About Al's Restaurant

1200 N. First St.
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Al's has defined fine-dining in St. Louis for over 90 years; a beloved landmark which has earned its reputation as one of the top restaurants in the U.S. Featuring award-winning steaks, lobster, seafood and pasta, Al's creates the total dining experience. Fresh menu presentation, elegant tableside service, beautiful ambiance, generous portions and excellent wine list are the standard. Traditional offerings found at no other steakhouse include Steak Diane, Chateaubriand, and our signature dish, "Beef Romano". Try Bananas Foster flambé or a Chocolate Soufflé for a sweet after dinner indulgence. Complete with tableside Café Napoleon or Café Diablo. Ask and you shall receive. Third and fourth generations of the Barroni family invite you to join us for a nightly celebration of outstanding food, wine and ambiance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tues-Thurs 5:00-9:00 PM - Fri & Sat 5:00 -10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Biddle

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 421-6399

Website:
http://www.alsrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is Provided.

Executive Chef:
Mark Hibler

Private Party Facilities:
Al"s offers two beautiful private dining rooms as well as full restaurant accommodations. Special events, business gatherings/meetings, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, Al's attention to detail creates an outstanding dining experience for you and your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Neal: (314) 421-6399

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesdays - half off wine (bottle or wine-by-the-glass) priced $100 or less every Wednesday

Al's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
See All
Historic (7)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fun (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was great! Very old sch ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service was great! Very old school place that is a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Al's has really gone down hill. We were ...

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Al's has really gone down hill. We were seated at a nice quiet corner. We ordered appetizers, steak, and lobster, and two sides and shared the meal. The appetizers were ok. The steak was so tiny, maybe 6 oz. for both of us to share. The lobster tail was split in half for us. It couldn't have been any more than 4 oz. apiece. The sides were carrots and asparagus, both cost a total of $16. We shared the sides also. The lobster was tough and like chewing beef jerky. My wife couldn't eat her 1/2. I was so hungry, I ate my tough half. The waiter too 1/2 the price of the lobster tail off the bill. Taking the 1/2 of the lobster tail off our bill was subtracting $38 from the bill. The total bill before tip was $180.

Now, I don't mind spending $200 for a meal to share with my wife but the value of what we got

was terrible. Al's has really gone downhill! I think Al's has been around too long and needs to close its doors. Those folks that review this restaurant as "high" are thinking of the meals they had in the 1980's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Best escargot we have ever had and some ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best escargot we have ever had and some of great steaks. Cocktails were reasonably priced. The desserts were good but didn't bowl us over. This is a place to dine, not eat and run. Plan to be there for at least 2 hours, likely closer to 3.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went for my Girlfriend's Birthday and we ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for my Girlfriend's Birthday and we LOVED IT. The manager walks around giving the history of the place (not intrusive at all), the wait staff makes you feel very important, the food is wonderful, and the ambiance is great. A perfect St. Louis gem full of history, great food, and the ambiance you want on that perfect date spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took out of town guest...super cute hist ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Took out of town guest...super cute historic bar with steamboat motif and custom painted mural of St. Louis as it appeared in late 1800s, with 1800 vintage furnishings, beautiful antique cash register. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food selection was great and delicious.

Nice to find a unique restaurant, something different.

Great experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Al's was quite an experience. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dinner at Al's was quite an experience. Definately old school, high end dining experience with attentive wait staff in tuxedos, food presentations on silver trays at the table. It was unusual in that there are no written menus....and there is a lot to take in from the verbal presentation...also no prices! The steaks and sides were excellent. Be prepared for sticker shock when you get the bill, but it is a nice place for a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a very nice meal and great service. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Had a very nice meal and great service. But cannot see why it would not be the case. The two of us for dinner were the only customers for the evening. One kitchen person, who probably was called in once we arrived, one waiter and a table server who doubled as coatroom attendant. The table server also had to stand outside near our reservation time to see if we would be coming and to direct us to the parking since valet parking was not needed for only one customer. We had a good meal. We went there for good steak and were not disappointed. Would recommend the proprietary twice baked potato as a side. We both had a filet. Mine was prepared Romano. While very good it added too much volume and I took half of it home. One of the few traditional "nice" restaurants left in St. Louis.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Business meal for 3. We had the place to ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Business meal for 3. We had the place to ourselves on a Tuesday at 6:30. Great experience and I would return anytime.

