About Alpenglow Stube

Top of North Peak Mtn
Keystone, CO 80435
View Larger Map

The highest AAA Four-Diamond™ dining experience in North America. Enjoy breathtaking views while traveling in enclosed comfort aboard two gondolas to the top of the North Peak® at 11,444 feet. Award-winning chefs create delicious contemporary cuisine with a Bavarian accent to complement this unique, secluded setting. Arguably the best dinner in the ski industry.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Sundays at 10:30am
Lunch: Summer: Closed. Winter: Thursday - Saturday
Dinner: Summer: Thursday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm Winter: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 6

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 496-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+Alpenglow+Stube.axd

Parking Details:
DIRECTIONS TO THE ALPENGLOW STUBE
Drive through Keystone Resort and turn right onto East Keystone Road (River Run Village Sign). Turn left onto Gondola Road. Turn right into "Montezuma Free Parking Lot" and park. Walk through the center of River Run Village toward the base of the mountain. Check in at the Mountain Service Center. Board the River Run Gondola. Exit the River Run Gondola and walk across the summit to board the Outpost Gondola. Enjoy a 20 minute ride to North Peak.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCarthy

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alpenglow Stube Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Fireplace (23)
See All
Romantic (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely one of the finest mountain di ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely one of the finest mountain dining experiences one can have. Everyone at the restaurant makes it a point to see that you have a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my husband's 60th birthday. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for my husband's 60th birthday. Everything was perfect. I especially enjoyed how attentive and friendly the staff was.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch was over the top with a be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sunday Brunch was over the top with a beautiful view!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Go. You'll love it. Special touches all ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Go. You'll love it. Special touches all evening. We took our 10 and 7 year old and they were impressed too.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance are outstanding. S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and ambiance are outstanding. Scenic views, unique gondola rides to get there. Selections are gourmet and small. Very pricey but appropriate for the location.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall our dining experience was great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall our dining experience was great, amazing views, superb service and excellent foodfare.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Jeff was outstanding and the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our waiter Jeff was outstanding and the environment second to none. The food was below average for the value we expected: too salty, too fatty, luck warm, under cooked, etc...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We had the seven course meal for the two ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had the seven course meal for the two of us. The service and food were excellent and well presented, but high-priced. The atmosphere was very Mountainy, but not as romantic as I hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

My potato leek soup was outstanding. My ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My potato leek soup was outstanding. My encrusted chicken was quite delicious. Unfortunately, the cheese cake was not to my liking. My friend ordered the shrimp appetizer and the presentation was wonderful but her 2 shrimp were soft and mushy. Her flank steak was done to perfection. She too felt the cheese cake was gelatinous.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The Alpenglow continues to be an outstan ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The Alpenglow continues to be an outstanding restaurant at the highest point in Colorado. The 2 gondola ride to the restaurant paired with the great food and service is definitely worth the price. We take advantage of this restaurant every time we visit Keystone in Colorado. My lobster appetizer was beyond compare and I spoke with the Chef about its preparation and he provided me with his recipe.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I made reservations for l ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My husband and I made reservations for lunch. This was our first time at this restaurant and had high expectations after reading the reviews. It's nice that the gondola rides are complimentary with reservations, which would otherwise be $30/pp without reservations. The scenery on the gondolas was beautiful. When we got to the restaurant, the hostess wasn't very warm or inviting. However, our server was very friendly and attentive. We chose to get the 3 course lunch. For the appetizer, we got the chili with the jalapeño cheddar corn bread. It was delicious! We had the burger for the entree and the bun was SO dry that we couldn't eat it. The portions were large so we asked to get our desserts, cheesecake, to go. We ate this later at our hotel but it was also very disappointing as it wasn't even traditional cheesecake. It was a blob of white chocolate on the bottom, chunks of cream cheese and graham cracker dust all over. It looked awful and didn't taste any better. We spent $100 for both of us, including the tip. Unfortunately, this restaurant was definitely not 4 diamond quality and we were very disappointed with our overall experience. For the price, we did not get what we paid for and will not be going back.

Positives: Service, chili appetizer, gondola ride, food portions, atmosphere

Negatives: Overall quality of the food- burger entree and cheesecake dessert, value/price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Custom menu every night form award winni ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Custom menu every night form award winning chefs. Seven course meal changes nightly supplemented by amazing Ala-Carte options. Perfect for special occasions! Dining experience begins and ends with romantic gondola ride to the top of the mountain.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visit keystone every year for vacation ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I visit keystone every year for vacation and love Alpenglow stube. This year I took my life long friends and had a great time with good food wine and laughs. I have made it a staple. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service and overall great ta ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Exceptional service and overall great tasting food. The food was great but lacked temperature it seemed rather cold we had a party of 10 and every plate was cold it seemed like they sat for a while before being brought to the table. Other than that the service was great and the taste of the food was great .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time. 3rd course came out ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great time. 3rd course came out of order, but our server was very apologetic and quick to fix the issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It's is a gorgeous restaurant high in th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It's is a gorgeous restaurant high in the Mountains. Food was very good, but the service could have been better. The hostess was the absolute best and I wish we had her for our server. It's definitely a trek, but it's definitely a bucket list item. The available wines and creative drinks were inspiring and welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was fantastic and we loved the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was fantastic and we loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a unique setting to have a fine re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It is a unique setting to have a fine restaurant at 1,140 ft elevation and only reachable by 2 cold gondola rides. They gave us warm blankets which helped a lot. They offer slippers for those who arrive in boots ( most do).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The gondola ride up and down the mountai ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The gondola ride up and down the mountain is almost worth the price. However, was very disappointed with the lunch. The chicken was bland and dry and the waiter did not refill our water glasses until halfway through the main course. We were celebrating my dad's birthday and all they could do was stick us as far away from the windows as possible and brought out a candle melted onto a plate for my dad to blow out. Not what I expected for that caliber of restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

