About Aliment

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Union Square ›

Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was poor, unimaginative. Had a sal ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was poor, unimaginative. Had a salad drowned in what appeared to be a mayo based dressing that was tasteless and crab cakes that were very salty with tasteless sauce. We did not finish either one and left ASAP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

for future, do not sit upstairs. it's aw ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

for future, do not sit upstairs. it's awful acoustics

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

We chose this restaurants because it was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We chose this restaurants because it was near the Masonic Theater where we were going to catch a show to celebrate our anniversary. When we ordered we told the waitress that we had 50 mins before we had to leave. Then for 30 mins we got nothing, the waitress was great and kept us updated and apologized, our order was misplaced. We got our food, brussel sprouts and butter salad were very good, the Korean Fried Chicken was average and the Pork Chops with green beans was salty. We never complained. The waitress apologized for the delay in our food and credited us for the appetizers which was very thoughtful. Overall it was an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Imaginative and tasty handcrafted cockta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Imaginative and tasty handcrafted cocktails, attentive service. I tasted the spicy fried chicken, pork chops, burger, and salmon cakes entres. All were excellent. We had a great time. Deep fried Brussels Sprouts were a big hit at our table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great service. The gnocchi an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good food, great service. The gnocchi and salmon cakes are a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great appetizers, just ok main course ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great appetizers, just ok main course Smarty pants bro waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed with Aliment's service ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very disappointed with Aliment's service and food quality. Took a group of 14 people here and would not recommend it. We were put in a room with 2 other parties and we could barely hear one another speak - the acoustics were awful. It took an hour for our food, an hour and a half for our soup and I had to speak to the wait staff and management four times to express my dissatisfaction. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

It was too warm on the top seating area, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was too warm on the top seating area, but otherwise ambiance was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great food. Good service. Happy hour spe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food. Good service. Happy hour specials are a major key.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I read about Aliment online and it sound ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I read about Aliment online and it sounded great

The food and place were amazing

The staff was friendly

They had a great cocktail list and a very nice bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came 10 minutes early and thought I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I came 10 minutes early and thought I might be able to wait for my friend at my table. They didn't seat me saying the dining room was not open until 5:30- even though I could see two tables with diners. I ended up sitting at the bar with my friend. Later, I discovered that there was a happy hour menu that we did not receive. I felt lied to and duped. I was hoping this would be a good spot to go to when attending theater performances but clearly, I should consider the multitude of other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

The gnochhi was great -- very creamy. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The gnochhi was great -- very creamy. The Korean fried chicken was good as well, if inauthentic. (Putting gochujang on top of normal friend chicken doesn't make it Korean fried chicken, man.) I had the burger, which was also good. Maybe not $16 good, but definitely good. The fries that came with the burger were a let down. (I'm unsure if this was the thrice-fried fries on their menu or a different sort of fries, though.) Service was a bit slow, probably because we were on the top floor.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

What a perfect choice for a dinner with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

What a perfect choice for a dinner with friends, especially if you're good enough friends to share. My favorite was the pastrami sliders - so tasty even if a bit messy. (I covered my napkin with mustard.) I also love the brussels sprouts. Everything was so good. Finished with basil panna cotta for dessert, which was creamy and not too sweet. I'm getting some more friends together and going back again!

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gnocchi and the chocolate dessert were s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Gnocchi and the chocolate dessert were superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was magnificent!! The server h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was magnificent!! The server had us waiting a couple of times just a bit longer than preferred. But overall I'd good because the food is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was mediocre! Which was a surpr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was mediocre! Which was a surprise since I had been here before and the food used to be great.

The waitress was aloof not very friendly and a bit standoffish.

They sat us upstairs which was hot and the noise level was so high that we could not have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Food very very bland and too sweet. Brus ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food very very bland and too sweet. Brussel sprouts literally swimming in syrup. Try some fat instead of sugar in your cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Aliment is a wonderful place to celebrat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Aliment is a wonderful place to celebrate, bring a date or dine alone. The imaginative takes on traditional dishes always catches me by surprise and the wine list and service consistently exceed expectations as well. I have been going to Aliment for a few years now and the menu changes, but still never disappoints.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aliment is operated like a bar that serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Aliment is operated like a bar that serves food, not a restaurant that has a bar. Service is indifferent and a little too casual, and the restaurant chooses not to provide amenities. For example, we were served warm water without ice; we had to ask for ice. And there are no condiments on the table. We also had to ask for salt and pepper. The menu is very limited, but the food is quite good. If I wanted a light meal in the Union Square area, I would drop in, sit at the bar and order a beer and a small plate.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

They did not have one healthy option in ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

They did not have one healthy option in their menu!!!

