About Allegria

335 Main St.
Carbondale, CO 81623
View Larger Map

Italian - European casual bistro with in the heart of the up and coming food town of Carbondale. Venetian style decor from local artists with open kitchen. We are using slow cook methods in food preparation with local seasonal ingredients. Our special menus are changing daily whatever can be gathered and harvested in the valley and surroundings. The wine list is hand selected and changes frequently with new and exiting old and new world wines as well a full service bar is available. We are catering through out the valley with in-house cooking, Butler service for all occasions, family, formal, entertaining. We are a truly family operated restaurant with the next generation already in the kitchen and service occasionally. We as a family are truly committed to your pleasure in dining and your experience in visiting Carbondale. Come and visit - Enjoy Allegria.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 963-7316

Website:
http://www.allegriacarbondale.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Allegria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Mountains
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Carbondale ›

special occasion (13)
fit for foodies (12)
neighborhood gem (9)
See All
romantic (8)
notable wine list (6)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Room for improvement

Dined on April 8, 2016

Normally a 5 star experience but this was not a stellar dinner out. Hopefully, just a one night glitch. Will go back and hope things get back to normal soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceptional Food +Quaint Atmosphere = PERFECTION

Dined on March 17, 2016

Allegria serves incredible Italian food in a relaxed quaint atmosphere with sharp focused service. We started our meal with burrata brushetta that was beautiful and very tasty. The burrata was melt in your mouth tender topped wit fresh tomatoes in a brilliant pesto and balsamic drizzle. The seafood cioppino was unbelievably satisfying and second only to the version I had in Michael Chiarello's Bottega restaurant in Napa. So this is a high standard. Cioppino was full of fresh mussels, shrimp, calamari, clams and a generous portion of house made Italian sausage in a delicious tomato broth. I may have licked the bowl. Just saying... The "penne my daughter likes" is over the top delicious as well. Creamy, rich sauce covers the penne, sun dried tomatoes and tender chicken. Awesome! The restaurant is small and comfortable with a lean, but very sufficient wine list balanced between whites and reds. We enjoyed a very good Sangiovese. Do yourself a favor and dine at this restaurant. You will be very glad you did. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

True Neighborhood Gem

Dined on March 5, 2016

I've eaten here several times now and have never been disappointed. The owners and staff are friendly, inviting and attentive. Every dish is beautifully presented and gastronomically wonderful!! Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bravo! We will be back!

Dined on February 28, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised at how great this restaurant was and we will be back to work our way through the menu! The ambiance was nice as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Comfortable smaller Italian "nook" in downtown Carbondale. Outstanding food during appetizer, dinner and dessert. My wife and I have been there 4 times now and are hooked. The desserts are made "per order" and take 15 minutes to make in the back of the house.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent find in Carbondale

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

One of our favorite restaurants in the entire Roaring Fork Valley. The food is as good or better than the top spots in Aspen - but in a cozy, eclectic, and friendly setting (and with more moderate prices). The specials are consistently outstanding - but if you aren't the mood for those the Veiner Schnitzel alone is worth coming in for. The wine list is moderately priced and well selected (though I think a few higher-end choices by the glass would be a good addition). If you are in the area (including Aspen and Snowmass) don't miss Allegria.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Carbondale spot

Dined on December 13, 2015

We love coming here for dinner. The chef and owner spends lots of time on the floor making sure everyone is happy- he really cares about this! It's good hearty food and a great local atmosphere!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent!

Dined on November 8, 2015

The food was outstanding, and the owners are wonderful and thoughtful hosts, taking the time to really converse with their guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Lovely little restaurant in Carbondale CO

Dined on October 3, 2015

We made a reservation through Open Table but when we arrived there was no record of it. The gracious owner was able to switch a few tables around and we were seated. Our server, Michelle, was simply the best - very personable, efficient and professional. The meal was very good from the radicchio salad to the halibut cheeks and lasagna - delicious! This is a small intimate restaurant with minimal seating - some locations better than others. We would highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Our first visit - lovely meal, interesti ...

