Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

About Alycia's Bistro

Alycia's Bistro is American Cuisine with a contemporary twist. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch, in-house, from our dressings to our desserts. We aspire to use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes by using Local and Seasonal ingredients as much as possible. This reflects in our Seasonally ChangIng menu. We offer a modern and casual setting, and are a BYOB. Bring your wine for Our Award Winning Spiced Sangria. A must try !!
Please visit our website for our most up to date menu.

52 West Main St
Freehold, NJ 07728
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Tues-Thur:5:00PM to 9:30PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Sunday: 5:00PM to 9PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 462-2305

Website:
http://www.alyciasbistro.com/home.html

Catering:
Catering available for all events. Special holiday packages.

Parking Details:
Private parking behind the Restaurant

Public Transit:
Across from Freehold bus station

Executive Chef:
Alycia Frances

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open Easter Sunday from 2pm-9pm. Our new spring menu will be available on Easter.

Alycia's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (38)
Good for a Date (34)
Local Ingredients (31)
See All
Casual (29)
Special Occasion (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Seasonal (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (19)
Romantic (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Healthy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Organic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Historic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Seemed like almost every table was asking for the manager. Was so bad we didn't even order dessert. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I was presently surprised. Everyone in my party enjoyed their dish. The service by Kevin & Ryan was outstanding. My only negative comment is- we I ordered a mixed salad- $9.95. I asked Kevin, to split it in the kitchen for my husband and I to share. He said " that would be a $6 and change charge. That's nuts. If it was a main OK. I think that should be amended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food is always delicious. There is something for everyone.
Service is always great.
Home made ice creams hit the spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I went there two times in one week. The staff was amazing and smart. The food was delicious I walked out stuffed from amazing gourmet meals.I will return. Thanks for a great expirience

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We went there for my daughters 30th birthday. Food was outstanding as always. Ryan was our waiter and I can't say enough of how good he was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Meals are made fresh and healthy. Never had a bad meal here. Wait staff very professional and friendly

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

alycia's restaurant - food was excellent - nice variety of choices, quaint house style dining areas with some of the friendliest and most attentive service we have seen in this area. the wait staff was knowledgable about the selections available, and worked together to provide a fantastic dining experience. the farm to table food was delicious, prepared tour liking, served promptly and was in large portions. and have to tell you - when the check came, we thought they forgot to put one of our meals on the bill because the price was so reasonable. we would ddef recommend tho restaurant, and we will absolutely go back for another meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was great and the food was awesome. I specially like the rose to honor Mother's Day!! I would definitely be back for dinner again

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We eat there often. Had the chicken and waffles. Not my favorite. Waffle was soggy. Recommend to serve syrup on the side. My husband had the short ribs. He likes this dish, but the serving did not resemble the servings in the past. I will stick with the duck dish and shrimp and grits.

Will come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Liked Alicia's overall ambiance!
Food and service very good, fresh and wholesome!
I liked the fact I could bring my own organic wine and the chef cooks most dishes gluten free on request.
Loved the experience!

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was great and the food was delicious. Wait staff very knowledgeable and answered all questions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Waited 20 minutes after reservation time and our waiter was overwhelmed. Had to ask the bus boy for things the waiter should have done on three things.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Staff was friendly; explained the menu and made recommendations 3 appetizers 4 different entrees and everything was delicious. Nice presentation as well. Will def go back!!!

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great freehold byob please to eat. Food is fresh and good tables are kind of closer together. The staff is the least favorable thing about the place. However can get past it for a good meal

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Second time at Alycia's within the last several months and, once again, they did not disappoint. Another crowded Saturday night but that was no bother as we had a reservation. First, I love the BYOB option. It kills me to go to a restaurant and pay 2-4 times more for wines that I already have in my cellar - and with a lot more age. Brought two bottles of older Rhone wines that were singing with just 15min of air. For starters, my wife and I both ordered salads along with the Mystic Shrimp. The beet salad special I has was quite good. The Mystic Shrimp were once again terrific! For dinner, my wife enjoyed the shrimp and grits which was very good. But for me, the short ribs were exceptional. The meat was extremely tender and the sauce other worldly. My only complaint was that the meat was a bot more fatty than I would have preferred. Our server was courteous and very pleasant and you could see he was quite busy all evening. We topped off the meal by splurging on the carrot cake as we sipped cappuccinos. A thoroughly enjoyable meal. For us, the wait time for our food was fine as we were in no rush and just enjoying the experience and conversation. However, if you are in a hurry especially on a busy night you will likely be disappointed even though you shouldn't be. To the credit of Alycia's they are very up front about the fact that it takes longer to prepare the food since it is always fresh (i.e. not reheated or frozen) and, for us that night, I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. Looking forward to dining upstairs!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This place has the best food anywhere, ever, at a most reasonable price. The servers are all very knowledgeable and friendly. The food is comparable to all $$$$$ restaurants in NYC and Atlantic City, but BETTER! I would eat here every day if I could . The chef is amazing. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Seasonal, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant and have already recommended to friends. Every dish we had was delicious - from appetizers to dessert. You must save room for their delicious desserts. The service was excellent. Whenever we are in the area, we will eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The clams and mussels were very chewy couldn't eat them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My wife and I, along with some friends, BYOB all over NJ at least once a week.
Alycia's Bistro is my favorite place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place for date night it's a byob which is always appreciated. Food & service was good. Dinner room was crowded when we first got there, noise level was quite high but as tables left it was much easier to talk.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent fresh food! If you are looking for chain restaurant quality food your in the wrong place.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I have been here a few times, the food is delicious,. This visit, it was not crowded and the server was not that attentive. No problem,, I will go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've been here many times and the food has always been consistently very good and the Service has been outstanding.

