Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy a special buffet that includes an omelet station, scrambled eggs, ham, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, French toast, au gratin potatoes, muffins, mini bagels & cream cheese, biscuits & sausage gravy, orange juice & coffee. Featuring decadent Madonna Inn cake. 28.95 adults, 21.95 children. 9-2!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy an elegant champagne brunch featuring an omelet station, crab legs, jumbo shrimp, prime rib, roast ham and turkey, as well as, bacon, fresh fruit, and world-famous Madonna Inn cakes, cobblers and desserts. Includes champagne! Offered 9am to 2pm. Adults 39.95, children 24.95

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Historic (45)
Romantic (42)
See All
Good for Birthdays (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Dancing (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Fun (32)
Live Music (30)
Worth the Drive (23)
Seasonal (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (20)
Good for Groups (17)
People Watching (16)
Cozy (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fireplace (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Scenic View (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Family Style (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (5)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Seems very dated now losing it's luster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

Really unusual restaurant great food, seeing is believing definitely worth the trip

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Unfortunately I was served the toughest $46 NY steak ever! Seriously I didn't finish it. My fault. I should have returned it. It was grilled and presented perfectly. How could a cook in a world renown restaurant not recognize a totally unacceptable piece of beef?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service at Victorias Secret dining room. Filet was lerfeft4, clarified butter was crystal clear, lobster not rubbery cooked well. Staff attentive and welcoming...rock candy stir stick for coffee was a nice touch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

This place was extremely expensive......Overpriced is not the word, more like Highway Robbery will never go back. Disappointed

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I've eaten at the coffee shop numerous times for dinner and lunch. I love the coffee shop, but this time we decided to try out the steak house. I'm a waitress, and am forgiving of service when its busy and short-staffed. However, this was the WORST SERVICE I had ever received -- by far. We sat down at 8:30pm (our reservation time) and we were not greeted by our server for 15 minutes. The manager came by after 10ish minutes and told us the server would be right with us. At my restaurant, the manager will take care of any forgotten table and get them drinks, appetizers, anything to help out the busy server. I saw him standing and talking after he approached us. Finally, once the waitress got to our table, she muttered something under her breath and then said (in a rush) "OK, what can I get you." No apology, no introduction. She did not ID me when I ordered drinks, and I am younger-looking and always get ID'd. My steak came out UNDERCOOKED (and I ordered a 50 dollar steak). Every step of her service was extremely slow -- we saw tables across from us sit down, eat and LEAVE before we got our food!!! We were there for 2.5 HOURS and could have been in and out in an hour. It was NOT busy on a Tuesday night, and I will NOT be back. Madonna Inn lost my respect and a life-long local customer. I am appalled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice restaurant that has one of a kind ambience! Food is good, but a little pricey for the quality. Good portions and there's entertainment each night. Casual dress is ok, but you could dress up too.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Dancing, Casual, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The restaurant was very nice. It had a very romantic feel. It's definitely PINK! My girlfriend loved it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant many times however the last two years that we have eaten here we have noticed a decline in the quality of the steaks and the service. The ambience is by far and away the most charming of any setting I have ever been in. However our waitress seemed a little off or odd or maybe even on something. My steak was ordered medium well and it came out medium rare. I also sent back my solid as it was not to my taste And it took a very long time to get my salad the way I wanted it it just seemed like it was off a bit the entire evening I would still return but next year when we go out there we are all actually planning to go elsewhere

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I expected more from the dinner being as how it was on the expensive side. I asked for my steak to be rare, but it was cooked medium well in some portions and purple on other. Everything else was quite mediocre. My fiance said her pasta was "good," but I believe she was being nice. She's a real forgiving person. The band was decent...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Don't come here if you are looking for high end cooking. For a $50 steak about $20 is for the actual food and the rest you are paying for the privilege to be in their restaurant. It felt like the chef hadn't changed his cooking since the 70's. I would say come here and have a beer and enjoy the amazing decor, but don't come thinking you're gonna have a meal worth $50. The steak was ok, however my girlfriend asked for medium rear and got a very tough medium well. The second steak was better. You only get 2 very average sides. The string beans were boiled within an inch of their life and the jacket potato was just a jacket potato. Don't get me wrong, for a side of the road, mom and pop steak house this place would be great, but no where near worth $50.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Server was excellent food was very good At the steakhouse. stayed in the Yosemite rock room amazing architecture very clean rooms Great ballroom band Great ambience all in all an awesome experience for our honeymoon

Tags: Fun, Dancing, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Restaurant service and live entertainment were *exceptional*. However, dinner was a big disappointment. The filet mignon ordered medium rare was plated "mooing", while $70 breaded abalone was cold and mushy. The vegetables -- Brussel sprouts and butternut squash -- were overcooked, mushy and tasteless. Though dessert was delicious, as a long time patron of the Madonna Inn, we were extraordinarily disappointed in the dinner. Alex and Phyllis Madonna would have been mortified. We will be back for the entertainment but will skip the Gold Rush Steak House until we know it has returned to its reputation as a fabulous go-to place for steaks and seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This restaurant is great to visit and to celebrate Birthdays because of the ambiance. Our steaks and prime rib dinners was not up to par, tough and over salted.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful and beautiful atmosphere! It's one of those places you have to go to at least once in your life. It's on the higher price range but even with wine dinner and dessert it was a little over a hundred so not bad for a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Should have requested a booth! Everything else was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was good but the food (aside from the bread and baked potato) was marginal at best. The steaks (at $45+) were disappointing. Mine was underdone (asked for medium and it was red/raw) and my husband's filet mignon was unexpectedly slathered in BBQ sauce (who does that??) We took all the meat home and are hoping to salvage it in a beef stroganoff or something. And, to boot, they were out of cakes by 8 pm (which was part of what we were looking forward to!). We won't return. Pretty sad dinner for $160 for two people!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

While my boyfriend loved his ribeye, my filet was just "ok". I expected to be able to cut it with a butter knife, but it was crispy on the outside and rather tough and "rubbery" on the inside. I was disappointed.

