About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

House Salad - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Truffle Fingerling Potatoes - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Broiled Atlantic Salmon - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Filet Mignon With Baked Potato - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Pumpkin Pie - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Dreamcicle Cocktail - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Fingerling Potatoes - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Chocolate Éclair - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Roast Tom Turkey - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Pink Champagne Cake - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Antipasto Sampler Appetizer - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Pumpkin Spice Soup - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Filet Mignon - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Buffalo Wings - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Holiday Cocktail - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Lamb - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Abalone - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Fresh Salmon - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Grilled Eggplant - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Filet Mignon & Lobster Tail Special - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Black Forest Ca - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
TOP SIRLOIN STEAK - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Barbacue Chicken - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Black Forest Cake - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
BBQ Chicken - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Fig and Goat Cheese Crostini - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Crostini - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Salmon - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Feb 2, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Feb 2, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $30.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Appetizer, Soup or Salad, choice of Top Sirloin, Salmon or Beef Ribs, & dessert. Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Feb 2, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Day with a Filet & 1/2 Lobster dinner, $69.95, or Prime Rib dinner, $39.95, and a $10 house wine flight, or $8 cocktail special! Surprise your Valentine with Roses, Chocolates or other VD gifts delivered to your table. Contact Madonna Inn to order.

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Historic (48)
Good for Birthdays (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Fun (38)
Good for a Date (37)
Romantic (36)
Dancing (31)
Worth the Drive (27)
Seasonal (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Live Music (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Authentic (19)
People Watching (17)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Fireplace (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Family Style (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Scenic View (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (2)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time we have been hear and the st ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Second time we have been hear and the steaks were under cooked and small for the price. Abalone was small and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We've been here a few times and had much ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been here a few times and had much better. Our visit this time the Service was great, But we didn't find the food to be all that great. The salad was so so, the Baked Potato was smothered in sour cream, more sour cream than potato. And although our steaks were cooked great they were lacking flavor. It just didn't have that Wow factor, we wanted to go away saying that meal was delicious 😋 But it wasn't so much. Somewhat Disappointed as we brought friends who had driven 4 hrs and had never been before, we wanted them to love the whole experience.😳

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A MUST GO TO!!! Absolutely worth any dr ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A MUST GO TO!!! Absolutely worth any drive, price, occasion, group, etc. a price of time you MUST experience. And very comfortable seating!

Tags: Comfort Food, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Cozy, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Waterfront, Fireplace, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've had Ashlee serve us twice and she' ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We've had Ashlee serve us twice and she's a phenomenal server! The Alex Madonna Goldrush Steakhouse is now my go-to-place for a special dinner. Thanks Ashlee!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak is worth going out of your way ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The steak is worth going out of your way for. For restaurant month we shared a meal and one was enough. Don't miss this place!!

Tags: Romantic, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I rated the way I did because the food w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I rated the way I did because the food was phenomenal, the atmosphere was elegant as well as entertaining in itself, but our server Jamie was somewhat disingenuous. The way she asked us questions about how we wanted our meal prepared; she worded it differently to patrons who were seated nearby who you could definitely tell had money (we ordered the restraunt month special) . Jamie was attentive but we felt like we were treated like second class. Lastly I did not like the port I was served at the end of the meal and she refused my husband to take it off the bill. I only took two sips of it.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

As a local, I do like visiting the Madon ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As a local, I do like visiting the Madonna Inn, especially during the holidays. Always over-the-top decorations. I usually eat at the coffee shop (really good coffee btw) and enjoy their desserts. This time I met friends at the steakhouse. Mediocre steak, great baked potato. Had to send back the Bloody Mary because it had a funky smokey taste. I recommend visiting...but stick to the coffee shop/bakery!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I went here for the new years dinner, I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I went here for the new years dinner, I loved the food!

The way their New Years Dinner was set up was close quarters to many tables around us. They tried to get as many people into a small area as possible. It was a section away from where the normal steak house reservations were. The price we paid included gratuity and taxes, drinks from the bar were on a separate bill. Only thing that I did not like was that the menu & price stated we would get champagne and none was ever brought out to us or offered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointed with cost of New Years dinn ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Disappointed with cost of New Years dinner. Any one could have come to New Years celebration, dinners weren't treated special! Upstairs should have had more activities, New year photos, something! We should have had more for the New Years cost.

