About Alloy

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (50)
Fit for Foodies (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Business Meals (41)
Modern Decor (39)
Romantic (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Tasting Menu (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Casual (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (10)
Fun (8)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
2664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Visited Alloy a few times, the experienc ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Visited Alloy a few times, the experience has mostly been favourable. This time we tried the "taster Menu" for the most part i found it well put together and very well presented, However, the last item did not "flow" or compliment any of the previous dishes. This unfortunately blighted the evening. As with most Calgary restaurants, the wine is grossly over priced. But this is unfortunately expected. What did surprise me was the appearance of the other diners. Given the write ups, the decor and the menu. I wasn't expecting to see a guy in a wooly hat and work jeans, in fact I noticed at least 3 or 4 tables who would have seemed more at home with a big Mac. Personally I have never seen the point of going out to dine and then requesting to take your food home. (doggy Bags) But that's me.

All in all not the greatest value, but I am willing to give it another try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was amazing. The service was o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing. The service was on point and offered great suggestions. The ambience was perfect and didn't overwhelm the experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was so poor that it reflecte ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was so poor that it reflected the whole experience. Our server was either too busy to care, or simply didn't know what to do. The food was excellent! Sadly, I do not think we will return because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Service was unfriendly - noisy restauran ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was unfriendly - noisy restaurant. Menu options were not explained.

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The meal was fabulous from beginning but ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal was fabulous from beginning but not to end. The Valentine's preset meal was great. Unfortunately the meal ended with a terrible dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The chef"s special menu was so delicious ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

The chef"s special menu was so delicious especially the lobster ravioli and the tenderloin was seasoned to perfection . As for a date I was disappointed that no effort was made to make it romantic...candle,tablecloth

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Alloy has been providing tremendous food ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Alloy has been providing tremendous food and wine experiences for over 8 years. The service is second to none, the food inspiring and seasonally changing. The wine choices are very well thought through. You can always park there and I have never had a bad experience, they have ruined me for other restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambiance and service. However, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and service. However, we got placed in the middle of the a fairly empty room and had to request to move to a more private table. The food was also fairly salty for the entrees, we were also sat beside a table who was more well known to the restaurant and seemed to have more special attention paid to them. Overall good food and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Your staff was incredible so attentive a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Your staff was incredible so attentive and gave us great suggestions on what to try! Everyone must try the gnocchi and pork belly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It wss a combination of everything that ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It wss a combination of everything that makes this place outstanding. I have eaten in similar types of restaurants throughout the world and this is as good as any.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Honest disappointment. I had mentioned t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Honest disappointment. I had mentioned the upcoming occasion to several friends and family and was told how wonderful ti would be. Alas it was an off night. The service was cold and un-engaging. The cocktails all tasted poor. The food was a total miss and the ambiance while lovely just couldn't make up for the rest.

We left only sharing on entree and having had 3 cocktails, it just wasn't worth experimenting more to make up for the awful duck dish. Not only was it salt encrusted to the point of being acrid, but the pairing with a parsnip puree with a very strong tahini taste was such a brash combination. The soggy bok choi was another gaffe on an otherwise incredibly poorly tied together dish. Not to mention the paltry 3 pieces of duck for $37.

The beef shortribs while tender could use a lot more flavour when you're dealing with that much meat. However they were cooked very while and didn't have a lot of fat. The risotto on the side was fine, but nothing noteworthy.

My boyfriends caesar was beyond spicy, but luckily we don't mind that, that's not how a caesar should come. The pink lemonade feature with hendrick's gin and sake had ZERO balance. You couldn't taste the bouquet of either liquors and it just tasted like saccharine juice. Yech. The jalapano cocktail while lovely in taste, lacked any spice! How contradictory.

I'm not sure what happened. We love food and are pretty easygoing but the whole experience was underwhelming. The server avoided us for sometime and never apologized or had a manager come by, it was just swiftly taken off the bill.

I will consider trying it again because we loved the ambiance, but we will go slow and if the cocktails at the beginning aren't good, we will just have to part ways since there really is no other reason to stay and venture through the rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

While everything is a good choice - I th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

While everything is a good choice - I think it's a shame to go and not experience the tasting menu. It's exceptional value for the quality of flavours & number of courses.... I took my daughter for her birthday last year, and it was such a wonderful experience we returned this year. What shocked me was that the service staff remembered her! So - very personal service, wonderful food, in a modern , cozy setting. Oh... and add the truffle gnocchi if you can - it's that good. (we just ate at Joel Robuchon's namesake in Vegas - and it's as tasty or tastier then any course I had there!)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It just happened that our table (for two ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It just happened that our table (for two) has the worst lighting in the restaurant. I did not know one can make a special request for the booth. But this is not the restaurant's fault. Our waitress was a bit "cold", with not enough attention to our needs - only refill our water once in that night. We ordered two appetizers - scallops and spicy tuna. The chef decides to put three scallops on minced pork. We do not find the pork and scallops are matching in any way. The spicy tuna is not spicy and has no taste at all. I have the surf and turf. The steak(inside) was cooked to my expectation, but the outside was a bit too charred. The lobster was not grilled enough and did not have the grilled taste I expect. Also, no butter is with the dish. My wife ordered lamb chops. The meat was prepared well and tasted very good. For the price charged, the food quality, the service, and the ambience(specific to my table location) are not up to par.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great appetizers, meals were great. The ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great appetizers, meals were great. The waiter knew his wine and the food came out hot and in a reasonable time. Place looks great at night

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing. Everything about this experien ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing. Everything about this experience was magical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You guys rock. Darren and his crew are ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 8, 2017

You guys rock. Darren and his crew are great. The meals were prepared to perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As always a great place to eat. The spec ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 8, 2017

As always a great place to eat. The specials are always impressive and the staff wonderful.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to take business guests there oft ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I used to take business guests there often in the past but had not visited for over a year. I am happy to say that Alloy had kept the high quality of the service. Food was delicious, service was excellent and I felt my business was appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal! its the second time we h ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic meal! its the second time we have been there and cannot go wrong with the truffle gnocchi appetizer! The Surf and Turf was also amazing! We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my nice to celebrate her B day .D ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I took my nice to celebrate her B day .Dinner was delicious and our lady waitress was vey good the only think about this restsurant i find it noisy so if you can lower the noise lewel i would say u are 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Restaurant !!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took a friend here to celebrate her bi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I took a friend here to celebrate her birthday. We both enjoyed our meals very much, but the dessert - we both had the coconut custard - was amazing!

