About Almond

12 East 22nd Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Almond blends farm-to-table culture in a vibrant, comfortable atmosphere.

Co-owner and Executive Chef Jason Weiner creates seasonal & daily menus that are driven by market-fresh ingredients. Almond's local & sustainable fish offerings are illuminated through an open raw bar. Classic Almond dishes, beloved at Almond's sister restaurants (Almond Bridgehampton & Almond Tribeca), are highlighted with Brussels Sprouts Two-Ways and Steak Frites, amongst others. Unique to the menu is a selection of "Small Things," masterfully conceived dishes that can be enjoyed in a few bites that range from Roasted Chickpeas to Lobster Sausage.

The wine list, handpicked by co-owner Eric Lemonides, offers an affordable selection of wines. Specialty cocktails, NY craft beers, and raw bar selections, along with the entire menu, at the restaurant’s spacious 20-seat bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch 10:30 AM Weekends ; Lunch 11:30 AM Weekdays; Dinner 6pm Nightly

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-7557

Website:
http://almondrestaurant.com/s/flatiron/

Parking Details:
Multiple parking lots are available in the neighborhood.

Public Transit:
23rd Street Stop on the F, R & 6

Executive Chef:
Jason Weiner

Private Party Facilities:
Almond can accommodate sit down functions from 20-150, and standing cocktail events up to 225

Private Party Contact:
Bismark Irving bismark@almondnyc.com: 2122287557x13

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY
Almond, New York, NY

Specials

Meatless Mondays!

Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Meatless Mondays!

Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Amazing Locally Sourced Vegetarian Courses for $39. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy the Best of Upstate and East End Produce every Monday!. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Impress your loved one with a romantic prix-fixe dinner at Almond. Or just order right from our menu!

Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27. Excludes Tax and Tip. Check out this week's menu on our website. Special valid Jan 10, 2017 - May 10, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 10:30PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Almond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Great for Brunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Great for Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fun (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Healthy (10)
Romantic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (7)
Organic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Business Meals (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
People Watching (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is always delicious at Almond. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food is always delicious at Almond. The duck hash, get the duck hash. The service is great too. Even though it was busy for brunch but we were never rushed off our table. Its just a bit loud during brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My friend and I stopped in for lunch. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My friend and I stopped in for lunch. We both had the sunchoke soup which was really bland. We also split fries and had soft drinks. Our server was nice but it was a big bill for a tasteless soup and fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I have been here before but never notice ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I have been here before but never noticed the pool table! So fun, will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed brunch before but were served ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed brunch before but were served way too quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Almond several times bef ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have eaten at Almond several times before and have always enjoyed the overall experience... food, food and service. This time though service left a lot to be desired. It was brunch on New Year's Eve, but the restaurant was not all that busy. The waiter did not keep an eye on us, and when we needed something (which we did on a couple of occasions-- maple syrup for the waffle, coffee at the end of the meal) we had to vigorously gesticulate in order to flag him down. He passed by a couple of times and I raised my arm as a signal to please come see us, but he didn't notice. At one point too we asked another member of the staff for what we needed... whether it was a busboy or other server I'm not sure, but he said "Let me get your waiter." Then nothing. So they were all rather distracted and unattentive.

I am not a fan of overly unctuous service, but I do appreciate quiet and polite attention. One should not have to expend the amount of energy we did in order to get simple attention... especially in an establishment of this caliber. I do like Almond and plan to return so I hope this was simply an aberration and that the servers are as lovely as we have experienced them to be in the past.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Loved everything we ordered, especially ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved everything we ordered, especially the octopus and shrimp scampi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a great find. Very nice managem ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was a great find. Very nice management and an excellent menu at a very reasonable price. The restaurant has a very good happy hour at the bar offering a great deal on oysters and shrimp, as well as other tasty food offerings...especially the small lamb chops and the buffalo cauliflower. We will definitely go again...and for us it was relatively easy to find and get to...when staying in Midtown... just take the Lex 6 train... the subway station is on the same street... just over a block away.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took myself out for dinner as a Christ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I took myself out for dinner as a Christmas treat, and the staff was so nice to my little party of one. My waitress knew I wanted to take my time, so she was very conscientious of not stopping at my table each time she walked by my section, but also never made me wait. She just seemed to know when I was ready for the next part. Also, the food was excellent. The steak was phenomenal, the oysters lovely, and oh my good god, every human on the planet needs to try the Brussels sprouts and bacon. Overall, I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the end though, the waiter could use ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

