Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (24)
Fun (22)
Historic (21)
Live Music (19)
Dancing (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
People Watching (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Family Style (10)
Cozy (9)
Fireplace (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Came for the eclectic atmosphere and supposedly great steaks however we felt the steaks were way too smoky in flavor. The cut of meat was great but the smokiness overwhelmed the natural flavor of the steak. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Special occasions here rate pink balloons at your table. Just the atmosphere alone denotes special occasion. Wish the sword fish were cooked a little longer...it looked pretty pale. Baked potato with all the fixings was good and special in its gold foil. Service was friendly and not
rushed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

It was quick to make reservations. It's the only very nice restaurant in SLO to take my father in-law for Father's Day. It is a little on the expensive side. Our waitress was very friendly and explained the menu and specials for the day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place to get a nice romantic dinner and do a little dancing

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Steak House was able to change reservation from two to three without any problem. Potato soup with green chiles was fantastic. Pork Chops and Rib Eye steak were cooked to perfection. Of course can't forget desert!! Service was great...attentive, fun and engaging. Had Swing Band performing which was really nice and entertaining . Great place to eat for any occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Going to the Madonna is always fun and special! Had the Filet Mignon and it was once again one of the best pieces of meat I've ever had (and I love steak). Great service and a unique environment

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My wife loves to return to this coastal iconic spot. The food is good and the scenery is worth the stop. While it is a bit expensive, it's perfect for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good and nice restaurant. Good steaks. One of our steaks was not cooked well. They responded wit a free Cake.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It was amazing. The food was great and the staff took great care of us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The waitress and bus girl were the most fantastic duo. Fast food service,kept drinks full always.
My family is not easy to please and they did not have one bad thing to say! We had a lot of fun and will do again soon....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Definitely over rated !!

Steak and lobster. "Fishy" lobster. Disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Such a fun and friendly place! We got engaged at the steak house 10 years ago and love to visit whenever we can!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Live Music, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I've sent my review. Very expensive for bland food. Hair in my salad, busser's excuse was "cool". Silverware is tarnished- looks dirty. Rude, loud cooks. It's known for outlandish decor, and it's that that you admire. But I think cleaning is very important. The manager said "someone's going to be fired". That's not what to tell a patron. Then he said he would follow up with me. That was 6/3. I am still waiting to hear....The review would be different if I had heard from him..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great food, excellent service & enjoyed are over all experience that evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The themed interior is very good for birthday party or valentine's day date. If you visit central California once in a few years, it is a very interesting place to drop by. Foodwise, the $50 prime rib taste meh.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This place is awesome. Don't go for the food. Go for the kitsch and creativity. Super eclectic setting. Good drinks, solid but not top-notch food. Live music and dancing. Definitely stop at the bar before or after dinner.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Awesome filet & lobster. Flavor on the abalone was great, but it was just a bit rubbery. Had a great time celebrating our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great service, awesome food. My steak was cooked perfectly and it was delicious. The pink champagne cake is my favorite dessert and it's so worth it there!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The experience was good, the food great!. However the drinks the bartender made were off.
We ordered Godmothers.

O well

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service, friendly staff, good food and music!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Steaks were tender, but I had to send my fillet back as it was underdone. The salad was the typical green salad, The baked potato was small for the price of the meal and was overwhelmed by the butter and sour cream. The veggies were pretty, colored cauliflower, but un interesting. Since it was my birthday she brought me a piece of cake, which was something I wanted anyway, so that brought the value of the meal up. We go here for special occasions
The staff was friendly and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Disappointed that nothing special happened for my husband's birthday. Was told that they had run out of cakes & we were offered small bite size cakes on the house. Not what I expected. Did the waitress forget this was a special occasion?
Fun unique place though.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place is over the top when it comes to decor. I've never seen anything like it. Food and service were top notch. I had the fillet, my wife the prime rib. Both were cooked perfectly. The Caesar salad was also great. No complaints, we had a wonderful Mothers Day dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best Mother's Day brunch I have ever had! Although it was very crowded, the staff ensured that we were taken care of and the buffet food was consistently replenished. The prime rib was exquisite and the dessert options were phenomenal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

best brunch ever. prime rib melted in your mouth crab, cakes, omelettes. none better

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Dancing, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day buffet brunch is the food event of the year that we always look forward to. Despite the large crowds, they still pull off outstanding food and service. Simply amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always fun to go back to for Mother's Day year after year. We have actually had the same hostess a couple of times and she does a fantastic job!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My girlfriend and I had an amazing time at the Gold Rush Steak house. Our food was excellent as was our service. Our server was Ashley (I apologize, I did not get her last name) and she was very sweet and kind and overall a very good server. Thank you very much for our experience. We truly enjoyed our weekend. We will definitely come back another time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was fantastic!! The food, ambiance and staff are all top notch!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Dancing, Fun, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

very slow service. Manager hostess and waiter didn't care I never plan on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Novelty restaurant that out of town friends wanted to try. Pleasant enough experience, although the food is general fare & nothing to write home about.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The waiter was exceptional and saw to our every need. Food tasted great and we had a good time...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Dancing, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Historic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Proposed to my girlfriend. Staff was very supportive and helpful. Worked out perfect! Unforgettable

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were very pleased with the whole experience with the Madonna inn . We also ate at the cafe the best !thank you all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We came to The Madonna for my mothers birthday dinner. The cake was phenomenal, but the entrees were average and priced as if I was in Manhattan. It was worth it to be in the dining room but I was expecting a bit more wow factor for the price of the food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very unusual place everyone needs to go to at least once in a lifetime. Great place for beef eaters. Not many steakhouses in this area!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter Brunch on April 16th.
It was fantastic! Fantastic food and atmosphere. Couldn't have been a better place . Entire family enjoyed it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was delightful. I even got a "Peep" in my cocktail!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.