About Al's Restaurant

1200 N. First St.
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Al's has defined fine-dining in St. Louis for over 90 years; a beloved landmark which has earned its reputation as one of the top restaurants in the U.S. Featuring award-winning steaks, lobster, seafood and pasta, Al's creates the total dining experience. Fresh menu presentation, elegant tableside service, beautiful ambiance, generous portions and excellent wine list are the standard. Traditional offerings found at no other steakhouse include Steak Diane, Chateaubriand, and our signature dish, "Beef Romano". Try Bananas Foster flambé or a Chocolate Soufflé for a sweet after dinner indulgence. Complete with tableside Café Napoleon or Café Diablo. Ask and you shall receive. Third and fourth generations of the Barroni family invite you to join us for a nightly celebration of outstanding food, wine and ambiance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tues-Thurs 5:00-9:00 PM - Fri & Sat 5:00 -10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Biddle

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 421-6399

Website:
http://www.alsrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is Provided.

Executive Chef:
Franklin Turner

Private Party Facilities:
Al"s offers two beautiful private dining rooms as well as full restaurant accommodations. Special events, business gatherings/meetings, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, Al's attention to detail creates an outstanding dining experience for you and your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Neal: 3144216399x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesdays - half off wine (bottle or wine-by-the-glass) priced $100 or less every Wednesday

Al's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Best Service
Downtown
3 More
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

special occasion (25)
romantic (21)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
notable wine list (14)
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oldie-but-goodie

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This place harkens back to a by-gone era when people dressed for dinner and had etiquette. Food was wonderful, service was great, just a wonderful experience. I heartily recommend this restaurant and would certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Al's is a timeless classic!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We love Al's restaurant. Don't let the exterior fool you...when you walk in you are immediately taken to an amazing restaurant experience. The menu is read to you by the wait staff who, by the way, still pull out your chair and place your napkin in your lap. If you can get past the initial "wow" of the place, the food is amazing too! Be prepared to bring home leftovers because you MUST save room for the Banana's Foster over house made ice cream that is prepared table side. It's an amazing experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Al's is still a treasure

Dined on April 30, 2016

I have had the occassion to dine at Al's several times over the years, first time was back in the early 80's, and it was very impressive and left a tremendous impression. I have lived away from St. Louis for many years but travel to the city very often , yet for some reason just hadn't had the thought of dining at Al's until my wife and i were planning our anniversary and attending the Sound of Music as a gift to each other. I suggested that we have an early dinner and remembered reading the article about the whole Riverfront Sport Complex and the problems that it was going to cause many local businesses including the required demolition of Al's. Having been a Rams PSL/Season Ticket holder and then having the team leave, it struck me as odd that the city would continue the process although I certainly would see the value in cleaning up the river front with the many vacant and decaying building. But to demo Al's which is truly a St. Louis treasure and a historical landmark would be a travesty. Our meal was excellent and we did benefit from extra service because we chose to dine at 5:30 pm and were one of the only table because we were so early. However the total experience was all be it pricy, well worth the cost. It is not something we would be able to do each week but i will certainly make it a point to have another evening of dining excellence at Al's in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing makes me happier than a great ni ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Nothing makes me happier than a great night out with great company, outstanding food, and over the top service. It was very busy but their over size comfy chairs and table spacing let you easily have conversation without the usual shouting across the table. I highly recommend their filet, slight crisp char on the outside, pink juicy perfection on the inside. We split Italian fries and spinach au gratin. Ordered chocolate cake but had to take it home - way too much food. But at Al's I should know better. Of course it's an enduring landmark for always being the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As good as it gets.