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

Our first visit - lovely meal, interesting menu, charming setting. Our server was quite nice but it seemed to take too long to be offered a dessert menu and then to be brought the bill.

food5
ambience5
service5

Talented chef and crew at Allegria!,

Dined on September 13, 2015

What a great find. Wish we lived close to Carbondale! The competent chef and crew made our dinner perfect. The Saturday night "braise" was delectable and enough for a lunch "go box". The wine was a great match and even finished with the pastry chef's innovative peaches and creAm. A restaurant that offers espresso, too! A delicious end to a day of travel and touring.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on September 9, 2015

Wonderful food, elegant but relaxed atmosphere , very good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great find

Dined on September 6, 2015

Great menu great food been looking for good Italian in this area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Best restaurant in Carbondale

Dined on August 30, 2015

Consistently well executed entrees, knowledgeable wait staff, good atmosphere, and gracious owner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Ranks with the top restaurants in Aspen

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

We have been going to Allegria since Andreas made his move from Cloud 9 (on the mountain at Aspen Highlands) to his own restaurant in Carbondale. The food is unique, European, farm fresh (sometimes hand picked by Andreas), and consistently delicious. The specials usually feature unique sauces and flavors...while some of the staples, like wiener schnitzel, are terrific every time. The wine list is well selected and reasonably priced...while the atmosphere is eclectic, comfortable (particularly the booths), and lively. Definitely worth a drive from Aspen...and worth avoiding the drive to Aspen when you are in Snowmass or down valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food/great service

vip
Dined on August 10, 2015

Nice little treasure in Carbondale. Unique Italian dishes (plus the traditional) that had a farm-to-table flair. Lobster bisque to start. Salmon with gnocchi was delicious. They also have gluten-free pasta which was the draw for my wife, AND it was good. Service was personable and attentive. I definitely recommend it. And, we'll return when we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service4

Visited August 1 at 6pm. Wonderful menu, ...

vip
Dined on August 2, 2015

Visited August 1 at 6pm. Wonderful menu, but food was not great. Salmon undercooked, and when we questioned it, we were told that it was the way it was meant to be. No apologies. Gazpacho oily and smoky tasting. Other guests said that the fries were undercooked, and meal generally just not good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

vip
Dined on July 20, 2015

What a great restaurant from the service to the food to the ambience. However the food is just outstanding. My husband and I have eaten at a lot of restaurants all over the country including New York and I would put the restaurant right up there with some of our favorite restaurants!! Truly a great fine and will look forward to another time when we are in the Aspen, Carbondale area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1

Service was really terrible, food was just ok.

Dined on July 18, 2015

Not worth the price, messed up our food orders, waiter was totally disinterested in serving, food was mediocre. Find somewhere else to eat.

food4
ambience4
service4

Andreas is an attentive Owner/Chef to al ...

Dined on March 7, 2015

Andreas is an attentive Owner/Chef to all of his guests. Very welcoming and accomodating. GREAT FOOD you can't get everywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

Dining Experience

Dined on March 7, 2015

The food and the service was very good. However, during the course of our meal, the waiter informed us that we had 1/2 hr. remaining to dine as another group was coming and our table was needed. We had reservations for 6:30 and was not informed that there would be a time limit. The waiter then presented us with a dessert menu which we were order and eat quickly. We declined and felt that this was rude.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Allegria

Dined on March 1, 2015

We love the atmosphere and friendly staff at Allegria. The food is always excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

All over a Great Experiance

Dined on February 22, 2015

A very pleasant and eclectic interior. Wide variety of choices and excelent food. Having chef/owner Andreas involved in all aspects of the operation, including greeting the customers and suggesting/describing the food, brings Allegria to another level.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Be Joyous

vip
Dined on January 18, 2015

Allegria -joy in Italian- is what Andreas Fischbacher produces in a small, hopping space on Carbondale's main street. When our dinner was blemished by a kitchen mishap, one order going amiss, the chef-owner-and master of the rings immediately came to our table, and made it all come out right. Don't miss this local gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and healthy portions. Gr ...

