Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Alloy

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Business Meals (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Modern Decor (35)
Romantic (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Tasting Menu (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Cozy (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (10)
Fun (9)
Casual (8)
Healthy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
2685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, wonderful wine, great atmosphere :) Looking forward to patio season!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, People Watching, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Great evening! Best beef tartar in th city. Marvellous service. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great room, with great service and great food. The variability here, which does happen, is between great and really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our server was amazing and he even took care of our dessert because it was my friends birthday!

Food was delicious :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Don't let the location fool you. Alloy is a fine dining island in a light industrial setting. Great place for a business lunch a short distance from downtown.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good food portions were good size. Service was a bit slow but very knowledgable. Prices were somewhat steep ($240 for us as a couple) so we won't be going regularly ; )

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very tasty food. Interesting decor, probably couldn't go wrong anywhere on the menu. Easy parking and It wasn't one of those excessively loud restaurants where you can't hear your date. A good all round dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Had seen on Avenue Mag as top restaurant in YYC for 2016. What a nice surprise to visit this gem outside of the core. Was there for lunch and not one complaint which is rare these days.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The tasting menu was excellent. Service was exceptional as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place . As a group we tried many of the appetizers all were amazing. My personal favorite was the Crab Arancini. The beef tenderlion was cooked to perfection. The service was well timed and friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Alloy has a very cool vibe about it. The retro decor is classy and stylish creating a really cool atmosphere. The menu was delicious! The calamari was amazing and they understand how to elevate the simplest dish. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was wonderful, always a great experience.
The service was a nightmare. I am a strong believer in paying for a great experience. But for how much you pay there, the service should match the food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My Husband and I went to alloy the other night and I have to say I was a little disappointed. I previously have been to Alloy and loved it but sadly this time it failed to knock my socks off. For an appetizer I had the scallops and my husband had the arancini, the scallops had a nice sear but was totally raw in the middle. My husband's arancini was much better but still didn't "wow" us. For the main I had the Arctic Char, it was just ok. My husband had the steak and lobster. His steak was great but the accompanying tortellini was slightly underdone, the lobster was just ok. For that price (60.00) we expected "wow". I have been to steak houses that offer a much better steak at a lesser price. Have to say the service was excellent, just seemed to be a off day for the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food and service were fantastic. Love that they offer corkage at a fair price with an option to buy more off their menu and waive the corkage fee. Brilliant!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Pretty average although it is a nice restaurant with good ambiance. We were seated at the back near the kitchen and we felt pretty isolated. Food was good but not mind-blowing, service was very good, wine list is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had the chefs tasting menu. It was amazing start to finish.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was amazing! It was our first time there and we will definitely be back. The food and atmosphere was unreal!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great as usual. One of my favourite spots throughout the years and I have always enjoyed the food and ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Visited Alloy a few times, the experience has mostly been favourable. This time we tried the "taster Menu" for the most part i found it well put together and very well presented, However, the last item did not "flow" or compliment any of the previous dishes. This unfortunately blighted the evening. As with most Calgary restaurants, the wine is grossly over priced. But this is unfortunately expected. What did surprise me was the appearance of the other diners. Given the write ups, the decor and the menu. I wasn't expecting to see a guy in a wooly hat and work jeans, in fact I noticed at least 3 or 4 tables who would have seemed more at home with a big Mac. Personally I have never seen the point of going out to dine and then requesting to take your food home. (doggy Bags) But that's me.
All in all not the greatest value, but I am willing to give it another try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was on point and offered great suggestions. The ambience was perfect and didn't overwhelm the experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was so poor that it reflected the whole experience. Our server was either too busy to care, or simply didn't know what to do. The food was excellent! Sadly, I do not think we will return because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was unfriendly - noisy restaurant. Menu options were not explained.
Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meal was fabulous from beginning but not to end. The Valentine's preset meal was great. Unfortunately the meal ended with a terrible dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The chef"s special menu was so delicious especially the lobster ravioli and the tenderloin was seasoned to perfection . As for a date I was disappointed that no effort was made to make it romantic...candle,tablecloth

