Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Beef Rib Specials

Special valid Aug 11, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Beef Rib Specials

Special valid Aug 11, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Enjoy barbecue a beef appetizer special or entree special. Amazing flavors of teriyaki, soy ginger and topped with sesame seeds. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 11, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for Birthdays (46)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (38)
Fun (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Live Music (20)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Historic (7)
Scenic View (6)
Family Style (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Dancing (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fireplace (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The employees were lovely and the service was wonderful. However, aside from my starter salad and my daughter's Cesar salad, the food was cheaply-made and horribly bland, particularly the watery vegetables. I honestly cannot believe you could serve this food at the price point it is at (outrageously expensive for what it is). The decor is no longer a draw - it is tired and old and the place desperately needs a freshening. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was good but we noticed the busboy who served water never came back to refill our water, but was very friendly with other tables. We felt like we did something to make him mad but we don't know what.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

An old fashioned steak house with audacious decor and wonderful music and dancing. Great atmosphere. Steaks were excellent. Pink champagne cake was divine. Fantastic place in a wonderful town!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We always visit when we stay at the Inn. We look forward to the unique yet nostalgic ambience and the menu of classic fare that is always delicious. There is always room for dessert here. Our server, Sheron was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The Madonna Inn is our spot for celebration of our anniversaries. Great food and romantic decor. We make special trip each year from the north SF Bay Area to the Inn for their fantastic filet mignon dinner, great service and romantic atmosphere. It is worth the expense.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Perfection. Food was seasoned perfectly. Hot when delivered. Server had worked there 12 years and had a wealth of knowledge. Family pictures of the Madonna's added to the feeling of authenticity and warmth. Gaudy but that's the charm and the reason you go. Super clean. However, the bakery needs to up its game; more flavors, light, yes; pretty, yes; but lacked that special touch of flavor. Think cupcake wars. Kick it up a notch. Make me remember the flavor!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Due to my husband schedule we last minute went on an anniversary dinner. It was 845pm and we realized everything was closed well with a small search on google popped up this place set a reservation online for 930pm no problem got there at 910 and was seated right away! ! They had a live band going and lots of people swing/jazz dancing totally loved the atmosphere! The service was great and they took such great care of us! I cannot wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We take a family trip down the coast every yesr and by tradition eat at the Gold Rush Steakhouse. Service is always great and the ambiance is kitschy fun. The steaks were barbecued perfectly and were tender and had a nice smokiness. They aren't cheap but the portions are large. The vegetables were pretty ordinary though. And their cakes for dessert are outstanding. Top it off with a cocktail and glass of wine and I left satisfied

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very expensive, but for a special occasion, worth the financial massacre .The meal was spectacular. The Abelone appitiser was unique And delicious,but at about $26 for two 2 inch diameter pieces, horrendously expensive, especially since they were raised locally in Cayucos. The most outrageous charge was $3 EXTRA FOR OLIVES in my Grey Goose martini. The filet mignon and the lobster tail was the best we have ever had. With a tab in excess of $200.00, my wallet appreciates that wedding anniversaries come only once a year ! Also, my wife said the downstairs womens' restroom was FILTHY. That is UNACCEPTABLE.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best and biggest prime rib ever! Champagne cake also delicious. The rest of the meal was so so.
Mashed potatoes had no salt and veggies average. Would I go again, yes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Even though it was a busy Saturday night we were treated special. We were seated immediately. Reservations are a must. The waitress was attentive. Food came promptly and the steak was absolutely delicious. Not an every day restaurant. It's a little pricey. But for a special event or entertaining out-of-town guests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat here with delicious food & a great selection of Central Calif wines.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went to dinner with friends from Germany. As always, it is a real treat with the unique atmospher and, of course, the waterfall urina. Had great service with great food to top off a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The steak was the best I had ever ordered. We had the Filet mignon and New York. Both were excellent choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I had the best filet mignon i had ever tasted and my Lobster was cooked to perfection! I usually don't order the lobster because it's always over cooked at most places. I loved it here at Madonna inn! We were celebrating my daughters 17th birthday last sunday! I was not disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have been many times and the food and atmosphere are always great. This was the first time we have ever had a poor server. He was definitely not the type of server we expect at a fine dining restaurant. He was inattentive and would do much better in a casual coffee shop diner. When I go to order abalone and lobster at $70+ per plate, I expect tip top service. We will go again as we have been many times and all other servers were top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food in a fun surroundings. Steaks are huge. Being your appetite or share with a friend. Even the fillet is 11 oz. worth the trip by itself. Try to save room for cake. They are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Had the fillet meinon with lobster tail. Sorry no picture of main course, I did not want to put my fork down to take a picture. 😁 It was perfectly cooked and the fillet was super tender. Large portion sizes and desert was great and also very large glad we split one and did not order two pieces of cake. Service was perfect. If our waitress was busy with another table the bus boy would come over. Our drinks were never empty, very polite and professional. We will be back! If you have never been it is an experience all of it own and worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