When I asked for the roasted chicken on the Aliment menu posted on Open Table, The waitress told me that I should have gone to their website instead as they do not update open table . What is the point then????? Then I asked for her to talk to the chef and see if he could grill any of their proteins and she said NO!!

We left!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Thy are not able to serve red wine by th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Thy are not able to serve red wine by the glas. Ours was much too warm (may be 25 grades celsius).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The burger was good!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The burger was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went to Aliment in search of local No ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went to Aliment in search of local Nob Hill eclectic restaurant. it is eclectic and some of the dishes are very special such as the duck small plate. The Pastrami Sliders were much too spicy.

The Gnocchi entree was the best. The Cab house wine was suprisingly very good. But deserts are disappointing. Espresso Coffee was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

There were 6 of us and we all liked our ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

There were 6 of us and we all liked our food except that dishes with pork in them are incredibly salty even the gnocchi where pork belly was a small addition to the dish. Also, it's very loud.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

4 out of 5 for their food & cocktails. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2016

4 out of 5 for their food & cocktails. On point with the food, well executed and delicious. Cocktails were also excellent. Wine by the glass was not. Our choice had been open for too long. Unfortunately, the service was uninspiring, as if they would have rather been somewhere else... And it was like 2 different restaurants, upstairs vs downstairs. We sat upstairs. it was much more lively downstairs with a good vibe.. I say try it because the food is good and so are the cocktails. So sit downstairs at the bar or a table to experience what i think they had in mind.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was amazing! I would definitely rec ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was amazing! I would definitely recommend it and go back.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thought that it was a very eclectic rest ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Thought that it was a very eclectic restaurant with a nice touch of showing "Back to Future" on the wall of the restaurant. Servers were good at pointing out recommended items to try. And, it had a terriffic mix of items to eat and drink.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I understand that there are space limita ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2016

I understand that there are space limitations, but for large groups it would be ideal to have circular or square seating rather than retangular as then everyone can see each other better and there is more chance to talk with those who are not seated next to you. I feel that is important for business meetings as it gets awkward as to who sits where. I would be more likely to return to a restaurant for business if it has better eye contact seating arrangements.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good however, the menu did ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was good however, the menu did not reflect on their website menu. We chose the restaurant based on the website menu so we were disappointed to arrive at the restaurant and see a totally different menu. I had trouble selecting something that appealed to my appetite. Food was good though and room quiet so easy for a conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was OK but it was really salty. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was OK but it was really salty. I would go back to try some other options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

All food was over sauced and gross. Had ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

All food was over sauced and gross. Had to send back the mussels because they were fishy. Should have sent back the poke because it was slimy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Be careful if you are a slightly picky e ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Be careful if you are a slightly picky eater they do not allow substitutions and the servers attitude about it is very off putting. Order a $38 steak and want to substitute a side- they don't allow that. Want to order a side? Nope we don't allow that either. After canceling my order then they allowed me to order a side of fries.

When the meal came all three of Our Ny strip were very fatty. Food was super salty- not that good of a place to put up with a bad attitude and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

This is a great place. I would recomme ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is a great place. I would recommend this place to locals ans folks visiting the City. Great private room as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Brussels sprouts ever...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Best Brussels sprouts ever...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Aliment is always a pleasure. I have bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Aliment is always a pleasure. I have been a regular in July for the last 3 years. The waitresses are service minded and very cool. The wine recommendation matches the food and the menu is never boring. The only thing I always miss is the rose pepper ice cream, but that is the flip side of a a restaurant that continue to the develop the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fresh, well prepared and attrac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was fresh, well prepared and attractively presented. Quantity was reasonable, not too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone's dish was salty, not flavorful ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everyone's dish was salty, not flavorful. Meats were over cooked. Dishes came out at different times. Waitress spoke so softly we could hardly hear her. This was very disappointing. I had been there before and enjoyed it but perhaps things have changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My third visit & friends first. Had a re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2016

My third visit & friends first. Had a reservation way ahead. Arrived & was taken to a back table against a wall on mezzanine. Asked for a change & said only bar available. The lady bartender saved the day!!

Ordered a scotch; she offered a small

sample of a comparable Japanese product.

Gave us menu suggestions - made for a enjoyable experience after a slow start.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited Aliment on my birthday and b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2016

We visited Aliment on my birthday and before the theater. Warm greeting and seated at a great table overlooking the bar and street. As per all the reviews, the Brussels sprouts were fabulous! Attentive service with no pretense and at a perfect pace. Will dine there again and recommend to everyone. Another plus was the very reasonable pricing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was lacking. When we inquired ab ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Service was lacking. When we inquired about beer, the server listed off a few different types of beer (porter, IPA, etc.)- not where they are from or any details. We were only checked on once despite there only being one other table in the upstairs area and had to ask for water refills. Food portions were small.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.