About Aly's Restaurant

451 Second Street
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Aly's Restaurant features exquisite wine country cuisine. It's elegant ambiance is the perfect setting for couples, small groups, an intimate private event, birthday or wedding dinners, business meetings, and wine tastings.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday-Monday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 697-7082

Website:
http://www.alysbyalebru.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking, public lot parking on weekends as well.

Executive Chef:
Rafa and Richard

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aly's Restaurant, Solvang, CA
  • Aly's Restaurant, Solvang, CA
Aly's Restaurant, Solvang, CA
Aly's Restaurant, Solvang, CA

Aly's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Romantic
California Central Coast
Special Occasion
California Central Coast
5 More
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Solvang ›

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second time going to Solvan ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our second time going to Solvang, CA, and we knew we wanted to dine at Aly's. My husband had their Tasting Menu and by the looks on his face with all the verbal yums, he was in heaven. I am gluten free and Amanda and Mark ensured that I had the perfect meal. I had the wild salmon and it was delicious, topped off by the creme brûlée. We love this place...so we made reservations for the following evening, as well, and invited our friends to join us. Again, my husband had the Tasting Menu and I had filet....fabulous!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had seen good reviews and were very p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had seen good reviews and were very pleased that the meal even exceeded our expectations. The food was beautifully presented and deliciously interesting. We've not had a silkier creme brûlée. The atmosphere was warm and we found the waitress and chef gracious and welcoming. We can't wait to get back!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although pricey ($100 each, including l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Although pricey ($100 each, including lovely wine pairings and welcome champagne), the special Thanksgiving menu was well worth every penny. We received a warm welcome and service throughout remained the same. I expected the food to be good based on prior reviews, however I wasn't prepared for how extraordinarily good the turkey dinner was. Once Richard described the preparation involved, I understood--rare to see that level of care taken (preparation and presentation). Will definitely return to try out the regular menu. Aly, Richard and the staff all deserve high praise for the obvious pride taken in this wonderful restaurant and the treatment of their customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a very disappointing Thanksgiving ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a very disappointing Thanksgiving day meal. After a good salad course, the turkey entree arrived an hour later, full of gristle and stone cold. The pecan pie was average and the wines were unexceptional. This experience cost us over $200. So far, the restaurant has not replied to my complaint, so I assume they are not concerned. I would avoid Aly's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

If you come to Solvang and you don't go ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

If you come to Solvang and you don't go here, you are missing a delicious wine-pairing life event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best!!!!! Organic, local, f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The absolute best!!!!! Organic, local, fresh, unique, creative, molecular, beautiful, delicious, service service service.

Aly is a winemaker, Richard is the chef. Before I moved to the area I would come from Palos Verdes where there is a plethora of good food to eat here. I think it's gotten better, Aly knows all about wine. More so than most folks in the wine industry! Proper glasses for proper wines. Paired wines. Kind hearts. That matters in service and food.

Can't say anything more. I've been twice in three days! That says something!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff were so friendly & accommodati ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The staff were so friendly & accommodating & went above & beyond to make my birthday dinner a wonderful experience. Food was excellent & chef was very friendly as well & brought me a yummy birthday cake with gelato. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely birthday dinner for two ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a lovely birthday dinner for two here. Aly herself greeted us and made us feel welcome. The service was outstanding with our waitress even giving us a tasting of some of the wines that Aly's family produces locally. The chef came out to make sure our entrees were to our liking. I had fresh diver scallops that were delicious. My husband had a duck entree that looked incredible and he really enjoyed. We will absolutely return to Aly's when we visit Solvange again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Richard, Aly and staff provide an amazin ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Richard, Aly and staff provide an amazing dining event! We will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was the highlight of the res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service was the highlight of the restaurant. I usually like a limited menu, but this was a bit too limited. It seems that there's no particular dress code. What we had was just great. The appetizers were generous enough to satisfy a lighter appetite.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband & I recently celebrated our 4 ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My husband & I recently celebrated our 40th Anniversary so we went to Aly's for dinner. The food (amazing combinations between food & wine), service (very attentive and friendly) and atmosphere (background music and an elegant setting) gave us a wonderful evening. The four courses of the Chef's Tasting Menu were brought out in a manner to allow us to enjoy each others company and the menu/wine without being rushed. If you are looking for a place to slow down your pace of life in a peaceful environment with great food and service, this dining experience is one you will not forget....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed an excellent dinner with great s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Enjoyed an excellent dinner with great service on a Friday evening. Very surprised to see few diners in the restaurant, especially after we had attempted to delay our reservation by 45 mins and were told that we could not. If your focus in dining in Solvang is delicious food, with very solid service, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Cozy, romantic. Great food, great wine s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Cozy, romantic. Great food, great wine selection... not very many beers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. Went here for my wife's Bir ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding. Went here for my wife's Birthday off a recommendation and I wasn't let down. The service was excellent, solid wine selection and the food was Amazing. The menu is small, but covers all bases. Also like the fact the the Chef's Special can be selected by as little as one in the party. The owners were under the weather that night, but I'm told they are often at the restaurant and great hosts. We will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were practically the only ones there ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were practically the only ones there on a Friday night at 7:00 p.m. The room smelled of old cooking grease when we walked in. Our server was lovely, and tried to make us feel welcome, but the food was mediocre, at best. The meat served with the fixed price dinner had a lot of fat and tough tendons, but was smothered in a delicious gravy. Crepes could barely be cut and housed melted ice cream. In general, very old-fashioned. Not the place for a major celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

