Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Aliment

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome. Sat down for dinner at 6:00 p.m. So many food options so many beer options. Took our time and ate and drank slowly. Left at 9:30 p.m. Never got rushed. Staff happy to let us try a sip of a few beers before we selected what we want. PLUS, they have Moonlight Brewing beer on tap (not available in a bottle) and this Santa Rosa brewer is one of the absolute best brewers in the country! The pork was fantastic. Finger licking good. Must go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The staff was very accommodating and attentive to our group's table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I was really excited to try this place but I have to say the drinks were expensive &!not very tasty. Food was very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The best ever brussel sprouts in fish caramel sauce! The gnocchi was great too! Worth every penny ❤️

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was a great experience overall but there was no preemptive advisory that the tip was included in the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The chef is amazing and talented, but the service is C-. I had to request change of plates, which is very important when tasting different meals. Plus, I was asked, "did I have reservations,"while sitting at the table by another worker. Weird, because I was seated by the host. Overall, the service crew needs more restaurant etiquette and should always change plates when the chef is featuring amazing dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Creative menu choices. Lots of interesting and tasty starters. The brussels sprouts with caramelized fish sauce were great, as was the curry soup. Mains also excellent and unique. Had pork chop, Korean chicken, burgers. Great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Last minute decision, beyond pleasantly surprised! Food was absolutely amazing, would definitely recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Perfect for a friends get together for my birthday! Great atmosphere and an interesting menu that provides a lot of flavor surprises. I didn't realize there was more seating areas upstairs, which was perfect for our group.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food - service and timing could be improved.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time there! Very welcoming staff and atmosphere! Pleasant decor. Chef is brilliant!
Brussell Sprouts are a MUST to try! Pork Chop presentation on cutting board was delightful and OH THE TASTE WAS EXQUISITE! Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The salad that we ordered mediocre at best, lettuce did not appear to be very fresh but the rest of the meal was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2017

A very friendly open spaced casual atmosphere greets you at Aliment. The menu is small but distinctive in its variety and excellent in its taste.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good cocktail. Great service. Burger - meh. Maybe it was an off-night. The burger was a little bland tasting. The roll was stale. I wouldn't say don't go or I won't go back. I will say with so many others choices in the same area and pricepoint, it may be a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The pork chop was cold and tasted a little peculiar - but that might be a question of preference. The barramundi was overcooked and blah. I ordered a dry gin martini, but it was too wet for my preference. Not terrible, but I wouldn't return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Large portions. Perhaps the best Brussels sprouts and one of the best cocktails I've ever had. That's saying a lot.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My wife and I are always looking for excellent restaurants around the Union Square neighborhood and Aliment fit the bill. Our first time, prior to attending a SHN production, so the dining crowd was light. We were seated upstairs and had a great view of the bottom floor, bar & outside to Bush Street. My wife had the mussels light plate and raved about it. We'll definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

food looked better on the menu than tasted for real

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Aliment. On a trip to San Francisco, we ate there our first night since it had an interesting menu and was very near our hotel. Great ambience and service with an interesting menu. Everything we had was quite good except for my wife's main course; she did not like its texture. Nice starters and dessert. A fine neighborhood option.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a reservation for 6:45 but the restaurant was closed when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Nice food selection of fresh/farm to table menu! A little too much salt on the salmon cakes, but I'm not a salt person. Brussels Sprouts were awesome, so easy gnocchi! I would recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This is one of my go-to choices when going to the theatre in the area. Really nice food selections and nice, approachable drinks menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I made my reservation on open table for 9:30 for 4 people. We arrived at 9:29. When we got there we were informed that their credit card machine was down which wasn't an issue cash is easier. They took our drink order and when the came back they told us the kitchen was closed.... I told them I made a reservation and he said let me see what we can do. A girl comes over and says well I can tell you the only things we can make right now which was only a handful. I'm just not sure why I was able to make a reservation at 9:30 and not get food. The kitchen shut down 50mins before closing. She brought Brussel sprouts on the house that were good. But the way everything happen was a bummer

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Love this restaurant . Great menu choices and easy to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I was pretty disappointed at the difference between the menu (sounded good) and the manifestation. I had a tepid cocktail that was a bit like cucumber flavored saliva, and the Korean Spicy Fried Chicken. Sad to say, the chicken tasted like it had been fried first, coated in Sriracha mixed with sugar and then blasted to a lacquer finish. It was actually hard to physically eat it. Also, it did not marry well with kimchee and an arugula garnish whose dressing vanished as did everything else, next to the Sriracha lacquer. The dinner actually became funny, it was so pretentious, unbalanced and inept. Really sorry - wanted it to be good. My dinner partner's gnocchi were underdone but better. The serving staff seemed stressed out and disorganized as a team, though doubtless each person is a good person. Definitely not worth the downtown SF prices.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A friend & I were attending a performance nearby, and dining at Aliment was the perfect option. To start, I had the beet salad and she had the cauliflower dish. While the beet salad was good, it was a bit overdressed, and more beets would've been nice. The cauliflower dish was great. For my entree I had the crab cakes, which were probably the best crab cakes I've ever had. She had the fried chicken dish, which she really enjoyed. I thought overall value was good for the price, and I look forward to dining at Aliment again. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent food and bartender came over and chatted about drinks with us after we asked about whether they had a particular amaro. Brussels sprouts with fish sauce caramel are excellent. Friendly staff and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

They taken into account some allergies for one of the guests a little bit late. They offert the desert to apologize.

The food was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Aliment isn't a very cohesive experience. It's got a lovely space that I really enjoyed. Service is fine. The cocktails were nice enough, nothing really stand-out. The menu is all over the place, and the flavors all kind of run together. Peppers stuffed with pulled pork, and then deep-fried, should be a lot more flavorful. The Korean fried chicken has a sauce that isn't spicy, and the coating for the chicken is so spongy that the sauce soaks in and it all becomes congealed. The whole menu felt like a bad potluck without any coordination. The brussels sprouts are lovely, and possibly the only good thing on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Aliment was excellent! Great food, wonderful low-key vibe, great service. Loved it.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 10, 2017

this restaurant was reccomened by a chef-friend, and it did not dissapoint! super happy with all the great food and will go back to this place!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Not sure what I was expecting but didn't find the menu to be very appealing. Had steak and it was okay but nothing great about it. Endive, on the other hand, was very good. Same with the Brussel sprouts. They were excellent. The restaurants version of "falafel" was mediocre. Wine selection was quite limited. Service was adequate - we were upstairs so didn't expect to get spot on service. Probably won't return as there are too many other choices in the neighborhood.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious food, creative presentation but ambience is a bit sterile .

The service was a little uneven- server did not really know how to describe the beer selection, and as there wasn't a list at the table, it was a little awkward, but friendly and good-natured.

Brussel sprouts, potato leek soup and beet salad were exceptional.

Loved the Spicy Korean Fried Chicken, the heat was a bit less than anticipated, but flavor was right on and chicken cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A really great place. I had the spicy Korean fried chicken. They also had a great Brazilian cocktail. Fun, upscale place for a girl's night out with their booth seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Amazing burger and great cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Creative menu. Meal service was paced well. Our server and the bartender were both very pleasant and attentive. Food was very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was very nice, the food very tasty. Not my style of place though

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I enjoyed this place. Went at the suggestion of a friend. I enjoyed all the food I ate. Good wine too. Good prices for SF, given how 'foody' it is. I didn't love that they seem to serve things in mason jars - hard to get the food out. Serve food to eat - not to be pretentious.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was not even good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food was good, but the menu's choice was very small and didn' t match the explanation of open table website

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.