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food is flawless. The service is impeccable. Going to Al's makes for a fine evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place, better days behind

Dined on April 3, 2016

The exterior is not appealing at all. However, the interior is nice, tradicional old feeling kind of place. However, the food was not as good as expected. The ceasar salad was below average, end the steak was just ok, but expensive. The better days of this place were left behind. The service was first class though. It is one of the mant places to visit just once.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been several years since we have ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It has been several years since we have been to Al's. We decided to go there to celebrate our anniversaries. It did not disappoint. It was everything we remembered about the greatness of this establishment. Great food, wonderful service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I went to Al's and we have ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

My fiance and I went to Al's and we have nothing but great things to say about the restaurant. As soon as we walked through the door we were greeted, it was very warm and welcoming. We started off with a few cocktails and they were excellent. Our server presented the trey menu to us and was very knowledgeable on all items and how they could be prepared. I ordered the lobster and it was nice and succulent, my fiance ordered the filet mignon and it was cooked perfectly, just melted in your mouth. The whole dining experience was just wonderful. Couldn't have asked for a better night out. We will definitely be going back to Al's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best

Dined on March 6, 2016

Outstanding food, wine and top notch service. Never disappointed, Al's is consistent with quality, presentation and ambiance. We are never rushed and can actually enjoy conversation even on an extremely busy night. The Bananas Foster is a sight, sound, taste and smell wonder for the senses. I love this place and its historical beginnings and presence only adds to its alure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Always

Dined on March 6, 2016

Al's always delivers. Classic, but not pretentious the service ensures a great evening. Food was wonderful, I don't think anyone comes closes to the steak and lobster combo. Double boned thick pork chop was juicy and flavorful with great apricot porcini mushroom sauce. Twice baked potato was the size of Texas and delicious. Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Why have I never dined here before?!!! This place is a gem. We had a great time and can't wait to get back. The owners were gracious and inviting and the wait staff handled all of our requests effortlessly. Food was prepared perfectly and the table side service represents the class act that it is. Excellent, high five to Al's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

Dined on February 20, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate my birthday. Started with great cocktails in the bar before dinner. David provided excellent service which is the norm at Al's; always attentive without being overbearing. Splurged on Filet Oscar, which was absolutely delicious. We ordered several side dishes to share, all equally very good and with the portion sizes we had lunch and dinner the following day. Can't wait to go back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dining experience!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Al's has earned their name for one of the best restaurants in town over the years. Their table side service usually includes some flaming dishes, excellent wines, and a variety of great dishes. The bar has wonderful ambiance and helps create a perfect dining experience. Friendly staff always seem willing to go above and beyond. Another great dinner. Still one of my favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on February 13, 2016

Absolute perfection. Food, service, atmosphere make this my favorite restaurant. The steak and lobster dinner is so decadent, the quality is definitely there and was cooked exactly as ordered. Even a simple cocktail tastes better at Al's. Pure enjoyment. Thanks for staying around 90 years and hope many more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Toni

Dined on January 31, 2016

I was very disappointed in the food and the other three in my party were also. I don't mind paying the price when the food is good, but it was far from that. The atmosphere was stuffy and creepy at the same time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food & service

Dined on January 24, 2016

Al's will transport you into the world of what fine dining was meant to be. Dark wood, beautiful detail and waiters who are personable, care about your experience, and more than knowledgable. The food was fabulous!! Better than all of the fancy steakhouses we have been to in the City (a lot of them). Worth every penny. You'll have a great time! Don't be fooled by the location. It's been there since 1925. Valet is included and you are right across from Lumiere. Felt completely safe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Restaurant

Dined on December 22, 2015

Every aspect of our visit was pleasant. The wait staff was incredible, the food always the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Old-Style Service, Great Steaks

Dined on December 13, 2015

This is a high-end, historic St. Louis restaurant with many long-time employees at your disposal. The steaks are the main reason to dine here. Plan to spend awhile savoring the old-style, relaxed service and wonderful beef. Wine list is quite good

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Vibrant Night

Dined on December 6, 2015

Place was packed and staff didn't miss a beat with service or food. Steaks were perfection and David made sure we enjoyed our anniversary dinner. The table service is unique to Al's and really adds that extra touch and specialness. Al's is 1st class but also warm and inviting. Probably why they have been around for so long. We'll be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Mediocre food

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

Three of the four dishes were not hot enough. My filet was almost cold. Really great ambience and services though. The restaurant should think twice about the food it is serving for the price it is charging.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service1

We must have caught the staff on an "off ...