We had an excellent meal. Service was f ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had an excellent meal. Service was friendly and pleasant. Had a nice, brief chat with the owner who stopped by to check on things. This place is a real gem. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. The staff was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was outstanding. The staff was very attentive and very helpful without being intrusive. One of the best dining experiences we have enjoyed in the Solvang area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Aly's is our favorite place for a quiet ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Aly's is our favorite place for a quiet dining experience on a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm friendly service, oh! and the food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Warm friendly service, oh! and the food was very good too. Unfortunately not vegan friendly, but some options for vegetarians.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in Solvang again for a few night ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were in Solvang again for a few nights, and couldn't wait to take our friends to Aly's to celebrate a birthday. This is a favorite of ours - and we are never disappointed. We were surprised to find that our reserved table was decorated for the occasion. We were greeted warmly by the server and owner, Richard. The experience was just as it has always been in the past - outstanding. The food is beautifully presented, and exquisitely prepared. The sangiovese wine produced by the house is very good - you'll be tempted to take a case home!

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic little gem! Met the owner duri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic little gem! Met the owner during our visit and he sampled his wines to us complimentary. Food was inventive and unique. Loved the atmosphere as it was quaint and romantic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the four course tasting menu with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had the four course tasting menu with wine pairings. It was excellent and the first time I tried collar steak, which is a cut from the back of the pig's neck. It was served with an onion and mushroom gravy that still makes my mouth water when I think about it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service. Good wine m ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 14, 2016

excellent food and service. Good wine menu. would recommend. 5 stars

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small fine dining restaraunt .pleasant a ...

 
 (Kent)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Small fine dining restaraunt .pleasant and efficient service .food was good not exceptional .wine recomendation excellent

Heart or town centre which in iself was well worth a visit as we felt we were back in denmark .

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Richa ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Richard and Amanda are wonderful!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed this, our first, visit to Aly ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We enjoyed this, our first, visit to Aly's. Our only issue was with the Service. Both of the wait staff people were friendly and helpful and did their best. However, there were clearly not enough of them. There was no hostess nor were there bussers. Consequently, all the service burden fell on just the two people at the cost of efficient service to the customers. We think that in order to provide a truly good dining experience, Aly's needs to boost the size of the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was subpar. Very surprising, consid ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was subpar. Very surprising, considering the rave reviews. Filet was cooked very unevenly and had a weird texture. I strongly suspect it had been frozen previously. Duck was overcooked and tasted like a ham steak. Macaroni was the worst I've ever had - very little, watery sauce with loads of chives. The lobster in the macaroni was actually good and seemed fresh. The wine was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Richard (Owner) and Amanda (server) make ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Richard (Owner) and Amanda (server) make every dinner a special occasion. Menu is small but food and presentation is excellent. Wine list is good representation of Santa Barbara Co wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Solvang for a girls weekend. Gr ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went to Solvang for a girls weekend. Great find for dinner to top off a day of wine tasting in the Lompoc Valley. Filet was fantastic,as was the Halibut. Highly recommended and plan to visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had the chef selections with the wine ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had the chef selections with the wine pairing and were very pleased. We made reservations, but there were only 3 or 4 tables being used on a Thursday evening at 7:45PM. Service was great, food was innovative, wine was great. We will certainly return if we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Give me more more Lobster Mac & Cheese p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Give me more more Lobster Mac & Cheese please! Love that the food is fresh, organic, delicious and beautifully plated. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needed to impress my date and found this ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Needed to impress my date and found this gem of restaurant on Open Table. We got the fixed dinner paired with wine. The staff was well educated on the food and wine which made for a pleasant experience. Two thumbs!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's very nice to have a great restauran ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 9, 2016

It's very nice to have a great restaurant in Solvang. Be patient, this is made to order, and appreciate the experience. It's a reward

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always an outstanding experience. Chefs ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always an outstanding experience. Chefs tasting was delicious. Crab trio app was awesome. Richard is a pro. Even though the restaurant was crowded from 4th of July traffic, service was still excellent. We eat here two to three times per year when in town. Would not miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for dinner before Shrek at Theat ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went for dinner before Shrek at Theaterfest. It was a convenient location, the owner came out and discussed wines with us, and we enjoyed our meal very much. We would definitely recommend it to a friend and may return before another Theaterfest show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An incredible dining experience every ti ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 1, 2016

An incredible dining experience every time. The owners make you feel like family. Every bite is heaven.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in Solvang to attend ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife and I were in Solvang to attend a wedding and decided to make a long weekend of it. We were told of this place from some locals and were we glad we took them up on their recommendation! It was hands down one of the high-lights of our trip! The food was Michelin star worthy as was the wine list. The décor is quaint with some really cool antique pieces throughout the dining room. Our server was awesome and we left feeling really special. If you are in Solvang or Buellton, look this place up. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection from start to finish! Loved ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Perfection from start to finish! Loved this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect date night for a married couple

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The chefs menu with the wine pairing was the perfect choice. It definitely had a mature feeling with it's decor. My husband and I are in our mid 30's and have been married for 8 years so we were looking for something that had a great menu even if it wasn't flashy. The staff was on it and we felt well taken care of. They had an awesome old jazz station playing that made it feel romantic and sentimental.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The lobster bisque was amazing.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 30, 2016

The lobster bisque was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.