Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

About Alycia's Bistro

Alycia's Bistro is American Cuisine with a contemporary twist. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch, in-house, from our dressings to our desserts. We aspire to use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes by using Local and Seasonal ingredients as much as possible. This reflects in our Seasonally ChangIng menu. We offer a modern and casual setting, and are a BYOB. Bring your wine for Our Award Winning Spiced Sangria. A must try !!
Please visit our website for our most up to date menu.

52 West Main St
Freehold, NJ 07728
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Tues-Thur:5:00PM to 9:30PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Sunday: 5:00PM to 9PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 462-2305

Website:
http://www.alyciasbistro.com/home.html

Catering:
Catering available for all events. Special holiday packages.

Parking Details:
Private parking behind the Restaurant

Public Transit:
Across from Freehold bus station

Executive Chef:
Alycia Frances

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open Easter Sunday from 2pm-9pm. Our new spring menu will be available on Easter.

Alycia's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (35)
Local Ingredients (35)
Casual (32)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Organic (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Seasonal (13)
Healthy (11)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I asked for a specific table outside on the porch and they were able to give it to me. The service was attentive as always and the food was delicious. It was a particularly nice evening and so watching the busy street was particularly entertaining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Second visit again with a large group. Again excellent food. Excellent and friendly service staff. Wide variety of people's taste and food for all on the menus. Vegetarian options of many dishes available as well A definite for a visit to Freehold. Downtown freehold is a gem in the ruff.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This is our third time eating at Alycia's Bistro. Last time we ate there was about a year ago. Food was very good. Tables are tight but we knew this in advance. We got the Polenta fries as an appetizer, and they were excellent. They were out of braised short ribs, which was a disappointment (7:00 p.m. dinner). We got the sea scallops, shrimp and grits, and pasta Bolognese. For the price, I feel they could have served 1 to 2 more shrimp and scallops (4 each). More like an appetizer size. Dessert was the flourless chocolate cake. There was supposed to be raspberry sauce, but we didn't taste any. Service was fair at best. Waiter was pretty nonexistent. Also got our ice cream order incorrect. I would eat here again someday, but not on a regular basis.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent. The braised pork bellies was exceptional. Seared duck breast was perfectly executed and cooked to medium rare as requested. Sautéed veal served over soft polenta was appropriately seasoned and very tasty.

We did bring a nice bottle of wine, however, some of the guests did not know it was a BYOB.

The service time is appropriate for the quality of food served. Expect an hour+ Experience.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always good. Food is consistently good and creative. Service is attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great as always.
Grilled Peaches appetizer was awesome!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We have been coming here since Alycias opened. We have heard from other people that sometimes it is disorganized at the hostess station but we have never had a bad experience. Until now. Walked in to a waiting room full of people. We had a reservation as did another party of two and a larger party of six. The hostess was overwhelmed and cleaning tables instead of seating waiting guests at the clean available tables. She came over frazzled saying they were understaffed that night and still did not seat anyone before walking away for another 5-10 minutes . I offered to help her out by leaving to eat next door. She was unfazed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Disappointed even with great food, Something is missing.

We went to Alycia's for my birthday on a Thursday evening. I made a reservation for 6:30 and was seated quickly in a semi empty dining room. No one came over for a while and when they did said they were sorry but everyone was seated at the same time so they had to stager orders! We didn't understand that because there was only two other tables filled. He only took our drink order (water) and left. We continued to wait and it wasn't until 7:10 pm that someone came over to take our order. I asked if there were any specials and she looked at me confused and asked specials? We were so hungry by then just ordered off the menu. My husband and I were sharing a salad and I was surprised when it did not come out split or that the waiter did not bring us an extra plate. We told her we were sharing the salad. At most high end and even lower end restaurants they do this for you. Our entree's were good however my husband ordered chicken francaise and it tasted more like piccata without the capers. Good thing he likes both. My son's salmon and my duck were very good.
Something was not right about the restaurant ... way too much time passed between a waiter contacting us and people came to the front of the restaurant and had to wait without seeing anyone for many minutes. Also if this is farm to table how come the menu is virtually the same as it was in January ... I'm sure there are different things available now then they are in the winter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

its been our 3rd time eating here in less than 2 months. Farm to table cuisine. The best of the best for in town dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice surprise, we were very happy with our meal and services. Would definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent mea. Had the monkfish and it was so good. Our friends loved their meals. They make everything homemade even the ice cream. Delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Comfort Food, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Restaurant menu was very nice seasonal selection staff was extremely accommodating., except very pushy regarding desserts and additional appetizers. Prices were of the average value. Lastly for some strange reason you cannot order your appetizers and have your drinks without ordering your entrées at the same time which is not very accommodating. Sometimes you want to eat your appetizers have some drinks before determining how much more food you can eat. I guess another way racking up the bill.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I had a 7 Pm reservation on a Friday evening . When I arrived there was no wait and I was seated promptly. I had heard a lot of good things about the restaurant and it was on my hit list of places to try. I wasn't disappointed. We were a party of 4 and we all totally loved the food, it was delicious. The service was excellent, very fast and very knowledgeable. The fact that it is a BYOB just made this an ideal place. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Although I found the menu selections to be a little limited, I thoroughly enjoyed my garden cavatelli with creamy pesto sauce. There was corn, zucchini and tomatoes in a delicious light creamy pesto sauce. My husband enjoyed his Osso Bucco, another friend's Bolognese with sausage, rather than beef, was delicious. His wife had a thin chicken cutlet breaded and sautéed which was just ok. Only one of us had dessert - - a double espresso float which was also thoroughly enjoyed by our friend. Will definitely go back for that garden cavatelli.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