However the building and it's surroundings require lots of work and TLC. On one visit I actually had to fix the bottom step, main porch entrance, before I walked up the steps. The back entrance from the parking lot is run down looking and strewn with garbage? really??? can't anyone else see this?? Please adopt a more" attention to detail " mantra. It's not just about the food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It 's always a great meal at Alycia's Bistro. We shared their famous Shrimp and Grits as an appetizer and then proceeded to enjoy an amazing Scallops Dish (scallops were browned and glazed with an delicious orange flavoring) and Veal Osso Buco. Desserts are made on premise, even the ice cream! The flourless chocolate cake was perfect. The Service was extraordinary and we felt so cared for. Always a must in Freehold and in NJ period.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The manager came over and asked my husband and I for feedback about the items we ordered because they were on a their new spring menu. I love the fact that they are so involved and want to ensure the best possible menu for their patrons. I have Celiac disease and eating gluten free is vital and they made it as seem less as possible!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The pecan crustless pie was delicious! The salmon and sea bass were both cooked perfectly as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a great meal!! Excellent service..

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Have been going since they opened.still excellent!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

friendly place. accommodating staff. "grandma home cooking".

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been going here since it opened. The food and service is great. The problem seems to be their reception and reservations. We had a 715 reservation Saturday for 4 people. There was a young woman greeting us who seemed to be struggling and had many people waiting even though a lot of them had reservations. We were not seated until 750pm. I was not happy especially since someone called to reconfirm. They said nothing about a delay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Gluten free and vegan choices - many to choose from.
We had a wonderful table, were seated immediately (6 people with reservations Saturday 5:30 PM). No reservations waiting line...Excellent service, excellent food, very caring regarding one of our guests who needed gluten free. Price is right.........I expect to go back several time. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had a 7:15 reservation. It was crowded when I arrived. I was seated within 10 minutes of my arrival. The food was fabulous. I had the shrimp and grits! Very flavorable. Was disappointedted to learn after I arrived that it was BYOB. A nice bottle of wine would have been great with my meal.
Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We come here a lot and have never had a problem. The staff is so friendly and the food is fresh and delicious. I truly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Inviting, good food, changing menu, BYOB, always pleased!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food and very good service in a nice quaint surrounding. Their recommended shrimp appetizer was absolutely superb and so were many of the dishes. Prices for quality were very reasonable. Service was very good, friendly and attentive

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Even though we had a reservation for 7:15, it was 7:30 before we were seated. There was no where to wait, except in the doorway and it was freezing cold every time that the door opened, which was often! The waiter came to us immediately, opened the wine asked if we would like water and disappeared for 15 minutes. We had to ask for the water when he finally took our order. We continued to wait and then had to ask for bread. It was almost 8:30 by the time we got our food, which was good as always. It just seemed that the kitchen was totally overwhelmed. Many people were just sitting and waiting for their food to arrive. It was such a miserable evening that we will really think twice before we return. The food is always good, and the wait staff is friendly and helpful, but this was a case of being completely over booked and it didn't turn out well for anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is our third time at Alycia's Bistro and the food and service were excellent once again. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always, Alycia's food is great. The appetizers are eclectic, fresh and just plain yummy. The entrees were also fantastic. Definitely my favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food excellent service would recommend highly can't wait for my next visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We have been going here since the first day they opened. The food is always excellant and the employees are well informed and always pleasant. My only (minor) complaint is it can get noisy when you're trying to have a conversation with your significant other. We try and sit upstairs as that seems a little better. Homemade deserts are Great.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.