About Alycia's Bistro

52 West Main St
Freehold, NJ 07728
View Larger Map

Alycia's Bistro is American Cuisine with a contemporary twist. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch, in-house, from our dressings to our desserts. We aspire to use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes by using Local and Seasonal ingredients as much as possible. This reflects in our Seasonally ChangIng menu. We offer a modern and casual setting, and are a BYOB. Bring your wine for Our Award Winning Spiced Sangria. A must try !!
Please visit our website for our most up to date menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Tues-Thur:5:00PM to 9:30PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Sunday: 5:00PM to 9PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 462-2305

Website:
http://www.alyciasbistro.com/home.html

Catering:
Catering available for all events. Special holiday packages.

Parking Details:
Private parking behind the Restaurant

Public Transit:
Across from Freehold bus station

Executive Chef:
Alycia Frances

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines Day will feature a 4 Course Prefix Menu for $59.95 per person.

Restaurant Photos

  • Shrimp & Grits
  • Salmon
  • Red Velvet
Shrimp & Grits
Salmon
Red Velvet

Alycia's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
New Jersey - Central
Best Restaurants in Freehold ›

Fit for Foodies (55)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (8)
Healthy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've become a regular at Alycia's Bistr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

We've become a regular at Alycia's Bistro. The food is always fresh cooked to order and I've never had a bad meal here. If you are a wine drinker they are BYOB which is a HUGE savings. Ambiance sitting outside in the summer is nice though the tables are a bit tilted sometimes.

Whatever you do, save room for dessert. I'm a huge fan of the home made ice cream!

The place fills up later in the evening so if you want to go there on a Friday or Saturday night, either go early or get reservations.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place for dinner, like th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Always a great place for dinner, like the seasonal menu. This place never disappointa

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well prepared food with variety to satis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Well prepared food with variety to satisfy different palates. Service was excellent. Food was served at a pace that was good for eating and conversation; not rushed. BYO kept cost down. Indoor and outdoor dining available. Parking was available behind the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great and attentive service. We loved th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great and attentive service. We loved the seafood risotto and shrimp & grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Will be back to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and service. Will be back to try other items on the menu

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Alycia's does not disappoint, the food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Alycia's does not disappoint, the food is very good, and creative. Not your typical menu.

Nice size portions. We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good. The service was awful. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was good. The service was awful. Every part of the process : ordering each course , getting the CORRECT drinks to the table, getting the check , having the check picked up took way to long. The restaurant had maybe 6 other tables downstairs a large party up stairs that ruined our dining experience. It was our 15th anniversary and I wanted to go to a place we had never been, however we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Wonderful food, very reasonably priced c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful food, very reasonably priced considering it's a BYOB, great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was good. Heard rave reviews ab ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was good. Heard rave reviews about the short ribs. They were good but would try something else next time. Also tried the country fried steak - that was great. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful farm to table dinner. Fresh an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Wonderful farm to table dinner. Fresh and delicious with many gluten free options. Love the mix with your own bottle sangria. This is our new favorite place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good to have another option in Freehold. ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good to have another option in Freehold. Very casual drop in type of atmosphere. That is likely to change given that it was packed for dinner on a week night. Always get the flatbread as an appetizer. It's never disappointed. All ingredients are locally sourced and the farms are listed on the menu. Food is simple with the exception of their pastas. All have creamy sauces. I guess that is why it's called a bistro. No pesto, no aglio olio, no tomatoes.

Will return just wouldn't order any of the pastas.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but when my wife did not w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was good but when my wife did not want the potatoes or polenta (on a diet), they charged us $4.95 for a vegetable instead. Main courses were priced on the high side and for a restaurant to charge extra for a substitute, is not good business. Our waiter was new since he had to call over a more experienced food server often. Basket of rolls? Only 2 rolls. Pretty petty. Not the best experience but the food was decent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I love this place, but unfortunately lat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I love this place, but unfortunately lately I have been disappointed with the lack of creativity with their specials. Over the last three months I have seen the same dishes listed as specials. Also on my last visit, I was taken back that I couldn't get a dish served over rice instead of fettuccine. I thought it was supposed be freshly farm to table made.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We loved it... the food and the service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We loved it... the food and the service were excellent. Everything we had was wonderfully prepared, very fresh and presented very nicely. The combination of flavors were wonderful.