Special tortellini and meatball soup was phenomenal, as was the 8 oz fillet which was cooked to perfection. Another in our group had the salmon and raved about it. Sides where very good and large. Nice wine selection. We were given the history of the place and there is reason it is still there after 92 years. Dining perfection. Probably not hip, but I have not had service or food this good at any "hip" place recently.

I do wish they had a menu as it would be nice to know what they value their offerings at prior to receiving the bill. However, the value was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Way over rated. Ridiculously bad value. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Way over rated. Ridiculously bad value. There were 2 other guests in the entire restaurant. The food was poorly made. I could have made better au gratin myself and my steak was so so. I was misled by open table write up. Staff was friendly but the food was a total disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Al's is an old fashioned steak house. Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Al's is an old fashioned steak house. The service is excellent, but the food is just OK. The food is what you would expect in the 50's or 60's. Heavy steaks with heavy sauces, over cooked asparagus, no imagination. It's fine for the older crowd who still like that type of thing, but not so much for the younger crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is fine but this place is despe ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food is fine but this place is desperately in need of a renovation. Its a classic that's been around forever, which is great, but it smells like the carpet hasnt been replaced in 50 years. The decor is awful and the atmosphere is like a funeral parlor it was so quiet. Add some music, freshen the decor and this place could be great for anther 50 years. As it is it feels like its about to die

