About Alexander's on 30th

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: 6192812539x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Restaurant Photos

Special Of The Night: Scallops And Shrimp Angel Hair Pasta In White Wine Sauce
Canneloni
Shrimp And Scallop Angel Hair Pasta Over White Wine Sauce
Pol Clement
NZ Green Mussels in Garlic White Wine Sauce
cheese pizza
Garlic Bread And Pinot Noir
Garlic Bread
Walnut Gorgonzola Pasta
Alagash White Ale
30Th Street Salad
The White Room Pizza
Cured Meat Of The Day
Vodka Penne Bolognese
Filet Mignon
Shrimp And Scallop Linguine
Cilantro Pesto Linguine And Sea Scallops
Penne ala Vodka
Sea Bass With Pesto Linguine
White Blondie With Garlic Pizza
House Salad
Baked Vodka Bolognese
baked spaghetti
Bruschetta
Milan Mac & Cheese

Promotions

Date Night

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Date Night

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

2$ red and white house wine selections, 6$ spaghetti with signature red sauce. Gluten free options available. Excludes Tax and Tip. Come and enjoy with friends and loved ones!. Special valid Aug 25, 2016 - Dec 25, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (69)
Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (56)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Good for Groups (27)
Hot Spot (14)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing staff, great food. Great for any ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing staff, great food. Great for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the sea bass, the fish special of ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had the sea bass, the fish special of the day, without the sauce. Mediocre fish--a bit fishy and overcooked.

Our waiter was excellent--helpful and friendly, but didn't hover and let us talk.

Noise level was too high for good conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food. O ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable. He drew us a map to the best pizza place in Venice, Italy. We will let you know how that works out after our visit.

Thank you. We highly recommend Alexander's on 30th.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group dinner on the patio for my birthda ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Group dinner on the patio for my birthday. Great food! Outstanding service!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our go to absolute fave restaura ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This is our go to absolute fave restaurant! The shrimp appetizer is to die for and everything on the menu is amazing ! Yummmmmmmm!:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great neighborhood gem! I would g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Such a great neighborhood gem!

I would go there again!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I must say twice I have been disappointe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I must say twice I have been disappointed. No one checked our table on a regular basis. We waited a long time before someone took our drink or appetizer order. We stacked our own appetizer plates and then asked someone to take them. We then requested someone to take our order. Extensive wait for everything. Not a good dining experience. Overall poor service. Really bummed! I wish this business much success but you will not have people returning if they receive poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I had requested a booth as we were meeti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had requested a booth as we were meeting friends who had never been before. The restaurant is very noisy and the booths are more tucked away, therefore quieter. I called the restaurant to make sure we could get a booth. When we arrived the hostess said there were no booths available and they had no record of my request. This would be alright if one had not been promised earlier that day. Not very good communication on the restaurants part. We were seated at a very noisy table in a high traffic area. Needless to say our friends were not impressed and will not go back. We have been many times, and feel that if this is how they treat their customers we probably won't be back either.

IF YOU SAY YOU'RE GOING TO DO SOMETHING THAN DO IT!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

I always loved coming here for the turke ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I always loved coming here for the turkey meatballs. They were replaced for a period of time, and then came back! When we went to order them from the menu we were told they were gone again and not coming back. The server said they were gone for 6 months, but the menu was not updated. They said our only option is Angus meatballs, and they were not understanding at all. The restaurant was far too cold and the toppings on my pizza not consistently added. A large disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We loved our server, the ambience, wine, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We loved our server, the ambience, wine, walnut & gorgonzola salad, and loved the garlic bread. We had the spinach lasagna and the cannelloni and thought it was just good, but not as fantastic as the rest. We would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Italian food, my Chicken Piccatta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Italian food, my Chicken Piccatta was wonderfully cooked, although it lacked a good amount of the lemon flavoring I go for in this dish. The restaurant was a little loud sitting right next to the kitchen, so ask for a table away from the work area. Great service, and bright, nice space. Looks like a fun space outside on the patio for a small brunch get together or small occasion for 10-20 people.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Such great food and our server Rex was a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Such great food and our server Rex was awesome!! Love this place and will come back many more times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent service, great food, very cute ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

excellent service, great food, very cute decor, the place for a romantic date

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious wonderful experience can't wai ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious wonderful experience can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were recommended to visit Alexander's ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were recommended to visit Alexander's and we are so glad we did! It's an amazing restaurant in what seems to be a fun & funky part of San Diego. The décor was beautiful, and the food was outstanding! We enjoyed the cheese board & mussels for appetizer, both very good. Their pizza is fantastic! And their pasta dishes are large portions and delicious. I will be recommending Alexander's to our friends, for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good not great, food was too ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Service was good not great, food was too heavy and bland. If you like white the decor is perfect for you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been going to Alexander's for years ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I've been going to Alexander's for years. Food is very good and has something for everyone. I love the chicken piccata and the baked spaghetti.

My only issue is the noise. It is just too loud and then they often have the music turned up. They are usually good about lowering it some.. but I just don't understand the need for music so loud that you can't hear the person across the table.

