About All'onda

22 E. 13th St.
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

All’onda is a warm and inviting Italian restaurant in Manhattan located one block south of Union Square, drawing inspiration from the cuisine of Venice. Chef Chris Jaeckle received two stars from the New York Times, and was named Eater.com's Chef of the Year in 2014.

All'onda's wine list is focused on the winemaking regions of Northern Italy, and received the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence in 2015.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Dinner: Sunday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Monday: closed

Cross Street:
Between 5th Ave. & University Place

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 231-2236

Website:
http://www.allondanyc.com/

Catering:
Please contact Alison Mattia at amattia@allondanyc.com for catering info.

Parking Details:
Please observe all parking signs when parking on the street near All'onda.

Public Transit:
Union Square L/N/Q/R/4/5/6
14th St (6th Avenue) B/D

Executive Chef:
Chris Jaeckle

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

All'onda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I used to love this restaurant and their ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I used to love this restaurant and their pastas...seems to have gone downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent drink- we had a storm at sea a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent drink- we had a storm at sea and it was amazing! The food was really enjoyable and tasty. The acoustics were also very good... lots of people but we could hear each other perfectly. Loved it and will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Somewhat disappointed. The uni pasta was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Somewhat disappointed. The uni pasta was too salty and heavy, but portion was small. The cauliflower was overlooked and goopy. The short rib was great but not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food at this restaurant has been ver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food at this restaurant has been very good to excellent since it opened a few years ago. This time the polenta with mushrooms was excellent and the branzino simple and very good. The wine stewards recommendation of wine was right on and at a favorable price. I regularly recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They should do away w/ lunch at this pla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

They should do away w/ lunch at this place - because people recommend it based on their dinner menu, and the lunch menu is a far cry. Also, there's a MAJOR construction project going on right now next door, very distracting - noise wise, smells wise, and more. Don't go here for lunch, total let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Definitely not worth the money. $16 drin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Definitely not worth the money. $16 drinks that are the size of a thimble and very mediocre food with relatively high prices. Impersonal service. Skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Waiter had a chip on his shoulder larger ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Waiter had a chip on his shoulder larger than the combined mass of one appetizer, two entrees, 10 oysters (including the shells) and two glasses of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

never on a sunday

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Have been here before and loved the food. Last Sunday pretty empty and the service was terrible...drinks took 15 min...no one at the bar and just a few tables upstairs...food all way too too salty...maybe a sunday chef??? wait staff?? whatever not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Having recently returned from Italy I wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Having recently returned from Italy I was looking for something authentic. This fit the bill.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over estimated

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Why do foodies recommend this place? Don't get it..service is nice but food really not good ( horrible mix of edamame with cheese, burned carrots, greasy lamb pasta..) avoid it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Fish was fabulous . Could benefit from a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Fish was fabulous . Could benefit from a bit more choice in the apps and especially the deserts. Consistent high quality for 3 plus years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The biggest problem with All'onda is the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The biggest problem with All'onda is the size of the portions - they were tiny (and expensive)! I am not a big eater but I left hungry as did everyone else in my party. Also, I had the Purple Rain signature cocktail which was $16 and I think they forgot to put any liquor in it - I didn't even get a buzz. The place is nice and the service is good but if I leave a restaurant hungry, I do not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

DELICIOUS!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I went to All'onda to meet up with some friends for dinner and from the moment I arrived, I just knew we were in for a great meal. The service is warm, attentive and friendly while the food was fresh, delicious and inventive. Would be going back again and again. This is a solid restaurant option in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The only things that live up to the hype about this restaurant are the wine list and the service. The food is shockingly mediocre for a chef of Jaeckle's reputation. The clams casino was dry and gritty, the short ribs excessively salty. Very disappointed. No wonder tables are so easily available.

Nice, pleasant dining room. Service was friendly, attentive, excellent. Amazing wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Great ambiance good music and atmosphere ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great ambiance good music and atmosphere , food was great but not a lot of options in vegetarian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, waiter was funny, service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, waiter was funny, service was good, manager was good. Def recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A truly outstanding evening in every way ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

A truly outstanding evening in every way. Chef Chris Jaeckle has created a wonderful combination of truly inventive food, an engaging and knowledgeable staff and a warm a friendly environment.

The Venetian and Japanese combination yields unique tastes with otherwise familiar ingredients. The special pasta had a wonderful, Italian inspired creamy sauce over ramen noodles...amazing.

The rice pudding infused with saki was also something very special. Don't miss this place !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unusual, original dishes, all delicious.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Knowledgeable, efficient and nice waiting staff and warm, low key atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Some dishes were good but others were se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Some dishes were good but others were seriously flawed. I expect much better at this price point. There were bones in the rabbit pasta with sour and off-tasting noodes. Pasta was too hard in another, and the dish had too much vinegar. Rice pudding tasted very weird. Olive oil cake was amazing though. Service and ambiance were fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We dined here for my birthday and the st ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We dined here for my birthday and the staff went above and beyond to make it a memorable evening. Each dish was better than the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood gem!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

A must go if you live in the East Village/Union Square Area. Trendy italian spot with a great vibe, and even better food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bucatini with Smoked Uni is a Must Try

