Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Free Corkage

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Free Corkage

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage. Limit 3 bottles per reservation. Cheers!. Special valid Oct 5, 2017 - Oct 31, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Welcoming you with seasonal favorites such as Roast Duckling, Roast Tom Turkey and Baked Honey Cured Ham or classic entrees Filet Mignon, Lobster Tail or Salmon, all served with homemade soup or salad, baked potato and fresh baked dinner rolls. Shops at Madonna Inn open all day!

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Welcoming you with seasonal favorites such as Prime Rib and Baked Honey Cured Ham or classic entrees Filet Mignon, Lobster Tail , chicken, fish, or vegetarian options. All served with homemade soup or salad, baked potato and fresh baked dinner rolls. Shops at Madonna Inn open all day!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Welcoming you with seasonal favorites such as Long Island Duckling, Roast Tom Turkey and Baked Honey Cured Ham, or classic entrees: Filet Mignon, Lobster Tail, fish, chicken and vegetarian options. Served with traditional sides, or seasonal favorites. Shops at Madonna Inn open every day till late!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Dance the night away! Includes soup or salad, entrée selection, glass of champagne, and chocolate eclairs. Featured entrée options: Filet Mignon & Lobster, Prime Rib, Salmon, Spring Lamb, or Vegetarian Cannelloni. All-inclusive price $125.00 adults, $75.00 children, includes tax and gratuity.

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Romantic (34)
Fun (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Live Music (17)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
People Watching (10)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an amazing dinner at the Madonna Inn!!! We had never been to the area before and wanted to celebrate our birthdays together in a special place. The staff was fantastic and our meals were incredible! We both love filet and the special for the night was filet and lobster! We ordered 1 of the specials and the French Filet to share. The portion sizes of both meals were huge and we enjoyed our meals! I pre ordered a champagne cake to be brought to the table after dinner and it was incredible also! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent and the attentiveness of the staff was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a restaurant that should be tried at least once. The decor is very unique. Our server was wonderful her name is Roseanne . When we were walking to the restaurant someone in passing said there is going to be a band. Well it was a orcasttra playing old big band music and they were great. We were seated at a small table for two. Our server ask if we would like something to drink other than water we both had a cocktail. Then we ordered appetizers, garlic bread and Portabela mushroom fries. Garlic bread is wonderful portabela fries were good but I wouldn't order again. We both ordered salad and it came drowning in dressing and a lot of pieces were turning brown. My wife ordered buttermilk fried chicken l ordered filet cooked rare. My wife chicken was moist but lacked any flovor my fillet was three inches thick and cooked perfectly. We finished our meal with champagne cake and banana cream pie both were great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We came for a bachelorette party and we were dazzled by all the pink and the elaborate decor.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

I just wanted to say that this was the first time that my family and I have enjoyed a meal here and it was amazing. The people are very friendly and they were very attentive to our needs considering that we were a very large group. I do not remember the guy's name that was waiting our table, but he was so nice and funny. I want to give him a shout out because he made our time there very memorable. Over all, it was a really great place to have dinner there. OMG, totally recommend the PINK CLOUD! Super bomb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Lovely to watch the swing dancers who filled the floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went for a Bachelorette surprise dinner. Our waitress wasn't very friendly, the busgirl was better to us than our server. We had ordered one of the Madonna Inn Specialty cakes to be delivered after dinner as a surprise, which was noted in our reservation and no one communicated that to our server. The server tried to sell us cake and we almost had our surprise blown. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We spent our 55th anniversary having dinner at Madonna Inn. Everyone was very nice, we had a Happy Anniversary balloon attached to our table and the very best service any one could ask for! The food was delicious as well and the steaks were prepared just as we specified.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The night was very busy so the hostesses seemed a bit overwhelmed, however once we were seated the service was much better. The food is pretty over-priced for an average night and the portions are enormous, but the decor is fun! Definitely recommend for a special occasion for hotel guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The abalone was terrific but over priced the end cut of the prime rib was tough and over cooked I don't think I will be coming back

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The overall restaurant is gorgeous and beautiful. The food was just not like I remembered. It was very lack luster and so-so. I had asked that my steak be cooked well done (since I was pregnant) and they couldn't even get that right. My husband was unimpressed with the grilled halibut that was served w tartar sauce. Normally other high end restaurants we've ordered from wouldn't have served it w that sauce. And for the prices your paying which is pretty much $50-$70 a plate I would expect better quality food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Our son requested to eat here as he had heard wonderful things about it from friends. It did not disappoint. Of course the decor is the main attraction but food lived up to its reputation. Seeing older couples ballroom dancing was an added bonus. I would recommend the restaurant for special occasions!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

It is such a great place! I love coming back to this place every time!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a wonderful honeymoon dinner at the Madonna Inn, complete with balloon on our table. It was so much fun, but more importantly, the steak was perfectly cooked and very delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Live Music, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Can't beat the eclectic beauty of this hotel and restaurant. The entire dining area is shades of pink from small to huge rose flowers everywhere. The waitress was all smiles and very attentive
and accommodating, she was a 5 star. I had filet mignon, med rare +, came out well done on one end to med, still tender and tasty, huge chunk at least 2 1/2 in thick by 5. Husband had the salmon, said it was cooked perfect. Cocktail was ok. They also had a band playing were couples
were ballroom dancing. Very cute.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Awesome! Wait staff and management treated us like Royalty! Very clean and fun! Gotta check out the men's bathroom . Lol

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Sorry to say It has gone down hill since Mr. Madonna is no longer
with us, We will not be returning for a while.

