About Almond

12 East 22nd Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Almond blends farm-to-table culture in a vibrant, comfortable atmosphere.

Co-owner and Executive Chef Jason Weiner creates seasonal & daily menus that are driven by market-fresh ingredients. Almond's local & sustainable fish offerings are illuminated through an open raw bar. Classic Almond dishes, beloved at Almond's sister restaurants (Almond Bridgehampton & Almond Tribeca), are highlighted with Brussels Sprouts Two-Ways and Steak Frites, amongst others. Unique to the menu is a selection of "Small Things," masterfully conceived dishes that can be enjoyed in a few bites that range from Roasted Chickpeas to Lobster Sausage.

The wine list, handpicked by co-owner Eric Lemonides, offers an affordable selection of wines. Specialty cocktails, NY craft beers, and raw bar selections, along with the entire menu, at the restaurant’s spacious 20-seat bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch 10:30 AM Weekends ; Lunch 11:30 AM Weekdays; Dinner 6pm Nightly

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-7557

Website:
http://almondrestaurant.com/s/flatiron/

Parking Details:
Multiple parking lots are available in the neighborhood.

Public Transit:
23rd Street Stop on the F, R & 6

Executive Chef:
Jason Weiner

Private Party Facilities:
Almond can accommodate sit down functions from 20-150, and standing cocktail events up to 225

Private Party Contact:
Bismark Irving bismark@almondnyc.com: 2122287557x13

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Pork Chop
Fried Calamari
Norwegian Style Eggs Benedict
Almond Hash
Mushroom Panini
Macaroni and Cheese
Dayboat Scallops
Mac and Cheese
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Biscuits
Brussels Sprouts Two Ways
Baked alaska
Croque Madame
Brussels Sprouts Salad
Roasted Chicken
Pan Roasted Wild Striped Bass
Oysters
Deviled Eggs
mushroom risotto
Belgian Waffles With Ice-cream
Sauteed Greens
Cauliflower Gratin
French Fries
B.A.L.T. With Fries
Warm Duck Confit Salad
Prosecco Zabaglione
bratwurst
Braised Short Ribs
Coconut and Lemon Cake Ice Cream Sandwiches
Spinach, Goat Cheese, And Tomato Omlet
Salad Nicoise With Salmon
Goat Cheese Panna Cotta
Arctic Char Niçoise
Roasted Brussels Sprouts Caesar Salad Style
Hand-Mashed Potatoes
Cheeseburger With Fries And Salad
Los Tres - Curried Mussel Cocktail, Marinated Octopus, Scallop & Fennel Crudo
Mimosas
Omlette with braised greens
Lamb Prosciutto
Le Grand Macaroni & Cheese
Apple Crisp
Moroccan lamb meatballs
Parmesan Rosemary Fries
Steak Frites
Sticky Tofee Pudding With Vanilla Ice Cream
Smores Sundae
Duck Confit Hash With Poached Eggs
vegetable panini
Grilled Sea Scallops
Creme Brulee
Charcuterie plate
Mushroom Truffle Vegan Pizza
Hamburger
Duck Prosciutto
Grilled Sea Scallops With Polenta Ravioli
Malted Creme Brulee With Banana Sorbet
Curried Mussels Cocktail
Sea Bass With Prosciutto And Fava Beans
Lamb Mixed Grill
Scallops
Escargot
Sausage
croque monsieur
Citrus Cured Sardines
Lamb Chops
Sea bass
Salmon
Lobster
Bloody Mary
Eggs Florentine
Turkey Burger
Omelette with Chorizo
Short Rib Ragu and Polenta-stuffed Ravioli
Iceberg Wedge With Bacon
Cornbread Muffins
Herritage Pork Terrine
Hangar Steak
Buttermilk Waffle
Porterhouse For Two
Chocolate Pot De Creme & Salted Almonds
Brick Oven Roasted Whole Dourade
Pot de Creme
Huevos rancheros

Promotions

Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Meatless Mondays!

Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details
Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27. Excludes Tax and Tip. Check out this week's menu on our website. Special valid May 17, 2016 - Sep 17, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM.
Meatless Mondays!

Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Three Amazing Locally Sourced Vegetarian Courses for $39. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy the Best of Upstate and East End Produce every Monday!. Special valid May 23, 2016 - Sep 23, 2016 on Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 6:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 8:45PM

Mon 6:00PM - 6:30PM 8:45PM - 9:15PM

Tue 6:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed 6:00PM - 6:15PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Thu 6:00PM - 6:15PM 9:45PM - 10:30PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 6:15PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Almond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (62)
neighborhood gem (59)
great for brunch (59)
See All
fit for foodies (52)
great for lunch (44)
great for outdoor dining (30)
vibrant bar scene (18)
special occasion (18)
kid-friendly (17)
romantic (14)
hot spot (11)
notable wine list (10)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food but definitely overpriced.

