Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Aliment

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
See All
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Romantic (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

food looked better on the menu than tasted for real

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Aliment. On a trip to San Francisco, we ate there our first night since it had an interesting menu and was very near our hotel. Great ambience and service with an interesting menu. Everything we had was quite good except for my wife's main course; she did not like its texture. Nice starters and dessert. A fine neighborhood option.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Had a reservation for 6:45 but the restaurant was closed when we arrived.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Nice food selection of fresh/farm to table menu! A little too much salt on the salmon cakes, but I'm not a salt person. Brussels Sprouts were awesome, so easy gnocchi! I would recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is one of my go-to choices when going to the theatre in the area. Really nice food selections and nice, approachable drinks menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I made my reservation on open table for 9:30 for 4 people. We arrived at 9:29. When we got there we were informed that their credit card machine was down which wasn't an issue cash is easier. They took our drink order and when the came back they told us the kitchen was closed.... I told them I made a reservation and he said let me see what we can do. A girl comes over and says well I can tell you the only things we can make right now which was only a handful. I'm just not sure why I was able to make a reservation at 9:30 and not get food. The kitchen shut down 50mins before closing. She brought Brussel sprouts on the house that were good. But the way everything happen was a bummer

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love this restaurant . Great menu choices and easy to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I was pretty disappointed at the difference between the menu (sounded good) and the manifestation. I had a tepid cocktail that was a bit like cucumber flavored saliva, and the Korean Spicy Fried Chicken. Sad to say, the chicken tasted like it had been fried first, coated in Sriracha mixed with sugar and then blasted to a lacquer finish. It was actually hard to physically eat it. Also, it did not marry well with kimchee and an arugula garnish whose dressing vanished as did everything else, next to the Sriracha lacquer. The dinner actually became funny, it was so pretentious, unbalanced and inept. Really sorry - wanted it to be good. My dinner partner's gnocchi were underdone but better. The serving staff seemed stressed out and disorganized as a team, though doubtless each person is a good person. Definitely not worth the downtown SF prices.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A friend & I were attending a performance nearby, and dining at Aliment was the perfect option. To start, I had the beet salad and she had the cauliflower dish. While the beet salad was good, it was a bit overdressed, and more beets would've been nice. The cauliflower dish was great. For my entree I had the crab cakes, which were probably the best crab cakes I've ever had. She had the fried chicken dish, which she really enjoyed. I thought overall value was good for the price, and I look forward to dining at Aliment again. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food and bartender came over and chatted about drinks with us after we asked about whether they had a particular amaro. Brussels sprouts with fish sauce caramel are excellent. Friendly staff and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

They taken into account some allergies for one of the guests a little bit late. They offert the desert to apologize.

The food was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Aliment isn't a very cohesive experience. It's got a lovely space that I really enjoyed. Service is fine. The cocktails were nice enough, nothing really stand-out. The menu is all over the place, and the flavors all kind of run together. Peppers stuffed with pulled pork, and then deep-fried, should be a lot more flavorful. The Korean fried chicken has a sauce that isn't spicy, and the coating for the chicken is so spongy that the sauce soaks in and it all becomes congealed. The whole menu felt like a bad potluck without any coordination. The brussels sprouts are lovely, and possibly the only good thing on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Aliment was excellent! Great food, wonderful low-key vibe, great service. Loved it.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 11, 2017

this restaurant was reccomened by a chef-friend, and it did not dissapoint! super happy with all the great food and will go back to this place!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Not sure what I was expecting but didn't find the menu to be very appealing. Had steak and it was okay but nothing great about it. Endive, on the other hand, was very good. Same with the Brussel sprouts. They were excellent. The restaurants version of "falafel" was mediocre. Wine selection was quite limited. Service was adequate - we were upstairs so didn't expect to get spot on service. Probably won't return as there are too many other choices in the neighborhood.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Delicious food, creative presentation but ambience is a bit sterile .

The service was a little uneven- server did not really know how to describe the beer selection, and as there wasn't a list at the table, it was a little awkward, but friendly and good-natured.

Brussel sprouts, potato leek soup and beet salad were exceptional.