The Harrington"s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The employees were lovely and the service was wonderful. However, aside from my starter salad and my daughter's Cesar salad, the food was cheaply-made and horribly bland, particularly the watery vegetables. I honestly cannot believe you could serve this food at the price point it is at (outrageously expensive for what it is). The decor is no longer a draw - it is tired and old and the place desperately needs a freshening. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our waiter was good but we noticed the busboy who served water never came back to refill our water, but was very friendly with other tables. We felt like we did something to make him mad but we don't know what.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

An old fashioned steak house with audacious decor and wonderful music and dancing. Great atmosphere. Steaks were excellent. Pink champagne cake was divine. Fantastic place in a wonderful town!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We always visit when we stay at the Inn. We look forward to the unique yet nostalgic ambience and the menu of classic fare that is always delicious. There is always room for dessert here. Our server, Sheron was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The Madonna Inn is our spot for celebration of our anniversaries. Great food and romantic decor. We make special trip each year from the north SF Bay Area to the Inn for their fantastic filet mignon dinner, great service and romantic atmosphere. It is worth the expense.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Perfection. Food was seasoned perfectly. Hot when delivered. Server had worked there 12 years and had a wealth of knowledge. Family pictures of the Madonna's added to the feeling of authenticity and warmth. Gaudy but that's the charm and the reason you go. Super clean. However, the bakery needs to up its game; more flavors, light, yes; pretty, yes; but lacked that special touch of flavor. Think cupcake wars. Kick it up a notch. Make me remember the flavor!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Due to my husband schedule we last minute went on an anniversary dinner. It was 845pm and we realized everything was closed well with a small search on google popped up this place set a reservation online for 930pm no problem got there at 910 and was seated right away! ! They had a live band going and lots of people swing/jazz dancing totally loved the atmosphere! The service was great and they took such great care of us! I cannot wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We take a family trip down the coast every yesr and by tradition eat at the Gold Rush Steakhouse. Service is always great and the ambiance is kitschy fun. The steaks were barbecued perfectly and were tender and had a nice smokiness. They aren't cheap but the portions are large. The vegetables were pretty ordinary though. And their cakes for dessert are outstanding. Top it off with a cocktail and glass of wine and I left satisfied

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very expensive, but for a special occasion, worth the financial massacre .The meal was spectacular. The Abelone appitiser was unique And delicious,but at about $26 for two 2 inch diameter pieces, horrendously expensive, especially since they were raised locally in Cayucos. The most outrageous charge was $3 EXTRA FOR OLIVES in my Grey Goose martini. The filet mignon and the lobster tail was the best we have ever had. With a tab in excess of $200.00, my wallet appreciates that wedding anniversaries come only once a year ! Also, my wife said the downstairs womens' restroom was FILTHY. That is UNACCEPTABLE.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best and biggest prime rib ever! Champagne cake also delicious. The rest of the meal was so so.
Mashed potatoes had no salt and veggies average. Would I go again, yes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Even though it was a busy Saturday night we were treated special. We were seated immediately. Reservations are a must. The waitress was attentive. Food came promptly and the steak was absolutely delicious. Not an every day restaurant. It's a little pricey. But for a special event or entertaining out-of-town guests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat here with delicious food & a great selection of Central Calif wines.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went to dinner with friends from Germany. As always, it is a real treat with the unique atmospher and, of course, the waterfall urina. Had great service with great food to top off a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The steak was the best I had ever ordered. We had the Filet mignon and New York. Both were excellent choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I had the best filet mignon i had ever tasted and my Lobster was cooked to perfection! I usually don't order the lobster because it's always over cooked at most places. I loved it here at Madonna inn! We were celebrating my daughters 17th birthday last sunday! I was not disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have been many times and the food and atmosphere are always great. This was the first time we have ever had a poor server. He was definitely not the type of server we expect at a fine dining restaurant. He was inattentive and would do much better in a casual coffee shop diner. When I go to order abalone and lobster at $70+ per plate, I expect tip top service. We will go again as we have been many times and all other servers were top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food in a fun surroundings. Steaks are huge. Being your appetite or share with a friend. Even the fillet is 11 oz. worth the trip by itself. Try to save room for cake. They are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Had the fillet meinon with lobster tail. Sorry no picture of main course, I did not want to put my fork down to take a picture. 😁 It was perfectly cooked and the fillet was super tender. Large portion sizes and desert was great and also very large glad we split one and did not order two pieces of cake. Service was perfect. If our waitress was busy with another table the bus boy would come over. Our drinks were never empty, very polite and professional. We will be back! If you have never been it is an experience all of it own and worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

On this most recent visit, my husband and I were celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary. Although the restaurant can be a little pricey, it is our usual go to place for special occasions, and this visit did not disappoint. We started with an abalone appetizer, and ordered fllet mignon as well as a combination fllet mignon and lobster tail dinner which was the evenings special. Our service was exceptional, as usual, and we were treated to a piece of their famous champagne cake for dessert with a candle. it was a great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We were celebrating 2 birthdays. Helping one of the birthday ladies to get over the recent death of her husband. Everybody was so accommodating. The atmosphere is delightful. Everybody is great. The food is outstanding. We had the filet and lobster special.--at least the 3 "girls" did.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Einfach großartig...
Super....
Lecker...
Und... Kitschig. 😊 mein Highlight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

GREAT special event dining. The atmosphere is spectacular, the band and couples dancing are reminicient of eras long ago. The food was fantastic and the service definitely on-point. Soo glad we listened to a friend and celebrated my birthday dinner here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent fillet mingnon and great service. We had a great time.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.