About Aliment

786 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mason

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 829-2737

Website:
http://www.alimentsf.com/home.html

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs.

Aliment Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Cozy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Romantic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I cannot say we enjoyed our meal. The po ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I cannot say we enjoyed our meal. The potato leek soup was bland, mussels were tiny, smoked salmon cakes just did not taste good and the sauce on the fried chicken did not complement it well. The best part was the chocolate cake for dessert. Service was attentive, but it's not enough to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I knew I was going to be in the neighbor ...

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I knew I was going to be in the neighborhood for a gallery opening, so I used OpenTable's discovery feature to find Aliment. The reviews were positive, and the menu looked good. Upon entering, I was impressed by the decor and the friendly nature of the staff, but the projectors playing football games were a little confusing. Overall, the service was great (though our server sometimes had to be reminded of things), the food was GREAT, and the atmosphere was okay. I would recommend for a quick bite with friends, or a casual date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, huge portions. Brought my par ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, huge portions. Brought my parents here for New Years eve and they enjoyed it. Expensive selection of wine.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The muni online was nothing close to the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The muni online was nothing close to the actual menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were surprised by the great food and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were surprised by the great food and presentation. The spicy Korean Chicken is phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best mussels I've ever had! Plus the bru ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best mussels I've ever had! Plus the brussell sprouts were delicious and the gnocchi was light and flavorful. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food but the kitchen closed, witho ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food but the kitchen closed, without notice to us, barely an hour after we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Really good food, but kind of noisy. Sta ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Really good food, but kind of noisy. Staff was averagely attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Our fifth trip the restaurant, but the f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our fifth trip the restaurant, but the first one for our kids. They serve the best brussel sprouts ever. We also enjoy the pastrami sliders, craft cocktails and excellent draught beer.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very limited menu. Didn't seem to unders ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very limited menu. Didn't seem to understand that if they served hot tea, serving ICED tea wasn't a big leap forward. Service was good. Restaurant is basically a bar with some tables. No decor or ambience to speak of. Food was adventurous and good, but very pricey for the quantity provided. Not a slam, but I'm unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I was disappointed this time around, my ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I was disappointed this time around, my second time at this restaurant. My Gnocchi was cold and as I was with clients, wasn't able to send it back as I raved at how wonderful the restaurant was last year when I was in town. We enjoyed our wine and your wine selection, but the meal itself was less than what I remember last year. I travel from Vancouver to San Fran twice a year and was hoping for a consistent experience. Darn.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Have been here a number of times and hav ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Have been here a number of times and have previously enjoyed the experience. Things seem off here now . Service feels disjointed and even a bit rude at moments. Food was ok on the whole (great pork chop) but my steak was very undercooked and under seasoned. I hope they can hit their stride again soon.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good mussels!

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good mussels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

They took great care of us for a birthda ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

They took great care of us for a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was looking forward to trying this spo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was looking forward to trying this spot. Chose it for a pre-theater dinner date. Our table was at the top of the stairs and not very private or quiet. The staff were constantly around us and it felt chaotic. The food was just okay. The beet salad had more greens than beets. The salmon cakes were well prepared but my date's mussels - mostly the broth - was just okay. The service was the biggest disappointment. The staff seemed spacey and overwhelmed. Drinks too way to long to arrive and the white wine seemed to have been stored improperly. It was not the right temperature and felt like it had been open a while. Not likely I'm going back. There are too many other choices.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Food quality was good. But at this price ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food quality was good. But at this price point, the service was severely lacking. For example, they let our glasses from multiple rounds of drinks pile up on the table without clearing them. Also, the room where we were eating (second level) was way too loud with two groups in it. There was no noise dampening. We had to raise our voices to talk with each other.

While I greatly appreciated being able to book a group reservation for this restaurant using OpenTable, I would not recommend this to a friend for a group experience. I would, however, consider returning for happy hour at the bar, as that seemed like a good option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The service was great, but the food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The service was great, but the food was overpriced for the quality. The salmon was far too salty, the drinks tasted like they were mixed by a frat boy, and they ran out of ravioli at 7:30! Our vegetarian members of our party couldnt order an entree because the ravioli was the only option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Food was poor, unimaginative. Had a sal ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was poor, unimaginative. Had a salad drowned in what appeared to be a mayo based dressing that was tasteless and crab cakes that were very salty with tasteless sauce. We did not finish either one and left ASAP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

for future, do not sit upstairs. it's aw ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

