About Almost Home Restaurant

17 W Franklin St
Greencastle, IN 46135
View Larger Map

Lovely restaurant and bar located on the town square specializing in Contemporary American cuisine in a historic setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 653-5788

Website:
http://almosthomerestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Gail Smith

Restaurant Photos

  • Black Bottom Banana Pie
  • Blackberry Pie Shooter
  • fish tacos
  • Grasshopper Pie
  • House Garden Salad
  • Crab Stuffed Catfish
  • Prime Rib
  • Apple Bacon Pork Loin
Black Bottom Banana Pie
Blackberry Pie Shooter
fish tacos
Grasshopper Pie
House Garden Salad
Crab Stuffed Catfish
Prime Rib
Apple Bacon Pork Loin

Almost Home Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Special Occasion (3)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
48 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent, but they did not hav ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent, but they did not have enough servers for the number of patrons.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

They were moderately busy with a couple ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

They were moderately busy with a couple of large groups, but a good number of empty tables too. Service was so slow, I nearly did something I have never done, walk out before my meal came. My server was most apologetic and took $20 off my bill which I greatly appreciated. I ordered a rib eye which was overcooked and tough, to the point where I couldn't eat about half of it. Didn't dare ask to have it redone. The place is highly rated and I suspect is a good place, but my experience was a total disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Really good stuff. Talapia was awesome a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really good stuff. Talapia was awesome as always. Friendly atmosphere. Out of towners but always take guest to Almost Home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was the star. Service was grea ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was the star. Service was great. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So-so experience

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We've visited this restaurant twice, and probably won't be back. I ordered the special, prime rib. Told the server that I like it rare to medium-rare. She said that they tend to cook to the rarer side, so I was really disappointed when it came out very medium, just pink on the inside. My husband ordered chicken breast and wanted it very well done. It was well cooked, but not the way he likes it. We went there before with another couple and they weren't impressed either. The bar servers were very sweet, but the food just wasn't up to what the bill came to. Hate to give negative reviews, but feel I need to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We loved Almost Home!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our first visit to Almost Home and we look forward to many more visits. We had good food in a really neat restaurant. Almost Home pays attention to details with attentive staff, good food at reasonable prices and desserts to die for. We will back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally got to try to dinner menu

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

After dining at Almost Home many times for lunch/brunch it was nice to try the e dinner menu. As with lunch, the food was very tasty with good portion sizes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and drink in Greencastle

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We stopped here on the way home from a long day of driving and were delighted to find a comfortable restaurant with an extensive menu and a full bar. The dining room was pleasant and our waitress was very accommodating. We plan to return and save room for the delicious baked goods offered as dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Not quite up to the price

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The "caesar" salads were not really ceasar salads. They were just lettuce with red onions and a dressing similar to a real dressing.

The house special rib eye was not of a high quality for the price.

The restaurant is a nifty place, but the food needs to come up a notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We loved almost home. It was in a beautiful building. Tin ceilings and brick walls gave it a charming look. The food was amazing and after we ate we went and listened to music at a bar connected to it. It was quiet and very romantic time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good as always service is great ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

very good as always service is great was very busy for valentine's day the staff stepped up and made this another very pleasant visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Upscale treat for a small town.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our past experiences here were better than our last. The steaks are top notch usually but on our last visit. The bar is set high and is usually met however. Most seats are enjoyable but try to avoid the table by the bar entrance. The noise level is higher and so is the foot traffic. This dampened my night as well. The environment is always nice and enjoyable. The staff is nice and professional. Unfortunately the overspray from an adjacent table being bussed came across our table as well. Our experience on Valentine weekend was not as enjoyable as it typically is. I will not hold it against them pending our next experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I 'll go back

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Beautiful ,friendly atmospher !

Prime rib fixed to perfection

New entree. Shrimp over rice noodles is excellent!

Good service

Pleasant, knowledgeable waitress

Definitely will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

BrazilShirley

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

Met old friends for a wonderful lunch at "Almost Home" This restaurant is OUTSTANDING! I have been there many times and am never disappointed. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Pleasant Surprise

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

This place was wonderful. The atmosphere, the small town setting, the service, the food and wow, the desserts! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food with generous portions!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Was visiting relatives in Greencastle and was looking for a place to have a nice relaxing dinner with my brothers. Saw your place on Bing maps and asked local relatives who recommended it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughters brought me here for the Fat ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

My daughters brought me here for the Father's Day Buffet, and it was great! The owner was outside on the sidewalk grilling ribs, brats, chicken and ribeye steaks, and my girls had smoked turkey sandwiches that they loved. Nice place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing French silk pie

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2015

We had an amazing lunch to celebrate an anniversary. There are really nice lunch specials. Highly recommend the turkey asparagus pita. Service was professional and attentive. Save room for dessert, it is fabulous! Quaint local restaurant worth the visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful evening.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We took another couple with us on Valentine's Day to Almost Home. We had a delicious meal and enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

on my top five list

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 26, 2015

I have been here several times always a good experience the food is very good, Apple wood pork loin is great service is always great separate dinning rooms plus lounge gives options to your mood or dinning atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoy dining at Almost Home and Swizzle ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Enjoy dining at Almost Home and Swizzle Stick . Food is great as is the service....... Local favorite. Decor for the holidays was outstanding .......absolutely beautiful !!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We have always had great food and servic ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 6, 2014

We have always had great food and service the last couple of years while our son has been a student at DePauw. We would only ask that more thought is put into the possibility of more kitchen help during the busy times of the year. When the restaurant is very busy we have observed that it takes quite a long time to receive our food even when we order simple dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

