About Alexander's on 30th

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: 6192812539x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Restaurant Photos

Fish & Chips
Special Of The Night: Scallops And Shrimp Angel Hair Pasta In White Wine Sauce
Canneloni
Shrimp And Scallop Angel Hair Pasta Over White Wine Sauce
Pol Clement
NZ Green Mussels in Garlic White Wine Sauce
cheese pizza
Garlic Bread And Pinot Noir
Garlic Bread
Walnut Gorgonzola Pasta
Alagash White Ale
30Th Street Salad
The White Room Pizza
Cured Meat Of The Day
Vodka Penne Bolognese
Filet Mignon
Shrimp And Scallop Linguine
Cilantro Pesto Linguine And Sea Scallops
Penne ala Vodka
Sea Bass With Pesto Linguine
White Blondie With Garlic Pizza
House Salad
Baked Vodka Bolognese
baked spaghetti
Bruschetta
Milan Mac & Cheese

Specials

Date Night

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Date Night

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

2$ red and white house wine selections, 6$ spaghetti with signature red sauce. Gluten free options available. Excludes Tax and Tip. Come and enjoy with friends and loved ones!. Special valid Aug 25, 2016 - Dec 25, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (59)
Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (51)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Groups (24)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I cannot believe I have robbed myself fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

I cannot believe I have robbed myself for years by not coming here earlier!!! Alexander's is awesome! Every bite of food I had, mine, my husbands and sisters was exquisite!!! Don't go another day without coming here. You will really love it. The staff was also absolutely wonderful, our server was superb!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining here. I've ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time dining here. I've heard great things about Alexander's and they were right. The service is friendly and efficient. My friend and I both ordered pasta and shared the garlic bread and brie as a starter. The pasta dishes were freshly made with great ingredients. They have a decent wine list.

I will recommend this neighborhood gem to my friends and plan on returning in the future. I did, however, find the prices a bit high. I would not consider it to be everyday dining prices.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The server was helpful but not attentive ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The server was helpful but not attentive as he should have been . Very slow.

The food also took awhile but that could have been the serves fault. The meal took much longer than it should have.

Not impressed with the wine list, needs better selection. I would do away with most of the choices and start over.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A friend took me to Alexanders prior to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

A friend took me to Alexanders prior to going to the theater. I was so impressed with the quality of the food that I took some friends who are fine diners. They were equally impressed, and we all agreed that our meal was probably one of the best we have EVER had!!! The waiters are attentive, and very knowledgeable about the wine selections as well as menu. My friends and I always order appetizers and several entrees which we share family style (the restaurant is not set up for that, but they gladly accommodate us). Both times our choices have included the sea food special.... don't hesitate to give their fish of the day a try... you won't be disappointed! And did I mention the incredible Rustic Garlic Bread that is served? Incredible!!! My new favorite restaurant!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! It took a bit of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was delicious! It took a bit of time for the food to arrive, but it was well worth the wait. You can tell the food was freshly prepared. The twice baked feta with pesto is a must to try with the house garlic bread.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I would actually give it 6 stars. Waiter ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I would actually give it 6 stars. Waiters....the best. Food, even better. Be it sitting at the bar or table outside in the back, super restaurant. We have eaten there twice now, and it has not become 'our' place to go to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wait staff and service, very g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent wait staff and service, very good food, fun outdoor setting!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fist there's barely any parking went aro ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fist there's barely any parking went around the place 3 times before I found parking. When we went inside its really nice and fancy, very romantic. We ordered champagne and a Cesar's salad and a spicy pizza that was very good. When we were done we waited a while to get our receipt after we had already asked for it the waiter came back and asked if we had received it and we were still waiting for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just a really good Italian restaurant. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Just a really good Italian restaurant. Does have outdoor patio but not always open (I was there on Sunday night and it was closed). Feel is upscale but yet still comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice place, food is excellent and s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very nice place, food is excellent and service is there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was excellent. Service not as great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Service not as great. We are outside and the candles were not lit at our table and waiter did not stop by to ask how the meal was and whether we needed anything.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Server recommended a great white wine, f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Server recommended a great white wine, food was great especially the stuffed mushrooms. Loved the decor and dim lighting, very romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Had a great time. Lovely decor, great fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had a great time. Lovely decor, great food and good service. This place is great for dates!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was absolutely incredible. O ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service was absolutely incredible. One of the better restaurant experiences I've had in San Diego. Not to mention the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been twice and they have excited expecta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Been twice and they have excited expectations both times. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the dinner was amazing service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

While the dinner was amazing service was amazing the chef did add goat cheese to my order that I specifically asked to be removed. I tried to deal with it and then could no longer stand the goat like taste. Upon receiving the new order my fish was butchered thrown on a plate and served to me as if I were the one that made the mistake. I did not let this spoil my time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

