About Alvarado Street Brewery & Grill

426 Alvarado Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Neighborhood brewpub with an ingredient driven, locally sourced menu, harmonizing the flavors and aromas of our beer with that of our food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bonafacio

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 655-2337

Website:
http://www.alvaradostreetbrewery.com/

Parking Details:
We are located in down town Monterey. There are multiple areas to park in.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Haas

Private Party Facilities:
We have a semi private area available for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Kris Cowdrey: 8316552337

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alvarado Street Brewery & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (8)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
See All
great for lunch (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
fit for foodies (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Vietnamese burger and Smoke & Fire cockt ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Vietnamese burger and Smoke & Fire cocktail...fabulous!!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great brewery and food!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great brewery and food!

food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great meal tonight! Steak Frite ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a great meal tonight! Steak Frites and Pasta Bolognese were both delicious. Did a flight of beers. The coffee milk stout was exceptional. I was disappointed that it was not available as a growler.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good overall experience including the wa ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Good overall experience including the wait staff but the hostess needs to be more welcoming with a smile!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

More gastro than pub

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

I had no idea Alvarado street existed, but I needed a late dinner and it was at the top of the list on OT. What a pleasant surprise! Crowded, fun ambiance, great food. The chicken pot pie was delicious, if a little different than expected. The cocktails outshone the beers on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great find in Monterey!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Very nice, energetic bar/grill with great customer service, great food and good selection of beers. We made rez online and were seated quickly. I'd go back again...

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent flat breads. I had the bacon ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Excellent flat breads. I had the bacon and egg flatbread which was outstanding. I enjoyed the beer selection as well. Very noisy. Not recommended for a romantic meal but a great vibe.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

great local brews with excellent food

Dined on December 13, 2015

We saw this as we headed ro the wharf for dinner. Stopped in on our way back. Bartenders are friendly and knowledgeable. Sampled several of their beers. The next night we came back and had dinner. Awesome sausage board with pickled veggies! Butternut squash soup had great curry flavor and was topped with pumpkin seeds. Sweet and sour roasted cauliflower was also excellent. Seems to be the "go to" bar in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Pre-concert dining

Dined on December 12, 2015

We dined at Alverado Street Brewery prior to attending a concert at Golden State Theatre. The service was wonderful and the menu selection was extensive enough to satisfy most appetites and diets. We highly recommend this restaurant and will return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Average food and service. I would recomm ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Average food and service. I would recommend as such

food4
ambience4
service5

Nice service, cool space but can get a ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Nice service, cool space but can get a bit loud (in a good way though). Great if you want to go to a place with energy. Beer selection very good, food was spot on for a gastropub too.

food3
ambience3
service4

Greasy calamari

Dined on November 7, 2015

The calamari was very greasy when it came to the table. It needed to rest on paper towel before being brought out.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brew pub

Dined on October 28, 2015

We wanted to have dinner at a brew pub in Monterey. I saw good reviews for ASB and made reservations based on the reviews. It was a good choice; both to eat there and to have reservations! There was a street fair happening, so parking was hard to find on a Wednesday evening. We had a short walk to the restaurant and were seated right away. The server recommended a brew, which we enjoyed and we found the dinner menu to have several enticing options. We enjoyed our calamari appetizer a lot. I would definitely choose Alvarado Street Brewery & Grill again if we are in Monterey.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Good beer

vip
Dined on October 27, 2015

Really enjoyed their sarsaparilla brown beer--creative and easy to drink. Decent food menu, and the salads and flatbreads were particularly good. Lots of fun beers here.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great brewpub

Dined on October 26, 2015

The food is very good. We had some friends as an app and they were hot, salty and crispy...just right. We both had the chicken pot pie and it was excellent. Could've used a little more chicken, but the flavor was spot on. Service was excellent and friendly. We had the Mai Tai IPA, which is freaking AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

I normally go for dinner but was bored w ...

