Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today
Special offers available. See details

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

4.2
1834 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 5pm to 10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 543-3000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jacqui Hanover
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Champagne Brunch in the Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House. Enjoy carved meats, crab legs, shrimp, an omelet station, fresh baked breads and cakes. All the Shops at Madonna Inn open to hotel guests and day visitors.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 1834 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed a lovely birthday dinner, they gifted me with a slice of their famous champagne cake and a ballon. Overall a very nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We don’t eat steak often but when we do one can’t beat your steak house. Staff appeared very professional but not overwhelming.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 4 days ago

Horrible food for the outrageous prices. The only thing worth it was the cake. We will never return to Madonna Inn for dinner. Veggies consisted of frozen peas, bbq chicken was awful smothered in BBQ sauce no oak flavor at all. My husband's food the half lobster and fillet steak was uneventful and his rice had more variety of veggies than my dish. Very disappointed

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

NY Steak undercooked, Rib Eye was good, vegetables must have been from a can- slimey, no flavor and not fresh. Way too expensive for the quality of food you receive. The Madonna Inn wine was not the best either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Really unusual decor-cherubs and there is a hanging little girl and lots of lights and a staircase from Hearst Castle. Men’s bathroom is wild with waterfall as part of urinal. Food very good- known for steaks since on a ranch. Deserts excellent as is the service. Memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

One of the best meals I’ve ever had!! Great food! We were there to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We were given a discount because it was our anniversary. Great food and great service!! Would highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

What an amazing dinner! My daughter and I celebrated her sweet 16th birthday here! We were on a long road trip together and accidentally found this restaurant and the Madonna Hotel online. Thank goodness we made reservations so we didn't miss this! Ask for Jamie, she was amazing! She provided the best and friendliest service we had on our entire trip! The food was fantastic! I had steak and my daughter had the bbq chicken. I highly recommend the garlic cheese bread too! The ambiance is truly amazing and it all made for an incredible memory. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

One of a kind unique eccentric restaurant!! Portions were huge and prices were very reasonable.
Service is great food with great food, especially for meat lovers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

My 12 year old daughter and I stayed at the Madonna Inn during her Spring Break on our way to visit friends in Irvine.
We of course had to dine in the famous pink dining room.
We each had the filet mignon and it was melt in your mouth fabulous!
Our server was absolutely amazing and attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great ambiance as always. I wished they had more of an extensive brunch for Easter. A waffle station would be great and turkey or chicken sausage. Also roast beef or lamb sliced. Shrimp or crab legs would also be a great addition. More desserts offered as well. It's a pretty skimpy Buffett and you still have to pay out of pocket for champagne. I would prefer to up the price $5 More and add additional items including champagne.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had such a nice time on Easter there. Staff friendly, food good, and the Peep-tini's made for smiles.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We were pretty bummed out, the menu they had posted online for the buffet food was not accurate. They posted saying the buffet included prime rib, frittatas, brie and numerous other items that weren't included. It felt more like a decent hotels nice continental breakfast, especially for $30. It was nice for larger parties but the 14 of us probably would have gone elsewhere knowing what the menu offered.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

we celebrated Easter Brunch at Madonna Inn this year. I was disappointed at the quality of the food, although it was plentiful. Choices of breakfast cuisine was limited, the scrambled eggs were luke warm, and the cheese potatoes (the only ones they had available) were barely warm. Heat lights are definitely needed along with choices not normally seen at any continental breakfast at any Hotel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Easter brunch!! Great service and staff. We really enjoyed and will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Steaks we're either way undercooked or overcooked. Very expensive mistake.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Offered a free dessert for poor service and then forgot to bring dessert and also charged for it on check.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2018

I had requested in writing for cake to be delivered to the table. It was a birthday dinner. I noticed 7 birthday balloons around the dining room. Ours was not one of them. Cake slices with candles were delivered to every table but ours. The Tri-Tip salad was disgusting with old over cooked meat. Service was super slow. A lot of waiting around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 26, 2018

After indicating, during the initial reservation, that it was our Anniversary, we assumed that we would be treated accordingly. Unfortunately that was not the case. The hostess had an attitude from the outset. We did mention to our server that it was our anniversary & he brought us a balloon while we were eating our dinner as well as a slice of cake afterwards. I do wonder if I called to reserve instead of using “Open Table” that they would have known it was our anniversary without having to say something.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Staff was friendly and efficient. Food was just ok. Expected much better for the prices being charged. Disappointed they didn’t acknowledge my husband’s 60th birthday. I had noted this special occasion when I made the reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Kitsch. Novel. Excellent. Really, something other entirely. Once you let go and embrace the ambiance, you'll never feel more pampered and overfed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We had the prime rib. It was prepared perfectly. Thick slice and generous serving - for us it could have served 2 people. Definitely worth the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The Gold Rush Steakhouse at the Madonna Inn is always a treat. Great food and great service, topped off with the Madonna Inn’s fun and unique decor/ambiance. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2018