Service is always excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was great! The ambiance was v ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great! The ambiance was very cute and romantic, our server was super nice and the food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Alexander, we normally come on tu ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I love Alexander, we normally come on tuesdays for date night. Food, service, decor is amazing. Our waiter last time suggested we should try the pizza night on monday, you would seat outside and watch a movie with promotion price pizzas. So we made a reservation. Well I was informed at the door that the promotion price was only for walk in wich was strange but we said its ok. The big surprise was the movie finally started but no sound. We asked and the waiter said well we dont play the sound and actually today we dont have also music going. That was weird. We will come back for sure, but not for mude movie night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Over all it was a really nice experience ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Over all it was a really nice experience. I made a reservation but we still need to wait for 25 minutes to be seated,the hostess that day was ok.. Food was really good, ambiance was perfect .Really good server, didnt get his name..will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I had been wanting visit Alexander's for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I had been wanting visit Alexander's for some time, and when I finally did, I was not disappointed. We ordered the Butter Lettuce Cobb salad and it was delicious! Even splitting it was plenty for two people. We also had the 38 Special pizza (excellent) and Walnut Gorgonzola (thick, creamy, rich sauce). We took food home, but everything served at Alexander's was remarkable. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been to Alexander's on a few occa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to Alexander's on a few occasion. I did not know they had outdoor seating...loved it. Beautiful outdoor atmosphere... We sat by the water fountain (I guess that's what you would call it). They had a Marie-Antoinette style movie showing on the outside wall of the main building, very cute and no sound to interrupt conversation. We were there with out-of-town guest. It made a great impression.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love the Vodka Bolognese. Pizza's ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always love the Vodka Bolognese. Pizza's are great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alexanders is our FAVORITE place to dine ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Alexanders is our FAVORITE place to dine- i love the ambiance, the servers, the wine list and the food- BRAVO

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Alexanders, and have gone there ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love Alexanders, and have gone there for special dinners for 7 years. The appetizers are good, the spicy Caesar salad is unique and interesting. Recently we went on diets and have avoided carbs, so we can't enjoy the pastas as much. We love the salads, and my favorite dinner is the filet mignon. It's always tender and the mushroom sauce is awesome. We always go back, though they have excellent food, and reasonable prices. The wines are nice, I'm not a connoisseur, but fairly discriminating, and our servers usually help successfully choose a good one for your meal, and allow tasting of by-the-glass wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awful experience. One person had dietar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awful experience. One person had dietary restrictions and the wait staff was not able to cope. After telling that person a meal was unable to be modified to fit the diet (a dairy allergy) they then retracted this and made the meal. However when serving the meal, the servers grated cheese over the plate of the person who had a dairy allergy! Also, some of the food for our party came out 20 minutes prior to the rest of the food, which was inexcusable. The service was awful. We went here instead of the better Italian restaurants in South Park due to walkabout going on, but in the future we will stay at the better restaurants further south.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Met friends for an early dinner. Food wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Met friends for an early dinner. Food was great, as always, and it was quiet enough to talk and "catch up". Our server, Rex, was wonderful......professional, personable, and always at hand -- all without intruding on our evening with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighbourhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decor TO white. The patio in a tarp can' ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Decor TO white.

The patio in a tarp can't see sky. Waiter not that great. Food not that great.

Last time.

Next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We had early reservations, had to ask th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had early reservations, had to ask that the music be turned down, which it was. Everything else was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Slipping. We used to love Alexander's p ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Slipping. We used to love Alexander's pizza, but the last two times it was WAY overcooked -- dry and very disappointing. Many other good choices nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and atmosphere as always. Sad ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere as always. Sadly, our server Dan did not seem interested in us at all. His first stop by was over 10 minutes after we sat down. It was another 10 minutes for him to take our drink order and we decided to put in for food at that time. Food was delivered by a runner and Dan never came by to check on us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I love going to Alexandar's! My friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I love going to Alexandar's! My friend took me there for my birthday five years ago and I have been coming back. I have given my family gift certificates several times. They love coming too! Aside from the menu the small neighborhood feel is wonderful. Alexandar's is a great find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

never disappointing and a great place to ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

never disappointing and a great place to take friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food were outstanding. We or ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service and food were outstanding. We ordered wine, a salad (which they plate-split for us), and two pasta entrees which all tasted great. Definitely on the slightly pricier side, but for our special occasion, it was an excellent treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's was excellent and the service from ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It's was excellent and the service from Tim was outstanding 👍

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've lived in the area for years and nev ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've lived in the area for years and never have dined at Alexander's on 30th. The decor and ambiance is in my opinion, absolutely beautiful and elegant and chic. However after all these years never having gone, I was disappointed in that the only part I was impressed by was the ambience and not at all at the food. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing ( the chicken dinner entree ) because it was pretty underwhelming. Would love to give it another shot for a date night!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant and delicious food! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and delicious food! We had a great night celebrating!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very enjoyable!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was a cute and romantic restaurant ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a cute and romantic restaurant set just outside of North Park. The food was very tasty and satisfying. The only negative thing I can come up with was we sat near a window and the street was a little noisy, but it got quieter as the night went on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Cannelloni was just terrible. Great serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Cannelloni was just terrible. Great service, food was a waste of calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.