Dined on January 2, 2015

Excellent food and healthy portions. Great pricing especially in comparison to everything else around. Chef/owner is Austrian and is around frequently. Cool spot for Carbondale.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely!

Dined on January 1, 2015

We've brought our young kids once and also been for a date. Both were excellent! Great food. Great wine. Exceptional ambience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Tuff beef

Dined on December 20, 2014

A year ago we tried your place and were greatly disappointed. A rib-type dinner served in a bowl was not edible, and the meat looked to be old. We get mixed-messages from our friends but decided to try again for dinner. The rigatoni was excellent though served cold with not much food for $19.00. The beef my wife ordered could hardly be cut and had to be eaten in tiny pieces. I suggest the chef order beef at Town or The Goat to see excellent meat. (Check out the one review which mentions "grass-fed" beef) I think the atmosphere is outstanding and I hope the place succeeds. Oh, I wonder how many Moscow Mules you put out at $10.00 a throw.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! Reservation problem!

Dined on December 20, 2014

There was a problem as they never received our reservation from open table. I had a confirmation email from you but they were adamant that they never saw our reservation. It was a difficult situation and they were booked all evening. I was embarrassed as I was having a birthday celebration with a friend. They were able to seat us at the bar and they compted us a cocktail but it initially put a damper on the evening for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great local find

Dined on October 11, 2014

Not your typical italian restaurant. Unique but limited menu. All good stuff

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Carbondale Gem

Dined on September 7, 2014

I enjoyed my dinner and the wine list was great. It's a little noisy and the service was a bit spotty. Overall, I would recommend and will return on my next trip to Carbondale.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable!

Dined on August 19, 2014

There were 8 of us and we reserved and got a table outside on the deck. The evening was perfect. The service was perfect for our large group and the food was outstanding. The lasagna and ravioli were superb! I highly recommend this restaurant for a great meal.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Allegria

Dined on August 16, 2014

Wonderful meal, great service, worth driving to Carbondale just to eat here, the owner/ chef came to our table and was quite charming. We will eat here again next trip to Colorado.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food2
ambience4
service5

Odd experience

vip
Dined on August 10, 2014

Positives: Friendly wait staff. Good bar. Negatives: Reservations made with OpenTable are not garanteed. Andreas will text and either confirm or let you know you he can't honor the reservation you made. I had an extremely tough steak (which was on special) and was unable to eat it. Andreas was unapologetic and stated it was due to the beef being "grass fed." I'm well experience with grass fed beef (having grown up raising them), and this steak's toughness was unacceptable. The lack of acknowledgement that the steak was unetible is not acceptable. Check out the other great places in Carbondale before eating at Allegria.

food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific!!

Dined on July 26, 2014

Wonderful food, great service and atmosphere. We had a fantastic evening

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great find in Carbondale

Dined on July 21, 2014

Love the ambiance of Allegria. We chose to dine inside but diners can opt to sit outside on the street side patio. Specials every day of the week. Spaghetti was delicious. I can also recommend the pheasant. Great menu. Good wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

All around great!

Dined on May 3, 2014

Food, service, street scene all contributed to a really nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Impressive menu, beautifully executed. T ...

Dined on April 28, 2014

Impressive menu, beautifully executed. The halibut was perfection - crisp exterior with moist tender melt in the mouth interior.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific experience.

Dined on April 11, 2014

The food was excellent. Three of us all had something different and all said it was very good. Service was good and the décor is warm and inviting. Andreas (the owner) came over and greeted us as well as the other diners in the restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Allegria on a night out

Dined on March 30, 2014

The food, drink selection and company were perfect for an evening out in Carbondale. We will make a night out (@ Allegria) again and again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

First time.

vip
Dined on March 3, 2014

This was the first time we ate at Allegria, and had high expectations after eating at Mr. Fischbacker's other restaurants. The food was good, but not great. I would return, but would likely order something else. The meal was a tad tough and underseasoned.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.