About Allure Restaurant

825 4th Ave.
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

At Allure Restaurant we are committed to providing our customers with an exceptional dining experience offered by Executive Chef Melissa Magallon (graduate of The San Diego Culinary Institute and former Sous Chef at Searsucker San Diego, Herringbone La Jolla and Burlap Del Mar).

Chef Melissa has created a menu that offers the highest standard of quality, freshness and seasonality and combines both modern and creative styles of cooking.

We are a family run restaurant who will ensure that each of our guests receives prompt, professional, friendly, and courteous service in a distinct, alluring atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 12:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 236-0800

Website:
http://www.allurerestaurantsd.com/

Parking Details:
Street
Horton Plaza Parking

Public Transit:
Trolley Station- 5th Ave. Blue Line/Orange Line
Bus stops- 3/15/30/120/150/210/923

Executive Chef:
Melissa Magallon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have a mezzanine that can be used for private parties or business meetings and can accommodate up to 20 people.

Allure Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
San Diego
Contemporary American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Fit for Foodies (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Romantic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Allure had great food, but the service w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Allure had great food, but the service was a bit slow. We were there early (5pm) and there were a few occupied tables around ours, but things did not move very quickly. The food was delicious so worth going back to try again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We wanted to try a new experience before ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We wanted to try a new experience before seeing The Lion King. Allure was only a 7 minute walk. It was before the dinner rush, so we ate off the lunch menu. The adorable bartender was also our waiter and very attentive. He knew the menu and made great recommendations. We'll come back for dinner next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got the Cobb salad and cauliflower tri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I got the Cobb salad and cauliflower trio.

Cobb was delicious. The marinated tomatoes give the salad awesome flavor. I don't eat my salads with dressing so that helped a lot. The cauliflower trio was amazing. Carlo, our server, did a great recovery job.

After waiting for our food for 30min I had to ask why it took so long, and he thought snapping at me was a good idea. I noticed he forgot my cauliflower order, but he did a great recovery job overall.

He apologized, explained the delay and took care of my cauliflower that was delayed a little longer.

He was really helpful when I asked him about suggestions in the city, as we're foreigners.

I work in the industry, I understand having a long day and not wanting to deal with a customer walking in 20min before closing. But also, because I work in the industry I don't appreciate a server who snaps at me.

Once again, I think this was a very pleasant experience, but I'm not quite sure if I'd come back if I end up in San Diego any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a small restaurant with a nice f ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is a small restaurant with a nice feel and good staff but only one waiter on a holiday weekend. Although everyone worked together they seemed to need one more wait staff. Caesar salad was good with the right amount of dressing too. The filet was supposed to be medium but it came out raw - not rare-raw inside. Cold bloody raw. They cooked it up butt came out well. I didn't ask for a new meal because my husband was finished. This is a nice spot over all but the needs a little work to be a place I would go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ate here on a quite Sunday night. Foo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We ate here on a quite Sunday night. Food, atmosphere and service was great. If we lived anywhere near San Diego this would be a regular stop. Save room for the grilled carrot cake sundae desert.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food quality was excellent. The serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food quality was excellent. The service could use some help server give us advice on food quantity and we received too many courses and too much food. We are in a hurry to go to apply the food service was not timely and we were rushed at the end. With the overall food quality would still give us an excellent rating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food- amazing foods made on ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Outstanding food- amazing foods made on site

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lamb shank was delicious + the salad ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The lamb shank was delicious + the salad was scrumptious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful date night! Excellent service ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful date night! Excellent service and food. Fabulous short ribs, fork tender and beautifully presented. Calamari was also perfectly prepared. Will certainly return when I am back in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Our only complain ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was really good. Our only complaints are that the music is often too loud. ( I hate having to raise my voice for my dining companion to hear me...). The one other thing is that we always end up asking for bread partly becsuse theres a lapse between salad/ appetizers and the entree. But we'll still be back! Coupon makes it a very good value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

This is one of the best restaurants I've ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at, with superb ambience, cutting-edge food, and impeccable service. You definitely pay a premium for it all, but it's worth it to splurge and have that kind of extraordinary dining experience from time to time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good food and really good service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Really good food and really good service

We had excellent steak and lamb shank

everything was cooked perfectly and the service was also very very good!