Dined 3 days ago

Great food but definitely overpriced.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

My biggest concern here was service. Sim ...

Dined 5 days ago

My biggest concern here was service. Simply couldn't get server's attention for check, etc. Food arrived 3/4 mostly at the same time. Food was fine--nothing over the top. Little biscuits were good. Server checked back as we finished to see if we needed anything. Hostess was lovely--overall there are tastier and better value brunches in NYC-but this did the job.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars. Need I say more?

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We are regulars. Need I say more?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

To quote one member of group the was ' ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

To quote one member of group the was 'remarkably mediocre'

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Again we had a great dining experience. ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Again we had a great dining experience. The food is always fresh and tasty. Service always prompt and friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fresh and delicious

Dined on June 9, 2016

I've been to Almond several times over the years and it is always so fresh and overwhelmingly delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently welcoming, tasty and well r ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Consistently welcoming, tasty and well run!!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Food

Dined on June 3, 2016

The space is large which is good for getting a table and noise level but the wait staff is spread thin. In the back there is a great pool table and lounge area.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second very fine lunch at Almond. My fr ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Second very fine lunch at Almond. My friends and I enjoyed the food and also the feel of the place which is casual and also hip feeling. The food is consistently good .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The brunch place.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Love coming here Sunday mornings with my girlfriend. The food is great, the atmosphere is nice, and the service is good. Definitely recommend for a brunch spot.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Super! I'll be back for more tamales!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Super! I'll be back for more tamales!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I met a friend for brunch. The staff was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I met a friend for brunch. The staff was very accommodating of our requests, the food was good, the ambience was comfortable and attractive. No complaints.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Probably not going back.

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was good, but the service was terrible. An early dinner became a three hour ordeal. It was a half hour before we even got waited on.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was very good and staff were very ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was very good and staff were very nice but seemed in the weeds very early on. Our food took a very long time to come out and our server was hard to find, all this for an early dinner reservation with a half empty restaurant. But I would still go again, lovely menu, beautiful restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointing!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We've dined at Almond a few times and have always enjoyed it, but not this time. Our entrees were SO salty, neither of us could finish our meal. When our server we were honest with him, but he made no attempt to make us happy. Overall, a very disappointing dining experience!

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Overall it was just ok. The waiter was ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall it was just ok. The waiter was a bit slow, the kitchen was slow, (although they brought us a complimentary appetizer while we waited for our food to be done).

food5
ambience3
service1
value1

My boyfriend and I waited 50min for EGGS. Awful.

Dined on May 14, 2016

This dinning experience was AWFUL. My boyfriend and I have come for dinner and waited longer then most places for our food but in the end the food was great. So we decided to give it a shot for brunch, BIG mistake. We both ordered eggs and waited almost an hour to actually get our food. The server was rude and made it clear he did not care that we were frustrated. The service is a big part of dinning and this really left a bad taste in my mouth. Never dinning here again and will gladly tell friends and other of my awful experience here. It's a real shame since the food is good- well the dinner menu.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was cold but management was amazing ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was cold but management was amazingly accomodating and lovely, food choices and ingredients were on point

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I hate that I have to write down 50 words. It makes the process more hard to give a good review. I wish they just let me say great job or loved it and be good enough. It had a 4.5 star rating and that is the reason I picked it. It was a lovely place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Fullfilling brunch. Great service

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had a a good brunch with a friend . Very friendly staff and food was good overall . My turkey burger was a bit overcooked and dry..spicy mayo made it yummy . The cheesecake was very tasty and definitely a must try . Nice and chill ambiance . Will go back and order something else .

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Almond is not a joy.

Dined on May 7, 2016

I paid $24 for a brunch of 3 smallish lukewarm pancakes and 2 cups of lukewarm coffee, tax and tip. Food just average but expensive. Noise level is high as it is filled with 20 somethings doing their thing. Not a good place for anyone over 40. I won't be going here anymore.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

great food, fair service, nice setting.

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

for some reason our food was very slow to come out, but appetizers and dinner entrees were all fantastic, though i found dessert only alright. service wasn't particularly attentive - had to ask for more menus when the rest of our party arrived, and not all were cleared after we ordered, but overall fine enough. lovely atmosphere and i'd come back to try their brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, even better service.

