About Alexander's on 30th

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: (619) 281-2539

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (52)
Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Cozy (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Authentic (16)
Fun (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (7)
Family Style (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Alexander's is an AMAZING spot. The ambi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Alexander's is an AMAZING spot. The ambiance and food are second to none. Great place for a romantic dinner or date. Love, love, love!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, , Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a special Valentines Day menu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed a special Valentines Day menu that was delicious beyond description. Our waiter, Rex, was very friendly and personable and made us feel quite special. The ambiance was very romantic and we felt like this choice was a perfect way to spend Valentines Day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst dinner ever poor service and infer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Worst dinner ever poor service and inferior food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

the food was very good. service was uni ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

the food was very good. service was uninspiring and very slow (35 minutes to get our cheese plate appetizer). the cold gusts of wind constantly chilling us from the open door in the back was frustrating.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Wife and I had Valentines Day dinner at ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Wife and I had Valentines Day dinner at Alexanders and each course of the fixed menu was hit or miss. For example, the smoked salmon pate was amazing, but the cheese plate was far too small and underwhelming. The filet mignon again was amazing, but the mashed potatoes were cold and dry and the butternut squash ravioli tasted similar to something I bought at Costco and made at home. The cookie/ice cream dessert was delicious, but the tiramisu was bland. Sadly, all of the mediocre plates were things my wife ordered. I ended up sharing my food with her because I felt bad for her. We walked out spending almost $200 (including drinks, tip, tax) after all was said and done. Great service and ambiance, it just didn't feel like a $200 quality meal with all the culinary misses.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Alexanders never disappoints. The food i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Alexanders never disappoints. The food is great,

ambience is spot on. The waitstaff is knowledgeable & friendly..the Wine list is respectable. It's my favorite place!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal very much. We split ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We enjoyed our meal very much. We split a Spicy Ceaser Salad. The salad was very good, but not spicy and the serving s were just right. We also had one of the specials - Fettuccine Alfredo with shrimp and scallops. It was delicious. We dined early as we had 6:30 PM tickets to the theater and it was very quiet in the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fantastic, especially the L ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was fantastic, especially the Linguine Vongole and the Pasta of the Day ( Pasta with Artichokes and Scallops)!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always love this place but the service w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always love this place but the service was pretty horrible Friday night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Overall the place was nice, beautiful in ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Overall the place was nice, beautiful in side until you look a little closer. Some wear and tear on the seats, and the ground makes it seem dirty. I was not thrilled when I had to use the bathroom and they were out of soap, I had to wait 10mis after I told a staff personnel to wash my hands.

They were out of the appetizer I wanted and when I got my main dish it was okay. I love bass fish and their special underwhelmed me. My family seemed to like it so I guess their food was better.

Nice place, good enough staff, not as clean as I would expect for such a nice looking place. Not my first choice in the neighborhood of restaurants to choose from.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service way below last time. Server had ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Service way below last time. Server had no time for us. Grabbed our bread plates and disappeared before entree came. We had to ask for them back. In a rush for us to order and get rid of us. Last time was the opposite. Very good service. Music overly loud. Nice host though and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Food was excellent, but service was slow ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was excellent, but service was slow and wait staff was relatively inattentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great place for a date. We had lobster r ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place for a date. We had lobster ravioli and the sea bass special -- both items were spectacular. Waiter was helpful but not intrusive. We did wish for a little more privacy as one seat at our two seater was a shared bench with a rather loud occupant. Other than that, perfection. We will be back!

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The ambiance at Alexander's cannot be be ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The ambiance at Alexander's cannot be beat. The glow of soft lighting reflects on the white booths and flowers. Lovely! My friend had a great dining experience and loved every bit of her meal. I'm very particular, however, and really only enjoyed the garlic Caesar salad. The stuffed mushrooms were fishy smelling so I passed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This is restaurant is one of the little ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is restaurant is one of the little San Diego neighborhood gems. My friend and I, both typically very healthy light eaters, love to dine out and really go for the experience. Tonight we randomly decided to revisit Alexander's since neither of us had been in years. We are very happy we did. Its a uniquely decorated sea of white, very cozy and intimate, welcoming and not stuffy. It was not loud or too crowded despite the open kitchen. The service was casual and friendly and prompt. The menu had many savory choices so we narrowed it down to 3, the scallops in basil leaf, the lasagna and a pesto/sundried tomota pasta, and shared everything family style. We paired that with a nice syrah. We both enjoyed all courses, but i was partial to the lasagna since I dont normally eat anything with cheese, I couldnt get enough, and the portion size was plenty for 2. We had a very nice time and our bill for 2 courses and a bottle of wine was only 100$, which is extremely reasonable for the great time we had. I would go back and I recommend Alexander's not just for an Italian food lover but for tourist who would normally stumble on to one of the big name restaurants, or for locals who want a cool midweek night out for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I came to Alexander's f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My boyfriend and I came to Alexander's for our two year anniversary and it was more than amazing. The food was

