About Alpenglow Stube

The highest AAA Four-Diamond™ dining experience in North America. Enjoy breathtaking views while traveling in enclosed comfort aboard two gondolas to the top of the North Peak® at 11,444 feet. Award-winning chefs create delicious contemporary cuisine with a Bavarian accent to complement this unique, secluded setting. Arguably the best dinner in the ski industry.

Top of North Peak Mtn
Keystone, CO 80435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Sundays at 10:30am
Lunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Thursday - Saturday
Dinner: Summer: Thursday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm Winter: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 6

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 496-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+Alpenglow+Stube.axd

Parking Details:
DIRECTIONS TO THE ALPENGLOW STUBE
Drive through Keystone Resort and turn right onto East Keystone Road (River Run Village Sign). Turn left onto Gondola Road. Turn right into "Montezuma Free Parking Lot" and park. Walk through the center of River Run Village toward the base of the mountain. Check in at the Mountain Service Center. Board the River Run Gondola. Exit the River Run Gondola and walk across the summit to board the Outpost Gondola. Enjoy a 20 minute ride to North Peak.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCarthy

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alpenglow Stube Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Romance (16)
Anniversaries (14)
SpecialOccasions (14)
See All
QuietConversation (13)
ScenicView (12)
GoodForDates (11)
Fireplace (11)
CreativeCuisine (8)
NotableWineList (7)
Foodies (7)
Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
WorthTheDrive (5)
Authentic (5)
Historic (4)
Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
TastingMenu (3)
Birthdays (3)
ComfortFood (2)
Casual (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
OpenKitchen (2)
HandcraftedCocktails (2)
OutstandingValue (2)
Groups (2)
SundayLunch (2)
LateNightFind (1)
BarSeating (1)
WoodOven (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 2 days ago

My rating is for OpenTable, not for the restaurant. I'm very disappointed with OpenTable. This was our first time using it and it failed us.

The Alpenglow Stube is a fantastic restaurant, but it is not open for lunch in the summer. Despite this, OpenTable let me book a lunch reservation!

We ended up getting a dinner reservation for the following evening, but we did not book this using OpenTable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

A unique experience worth trying at least once. The gondola ride up and down makes the steep bill worth it. Service was excellent, but we were the first ones at the restaurant the day we dined. The food was very good, but not mind blowing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We visited several years ago, and looked forward to coming back. The table was in the sun, and one friend had to take off her shirt and scarf, down to her spaghetti strap undershirt to be comfortable and she had to put on her sunglasses. Very uncomfortable setting to start off the evening. The food was edible, but not what I looked forward to. The trout was a bit over cooked, the bison soup contained no meat in the soup, and our friends said the food was mediocre at best. The 2 different pie deserts were both over cooked and hard to cut through the crust and eat. The scenery and experience were unforgettable, the service was outstanding, but we were very disappointed with the food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Been going there for 10 years, always incredible.
If your around keystone it's a must. One of the best restaurants I've ever been to. You can't beat the whole experience of going up to the top of the world for dinner. Well worth the price

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Incredible. Gorgeous views, a true experience. Everything was perfect. Thank you Apenglow Stube!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The Stube was disappointing. I have been there numerous times over the past 12 years. The food was okay, but nothing like it was when they offered the extensive cheese bar, etc. The service was poor. It started off fine, but when the waiter got a 2nd table (yes, just 2 tables) our water glasses were left empty, our plates were left on our table long after the meal was complete, and we had to go to the bar to get a second beverage. Very disappointing that this restaurant has changed so much.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

It was amazing and spectacular views and service!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We enjoyed Sunday brunch here. Superb experience especially for those who don't ski or haven't been on the mountain. The ride on the gondola is a unique experience and a lot of fun. The restaurant has a great charm to it and the buffet was fantastic. Lots of fresh seafood and delicious crab claws. The lamb shank hash was delicious. The dessert spread was scrumptious, especially the apple pie and the flourless chocolate tart. Highly recommended for brunch. A special thanks to Sam our server who took great care of us.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our 4th time to visit the restaurant, and while last year was disappointing, this year they didn't let us down. Atmosphere, setting and service was excellent. While the food was very good, I believe they offer better entrees for the price we pay. Otherwise, an excellent dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Comfortable

