Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Aliment

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour
Mon–Sat 5:00 am–7:00 am
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:30 pm–11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs. Please email christine@alimentsf.com to reserve.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
People Watching (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on February 9, 2018

The first bite I picked up with my fork had hair wrapped all in the food. My 2nd cocktail also had hair inside the glass. The waiter was super nice about it, but still unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Remarkably good food. The menu pleases our vegetarian friends and meat lovers alike. We ordered a big salad, cauliflower, fried chicken sandwich and a burger. Everyone was happy. In addition, the service was quite attentive. A bit hidden but a great find for the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2018

the food changed. We enjoyed the food in the past. this visit the brussel spouts were overly sweet. The gnocchi with Gorgonzola sauce had an off taste. The fish was bland. Kitchen ran out of deserts. Maybe an off night for the kitchen? We were told a new chef is coming soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Food is always good. Had the mussels and baramundi. Both were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 20, 2018

One of my best expierences in 8 yrs in SF!!!!! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2018

Went here for drinks and a lite dinner with my bestfriend. The bartender and servers were super friendly! The atmosphere was perfect for a girls night. Quiet and cute and cozy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Aliment was great, nice table upstairs. They have a very fun menu, we had squash soup and roasted brussels sprouts as appetizers and Barramundi and a pasta dish for entrees. Service is great and they were very aware of our time constraint, for concert tickets. The team is very impresssive. The cocktails were great , one standout was the Smoke (something).

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The food was very “meh.” But the service and drinks were great! I would return for drinks and maybe the charcuterie dish (which I didn’t have, but it looked interesting). Don’t think I’d go back there for any other food, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2017

This should have been much better.

Best thing we ate were the brussel sprouts. Well seasoned and tasty. Downhill from there.

My wife and in-laws ordered the soup. It had a nice smokey flavor which they enjoyed, but was not seasoned at all.

The boar was ok. The Korean fried chicken... was weird. The sauce just wasn't quite right - left you feeling a little ill after. It wasn't spicy enough and the sweetness was off. The two pieces of breast meat were over cooked and the thigh and leg were under cooked. The ricotta gnocchi with Gorgonzola sauce was not good at all. You would expect something that to be rich and unctuous. The texture of the gnocchi was meh at best and the sauce was awful. It was acid forward and had no Gorgonzola flavor at all. Food was horribly disappointing.

Atmosphere and service were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We loved Rachel the fantastic craft cocktail-ist! She was lovely ... warm, kind, knowledgeable and just an overall cool person. I think there was a large party going on in the back so the staff seemed slightly divided but Rachel was incredibly helpful and attentive. Definitely will go back for her lovely spirit and delicious turmeric cocktail! Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2017

This place is confused about what it is. Sports bar? $14 cocktail bar?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Fantastic! I’ll definitely go back again! Get the wings

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Sat in the window seats for Happy Hour. Rachel, our server, was spectacular... down to earth, super friendly, very accommodating as we balanced Happy Hour with our dinner reservation (Happy Hour items/prices only apply in the bar area, so wanted to take advantage before moving to our table upstairs). Yummy appetizers on the Happy Hour menu, especially the chickpea "meat balls" and the piquillo peppers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Place seemed a little short staffed when we got there but nothing too bad. Turns out, it was bad. While we loved our server and felt terrible for him due to the large, loud drunk group behind us, the kitchen at Ailment is obviously not equipped to handle a large party + whole rest of the restaurant. They also ran out of nearly the whole entree menu before we had finished our meal (arrived at 7:15pm.)

Food came out about an hour after we sat, over cooked and cold. The medium steak came out well done, my boar was so tough it was inedible and had to send it back. The burgers were delivered to a different table, which delayed the meal even further. The burger meat was unevenly cooked, like parts were still frozen, one of the buns obviously came from a bodega or something, it was hard as a rock, the other burger had a completely different, wonder bread kind of bun. We did get mussels as an appetizer, and those were phenomenal. Really really good sauce, but could have used some bread to sop up the juice.

Ailment, figure your stuff out. Your menu looked great but without a chef overseeing the cooking, nothing came to our table right. The only good thing about our experience was our server’s attitude and the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Too loud for my taste but the food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2017

I love the food here. GET THE BRUSSEL SPROUTS! My only issue is that I sat next to some super load people. They actually paid for my dinner bec/they were so loud. I asked them to be quiet, and they apologized. Just wish the restaurant would have spoken to them or not sat me next to them.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Place was really loud. We were seated in the upper area where the temperature seemed to vary from comfortable to unbearably hot. Food was good, not great. The menu was very small and featured Brussels sprouts, cauliflower and charcuterie… as do 50 other places within walking distance. Nothing was bad, nothing would make me come back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Food was fantastic! We were pleasantly surprised at how creative and fun the menu was. Waiter was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The menu was limited probably due to the lack of a real kitchen but only a food prep area behind the counter. The food was adequate as was the service but not outstanding. Food arrival was on the slow side. There was a $4.00 charge for an order of bread (4 slices) -- petty and a $1.00 charge for tonic for my gin -- really petty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

LOVE this place. It was my first time and the service was off the chain great. The servers were so cool and had great personalities. You could tell they all loved working there and had pride in their establishment. I will be back the next chance I get.