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

We must have caught the staff on an "off" night as none of the panache and revered memories held up, with the exception of the ambiance. The meat was over done and none of the dishes were hot enough or well seasoned.

food2
ambience3
service5

Not keeping up with great steakhouses

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

Overall I did not think Al's should be claiming they are as good as they are. When we got there, though it was mostly empty, we stood around waiting to be seated for our reservation. The cocktails are made with bottom shelf liquor but they still charged top shelf prices. Gordon's Gin and Early Times Bourbon are not good liquors. There was an up charge for having a drink served up. I have never seen that in a restaurant before, and I'm comparing it to high end steakhouses like 801 Chophouse and Fleming's, and Michelin star restaurants such as Per Se and Le Bernardin. I believe the server said the steaks are USDA Prime but they did not taste as good as an 801 Chophouse or Fleming's, yet the prices were heavily inflated. A filet mignon was $65. I think you can get a bone in filet at J. Gilbert's for a better price let alone a regular filet. The servers did an excellent job. The bar area looked pretty cool. They did not have single malt though which seemed strange given the caliber of place they want to portray. In ways I am glad I saw this historic place, but I do not think I would go back based on the experience unfortunately. I was hoping it would be my new favorite and the place I would always want to go to for a steak, but it did not achieve that due to bad overall value.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

St. Louis gem ...

Dined on November 5, 2015

90 years and still going ... Let's hope it survives the football expansion greed. Food was good, service excellent, but a little over priced. Nice atmosphere ... you can actually talk to and hear the people at your table. Give it a try ...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

TREASURE TO SAVOR & SAVE

Dined on October 18, 2015

Impressive array of selections, one more delicious than the next. The filet Oscar is definitely indulgent, but oh so delicious combination of filet and lobster. There is something to be said for longevity because Al's has consistently maintained the quality and service it has built its reputation on. Thanks Pam and Gary for carrying on the tradition and keeping a St Louis dining icon in the heart of the city. And no one comes close to your bananas foster - the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Al's Resturant is Amazing

Dined on October 16, 2015

Went to Al's for our anniversary and was astounded that we had not heard of it before. Everything was excellent: food, service, atmosphere and we were not rushed. We stayed at our table for over 30 minutes after finishing dessert and coffee. We will be back!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Ever!

Dined on October 11, 2015

Al's is a St Louis icon and institution, an absolutely fantastic evening. Gary, one of the owners was so gracious and attentive. David, our waiter was spot on and the Caesar salad was the best we've ever had. Always a great experience, can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

Dined on October 11, 2015

Most incredible steak and lobster ever. Hats off to the chefs for the perfectly seasoned and cooked steak and rich buttery lobster. Great wine list and love the Italian potatoes. The food here is always amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the last remaining old sc ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

This is one of the last remaining old school restaurant in St Louis!! Awesome care is given to details for your dining experience! The food choices are so varied that you can personalize any portion of your meal!! The wine list is remarkable! The best soufflé we have ever had!! You must order the soufflé at least 24 hours before your reservation! That's how fresh the ingredients are plus to account for the prep time!! It was a wonderful meal & evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

it is more about Atmosphere

Dined on September 19, 2015

I would have to say the food was not as good as Annie Gunn's and Paul Manno's. It isn't worth what you pay for; however, it is still worth going to. Here it is all about location and service. It is set on what used to be the old wharf and is housed in a old sugar mill. I find the history pretty cool. The waiters are all elderly and have worked there forever which makes it kind of neat. They are very attentive and have very interesting stories to tell. If you need a place for a large gathering where the food is better than average, it would be a good place to go.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Wonderful

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

We took my daughter's new in-laws to Al's on Wednesday. Although life-long St. Louisans they had never heard of Al's, let alone gone there. They were suitably impressed and hopefully will return on their own. This is the best restaurant known to man (and woman). If I ever win the lottery you will find me there every evening Tuesday through Saturday. I have been coming to Al's for 39 years, probably about 100 times now. I have had the Steak Romano 97 times and it never disappoints. My standard order starts with the escargot, the house salad (sometimes I order it the old way with the jumbo shrimp w/french dressing), the Steak Romano and a side of Al's pasta. Whether you get Harold, Bob or David as your waiter you will be well taken care of. Service is impeccable. You should allow at least two hours for dining. This is a dining indulgence found in few other restaurants. With a cocktail and a glass of wine or two, budget $100 per person. It is worth every penny. Al's is potentially facing eminent domain from the City of St. Louis for the purpose of building a new football stadium. I highly recommend a visit to Al's before the wrecking ball destroys one of St. Louis' iconic treasures.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a nice evening and dining experie ...

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

Always a nice evening and dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal!!!

Dined on August 23, 2015

We chose Als off to the open table reviews and we were not disappointed! Bob was our server. He was kind, funny and very knowledgeable about every high Als. I must comend the servers for memorizing the menu as you do not receive one. We looked online before coming and had a good idea what we wanted. Appetizers, salad, a leon ice sorbet to cleanse the palet, dinner and dessert. We had it all! It was my birthday so Bob brought me out cake and also gave me a piece to go. We did not have drinks but the wine list was nice. I had the salmon in butter garlic and my boyfriend had the 12oz filet. We were both very happy with our dinner. Sides were not included in dinner price but we shared asparagus. The lighting was dim and the decor was older gut still very classy. Dress attire is recommended. It was pricey but well worth it. Bob even called us a cab! We peeked into the bar area and it was nice too. I can't say enough good thungs about Als. A well established resturant for over 90 years and family owned.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Welcome to history, this is not trendy, it's real!

Dined on August 14, 2015

You honestly feel like you step into the past, with today's theme style restaurants, I understand some peoples confusion, this place is authentic not a trend. Go here for amazing food, great service, and learn how guest used to and still should be treated. Instead of focus on turning your table to get the next person in, they make sure you have a great experience and want to come back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Al's is the best restaurant on planet Ea ...

vip
Dined on August 12, 2015

Al's is the best restaurant on planet Earth. I hope to have my last meal there. Yet, every night I go to Al's I awake the next morning still alive. This is going to be hard to coordinate. Food, service, ambiance cannot be duplicated any where else. If you are visiting St. Louis or have lived here you're entire life but have never been to Al's please come. They are facing the possibility of eminent domain for the proposed new NFL stadium. Al's has been at this location, serving St. Louis its finest dining for 90 years. This is an historic building and restaurant. I hope it's around another 90 years and beyond.

food5
ambience5
service5

Al's is as good as ever. I knew after m ...

Dined on July 31, 2015

Al's is as good as ever. I knew after my first visit, why my Dad and others of his generation have made this their favorite place in St. Louis.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on July 25, 2015

Extremely impressed with the entire dinner from start to finish. Outstanding food, the Beef Romano was eye-opening massive and a perfect blend of flavors, sauce and melt in your mouth tender filet. Had to go with onion rings and Italian fries. We had a great time, learned all about the impressive history. This place is an icon and institution - may it live forever!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Al's is an excellent dinner choice . The ...

Dined on July 18, 2015

Al's is an excellent dinner choice . The service was excellent and the food superb! There is no paper menu instead the server brought a platter of the meats served so that we could see the food we would be served. We enjoyed our dining experience. It has kept its old world charm! Highly recommend Al's. Unfortunately, we do not live in St. Louis, otherwise we would be weekend regulars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

True Old St Louis Steak House

Dined on June 21, 2015

Ripe with history, a lovely, very remonatic steak house that does everything that a steak house should do excellent - great potato sides, great pasta sides, great wine, beautiful ambience, excellent service and true silverware. Oh, and the steaks are excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on June 18, 2015

A St. Louis institution that is always great. Steaks are superb and no where can I find lobster tail any better - that is if you can even find it any where else. David provided excellent service. Can always count on Al's for outstanding food and a relaxing evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I have to say that I was impressed! I lo ...

Dined on June 18, 2015

I have to say that I was impressed! I love that it's local too. Would definitely come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.