About Alpenglow Stube

Top of North Peak Mtn
Keystone, CO 80435
View Larger Map

The highest AAA Four-Diamond™ dining experience in North America. Enjoy breathtaking views while traveling in enclosed comfort aboard two gondolas to the top of the North Peak® at 11,444 feet. Award-winning chefs create delicious contemporary cuisine with a Bavarian accent to complement this unique, secluded setting. Arguably the best dinner in the ski industry.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Sundays at 10:30am
Lunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Thursday - Saturday
Dinner: Summer: Thursday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm Winter: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 6

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 496-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+Alpenglow+Stube.axd

Parking Details:
DIRECTIONS TO THE ALPENGLOW STUBE
Drive through Keystone Resort and turn right onto East Keystone Road (River Run Village Sign). Turn left onto Gondola Road. Turn right into "Montezuma Free Parking Lot" and park. Walk through the center of River Run Village toward the base of the mountain. Check in at the Mountain Service Center. Board the River Run Gondola. Exit the River Run Gondola and walk across the summit to board the Outpost Gondola. Enjoy a 20 minute ride to North Peak.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCarthy

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alpenglow Stube Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Scenic View
Denver / Colorado
Special Occasion
Denver / Colorado
5 More
Best Ambiance
Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Mountains
Romantic
Mountains
Scenic View
Mountains
Special Occasion
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Keystone ›

Special Occasion (8)
Scenic View (7)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Stube is an experience not to be mis ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Stube is an experience not to be missed when you are in Keystone or Summit County, Colorado. Some of the best dinners I have ever had have been at this place. The food, service, and ambiance are to die for. Not to mention the WINE LIST!!! The only downside is the price, but you get what you pay for and this will be a memorable experience for you, I promise! You take two gondola rides to get to this place, so dress warm and allow plenty of time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first time here together as adults! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our first time here together as adults! Celebrating being in love in a place that is close to our hearts! The evening was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the worst food experiences I have ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the worst food experiences I have had in years. Some of the preparations are strange to say the least and they don't seem to understand how to cook meat to the ordered temperature. May need to replace the chef to get better. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding meal as always! Fantastic st ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding meal as always! Fantastic staff! Always a treat when we are in keystone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant by far when we'r ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our favorite restaurant by far when we're in the area. The service is wonderful, the presentation superb. The food is beyond compare. The ride up to the restaurant is very romantic. Don't wait for a special occasion.......this is the special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant/experie ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything about this restaurant/experience was superb except that our waiter seemed to be very misleading when describing food portions. We felt the need to order at least three courses and he suggested four due to the individual sizes that they serve. However, when our food arrived, the portions were certainly not skimpy and we went away with far too full tummies and food left over. This is not the kind of restaurant I like to take left overs home from. (Gondola ride, bus ride, walk and then drive home )

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food in great mountain setting ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food in great mountain setting. Our server was very knowledgeable, and worked with one of the members of our party who has serious food allergies. Kind, well-informed and efficient. We had a great time, and said we are going to try to get there more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again, we so enjoyed our evening me ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Once again, we so enjoyed our evening meal at Alpenglo Stube. The gondola ride, the warm greeting, fire in the fireplace, wonderful, knowledgeable service by Chris, and the food were impeccable! The beautiful presentation of the food only enhanced the enjoyment of the taste of the food. We brought another couple with us who had never been to Alpenglo. They were just as pleased and impressed with the experience as we have always been. Thank you Alpenglo Stube. We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience, bottom to top (and b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome experience, bottom to top (and back down to the bottom again on the Gondola)!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience! Service was impec ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Phenomenal experience! Service was impeccable and food was amazing! Overall it is a MUST! Loved everything about it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Would have liked to have a better view. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Would have liked to have a better view. Being on a mountain top and not very many widows to enjoy view was very disappointing. Menu could have been better. Did not care for the menu selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We were disappointed with the service an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were disappointed with the service and our food. The waitress forgot our salads, & they did not have the wine on the menu, additionally-our food was over cooked (dry). The dessert, chocolate mousse, was straight out of the refrigerator and not fresh at all. The prices were way expensive, for the level of quality.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Chef Todd prepared a special plant-based ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Chef Todd prepared a special plant-based meal for our group of 8. The preparation was world-class, and the flavors were phenomenal. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been over ten years since the las ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2016

It has been over ten years since the last time we had dinner at Alpenglow Stube and it was in the winter. This time we visited in Auguat and, of course, it was quite a different feel. Our waiter was more than congenial, very knowledgeable, and nicely attentive. Our teenage girls loved most of the food but, were a bit overwhelmed by a few of the more avant guarde items. My Dover Sole was just right, all of us thoroughly enjoyed our entrees. Coffee was an experience in flavor and luxury. All together it was a sweet evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed the fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Our group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed the food, service, setting and ambiance at Alpenglo Stube. My husband and I had been telling the other 2 couples about Alpenglo Stube for a few years. We were all finally able to go together and they were not disappointed! The ride up and down the mountain in the gondolas was a great experience. We all commented about the whole evening as being a complete package! We'll go back again as soon as we're in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter and wine specialist push a po ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The waiter and wine specialist push a poor bottle of wine on us and we felt uncomfortable sending it back. The waiter pushed us to order 5 courses saying they were small portions. He was totally wrong and we were full before our entree. The portions were large. 3 courses would have been tops. We felt like he lied to us to get a bigger bill. The money didn't bother us but we felt deceived.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I was very disappointed in the service a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I was very disappointed in the service and the quality of food. It was an expensive dinner that I can only do so often and expect a much better experience for the expense of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Make an earlier reservation to enjoy the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Make an earlier reservation to enjoy the view. We had a 7:30 reservation in July and the sun set about 8:30 so only an hour to enjoy the spectacular view from the mountain top perch of this restaurant. Service and food was wonderful. They even had our name printed on the menu. Make sure you come hungry as the menu is set up for 4 course dining. He said the portions would be smaller as a result but ours were large to normal sized. The highlight were the entrees and desserts. We are coming back during ski season for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One got the impression that we needed to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2016

