Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Alloy

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Cozy (8)
Fun (7)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (6)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Alloy is a special place with beautiful food and an impressive wine list - a stand out experience in the Calgary dining landscape!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Alloy exceptional tonight. We ordered from the menu tonight and every single thing was excellent. They have added a couple newish appetizer items - duck tostada and arancini with prosciutto - and both were superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Alloy was OK. We haven't been for several years. Not quite as "hip" as it used to be. Menu for lunch was pretty pedestrian, sandwich and burgers etc. No special reason to go unless it's close. Looks like it's a struggle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Overpriced relative to menu options and quality in particular the Pork Loin

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Fabulous evening! We ate outside on the patio. No one else was there. Very quiet, with a trickling waterfall. Our waiter Zane, was excellent. All in all, a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food and service generally very good. Server a little slow initially, but very knowledgeable about the menu and very helpful with recommendations. Lobster tempera appetizer excellent, pulled pork appetizer over seasoned in our opinion. Halibut with lobster risotto main Very rich and unable to finish completely but done perfectly and for $45, I would expect it to be. . I would ask for extra (cherry) tomatoes next time to cut the richness a little. Complementary hummus and pita is always a treat as was the glass of prosecco in honour of our anniversary.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food was good. Service was poor. You would think spending over $1xx for dinner would get you decent/attentive service, it took effort to get a second cocktail.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great service and food, what a fun night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was amazing. Service was lacking severely. Michelle was our server. We felt like she was ignoring us either cause we were young or she may have had too many tables on the go. We tried at least 4 separate times to get her attention with no success. There was cork in the wine so she took the glass back and when she returned she didn't pour the wine like she did at first, the wine was already in the glass and we felt like she or the bartender just removed the cork and returned the same wine, not a new glass, to the table. No small talk at all which she had no problem doing with the table beside us. As servers we understand when you get busy you don't have time to chat but that night wasn't that busy and she was talkative with all the other tables. Tip did not reflect the service. We over tipped cause we are servers but we felt like she did not deserve the amount that was left. We left happy cause of the food and drink but displeased with the level of service that was provided especially with the reputation the restaurant carries. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 29, 2017

3 galpals and I enjoyed a bottle of prosecco, then rose wine with our delicious meals. The hummus, pita and olives were appreciated. I had braised beef - best ever, accompanied by lovely vegetables and friends enjoyed their cornish game hen and pork loin meals. The flourless chocolate cake was spectacular!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food was very good! Nice atmosphere and the service was friendly. Our waitress was a little slow, especially considering it was not busy. Food is pricey but delicious. Overall a very good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Everyone including our server was excellent and attentive. The outdoor patio is so peaceful and beautiful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Personable and friendly service
Staff could improve knowledge of wine etiquette including decanting and service

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Everything was absolutely delicious. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. This was the second time we've dined here and we'll definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Always good food and good service. Our go to place for birthday lunches.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Alloy has become our go to place to take clients...always great food and fun!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great experience our server Michelle was amazing. Felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant and made us feel special, as it was my wife's birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing and service was awesome. Felt that their portions are a bit larger that our past visits. Great ambience and good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful wine and impeccable service. Food, as always, was top notch. Thanks to the alloy team for the wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was excellent, waiter professional, maitre d' inexplicably haughty and unwelcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Came here for a birthday/Father's Day dinner and it was quite enjoyable. Felt that we spent more money than necessary for most plates but it was still great. I enjoy the fact that they gave us some excellent Naan bread and hummus before our appetizers came around.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Alloy never disappoints. The food, the atmosphere and the staff are all excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As always I had a wonderful lunch with a friend at Alloy. The food is always outstanding and our waitress was pleasant, personable and attentive. I have gotten to know her somewhat over the past year or so and find her very professional and good at her job. Overall, another successful lunch at Alloy. It is one of my "go to" restaurants in Calgary for special occasions and I will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Very good. Food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was my 3rd trip to Alloy in about 5 years. Previous to this most recent visit, I remember having a delicious meal and drinks. I found great value as everything that I had was flavorful and well prepared. This most recent did not quite meet the standard i remember.
The following items we ordered by our table rated out of 5: (food, portion, value)
carrot soup (5,4,3) delicious, portion was good soup size, price was a bit expensive for size
tomato salad (3,5,3) standard salad, portion was a good size for a starter salad, price was expensive a pretty plain salad)
ahi tuna tartare (4, 4, 4) very nice version of tuna tartar, size was good, value was good
truffle gnocchi (5,4,3) delicious, small portion was good since it is a rich dish, price was a bit expensive for size
beef short rib (4.5,5,5) best dish of the night, nice meal size portion, price well for what you got
beef tenderloin (3.5, 5, 4) slightly over-cooked for a medium rare and potatoes were bland compared the what is expected of brie cheese mashed potatoes, nice meal size portion, for $49 you expect the steak to be perfect, this feel short on preparation and possible less than prime grade meat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

