About Aliment

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (9)
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Creative menu. Meal service was paced we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Creative menu. Meal service was paced well. Our server and the bartender were both very pleasant and attentive. Food was very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very nice, the food very ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was very nice, the food very tasty. Not my style of place though

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

I enjoyed this place. Went at the sugge ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed this place. Went at the suggestion of a friend. I enjoyed all the food I ate. Good wine too. Good prices for SF, given how 'foody' it is. I didn't love that they seem to serve things in mason jars - hard to get the food out. Serve food to eat - not to be pretentious.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, but the menu's choice ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was good, but the menu's choice was very small and didn' t match the explanation of open table website

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, this is a really great restaura ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall, this is a really great restaurant that's falling short on its potential. First thing that must be noted - the food was really great. Creative but not overwrought, comforting, and lots of interesting flavors. Second, the cocktails were phenomenal. Third, pricing is fairly reasonable (for SF, so take that with a grain of salt). Two people, two cocktails, two appetizers and two mains and the bill was under $100. On the negatives, the ambiance is just not quite there. It was way too bright, and the upstairs area needs serious help -- we were initially sat up there but opted for the bar instead of the office florescence. If they turned the lights down to about 60%, it would be a different (and better) place. There is also a TV projected across a huge wall in addition to the one over the bar. It really killed the cool, romantic vibe this place could have (it should be noted that it's a really nice space with great big windows and a cool layout). Last thing -- we ended up with a great server down at the bar, but the first two people we interacted with were a bit... strange.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This restaurant is in a great location w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This restaurant is in a great location with a really great set-up. The menu looked interesting and fun. The cocktail menu looked interesting. Our waiter was responsive. At the same time, I have to say that almost every dish and every cocktail felt like it was missing something. There was a lack of precision in the cooking-good ingredients but no pop. The salmon cakes with salsify were tasty but they needed something to make them sparkle. When I mentioned this to my dining companions they all noted the same thing, some missing ingredient would have made the dish shine. Two of our six cocktails were also mixed incorrectly. In the end, I think we were all mildly disappointed. We really want this restaurant to succeed but....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great and the noise level a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was great and the noise level allowed us to chat with no issues. It's a great space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a good restaurant, and I suspect ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is a good restaurant, and I suspect many others will find it more appealing than I did. It's relatively small, with a few tables downstairs with the bar (and 2 large TVs turned to sports), 4 or 5 tables up on an open balcony, and a room for bigger groups. The food was plentiful to be sure -- with both the salad course and the main course providing enough to share with someone else (had I known.) It was also reasonably well prepared. My chicken was properly cooked, as was my companion's main course. My main objection was the heavy-handiness in dressing the salad and saucing the chicken I had for a main course. Service was friendly and prompt. If you are looking for a hardy meal with little concern about subtlety, this is the place for you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The gnocchi had zero flavor unfortunatel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The gnocchi had zero flavor unfortunately but the burger was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was delicious and creative. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was delicious and creative. The service and timing of food arriving at the table was a bit scattered.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Best Brussels Sprouts ever!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best Brussels Sprouts ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The burger was very good, the butter let ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The burger was very good, the butter lettuce salad was excellent but overdressed (and had too much pork belly for a side dish). The steak was fine but not great, and the accompanying vegetables were oily and not particularly flavorful. Our main disappointment was the fries. They were the worst fries we had ever come across. They tasted as if they'd been made the day before and not even reheated. We didn't even eat more than the first bite of them. Very poor quality for a higher end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

While the food was good, the rest of the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

While the food was good, the rest of the experience was poor. We were seated in an uncomfortable spot, right next to a large and loud group. They didn't know what a mocktail was, and I received my drink in an odd glass because they ran out of glassware. Even when we arrived, the experience waiting for seating was strange, with our waitress appearing confused as to why we were a few minutes early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Went on a Tuesday night, it was quiet bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Went on a Tuesday night, it was quiet but not empty. Entrees are generously portioned, and cocktails are to die for. Do not miss the brussel sprouts!! Try the Kentucky Samurai for a new cocktail experience that's actually a little savory but excellent in all aspects. Burger is expertly seasoned and just the right amount. Definitely coming back for dinner or even just drinks and a snack!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Happy Hour, but happy hour only ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Went for Happy Hour, but happy hour only exists at the bar - which was fill. Sat upstairs initially all alone - all the drinks were more expensive based on my location approximately 12 feet higher than the bar! The food was decent, but unremarkable. The selection of local beer was good, but paying $3.00 more then the folks 12 feet lower didn't sit all that well. If you can find a spot at the bar try Happy Hour, otherwise keep walking...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

I cannot say we enjoyed our meal. The po ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I cannot say we enjoyed our meal. The potato leek soup was bland, mussels were tiny, smoked salmon cakes just did not taste good and the sauce on the fried chicken did not complement it well. The best part was the chocolate cake for dessert. Service was attentive, but it's not enough to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I knew I was going to be in the neighbor ...

