About Aliment

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (31)
fit for foodies (28)
special occasion (13)
See All
good for groups (13)
romantic (10)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
notable wine list (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aliment SF for dinner

Dined on May 23, 2016

We happened upon Aliment a couple of years ago during a visit to San Francisco. So, in our trip last week, we went out of our way to dine there again. The food and service continue to be excellent, with a unique menu (such as roasted brussels sprouts with fish sauce caramel and roasted kabocha squash salad with arugula and hazelnuts). My wife had the steak and I had the gnocchi. Both were outstanding.... and the leftovers were just as good on the plane home the next day. Never know who you will see there; the other table in our room included two well known jazz musicians out for a private evening. We recommend Aliment highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Really bad! Food is almost unedible, too ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Really bad! Food is almost unedible, too much salt/no flavor at all! Don't go!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my 3rd visit still very good - I look fo ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

my 3rd visit still very good - I look forward to my next visit

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

I was with a friend and service was good ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was with a friend and service was good and the ambience was nice. Red wine was served way too warm. Arugula squash salad was the highlight of the meal and was very good. The scallops were way too seasoned so that they tasted more like the sea Than like scallops. The steak did not look anything like a New York sirloin that I ever bought and the French fries although numerous were limp.get the picture?

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Just okay

Dined on April 26, 2016

I was expecting more. Thought the service, food, ambiance were all fair. Nothing memorable. Only had one evening for a dining experience in San Francisco, spent a lot of time looking at options, so my expectations were high. Don't think I would return or recommend in general

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Excellent Service

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food was to die for. I got the brussel sprouts, gnocchi, and burnt caramel chocolate ice cream...really really amazing! The service was on -top of it too. Loved every second and will be coming back!

food4
ambience4
service4

The brussels sprouts is as good as the o ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The brussels sprouts is as good as the other reviews have shared. We had grilled cheese with tomato soup and it was delicious. The homemade pasta were yummy. We look forward to going back again.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Aliment

Dined on April 12, 2016

overall good, a little pricey though. I would recommend to a friend if I knew it were a special occasion.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and unpretentious

Dined on April 11, 2016

The service at Aliment was excellent; our waitress was prompt, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the menu. The food we ordered ( Brussel sprouts, ricotta gnocchi , and hamburger) was all delicious and came out at a nice pace. I ordered a cocktail off their menu, and the waitress suggested a twist on it based on what we were talking about in terms of drink preferences. The ambience is simple, clean , and modern. All in all, a great place for a meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food and great cocktails. Orde ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Delicious food and great cocktails. Order the Brussel sprouts! They are so tasty.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Wouldn't recommend

Dined on April 2, 2016

Waiter got my drink order completely wrong and still charged me for it. Gnocchi tasted like gum, mussels were fishy. Tomato soup and fries were good- I can make that at home

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner

Dined on April 1, 2016

Greatfood, great service. Must have the brussel sprouts!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 30, 2016

Booked this restaurant in the afternoon for the same night. Menu looked promising. Main room was quite noisy, luckily we were seated upstairs where it was more quiet. Service was okay, although a little more "warmth" would have been appreciated. Appetizers were good but hard to mess up (buffalo wings and squash salad). The entrees were disappointments. Pasta in two different dishes were overcooked and resulted in big clumps that didn't take the sauce well. The burger was very average for the price. Meat was overcooked and the whole thing didn't taste great. The restaurant wasn't terrible, but I would not return.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Asked to leave after 1:45 hours.

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

We were asked to leave after paying our check after having been there for an hour and a half. No problem, but the restaurant should allow 2 hour seatings. No one likes to be asked to get up and leave.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice, as a solo diner in the city ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Very nice, as a solo diner in the city for business, to eat at the bar. Comfortable, great food, good service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Accepted a last minute reservation for e ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Accepted a last minute reservation for eight. Staff was fantastic and the food was even better. Great place, great atmosphere, exquisite food.

food5
ambience4
service5

Cocktails were amazing. Great bartender ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Cocktails were amazing. Great bartender working with fresh ingredients. Had the steak med-rare. It was A-MAZE-ING!! I would have to say one of the best I have had in a long time!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Really good!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Everything our party of 4 had was extremely tasty. The brussel sprouts are some of the best that we have ever had, the shrimp and grits are amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant. It is a little pricey so it might be great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was all delicious, though maybe ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

The food was all delicious, though maybe a tad much on the spices and flavor. I would eat here again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent neighborhood spot near Union Sq

Dined on February 17, 2016

Last minute reservation for 6 visitors from Sweden & LA. Excellent service. Good variety of options for diverse tastes. Highly recommend brussel sprouts, mezcal-cured salmon, diver scallops, steak. Nice wine list as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

An inventive menu and drink list in a mi ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

An inventive menu and drink list in a minimalist setting with no-nonsense wait staff made this an especially delightful evening on our recent trip to San Francisco. Often inventiveness can mask inferior food items, but the combinations here enhanced the individual flavors and created a sumptuous fusion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it; returned right away

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

I've been to Ailment twice -- on two trips to SF -- and recommend the brussels sprouts (with a fish oil caramel sauce glaze) and the steak. Both are sharable and a flavorful delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hip, but not Too

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Aliment was a pleasant surprise. Very good food, excellent service, attractive ambiance, delicious cocktails, and walking distance to ACT -- along with Saha, our new pre-theatre go-to!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A bit underwhelming, but I only had appetizers

