Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Alloy

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Romantic (32)
Modern Decor (30)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (9)
Healthy (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

I would say our overall experience was pretty good. Food portions were exceptional for the price, not too dainty like at some fine dining restaurants [ we ordered straight off the menu, not the chefs tasting (which seemed like a great price)]
It wasn't too busy for a Friday night, the ambience was pretty relaxed but the decor was very trendy and beautiful. Our server was wonderful, had great recommendations but seemed a little too busy in her section. At one point we actually wondered if they forgot our main course.
Our dishes were the
Carrot Soup ( perfectly seasoned )
Lobster tempura ( MUST TRY, so delicious)
And the halibut with lobster risotto ( had to pack half of it up and it was just as tasty the next day for lunch ) the halibut was cooked to perfection.
Dessert was the macerated berries ( couldn't finish dinner, but the plate of dessert was cleared quickly) it was light and yummy.
Will be returning as the location is just far south enough it's not a pain to get to. Price is right and food is great! Only wishing the hostesses were as pleasant as the servers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious cocktail special - Moscow Mule (free when you tell your server #bestrestaurantsyyc until end May). Delicious grilled chicken salad, with romaine leaves and fresh julienned vegetables. Vegan friend was delighted with chef's choice of rice with sauteed vegetables. We 3 enjoyed olives and hummus appetizer. Great value, delicious food, friendly and professional server.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for my birthday and overall the food was good however the food took forever to come out. We waited over 45 mins for our mains and 15 mins to receive our bill. It's too bad as the food was good however not sure if I would come back if I had to wait that long again. I was hoping for a better experience for being voted one of Calgary's top ten restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Alloy looks beautiful from far, but when you take a closer look the seats and tables are worn down. The restaurant does not have a warm cozy feel - in fact, I was sitting at a table right above an AC vent. It was freezing cold, I ended up sitting with my legs under me! My seat had no spring left in it so it was uncomfortable eating my dinner because the table was so high and I sank into my chair. They have no music playing and the restaurant seems loud which gives it a more casual feel although the menu seems more fancy. The gnocchi appetizer was amazing - by far the best thing we ate. The mains were just okay, although the meat was cooked perfectly the flavour was too unique to be good. My short rib tasted like it was dipped in chocolate. Dessert was strange as well. The creme brûlée was supposed to be peaches and cream, but there was a spice added that made it taste like nothing but chilies. Unfortunately could not taste peach at all. We couldn't finish our dessert because it was just too much spice. Overall, it wasn't a terrible experience and we had excellent service, but Calgary has such a good food scene, I wouldn't go back to Alloy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Our reservation was for 6pm and we did not finish until 8pm. Our expectation was 1.5hrs. The courses were slow and 60% of our mains were cold. The server removed our wine glasses mid meal without asking if we'd like a refill. We also had to ask for the bill twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We recently enjoyed the tasting menu at Alloy. The dishes were quite tasty although quality varies. One persons steak was quite dry and the sorbet palate cleanser was partially melted and presented with a straw. The part that didn't melt was hard to get at. We chose to have the wine pairing which was a disappointment. We enjoyed only a few of the wines and some of us skipped drinking the less desirable ones. Service was great and we have enjoyed meals here previously so I would stay with ordering off the menu in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I've been here a few times now and I find the restaurant consistent each time I go. We ordered the halibut and the lamb for entrees. We had the tuna tartar and the pull pork appetizer. Everything was good. Good portions. Was full after the entree. no complaints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

food service was excellent definitely wI'll come again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers Day dinner.

Went to Alloy for dinner on Mother's Day with my sister, father, mother and brother-in-law. Both my mother and father received steak that was inedible. The kitchen sent out two replacement steaks THIRTY MINUTES LATER after everyone had finished eating. Those steaks were half the size of the original steaks and one of them was also inedible. The waitress didn't seem to care and told us that the kitchen received some bad meat that day but was sending it out regardless of its poor quality. What kind of restaurant does that? Our waitress also said that management had decided to pay for the one beer my father had and the one glass of wine my mother had - a very poor attempt to make up for the quality of food. Why didn't management come talk to us? The restaurant itself is beautiful but the quality of food and the lack of caring was horrible. If you're going to spend hundreds of dollars....go somewhere else. Don't waste your time here.

This kind of thing may not happen very often but that's no excuse for how this situation was handled. Show some respect to everyone who chooses to dine at your establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great time in Mother's Day. Service was excellent, and the truffle gnocchi was the highlight of our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mothers Day brunch. Our party was 11 people, 3 of which were under age 5, one of whom required a high chair. The restaurant was not equipped to host children nor did they have a kids menu or kid friendly menu. The did have an order of pancakes on their brunch menu which the kids had and enjoyed. My husband and I have been to alloy in the past and thouroughly enjoyed the night, food, service and ambiance. We will be back, however sans enfants. This is not a kid friendly place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Okay,..love Alloy on so many levels.
BUT,...please, please, please, bring back the donuts
😊😊😊😊😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers day

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband and I went for a quiet dinner out, and were fully impressed. The staff were considerate (I called to change our reservation and they were able to do so short notice), helpful, great wine list, and we really enjoyed the night out. Thanks so much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Beautiful spot! Interesting menu. Found my lunch to lack the punch I'd expect from a Korean themed dish, but it was still quite good. Would certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Upscale, elegant, modern dining - yet not stuffy. Refined clientele. Warm and friendly service. A foodie's delight. Memorable dishes. Have been to many of the best restaurants in Calgary - hands down my favourite!