Incredible, the service was amazing, the ambiance was exactly what I was hoping for and they even surprised us with champagne and dessert. Truly the best anniversary i could've asked for. It will be hard to top our two year now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambiance!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can always count on Alexander's. Serv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I can always count on Alexander's. Service and food are always the best. It's a great gem in the neighborhood. Went with a group of 6. 4 had never been before. Once again everyone loved what they ordered. Only wish the music was turned down a bit lower...but that's just the way it is and not nearly as bad as elsewhere. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met with friends for a very belated Chri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Met with friends for a very belated Christmas dinner. Good amazing. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Very good at suggesting ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great service. Very good at suggesting modifications to deal with food sensitivity. Excellent food and enough fir lunch the next day. Accommodating host as well regarding seating preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This has become one of my favorite spots ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This has become one of my favorite spots for dinner ! Great design and cozy feel, staff are amazing ! Food menu is diverse depending on your mood and great !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here. First experience was d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Second time here. First experience was definitely better. Reason we came back! This time not so much. We're seated 35 mins past our reservation time of 730pm ,our server seemed very distracted. Needles to say we didn't get our food until past 9. And we were starving. Overall not the best experience...I was disappointed becasue we were celebrating my boyfriends 40th bday and his first nice restaurant since moving to San Diego. Definitely not the experience I wanted for him!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, good staff. Only downside is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food, good staff. Only downside is that it gets a little crowded and loud, but other than that, great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for my fiance's birthday after ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Came here for my fiance's birthday after many recommendations. Everything started well, appetizers and bread were great. The entrees were also really tasty and hearty portions. We were given a complimentary dessert for her birthday which was great.

The downside was the absolute lack of personality or attentiveness of our server, Matt. He maybe said 15 words to us the entire time we were there, never asked if we wanted another drink and would disappear for 10-15 minutes at a time. He never came to pick up our check and we had to walk it up to the front. The host/busser was working his butt off and was much more friendly. He really made the whole experience suffer.

Overall, I'd give this another shot but will definitely be requesting anyone else to be our server.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

I would had given a perfect score if it ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I would had given a perfect score if it wasnt for the waitress. She seemed rushed, not very patient and it seemed she wanted to kick us out.

Other than that, everything else was on point! The food, the welcome by the host and the bartender.

Maybe this girl needs a vacation....

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Delicious food! Essentially the beet sal ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious food! Essentially the beet salad and the chicken. Nice wine list as well. Servers were friendly and great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is consistently good, the food i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service is consistently good, the food is consistently great. Great date spot for Italian dining in SD. The space is a bit small, so seating can get somewhat "creative", but otherwise we highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been many times and had great di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We have been many times and had great dinners. The staff is always pleasant but the food has been hit or miss lately. Not sure what changed....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was exceptional from the hos ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service was exceptional from the hostess to the server! The restaurant was absolutely perfect and we couldn't have been happier. We were a party of 8 with 4 kids and they didn't blink an eye. Our server was fantastic with the kids and my 11 year old son said, "Our server is really good!!" The food was great! The walnut Gorgonzola, pizza and lasagna were among our picks and did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we're in San Diego, we make s ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Every time we're in San Diego, we make sure we eat at Alexanders. Love it!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rex was an excellent server. Truly went ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Rex was an excellent server. Truly went above and beyond!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing meal and the reason this ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Another amazing meal and the reason this has been my favorite dining establish since they opened:) busy Christmas Eve but everything went flawlessly. They make my steak perfect every time.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six of us went for Xmas Eve dinner. New ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Six of us went for Xmas Eve dinner. New for 5 of us, and ALL of us loved the food and the staff. We will all definitely return!

Great ambiance, great food, really personable staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers and bread were very good ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The appetizers and bread were very good but the entrees were disappointing. The pasta dishes were swimming in sauce and not that flavorful. The seafood risotto was terrible . The pizza looked good. If we'd ever go back, I'd order the pizza.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I will start with saying that Alexander' ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I will start with saying that Alexander's is a beautiful place with great food. For this visit though we had a bad experience that I feel could have been avoided. I made birthday reservations at least 8 days in advance, yet we were given the worse table in the house. The host apologized up front, yet we were still seated in a spot totally unsuited for a party of 5. Three to the bench, then a person directly across, and a spot at the other end. Hard to visualize, I know...basically the group was broken up and we could not converse. Plus, lots of bathroom traffic. When I made the reservation I mentioned it was my birthday and requested a booth. The host told me when we came in that they weren't able to honor that, and instead gave us literally the worse table. I understand it was busy. My complaint is that if they knew in advance they couldn't honor a birthday request made more than a week in advance, they should have called - and given me the option of choosing another restaurant. Which I would have done. We honestly were not able to talk to each other. My friend, who had never been to Alexander's, thought I was crazy for choosing such a noisy unfriendly place to celebrate. Luckily the Caesar Salad was good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

This place is a hidden gem in a great ec ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This place is a hidden gem in a great eclectic neighborhood! The food is great for foodies & romantics. Reservations are necessary given the coziness of the restaurant & popularity of this place. I have never been disappointed at Alexander's and neither will you!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing first time experience. We will b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Amazing first time experience. We will be back !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love Alexander's for their elegant dec ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I love Alexander's for their elegant decor, friendly servers, wonderful menu selection, and good value. It is a great choice for a special occasion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful evening, excellent service, de ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Beautiful evening, excellent service, delicious food, can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really loved the place and atmosphere ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I really loved the place and atmosphere !! Took my husband and a couple of friends to celebrate his birthday. Delicious food and great service. Highly recommended for most occasions !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.