About Alexander's on 30th

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Anna Moya, at info@alexanderson30th.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Moya: 6192812539

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Canneloni
Special Of The Night: Scallops And Shrimp Angel Hair Pasta In White Wine Sauce
Shrimp And Scallop Angel Hair Pasta Over White Wine Sauce
NZ Green Mussels in Garlic White Wine Sauce
Pol Clement
cheese pizza
Garlic Bread And Pinot Noir
Garlic Bread
Walnut Gorgonzola Pasta
Alagash White Ale
30Th Street Salad
The White Room Pizza
Cured Meat Of The Day
Vodka Penne Bolognese
Filet Mignon
Shrimp And Scallop Linguine
Cilantro Pesto Linguine And Sea Scallops
Penne ala Vodka
White Blondie With Garlic Pizza
Sea Bass With Pesto Linguine
House Salad
baked spaghetti
Baked Vodka Bolognese
Bruschetta
Milan Mac & Cheese

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Best Restaurants in North Park ›

neighborhood gem (88)
romantic (69)
special occasion (63)
See All
fit for foodies (54)
great for outdoor dining (48)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (17)
notable wine list (13)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

never disappointing and a great place to ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

never disappointing and a great place to take friends

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food were outstanding. We or ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service and food were outstanding. We ordered wine, a salad (which they plate-split for us), and two pasta entrees which all tasted great. Definitely on the slightly pricier side, but for our special occasion, it was an excellent treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was excellent and the service from ...

Dined 6 days ago

It's was excellent and the service from Tim was outstanding 👍

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant and delicious food! ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and delicious food! We had a great night celebrating!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable!

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very enjoyable!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was a cute and romantic restaurant ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a cute and romantic restaurant set just outside of North Park. The food was very tasty and satisfying. The only negative thing I can come up with was we sat near a window and the street was a little noisy, but it got quieter as the night went on.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Cannelloni was just terrible. Great serv ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Cannelloni was just terrible. Great service, food was a waste of calories.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

You will keep going back for more!

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Alexander's on 30th is one of our favorite places to dine. My husband likes the pizza and the pasta dishes. I enjoy the Chicken Piccata with the roasted potatoes, veggies and pasta. The staff is friendly and check on us frequently to make sure all is well. I highly recommend sitting at the bar at least once so you can watch the Chefs in action. The Chefs are amazing and work well together on their delicious creations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Off night

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

First of all- I love this place. The food has always been excellent, the service friendly- a great neighborhood gem. Further, and I typically only write glowing reviews. However my experience last Saturday at Alexander's was far from fantastic. I ordered the Naked Fish,which has always been wonderful. My dining companion ordered something else- which he loved. Unfortunately my Naked fish arrived really overcooked and very dry, which, of course, I didn't notice until I was eating it. Our the waitress never checked back after the entree was served, only when she delivered the check. So I simply ate my disappointing entree. When the bill arrived and our server asked how we enjoyed our meal- I told her that one entree was great but my fish was dry and disappointing- to which she replied, "I'm sorry." and walked away leaving the check. I paid the bill, but I was left with a lingering feeling of disregard- While it may be old fashioned, I find the slow death of true hospitality to be a real loss, and I just didn't expect it at Alexander's.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Rushed service

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was rushed... served mains too fast and busser picked up my plate the second i was done, and well before my husband was done . They meed to slow down a bit so we can relax and enjoy Scallops were a big disappointment .. fried?! Chicken picatta was awesome as always.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

7 o'clock reservation for 6 on a Friday. ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

7 o'clock reservation for 6 on a Friday. Sun was setting so one of our guests had sun beaming in his eyes for about 20-30 minutes as there weren't any window coverings. But that didn't hinder our experience. Excellent service, ambience and food. Loved the Tuscan seafood pasta, risotto, shrimp linguini.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice, especially for a ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Always a great choice, especially for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Alexander's on 30th

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great neighborhood gem... consistently great every time we come!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience and would go again

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great place,love the food,greatwaiters and amazing place to have a great time

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely my new favorite restaurant! T ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Definitely my new favorite restaurant! The owner and staff were beyond accomodating for my party of 15 and several last minute changes I had to make. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ate was delicious with hea ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything we ate was delicious with healthy portions. The service was very friendly and professional. The Host greeted us immediately instead of ignoring us until they were ready to seat us like most other local restaurants do. Top notch food service with reasonable prices. You get more then what you pay for. The Ambiance is elegant. Very good place to go for date night or close dinner with friends who would love a good meal and be able to have a wonderful conversation together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as always. The salad ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent as always. The salad with figs was really good, as was the lobster ravioli.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Noise vs. Great Food

Dined on May 14, 2016

It's always a toss up as to whether I'll endure the noise at this otherwise lovely restaurant in order to enjoy some of their fine food offerings. Once in awhile I just DO it, but it would be nice to be able to dine there and also visit with the friends I've chosen to share the evening with. I would go more often, if that were possible!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Subpar service for a fine dining establi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Subpar service for a fine dining establishment. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

What amazing service! The owner and staf ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

