About Alloy

220 42 Ave SE Calgary, AB T2G 1Y3, Canada
Calgary, AB T2G 1Y4
View Larger Map

Inspired by their backgrounds and travels, Chef/Owners Uri Heilik and Rogelio Herrera invite you on an escape to a unique experience in fine dining. Bringing creativity and passion from their respective Mediterranean and Latin heritage, their influences are introduced to Asian flavors and sensibilities to create a menu and atmosphere that represents a harmonious culinary adventure that will leave a lasting impression. Alloy employs a guest-centric philosophy. From our insistence for using only the freshest ingredients, to our carefully selected wines, to our hand-picked staff, we strive to infuse our passion for food, wine, and customer service into everything we do. A visit to Alloy goes beyond a night out for dinner. It will indulge your imagination and offer an escape for your senses. Enjoy the experience of Alloy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
42 Ave. and Macleod Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 287-9255

Website:
http://www.alloydining.com/

Parking Details:
We have 55 free parking stalls.

Executive Chef:
Rogelio Herrera

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beef Short Rib
Tiramisu
Tempora Shrimps
Arancini
Chocolate Gana
Browni
Cawliflower Soup
Desser
Tomato Cons
Cured Arctic Char
Lamb Chorizo
Scallop
Duck Breasts
Flourless Chocolate
Mango Sorbetto
Arctic Char
Lobster Ri
Warm Beets
Striploin
Niçoise salad
Lamb Chop
Prawns And Sca
Gazpacho
Albacore Tuna
Beet Salad
Chocolate Cake
Short Rib And Sour Cream Over Vegetable Rataouille
Greek Salad Calamari
Spot Prawn Tempura With Maple Glaze And Jicama Red Pepper Slaw
Chipotle Beef Tartar With Quail Egg And Potato Chips
Duc
Pork Tenderloin With Pork Belly
Fish and Chips
Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin With Truffle Gnocchi
Organic Bison, Parsnip Puree, Shallots, Carrots, Chips
Grilled Spot Prawns/Brazilian Scampi/Lobster Ravioli
Lobster Croquettes
White & Dark Chocolate Tiramisu
Beef Short Rib Tacos
Bourbon St Cocktail
Butternut Squash And Ancho Chili Risotto With Manchego Cheese And Pumpkin Seed
Roasted Cream Of Corn Soup With Jalapeno Salsa
Spiced Rubbed Roast Leg Of Lamb With Purple Potato Mash And Cashew  And Cilantro Mole
Short Ribs
Beef Tenderloin Tartare Wirh Purple Potato Chips And Aoli
Curried Prawns With Papadum
Chicory And Cucumber Salad With Serrano Ham And Balsamic Fig
Pumpkin Cream Soup: Delicious
Heirloom Tomato
Seared Scallop & Mexican Wild Prawn
Asiago Cheese Arancini
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb
Spiced Pumpkin
Just Delicious
Cornmeal Coated Brazilian Scampi
Beef Tenderloin Tartar
Banana & Dulche De Leche Banoffee Pie
Crab Cakes

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Perfect for friends, family, business meetings, or an evening out. Our room has been specially designed to make you feel at home.

Alloy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Special Occasion (107)
Fit for Foodies (101)
Romantic (63)
See All
Good for Groups (59)
Great for Lunch (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Notable Wine List (39)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Hot Spot (16)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were celebrating our daughter belated ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating our daughter belated birthday and we all had the chef tasting. Our service was excellent and the food spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

they need to adjust their menu to the cu ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

they need to adjust their menu to the current ecomomic situation as they only had 6 tables filled the whole time we were there - the food as gone downhill unfortunately -could adjust menu and make it viable and fun .

I would not go back :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Upon entry to the restaurant - there's s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Upon entry to the restaurant - there's scent of "fish" in the air. I guess its not what I was expecting from an upscale restaurant. Either ventilation was bad or they served a lot of fish that night.

The Truffle Gnocci was delicious! Other than that, the lobster tempura ... not special at all. Tasted like shrimp tempura. The short ribs was good but on the salty side.

Service was good though.

