About Alpenglow Stube

Top of North Peak Mtn
Keystone, CO 80435
View Larger Map

The highest AAA Four-Diamond™ dining experience in North America. Enjoy breathtaking views while traveling in enclosed comfort aboard two gondolas to the top of the North Peak® at 11,444 feet. Award-winning chefs create delicious contemporary cuisine with a Bavarian accent to complement this unique, secluded setting. Arguably the best dinner in the ski industry.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Sundays at 10:30am
Lunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Thursday - Saturday
Dinner: Summer: Thursday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm Winter: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 6

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 496-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+Alpenglow+Stube.axd

Parking Details:
DIRECTIONS TO THE ALPENGLOW STUBE
Drive through Keystone Resort and turn right onto East Keystone Road (River Run Village Sign). Turn left onto Gondola Road. Turn right into "Montezuma Free Parking Lot" and park. Walk through the center of River Run Village toward the base of the mountain. Check in at the Mountain Service Center. Board the River Run Gondola. Exit the River Run Gondola and walk across the summit to board the Outpost Gondola. Enjoy a 20 minute ride to North Peak.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCarthy

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alpenglow Stube Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Mountains
Scenic View
Mountains
Special Occasion
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Keystone ›

scenic view (25)
special occasion (24)
romantic (19)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
notable wine list (10)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (3)
good for groups (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friends recommended the restaurant and s ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Friends recommended the restaurant and since they are massive foodies and love good wine, we decided to check the place out. Every single minute of the whole dinner experience was just nothing but wonderful memories. The Gondola ride was romantic, fun and a wonderful experience; how many restaurants require you to take 2 gondola rides to get to it and then go back down on the 2 gondola rides again? Anyway, we started out with drinks and having a great time chatting with the ever so friendly and accommodating bartender, Mike (I hope i got his name right). He even helped get me bread to munch on because I was positively starving. Our server, Natalia was the best; recommended the Elk and Crab for our starters which were phenomenal and then the banana custard dessert, wow! And Brooks, the sommelier was just the best. He arranged the best table in the house for us (thank you so very much), and then recommended the best bottle (pretty pricey, but a very very good bottle). We went with his recommendation to definitely order the special chilean seabass fish main course and the lamb. All I have to say is...YUMMYLICIOUS! Oh, we will so definitely be back for sure. But only to celebrate a special occasion. This place is not cheap, but definitely worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great evening. We enjoyed ever ...

Dined 3 days ago

It was a great evening. We enjoyed everything about the evening. We look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Had been to ski tip lodge for dining twi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had been to ski tip lodge for dining twice and it was best food experience of any restaurant I have eaten, so my expectation was high. 5 out of 6 in our party had the filet. It was wood grilled. The wood taste was so strong it overpowered the taste of the meat. Tasted more like pork than fillet. It you are looking for great food experience then go to Ski Tip Lodge instead.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and seating was wonderful . ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The service and seating was wonderful . The food was prepared perfectly and the presentation of the desert was something original and captivating . It was a wonderful dining experience .

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good times

Dined on June 11, 2016

Have not eaten here I several years. Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was incredible fr ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The overall experience was incredible from the food to the views!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular

Dined on March 20, 2016

I was very pleased with the service, the knowledge of the wait staff and the overall light hearted ambiance of the restaurant. For being such a nice place it's comforting to not stand out wearing snow pants and a t shirt. The food was excellent, almost everything I ate was something I'd never tried before. Very impressed. 10 out of 10, would do it again for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

love the slippers

Dined on March 18, 2016

I was disappointed by the food and service that day. The staff took in some walk ins. and that hurt our food and service. I hope to give it one more shot the next trip we go on, because i love the idea of stopping for a nice lunch and taking your boots off mid day to eat before hitting the slopes again.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner!

Dined on March 18, 2016

We wanted to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary somewhere special while vacationing in Summit County. Read many reviews and decided on Alpenglow Stube. We had a fantastic experience - one to remember for many years. The gondola ride up to the restaurant was wonderful, even though our reservations were for 830, we still enjoyed some spectacular views. Wait staff was beyond excellent. We enjoyed every minute of our experience and would love to come back next time we're in the area. Thank you for making our anniversary special in many ways.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We were so thrilled to find such a special place for exquisite food and exceptional service. The breathtaking gondola ride that delivers you there escalates the entire experience. Our dinner was so great that we went back the very next day for brunch. We would highly recommend doing BOTH!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great experience all around. From the ride up with a blanket to the menu customization to our server and the food itself.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food and service. Absolutely wo ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing food and service. Absolutely worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth Every Penny

