About Alpenglow Stube

Top of North Peak Mtn
Keystone, CO 80435
View Larger Map

The highest AAA Four-Diamond™ dining experience in North America. Enjoy breathtaking views while traveling in enclosed comfort aboard two gondolas to the top of the North Peak® at 11,444 feet. Award-winning chefs create delicious contemporary cuisine with a Bavarian accent to complement this unique, secluded setting. Arguably the best dinner in the ski industry.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Sundays at 10:30am
Lunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Thursday - Saturday
Dinner: Summer: Thursday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm Winter: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 6

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 496-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+Alpenglow+Stube.axd

Parking Details:
DIRECTIONS TO THE ALPENGLOW STUBE
Drive through Keystone Resort and turn right onto East Keystone Road (River Run Village Sign). Turn left onto Gondola Road. Turn right into "Montezuma Free Parking Lot" and park. Walk through the center of River Run Village toward the base of the mountain. Check in at the Mountain Service Center. Board the River Run Gondola. Exit the River Run Gondola and walk across the summit to board the Outpost Gondola. Enjoy a 20 minute ride to North Peak.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCarthy

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alpenglow Stube Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
Fireplace (15)
See All
Scenic View (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is a unique setting to have a fine re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It is a unique setting to have a fine restaurant at 1,140 ft elevation and only reachable by 2 cold gondola rides. They gave us warm blankets which helped a lot. They offer slippers for those who arrive in boots ( most do).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The gondola ride up and down the mountai ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The gondola ride up and down the mountain is almost worth the price. However, was very disappointed with the lunch. The chicken was bland and dry and the waiter did not refill our water glasses until halfway through the main course. We were celebrating my dad's birthday and all they could do was stick us as far away from the windows as possible and brought out a candle melted onto a plate for my dad to blow out. Not what I expected for that caliber of restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

This restaurant is perfect for a special ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This restaurant is perfect for a special night. We had the seven course dinner and the variety and the quality was top notch. One of the best dinners I have had in some time. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have not been in Colorado very long, b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have not been in Colorado very long, but this is just what I would have imagined Colorado dining at its finest would be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the view from the Gondola at su ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We loved the view from the Gondola at sunset as we rode up to the restaurant and the blankets were appreciated because it was quite cold. The ambiance was cozy and comfortable plus the slippers were a nice touch for relaxation. Our group was 4 persons so regretfully we could not sit near the fireplace since all the nearby tables were for parties of only 2. The wine list was fantastic and we all enjoyed our meals. Our wait staff was excellent and we were impressed with the personalized souvenir in our menus. We hope to visit again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Even with a res and tables open we were ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Even with a res and tables open we were made to wait to be seated. We soon learned why. Once we were seated I had to ask for a waiter to be sent to our table. The hot buttered rum I ordered was Luke warm? We were plied with bread baskets while waited for our food. The entrees took over an hour to come out. The appetizer, entree and dessert servings were small. The carrot cake was dry and tasteless. The NY cheesecake looked like it had been dropped on the floor. We received a generous discount on our meal as a result of all this.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been coming here the last three ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been coming here the last three years usually for lunch or brunch. We came here for lunch twice while skiing at Keystone. The food was excellent, but the service has slipped. They are short on staff. On the second day our lunch took almost two hours. This would be fine if we were not skiing. The staff they have are excellent. We had Vince and Andrew as our waiters. They need to find more staff. Two hours is too long.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We have dined at the highest elevation 4 ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have dined at the highest elevation 4 star restaurant Alpenglow Stube several times while on numerous ski vacations in Keystone, Colorado over the years. The menu is always superb and the ambiance is one of a kind dining after not one, but two gondola rides up to the top of the mountain. Our evening did not disappoint until 2 hours into our experience when our excellent waiter informed us that the prevailing winds had reached almost 50 mph and we could not ride down on the gondolas until subsiding. We were given a deck of cards and calmly waited with other dining room guests another hour until it was safe to depart. Somewhat nerve racking to say the least. Therefore, if the opportunity arises to dine at this outstanding restaurant, be sure to check the forecast because there is only one way up and one way down from the Alpenglow Stube! Enjoy!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating our 31 year annivers ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We were celebrating our 31 year anniversary with family and while we were dining the gondolas had to shut down due to high winds. Our waiter was fantastic at keeping us up to date and really if you want to be stranded somewhere I cannot think of a better place. We had comfy warm slippers on, had just eaten a fantastic meal, and a comforting fire was going in the fireplace. They made sure it was safe before we all were able to go back down and it was truly an experience I will always remember!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very cold commute to the restaurant via ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very cold commute to the restaurant via two gondola lifts. Dress very warm for the ride and recommend taking the lifts at sunset. Heavy coats and boots - the restaurant provides slippers at the coat chk after you arrive.

