Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Alexander's on 30th

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Romantic (40)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Cozy (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fun (18)
Casual (17)
Authentic (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort by
S
1563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We celebrated my sisters birthday there today and the food was delicious. Service was great, never had an empty glass of water because our server was so attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated a birthday and everything was perfect. From the time we were seated they were attentive. The food was excellent. The server made sure we were all served at the same time. I appreciated that tremendously. The food, the wine and the birthday tiramisu was perfect. Will definitely go back. My new gem.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Always my favorite neighborhood place. I love the food and ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant has the ambiance of a French bistro, California style. The outdoor dining is intimate and romantic. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. The food is very good and filling. This is an unexpected find!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant, Food and Customer Service are great. Unfortunately, we were not able to enjoy/finish out dinner due to my daughter having an anaphylaxis reaction. My daughter is allergic to shrimp and although we did not order shrimp, we suspect that the mussels we ordered may have been cross contaminated. Not blaming the restaurant, we should've asked. Writing this to warn other who may have allergies to seafood/

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a lovely dinner--5 of us who ordered a variety of dinners. Linguine w clams had a ton of fresh clams, the fish was fresh and delicious in the seafood pasta special, the filet mignon was a large cut and cooked well--the spaghetti and meatballs was good but I really think they left out some seasonings. Would be surprised if there was any salt in the meatballs....

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

We have liveed in the neighborhood for over twenty years now. With two of the best Italian restaurants in San Diego within a mile of our house. We have not branched out. We decided to try Alexander's , because you can make reservations on Open Table. Now we know what we have been missing all of these years. Rex the great Waiter recommend the Sea food pasta special. It was so tasty.

We now have a new Italian restaurant. And with the ease of using Open Table it will so became one of our regular places

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

Pizza was really good, as well as appetizers. Decent service

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great spot we decided to try for the first time and we were all very impressed. It is very cute inside and out waiter was very nice. To food was phenomenal and we weren’t even able to finish it all. I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great food and wine. Had the mussels which were amazing and even the bread that they give you is delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Wonderful food and service

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Can't complain, had good food, good company and lively ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Great food and awesome staff xoxo

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

I surprised my significant other with a great anniversary/ New Year’s Eve dinner there. We presented immediately walking into the place. As you view the scene, you have some of the most amazing Chefs working their magic. In addition to to great candle lighting. We order the most amazing 3 Course dinner and the bonus l, was able to watch a movie on the outside patio as we sipped our red wine. Thank you for a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2018

As always Alexander's was one for the books. Beautiful ambiance, amazing staff/service, and the food was on point. I have never had anything but excellent everything and tonight was no exception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Rex, our server, totally made our night. What a gem! Please tell him Jane and Julio from hodads say hi, and we were so happy to meet such a nice, rad server like himself.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Always terrific - great pizza and pasta - defines “neighborhood gem.”

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Food was great but our server was lost. No idea what the specials were, never filled wine or water and would clear one plate and then leave the rest of the dirty plates on the table. Go here to enjoy the food. Not the service.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We have had Rex the last 3 years that we have done Christmas Eve dinner at Alexander’s and he ALWAYS gives us top notch service. The food was awesome as usual and this year we ate out on the patio and it was a little quieter and the ambiance was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Unfortunately, the service ended up being very sub-par. The waiter definitely dropped the ball and seemed to forget about us. A lot of time spent waiting for things. We all decided that we probably won’t be back because of it. This was our 4th time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We had a party of 17 on Christmas Eve. The food and service were fabulous. Our guests ranged in age from 1 to 80 and everyone was happy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Accommodating host, pleasant service staff, great bread on the table. Rustic salad was tasty & large enough to generously split. Both our Mahi & Fillet were excellent. Too full for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Alexander’s doesn’t disappoint. Sit on the patio even on a cold night. Wait times for the food can be a little long but wait staff is friendly and the salads are great while you are waiting for entrees. Italian menu with several pastas and chicken dishes - each one we tasted was very good. Not to die for but wonderful for comfort food. Wine and beer only.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2017