This restaurant is perfect for a special ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This restaurant is perfect for a special night. We had the seven course dinner and the variety and the quality was top notch. One of the best dinners I have had in some time. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have not been in Colorado very long, b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have not been in Colorado very long, but this is just what I would have imagined Colorado dining at its finest would be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the view from the Gondola at su ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We loved the view from the Gondola at sunset as we rode up to the restaurant and the blankets were appreciated because it was quite cold. The ambiance was cozy and comfortable plus the slippers were a nice touch for relaxation. Our group was 4 persons so regretfully we could not sit near the fireplace since all the nearby tables were for parties of only 2. The wine list was fantastic and we all enjoyed our meals. Our wait staff was excellent and we were impressed with the personalized souvenir in our menus. We hope to visit again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Even with a res and tables open we were ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Even with a res and tables open we were made to wait to be seated. We soon learned why. Once we were seated I had to ask for a waiter to be sent to our table. The hot buttered rum I ordered was Luke warm? We were plied with bread baskets while waited for our food. The entrees took over an hour to come out. The appetizer, entree and dessert servings were small. The carrot cake was dry and tasteless. The NY cheesecake looked like it had been dropped on the floor. We received a generous discount on our meal as a result of all this.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been coming here the last three ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been coming here the last three years usually for lunch or brunch. We came here for lunch twice while skiing at Keystone. The food was excellent, but the service has slipped. They are short on staff. On the second day our lunch took almost two hours. This would be fine if we were not skiing. The staff they have are excellent. We had Vince and Andrew as our waiters. They need to find more staff. Two hours is too long.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We have dined at the highest elevation 4 ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have dined at the highest elevation 4 star restaurant Alpenglow Stube several times while on numerous ski vacations in Keystone, Colorado over the years. The menu is always superb and the ambiance is one of a kind dining after not one, but two gondola rides up to the top of the mountain. Our evening did not disappoint until 2 hours into our experience when our excellent waiter informed us that the prevailing winds had reached almost 50 mph and we could not ride down on the gondolas until subsiding. We were given a deck of cards and calmly waited with other dining room guests another hour until it was safe to depart. Somewhat nerve racking to say the least. Therefore, if the opportunity arises to dine at this outstanding restaurant, be sure to check the forecast because there is only one way up and one way down from the Alpenglow Stube! Enjoy!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating our 31 year annivers ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We were celebrating our 31 year anniversary with family and while we were dining the gondolas had to shut down due to high winds. Our waiter was fantastic at keeping us up to date and really if you want to be stranded somewhere I cannot think of a better place. We had comfy warm slippers on, had just eaten a fantastic meal, and a comforting fire was going in the fireplace. They made sure it was safe before we all were able to go back down and it was truly an experience I will always remember!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very cold commute to the restaurant via ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very cold commute to the restaurant via two gondola lifts. Dress very warm for the ride and recommend taking the lifts at sunset. Heavy coats and boots - the restaurant provides slippers at the coat chk after you arrive.

Ask the wait staff for their recommendation - they are right on with their suggestions for both food and wine.

After a short delay after seating the manager and staff were very gracious and provided champaign to make it up to us.

Overall a wonderful dinner and locale!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of a kind experience. I could never ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of a kind experience. I could never in any way replace my son's birthday celebration. Great service, EXCELLENT FOOD, marvelous experience.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch with great ambiance. We ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent lunch with great ambiance. We dine at this unique mountaintop high-end restaurant a few times each year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful mountaintop gourmet dining fac ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful mountaintop gourmet dining facility accessible by gondola only. The short but creative fixed-price menu offers a broad variety of appetizer, entree and dessert choices. With the cozy dining room, stunning location and attentive service, our meal at the Alpenglow Stube was the highlight of our quick foray to Keystone for a day's skiing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent meal, excellent meal with exce ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent meal, excellent meal with excellent service in the most beautiful setting.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is atthe top of a mounta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This restaurant is atthe top of a mountain. It takes two gondola's to get there. It is a great ride and once you ge the the food and atmosphere is well worth it. Great food and ambience and a very fun ride.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome views, great staff from the hat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome views, great staff from the hat check staff to the waiter. Food was great, service was exceptional. Overall experience was just fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as always!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It offers great ambiance at the top of t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It offers great ambiance at the top of the mountain requiring a gondola ride to get there. It is very warm, cozy and they provide slippers. The food is excellent; ordering from a set menu with six or seven courses or a la carte making your own choices. They were very attentive to our family, bringing out food early for our toddler. The food was presented beautifully. We have been several times, never disappointed.

Tags: Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent lunch! Loved checki ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had an excellent lunch! Loved checking in and receiving slippers and kind service. Service and food were amazing. We would highly recommend a visit while in keystone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great! Our waiter wasn't that awesome bu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great! Our waiter wasn't that awesome but otherwise the food was amazing!

Tags: , Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We were here on Christmas Day and it was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were here on Christmas Day and it was wonderful! The food and service was first class. The lifts stopped running due to weather and we ended up stranded for 4.5 hours. Our waiter, the manager and rest of the staff did a great job keeping up updated. They even got out games and offered complimentary drinks! I would highly recommend Aplenglow Stube.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My mom and I went there for Christmas Da ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My mom and I went there for Christmas Day Brunch and it was fantastic! Our server Andrew was very well informed, polished, and friendly. It was a very yummy meal and the service from everyone was great. If you have questions on the food the Chefs are available to ask questions to. It is well worth the trip up both of the gondolas to get to the restaurant. It is expensive but it is worth it for the level of food and experience you receive.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.