About Alloy

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beef Short Rib
Tiramisu
Browni
Chocolate Gana
Tempora Shrimps
Cawliflower Soup
Lamb Chorizo
Tomato Cons
Cured Arctic Char
Desser
Arancini
Scallop
Gazpacho
Arctic Char
Warm Beets
Mango Sorbetto
Duck Breasts
Flourless Chocolate
Prawns And Sca
Lamb Chop
Niçoise salad
Lobster Ri
Striploin
Albacore Tuna
Beet Salad
Chocolate Cake
Short Rib And Sour Cream Over Vegetable Rataouille
Greek Salad Calamari
Duc
Pork Tenderloin With Pork Belly
Spot Prawn Tempura With Maple Glaze And Jicama Red Pepper Slaw
Chipotle Beef Tartar With Quail Egg And Potato Chips
Fish and Chips
Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin With Truffle Gnocchi
Grilled Spot Prawns/Brazilian Scampi/Lobster Ravioli
White & Dark Chocolate Tiramisu
Lobster Croquettes
Organic Bison, Parsnip Puree, Shallots, Carrots, Chips
Beef Short Rib Tacos
Roasted Cream Of Corn Soup With Jalapeno Salsa
Spiced Rubbed Roast Leg Of Lamb With Purple Potato Mash And Cashew  And Cilantro Mole
Curried Prawns With Papadum
Beef Tenderloin Tartare Wirh Purple Potato Chips And Aoli
Short Ribs
Butternut Squash And Ancho Chili Risotto With Manchego Cheese And Pumpkin Seed
Chicory And Cucumber Salad With Serrano Ham And Balsamic Fig
Bourbon St Cocktail
Heirloom Tomato
Spiced Pumpkin
Cornmeal Coated Brazilian Scampi
Beef Tenderloin Tartar
Seared Scallop & Mexican Wild Prawn
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb
Just Delicious
Asiago Cheese Arancini
Pumpkin Cream Soup: Delicious
Crab Cakes
Banana & Dulche De Leche Banoffee Pie

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

special occasion (114)
fit for foodies (113)
good for groups (66)
See All
romantic (65)
great for outdoor dining (51)
great for lunch (50)
notable wine list (44)
neighborhood gem (33)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An excellent evening. Darren chose an ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

An excellent evening. Darren chose an excellent wine and Alex was incredibly attentive.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely meal on the patio celebr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a lovely meal on the patio celebrating my daughters 17th birthday. Her favorite item is the truffle gnocchi. We enjoyed a number of other entrees each as good as the other. The Chef puts a lot of love into his food. The only detractor was the noise on the patio when trains went by, but not much they can do about that. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed at Alloy. Great food ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Never disappointed at Alloy. Great food and friendly service. Kitchen is very accommodating around allergies and the ambience is always relaxed and not too noisy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the chefs tasting menu for the ni ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had the chefs tasting menu for the night and everything was delicious and flavorful. The restaurant has a great feel to it and the staff were very friendly. A great anniversary dinner date.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had the pork schnitzel for lunch and it ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Had the pork schnitzel for lunch and it was incredible. The pork was very tender and juicy and the way the potatoes were cooked it made for an incredible meal. The ambience of the place is incredible as well. This is a definite go to place for lunch as well as dinner. I have been there many times for dinner but rarely lunch. I will be back for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers and entres were excellent ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The appetizers and entres were excellent. Unfortunately, the dessert, which was the chef's special, was terrible. It seemed to be cake that had been leftover for at least several days and was exceptionally dry and tasteless. It was presented in an aesthetically pleasing way which seemed to be an attempt to disguise what it really was - leftover food that did not sell.

The restaurant was not busy at all. We were a group of 4. There was one other group (6 people) there when we arrived (on Sunday at 7:00 pm during Stampede Week). After they left, no-one else entered the restaurant. In spite of that, our server was not very prompt or attentive at any point during the evening. When she brought the bill, she did not reappear again to take payment. We had to go and find her.