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

I took my son here for dinner this weekend, expecting great cuisine based on the reviews I had read and must admit I was a but disappointed in everything but dessert. That said, we did not have entrees, and plenty of them sure looked delicious. However, the chicken appetizer was overly breaded and tasteless and the ribs were just ok as was the beet salad. However, the fried donut we shared for dessert was outstanding. The Cabernet the server recommended was delicious but I didn't get it until I asked a second time after our appetizers had been served, when I had ordered it right away before we even ordered food.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and drinks. I'd say moderate ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great food and drinks. I'd say moderate food pricing and a bit expensive on drinks. We sat upstairs which was cool, right on the rail. Fun that they play 80s movies on silent while everyone is eating.

food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Wont be coming back

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

Ive always had mixed feeling about this restaurant, but this last time sealed the deal. I wont be coming back. Poor, rushed service, followed by uneatable food. Horrible experience all around.

food3
ambience4
service5

The meat pasta was very generous in size ...

vip
Dined on January 11, 2016

The meat pasta was very generous in size and delicious in taste!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentically Cool + Veggie Options

Dined on January 5, 2016

This place is classically cool not not splash in the pan cool. Just authentically classically cool. At aliment you can have nice conversations, original cocktails, and many veggie options. Be sure to order the Brussel sprouts. E N J O Y

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience3
service3

Good restaurant for local eating scene

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

The limited menu was well prepared and interesting. You could order several small dishes to share. The roasted Brussel sprouts were amazing as was the lamb sirloin (both small plates). The gnocchi was also very interesting in preparation and flavor. The wine choices by glass were average. The cost was good value for price. No bread served. Decent service. If you sit on the second floor, service is challenging as they have to hand carry every dish up the stairs---but the dishes came in decent time and temperature despite this challenge.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and environment

Dined on December 1, 2015

Squash salad was heavy but delicious. Gnocchi was some of the best I've ever had. Steak was tiny but melted in the mouth. Unique cocktails were also very well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Overpriced, and pork in everything

Dined on November 30, 2015

The servers were great, the ambiance was nice and the salads were really good. But this was just way overpriced for what we got in the entrees. Scallops meal was $24 and there were 3 scallops, a paste/puree, and nothing else. The chicken dish said it came with fingerling potatoes and there may have been one, cut up into small pieces. Another thing I wasn't a fan of was that seemingly every meal had pork (loin, chop, bacon, pancetta, etc.) in it. Really heavy stuff, but such is the trend in many of these hipster restaurants these days...

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3

Good food, service, and presentation. Wa ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Good food, service, and presentation. Was there on a first date and we both enjoyed it. Two steak dinners, two cocktails a piece, two appetizers around $200. Not bad. The steak is overpriced but delicious nonetheless . I would recommend this spot.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved the Food. Decor needs help.

Dined on November 21, 2015

The food at Aliment was great— fun and interesting, but the decor could use some work. Most of it is fine, but could use some tweaks. The banquettes looked like they belonged in a Holiday Inn. Also the restaurant was a bit chilly. Perhaps it was because we were seated near the door, but it didn't feel cozy. We had a terrible bottle of wine, which I probably should have sent back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed

Dined on November 20, 2015

Enjoyed sitting in the balcony looking over the bar and restaurant scene on the first floor. Liked the food though the menu was somewhat limited, and the typeset was so light it was difficult to read. Waiter was helpful and friendly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

It's "ok", not great

Dined on November 18, 2015

Drinks were great but fairly expensive. Kale salad and chicken bits were great, but the mac and cheese was super overcooked, to the point that it was a pasta puree. Waiter made a mistake on our order and he was not very polite about it, in fact, gave us a bit of attitude when we both had clearly stated what we wanted. For about $100 a person, service was subpar and food was average.

food5
ambience4
service3

Brussel Sprouts... Best thing EVER!!!

Dined on November 10, 2015

Brussel Sprouts... Best thing EVER!!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience from start to finish

vip
Dined on November 10, 2015

From the moment I entered, they were friendly and happy to engage. The bartender suggested a perfect libation based on my likes/comments and was pleased to do something with what he had behind the bar. Terrific bartender! Once seated, our server was exceptional from her attitude, menu knowledge, and overall demeanor. Really like her and her style...well done! And now on to the food...very interesting, very delicious, very easy to share or not, and great portion sizes that aren't too big or too small but very appropriate for what the item is. Can't wait to go back...Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

A great little place!! Loved the booth s ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

A great little place!! Loved the booth set up, made it cozy. From the drinks, appetizers, dinner to dessert, all perfect for a small party birthday! OMG, the pastrami sliders a must! Everyone was super happy with their dinners, pork belly ricotta gnocchi, shrimp grits, lamb sirloin, NY strip, the Brussel sprouts, yummy, yummy, yummy!! And ordered all 3-deserts, black rice pudding, Apple tart and chocolate bunt cake...cleaned all 3 plates!! Gotta go back!

food4
ambience4
service4

Awesome service and waiters are super ni ...

Dined on November 5, 2015

Awesome service and waiters are super nice. The food was delicious, especially the Brussel sprouts and the lamb sirloin. The chocolate cake was a bit over baked and dry. I would recommend this place for go ups of people that want to taste different dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5

Another Conference in San Francisco

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

Aliment was a last minute search and discovery but it will not be the last time we visit. Wonderful staff and the food was as advertised farm to table. Fresh and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.