About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: 8669431570

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
House Salad
Filet Mignon With Baked Potato
Truffle Fingerling Potatoes
Broiled Atlantic Salmon
Pumpkin Pie
Fingerling Potatoes
Dreamcicle Cocktail
Chocolate Éclair
TOP SIRLOIN STEAK
Fresh Salmon
Roast Tom Turkey
Pink Champagne Cake
Pumpkin Spice Soup
Antipasto Sampler Appetizer
Filet Mignon
Buffalo Wings
Black Forest Ca
Lamb
Grilled Eggplant
Barbacue Chicken
Fig and Goat Cheese Crostini
Holiday Cocktail
Abalone
Salmon
Filet Mignon & Lobster Tail Special
BBQ Chicken
Crostini
Black Forest Cake

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
California Central Coast
Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Steakhouse
California Central Coast
7 More
Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Service
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Special Occasion
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

special occasion (91)
romantic (74)
good for groups (42)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
notable wine list (19)
great for brunch (19)
scenic view (18)
kid-friendly (16)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for lunch (10)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful meal with friends & rela ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a wonderful meal with friends & relatives from Germany, they were so impressed with everything! They felt it was like a fairy land ! The dinner was delicious

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Jordan -server was very attentive and ma ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Jordan -server was very attentive and made sure we were OK at all times.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here in a group of 6 for a bache ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We came here in a group of 6 for a bachelorette party, and it was a great experience! Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Such a fun atmosphere, and a ton to look at which made for fun photo opportunities! They even gave us a slice of their yummy champagne cake on the house! A little pricey, but not terrible and worth it for a great experience and good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

There are very few places like The Madon ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

There are very few places like The Madonna Inn. The décor is kitsch, tacky and truly wonderful! The band was perhaps a little too loud and made conversation a touch hard. The entrees were exceptionally delicious, though over-generous, and the service was super. We were celebrating birthdays, and were made to feel special - even got a balloon and complimentary cake. I'd absolutely recommend The Gold Rush Steak House for a special occasion since the entire place makes everything special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Was our first time in the hotel/Restaura ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Was our first time in the hotel/Restaurant and the place is very interesting and unique. The restaurant is pretty, good decor and atmosphere. About food, the only complain was the salad.. I suggest them do not put the dressing for the salad on the top of the portion, please bring it on the side! We got our salad with a big portion of sauce on the top that doesn't look it nice presentation and tasty... we tried it but leave half portion... lot of sauce on the plate.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My Filet wasn't quite what I wanted. I a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My Filet wasn't quite what I wanted. I asked for Med Well and I got well done. Disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stake House at Madonna Inn was excep ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The Stake House at Madonna Inn was exceptional!! I am dairy free and they were able to accommodate me no problem! The service was amazing. The ambiance is so perfect I couldn't stop smiling! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent in all respects! The best file ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent in all respects! The best filet mignon possible!! Just order it and it arrives perfect!! Service waa outstanding despite it being a full house!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The decor is very powerful. So powerful ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The decor is very powerful. So powerful that it can either add to the experience or detract from it. In our case it was just too flamboyant. Our waitress was nice but the service was a bit slow, probably due to a week-end of College Graduations and large parties. Although the food portions were large and complete with vegetables and side dishes, we had mixed reviews in our party of seven. All in all I am sure this restaurant has it's admirers, however, it was simply too extravagant and too exaggerated for our family.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great. We had fish and steak. Both were cooked to perfection. They have a very nice wine list and beer list. The mushroom appetizers were the best I ever tasted. The decor is very pink but it is what the Madonna Inn is all about. They had live music and wit was very nice to listen to.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Lets see: the menu is way over priced.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Ordered a Rib Eye medium well. It was served rare..... They took it back but you know what that means... My wife's Filet was excellent....

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

The Madonna Steakhouse makes you feel li ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

The Madonna Steakhouse makes you feel like you are in the 1950's. Crazy pink colored booths, 50's music playing. Our server was enthusiastic, informative and very responsive. The plate of veggies, cheese and meats provided after we sat down were a pleasant surprise. Our steaks were terribly undercooked, even after being sent back to cook them further. Surprising and disappointing considering they consider themselves a steakhouse. The barbecue chicken was cooked perfectly.

food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Can't cool a steak, or make the right cake.

