Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Alexander's on 30th

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: (619) 281-2539

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Romantic (52)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Special Occasion (36)
Cozy (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Casual (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Fun (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Authentic (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Family Style (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Went here for dinner with several friends. They were able to accommodate a party of 13 on relationally short notice. Reasonable price too. Good selection of beer and wine and the service was good. The waiter recommended the chicken picatta which was excellent. The linguine and clams was average at best. My friend got the lasagna, which was pretty terrible. It was all cheese and literally one noodle (we counted). It was greasy too. That's the biggest reason I won't be recommending this place to anyone. There's better places in San Diego to spend your money.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

So delicious! Amazing bread, mussels, pasta and service. We will be back! Loved the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is excellent. Inside seating was a bit noisy, loud music form bar area, large table seated nearby). I've eaten here before on the patio and it was better ambiance, unfortunately patio was closed. Will probably only return of patio seating is available - food is very good but lots of good Italian restaurants out there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Worth the drive! 2 years in a roll for my youngest bday dinner now 26 yrs old..this should tell you something!😁

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The restaurant accommodated my friends and I so wonderfully for a surprise bday dinner. Service and everything was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We've eaten here several times and have not been disappointed. All the meals we tried have been excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Brie appetizer was so-so, but the lobster ravioli was the bomb. Loved the Caesar salad, too.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food at Alexander's on 30th is exceptional! We had the stuffed mushrooms as an appetizer, the Caesar salad, and then spinach lasagna and baked pasta with sausage in it--everything was really yummy and plenty to take home!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great ambiance and great food. Beautiful outside patio where we enjoyed sunny San Diego weather on Mother's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing. Ambiance, food, service was all amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server, Kelly, was delightful! The food was delicious. My husband hasn't stopped commenting how much he enjoyed his dish, Tuscan Seafood Pasta. Great evening, great food, great wine..greatest server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was great, except for the noice level. We were seated outside and there was a large party near us that got rowdy and loud, then rowdier and louder. Wish the maitre'd could have asked them to be more considerate of the other diners. This is not the first time that we have been seated near a large, loud party. Kind of ruins the otherwise lovely ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

best italian so far....great menu options..amazing pizza! outside seating area is comfy and cozy. love this place!

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Dinner was amazing. We had the seafood pasta special, the filet and the cheese board - definitely enough food for two. Server was excellent and so was the other staff. I would definitely come back. Wish you had more pasta options like gnocchi or pappardelle. That wont stop me from coming back though!

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wait staff remarkably knowledgeable. Entertaining unto themselves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Other than the extreme 'party' noise, Alexanders on 30th is my all-time favorite place to meet and eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

There booth tables are more for a party of 4, not the 6 of us they squeezed into the table.
Made for a less desirable dining as the table and space is not big enough for plates and bread basket and wine and water glasses.
Food was very late (took to long) and we wer 3/4 done with our entrees before my husband got his.
Food was good.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

They crushed it last night. Server was awesome. Food was amazing. Everyone had an awesome time. Well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

As always, Alexanders consistently provides excellent food and service!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and beautiful ambiance. Perfect for my wife's birthday dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Alexander's is a very nice clean restaurant and has character

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great staff, delicious food, great date night for my boyfriend and I.

Tim was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

It felt dirty in the patio. Utensils had dry food on it and napkins had stains.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Alexander's is a must. Great food and great service. Love how they split the food for you no charge and without question. Also, love how you can split pizzas. Overall I really like to try everything so this restaurant is great for accommodating that!

Tags: Family Style, Quick Bite, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A first class dining experience from start to finish! Friendly welcome from the staff, attentive server (Kelly), great food, it's perfect when the pasta arrives at table piping hot. Hannah asked if I needed anything and made me feel right at home. I look forward to another fine dinner at Alexander's soon. Andy A.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our favorite go to place for dinner...always fabulous. And ask for Tim for you waiter.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They were wonderful, an worked so hard with us to make my Mother In laws surprise Reproposal a awesome success. She loved and we all had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Spotted this jewel-box of a restaurant while driving through the neighborhood looking for a place to park to go to another restaurant, and ended up here instead. Great decision, as the food was very tasty, and the staff was laid back but still attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baja California)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The reservation was for 6:30. Didn't get seated until 6:50. It was just two of us on a Monday night. It was busy because of a happy hour promotion that brought in a very casual crowd. My wife and I were celebrating her 33rd birthday and had left the kids at home with the babysitter. When you're paying for a babysitter and it's time away from the kids every moment counts and I didn't appreciate the wait. Not to be nitpicky but what's the point of having a reservation system if they don't have a table reserved for you when you arrive.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Pizza was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

No WiFi, that sucks. But the food and service are impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very good food, service is exceptional. Perfect for a nice date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Perfect great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great as always but the service was a little casual. If we're going to be charging on the high end then the service needs to match. Step it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great service, Great Food the venue is super cute and the prices are reasonable. I was very happy with my experience and love the food and services I got (: Definitely coming back !

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We love the Monday night special! The atmosphere is charming and romantic, certainly suiting a group outing or a sweet date.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Went there to celebrate my husband's great Ironman success! Great food, vibe & service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The waiter was fantastic, and food was wonderful. The bread is to die for. Ambiance was wonderful. They were playing the movie Breakfast at Tiffany's against one of their walls. Will definitely be back, and recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service, great food, :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I live in the neighborhood and always enjoy walking to Alexanders for some pasta.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.