Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

All'onda

4.0
233 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

All'onda is a trendy New York City restaurant that offers Venetian-inspired fare and an extensive list of Italian wine. Guests love the rosemary focaccia that comes before every meal, but be sure to try the fresh mozzarella with sourdough for an amazing bread service that All'onda diners can�t get enough of.

The menu at All'onda includes items for vegetarians such as eggplant miso parmesan as well as meat eaters such as crusted short ribs. Meatballs, risotto and more make the menu perfect for lovers of Italian fare, but there are also specialty fusion dishes such as miso ramen available on the All'onda menu. Don�t forget to try the delicious olive oil cake before you go.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Monday: closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 231-2236
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Jaeckle
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact Alison Mattia at amattia@allondanyc.com for catering info.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 5th Ave. & University Place
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Please observe all parking signs when parking on the street near All'onda.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Union Square L/N/Q/R/4/5/6
14th St (6th Avenue) B/D
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wine
What 233 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
4.0
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on July 16, 2016

I used to love this restaurant and their pastas...seems to have gone downhill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent drink- we had a storm at sea and it was amazing! The food was really enjoyable and tasty. The acoustics were also very good... lots of people but we could hear each other perfectly. Loved it and will be returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 29, 2016

Somewhat disappointed. The uni pasta was too salty and heavy, but portion was small. The cauliflower was overlooked and goopy. The short rib was great but not amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 21, 2016

The food at this restaurant has been very good to excellent since it opened a few years ago. This time the polenta with mushrooms was excellent and the branzino simple and very good. The wine stewards recommendation of wine was right on and at a favorable price. I regularly recommend this restaurant to friends.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 17, 2016

They should do away w/ lunch at this place - because people recommend it based on their dinner menu, and the lunch menu is a far cry. Also, there's a MAJOR construction project going on right now next door, very distracting - noise wise, smells wise, and more. Don't go here for lunch, total let down.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 10, 2016

Definitely not worth the money. $16 drinks that are the size of a thimble and very mediocre food with relatively high prices. Impersonal service. Skip it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2016

Waiter had a chip on his shoulder larger than the combined mass of one appetizer, two entrees, 10 oysters (including the shells) and two glasses of wine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2016

Have been here before and loved the food. Last Sunday pretty empty and the service was terrible...drinks took 15 min...no one at the bar and just a few tables upstairs...food all way too too salty...maybe a sunday chef??? wait staff?? whatever not good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2016

Having recently returned from Italy I was looking for something authentic. This fit the bill.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 25, 2016

Why do foodies recommend this place? Don't get it..service is nice but food really not good ( horrible mix of edamame with cheese, burned carrots, greasy lamb pasta..) avoid it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2016

Fish was fabulous . Could benefit from a bit more choice in the apps and especially the deserts. Consistent high quality for 3 plus years.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 21, 2016

The biggest problem with All'onda is the size of the portions - they were tiny (and expensive)! I am not a big eater but I left hungry as did everyone else in my party. Also, I had the Purple Rain signature cocktail which was $16 and I think they forgot to put any liquor in it - I didn't even get a buzz. The place is nice and the service is good but if I leave a restaurant hungry, I do not go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2016

I went to All'onda to meet up with some friends for dinner and from the moment I arrived, I just knew we were in for a great meal. The service is warm, attentive and friendly while the food was fresh, delicious and inventive. Would be going back again and again. This is a solid restaurant option in the city.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2016

The only things that live up to the hype about this restaurant are the wine list and the service. The food is shockingly mediocre for a chef of Jaeckle's reputation. The clams casino was dry and gritty, the short ribs excessively salty. Very disappointed. No wonder tables are so easily available.
Nice, pleasant dining room. Service was friendly, attentive, excellent. Amazing wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2016

Great ambiance good music and atmosphere , food was great but not a lot of options in vegetarian.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, waiter was funny, service was good, manager was good. Def recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2016

A truly outstanding evening in every way. Chef Chris Jaeckle has created a wonderful combination of truly inventive food, an engaging and knowledgeable staff and a warm a friendly environment.
The Venetian and Japanese combination yields unique tastes with otherwise familiar ingredients. The special pasta had a wonderful, Italian inspired creamy sauce over ramen noodles...amazing.
The rice pudding infused with saki was also something very special. Don't miss this place !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2016

Knowledgeable, efficient and nice waiting staff and warm, low key atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 15, 2016

Some dishes were good but others were seriously flawed. I expect much better at this price point. There were bones in the rabbit pasta with sour and off-tasting noodes. Pasta was too hard in another, and the dish had too much vinegar. Rice pudding tasted very weird. Olive oil cake was amazing though. Service and ambiance were fine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2016

We dined here for my birthday and the staff went above and beyond to make it a memorable evening. Each dish was better than the last.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2016

A must go if you live in the East Village/Union Square Area. Trendy italian spot with a great vibe, and even better food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2016

Love love love this place for a grown up meal with friends. Eating at All'onda is a lovely experience from start to finish whether I'm grabbing a bite at the bar or eating upstairs and I've been here probably a dozen times. Elegant happy hour cocktails are a plus but the food is the reason to come. Also it never seems to get too noisy to have a great conversation nor have I ever felt rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was quality the appetizer was mediocre the food was alright

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Dear All'Onda Management,

I'm emailing you to express my disappointment in my recent experience at your restaurant.

By way of background, my boyfriend and I had lunch at your restaurant last Summer and found the food and the service enjoyable - so much so, that I decided All'Onda would be a good choice for Valentine's dinner.

I made a reservation almost a month in advance on January 19th.  My disappointment began a few days before February 14th.

Firstly, I received a total of 4 calls ( with 2 separate voicemails) urging me to confirm a reservation that I had already confirmed on the first call and was already re-confirmed in an email I received from you.

