Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Aliment

4.4
386 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Casual
  • Handcrafted Cocktails
Located on the corner of Bush and Mason, we are a friendly neighborhood restaurant serving chef driven cuisine in a cozy atmosphere. We strive to source our ingredients locally, make everything in house, and change our menu with the seasons so our diners always have new interesting dishes to look forward to. Join us for dinner and try a beer from our rotating taps and bottle list, or a glass of wine from our dynamic wine menu. We’re sure you’ll enjoy our unique and creative twist on classic American dishes.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Happy Hour
Mon–Sat 5:00 am–7:00 am
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:30 pm–11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 829-2737
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Mason
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Aliment can accommodate all your special event needs. Please email christine@alimentsf.com to reserve.

View Private Dining Details
What 386 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined a day ago

Vibrant to say the least. It was real hard to hear as the noise level was excessive. The Brussels sprouts were the best. The cocktails were expertly crafted. However all other dishes....salmon, pork chop and burger dinners were quite pedestrian.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our first time at Aliment and we will definitely be back! Fun spot for early pre theater dinner, with nice vibe, good creative menu and the food was fresh and well prepared.
Great addition to the downtown area, with a friendly atmosphere that seemed to encourage easy conversation with others seated at the bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

When Chef Eric left, my first time back in was disappointing. New, young staff was inexperienced and some of the former chef's ecclectisism was gone, and it was very noisy!

This visit had more of a feel of its previous vibe. The gnocchi was in a red sauce that was bright and nicely tomatoey! The Brussels sprouts and beet salad met expectations. Always a good and interesting selection of wines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This is a true neighborhood gem. The service is warm and inviting. The drinks and food are excellent and reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Aliment has always delivered on cocktails, food, and service. Definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Amazing food! Everything we ordered tasted fantastic and the portions were generous. Only qualm was they seated our party of 5 at a booth so it was a tight fit. Would definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We really like Aliment. It’s our neighborhood nice restaurant. Service is always very good. Always unique and tasty items on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Service was great. Food was pretty tasty as well. Prices were a little high for what you got, but was in line with what you expect from a restaurant within its area.

The restaurant was really pretty and had a great ambiance. Noise level wasn’t too high, which made it great for a double date. Overall, had a pleasant experience and would return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had a very attentive and professional waiter.
We decided to have a light dinner and ordered ricotta gnocchi which was excellent.
We also had delicious gelato for dessert.
All in all we were very pleased with the restaurant and will certainly return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We loved this restaurant! Chef Steve has some amazing dishes on the menu, and the 3 we tried were all excellent. Our waiter Geary (sp?) was from Ireland and was very friendly, and attentive. It seems that all the employees get along very well, and are there to make your dining experience enjoyable. Prices are reasonable, and the chocolate mousse we had for dessert was delicious!
We were visiting from out of town, and will definitely go out of our way to dine here again, on our next visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was good but somewhat basic, maybe if the price point was better I wouldn’t complain. Great service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Aliment has been a favorite for a long time but I feel like the prices have gone up and the quality has dipped, unfortunately. My fried chicken tonight was very overcooked and tough, and the $14 cauliflower was bland. Time to look elsewhere, sad to say. Going here had been a cherished ritual. :-/

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

The food is always great here. Great service too.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Went here after work one day since I work in the square and thought this was a cute little spot! However I was very disappointed with the service and food. Our server seemed brand new to the job and it seemed unprofessional to me to see her long fingernails working in the food industry. Throughout the 1.5 hour dinner, I cannot count how many times she came to ask if she could take our plates!!! There was still food on the plates but I do not know why she kept asking even when I was very straightforward and said we are still working on it. I said it probably 5-7 times (not kidding). That was a bit ridiculous....and it wasn't as if there was a line of people wanting to get seated. The food came and we ordered the charcuterie plate and Brussels sprouts which were decent. But the main entrees were very disappointing. I had the ricotta gnocchi which was not amazing and my friends had the fried chicken (their most famous but SUPER DRY and you're better off going to Hops and Hominy). My other friend ordered the wild boar and it was not at all tender and hard to chew. Overall, will not be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

I have always had a good experience here. The service is great, food is delicious, and the drinks are strong. Get the brussel sprouts!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Such a great spot. My wife and I go back all the time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Loved everything about your restaurant. My daughter, who was visiting colleges, saw it while taxing back to our hotel. Dinner was lovely and our waiter was charming. The food was top notch. Especially the Brussels sprouts!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 8, 2018

The first bite I picked up with my fork had hair wrapped all in the food. My 2nd cocktail also had hair inside the glass. The waiter was super nice about it, but still unacceptable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Remarkably good food. The menu pleases our vegetarian friends and meat lovers alike. We ordered a big salad, cauliflower, fried chicken sandwich and a burger. Everyone was happy. In addition, the service was quite attentive. A bit hidden but a great find for the neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 26, 2018

the food changed. We enjoyed the food in the past. this visit the brussel spouts were overly sweet. The gnocchi with Gorgonzola sauce had an off taste. The fish was bland. Kitchen ran out of deserts. Maybe an off night for the kitchen? We were told a new chef is coming soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Food is always good. Had the mussels and baramundi. Both were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

