Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Aly's Restaurant

Aly's Restaurant features exquisite wine country cuisine. It's elegant ambiance is the perfect setting for couples, small groups, an intimate private event, birthday or wedding dinners, business meetings, and wine tastings.

We are pleased to offer you a traditional style dinning experience; where you may enjoy your food, wine and company un-rushed. We allot between 1-2 hours for you to enjoy each other in this experience. If you desire a quicker pace please let us know and we will be happy to accommodate you.

Though we love children, our restaurant isn't very Children Friendly. For those Children that are well behaved we will accommodate them the best we can.

451 Second Street
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Farm-to-table, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday-Monday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 697-7082

Website:
http://www.alysbyalebru.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking, public lot parking on weekends as well.

Executive Chef:
Richard Bruce

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Local's Night Free Corkage

Thursdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Local's Night Free Corkage

Thursdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Local's Night Free Corkage. Consider Yourself Local! Not valid on Holidays or Special Events. Special valid Oct 26, 2017 - Dec 30, 2017 on Thursdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

We would be pleased to have you celebrate Thanksgiving Dinner with us here at Aly's Restaurant. We will be serving a delightful 3 course meal for $80 per person or $95 with wine pairings. Seating times at 3:30 pm and 6:30 pm.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

We would love to be part of what makes your Christmas in Solvang magical this year. Join one of our two seating times at 5:00 pm & 8:30 pm and delight in our gourmet prefixed menu.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

We would love to be part of what makes your Christmas in Solvang magical this year. Join one of our two seating times at 5:00 pm & 8:30 pm and delight in our gourmet prefixed menu.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

We would love to be part of what makes your New Years Eve in Solvang magical! Join one of our two seating times at 5:30 pm & 9:00 pm and delight in our gourmet prefixed menu. We will be hosting our 2nd annual Masquerade Midnight Mingle & Toast for the 9:00 seating!

Aly's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Amazing food, wine pairings and service! The best scallops we have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2017

I want to thank Aly’s for another wonderful dinner. We always feel like family when we go there. It is my favorite spot for dinner. Thank you to Richard for the great time and great food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Friendly, attentive staff. Delicious meals made with fresh ingredients. Superb wine list. Dining here made our anniversary very special. We will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2017

This was possibly the worst meal we've ever had. They were out of their usual fish and substituted yellow tail for it. It was mushy and fishy. So bad I could't eat it. My wife had scallops that were so overcooked you could have used them for golf balls. I have to say they did the right thing and didn't charge us for our entrees but save yourself the hassle and find somewhere else to eat in solvang.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with great food and great service. Wonderful wines. Interesting decor with gorgeous antiques. A great option for a fabulous dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We enjoyed every aspect of our dining experience at Aly's. Our meals were prepared superbly. It was obvious that Richard prepares his dishes using only the highest quality of ingredients. My wife ordered the filet, which was prepared perfectly and served over a Yukon potato cheddar fondue (very creative). My scallop dish was equally as delightful. When our plates were cleared from the table, they were virtually clean. And our server, Amanda, was the best. This will definitely be one of our dinner stops every time we visit the Santa Ynez Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We enjoyed Aly’s for the second time the other night. As on our first visit, we did the Chef’s tasting menu with paired wines. Everything was superb. Cooked perfectly and subtle and interesting, flavorful seasoning. Beautiful presentations. After an amuse bouche our first dish was lobster tail, second was sea scallop with cornbread and a mango salsa, third was lamb chops and dessert was a berry mousse thing that was awesome. The meal is somewhat pricey compared to other Solvang spots, but is a very good value for the meal and matched wines compared to LA and San Francisco prices for such pairings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My anniversary dinner was memorable because of the hospitality, ambiance and food. Chef and winemaker came out to welcone us and to ensure our meal was to taste.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My better half and I have eaten here a few times now, and each time, our experience has been exceptional. The tasting menu is superb, and made even better with the wine pairings! Great attention is given to taste, presentation, freshness, and quality. The service is exceptional- although we had not been there for a year (We are not local), we were recognized as having been there before! We will be back!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything was fabulous, especially the risotto! Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a nice place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Chef-Owner enjoys his guests. Guests enjoy his culinary abilities!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food and very good friendly service. Very nice dining room with plenty of room between tables. Worth the drive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Fantastic romantic 60th birthday 🎉 celebration! Amanda was an exceptional server wine knowledge and food knowledge. Great night for my bd😘 Karen Kampfe