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I knew I was going to be in the neighborhood for a gallery opening, so I used OpenTable's discovery feature to find Aliment. The reviews were positive, and the menu looked good. Upon entering, I was impressed by the decor and the friendly nature of the staff, but the projectors playing football games were a little confusing. Overall, the service was great (though our server sometimes had to be reminded of things), the food was GREAT, and the atmosphere was okay. I would recommend for a quick bite with friends, or a casual date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, huge portions. Brought my par ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, huge portions. Brought my parents here for New Years eve and they enjoyed it. Expensive selection of wine.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The muni online was nothing close to the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The muni online was nothing close to the actual menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were surprised by the great food and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were surprised by the great food and presentation. The spicy Korean Chicken is phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best mussels I've ever had! Plus the bru ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best mussels I've ever had! Plus the brussell sprouts were delicious and the gnocchi was light and flavorful. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food but the kitchen closed, witho ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food but the kitchen closed, without notice to us, barely an hour after we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Really good food, but kind of noisy. Sta ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Really good food, but kind of noisy. Staff was averagely attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Our fifth trip the restaurant, but the f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our fifth trip the restaurant, but the first one for our kids. They serve the best brussel sprouts ever. We also enjoy the pastrami sliders, craft cocktails and excellent draught beer.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very limited menu. Didn't seem to unders ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very limited menu. Didn't seem to understand that if they served hot tea, serving ICED tea wasn't a big leap forward. Service was good. Restaurant is basically a bar with some tables. No decor or ambience to speak of. Food was adventurous and good, but very pricey for the quantity provided. Not a slam, but I'm unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I was disappointed this time around, my ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I was disappointed this time around, my second time at this restaurant. My Gnocchi was cold and as I was with clients, wasn't able to send it back as I raved at how wonderful the restaurant was last year when I was in town. We enjoyed our wine and your wine selection, but the meal itself was less than what I remember last year. I travel from Vancouver to San Fran twice a year and was hoping for a consistent experience. Darn.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Have been here a number of times and hav ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Have been here a number of times and have previously enjoyed the experience. Things seem off here now . Service feels disjointed and even a bit rude at moments. Food was ok on the whole (great pork chop) but my steak was very undercooked and under seasoned. I hope they can hit their stride again soon.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good mussels!

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good mussels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

They took great care of us for a birthda ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

They took great care of us for a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was looking forward to trying this spo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was looking forward to trying this spot. Chose it for a pre-theater dinner date. Our table was at the top of the stairs and not very private or quiet. The staff were constantly around us and it felt chaotic. The food was just okay. The beet salad had more greens than beets. The salmon cakes were well prepared but my date's mussels - mostly the broth - was just okay. The service was the biggest disappointment. The staff seemed spacey and overwhelmed. Drinks too way to long to arrive and the white wine seemed to have been stored improperly. It was not the right temperature and felt like it had been open a while. Not likely I'm going back. There are too many other choices.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Food quality was good. But at this price ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food quality was good. But at this price point, the service was severely lacking. For example, they let our glasses from multiple rounds of drinks pile up on the table without clearing them. Also, the room where we were eating (second level) was way too loud with two groups in it. There was no noise dampening. We had to raise our voices to talk with each other.

While I greatly appreciated being able to book a group reservation for this restaurant using OpenTable, I would not recommend this to a friend for a group experience. I would, however, consider returning for happy hour at the bar, as that seemed like a good option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The service was great, but the food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The service was great, but the food was overpriced for the quality. The salmon was far too salty, the drinks tasted like they were mixed by a frat boy, and they ran out of ravioli at 7:30! Our vegetarian members of our party couldnt order an entree because the ravioli was the only option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Food was poor, unimaginative. Had a sal ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was poor, unimaginative. Had a salad drowned in what appeared to be a mayo based dressing that was tasteless and crab cakes that were very salty with tasteless sauce. We did not finish either one and left ASAP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

for future, do not sit upstairs. it's aw ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

for future, do not sit upstairs. it's awful acoustics

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

We chose this restaurants because it was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We chose this restaurants because it was near the Masonic Theater where we were going to catch a show to celebrate our anniversary. When we ordered we told the waitress that we had 50 mins before we had to leave. Then for 30 mins we got nothing, the waitress was great and kept us updated and apologized, our order was misplaced. We got our food, brussel sprouts and butter salad were very good, the Korean Fried Chicken was average and the Pork Chops with green beans was salty. We never complained. The waitress apologized for the delay in our food and credited us for the appetizers which was very thoughtful. Overall it was an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Imaginative and tasty handcrafted cockta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Imaginative and tasty handcrafted cocktails, attentive service. I tasted the spicy fried chicken, pork chops, burger, and salmon cakes entres. All were excellent. We had a great time. Deep fried Brussels Sprouts were a big hit at our table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great service. The gnocchi an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good food, great service. The gnocchi and salmon cakes are a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great appetizers, just ok main course ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great appetizers, just ok main course Smarty pants bro waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed with Aliment's service ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very disappointed with Aliment's service and food quality. Took a group of 14 people here and would not recommend it. We were put in a room with 2 other parties and we could barely hear one another speak - the acoustics were awful. It took an hour for our food, an hour and a half for our soup and I had to speak to the wait staff and management four times to express my dissatisfaction. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

It was too warm on the top seating area, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was too warm on the top seating area, but otherwise ambiance was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.