Dined on March 5, 2016

Service was phenomenal! The food was amazing! The blue crab appetizer was my favorite! When making my reservation, I told them we were coming for my boyfriend’s birthday. All the staff wished him a happy birthday and they gave him a wood ornament to celebrate the occasion. On the gondola ride up and down from the mountain they provided blankets to keep warm, and at the top the restaurant offered slippers to keep our feet warm and cozy during our meal. Definitely worth the money for the overall experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Was better 5 years ago

Dined on March 4, 2016

Every time we ski Keystone we treat ourselves to lunch here. Not up to par this time

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Special Occasion Dinner

Dined on March 4, 2016

We were very impressed with Alpenglow Stube. For a mountain-top, fancy restaurant, the prices were very reasonable and frankly less than expected. The food was top notch and easily beat most other high-end restaurants i've had recently. The atmosphere was welcoming including nice touches with warmed sandals and a personalized menu with the party's name. It was an excellent experience for the Girlfriend and myself and I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our time. Ambience was great. Th ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Enjoyed our time. Ambience was great. The service was exemplary.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Almost out of this world!

Dined on March 4, 2016

The entire experience is what you are looking for when you dine here. The gondola rides are wonderful and the dining experience is most unique. Service is excellent. Food is good and is just one part of the total package.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch Buffet was very light on selection.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Not at all impressed with the meager Buffet selections. We did order six Entries and they were good to excellent. Eggs for the Benedicts were almost hard boiled and very light on the sauce. Banana Pancakes were excellent. Drinks were very slow in coming, it took more than 15 minutes to get a simple Bourbon on the rocks. We couldn't get an earlier reservation like we wanted but the restaurant was mostly empty when we arrived.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Nice ambiance but . . .

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great location and a must at least one time but Service was spotty and food was OK. Server forgot some items and had to be reminded on several occasions. When we finally got a server to take our order we asked if we could have some bread at the table and was told we would have to wait until he was done - not very appropriate for the expected service. Appetizers were brought out at different times so that when my wife finished hers the others came out. Main courses - some seemed luke warm - suspect they waited on the pass line while other mains were cooked. Server didn't even ask if we wanted any coffee or after dinner drinks. All in all - a less than expected outcome

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Just wow!

Dined on February 21, 2016

What an experience! You reach the top of a mountain by gondola ride. Breathe taking views! Very rich atmosphere and romantic place yet it was comfortable casual place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful location and great food.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Beautiful location and great food.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Great service / food average

Dined on February 20, 2016

I felt the service was very good, however the food was very average. This is a 4 star restaurant that has won many awards. Our steaks were ordered medium and they were more on the well side and just not alot of flavor. The ride in the gondola was our favorite part!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat!!!!!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Stellar Service, delicious food, terrific atmosphere. Can't say enough good things about this high-above-all gem. Lamb was unbelievable....so too were the steaks. Fabulous wine list and a bar tender that is the BEST. Great gem in Keystone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on February 19, 2016

We thought this would've been a great place to dine. Far from it. We had a table of 5 people. Nobody liked anything that was ordered. Very over priced. Wouldn't mind spending the money if the food was worth it, but not even close. Do not recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a place to be stranded!

Dined on February 18, 2016

My sister and I had lunch here last week. The view from the two gondola rides is spectacular. Such a unique way to go to lunch. Food was delicious as was the wine. Service, during lunch was perfect. But the attention we got after lunch could not be surpassed. High winds shut down the gondolas. Since neither of us ski, the only way down was a snow cat ride and a chair lift ride. The snow cat took us way up above timberline with spectacular views. It was warm and cozy. The chairlift ride down was fun, especially for my sister who has never skied. I recommend that you visit this wonderful luncheon site. I hope you get stranded too!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service1

Service was very poor. It took two hours ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was very poor. It took two hours for us to be served. Both food and drinks took for ever. Over rated.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was an amazing experience We will ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was an amazing experience We will continue to come back

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Less than impressive food, but amazing venu

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was our second time eating at the Alpenglow Stube. While there is good service and an extensive wine list, we were underwhelmed by the meat preparation. We had elk loin and filet which were tougher than appropriate for the setting, we had a very fatty tuna in pink peppercorn dish that was not appropriately trimmed, and we had pheasant that was too dry. The butternut squash bisque was amazing and the arugula and mizuna salad was inspired. The sommelier directed us away from our original choice of wines for an admittedly difficult menu pairing to a Barolo that clashed with much of the meal. When we asked to purchase a glass of Chardonnay he did give us one on the house. It was quite a mixed experience, but in summary we will probably not be going back anytime soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

