Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Aly's Restaurant

Aly's Restaurant features exquisite wine country cuisine. It's elegant ambiance is the perfect setting for couples, small groups, an intimate private event, birthday or wedding dinners, business meetings, and wine tastings.

We are pleased to offer you a traditional style dinning experience; where you may enjoy your food, wine and company un-rushed. We allot between 1-2 hours for you to enjoy each other in this experience. If you desire a quicker pace please let us know and we will be happy to accommodate you.

Though we love children, our restaurant isn't very Children Friendly. For those Children that are well behaved we will accommodate them the best we can.

451 Second Street
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Farm-to-table, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday-Monday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 697-7082

Website:
http://www.alysbyalebru.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking, public lot parking on weekends as well.

Executive Chef:
Richard Bruce

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wine

Aly's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Chef-Owner enjoys his guests. Guests enjoy his culinary abilities!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food and very good friendly service. Very nice dining room with plenty of room between tables. Worth the drive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Fantastic romantic 60th birthday 🎉 celebration! Amanda was an exceptional server wine knowledge and food knowledge. Great night for my bd😘 Karen Kampfe

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The filet was one of the best steaks I've ever had - perfectly cooked and the sauce was incredible. My wife had the scallops and said they were also excellent. Prices are fairly high ($100+ for a couple), but for an occasional date night or dinner before the PCPA it is well worth the money. We were there on a quiet slow night, but the wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Delightful meal, the chef's tasting is the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Food preparation is outstanding. Serving size, especially on the tasting menu is small with each course presented well. Great for quiet dinner, special event or the theater. Prices are comparatively high.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The best restaurant by far in Solvang. Amanda is wonderful and makes you feel at home and the chef is creative with his composition of food. We definitely will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We loved everything about the place, the food and especially the staff. If you dine at Aly's and find something to complain about I suspect you were having a bad day. In a town of really friendly people, the staff of Aly's are among the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Good meals, portions are less than average, but it's a French cousine place ) Imho it's overpriced 15-20% . Overall, it's a safe choice, but not the best value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Expensive over cooked fish and boring sauce were a disappointment

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

A very nice restaurant with the best servers, wonderful food, terrific ambiance. In addition they are located directly across the street from the Solvang outdoor theater.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at Aly's and couldn't have been more pleased. Not only was dinner fantastic, staff was fantastic as well. Amanda took great care of all our requests and was sincerely happy to be our server. We would recommend Aly's to anyone going to Solvang. Aly stopped by our table after dinner was done, as well as her husband, the chef.

Overall, there is nothing I would change about our evening at Aly's. We plan on being back in California within six to eight months and will most certainly make a reservation for dinner again.

My one regret is that we didn't write down the name of our seating hostess who was so attentive. We wish only the best for her.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was outstanding. Need to make time for a slow enjoyable experience, will definately be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Okay... I guess the French dining experience is supposed to be a long process, but this was ridiculous! We showed up at 7 for our reservation, we ordered a bottle of Chardonnay and split a salad. All of that happened in a reasonable time, but it finally got to be 8:15 and our main course had still not been served. There were only 5 tables of 2 at the restaurant (probably 12 other empty tables), so it wasn't because they were busy, but we finally said it's been way to long and we weren't hungry anymore. My wife ordered crab cakes and i order a steak (rare)... not too hard to prepare!

So I was going to give this place a 3 rating until the owner came out and introduced himself and made some excuse about us not understanding a fine dining experience. I guess his idea of fine dining is waiting 45 minutes to get your dinner. I said just get us the check and he said "I will have to charge you for everything!. We were never even served our dinner, yet this guy charged us for everything! If you wonder why restaurants go out of business, this Aly's is the poster child!