4th time there always a good choice nice ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

4th time there always a good choice nice place to have diner with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always good

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Our son always insists we eat dinner at Almost Home when we drop him off at nearby DePauw University. The staff is very attentive and the food is the best we have found in Greencastle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Hidden Gem in Greencastle!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

We've lived in western rural Indiana for years and didn't realize this restaurant was right under our nose. Nice fresh veggies and mixed crisp salad greens, good choice of entrees (beef, fish, pork) for everyone. Good wine list. Quiet, pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good atmosphere

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 10, 2014

I have had lunch here many times, this was am first for dinner. I ordered the stuffed shrimp and will nortorder it again. My baked potatoe was microwaved and was not cooked all the way. Fresh veggies were excel isn't. And the best part was dessert. I will try this restaurant again for the dessert and lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great dinner spot

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 26, 2014

The food and ambiance were wonderful! The only thing that kept me from giving Almost Home 5 stars across the board was the wait. We had a reservation and were seated within 10 minutes of our reservation time. But, we waited quite a while to order and then to get our food. Our waiter did not check back often. In fact, we retrieved the beverage pitchers from the stand nearby and refilled our own glasses. However, it was family weekend at DePauw and the restaurant was packed! So, I was glad we made reservations. We were happy to have the time to visit with our son, so the waiting wasn't terrible...but if we'd had another engagement, it could have been an issue. The noise level was also very high due to the crowds. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Big Change!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Food quite good. Appetizers excellent, Salads the same. Great desert {we split it} The attire for a restaurant was, in our opinion, unacceptable! Shorts on young men with tank tops showing tattoos everywhere, hairy armpits etc. NASTY! Our server was exceptionally good, even to the point of not recommending a certain cut of beef. For a small town restaurant it was impressive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Good service and food. Nice menu. Good wine selection.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We Liked it Better Before

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 18, 2014

We miss the Sunday brunch - that was really nice. The food now is ok, but not worth the price in our opinion. A lovely place but it needs some attention to detail. Get rid of the (one per customer) half teaspoon pks of butter. Ugh. Have the nightly special priced more like a special! My side of vegetables consisted of 3 green beans, 3 small pieces of squash, and 3 tiny broccolli florets. The baked potato was very small and very dry. The sirloin was tough - I know this isn't the most tender cut of beef, but things can be done to improve it. Sad to say we won't go back. Lovely restaurant with a lot of potential but lacking in a lot of ways

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Just Lovely

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

Lovely menu, location, atmosphere, interior, wine and cocktail list. Pricing just right for the quality and variety of of food they offer. Learned that Almost Home uses locally raised/grown meats and seasonal produce. A HUGE plus, in my book. Our server, Josh, was lovely, too!

Highly recommend Almost Home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2014

I have been to Almost Home for lunch with groups, big and small, and also in the evening with my husband. It is a very nice restaurant for any occasion. Always very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Different

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 8, 2014

Not sure if the busy night impacted service and food prep. Typically one of my favorite resturaunts. All of our steaks were significantly over cooked , wife's salmon dry, service extremely slow. Something has changed. Not what we had experienced in past visits.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

A good experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 25, 2014

This was our first visit to Almost Home, but it won't be our last. The atmosphere was very pleasing...almost like dinner in an old home. I mean old home in the very best way. Nice high metal stamped ceilings, comfortable furnishings, and decorations many provided by local artists and vendors. We went on a Friday evening with reservations, but on our arrival there were plenty of tables available. This is a college town and perhaps when summer is over it won't be as easy to "walk in". The food here is ample, flavorful, and appealing on the plate. I had apple bacon pork loin and it didn't disappoint. My wife enjoyed the espresso and spice rubbed filet which was very tender and tasty. Save room for desert.....

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Graduation Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2014

The restaurant was a wonderful place to celebrate our daughter's college graduation.

The service was excellent, the food was wonderful and the whole experience just added to our celebration!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Daughters Graduation Celebration

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 17, 2014

Family dinner for 6 to commemorate our daughters graduation from DePauw University. Even though it was the Sat night during graduation (very busy!), the personnel, food and service were fantastic. Prompt and attentive service, our food was served hot, on time and delicious. Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place in Greencastle!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 21, 2014

I've been here several times & have never had anything that wasn't delicious. This time I had the Almost Home Favorite which comes with 1/2 Sandwich, a small salad & a bowl of soup. The chicken salad on wheatberry bread was excellent. Moist chicken, delicately flavored & served on that yummy bread! I chose the lemon vinaigrette for the salad & cream of broccoli soup. Both were delicious. Service is very attentive & friendly. I love the comfortable, homey atmosphere & appreciate the well-spaced tables. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prime rib was very good in

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 12, 2014

Prime rib was very good in my top 10 good choice of entr'ee salads price average or a little above

yes I'll go back and take friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Home, almost.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 12, 2014

Things got off to a rocky start when we arrived and they announced that they do not service meals between 4 and 5 PM. I said that we had made a reservation through OpenTable for 4:00 and that changed everything! We could have the lunch menu and/or dessert. Our server seemed uncertain aobut some of the ingredients, but did go to the kitchen to get clarification. The food was flavorful, but everything came out cool, even the tomato soup (whcih we sent back to the kitchen to be heated). This is a much-needed restauant for Greencastle, so my hope is that they will up their game. We woudl like to go back and try their dinner menu. DePauw students and parents need this alternative!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.