About Al's Restaurant

1200 N. First St.
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Al's has defined fine-dining in St. Louis for over 90 years; a beloved landmark which has earned its reputation as one of the top restaurants in the U.S. Featuring award-winning steaks, lobster, seafood and pasta, Al's creates the total dining experience. Fresh menu presentation, elegant tableside service, beautiful ambiance, generous portions and excellent wine list are the standard. Traditional offerings found at no other steakhouse include Steak Diane, Chateaubriand, and our signature dish, "Beef Romano". Try Bananas Foster flambé or a Chocolate Soufflé for a sweet after dinner indulgence. Complete with tableside Café Napoleon or Café Diablo. Ask and you shall receive. Third and fourth generations of the Barroni family invite you to join us for a nightly celebration of outstanding food, wine and ambiance.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tues-Thurs 5:00-9:00 PM - Fri & Sat 5:00 -10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Biddle

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 421-6399

Website:
http://www.alsrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is Provided.

Executive Chef:
Mark Hibler

Private Party Facilities:
Al"s offers two beautiful private dining rooms as well as full restaurant accommodations. Special events, business gatherings/meetings, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, Al's attention to detail creates an outstanding dining experience for you and your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Neal: 3144216399x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wednesdays - half off wine (bottle or wine-by-the-glass) priced $100 or less every Wednesday

Al's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Louis
Steakhouse
St. Louis
Romantic
Downtown
1 More
Special Occasion
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Historic (9)
See All
Romantic (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Private Room (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My family made the expensive mistake of ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My family made the expensive mistake of going to Al's. It was our first visit, I was reading about the oldest restaurants in the city and thought it was be an interesting for my dad's birthday dinner. There were many awkward interactions with the staff throughout the night, but the main reason I'm writing this is because my brother's steak. My steak was a little undercooked, but I didn't mention anything because I was fine with medium rare/rare. My brother however ordered the 12oz filet Romano (a signature dish we were told of a steak stuffed with prosciutto and mozzarella, then breaded and fried). I think he ordered it medium, and his first few bits might have been medium, but the edge facing me was completely rare. And by rare, I mean it didn't touch heat, was blue/purple RAW meat, with soggy breading that hadn't been cooked. I've worked in restaurants for all of my adult life, culinary school, back, and front of the house . I realize mistakes happen, I was not upset with our server, I know she didn't cook the steak. But when we called her over, I mentioned the steak was undercooked, and her response was "that is the prosciutto". That was not the response I wanted. I proceeded to open the monstrosity of a steak and show her where the actual prosciutto was and point out the blue completely raw edge I was referring to. Her response was "so you want us to cook it more?" Yes, we would like you to cook it more. Preferably to medium, but as long as it's not completely raw, I'll be happy. Here's a lesson in service for you, I don't care if the customer is right, wrong, or just confused, your response is "I'm sorry, let me fix that for you". She did bring the manger to the table after taking the raw meat back to the kitchen, but he didn't mention the steak, just asked how the food was so far. No one ever apologized once. If you pride yourself on being open for almost 100 years, get a handle on your service standards and learn how to cook your $70 signature dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Outstanding experience! Pre-dinner drin ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Outstanding experience! Pre-dinner drinks in the historic bar were enhanced by the owner's stories of this superb steak house. Staff was very professional, friendly and engaging, which made our birthday celebration truly special. The meal was perfect. The salads prepared at our table were almost as wonderful as the lobster bisque- we have not tasted better anywhere! Main course of filet with lobster were also outstanding; this staff knows how to prepare and serve a meal with skills that few establishments can claim.