Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Alexander's on 30th

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: (619) 281-2539

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (59)
Good for a Date (55)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Special Occasion (40)
Cozy (37)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Modern Decor (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (19)
Authentic (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Outstanding Value (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Family Style (7)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 13 hours ago

Food was great, even thought my steak was a bit more medium
than medium rare. Took 55 minutes for the food to arrive. Lasagna was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved it

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We had dinner salads-all was good. Decent wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food, ambience and service! Only negative was parking....arrive early!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Incredible service and extremely friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have enjoyed meals at Alexander's with a few friends,a group of friends and just the two of us for a romantic evening and every one of them were wonderful experiences. The food is consistently good as is the service. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Alexander's is one of my absolute favorite restaurants and I have never been disappointed. We sat on the outdoor patio in the back corner and it was so comfy we stayed for a good four hours. We split the cheese board with fig and the proscuitto and burrata bruschetta. I had the rustic salad with scallops which I actually get every time because their scallops are to die for. My aunt got the seafood special with shrimp and scallops which she loveddd and my boyfriend got the lasagna. We also split the creme brûlée and I wish it was double the size. Dan was our server and he was awesome. HIghly recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have always a good experience and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was delicious!! Service was great. It is very loud inside so try to sit in the patio, it's really nice out there. Also there's no parking so get there in time to walk a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Alexander's is a neighborhood favorite. I have eaten there several times and it never disappoints. At the end of our meal our waiter brought us desert, stating that our meals took longer than expected and it was complimentary. We hadn't even noticed the wait. Nice touch...

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amateurish restaurant.

1) Menu: childish and disorganized. They seems to have no real concept of food. The menu design itself was poorly thought out and badly designed. Impossible to read in the low light due to a overly delicate font. Might look beautiful in the bright light of the artist studio, but in the very low light levels of this place it was a big failure. Had to use the light on my phone to read the damn thing.

2) Service staff: Disinterested and inattentive. Felt like we were doing her a favor being there. We waited while five feet away she chit chatted with another staff member before she could be bothered to come take our order. No help with the menu and the specials were described as to make them unappetizing. Showed zero interest in our experience.

3) Most comical moment: Watching the waitress reach across a patron's place setting while they were eating to deposit the bill on the table. Seems she could not be bothered to take threes steps to the other side of the table.

4) Food: Just plain bad food. Lasagna was so hot that I had to wait five minutes to consume IT. Consume was about ALL this lasagna deserved--sauce tasted of sugar and so much cheese that you could barely tell it was spinach lasagna--frozen Stouffers' lasagna is better. My wife's pasta was flavorless and appeared to have been unceremoniously mounded up and deposited in the bowl. I mean how do you screw-up Capellini Pomodoro? Well they managed too with chunks of tomatoes so large and under cooked that they did not release their flavor to adhere to the Capellini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I always look forward to dining at Alexanders.
Food is great, servers wonderful & ambiance beautiful.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My wife's food was rated a B, my sea bass was rated a D. The sea bass was over cooked and over seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Made a reservation based on recommendations from friends.
Must have been a busy evening because restaurant was noisy and crowded. We were seated in patio area with low lighting and had to use our mobile devices to light up the menus.
Food was good but not outstanding. The worst part of the evening was the lack of parking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Came here for my birthday. Loved that it happened to fall on a Monday because of Alexanders great special that day. Everything was great except for our server who was hard to track down. Luckily other staff was helpful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was great and service just as good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great food, service, value and great recommendations from our server. I have been here 3 times now and will definitely be coming back. Even the bread before dinner was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great restaurant good food ambience romantic TGIF gang enjoyed the experience the only challenge is finding parking.love love this restaurant