We sat in the corner so the noise level was tolerable. But we could see that seated elsewhere it would have been hard to have a conversation.

We definitely plan on coming back and introducing other friends to this place.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our second time dining at Alyci ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our second time dining at Alycia's, which is located in an old house on West Main Street (Route 537) in Freehold, NJ; there's a small parking lot behind the restaurant, as well as ample parking by the old train station across the street. You can eat outside on the large porch (note that it's a busy street, so that may take away from the experience), or inside either on the first or second floor (caution: the second floor requires climbing a fairly steep set of stairs), It's an attractive restaurant, with nice artwork, good service and a diverse menu featuring items from local farms and fish markets. While the prices aren't for the budget-conscious, it's BYOB, so you can save on the bill that way. A great local find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip to Alycia's Bis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our second trip to Alycia's Bistro. After the first time that we ate her we could not wait to come back. I got the Shrimp & Grits that are on the regular menu. Everything was both tasty, fresh and piping hot when it reached the table. My husband opted for the short ribs. He required no use of a knife. The meat was so tender it practically fell off of the bone. we went on a Sunday night. It was not busy when we first got there at around 6:00 but quickly filled up after that. the establishment is not very large so when it fills up it can tend to be a bit noisy. Either way it is still worth the trip.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Lousy air conditioning. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food. Lousy air conditioning. The only unit they had on the first floor was a window less unit. We were there on A hot Saturday night in August. All four of us melted. Needed to leave before we passed out Also busy and service was acceptable at best. Plan on coming back on a cool weekday in the fall to enjoy the delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Alycia's is a great addition to Freehold ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Alycia's is a great addition to Freehold's dining scene. Interesting, creative, fresh food. There is outdoor seating which looks fun for when it is not 95 degrees out days on end. Service was very good- we were not neglected and our server had such a friendly and warm personality. There is parking in the back but on a Saturday you may want to just head to the Bank of America parking lot- as trying to get out of the driveway if you do decide to check the small lot in back, is very tricky unless someone takes pity on you and lets you through. BYOB enables you to spend more on desserts! Desserts were amazing- the cheesecake was excellent and the homemade ice cream was the best I have ever had. If you try anything, it must be the peanut better ice cream!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at Alycia's Bistro for our gi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time at Alycia's Bistro for our girls' night out group of 4. Thoroughly enjoyed all the dishes we ordered from the grilled peach appetizer (one of the day's specials) to the tasty desserts of pistachio tartufo and flourless chocolate cake. All 4 entrees ordered at the table were delicious - seabass, salmon, crab cakes and scallop - tried them all! Only complaint - they dropped the check without asking if we needed anything else. Poor manners!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First visit. Loved everything except the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

First visit. Loved everything except the noise. Seafood risotto and shrimp and grits were great. Neither my wife nor I could finish our portions (lunch the next day!) Service was a bit rushed in between the appetizer and main course but otherwise attentive. All deserts are made in house. Carrot cake was wonderful (took some of that home as well). We'll be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is an excellent chef owned restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is an excellent chef owned restaurant where food is prepared and served by an experienced staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a wonderful dinner with friends! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends! I never thought I'd go for the waffles and chicken, but it was incredibly delicious! We loved all the fresh food tastes and really enjoyed everything we ordered (including dessert). The entire wait staff was excellent! Our server, Karen, was very accommodating and extremely pleasant. She took time to answer any of our questions about the menu and was exceptionally attentive to anything we needed. I would definitely recommend Alycia's for a wonderful dining experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New restaurant for us. Small place that ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

New restaurant for us. Small place that uses only locally grown ingredients. They list the farmers and ranchers on the menu. So you know where everything was sourced. They make great salads and flatbreads. The chicken dishes are also very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the restaurant was wonderful, the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