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere, service, food and drink. We celebrated our 10th anniversary and loved every moment. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Came here for brunch while on our honeymoon. Romantic, fun, and absolutely delicious! Best service I've had in a long time, and a great value for the meal we had ($35 for fancy three course lunch). We'll definitely be back when we're at Keystone again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Service, ambiance, and food always outstanding. Ski-day lunch at Alpenglow is a very special, elegant treat!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Overpriced, mediocre food, mediocre service. Would not recommend nor will ever again go there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was an amazing experience. My five friends and I were in Colorado for Spring Break and chose this spot as a celebratory dinner for our trip. We were treated like queens and had an amazing time getting dressed up for the night and having amazing food with an amazing experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very nice place way beyond of my expectations!!! Definitely taking the adventure to go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been coming to this restaurant for 5 years! It's romantic and the gondola experience is icing on the cake. The food is spectacular and the pre-dinner drink with Mike (the bartender) is a treat!! Worth every penny!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I celebrated my birthday with my family (4 people). Excellent service including a "happy birthday song ".
We enjoyed very much the gondola ride to and from the top of the mountain during full moon illumination!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic restaurant right on the slopes. Great to take off the ski boots, boot on slippers and have a great lunch in a wonderful setting.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Some of our food was really good while other items were only average. Service was very slow. Not really too expensive considering the price of food in the regular portion of the lodge. Very courteous staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were in town for four nights with our daughter and her fiancé. The dinner was awesome and we had a wonderful time. The staff was unbelievable. Our server, Natalie, was outstanding. We hope to return soon our next ski trip.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great atmosphere, definitely have a drink by the fire!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food and service were top notch. Sommelier made a great recommendation for a value priced wine - did not try to oversell once he know our price point. Very nice atmosphere, good noise level and music can be heard. A number of seats near the far wall have a less than stellar view down a back hallway into the back room of the kitchen where there is no door or it is always open.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is a one of a kind experience at the top of Keystone Mountain. The two
gondola rides there make it a mystery ride at night. but when you finally arrive,
WOW! You trade your shoes for cozy warm slippers, have a cocktail at the
intimate bar, then sit down to an award winning dinner prepared by great
chefs. The menu variety includes beef, fish duck, lamb, etc., all prepared
perfectly and hot when it arrives at the table. The staff was friendly and
helpful with food and drink choices. It isn't cheap, but it is worth every cent
and then some. I highly recommend for a quiet, romantic evening that is
a complete dining and sensual experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always a memorable experience. The setting, the food. We went for Sunday brunch in Feb, right off the ski slope. Great way to enjoy a lovely meal and warm cocktail in a unique setting.Views of the Summit County peaks all around. Felt like we were in Europe, always does! The brunch buffet is PLENTIFUL. Cheeses, salads, shrimp, oysters as big and full as your fist! Dessert area was impeccable too; tarts, cheesecake, flourless torte, apple streudel. Pace yourself if you go for the entree in addition.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I go back here every year for the ambiance, view, and yummy buffet. This year there were more vegetarian dishes, thank you! It would be great to have a vegan dish on the menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is a special place for a special occasion. It is very fun and romantic taking the Gondola up and down after dinner. All service persons were top notch as was the food. It is expensive but for a different experience it's all worth it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Simply amazing. Went for brunch after a long morning of skiing, and we had a blast. Started with amazing cocktails at the bar, followed by a creative menu and buffet. They have an amazing wine list. Plus, the plush slippers that they give you in place of your ski boots are divine. If you are at Keystone, and want a fancier, sit down, comfortable lunch, this is the place to be. If you are not a skier/snowboarder, you can still access the restaurant via 2 gondola's which makes the experience even better.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our second time at the Alpenglow Stube. Our family had a lovely experience. Our waiter was great and the food was incredible. We had very high expectations given our first experience ~10 years ago, the Alpenglow Stube exceeded our expectations yet again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a wonderful time celebrating my 50th birthday at Alpenglobe Stube. The food and service were both outstanding. Brooks and his team know how to take care of his guests. It was a memorable experience and will come back again when I'm in Keystone!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

beautiful scenery , awesome trip to get there, awesome service, food was good, tad bit pricey for what you got . but a very nice experience !!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 17, 2017

An excellent meal (as always). The Maitre D was incredibly knowledgeable about wines - made some excellent recommendations. Yes, its quite pricey - but its a wonderful evening experience that you simply cannot get anywhere else.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Absolutely one of the finest mountain dining experiences one can have. Everyone at the restaurant makes it a point to see that you have a special evening.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Another awesome night at The Stube!
Thank you for making it Perfect "again".

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there for dinner on Valentines day with our two grandsons. We did enjoy the rides on the gondolas to reach the restaurant.
I was not impressed by the food. I ordered the sea bass and all I could taste was the oil it was sauteed in, and I believe it was frozen fish.
We will not be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for my husband's 60th birthday. Everything was perfect. I especially enjoyed how attentive and friendly the staff was.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch was over the top with a beautiful view!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Go. You'll love it. Special touches all evening. We took our 10 and 7 year old and they were impressed too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and ambiance are outstanding. Scenic views, unique gondola rides to get there. Selections are gourmet and small. Very pricey but appropriate for the location.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall our dining experience was great, amazing views, superb service and excellent foodfare.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.