Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Alexander's on 30th

Voted "Top 25 places to eat before you die," by San Diego Union Tribune.

Visit our website at www.alexanderson30th.com

3391 30th St.
San Diego, CA 92104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Upas and Ray

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 281-2539

Website:
http://www.alexanderson30th.com/

Catering:
Please email your inquiries to special events coordinator, Tim De Nardo, at mrtitoortega@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Private parking lot located behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MTS Busline on 30th St.

Private Party Facilities:
There is one interior private dining room and two private patio dining areas to choose from.

Private Party Contact:
Tim De Nardo mrtitoortega@gmail.com: (619) 281-2539

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Date Night is Tuesday night 5pm-9pm, contact the restaurant for information.

Alexander's on 30th Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Romantic (38)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
See All
Cozy (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Casual (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Authentic (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Fun (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The ambiance...amazing! Food....flavorful! Service....exceptional! One of my ideal places for a date or girls night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was simply too bland for my tastes. Meatballs and sauce lack flavor. I'm comparing these to the new restaurants in the Little Italy corridor. Ben Cuto etc. wait staff was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrifically noisy dining room and bar with no views except dozens of cars passing in a 4-way intersection a few feet from some of the diners' tables. If you want to communicate with people at your table or booth, be prepared to practically yell at each other. My entree was excellent, risotto with scallops, and I would get it for take-out to treat myself some time. My dinner companions thought they had mediocre dinners and they had no interest in returning--especially for the prices. One other time I sat at the bar here and had a good pizza while I complained about the incredible noise level and bus and traffic fumes. I don't think this place works. It's unfortunate. I do not plan to go back unless it is for take-out of pizza and maybe the risotto again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent dinner from beginning to end -- wine, appetizers, beet salad, & pasta entrees. K in North Park

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was a wonderful dinner. Rex was our server and he was fantastic. He was knowledgeable on all items on the menu and was a lot of fun. The food was excellent! There were four of us and we each ordered a different item. All of the dishes were delicious. We definitely recommend this restaurant. I will be back often.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We are local North Parkians and Alexander's is by far our favorite neighborhood restaurant. The food is excellent and the service is impeccable. My wife and I highly recommend this place for all occasions. If weather permits (which is does most of the time), ask to sit on the patio, it's the perfect ambiance to set any tone. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This is our go to spot for any special dinner. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and Kelly was amazing. We normally get Rex who's the best, but this time we got Kelly and she was great as well. Rex still came by and made the night extra special. This resturant is one if the best in San Diego. Honestly you can't go wrong ordering anything here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Resturant was packed and very noisy on a Monday night and parking was horrible. With our Open Table reservation we were seated almost immediately in a comfortable booth. The food was acceptable but not a good value for the price point.
The service was good and I was impressed with how the wait staff assisted each other. The wine selection was good also and we picked a nice Chardonnay for a reasonable price.
All things considered, I am glad we went to Alexander's for dinner but I doubt that we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I have eaten here several times before but this place is going downhill. We were given hard pizza so bad it was hard to chew. The white pizza looked like it had red sauce. Had I known before others already started eating it I would have refused it. Not much was done to remedy except for an oh well and one pizza discount. Still got mandatory gratuity for the shotty explanation. No one liked it. Not going back anymore. What a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I reserved a 15-person table for a bachelorette party. The day-of the number dropped to 13 and they easily accommodated our change. The service was top-notch: quick, polite and very responsive. We had to nix an order because one girl went home sick and they kindly cut it from our table. The wine was delicious and the food servings were generous and everyone was pleased. We were probably the loudest table there and, without such a loud party, the restaurant would be great for a quiet table. They brought ice cream and cookies for the bride and were wonderful when splitting the check two ways. Thanks, Alexander's! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing food as usual and Rex is the man! Always amazing service and attention to details! Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Rex was an amazing server! Made our anniversary special. Food and drinks were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Really loved this place. Have been several times. I was a little disappointed this time that they missed my private note requesting dessert be brought to the table for a bday. I didn't want to announce it in front of my friend that I was taking out, so I left the note in the special sections on Open Table. No harm, no foul. I just wish it would have been handled, they brought the check before I could even mention it. Food was amazing!!!!! always is!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We are always happy to dine at Alexander's. The food and service are always top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on June 17, 2017

