Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Aliment

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Casual (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This restaurant is very consistent with their quality service and food. The décor is chic and simple. The location is great as well. Their cocktails are some of the best that I've had in the city and well worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Really awful. Overcooked meat. Smoky and stuffy environment due to the kitchen smoke. limited menu. Drinks meh. Just awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Very attentive service, food is very good and rapidly served.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Ordered a burger, medium well, which arrived medium rare. The kitchen replaced it but it didn't arrive until the companion's meal was completely eaten. They offered an apology but given the time delay, some accommodation (dessert/drink/discount) would have been appropriate. Our server was also pretty inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Aliment was perfect for a casual dinner on a sweltering SF evening. Lots of great choices-- especially salads and lighter fare, though the pork chop at the next table looked amazing! Service was attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend to friends and will be back. BTW I dined alone this time and was treated extremely well-- this isn't always the case at some restaurants, so thanks Aliment for a terrific evening!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Would be great to print out a beer list, helpful for patrons and your own waitstaff. Our waiter couldn't explain what "IPA" was on the menu. Great food and spot, always a top choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved this place! Service was great. Chef prepared a special vegan dish for my daughter and husband. My husband said it was his best meal of our 5 day SFO trip!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tapas, Quick Bite, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Service is slow, food is decent. Drinks are weak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on August 8, 2017

When introduced to the menu (nice menu with 6-8 options per course) we were told some options no longer available. This was a surprise on a Monday, but can happen. Then after we'd ordered the waitress returned to inform the wine and some food we ordered were also no longer available. To top it all the NY strip we ordered was served on a stone cold plate, making the sauce inedible and the meat cold when eating. Despite the multiple recommendations etc. a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food is not good. We chose this restaurant because it was close to the Masonic. The food is really not good. I had the gnocci dish and it was super bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our last night in San Francisco and such a disappointment...Second floor ambiance was non-existent and stifling. Very limited menu and they were already out of what we wanted by 6:45pm which is inexcuseable. My fish was overcooked and presentation average. Would never go back - San Fran has so many phenomenal restaurants - this was not one of them.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Restaurant was out of probably 50% of the menu. Server spilled meat sauce on our one vegetarian diner. Extremely slow once we finally picked something out of the few items that the kitchen actually had. Will not be coming back under any circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was incredibly hot in the restaurant. Took nearly an hour and a half after we were seated before we got our food. The staff was friendly and apologetic but the food, although generally good, was not worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food lacked flavor, had run out of several items by 7:30, and found ourselves beckoning the server far too often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Awesome happy hour, good value, bold flavors and great staff! A perfect place to grab a bite/drink before a show at the Masonic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The risotto gnocchi was amazing. Wonderful service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Loved the atmosphere and friendly staff. The food was excellent and we enjoyed their unique cocktails. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This restaurant greets you with a bright and modern entry filled with lively conversation. The staff are friendly and fun, make sure you are having a good meal and a good experience. The menu features healthy along with hearty. All ingredients were fresh and beautiful. Very interesting and tasty drink menu with a wine list that fit the offerings very well. I had a steak while there and it was done perfectly enough to make me think I'd love to go back there again just for that item. I shared a citrus salad with my visiting friend that was yummy - and enough for two. And my friend enjoyed her dinner which featured an Australian fish and herbs. This is definitely a good find and convenient to Union Square if you are in the area. Nearby garage parking that was inexpensive also made this an easy winner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food, super friendly and attentive staff, nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Awesome. Sat down for dinner at 6:00 p.m. So many food options so many beer options. Took our time and ate and drank slowly. Left at 9:30 p.m. Never got rushed. Staff happy to let us try a sip of a few beers before we selected what we want. PLUS, they have Moonlight Brewing beer on tap (not available in a bottle) and this Santa Rosa brewer is one of the absolute best brewers in the country! The pork was fantastic. Finger licking good. Must go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The staff was very accommodating and attentive to our group's table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I was really excited to try this place but I have to say the drinks were expensive &!not very tasty. Food was very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The best ever brussel sprouts in fish caramel sauce! The gnocchi was great too! Worth every penny ❤️

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was a great experience overall but there was no preemptive advisory that the tip was included in the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The chef is amazing and talented, but the service is C-. I had to request change of plates, which is very important when tasting different meals. Plus, I was asked, "did I have reservations,"while sitting at the table by another worker. Weird, because I was seated by the host. Overall, the service crew needs more restaurant etiquette and should always change plates when the chef is featuring amazing dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Creative menu choices. Lots of interesting and tasty starters. The brussels sprouts with caramelized fish sauce were great, as was the curry soup. Mains also excellent and unique. Had pork chop, Korean chicken, burgers. Great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Last minute decision, beyond pleasantly surprised! Food was absolutely amazing, would definitely recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Perfect for a friends get together for my birthday! Great atmosphere and an interesting menu that provides a lot of flavor surprises. I didn't realize there was more seating areas upstairs, which was perfect for our group.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food - service and timing could be improved.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time there! Very welcoming staff and atmosphere! Pleasant decor. Chef is brilliant!
Brussell Sprouts are a MUST to try! Pork Chop presentation on cutting board was delightful and OH THE TASTE WAS EXQUISITE! Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The salad that we ordered mediocre at best, lettuce did not appear to be very fresh but the rest of the meal was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2017

A very friendly open spaced casual atmosphere greets you at Aliment. The menu is small but distinctive in its variety and excellent in its taste.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good cocktail. Great service. Burger - meh. Maybe it was an off-night. The burger was a little bland tasting. The roll was stale. I wouldn't say don't go or I won't go back. I will say with so many others choices in the same area and pricepoint, it may be a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The pork chop was cold and tasted a little peculiar - but that might be a question of preference. The barramundi was overcooked and blah. I ordered a dry gin martini, but it was too wet for my preference. Not terrible, but I wouldn't return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Large portions. Perhaps the best Brussels sprouts and one of the best cocktails I've ever had. That's saying a lot.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were a group of 14 and were seated upstairs. The server was very attentive to our large party and was very friendly and patient with us. The food was excellent and arrived at the same time for everyone as well!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My wife and I are always looking for excellent restaurants around the Union Square neighborhood and Aliment fit the bill. Our first time, prior to attending a SHN production, so the dining crowd was light. We were seated upstairs and had a great view of the bottom floor, bar & outside to Bush Street. My wife had the mussels light plate and raved about it. We'll definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

food looked better on the menu than tasted for real

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Aliment. On a trip to San Francisco, we ate there our first night since it had an interesting menu and was very near our hotel. Great ambience and service with an interesting menu. Everything we had was quite good except for my wife's main course; she did not like its texture. Nice starters and dessert. A fine neighborhood option.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a reservation for 6:45 but the restaurant was closed when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.