Dined on June 5, 2016

I preordered a surprise for my friends bridal dinner. They told me what the cake was supposed to be, but the whole thing was plain vanilla. They even forgot to bring it out, I had to ask after they brought some cheap piece of coconut cake for her. I could forgive this, but my dinner was so bad they had to refund that too. I ordered a medium filet mignon for $40 and it came out dry and burnt. My friend had the same meal with the same problem. They came back with two blood red steaks...I think it was a joke honestly. I asked for the manager and he never even came. So disappointed. Stop in to buy a goblet and skip the meal.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Romantic!

Dined on June 5, 2016

This steak house has everything you'd want for a romantic and delicious dinner. My husband and I ordered two different steaks which were cooked to perfection. The wine and ambiance were fantastic! The service was great too. I will definitely go again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Ribeye

Dined on June 4, 2016

Best night ! A little loud from the bar area. Staff did there best, to make it light. But the yuppies were in force.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great

Dined on May 31, 2016

great diner experience, best service and very good food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointed!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Booked this together with a 2 night stay for my wife's 40th birthday. Despite saying this on the reservation, no mention of her birthday, no special service and her meal was very, very poor. Did not enjoy this experience at all! I have fed this back to the hotel and no response what so ever! Rubbish.

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great for creating a spectacular memory. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great for creating a spectacular memory. The food is true to the Madonna Inn aesthetic -- it isn't trying to hop onto foodie trends, it is giving you a dining experience that has that large scale crowd-pleasing 50s-60s feel. The ambiance of this space is spectacular and the booths are intimate and luxurious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great to try just once

Dined on May 21, 2016

Personally I think it is overpriced for what it is. We were there for our anniversary and was hoping for an elegant dinner. I mean, its great to try this place once but for the price we paid, we would of rather had Tahoe Joes Steakhouse. Everyone has different taste buds, I just prefer mine the way Tahoe does their steaks. And unfortunately, after staying there a couple of days, the pink colors and the flowers just start becoming overwhelming. Maybe its time for a more modern look and still keep those colors in mind. As for service being provided, it was very pleasant! Not to mention that delicious chocolate cake they give you if you are there to celebrate something special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated mom's 80th birthday and sh ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated mom's 80th birthday and she was thrilled. Service was excellent and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Host/Hostess Wait

Dined on May 15, 2016

The main disappointment to the evening for a place that has great history and suppose to have great service was the wait at the check in. Here we had reservation we had to wait at the desk for over 20 minutes to be sat even with empty tables. The hostess did not say "it would be a few minutes and why do you not have a seat and the bar and when we are ready for you will we come and get you". And as we stood there she sat other people and was more concerned helping out a waitress that had a problem with a check. I final had to ask when we would be seated and she stated "now", but yet we still had to wait. Then finally after about another 5 or so minutes we were sat, but to our disappointment was at a table in the middle of the floor and up against a service area and path that staff used, there were a few booths open but we were not offered one. My wife was bumped a number of times by staff during our dinner.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance! We had a fantastic serv ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great ambiance! We had a fantastic server. You can count on our returning for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

let's be honest...it's all about the kit ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

let's be honest...it's all about the kitch that IS the Madonna Inn..... the food is okay....but, the service is wonderful and it's all about the fun of this California icon !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fancy and Fun

Dined on May 7, 2016

The Madonna Inn is beautiful and fancy. It is really fun to celebrate special occasions there. The service is great. Unfortunately, the food is awful every time I go there, and for $43, it would be nice to have a good steak. We keep going back because the atmosphere and ambiance is really special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

