About Alexander's on 30th

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: 6192812539x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Restaurant Photos

Fish & Chips - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Special Of The Night: Scallops And Shrimp Angel Hair Pasta In White Wine Sauce - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Canneloni - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Shrimp And Scallop Angel Hair Pasta Over White Wine Sauce  - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Pol Clement  - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
NZ Green Mussels in Garlic White Wine Sauce - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
cheese pizza - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Garlic Bread And Pinot Noir - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Garlic Bread - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Walnut Gorgonzola Pasta - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Alagash White Ale - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
30Th Street Salad - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
The White Room Pizza - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Cured Meat Of The Day - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Vodka Penne Bolognese - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Filet Mignon - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Shrimp And Scallop Linguine - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Cilantro Pesto Linguine And Sea Scallops - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Penne ala Vodka - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Sea Bass With Pesto Linguine  - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
White Blondie With Garlic Pizza - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
House Salad - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Baked Vodka Bolognese - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
baked spaghetti - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Bruschetta - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Milan Mac & Cheese - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA

Specials

Date Night

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Date Night

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

2$ red and white house wine selections, 6$ spaghetti with signature red sauce. Gluten free options available. Excludes Tax and Tip. Come and enjoy with friends and loved ones!. Special valid Aug 25, 2016 - Dec 25, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We will only be offering a special New Year's Eve Prix Fixe menu. Please contact the restaurant for details.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (41)
Cozy (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Authentic (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Casual (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I first stumbled upon Alexander's when m ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

I first stumbled upon Alexander's when my partner and I were strolling late Valentines night. They were exceptional and welcomed us even though it was near the end of a busy night. The service was excellent and the food impressive. We loved it! When I was planning for my 30th birthday celebration I knew it was where I wanted to take my friends. I raved about the service and the food to them. We arrived and were seated at a lovely long table with plenty of space. Our waiter was friendly and came for our drink orders quickly, returning them right away. It wasn't until we ordered where some frustration set in. First, my friend ordered an appetizer and his entree. He reiterated the entree to clarify as the waiter repeated the wrong dish back. Our meal came, but our appetizer did not. When we asked if the mushrooms were on the way he replied, "Nope, because i forgot to put the order in. But let me put those i now and it is on me." It was a great way to handle the situation, we appreciated it. The second part, my friend who clarified the entree, was given the wrong entree. Though he made the choice not to bring it up and to eat what he was brought, it was disappointing to me as someone who so highly recommended the restaurant for someone to have this experience. Lastly, at the end of the night, we paid and we see a poster for the Tuesday weekly special, $6 spaghetti and $2 chianti. Our waiter never communicated that option to us! When I asked our waiter he said, "You're better off, you got better food anyways." No apology or recognition that yes, he should have informed us. To me this was the one thing that was exceedingly disappointing as it felt like our large party on a Tuesday night was taken advantage of by not informing us of a cheaper option. Overall, it was a lovely evening with friends and as always, the food was incredible. They need work on the service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent Flavorful Food. Wonderful Wine ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent Flavorful Food. Wonderful Wine List. Great Service.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Alexander's!! We try to eat her ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We love Alexander's!! We try to eat here every time we're in San Diego. Wonderful food and great ambiance! Truly a neighborhood gem!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alexander's never disappoints!! Great f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Alexander's never disappoints!! Great food, staff and wine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great as usual. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food and service was great as usual. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The thanksgiving dinner was cold. They w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The thanksgiving dinner was cold. They were out of the advertised fish option as well as the apple chrisp. Pretty disappointing overall and very overpriced. The dining area is very cute and the best part of the experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Lovely decor, delicious food and attenti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely decor, delicious food and attentive wait staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant..one of my favorites ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing restaurant..one of my favorites in San Diego..Customer service and Food is Always on point! Highly recommended..

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We did not sit down until 20-25 min afte ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We did not sit down until 20-25 min after our reservation. It was extremely busy and loud. I think everyone was doing their best but the attention by the server was limited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner bidding farewe ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner bidding farewell to some friends who are moving to Honolulu. Overall, the food was very good as was the wine though a bit expensive. Lighting in the back outside is horrible and needs to be corrected. Waiter promised to bring extra candles twice but never did.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome dining, one of my fav places for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Awesome dining, one of my fav places for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed a lovely evening. Foo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We really enjoyed a lovely evening. Food, company and service was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We been going to this place for quite so ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We been going to this place for quite sometime. We love the mussel with tomato and basil because the flavor is very good. As usual the main course we have the Seafood Pasta and Fillet Mignon which was cook perfectly and so tender. The Seafood Pasta is always, well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server Daniel was the best! He reco ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our server Daniel was the best! He recommended a garlic sauce on my Swordfish special which made it delicious!!!! His demeanor and friendliness was quite enjoyable

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a packed Saturday night in North ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was a packed Saturday night in North Park. We had a reservation but had to wait for 45 minutes for a table. The hostess was lovely, kept coming outside and giving us an update. She said we would be comped our first drinks. Everything was going fine once we got our table but our food was served at a different table and they started eating before realizing it so they had to put our order in again. The manager came out and apologized profusely and comped our desserts as well. Because it was such a nice warm evening and we were sitting outside and it was so beautiful and the food so good, we were not bothered by the delays. Having our wine and dessert comped also helped!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

'Twas Good I don't know what else ther ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

'Twas Good

I don't know what else there is to say about it.

