Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Alycia's Bistro

4.4
412 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Alycia's Bistro is American Cuisine with a contemporary twist. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch, in-house, from our dressings to our desserts. We aspire to use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes by using Local and Seasonal ingredients as much as possible. This reflects in our Seasonally ChangIng menu. We offer a modern and casual setting, and are a BYOB. Bring your wine for Our Award Winning Spiced Sangria. A must try !!
Please visit our website for our most up to date menu.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:Tues-Thur:5:00PM to 9:30PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Sunday: 5:00PM to 9PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(732) 462-2305
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alycia Frances
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering available for all events. Special holiday packages.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private parking behind the Restaurant
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Across from Freehold bus station
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We will be open Easter Sunday from 2pm-9pm. Our new spring menu will be available on Easter.
Additional
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 412 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.0
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on August 20, 2017

Food as always was excellent. The issue was service on this occasion. We had reservations but it took over 30 minutes to get seated because they had no one to clear tables. The hostess was totally overwhelmed and therefore chose to "hide" in the kitchen most of the time. We were told that most of the servers chose not to show up that day. Luckily once we were seated, we got a great server who tried her best to make it a great occasion. So that is why my service rating is 3

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2017

The night we were there they were under staff but our waitress was wonderful and the food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

GREAT food, great service, all local food . This was our second visit and will not be our last. LOVE this place!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Right here in my backyard. I forget I can get gourmet food so close by!
Always crowded on weekends and reservations are a must. GREAT food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Delicious & refreshing since this area is filled with chains and microwaved food. A bit warm inside but not unbearable... overall - large portions, high quality ingredients and meal, friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2017

My wife and I really like Alycia's. It's very nice place, good quality food and relatively affordable compared to others in the area. It's also BYOB which we prefer. They also have a great desert menu, including homemade ice cream . The Korean ribs are the best!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 16, 2017

Food is always amazing and portions are generous. My wife and I each ordered an app and realized afterwards we could've easily split one (but it's so hard to decide because EVERYTHING is so good). We've been there several times and have always enjoyed the food and the service is always extremely friendly. We've ordered the ice cream on other occasions and it doesn't disappoint. However, on this visit our only minor criticism is the ice cream had some ice crystals as if it was not thoroughly mixed before it was frozen or not frozen properly. It still had phenomenal flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2017

This is such a shame this place closed, best food around. Love the menu. Service is outstanding, no one does it better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food & very consistent visit to visit. Reasonably priced & attentive service. Always worth the visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Service was not good at all. Servers did not expect the needs of the customer. Long wait for taking order. Most likely not returning again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 9, 2017

Alycia's Bistro is a farm to table with unique seasonal appetizers and entrees. The food, service and atmosphere was exceptional and made for a great dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant is a house convrrted into a restaurant. The decor is nice and if feels very cozy. It's very small and the tables are close together. It's not a quiet place unless it's empty but it was busy which is also good. The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

We are return customers ...the food and service are never a disappointment

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Food is excellent!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Food is always delicious and wonderful
Servers working there are college kids that could use more training.
They are polite and nice, but obviously not experienced at serving tables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

This was my 3rd time at Alycia's Bistro... they never disappoint. The food is fresh every single day and made with perfection. My recommendations are the korean BBQ rib starter, the rigatoni and vodka cause and the guiness short rib entrees.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 4, 2017

This was our second time here. We enjoyed our first meal, a month or so back, but this dinner was disappointing.

The restaurant was pretty empty (surprising for a Friday evening) and we were served quickly. We split a caesar salad and grilled peaches. The caesar salad was heavily overdressed and the lettuce leaves were soft and limp, with no fresh crispness at all. The grilled peaches were plates with three half peaches - 2 were small and one was quite large. The two small ones were tasty, but webwere jot able to eat the large one. It was so underripe that we were unable to even cut it in half. When the bus boy came to clean up, we let him know that we were not happy with the peaches. He walked over to our server with the peaches and appeared to let her know about our complaint. She shrugged her shoulders and walked away.
Our entrees were seafood risotto and a pasta special. Both were average at best. The risotto was loaded with cheese insteas if being naturally creamy and was rather unpleasant to eat.
We did mention to our server about the peaches and she ignored our comment as she brought our check

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2017

We have been going to Alycia's Bistro since it opened. Food is consistently well cooked. We always know we will get a good meal. Everyone in our party ordered a different dish and all were excellent. I particularly love the shrimp and grits. My daughters mashed potatoes were yummy and my son's chicken and waffles looked delicious. I stole a piece of apple. It was sweet and cooked for just the right amount of time. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was SUPER salty. Scallops tasted extremely fishy and for $29 for 4 scallops. Very expensive for what is offered. Everything took a long time and staff seemed disorganized. Very disappointing...Wait/Hostess staff was not attentive and did not seem eager to help. I posted my review on their FB page twice and they removed it, so on top of everything else, they inflate their FB ratings by removing anything negative. Would not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2017

Always great food. very helpful and pleasant staff. the desserts are the perfect ending!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Outstanding food and service. This is a little gem in Freehold town. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