Loved the Spicy Korean Fried Chicken, the heat was a bit less than anticipated, but flavor was right on and chicken cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A really great place. I had the spicy Korean fried chicken. They also had a great Brazilian cocktail. Fun, upscale place for a girl's night out with their booth seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Amazing burger and great cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Creative menu. Meal service was paced well. Our server and the bartender were both very pleasant and attentive. Food was very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was very nice, the food very tasty. Not my style of place though

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I enjoyed this place. Went at the suggestion of a friend. I enjoyed all the food I ate. Good wine too. Good prices for SF, given how 'foody' it is. I didn't love that they seem to serve things in mason jars - hard to get the food out. Serve food to eat - not to be pretentious.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was not even good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was good, but the menu's choice was very small and didn' t match the explanation of open table website

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Portions were too large and the decor upstairs could do with a refresh. However, friendly service and the food was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall, this is a really great restaurant that's falling short on its potential. First thing that must be noted - the food was really great. Creative but not overwrought, comforting, and lots of interesting flavors. Second, the cocktails were phenomenal. Third, pricing is fairly reasonable (for SF, so take that with a grain of salt). Two people, two cocktails, two appetizers and two mains and the bill was under $100. On the negatives, the ambiance is just not quite there. It was way too bright, and the upstairs area needs serious help -- we were initially sat up there but opted for the bar instead of the office florescence. If they turned the lights down to about 60%, it would be a different (and better) place. There is also a TV projected across a huge wall in addition to the one over the bar. It really killed the cool, romantic vibe this place could have (it should be noted that it's a really nice space with great big windows and a cool layout). Last thing -- we ended up with a great server down at the bar, but the first two people we interacted with were a bit... strange.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This restaurant is in a great location with a really great set-up. The menu looked interesting and fun. The cocktail menu looked interesting. Our waiter was responsive. At the same time, I have to say that almost every dish and every cocktail felt like it was missing something. There was a lack of precision in the cooking-good ingredients but no pop. The salmon cakes with salsify were tasty but they needed something to make them sparkle. When I mentioned this to my dining companions they all noted the same thing, some missing ingredient would have made the dish shine. Two of our six cocktails were also mixed incorrectly. In the end, I think we were all mildly disappointed. We really want this restaurant to succeed but....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was great and the noise level allowed us to chat with no issues. It's a great space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is a good restaurant, and I suspect many others will find it more appealing than I did. It's relatively small, with a few tables downstairs with the bar (and 2 large TVs turned to sports), 4 or 5 tables up on an open balcony, and a room for bigger groups. The food was plentiful to be sure -- with both the salad course and the main course providing enough to share with someone else (had I known.) It was also reasonably well prepared. My chicken was properly cooked, as was my companion's main course. My main objection was the heavy-handiness in dressing the salad and saucing the chicken I had for a main course. Service was friendly and prompt. If you are looking for a hardy meal with little concern about subtlety, this is the place for you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The gnocchi had zero flavor unfortunately but the burger was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was delicious and creative. The service and timing of food arriving at the table was a bit scattered.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best Brussels Sprouts ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The burger was very good, the butter lettuce salad was excellent but overdressed (and had too much pork belly for a side dish). The steak was fine but not great, and the accompanying vegetables were oily and not particularly flavorful. Our main disappointment was the fries. They were the worst fries we had ever come across. They tasted as if they'd been made the day before and not even reheated. We didn't even eat more than the first bite of them. Very poor quality for a higher end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

While the food was good, the rest of the experience was poor. We were seated in an uncomfortable spot, right next to a large and loud group. They didn't know what a mocktail was, and I received my drink in an odd glass because they ran out of glassware. Even when we arrived, the experience waiting for seating was strange, with our waitress appearing confused as to why we were a few minutes early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Went on a Tuesday night, it was quiet but not empty. Entrees are generously portioned, and cocktails are to die for. Do not miss the brussel sprouts!! Try the Kentucky Samurai for a new cocktail experience that's actually a little savory but excellent in all aspects. Burger is expertly seasoned and just the right amount. Definitely coming back for dinner or even just drinks and a snack!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Went for Happy Hour, but happy hour only exists at the bar - which was fill. Sat upstairs initially all alone - all the drinks were more expensive based on my location approximately 12 feet higher than the bar! The food was decent, but unremarkable. The selection of local beer was good, but paying $3.00 more then the folks 12 feet lower didn't sit all that well. If you can find a spot at the bar try Happy Hour, otherwise keep walking...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great place. Good food and service. Good feeling about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I cannot say we enjoyed our meal. The potato leek soup was bland, mussels were tiny, smoked salmon cakes just did not taste good and the sauce on the fried chicken did not complement it well. The best part was the chocolate cake for dessert. Service was attentive, but it's not enough to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I knew I was going to be in the neighborhood for a gallery opening, so I used OpenTable's discovery feature to find Aliment. The reviews were positive, and the menu looked good. Upon entering, I was impressed by the decor and the friendly nature of the staff, but the projectors playing football games were a little confusing. Overall, the service was great (though our server sometimes had to be reminded of things), the food was GREAT, and the atmosphere was okay. I would recommend for a quick bite with friends, or a casual date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, huge portions. Brought my parents here for New Years eve and they enjoyed it. Expensive selection of wine.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The muni online was nothing close to the actual menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.