Secondly, in my reservation, I requested a back-corner table.  We arrived at the restaurant on time (8:30pm) and were not seated at that requested table.  I paid close attention and couldn't help notice that the back corner table stood empty for the first 45 minutes we were there.  No acknowledgment of why we weren't given that table was ever offered.

The service was faulty in a number of ways -  most egregiously in the way the courses were served.  We ordered an appetizer (that we split); a pasta course (also split) and 2 separate entrees.  The pasta course came out with the entrees. 

For anyone claiming to be an Italian restaurant, bringing the pasta out with the main course is, of course, a mortal sin.  The entrees were sent back while we dined on the pasta course which was cold (no doubt because it was held in the kitchen waiting on the entrees).  

Despite that obvious mixup, no acknowledgement or apology was given.

Additionally, the staff was inattentive forcing us to pour our own wine and water throughout the meal.

Finally, after dessert, the check was delivered to our table before we were asked if we wanted anything else or even if we wanted the check.

I thought you should be aware of the above which, unfortunately, leaves us with no desire to return to All'Onda.

Sincerely,

Karina Garcia

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2016

perfect experience.. this was the second visit.. the first was great, this one better..
the pasta with sea urchin is extraordinary!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 5, 2016

It was a great night out on the town. Definitely worth having reservations. The food is delicious and portions are small but filling, the meatballs are a must try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2016

The menu is varied and fun offering a broad range of entrees and wines. The service is impeccable and serves as a great spot for a special night out or the neighborhood local that you can always recommend to friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2016

went for restaurant week so pricing is different than normal, but meal was perfect!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 4, 2016

Food was not great. Miso was very salty, noodles under cooked. Sandwiches were average. Not great for the price.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2016

I'd eaten here when All'Onda was new and was impressed. But the restaurant seems to have settled into a routine of serving loud millenials trendy and expensive food. On my recent visit (early February 2016) the service was hasty and undistinguished. They won't seat you if your party isn't all present, and they want you to order drinks. Then if you have the misfortune to sit upstairs in the back, you can expect on a busy night not to be able to hear your companion talk. The noise echoes very loudly. Sit in the front if you possibly can. Yes, some dishes are quite good. But between the sense of being rushed, the price, and the noise, I'd say that a restaurant which once had the potential to be one of the Village's most special places has devolved into something more resembling a food factory. It's a shame, because the idea of a Japanese/Italian fusion at the high end is so appealing and unusual in this neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 2, 2016

We came here during RW and were very disappointed with the service. Multiple employees were unresponsive, unfriendly, or just unprofessional. In particular, our waiter seemed to be inexperienced at talking with customers and frequently left prematurely or created awkward silences when he was unsure what to do next. The food was great but the restaurant was crammed too tightly in many parts and the waitstaff could have been much better.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 30, 2016

After reading some unfortunate Yelp reviews about being rushed through the meal I still wanted to try this restaurant- menu looks good and liked the vibe. Not long after finishing our main meal we are asked by the maitre d to have dessert down at the bar...under the guise of "have a free drink on us" which really means "we want your table". This is not a cheap restaurant and its incredibly rude to be hurried through. We were actually 15 mins early for our booking and hadn't lingered over anything .
The meal was good, our waiter was fabulous and then it ended really poorly- won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Food took at least 30 minutes to come while there were only 3 or 4 tables of guests (we had early dinner that night) And when the food was here, i feel like im being rush through the dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 29, 2016

Came here for restaurant week! The offered their uni bucatini on the menu for $8 extra compared to the normal $38 price on the menu I'd call that a steal. The olive oil cake was deliciously decadent and slightly crisp. Really delicious food. The service was a bit subpar. Waiter checked on us a few times before it got busy then completely neglected us.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 29, 2016

Went for restaurant week lunch. The restaurant itself was very well decorated, clean and had a good energy. The food was okay, but nothing special. It was ok for restaurant week pricing, but I would not return to pay full price. The chocolate mousse dessert was perhaps the most disappointing dessert I've ever had - flavorless and grainy. Overall, not a bad experience, just not a great one either.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 27, 2016

In hindsight, I should have read the other reviews and stayed away. A very poor offering for restaurant week.
The appetizer/1st course was a ramen soup.
The main course was a half sandwich! You can choose from 4 -5 different sandwiches, but a sandwich nevertheless. I had a roasted broccoli and cheddar I think.
Not well planned. Two heavy carb courses. Noodles and a sandwich. No other options.
Dessert = gelato.
Altogether not memorable or good. There was no deal here. They may have got a deal out of us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2016

We were very surprised that only the restaurant week menu was available for lunch and not the entire menu. Although the food was good, we would have liked more choice. This is the only restaurant we have been to that does not have a sugar substitute.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2016

They have changed their restaurant week menu.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 24, 2016

This is probably the third or fourth time I come to All'onda. I have never had any problem with this restaurant until tonight where the service was absolutely unacceptable. Dishes were served one after the other without any time to breathe between two bites. Server was pushing us to finish faster and was reluctant to wait for a small moment before serving our desserts. Staff was very pushy, and clearly wanted us to leave so that they would go home. Good food but will not be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 22, 2016

Went with my boyfriend and 2 friends, over all we enjoyed our dinner. All'onda has good collection of wine and spirit which is always good :) The quality of the food was good but not blown away. One recommendation: menu for restaurant week shouldn't be something you need to order for two. I don't mind paying additional for more expensive items on the menu , like the Uni Bucatini. But if you want to order short ribs, you have to order for two. This limits your opportunity to try different things if you go along or only go with one person. That being said, the short ribs are tender and portion size was big. Would go back again and try there other items on the menu.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6