One of my best expierences in 8 yrs in SF!!!!! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Went here for drinks and a lite dinner with my bestfriend. The bartender and servers were super friendly! The atmosphere was perfect for a girls night. Quiet and cute and cozy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Aliment was great, nice table upstairs. They have a very fun menu, we had squash soup and roasted brussels sprouts as appetizers and Barramundi and a pasta dish for entrees. Service is great and they were very aware of our time constraint, for concert tickets. The team is very impresssive. The cocktails were great , one standout was the Smoke (something).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

The food was very “meh.” But the service and drinks were great! I would return for drinks and maybe the charcuterie dish (which I didn’t have, but it looked interesting). Don’t think I’d go back there for any other food, though.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 30, 2017

This should have been much better.

Best thing we ate were the brussel sprouts. Well seasoned and tasty. Downhill from there.

My wife and in-laws ordered the soup. It had a nice smokey flavor which they enjoyed, but was not seasoned at all.

The boar was ok. The Korean fried chicken... was weird. The sauce just wasn't quite right - left you feeling a little ill after. It wasn't spicy enough and the sweetness was off. The two pieces of breast meat were over cooked and the thigh and leg were under cooked. The ricotta gnocchi with Gorgonzola sauce was not good at all. You would expect something that to be rich and unctuous. The texture of the gnocchi was meh at best and the sauce was awful. It was acid forward and had no Gorgonzola flavor at all. Food was horribly disappointing.

Atmosphere and service were good though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

We loved Rachel the fantastic craft cocktail-ist! She was lovely ... warm, kind, knowledgeable and just an overall cool person. I think there was a large party going on in the back so the staff seemed slightly divided but Rachel was incredibly helpful and attentive. Definitely will go back for her lovely spirit and delicious turmeric cocktail! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 13, 2017

This place is confused about what it is. Sports bar? $14 cocktail bar?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Fantastic! I’ll definitely go back again! Get the wings

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Sat in the window seats for Happy Hour. Rachel, our server, was spectacular... down to earth, super friendly, very accommodating as we balanced Happy Hour with our dinner reservation (Happy Hour items/prices only apply in the bar area, so wanted to take advantage before moving to our table upstairs). Yummy appetizers on the Happy Hour menu, especially the chickpea "meat balls" and the piquillo peppers.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Place seemed a little short staffed when we got there but nothing too bad. Turns out, it was bad. While we loved our server and felt terrible for him due to the large, loud drunk group behind us, the kitchen at Ailment is obviously not equipped to handle a large party + whole rest of the restaurant. They also ran out of nearly the whole entree menu before we had finished our meal (arrived at 7:15pm.)

Food came out about an hour after we sat, over cooked and cold. The medium steak came out well done, my boar was so tough it was inedible and had to send it back. The burgers were delivered to a different table, which delayed the meal even further. The burger meat was unevenly cooked, like parts were still frozen, one of the buns obviously came from a bodega or something, it was hard as a rock, the other burger had a completely different, wonder bread kind of bun. We did get mussels as an appetizer, and those were phenomenal. Really really good sauce, but could have used some bread to sop up the juice.

Ailment, figure your stuff out. Your menu looked great but without a chef overseeing the cooking, nothing came to our table right. The only good thing about our experience was our server’s attitude and the wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Too loud for my taste but the food was great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 5, 2017

I love the food here. GET THE BRUSSEL SPROUTS! My only issue is that I sat next to some super load people. They actually paid for my dinner bec/they were so loud. I asked them to be quiet, and they apologized. Just wish the restaurant would have spoken to them or not sat me next to them.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Place was really loud. We were seated in the upper area where the temperature seemed to vary from comfortable to unbearably hot. Food was good, not great. The menu was very small and featured Brussels sprouts, cauliflower and charcuterie… as do 50 other places within walking distance. Nothing was bad, nothing would make me come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Food was fantastic! We were pleasantly surprised at how creative and fun the menu was. Waiter was friendly and helpful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 18, 2017

The menu was limited probably due to the lack of a real kitchen but only a food prep area behind the counter. The food was adequate as was the service but not outstanding. Food arrival was on the slow side. There was a $4.00 charge for an order of bread (4 slices) -- petty and a $1.00 charge for tonic for my gin -- really petty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

LOVE this place. It was my first time and the service was off the chain great. The servers were so cool and had great personalities. You could tell they all loved working there and had pride in their establishment. I will be back the next chance I get.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Went on a Saturday night around 7:30PM. There was a good crowd but not overly crowded. We started with the brussel sprouts and the cheese board. Both were excellent especially the brussel sprouts. For entrees we had the New York strip steak and the spicy Korean fried chicken. The chicken was very good and it was a good portion size. The steak was mediocre at best, extremely fatty and not much flavor.

Overall the food and service were good. We would definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was delicious and had a beautiful presentation. The staff were friendly and attentive. Even though we were seated in the loft which feels a bit far away from the kitchen and main bar area we felt very well taken care of. We would definitely eat here again. Be sure to try the popcorn infused creme brulee!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 26, 2017

Food average to good. Service very slow and always looking for waiter.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10