Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Alloy

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Business Meals (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (9)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (5)
Organic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

A consistently incredible dinning experience. You can't go wrong with any meal choice. The atmosphere remains an enticing draw and it just feels great from the arrival sequence to being seated at your table. Our thoughts - the best choice for a night out in the City.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great quality and service!
Thank you Kathryn!
Best regards,
Frank.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Super dry polenta, very little sauce and a tough bird. Stay away from the cornish game hen!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Excellent food and service, we will be back again and again

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Organic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Terrible service by our waitress. Grummpy.
Great meal though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service and food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

My wife and I had recently visited Alloy for our wedding anniversary. The restaurant and staff were incredibly welcoming. We sat in a booth and were welcomed with complementary proseccos while we decided which cocktails to try off their impressive menu. I had the "el burro" which was excellent and my wife had a bourbon cocktail I can't remember the name of but she loved it. We ordered the prawns and tomato salad as starters and were blown away with how good they were. Not too big for two people planning on having a full meal as well. For our meal I ordered the Tenderloin and my wife had the Halibut. My steak was impressively good, cooked to perfection and incredibly tender. The brie mashed potatoes were so good with it that they're worth a mention as well. My wife's meal unfortunately wasn't as great. The lobster risotto that comes with the Halibut was excellent and she ate every last bit of it however the Halibut that came out was quite dry. We're not complainers and loved everything else about the experience. I would go back in a heart beat and would recommend this to anybody looking for some really good food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was amazing! Staff was very professional. Place is beautiful.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I love that the outside does not let you know what a great experience you are in for. I t is a lovely surprise when you enter the building.
The chefs meal was fun and a great intro to dishes that I may not have ordered otherwise.
We were at a table this time. I prefer a booth. There is more privacy in the booth, and the noise doesn't intrude on your conversation. Much busier this time. I have been to this treasure 5 times...this was the busiest by far....almost sad that more people have found it...:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

An underwhelming experience overall. Limited menu and creativity of dishes disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

I took my wife here for our anniversary dinner. From start to finish, everything was excellent. Our server was fantastic and as usual Chef Herrera put on a perfect show. This was not our first visit to Alloy and will definitely not be our last. Being in the industry, I can be a little more critical at other resturants than my own, but this was a perfectly orchestrated beautiful dinner. Thank you to Chef Herrera and team!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The service and setting were excellent. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor dining with wide table spacing and pleasant decoration. The food was reasonable but to our tastes not outstanding. Good presentation however the main courses were a some what tough strip loin and dry fish. The TH wine is great value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great restaurant with amazing food, the quality matches the service amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wine glasses were covered in cloth dust and the food was very average (Mushroom truffle gnocchi was great though)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Overall experience was very good. The food is pricey, but you pay for what you get and you get top notch food and service.
Goods:
-Food was amazing - did an appi dinner, all of which were amazing.
-Service was just as good as the food. Did not have to wait to long for each menu item, each item was plated well, and your taste buds exploded.
-Drinks were very good, but limited. Did not venture into the wine list, but from a quick glance had lots to offer.
-Very nice patio.

The one thing that we were not as happy about, was a crying baby. While I understand young families need to go out, having a crying baby a table away while trying to have a romantic dinner was not as enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This was our second visit to alloy and we didnt enjoy it as much as our first visit. I think it was our server this time. They were efficient, but the first time we were there the server had more personality and chit chatted with us and it was a far busier on our first visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

