About Allegria

335 Main St.
Carbondale, CO 81623
View Larger Map

Italian - European casual bistro with in the heart of the up and coming food town of Carbondale. Venetian style decor from local artists with open kitchen. We are using slow cook methods in food preparation with local seasonal ingredients. Our special menus are changing daily whatever can be gathered and harvested in the valley and surroundings. The wine list is hand selected and changes frequently with new and exiting old and new world wines as well a full service bar is available. We are catering through out the valley with in-house cooking, Butler service for all occasions, family, formal, entertaining. We are a truly family operated restaurant with the next generation already in the kitchen and service occasionally. We as a family are truly committed to your pleasure in dining and your experience in visiting Carbondale. Come and visit - Enjoy Allegria.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 963-7316

Website:
http://www.allegriacarbondale.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Allegria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
See All
Comfort Food (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to celebrate my son's birthday. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went to celebrate my son's birthday. Although I didn't mention it to our server, Ritchie, until after we had received the check, he came back with a big dish of blackberry sorbet with a candle in it at no charge. He was a wonderful server, very attentive, and the food was exceptionally good. I have been there for parties, and it is always a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I could eat the kale salad every day! T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I could eat the kale salad every day! The mussels were huge and excellent as well. The restaurant is small and so space can be a bit tight if you are not in a booth, but the service was very attentive and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

well worth it! our favorite in town , do ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

well worth it! our favorite in town , do not miss the ravioli!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Andreas is the man. Staff was wonderful. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Andreas is the man. Staff was wonderful. Food was the best part!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Veal Schnitzel and roasted butternut squ ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Veal Schnitzel and roasted butternut squash were both excellent, but experience was marred by being seated at a cold, drafty table near the door. Next time will request a booth at the back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Food was quite good, and the service was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was quite good, and the service was excellent. The owner stopped by twice to our table to check on us. My only gripe about the evening was the table placement itself. While we were near the front window/door and had a nice view outdoors, it was freezing! We had to keep our coats on while eating. Tip: Sit in the back during winter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great service. We have been ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, great service. We have been here about 4 times now and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local restaurant with very good, m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great local restaurant with very good, mostly traditional Italian menu. Good wine list and friendly yet professional service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Allegria was highly recommended by frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Allegria was highly recommended by friends and did not disappoint.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Allegria several times an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have been to Allegria several times and it always exceeds my expectations. We are so fortunate to have great restaurants in such a small town. If you have not tried it yet - it is a MUST!!! Make your reservation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Organic, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here every time we are in Carbond ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We eat here every time we are in Carbondale. Friendly, excellent vibe, lovely old building, great farm to table food and super wine selection.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I raved about the Veal Schnitzel to frie ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I raved about the Veal Schnitzel to friends who accompanied us. Sorry to say it was not up to the standard that I have enjoyed here on more than one occasion. The coating was more like a coating for chicken nuggets, coarse and not adhering to the veal. The rest of the plate was fine. Also, the door was left open and the flies were abundant as we were seated in the window nook. The rolls were outstanding as usual. Service was friendly and attentive. However, I will check to see what the Veal is like before I order it again.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We want here for my junior prom and my s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We want here for my junior prom and my senior homecoming and it was so good! The food is absolutely delicious and I would recommend it to anybody!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. Highly recom ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Very good food and service. Highly recommend. Our server was attentive and yet not at all intrusive. The menu/ selection was excellent with a large array of choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service and pleasant outd ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food and service and pleasant outdoor summer seating on the Main Street. My friend had wanted salmon that was no longer on the menu so the chef cooked up a very creative salmon dish for her at a price commensurate with other dishes on the menu. The special that night was delicious!

Tags: People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time to visit. Went with friends a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

First time to visit. Went with friends and had a wonderful time. Excellent food, good wine, what more could you ask for. Outdoor seating in season and also a bar counter. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. I had the butte ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was delicious. I had the butternut squash ravioli and my husband had the seafood lasagna. Service was really good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New to us, we were delighted to enjoy th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2016