In the end though, the waiter could use a little more enthusiasm... but good overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My entree was good, but both my companio ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My entree was good, but both my companions got food that was not hot, and one sent his food back because it wasn't warm. It was difficult to get our server's attention throughout the evening. A food runner and a manager offered to remake the dish (my companion declined), poured a free glass of wine, and left the dish off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Spacious w/good ambiance. Background mus ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Spacious w/good ambiance. Background music 🎶 doesn't interfere w/talking. Food is super delicious. Servers were accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sticky toffee cake is my favorite de ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The sticky toffee cake is my favorite dessert in the whole world! Also we told the staff it was our anniversary and we were surprised with a glass of champagne! Such a cozy, romantic atmosphere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, great service, awesome staff ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food, great service, awesome staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful - very homey ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful - very homey, love the decor. The food was good, but all of our dishes were lukewarm - an established restaurant shouldn't have this issue. And the waiter was very arrogant. I had been wanting to go to Almond for years and was disappointed that it wasn't better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Our group dined here on a Sunday for bru ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our group dined here on a Sunday for brunch, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The complimentary biscuits and apple butter were so tasty and a great way to start the meal. I had the huevos rancheros and it was delicous with its tangy and savory sauces on the eggs and beans. I also tried my friend's Mac n cheese and it was quite hearty and delicious with the truffles. Our only other comment is that it took a bit of time for our server to take our order, but the restaurant was bustling, so it was understandable. The restaurant was overall very cozy and the food delectable. I will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great spot. Cozy. Romantic. Moderate no ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great spot. Cozy. Romantic. Moderate noise level. Great wine and great food. Absolute winner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but service was lacking. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was good but service was lacking. Ordered coffee with milk. Coffee came, no milk. Had to finally ask someone else for it. Other drinks for the table also came piecemeal. Had to ask for everything twice because server never delivered after first request. Server never came around to check on things either. Had to chase her down for the check and again to pick up the check.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place to go with kids. Food is ver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place to go with kids. Food is very good and staff is very kid friendly. Plenty of place for strollers, kids to navigate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After 8 years, consistently excellent!! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

After 8 years, consistently excellent!! Our go to place!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were terrific, as alway ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food and service were terrific, as always. We are longtime fans of all the Almond restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We walked in and were immediately impres ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We walked in and were immediately impressed with the ambiance of the place. The food was great. I thought the price was reasonable. It was lunchtime and very busy, however, so all the servers seemed to be constantly running around and it took a while to get their attention. Overall great experience! This one gets added to our favorites list.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Outstanding from the moment we arrived – ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Outstanding from the moment we arrived – very friendly, warm and welcoming – to the first-class service, to the flavorful and well-presented meal. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious and great service! I h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always delicious and great service! I had the scallops with Brussels sprouts ..marvelous!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid local spot with great specials and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Solid local spot with great specials and kind service. Daily specials are always good and well priced. A perfect compliment to their Bridgehampton location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was great once we sat down but even t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was great once we sat down but even though I reserved a 1:15 time, I wasn't even seated until after 1:45....not sure what the point of a reservation was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful. I went it for a light brunch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful. I went it for a light brunch and ended up with the pastrami and eggs. OMG!

I am not a big meat eater at brunch but this was over the top!. We will be coming back in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Energetic neighborhood spot; excellent f ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Energetic neighborhood spot; excellent food. very natural design touches

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great. Our food, not so ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The ambiance was great. Our food, not so much. We got the steak frites (steak was too chewy,over cooked) and the croque gratin (over salted, and otherwise flavorless, too chewy to cut, impossible to eat). Wish the food was better as the decor was adorable. Never going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

I love Almond. Been there many times fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I love Almond. Been there many times for dinner but never for brunch. Brunch was fabulous and delicious. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I reserved for a 1,000 points table, pai ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I reserved for a 1,000 points table, paid good money but your front staff changed the table to 100 point. Not cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great neighborhood restaurant! The bruss ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant! The brussels sprout salad is a must-try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the shrimp scampi which was delici ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I had the shrimp scampi which was delicious. One of my dining friends (from out of town) has very simple food tastes. She asked our server what Ponzu sauce was and he didn't known (!!), and seemed somewhat surprised that she requested he go find out. Food as good as what was served deserves an informed wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great good selection. Nice variety. Heal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great good selection. Nice variety. Healthy options exist.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and healthy. Affo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious and healthy. Affordable price and great service.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique, fresh, cozy. I would definitely ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Unique, fresh, cozy. I would definitely recommend and return!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Everyone enj ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent food and service. Everyone enjoyed both their entrees and the great desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was too heavily salted. Chicken, Ma ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was too heavily salted.

Chicken, Mashed potatoes, and veggies were all too salted.

Could barely eat it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Service was poor, food was good. My w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Service was poor, food was good.

My wife and I arrived separately, and they basically just left us there. Eventually, we asked for a server, which the bus buy attempted to get, but never arrived. At the end, I was over-charged. In addition, I made a 1,000 point reservation and only received 100 points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Inattentive Service and small food porti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Inattentive Service and small food portions = NO GOOD FOR LARGE PARTIES

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.