Ask the wait staff for their recommendation - they are right on with their suggestions for both food and wine.

After a short delay after seating the manager and staff were very gracious and provided champaign to make it up to us.

Overall a wonderful dinner and locale!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of a kind experience. I could never ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of a kind experience. I could never in any way replace my son's birthday celebration. Great service, EXCELLENT FOOD, marvelous experience.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch with great ambiance. We ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent lunch with great ambiance. We dine at this unique mountaintop high-end restaurant a few times each year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful mountaintop gourmet dining fac ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful mountaintop gourmet dining facility accessible by gondola only. The short but creative fixed-price menu offers a broad variety of appetizer, entree and dessert choices. With the cozy dining room, stunning location and attentive service, our meal at the Alpenglow Stube was the highlight of our quick foray to Keystone for a day's skiing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent meal, excellent meal with exce ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent meal, excellent meal with excellent service in the most beautiful setting.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is atthe top of a mounta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This restaurant is atthe top of a mountain. It takes two gondola's to get there. It is a great ride and once you ge the the food and atmosphere is well worth it. Great food and ambience and a very fun ride.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome views, great staff from the hat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome views, great staff from the hat check staff to the waiter. Food was great, service was exceptional. Overall experience was just fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It offers great ambiance at the top of t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It offers great ambiance at the top of the mountain requiring a gondola ride to get there. It is very warm, cozy and they provide slippers. The food is excellent; ordering from a set menu with six or seven courses or a la carte making your own choices. They were very attentive to our family, bringing out food early for our toddler. The food was presented beautifully. We have been several times, never disappointed.

Tags: Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent lunch! Loved checki ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had an excellent lunch! Loved checking in and receiving slippers and kind service. Service and food were amazing. We would highly recommend a visit while in keystone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great! Our waiter wasn't that awesome bu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great! Our waiter wasn't that awesome but otherwise the food was amazing!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We were here on Christmas Day and it was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were here on Christmas Day and it was wonderful! The food and service was first class. The lifts stopped running due to weather and we ended up stranded for 4.5 hours. Our waiter, the manager and rest of the staff did a great job keeping up updated. They even got out games and offered complimentary drinks! I would highly recommend Aplenglow Stube.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My mom and I went there for Christmas Da ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My mom and I went there for Christmas Day Brunch and it was fantastic! Our server Andrew was very well informed, polished, and friendly. It was a very yummy meal and the service from everyone was great. If you have questions on the food the Chefs are available to ask questions to. It is well worth the trip up both of the gondolas to get to the restaurant. It is expensive but it is worth it for the level of food and experience you receive.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had several lovely dining experi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have had several lovely dining experiences here, and the restaurant is highly rated for good reason. This time - while the service and atmosphere remain stellar - the meal was an utter disappointment. Out of 7 people, only one person enjoyed their main course. The meals were served cool (clearly been sitting under a heat lamp), overcooked, dried out with no flavor. I have had a better steak at Golden Corral. Everyone has an off night or an off meal, but when you are paying $100+ per person for a special occasion (Xmas eve), and there are only 4 entrees to choose from and it is not busy as seatings are limited, it is tragic for almost everyone to a person in your party to be dissatisfied. After 5 years in a row, we will make another choice next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Our dinner was amazing! The whole experi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our dinner was amazing! The whole experience was fantastic thanks to the wonderful staff. Mike the bartender made us great drinks beforehand and Steve our server took such good care of us for our meal. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance proposed to me on our two-year ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My fiance proposed to me on our two-year anniversary at your restaurant. The quality of your staff as well as the food was impeccable. We truly felt so at home, and it was great to have all of the employees in on the surprise. Eating at your fine establishment was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. We can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Alpenglow a number o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have been to the Alpenglow a number of times. The most recent was a let-down.

