About Alycia's Bistro

52 West Main St
Freehold, NJ 07728
View Larger Map

Alycia's Bistro is American Cuisine with a contemporary twist. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch, in-house, from our dressings to our desserts. We aspire to use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes by using Local and Seasonal ingredients as much as possible. This reflects in our Seasonally ChangIng menu. We offer a modern and casual setting, and are a BYOB. Bring your wine for Our Award Winning Spiced Sangria. A must try !!
Please visit our website for our most up to date menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Tues-Thur:5:00PM to 9:30PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Sunday: 5:00PM to 9PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 462-2305

Website:
http://www.alyciasbistro.com/home.html

Catering:
Catering available for all events. Special holiday packages.

Parking Details:
Private parking behind the Restaurant

Public Transit:
Across from Freehold bus station

Executive Chef:
Alycia Frances

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines Day will feature a 4 Course Prefix Menu for $59.95 per person.

Restaurant Photos

  • Shrimp & Grits
  • Salmon
  • Red Velvet
Shrimp & Grits
Salmon
Red Velvet

Alycia's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
New Jersey - Central
Best Restaurants in Freehold ›

Fit for Foodies (58)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We loved it... the food and the service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved it... the food and the service were excellent. Everything we had was wonderfully prepared, very fresh and presented very nicely. The combination of flavors were wonderful.

We sat in the corner so the noise level was tolerable. But we could see that seated elsewhere it would have been hard to have a conversation.

We definitely plan on coming back and introducing other friends to this place.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our second time dining at Alyci ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our second time dining at Alycia's, which is located in an old house on West Main Street (Route 537) in Freehold, NJ; there's a small parking lot behind the restaurant, as well as ample parking by the old train station across the street. You can eat outside on the large porch (note that it's a busy street, so that may take away from the experience), or inside either on the first or second floor (caution: the second floor requires climbing a fairly steep set of stairs), It's an attractive restaurant, with nice artwork, good service and a diverse menu featuring items from local farms and fish markets. While the prices aren't for the budget-conscious, it's BYOB, so you can save on the bill that way. A great local find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip to Alycia's Bis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our second trip to Alycia's Bistro. After the first time that we ate her we could not wait to come back. I got the Shrimp & Grits that are on the regular menu. Everything was both tasty, fresh and piping hot when it reached the table. My husband opted for the short ribs. He required no use of a knife. The meat was so tender it practically fell off of the bone. we went on a Sunday night. It was not busy when we first got there at around 6:00 but quickly filled up after that. the establishment is not very large so when it fills up it can tend to be a bit noisy. Either way it is still worth the trip.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Lousy air conditioning. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food. Lousy air conditioning. The only unit they had on the first floor was a window less unit. We were there on A hot Saturday night in August. All four of us melted. Needed to leave before we passed out Also busy and service was acceptable at best. Plan on coming back on a cool weekday in the fall to enjoy the delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Alycia's is a great addition to Freehold ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Alycia's is a great addition to Freehold's dining scene. Interesting, creative, fresh food. There is outdoor seating which looks fun for when it is not 95 degrees out days on end. Service was very good- we were not neglected and our server had such a friendly and warm personality. There is parking in the back but on a Saturday you may want to just head to the Bank of America parking lot- as trying to get out of the driveway if you do decide to check the small lot in back, is very tricky unless someone takes pity on you and lets you through. BYOB enables you to spend more on desserts! Desserts were amazing- the cheesecake was excellent and the homemade ice cream was the best I have ever had. If you try anything, it must be the peanut better ice cream!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at Alycia's Bistro for our gi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time at Alycia's Bistro for our girls' night out group of 4. Thoroughly enjoyed all the dishes we ordered from the grilled peach appetizer (one of the day's specials) to the tasty desserts of pistachio tartufo and flourless chocolate cake. All 4 entrees ordered at the table were delicious - seabass, salmon, crab cakes and scallop - tried them all! Only complaint - they dropped the check without asking if we needed anything else. Poor manners!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First visit. Loved everything except the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

