About Alycia's Bistro

52 West Main St
Freehold, NJ 07728
View Larger Map

Alycia's Bistro is American Cuisine with a contemporary twist. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch, in-house, from our dressings to our desserts. We aspire to use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes by using Local and Seasonal ingredients as much as possible. This reflects in our Seasonally ChangIng menu. We offer a modern and casual setting, and are a BYOB. Bring your wine for Our Award Winning Spiced Sangria. A must try !!
Please visit our website for our most up to date menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Tues-Thur:5:00PM to 9:30PM
Fri-Sat 5:00PM to 11:00PM
Sunday: 5:00PM to 9PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 462-2305

Website:
http://www.alyciasbistro.com/home.html

Catering:
Catering available for all events. Special holiday packages.

Parking Details:
Private parking behind the Restaurant

Public Transit:
Across from Freehold bus station

Executive Chef:
Alycia Frances

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines Day will feature a 4 Course Prefix Menu for $59.95 per person.

Restaurant Photos

  • Shrimp & Grits
  • Salmon
  • Red Velvet
Shrimp & Grits
Salmon
Red Velvet

Alycia's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
New Jersey - Central
American
New Jersey - Central
Best Restaurants in Freehold ›

fit for foodies (45)
neighborhood gem (37)
special occasion (28)
See All
good for groups (17)
great for outdoor dining (15)
romantic (14)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere, amazing fresh cooked f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great atmosphere, amazing fresh cooked food from farm to table and service was phenomenal and friendly!! 5 stars from us!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've never had a bad meal at Alycia's. ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We've never had a bad meal at Alycia's. We haven't been there for a while and am glad we went back. The food is always fresh and our servers were very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere, good food and friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere, good food and friendly service. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

We had been there the first time about a year ago and were disappointed. We heard good things and decided to try it again - we are very glad we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My first impression was good, one waitre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My first impression was good, one waitress was great. They were training a new waitress, she was wearing shorts, which I found not suitable for an upscale place. The food was very good, the desert was not. We had the rice pudding which was gummy. Should have had the carrot cake! Complained to the server, nothing was done or offered in its place. Service needs to be worked on, also the rice pudding!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and service. Then when th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. Then when the waitress found out we were celebrating an anniversary, we appreciated the special attention we were given.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent menu offering diverse food opt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent menu offering diverse food options that are delicious!

Service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Alycia's Bistro was a great destination ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alycia's Bistro was a great destination for date night with my husband. Although the tables are quite close and it gets a bit noisy because of it, the other aspects of the restaurant made up for it. We arrived 30 minutes early and the hostess was able to seat us right away. It is BYOB however you can ask them to make you sangria using the wine you bring and it was delicious! Service was great. It is farm to table and cooked fresh so the food does take a bit long to come out but for a date night or dinner with friends it gives you plenty of time to talk and enjoy your wine. The menu has something for everyone! Everything we ordered was perfectly cooked and very tasty. Portions are big and prices reflect the quality. Overall it was a great dining experience and we will be going there again in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very good spot in Freehold for dinner. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A very good spot in Freehold for dinner. There were plenty of meal options, and very attentive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu excited the pallet and was the engi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Menu excited the pallet and was the engine that inspired the reservation. Food disappointing - just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

First time there and won't be last. Ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

First time there and won't be last. Service was incredible and food to match. Menu choices where so good we couldn't make up our minds. Must go back to try rest of menu. That is something you don't here too often. A must visit.!!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good.......a bit noisy.... ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was very good.......a bit noisy.......tables were a little too close for my taste......but would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I was pleasantly surprised by the qualit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. We started off wit a ceasar salad and PEI mussels with tomato broth, both were outstanding. For the main entree w had chicken saltimbocca and crab cakes, both were very , very good and wrapped up or meal with the homemade carrot cake, it was very delightfully delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a delicious meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thought that Alycia's Bistro had a warm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Thought that Alycia's Bistro had a warm and friendly feel to it. Greeted by an exuberant young lady who was quick to point out the special qualities of the restaurant (farm to table) and provide an excellent overview of the offerings. This restaurant has a small kitchen so the menu is not extensive but certainly adequate and diverse with something for almost everyone. Our meals were prepared perfectly and the gumbo that I ordered had just the right amount of spice. What was lacking from the gumbo was that it was to be prepared with shrimp, crab and andouille sausage; they could have been more generous with the crab and sausage. Dish was nicely sized though and prepared very well. The shrimp risotto that my wife ordered was,according to her, among the best she ever had.

