Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Alloy

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Romantic (37)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (26)
Tasting Menu (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Cozy (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Fun (11)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Seasonal (10)
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
2837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing and the service was great. They asked us if we were celebrating anything and we happened to be celebrating our anniversary so they offered us free prosecco or a desert and gave us a beautiful handmade card! Awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Last minute date night reservation. Excellent service from Jorge and wonderful food with unique flavours. Everything we ordered was perfectly prepared - scallop “chowder” and steel head trout were superb.

Many other appealing choices on the menu will have us going back to try them out.
If you are arriving after dark, the street sign is poorly lit, but definitely worth finding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

New favourite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Always good food great service!
Gunn place for lunch or dinner!
Lots of room at the table and great tasting appetizers!!
Good night out!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

It was an awesome dinner for a special birthday occasion. They accommodated my families gluten restrictions with amazing dinner choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Fantastic. Great food and our server was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Very tasty food. Provided a 5 course chef’s menu that was delicious. Restaurant can get a bit loud, however service was very good and food was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 9, 2017

We have visited Alloy previously with great results so we chose this for a special dinner (31st wedding anniversary). I specifically asked for a quiet corner. They got the message on my OpenTable reservation, but the hostess decided to put us in a booth surrounded by others ... not so quiet. There was lots of space, so I asked to be moved. The food was very good, except the truffle gnocchi was extremely salty. The waiter also was not very attentive and he took his time bringing us drinks several times. They did provide a complimentary champagne and dessert, but unfortunately the night was not as special as hoped.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Another memorable experience at Alloy. This time we visited for a late lunch and it did not disappoint. The food and service was up to the same level one would expect for a dinner seating. Our server even surprised us with a desert on the house (for my birthday).
This place is consistently one of the top Calgary dinning venues and we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Very great time here. Loved the desserts! Excellent selection.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Alloy is a treasure in Calgary—which is a city that maybe has as many pubs, restrobars, family eaterys, and steak houses, as Seattle has Starbucks or New York City has tourists. Resist the urge to yet again go out and mindlessly choose to eat/drink at the usual restaurant chains or public houses with all the usual black-dress service staff and scenery—and instead, go to Alloy and make an afternoon or evening of it. There I suspect you'll be reminded how wonderful it is to share a uniquely delicious meal with those at your table while attended to by a professional (but not stuffy) server trained to help make your night memorable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Was a great experience; as usual. Just a little chillier than normal which made it a little uncomfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Restaurant has a beautiful décor, good service, music is not loud so can easily talk. However, this was my second time there and again food was disappointing. The price certainly does not reflect the quality or imagination of food. The menu is small and food was bland. I ordered seafood risotto- one of the most expensive items on the lunch menu and it was very disappointing. My colleague ordered a hamburger and it was a generous size, but again not awesome in taste. I am not planning to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Amazing food and we both walked out full which says a lot considering how much I typically eat when going out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Comfortable seating. Good for conversation. Good service, not in your face. Awesome menu, even better bar/wine menu

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great experience at Alloy.Greeted nicely by front staff, she asked if she could take my coat.Seated promptly.Very nice female waiter came to our table immediately. Enjoyed olive, pita & hummus.Drinks served in good time. She gave us a decent amount of time to read menu and then she came and took our order. Lovely food. We shared the prawn salad,came in two plates (nice).
I order the steelhead trout, it came with baby potatoes, cherry tomatoes & peas in a light cream sauce & hubby ordered short ribs with mashed potatoes. Both were amazing-so delicious.Pumpkin creme caramel was a nice ending! A lovely evening. We would
return for a special occasion again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Exceptional service and outstanding food. Hit it out of the park! Great spot for a romantic date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Gnocchi is amazing!!! Flourless chocolate cake was divine. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Staff were great! The food was amazing !! Definitely one of my favourite, would strongly recommend it to couples for a nice cozy, romantic evening.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

- I think it's sneaky that a restaurant charges you 8 EACH per bottle of water.. 8 for the still I had and 8 for the bubbling water.. had I known or it was better advertised up front, I would have gotten a proper drink
- we were given this dinner as an anniversary gift, the whole experience overpriced in my opinion. While the food was good, no one came to check in to see how we were doing. The waitress seemed curt and although she said have a good night, did not actually say "thank you." And when we left, the hostess did not look up to thank us we were leaving or acknowledge us on our way out. Horrible to spend the money and not even have a thank you from anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Consistently excellent food, very attentive service. One of our favorite restaurants outside of the downtown core.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 6, 2017

While some dishes were fantastic, mine was overcooked to the point of inedible. Service was slow, and not the "leave you alone to enjoy your meal and company" slow, but rather, where is the server? We need..? Still a lovely room and a nice evening over all but the price point demands excellence and that mark was missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, excellent service.
Have been here several times and always found the food to be exceptional,unfortunately this was not the experience on this visit. I had the short rib which was dry and very salty. My 2 companions had the bass
and they were pleased with the dish, although felt the price was high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

As far as I know the original review a read mentioned as THE BEST RESTAURANT IN CALGARY, now I can certified it. My wife is in love with it since all plates were more than special and the attention to details were out standing. For sure I will go again in the near future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The restaurant is located in an industrial area - I guess cheap rent.

