About Aliment

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thought that it was a very eclectic rest ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Thought that it was a very eclectic restaurant with a nice touch of showing "Back to Future" on the wall of the restaurant. Servers were good at pointing out recommended items to try. And, it had a terriffic mix of items to eat and drink.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I understand that there are space limita ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I understand that there are space limitations, but for large groups it would be ideal to have circular or square seating rather than retangular as then everyone can see each other better and there is more chance to talk with those who are not seated next to you. I feel that is important for business meetings as it gets awkward as to who sits where. I would be more likely to return to a restaurant for business if it has better eye contact seating arrangements.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was OK but it was really salty. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was OK but it was really salty. I would go back to try some other options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

All food was over sauced and gross. Had ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

All food was over sauced and gross. Had to send back the mussels because they were fishy. Should have sent back the poke because it was slimy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Be careful if you are a slightly picky e ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Be careful if you are a slightly picky eater they do not allow substitutions and the servers attitude about it is very off putting. Order a $38 steak and want to substitute a side- they don't allow that. Want to order a side? Nope we don't allow that either. After canceling my order then they allowed me to order a side of fries.

When the meal came all three of Our Ny strip were very fatty. Food was super salty- not that good of a place to put up with a bad attitude and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

This is a great place. I would recomme ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is a great place. I would recommend this place to locals ans folks visiting the City. Great private room as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Brussels sprouts ever...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Best Brussels sprouts ever...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Aliment is always a pleasure. I have bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Aliment is always a pleasure. I have been a regular in July for the last 3 years. The waitresses are service minded and very cool. The wine recommendation matches the food and the menu is never boring. The only thing I always miss is the rose pepper ice cream, but that is the flip side of a a restaurant that continue to the develop the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fresh, well prepared and attrac ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was fresh, well prepared and attractively presented. Quantity was reasonable, not too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone's dish was salty, not flavorful ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everyone's dish was salty, not flavorful. Meats were over cooked. Dishes came out at different times. Waitress spoke so softly we could hardly hear her. This was very disappointing. I had been there before and enjoyed it but perhaps things have changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My third visit & friends first. Had a re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My third visit & friends first. Had a reservation way ahead. Arrived & was taken to a back table against a wall on mezzanine. Asked for a change & said only bar available. The lady bartender saved the day!!

Ordered a scotch; she offered a small

sample of a comparable Japanese product.

Gave us menu suggestions - made for a enjoyable experience after a slow start.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited Aliment on my birthday and b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We visited Aliment on my birthday and before the theater. Warm greeting and seated at a great table overlooking the bar and street. As per all the reviews, the Brussels sprouts were fabulous! Attentive service with no pretense and at a perfect pace. Will dine there again and recommend to everyone. Another plus was the very reasonable pricing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was lacking. When we inquired ab ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Service was lacking. When we inquired about beer, the server listed off a few different types of beer (porter, IPA, etc.)- not where they are from or any details. We were only checked on once despite there only being one other table in the upstairs area and had to ask for water refills. Food portions were small.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Aliment is a nice space. We were seated ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Aliment is a nice space. We were seated upstairs and had a good view of the restaurant below. They were showing the Giants game on the big white wall opposite the bar, using a projector. Nice distraction if you're a fan. The menu is a bit limited but we found something we liked. The fried brussels sprouts are delicious, don't be put off by the description (which includes the words "fish sauce" and "caramel"). The porchetta, served with porcini (mushroom) risotto, was lovely as was the NY strip steak. The steak is almost $40 though so your enjoyment of it will depend on how flush you feel at that moment! Both were large portions as well. The service was good although there was a mistake on the check. The porchetta was priced $1 higher than the menu price. When we pointed it out, the waitress seemed put out and took her time to correct it. I wonder how many other diners overpaid. Their cocktails are expensive so go for the craft beer if you can stomach it. It was an okay experience but we'll probably try somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food. Good service. Relaxed Enjo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Good food. Good service. Relaxed Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was exceptional. Quick and prof ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was exceptional. Quick and professional service. We were seated upstairs which was a bit dark. Well worth it for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Limited menu

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Menu is limited. The squash and arrugula salad we very tasty and filling. Also had the trout specail which was also tasty. Wines by the glass are expensive but interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Gastronomical Goldilocks