Tags: group bookings, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was outstanding. We went for our ann ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was outstanding. We went for our anniversary and had the chefs tasting with wine pairing. Our food and service was fantastic and absolutely exceeded our expectations. Well worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing Amazing service great ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was amazing

Amazing service great

Good

Just fund he portions be small and I was hungry still afterwards

I rdered the duck breast tasting menu with a additional appetizer of tartar and a desert

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome ambiance in addition to top qual ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Awesome ambiance in addition to top quality food! Price is justified.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing ambient. Great service.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Amazing ambient. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, our service was exce ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was great, our service was excellent, chef and our server accommodated my fiancé's allergy. The only con would be our salad was slightly overdressed and a little difficult to eat as it was all in my piece the .. Calamari salad with a smoked dressing. However, we are looking forward to our next trip to alloy! The olives and hummas was a lovey treat! Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely interior, very spacious deck area ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Lovely interior, very spacious deck area. Great and intriguing food choices, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

An excellent lunch with a group of frien ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

An excellent lunch with a group of friends. Service was excellent...just the tight amount of engagement without intrusiveness. Food (salmon with risotto) was particularly wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time there but not our ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was our first time there but not our last. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Our waiter was attentive and polite and made several suggestions. Portion sizes were decent. We ate dinner in the restaurant, but next time we are there, we will eat outside. They have an absolutely wonderful outdoor courtyard. One of Calgary's gems. Definitely, will be one of the few restaurants our "favorite" list. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alloy is in my Calgary's top 3 restauran ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Alloy is in my Calgary's top 3 restaurant but it's the 2nd time we are disappointed.

The white wine didn't taste or look like what we ordered and unfortunately we didn't get a chance to see the bottle.

Also the dessert were basically cream or donuts, which is not fine cooking / dining as I've experienced in the past.

Not sure I'll give them a 3rd chance....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Were given a gift card at Christmas for ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Were given a gift card at Christmas for this restaurant. After reviewing the menu and prices we decided to go for our anniversary. Couldn't have been more happy with our meal and the service. Jason, our server, was attentive and knowledgeable. He took the time to talk with us and get a feel for what we liked and made recommendations... all of which were spot on . Do not know when, but we will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alloy has become one of my favourite pla ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Alloy has become one of my favourite places to go for a deliciously creative meal. It is treat every time. I highly recommend the chef's tasting menu. If you haven't tried it yet and you love good food, you are missing out on a gem of a restaurant with top-notch talent in the kitchen. Phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to Alloy for a while as ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had not been to Alloy for a while as we have been living out of country. It was great before and even better on our return. The food and service at Alloy is really what eating out or dining is all about. We will be coming back to try the tempura lobster appetizer and mini donut desert. Their coffee was the best I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very special evening. Excellent and u ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A very special evening. Excellent and unusual food, but not too "out there" (Brussels sprouts, though, a little overdone and dry). Great service. Comfortable banquette seating. Next time (and there will be one), I want to sit outside under the pergola. Landscaping somewhat reminiscent of a Japanese garden. Excellent use of the site. Neither train nor traffic noise, even though it's right on the tracks and a fairly busy street.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had very nice early dinner on Thursda ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had very nice early dinner on Thursday and food was excellent . Our waiter was quiet young man but very attentive which was nice as my girlfriend and I we want to have quiet dinner so it work well for us .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great. Terrific service and amazi ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always great. Terrific service and amazing preparation. The wine recommendation (a Malbec) of Gouggenheim. We'll order that wine again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to this restaurant for two s ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I have been to this restaurant for two special occasions now. I am not easy to please, and I was in the industry for years. The first time went so well I was amazed. I was very doubtful any place could pull it off twice in a row. They did. Congradulations. If I can recommend this restaurant for special occasions, I can recommend it for all the other boxes above. There didn't appear to be any playroom filled with balls or swings for kids, so perhaps it isn't kid-friendly. I found it adult friendly!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner. Atmosphere feels ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. Atmosphere feels up scale without maintaining a comfortable relaxed atmosphere. We went there for a special occasion with our 2 teenaged children. Menu choices for the kids with interesting yet familiar ingredients. The beef tenderloin was excellent and the the pacific halibut had nice flavours as a "lighter" meal.

