About Alloy

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beef Short Rib
Tiramisu
Tempora Shrimps
Browni
Chocolate Gana
Scallop
Cawliflower Soup
Lamb Chorizo
Tomato Cons
Cured Arctic Char
Desser
Arancini
Gazpacho
Arctic Char
Warm Beets
Mango Sorbetto
Duck Breasts
Flourless Chocolate
Prawns And Sca
Lamb Chop
Niçoise salad
Lobster Ri
Striploin
Albacore Tuna
Beet Salad
Chocolate Cake
Short Rib And Sour Cream Over Vegetable Rataouille
Greek Salad Calamari
Duc
Pork Tenderloin With Pork Belly
Spot Prawn Tempura With Maple Glaze And Jicama Red Pepper Slaw
Chipotle Beef Tartar With Quail Egg And Potato Chips
Fish and Chips
Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin With Truffle Gnocchi
Grilled Spot Prawns/Brazilian Scampi/Lobster Ravioli
White & Dark Chocolate Tiramisu
Lobster Croquettes
Organic Bison, Parsnip Puree, Shallots, Carrots, Chips
Beef Short Rib Tacos
Roasted Cream Of Corn Soup With Jalapeno Salsa
Spiced Rubbed Roast Leg Of Lamb With Purple Potato Mash And Cashew  And Cilantro Mole
Curried Prawns With Papadum
Beef Tenderloin Tartare Wirh Purple Potato Chips And Aoli
Short Ribs
Butternut Squash And Ancho Chili Risotto With Manchego Cheese And Pumpkin Seed
Chicory And Cucumber Salad With Serrano Ham And Balsamic Fig
Bourbon St Cocktail
Heirloom Tomato
Spiced Pumpkin
Cornmeal Coated Brazilian Scampi
Beef Tenderloin Tartar
Seared Scallop & Mexican Wild Prawn
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb
Just Delicious
Asiago Cheese Arancini
Pumpkin Cream Soup: Delicious
Crab Cakes
Banana & Dulche De Leche Banoffee Pie

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

special occasion (122)
fit for foodies (120)
romantic (73)
See All
good for groups (68)
great for lunch (55)
notable wine list (51)
great for outdoor dining (42)
neighborhood gem (32)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special evening. Excellent and u ...

Dined 5 days ago

A very special evening. Excellent and unusual food, but not too "out there" (Brussels sprouts, though, a little overdone and dry). Great service. Comfortable banquette seating. Next time (and there will be one), I want to sit outside under the pergola. Landscaping somewhat reminiscent of a Japanese garden. Excellent use of the site. Neither train nor traffic noise, even though it's right on the tracks and a fairly busy street.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had very nice early dinner on Thursda ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had very nice early dinner on Thursday and food was excellent . Our waiter was quiet young man but very attentive which was nice as my girlfriend and I we want to have quiet dinner so it work well for us .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great. Terrific service and amazi ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Always great. Terrific service and amazing preparation. The wine recommendation (a Malbec) of Gouggenheim. We'll order that wine again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinner. Atmosphere feels ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. Atmosphere feels up scale without maintaining a comfortable relaxed atmosphere. We went there for a special occasion with our 2 teenaged children. Menu choices for the kids with interesting yet familiar ingredients. The beef tenderloin was excellent and the the pacific halibut had nice flavours as a "lighter" meal. Desserts were maybe not the best value, we had one each, but one didn't think the mini donuts didn't meet expectations (we all tried one).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The halibut is the best meal I have ever ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

The halibut is the best meal I have ever eaten in my entire life!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time eating here and ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second time eating here and enjoyed the food both times! The risotto and mushroom appetizer is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed with quality of food vs. pr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Disappointed with quality of food vs. price paid. Service was OK but again, expected more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an experience! We dined outside clo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

What an experience! We dined outside close to the water feature, so serene. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable in the gluten free options. The food was perhaps one of the best meals to date in Calgary. The gnocchi was a dream!!! I am still thinking about it days after! A must do.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It had been a while since I had been to ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