POOR, POOR MADONNA

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our family has been patronizing "Madonna" for many years and it was always a treat to be there. However, recent experiences there have not been good. We're big beef eaters and the quality/grade of beef they serve is poor. It's tough and doesn't taste good. It's really too bad, because one loves the kitschy surroundings and the always party atmosphere. This last dining experience will be my last. After the past few years of declining quality of food I finally complained about my filet mignon that was not only overdone but 'mealy' and of poor flavor, and a replacement piece of prime rib though cooked well had the same poor flavor. The servers, as always, were great, the surroundings, as always, enjoyable...alas if we'd only gone there to not dine, but just look.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Super friendly environment and extremely helpful staff. We weren't rushed and spent a while at the place. Definitely worth the money!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanting!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The ambiance is magical. The service friendly and genuine. The food was high quality. You get what you pay for! We will visit again! Thank you for a lovely experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

not the best experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

Food experience not what I remember it to be. Have eaten here before, steaks not up to par for the price. They were cooked right, but that old Madonna taste was missing. Disappointing night on my wife's birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a delight

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were there for the first time and it was my boyfriends birthday. We loved the whimsically overdone ambiance. It was so cool to look at there was a big band playing and it gave the night a lot of character. The food was fantastic! From the appetizers to the filet.. But, most of all the staff was genuinely excited to be there. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

SLOW LEARNERS KEEPING HOPE ALIVE

Dined on April 21, 2016

My family and I have eaten at the Gold rush restaurant several times over the past 20 or so years. We've watched the food quality steadily decline during this time. Regardless, we've kept the faith that it will magically improve . . . dramatically. Not happening. On April 21, 2016 we took a guest and were actually embarrassed, had to apologize. A pile of hor'd'oeuvres in a bowl topped with cheap cheese sticks started our latest experience. A pleasant waitress brought our steaks (2 of 3 basically seared instead of medium rare), and the quality was, well, mediocre at best. Our guest sawed away bravely on his sirloin but had to sacrifice about half of the portion. And the poor vegetables: I gave mine last rites. They were dry and totally limp. Yea! The baked potatoes saved the day, along with desserts. Come on folks: get the steaks right. You're a STEAK HOUSE.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique experience

Dined on April 15, 2016

This was our first visit to this quite unique and famous "inn". Our food was very good (filet and lobster, and rib eye steak) and the server (Sharon) was delightful. Lots of visual interest, to say the least. Overall it was a very pleasant and positive dining experience for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We had a wonderful experience here. Our waiter was awesome, he was funny, knowledgable and nice, he even brought an extra abalone shell so each of my daughters had one to take home. The kids menu had a variety to select from and the kids prime rib was amazing. My abalone was so tender I could cut it with a fork and my husband's lamb was really tasty. We will definitely dine here again the next time we're in town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

If you can look past the decor and I'll ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

If you can look past the decor and I'll be owns the food is actually quite good. My wife had the porch up and I had the ribeye. Both were cooked well and were exceptionally flavorful.

food3
ambience3
service5

Pretty good steaks. Wonderful waiter nam ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Pretty good steaks. Wonderful waiter named Abel.

food4
ambience5
service4

The decor is just so much fun and makes ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

The decor is just so much fun and makes it an adventure. We all enjoyed our evening in it. It was a treat the dance floor was hopping. Come hungry, large portions. Very friendly and helpful Service. So much to see and enjoy.

food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was excellent and the ser ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The atmosphere was excellent and the service was perfect. The live music was a nice bonus.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! Like nothing you have ever see ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Fabulous! Like nothing you have ever seen. Maybe you've entered another era or walked onto a Hollywood set. Great food, fantastic service, delectable desserts (make sure to save room) and live music with a dance floor! Expensive but you weren't really looking for Outback, were you? Enjoy!

food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Not the same Madonna Inn Steakhouse

Dined on March 28, 2016

The Madonna Inn Steakhouse was amazing when Alex was alive, but now its just not the same! The service is fair, the food is horrible and they are trying to be an upscale restaurant but to me they failed at it. My husband had the Ribeye steak and he said it was more like a top sirloin and not a Ribeye. I had the halibut, but I disagree it wasn't halibut it tasted like cod. The rice pilaf was salty and the grilled veggies tasted like they were pickled then put on the grill. The Cadillac margarita I had was horrible! The service felt rushed!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Good food, great service!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Good food, great service!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for Easter brunch.We had reservations,but the wait was still long. Buffet was yummy,but a little hard to maneuver through.Definitely enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.