Can't remember our waiter's name but he was great, they all seem to be on the same page, professional and get along. 3rd time I've been here. Wine and food are great, super cute little spot.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food even better service! Big thanks to Kelly, Rex and Tim for taking such good care of my group!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Lobster Ravioli sauce was seasoned perfectly. Tiramisu had enough flavor to make it memorable. Romantic good evening but extremely noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Alexander's is one of my favorite Italian restaurants and all of San Diego. The food is always good the patio is fabulous especially during the summer. The staff is extremely efficient. It's a great place to go with friends or even a date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, excellent service! Gluten free pizza was amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 9, 2017

32nd Anniversary! We went there for our 31st too. A perfect evening!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I celebrated my birthday here because I wanted pizza and a nice place to hang out with my girl friends. I had a great time. Food was delicious. Our server Kelly went above and beyond to serve us!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We enjoyed the attention from the wait staff and managers. The portions were large and the food was very good. Good wine selection and an excellent variety of micro-brews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great experience and atmosphere, food is delicious and generously served, price is very reasonable. One of my favorite restaurants in SD without exception.
Tip: pay attention to the servers recommendations in specials for the day, they realky know what they are talking about...

Tags: Disabled Access, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Service was poor, took some time for us to be noticed, food was good after we were served!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great special of the Scallops and Shrimp Linguine. The salad was great also. Bread amazing!!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Amazing food and great service! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

They were able to accommodate a large party of 13 people and the service was friendly. However, they where not able to separate the total checks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very busy night at Alexanders, and only two people working it all on the floor. Not enough. We weren't in a rush, but 15 minutes to even be greeted by a server - who could have at least voiced the evening's short-staffed challenge - was a bit much. After our order was taken, we were very nice with our waitress and that seemed to get us more attention, but we could see plenty of other diners being neglected. Bathrooms were also unkempt...again, I understand the short-staffed issue, but that was our experience. Comped our dessert which was nice and appreciated. Overall a good night though.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

You guys are the best and thanks for being so accommodating about where I prefer to sit. Food is always delightful and your waiter/waitresses are very on the ball.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good menu with wide range of dishes--everything from specialty pizza to fine Italian dishes. Beer and wine menu good as well. Comfortable seats and we had a table where we could talk. Parking lot behind restaurant which is handy in North Park. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Went here for dinner with several friends. They were able to accommodate a party of 13 on relationally short notice. Reasonable price too. Good selection of beer and wine and the service was good. The waiter recommended the chicken picatta which was excellent. The linguine and clams was average at best. My friend got the lasagna, which was pretty terrible. It was all cheese and literally one noodle (we counted). It was greasy too. That's the biggest reason I won't be recommending this place to anyone. There's better places in San Diego to spend your money.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 22, 2017

So delicious! Amazing bread, mussels, pasta and service. We will be back! Loved the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food is excellent. Inside seating was a bit noisy, loud music form bar area, large table seated nearby). I've eaten here before on the patio and it was better ambiance, unfortunately patio was closed. Will probably only return of patio seating is available - food is very good but lots of good Italian restaurants out there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Worth the drive! 2 years in a roll for my youngest bday dinner now 26 yrs old..this should tell you something!😁

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The restaurant accommodated my friends and I so wonderfully for a surprise bday dinner. Service and everything was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We've eaten here several times and have not been disappointed. All the meals we tried have been excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The Brie appetizer was so-so, but the lobster ravioli was the bomb. Loved the Caesar salad, too.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food at Alexander's on 30th is exceptional! We had the stuffed mushrooms as an appetizer, the Caesar salad, and then spinach lasagna and baked pasta with sausage in it--everything was really yummy and plenty to take home!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was absolutely amazing dinning. It was such a beautiful establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day, branch. Terrific food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.