-arborio rice. But it was very tasty! we had the creme brulee for dessert and it was delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for those visiting town and looking for something more than a casual meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Amazing food and great service. Good for a date, special ocasion, etc...
E, para nós brasileiros a grata surpresa no atendimento de Aly e o chef, ambos conterrâneos.
Vale a visita especialmente para o menu do chef!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The husband and wife team are amazing. The scallops were to die for -- the freshest and tastiest I have had. The lamb was exquisite, tender, and juicy. An overall wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The food was good... however, the restaurant does not acknowledge that we arrived on time for our reservation, nor has it credited points to our visit. There was also absolutely no mention that it was our 10th anniversary as noted in the reservation. We expected better service for such an occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

My anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I had a ticket for a dance recital at Solvang Theater and decided I would have dinner first. I went on-line to see what restaurants were around and I found Aly's Restaurant, right across the street from the theater ... PERFECT! Jenny, my hostess/waitress was awesome. She greeted me with a warm smile that lasted throughout my meal. Richard, the Chef, came out and introduced himself and brought a 'mini' appetizer out for me, along with some sparking wine. I order the Filet Mignon and I have to say it was the best I've ever had. It really did melt in my mouth. I was too full to try their desserts, but I plan on going back for another meal and will maybe try the dessert first :-)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Classic decor and food preparation. Attentive, gracious staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This place is a gem. What a beautiful menu, the food was beyond expectation, and the husband (chef)/wife team were so friendly and accommodating with special additions that made us feel appreciated. We can't wait to return. Also, love the quiet location. When Solvang Theatre Fest kicks up, make your reservation here at least 2 hours before the show. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Way over priced for what it is. Staff was really nice but food is nothing special. $100/pp did get you much better food and wine in this area

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Had the meal sampler sold strongly by hostess although after ordering told the special local pork was not available. We substituted filet mignon. To keep it short portions were small core ingredients were good quality accompaniments were bland and unseasoned or missing in some cases. Total bill with the wine flight tax and tip was 220 dollars for two. There is nothing really special about this place and I left still hungry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Good ambience. Great food. Perfect service. No regrets.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our compliments to the Chef. Every part of both our dinners was superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Wow what a great evening! We gathered for a birthday celebration. From the moment we entered the restaurant until we regrettably had to leave the restaurant we were treated like royalty. Each of our party of five selected the chefs tasting menu with the wine pairing. With the presentation of each course chef explained in person the dish and his inspiration as well as the local source. Wine pairing added to the culinary delights. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Amazing service and food... absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great meal, staff was really friendly. Nice to have chef be attentive and care about the customer as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Had a great dinner here but a little on the expensive side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We had a wonderful meal with friends. The food and service are always great. This time they were a little short staffed so the service was a little slow, which was wonderful for us as it gave us plenty of time to visit. Food was worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had an amazing evening at Aly's on Saturday! Our servers were sisters, with some lovely and interesting stories to share. The food was absolutely delicious, the decor lovely, and we enjoyed chatting with the chef after dinner. We will definitely be back! Thank you for a wonderful evening, Aly's staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We had a lovely time spending our anniversary dinner at Alys. Food was fantastic!! Our server was very knowlegable and provided great service.
My wife had the halibut, said it was perfectly cooked. I had the Lamb, melted in my mouth. Overall, we will be back!!! Great Job

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The restaurant is quaint. The service was amazing as was the food and wine. I met the owner who was friendly and personable. Double thumbs up!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Warm and inviting. Wonderfully prepared meal. Attentive service. Will most certainly be a regular.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Great food and service family ownership shows pride

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

The food was absolutely delicious. Not only was our waitress friendly and helpful but the owner/chef came out and thanked people at the tables for dining there. A lovely family run restaurant where they make you feel like one of the family even if you are just passing through town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Loved Aly's!! This was our second Valentines at Aly's and the food, service and atmosphere did not disappoint. We will definitely come back again and again. Can't wait!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Food was fabulous, expertly prepared. Romantic ambience. Great service! Delish!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

We read the reviews on Alys Restaurant and dined there to celebrate our birthdays over the holidays. The food was excellent. We had the lobster macaroni, filet Mignon, and the scallops. We would definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions as our bill including wine was $125 for two people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

When we booked, for dinner on Christmas Eve, there was no indication that it was a special dinner, nor that the price would be different from that shown on the menu. We were shocked that it was then a set, and very high, price. It was a difficult decision for us to stay at the restaurant, but we didn't have much choice, since everything else was booked up.
So the price was very, very high, double what you would normally pay from their menu. But...
Every single thing that they brought to our table was amazingly delicious and better than anything like it we had had previously (and we've been to some very, very nice places). My husband had the tomato soup...sounds simple, right? I've never had tomato soup like this, it was so delicious. I had a small salad of cabbage with a lobster tail across the top. Now, I hate cabbage, so does my husband. I don't know what they did to it, but it was great! Second course was salmon for him, filet for me, and every bit, from veg to meat, was excellent. Every course was wonderful, and when we finished our meal, and paid our bill, we felt that they had well earned their price. And then some. What a terrific, beautiful, delightful restaurant. The ambience was perfect, staff wonderful, and I don't know who it is that is in the kitchen but there should be awards hanging from the wall in there. Wow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 39 wedding anniversary and it was sensational for this occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

My husband and I are such foodies - we go to various places all the time so our palettes are quite difficult to please. This intimate, elegant place blew. us. away. The wine, the food (dear lord, the FOOD), the service - were all so impeccable - we came back every single night during our stay in Los Olivos. The executive chef is Brazilian and creates both traditional and cultural dishes (we found out his mother was a renowned chef - makes sense!!) and we just couldn't stop eating. Everything is OUTSTANDING. We’re making another drive up in a few months just to eat here with friends. This place will NOT disappoint. Order anything - anything!! We dare you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Argentinian owners, besides more standard fare, offer some of their national specialties. A surprising regular menu item, Chile Rellenos was easily the best I've had. Not at all oily as most, and served on a bed of delicious and complexly flavored black beans.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The chef’s menu with wine pairings was delicious and beautiful- loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

This restaurant is a must when visiting the area. Richard is the best chef in the region. Everything is awesome. Love the fish tacos! Go here. You won't be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Best thanksgiving dinner in my life!!!
The citrus dressing on the salad was light and fresh. The turkey and risotto were both unparalleled in flavors. The pumpkin pie was unmatched. And, the wine pairings across all the courses tied everything together masterfully!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Ambiance was great. Cozy with nice music coming over the speakers. Nice place to go for a romantic evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing food, wine pairings and service! The best scallops we have ever had!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Aly's Restaurant