went to Alloy because of favourable reviews on line. It was pleasant enough, but nothing special. would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were greeted warmly and seated quickly. Really liked have a booth for the two of us.
Ordered salad that was featured with tomatoes. Very tasty but there was more lettuce than tomatoes, and they were small & few in number.
Main courses of halibut was really fresh & properly cooked. Our server only remembered to ask if we wanted pepper well into our main.
Our server was nice but seemed to lack a bit of polish that we'd experienced other times at Alloy.
We'll be back, but not for a while. Felt it had slipped a bit from previous dinners.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Delicious meal. We will return to try more items on the menu!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Everything there was great the food was awesome the service was out standing the waiter we had was awesome and eazy to deal with the only one improvement i would make is to fix the bench seats there just a little to low and a little hard on the back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Took a business colleague who has travelled all over North America and she said "this is the best meal I have ever had." Really excellent, as always.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Chef Menu selection was excellent. Companion's risotto meal was so salty, it was almost inedible. Nice ambiance and great service. In prior visits, the food has been excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I would say our overall experience was pretty good. Food portions were exceptional for the price, not too dainty like at some fine dining restaurants [ we ordered straight off the menu, not the chefs tasting (which seemed like a great price)]
It wasn't too busy for a Friday night, the ambience was pretty relaxed but the decor was very trendy and beautiful. Our server was wonderful, had great recommendations but seemed a little too busy in her section. At one point we actually wondered if they forgot our main course.
Our dishes were the
Carrot Soup ( perfectly seasoned )
Lobster tempura ( MUST TRY, so delicious)
And the halibut with lobster risotto ( had to pack half of it up and it was just as tasty the next day for lunch ) the halibut was cooked to perfection.
Dessert was the macerated berries ( couldn't finish dinner, but the plate of dessert was cleared quickly) it was light and yummy.
Will be returning as the location is just far south enough it's not a pain to get to. Price is right and food is great! Only wishing the hostesses were as pleasant as the servers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Delicious cocktail special - Moscow Mule (free when you tell your server #bestrestaurantsyyc until end May). Delicious grilled chicken salad, with romaine leaves and fresh julienned vegetables. Vegan friend was delighted with chef's choice of rice with sauteed vegetables. We 3 enjoyed olives and hummus appetizer. Great value, delicious food, friendly and professional server.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We came here for my birthday and overall the food was good however the food took forever to come out. We waited over 45 mins for our mains and 15 mins to receive our bill. It's too bad as the food was good however not sure if I would come back if I had to wait that long again. I was hoping for a better experience for being voted one of Calgary's top ten restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Alloy looks beautiful from far, but when you take a closer look the seats and tables are worn down. The restaurant does not have a warm cozy feel - in fact, I was sitting at a table right above an AC vent. It was freezing cold, I ended up sitting with my legs under me! My seat had no spring left in it so it was uncomfortable eating my dinner because the table was so high and I sank into my chair. They have no music playing and the restaurant seems loud which gives it a more casual feel although the menu seems more fancy. The gnocchi appetizer was amazing - by far the best thing we ate. The mains were just okay, although the meat was cooked perfectly the flavour was too unique to be good. My short rib tasted like it was dipped in chocolate. Dessert was strange as well. The creme brûlée was supposed to be peaches and cream, but there was a spice added that made it taste like nothing but chilies. Unfortunately could not taste peach at all. We couldn't finish our dessert because it was just too much spice. Overall, it wasn't a terrible experience and we had excellent service, but Calgary has such a good food scene, I wouldn't go back to Alloy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our reservation was for 6pm and we did not finish until 8pm. Our expectation was 1.5hrs. The courses were slow and 60% of our mains were cold. The server removed our wine glasses mid meal without asking if we'd like a refill. We also had to ask for the bill twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We recently enjoyed the tasting menu at Alloy. The dishes were quite tasty although quality varies. One persons steak was quite dry and the sorbet palate cleanser was partially melted and presented with a straw. The part that didn't melt was hard to get at. We chose to have the wine pairing which was a disappointment. We enjoyed only a few of the wines and some of us skipped drinking the less desirable ones. Service was great and we have enjoyed meals here previously so I would stay with ordering off the menu in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I've been here a few times now and I find the restaurant consistent each time I go. We ordered the halibut and the lamb for entrees. We had the tuna tartar and the pull pork appetizer. Everything was good. Good portions. Was full after the entree. no complaints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 18, 2017

food service was excellent definitely wI'll come again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.