Desserts were maybe not the best value, we had one each, but one didn't think the mini donuts didn't meet expectations (we all tried one).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The halibut is the best meal I have ever ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The halibut is the best meal I have ever eaten in my entire life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time eating here and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second time eating here and enjoyed the food both times! The risotto and mushroom appetizer is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed with quality of food vs. pr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Disappointed with quality of food vs. price paid. Service was OK but again, expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

What an experience! We dined outside clo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What an experience! We dined outside close to the water feature, so serene. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable in the gluten free options. The food was perhaps one of the best meals to date in Calgary. The gnocchi was a dream!!! I am still thinking about it days after! A must do.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been a while since I had been to ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

It had been a while since I had been to Alloy and it was as good as I remembered. I always enjoy the food and the signature cocktails. I recommend this place to anyone and it's in my top 5 favourite restaurant list in Calgary. Keep up the great work Alloy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I hadn't been in a long time, the food w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I hadn't been in a long time, the food was great and the presentation too. The waitress was a little 'off', maybe having a bad day, I felt like we were an inconvenience (we had a late lunch). Everyone has a bad day - the food was good as was my company!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the decor...trendy, clean lines et ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Loved the decor...trendy, clean lines etc. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, however on the small side in my opinion...our server was attentive, polite, and looked after

Our party very well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The second visit to Alloy will likely be ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The second visit to Alloy will likely be the last as the food was very disappointing. It started with the olives and hummus, lacking in taste and very poor quality...you could do better at Sobeys and stay home. The pork belly appetizer read better than it performed on the plate, tough and flavor not developed. Arugala salad simple, tuna tataki was a better choice at the table.

The space is lovely and the wait staff were professional but the food has to deliver and Alloy's didn't on this day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Our entire table tried the tasting menu ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our entire table tried the tasting menu which did not disappoint. This restaurant doesn't require everyone at the table to participate at the tasting menu like some of the other restaurants in town which is nice. The food was absolutely delicious and came out in a reasonable amount of time. The servers really work together to provide the highest quality of service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It's been awhile...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We haven't been to Alloy for over a year and my experience at lunch on Friday inside and dinner on the outdoor patio Saturday evening reminded me why it was my favorite restaurant in Alberta. And it likely is again. Uri was there both days and it's nice to see that Alex is back! And the food. Pork belly tacos for lunch on Friday. Oh yea! Short ribs, beef tenderloin, halibut and Cornish game hen were all ordered at our table for dinner Saturday evening and all were perfection. The tempura lobster starter is always a winner. The desserts were beautiful and they always are. I was also reminded that their great wine list is balanced with great selections by the glass. Chalk Hill Pinot noir, by the glass for $14! Who does that. Fantastic evening, including a big thumbs up from my 11 year old granddaughter.

We shall return, soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually take favourite clients here, but ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Usually take favourite clients here, but the last time was not great! Under seasoned fettuccine, lobster undercooked, tacos a pool of grease, However the service was amazing!! Not sure if I would rate this as one of my favourites for the price margin. Very small portions for appetizers, but huge desserts.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dinner Esxellent service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great dinner Esxellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent and the lunch spec ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Service was excellent and the lunch special of of shrimp in chorizo with greens in a tomato sauce over Arborio rice was excellent. Also, portion size with just right, not too big. Quality is much better than quantity, especially with a dish like that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I have been to Alloy many ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I have been to Alloy many times either with friends, our 2 sons or just the two us. We have never had a bad meal or bad service. We have had the same server a few times, sadly I can't remember her name, she is outstanding! We always recommend it to friends and family who have never been.We love going to Alloy and will continue to do so.

Thank you

CarolZ

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful experie ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Alloy! Our waitress was fantastic, her recommendations were awesome. Truffle Gnocchi is the best!!!!! She gave us a free dessert since it was my birthday. Would definitely go back! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Things where great till desert. Enjoy th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Things where great till desert.

Enjoy the meal without desert, you'll have a better time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Outstanding food, service - noisy

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was not my first (nor last) visit to Alloy. It was arguably the best meal I've ever had there. Every bite was outstanding, as was the service. There is a reason why Alloy has the reputation it does as one of Calgary's best restaurants. My only complaint is that, while it was admittedly a Saturday evening and the restaurant was full, I did find the noise level high.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.