The service was great and he made the experience otherwise the food and drinks (meaning wine/beer) because they don’t have cocktails was ho hum. The food was also meh. Which is actually very odd because it’s been yummy in the past. Maybe just an off night. It’s really pretty and the lights make it very festive and romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Pains me to say not my best visit. Girls night out with 5 of my closest girl friends. LOVE LOVE Alexander's and haven't been in a while. Something in the kitchens definitely off. Lobster ravioli was luke warm but had good flavor. Pizza was over cooked and dry. And strangely enough very dark inside. Someone kept messing with the lights in the interior part. We felt like we were eating in the dark and then magically once we were done they came back ever so slightly. Strange. Very disappointing. But I'll be back. Hopefully it was a one time thing. Usually I'd put nothing but 5 Stars. Everyone deserves a second chance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 18, 2017

We are very familiar with "Old Venice" and "Alexander's on 30th". Both are excellent and very accommodating for couples, families or family get-togethers. Inside or outside in nice weather, Alexander's offers a very nice atmosphere and pleasant surroundings. Food choices are many and specials are available every night. We like this restaurant very much and go often as a couple or for special occasions. We recommend this restaurant to all of our friends and we have had very nice large group celebrations there. WLR.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

I have been here twice, is very charming and the food is great. However both times I have been there the waitress is not friendly, seems to hate her job, I brought friends from Brazil and they were almost scared to ask questions or ask for basic stuff as utensils since we were short one.
Also the food although delicious it was very heavy on oil and butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

The food was delicious. The service was very slow. We waited almost twenty minutes before someone took our drink orders. The meals didn’t all come out at the same time and this made for an awkward wait. Half our table was served and we had to wait for quite a while before the other half got their food. Those that had been served first then had semi warm food to eat. The waiter was pleasant but I think the issue was with the kitchen and the chef not plating the food at the same time. We were a party of seven. There were other parties that were much larger in the restaurant at the same time, so I’m sure this heighten the plating issue.

I love the food but I’ve found the service to be weak on several occasions. Another example of poor service is when the waiter poured the water for our group he ran out of water in one glass so only poured 1/2 a glass. He never returned to fill the glass completely and it made us confused because we didn’t know if someone had drank from the glass. Weird and inconsistent service. Also, it is EXTREMELY loud and another group was standing next to us at the bar waiting for their table. We could not have a conversation without screaming at each other until they were seated. That made for an unpleasant 20 minutes.

I wouldn’t have a group dinner here again. For the price, I feel it is too expensive to pay for crappy service and terrible ambience. The food is delicious and I’ll just take it to go or have a dinner with one friend. I think having parties of more than five should be outside on the patio.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 12, 2017

It was super romantic on the patio. I really liked the band on the Patio! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2017

One of the best Italian in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Our server Justin started out very attentive. He took our drink order and appetizer order. The appetizer came out before he took our food order. We were l finished with our appetizer before he took the food order.

When the food was finally delivered my wine and water glasses sat empty for a good 10 minutes before Justin realized it. I would have loved another glass of red wine with my pasta dish. But at that point I was over it.

Dinner for three people and 4 glasses of wine was $132. It's hard to want to tip 20% when the service deteriorates throughout the dinner service. I paid with cash and he didn't break the $20 bills I left as a tip when he brought change.

I have always been a fan of the ambiance and food at Alexanders, but the service that night was truly disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Reserved a table for 3 for 7:30 pm but didnt get table ready till 8:15... The place is nice , food is great, service is a thumbs up and the price is affordable..
Just had a hard time slicing my steak while my plate is moving.. the glass table top doesnt seem to go well w/ the plate.. sliperry

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great food and service as always. One of our favorites.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2017

I loved the white, the server, and the food. I would have preferred a quieter table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Unique ambiance. Makes you feel like you are at one of the places the Real Housewives might eat

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Food was great. I was worried about the service after reading the reviews, but service was excellent. My friend said our waiter was a rock star! Loved the ambiance. I could have stayed for hours just relaxing and drinking wine.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Food and service were amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2017

The place was packed and very loud. I had the spaghetti which was very bland. The bread was the highlight of the meal. I will not return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Food was not as good as usual. I had the spaghetti and meatballs and it was scolding hot and bland. My husbands fish special was cold My moms fish pasta was good as were the shrimp appetizers. We spent 200.00 for three people. Hope this was a one time thing as we love this place

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.