While the restaurant was wonderful, the initial seating was not. We had a 7:30 reservation, waited for the hostess in a line for 15 minutes. We then were told it would be another 15 minutes. We sat at 8:05. The restaurant foyer is very small and there is no where to wait. We wound up back outside but if it were winter or raining it would have been an issue. They need more workers hosting and seating. They also need to know when to not overbook.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was very good. Food was very goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was very good. Food was very good except my husband's veal piccata which was sent back and replaced with parmesean. A bit noisy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I have loved all of my previous visits t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have loved all of my previous visits to Alycia's, but my meal choice this time wasn't as great as usual. The scallops were cooked perfectly, but the pesto risotto and spinach were over the top salty so I essentially paid $28 for four scallops since the rest was inedible. Bummed about this...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great meal. Very friendly staff. Loved t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great meal. Very friendly staff. Loved the meal selections. A short but noticeable wait for the waitress to visit our table when we arrived but after that it was all perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and prepared as w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was very good and prepared as we asked. They were helpful in providing extra plates since we shared a dinner and salad. There is outdoor seating but you'll hear the traffic noise from the street. Parking is available but can fill up at peak times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have not been there in almost 2 years ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We have not been there in almost 2 years. The food and service was great. The pork belly app was terrific as well as my seafood fra diablo entree. We ate outside with friends. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. The food is fabulous ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great restaurant. The food is fabulous and nicely prepared. 2nd time here and just as good as the first. It is byob.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the whole concept of Alycias restau ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love the whole concept of Alycias restaurant; food being purchased from local vendors and farms, and then on top of that its excellent in every way. The wait staff is always on top of their game and its just an overall great dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great neighborhood restaurant, food a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A great neighborhood restaurant, food and service were very good, go an enjoy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We arrived early, and requested outside ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We arrived early, and requested outside seating even though it was raining. The hostess was pleasant and accommodating. Our server, Karen, was awesome. From start to finish everything was very good. We cant wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

REMEMBER TO LEAVE YOU HEARING AIDES HOME ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

REMEMBER TO LEAVE YOU HEARING AIDES HOME. THE FOOD IS GOOD BUT THE NOISE LEVEL IS HORRENDOUS. MY SHORT RIB ENTREE CAME OUT NOT HOT, BUT I WAS SO DISGUSTED WITH THE EVENING'S NOISE LEVEL, I DIDN'T SEND IT BACK. I JUST WANTED TO GET OUT OF THERE.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Alycia's has become a regular place for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Alycia's has become a regular place for us. Farm to table with almost everything cooked to order. I say "almost everything" solely because they usually have one or two items that are slow braised all day like the Pork shank I had on this occasion. This item needed many hours of slow cooking to get to the fall of the bone tenderness that was achieved.

They area also BYOB so you can save quite a bit and still enjoy your favorite wine. Don't leave without trying some of their homemade ice cream. Since we've found this place we've been back twice and will be back many, many more times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is pretty terrific. Only been there ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is pretty terrific. Only been there twice. Highly recommend pork belly salad. Only disappointment was the sea bass tasted as if it might have been frozen. It did not taste very fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Charming venue. Found parking in back, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Charming venue. Found parking in back, though at least two cars were there waiting to pick up arrivals from the bus stop across the street. Wait staff were friendly and helpful; food was fresh and tasty. Prices reflected the quality. The sangria made from the wine we brought was nice and a good offering. Downside: close proximity of other tables, the noise level, and the temperature which continued to climb while were there. We were seated downstairs--imagine upstairs would be even more uncomfortable. Will likely return in the fall when the humidity breaks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is an old converted house, 2 fairly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is an old converted house, 2 fairly small dining rooms . Was there on a hot day and both rooms were quite warm as there is no air conditioning , only ceiling fans . Also note, the second dining room is up a flight of steep wooden steps . If this is a problem, you must call in advance to reserve main floor seating or you are out of luck . Service was excellent, although they insist you order your appetizers and main dish at the same time . As our appy dishes were being taken our main course was being delivered . Just a bit rushed for my liking, but otherwise everything was perfect . The calamari and shrimp starters were wonderful as was the seafood risotto and short rib main dishes .. add a peanut butter tartufo to finish a perfect dinner . I highly recommend ...and BYOB

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, amazing fresh cooked f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great atmosphere, amazing fresh cooked food from farm to table and service was phenomenal and friendly!! 5 stars from us!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and fresh. Service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was excellent and fresh. Service was friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.