The Madonna Inn was as crazy, tacky and brightly coloured as I expected, so I wasn't disappointed. The staff too were a delight. However, the food was godawful and ridiculously over-priced. Go for one meal to enjoy the decor and atmosphere, but once will be enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Gold Rush Restaurant was excellent. We both had the special that night, which was 11 oz Filet Mignon & 1/2 Lobster tail and green beans, salad, bake potatoe and a Bottle of Madonna Wine. Excellent! Excellent! The steak was cooked to perfection! It had to be dry-aged, it was so tender and tasty! The lobster was sweet and so delicious! We were so pleased by our experience at the Gold Rush that we will be coming back with our family and friends really soon. The service was really great; we spoke with our Waitress who was really friendly and our bus boy who not only kept up with our table, he too stopped and talked with us to make sure all was going well. And towards the end of our meal the Gold Rush Manager managed to stop by and check on us and visited with us. It was a true memorable experience at the Gold Rush and also staying at the Madonna Inn. Thank you all for a night to remember!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Maybe it is just us, but we have been told that this is the best steakhouse in San Luis Obispo. It could also be the way they prepare their steaks – apparently barbecued over a fire? Usually that is the best way, however, we were disappointed in the outcome.
From our perspective, this is a place that you definitely want to see because it is so unusual in terms of ambience. In terms of steak, not so much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Always a great place to eat with first class service. I had the usual excellent steak. The lady had the stuffed portabello mushroom entrée which I believe was a special. She reported that they were superb. It's not an inexpensive place, but there is no place like it, décor-wise, anywhere in the county. No place even close.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We took our daughter to celebrate her 21st birthday. The food was outstanding. My daughter and I had the Swordfish and my wife had the Filet. All were cooked perfectly. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. Will come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Classic steakhouse in an amazing setting. Madonna Inn is beautiful and the decorations can be a bit over the top but that makes it all the more fun. Service is ALWAYS outstanding from the host, wait staff, bus people and the manager. My wife and I both ordered the NY Steak, ( $41 ) sounds a bit pricey BUT it came with a nice relish tray, nice size dinner salad ( with chilled fork ), at least a 16 oz. steak perfectly cooked over a wood fired grill plus baked potato and suger snap peas. They only charge $15 corkage so the entire dinner with my wine was $122. including tax and tip. Oh and to top it off, on the other side of the restautant was a live 4 piece band playing classics and a large dance floor. We stopped and danced a couple songs. Delightful evening !! We even shopped at a couple nice ladies dress shops on the second floor that were open until 9 PM.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Love the Madonna Inn and this landmark restaurant! Fun seasonal decor & friendly staff. Some dishes are better than others but my lobster tail was perfection & the desserts are not to be missed! The nightly live music brings out the charming locals and it feels like a throwback to a different time :) We will most definitely return to the Gold Rush Steakhouse on a future trip to the Inn!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

It was an off night. We were celebrating an anniversary and got a happy birthday balloon. Ordered the French filet medium which was served rare...peas were mushy. My husband had chocolate cake and was sicker than a dog within a few hours. Usually we enjoy this place but this was an off night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

I love this place so much! So much love went into building the Madonna Inn, you can feel it. A very special place. Perfect for birthdays! They do everything, a pink balloon, cake, the gift shop will even wrap gifts for you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Classic motor lodge, but with a really fine restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

great atmosphere great dinner beautiful scenery had the greatest time celebrating anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

We visited the restaurant while staying at the Madonna Inn, and unfortunately based on several YELP reviews was a bit hesitant. I am pleased to say we had an outstanding experience. Our Server Jamie was excellent, friendly and helpful, she was available without being annoyingly overbearing. We thought the food was delicious, not innovative or awe inspiring but well prepared. The atmosphere was just fun, over-the-top tacky, just exactly as advertised. It was a fun night we would definitely go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The ambience was crazy but the food and service were amazing! I went for my birthday and it was a great choice. I’d recommend it to others!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Met our daughter’s in-laws for dinner to celebrate becoming grandparents. We picked the steakhouse, obviously because we wanted a steak. I ordered the regular filet mignon dinner. The salad was simple with blue cheese dressing that could have used more blue cheese chunks, a baked potatoe that was perfect, green beans & the filet. The green beans or the filet had a bacon/smoked odor to them. The filet had a tough, dry exterior although the inside showed that it was cooked to the proper medium rare. I only ate a few bites of the steak, it was just too tough & dry. The next day I awoke with a migraine which means there were preservatives used (MSG/sodium nitrate or nitrate /sodium phosphate) in the salad dressing or as a seasoning on the beans &/or steak. Disappointed with the food but the service (Jamie) was TOP NOTCH.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

What a pleasant surprise! My husband and I had the BEST TIME EVER, eating and dancing with a live old fashioned band. The atmosphere was hard to describe - best to look at the pictures online. We plan to come back soon! So much fun....what a memorable evening :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We were visiting this restaurant for the last 15 years. I was recommending this place to all my friends and relatives. However, this time I was very disappointed. If Gold Rush Steak House want to be a high class restaurant they should install a water filter because it is not acceptable to give tap chlorine water to customers. I hope they can change this in a nearest future. Prices are ridiculously high for this food quality. We weren’t able to eat prime ribs, lamb was ok, bbq chicken was mostly bonds nothing to eat, their fish was very smelly. Green beans were added , they were nasty. No one touched them. Dear management please improve your quality. I really missed old times in Madonna Inn.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We dined here on a Thursday night recently and ordered the Prime Rib. We were seated quickly and had an very nice, friendly waitress. The Prime Rib was a gray blob of meat with no flavor - we had asked for Medium but this looked like it had been cooked some time earlier in the day and then microwaved. No pink anywhere and tougher than shoe leather. As we were about to say something to our waitress, the lights went out and she screamed like she had been stabbed. The lights came back on and a large man literally ran through the restaurant screaming "I touched the wrong switch. I touched the wrong switch." with the young girls in reception shrieking. Our waitress came over literally shaking and babbling about the bad things that happen when the lights go out. We realized we were in a clown show and paid our bill and left. Would not recommend this place ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

What a unique place. So kitschy and fun! The food was FANTASTIC! Will definitely be back whenever we are in the area again

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
46

Tweets by Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn