Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Alexander's on 30th

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (31)
Cozy (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Authentic (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Fun (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Casual (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and the server took good care of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great local spot with nice decor. Service is hit and miss they seem more interested in table turnover than great service 😢 Food always good but sometimes better than others all depends on who is cooking

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Never fails - Alexanders is always fabulous. Great food and great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was my birthday and I was really craving The White Room pizza, so I reluctantly made a reservation here. We used to dine here probably every other month, but the last time we were here (wow it was March 2016- I looked through my OT history) with our friends that just moved to Alexander's neighborhood, it was a terrible experience. They said they would not return there. So, gosh, 1.5 yrs later, we did, and SO glad we did. We were seated in "Justin's" section and he greeted us almost immediately after we sat down. Just to say hi and see what type of water we'd like - not jumping down our throats to order drinks. Then a large party was leaving while he was giving us our water. The gentleman thanked Justin and turned to us and said "he's fantastic!". Ok...let us see for ourselves....I have to report that he exceeded our expectations. He checked in often, but was not intrusive. Honestly wanted to make sure we enjoyed our drinks, then our appetizers, and then our entrees. Of course TWR pizza did not disappoint. To top it off, he brought me a beautiful piece of tiramisu with a candle. He still would have received 5* even if cake was forgotten. He was that good. Needless to say, Alexander's is back on our dinner circuit...thanks to Justin. We'll ask for him when I make the next OT reservation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We dine at Sammy frequently. We ordered the wonderful pasta they serve, first rate. So, I decided to do pasta and a salad and split it with my girlfriend. No problem. The problem happened when I expected my passport card to be used. The waiter, kelly, said can't use your passport tonight, you didn't did not get two entrees you got one entree and one appetizer. It was awkward, she said u can do this tonight, but make sure they are two entrees. it was a bit awkward

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We went with another couple for an adult night out. I had been wanting to try Alexander's for awhile. It did not disappoint. The wine was delicious. For an appetizer we had the baked Brie with roasted garlic. Wow! The garlic bread is amazing. We had a nice house salad and split it. Perfect size for splitting. We shared a pizza and the capellini with our friends. Very good and perfect amount of food. The cheese board sounded amazing, so I will definitely be back to try it.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Tried this restaurant for the first time and it was delicious. So cute inside, and great food. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The host was kind of rude in that they had many open tables but wouldnt seat us.

Luckily, we had open table were we booked a table and he begrudgingly seated us right away.

The food was great but it was just weird that the host didn't want to fill open tables, really akward and there are lots of other great resteraunts in San Diego.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was quite slow at first. It was particularly hot that day. We sat out on the patio. We didn't receive our drinks nor water until like 20 minutes after ordering.
However the food was absolutely delicious as always. Will still return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Need to fix the ac.
Everything else was perfect

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Kelly was AMAZING on our special night on which we were celebrating our 24th anniversary. We think my wife is gluten intolerant (I know I know) and she had a rice pasta substitute and it was delicious! I think we may have found our "go to" restaurant!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Absolutely LOVE this restaurant. The ambience is amazing and the food is even better! The chicken piccata is my absolute favorite dish that I will continue to come back for. The service is top notch as well, so friendly and attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

We went here due to a friends recommdation for our 25th wedding anniversary and it was Amazing. Great atmosphere with really good food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Super friendly and great atmosphere. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Awesome love it every time! Waiter recognized me!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food took a while to be served (like an hour at least). But when it did arrive, it was very satisfactory.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great food, great ambiance, great date - nice genuine workers and awesome food

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great food, great wines. We sat outside where the ambiance was amazing, quieter than inside. Would recommend to any friend

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My husband and I visited Alexander's, as a last outing dinner date before an 8 month deployment.

When I first moved to San Diego, four years ago, I'd noticed the restaurant — and had wanted to dine there ever since, though hadn't, until last Saturday.

Fast forward to being greeted and waiting for a table in the corner, which showcased torn leather chairs by a window with chipped paint on either sides of the walls. After being seated I noticed that there were many other seating options, but perhaps we were sat there to fill a space, between two other occupied tables.

