HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Al's Restaurant

4.5
549 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Quiet Conversation
Al's has defined fine-dining in St. Louis for over 90 years; a beloved landmark which has earned its reputation as one of the top restaurants in the U.S. Featuring award-winning steaks, lobster, seafood and pasta, Al's creates the total dining experience. Fresh menu presentation, elegant tableside service, beautiful ambiance, generous portions and excellent wine list are the standard. Traditional offerings found at no other steakhouse include Steak Diane, Chateaubriand, and our signature dish, "Beef Romano". Try Bananas Foster flambé or a Chocolate Soufflé for a sweet after dinner indulgence. Complete with tableside Café Napoleon or Café Diablo. Ask and you shall receive. Third and fourth generations of the Barroni family invite you to join us for a nightly celebration of outstanding food, wine and ambiance.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tues-Thurs 5:00-9:00 PM - Fri & Sat 5:00 -10:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 421-6399
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mark Hibler
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Al"s offers two beautiful private dining rooms as well as full restaurant accommodations. Special events, business gatherings/meetings, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, Al's attention to detail creates an outstanding dining experience for you and your guests.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Pam Neal: (314) 421-6399
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Biddle
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet Parking is Provided.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Wine Wednesdays - half off wine (bottle or wine-by-the-glass) priced $100 or less every Wednesday
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 549 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
viptwill (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Outstanding meal, very personable service!!!

Report
Helpful
KateyP (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Al's is definitely a hidden gem! I couldn't tell you how many times I went right passed it without even knowing it was there. That is part of the charm though. Quiet, dark, beautiful. As you enter it feels like you are going back in time to a romantic place your grandparents would have went for a special occasion. The wait staff takes care of your night as soon as you step through the door. Traditional and classy coat check. Attentive but not annoying waiters. They are very knowledgeable about the history of the restaurant and building. Our waiter was very sweet and funny. He could tell we had never been there before, and guided us gently every step of the way through dinner. The food was more than amazing! I had the Lobster Bisque for our appetizer, the bread and blue cheese dip, the lemon sorbet to cleanse our pallets, and Chilain Sea Bass in Creole sauce with asparagus as my entree. Everything cooked to perfection. The sea bass was like butter! My husband had the 16oz NY Stip medium rare with the steak butter and asparagus, and said he had never had a steak cooked that perfect! I had a bit, and it just melted in your mouth! There is no printed menu, but that is no problem because they waiters have it memorized. A meal for two will cost at least $100 before tip, so keep that in mind. After all was said and done our bill (tip included) was $223. It was worth every penny! We will go back. After leaving I said my goal is to have a plaque on the cabinet... You have to go to get the joke.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

Al's is a piece of St Louis history. It is something special that everyone should experience. The food is outstanding. The service is quiet and attentive. The lounge is out of a movie set. You think you are on a steamboat on the river. It is difficult to find on the river front but you can find it. It is well worth it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Al’s is a class act and ambience that many restaurants have lost over time. Truly a elegant experience from days past and excellent history and service. Food is top notch and prepared perfectly! Family owned and operated by St. Louis family!

Report
Helpful
vipBobby (Cincinnati)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Al’s is my favorite restaurant. It is always awesome. But this time, it was somehow even better than normal.

I had the escargot, house salad, angel hair pasta with butter/garlic sauce, and the small filet with bernaise sauce. Sounds simple. It was all amazing. One of the best meals ever.

Service was impeccable as always (thanks, Eve).

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
4.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

Service was impeccable, food was good but others have entered the market with equivalent or better food for less.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on November 18, 2017

Great service, incredible food and a memorable occasion

Report
Helpful
Tellie (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on October 20, 2017

Al's is such a gem. Great history to take in. The staff is knowledgable of the place and the history; be sure to take it in. The food is classic. Definitely try to table-side Caesar salad. It is a special night out for sure.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on October 17, 2017

Phenomenal food and service. A true classic restaurant.

Report
Helpful
BCCC (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on October 7, 2017

We've been dining at Al's for over 30 years and the food has remained very good. It's a little shabby but that's part of the charm
We'll continue to eat there as long as it remains open.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on October 6, 2017

Great service and a nice dining experience in a quiet atmosphere, full of local history.

Report
Helpful
NJNR (Houston)
5.0  Dined on August 26, 2017

Had a great evening, food was great (very filling too) and the atmosphere is very cool, not what you usually see these days

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on August 22, 2017

As always Al's was wonderful. Couldn't ask for better food or service. I always look forward to the tray menu presentation and the table side service. I highly recommend dining at Al's! Yummmmy!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
2.0  Dined on August 22, 2017

Food was good but not very imaginative, cocktails were horrible. Decoration and ambience is very, very dated

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Adelaide / SA)
5.0  Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful food service and ambiance!!

Report
Helpful
TMW1006 (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on August 11, 2017

Amazing food, amazing atmosphere/ambience and amazing service! My husband and I started the night off with a drink in the riverfront bar then ordered dinner in the dining room. I had the seafood pasta and my husband the filet mignon. We can't say enough good things about our meal; very flavorful and everything cooked to perfection!

Report
Helpful
steakguy (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent, as always. This restaurant is a real jewel. There is no printed menu. The entre portion of the meal is a visual presentation that is quite impressive. The physical restaurant has an old world charm about it; and our waiter, Bob, made it an exceptionally pleasant ding experience.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on August 8, 2017

Extraordinary food; extraordinary service. Al's is a must.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on August 5, 2017

A 92 yr old local landmark restaurant owned by the same family. Caution! They don't print menus but provide a visual display of what's on the menu. I brought a group of 11 and was worried a bit because there were no prices anywhere and didn't want to ask. I was amazed at the end with the final bill which was an average of $79 per-person with wine/beer and gratuity.

The steaks were awesome (cut them with a fork quality)as well as the salads, appetizers, and desserts. While in between courses one of the owners entertained us with stories about "Al's" history and culture. Overall great place, I would eat at "Al's" again when in St. Louis.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on August 4, 2017

Fabulous! This restaurant is one of a kind and the crown jewel of St Louis. Our steaks were perfection, seasoned just right with a slight char on the outside and tender juicy med rare temp inside. The fettuccini del monaco has been on the memu forever and is so rich and creamy. Service is impeccable yet very friendly. The history and stories elevate the dining experience into something very special. We had a great evening.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28