The service was very good too. Michelle was very cheerful, friendly, patient and helpful. We both enjoyed her.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great decor and vibe. Appie were decent ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great decor and vibe. Appie were decent but not mind-blowing. Tartare spice was overdone in my opinion and romaine salad was nothing special. Mains and dessert.. "cheesecake" and creme brûlée were great. Highlights were the complimentary bread, olives and humous and the service.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time to this restaurant and it did ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 31, 2017

First time to this restaurant and it didn't disappoint. Food was very good. Service was exceptional. Hard to find as there is only 1 little sign indicating the restaurant. We certainly will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I typically get a meal sized gnocchi, wh ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I typically get a meal sized gnocchi, which I did again as it is top notch. Food here is excellent and worth the price, which is somewhat high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the chef's tasting menu It was f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had the chef's tasting menu

It was fabulous!! Loved everything especially the tuna. Our server was excellent which sealed the deal for us. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 8 had a great experience at ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our group of 8 had a great experience at Alloy. The service was fantastic and the food delicious - although some of the portions were somewhat small, but enough for my small eating habits. I love the décor - great retro vibe. We did find the volume to be a bit much, which made it somewhat difficult to talk at a quieter level. Definitely would recommend this to friends and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service with rich wine selecti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent service with rich wine selections. Service was individualized as much as possible with due attentions to allergies, gluten-free and temperature preferences. My friends love it there and will come back!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My fiance and I went to Alloy to celebra ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My fiance and I went to Alloy to celebrate our anniversary. The ambiance was great - cozy but yet a very modern look. We both found it quiet loud and couldn't hear any of the background music.

The service was really great. Food was brought out in a timely manner.

The food was delicious - we start off with the crab arancini for an appetizer, I'd highly recommend it. For the main course my fiance had the beef short rib and I had the lamb chops. Both very delicious but we both preferred the lamb.

After we ate we went to their back bar. The smoked old fashion was delicious - great service from the bartender.

Overall it was a great dinning experience, but definitely pricey so I'd recommend it for an occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, but a somewhat inattentiv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous food, but a somewhat inattentive waiter. Long wait between being given the menus and actually placing our orders. Good service throughout the meal, but somehow we were forgotten at the end of the evening and wound up being the last couple to leave the restaurant. I tipped less than one would expect but an amount I felt was applicable for the service given.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food tastes even better than its bea ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food tastes even better than its beauty. The service staff are friendly and warm as well as very proud of their chef. Their knowledge and training shows through a welcoming experience from start to finish. We will return many times.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints....always fantastic fo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Never disappoints....always fantastic food and service with great ambiance. We will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Fantastic chef. Gr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Fantastic chef. Great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food and the service. Howeve ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Enjoyed the food and the service. However the noise level was loud, making conversation difficult. Parking lot was full and no signage or directions provided to overflow parking lot a block east.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, tasty original cocktails ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Delicious food, tasty original cocktails, and great service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal at Alloy. The short ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at Alloy. The short ribs were excellent. The complimentary warm pitas and hummus was a real treat, and a wonderful selection of olives accompanied the appetizer. The calamari with the spicy apple relish was our favourite part of the meal. Soggy skin on the arctic char and no offer of freshly ground pepper were the only shortcomings. We would definitely go to Alloy again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The portions are VERY small and the serv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The portions are VERY small and the service was terrible. Our waitress's name was Lauren, she didn't come by to ask us how our meal was and when she finally came by all she said was "well, dinner must have been good" (because we were done). Not the service I would expect when you're paying that much for a meal . Would never go back. There are too many good restaurants in this city to give an experience like that a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We waited forever for our food, we hardl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We waited forever for our food, we hardly seen our server. When we did get our food it was cool- to warm, the one dish, ribs, had a funky taste, they didn't charge us for it. I normally never write comments, but the $200 price tag after all of the above, and a scoff at a 15% tip, I think your money could be spent better basically anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

My aunt and I enjoyed out lunch at Alloy ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My aunt and I enjoyed out lunch at Alloy. It is a quiet place so a great location for conversation. I was very impressed with our server. She was enthusiastic about our selections and offered an excellent lactose-free option for our dessert (it was so good I'd pick it again over chocolate, which is really saying something). The meal was very good and the portions were the perfect size (not so fancy that there's a dot in the middle of a huge plate and not huge quantities that can never be finished). The entry reminds me of a 1970s country club and has that exclusive vibe. It's a bit hard to find in a industrial area, so bring the address.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening at Alloy. We were ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Alloy. We were especially impressed with our server, Shelley. She was top notch!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I looked forward to going to Alloy and i ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I looked forward to going to Alloy and it was really deceiving. The service was pretty pretty bad, we have waited our mains for an hour, and the food wasn't great. Char was salty, veggies' portion was small, chocolate cake had nothing special and was too sweet. I definitely expect more from this kind of restaurant, hence the rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.