As the restaurant became busier the service became a bit uneven. We sat idle for an extended period of time until we flagged another server for a dessert menu. We finished with a delicious, moist and mouth watering piece of carrot cake. Definitely on the list for a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Another great meal! I decided to try som ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Another great meal! I decided to try something different and ordered the seafood risotto. I was pleasantly surprised with both the size and quantity of shrimps and scallops included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is always great. The servers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food is always great. The servers are attentive but the kitchen is on the slow side. It is definitively worth the wait though.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very expensive and small portions. Also ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very expensive and small portions.

Also no serving spoons for anything

Had to ask a few times for things before they were brought

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

excellent food; would have like more flexibility

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

overall excellent; should have been more flexible with sides and accompanyments; we spent a lot of money- all had apps and dinners, including specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Biggest drawback was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was excellent.

Biggest drawback was the noise level. Couldn't hear yourself think.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Discovered them on OpenTable, took a cha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Discovered them on OpenTable, took a chance, and truly enjoyed it.... Food, Service and all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Charming restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent food and the service was bright and cheery. Perfect for our group of 6 friends getting together.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as clean. As I would like. Food qual ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Not as clean. As I would like. Food quality was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Good Food and Nice Location

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We've eaten here several times. The food and service are good and they are very accommodating. We ate outside each time because the noise level inside is high.

So, if you've got a nice day, the recommendation is eat outside.

There is a liquor store nearby and this is a BYOB.

Make a reservation for your table!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we went to alycias for a dbl birthday ce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

we went to alycias for a dbl birthday celebration. my gramd son was 12 and my daughter [well never mind ] we were a few minutes late but promptly seated at a corner table for 8. we were only 6 of us but they knew we were celebrating the birthdays and gave us extra room. the wait staff was out standing and since everything is made fresh to order it gave us time to just relax. ALL of our meals were fantastic and the desserts were out of this world. again a great big outstanding job done by all. semper fi Travis

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

second time here. Food is always good. I ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

second time here. Food is always good. If they have a fresh pasta special, order it, you can't go wrong. Its a farm to table - locavore place. They also have printed on the back of the menu the names of the local providers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was delicious! Mac & Cheese was incredible. It's very small and we had early reservations 530pm but by 7pm it was packed and uncomfortable. Staff was very nice and knowledgable. I plan on going back and keeping it to 530 :)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Alicia's Bistro is unique in that it is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Alicia's Bistro is unique in that it is a Victorian home in historic Freehold Boro. The dining area is small and crowded making it somewhat loud. The service people are friendly and even though the food is cooked to order, the timing of the service was reasonable. The brazed short ribs and the duck breast were excellent. It is a BYOB so you can enjoy a good wine without killing your budget. Parking in the area can be a problem. It definitely made our list of regular stops.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It is a really nice place to eat for a d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

It is a really nice place to eat for a date, but it is kid friendly and we had a child crying and screaming though out dinner. It was a shame because the food was excellent. I love kids but Fridays would have been a better place to dine with children. It is a small and very quaint.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect again.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our second visit was as good as the first. We sat upstairs and had the pleasure of Nicole taking care of us again. Mac N Cheese appetizer is addictive. All the main courses, including the Scallops, Pork Chop, Sea Bass and Veal Parm, were delicious. Save room for the desserts, they are fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have eaten at Alicia's bistro several times and never been disappointed. Wonderful fresh, delicious food. It's a BYOB. Cozy atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time here & the restaur ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