Interior decorations & design is nice but certainly not high class standard.

At the entrance, the hostess didn't offer to take our coats. That alone already knocks down a knot in the industry.

As regarding to food, I can only say it's extremely pricy for its cooking quality.

We ordered the following:

Greek salad with calamari - $16.00. Appetizer. Calamari batter is DRIED & SALTY.

Prawns & melon - $19.00. Appetizer. There is no prawns for that size; it is size 31/40 shrimps. Water melon is not bad 'coz it is marinated in chili.

Lobster tempura - $22.00. Appetizer.
Batter - thumbs down. Lobster is SALTY.

Beef short ribs are extremely SALTY. $32.00.

Beef tenderloin - $49.00. Good. Mashed potatoes is nothing to rave about.

Halibut - $45.00. Bottom of fish is DRIED & hard. Extremely disappointed.

Our server is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My partner and I are both celiac and the amount of willingness to come up with options and substitutions was refreshing; not only from our server, but from the kitchen as well. The amount of options available to celiacs was incredible, the food was declicous, the wine and cocktail list was impressive. I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

This is my favourite restaurant to take my clients and special guests. From the moment that I walk through the front door, I am greeted with a FAMILIAR friendly smile and that hospitality continues throughout my experience. The meal, without exception, is always delicious and the presentation is wonderful -every time! I understand that the menu will be changing again, I can't wait to check it out! See you again, Judy

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Sorry not to answer to very many of the above selections but only once there I don't feel I can reliably give an opinion. We had a lovely time the one time we came and will be back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A consistently incredible dinning experience. You can't go wrong with any meal choice. The atmosphere remains an enticing draw and it just feels great from the arrival sequence to being seated at your table. Our thoughts - the best choice for a night out in the City.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great quality and service!
Thank you Kathryn!
Best regards,
Frank.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Super dry polenta, very little sauce and a tough bird. Stay away from the cornish game hen!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Excellent food and service, we will be back again and again

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Organic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Terrible service by our waitress. Grummpy.
Great meal though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service and food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

My wife and I had recently visited Alloy for our wedding anniversary. The restaurant and staff were incredibly welcoming. We sat in a booth and were welcomed with complementary proseccos while we decided which cocktails to try off their impressive menu. I had the "el burro" which was excellent and my wife had a bourbon cocktail I can't remember the name of but she loved it. We ordered the prawns and tomato salad as starters and were blown away with how good they were. Not too big for two people planning on having a full meal as well. For our meal I ordered the Tenderloin and my wife had the Halibut. My steak was impressively good, cooked to perfection and incredibly tender. The brie mashed potatoes were so good with it that they're worth a mention as well. My wife's meal unfortunately wasn't as great. The lobster risotto that comes with the Halibut was excellent and she ate every last bit of it however the Halibut that came out was quite dry. We're not complainers and loved everything else about the experience. I would go back in a heart beat and would recommend this to anybody looking for some really good food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was amazing! Staff was very professional. Place is beautiful.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I love that the outside does not let you know what a great experience you are in for. I t is a lovely surprise when you enter the building.
The chefs meal was fun and a great intro to dishes that I may not have ordered otherwise.
We were at a table this time. I prefer a booth. There is more privacy in the booth, and the noise doesn't intrude on your conversation. Much busier this time. I have been to this treasure 5 times...this was the busiest by far....almost sad that more people have found it...:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

An underwhelming experience overall. Limited menu and creativity of dishes disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

I took my wife here for our anniversary dinner. From start to finish, everything was excellent. Our server was fantastic and as usual Chef Herrera put on a perfect show. This was not our first visit to Alloy and will definitely not be our last. Being in the industry, I can be a little more critical at other resturants than my own, but this was a perfectly orchestrated beautiful dinner. Thank you to Chef Herrera and team!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The service and setting were excellent. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor dining with wide table spacing and pleasant decoration. The food was reasonable but to our tastes not outstanding. Good presentation however the main courses were a some what tough strip loin and dry fish. The TH wine is great value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.