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Always outstanding, the lobster bisque i ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always outstanding, the lobster bisque is truly the best anywhere. My beef romano was cooked exactly perfect and is so tender, rich and buttery with the prosciutto and cheese stuffing just so creamy with each bite and the crisp from the breading makes a nice mix of taste and texture. My husband had the filet Oscar which was equally wonderful. Our cocktails were solidly classic and well made. The service was just right, attentive but not overdone. The owner and staff are proud of their history and we really enjoy hearing stories of the past which really sets this institution apart from any other. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time celebrating my frien ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a great time celebrating my friend's birthday! The food was out of this world! We did the mixed appetizer, which was delicious, and then the steak Romano style. We also shared potatoes and onion rings. Eve was an awesome server, and Gary sharing stories about "the good old days" was very fun. Be sure to check out the bar area, as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family made the expensive mistake of ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My family made the expensive mistake of going to Al's. It was our first visit, I was reading about the oldest restaurants in the city and thought it was be an interesting for my dad's birthday dinner. There were many awkward interactions with the staff throughout the night, but the main reason I'm writing this is because my brother's steak. My steak was a little undercooked, but I didn't mention anything because I was fine with medium rare/rare. My brother however ordered the 12oz filet Romano (a signature dish we were told of a steak stuffed with prosciutto and mozzarella, then breaded and fried). I think he ordered it medium, and his first few bits might have been medium, but the edge facing me was completely rare. And by rare, I mean it didn't touch heat, was blue/purple RAW meat, with soggy breading that hadn't been cooked. I've worked in restaurants for all of my adult life, culinary school, back, and front of the house . I realize mistakes happen, I was not upset with our server, I know she didn't cook the steak. But when we called her over, I mentioned the steak was undercooked, and her response was "that is the prosciutto". That was not the response I wanted. I proceeded to open the monstrosity of a steak and show her where the actual prosciutto was and point out the blue completely raw edge I was referring to. Her response was "so you want us to cook it more?" Yes, we would like you to cook it more. Preferably to medium, but as long as it's not completely raw, I'll be happy. Here's a lesson in service for you, I don't care if the customer is right, wrong, or just confused, your response is "I'm sorry, let me fix that for you". She did bring the manger to the table after taking the raw meat back to the kitchen, but he didn't mention the steak, just asked how the food was so far. No one ever apologized once. If you pride yourself on being open for almost 100 years, get a handle on your service standards and learn how to cook your $70 signature dish.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Outstanding experience! Pre-dinner drin ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Outstanding experience! Pre-dinner drinks in the historic bar were enhanced by the owner's stories of this superb steak house. Staff was very professional, friendly and engaging, which made our birthday celebration truly special. The meal was perfect. The salads prepared at our table were almost as wonderful as the lobster bisque- we have not tasted better anywhere! Main course of filet with lobster were also outstanding; this staff knows how to prepare and serve a meal with skills that few establishments can claim.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Private Room, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the place for a special occasion ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is the place for a special occasion, even though it's pricey. The service and food were outstanding. The restaurant "delivers" when you're looking for something special. Ask to see their old paintings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Al's is a full evening's experience, and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Al's is a full evening's experience, and a lovely, leisurely one. The servers are thoughtful and knowledgeable about the restaurant's history and its old family recipes; the food is prepared specifically to order after the menu is recited to the diner. The onion rings and lobster bisque are standout appetizers, and our 8 oz filets were meltingly tender. We finished with bananas foster, a dramatic cinnamon-kissed conclusion to our dinner. We left satiated and ready to relax. The two very small details that seemed out of place were the background music (contemporary pop, which sounded out of place in the old-school surroundings, particularly given the more mature clientele) and sloppy plating of accompanying sauces (usually any wayward splashes are wiped away from the vessel before they proceed to the table). But these are small quibbles. Our table had high compliments for our server, Eve; our captain, Gary; and assistant, James. They took care of our table with capability and grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food. Outstanding service. A hi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing food. Outstanding service. A hidden gem of St. Louis.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Al's is a St. Louis tradition. On the n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Al's is a St. Louis tradition. On the night 4 of us dined there it was very quiet and nearly empty. The food was amazing. The service was spectacular. I had the 12oz Fillet prepared Pittsburgh style-quite frankly it was the BEST Pittsburgh prepared steak I have had in a long while. Unfortunately, we were all too full to try out the Deserts. We all decided that we will go there again...and again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Al's is like a trip down Memory Lane. It ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Al's is like a trip down Memory Lane. It's the way fine dining used to be. Linen, crystal, tuxedos, quiet ambiance. Many items prepared tableside. Food was incredible and service was exceptional. This place has a lot of history and does it right for special occasions. Not a good choice if you're on a budget but worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This sport truly is an old-world restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This sport truly is an old-world restaurant with terrific service. I did not know that they did not have printed menus. I had seen items on Open Table that they did not have. Steaks were $50+. The restaurant might have seen better days, but the food was good, but just a little expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We had the BEST steaks (Filet) that we e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had the BEST steaks (Filet) that we ever experienced in the St. Louis metro area.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best experience in St. Louis !!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Best experience in St. Louis !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Historic building with amazing menu. Foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Historic building with amazing menu. Food and service were great and staff gave us the history of the building and the famous people who have dined there over the 91 years the restaurant has been open. Caring, wonderful staff, "live menu" (bring out fresh food on a silver platter and describe how each plate is prepared) and all the ambiance of the historic walls. In an odd placing in town, but highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best. Absolutely ozzing char ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Best of the Best. Absolutely ozzing charm! and History! A must go to! It is a be-back for us!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Al's before and always a g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We've been to Al's before and always a great experience - Downtown Restaurant Week was no exception. Dining room was buzzing with a great vibe and we tried their new tri tip, which we're told is a California classic - hopefully it becomes another St Louis classic because it was great. It was so flavorful and paired with Italian potatoes was delicious! It was fun trying something new. Al's does steak right and it's always so interesting to hear all the back stories of this historic location. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic, Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the Downtown restaurant week spec ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had the Downtown restaurant week special; our tripe and salmon were amazing.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Al's is the only old school restaurant l ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Al's is the only old school restaurant left. The service is impeccable and the food is beyond compare. The Angel hair pasta with escargot butter was delectable, I could have eaten that as an entree. It is the best in town and it's reputation speaks for itself as it is the the lone restaurant on the riverfront and has been there since the 1920's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For over four decades we have frequented ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

For over four decades we have frequented Al's for special occasions. Sadly this will be our last visit. The ambiance remains but the service and food has slipped well below what we expect in a fine dining experience. The evening we dined at Al's there were few other tables occupied but the service was well below par. The young man waiting on us seemed under prepared for the task and it showed. Martinis were not prepared correctly and our wine was set on our table by a bus boy where it sat for 20 minutes before our under-performing waiter realized it hadn't been opened. The waiter told us they were slammed and they had run out of martini glasses though there was not a single person at the bar and only 6 other tables occupied. There was no sommelier to assist so we were at the mercy of the waiter. My table service didn't include a dinner fork.

The food was very disappointing. Our table-side prepared Caesar salad was made with lettuce well past its prime. The two orders of appetizers were served on the same plate. The steak Romano was anemic and unappetizing as was the strip steak which had a large sinew running through it. The sauces were forgotten for three of the four entrees that we ordered. The chocolate cake was scant and dry.

