About Alexander's on 30th

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Anna Moya, at info@alexanderson30th.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Moya: 6192812539

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Canneloni
Special Of The Night: Scallops And Shrimp Angel Hair Pasta In White Wine Sauce
Shrimp And Scallop Angel Hair Pasta Over White Wine Sauce
NZ Green Mussels in Garlic White Wine Sauce
Pol Clement
cheese pizza
Garlic Bread And Pinot Noir
Garlic Bread
Walnut Gorgonzola Pasta
Alagash White Ale
30Th Street Salad
The White Room Pizza
Cured Meat Of The Day
Vodka Penne Bolognese
Filet Mignon
Shrimp And Scallop Linguine
Cilantro Pesto Linguine And Sea Scallops
Penne ala Vodka
White Blondie With Garlic Pizza
Sea Bass With Pesto Linguine
House Salad
baked spaghetti
Baked Vodka Bolognese
Bruschetta
Milan Mac & Cheese

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (84)
romantic (64)
special occasion (63)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
great for outdoor dining (49)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (16)
notable wine list (12)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love Alexander, we normally come on tu ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 2 days ago

I love Alexander, we normally come on tuesdays for date night. Food, service, decor is amazing. Our waiter last time suggested we should try the pizza night on monday, you would seat outside and watch a movie with promotion price pizzas. So we made a reservation. Well I was informed at the door that the promotion price was only for walk in wich was strange but we said its ok. The big surprise was the movie finally started but no sound. We asked and the waiter said well we dont play the sound and actually today we dont have also music going. That was weird. We will come back for sure, but not for mude movie night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Over all it was a really nice experience ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Over all it was a really nice experience. I made a reservation but we still need to wait for 25 minutes to be seated,the hostess that day was ok.. Food was really good, ambiance was perfect .Really good server, didnt get his name..will definitely come back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I had been wanting visit Alexander's for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I had been wanting visit Alexander's for some time, and when I finally did, I was not disappointed. We ordered the Butter Lettuce Cobb salad and it was delicious! Even splitting it was plenty for two people. We also had the 38 Special pizza (excellent) and Walnut Gorgonzola (thick, creamy, rich sauce). We took food home, but everything served at Alexander's was remarkable. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been to Alexander's on a few occa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to Alexander's on a few occasion. I did not know they had outdoor seating...loved it. Beautiful outdoor atmosphere... We sat by the water fountain (I guess that's what you would call it). They had a Marie-Antoinette style movie showing on the outside wall of the main building, very cute and no sound to interrupt conversation. We were there with out-of-town guest. It made a great impression.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love the Vodka Bolognese. Pizza's ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always love the Vodka Bolognese. Pizza's are great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alexanders is our FAVORITE place to dine ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Alexanders is our FAVORITE place to dine- i love the ambiance, the servers, the wine list and the food- BRAVO

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Alexanders, and have gone there ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love Alexanders, and have gone there for special dinners for 7 years. The appetizers are good, the spicy Caesar salad is unique and interesting. Recently we went on diets and have avoided carbs, so we can't enjoy the pastas as much. We love the salads, and my favorite dinner is the filet mignon. It's always tender and the mushroom sauce is awesome. We always go back, though they have excellent food, and reasonable prices. The wines are nice, I'm not a connoisseur, but fairly discriminating, and our servers usually help successfully choose a good one for your meal, and allow tasting of by-the-glass wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awful experience. One person had dietar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awful experience. One person had dietary restrictions and the wait staff was not able to cope. After telling that person a meal was unable to be modified to fit the diet (a dairy allergy) they then retracted this and made the meal. However when serving the meal, the servers grated cheese over the plate of the person who had a dairy allergy! Also, some of the food for our party came out 20 minutes prior to the rest of the food, which was inexcusable. The service was awful. We went here instead of the better Italian restaurants in South Park due to walkabout going on, but in the future we will stay at the better restaurants further south.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Met friends for an early dinner. Food wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Met friends for an early dinner. Food was great, as always, and it was quiet enough to talk and "catch up". Our server, Rex, was wonderful......professional, personable, and always at hand -- all without intruding on our evening with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decor TO white. The patio in a tarp can' ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Decor TO white.

The patio in a tarp can't see sky. Waiter not that great. Food not that great.

Last time.

Next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We had early reservations, had to ask th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had early reservations, had to ask that the music be turned down, which it was. Everything else was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Slipping. We used to love Alexander's p ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Slipping. We used to love Alexander's pizza, but the last two times it was WAY overcooked -- dry and very disappointing. Many other good choices nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and atmosphere as always. Sad ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and atmosphere as always. Sadly, our server Dan did not seem interested in us at all. His first stop by was over 10 minutes after we sat down. It was another 10 minutes for him to take our drink order and we decided to put in for food at that time. Food was delivered by a runner and Dan never came by to check on us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I love going to Alexandar's! My friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I love going to Alexandar's! My friend took me there for my birthday five years ago and I have been coming back. I have given my family gift certificates several times. They love coming too! Aside from the menu the small neighborhood feel is wonderful. Alexandar's is a great find.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

never disappointing and a great place to ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

never disappointing and a great place to take friends

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food were outstanding. We or ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service and food were outstanding. We ordered wine, a salad (which they plate-split for us), and two pasta entrees which all tasted great. Definitely on the slightly pricier side, but for our special occasion, it was an excellent treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's was excellent and the service from ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It's was excellent and the service from Tim was outstanding 👍