What amazing service! The owner and staff went above expectations and truly made the evening even more special on Mother's Day. Everyone was very personable, professional and accommodating- especially with our young son. The food was absolutely divine, too. Definitely one of our favorite restaurants. Can't go wrong at Alexander's.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was somewhat slow.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter was not as accommodating as other restaurants with similar costs. We were not even asked if we wanted freshly grated pepper or parmesan cheese on our entrees. I would not recommend this restaurant for a date night as the noise level was pretty loud. You could not have a conversation without raising your voice level.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Loved the Food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and had been meaning to try out Alexander's for a while. I'm glad we did. The food was exceptional. Especially the garlic bread. It was the best garlic bread I've ever tasted. The ambiance was really nice and you could tell the place was pretty popular. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for a great pasta dish and good wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, great food/drinks and decor

Dined on May 7, 2016

It has been years since we've eaten at Alexander's but I remember it fondly. We love the clean white and grey color palette. The staff was courteous and very helpful with our requests (they even printed tickets to a show that we'd forgotten at home!). The bread was spectacular and the food that followed didn't disappoint. We adored the pizzas and the home-made pasta dishes. Note that they don't serve liquor, just beer and wine. We will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

visiting San Diego

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We were so fortunate to find Alexander's while visiting the area! I already told my local friend to check it out. The brie & garlic bread appetizer was amazing. Between the three of us we had the beet salad, capellini pomodoro, walnut gorgonzola, and lasagne and loved every bite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great 6 Month Anniversary

Dined on April 26, 2016

My girlfriend and I LOVED it. Very great outside environment with candles and a movie playing. All very white and clean. It had decent prices too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love at 1st dine!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Over the year plus living in the neighborhood we finally decided to do a date night at Alexanders. The food was amazing and so rich in flavors that I highly recommend it for any foodie, Italian cuisine enthusiast, or anyone that likes a nice dining environment. Support local ;-)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great for a Birthday Dinner!

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I had a great dinner at Alexander's! The food was fabulous and very well priced. We were seated outside and the only complaint that I have, is that we had to ask repeatedly to have the heater turned on near our table. Other than that I would say that it's a great find! By the way...they have the best bread ever!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very romantic

Dined on April 14, 2016

Alexander's has a very romantic urban vibe. Solid food (truly great garlic bread). The risotto was outstanding. The salads were also quite generous in proportion and well presented.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a First Date or an Anniversary

Dined on April 11, 2016

I love Alexander's! I'd almost completely forgotten about it but when my wedding anniversary came around I suggested it to my hubbs and we both remembered how much we liked it. We loved our server, the ambiance and just the entire night there. It's great to take a first date and it'll become your neighborhood favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2

We had the bruschetta with goat cheese , ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had the bruschetta with goat cheese , honey and bacon and it was delicious though the bread was a little too toasted. I had the sword fish and it was charred on the top and was completely over cooked. I sent it back and they did not charge for it. My sister had the spaghetti with turkey meatballs. The meatballs were tasteless and the sauce was nothing special. We had the cookie for dessert which was really good. The highlights were appetizer and dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alexander's the Great!!!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This place was amazing. Great service, beautiful ambiance, and the food was really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Could Be Better

Dined on March 29, 2016

Service was slow and we had to ask for things that need to be thought by the server anyways but overall it is a good place to eat out. Their pizzas are amazing!!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2

Our most recent visit to Alexander's was ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Our most recent visit to Alexander's was for an early dinner on Easter Sunday. I was pleased at the relative ease securing a last minute reservation via Open Table. The food was, as always, top notch and I particularly enjoyed my Scallops. Unfortunately, the service severely detracted from our overall dining experience. The woman who took care of us repeatedly seemed hurried and rather impatient with our group while some were indecisive and asked for her recommendations from the menu. Her overall body language and curt tone was reflective of a server who had a full section that had all been sat at once. However, our reservation was for right when the restaurant opened and by the time we left she only had two other tables. We found ourselves watching one of the other servers and how cordial he was with his guests and lamented the fact that we wished we had been sat in his section as it would have vastly improved our overall dining experience. Unfortunately, we paid our bill and were on our way without so much as a "Thank you" or a "Goodnight" from our server on the way out as she walked right past us on our way out the door.

food5
ambience5
service5

If you want amazingly consistent food an ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

If you want amazingly consistent food and staff that cares this is the place and has been our favorite restaurant since it opened 7-8 years ago - here so good they doubled their space !alexanders also catered our wedding last year - best wedding food ever !

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite. Great food, setting & ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Always a favorite. Great food, setting & service - you can't go wrong with Alexander's!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Love the decor service and food price po ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Love the decor service and food price point can't wait to come back.

food2
ambience3
service1

Worst server ever. She was rude and badl ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Worst server ever. She was rude and badly manner. The worst server I ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food is delicious. The most important thing about Alexander's is the service. My friend and I wanted the beet and goat cheese salad and the black linguine seafood pasta. We weren't sure if we should each order our own dishes or split one of them. The waitress knew exactly what we should order so we would have plenty of food but not too much. There was a nice booth near us when we arrived but the people were getting ready to leave. As soon as the table at the booth was clean, the wait staff remembered they promised us the booth and moved us. You don't have to ask twice for anything-- water, bread, another glass of wine. I had FAR better service here than I had at 11 Madison Ave restaurant in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Love the caesar salad, spinach lasagna & service! I would recommend a little quieter music to go with the lovely candle light. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Where is the lobster?

Dined on March 13, 2016

The service and food were very good except for the dinner my wife ordered. She ordered lobster raviolis and we could not find the lobster. All of the other dishes were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.