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Private Room, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the place for a special occasion ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is the place for a special occasion, even though it's pricey. The service and food were outstanding. The restaurant "delivers" when you're looking for something special. Ask to see their old paintings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Al's is a full evening's experience, and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Al's is a full evening's experience, and a lovely, leisurely one. The servers are thoughtful and knowledgeable about the restaurant's history and its old family recipes; the food is prepared specifically to order after the menu is recited to the diner. The onion rings and lobster bisque are standout appetizers, and our 8 oz filets were meltingly tender. We finished with bananas foster, a dramatic cinnamon-kissed conclusion to our dinner. We left satiated and ready to relax. The two very small details that seemed out of place were the background music (contemporary pop, which sounded out of place in the old-school surroundings, particularly given the more mature clientele) and sloppy plating of accompanying sauces (usually any wayward splashes are wiped away from the vessel before they proceed to the table). But these are small quibbles. Our table had high compliments for our server, Eve; our captain, Gary; and assistant, James. They took care of our table with capability and grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food. Outstanding service. A hi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing food. Outstanding service. A hidden gem of St. Louis.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Al's is a St. Louis tradition. On the n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Al's is a St. Louis tradition. On the night 4 of us dined there it was very quiet and nearly empty. The food was amazing. The service was spectacular. I had the 12oz Fillet prepared Pittsburgh style-quite frankly it was the BEST Pittsburgh prepared steak I have had in a long while. Unfortunately, we were all too full to try out the Deserts. We all decided that we will go there again...and again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Al's is like a trip down Memory Lane. It ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Al's is like a trip down Memory Lane. It's the way fine dining used to be. Linen, crystal, tuxedos, quiet ambiance. Many items prepared tableside. Food was incredible and service was exceptional. This place has a lot of history and does it right for special occasions. Not a good choice if you're on a budget but worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This sport truly is an old-world restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This sport truly is an old-world restaurant with terrific service. I did not know that they did not have printed menus. I had seen items on Open Table that they did not have. Steaks were $50+. The restaurant might have seen better days, but the food was good, but just a little expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We had the BEST steaks (Filet) that we e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had the BEST steaks (Filet) that we ever experienced in the St. Louis metro area.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best experience in St. Louis !!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Best experience in St. Louis !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Historic building with amazing menu. Foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Historic building with amazing menu. Food and service were great and staff gave us the history of the building and the famous people who have dined there over the 91 years the restaurant has been open. Caring, wonderful staff, "live menu" (bring out fresh food on a silver platter and describe how each plate is prepared) and all the ambiance of the historic walls. In an odd placing in town, but highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best. Absolutely ozzing char ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Best of the Best. Absolutely ozzing charm! and History! A must go to! It is a be-back for us!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Al's before and always a g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We've been to Al's before and always a great experience - Downtown Restaurant Week was no exception. Dining room was buzzing with a great vibe and we tried their new tri tip, which we're told is a California classic - hopefully it becomes another St Louis classic because it was great. It was so flavorful and paired with Italian potatoes was delicious! It was fun trying something new. Al's does steak right and it's always so interesting to hear all the back stories of this historic location. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic, Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the Downtown restaurant week spec ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had the Downtown restaurant week special; our tripe and salmon were amazing.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Al's is the only old school restaurant l ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Al's is the only old school restaurant left. The service is impeccable and the food is beyond compare. The Angel hair pasta with escargot butter was delectable, I could have eaten that as an entree. It is the best in town and it's reputation speaks for itself as it is the the lone restaurant on the riverfront and has been there since the 1920's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For over four decades we have frequented ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

For over four decades we have frequented Al's for special occasions. Sadly this will be our last visit. The ambiance remains but the service and food has slipped well below what we expect in a fine dining experience. The evening we dined at Al's there were few other tables occupied but the service was well below par. The young man waiting on us seemed under prepared for the task and it showed. Martinis were not prepared correctly and our wine was set on our table by a bus boy where it sat for 20 minutes before our under-performing waiter realized it hadn't been opened. The waiter told us they were slammed and they had run out of martini glasses though there was not a single person at the bar and only 6 other tables occupied. There was no sommelier to assist so we were at the mercy of the waiter. My table service didn't include a dinner fork.

The food was very disappointing. Our table-side prepared Caesar salad was made with lettuce well past its prime. The two orders of appetizers were served on the same plate. The steak Romano was anemic and unappetizing as was the strip steak which had a large sinew running through it. The sauces were forgotten for three of the four entrees that we ordered. The chocolate cake was scant and dry.

The value for what we received was far below what I have become accustomed to. I fondly remember going to Al's as a young boy where I learned important table manners and what fine dining was. Sadly those days are long gone and the memories of Al's as a great dining experience has been replaced by an overpriced, underperforming, lackluster restaurant that leaves this diner sad and disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Outstanding - Al's delivers all the perk ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Outstanding - Al's delivers all the perks and amenities. Everyone is cordial and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated. Food is consistently great, no compromising on quality or quantity. By far the best steakhouse in St Louis - anywhere! I love this place and its history totally sets it apart from any other restaurant in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Key is being creat ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Key is being creative with your order.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful time...brought back grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a wonderful time...brought back great memories...food was very good but not great...service was over the top...a bit pricy but worth every cent.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Staff is remarkable! My vegetable pl ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Staff is remarkable! My vegetable plate was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My fiancee and I went to Al's and had a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 29, 2016

My fiancee and I went to Al's and had a most enjoyable dinner. Al's never fails on quality of food and the service is always outstanding. No where can you get Lobster Bisque as creamy and they never skimp on the amount Lobster. My Fiancee ordered a Filet and it was cooked exactly how he ordered it and was delicious, just melted in his mouth. I ordered the Lamb Chops with the raspberry sauce and the combination was a perfect pairing. The portions are large and needless to say we were fully satisfied. We ended the night with the Chocolate Mouse Cake. If you are a chocolate lover like I am, this is the dessert to eat. My fiancee and I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Al's is my favorite restaurant. It is al ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Al's is my favorite restaurant. It is always outstanding. Eating at Al's is an experience not to be missed. It is also an evenings entertainment. You should budget a minimum of 2-1/2 hours to dine here. You should also budget $100 plus per person. But it is worth both the time and money every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely horrible experience. The rest ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Absolutely horrible experience. The restaurant has a horrible odor. Think of the smell of a 90 year-old person's home! That's what it smells like when you walk in the door. The food is abysmal. Just old, worn out and creepy. They do not use a printed menu. Seriously? I had to go on line to find a menu to order from. This place should have given enough up a couple of decades ago. I hosted a business colleague and to say I was embarrassed by my restaurant selection is the understatement of the century. Open table really steered me wrong on this one BIG TIME. I'm completely clueless how this mausoleum gets any good reviews. I get the heeby-jeebies just thinking about this restaurant with a funeral home atmosphere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Can't improve on perfection . Al's is c ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Can't improve on perfection . Al's is consistently great. Steaks were gorgeous, I like mine tradional but my friend loved the filet Oscar. Spinach au gratin is great as is the salsify. Had drinks in the bar after dinner which is a cool underused space. Owners are always kind and have interesting stories to share on the longevity and history. Another great night at Al's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but was a little ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was excellent but was a little overpriced for what it was. I don't mind paying but my check was nearly $200 for one person. I had the steak Oscar and the steak was cooked well and the crab was great. The side of potatoes was also very good. The table side service is a nice touch. I do think though they need about a 20% reduction in price to be more competitive.

When I arrived I was the only one in the entire restaurant, this was around 6pm. Towards the end of my meal a table of three came in. I overheard the wait staff talking to that table about the lack of guests. They attributed the empty restaurant to the poor leadership of the owner's husband and a lack of marketing of the restaurant. I would agree. I watched the owner's husband overbearingly watch his staff and correct them while they were serving me. It got so bad that I became uncomfortable for them. As far as marketing, I only found the place by a fluke. My Uber drive who took me and the one who dropped me off didn't even know it was there.

The old school smoking parlor atmosphere is very nice and should be played up more. There is a lot of history in the restaurant and you can feel it. The food was good and the atmosphere is great. The management however needs reboot. With better management this restaurant will no longer be a hidden gem but a celebrated one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Classic and Consistently Great

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Classic, consistent, colorful and comfortable. Always in good taste you can be sure AL's will impress; it's our perfect date night find. The food is delicious and great ambiance plus the interesting historic backstory makes it even more enticing. We can relax and have a great meal in a really cool landmark building. I like that it is local and a St. Louis original. As if the food and service weren't enough, the history really sets it apart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word - GREAT!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a late reservation after a meeting, never felt rushed. Dinner was great, the kind of great you really want to come back again for over and over. My NY strip was perfect as well as my associate's stuffed filet. The spinach au gratin was delicious. I love the pumpernickel bread and blue cheese they give you upon arrival. Service was attentive and the owners are cordial and informative about Al's unique history. Al's is the complete package.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Oldie-but-goodie

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2016

This place harkens back to a by-gone era when people dressed for dinner and had etiquette.

Food was wonderful, service was great, just a wonderful experience. I heartily recommend this restaurant and would certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Al's is a timeless classic!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We love Al's restaurant. Don't let the exterior fool you...when you walk in you are immediately taken to an amazing restaurant experience. The menu is read to you by the wait staff who, by the way, still pull out your chair and place your napkin in your lap. If you can get past the initial "wow" of the place, the food is amazing too! Be prepared to bring home leftovers because you MUST save room for the Banana's Foster over house made ice cream that is prepared table side.