This was our 1st time here & the restaurant exceeded our expectations! I ordered the Seafood risotto & everything was perfect. The scallops and shrimp were not over done and the risotto was some of the best I've had in a while! My husband had the sausage bolognese and it to was excellent! It is evident that only the best & freshest ingredients are used. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding dinner! We had the polenta f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Outstanding dinner! We had the polenta fries - so unique! I enjoyed the honey glazed sea bass for dinner and my friends both loved the braised short ribs. We cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Alycia's several times, ...

 
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We have been to Alycia's several times, the food is consistently good.

One of the best restaurants in NJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Second time but certainly not the last.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Locally sourced food prepared to perfection. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Extensive menu.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant with alway ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant with always fresh and new menu items

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Dinner at Alycia's Bistro

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Been to the restaurant a few times, this is the 2nd time very disappointed. Thought the prices for our dinners were overpriced relative to the amount of food. For example, the $28 scallops plate had 4 average size scallops - honestly thought this was a rip off. Same with the seafood over risotto platter - too much risotto and barely any fish. Also thought the risottos were not up to par and were tasteless. Gordon Ramsey would have thrown them on the floor. Our last dinner, approx. 6 months ago was unsatisfactory, wrote a review and never heard back. Figured we would give it another shot, same result. As a result, we will go back - 2 strikes and you are out.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Good place!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Delish food and attentive service. My husband and I enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Finally Freehold

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I have driven by Alicia's many times because the previous two restaurants in this location were awful. Finally got there.

They do a wonderful job creating fun fare from local sources. Okay....there are some things to point out. The seating is tight and you will wait a long time to get your food. The waitstaff will tell you this so they recognize the food is all cooked to order. The menu is seasonal so won;t know what they will have come spring but... Appetizers, wow! Try the shrimp over cornbread and the truffle mac and cheese. For dinner, we had the Salmon, Scallops, Hanger steak and Seabass. All quite good. (Hard to ness up a hanger steak but this is were the farm to table label really makes the difference. Very flavorful meat.) The wait staff also rotates around so we saw three different folks to help get the food out and make sure the table was taken care of. Very friendly, knowledgable and as chaotic as it was they remained pleasant and jovial After a fabulous meal, we decided on dessert. This was the only let down of the evening. The pecan pie was more of a stew that tasted like a shot of grand mariner. The rice pudding/creme brulee was a letdown as well. The rice pudding was not creamy and smooth, and the creme brûlée top was bitter and burnt.

All in all, I have to give this a big thumbs up. Perhaps go on a week night when it's less crowded.

Remember, you are in Freehold, and this is the best I've tasted in town.

Definitely going back. Alycia you are a welcomed addition to the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Best of Freehold

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Alycia's is a very good local restaurant with a diverse menu. The restaurant is located in what was a home in downtown Freehold NJ. They have managed to retain the warmth of the original building. The service is absolutely impeccable. The menu is eclectic ranging from classic italian veal and chicken to truly inventive (shrimp and grits is incredible ).

Plenty of parking in lot behind restaurant and other town municipal lots (all free).

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A hidden gem in Freehold!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

My husband took me out to dinner for my birthday at Alycia's Bistro and it was the highlight of my evening! The ambiance is lovely inside and saw that they have a wonderful wrap around porch for when the weather is warmer. My husband and I both have a problem eating gluten/ wheat, and their menu had a long selection of choices for us! Both our meals were wonderful and delicious!!! Unlike other restaurants that claim to have gluten free options and have one or two options that are tasteless.....these owners truly understand that just because you are gluten free, it doesn't mean that you want bland tasteless food! In addition to outstanding food, the service was wonderful! Our waitress was sweet and very accommodating and all staff were welcoming! We are going to recommend this restaurant to all of our friends and family!! Truly a hidden gem in Freehold NJ!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.