Will definitely be going back!!

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting Menu

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I started with an iced vanilla vodka coffee drink which was okay but much too sweet for my liking. I was intrigued by many of the items on the menu but decided to go with the chicken breast entree which was good but in hindsight I wish I would have been more adventurous. I really enjoyed the fried oyster appetizer which was cooked to perfection. I will be back to try other menu offerings as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you do not eat here, you will be miss ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

If you do not eat here, you will be missing out BIG TIME.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place. One of our favorite ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We love this place. One of our favorites in all of San Diego. We always enjoy our delectable meals and we always get great service. Highly recommend .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gourmet Eats

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

So pleased to find Allure...delicious fare in an area of downtown San Diego near to theaters. Looking forward to bringing our friends as we know they will be impressed with the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

excellent food. our lamb shanks were the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

excellent food. our lamb shanks were the best (hard to find) they were very nice in celebrating our anniversary. will definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My BFF and I decided to try Allure befor ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My BFF and I decided to try Allure before the Billy Joel concert. We had passed it a couple times and always commented on how interesting the menu looked. We arrived early and had a cocktail at the bar. Our server was very nice and took good care of us. When we let him know we had a reservation he happily made sure our drink tab was transferred and even handled our dinner service. He started us off with a tiny little amuse bouche. When I say tiny, I mean TI-NY. But it was amusing. :) Our server made recommendations for both me and my pal and they were spot on. I had the Stealhead and she had the short rib... drool. Both of us were delighted with our choices and happy to share a bite. My fish was fab and her rib ruled! The fingerling potatoes were delish! Just the right amount of everything. The prices were not outrageous either. We had in total 2 cocktails, 2 glasses wine, 2 entrees and our bill was right around $100. Not too bad for a gourmet meal downtown. The place is small and it was quite loud when we were there (but it was Billy Joel night, so WOO HOO!), but sitting outside was quite nice and you get to people watch (or be watched...).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too salty and not knowledable service. P ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Too salty and not knowledable service. Probably a good menu at some point but its lost it mojo now

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Mother's Day

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for a Mother's day meal. Our waiter was excellent. Very friendly and wanted to please. The food presentation was awesome but the taste was mediocre. Fore instance, the tomatoes were mushy on the burrata salad. Truffle fries were soggy. The buns were dry on the hamburger. Atmosphere is classy, service is good, they just need to improve on the quality of the food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Impressive and then a little drop off

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I visited the Allure restaurant on a Monday with a friend of mine and was so impressed I went again two days later on Wednesday with my wife. I had their Calamari and Mixed Green salad on both occasions and loved them equally both times. The first night I had the Prime Filet in which was cooked perfectly and my friend had the Short Rib that he enjoyed very much.

On the second occasion I had the Whitefish and my wife had the Short Rib. I had a taste of the Short Rib and it was excellent. What I didn't like about the dinner was the Whitefish that I was served. My wife and I both agreed it was dry and had no flavor at all. So I had them take it back and they took it off my bill. So for the most part I was pleased with my experiences at Allure but they need to reinvent the Whitefish dish that I was served.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and menu. We booked this b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Great service and menu. We booked this based on the menu and reviews. We were not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Deliciously fresh and creative.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Fried oyster appetizer was unique and flavorful. Very generous portions on their salads and entrees. Roasted chicken breast with chorizo gravy scrumptious, as was the steelhead entree. The sauteed mixed veggies side dish was fresh and healthy, but absolutely delicious. A terrific farm to table menu with emphasis on fresh local food. Couldn't eat all the food, so we took it home. Great the next day for lunch. The service was great and prices reasonable, particularly in view of the quality of the food. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Alluring

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

After the misfire of the previous evening's meat gorge, we were so happy to find a restaurant with an owner-chef in the kitchen. The quality of food and presentation showed why it is named Allure! Portion size was spot on to enjoy (unless you're the all-you-can-eat profile) without becoming sated. Their taste in music was a bit odd for us, but not so much we couldn't enjoy my meal. In Seattle, this restaurant would be a hot spot with regular devotees. If we lived in SD, it would be one of ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food and Staff