One got the impression that we needed to order 4 courses. Next time, we will only order 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

While the ambience and service at this m ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2016

While the ambience and service at this mountaintop restaurant are excellent, the quality of the food didn't match. For the price - and they were steep! - I expected innovative cooking and exceptional execution. The only seafood on the menu the night we dined was a scallop and seafood dish, which was overcooked and dry and missing the sauce that was supposed to crown the dish. The appetizer of blue crab and leek was the only dish we ordered that lived up to its reputation. Considering the trouble to get here - short walk through Keystone Village and two separate gondola rides - the food should have been much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed our dinner here very much. Th ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner here very much. The ride up the gondola is half the excitement of the evening. The food , service and staff were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous find at 14,444 ft, amazing food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fabulous find at 14,444 ft, amazing food, view and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a delicious meal in a beautif ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious meal in a beautiful atmosphere served by a charming staff. The vegan member of our party was pleased to have choices beyond a salad for dinner and was impressed with her entree. The gondola ride to the Alpenglow Stube provided beautiful views of the valley and the return ride was cozy with blankets provided to take the chill off. We will definitely return to this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't miss this restaurant while in Summ ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Don't miss this restaurant while in Summit County. Obviously a unique experience to dine at a high-end restaurant at 11,444 feet elevation. Incredibly, there are two someway better restaurants in Keystone, each with much to recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent dining experience. Food and se ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Food and service five stars.

Be sure to come early for the view and to spend some time with Mike at the intimate bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not only was the entire food and wine ex ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Not only was the entire food and wine experience exceptional, but there truly was alpenglow in the western sky as the sun was setting and we finished our meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful travel up to the restaurant. B ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful travel up to the restaurant. Beautiful inside. Beautiful views. Good food. Attentive service. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location, but I didn't think the f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great location, but I didn't think the food stood up to its reputation. I sent a salad back because it was super salty (still got charged) and ordered a 2012 wine, got a 2013 and still charged the same. The main course was very good (rack of lamb), but still just not sure it was as good as it wants to be.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Friends recommended the restaurant and s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Friends recommended the restaurant and since they are massive foodies and love good wine, we decided to check the place out. Every single minute of the whole dinner experience was just nothing but wonderful memories. The Gondola ride was romantic, fun and a wonderful experience; how many restaurants require you to take 2 gondola rides to get to it and then go back down on the 2 gondola rides again? Anyway, we started out with drinks and having a great time chatting with the ever so friendly and accommodating bartender, Mike (I hope i got his name right). He even helped get me bread to munch on because I was positively starving. Our server, Natalia was the best; recommended the Elk and Crab for our starters which were phenomenal and then the banana custard dessert, wow! And Brooks, the sommelier was just the best. He arranged the best table in the house for us (thank you so very much), and then recommended the best bottle (pretty pricey, but a very very good bottle). We went with his recommendation to definitely order the special chilean seabass fish main course and the lamb. All I have to say is...YUMMYLICIOUS! Oh, we will so definitely be back for sure. But only to celebrate a special occasion. This place is not cheap, but definitely worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great evening. We enjoyed ever ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was a great evening. We enjoyed everything about the evening. We look forward to

going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had been to ski tip lodge for dining twi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had been to ski tip lodge for dining twice and it was best food experience of any restaurant I have eaten, so my expectation was high. 5 out of 6 in our party had the filet. It was wood grilled. The wood taste was so strong it overpowered the taste of the meat. Tasted more like pork than fillet. It you are looking for great food experience then go to Ski Tip Lodge instead.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The service and seating was wonderful . ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service and seating was wonderful . The food was prepared perfectly and the presentation of the desert was something original and captivating . It was a wonderful dining experience .

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good times

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Have not eaten here I several years. Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The overall experience was incredible fr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The overall experience was incredible from the food to the views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 20, 2016

I was very pleased with the service, the knowledge of the wait staff and the overall light hearted ambiance of the restaurant. For being such a nice place it's comforting to not stand out wearing snow pants and a t shirt. The food was excellent, almost everything I ate was something I'd never tried before. Very impressed. 10 out of 10, would do it again for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

love the slippers

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2016

I was disappointed by the food and service that day. The staff took in some walk ins. and that hurt our food and service. I hope to give it one more shot the next trip we go on, because i love the idea of stopping for a nice lunch and taking your boots off mid day to eat before hitting the slopes again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 18, 2016

We wanted to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary somewhere special while vacationing in Summit County. Read many reviews and decided on Alpenglow Stube. We had a fantastic experience - one to remember for many years. The gondola ride up to the restaurant was wonderful, even though our reservations were for 830, we still enjoyed some spectacular views. Wait staff was beyond excellent. We enjoyed every minute of our experience and would love to come back next time we're in the area. Thank you for making our anniversary special in many ways.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2016

We were so thrilled to find such a special place for exquisite food and exceptional service. The breathtaking gondola ride that delivers you there escalates the entire experience. Our dinner was so great that we went back the very next day for brunch. We would highly recommend doing BOTH!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Great experience all around. From the ride up with a blanket to the menu customization to our server and the food itself.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. Absolutely wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing food and service. Absolutely worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.