A friend recommended Alycia's a while ago and I have been back several times. The main reason is the food. Prepared fresh, nice pairings. The ambience is very nice and the service is very welcoming. They are happy to answer all your questions about the dishes. A great experience for everyone that I have taken there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

We love dining here. Always great food and great service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Pretty good overall. Shrimp and grits were great. Grilled Peaches appetizer, while interesting, the peaches were dry, and goat cheese was overpowering.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 21, 2017

The restaurant was very disappointing. The food was just okay but the service was awful

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was delicious and the wait to be served was not too long considering that everything is made to order. However, the restaurant was extremely noisy and our service was poor, at best. After taking our order, our server never checked back with us and were ignored until it was time to order dessert. We are willing to try Alycia's one more time, hoping our visit that night was not the norm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was perfect. They made sangria out of the wine we brought and it was awesome. Absolutely recommend Alycia's Bistro.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 16, 2017

I asked for a specific table outside on the porch and they were able to give it to me. The service was attentive as always and the food was delicious. It was a particularly nice evening and so watching the busy street was particularly entertaining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Second visit again with a large group. Again excellent food. Excellent and friendly service staff. Wide variety of people's taste and food for all on the menus. Vegetarian options of many dishes available as well A definite for a visit to Freehold. Downtown freehold is a gem in the ruff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 13, 2017

This is our third time eating at Alycia's Bistro. Last time we ate there was about a year ago. Food was very good. Tables are tight but we knew this in advance. We got the Polenta fries as an appetizer, and they were excellent. They were out of braised short ribs, which was a disappointment (7:00 p.m. dinner). We got the sea scallops, shrimp and grits, and pasta Bolognese. For the price, I feel they could have served 1 to 2 more shrimp and scallops (4 each). More like an appetizer size. Dessert was the flourless chocolate cake. There was supposed to be raspberry sauce, but we didn't taste any. Service was fair at best. Waiter was pretty nonexistent. Also got our ice cream order incorrect. I would eat here again someday, but not on a regular basis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent. The braised pork bellies was exceptional. Seared duck breast was perfectly executed and cooked to medium rare as requested. Sautéed veal served over soft polenta was appropriately seasoned and very tasty.

We did bring a nice bottle of wine, however, some of the guests did not know it was a BYOB.

The service time is appropriate for the quality of food served. Expect an hour+ Experience.

Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2017

Always good. Food is consistently good and creative. Service is attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Great as always.
Grilled Peaches appetizer was awesome!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 2, 2017

We have been coming here since Alycias opened. We have heard from other people that sometimes it is disorganized at the hostess station but we have never had a bad experience. Until now. Walked in to a waiting room full of people. We had a reservation as did another party of two and a larger party of six. The hostess was overwhelmed and cleaning tables instead of seating waiting guests at the clean available tables. She came over frazzled saying they were understaffed that night and still did not seat anyone before walking away for another 5-10 minutes . I offered to help her out by leaving to eat next door. She was unfazed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 29, 2017

Disappointed even with great food, Something is missing.

We went to Alycia's for my birthday on a Thursday evening. I made a reservation for 6:30 and was seated quickly in a semi empty dining room. No one came over for a while and when they did said they were sorry but everyone was seated at the same time so they had to stager orders! We didn't understand that because there was only two other tables filled. He only took our drink order (water) and left. We continued to wait and it wasn't until 7:10 pm that someone came over to take our order. I asked if there were any specials and she looked at me confused and asked specials? We were so hungry by then just ordered off the menu. My husband and I were sharing a salad and I was surprised when it did not come out split or that the waiter did not bring us an extra plate. We told her we were sharing the salad. At most high end and even lower end restaurants they do this for you. Our entree's were good however my husband ordered chicken francaise and it tasted more like piccata without the capers. Good thing he likes both. My son's salmon and my duck were very good.
Something was not right about the restaurant ... way too much time passed between a waiter contacting us and people came to the front of the restaurant and had to wait without seeing anyone for many minutes. Also if this is farm to table how come the menu is virtually the same as it was in January ... I'm sure there are different things available now then they are in the winter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2017

its been our 3rd time eating here in less than 2 months. Farm to table cuisine. The best of the best for in town dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice surprise, we were very happy with our meal and services. Would definitely recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent mea. Had the monkfish and it was so good. Our friends loved their meals. They make everything homemade even the ice cream. Delicious

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Restaurant menu was very nice seasonal selection staff was extremely accommodating., except very pushy regarding desserts and additional appetizers. Prices were of the average value. Lastly for some strange reason you cannot order your appetizers and have your drinks without ordering your entrées at the same time which is not very accommodating. Sometimes you want to eat your appetizers have some drinks before determining how much more food you can eat. I guess another way racking up the bill.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 16, 2017

I had a 7 Pm reservation on a Friday evening . When I arrived there was no wait and I was seated promptly. I had heard a lot of good things about the restaurant and it was on my hit list of places to try. I wasn't disappointed. We were a party of 4 and we all totally loved the food, it was delicious. The service was excellent, very fast and very knowledgeable. The fact that it is a BYOB just made this an ideal place. I will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11