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The filet was one of the best steaks I've ever had - perfectly cooked and the sauce was incredible. My wife had the scallops and said they were also excellent. Prices are fairly high ($100+ for a couple), but for an occasional date night or dinner before the PCPA it is well worth the money. We were there on a quiet slow night, but the wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Delightful meal, the chef's tasting is the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Food preparation is outstanding. Serving size, especially on the tasting menu is small with each course presented well. Great for quiet dinner, special event or the theater. Prices are comparatively high.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The best restaurant by far in Solvang. Amanda is wonderful and makes you feel at home and the chef is creative with his composition of food. We definitely will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We loved everything about the place, the food and especially the staff. If you dine at Aly's and find something to complain about I suspect you were having a bad day. In a town of really friendly people, the staff of Aly's are among the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Good meals, portions are less than average, but it's a French cousine place ) Imho it's overpriced 15-20% . Overall, it's a safe choice, but not the best value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Expensive over cooked fish and boring sauce were a disappointment

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

A very nice restaurant with the best servers, wonderful food, terrific ambiance. In addition they are located directly across the street from the Solvang outdoor theater.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at Aly's and couldn't have been more pleased. Not only was dinner fantastic, staff was fantastic as well. Amanda took great care of all our requests and was sincerely happy to be our server. We would recommend Aly's to anyone going to Solvang. Aly stopped by our table after dinner was done, as well as her husband, the chef.

Overall, there is nothing I would change about our evening at Aly's. We plan on being back in California within six to eight months and will most certainly make a reservation for dinner again.

My one regret is that we didn't write down the name of our seating hostess who was so attentive. We wish only the best for her.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was outstanding. Need to make time for a slow enjoyable experience, will definately be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Okay... I guess the French dining experience is supposed to be a long process, but this was ridiculous! We showed up at 7 for our reservation, we ordered a bottle of Chardonnay and split a salad. All of that happened in a reasonable time, but it finally got to be 8:15 and our main course had still not been served. There were only 5 tables of 2 at the restaurant (probably 12 other empty tables), so it wasn't because they were busy, but we finally said it's been way to long and we weren't hungry anymore. My wife ordered crab cakes and i order a steak (rare)... not too hard to prepare!

So I was going to give this place a 3 rating until the owner came out and introduced himself and made some excuse about us not understanding a fine dining experience. I guess his idea of fine dining is waiting 45 minutes to get your dinner. I said just get us the check and he said "I will have to charge you for everything!. We were never even served our dinner, yet this guy charged us for everything! If you wonder why restaurants go out of business, this Aly's is the poster child!

We paid $186 for a bottle of wine and a split salad... STAY AWAY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Fabulous food, atmosphere, service (from Amanda), best Pinot ever. In Solvang, don't miss Aly's! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is simply the best restaurant around. Richard is top notch. The chefs tasting menu was delicious and fun. The taco appetizer is super. Wife had halibut and loved it. This is a can't miss when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is the best dinner for me this year, my wife and I loved the chef's tasting menu, and they update the menu every week to give costumers the freshest food. Definitely will come back soon for this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Organic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Aly's! The service was attentive, the food was delicious, and the overall experience was lovely. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Yummy beautiful great service. And wonderful people

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The place is charming, the food delicious, and the staff so friendly you want to invite them to sit down. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent cuisine with personal attention to food and service details.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Vacation in a quaint city

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Aly's is the best. The service and food were great like always. The new guava dessert was great and is now my favorite. It's my go to in Solvang and Richard the owner is the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a great dinner and ambience. The chef came and talked with us and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We stop overnite nearby when traveling. Once we found Aly's we always dine there. Always a good experience. Friendly staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The village of Solvang can be rather challenging to foodies and those who just desire a beautifully done meal, and Aly's is a great option. The room is lovely, the service is warm and the vibe is calm appreciation of good food, allowing plenty of time for enjoying good coversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Thanks for the great food and attentive service! We had a fantastic time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Aly's in Solvang. The restaurant was cosy with about 15 tables. We found both the service and food excellent. I had the filet mignon and she had the sea bass. The wine, salads and desserts were great. It was a little expensive for normal dinner out but for a special occasion no problem. Would do it again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Aly's is a nice fine dining offering in Solvang. The décor is old fashioned and antique-y, but the food is definitely on the modern side. The grilled lobster salad had edible "sand" (my parenthesis, not theirs). An unusual pork cut--from the collarbone -- had bands of fat like pork belly but was lean over all. The smoked scallop was an interesting experiment eaten together with cornbread and papaya salad, but tasted fine by itself. The waitresses were glowing with their smiles and kindness.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Spotty would best describe our experience here. Service was given by enough people that it should have been perfect, but it was spotty. Someone asked how everything was more often than the food was delivered as expected. Some things weren't as described. The lobster macaroni and cheese, however, was the best my husband had ever had!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.