About Alloy

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beef Short Rib - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Tiramisu - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Chocolate Gana - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Cawliflower Soup - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Desser - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Tomato Cons - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Cured Arctic Char - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Lamb Chorizo - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Arancini - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Duck Breasts - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Flourless Chocolate  - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Mango Sorbetto - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Arctic Char - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Lobster Ri - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Warm Beets - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Striploin - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Niçoise salad - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Lamb Chop - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Prawns And Sca - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Gazpacho - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Browni - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Scallop - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Albacore Tuna - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Tempora Shrimps - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Beet Salad - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Chocolate Cake - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Short Rib And Sour Cream Over Vegetable Rataouille - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Greek Salad Calamari - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Duc - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Pork Tenderloin With Pork Belly - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Spot Prawn Tempura With Maple Glaze And Jicama Red Pepper Slaw - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Chipotle Beef Tartar With Quail Egg And Potato Chips - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Fish and Chips - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin With Truffle Gnocchi - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Organic Bison, Parsnip Puree, Shallots, Carrots, Chips - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Grilled Spot Prawns/Brazilian Scampi/Lobster Ravioli - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Lobster Croquettes - Alloy, Calgary, AB
White & Dark Chocolate Tiramisu - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Beef Short Rib Tacos - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Bourbon St Cocktail  - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Butternut Squash And Ancho Chili Risotto With Manchego Cheese And Pumpkin Seed - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Roasted Cream Of Corn Soup With Jalapeno Salsa - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Spiced Rubbed Roast Leg Of Lamb With Purple Potato Mash And Cashew  And Cilantro Mole - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Short Ribs - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Beef Tenderloin Tartare Wirh Purple Potato Chips And Aoli - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Curried Prawns With Papadum  - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Chicory And Cucumber Salad With Serrano Ham And Balsamic Fig - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Pumpkin Cream Soup: Delicious - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Heirloom Tomato - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Seared Scallop & Mexican Wild Prawn - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Asiago Cheese Arancini - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Spiced Pumpkin - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Just Delicious - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Cornmeal Coated Brazilian Scampi - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Beef Tenderloin Tartar - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Banana & Dulche De Leche Banoffee Pie - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Crab Cakes - Alloy, Calgary, AB

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Special Occasion (67)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Romantic (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Modern Decor (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Business Meals (31)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Cozy (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Casual (7)
Tapas (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice ambiance , attentive service , ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice ambiance , attentive service , knowledgable service staff - great vegan options - not enough parking ! Would recommend for special events or date night !!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vegan, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always reliable for excellent food and s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Always reliable for excellent food and service. Very pleasant environment with distance between tables.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gret meal, great wine, great service! I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Gret meal, great wine, great service! I have never been disappointed at Alloy.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy going to alloy for the great fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoy going to alloy for the great food. It also quiet and relaxing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

As always, the food was excellent and th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always, the food was excellent and the food was superb, which is why we keep coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When asked where would I like to go for ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

When asked where would I like to go for my birthday dinner by my husband and two daughters the first place that came to mind was ALLOY! I just love the feeling it has, it is visually pleasing and so tastefully done.

It always feels comfortable, its fresh in the summer and cozy in the winter.

The food is always good with a nice selection for all.

The complimentary hummus and olives is a great way to start off the meal.

I highly recommend ALLOY to all!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Always enjoy the vibe in the main dining ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always enjoy the vibe in the main dining area at Alloy. Not a big fan of the area near the bar in the back room near the kitchen. My scallops appetizer was a little cool, and under seasoned. My wife and I both had the short rib. Cooked perfectly, but under seasoned as well. Service was friendly and efficient. Not one of our more memorable meals, but still a pleasant night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Been a couple times here now where the w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Been a couple times here now where the wine list is not kept up to date with what actually is in stock. Other than that good experience each time here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love Alloy! Loved it when it opened and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Love Alloy! Loved it when it opened and still love it today. Consistently good food and great space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow, 2 and half hour m ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was very slow, 2 and half hour meal. food was good, however, was expecting more from what I had heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

It was our first visit to Alloy and will ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was our first visit to Alloy and will for sure not be our last, we had great food and amazing service!

My only complaint is the coffee is not the best, too bitter.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful retro decor. Comfortable and q ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Beautiful retro decor. Comfortable and quiet. The food was delicious. We are all meat eaters and found the food excellent although we commented there isn't much for vegetarians. Off the beaten track. Lots of parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We particularly appreciated the service ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We particularly appreciated the service and professionalism of our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked lunch for my friends birthday! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I booked lunch for my friends birthday! The food was excellent, the service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was excellent and our young l ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The dinner was excellent and our young lady was very pleasant and accommodating

