About Alexander's on 30th

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Anna Moya, at info@alexanderson30th.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Moya: 6192812539

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (106)
romantic (102)
special occasion (85)
See All
fit for foodies (64)
great for outdoor dining (61)
good for groups (37)
hot spot (28)
notable wine list (20)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely my new favorite restaurant! T ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Definitely my new favorite restaurant! The owner and staff were beyond accomodating for my party of 15 and several last minute changes I had to make. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ate was delicious with hea ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything we ate was delicious with healthy portions. The service was very friendly and professional. The Host greeted us immediately instead of ignoring us until they were ready to seat us like most other local restaurants do. Top notch food service with reasonable prices. You get more then what you pay for. The Ambiance is elegant. Very good place to go for date night or close dinner with friends who would love a good meal and be able to have a wonderful conversation together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as always. The salad ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent as always. The salad with figs was really good, as was the lobster ravioli.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Noise vs. Great Food

Dined on May 14, 2016

It's always a toss up as to whether I'll endure the noise at this otherwise lovely restaurant in order to enjoy some of their fine food offerings. Once in awhile I just DO it, but it would be nice to be able to dine there and also visit with the friends I've chosen to share the evening with. I would go more often, if that were possible!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Subpar service for a fine dining establi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Subpar service for a fine dining establishment. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

What amazing service! The owner and staf ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

What amazing service! The owner and staff went above expectations and truly made the evening even more special on Mother's Day. Everyone was very personable, professional and accommodating- especially with our young son. The food was absolutely divine, too. Definitely one of our favorite restaurants. Can't go wrong at Alexander's.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was somewhat slow.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter was not as accommodating as other restaurants with similar costs. We were not even asked if we wanted freshly grated pepper or parmesan cheese on our entrees. I would not recommend this restaurant for a date night as the noise level was pretty loud. You could not have a conversation without raising your voice level.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Loved the Food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and had been meaning to try out Alexander's for a while. I'm glad we did. The food was exceptional. Especially the garlic bread. It was the best garlic bread I've ever tasted. The ambiance was really nice and you could tell the place was pretty popular. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for a great pasta dish and good wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, great food/drinks and decor

Dined on May 7, 2016

It has been years since we've eaten at Alexander's but I remember it fondly. We love the clean white and grey color palette. The staff was courteous and very helpful with our requests (they even printed tickets to a show that we'd forgotten at home!). The bread was spectacular and the food that followed didn't disappoint. We adored the pizzas and the home-made pasta dishes. Note that they don't serve liquor, just beer and wine. We will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

visiting San Diego

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We were so fortunate to find Alexander's while visiting the area! I already told my local friend to check it out. The brie & garlic bread appetizer was amazing. Between the three of us we had the beet salad, capellini pomodoro, walnut gorgonzola, and lasagne and loved every bite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great 6 Month Anniversary

Dined on April 26, 2016

My girlfriend and I LOVED it. Very great outside environment with candles and a movie playing. All very white and clean. It had decent prices too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love at 1st dine!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Over the year plus living in the neighborhood we finally decided to do a date night at Alexanders. The food was amazing and so rich in flavors that I highly recommend it for any foodie, Italian cuisine enthusiast, or anyone that likes a nice dining environment. Support local ;-)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great for a Birthday Dinner!

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I had a great dinner at Alexander's! The food was fabulous and very well priced. We were seated outside and the only complaint that I have, is that we had to ask repeatedly to have the heater turned on near our table. Other than that I would say that it's a great find! By the way...they have the best bread ever!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very romantic

Dined on April 14, 2016

Alexander's has a very romantic urban vibe. Solid food (truly great garlic bread). The risotto was outstanding. The salads were also quite generous in proportion and well presented.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a First Date or an Anniversary

Dined on April 11, 2016

I love Alexander's! I'd almost completely forgotten about it but when my wedding anniversary came around I suggested it to my hubbs and we both remembered how much we liked it. We loved our server, the ambiance and just the entire night there. It's great to take a first date and it'll become your neighborhood favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2

We had the bruschetta with goat cheese , ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had the bruschetta with goat cheese , honey and bacon and it was delicious though the bread was a little too toasted. I had the sword fish and it was charred on the top and was completely over cooked. I sent it back and they did not charge for it. My sister had the spaghetti with turkey meatballs. The meatballs were tasteless and the sauce was nothing special. We had the cookie for dessert which was really good. The highlights were appetizer and dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alexander's the Great!!!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This place was amazing. Great service, beautiful ambiance, and the food was really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Could Be Better

Dined on March 29, 2016

Service was slow and we had to ask for things that need to be thought by the server anyways but overall it is a good place to eat out. Their pizzas are amazing!!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want amazingly consistent food an ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

If you want amazingly consistent food and staff that cares this is the place and has been our favorite restaurant since it opened 7-8 years ago - here so good they doubled their space !alexanders also catered our wedding last year - best wedding food ever !

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite. Great food, setting & ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Always a favorite. Great food, setting & service - you can't go wrong with Alexander's!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Love the decor service and food price po ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Love the decor service and food price point can't wait to come back.

food2
ambience3
service1

Worst server ever. She was rude and badl ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Worst server ever. She was rude and badly manner. The worst server I ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food is delicious. The most important thing about Alexander's is the service. My friend and I wanted the beet and goat cheese salad and the black linguine seafood pasta. We weren't sure if we should each order our own dishes or split one of them. The waitress knew exactly what we should order so we would have plenty of food but not too much. There was a nice booth near us when we arrived but the people were getting ready to leave. As soon as the table at the booth was clean, the wait staff remembered they promised us the booth and moved us. You don't have to ask twice for anything-- water, bread, another glass of wine. I had FAR better service here than I had at 11 Madison Ave restaurant in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Love the caesar salad, spinach lasagna & service! I would recommend a little quieter music to go with the lovely candle light. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Where is the lobster?

