About Alloy

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Beef Short Rib - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Tiramisu - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Cawliflower Soup - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Desser - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Tomato Cons - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Cured Arctic Char - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Lamb Chorizo - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Arancini - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Duck Breasts - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Flourless Chocolate  - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Lobster Ri - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Warm Beets - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Striploin - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Lamb Chop - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Gazpacho - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Chocolate Gana - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Browni - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Albacore Tuna - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Mango Sorbetto - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Arctic Char - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Niçoise salad - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Prawns And Sca - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Scallop - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Tempora Shrimps - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Chocolate Cake - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Beet Salad - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Short Rib And Sour Cream Over Vegetable Rataouille - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Greek Salad Calamari - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Pork Tenderloin With Pork Belly - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Spot Prawn Tempura With Maple Glaze And Jicama Red Pepper Slaw - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Chipotle Beef Tartar With Quail Egg And Potato Chips - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Duc - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Fish and Chips - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin With Truffle Gnocchi - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Organic Bison, Parsnip Puree, Shallots, Carrots, Chips - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Grilled Spot Prawns/Brazilian Scampi/Lobster Ravioli - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Lobster Croquettes - Alloy, Calgary, AB
White & Dark Chocolate Tiramisu - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Beef Short Rib Tacos - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Bourbon St Cocktail  - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Butternut Squash And Ancho Chili Risotto With Manchego Cheese And Pumpkin Seed - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Roasted Cream Of Corn Soup With Jalapeno Salsa - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Spiced Rubbed Roast Leg Of Lamb With Purple Potato Mash And Cashew  And Cilantro Mole - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Short Ribs - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Beef Tenderloin Tartare Wirh Purple Potato Chips And Aoli - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Curried Prawns With Papadum  - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Chicory And Cucumber Salad With Serrano Ham And Balsamic Fig - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Pumpkin Cream Soup: Delicious - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Heirloom Tomato - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Seared Scallop & Mexican Wild Prawn - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Asiago Cheese Arancini - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Spiced Pumpkin - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Just Delicious - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Cornmeal Coated Brazilian Scampi - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Beef Tenderloin Tartar - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Banana & Dulche De Leche Banoffee Pie - Alloy, Calgary, AB
Crab Cakes - Alloy, Calgary, AB

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Business Meals (40)
Modern Decor (39)
Romantic (36)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Casual (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (9)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Tapas (6)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My aunt and I enjoyed out lunch at Alloy ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

My aunt and I enjoyed out lunch at Alloy. It is a quiet place so a great location for conversation. I was very impressed with our server. She was enthusiastic about our selections and offered an excellent lactose-free option for our dessert (it was so good I'd pick it again over chocolate, which is really saying something). The meal was very good and the portions were the perfect size (not so fancy that there's a dot in the middle of a huge plate and not huge quantities that can never be finished). The entry reminds me of a 1970s country club and has that exclusive vibe. It's a bit hard to find in a industrial area, so bring the address.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening at Alloy. We were ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our evening at Alloy. We were especially impressed with our server, Shelley. She was top notch!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I looked forward to going to Alloy and i ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I looked forward to going to Alloy and it was really deceiving. The service was pretty pretty bad, we have waited our mains for an hour, and the food wasn't great. Char was salty, veggies' portion was small, chocolate cake had nothing special and was too sweet. I definitely expect more from this kind of restaurant, hence the rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Flavour, texture and presentation of eve ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Flavour, texture and presentation of every item ordered was outstanding. Cured Salmon salad, truffle gnocchi, crab arancini, beef tenderloin & lobster surf & turf and Arctic Char. Dessert was a nice light flourless chocolate cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to alloy several times and ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been to alloy several times and the good quality was terrible, food presentation on our mains was sub-par and the food was extremely bland. We would have rather gone to A mediocre restaurant to pay for mediocre food instead of coming to Alloy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Thoroughly enjoyed the NYE meal as a who ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the NYE meal as a whole. We savoured every morsel. One criticism is that some of the servers didn't clearly articulate what the meals consisted of. We like to hear the explanations! They were on the menu of course but we think it is an important feature of fine dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

New Years dinner was very well done; the ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner was very well done; the menu was creative and well executed. Service was also excellent. The only negative (and not the restaurants fault ) was a large table near by that were very loud (one woman in particular). The noise level increased to such an extent we found it hard to hear each other. I believe other diners were also impacted so a tactful request by management to keep it down would have been appropriate and appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the food at Alloy was very go ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always, the food at Alloy was very good - the beef short rib continues to be outstanding. However, there were a couple of disappointing aspects to our evening on this visit. We were a party of six and seated at a table more suited for 10 or 12 on the side of the restaurant that was empty except for us and apparently there was no place to which we could move. The problem was further aggravated because the table was a large stone affair which could not be moved or adjusted in any way. Made for an awkward conversational setting. I also thought the service was a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Perfect booth seating for date night. A ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Perfect booth seating for date night. All special dining/food requests accommodated.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very very slow service waited 20 minutes ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very very slow service waited 20 minutes from the time we finished our meal to the time we got the bill. They seemed very busy and, my guess, understaffed.

We were offered a complimentary prosecco as it was an anniversary dinner for us, but in the end the "complimentary" drink showed up on the bill at $10.00/glass. Not wishing to belabor it and because I had already sat long enough trying to pay and get out, I just paid for the drinks.