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Love love love this place for a grown up meal with friends. Eating at All'onda is a lovely experience from start to finish whether I'm grabbing a bite at the bar or eating upstairs and I've been here probably a dozen times. Elegant happy hour cocktails are a plus but the food is the reason to come. Also it never seems to get too noisy to have a great conversation nor have I ever felt rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was aite

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was quality the appetizer was mediocre the food was alright

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

great!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

perfect experience.. this was the second visit.. the first was great, this one better..

the pasta with sea urchin is extraordinary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great night out on the town. De ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

It was a great night out on the town. Definitely worth having reservations. The food is delicious and portions are small but filling, the meatballs are a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Neighborhood Find

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The menu is varied and fun offering a broad range of entrees and wines. The service is impeccable and serves as a great spot for a special night out or the neighborhood local that you can always recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

YUM

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

went for restaurant week so pricing is different than normal, but meal was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch- restaurant week

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Food was not great. Miso was very salty, noodles under cooked. Sandwiches were average. Not great for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A Major Disappointment on Second Visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

I'd eaten here when All'Onda was new and was impressed. But the restaurant seems to have settled into a routine of serving loud millenials trendy and expensive food. On my recent visit (early February 2016) the service was hasty and undistinguished. They won't seat you if your party isn't all present, and they want you to order drinks. Then if you have the misfortune to sit upstairs in the back, you can expect on a busy night not to be able to hear your companion talk. The noise echoes very loudly. Sit in the front if you possibly can. Yes, some dishes are quite good. But between the sense of being rushed, the price, and the noise, I'd say that a restaurant which once had the potential to be one of the Village's most special places has devolved into something more resembling a food factory. It's a shame, because the idea of a Japanese/Italian fusion at the high end is so appealing and unusual in this neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We came here during RW and were very dis ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

We came here during RW and were very disappointed with the service. Multiple employees were unresponsive, unfriendly, or just unprofessional. In particular, our waiter seemed to be inexperienced at talking with customers and frequently left prematurely or created awkward silences when he was unsure what to do next. The food was great but the restaurant was crammed too tightly in many parts and the waitstaff could have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Not going again

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

After reading some unfortunate Yelp reviews about being rushed through the meal I still wanted to try this restaurant- menu looks good and liked the vibe. Not long after finishing our main meal we are asked by the maitre d to have dessert down at the bar...under the guise of "have a free drink on us" which really means "we want your table". This is not a cheap restaurant and its incredibly rude to be hurried through. We were actually 15 mins early for our booking and hadn't lingered over anything .

The meal was good, our waiter was fabulous and then it ended really poorly- won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Food took at least 30 minutes to come wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Food took at least 30 minutes to come while there were only 3 or 4 tables of guests (we had early dinner that night) And when the food was here, i feel like im being rush through the dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great Value

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Came here for restaurant week! The offered their uni bucatini on the menu for $8 extra compared to the normal $38 price on the menu I'd call that a steal. The olive oil cake was deliciously decadent and slightly crisp. Really delicious food. The service was a bit subpar. Waiter checked on us a few times before it got busy then completely neglected us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Just ok.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Went for restaurant week lunch. The restaurant itself was very well decorated, clean and had a good energy. The food was okay, but nothing special. It was ok for restaurant week pricing, but I would not return to pay full price. The chocolate mousse dessert was perhaps the most disappointing dessert I've ever had - flavorless and grainy. Overall, not a bad experience, just not a great one either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not a restaurant week "deal"

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

In hindsight, I should have read the other reviews and stayed away. A very poor offering for restaurant week.

The appetizer/1st course was a ramen soup.

The main course was a half sandwich! You can choose from 4 -5 different sandwiches, but a sandwich nevertheless. I had a roasted broccoli and cheddar I think.

Not well planned. Two heavy carb courses. Noodles and a sandwich. No other options.

Dessert = gelato.

Altogether not memorable or good. There was no deal here. They may have got a deal out of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

We were very surprised that only the restaurant week menu was available for lunch and not the entire menu. Although the food was good, we would have liked more choice. This is the only restaurant we have been to that does not have a sugar substitute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

They have changed their restaurant week ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

They have changed their restaurant week menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is probably the third or fourth tim ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

This is probably the third or fourth time I come to All'onda. I have never had any problem with this restaurant until tonight where the service was absolutely unacceptable. Dishes were served one after the other without any time to breathe between two bites. Server was pushing us to finish faster and was reluctant to wait for a small moment before serving our desserts. Staff was very pushy, and clearly wanted us to leave so that they would go home. Good food but will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

3rd Time Around Disappointment

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I was really disappointed in All'onda's restaurant week menu, it was extremely boring and with none of the vibrancy of the last time I ate there. Bummer, too, because it is in the neighborhood that I'm moving to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Restaurant week 2016

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Went with my boyfriend and 2 friends, over all we enjoyed our dinner. All'onda has good collection of wine and spirit which is always good :) The quality of the food was good but not blown away. One recommendation: menu for restaurant week shouldn't be something you need to order for two. I don't mind paying additional for more expensive items on the menu , like the Uni Bucatini. But if you want to order short ribs, you have to order for two. This limits your opportunity to try different things if you go along or only go with one person. That being said, the short ribs are tender and portion size was big. Would go back again and try there other items on the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.