New to us, we were delighted to enjoy this small, casual, friendly gem of a restaurant. The menu features several veal dishes from Italian and Germanic cuisines, bouillabaisse and many wines by the glass at reasonable prices. It's now our favorite Carbondale choice and ranks near the top of our favorites in the Roaring Fork valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Will accommodate some dishes for a vegan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Will accommodate some dishes for a vegan meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great dining experience and my ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a great dining experience and my guest was very pleasantly surprised!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was a cute Asian girl. She sa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our server was a cute Asian girl. She said about 3 words to us over the course of our dinner. She didn't smile once. My parents and I were really disappointed in the service as we were looking forward to a great Italian meal. We felt as though the server kept forgetting about us, everything took a really long time to come out. You were out of the ossobucco at 6:15pm! I had Cesar salad with salmon, the salmon was fishy and disgusting, the salad dressing was store bought. Very disappointing meal for my father's 60th bday. We also couldn't enjoy our meal because there were flys EVERYWHERE inside, we were constantly swatting them away, ew. Lastly, it was so very loud in there, the 4 of us couldn't have a conversation, and there was plenty of time to have conversations since the service was so slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent, friendly service and outstand ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent, friendly service and outstanding food! Appreciated the Chef coming to the table to ask if we were enjoying the food and whether we needed anything to make our evening more enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great little restaurant but very noisy. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great little restaurant but very noisy. Hard to carry on a conversation .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Allegria and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was our first time at Allegria and we would definitely come back. Our waiter was friendly, explained how some of the dishes were prepared and was very attentive throughout the evening. This restaurant takes the time to properly train their staff. Not something you experience that often these days. Highly recommend this spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish everything was perf ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2016

From start to finish everything was perfect .

We ordered the bruschetta for app, grilled lobster & braised duck for our entree.

The service was on point and the owner/ chef is always a pleasure to see. The lighting to seating was comfortable & inviting. We will defiantly be back..... Soon very soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience....varied men ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall a great experience....varied menu, local fare and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic dinner and our waitress was de ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic dinner and our waitress was delightful as well as giving impressive service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, outstanding service, bistro ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food, outstanding service, bistro atmosphere. Very reasonably priced. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to eat there and we were impr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2016

First time to eat there and we were impressed. Will try to eat there again and try something different each time we come.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant in Carbondale - so ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant in Carbondale - so happy to have a place with fine food in a relaxed atmosphere. Service is great, and wine list, cocktails wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our anniversary - food was dele ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Went for our anniversary - food was delectable and wine choices amazing - Andreas IS THE BEST!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Room for improvement

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Normally a 5 star experience but this was not a stellar dinner out. Hopefully, just a one night glitch. Will go back and hope things get back to normal soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Exceptional Food +Quaint Atmosphere = PERFECTION

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Allegria serves incredible Italian food in a relaxed quaint atmosphere with sharp focused service. We started our meal with burrata brushetta that was beautiful and very tasty. The burrata was melt in your mouth tender topped wit fresh tomatoes in a brilliant pesto and balsamic drizzle.

The seafood cioppino was unbelievably satisfying and second only to the version I had in Michael Chiarello's Bottega restaurant in Napa. So this is a high standard. Cioppino was full of fresh mussels, shrimp, calamari, clams and a generous portion of house made Italian sausage in a delicious tomato broth. I may have licked the bowl. Just saying...

The "penne my daughter likes" is over the top delicious as well. Creamy, rich sauce covers the penne, sun dried tomatoes and tender chicken. Awesome!

The restaurant is small and comfortable with a lean, but very sufficient wine list balanced between whites and reds. We enjoyed a very good Sangiovese.

Do yourself a favor and dine at this restaurant. You will be very glad you did. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

True Neighborhood Gem

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I've eaten here several times now and have never been disappointed. The owners and staff are friendly, inviting and attentive. Every dish is beautifully presented and gastronomically wonderful!! Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bravo! We will be back!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 28, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised at how great this restaurant was and we will be back to work our way through the menu! The ambiance was nice as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Comfortable smaller Italian "nook" in downtown Carbondale. Outstanding food during appetizer, dinner and dessert. My wife and I have been there 4 times now and are hooked. The desserts are made "per order" and take 15 minutes to make in the back of the house.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent find in Carbondale

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2015

One of our favorite restaurants in the entire Roaring Fork Valley. The food is as good or better than the top spots in Aspen - but in a cozy, eclectic, and friendly setting (and with more moderate prices). The specials are consistently outstanding - but if you aren't the mood for those the Veiner Schnitzel alone is worth coming in for. The wine list is moderately priced and well selected (though I think a few higher-end choices by the glass would be a good addition). If you are in the area (including Aspen and Snowmass) don't miss Allegria.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Carbondale spot

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2015

We love coming here for dinner. The chef and owner spends lots of time on the floor making sure everyone is happy- he really cares about this!

It's good hearty food and a great local atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 8, 2015

The food was outstanding, and the owners are wonderful and thoughtful hosts, taking the time to really converse with their guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely little restaurant in Carbondale CO

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 3, 2015

We made a reservation through Open Table but when we arrived there was no record of it. The gracious owner was able to switch a few tables around and we were seated. Our server, Michelle, was simply the best - very personable, efficient and professional. The meal was very good from the radicchio salad to the halibut cheeks and lasagna - delicious! This is a small intimate restaurant with minimal seating - some locations better than others. We would highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.