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Alloy has been providing tremendous food and wine experiences for over 8 years. The service is second to none, the food inspiring and seasonally changing. The wine choices are very well thought through. You can always park there and I have never had a bad experience, they have ruined me for other restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and service. However, we got placed in the middle of the a fairly empty room and had to request to move to a more private table. The food was also fairly salty for the entrees, we were also sat beside a table who was more well known to the restaurant and seemed to have more special attention paid to them. Overall good food and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Your staff was incredible so attentive and gave us great suggestions on what to try! Everyone must try the gnocchi and pork belly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It wss a combination of everything that makes this place outstanding. I have eaten in similar types of restaurants throughout the world and this is as good as any.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Honest disappointment. I had mentioned the upcoming occasion to several friends and family and was told how wonderful ti would be. Alas it was an off night. The service was cold and un-engaging. The cocktails all tasted poor. The food was a total miss and the ambiance while lovely just couldn't make up for the rest.
We left only sharing on entree and having had 3 cocktails, it just wasn't worth experimenting more to make up for the awful duck dish. Not only was it salt encrusted to the point of being acrid, but the pairing with a parsnip puree with a very strong tahini taste was such a brash combination. The soggy bok choi was another gaffe on an otherwise incredibly poorly tied together dish. Not to mention the paltry 3 pieces of duck for $37.
The beef shortribs while tender could use a lot more flavour when you're dealing with that much meat. However they were cooked very while and didn't have a lot of fat. The risotto on the side was fine, but nothing noteworthy.
My boyfriends caesar was beyond spicy, but luckily we don't mind that, that's not how a caesar should come. The pink lemonade feature with hendrick's gin and sake had ZERO balance. You couldn't taste the bouquet of either liquors and it just tasted like saccharine juice. Yech. The jalapano cocktail while lovely in taste, lacked any spice! How contradictory.
I'm not sure what happened. We love food and are pretty easygoing but the whole experience was underwhelming. The server avoided us for sometime and never apologized or had a manager come by, it was just swiftly taken off the bill.
I will consider trying it again because we loved the ambiance, but we will go slow and if the cocktails at the beginning aren't good, we will just have to part ways since there really is no other reason to stay and venture through the rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

While everything is a good choice - I think it's a shame to go and not experience the tasting menu. It's exceptional value for the quality of flavours & number of courses.... I took my daughter for her birthday last year, and it was such a wonderful experience we returned this year. What shocked me was that the service staff remembered her! So - very personal service, wonderful food, in a modern , cozy setting. Oh... and add the truffle gnocchi if you can - it's that good. (we just ate at Joel Robuchon's namesake in Vegas - and it's as tasty or tastier then any course I had there!)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It just happened that our table (for two) has the worst lighting in the restaurant. I did not know one can make a special request for the booth. But this is not the restaurant's fault. Our waitress was a bit "cold", with not enough attention to our needs - only refill our water once in that night. We ordered two appetizers - scallops and spicy tuna. The chef decides to put three scallops on minced pork. We do not find the pork and scallops are matching in any way. The spicy tuna is not spicy and has no taste at all. I have the surf and turf. The steak(inside) was cooked to my expectation, but the outside was a bit too charred. The lobster was not grilled enough and did not have the grilled taste I expect. Also, no butter is with the dish. My wife ordered lamb chops. The meat was prepared well and tasted very good. For the price charged, the food quality, the service, and the ambience(specific to my table location) are not up to par.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great appetizers, meals were great. The waiter knew his wine and the food came out hot and in a reasonable time. Place looks great at night

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing. Everything about this experience was magical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 8, 2017

You guys rock. Darren and his crew are great. The meals were prepared to perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 8, 2017

As always a great place to eat. The specials are always impressive and the staff wonderful.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I used to take business guests there often in the past but had not visited for over a year. I am happy to say that Alloy had kept the high quality of the service. Food was delicious, service was excellent and I felt my business was appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic meal! its the second time we have been there and cannot go wrong with the truffle gnocchi appetizer! The Surf and Turf was also amazing! We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I took my nice to celebrate her B day .Dinner was delicious and our lady waitress was vey good the only think about this restsurant i find it noisy so if you can lower the noise lewel i would say u are 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Restaurant !!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I took a friend here to celebrate her birthday. We both enjoyed our meals very much, but the dessert - we both had the coconut custard - was amazing!
The service was very good too. Michelle was very cheerful, friendly, patient and helpful. We both enjoyed her.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.