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

First --we got a text asking to confirm our reservations. A little unusual and very annoying, but if that's their policy, ok. The food was unremarkable, a bit overpriced ($16 for tuna poke) and the wine list a bit confusing. What i found really interesting was the service--we had 2 waitresses, one was very sullen and aloof, the other was overly friendly and chatty, she was jumping in and out of our conversation and constantly asking if i wanted more drinks. When there was finally time for a check, neither one was interested in coming to our table. It did get crowded around 7 pm, so i guess it's a popular spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great spot! Wish they would have dimmed ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great spot! Wish they would have dimmed the lights a little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The restaurant was just so so. Food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The restaurant was just so so. Food was OK. Service by tattood wait persons seemed out of place for a rather expensive restaurant. I had scallops and they were fine but three little scallops looked very lonely on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Aliment SF for dinner

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We happened upon Aliment a couple of years ago during a visit to San Francisco. So, in our trip last week, we went out of our way to dine there again. The food and service continue to be excellent, with a unique menu (such as roasted brussels sprouts with fish sauce caramel and roasted kabocha squash salad with arugula and hazelnuts). My wife had the steak and I had the gnocchi. Both were outstanding.... and the leftovers were just as good on the plane home the next day. Never know who you will see there; the other table in our room included two well known jazz musicians out for a private evening. We recommend Aliment highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really bad! Food is almost unedible, too ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Really bad! Food is almost unedible, too much salt/no flavor at all! Don't go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

my 3rd visit still very good - I look fo ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

my 3rd visit still very good - I look forward to my next visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was with a friend and service was good ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I was with a friend and service was good and the ambience was nice. Red wine was served way too warm. Arugula squash salad was the highlight of the meal and was very good. The scallops were way too seasoned so that they tasted more like the sea Than like scallops. The steak did not look anything like a New York sirloin that I ever bought and the French fries although numerous were limp.get the picture?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Just okay

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

I was expecting more. Thought the service, food, ambiance were all fair. Nothing memorable. Only had one evening for a dining experience in San Francisco, spent a lot of time looking at options, so my expectations were high. Don't think I would return or recommend in general

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Food, Excellent Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The food was to die for. I got the brussel sprouts, gnocchi, and burnt caramel chocolate ice cream...really really amazing! The service was on -top of it too.

Loved every second and will be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brussels sprouts is as good as the o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The brussels sprouts is as good as the other reviews have shared. We had grilled cheese with tomato soup and it was delicious. The homemade pasta were yummy. We look forward to going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Aliment

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

overall good, a little pricey though. I would recommend to a friend if I knew it were a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious and unpretentious

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

The service at Aliment was excellent; our waitress was prompt, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the menu. The food we ordered ( Brussel sprouts, ricotta gnocchi , and hamburger) was all delicious and came out at a nice pace. I ordered a cocktail off their menu, and the waitress suggested a twist on it based on what we were talking about in terms of drink preferences. The ambience is simple, clean , and modern. All in all, a great place for a meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great cocktails. Orde ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Delicious food and great cocktails. Order the Brussel sprouts! They are so tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wouldn't recommend

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Waiter got my drink order completely wrong and still charged me for it. Gnocchi tasted like gum, mussels were fishy. Tomato soup and fries were good- I can make that at home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Awesome dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Greatfood, great service. Must have the brussel sprouts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Booked this restaurant in the afternoon for the same night. Menu looked promising. Main room was quite noisy, luckily we were seated upstairs where it was more quiet. Service was okay, although a little more "warmth" would have been appreciated. Appetizers were good but hard to mess up (buffalo wings and squash salad). The entrees were disappointments. Pasta in two different dishes were overcooked and resulted in big clumps that didn't take the sauce well. The burger was very average for the price. Meat was overcooked and the whole thing didn't taste great. The restaurant wasn't terrible, but I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Asked to leave after 1:45 hours.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We were asked to leave after paying our check after having been there for an hour and a half. No problem, but the restaurant should allow 2 hour seatings. No one likes to be asked to get up and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Very nice, as a solo diner in the city ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Very nice, as a solo diner in the city for business, to eat at the bar. Comfortable, great food, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Accepted a last minute reservation for e ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Accepted a last minute reservation for eight. Staff was fantastic and the food was even better. Great place, great atmosphere, exquisite food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cocktails were amazing. Great bartender ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Cocktails were amazing. Great bartender working with fresh ingredients. Had the steak med-rare. It was A-MAZE-ING!! I would have to say one of the best I have had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really good!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Everything our party of 4 had was extremely tasty. The brussel sprouts are some of the best that we have ever had, the shrimp and grits are amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant. It is a little pricey so it might be great for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was all delicious, though maybe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

The food was all delicious, though maybe a tad much on the spices and flavor. I would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent neighborhood spot near Union Sq

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Last minute reservation for 6 visitors from Sweden & LA. Excellent service. Good variety of options for diverse tastes. Highly recommend brussel sprouts, mezcal-cured salmon, diver scallops, steak. Nice wine list as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.