About Alpenglow Stube

The highest AAA Four-Diamond™ dining experience in North America. Enjoy breathtaking views while traveling in enclosed comfort aboard two gondolas to the top of the North Peak® at 11,444 feet. Award-winning chefs create delicious contemporary cuisine with a Bavarian accent to complement this unique, secluded setting. Arguably the best dinner in the ski industry.

Top of North Peak Mtn
Keystone, CO 80435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Sundays at 10:30am
Lunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Thursday - Saturday
Dinner: Summer: Thursday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm Winter: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 6

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 496-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+Alpenglow+Stube.axd

Parking Details:
DIRECTIONS TO THE ALPENGLOW STUBE
Drive through Keystone Resort and turn right onto East Keystone Road (River Run Village Sign). Turn left onto Gondola Road. Turn right into "Montezuma Free Parking Lot" and park. Walk through the center of River Run Village toward the base of the mountain. Check in at the Mountain Service Center. Board the River Run Gondola. Exit the River Run Gondola and walk across the summit to board the Outpost Gondola. Enjoy a 20 minute ride to North Peak.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCarthy

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alpenglow Stube Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Scenic View (39)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Fireplace (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed Sunday brunch here. Superb experience especially for those who don't ski or haven't been on the mountain. The ride on the gondola is a unique experience and a lot of fun. The restaurant has a great charm to it and the buffet was fantastic. Lots of fresh seafood and delicious crab claws. The lamb shank hash was delicious. The dessert spread was scrumptious, especially the apple pie and the flourless chocolate tart. Highly recommended for brunch. A special thanks to Sam our server who took great care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here for brunch while on our honeymoon. Romantic, fun, and absolutely delicious! Best service I've had in a long time, and a great value for the meal we had ($35 for fancy three course lunch). We'll definitely be back when we're at Keystone again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Overpriced, mediocre food, mediocre service. Would not recommend nor will ever again go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was an amazing experience. My five friends and I were in Colorado for Spring Break and chose this spot as a celebratory dinner for our trip. We were treated like queens and had an amazing time getting dressed up for the night and having amazing food with an amazing experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very nice place way beyond of my expectations!!! Definitely taking the adventure to go back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been coming to this restaurant for 5 years! It's romantic and the gondola experience is icing on the cake. The food is spectacular and the pre-dinner drink with Mike (the bartender) is a treat!! Worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic restaurant right on the slopes. Great to take off the ski boots, boot on slippers and have a great lunch in a wonderful setting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Some of our food was really good while other items were only average. Service was very slow. Not really too expensive considering the price of food in the regular portion of the lodge. Very courteous staff.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were in town for four nights with our daughter and her fiancé. The dinner was awesome and we had a wonderful time. The staff was unbelievable. Our server, Natalie, was outstanding. We hope to return soon our next ski trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great atmosphere, definitely have a drink by the fire!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food and service were top notch. Sommelier made a great recommendation for a value priced wine - did not try to oversell once he know our price point. Very nice atmosphere, good noise level and music can be heard. A number of seats near the far wall have a less than stellar view down a back hallway into the back room of the kitchen where there is no door or it is always open.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is a one of a kind experience at the top of Keystone Mountain. The two
gondola rides there make it a mystery ride at night. but when you finally arrive,
WOW! You trade your shoes for cozy warm slippers, have a cocktail at the
intimate bar, then sit down to an award winning dinner prepared by great
chefs. The menu variety includes beef, fish duck, lamb, etc., all prepared
perfectly and hot when it arrives at the table. The staff was friendly and
helpful with food and drink choices. It isn't cheap, but it is worth every cent
and then some. I highly recommend for a quiet, romantic evening that is
a complete dining and sensual experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always a memorable experience. The setting, the food. We went for Sunday brunch in Feb, right off the ski slope. Great way to enjoy a lovely meal and warm cocktail in a unique setting.Views of the Summit County peaks all around. Felt like we were in Europe, always does! The brunch buffet is PLENTIFUL. Cheeses, salads, shrimp, oysters as big and full as your fist! Dessert area was impeccable too; tarts, cheesecake, flourless torte, apple streudel. Pace yourself if you go for the entree in addition.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I go back here every year for the ambiance, view, and yummy buffet. This year there were more vegetarian dishes, thank you! It would be great to have a vegan dish on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is a special place for a special occasion. It is very fun and romantic taking the Gondola up and down after dinner. All service persons were top notch as was the food. It is expensive but for a different experience it's all worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Simply amazing. Went for brunch after a long morning of skiing, and we had a blast. Started with amazing cocktails at the bar, followed by a creative menu and buffet. They have an amazing wine list. Plus, the plush slippers that they give you in place of your ski boots are divine. If you are at Keystone, and want a fancier, sit down, comfortable lunch, this is the place to be. If you are not a skier/snowboarder, you can still access the restaurant via 2 gondola's which makes the experience even better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our second time at the Alpenglow Stube. Our family had a lovely experience. Our waiter was great and the food was incredible. We had very high expectations given our first experience ~10 years ago, the Alpenglow Stube exceeded our expectations yet again.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a wonderful time celebrating my 50th birthday at Alpenglobe Stube. The food and service were both outstanding. Brooks and his team know how to take care of his guests. It was a memorable experience and will come back again when I'm in Keystone!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

beautiful scenery , awesome trip to get there, awesome service, food was good, tad bit pricey for what you got . but a very nice experience !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 17, 2017