The Pheasant dish was extremely dry (not edible), and the other dishes were just okay.

Usually the food is excellent, but not this time. The service wasn't quite up to the Stube standards either.

We had people from out of town, and took them there for a Christmas present. We were pretty embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

What a wonderful dining experience with ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience with wonderful service, a wonderful dinner with a wonderful ambiance. What more can you ask for !!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful except food for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Everything was wonderful except food for two of the courses was only luke warm, not what you would expect in such a restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stube is an experience not to be mis ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Stube is an experience not to be missed when you are in Keystone or Summit County, Colorado. Some of the best dinners I have ever had have been at this place. The food, service, and ambiance are to die for. Not to mention the WINE LIST!!! The only downside is the price, but you get what you pay for and this will be a memorable experience for you, I promise! You take two gondola rides to get to this place, so dress warm and allow plenty of time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first time here together as adults! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our first time here together as adults! Celebrating being in love in a place that is close to our hearts! The evening was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the worst food experiences I have ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the worst food experiences I have had in years. Some of the preparations are strange to say the least and they don't seem to understand how to cook meat to the ordered temperature. May need to replace the chef to get better. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Outstanding meal as always! Fantastic st ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding meal as always! Fantastic staff! Always a treat when we are in keystone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant by far when we'r ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our favorite restaurant by far when we're in the area. The service is wonderful, the presentation superb. The food is beyond compare. The ride up to the restaurant is very romantic. Don't wait for a special occasion.......this is the special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant/experie ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything about this restaurant/experience was superb except that our waiter seemed to be very misleading when describing food portions. We felt the need to order at least three courses and he suggested four due to the individual sizes that they serve. However, when our food arrived, the portions were certainly not skimpy and we went away with far too full tummies and food left over. This is not the kind of restaurant I like to take left overs home from. (Gondola ride, bus ride, walk and then drive home )

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food in great mountain setting ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food in great mountain setting. Our server was very knowledgeable, and worked with one of the members of our party who has serious food allergies. Kind, well-informed and efficient. We had a great time, and said we are going to try to get there more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again, we so enjoyed our evening me ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Once again, we so enjoyed our evening meal at Alpenglo Stube. The gondola ride, the warm greeting, fire in the fireplace, wonderful, knowledgeable service by Chris, and the food were impeccable! The beautiful presentation of the food only enhanced the enjoyment of the taste of the food. We brought another couple with us who had never been to Alpenglo. They were just as pleased and impressed with the experience as we have always been. Thank you Alpenglo Stube. We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience, bottom to top (and b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome experience, bottom to top (and back down to the bottom again on the Gondola)!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience! Service was impec ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Phenomenal experience! Service was impeccable and food was amazing! Overall it is a MUST! Loved everything about it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Would have liked to have a better view. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Would have liked to have a better view. Being on a mountain top and not very many widows to enjoy view was very disappointing. Menu could have been better. Did not care for the menu selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We were disappointed with the service an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were disappointed with the service and our food. The waitress forgot our salads, & they did not have the wine on the menu, additionally-our food was over cooked (dry). The dessert, chocolate mousse, was straight out of the refrigerator and not fresh at all. The prices were way expensive, for the level of quality.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.