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing. Nothing like being overl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Always amazing. Nothing like being overly impressed, comforted, and satisfied by a great meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating our wedding anniversary—any ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Celebrating our wedding anniversary—any special occasion really—there is no other choice but Alloy. There is such a specialness to this dinning room and experience. Perhaps it is the extensive wine list with brilliant range; or that their kitchen can impress with everything from comfort food favourites to gastronomy; or perhaps it is their professional yet engaging wait-staff; or perhaps it is their decor that from day-one has been, well, sexy… perhaps it's all of it, taken together, that results in a restaurant and dining experience that we enjoy so greatly and invariably.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and atmosphere were excellen ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service and atmosphere were excellent. We had a great appetizer, however, the meat and risotto in main courses were incredibly salty. We couldn't finish our meal. It would be a toss up to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. I highly r ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Outstanding food and service. I highly recommend Alloy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I really liked the nice little booths th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I really liked the nice little booths they have, the restaurant is really pretty, great place for a romantic date. The truffle gnocchi (appetizer) was amazing. I got the Arctic Char as a main and it was unremarkable. Their risotto was also plain and bland. Maybe I was too hyped up from the great appetizer that everything else just disappointed from there. My boyfriend got the Pork Sirloin and he said that was good but not great. The service was also not as warm and welcoming as I was expecting from reading other reviews. Our server wasn't very attentive, didn't ask how our meals were; he was polite and did the bare minimum, which I guess isn't bad nor good.

Overall I would recommend this restaurant if you want to go on a fancier date so you can sit intimiately in one of Alloy's booths and enjoy some great appetizers and wine. But for the price, I wouldn't go here for the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great...only thing that's ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Everything was great...only thing that's negative was the scallops, pulverized chorizo was a little off putting...and for the price you should get 4 not 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Alloy has been and always be our favorit ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Alloy has been and always be our favorite restaurant in Calgary.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This dinner was for the restaurants 9th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This dinner was for the restaurants 9th anniversary, featuring a 5 course fixed menu. Every course was fantastic, with the perfect blending of flavours. The chef did an amazing job and we had a wonderful evening. Thank you.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

9th Anniversary dinner for Alloy. Always ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

9th Anniversary dinner for Alloy. Always an amazing time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Alloy anniversary set menu. The ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Amazing Alloy anniversary set menu. The bisque was outstanding - bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and a great porti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was fantastic and a great portion size for the money, definitely will be heading back to try a few other items on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Group of 6 had a great time. Everyone h ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Group of 6 had a great time. Everyone had appetizers as well as mains; all were great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great. The food was fanta ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was great. The food was fantastic, and so was our server. I forget her name, but she was tall and had brown hair.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and ambiance is n ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was delicious and ambiance is nice but unless you have a booth don't expect to get close to your date. The two person tables and pretty long and it was quite loud on a Friday that I thought about texting my sweet nothings because whispering was out of the question. I would have liked just a touch more attention from the server since the food took awhile and update would be nice. But the food was soooo good. Beef short ribs and nice glass wine made for a pleasant night all things considered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service - lunch was served promptl ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great service - lunch was served promptly and very good quality.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was very slow. After being s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The service was very slow. After being seated, I waited nearly 15 minutes to have a server at my table. The place did not seem to be that busy. I ordered the lamb, supposedly one of their signature dishes. The presentation was nice, but the side dishes were cold and unappetizing. The lamb itself was just normal, nothing special. There was a large group beside our table that was quite loud and boisterous. This did not help the atmosphere. I will probably try again, but I would only go when the main chef is in the restaurant. In summary, a dissapointing experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a great place to dine with great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Always a great place to dine with great service and food. For some reason, it appeared noisy this time, there were a couple of larger tables that perhaps added to the gregarious atmosphere.

Would like to see some sort of partition behind the booths. All in all, highly recommend Alloy!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went here to celebrate our anniversary. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Went here to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was perfect. The food was to die for, especially the manchego creme brulee. Will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decor is excellent,food is amazing,only ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Decor is excellent,food is amazing,only minor negative was slow service but that was related to the place being fully booked and people at the door.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Went there with a group of friends for ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Went there with a group of friends for our monthly get together. Favorite place we hAve been! Great atmosphere and amazing food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine list and good fresh food choi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great wine list and good fresh food choices in an "up market" setting

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The truffle gnocchi will change your lif ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The truffle gnocchi will change your life! Yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A fantastic resturant. The food was impe ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

A fantastic resturant. The food was impeccable, my beef tenderloin was perfectly cooked, I've never had a cut of meat cooked so perfectly medium rare as this one was. The beef short rib is to die for. It was so tender and flavourful. We couldn't have been any happier, we will most definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our previous experiences at Alloy have b ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our previous experiences at Alloy have been very good. This evening did not live up to expectations. The food was just okay...especially for the prices.

The service was okay. We felt like we were being swept out of the restaurant at the end of the evening...literally the waitress was sweeping the floor around us as were still sitting and chatting at the table.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Exception food and atmosphere .... highl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Exception food and atmosphere .... highly recommend it but be prepared for the price! The lunch special was $36 (Cod), Beer $9 and wine $14

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.