Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.69mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

About Alycia's Bistro

Alycia's Bistro is American Cuisine with a contemporary twist. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch, in-house, from our dressings to our desserts. We aspire to use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes by using Local and Seasonal ingredients as much as possible. This reflects in our Seasonally ChangIng menu. We offer a modern and casual setting, and are a BYOB. Bring your wine for Our Award Winning Spiced Sangria. A must try !!
Please visit our website for our most up to date menu.

52 West Main St
Freehold, NJ 07728
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Tues-Thur:5:00PM to 9:30PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Sunday: 5:00PM to 9PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 462-2305

Website:
http://www.alyciasbistro.com/home.html

Catering:
Catering available for all events. Special holiday packages.

Parking Details:
Private parking behind the Restaurant

Public Transit:
Across from Freehold bus station

Executive Chef:
Alycia Frances

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open Easter Sunday from 2pm-9pm. Our new spring menu will be available on Easter.

Alycia's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Local Ingredients (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Seasonal (18)
Casual (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Healthy (11)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Organic (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Historic (5)
Vegan (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had a 7:15 reservation. It was crowded when I arrived. I was seated within 10 minutes of my arrival. The food was fabulous. I had the shrimp and grits! Very flavorable. Was disappointedted to learn after I arrived that it was BYOB. A nice bottle of wine would have been great with my meal.
Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We come here a lot and have never had a problem. The staff is so friendly and the food is fresh and delicious. I truly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Inviting, good food, changing menu, BYOB, always pleased!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food and very good service in a nice quaint surrounding. Their recommended shrimp appetizer was absolutely superb and so were many of the dishes. Prices for quality were very reasonable. Service was very good, friendly and attentive

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Even though we had a reservation for 7:15, it was 7:30 before we were seated. There was no where to wait, except in the doorway and it was freezing cold every time that the door opened, which was often! The waiter came to us immediately, opened the wine asked if we would like water and disappeared for 15 minutes. We had to ask for the water when he finally took our order. We continued to wait and then had to ask for bread. It was almost 8:30 by the time we got our food, which was good as always. It just seemed that the kitchen was totally overwhelmed. Many people were just sitting and waiting for their food to arrive. It was such a miserable evening that we will really think twice before we return. The food is always good, and the wait staff is friendly and helpful, but this was a case of being completely over booked and it didn't turn out well for anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is our third time at Alycia's Bistro and the food and service were excellent once again. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always, Alycia's food is great. The appetizers are eclectic, fresh and just plain yummy. The entrees were also fantastic. Definitely my favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food excellent service would recommend highly can't wait for my next visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We have been going here since the first day they opened. The food is always excellant and the employees are well informed and always pleasant. My only (minor) complaint is it can get noisy when you're trying to have a conversation with your significant other. We try and sit upstairs as that seems a little better. Homemade deserts are Great.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have dined at this restaurant 3 other occasions and the food was very very good. However this time the food was just average. It may of been an off night so I will try again and revise the review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great on all counts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

There weren't enough water glasses for the four diners at our table. Our table was jammed into the corner and it was very tight getting in and out of the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent farm to table restaurant. Good value, excellent food and service

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great dinner with friends. Excellent meal and service Really enjoyed the sea bass. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was our first visit and it was spectacular. We had 9pm reservations on Saturday and we read enough reviews to know we would probably wait. We were able to wait outside on the porch and watch the sites and we wee seated about 9:30. Our server Tom was super helpful. We highly recommend the truffle mac and cheese. Wow!!! We also enjoyed shrimp and grits, lobster ravioli, butternut squash pasta, and chicken fried steak. We were almost last to leave but never felt rushed. The tartufo and the flourless chocolate cake were our grand finale. Everything was truly delicious. We have a new favorite place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went there for a Valentine's Day date. Our waitress was amazing, the food was fantastic, and it all came out in a timely manner. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was good they put allot of attention to detail there was a prefixed menu which we weren't aware of when booking on OpenTable for 62 pp. and they served no bread we thought this was a little steep and we like it bread cute romantic byo I'll give it a 7 out of ten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I love Alycia's but I was disappointed with the valentine menu. The food options were not good for the price. Will stay away on holidays .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

What an awesome hidden gem Alycias is. Food and staff are awesome. You cant go wrong here. Kitchen is small so dont be in a hurry at peak times as you will miss out on the overall experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Alycias Bistro is definitely one of the best restaurants in the area. Definitely one of our go to's!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Another excellent dinner at this wonderful farm to table restaurant. The food is delicious, fresh and creative. Would highly recommend!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our friends recommended we try this place and I'm really glad we did. The place is set up in an old Victorian home. It's not really fancy , although is set up nice and cozy. The food is unique and very tasty. I love that's it's BYOB and the price overall is reasonable. It's a great place for date night , although I would not recommend any group larger than 6 due to size limitation. Location is good since you can easily walk down the street to local bars after dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. Attentive service. Dining at a leisurely pace. Not rushed. Great home made deserts especially the ice cream and carrot cake

