About Alexander's on 30th

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: (619) 281-2539

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Fish & Chips - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Special Of The Night: Scallops And Shrimp Angel Hair Pasta In White Wine Sauce - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Canneloni - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Shrimp And Scallop Angel Hair Pasta Over White Wine Sauce  - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Pol Clement  - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
NZ Green Mussels in Garlic White Wine Sauce - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
cheese pizza - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Garlic Bread And Pinot Noir - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Garlic Bread - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Walnut Gorgonzola Pasta - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Alagash White Ale - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
30Th Street Salad - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
The White Room Pizza - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Cured Meat Of The Day - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Vodka Penne Bolognese - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Filet Mignon - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Shrimp And Scallop Linguine - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Cilantro Pesto Linguine And Sea Scallops - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Penne ala Vodka - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Sea Bass With Pesto Linguine  - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
White Blondie With Garlic Pizza - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
House Salad - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Baked Vodka Bolognese - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
baked spaghetti - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Bruschetta - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA
Milan Mac & Cheese - Alexander's on 30th, San Diego, CA

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (47)
Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Cozy (38)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Fun (17)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, service and ambiance!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has become one of my favorite spots ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This has become one of my favorite spots for dinner ! Great design and cozy feel, staff are amazing ! Food menu is diverse depending on your mood and great !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here. First experience was d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Second time here. First experience was definitely better. Reason we came back! This time not so much. We're seated 35 mins past our reservation time of 730pm ,our server seemed very distracted. Needles to say we didn't get our food until past 9. And we were starving. Overall not the best experience...I was disappointed becasue we were celebrating my boyfriends 40th bday and his first nice restaurant since moving to San Diego. Definitely not the experience I wanted for him!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, good staff. Only downside is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food, good staff. Only downside is that it gets a little crowded and loud, but other than that, great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for my fiance's birthday after ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Came here for my fiance's birthday after many recommendations. Everything started well, appetizers and bread were great. The entrees were also really tasty and hearty portions. We were given a complimentary dessert for her birthday which was great.

The downside was the absolute lack of personality or attentiveness of our server, Matt. He maybe said 15 words to us the entire time we were there, never asked if we wanted another drink and would disappear for 10-15 minutes at a time. He never came to pick up our check and we had to walk it up to the front. The host/busser was working his butt off and was much more friendly. He really made the whole experience suffer.

Overall, I'd give this another shot but will definitely be requesting anyone else to be our server.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

I would had given a perfect score if it ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I would had given a perfect score if it wasnt for the waitress. She seemed rushed, not very patient and it seemed she wanted to kick us out.

Other than that, everything else was on point! The food, the welcome by the host and the bartender.

Maybe this girl needs a vacation....

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Delicious food! Essentially the beet sal ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious food! Essentially the beet salad and the chicken. Nice wine list as well. Servers were friendly and great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is consistently good, the food i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service is consistently good, the food is consistently great. Great date spot for Italian dining in SD. The space is a bit small, so seating can get somewhat "creative", but otherwise we highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been many times and had great di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We have been many times and had great dinners. The staff is always pleasant but the food has been hit or miss lately. Not sure what changed....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was exceptional from the hos ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service was exceptional from the hostess to the server! The restaurant was absolutely perfect and we couldn't have been happier. We were a party of 8 with 4 kids and they didn't blink an eye. Our server was fantastic with the kids and my 11 year old son said, "Our server is really good!!" The food was great! The walnut Gorgonzola, pizza and lasagna were among our picks and did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we're in San Diego, we make s ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Every time we're in San Diego, we make sure we eat at Alexanders. Love it!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing meal and the reason this ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Another amazing meal and the reason this has been my favorite dining establish since they opened:) busy Christmas Eve but everything went flawlessly. They make my steak perfect every time.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six of us went for Xmas Eve dinner. New ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Six of us went for Xmas Eve dinner. New for 5 of us, and ALL of us loved the food and the staff. We will all definitely return!

Great ambiance, great food, really personable staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers and bread were very good ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The appetizers and bread were very good but the entrees were disappointing. The pasta dishes were swimming in sauce and not that flavorful. The seafood risotto was terrible . The pizza looked good. If we'd ever go back, I'd order the pizza.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I will start with saying that Alexander' ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I will start with saying that Alexander's is a beautiful place with great food. For this visit though we had a bad experience that I feel could have been avoided. I made birthday reservations at least 8 days in advance, yet we were given the worse table in the house. The host apologized up front, yet we were still seated in a spot totally unsuited for a party of 5. Three to the bench, then a person directly across, and a spot at the other end. Hard to visualize, I know...basically the group was broken up and we could not converse. Plus, lots of bathroom traffic. When I made the reservation I mentioned it was my birthday and requested a booth. The host told me when we came in that they weren't able to honor that, and instead gave us literally the worse table. I understand it was busy. My complaint is that if they knew in advance they couldn't honor a birthday request made more than a week in advance, they should have called - and given me the option of choosing another restaurant. Which I would have done. We honestly were not able to talk to each other. My friend, who had never been to Alexander's, thought I was crazy for choosing such a noisy unfriendly place to celebrate. Luckily the Caesar Salad was good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

