Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.07mi

About Almost Home Restaurant

Lovely restaurant and bar located on the town square specializing in Contemporary American cuisine in a historic setting.

17 W Franklin St
Greencastle, IN 46135
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:


Monday-Saturday 11am-9pm
Sunday 11am-8pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 653-5788

Website:
http://almosthomerestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Gail Smith

Almost Home Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
See All
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Visit on Mother's Day was lovely. Anita was great, food was excellent. I love dining at Almost Home!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food and service are continuously great. Each time we go we find it equally good. Absolutely a good place to go to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant! They are friendly, attentive and polite! The food is always fantastic!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The whole experience was great. Looking forward to another tasting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great service, variety of food and desserts top rate.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Have been going here for years...love this place! It has 3 distinct personalities as part is the original tea room, then the addition of the middle section that I love with the exposed brick, has a more romantic aura to it & lastly, the Swizzle Stick bar, where you can sit at the bar & watch sports or listen to live music almost every night of the week...I consider Almost Home a local hot spot/gem/treasure in our small town.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lovely meal with excellent service. Coffee and drinks kept filled and our meals were excellent with plenty of food. Some take home boxes needed. Food was a bit slow coming out but it was worth wIting for. I'd recommend to a friend and loved the fries

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Almost Home is a tea house style restaurant and, as such, has tea featured but has good coffee and a wine selection.

In the past, we selected from the sandwich menu but this trip, we opted for salads. I had their signature harvest salad and it was quite good. My wife had a taco salad which was a special that day and not normally on the menu. She thought the meat was not adequately seasoned but we do like things on the picante side.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Most recently went to a Spanish theme wine dinner. These wine dinners are so much fun and very reasonably priced. The chef is excellent and very creative. The wines are always explained by the Sommelier. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A great experience & good food / service.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

AS always good food good service, A menu that anybody should find something they like

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was excellent, but they did not have enough servers for the number of patrons.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2016

They were moderately busy with a couple of large groups, but a good number of empty tables too. Service was so slow, I nearly did something I have never done, walk out before my meal came. My server was most apologetic and took $20 off my bill which I greatly appreciated. I ordered a rib eye which was overcooked and tough, to the point where I couldn't eat about half of it. Didn't dare ask to have it redone. The place is highly rated and I suspect is a good place, but my experience was a total disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really good stuff. Talapia was awesome as always. Friendly atmosphere. Out of towners but always take guest to Almost Home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was the star. Service was great. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We've visited this restaurant twice, and probably won't be back. I ordered the special, prime rib. Told the server that I like it rare to medium-rare. She said that they tend to cook to the rarer side, so I was really disappointed when it came out very medium, just pink on the inside. My husband ordered chicken breast and wanted it very well done. It was well cooked, but not the way he likes it. We went there before with another couple and they weren't impressed either. The bar servers were very sweet, but the food just wasn't up to what the bill came to. Hate to give negative reviews, but feel I need to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our first visit to Almost Home and we look forward to many more visits. We had good food in a really neat restaurant. Almost Home pays attention to details with attentive staff, good food at reasonable prices and desserts to die for. We will back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 6, 2016

After dining at Almost Home many times for lunch/brunch it was nice to try the e dinner menu. As with lunch, the food was very tasty with good portion sizes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2016

We stopped here on the way home from a long day of driving and were delighted to find a comfortable restaurant with an extensive menu and a full bar. The dining room was pleasant and our waitress was very accommodating. We plan to return and save room for the delicious baked goods offered as dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Disappointed overall. We waited about 20 minutes just to get a drink order. There were a lot of attractive-looking items on the menu, but when I asked the waiter what he recommended, he said, "Our burgers are fantastic." So I ordered the burger, with high expectations. It finally arrived, and it was incredibly ... ordinary. Maybe I was there on an off day with a server who was not very educated on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2016

The "caesar" salads were not really ceasar salads. They were just lettuce with red onions and a dressing similar to a real dressing.
The house special rib eye was not of a high quality for the price.
The restaurant is a nifty place, but the food needs to come up a notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2016

We loved almost home. It was in a beautiful building. Tin ceilings and brick walls gave it a charming look. The food was amazing and after we ate we went and listened to music at a bar connected to it. It was quiet and very romantic time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2016

very good as always service is great was very busy for valentine's day the staff stepped up and made this another very pleasant visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our past experiences here were better than our last. The steaks are top notch usually but on our last visit. The bar is set high and is usually met however. Most seats are enjoyable but try to avoid the table by the bar entrance. The noise level is higher and so is the foot traffic. This dampened my night as well. The environment is always nice and enjoyable. The staff is nice and professional. Unfortunately the overspray from an adjacent table being bussed came across our table as well. Our experience on Valentine weekend was not as enjoyable as it typically is. I will not hold it against them pending our next experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Beautiful ,friendly atmospher !
Prime rib fixed to perfection
New entree. Shrimp over rice noodles is excellent!
Good service
Pleasant, knowledgeable waitress

Definitely will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2015

Met old friends for a wonderful lunch at "Almost Home" This restaurant is OUTSTANDING! I have been there many times and am never disappointed. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 26, 2015

This place was wonderful. The atmosphere, the small town setting, the service, the food and wow, the desserts! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 27, 2015

Was visiting relatives in Greencastle and was looking for a place to have a nice relaxing dinner with my brothers. Saw your place on Bing maps and asked local relatives who recommended it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 21, 2015

My daughters brought me here for the Father's Day Buffet, and it was great! The owner was outside on the sidewalk grilling ribs, brats, chicken and ribeye steaks, and my girls had smoked turkey sandwiches that they loved. Nice place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2015

We had an amazing lunch to celebrate an anniversary. There are really nice lunch specials. Highly recommend the turkey asparagus pita. Service was professional and attentive. Save room for dessert, it is fabulous! Quaint local restaurant worth the visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We took another couple with us on Valentine's Day to Almost Home. We had a delicious meal and enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 26, 2015

I have been here several times always a good experience the food is very good, Apple wood pork loin is great service is always great separate dinning rooms plus lounge gives options to your mood or dinning atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2014

Enjoy dining at Almost Home and Swizzle Stick . Food is great as is the service....... Local favorite. Decor for the holidays was outstanding .......absolutely beautiful !!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 6, 2014

We have always had great food and service the last couple of years while our son has been a student at DePauw. We would only ask that more thought is put into the possibility of more kitchen help during the busy times of the year. When the restaurant is very busy we have observed that it takes quite a long time to receive our food even when we order simple dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 8, 2014

4th time there always a good choice nice place to have diner with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 26, 2014

Our son always insists we eat dinner at Almost Home when we drop him off at nearby DePauw University. The staff is very attentive and the food is the best we have found in Greencastle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 18, 2014

We've lived in western rural Indiana for years and didn't realize this restaurant was right under our nose. Nice fresh veggies and mixed crisp salad greens, good choice of entrees (beef, fish, pork) for everyone. Good wine list. Quiet, pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2014

I have had lunch here many times, this was am first for dinner. I ordered the stuffed shrimp and will nortorder it again. My baked potatoe was microwaved and was not cooked all the way. Fresh veggies were excel isn't. And the best part was dessert. I will try this restaurant again for the dessert and lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.