On this most recent visit, my husband and I were celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary. Although the restaurant can be a little pricey, it is our usual go to place for special occasions, and this visit did not disappoint. We started with an abalone appetizer, and ordered fllet mignon as well as a combination fllet mignon and lobster tail dinner which was the evenings special. Our service was exceptional, as usual, and we were treated to a piece of their famous champagne cake for dessert with a candle. it was a great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We were celebrating 2 birthdays. Helping one of the birthday ladies to get over the recent death of her husband. Everybody was so accommodating. The atmosphere is delightful. Everybody is great. The food is outstanding. We had the filet and lobster special.--at least the 3 "girls" did.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Einfach großartig...
Super....
Lecker...
Und... Kitschig. 😊 mein Highlight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

GREAT special event dining. The atmosphere is spectacular, the band and couples dancing are reminicient of eras long ago. The food was fantastic and the service definitely on-point. Soo glad we listened to a friend and celebrated my birthday dinner here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent fillet mingnon and great service. We had a great time.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Been coming for our anniversary for the past 4-5 years. The food has always been perfect. We have had the same server, Sharon, who is fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The ambiance of the place is fun, all pink, very kitsch . The meat is great, the fish not so much and overall very expensive but a good experience altogether. Apple pie and chocolate cake very big and tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The atmosphere is amazing, staff were wonderful, music was good, but the food is not good. The menu is very outdated and limited. We went with a large group and people who had steaks were not very impressed and most were cooked wrong. The rest of us who were vegan and vegetarian had some horrible overpriced food as there are hardly any vegetarian options and no vegan options. I know it is a steak house but while staying at the hotel it is a fun place to visit so we went. I really wish the food was better.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on July 21, 2017

To be honest we were treated very well and enjoyed staying at the hotel. However we were really disappointed with the food (steak), especially for the high price tag.
The decor is fabulously over the top but the band were were subjected to were pretty dire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The employees were all so wonderful they made my birthday dinner extra special. Loved loved loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We are from Seattle and have access to exceptional dining. We heard The Madonna Steak House was an iconic venue with very good food, so we thought we'd try it. The decor was eccentric, which we loved, however, sadly the food was awful. We knew it wouldn't be an extraordinary dining experience. But we didn't expect it to be as unsophisticated as it was. I couldnt help but think with a little help and a somewhat decent chef, they actually could capitalize on the kitschy ambiance by providing exceptional food. Such a funny evening and thank goodness my expectations were low and $175 for 2 on a meal that was really inedible , doesn't bother me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My sister visits me annually from L.A. area and this is our goto place. I have tried other entrees but always go back to the filet, mainly because you cook it rare, just like I want it. My sister usually has the New York strip or the prim rib. However, this time you had BBQ beef ribs on special. She could not resist them. They were huge -- she took two home -- and delicious. If they are available I might even give them a try. Of course, we had to end up with the coconut cream pie. It is always hard to decide on what dessert to select.

I have never had a bad meal in either of your restaurants and I have been going there since shortly after you opened. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Live Music, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant is supposed to be know for great steaks. Very disappointing. I have been in the food service business and I know what a quality steak is suppose to taste like. The meat was "dry" and did not taste like prime beef. Next time I will try McClintocks or Jocko's in Nipomo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fantastic destination experience. Impressive food and service. Great for everything from date night to big celebration. So much history and tradition. Super fun decor. Unforgettable!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a beautiful night at the Steakhouse. Our waiter couldn't have been more welcoming and attentive. The filet mignon was superb, and the pink champagne cake was delicious. The venue is a sight to be seen!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food! Very friendly and attentive! We will return!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Huge portions! The filets and prime rib are big enough for two to share. Great place for a birthday or anniversary. Very PINK!!!! Fun time. Great service. Good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The restaurant is so unique and different! We loved the ambiance and feeling of going back in time. The service is impeccable. The steak was delicious, but the fish dish left some to be desired. It is a bit pricy, but for a special occasion, it is fun and interesting just to sit there and look around.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We have been going here for forty-eight years and love it!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the steakhouse for dinner. The music volume was not excessive, and my family had a fun night viewing the environ and enjoyed the friendly service. The dessert/cake tray is awesome btw.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very attentive server, frequently checking on us. Gorgeous rib eye steak with real smokiness noticeable in flavor from oak wood BBQ. Not the cheapest dinner, but think of it as two. You'll take half home as leftovers!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was very good and we were definitely pampered while staying at the Madonna. This is a unique place for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.