Dined on March 13, 2016

The service and food were very good except for the dinner my wife ordered. She ordered lobster raviolis and we could not find the lobster. All of the other dishes were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

Not sure what's going on, again...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Invited friends who are new to this neighborhood to join us @ Alexander's. I don't know what it is with this place, but there is a problem with consistent good service. It seems to be every other visit, but I don't know if we will try our luck again. The food was excellent, and so was the wine, however it cannot make up for the fact that our service was horrible. Embarrassingly horrible, especially since we had hyped this place up so much. I don't want to call her out by name, so I will simply say that she was completely inattentive to our table, even though we clearly would have ordered a 3rd bottle of wine, since Uber were our respective drivers. MIA from the get-go. Eric was our favorite server, and has been gone for awhile, clearly missed. Always received excellent service from him. Now it's hit or miss, and I think we're going to be MIA diners, unfortunately, for awhile at Alexander's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner at Alexande ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Alexander's on 30th. We were seated for our reservations fairly quickly on a rainy evening and were delighted to be seated at a wonderful booth nicely situated in the restaurant. We quickly realized this was the best table for us to enjoy a quiet and quite romantic dinner. The restaurant is quite charming. The service was terrific, couldn't be better. The food was fresh and absolutely delicious. Overall it was a lovely dining experience....Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pasta done to perfection

Dined on March 6, 2016

Salads were unusually crisp and deftly dressed. The pasta dishes first rate, especially the cannelonni and the the lobster linguini. The sauces were rich in flavor, but not heavy in consistency. The service was efficient and pleasant, although not particularly personal. The inside is rather cozy, but smartly designed to give the look of luxury in an out-of-the way corner of North Park.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service!

Dined on March 2, 2016

Made reservations for a booth and received a booth. Food was freshly made to order, staff was friendly and kind. Total gem!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute little spot in South Park with amaz ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Cute little spot in South Park with amazing food! I got the chicken florentine and it had so many great flavors, very tasty! Def will be going back soon

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Birthday Dinner at Alexander's on 30th

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my first time here. We pass it many times, but it's always in the middle of the day, and they are not open for lunch. It always caught my eye as looking so quaint and cozy. So, I announced that I wanted to eat there on my birthday, so I did. There were 6 of us, and we were seated in the outside patio. It wasn't cold as there are many heaters in the patio. At first I was disappointed we were seated outside, but when we finished our meal and exited through the building, the noise level was very loud. I was then very happy we sat outside, where it was quiet. The food was very good. Two of us got one of the daily specials. It was sea bass with a pesto sauce and some little potatoes and veggies. It was delicious. Everyone enjoyed there meal. The highlight was the delicious garlic bread. Yummy! I willl definitely go there again and sit outside!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic and Satisfying

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my second time to Alexander's. We meet our friends here for a couple's night out. Or waiter was so friendly and sweet. I had the chicken piccatta, and it was cooked to perfection. The seasonings were just right in every way. The meal was so large, I could have split it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome staff

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was great and the ambiance is awesome, but what I blown away by the service. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and let us stay even though the place was pretty much already closed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time here and it will ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

This was my first time here and it will certainly not be the last. Everything was highly enjoyable from the staff to the food. Our server, Rex, was an awesome guy and I hope to get him when I return there. Since it was a Saturday night, the food was taking a little longer but I didn't mind. I was too busy enjoying the patio dining, sipping on great wine while "Breakfast at Tiffany's" played behind me. Rex was also kind enough to suggest his favorite wine, bringing us a complimentary glass for the wait. That is phenomenal service right there.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fresh and yummy!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Fabulous quality and execution of the classics---and not so classics!;) Also, having just moved here from Boston, we loved the vintage decor! Very charming--a welcome change from the cookie cutter/cold interiors of the many places here in Southern California!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrating a birthday...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The whole ambiance here is superb. Nice lighting, walls, etc. It's very relaxing to dine here, even when it's packed on a weekend night. Service was great, everyone enjoyed their food choices. My uncle, whose birthday it was that day, was very happy about everything, especially since he lives nearby, and always was interested in trying out the restaurant. Glad my recommendation was well-received by everyone.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

So easy to improve..

Dined on February 21, 2016

This was a cozy, romantic spot with a great menu, large portions and pretty tasty meals but.. presentation of the food was totally lacking. I had risotto and scallops - it looked like the chef just dumped risotto on top of scallops. My friend has a shrimp and scallop special but again not even a little though to the presentation of the dish. Garlic bread was very tasty when dipped into balsamic vinegar. Would like to come back another time in the hope that meals would look as nice as they taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday

Dined on February 16, 2016

We by for a birthday celebration . The food was awesome . Our sever was a little scattered and kind of felt like an afterthought at times. Had to ask for bread and long waits between checkin. Never got our mushrooms . The food made the experience worth it .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

That good good

Dined on February 16, 2016

This is by far my favorite restaurant. The decor, customer service, and food are always on point. I love coming for happy hour, the pizza and beers are great. I have yet had one bad complaint about this place. Definitely will come back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

The Forgotten Table

Dined on February 15, 2016

I took my lovely girlfriend to Alexander's on Valentine's Day. My company was amazing, but everything else was not. We ordered our courses, and our first course came out quick. We thoroughly enjoy the appetizer, but before we were finished, the second course arrived. Our table was completely filled with plates which left us feeling a bit crowded. Our third course was the entree. We waited 45 minutes for our next course. We waited as we saw tables around us get served before we did. When our entree arrived, the mashed potatoes were cold and bland. The prosciutto wrapped asparagus was uncooked and cold. Needless to say, I will not be coming back to a place that was overpriced, awful service and cold food.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.