Manager was very nice, actually gave us their recipe for an item. The entire staff was very helpful and it was a pleasure to dine there. I would definitely go again, I recommend, for the lunch menu- Corn Chowder- appetizer, and the Chicken or Salmon- entree... delicious. O and I am extremely picky when going to restaurants with the service... this restaurant was top notch. Not to mention the view was 1 of a kind.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible hidden treasure

Dined on February 11, 2016

The menu is always changing, so you never have to worry about getting bored. The staff is excellent, very well trained, and pays great attention to detail. The atmosphere is virtually perfect for dining. You do NOT go to this restaurant to eat, you go here to DINE! I have never had a meal that didn't knock my socks off! (BTW, they give you fuzzy slippers when you get there, which tells you that they would like you to stay awhile and enjoy...) The only thing I would caution is the cost, which is typically $100-$150 per person. This is a special occasion kind of place....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Champagne brunch was wonderful!

Dined on February 7, 2016

The Champagne brunch was wonderful!

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Not reaching the promises at all

Dined on February 7, 2016

They tlalk more than delivering good food and service (sommelier is far from a pro)

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary. ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary. Fantastic as always. Perfect night with the perfect wife.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an amazing dinner!!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner. We don't normally take our kids to higher end restaurants because we don't feel like they appreciate them much, but we decided to splurge and go for the experience! We took two gondola rides to get there. Our reservation was for 5:30pm, which was the perfect time. Just as we got there, the sun started to set. It was such an amazing view and we got lucky because our table was right beside a window! We loved the personalized menu. It was such a nice touch. My boys thought this was really cool! We ordered the Elk loin and ragout blue crab appetizers, which were awesome. I was skeptical about ordering a crab in Colorado as we are from Maryland and I have typically found that Maryland seems to have the best crabs around. However, I would order these appetizers again in a heartbeat! For dinner, we chose the rack of lamb, duck and filet entrees. They were all amazing. I just cannot say enough good things about them. Even my boys thoroughly enjoyed their dinners. And the desserts were also amazing! After dinner, they gave us blankets for the ride back in the gondolas. We were so thankful to have those blankets as it can get quite cold on those rides in the evening. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, a little disappointed with staff

Dined on February 5, 2016

Amazing food! Everything we ate was absolutely fantastic. I ate the chef selected sample meal and I loved it. Even the bread was amazing. Our server seemed rehearsed and not that friendly. Didn't check on our table very often, bread was empty for a long time and we were out of water for a while. Hostess was polite but didn't give us any options for tables with good views even though the restaurant was nearly completely empty the whole time we were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brunch

Dined on January 31, 2016

We went for Brunch due to our schedule (and their limited days open), but would have preferred dinner. Worth it to get mimosa AND order from 1 of 6 items on menu, rather than just buffet. We took non-skier friends who were visiting and their favorite part was the 2 gondola rides! Great value as price included gondola for non-skiers without lift ticket. Waiter was very friendly but some aspects of service were delayed due to his involvement in setting up room for next day. Soup took long time to be served and waiter apologized for this.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb atmosphere and food

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Wonderful staff. Welcoming you with customized menus with your name on them was a classy touch. The food was outstanding (compliments to the chefs) and the wine list top rate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous fondue and mountain ambiance

Dined on January 29, 2016

We were delighted to find this great fondue and actually had lower expectations as we've previously only experienced great fondue in Europe. But the entire evening exceeded our expectations from the food and service to the ambiance and entertainment. Wonderful evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Location, Location, Location

Dined on January 24, 2016

This restaurant is not for the faint of heart. I mean this literally.. It is located at about 12K elevation and since I am a sea level dweller, I was slightly light headed. Having a cold did not help.. Having said this, I would recommend you put this on your bucket list since there are few restaurants that you have to take two consecutive gondola rides to get to while going up a mountainside. The views getting there are spectacular. My wife and I went in the evening with a full moon. The eerie reflection from the snow covered pine trees was fascinating. It was a cold and relatively long ride up so bundle up. They provide warm blankets, but the cold was pervasive. The enclosed gondolas are the same used by skiers, the only difference is you don't make a line. Your reservation gets you a private gondola ride once you check in. The food was gourmet quality and the prices reflect this. They have an extensive wine list and a full bar with of course, hot chocolate. This is a very romantic restaurant on a secluded mountain top. The dining room surrounds a large fireplace giving a warm (literally and figuratively) atmosphere to the dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience!

Dined on January 24, 2016

Been here several times and it never disappoints. Food, wine, ambiance, service, UGG slippers...and the list goes on. Fabulous evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.