Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Aliment

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour
Mon–Sat 5:00 am–7:00 am
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:30 pm–11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
See All
Casual (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The menu was limited probably due to the lack of a real kitchen but only a food prep area behind the counter. The food was adequate as was the service but not outstanding. Food arrival was on the slow side. There was a $4.00 charge for an order of bread (4 slices) -- petty and a $1.00 charge for tonic for my gin -- really petty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

LOVE this place. It was my first time and the service was off the chain great. The servers were so cool and had great personalities. You could tell they all loved working there and had pride in their establishment. I will be back the next chance I get.

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Went on a Saturday night around 7:30PM. There was a good crowd but not overly crowded. We started with the brussel sprouts and the cheese board. Both were excellent especially the brussel sprouts. For entrees we had the New York strip steak and the spicy Korean fried chicken. The chicken was very good and it was a good portion size. The steak was mediocre at best, extremely fatty and not much flavor.

Overall the food and service were good. We would definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was delicious and had a beautiful presentation. The staff were friendly and attentive. Even though we were seated in the loft which feels a bit far away from the kitchen and main bar area we felt very well taken care of. We would definitely eat here again. Be sure to try the popcorn infused creme brulee!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour, Organic, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Food average to good. Service very slow and always looking for waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Everything was noteworthy here—in a town where it is hard to stand out. We loved the Pine Street micro brewery selections—pale ale and an IPA—and one in our party had a excellent margarita type cocktail. We shared the brussell sprouts and the cauliflower sides to start—very tasty and singularly delicious. Not overly fried. Thanks! Then some of us had the korean style fried chicken and others had the steak (cooked rare, just like I asked for) covered in oven fried/roasted sweet potato cubes, thankfully not too oily. Sprinkled with lovely greens. The chicken was crispy and tender. The korean sauce was sweet and spicy. Yum. We shared the chocolate and creme brulee desserts. The ambiance was fun and comfortable. We four sat downstairs with 2 bench seats and could view the food and cocktail prep. Fun and great meal. We’re coming back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Great food and great service. We went here for my and my wife's 1 year anniversary because it was close by and landed on a Monday. We loved everything about it. Good quality and great portions. Cool vibe too. Nour server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We ate at the bar. The bartenders are amazing, very knowledgeable and entertaining. The food is amazing. We eat here every time we visit San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were at a memorial service a few blocks away and spontaneously wanted to grab dinner afterwards. I did a search and this came up and the menu looked great. We sat upstairs which was cool - downstairs is nice too but probably a bit louder so it was nice upstairs, a bit quieter but we could see all the action over the balcony. We split our meal - app, main and dessert - because we'd eaten a bit prior to dinner - and it was a great. Loved the burger with bacon jam, split the curry soup - very good. Chocolate cake was a little dry / bland but overall a great spot and I'd go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service was great and better yet the food was so tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Love the Brussels sprouts

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Terrible service and attitude of staff. Food was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful meal! I started with their fantastic rendition of a Bloody Mary (a wonderful surprise delivered in a copper vessel) - and the food was splendidly prepared as well. I particularly recommend their Brussels Sprouts, certainly the best I've eaten and I'm a fan of that strange little cabbage.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was really good but most entrees seemed to be smaller portions. The waiters were all nice but they were not attentive. They checked in about 4 times within the first five minutes to get our drink orders (a bit too frequent). But then didn't check in on our food once it arrived, and we had to ask for water, the check, and track them down a few times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fantastic service, but our meal (both main courses) were incredibly salty, like accidentally spilled the salt shaker salty. Dish concepts were good but poorly executed. Might come back for happy hour but probably not dinner...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Thank you for making my birthday dinner so special! It was all of our first time at Aliment and it left a great impression and start to our night. We shared appetizers and really enjoyed all - so fresh and well crafted. Each of us ordered different entrées and loved them. The caipirinha was so good! And thank you for the generous dessert - you guys really went above and beyond for us. Our server was incredibly sweet and efficient. Thanks and see you next time!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This restaurant is very consistent with their quality service and food. The décor is chic and simple. The location is great as well. Their cocktails are some of the best that I've had in the city and well worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Really awful. Overcooked meat. Smoky and stuffy environment due to the kitchen smoke. limited menu. Drinks meh. Just awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Very attentive service, food is very good and rapidly served.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Ordered a burger, medium well, which arrived medium rare. The kitchen replaced it but it didn't arrive until the companion's meal was completely eaten. They offered an apology but given the time delay, some accommodation (dessert/drink/discount) would have been appropriate. Our server was also pretty inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Aliment was perfect for a casual dinner on a sweltering SF evening. Lots of great choices-- especially salads and lighter fare, though the pork chop at the next table looked amazing! Service was attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend to friends and will be back. BTW I dined alone this time and was treated extremely well-- this isn't always the case at some restaurants, so thanks Aliment for a terrific evening!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Would be great to print out a beer list, helpful for patrons and your own waitstaff. Our waiter couldn't explain what "IPA" was on the menu. Great food and spot, always a top choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved this place! Service was great. Chef prepared a special vegan dish for my daughter and husband. My husband said it was his best meal of our 5 day SFO trip!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tapas, Quick Bite, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Service is slow, food is decent. Drinks are weak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on August 8, 2017