It's an amazing experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Al's is still a treasure

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I have had the occassion to dine at Al's several times over the years, first time was back in the early 80's, and it was very impressive and left a tremendous impression. I have lived away from St. Louis for many years but travel to the city very often , yet for some reason just hadn't had the thought of dining at Al's until my wife and i were planning our anniversary and attending the Sound of Music as a gift to each other. I suggested that we have an early dinner and remembered reading the article about the whole Riverfront Sport Complex and the problems that it was going to cause many local businesses including the required demolition of Al's. Having been a Rams PSL/Season Ticket holder and then having the team leave, it struck me as odd that the city would continue the process although I certainly would see the value in cleaning up the river front with the many vacant and decaying building. But to demo Al's which is truly a St. Louis treasure and a historical landmark would be a travesty. Our meal was excellent and we did benefit from extra service because we chose to dine at 5:30 pm and were one of the only table because we were so early. However the total experience was all be it pricy, well worth the cost. It is not something we would be able to do each week but i will certainly make it a point to have another evening of dining excellence at Al's in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nothing makes me happier than a great ni ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Nothing makes me happier than a great night out with great company, outstanding food, and over the top service. It was very busy but their over size comfy chairs and table spacing let you easily have conversation without the usual shouting across the table. I highly recommend their filet, slight crisp char on the outside, pink juicy perfection on the inside. We split Italian fries and spinach au gratin. Ordered chocolate cake but had to take it home - way too much food. But at Al's I should know better. Of course it's an enduring landmark for always being the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As good as it gets.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food is flawless.

The service is impeccable.

Going to Al's makes for a fine evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place, better days behind

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The exterior is not appealing at all. However, the interior is nice, tradicional old feeling kind of place. However, the food was not as good as expected. The ceasar salad was below average, end the steak was just ok, but expensive.

The better days of this place were left behind.

The service was first class though.

It is one of the mant places to visit just once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

It has been several years since we have ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 27, 2016

It has been several years since we have been to Al's. We decided to go there to celebrate our anniversaries. It did not disappoint. It was everything we remembered about the greatness of this establishment. Great food, wonderful service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fiance and I went to Al's and we have ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2016

My fiance and I went to Al's and we have nothing but great things to say about the restaurant. As soon as we walked through the door we were greeted, it was very warm and welcoming. We started off with a few cocktails and they were excellent. Our server presented the trey menu to us and was very knowledgeable on all items and how they could be prepared. I ordered the lobster and it was nice and succulent, my fiance ordered the filet mignon and it was cooked perfectly, just melted in your mouth. The whole dining experience was just wonderful. Couldn't have asked for a better night out. We will definitely be going back to Al's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Outstanding food, wine and top notch service. Never disappointed, Al's is consistent with quality, presentation and ambiance. We are never rushed and can actually enjoy conversation even on an extremely busy night. The Bananas Foster is a sight, sound, taste and smell wonder for the senses. I love this place and its historical beginnings and presence only adds to its alure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Always

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Al's always delivers. Classic, but not pretentious the service ensures a great evening. Food was wonderful, I don't think anyone comes closes to the steak and lobster combo. Double boned thick pork chop was juicy and flavorful with great apricot porcini mushroom sauce. Twice baked potato was the size of Texas and delicious. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Why have I never dined here before?!!! This place is a gem. We had a great time and can't wait to get back. The owners were gracious and inviting and the wait staff handled all of our requests effortlessly. Food was prepared perfectly and the table side service represents the class act that it is. Excellent, high five to Al's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate my birthday. Started with great cocktails in the bar before dinner. David provided excellent service which is the norm at Al's; always attentive without being overbearing. Splurged on Filet Oscar, which was absolutely delicious. We ordered several side dishes to share, all equally very good and with the portion sizes we had lunch and dinner the following day. Can't wait to go back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Al's has earned their name for one of the best restaurants in town over the years. Their table side service usually includes some flaming dishes, excellent wines, and a variety of great dishes. The bar has wonderful ambiance and helps create a perfect dining experience. Friendly staff always seem willing to go above and beyond. Another great dinner. Still one of my favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.