Balloon drop was fun but maybe more welcomes, excitement over speakers. Maybe new year prizes. Should have been more.

Thank you for trying but wouldn't spend that much money on that again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We made our reservation just as soon as ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We made our reservation just as soon as they started taking them. We confirmed the reservation. We had our hearts set on abalone. Imagine our surprise when we saw the evening's menu and price tag!!! We have been dining at the Madonna Inn for different celebrations and because we come down to visit family, for about 43 years. This will give us pause and certainly ask in advance. Ashley, our server, was a doll. Could not have asked for anyone better!! Thank you, Ashley, Hugs to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed New Years Eve at t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed New Years Eve at the Gold Rush Steakhouse! It was so festive!! We had heard the food was just okay; it was fabulous! We had been to Ruth's Chris twice recently, and my husband raved that his French filet mignon was better than Ruth's! My filet and lobster was amazing. Too much food to finish. The price tag as expensive; perhaps a bit too pricey for what we got. Regardless, it was New Years and we had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious and so much fun. Loved the liv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious and so much fun. Loved the live music and dancing! Large food portions

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I have eaten her ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is the second time I have eaten here for dinner. Considering the amount of food you receive, I didn't think the price was too bad. The lobster is to die for...succulent, sweet and melt in your mouth. It is so tender. Yes, some may consider it pricey, however, you receive a 12-16 oz. tail of total deliciousness! I highly recommend it for any fine, dining experience plus there is the added pleasure of live music for dancing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was really cute. I loved the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This place was really cute. I loved the pink and gold dining couches and they had vegan options which is great for a steak house. Picked up some cute souvenirs on the way out too. Great house wine.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a fun place to eat when you're s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a fun place to eat when you're staying at the Madonna Inn or nearby. The ribeye steak and barbecued chicken were yummy. We were told sometime after we ordered that the chicken would take 30 minutes, but it didn't take that long. One mixed drink was served over ice and very weak; when we mentioned it, the server said it was the standard recipe, but she gave us a free dessert (great chocolate cake) to make up for it. There's live music and a dance floor too. Excellent service overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time at The Madonna Inn ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was our first time at The Madonna Inn and the filet was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is something else! The decor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This place is something else! The decor and the atmosphere - you just can't make this up! The food was delish! The steak was amazing and the sides that it comes with were main stars too! Took home a slice toffee crunch cake and now i wish i ordered the whole cake!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great, but the food wasn ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was great, but the food wasn't the best. Y plate came out cold, and our server immediately took care of it, but my boyfriends steak was overdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Loved the Christmas decorations, but it ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Loved the Christmas decorations, but it would have been nice if Christmas music was playing. Instead it was loud and felt like a diner. Also, both my son and I got the turkey dinner, and while mine was $15 more, his serving was much larger. Seemed odd and overpriced.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Bit if a disappointment for a holiday di ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Bit if a disappointment for a holiday dinner. Seemed like more of a cafeteria type salad potatoes and vegetable. Rolls were hard. We are locals so been here many times. Nothing special and was $140 for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Soup was bland, duck was overcooked, ham ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Soup was bland, duck was overcooked, ham very good, potatoes were not. Service okay - I was halfway through entree before I got my wine.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Have been to Madonna Inn numerous times ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Have been to Madonna Inn numerous times and have always been happy; had hoped to take my mom there for Christmas for a special dinner as she is wheelchair bound; unfortunately, it was way too noisy; way too crowded; food was marginal; the menu gave us choices that weren't given us when we ordered (wanted mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes , were told could only have baked potato); service and staff were wonderful; were never told that they opened up the entire restaurant, we sat on the dance floor so mom never really got to enjoy the decorations (the reason I wanted to bring her in the first place); way overpriced; will return for a special meal but never again on Christmas or any holiday. No where close to the hype or how I remembered it in prior visits.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Historic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Went for our Christmas dinner and food w ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went for our Christmas dinner and food was excellent! We both had the fillet mignon and it was cooked to perfection!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was nice to be back enjoying Christma ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was nice to be back enjoying Christmas here. My soup and dinner was Luke warm and had to be returned to be heated. I would have liked my dinner to have been larger, it was adequate portion just not quite enough. The bread rolls were not good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved it! The perfect end to Christm ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We loved it! The perfect end to Christmas festivities 😊