So delicious!!!!!! My husband and daughter were in food heaven!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent dinner again at Alycia's!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food is great but restaurant had terrible acoustics and everyone needs to shout in order to hear people at their own table. Impossible to carry on a conversation. Maybe they should cut out some of the tables in the middle of the downstairs room so those sitting at the two seaters can talk to each other rather than feel as though they are listening to the conversations at the very close tables on either side of them. Ruined the entire experience as we couldn't wait to leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Dinner was delicious and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food as well as the service were great. We really enjoyed the evening!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The menu is creative and very informative. Farm fresh choices and individual meal preparation help to make this a cut above other restaurants. Great for long meals with family and friends. Service is weak, but they are friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food. Homemade desserts
Outdoor seating weather permitting
Never disappoints

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Seemed like almost every table was asking for the manager. Was so bad we didn't even order dessert. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very good restaurant. It was nice to dine outside on porch since it was such a nice evening. Appetizers little small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our visit was just okay and food was also okay. The fried calamari surprised us by having hot peppers included which was not what we expected. On the positive side the flat bread was very good. The main dishes were average.

Tags: Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I was presently surprised. Everyone in my party enjoyed their dish. The service by Kevin & Ryan was outstanding. My only negative comment is- we I ordered a mixed salad- $9.95. I asked Kevin, to split it in the kitchen for my husband and I to share. He said " that would be a $6 and change charge. That's nuts. If it was a main OK. I think that should be amended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food is always delicious. There is something for everyone.
Service is always great.
Home made ice creams hit the spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I went there two times in one week. The staff was amazing and smart. The food was delicious I walked out stuffed from amazing gourmet meals.I will return. Thanks for a great expirience

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We went there for my daughters 30th birthday. Food was outstanding as always. Ryan was our waiter and I can't say enough of how good he was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Meals are made fresh and healthy. Never had a bad meal here. Wait staff very professional and friendly

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

alycia's restaurant - food was excellent - nice variety of choices, quaint house style dining areas with some of the friendliest and most attentive service we have seen in this area. the wait staff was knowledgable about the selections available, and worked together to provide a fantastic dining experience. the farm to table food was delicious, prepared tour liking, served promptly and was in large portions. and have to tell you - when the check came, we thought they forgot to put one of our meals on the bill because the price was so reasonable. we would ddef recommend tho restaurant, and we will absolutely go back for another meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was great and the food was awesome. I specially like the rose to honor Mother's Day!! I would definitely be back for dinner again

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We eat there often. Had the chicken and waffles. Not my favorite. Waffle was soggy. Recommend to serve syrup on the side. My husband had the short ribs. He likes this dish, but the serving did not resemble the servings in the past. I will stick with the duck dish and shrimp and grits.

Will come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Liked Alicia's overall ambiance!
Food and service very good, fresh and wholesome!
I liked the fact I could bring my own organic wine and the chef cooks most dishes gluten free on request.
Loved the experience!

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was great and the food was delicious. Wait staff very knowledgeable and answered all questions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Waited 20 minutes after reservation time and our waiter was overwhelmed. Had to ask the bus boy for things the waiter should have done on three things.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Fresh and creative menu always makes for a variety of good tastes. Waitstaff is extremely knowledgeable and make very effort to address individual needs/requests. Always a nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Staff was friendly; explained the menu and made recommendations 3 appetizers 4 different entrees and everything was delicious. Nice presentation as well. Will def go back!!!

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great freehold byob please to eat. Food is fresh and good tables are kind of closer together. The staff is the least favorable thing about the place. However can get past it for a good meal

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Second time at Alycia's within the last several months and, once again, they did not disappoint. Another crowded Saturday night but that was no bother as we had a reservation. First, I love the BYOB option. It kills me to go to a restaurant and pay 2-4 times more for wines that I already have in my cellar - and with a lot more age. Brought two bottles of older Rhone wines that were singing with just 15min of air. For starters, my wife and I both ordered salads along with the Mystic Shrimp. The beet salad special I has was quite good. The Mystic Shrimp were once again terrific! For dinner, my wife enjoyed the shrimp and grits which was very good. But for me, the short ribs were exceptional. The meat was extremely tender and the sauce other worldly. My only complaint was that the meat was a bot more fatty than I would have preferred. Our server was courteous and very pleasant and you could see he was quite busy all evening. We topped off the meal by splurging on the carrot cake as we sipped cappuccinos. A thoroughly enjoyable meal. For us, the wait time for our food was fine as we were in no rush and just enjoying the experience and conversation. However, if you are in a hurry especially on a busy night you will likely be disappointed even though you shouldn't be. To the credit of Alycia's they are very up front about the fact that it takes longer to prepare the food since it is always fresh (i.e. not reheated or frozen) and, for us that night, I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. Looking forward to dining upstairs!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.