The food was very good but was marred by oberly folksy-friendly and slow service. For the price I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Everything was great, however our server ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything was great, however our server was not very accommodating with some of the requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I always enjoy coming into Alloy from ho ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I always enjoy coming into Alloy from hostess staff, to the professional servers and the amazing food prepared by the exceptional chefs. Just outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We picked Alloy for our Xmas get togethe ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We picked Alloy for our Xmas get together.

The food and service were very good

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were quite disappointed. Asked for th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were quite disappointed. Asked for their best table for 4. We were seated directly by the door. Our server was not attentive. His english was poor and didn't seem to make an effort to communicate effectively. We waited an unusual amount of time for our appetizers to arrive. The food was acceptable/good but not outstanding. Especially for the prices charged.

As well there was very little atmosphere. We dine out a lot but will not be recommending Alloy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This is a hidden gem in Calgary. Well wo ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is a hidden gem in Calgary. Well worth finding it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience as usual. Would love to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great experience as usual. Would love to see a few more menu options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but it is incredibly loud ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was good, but it is incredibly loud, not an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

I always love the food here and the rest ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I always love the food here and the restaurant is beautifully designed. Everything on the menu is delicious but I especially enjoy the Gnocchi. It's a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Delightful restaurant food was superior ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Delightful restaurant food was superior, and for fine dining the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent food - who knew meat loaf coul ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 16, 2016

excellent food - who knew meat loaf could be that good and so well presented! loved the ambience, the food and the service. a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent birthday celebration - server ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent birthday celebration - server was very attentive and food, as always, was delicious.

I have a nut allergy so our server always told me if my partner's food had nuts in it.

I was given a tasty dessert for my birthday to finish off a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had only one disappointment , we came ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had only one disappointment , we came for pesco sours, and you ran out of pesco!! Also you were out of our wine choice.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I found Alloy through the Air Canada enR ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I found Alloy through the Air Canada enRoute app. I have used this app several times across the country, and it has always lead me to interesting dining. Alloy was no exception. This restaurant is hidden just off the MacLeod trail on the edge of an industrial area, and it is a great find. The building reminded me of parts of the Richard Neutra's Kronish House.

We had the Chef's Tasting menu which was inventive, delicious and well paced. The pacing and delightful service was just what we needed to enjoy our conversation and catch up. The Seared Ahi Tuna course came with a fried avocado creation, the BBQ Duck Breast course was accented with a roasted yam puree, and the Israeli Couscous that came with the final Beef Striploin course also stood out.

If you are looking for fine dining without the pretension, Alloy is a great choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service as usual. I w ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual. I was surprised it wasn't busier close to Christmas. A bit hard to find the entrance from the road.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Made reservations for 4 people on a Sund ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Made reservations for 4 people on a Sunday night, 2 weeks before Christmas. No big Christmas parties going on, but a few bigger tables for birthday parties. Good noise level, good vibe, killer tasting menu, great service, great wine list. Great Time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the second time I have been at A ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is the second time I have been at Alloy's for our Girls Christmas Dinner. The food is always outstanding and the service was great. Zane was our waiter and he was great. He made our get together a lot more specials.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Can always count on Alloy to provide fir ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Can always count on Alloy to provide first class service and food. My go to place for a business lunch.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good, service was OK, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food was very good, service was OK, but weird sometimes... example: when I was asked if the dessert was good, I replied it was so tasty and the waiter told me "I can let you lick the plate dry if you want" :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Very good food nicely served well worth ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Very good food nicely served well worth a visit nice tidy house to have complimentary olives and hummus went for my birthday and I was not disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was asked to pick a location for our o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I was asked to pick a location for our office holiday lunch. I immediately knew I wanted to go to Alloy. There was 11 of us and Alloy did not disappoint. The service was awesome and the food was amazing. Such a gem..... We would definitely go back for an office function again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the other reviews we thought we wer ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 6, 2016

From the other reviews we thought we were going for a nice quiet romantic fine dining dinner. The restaurant was noisy and the food could have been really good but it was too salty. Service was a bit officious so was not very personable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice ambiance , attentive service , ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very nice ambiance , attentive service , knowledgable service staff - great vegan options - not enough parking ! Would recommend for special events or date night !!!

Tags: , Vegan, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always reliable for excellent food and s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Always reliable for excellent food and service. Very pleasant environment with distance between tables.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gret meal, great wine, great service! I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Gret meal, great wine, great service! I have never been disappointed at Alloy.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy going to alloy for the great fo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoy going to alloy for the great food. It also quiet and relaxing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great meal This was a wonderful choice. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great meal

This was a wonderful choice. We had a wonderful meal with great service. The food was delicious and plenty to eat. I will definitely be returning to Alloy!!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was excellent and th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always, the food was excellent and the food was superb, which is why we keep coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When asked where would I like to go for ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

When asked where would I like to go for my birthday dinner by my husband and two daughters the first place that came to mind was ALLOY! I just love the feeling it has, it is visually pleasing and so tastefully done.

It always feels comfortable, its fresh in the summer and cozy in the winter.

The food is always good with a nice selection for all.

The complimentary hummus and olives is a great way to start off the meal.

I highly recommend ALLOY to all!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.