It had been a while since I had been to Alloy and it was as good as I remembered. I always enjoy the food and the signature cocktails. I recommend this place to anyone and it's in my top 5 favourite restaurant list in Calgary. Keep up the great work Alloy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I hadn't been in a long time, the food w ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I hadn't been in a long time, the food was great and the presentation too. The waitress was a little 'off', maybe having a bad day, I felt like we were an inconvenience (we had a late lunch). Everyone has a bad day - the food was good as was my company!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the decor...trendy, clean lines et ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Loved the decor...trendy, clean lines etc. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, however on the small side in my opinion...our server was attentive, polite, and looked after Our party very well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The second visit to Alloy will likely be ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The second visit to Alloy will likely be the last as the food was very disappointing. It started with the olives and hummus, lacking in taste and very poor quality...you could do better at Sobeys and stay home. The pork belly appetizer read better than it performed on the plate, tough and flavor not developed. Arugala salad simple, tuna tataki was a better choice at the table. The space is lovely and the wait staff were professional but the food has to deliver and Alloy's didn't on this day.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our entire table tried the tasting menu ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our entire table tried the tasting menu which did not disappoint. This restaurant doesn't require everyone at the table to participate at the tasting menu like some of the other restaurants in town which is nice. The food was absolutely delicious and came out in a reasonable amount of time. The servers really work together to provide the highest quality of service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been awhile...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We haven't been to Alloy for over a year and my experience at lunch on Friday inside and dinner on the outdoor patio Saturday evening reminded me why it was my favorite restaurant in Alberta. And it likely is again. Uri was there both days and it's nice to see that Alex is back! And the food. Pork belly tacos for lunch on Friday. Oh yea! Short ribs, beef tenderloin, halibut and Cornish game hen were all ordered at our table for dinner Saturday evening and all were perfection. The tempura lobster starter is always a winner. The desserts were beautiful and they always are. I was also reminded that their great wine list is balanced with great selections by the glass. Chalk Hill Pinot noir, by the glass for $14! Who does that. Fantastic evening, including a big thumbs up from my 11 year old granddaughter. We shall return, soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Usually take favourite clients here, but ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Usually take favourite clients here, but the last time was not great! Under seasoned fettuccine, lobster undercooked, tacos a pool of grease, However the service was amazing!! Not sure if I would rate this as one of my favourites for the price margin. Very small portions for appetizers, but huge desserts.....

food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinner Esxellent service

Dined on June 1, 2016

Great dinner Esxellent service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent and the lunch spec ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Service was excellent and the lunch special of of shrimp in chorizo with greens in a tomato sauce over Arborio rice was excellent. Also, portion size with just right, not too big. Quality is much better than quantity, especially with a dish like that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been to Alloy many ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I have been to Alloy many times either with friends, our 2 sons or just the two us. We have never had a bad meal or bad service. We have had the same server a few times, sadly I can't remember her name, she is outstanding! We always recommend it to friends and family who have never been.We love going to Alloy and will continue to do so. Thank you CarolZ

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I had a wonderful experie ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Alloy! Our waitress was fantastic, her recommendations were awesome. Truffle Gnocchi is the best!!!!! She gave us a free dessert since it was my birthday. Would definitely go back! Thank you!

food4
ambience3
service4

Things where great till desert. Enjoy th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Things where great till desert. Enjoy the meal without desert, you'll have a better time

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding food, service - noisy

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

This was not my first (nor last) visit to Alloy. It was arguably the best meal I've ever had there. Every bite was outstanding, as was the service. There is a reason why Alloy has the reputation it does as one of Calgary's best restaurants. My only complaint is that, while it was admittedly a Saturday evening and the restaurant was full, I did find the noise level high.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first visit to Alloy. Reserv ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my first visit to Alloy. Reservations went as planned. We asked for, and received, a table by the window. The booth was surprisingly comfortable. Service was timely, professional and friendly. My husband and I chose the chef's tasting menu. Each plate was interesting and delicious! A complimentary glass of prosecco started things off (celebrating our anniversary) along with hummus and olives - also on the house.Courses included an amuse bouche (scallop); salmon nicoise; pork belly; bison; prosecco with sherbet; lamb chop; blueberry ice cream - all served, and presented nicely, with yummy accompaniments . This is not an inexpensive restaurant however you get fair value for the price. I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice place in an unassuming indus ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Really nice place in an unassuming industrial area. Even the exterior of the building suggests it was once a "trades" business shop at one time. You will most likely drive by if you miss the sign out front or don't have a GPS. Everything was lovely from the greeting to the service and the meal. My hubby had the roasted tomato soup and short ribs and I had the lobster tempura and lamb chops. Presentation was fancy and the food excellently prepared...although my medium rare lamb was more rare. But that is okay for my palate. Shared a dessert, had a bottle of Malbec and a couple of coffees with liqueur shots. Too bad it was raining as we probably would have sat out on the patio. Total bill with tax and tip about $200.

food5
ambience4
service5

Chef tasting was amazing! 4 courses was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Chef tasting was amazing! 4 courses was too much for me, so next time, I'm going to hold out for the finale: in this case, it was the lamb with mint pea risotto. Service was laid back and very considerate to our needs, especially the ones not verbalized. They checked in on a light and never-prying manner, offering extras like taking photos for the couple celebrating next to us and non-alcoholic substitutions for the sorbet palate cleanse. I felt not a patron but a true guest in someone's home.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food...but they wouldn't plate sha ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food...but they wouldn't plate shared entrée selections