When introduced to the menu (nice menu with 6-8 options per course) we were told some options no longer available. This was a surprise on a Monday, but can happen. Then after we'd ordered the waitress returned to inform the wine and some food we ordered were also no longer available. To top it all the NY strip we ordered was served on a stone cold plate, making the sauce inedible and the meat cold when eating. Despite the multiple recommendations etc. a disappointing experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food is not good. We chose this restaurant because it was close to the Masonic. The food is really not good. I had the gnocci dish and it was super bland.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our last night in San Francisco and such a disappointment...Second floor ambiance was non-existent and stifling. Very limited menu and they were already out of what we wanted by 6:45pm which is inexcuseable. My fish was overcooked and presentation average. Would never go back - San Fran has so many phenomenal restaurants - this was not one of them.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Restaurant was out of probably 50% of the menu. Server spilled meat sauce on our one vegetarian diner. Extremely slow once we finally picked something out of the few items that the kitchen actually had. Will not be coming back under any circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was incredibly hot in the restaurant. Took nearly an hour and a half after we were seated before we got our food. The staff was friendly and apologetic but the food, although generally good, was not worth the wait.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food lacked flavor, had run out of several items by 7:30, and found ourselves beckoning the server far too often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Awesome happy hour, good value, bold flavors and great staff! A perfect place to grab a bite/drink before a show at the Masonic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The risotto gnocchi was amazing. Wonderful service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Loved the atmosphere and friendly staff. The food was excellent and we enjoyed their unique cocktails. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This restaurant greets you with a bright and modern entry filled with lively conversation. The staff are friendly and fun, make sure you are having a good meal and a good experience. The menu features healthy along with hearty. All ingredients were fresh and beautiful. Very interesting and tasty drink menu with a wine list that fit the offerings very well. I had a steak while there and it was done perfectly enough to make me think I'd love to go back there again just for that item. I shared a citrus salad with my visiting friend that was yummy - and enough for two. And my friend enjoyed her dinner which featured an Australian fish and herbs. This is definitely a good find and convenient to Union Square if you are in the area. Nearby garage parking that was inexpensive also made this an easy winner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food, super friendly and attentive staff, nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Awesome. Sat down for dinner at 6:00 p.m. So many food options so many beer options. Took our time and ate and drank slowly. Left at 9:30 p.m. Never got rushed. Staff happy to let us try a sip of a few beers before we selected what we want. PLUS, they have Moonlight Brewing beer on tap (not available in a bottle) and this Santa Rosa brewer is one of the absolute best brewers in the country! The pork was fantastic. Finger licking good. Must go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The staff was very accommodating and attentive to our group's table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I was really excited to try this place but I have to say the drinks were expensive &!not very tasty. Food was very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The best ever brussel sprouts in fish caramel sauce! The gnocchi was great too! Worth every penny ❤️

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was a great experience overall but there was no preemptive advisory that the tip was included in the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.