This place never disappoints. It's seri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place never disappoints. It's seriously my favorite pizza. Pair that with a super fresh salad (beet salad or the one with pineapple) and a bottle of yummy red wine...you just can't go wrong.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a remarkable evening! Dinner was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a remarkable evening! Dinner was delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of six dining early. No ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were a group of six dining early. Noise level increases dramatically when the restaurant fills, so recommend early dining(or maybe outside) if you want to speak to each other at a normal level

Food was very good-expected at the price point. BUT, our bread was moldy, very obvious once you realized it was not some special seasoning. When brought to the attn of the waiter, he nonchalantly took the basket away without comment. I expected more. Also, little attention paid to our wine glasses. Our bottles of white wine were placed in the middle of the table(no effort to keep them chilled).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Amazing staff, great food. Great for any ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing staff, great food. Great for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the sea bass, the fish special of ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had the sea bass, the fish special of the day, without the sauce. Mediocre fish--a bit fishy and overcooked.

Our waiter was excellent--helpful and friendly, but didn't hover and let us talk.

Noise level was too high for good conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food. O ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable. He drew us a map to the best pizza place in Venice, Italy. We will let you know how that works out after our visit.

Thank you. We highly recommend Alexander's on 30th.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a couples night. Service ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great place for a couples night. Service was pleasant and the food was very rich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is one of Favorite places! Great da ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is one of Favorite places! Great date night ambiance and fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group dinner on the patio for my birthda ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Group dinner on the patio for my birthday. Great food! Outstanding service!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our go to absolute fave restaura ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This is our go to absolute fave restaurant! The shrimp appetizer is to die for and everything on the menu is amazing ! Yummmmmmmm!:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great neighborhood gem! I would g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Such a great neighborhood gem!

I would go there again!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I must say twice I have been disappointe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I must say twice I have been disappointed. No one checked our table on a regular basis. We waited a long time before someone took our drink or appetizer order. We stacked our own appetizer plates and then asked someone to take them. We then requested someone to take our order. Extensive wait for everything. Not a good dining experience. Overall poor service. Really bummed! I wish this business much success but you will not have people returning if they receive poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I had requested a booth as we were meeti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had requested a booth as we were meeting friends who had never been before. The restaurant is very noisy and the booths are more tucked away, therefore quieter. I called the restaurant to make sure we could get a booth. When we arrived the hostess said there were no booths available and they had no record of my request. This would be alright if one had not been promised earlier that day. Not very good communication on the restaurants part. We were seated at a very noisy table in a high traffic area. Needless to say our friends were not impressed and will not go back. We have been many times, and feel that if this is how they treat their customers we probably won't be back either.

IF YOU SAY YOU'RE GOING TO DO SOMETHING THAN DO IT!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

I always loved coming here for the turke ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I always loved coming here for the turkey meatballs. They were replaced for a period of time, and then came back! When we went to order them from the menu we were told they were gone again and not coming back. The server said they were gone for 6 months, but the menu was not updated. They said our only option is Angus meatballs, and they were not understanding at all. The restaurant was far too cold and the toppings on my pizza not consistently added. A large disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We loved our server, the ambience, wine, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We loved our server, the ambience, wine, walnut & gorgonzola salad, and loved the garlic bread. We had the spinach lasagna and the cannelloni and thought it was just good, but not as fantastic as the rest. We would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food @ reasonable prices

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good food @ reasonable prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Italian food, my Chicken Piccatta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Italian food, my Chicken Piccatta was wonderfully cooked, although it lacked a good amount of the lemon flavoring I go for in this dish. The restaurant was a little loud sitting right next to the kitchen, so ask for a table away from the work area. Great service, and bright, nice space. Looks like a fun space outside on the patio for a small brunch get together or small occasion for 10-20 people.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Such great food and our server Rex was a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Such great food and our server Rex was awesome!! Love this place and will come back many more times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent service, great food, very cute ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

excellent service, great food, very cute decor, the place for a romantic date

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious wonderful experience can't wai ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious wonderful experience can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were recommended to visit Alexander's ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were recommended to visit Alexander's and we are so glad we did! It's an amazing restaurant in what seems to be a fun & funky part of San Diego. The décor was beautiful, and the food was outstanding! We enjoyed the cheese board & mussels for appetizer, both very good. Their pizza is fantastic! And their pasta dishes are large portions and delicious. I will be recommending Alexander's to our friends, for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good not great, food was too ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Service was good not great, food was too heavy and bland. If you like white the decor is perfect for you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been going to Alexander's for years ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I've been going to Alexander's for years. Food is very good and has something for everyone. I love the chicken piccata and the baked spaghetti.

My only issue is the noise. It is just too loud and then they often have the music turned up. They are usually good about lowering it some.. but I just don't understand the need for music so loud that you can't hear the person across the table.

Service is always excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was great! The ambiance was v ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great! The ambiance was very cute and romantic, our server was super nice and the food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.