'Twas Noice

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

best pizza ever, but so much more my fav ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

best pizza ever, but so much more

my favorite restaurant in SD. Our go to placer for sure

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the dinner, I have to admit, the res ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

For the dinner, I have to admit, the reservations I made we're because the initial place I reserved couldn't accommodate the party size my group ended up being (we had several add-on's last minute), so I decided to try out Alexander's. The place is quaint but very romantic and classy. I almost wished I took my fiance here instead for a date rather than it being my brother's birthday dinner. Either way, the staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and relaxed. The food was amazing. If you're looking for good Italian food, I definitely would recommend the lasagna. All in all, this is definitely a spot I'll be coming back to again and again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our very best friends 14th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We celebrated our very best friends 14th wedding anniversary and Alexanders truly made it memorable. We had a romantic table in the back right in front of 'Breakfast at Tiffany's' on loop which was perfect! The food and our waiter Justin were fabulous! Thank you for a truly beautiful night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everybody in the neighborhood knows that ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everybody in the neighborhood knows that Alexanders is the best! We always think of it first thing for any special occasion. The service is always awesome, as well as the food. We usually get Rex as our server and he tops the list!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner for 4. Pizza was very good. My ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

dinner for 4. Pizza was very good. My dish (the vodka pasta) was sooooo hot, unable to eat without burning your mouth. Let it sit for about 10 minutes. The meat lasagna not as good as mine. The other two dishes (mac n cheese and ??? don't remember) were good. Overall a little pricey for what you get.

Tags: People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent menu and wine list. Exception ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent menu and wine list. Exceptional value for the quality of food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 6 and were seated in t ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a party of 6 and were seated in the back patio under the stars with Audrey Hepburn movies silently playing on a large screen. The food and service were great. We'll definitely go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious and the ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is always delicious and the service is always great. Thank you Rex!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We showed up for our reservation and the ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We showed up for our reservation and they were closed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

This is Italian meet comfort food. Find ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This is Italian meet comfort food. Find big chunks of bacon in your steamed mussels, and really rich creamy sauces on your pasta. Been here many times, and will continue coming. Only problem, never seems to get better, is poor service, particularly if you are sitting away from main (bar) area and you sit late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food, the service and the ambiance w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food, the service and the ambiance were all exceptional! And the bread was amazing!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place, the outside patio is th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very nice place, the outside patio is the way to go. Service was a bit slow, and no updates on the food which took longer than it should have. But overall a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I thought the ambiance and service was g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I thought the ambiance and service was great! We had tickets to the theater and let them know we were on a time crunch. The service was very accommodating, and entrees came out quickly. I did not love my dish, the coastal risotto, but the other food at the table looked good. I would definitely go back and just order something else. The wine selection was good, and not too expensive. Overall, a nice experience and am excited to try it again for dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I went there for the first time with a p ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I went there for the first time with a party of 9, and the execution of the food and service was flawless. There was something on the menu for everybody to eat and drink, in fact multiple things so it made everybody's decision a little difficult which is a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was upmost terrible. Food was su ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service was upmost terrible. Food was subpar. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

First visit, won't be the last. A deligh ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First visit, won't be the last. A delightful and elegant neighborhood place with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time dining here. We had an aweso ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 11, 2016

First time dining here. We had an awesome corner window table. Restaurant was cozy. Their bread was to die for!!! My friend and I shared the Gorgonzola & Walnut Pasta and a pizza. The pasta was delicious and as portion size was so large, we could barely finish our pizza, so we took it home for later. I will definitely come back to try other items on the menu-especially their homemade lasagna! They also have an outside patio that looks cute.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing food! The bread is to die for bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing food! The bread is to die for but be careful, it'll fill you up. Loved the Risotto with scallops and the wedge!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The music was too loud on the patio. Ser ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The music was too loud on the patio.

Server was friendly but a little sparse.

I've been here several times and this time was the first disappointing time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We celebrated our anniversary. The staff ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary. The staff was very attentive. We got a special corner table. It as romantic and special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We just love Alexanders and have been pa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We just love Alexanders and have been patrons for years. Great food, great service, great overall dining experience. We will go back a thousand times.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A nice enough space, but the patio is so ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A nice enough space, but the patio is so dark you cannot see your food. We asked for another candle, but it never came so I grabbed one from an empty table. Still to dark to see what you are eating. The food was very mediocre. Seafood in my pasta tasted frozen. For $28 the seafood in a pasta dish should be fresh. Even more disappointing considering it was the chef's special in Friday night. Service was slow and disorganized. The restaurant was busy, but not slammed. Tables near us weren't cleared for 20-30 mins. Dirty dishes and the check just sat there as wait staff passed by without a glance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

this is one of our favorite places. The ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

this is one of our favorite places. The food is always delicious ! Very fresh seafood and a great fun , yet romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and quality were fabulous, a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The service and quality were fabulous, and the staff were so friendly, the food was prepared nicely and the restaurant's style very eclectic! We will be back!

Tags: Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.