First visit. Loved everything except the noise. Seafood risotto and shrimp and grits were great. Neither my wife nor I could finish our portions (lunch the next day!) Service was a bit rushed in between the appetizer and main course but otherwise attentive. All deserts are made in house. Carrot cake was wonderful (took some of that home as well). We'll be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is an excellent chef owned restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is an excellent chef owned restaurant where food is prepared and served by an experienced staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a wonderful dinner with friends! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends! I never thought I'd go for the waffles and chicken, but it was incredibly delicious! We loved all the fresh food tastes and really enjoyed everything we ordered (including dessert). The entire wait staff was excellent! Our server, Karen, was very accommodating and extremely pleasant. She took time to answer any of our questions about the menu and was exceptionally attentive to anything we needed. I would definitely recommend Alycia's for a wonderful dining experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New restaurant for us. Small place that ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

New restaurant for us. Small place that uses only locally grown ingredients. They list the farmers and ranchers on the menu. So you know where everything was sourced. They make great salads and flatbreads. The chicken dishes are also very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the restaurant was wonderful, the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

While the restaurant was wonderful, the initial seating was not. We had a 7:30 reservation, waited for the hostess in a line for 15 minutes. We then were told it would be another 15 minutes. We sat at 8:05. The restaurant foyer is very small and there is no where to wait. We wound up back outside but if it were winter or raining it would have been an issue. They need more workers hosting and seating. They also need to know when to not overbook.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was very good. Food was very goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was very good. Food was very good except my husband's veal piccata which was sent back and replaced with parmesean. A bit noisy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I have loved all of my previous visits t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have loved all of my previous visits to Alycia's, but my meal choice this time wasn't as great as usual. The scallops were cooked perfectly, but the pesto risotto and spinach were over the top salty so I essentially paid $28 for four scallops since the rest was inedible. Bummed about this...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great meal. Very friendly staff. Loved t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great meal. Very friendly staff. Loved the meal selections. A short but noticeable wait for the waitress to visit our table when we arrived but after that it was all perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and prepared as w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was very good and prepared as we asked. They were helpful in providing extra plates since we shared a dinner and salad. There is outdoor seating but you'll hear the traffic noise from the street. Parking is available but can fill up at peak times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have not been there in almost 2 years ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We have not been there in almost 2 years. The food and service was great. The pork belly app was terrific as well as my seafood fra diablo entree. We ate outside with friends. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. The food is fabulous ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great restaurant. The food is fabulous and nicely prepared. 2nd time here and just as good as the first. It is byob.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the whole concept of Alycias restau ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love the whole concept of Alycias restaurant; food being purchased from local vendors and farms, and then on top of that its excellent in every way. The wait staff is always on top of their game and its just an overall great dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great neighborhood restaurant, food a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A great neighborhood restaurant, food and service were very good, go an enjoy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We arrived early, and requested outside ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We arrived early, and requested outside seating even though it was raining. The hostess was pleasant and accommodating. Our server, Karen, was awesome. From start to finish everything was very good. We cant wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

REMEMBER TO LEAVE YOU HEARING AIDES HOME ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

REMEMBER TO LEAVE YOU HEARING AIDES HOME. THE FOOD IS GOOD BUT THE NOISE LEVEL IS HORRENDOUS. MY SHORT RIB ENTREE CAME OUT NOT HOT, BUT I WAS SO DISGUSTED WITH THE EVENING'S NOISE LEVEL, I DIDN'T SEND IT BACK. I JUST WANTED TO GET OUT OF THERE.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Alycia's has become a regular place for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Alycia's has become a regular place for us. Farm to table with almost everything cooked to order. I say "almost everything" solely because they usually have one or two items that are slow braised all day like the Pork shank I had on this occasion. This item needed many hours of slow cooking to get to the fall of the bone tenderness that was achieved.

