About Alloy

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Calgary
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

special occasion (122)
fit for foodies (122)
romantic (81)
See All
good for groups (73)
notable wine list (67)
great for lunch (55)
great for outdoor dining (34)
neighborhood gem (32)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

Things where great till desert. Enjoy th ...

Dined 5 days ago

Things where great till desert. Enjoy the meal without desert, you'll have a better time

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first visit to Alloy. Reserv ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was my first visit to Alloy. Reservations went as planned. We asked for, and received, a table by the window. The booth was surprisingly comfortable. Service was timely, professional and friendly. My husband and I chose the chef's tasting menu. Each plate was interesting and delicious! A complimentary glass of prosecco started things off (celebrating our anniversary) along with hummus and olives - also on the house.Courses included an amuse bouche (scallop); salmon nicoise; pork belly; bison; prosecco with sherbet; lamb chop; blueberry ice cream - all served, and presented nicely, with yummy accompaniments . This is not an inexpensive restaurant however you get fair value for the price. I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice place in an unassuming indus ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Really nice place in an unassuming industrial area. Even the exterior of the building suggests it was once a "trades" business shop at one time. You will most likely drive by if you miss the sign out front or don't have a GPS. Everything was lovely from the greeting to the service and the meal. My hubby had the roasted tomato soup and short ribs and I had the lobster tempura and lamb chops. Presentation was fancy and the food excellently prepared...although my medium rare lamb was more rare. But that is okay for my palate. Shared a dessert, had a bottle of Malbec and a couple of coffees with liqueur shots. Too bad it was raining as we probably would have sat out on the patio. Total bill with tax and tip about $200.

food5
ambience4
service5

Chef tasting was amazing! 4 courses was ...

Dined 6 days ago

Chef tasting was amazing! 4 courses was too much for me, so next time, I'm going to hold out for the finale: in this case, it was the lamb with mint pea risotto. Service was laid back and very considerate to our needs, especially the ones not verbalized. They checked in on a light and never-prying manner, offering extras like taking photos for the couple celebrating next to us and non-alcoholic substitutions for the sorbet palate cleanse. I felt not a patron but a true guest in someone's home.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food...but they wouldn't plate sha ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food...but they wouldn't plate shared entrée selections

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great business lunch mtg place

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent location for business lunch meetings. Great food, excellent service, modern and professional ambience. Service is considerate professional and responsive, with appropriate intuition as to the needs of the clients.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful find. We were tourists to Cal ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful find. We were tourists to Calgary but worth taking a cab out of downtown. Looks like an old hut from the outside but great surprise with what lies within! Great food and beautifully presented.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Four of us had a lovely meal at Alloy re ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Four of us had a lovely meal at Alloy recently. This is an elegantly comfortable spot, beautifully and tastefully decorated inside and with a great patio when the weather obliges. A great place to enjoy food, conversation and company - whether an intimate dinner or with a larger group. Service is polished and the food outstanding. Our salads and gnocchi appie's were excellent and the mains - we tried the halibut and the beef tenderloin - were beautiful and amazingly good, rich complementary tastes that really sang. This place isn't cheap, but the quality shows. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Romaine Salad and the Halibut....spectac ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Romaine Salad and the Halibut....spectacular!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very enjoyable dinner overall. Halibut w ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner overall. Halibut was fresh and well prepared. Use of fresh herbs (dill in risotto, mint in dessert) was a nice touch.

food5
ambience3
service4

We went to Alloy with my husband for a r ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to Alloy with my husband for a romantic dinner. We had the tasting menu, our waitress was great and on top of things. Another waiter brought us, our first course and the blue cheese was missing, she caught it right away. The food is amazing, the restaurant keep being creative in their menu and search of flavours. A must try !

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Need to improve the hummus back to the p ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Need to improve the hummus back to the previous recipe. Current is to runny and flavour was not great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Questionable start turned into a great time!

Dined on May 9, 2016

When we first arrived we were seated in the back area next to the bar (by the back door and empty crates) which was likely the worst table in the place. Also the hostess showed us the table then left - no word as to who our server was, no menus, and no one came by for a while. Since the table location was unacceptable to our family, my husband asked for us to be moved to a different table. And if that hadn't happened we would have left. Luckily we were then seated in the restaurant proper - a view of the patio, other patrons, etc. We had Jackie O as our server and she was awesome. She was attentive, friendly, recommended cocktails (BF), and turned the evening around to a very pleasant evening, great food and drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We treated mom for Mother's Day brunch a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We treated mom for Mother's Day brunch at Alloy, mid-afternoon. Everything was on point except for the time it took for a server to attend our table after we were seated - the restaurant wasn't very busy at the time so it was odd. Great decor and the patio looks great too, which is unexpected given it's 'industrial' location. Overall, loved the food and ambiance and will be back to dine from the regular menu soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Alloy is not a place you think of for a family outing but it's been one of my wife's favorites over the years. Now that we have a little guy (16 months) we decided to try for Mother's Day. Though the restaurant isn't setup for babies (no high chairs) they were very accomodating with table arrangements and we were able to use a "bolt on" travel chair. Reservation staff and staff at the restaurant were awesome and very friendly... even got a tour of the patio/fountain when the boy got tired of sitting. A couple other families with young kids were enjoying the same. Thanks Alloy! Great food as always. We'll definitely be back though hopefully next time for a Mom & Dad date night where we can work on the wine menu as well :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Service - Great Food - Average

Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed with Mothers Day brunch. Food was cold. Service was great. I wouldn't go back for anything special here for cost of meals and it being just ok

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Overrated and not worth of $$$

Dined on May 6, 2016

There was nothing special about the food, the restaurant or service, actually the restaurant is overrated, the food lacks flavour and doesn't taste at all. It seems to me white-man’s food, very plain and bland and yet the restaurant is categorized as an International food. The lunch menu choices are very few and limited. The service lacks genuine hospitality and smile, my friend asked for hot-sauce and the server brought when we finished our food. I’d not recommend to folks who like flavorful food otherwise if your taste buds doesn't distinguish the difference between plain, bland and flavorful then go for and experience it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alloy allows time to savour

Dined on May 2, 2016

Decor, service and food all exceptional. Steaks cooked perfectly. Crab crepe reinvented. Elegance and comfort all in one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was above and beyond!! ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Food and service was above and beyond!! We had the tasting menu and everything was outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food, relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We've been before, and know that the outside presentation belies what is a gem inside! The food is great (try the gnocchi truffles appetizer -- to die for! Don't share, you'll want it all to yourself! ) For the main course, we had the short ribs, which were cooked to perfection, accompanied by heirloom carrots and mashed potatoes. Very tasty, and just the right amount. Our servers were attentive without being overbearing or intrusive. All in all, a great atmosphere to catch up with friends. No hassle free parking, just to top it off. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Lunch

Dined on April 28, 2016

My Manager and I invited client's for a lunch meeting. They recommended Alloy as it's close to their office, they lunch at Alloy frequently and one of the best restaurants in the area. The service and food was delicious. I have gluten sensitivities and the server recommended adjustments to my meal that worked for me. I would definitely take client's to Alloy again and would also go there personally.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond what we expected- a must go

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had the best dining experience ever, the waitress was informative, and very pleasant, the food was exceptional. The entire restaurant was beautiful and we felt on top of the world! Thank you for ensuring our Anniversary dinner out was memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Very accommodating for our oversized par ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Very accommodating for our oversized party of 17 people! Fabulous service and an incredible dinner!

food4
ambience3
service3

Third time at Alloy. As usual food was e ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Third time at Alloy. As usual food was excellent. Service felt rushed; not up to standard. Noise (from several large parties seated nearby) made it difficult to have a conversation. Perhaps it was an off night. Will give it another try.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner and service with great ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent dinner and service with great ambiance. A definite go to place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience at Alloy as always, foo ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great experience at Alloy as always, food was amazing, they were very accommodating with a toddler and our large group. Thanks for a great evening!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class as always

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Thank you to our amazing server for an amazing evening - food was great as always - looking forward to the Spring menu in May

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Vibrant taste. Crab cakes were top notch. Arctic char with curry sauce made me want to lick my plate. All four of us had a different dish and all were excellent. Portions are not large for my husband, but tasty. Wine selection was great

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday Meal

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our second time at Alloy. We had visited close to when it opened and found both to be good experiences. It was a bit noisier than I remember, but maybe I am getting more sensitive to noise. Our reservation was for 9 pm so it soon quieted down. For an appetiser we had the octopus. It was delicious, though a bit smaller than expected, but very tasty accompanied by fresh greens. For my main I had the lamb. The portion was generous and it was perfectly done for those who like medium. They have a beautiful patio that I have never tried. Next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous experience

Dined on April 11, 2016

The food at Alloy was Amazing!! Service was great and enjoyed the ambience. The outside of building is dull and uninviting but the true gem is what's inside!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent service !

Dined on April 10, 2016

One of the girls got engaged so we were looking for a place we can get together for 10 people, which was hard to find on saturday night, and the experience was so great. We were served by zain (i think) who was so wonderful to us. Every food we ordered had wonderful presentation and were all so delicious. Will definitely visit again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good but needs improvement

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been to alloy a few times now and usually find it excellent. This time we ordered the pork tenderloins and found them served cold and very tough. the other couple ordered the char and found it to be excellent. The appetizers and desert were excellent. We would go back. The price was a bit high for the level of service and the food.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Said to be top notch? It is!!

Dined on April 8, 2016

The rating above said it all; out-of-the-way locale but who cares; music could be a few decibels lower; food was superb for all guests, wine selection also hit the mark, and we just had to add dessert, thankfully! An easy recommendation to others, and a personal commitment to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

UNREAL -.

Dined on April 3, 2016

FOOD WAS TOP NOTCH,SERVICE WAS GOOD BUT NOT TO PUSHY DESSERT WAS INSANELY GOOD.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's good each and every time

Dined on March 26, 2016

My wife and I have been here a few times over the last 5 years and love it each time. Love the ambiance, the food is always fantastic and it's to get away from the hustle of 17th ave.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fantastic experience at Alloy.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Another fantastic experience at Alloy.

food4
ambience2
service1

Great food, very loud - you could barely ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food, very loud - you could barely hear your company's conversation & the service was terrible. The man who served us was rude & arrogant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night!

Dined on March 13, 2016

I took my wife here for a birthday supper as we had not visited in a long time. Just like all our previous visits... We enjoyed the evening very much. The service and food were both exceptional as to be expected from a restaurant of thes caliber and we will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious as was the servic ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was delicious as was the service

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent all around dinner destination. ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Excellent all around dinner destination. Worth the visit!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.