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've lived in the area for years and nev ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've lived in the area for years and never have dined at Alexander's on 30th. The decor and ambiance is in my opinion, absolutely beautiful and elegant and chic. However after all these years never having gone, I was disappointed in that the only part I was impressed by was the ambience and not at all at the food. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing ( the chicken dinner entree ) because it was pretty underwhelming. Would love to give it another shot for a date night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant and delicious food! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and delicious food! We had a great night celebrating!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very enjoyable!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was a cute and romantic restaurant ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a cute and romantic restaurant set just outside of North Park. The food was very tasty and satisfying. The only negative thing I can come up with was we sat near a window and the street was a little noisy, but it got quieter as the night went on.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Cannelloni was just terrible. Great serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Cannelloni was just terrible. Great service, food was a waste of calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

You will keep going back for more!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Alexander's on 30th is one of our favorite places to dine. My husband likes the pizza and the pasta dishes. I enjoy the Chicken Piccata with the roasted potatoes, veggies and pasta. The staff is friendly and check on us frequently to make sure all is well. I highly recommend sitting at the bar at least once so you can watch the Chefs in action. The Chefs are amazing and work well together on their delicious creations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Off night

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

First of all- I love this place. The food has always been excellent, the service friendly- a great neighborhood gem. Further, and I typically only write glowing reviews. However my experience last Saturday at Alexander's was far from fantastic.

I ordered the Naked Fish,which has always been wonderful. My dining companion ordered something else- which he loved. Unfortunately my Naked fish arrived really overcooked and very dry, which, of course, I didn't notice until I was eating it. Our the waitress never checked back after the entree was served, only when she delivered the check. So I simply ate my disappointing entree.

When the bill arrived and our server asked how we enjoyed our meal- I told her that one entree was great but my fish was dry and disappointing- to which she replied, "I'm sorry." and walked away leaving the check.

I paid the bill, but I was left with a lingering feeling of disregard-

While it may be old fashioned, I find the slow death of true hospitality to be a real loss, and I just didn't expect it at Alexander's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Rushed service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was rushed... served mains too fast and busser picked up my plate the second i was done, and well before my husband was done . They meed to slow down a bit so we can relax and enjoy

Scallops were a big disappointment .. fried?! Chicken picatta was awesome as always.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

7 o'clock reservation for 6 on a Friday. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

7 o'clock reservation for 6 on a Friday. Sun was setting so one of our guests had sun beaming in his eyes for about 20-30 minutes as there weren't any window coverings. But that didn't hinder our experience. Excellent service, ambience and food. Loved the Tuscan seafood pasta, risotto, shrimp linguini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a great choice, especially for a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Always a great choice, especially for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Alexander's on 30th

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great neighborhood gem... consistently great every time we come!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and would go again

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great place,love the food,greatwaiters and amazing place to have a great time

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely my new favorite restaurant! T ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Definitely my new favorite restaurant! The owner and staff were beyond accomodating for my party of 15 and several last minute changes I had to make. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything we ate was delicious with hea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything we ate was delicious with healthy portions. The service was very friendly and professional. The Host greeted us immediately instead of ignoring us until they were ready to seat us like most other local restaurants do. Top notch food service with reasonable prices. You get more then what you pay for. The Ambiance is elegant. Very good place to go for date night or close dinner with friends who would love a good meal and be able to have a wonderful conversation together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as always. The salad ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent as always. The salad with figs was really good, as was the lobster ravioli.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise vs. Great Food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It's always a toss up as to whether I'll endure the noise at this otherwise lovely restaurant in order to enjoy some of their fine food offerings. Once in awhile I just DO it, but it would be nice to be able to dine there and also visit with the friends I've chosen to share the evening with. I would go more often, if that were possible!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Subpar service for a fine dining establi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Subpar service for a fine dining establishment. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

What amazing service! The owner and staf ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

What amazing service! The owner and staff went above expectations and truly made the evening even more special on Mother's Day. Everyone was very personable, professional and accommodating- especially with our young son. The food was absolutely divine, too. Definitely one of our favorite restaurants. Can't go wrong at Alexander's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was somewhat slow.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter was not as accommodating as other restaurants with similar costs. We were not even asked if we wanted freshly grated pepper or parmesan cheese on our entrees. I would not recommend this restaurant for a date night as the noise level was pretty loud. You could not have a conversation without raising your voice level.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Loved the Food!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and had been meaning to try out Alexander's for a while. I'm glad we did. The food was exceptional. Especially the garlic bread. It was the best garlic bread I've ever tasted. The ambiance was really nice and you could tell the place was pretty popular. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for a great pasta dish and good wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful experience, great food/drinks and decor

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

It has been years since we've eaten at Alexander's but I remember it fondly. We love the clean white and grey color palette. The staff was courteous and very helpful with our requests (they even printed tickets to a show that we'd forgotten at home!). The bread was spectacular and the food that followed didn't disappoint. We adored the pizzas and the home-made pasta dishes. Note that they don't serve liquor, just beer and wine. We will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

visiting San Diego

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were so fortunate to find Alexander's while visiting the area! I already told my local friend to check it out. The brie & garlic bread appetizer was amazing. Between the three of us we had the beet salad, capellini pomodoro, walnut gorgonzola, and lasagne and loved every bite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great 6 Month Anniversary

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

My girlfriend and I LOVED it. Very great outside environment with candles and a movie playing. All very white and clean. It had decent prices too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.