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food is over priced for the quality. The beef short rib tacos are horrible and you can't even taste kimchi. There was too much saffron that over powered the taco and picking it out didn't help. The burger was mediocre considering burgers I have tried all over Alberta and over priced. The fried chicken sandwich was horrible as well. The lamb appetizer was tender and flavourable. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to help and even scrounged up a baby high chair for my 7 month son. The decor and ambiance was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always my go to place for a great business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Sunday night reservation for my mother's birthday and early Mother's day dinner for 6 adults. Ordered three appetizers, a bottle of wine, sparkling water and a cocktail with main dishes for all: we ordered three lamb dishes, two short ribs and the halibut. Appetizers and starters were awesome as well as drinks. Waited about 20 minutes for main. Inquired with waitress who was apologetic and pushed for the mains, quoting that each dish is made individually from scratch which we understoood and expected. What we didn't understand is why the timing was off by 20-30 minutes. When our food came out, it was barely warm to the touch. Plates themselves we're cold which implies they weren't under a heat lamp, given the medium rare prep on the lamb. They were cooked to what we requested, but we're cold. All dishes except the halibut were cold. Didnt bother to mention this to the server since we were very hungry and didn't want to wait for another thirty minutes for a second run at the mains. Turned of by the experience, we opted to skip on desserts. Beautiful restaurant and good services that needs to be matched with better food preparation and service timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good experience

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The location of the restaurant was easy to miss, very beautiful inside and outside. Food was delicious, was not a fan of the dessert. Service was alright, the server was not very pleasant. Overall, the experience was decent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We met with friends and it was an amazing setting. It was quiet enough for us to visit. Loved the food, tasted fabulous and looked very well presented!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A little noisy and starting to get tired looking . The seating has become saggy and uncomfortable. Being an interior designer I noticed this immediately and especially because of the flair this place had when opened ... time for some updating . Food is always good though and staff is friendly and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great (tenderloin and halibut). Would definitely go back!!
Server was very friendly. Ambiance was nice and open too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food with professional but friendly service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was amazing!! The mushroom truffle gnocci was to die for. It's a must try!! The short ribs were very delicious as well. Great place for an amazing birthday dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is absolutely delicious! Especially the truffle gnocchi. The noise level, however, is awful. I could hardly hear the person next to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food and service. Very loud. Had a hard time having a conversation at our table.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great menu and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Mom's 60th birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 24, 2017

A bit disappointing really. Friends have been there numerous times and even hosted private functions but last night was disappointing and it was really service related. Our server was not engaging, lacked any sort of personality and was cold. She forgot to bring a drink (we weren't charged) but is was a Monday night and it wasn't busy. One person in our party is a slow eater and although he was still eating she cleared off the entire table and brought the desert menus. There was one cocktail that didn't get consumed because my son didn't like it. I am not expecting not to pay for it but I would expect that a server would ask if there was something up with the beverage.

Should we have spoke up, maybe but we were out celebrating and to complain seemed a bit non-celebratory!

Will we go back? Maybe as the patio looked beautiful .....we will see.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was an amazing experience will be returning to Calgary specifically for this food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic food and Chefs specialty dessert yum!! A bit pricey but soooo delicious!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Went on a normal Thursday night so atmosphere was dull. Excited to come back for the beautiful patio on a summer day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This was our second visit to Alloy. It has become one of our favorites. It is perfect for a special occasion or date night. We both had the 3 course meal and we loved it. The confit duck was new to us and did not disappoint. So many flavors in every bite! We also had cheesecake and peach creme brûlée, and we both preferred the cheesecake. It is fabulous!! Service was great and food came in a timely fashion.

Our only complaint was that there was a high pitched alarm or ringing sound in the restaurant and it was quite loud. I wear hearing aids so it was hard to tune it out....it would have been nice if someone had said something to us about the noise, an apology or explanation....I don't like to complain but it took away from the ambience for sure. We've already discussed going back again very soon to try the duck that's on the menu after trying the confit duck. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always enjoy dinner at Alloy. This was no exception. A fantastic night with fantastic service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome meal as always! Chef's tasting menu was amazing as always!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our first visit and should have gone sooner. Excellent service and delicious food! Highly recommend Alloy!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great meal. .services was great. ..but it was one expensive meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Just returning from heliskiing and has a evening layover so we headed downtown. Alloy was recommended in a culinary review article. It is a home run, Great food, ambience, and service was awesome. Food 5 course options that was incredible! In Health, Dr.A

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.