for future, do not sit upstairs. it's awful acoustics

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

We chose this restaurants because it was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We chose this restaurants because it was near the Masonic Theater where we were going to catch a show to celebrate our anniversary. When we ordered we told the waitress that we had 50 mins before we had to leave. Then for 30 mins we got nothing, the waitress was great and kept us updated and apologized, our order was misplaced. We got our food, brussel sprouts and butter salad were very good, the Korean Fried Chicken was average and the Pork Chops with green beans was salty. We never complained. The waitress apologized for the delay in our food and credited us for the appetizers which was very thoughtful. Overall it was an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Imaginative and tasty handcrafted cockta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Imaginative and tasty handcrafted cocktails, attentive service. I tasted the spicy fried chicken, pork chops, burger, and salmon cakes entres. All were excellent. We had a great time. Deep fried Brussels Sprouts were a big hit at our table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great service. The gnocchi an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good food, great service. The gnocchi and salmon cakes are a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great appetizers, just ok main course ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great appetizers, just ok main course Smarty pants bro waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed with Aliment's service ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very disappointed with Aliment's service and food quality. Took a group of 14 people here and would not recommend it. We were put in a room with 2 other parties and we could barely hear one another speak - the acoustics were awful. It took an hour for our food, an hour and a half for our soup and I had to speak to the wait staff and management four times to express my dissatisfaction. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

It was too warm on the top seating area, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was too warm on the top seating area, but otherwise ambiance was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great food. Good service. Happy hour spe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food. Good service. Happy hour specials are a major key.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I read about Aliment online and it sound ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I read about Aliment online and it sounded great

The food and place were amazing

The staff was friendly

They had a great cocktail list and a very nice bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came 10 minutes early and thought I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I came 10 minutes early and thought I might be able to wait for my friend at my table. They didn't seat me saying the dining room was not open until 5:30- even though I could see two tables with diners. I ended up sitting at the bar with my friend. Later, I discovered that there was a happy hour menu that we did not receive. I felt lied to and duped. I was hoping this would be a good spot to go to when attending theater performances but clearly, I should consider the multitude of other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

The gnochhi was great -- very creamy. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The gnochhi was great -- very creamy. The Korean fried chicken was good as well, if inauthentic. (Putting gochujang on top of normal friend chicken doesn't make it Korean fried chicken, man.) I had the burger, which was also good. Maybe not $16 good, but definitely good. The fries that came with the burger were a let down. (I'm unsure if this was the thrice-fried fries on their menu or a different sort of fries, though.) Service was a bit slow, probably because we were on the top floor.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

What a perfect choice for a dinner with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

What a perfect choice for a dinner with friends, especially if you're good enough friends to share. My favorite was the pastrami sliders - so tasty even if a bit messy. (I covered my napkin with mustard.) I also love the brussels sprouts. Everything was so good. Finished with basil panna cotta for dessert, which was creamy and not too sweet. I'm getting some more friends together and going back again!

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gnocchi and the chocolate dessert were s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Gnocchi and the chocolate dessert were superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was magnificent!! The server h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was magnificent!! The server had us waiting a couple of times just a bit longer than preferred. But overall I'd good because the food is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was mediocre! Which was a surpr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was mediocre! Which was a surprise since I had been here before and the food used to be great.

The waitress was aloof not very friendly and a bit standoffish.

They sat us upstairs which was hot and the noise level was so high that we could not have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Food very very bland and too sweet. Brus ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food very very bland and too sweet. Brussel sprouts literally swimming in syrup. Try some fat instead of sugar in your cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Aliment is a wonderful place to celebrat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Aliment is a wonderful place to celebrate, bring a date or dine alone. The imaginative takes on traditional dishes always catches me by surprise and the wine list and service consistently exceed expectations as well. I have been going to Aliment for a few years now and the menu changes, but still never disappoints.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aliment is operated like a bar that serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Aliment is operated like a bar that serves food, not a restaurant that has a bar. Service is indifferent and a little too casual, and the restaurant chooses not to provide amenities. For example, we were served warm water without ice; we had to ask for ice. And there are no condiments on the table. We also had to ask for salt and pepper. The menu is very limited, but the food is quite good. If I wanted a light meal in the Union Square area, I would drop in, sit at the bar and order a beer and a small plate.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

They did not have one healthy option in ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

They did not have one healthy option in their menu!!!

When I asked for the roasted chicken on the Aliment menu posted on Open Table, The waitress told me that I should have gone to their website instead as they do not update open table . What is the point then????? Then I asked for her to talk to the chef and see if he could grill any of their proteins and she said NO!!

We left!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Thy are not able to serve red wine by th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Thy are not able to serve red wine by the glas. Ours was much too warm (may be 25 grades celsius).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The burger was good!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The burger was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went to Aliment in search of local No ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went to Aliment in search of local Nob Hill eclectic restaurant. it is eclectic and some of the dishes are very special such as the duck small plate. The Pastrami Sliders were much too spicy.

The Gnocchi entree was the best. The Cab house wine was suprisingly very good. But deserts are disappointing. Espresso Coffee was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.