About Alycia's Bistro

52 West Main St
Freehold, NJ 07728
View Larger Map

Alycia's Bistro is American Cuisine with a contemporary twist. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch, in-house, from our dressings to our desserts. We aspire to use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes by using Local and Seasonal ingredients as much as possible. This reflects in our Seasonally ChangIng menu. We offer a modern and casual setting, and are a BYOB. Bring your wine for Our Award Winning Spiced Sangria. A must try !!
Please visit our website for our most up to date menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Tues-Thur:5:00PM to 9:30PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Sunday: 5:00PM to 9PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 462-2305

Website:
http://www.alyciasbistro.com/home.html

Catering:
Catering available for all events. Special holiday packages.

Parking Details:
Private parking behind the Restaurant

Public Transit:
Across from Freehold bus station

Executive Chef:
Alycia Frances

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines Day will feature a 4 Course Prefix Menu for $59.95 per person.

Restaurant Photos

  • Shrimp & Grits - Alycia's Bistro, Freehold, NJ
  • Salmon - Alycia's Bistro, Freehold, NJ
  • Red Velvet - Alycia's Bistro, Freehold, NJ
Shrimp & Grits - Alycia's Bistro, Freehold, NJ
Salmon - Alycia's Bistro, Freehold, NJ
Red Velvet - Alycia's Bistro, Freehold, NJ

Alycia's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
New Jersey - Central
American
New Jersey - Central
Best Restaurants in Freehold ›

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Casual (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Romantic (12)
Healthy (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Cozy (10)
Organic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious a small menu with a v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious a small menu with a variety of food and a very friendly staff

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Great food and its a ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappoints. Great food and its a byob. Been here almost a dozen times.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our 2-star food rating is a reflection o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Our 2-star food rating is a reflection of stomach issues both my husband and I experienced after our meal. While the mystic shrimp appetizer was outstanding and the Caesar salad very good as well, our meals were only so-so. The truffle scallop risotto was way too rich where it made it difficult to eat . My husband, who has a healthy appetite was only able to eat about a 1/5 of that dish as was another member of our group who ordered the same dish. They also noted the scallops were chopped up and integrated to make a couple of scallops seem to be more. The shrimp my husband had added to his dish was dry, overcooked and sat on top instead of being integrated into the dish. Overall, not particularly edible. My braised short rib was cooked well, but the flavor profile wasn't impressive and the polenta side that came with it was flavorless. The carrot cake and cheesecake desserts we ordered to share, however, were large enough in portions to share across 4 people and very tasty. We would've been willing to give it another try, but the stomach issues we experienced that had us running to the bathroom afterwards has given us pause.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Excellent food & friendly service

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food & friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our 2nd time at Alycia's. Food w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is our 2nd time at Alycia's. Food was superb both times. This time we tried the Polenta fries first and it was outstanding. My wife had the short ribs and I had the veal saltimboca special. Both done wonderfully. And this is byob, excellent service. Only complaint is the seating is poor, we had to be asked to move to another table when the only way to get into the table was to turn sideways and slide in, very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding service, excellent food! Sta ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outstanding service, excellent food! Staff works beautifully as a team. Local sourced food is prepared impeccably.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alycia's Bistro never disappoints. The f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Alycia's Bistro never disappoints. The food is delicious and the service is excellent! I never hesitate to recommend Alycia's to friends and family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first visit. The food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This was our first visit. The food was well prepared, well presented and overall delicious. The servers were friendly and attentive. Definitely on our return list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Intimate dining fit for a small group. G ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Intimate dining fit for a small group. Great fresh farm to table creative meals. Large portions, easily shareable. Very leisurely dining. We've been here twice in three weeks.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very fresh and the service i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is very fresh and the service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fresh ingredients. Amazing food. The pe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fresh ingredients. Amazing food. The perfect restaurant for a date. BYOB. I've been to Alycias Bistro numerous times and everything I've ordered has been expertly prepared and delicious. Can get busy and the noise levels rise on Friday/Saturday nights, but that's because everyone is enjoying the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Six people and everyone loved their meal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Six people and everyone loved their meal. Delicious and healthy items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'VE BEEN HERE SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE AND ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I'VE BEEN HERE SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE AND WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED THIS TIME. THE DUCK BREAST MY WIFE HAD, IN HER WORDS, THE BEST EVER (AND SHE IS VERY CRITICAL). OUR FRIENDS ALSO FELT THE MEAL WAS EXCELLENT.

IT'S BYOB, ALWAYS A BENEFIT. SERVICE GREAT!