This place is a hidden gem in a great ec ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This place is a hidden gem in a great eclectic neighborhood! The food is great for foodies & romantics. Reservations are necessary given the coziness of the restaurant & popularity of this place. I have never been disappointed at Alexander's and neither will you!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing first time experience. We will b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Amazing first time experience. We will be back !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love Alexander's for their elegant dec ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I love Alexander's for their elegant decor, friendly servers, wonderful menu selection, and good value. It is a great choice for a special occasion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful evening, excellent service, de ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Beautiful evening, excellent service, delicious food, can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really loved the place and atmosphere ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I really loved the place and atmosphere !! Took my husband and a couple of friends to celebrate his birthday. Delicious food and great service. Highly recommended for most occasions !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate a family birthday d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We came to celebrate a family birthday dinner and we're not disappointed! The muscles appetizer is amazing and all of our pasta dishes we're excellent. we will definitely be back and enjoyed the experience and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We chose Alexander's as a family favorit ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We chose Alexander's as a family favorite to kick off the holiday season as out-of-town family members arrived. Kelly, our server, was fantastic, and we had a beautiful dinner with great food, festive ambiance, and a leisurely pace. We enjoyed our experience at Alexander's once again, and we will definitely return for more charm, deliciousness, and hospitality.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the place love the food BUT very ba ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Love the place love the food BUT very bad customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

I took my boyfriend to Alexander's for h ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I took my boyfriend to Alexander's for his birthday. Our server, Rex, was super nice and attentive and the food was amazing! Overall great food and great service! I would recommend Alexander's for a special ocassion or for a date night!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is such a great place, with an even ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is such a great place, with an even better ambiance and menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, , Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed a great meal on an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a great meal on an early Sunday evening at Alexander's on 30th. The portions were generous and delicious. Service was very good and the chairs were super comfortable. We plan on going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We very much enjoyed our dinner at Alexa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dinner at Alexander's on 30th. Our food was delicious, the service was superb. We also enjoyed sitting on the patio outside next to the toasty warm heaters! I would recommend that there be additional lighting on the outdoor patio though...maybe a subtle string of overhead lights or perhaps lighting on the perimeter of the fence? It is simply too dark-

It is fun to see the movie but I would sacrifice that for a bit more lighting and some soft background music.

We will definitely go back to Alexanders!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I first stumbled upon Alexander's when m ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I first stumbled upon Alexander's when my partner and I were strolling late Valentines night. They were exceptional and welcomed us even though it was near the end of a busy night. The service was excellent and the food impressive. We loved it! When I was planning for my 30th birthday celebration I knew it was where I wanted to take my friends. I raved about the service and the food to them. We arrived and were seated at a lovely long table with plenty of space. Our waiter was friendly and came for our drink orders quickly, returning them right away. It wasn't until we ordered where some frustration set in. First, my friend ordered an appetizer and his entree. He reiterated the entree to clarify as the waiter repeated the wrong dish back. Our meal came, but our appetizer did not. When we asked if the mushrooms were on the way he replied, "Nope, because i forgot to put the order in. But let me put those i now and it is on me." It was a great way to handle the situation, we appreciated it. The second part, my friend who clarified the entree, was given the wrong entree. Though he made the choice not to bring it up and to eat what he was brought, it was disappointing to me as someone who so highly recommended the restaurant for someone to have this experience. Lastly, at the end of the night, we paid and we see a poster for the Tuesday weekly special, $6 spaghetti and $2 chianti. Our waiter never communicated that option to us! When I asked our waiter he said, "You're better off, you got better food anyways." No apology or recognition that yes, he should have informed us. To me this was the one thing that was exceedingly disappointing as it felt like our large party on a Tuesday night was taken advantage of by not informing us of a cheaper option. Overall, it was a lovely evening with friends and as always, the food was incredible. They need work on the service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent Flavorful Food. Wonderful Wine ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent Flavorful Food. Wonderful Wine List. Great Service.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Alexander's!! We try to eat her ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We love Alexander's!! We try to eat here every time we're in San Diego. Wonderful food and great ambiance! Truly a neighborhood gem!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alexander's never disappoints!! Great f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Alexander's never disappoints!! Great food, staff and wine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great as usual. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food and service was great as usual. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The thanksgiving dinner was cold. They w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The thanksgiving dinner was cold. They were out of the advertised fish option as well as the apple chrisp. Pretty disappointing overall and very overpriced. The dining area is very cute and the best part of the experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Lovely decor, delicious food and attenti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely decor, delicious food and attentive wait staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and amazing food! Awesome pl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food and amazing food!

Awesome place to have dinner with great friends or a special someone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing restaurant..one of my favorites ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing restaurant..one of my favorites in San Diego..Customer service and Food is Always on point! Highly recommended..

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We did not sit down until 20-25 min afte ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We did not sit down until 20-25 min after our reservation. It was extremely busy and loud. I think everyone was doing their best but the attention by the server was limited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner bidding farewe ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner bidding farewell to some friends who are moving to Honolulu. Overall, the food was very good as was the wine though a bit expensive. Lighting in the back outside is horrible and needs to be corrected. Waiter promised to bring extra candles twice but never did.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome dining, one of my fav places for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Awesome dining, one of my fav places for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, , Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed a lovely evening. Foo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We really enjoyed a lovely evening. Food, company and service was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.