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our visit to Alexander's on 30th this Monday was our fourth since we arrived in San Diego at the beginning of January to start our new life here. It was definitely the most disappointing. We had a salad -- the rustic -- that was quite good and generous. The ingredient was very good, the dressing OK. One of us had the Milan mac and cheese -- outstanding except for the extremely chintzy portion of bacon, essentially a few flecks, for which we paid an additional $4. But the other main dish -- spaghetti and meatballs with marinara sauce -- was not even mediocre. We've never -- we mean never -- had such a bland Italian dish. The meatballs were OK but the sauce was tasteless. Even the additional of a copious amount of grated cheese barely helped. If we were to have made a sauce like that and served it to guests, we would have been embarrassed. In fairness to Alexander's, the other meals we have had at the restaurant have been very good. We've had pizza, the baked vodka Bolognese and the roasted beet and goat cheese salad and enjoyed all of them, with the only reservation being that the prices seem a bit high. We will likely return. But we will steer clear of the spaghetti and meatballs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was great. Highly recommend. Food was tasty, great wine, great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I ordered the stuffed mushroom appetizer which I've had before and they were great however, this time they were burnt on top.I ate them anyway. I ordered a seafood pasta add sun dried tomatoes no basil. Immediately I noticed it didn't contain sun dried tomatoes. They took it back and added them. I took a bite and immediately noticed the dish contained basil. I asked the waiter if he told the chef no basil he said yes let me go ask if he put it. The waiter came back and said the chef forgot not to add it. He took it back to remake told me it would take 5 minutes. The pasta came back in around 8 mins clearly it tasted a bit rushed the bowl was full of juice that wasn't there the first time he cooked it. One bite and I knew I didnt want it and gave it back. I left hungry and disappointed with over an hour wasted. I ended up eating at Jack in the box.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I have always enjoyed past visits and I still generally had a nice time. Unfortunately though, the food was below par. The sea bass special was drenched in cheese and sauce that didn't cover the fact the fish was so overcooked and dry. The beet salad was thrown together in haphazard fashion and not complimentary ingredients, plus beets were not fresh. Presentation of both were not great. Waiter was good but disappeared half way through and no service until check out. Overall I was disappointed but will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was great and Rex our server did a great job. Very polite, efficient and accommodating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was marginal and not worth the price plus it was super loud and not relaxing nice evening. We requested a special table so we could celebrate and got put out on the patio that was covered by a tent with a loud customer that talked too loud the entire time. The recommendations say this is a romantic restaurant with amazing food. I would give it a C at best and never classify it as romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

5 stars. This place is jamming with people because the food and service are first rate! Tim is our man there who treats us like royalty

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

What a fantastic dinner with friends. We were so glad we had made a reservation as it was really hopping despite the early hour. The food we ordered was delicious and beautifully and efficiently served. I have been to Alexanders several times but that was a while ago. I look forward to coming back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Alexander's is an AMAZING spot. The ambiance and food are second to none. Great place for a romantic dinner or date. Love, love, love!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed a special Valentines Day menu that was delicious beyond description. Our waiter, Rex, was very friendly and personable and made us feel quite special. The ambiance was very romantic and we felt like this choice was a perfect way to spend Valentines Day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Worst dinner ever poor service and inferior food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

the food was very good. service was uninspiring and very slow (35 minutes to get our cheese plate appetizer). the cold gusts of wind constantly chilling us from the open door in the back was frustrating.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wife and I had Valentines Day dinner at Alexanders and each course of the fixed menu was hit or miss. For example, the smoked salmon pate was amazing, but the cheese plate was far too small and underwhelming. The filet mignon again was amazing, but the mashed potatoes were cold and dry and the butternut squash ravioli tasted similar to something I bought at Costco and made at home. The cookie/ice cream dessert was delicious, but the tiramisu was bland. Sadly, all of the mediocre plates were things my wife ordered. I ended up sharing my food with her because I felt bad for her. We walked out spending almost $200 (including drinks, tip, tax) after all was said and done. Great service and ambiance, it just didn't feel like a $200 quality meal with all the culinary misses.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Alexanders never disappoints. The food is great,
ambience is spot on. The waitstaff is knowledgeable & friendly..the Wine list is respectable. It's my favorite place!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We enjoyed our meal very much. We split a Spicy Ceaser Salad. The salad was very good, but not spicy and the serving s were just right. We also had one of the specials - Fettuccine Alfredo with shrimp and scallops. It was delicious. We dined early as we had 6:30 PM tickets to the theater and it was very quiet in the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was fantastic, especially the Linguine Vongole and the Pasta of the Day ( Pasta with Artichokes and Scallops)!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always love this place but the service was pretty horrible Friday night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Overall the place was nice, beautiful in side until you look a little closer. Some wear and tear on the seats, and the ground makes it seem dirty. I was not thrilled when I had to use the bathroom and they were out of soap, I had to wait 10mis after I told a staff personnel to wash my hands.
They were out of the appetizer I wanted and when I got my main dish it was okay. I love bass fish and their special underwhelmed me. My family seemed to like it so I guess their food was better.
Nice place, good enough staff, not as clean as I would expect for such a nice looking place. Not my first choice in the neighborhood of restaurants to choose from.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Service way below last time. Server had no time for us. Grabbed our bread plates and disappeared before entree came. We had to ask for them back. In a rush for us to order and get rid of us. Last time was the opposite. Very good service. Music overly loud. Nice host though and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was excellent, but service was slow and wait staff was relatively inattentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place for a date. We had lobster ravioli and the sea bass special -- both items were spectacular. Waiter was helpful but not intrusive. We did wish for a little more privacy as one seat at our two seater was a shared bench with a rather loud occupant. Other than that, perfection. We will be back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The ambiance at Alexander's cannot be beat. The glow of soft lighting reflects on the white booths and flowers. Lovely! My friend had a great dining experience and loved every bit of her meal. I'm very particular, however, and really only enjoyed the garlic Caesar salad. The stuffed mushrooms were fishy smelling so I passed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.