The value for what we received was far below what I have become accustomed to. I fondly remember going to Al's as a young boy where I learned important table manners and what fine dining was. Sadly those days are long gone and the memories of Al's as a great dining experience has been replaced by an overpriced, underperforming, lackluster restaurant that leaves this diner sad and disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Outstanding - Al's delivers all the perk ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Outstanding - Al's delivers all the perks and amenities. Everyone is cordial and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated. Food is consistently great, no compromising on quality or quantity. By far the best steakhouse in St Louis - anywhere! I love this place and its history totally sets it apart from any other restaurant in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Key is being creat ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Key is being creative with your order.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful time...brought back grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a wonderful time...brought back great memories...food was very good but not great...service was over the top...a bit pricy but worth every cent.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Staff is remarkable! My vegetable pl ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Staff is remarkable! My vegetable plate was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My fiancee and I went to Al's and had a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 29, 2016

My fiancee and I went to Al's and had a most enjoyable dinner. Al's never fails on quality of food and the service is always outstanding. No where can you get Lobster Bisque as creamy and they never skimp on the amount Lobster. My Fiancee ordered a Filet and it was cooked exactly how he ordered it and was delicious, just melted in his mouth. I ordered the Lamb Chops with the raspberry sauce and the combination was a perfect pairing. The portions are large and needless to say we were fully satisfied. We ended the night with the Chocolate Mouse Cake. If you are a chocolate lover like I am, this is the dessert to eat. My fiancee and I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Al's is my favorite restaurant. It is al ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Al's is my favorite restaurant. It is always outstanding. Eating at Al's is an experience not to be missed. It is also an evenings entertainment. You should budget a minimum of 2-1/2 hours to dine here. You should also budget $100 plus per person. But it is worth both the time and money every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely horrible experience. The rest ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Absolutely horrible experience. The restaurant has a horrible odor. Think of the smell of a 90 year-old person's home! That's what it smells like when you walk in the door. The food is abysmal. Just old, worn out and creepy. They do not use a printed menu. Seriously? I had to go on line to find a menu to order from. This place should have given enough up a couple of decades ago. I hosted a business colleague and to say I was embarrassed by my restaurant selection is the understatement of the century. Open table really steered me wrong on this one BIG TIME. I'm completely clueless how this mausoleum gets any good reviews. I get the heeby-jeebies just thinking about this restaurant with a funeral home atmosphere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Can't improve on perfection . Al's is c ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Can't improve on perfection . Al's is consistently great. Steaks were gorgeous, I like mine tradional but my friend loved the filet Oscar. Spinach au gratin is great as is the salsify. Had drinks in the bar after dinner which is a cool underused space. Owners are always kind and have interesting stories to share on the longevity and history. Another great night at Al's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but was a little ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was excellent but was a little overpriced for what it was. I don't mind paying but my check was nearly $200 for one person. I had the steak Oscar and the steak was cooked well and the crab was great. The side of potatoes was also very good. The table side service is a nice touch. I do think though they need about a 20% reduction in price to be more competitive.

When I arrived I was the only one in the entire restaurant, this was around 6pm. Towards the end of my meal a table of three came in. I overheard the wait staff talking to that table about the lack of guests. They attributed the empty restaurant to the poor leadership of the owner's husband and a lack of marketing of the restaurant. I would agree. I watched the owner's husband overbearingly watch his staff and correct them while they were serving me. It got so bad that I became uncomfortable for them. As far as marketing, I only found the place by a fluke. My Uber drive who took me and the one who dropped me off didn't even know it was there.

The old school smoking parlor atmosphere is very nice and should be played up more. There is a lot of history in the restaurant and you can feel it. The food was good and the atmosphere is great. The management however needs reboot. With better management this restaurant will no longer be a hidden gem but a celebrated one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Classic and Consistently Great

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Classic, consistent, colorful and comfortable. Always in good taste you can be sure AL's will impress; it's our perfect date night find. The food is delicious and great ambiance plus the interesting historic backstory makes it even more enticing. We can relax and have a great meal in a really cool landmark building. I like that it is local and a St. Louis original. As if the food and service weren't enough, the history really sets it apart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word - GREAT!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a late reservation after a meeting, never felt rushed. Dinner was great, the kind of great you really want to come back again for over and over. My NY strip was perfect as well as my associate's stuffed filet. The spinach au gratin was delicious. I love the pumpernickel bread and blue cheese they give you upon arrival. Service was attentive and the owners are cordial and informative about Al's unique history. Al's is the complete package.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.