It's a pricey menu and a "steakhouse" so I'd expect my steak to be 5 stars.

The champagne cake is a must do. Their house Cabernet is a good deal at $22/bottle and we enjoyed the taste.

Overall, I'd say everyone should eat here at least once, to say you've done it. We enjoyed it, but won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Madonna Inn, always good. Great people, food, décor.....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Dancing, Authentic, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Busy evening so maybe part of the problem. Soup cold, salad had 2 cups dressing on it . Steaks were cooked incorrectly, one overcooked one under cooked. Crew cleaning up, moving tables and getting ready to close during dinner.........spoils the dinning experience a bit. Spent $150......would not go again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day with wife, she really enjoyed the service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Felt like cattle being herded for Valentine night special.....not so special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We always have dinner at the Madonna Inn when we visit SLO. It's a favorite place that we really enjoy. The New York Steak was wonderful and so was the Halibut. The dance music in the background along with the beautiful Valentine's Day decorations all around the restaurant all made for a lovely and memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The most outstanding feature of this restaurant was service. The wait staff was very attentive. Our drink glasses were always attended to without asking. The steak prices were very reasonable given that it was accompanied with soup or salad, starch, and bread.

Tags: Dancing, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This my wife and I's favorite restaraunt. Great food and and a great view. Good atmosphere for dancing as well. The prime rib is a must.

Tags: Dancing, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Family Style, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a wonderful evening full of food, conversation, and people watching! We definitely recommend to anyone!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Dancing, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really nice place. Had a great time, awesome dinner, really creative and captivating drinks, live music and dancing was a great touch. Even a free slice of cake for my wife's birthday. Definitely going to come and visit again. Very well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere. Old time, classy feel, excellent service. Such a great place for a celebration. Watching the dance floor, with many experienced dancers, was a blast. Definitely somewhere we will return.

Tags: Dancing, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent. The atmosphere was fun, menu had many choices for food, drinks and wines.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Dancing, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely beautiful place to dine and stay with impeccable service!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

What a great experience. Throughly enjoyed our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We love Madonna Inn because it has sentimental value to us - we went their 40 years ago on our honeymoon. So we revisited this past week for our 40th Anniversary. The food is nothing to brag about. We have better steaks at AJ Spurs for less $. The shrimp cocktail was $20 and just plain sad. Limp, watery shrimp - nothing compared to the shrimp cocktail you can get at Custom House in Avila Beach for $13. Vegetable was mushy snap peas. The ambiance is kitschy maximum - you don't want to miss it. Nothing much has changed in that over the past 40 years. The deliciously famous Champagne Cake for dessert doesn't disappoint - well worth a visit just for this cake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Lived on the central coast for 20 yrs and I had never been to The Madonna Inn or its steak house. We'll I've been missing out. Great service and good food. The bar was great with good seating options and stiff drinks. Attentive staff and quick service. The atmosphere is vintage but beautiful. Definitely worth a trip to eat there. The desserts are TO DIE FOR! Make sure you either save room for dessert or take some home with you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Authentic, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

the ambiance is exquisite along with the customer service; wishing food presentation and taste will be at the same level. Food was a lil bland and wish food presentation look more elegant.

Tags: Dancing, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Dancing, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was great but the food was poor. I was there to celebrate a friends bday he said his ribs were good. My daughter and I had the steak that was hard as a shoe and all of our vegetables were over cooked. We are all very disappointed. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Madonna Inn is always a treat. The atmosphere is pleasant & it's the one place that still gives you a delicious relish tray to begin your experience 😀

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very bad experience on my 3rd visit to this restaurant. After waiting 1-1/2hrs for our meal to arrive (we did not order appetizers, only entrees) my order was incomplete and served with the wrong side dish. Upon addressing the manager about the issue I was treated to a condescending tone & scolded for the way that I had ordered. At that point I was so disappointed I didn't have it in me to further announce that the steak was also served cold!! I understand that mistakes happen & can easily be rectified with proper customer service, that did not happen here. Grateful that our dessert was comped, but the attitude from the manager left a bad taste in my mouth. Not cool!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I had very poor service. I didn't get my dinner meal, forgot my dinner rolls, forgot to keep filling my drinks, also it was my birthday gave me a balloon that deflated in about two mins and didn't even ask what cake I wanted .... and the whole place had ran out of candles it was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Lovely decor and the food was very good. The 3 for 30 restaurant deal is very good value and recommended. Will do this again. Service was good. We will take friends and family there any time. Keep it up !

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.