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I have passed the restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife and I have passed the restaurant numerous times but had not eaten here. After reading the excellent reviews we decided to go. My wife loved the way the restaurant has maintained the internal integrity and structure of this older building... reminded her of a childhood friend's home. We dined downstairs where there was a warm ambiance. The menu had a number of intriguing options which I appreciated as there were probably 5 or 6 entrees I would love to try. I settled on the duck which I found quite enjoyable and my wife enjoyed the sea bass. The mystic shrimp appetizer was execellent. Service was ok+. We never had to wait which I appreciated even on a Saturday night. To me, it's just a missed opportunity to engage a bit more deeply with your customers especially when you have such a historic setting to talk about (I'd love to know more of the history of the restaurant) and a unique concept (farm to table). I love the BYOB option. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had reservations at 6:30 sat, Seated p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had reservations at 6:30 sat, Seated pretty promptly, but took 15 mins for waiter to come over. Otherwise serve was good, but at the end of the meal, hostess came over and said not in a nice way, " we need the table". I've been to other restaurants it was always done nicely sometimes giving a free dessert or round of drinks. GIVE THE PICKLE! Unfortunately this left a bad taste in our mouth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent, it was the best truf ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was excellent, it was the best truffle macaroni and cheese I've ever eaten. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was not great. Server told us af ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was not great. Server told us after we ate what she should have told us before we ordered. Waited an hour for the bread to even come out. Maybe it was just an off night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Made a reservation, ended up having to w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made a reservation, ended up having to wait for our table. Then we were sat at a table with the cold breeze coming in from the front door. We were not welcomed to the restaurant and had to ask for bread. We had the impression that our server had loads of other priorities over us. The food was quite good, except the chicken and waffles I ordered had the most unusually hard and gamey chicken I had ever eaten. Like it had just been defrosted. That or perhaps I've never had farm raised chicken, either way it was not tender. The carrot cake was passable. Terrible service from the front door to the check. In my opinion you will have a better time someplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Love the food! Everything is prepared fr ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love the food! Everything is prepared fresh! Appetizers came out quickly. A lag between appetizer and main entrees. Over 45 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We all (6) of us enjoyed our meals. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We all (6) of us enjoyed our meals. The services was very good. They were attentive to us. The meals were very delicious and the desserts were great. I would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed great meals (8 of us) on the se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Enjoyed great meals (8 of us) on the second floor of Alycia's. Since it was a Tuesday evening it was very quiet. We had a great round table and was able to enjoy great conversation during our meal. (That doesn't happen much anymore when eating out). Our waitress Lindsay was very professional, outgoing, and provided exceptional service. We had a variety of meals from the menu and everyone was very satisfied with their meals.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always I love Alycia's food. Everyth ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As always I love Alycia's food. Everything is top notch. BUT everyone at my table complained about the noise level. At peak dining times it's almost impossible to carry on a conversation. They really need to figure out a way to dampen the sound. I'll be back but maybe have to learn sign language to be able to communicate with my dining companions. Alycia's cuisine is really delicious and her wait staff is very knowledgeable about ingredients. That is very much appreciated.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal with friends. Ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with friends. Our reservation was honored with a smile from the hostess. The service was very good, with all the staff helping each other. The food was was fresh and tasty.

W felt the value was worth the price. Being a BYOB made it even better.

We will tell friends, and, of course we will return.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of the better restaurant in Central ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of the better restaurant in Central NJ, quite possibly the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish! Will definitely go there again. ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Delish! Will definitely go there again. One of my favorite spots in Freehold.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the concept of farm fresh foods an ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Loved the concept of farm fresh foods and local cuisine. There heart is in the right place but the finished product needs fine tuning. We order the 18 he pork belly salad and was sadly unimpressed. I ordered the scallops and came to find that it was mostly butter that it was topped off with, I believe it read a corn butter on the menu. With some fine tuning this place has the right atmosphere and heart in mind.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

wish we knew about this place sooner, wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

wish we knew about this place sooner, what a great restaurant in Freehold. Food was very fresh and tasted great. I am very particular with desserts and usually go with chocolate, but went with the carrot cake. The carrot cake was amazing, quite possibly the best we ever had. Lastly, the server was fantastic and actually helped with everything.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've become a regular at Alycia's Bistr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We've become a regular at Alycia's Bistro. The food is always fresh cooked to order and I've never had a bad meal here. If you are a wine drinker they are BYOB which is a HUGE savings. Ambiance sitting outside in the summer is nice though the tables are a bit tilted sometimes.

Whatever you do, save room for dessert. I'm a huge fan of the home made ice cream!

The place fills up later in the evening so if you want to go there on a Friday or Saturday night, either go early or get reservations.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place for dinner, like th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Always a great place for dinner, like the seasonal menu. This place never disappointa

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well prepared food with variety to satis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Well prepared food with variety to satisfy different palates. Service was excellent. Food was served at a pace that was good for eating and conversation; not rushed. BYO kept cost down. Indoor and outdoor dining available. Parking was available behind the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great and attentive service. We loved th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great and attentive service. We loved the seafood risotto and shrimp & grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Will be back to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and service. Will be back to try other items on the menu

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Alycia's does not disappoint, the food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Alycia's does not disappoint, the food is very good, and creative. Not your typical menu.

Nice size portions. We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good. The service was awful. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was good. The service was awful. Every part of the process : ordering each course , getting the CORRECT drinks to the table, getting the check , having the check picked up took way to long. The restaurant had maybe 6 other tables downstairs a large party up stairs that ruined our dining experience. It was our 15th anniversary and I wanted to go to a place we had never been, however we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Pleasantly surprised. I live just a cou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. I live just a couple of miles away and my first time dining here. The food was top-notch. I've been to many five star restaurants globally and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food here. Will be sure to return. Great selections to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, very reasonably priced c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful food, very reasonably priced considering it's a BYOB, great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was good. Heard rave reviews ab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was good. Heard rave reviews about the short ribs. They were good but would try something else next time. Also tried the country fried steak - that was great. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful farm to table dinner. Fresh an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Wonderful farm to table dinner. Fresh and delicious with many gluten free options. Love the mix with your own bottle sangria. This is our new favorite place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good to have another option in Freehold. ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good to have another option in Freehold. Very casual drop in type of atmosphere. That is likely to change given that it was packed for dinner on a week night. Always get the flatbread as an appetizer. It's never disappointed. All ingredients are locally sourced and the farms are listed on the menu. Food is simple with the exception of their pastas. All have creamy sauces. I guess that is why it's called a bistro. No pesto, no aglio olio, no tomatoes.

Will return just wouldn't order any of the pastas.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but when my wife did not w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was good but when my wife did not want the potatoes or polenta (on a diet), they charged us $4.95 for a vegetable instead. Main courses were priced on the high side and for a restaurant to charge extra for a substitute, is not good business. Our waiter was new since he had to call over a more experienced food server often. Basket of rolls? Only 2 rolls. Pretty petty. Not the best experience but the food was decent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.