Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Alexander's on 30th

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: (619) 281-2539

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Romantic (60)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Cozy (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Modern Decor (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Fun (16)
Casual (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Authentic (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Family Style (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

They crushed it last night. Server was awesome. Food was amazing. Everyone had an awesome time. Well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

As always, Alexanders consistently provides excellent food and service!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Alexander's is a very nice clean restaurant and has character

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great staff, delicious food, great date night for my boyfriend and I.

Tim was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

It felt dirty in the patio. Utensils had dry food on it and napkins had stains.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Alexander's is a must. Great food and great service. Love how they split the food for you no charge and without question. Also, love how you can split pizzas. Overall I really like to try everything so this restaurant is great for accommodating that!

Tags: Family Style, Quick Bite, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A first class dining experience from start to finish! Friendly welcome from the staff, attentive server (Kelly), great food, it's perfect when the pasta arrives at table piping hot. Hannah asked if I needed anything and made me feel right at home. I look forward to another fine dinner at Alexander's soon. Andy A.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our favorite go to place for dinner...always fabulous. And ask for Tim for you waiter.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They were wonderful, an worked so hard with us to make my Mother In laws surprise Reproposal a awesome success. She loved and we all had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Spotted this jewel-box of a restaurant while driving through the neighborhood looking for a place to park to go to another restaurant, and ended up here instead. Great decision, as the food was very tasty, and the staff was laid back but still attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baja California)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The reservation was for 6:30. Didn't get seated until 6:50. It was just two of us on a Monday night. It was busy because of a happy hour promotion that brought in a very casual crowd. My wife and I were celebrating her 33rd birthday and had left the kids at home with the babysitter. When you're paying for a babysitter and it's time away from the kids every moment counts and I didn't appreciate the wait. Not to be nitpicky but what's the point of having a reservation system if they don't have a table reserved for you when you arrive.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Pizza was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

No WiFi, that sucks. But the food and service are impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very good food, service is exceptional. Perfect for a nice date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Perfect great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great as always but the service was a little casual. If we're going to be charging on the high end then the service needs to match. Step it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great service, Great Food the venue is super cute and the prices are reasonable. I was very happy with my experience and love the food and services I got (: Definitely coming back !

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We love the Monday night special! The atmosphere is charming and romantic, certainly suiting a group outing or a sweet date.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Went there to celebrate my husband's great Ironman success! Great food, vibe & service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The waiter was fantastic, and food was wonderful. The bread is to die for. Ambiance was wonderful. They were playing the movie Breakfast at Tiffany's against one of their walls. Will definitely be back, and recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service, great food, :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I live in the neighborhood and always enjoy walking to Alexanders for some pasta.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It's amazing. Really good food, you can't believe the price. It is the cheap but isn't expensive. The ambient is great and the workers are really cool!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Groups, Family Style, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was great, even thought my steak was a bit more medium
than medium rare. Took 55 minutes for the food to arrive. Lasagna was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We loved it

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had dinner salads-all was good. Decent wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food, ambience and service! Only negative was parking....arrive early!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Incredible service and extremely friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have enjoyed meals at Alexander's with a few friends,a group of friends and just the two of us for a romantic evening and every one of them were wonderful experiences. The food is consistently good as is the service. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Alexander's is one of my absolute favorite restaurants and I have never been disappointed. We sat on the outdoor patio in the back corner and it was so comfy we stayed for a good four hours. We split the cheese board with fig and the proscuitto and burrata bruschetta. I had the rustic salad with scallops which I actually get every time because their scallops are to die for. My aunt got the seafood special with shrimp and scallops which she loveddd and my boyfriend got the lasagna. We also split the creme brûlée and I wish it was double the size. Dan was our server and he was awesome. HIghly recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place is ADORABLE! It's romantic and cozy! I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have always a good experience and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was delicious!! Service was great. It is very loud inside so try to sit in the patio, it's really nice out there. Also there's no parking so get there in time to walk a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Alexander's is a neighborhood favorite. I have eaten there several times and it never disappoints. At the end of our meal our waiter brought us desert, stating that our meals took longer than expected and it was complimentary. We hadn't even noticed the wait. Nice touch...

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amateurish restaurant.

1) Menu: childish and disorganized. They seems to have no real concept of food. The menu design itself was poorly thought out and badly designed. Impossible to read in the low light due to a overly delicate font. Might look beautiful in the bright light of the artist studio, but in the very low light levels of this place it was a big failure. Had to use the light on my phone to read the damn thing.

2) Service staff: Disinterested and inattentive. Felt like we were doing her a favor being there. We waited while five feet away she chit chatted with another staff member before she could be bothered to come take our order. No help with the menu and the specials were described as to make them unappetizing. Showed zero interest in our experience.

3) Most comical moment: Watching the waitress reach across a patron's place setting while they were eating to deposit the bill on the table. Seems she could not be bothered to take threes steps to the other side of the table.

4) Food: Just plain bad food. Lasagna was so hot that I had to wait five minutes to consume IT. Consume was about ALL this lasagna deserved--sauce tasted of sugar and so much cheese that you could barely tell it was spinach lasagna--frozen Stouffers' lasagna is better. My wife's pasta was flavorless and appeared to have been unceremoniously mounded up and deposited in the bowl. I mean how do you screw-up Capellini Pomodoro? Well they managed too with chunks of tomatoes so large and under cooked that they did not release their flavor to adhere to the Capellini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I always look forward to dining at Alexanders.
Food is great, servers wonderful & ambiance beautiful.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My wife's food was rated a B, my sea bass was rated a D. The sea bass was over cooked and over seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Spent an evening here for my girlfriends birthday. It had absolutely everything we were looking for in a special Italian meal. Can not wait to go back.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Made a reservation based on recommendations from friends.
Must have been a busy evening because restaurant was noisy and crowded. We were seated in patio area with low lighting and had to use our mobile devices to light up the menus.
Food was good but not outstanding. The worst part of the evening was the lack of parking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Came here for my birthday. Loved that it happened to fall on a Monday because of Alexanders great special that day. Everything was great except for our server who was hard to track down. Luckily other staff was helpful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.