Dined on October 14, 2015

I normally go for dinner but was bored with my regular lunch options. The chicken parmesan sandwich is tasty and the leftovers made for a good lunch the following day.

food2
ambience5
service5

Lunch menu very limited, but the beer is excellent

Dined on September 19, 2015

This was our first time eating lunch here, though we've had dinner here twice. The lunch menu was a disappointment. We ordered the fish tacos ($13) and the pork tacos ($12). The fish was dry and "fishy" tasting...not pleasant. The pork was smoky and good, but they were three very small tapas style. We wish we had ordered the burger $13, which is always good. On the good side, the beer was excellent. I'm a Pilsner girl, and my Buzz Lite was exactly what I wanted-- cold and refreshing for a hot day, sitting out on the patio. My husband's IPA was also really good and we liked the Happy Hour price of $4 each. Our waitress was lovely and very knowledgeable about the beer, which we appreciated. The dinner menu is far more interesting and has more variety, so we'll skip lunch and opt for dinner in the future. Make reservations, though, as this place gets really busy. The outside patio is a great place for people watching, too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent service & a vibrant crowd crea ...

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

Excellent service & a vibrant crowd created a fun evening. Had the fish tacos & wished for fresh flaky fish rather than breaded piece so was a little disappointed. Beer was great as was dessert. Sausage board 2 out of the 3 sausages were excellent but barely warm. Maybe that's they way they are meant to be but we expected hot sausages?

food5
ambience4
service5

brilliant quality

Dined on September 15, 2015

I am a very picky eater (from Europe) and very critical on the quality that I get served, but this exceeded all my expectations: top quality burger and the french fries were the best I ever ate in USA (and beyond). They must have just renewed their oil or they must do it regularly (as it is supposed to, but almost never happens)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Tasty food and beer

Dined on August 29, 2015

Good menu selection, food prepared well and quickly, very good range of craft beers.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun vibrant place

Dined on August 14, 2015

The food and the beer selection was great. Hamburgers and fries were delicious, flight of beers was interesting.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food.

Dined on July 13, 2015

Very good bar and grill fare. I wish the music wasn't quite so loud.

food2
ambience5
service4

The beer is great. The food was ehh. The ...

vip
Dined on July 11, 2015

The beer is great. The food was ehh. The fried Brussels sprouts were delicious. As brewery food goes, it's decent. It's certainly one of the best options if you're in that area which has surprisingly few food options.

food4
ambience5
service5

Service

vip
Dined on July 10, 2015

The service is fantastic! I think our waiter's name was Jeremy

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Go there!

Dined on June 28, 2015

If you don't mind the noise level, the food is great! Constistantly changeing the wine list, which can be bad or good. If you ahve a fave wine, it may not be there a few weeks after you dine there.We tried the fish tacos, which were very good, and the fish is ultra fresh! And the grilled asparagus with a side of garlic fries. Not your typical bar food, fairly creative dishes and great upbeat atmosphere. AMAZING ale and beer selection, Monterey's definite TO GO spot! TRY IT!! Right across from the State Theater!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Service was poor... Food was okay, but n ...

Dined on June 14, 2015

Service was poor... Food was okay, but nothing special.. This is a place to drink socialize! Avoid for dinner..

food5
ambience4
service5

Great menu, yummy food, good service, lots o'beer!

Dined on June 14, 2015

Great menu, very eclectic but not silly. Service was very knowledgable about the beers offered. Food was prepared perfectly and served hot. We were well attended to by several staff throughout our meal. In essence our experience was wonderful, especially for a Saturday night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good microbrew

Dined on April 25, 2015

We arrived a little early for the reservation, but the hostesses were able to accommodate us even though the restaurant was busy. The craft beers are very well done. If you're feeling adventurous, try the Muay Thai beer. The brewer absolutely got that one right. Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1

Mixed Bag

Dined on March 14, 2015

So the food was amazing, but the service was less than stellar. The hostess and the busier actually took better care of us than our server. I probably would have had a second beer with my lunch if he had actually checked on us with any regularity. Our drinks sat empty for nearly twenty minutes until the hostess noticed when she seated someone else near us and brought me another water and my fiancé another Diet Coke. It was really too bad because the food and the beer were delicious so poor service means I won't be back again to eat. If I do return it will only be to have beer at the bar.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Totally wonderful!