I don't think I would go back but I would recommend to friends to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was awesome! He definitely ma ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was awesome! He definitely made our night special and went out of his way to make it not just a great dinner but a great experience. The decor was beautiful but the restaurant was hard to find. I suggest a sign that faces perpendicular to traffic since the sign is difficult to see in the parallel position. Food was decent but I wish there was more flavour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Halibut was amazing in taste and pre ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Halibut was amazing in taste and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner and relaxing evening on the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great dinner and relaxing evening on the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I love Alloy and have been g ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My wife and I love Alloy and have been going back for many years. The food is guaranteed to be mouth watering and excite your taste buds. We always have a fantastic dining experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The duck, the Arctic char and the desser ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The duck, the Arctic char and the dessert were incredible. All of it was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service as always! Rho ma ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service as always! Rho makes tasty dishes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, loved the service a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great time, loved the service and the food was spectacular! Each dish brought out was cooked to perfection and the variation in tastes was so complimentary! I loved the timing, as we could relax and chat between courses and just enjoy the wine- thanks for a great time, we look forward to returning!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We enjoyed our meal immensely. We left ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoyed our meal immensely. We left more than full. Service was great. Timing between courses was impeccable.

Our favorite, the scallop and the pork were amazing. Flavors were right on. Memorable.

I found the surroundsings nice, a bit outdated. We came for the food so not a disappointment.

Will be back as that plate with the lamb looked awesome.

Happy face drawn in empty dessert plate!!

Deborah and JV Finlayson

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again a very enjoyable and consiste ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Once again a very enjoyable and consistently great experience. Excellent food and best of all it was hot when it came to our table!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have always loved the place...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Have always loved the place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very poor. The hot meals ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was very poor. The hot meals came and we waited for a salad that was one of the main courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Delish dishes...all around the table har ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Delish dishes...all around the table harissa prawns, salmon with rissoto, ny striploin & the pork schnitzel - not to mention the allergy sensitive mods they made to accommodate !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Praising Alloy is all too easy. For any ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Praising Alloy is all too easy. For any significant occasion this is where to go. In a city where most restauranteurs sincerely but iteratively aim to only delivery fat and salt in the form of steaks and pizza, Alloy stands out brilliantly, from the atmosphere they create to their professional staff and exquisite food. Their wine list has excellent range. Their menus evolve over time enabling new favourites to be discovered; the kitchen's efforts arrive at the table plated beautifully; and their dishes are culinary but still highly approachable and never stuffy. Go there today for their pork belly, beef tartare, tuna which are just three of a longer list of favourites. (Also, very accommodative of celiacs' need for gluten-free meals.) Enjoy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the tasting menu with the win ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We enjoyed the tasting menu with the wine pairings.

Pleasantly surprised and pleased with quality and quantity.

Service was exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As it was a special dinner occasion we w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As it was a special dinner occasion we were served complimentary delicious Prosecco and a plate of hummus, olives and warm flatbread. The meal and dessert were beautifully presented and extremely flavourful.

This would be a great place to have lunch especially in patio weather. It was great to sit outside by the water feature, and would suggest a few more plants and vines to add to the patio ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great environment, with a great vibe and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great environment, with a great vibe and superb service. Loved the food and how it was presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent evening. Darren chose an ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

An excellent evening. Darren chose an excellent wine and Alex was incredibly attentive.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely meal on the patio celebr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a lovely meal on the patio celebrating my daughters 17th birthday. Her favorite item is the truffle gnocchi. We enjoyed a number of other entrees each as good as the other. The Chef puts a lot of love into his food. The only detractor was the noise on the patio when trains went by, but not much they can do about that. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed at Alloy. Great food ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Never disappointed at Alloy. Great food and friendly service. Kitchen is very accommodating around allergies and the ambience is always relaxed and not too noisy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the chefs tasting menu for the ni ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had the chefs tasting menu for the night and everything was delicious and flavorful. The restaurant has a great feel to it and the staff were very friendly. A great anniversary dinner date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had the pork schnitzel for lunch and it ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Had the pork schnitzel for lunch and it was incredible. The pork was very tender and juicy and the way the potatoes were cooked it made for an incredible meal. The ambience of the place is incredible as well. This is a definite go to place for lunch as well as dinner. I have been there many times for dinner but rarely lunch. I will be back for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers and entres were excellent ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The appetizers and entres were excellent. Unfortunately, the dessert, which was the chef's special, was terrible. It seemed to be cake that had been leftover for at least several days and was exceptionally dry and tasteless. It was presented in an aesthetically pleasing way which seemed to be an attempt to disguise what it really was - leftover food that did not sell.