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Went on a Saturday night around 7:30PM. There was a good crowd but not overly crowded. We started with the brussel sprouts and the cheese board. Both were excellent especially the brussel sprouts. For entrees we had the New York strip steak and the spicy Korean fried chicken. The chicken was very good and it was a good portion size. The steak was mediocre at best, extremely fatty and not much flavor.

Overall the food and service were good. We would definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was delicious and had a beautiful presentation. The staff were friendly and attentive. Even though we were seated in the loft which feels a bit far away from the kitchen and main bar area we felt very well taken care of. We would definitely eat here again. Be sure to try the popcorn infused creme brulee!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour, Organic, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Food average to good. Service very slow and always looking for waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Everything was noteworthy here—in a town where it is hard to stand out. We loved the Pine Street micro brewery selections—pale ale and an IPA—and one in our party had a excellent margarita type cocktail. We shared the brussell sprouts and the cauliflower sides to start—very tasty and singularly delicious. Not overly fried. Thanks! Then some of us had the korean style fried chicken and others had the steak (cooked rare, just like I asked for) covered in oven fried/roasted sweet potato cubes, thankfully not too oily. Sprinkled with lovely greens. The chicken was crispy and tender. The korean sauce was sweet and spicy. Yum. We shared the chocolate and creme brulee desserts. The ambiance was fun and comfortable. We four sat downstairs with 2 bench seats and could view the food and cocktail prep. Fun and great meal. We’re coming back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Great food and great service. We went here for my and my wife's 1 year anniversary because it was close by and landed on a Monday. We loved everything about it. Good quality and great portions. Cool vibe too. Nour server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We ate at the bar. The bartenders are amazing, very knowledgeable and entertaining. The food is amazing. We eat here every time we visit San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were at a memorial service a few blocks away and spontaneously wanted to grab dinner afterwards. I did a search and this came up and the menu looked great. We sat upstairs which was cool - downstairs is nice too but probably a bit louder so it was nice upstairs, a bit quieter but we could see all the action over the balcony. We split our meal - app, main and dessert - because we'd eaten a bit prior to dinner - and it was a great. Loved the burger with bacon jam, split the curry soup - very good. Chocolate cake was a little dry / bland but overall a great spot and I'd go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The service was great and better yet the food was so tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Love the Brussels sprouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Terrible service and attitude of staff. Food was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wonderful meal! I started with their fantastic rendition of a Bloody Mary (a wonderful surprise delivered in a copper vessel) - and the food was splendidly prepared as well. I particularly recommend their Brussels Sprouts, certainly the best I've eaten and I'm a fan of that strange little cabbage.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was really good but most entrees seemed to be smaller portions. The waiters were all nice but they were not attentive. They checked in about 4 times within the first five minutes to get our drink orders (a bit too frequent). But then didn't check in on our food once it arrived, and we had to ask for water, the check, and track them down a few times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Fantastic service, but our meal (both main courses) were incredibly salty, like accidentally spilled the salt shaker salty. Dish concepts were good but poorly executed. Might come back for happy hour but probably not dinner...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Thank you for making my birthday dinner so special! It was all of our first time at Aliment and it left a great impression and start to our night. We shared appetizers and really enjoyed all - so fresh and well crafted. Each of us ordered different entrées and loved them. The caipirinha was so good! And thank you for the generous dessert - you guys really went above and beyond for us. Our server was incredibly sweet and efficient. Thanks and see you next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This restaurant is very consistent with their quality service and food. The décor is chic and simple. The location is great as well. Their cocktails are some of the best that I've had in the city and well worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Really awful. Overcooked meat. Smoky and stuffy environment due to the kitchen smoke. limited menu. Drinks meh. Just awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Very attentive service, food is very good and rapidly served.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Ordered a burger, medium well, which arrived medium rare. The kitchen replaced it but it didn't arrive until the companion's meal was completely eaten. They offered an apology but given the time delay, some accommodation (dessert/drink/discount) would have been appropriate. Our server was also pretty inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Aliment was perfect for a casual dinner on a sweltering SF evening. Lots of great choices-- especially salads and lighter fare, though the pork chop at the next table looked amazing! Service was attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend to friends and will be back. BTW I dined alone this time and was treated extremely well-- this isn't always the case at some restaurants, so thanks Aliment for a terrific evening!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Would be great to print out a beer list, helpful for patrons and your own waitstaff. Our waiter couldn't explain what "IPA" was on the menu. Great food and spot, always a top choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.