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We came here on a whim using Open Table and it did not disappoint. The food was fantastic and the staff was extremely friendly. A definite must try for all those who like good food with a different flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Decent spot, great food

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Although it's located on 4th, near all the hustle and noise, homeless and various city "things", this was a great spot. We went for an early dinner, few people. The Carpaccio was great. I had the lamb shank. It was sous vide first, making it so moist and juicy. The bed of polenta was a perfect addition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Such a great experience! Every single d ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Such a great experience! Every single dish we ordered from appetizers to desserts were simply delicious. We loved everything. The restaurant is beautiful, the service impeccable and the food is fantastic. This place is a gem! A must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

customer

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was excellent. The waiter was extremely friendly and new more about food and wine then anyone needs to know. The food was so so good and can't wait to go back again next time i'm in SD. I will tell everyone I know about Allure!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Winner Again

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second time visiting the restaurant, and we really enjoyed it again. Went early to catch a show across the street. Got there early, it was quiet, and Aaron was an outstanding server for us. Knows his product, and recommended according to our needs a desires.

Fun food, drinks and wine list, will return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here on Friday night with my best ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Dined here on Friday night with my best friend and my boyf! It's a small restaurant, but what it lacks in square footage it makes up for in the great service, food, and drinks. They both got some sort of fish entree and I got a salad, all of our meals were delicious. The drinks were also delicious and strong.

OH we also ordered the "truffle fries", and they were AMAZING. I highly recommend getting them because like I said they were amazing!

Would definitely eat here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not that great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

There weren't too many clients however, the order took a long time and the appetizers were cold! Cold fried oysters did not taste good!!! The waiter was really nice so this was not his fault. Prices for portions were not consistent. For example the whitefish was very small portion while the lamb was worth the price. Be aware...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Love this restaurant

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is our restaurant of choice any time we're going to the theater. They are really the nicest people and of course there is the ladies' room!! The food is just excellent and they always offer a tiny little appetizer to whet your appetite.

A must for the downtown scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in dark surroundings

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Fabulous food but decor all black with driftwood hung as decoration. Would go back for food and very reasonable wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Allure is an alluring restaurant.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I made reservations for two friends and myself for an early dinner on Saturday. The host that greeted us informed us that happy hour was still going on and we were welcome to enjoy it before ordering our dinners. The appetizers were amazing and the house wine was really nice. The entrees ordered were gorgeous and very delectable. I look forward to returning to Allure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful place! The food was fantastic ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Wonderful place! The food was fantastic...every single dish we had from appetizers to dessert, it was all delicious and beautifully prepared. Service was friendly and courteous and very efficient. I look forward to going back very soon. This place is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was awesome. Loved the mini des ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Service was awesome. Loved the mini dessert and the Fernet Leopold suggested by Jefferson our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The decor is off, but the food was amazing!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Walking in the décor throws you off, but the food was amazing! Everyone loved their meal. We were the only table there at 6:30 p.m. table of 12, dj music in background walls all painted black. Brought clients here for dinner. Noise level fine everyone could hear other talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant was above our expectation ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant was above our expectations. We will definitely . Food was excellent!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

gaslamp experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

we ate here since we had tickets to a play at the lyceum theater nearby. unfortunately, the gaslamp district had a major mardi gras celebration that saturday night and there was loud and obnoxious music outside, so that removed the possibility of dining on the patio. the hostess recognized that fact right away and showed us to an inside table. the food was very tasty; i had the lamb shank and my wife had the filet and we were both very happy with our meal. we shared the green beans cooked in brown butter, which were cooked just right and we shared the carrot cake, which was more than enough for 2 to share.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

The food was okay. Very overpriced. Wo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was okay. Very overpriced. Won't go again. 31 dollars for 3 sort of overlooked scallops was not worth it to me. Our waiter was also the bartender and he was very busy. I am surprised it got such good reviews.

My husband got the lamb, he loved it. Creamed corn was okay as well as the polenta. Dessert I could forget about. Grilled carrot cake. It stated pineapple which overpowered the taste of carrot cake in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.