Dined on February 21, 2015

ASB&G is truly one of my favorite ASB&G is truly one of my favorite destinations for great staff and service, great location and environment and - best of all great beverages and food. I love this place! It is the quintessential -push All the right buttons - restaurants in the area. Sincere thanks for all that. Mike Walas. Sent from my IPhone destinations for great staff and service, great location and environment and - best of all great beverages and food. I love this place! It is the quintessential -push All the right buttons - restaurants in the area. Sincere thanks for all that. Mike Walas. Sent from my IPhone

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1

Too loud, indifferent service

Dined on February 16, 2015

When we arrived we were given the option of waiting for a table (never mind the confirmed reservation) or sitting outside on the heated patio. The choice was easy because of the loudness of the music combined with the loud ambient noise of the dining area; having a conversation indoors would require yelling across the table. The poor table service was either because of inexperience or just indifference to doing a good job. Not once did our server, whose name I forget and do not have the receipt handy or else I would call her out by name, come out to check on us after we were served. And in order to get our check I had to stand up and get her attention as she dashed by us to help another group. It is sad when the bus person has to be the one to get us more water (after I asked him; he also refilled my soda; clearly this person should work table service and not clearing tables) and follow up with the customers. The burger I ordered was prepared properly, but the low quality of bun was not what I expected from a place that makes the effort to serve craft beer. The flatbread is not worth mentioning. This is not a place I will recommend or revisit. Plenty of other places in the area provide a good craft beer experience, good table service, quality food, and the ability to have an indoor conversation without yelling.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, excellent beer

vip
Dined on February 14, 2015

The service was great. I sat at the bar and the bartender let me try a couple of their beers before selecting the pint I wanted. I also ordered the fried Brussels sprouts which were super delicious.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Generally ok. You do not carry regular p ...

Dined on February 6, 2015

Generally ok. You do not carry regular plain black hot tea. Also, asked for bread, never received butter. A bit noisy for talking. Food was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great beer, great food

Dined on December 14, 2014

The Happy Hour beer price ($4 a pint) was a nice and unexpected surprised. The burgers were awesome! Loved the char grill flavor, non-soggy and non-greasy home baked bun. Great fries. We look forward to returning to try their flatbread pizzas, and more beer. It's definitely a bit loud in here, but it didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Brewery to check out

Dined on December 6, 2014

Trying to check out the local breweries, which is limited. The menu was limited, but had the basic choices. Had sandwiches and fries.... Had better fries. Nothing spectacular. Wish I had tried the pizzas. Wait staff was friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Great addition to downtown Monterey

vip
Dined on December 2, 2014

So nice to have a gastro pub right in downtown Monterey that serves lunch. Menu is relatively short but there's something for everyone. I hope they keep up the good work.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

Alvarado Street Brewery

Dined on November 29, 2014

Loud, crowded, but friendly. The food was just so - so, but the beer was great. I found the menu a bit lacking, wanting of something that goes with beer. Settled on the hamburger ($15 w/bacon). It was ok. Not worth $15 though. Just a regular cheeseburger with fries. The acoustics of the place made it a little hard to have a quiet conversation. And the seating was just a little bit cramped. Although there was seating that looked a little more accommodating. I would not bring small children.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find in Monterey

Dined on November 25, 2014

Alvarado was recommended to us by Gillian at the Marriott and she was spot on with what we asked for. We wanted a casual place with a mixed menu and a laid back atmosphere. The beer selection is great and the flat bread was extremely good. Ashley provided excellent service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Need More Like This!

vip
Dined on October 28, 2014

We loved Alvarado Street Brewery and Grill - wanting to come here for a while, so glad we finally got to experience what everyone has been talking about. Food was great - atmosphere was modern and fun - conversation loud and energetic - we ate outside and were able to have a good conversation.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

City chic spot with great food!

Dined on October 26, 2014

My husband and I have had Sunday Brunch at the Alvarado Street Brewery and Grill the past two Sundays. And we live 30 minutes away in the Valley! We LOVE this place because it serves up amazing food in a city-chic atmosphere. We feel like we're in San Francisco for a couple of hours. They have the most unique selection of their own brews, all that I tasted were fantastic. The food is deliciously clean, bright, and beautifully presented. The Brussels sprout appetizer is so simple, but words can't describe it. It's just out of this world! And the Loco Moco rivals any you'll find in Hawaii, and healthier too! (No Spam here!) Really, everything we and our friends had was wonderful! All served up with friendly service too. Just go!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.