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great business lunch mtg place

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent location for business lunch meetings. Great food, excellent service, modern and professional ambience. Service is considerate professional and responsive, with appropriate intuition as to the needs of the clients.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful find. We were tourists to Cal ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful find. We were tourists to Calgary but worth taking a cab out of downtown. Looks like an old hut from the outside but great surprise with what lies within! Great food and beautifully presented.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Four of us had a lovely meal at Alloy re ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Four of us had a lovely meal at Alloy recently. This is an elegantly comfortable spot, beautifully and tastefully decorated inside and with a great patio when the weather obliges. A great place to enjoy food, conversation and company - whether an intimate dinner or with a larger group. Service is polished and the food outstanding. Our salads and gnocchi appie's were excellent and the mains - we tried the halibut and the beef tenderloin - were beautiful and amazingly good, rich complementary tastes that really sang. This place isn't cheap, but the quality shows. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Romaine Salad and the Halibut....spectac ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Romaine Salad and the Halibut....spectacular!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very enjoyable dinner overall. Halibut w ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner overall. Halibut was fresh and well prepared. Use of fresh herbs (dill in risotto, mint in dessert) was a nice touch.

food5
ambience3
service4

We went to Alloy with my husband for a r ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to Alloy with my husband for a romantic dinner. We had the tasting menu, our waitress was great and on top of things. Another waiter brought us, our first course and the blue cheese was missing, she caught it right away. The food is amazing, the restaurant keep being creative in their menu and search of flavours. A must try !

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Need to improve the hummus back to the p ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Need to improve the hummus back to the previous recipe. Current is to runny and flavour was not great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Questionable start turned into a great time!

Dined on May 9, 2016

When we first arrived we were seated in the back area next to the bar (by the back door and empty crates) which was likely the worst table in the place. Also the hostess showed us the table then left - no word as to who our server was, no menus, and no one came by for a while. Since the table location was unacceptable to our family, my husband asked for us to be moved to a different table. And if that hadn't happened we would have left. Luckily we were then seated in the restaurant proper - a view of the patio, other patrons, etc. We had Jackie O as our server and she was awesome. She was attentive, friendly, recommended cocktails (BF), and turned the evening around to a very pleasant evening, great food and drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We treated mom for Mother's Day brunch a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We treated mom for Mother's Day brunch at Alloy, mid-afternoon. Everything was on point except for the time it took for a server to attend our table after we were seated - the restaurant wasn't very busy at the time so it was odd. Great decor and the patio looks great too, which is unexpected given it's 'industrial' location. Overall, loved the food and ambiance and will be back to dine from the regular menu soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Alloy is not a place you think of for a family outing but it's been one of my wife's favorites over the years. Now that we have a little guy (16 months) we decided to try for Mother's Day. Though the restaurant isn't setup for babies (no high chairs) they were very accomodating with table arrangements and we were able to use a "bolt on" travel chair. Reservation staff and staff at the restaurant were awesome and very friendly... even got a tour of the patio/fountain when the boy got tired of sitting. A couple other families with young kids were enjoying the same. Thanks Alloy! Great food as always. We'll definitely be back though hopefully next time for a Mom & Dad date night where we can work on the wine menu as well :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Service - Great Food - Average

Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed with Mothers Day brunch. Food was cold. Service was great. I wouldn't go back for anything special here for cost of meals and it being just ok

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Overrated and not worth of $$$

Dined on May 6, 2016

There was nothing special about the food, the restaurant or service, actually the restaurant is overrated, the food lacks flavour and doesn't taste at all. It seems to me white-man’s food, very plain and bland and yet the restaurant is categorized as an International food. The lunch menu choices are very few and limited. The service lacks genuine hospitality and smile, my friend asked for hot-sauce and the server brought when we finished our food. I’d not recommend to folks who like flavorful food otherwise if your taste buds doesn't distinguish the difference between plain, bland and flavorful then go for and experience it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alloy allows time to savour

Dined on May 2, 2016

Decor, service and food all exceptional. Steaks cooked perfectly. Crab crepe reinvented. Elegance and comfort all in one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was above and beyond!! ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Food and service was above and beyond!! We had the tasting menu and everything was outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food, relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We've been before, and know that the outside presentation belies what is a gem inside! The food is great (try the gnocchi truffles appetizer -- to die for! Don't share, you'll want it all to yourself! ) For the main course, we had the short ribs, which were cooked to perfection, accompanied by heirloom carrots and mashed potatoes. Very tasty, and just the right amount. Our servers were attentive without being overbearing or intrusive. All in all, a great atmosphere to catch up with friends. No hassle free parking, just to top it off. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.