The restaurant was not busy at all. We were a group of 4. There was one other group (6 people) there when we arrived (on Sunday at 7:00 pm during Stampede Week). After they left, no-one else entered the restaurant. In spite of that, our server was not very prompt or attentive at any point during the evening. When she brought the bill, she did not reappear again to take payment. We had to go and find her.

Tags: Group Bookings, Neighbourhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was outstanding. We went for our ann ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was outstanding. We went for our anniversary and had the chefs tasting with wine pairing. Our food and service was fantastic and absolutely exceeded our expectations. Well worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing Amazing service great ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was amazing

Amazing service great

Good

Just fund he portions be small and I was hungry still afterwards

I rdered the duck breast tasting menu with a additional appetizer of tartar and a desert

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome ambiance in addition to top qual ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Awesome ambiance in addition to top quality food! Price is justified.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing ambient. Great service.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Amazing ambient. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, our service was exce ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was great, our service was excellent, chef and our server accommodated my fiancé's allergy. The only con would be our salad was slightly overdressed and a little difficult to eat as it was all in my piece the .. Calamari salad with a smoked dressing. However, we are looking forward to our next trip to alloy! The olives and hummas was a lovey treat! Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely interior, very spacious deck area ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Lovely interior, very spacious deck area. Great and intriguing food choices, highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

An excellent lunch with a group of frien ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

An excellent lunch with a group of friends. Service was excellent...just the tight amount of engagement without intrusiveness. Food (salmon with risotto) was particularly wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time there but not our ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was our first time there but not our last. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Our waiter was attentive and polite and made several suggestions. Portion sizes were decent. We ate dinner in the restaurant, but next time we are there, we will eat outside. They have an absolutely wonderful outdoor courtyard. One of Calgary's gems. Definitely, will be one of the few restaurants our "favorite" list. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alloy is in my Calgary's top 3 restauran ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Alloy is in my Calgary's top 3 restaurant but it's the 2nd time we are disappointed.

The white wine didn't taste or look like what we ordered and unfortunately we didn't get a chance to see the bottle.

Also the dessert were basically cream or donuts, which is not fine cooking / dining as I've experienced in the past.

Not sure I'll give them a 3rd chance....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Were given a gift card at Christmas for ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Were given a gift card at Christmas for this restaurant. After reviewing the menu and prices we decided to go for our anniversary. Couldn't have been more happy with our meal and the service. Jason, our server, was attentive and knowledgeable. He took the time to talk with us and get a feel for what we liked and made recommendations... all of which were spot on . Do not know when, but we will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alloy has become one of my favourite pla ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Alloy has become one of my favourite places to go for a deliciously creative meal. It is treat every time. I highly recommend the chef's tasting menu. If you haven't tried it yet and you love good food, you are missing out on a gem of a restaurant with top-notch talent in the kitchen. Phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to Alloy for a while as ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had not been to Alloy for a while as we have been living out of country. It was great before and even better on our return. The food and service at Alloy is really what eating out or dining is all about. We will be coming back to try the tempura lobster appetizer and mini donut desert. Their coffee was the best I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very special evening. Excellent and u ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A very special evening. Excellent and unusual food, but not too "out there" (Brussels sprouts, though, a little overdone and dry). Great service. Comfortable banquette seating. Next time (and there will be one), I want to sit outside under the pergola. Landscaping somewhat reminiscent of a Japanese garden. Excellent use of the site. Neither train nor traffic noise, even though it's right on the tracks and a fairly busy street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had very nice early dinner on Thursda ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had very nice early dinner on Thursday and food was excellent . Our waiter was quiet young man but very attentive which was nice as my girlfriend and I we want to have quiet dinner so it work well for us .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great. Terrific service and amazi ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always great. Terrific service and amazing preparation. The wine recommendation (a Malbec) of Gouggenheim. We'll order that wine again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.