Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Alloy

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:30PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:30PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:30PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Romantic (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Business Meals (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fun (9)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
2889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Too knotch place, food was delicious and service was great, would recommend the gnocchi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The overall night was good. Foid excellent as per usual. Waitress was a little zoned out.thought she was on something😕.
Atmosphere was good. Everyone was enjoying themselves. Little disappointed at the end as no coffee or liquors were offered.
Would i go back ? Yes. Its certainly a great meal in nice surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Portions were small tonight, I spent almost $300 for two people and went home hungry. Great otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Good foodi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good experience. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic service and the food was exceptional. It was busy and as a result the noise levels were high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Best tempura in the city!! We had a great time. Drinks took a little long, but other wise it was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great meal at Alloy. The service was excellent. Our only complaint is that we were seated near the west windows where my wife and I sat on a bench rather than a chair. The bench seats need to be fixed as my butt practically hit the ground.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was delicious and cooked perfectly (we both ordered the duck). Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and personable. We definitely plan to return to Alloy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Exceptional food, had the beef tenderloinit was perfect. The server was very knowledgeable and attentive. Rhubarb mojito was very tasty.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Great food and service! It was my son's birthday and he thoroughly enjoyed the excellent food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 10, 2018

Great ambiance, great service. A little pricey compared with other restaurants. Perfect for a special occasion

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Surprised when my second cocktail arrived with half the amount in the glass. Server seemed disinterested in there being about 2cm of drink in my glass and significantly less than the last one. I’m easy going so I inquired but let it go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Terrific food. Great service. We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on February 3, 2018

Fantastic restaurant with fresh ingredients and creative take on fine dining. We were just visiting Calgary and had to make a return trip to the restaurant. They were even accommodating to our vegetarian friend, which was appreciated.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 31, 2018

We had to celebrate our 18th anniversary at Alloy and I M glad that I chosen the perfect place to enjoy our memorable day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 30, 2018

I’ve been many times but this was really exceptional. The braised sliders were great, and the side salad and fries were like everything at Alloy - above expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2018

In my opinion, one of the best restaurants outside of downtown (just off of MacLeod). Easy parking, nice atmosphere and the food and handcrafted cocktails are excellent. I recommend trying the truffle gnocchi and/or beef short rib.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2018

The food was great and the service was top notch.My only complaint was the “wonton” for the tartar was difficult to use and eat. The flavour was great but the wonton was thin. I would dine here again for sure.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Very good food,I could eat most of the food on the menu😊beautiful ambiance.

Our waitress was great at first but everything just went slow after that....but we still have a great night celebrating our friend’s birthday

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Second time there and both times food and atmosphere were great. totally recommend for almost any occasion. A little off the beaten path but worth it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2018

Food was fabulous. Just a bit more expensive than I anticipated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2018

I went to Alloy before and it was an excellent restaurant, in my opinion with the most delicious appetizers ever and a very tender steak.
This time, I was disappointed. Consistency is very important for a place that charges $50 per steak. The truffle gnocchi dish was oversalted and the steak was good but it was burnt on the outside. I would expect a more interesting side choice for a tenderloin than some tasteless broccoli and some deep fried onion balls that I did not even touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 20, 2018

We made a last minute reservation.
We had a great table. Waitress was very helpful and friendly.
Had a very enjoyable evening. Food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Excellent food, great beef tenderloin professional and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 18, 2018

Great food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 17, 2018

I attended with a party of 9 from work. All of our meals were fantastic! There are still many menu items I would like to try. The service was excellent. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Unbelievable food, the wine recommended by the server was great/paired well with our meals. Staff were friendly and informative as well as the atmosphere created was perfect for our anniversary!! ♥️

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Wounderful !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The four of us saw the Chef's five course meal and we all agreed to give it a try. Good thing we did as everyone loved every course. This is a first as there is usually a course or two that isn't too appealing. Excellent, well done Alloy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Alloy never disappoints! The seafood risotto was excellent as was my friends red snapper.
As this was my friends first time at Alloy, she declared it would now be on her favorite restaurant list.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 11, 2018

3 words: WORTH EVERY PENNY. My wife and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. We went on a Thursday night and the weather wasn’t so nice but man the parking lot was full! It was our first time here and now I know why it’s a mainstay on Calgary’s Top Restaurants every year. The ambience, the service and the food truly make this place a must try. My wife ordered the alberta beef tenderloin and I had the beef short rib, both were sooo GOOD! The plating was insane and everything on the dish was masterfully done! Even the brocolli (i know), theirs was sooo tasty I can’t even explain what was on there :) They also gave us complimentary prosecco since it was our anniversary - nice touch! We ended our night with their GF dark chocho brownie, pleasantly good considering it was gluten free. I would definitely come back here again, this is now my go-to place for special occassions or if I feel like wanting to splurge with the wife. Expect to spend minimum $200 but like I said, worth every penny!

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 5, 2018

We really enjoyed the entire experience and the food was amazing as were the cocktails

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I’ve eaten at alloy many times and every time it got worse and worse. This last time I went the rissoto was over cooked, the person who brought our food held the plates like it was fast food and the overall food experience was terrible .
It saddens me because I loved this restraunt , I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Visiting from Toronto and I was blown away how impressive Alloy was. The food is fantastic both in presentation and taste. It had a great ambiance and stunning decor. Our server was professional and knowledgeable.

This is a “must eat” restaurant and would stand up to some of the top restaurants in Toronto. Alloy should be in Toronto in KingWest Village right beside Susur Lee’s restaurant “Lee”.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2017

As soon as you walk in through the door you’ll be delighted. The food was really amazing and the short rib is very succulent. It’s a must try! The service was good and accommodating. Nice spot for a date or an occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Chef Rogelio and his staff make coming to Alloy a great experience. The food was amazing and the service was friendly. We would recomend it to anybody who wants to experience something different and tasty.
We will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Very good restaurant. They have a small menu that I’m not sure how often they change but they do different foods depending on the night; have only been there twice but there is usually something on the menus for everyone.

The price is on the high side, but this is made up for in part by having absolutely amazing food and great service. I will definitely be dining at Alloy again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 15, 2017

In our group of five, four chose the Red Snapper and it was wonderful. Our waitress was attentive and charming without being intrusive. This was a birthday lunch for two of the party and a surprise. They were both felt very happy we chose this restaurant. We also chose two desserts which were unusual and definitely repeatable. A great lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.