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Small portions for the $40 Christmas pri ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Small portions for the $40 Christmas price. SALTY mashed potatoes, one little scoop. Server didn't really pay us any special attention, I had to ask our water guy for the salad my daughter ordered. However, she did bring us two additional (small) sides of sweet potatoes, because we weren't asked what kind of side we wanted upon ordering. We didn't leave hungry, but...All in all? While I am grateful you were open for our family on Christmas, I didn't feel like it was better than Apple Farm, where we went last year. Our bill was over $200, I didn't feel a great sense of value. But we appreciate you being open. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

It was our Christmas dinner and it was w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was our Christmas dinner and it was wonderful---excellent food, excellent service and festive surroundings. We loved it!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

So much fun. And good food! Nice wine li ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

So much fun. And good food! Nice wine list, good meats. The staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were disappointed on Christmas eve th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were disappointed on Christmas eve that we were seated on the dance floor. I know it was very crowded that night, but, eating in that area is more like a cafeteria atmosphere as opposed to the cozy booths and beautifully decorated in the regular dining area.

It was extremely loud in that room, and no way compared to the usual fine dining experience at the Madonna Inn.

AGAIN, I realize it was a crowded night. The staff did a wonderful job, and did their best to make it a pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Seated in the ballroom. Very loud. Food ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Seated in the ballroom. Very loud. Food was good, as was the service. Definitely not a regular dinner location, perhaps an occasion trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great food and service. Glass of Pinot ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and service. Glass of Pinot Gris wine cost $10.50 which I feel is way too expensive. Seated in a busy area where the servers carried food trays inches from head, other than that good restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The decorations are so extreme as to alm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The decorations are so extreme as to almost be a caricature of a restaurant. It was a Thursday night, and the restaurant was crowded. Although the waiter was pleasant, the service was very slow. I had the NY steak and my son had the filet. Neither of us finished our steak because they just weren't very tasty. The restaurant does seem like a nice place for kids, with the funky decorations, unusual bathroom décor and other kid friendly stuff.

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great to visit the Gold Rush Steak House ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great to visit the Gold Rush Steak House especially at Christmas time. Dining amid the beautiful Christmas decorations was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Dancing, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Food was in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Food was incredible, views were breathtaking, room was magical! Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You need to visit once in your life. Ov ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 21, 2016

You need to visit once in your life. Over sized portions, good quality food and great staff. A traditional atmosphere in an amazingly decorated environment!

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was mine and my girlfriends first t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was mine and my girlfriends first time here, I brought her here for her 27th birthday, and she had an absolute blast. Everything was Amazing and creatively done. Above all, the service was impeccable. Thank you again for making our stay as perfect as it could be, we will surely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We come here every Christmas to go to a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We come here every Christmas to go to a festive place with good food. Our waitress was outstanding and attentive. The only complaint was that I had was the halibut was really dry. I realize that that happens with halibut frequently. My salad was fabulous. My dinner companions likes their meals. One couple split their dinner and they both received full meals and only had to pay a split charge which was a great value. I don't know if it was a mistake or not. It is the place to go for Christmas. The decorations are fabulous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Historic, Romantic, Dancing, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Living in San Luis Obispo, it's sometime ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Living in San Luis Obispo, it's sometimes easy to forget how much of a gem the Madonna Inn Steakhouse is. The food is always good, the steaks superb and the atmopshere around Christmas is festive with all the decorations. My family and I have made a habit of going to the Inn at Christmas. This year was perhaps the best ever. We had a lovely waitress, and the food was even better than before. With some live music and dancing going on ( we didnt participate) it was a nice way to celebrate Christmas. In fact, the only downside was the rather loud and obnoxious party of people next to us at another table, but not much anyone can do about that! I suppose they were just also having fun.

Not inexpensive, but its a nice treat! I only wish the Copper Cafe had such prompt service and delicious food since it shares the same kitchen as the steakhouse.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the atmosphere ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was great and the atmosphere electric on a Saturday night. They have a live band playing big band music and a dancefloor that gets a lot of use. It was great having dinner and watching people get up to cut a rug. The steak was amazing. I LOVE the oak fire they use to cook over, it adds such a great flavor. I will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time around...A business Christmas ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This time around...A business Christmas party dinner. Very nice seasonal atmosphere. Been here a few times, but usually on certain occasions. The food and wine were all great. The service great. Always enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.