An excellent meal (as always). The Maitre D was incredibly knowledgeable about wines - made some excellent recommendations. Yes, its quite pricey - but its a wonderful evening experience that you simply cannot get anywhere else.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Absolutely one of the finest mountain dining experiences one can have. Everyone at the restaurant makes it a point to see that you have a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Another awesome night at The Stube!
Thank you for making it Perfect "again".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there for dinner on Valentines day with our two grandsons. We did enjoy the rides on the gondolas to reach the restaurant.
I was not impressed by the food. I ordered the sea bass and all I could taste was the oil it was sauteed in, and I believe it was frozen fish.
We will not be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for my husband's 60th birthday. Everything was perfect. I especially enjoyed how attentive and friendly the staff was.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch was over the top with a beautiful view!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Go. You'll love it. Special touches all evening. We took our 10 and 7 year old and they were impressed too.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and ambiance are outstanding. Scenic views, unique gondola rides to get there. Selections are gourmet and small. Very pricey but appropriate for the location.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall our dining experience was great, amazing views, superb service and excellent foodfare.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our waiter Jeff was outstanding and the environment second to none. The food was below average for the value we expected: too salty, too fatty, luck warm, under cooked, etc...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had the seven course meal for the two of us. The service and food were excellent and well presented, but high-priced. The atmosphere was very Mountainy, but not as romantic as I hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My potato leek soup was outstanding. My encrusted chicken was quite delicious. Unfortunately, the cheese cake was not to my liking. My friend ordered the shrimp appetizer and the presentation was wonderful but her 2 shrimp were soft and mushy. Her flank steak was done to perfection. She too felt the cheese cake was gelatinous.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The Alpenglow continues to be an outstanding restaurant at the highest point in Colorado. The 2 gondola ride to the restaurant paired with the great food and service is definitely worth the price. We take advantage of this restaurant every time we visit Keystone in Colorado. My lobster appetizer was beyond compare and I spoke with the Chef about its preparation and he provided me with his recipe.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My husband and I made reservations for lunch. This was our first time at this restaurant and had high expectations after reading the reviews. It's nice that the gondola rides are complimentary with reservations, which would otherwise be $30/pp without reservations. The scenery on the gondolas was beautiful. When we got to the restaurant, the hostess wasn't very warm or inviting. However, our server was very friendly and attentive. We chose to get the 3 course lunch. For the appetizer, we got the chili with the jalapeño cheddar corn bread. It was delicious! We had the burger for the entree and the bun was SO dry that we couldn't eat it. The portions were large so we asked to get our desserts, cheesecake, to go. We ate this later at our hotel but it was also very disappointing as it wasn't even traditional cheesecake. It was a blob of white chocolate on the bottom, chunks of cream cheese and graham cracker dust all over. It looked awful and didn't taste any better. We spent $100 for both of us, including the tip. Unfortunately, this restaurant was definitely not 4 diamond quality and we were very disappointed with our overall experience. For the price, we did not get what we paid for and will not be going back.

Positives: Service, chili appetizer, gondola ride, food portions, atmosphere

Negatives: Overall quality of the food- burger entree and cheesecake dessert, value/price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Custom menu every night form award winning chefs. Seven course meal changes nightly supplemented by amazing Ala-Carte options. Perfect for special occasions! Dining experience begins and ends with romantic gondola ride to the top of the mountain.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I visit keystone every year for vacation and love Alpenglow stube. This year I took my life long friends and had a great time with good food wine and laughs. I have made it a staple. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Exceptional service and overall great tasting food. The food was great but lacked temperature it seemed rather cold we had a party of 10 and every plate was cold it seemed like they sat for a while before being brought to the table. Other than that the service was great and the taste of the food was great .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great time. 3rd course came out of order, but our server was very apologetic and quick to fix the issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It's is a gorgeous restaurant high in the Mountains. Food was very good, but the service could have been better. The hostess was the absolute best and I wish we had her for our server. It's definitely a trek, but it's definitely a bucket list item. The available wines and creative drinks were inspiring and welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was fantastic and we loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It is a unique setting to have a fine restaurant at 1,140 ft elevation and only reachable by 2 cold gondola rides. They gave us warm blankets which helped a lot. They offer slippers for those who arrive in boots ( most do).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.