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Great spot for a working lunch. Loud enough to give you some privacy, quiet enough to hear each other. Great food.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

always a good place for brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We enjoy Almond for brunch since we very much like the food; the staff is normally very accommodating and friendly. Since it's a popular place, it is very crowded and noisy around lunch time on a Sunday with people waiting all over the entrance lobby. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere as well although I don't care for the tables in the back towards the kitchen.

Tags: brunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Incredible buttermilk biscuits. Good ser ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Incredible buttermilk biscuits. Good service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great we had a blast

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great we had a blast

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good reliable restaurant

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Almond never disappoints. Their brussel sprouts two ways is one of my favorite salads! I recently had lunch there and had the smoked trout nicoise and it was excellent as were the mussels...the best I've had in years.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Rude and full of attitude - skip it

Dined on April 24, 2016

It took several minutes for someone to seat us and when she come she was so rude that we left and went to another restaurant

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Mediocre Food and Sub-Par Service

Dined on April 24, 2016

Almond seems to stay afloat simply due to the prominence of local families who dine there. I dined at Almond at 11:30 on 4/24/2016. The hostess was very pleasant, however, it took 8 minutes for a waiter to arrive. When he did, he poured water and asked if we wanted any other beverages. We had not yet seen a menu, and our drink order (wine, mimosa, coffee) would be directly related to what we were ordering. We said that we weren't ready to order a drink just yet as we had not seen a menu. He rolled his eyes and walked away. About five minutes later, a completely different waiter offered us menus and took our order. Service was slow and drink refills were nonexistent. The food was just mediocre, with the exception of the phenomenal bacon. The bread served with breakfast was THICK ciabatta and the French Toast was doughy on the inside. The check took 5+ minutes to arrive after it was requested. Based on the price paid for the lack of service and the lack of quality brunch food, I was extremely disappointed with what I paid to dine at Almond. I will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific neighborhood choice

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We visit NYC once or twice a month and are always looking for great restaurants that can be easily booked but deliver top notch NYC quality & atmosphere. Almond is the perfect such place! The Flatiron District is great for us b/c it's outside of Times Square but not a far ride to the theatre...which is generally our primary purpose for visiting NYC. The staff was awesome, we sat on the outside patio on one of the first sunny with a chill Spring Sundays and it was lovely. We are suckers for a runny egg brunch and Almond delivered...but it should be noted that they had probably the widest selection of brunch options (egg & non-egg) that I've seen in some time. Try this place...you'll like it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely spot - great food!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Lovely spot - great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Nuts for Almond!

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

I loved the ambiance, the food, the good value. I went with 8 friends for lunch and requested a round table. We did get it and it was so nice. A few days before going there, I called Almond to find out what entrees would be on the special promotion menu. The hostess was so nice, she answered all my questions and greeted me as a friend when we arrived. The special value lunch included an appetizer, entrée and free wine or beer. Our waiter answer my questions as to wines that were being served. Some people ordered other items and all of us seemed very satisfied. I absolutely adored my salad which had walnuts, field greens and berries. My fish taco was to die for. I actually could have eaten more. All in all, we had a great time; we were never rushed and I felt like we were celebrating something - which we weren't but maybe the celebration was just good friends getting together at a really nice, pretty place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blown Away

Dined on April 10, 2016

Everything about Almond was fantastic. Delicious variety of food and great service. Environment was very trendy. It was a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exit98

Dined on April 2, 2016

Really good French Bistro/Restaurant Value. Nice room and attentive staff. Great value for Flat Iron District

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

always reliable

Dined on March 29, 2016

Nice place...comfortable, decent food, decent prices, good service, good menu, nice ambience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Los tres

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Los Tres, octopus, scallops with fennel and curried mussels are always very good. Great food and excellent service

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All-Around Five Star Restaurant

Dined on March 27, 2016

I went to Almond for the first time on Easter Sunday for brunch. Immediately, upon working with the hostess, we got the attitude of the restaurant. Very cordial, nice, and professional. The decor is very relaxing, comfortable, and somewhat unique. The food was absolutely delicious. We loved everything we got from the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious brunch! We all cleared out pla ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Delicious brunch! We all cleared out plates:) and love the biscuits they give you at the start instead of bread!

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Lunch at Almond

Dined on March 22, 2016

I've eaten at Almond many times for dinner - and it is always exceptional. For lunch, the menu is parred own and was hoping for more salad and sandwich options. Atmosphere is wonderful, energetic and lively, but we felt a little rushed by our server. It didn't seem busy. Still a favorite, and great place to meet up with friends and business colleagues.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The Mac and cheese is great! And serving ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

The Mac and cheese is great! And servings of wine by the glass are generous. :)

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.