keep up the good work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was the first time my girlfriend and I dined at Alloy and it definitely will not be the last. Everything was amazing! This was probably the nest meal we have ever experienecd, including the ambience and the service. Michelle was our server and she was friendly, gave us great recommendation and timed everything perfectly. These meal was fantastic, from the appetizers, entree, all the way to dessert and coffee. We would highly recommend the lobster tempura, truffles gnocchi, beef tenderloin and flourless chocolate cake. We also loved the 1960's decor. All in all, absolutely amazing! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a wonderful meal on the patio. Our service was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Lobster Roll Special was outstanding today. Perfect with a glass of Rose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Never disappoints. A favourite for my wife and I. Great food and amazing services as always. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Alloy was a great find, tucked away a bit hard to see and the outer building is misleading but once you get inside it was well appointed and comfortable. The food was delicious, varied menu with options; and nicely quiet even though there were quite a few tables you did not hear the others. The service was outstanding, I cannot say enough as I rarely see that level of service any more. It is a bit pricy however nice for a treat or a special event.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Lovely patio but could use more flowers. Our server was very friendly.
2 neg comments would be that we were served water in glasses so old that they were all marked, also our red wine could of been a bit cooler. Food was great, loved the ahi appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It is so nice to enjoy an excellent meal and be able to carry on a conversation with your guest. Both the dinner and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was way over priced for the setting, the food . I've been to other restaurants with a better out door patio, one that doesn't look like it was thrown together overnight, you would think the price they charge for eating there it would rival a restaurant like Rivers cafe! Not impressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was very good. Truffle gnocchi is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Sat on the patio, which was lovely except for the wasps, hence the 4 stars for ambiance. The food was delicious. Truffle gnocchi was amazing as usual. So rich and delicious that it should be on the dessert menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Tucked away in a pseudo industrial area, Alloy has thrived over the years on it's excellence - from innovative, quality food to great service in a wonderful atmosphere. Always a pleasure to dine here. The steelhead trout with kale pistou was fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Underwhelming. For appetizer I ordered the ahi tuna tartare and had to send it back because it had a terrible "fishy" taste (if it makes sense), and the texture and consistency was very unappealing.
For main dish, I ordered the halibut, and despite of the fact of paying $45 for a small piece of fish, it came out dry, and again with a strong "fishy " taste. Definitely not reflecting good quality. Don't think I will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I loved the short rib but the arancinni was definitely their take on it and not what you'd expect. I much prefer a more traditional flavor/texture. The flour less cake was quite good, overall it was tasty food just not spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Have had quite a few good meals at Alloy but (other than the appetizer which was fabulous) our main course was really not good and our server spent the last half of our visit taking pictures And chatting with two young ladies and then just disappeared. What might have been a dessert and after dinner drink order turned into a request for the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was okay. Food was over priced and not very good. It was tasteless and very small portions. Even the dessert was mediocre. Wouldn't recommend to anyone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Haven't been to Alloy for sometime, glad we came back, simply outstanding dinning experience, our server Jake was amazing, very attentive. Had a variation to an old fashion. Cocktail, glass had a smokey fragrance,like a campfire, very cool. We shared the truffle gnocchi!, so good. Had the beef tenderloin and short rib,both very tender would highly recommend. Finished with their flourless chocolate cake, so moist and good for sharing, nice location out of the downtown core and great parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had a wonderful birthday dinner! Great service and amazing food!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This place is expensive and maybe had 6 tables for lunch. The arancini was delicious but unbalanced with the risotto ball to prosciutto ratio. The burger's bun was cold and was overseasoned with a thick layer of grainy mustard (When I mentioned this to the server, she said she loved the mustard and walked away to tend to other tables. I did not eat the bun as a result.). The fries were unevenly cut so unevenly cooked. They were still delicious, though. They unfortunately do not offer complimentary sparkling water like many other restaurants do. The interior is absolutely beautiful and the server was nice but customer service was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Alloy has an elegant decor and a very nice dining atmosphere. My friends and I have eaten at Alloy several times. The menu is revised and had some nice entree choices. I ordered the halibut which is my favourite fish. It was served with lobster risotto, marinated cherry tomato, green peas , and kale pistou. Presentation was very good. Cost was $45. The halibut was dry but the other elements were good and complemented the fish. I did not send it back as it takes a while for a new plate and I did not want to eating when my friends were finished. I had the flourless chocolate cake which was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Our waitress was fabulous and the ambiance is wonderful. I had the 45$ halibut with lobster risotto and was a little disappointed. The fish was a bit dry. My husband had the duck and loved it. Wine by the glass selection isn't huge but very special wineries so we loved the choices. We will go back again for another special occassion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had been to alloy once previously and would have given it 5/5 that night! With the same expectations for our last dinner, we were sadly disappointed. Our appetizer had good flavour but overcooked and our dinners were mediocre this time. I ordered the tenderloin medium rare and this came very rare... my husbands fish was salty...We got charged for a birthday dessert when the person behind us had theirs complimentary and our server was ok, again, not as good as the girl we had the first time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I went with a friend and we ordered 5 dishes off the salad / appetizer list and shared. Each was better than the last, and the greek salad was amazing. the Lobster tempura, prawns with watermelon and gnocchi were all sublime. Everything was beautifully presented, and we noted how each dish was really perfect for splitting for two (either that or the serving staff ensured it could be easily split as he knew we were sharing). We each had a cocktail, both were excellent, and the wine list offered a bit of everything. A very lovely experience with wonderful food in a very clean and elegant room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We were there with friends who recommended it as we were from out of town. It was very good. One of our friends is vegan and they made a special meal for him

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.