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Atmosphere was cozy. However, very poor lighting. Food was very fresh and flavorful. Appetizer and entree portions were worth every penny. Was not a fan of the carrot cake, but will try another desert next time. Wait service was friendly and accommodating without being overbearing.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great. Downstairs is a bit crowded and even with new doors, it's chilly inside. Upstairs is more intimate and less crowded. Food is great. Fairly priced. Highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Party of four and all in agreement that food and service were top notch. Thoroughly enjoyed our first visit. Plan on coming back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

So happy I found this restaurant on Open Table. It was a little crowded/noisy , but that's to be expected on a Saturday night. Wait staff was extremely friendly and kept apologizing for the long wait, but we really didn't think it was bad at all. We both had chicken specials which were delicious and the Special-Duck Confit Salad was AMAZING!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We picked this restaurant because we wanted a farm-to-table restaurant and saw the positive reviews. We were not disappointed. Our food was delicious, well prepared and fresh. We loved the southern flare, especially the chicken and waffles. It was a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I'm glad this option for organic/local/farm to table has succeeded in Freehold. And it's no surprise because the food is very good and the atmosphere is pleasant. I will continue to support Alycia's. For me this is comfort food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Organic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a fantastic evening here! Everything we ordered was excellent! Loved the pork belly app (very meaty and crazy flavorful) and the truffle mac'n'cheese app (creamy, cheesy, sophisticated dish, large portion). The entrees were perfectly cooked and seasoned. And don't forget to bring your wine so they can make it into sangria, yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was very good. Had to wait a little while for a table to open even though we had a reservation but I understand that you can't make people get up from the table even when they have the check. The only negative was that we were served too quickly. We were not done with appetizer and they were already bringing main course. Even if it is ready they should hold off bringing it to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I like the concept - farm to table - and the fact that it is byob is a major plus. The food was good - but not great. Went with another couple. The ladies had the salmon, the boys had short ribs and a paparadelle with saugage bolognese. The pasta dish was the best of the bunch. The salmon was ok but the short ribs were mediocre. The dishes were well conceived but they seemed like they were just not executed as well as they are at other restaurants we have been too recently with similar styled offerings. Certainly worth a try (and we may give it another whirl) but we were not overly impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and service, have been there several times and they are always consistent.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When I was not able to confirm my reservation for four people with a special request to be seated next to a wall through OpenTable, I call the restaurant to confirm . They stated that OpenTable reserved a table in the middle of the room for our party. We arrived at the restaurant to find an extremely loud venue on the first floor. When asked about seating upstairs we were informed that there was a very loud party upstairs. We were offered a choice of tables : next to a very loud table of six men or directly in the path of everyone who entered or exited the dining room ( including all wait staff). Our table waited an uncomfortable amount of time before our team of wait staff (two per table) attended to our order of appetizers and dinner. The mussels and salads appetizers were delicious as were the dinners of salmon over and delightfully dresses salad and chicken dinners. However, the quality of the meals were overshadowed by the negative experience of overwhelming nosiness and lack of attention by the team of wait staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was traveling on New Year's Eve and not sure when I'd be home so we were unable to make plans in advance. I went on open table at 6 pm and saw that there were some time slots for Alycia's Bistro so we decided to go there. I was a bit worried since there was availability on a big night but that was in vain!! Wow what a surprise. It was difficult to pick out what we wanted to eat from the prix fixe NYE menu, everything looked good. What we had was amazing. Our service was good but a bit slow and there was a table of 7 behind us that was unhappy with their service, rightfully so. We were not in a hurry so it didn't matter. I can't wait to go back there. The regular menu has so many options I want to try!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We picked Alycia's as a last minute dinner idea for New Years Eve. we had never been here before, and decided to try it. they had a limited menu for the Holiday. However, everything that we tried, was outstanding.
we can't wait to go back.

thank you and Happy New Year to the staff at Alycia's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Year's Eve so a limited menu everything was yummy will be heading back to try the regular menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a 715pm reservation and had to wait about 15 minutes. Was not expecting this on a Thursday night. The servers were good, but seemed understaffed and slow. The food was very inventive and delicious. The bread and desserts were home made. Had an apricot ice cream and a maple bacon ice cream that was the best ever.
Overall Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I'm a big fan of Alycias but they were a little off this night it started from standing at the front for ten minutes with no hostess or acknowledgement of our presence then we were seated and waited 15-20 min for water and bread I think they only had one server who was doing her best but was overwhelmed and last there was no sign of Alycia in the dining area and this was common practice in my previous visits I hope this isn't a sign of things to come what saved the night was the food was excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service, even better food. Cozy atmosphere. All in all, exactly what I was expecting and the chicken & waffle is one of the better iterations that I've tried.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.