Our waitress (or waiters, because she forgot about our table, twice and we found ourselves being serviced by other people) was seemingly friendly and vivacious. However, she filled our waters only once (water was the only thing we'd ordered due to having wine and dessert at home) and apologized for forgetting to bring bread to the table, at the end of the meal. She did, however, put the bread in a take-out bag for us to take home.

The chicken piccata was quite possibly the worst version of a chicken piccata I've ever tasted and paid for... The only palatable item on the plate were the noodles drowning in white wine sauce.

While Alexander's is officially off of my bucketlist, it is also officially off of a place I'd like to dine at, again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was amazing as always. Servers are usually incredibly friendly but this night not so much. But overall great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great quality and quantity of food but a little pricey. Good place for impressing someone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This is our second time eating here. On both occasions the food was outstanding. The Tuscan Seafood Pasta was delicious. The gluten free pizza was also very good. We are already planning to return next week. Love the atmosphere, both inside and out. The service was very good..time will tell wether it is one of those restaurants that never disappoints but so far so excellent.,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was my first time here and I cannot believe it took me this long to try their food. It was outstanding! I cannot wait to come back.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Had another great meal at Alexander's this past Saturday. The linguine with clams dish is one of the best I have ever tasted locally. Will be back again later this month.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Far too much garlic in the food and it wasn't fresh garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Outstanding food and Justin was our waiter - amazing, kind, and efficient!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I want to say "don't go here" because I'd like to keep it to myself but it's really wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our mom is moving to the midwest, so family from LA came down and off the Alexanders's we went for a family celebration dinner. All the pasta dishes were great, but those who had the fish said it was slightly overcooked. At the beginning of the dinner the sound level was slightly loud, but ok. Midway through dinner the place got A LOT louder, where it was difficult to hear the person sitting across from you. If htere is one change to make I'd say Alexander's should invest in some better sound proofing. The service is always great. Our server, Daniel, was awesome!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 3, 2017

As always great food, excellent service. Thanks Rex. Filet mignon was wonderful. Chicken piccata also very good. Large salads - enough to share

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

This was my absolute favorite SD restaraunt. This place has gone downhill badly. The seasoning was non existent, bread was stale, waitstaff lackluster and bathrooms deplorable. And they raised prices.... really?

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We had a party of 8 adults and everyone enjoyed their meals. Everything I tasted was delicious. I am glad we chose this spot and we will definitely be returning. The service was great as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Our server was very informative, her recommendations were great and we all really loved our food. The patio was lovely and we had it nearly to ourselves. The wine was delicious and we liked the selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was a great experience, food is delicious, customer services is excellent and
the place is beautiful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food is wonderful! I've had the lasagna a few times and last night had the cannelloni. Completely reminds me of (and is better than most!) Italian restaurants where I grew up in Jersey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

pizza seemed over done, and food was pricey for what it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Alexander's continues to be my number one go-to community restaurant. It is simply outstanding in every way. From food, to service, to atmosphere there is really nothing more I can say other than outstanding. I am grateful Alexander's is in my community.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The ambiance...amazing! Food....flavorful! Service....exceptional! One of my ideal places for a date or girls night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was simply too bland for my tastes. Meatballs and sauce lack flavor. I'm comparing these to the new restaurants in the Little Italy corridor. Ben Cuto etc. wait staff was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Terrifically noisy dining room and bar with no views except dozens of cars passing in a 4-way intersection a few feet from some of the diners' tables. If you want to communicate with people at your table or booth, be prepared to practically yell at each other. My entree was excellent, risotto with scallops, and I would get it for take-out to treat myself some time. My dinner companions thought they had mediocre dinners and they had no interest in returning--especially for the prices. One other time I sat at the bar here and had a good pizza while I complained about the incredible noise level and bus and traffic fumes. I don't think this place works. It's unfortunate. I do not plan to go back unless it is for take-out of pizza and maybe the risotto again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent dinner from beginning to end -- wine, appetizers, beet salad, & pasta entrees. K in North Park

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.