They area also BYOB so you can save quite a bit and still enjoy your favorite wine. Don't leave without trying some of their homemade ice cream. Since we've found this place we've been back twice and will be back many, many more times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is pretty terrific. Only been there ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is pretty terrific. Only been there twice. Highly recommend pork belly salad. Only disappointment was the sea bass tasted as if it might have been frozen. It did not taste very fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Charming venue. Found parking in back, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Charming venue. Found parking in back, though at least two cars were there waiting to pick up arrivals from the bus stop across the street. Wait staff were friendly and helpful; food was fresh and tasty. Prices reflected the quality. The sangria made from the wine we brought was nice and a good offering. Downside: close proximity of other tables, the noise level, and the temperature which continued to climb while were there. We were seated downstairs--imagine upstairs would be even more uncomfortable. Will likely return in the fall when the humidity breaks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is an old converted house, 2 fairly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is an old converted house, 2 fairly small dining rooms . Was there on a hot day and both rooms were quite warm as there is no air conditioning , only ceiling fans . Also note, the second dining room is up a flight of steep wooden steps . If this is a problem, you must call in advance to reserve main floor seating or you are out of luck . Service was excellent, although they insist you order your appetizers and main dish at the same time . As our appy dishes were being taken our main course was being delivered . Just a bit rushed for my liking, but otherwise everything was perfect . The calamari and shrimp starters were wonderful as was the seafood risotto and short rib main dishes .. add a peanut butter tartufo to finish a perfect dinner . I highly recommend ...and BYOB

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, amazing fresh cooked f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great atmosphere, amazing fresh cooked food from farm to table and service was phenomenal and friendly!! 5 stars from us!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and fresh. Service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was excellent and fresh. Service was friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've never had a bad meal at Alycia's. ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We've never had a bad meal at Alycia's. We haven't been there for a while and am glad we went back. The food is always fresh and our servers were very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere, good food and friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere, good food and friendly service. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

We had been there the first time about a year ago and were disappointed. We heard good things and decided to try it again - we are very glad we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My first impression was good, one waitre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My first impression was good, one waitress was great. They were training a new waitress, she was wearing shorts, which I found not suitable for an upscale place. The food was very good, the desert was not. We had the rice pudding which was gummy. Should have had the carrot cake! Complained to the server, nothing was done or offered in its place. Service needs to be worked on, also the rice pudding!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and service. Then when th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. Then when the waitress found out we were celebrating an anniversary, we appreciated the special attention we were given.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent menu offering diverse food opt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent menu offering diverse food options that are delicious!

Service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Alycia's Bistro was a great destination ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alycia's Bistro was a great destination for date night with my husband. Although the tables are quite close and it gets a bit noisy because of it, the other aspects of the restaurant made up for it. We arrived 30 minutes early and the hostess was able to seat us right away. It is BYOB however you can ask them to make you sangria using the wine you bring and it was delicious! Service was great. It is farm to table and cooked fresh so the food does take a bit long to come out but for a date night or dinner with friends it gives you plenty of time to talk and enjoy your wine. The menu has something for everyone! Everything we ordered was perfectly cooked and very tasty. Portions are big and prices reflect the quality. Overall it was a great dining experience and we will be going there again in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very good spot in Freehold for dinner. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A very good spot in Freehold for dinner. There were plenty of meal options, and very attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu excited the pallet and was the engi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Menu excited the pallet and was the engine that inspired the reservation. Food disappointing - just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

First time there and won't be last. Ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

First time there and won't be last. Service was incredible and food to match. Menu choices where so good we couldn't make up our minds. Must go back to try rest of menu. That is something you don't here too often. A must visit.!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good.......a bit noisy.... ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was very good.......a bit noisy.......tables were a little too close for my taste......but would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I was pleasantly surprised by the qualit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. We started off wit a ceasar salad and PEI mussels with tomato broth, both were outstanding. For the main entree w had chicken saltimbocca and crab cakes, both were very , very good and wrapped up or meal with the homemade carrot cake, it was very delightfully delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a delicious meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thought that Alycia's Bistro had a warm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Thought that Alycia's Bistro had a warm and friendly feel to it. Greeted by an exuberant young lady who was quick to point out the special qualities of the restaurant (farm to table) and provide an excellent overview of the offerings. This restaurant has a small kitchen so the menu is not extensive but certainly adequate and diverse with something for almost everyone. Our meals were prepared perfectly and the gumbo that I ordered had just the right amount of spice. What was lacking from the gumbo was that it was to be prepared with shrimp, crab and andouille sausage; they could have been more generous with the crab and sausage. Dish was nicely sized though and prepared very well. The shrimp risotto that my wife ordered was,according to her, among the best she ever had.

As the restaurant became busier the service became a bit uneven. We sat idle for an extended period of time until we flagged another server for a dessert menu. We finished with a delicious, moist and mouth watering piece of carrot cake. Definitely on the list for a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.