We paid $186 for a bottle of wine and a split salad... STAY AWAY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Fabulous food, atmosphere, service (from Amanda), best Pinot ever. In Solvang, don't miss Aly's! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is simply the best restaurant around. Richard is top notch. The chefs tasting menu was delicious and fun. The taco appetizer is super. Wife had halibut and loved it. This is a can't miss when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is the best dinner for me this year, my wife and I loved the chef's tasting menu, and they update the menu every week to give costumers the freshest food. Definitely will come back soon for this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Organic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Aly's! The service was attentive, the food was delicious, and the overall experience was lovely. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Yummy beautiful great service. And wonderful people

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The place is charming, the food delicious, and the staff so friendly you want to invite them to sit down. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent cuisine with personal attention to food and service details.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Vacation in a quaint city

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Aly's is the best. The service and food were great like always. The new guava dessert was great and is now my favorite. It's my go to in Solvang and Richard the owner is the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a great dinner and ambience. The chef came and talked with us and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We stop overnite nearby when traveling. Once we found Aly's we always dine there. Always a good experience. Friendly staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The village of Solvang can be rather challenging to foodies and those who just desire a beautifully done meal, and Aly's is a great option. The room is lovely, the service is warm and the vibe is calm appreciation of good food, allowing plenty of time for enjoying good coversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Thanks for the great food and attentive service! We had a fantastic time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Aly's in Solvang. The restaurant was cosy with about 15 tables. We found both the service and food excellent. I had the filet mignon and she had the sea bass. The wine, salads and desserts were great. It was a little expensive for normal dinner out but for a special occasion no problem. Would do it again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Aly's is a nice fine dining offering in Solvang. The décor is old fashioned and antique-y, but the food is definitely on the modern side. The grilled lobster salad had edible "sand" (my parenthesis, not theirs). An unusual pork cut--from the collarbone -- had bands of fat like pork belly but was lean over all. The smoked scallop was an interesting experiment eaten together with cornbread and papaya salad, but tasted fine by itself. The waitresses were glowing with their smiles and kindness.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Spotty would best describe our experience here. Service was given by enough people that it should have been perfect, but it was spotty. Someone asked how everything was more often than the food was delivered as expected. Some things weren't as described. The lobster macaroni and cheese, however, was the best my husband had ever had!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Took the wife to dinner on a short overnight to Solvang. Had read some nice reviews of Aly's Restaurant and it was a short walk from our hotel. Made reservations but showed up a bit early. No problem being seated. Small staff but very, very attentive. Ambiance was very nice in the room. Quiet elegance without being overdone. Menu was good but not to extensive. The server was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. My wife had a wonderful (local wild) Chanterelle mushroom salad and I had a roasted tomato soup to start. Both excellent. She had a quinoa risotto and I had scallops with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. Both entrees were great. We split and orange crepe for desert and, because the staff is small and there was one large party, it took quite a while to come out. The ice cream on it had melted. Tasted good but a little disappointing. Not inexpensive but very good overall. 2 starters, 2 entrees, 1 desert, 1 glass of wine and a coke = $135. before tip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Third meal here and it is beyond words every time. Very personalized service and unique food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Aly's was a great overall experience. We were seated quickly and attended to throughout the evening without feeling like we were being hovered over. This isn't a large restaurant, maybe 10 -12 tables, so you do feel like you get personalized service in a more intimate setting. My wife enjoyed the chef's tasting menu, while I had an appetizer and main course. The dinner rolls came out piping hot and both of us enjoyed each of our courses.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great tasting, portions were a little small. the place was quiet and romantic

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service. Excellent Ciopinno on Sunday, and no corkage charge.
We will make this a habit.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Highly recommended! Filet was perfectly prepared!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was good, the service was excellent, but the price was too high.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Aly's is a very special restaurant. All aspects of our dining experience--food, preparation, service, ambiance, exceeded our expectations. Having eaten at many fine restaurants all over the US and in European countries, Aly's holds its own with any. Will be returning!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It is a small, intimate place that serves wonderful food. I ordered the tasting menu and loved every bite. The chef was very responsive to my allergies and sensitivities. He even adjusted the courses to remove nuts and gluten from the dishes, so that I could eat them all.
I would definitely go back, when we are in the area again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Querétaro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food from appetizers through dessert. Aly is a gracious and engaging hostess and chef Richard's special Brazilian dishes are truly delicious. It may take a while for the food to come out of the kitchen, but it's worth the reasonable wait.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.