About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: 8669431570

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
California Central Coast
Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Steakhouse
California Central Coast
7 More
Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Service
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Special Occasion
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

special occasion (101)
romantic (82)
good for groups (42)
See All
neighborhood gem (31)
fit for foodies (26)
scenic view (24)
notable wine list (21)
great for brunch (19)
kid-friendly (18)
vibrant bar scene (13)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great for creating a spectacular memory. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great for creating a spectacular memory. The food is true to the Madonna Inn aesthetic -- it isn't trying to hop onto foodie trends, it is giving you a dining experience that has that large scale crowd-pleasing 50s-60s feel. The ambiance of this space is spectacular and the booths are intimate and luxurious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great to try just once

Dined on May 21, 2016

Personally I think it is overpriced for what it is. We were there for our anniversary and was hoping for an elegant dinner. I mean, its great to try this place once but for the price we paid, we would of rather had Tahoe Joes Steakhouse. Everyone has different taste buds, I just prefer mine the way Tahoe does their steaks. And unfortunately, after staying there a couple of days, the pink colors and the flowers just start becoming overwhelming. Maybe its time for a more modern look and still keep those colors in mind. As for service being provided, it was very pleasant! Not to mention that delicious chocolate cake they give you if you are there to celebrate something special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated mom's 80th birthday and sh ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated mom's 80th birthday and she was thrilled. Service was excellent and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Host/Hostess Wait

Dined on May 15, 2016

The main disappointment to the evening for a place that has great history and suppose to have great service was the wait at the check in. Here we had reservation we had to wait at the desk for over 20 minutes to be sat even with empty tables. The hostess did not say "it would be a few minutes and why do you not have a seat and the bar and when we are ready for you will we come and get you". And as we stood there she sat other people and was more concerned helping out a waitress that had a problem with a check. I final had to ask when we would be seated and she stated "now", but yet we still had to wait. Then finally after about another 5 or so minutes we were sat, but to our disappointment was at a table in the middle of the floor and up against a service area and path that staff used, there were a few booths open but we were not offered one. My wife was bumped a number of times by staff during our dinner.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance! We had a fantastic serv ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great ambiance! We had a fantastic server. You can count on our returning for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

let's be honest...it's all about the kit ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

let's be honest...it's all about the kitch that IS the Madonna Inn..... the food is okay....but, the service is wonderful and it's all about the fun of this California icon !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fancy and Fun

Dined on May 7, 2016

The Madonna Inn is beautiful and fancy. It is really fun to celebrate special occasions there. The service is great. Unfortunately, the food is awful every time I go there, and for $43, it would be nice to have a good steak. We keep going back because the atmosphere and ambiance is really special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

POOR, POOR MADONNA

Dined on May 5, 2016

Our family has been patronizing "Madonna" for many years and it was always a treat to be there. However, recent experiences there have not been good. We're big beef eaters and the quality/grade of beef they serve is poor. It's tough and doesn't taste good. It's really too bad, because one loves the kitschy surroundings and the always party atmosphere. This last dining experience will be my last. After the past few years of declining quality of food I finally complained about my filet mignon that was not only overdone but 'mealy' and of poor flavor, and a replacement piece of prime rib though cooked well had the same poor flavor. The servers, as always, were great, the surroundings, as always, enjoyable...alas if we'd only gone there to not dine, but just look.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Super friendly environment and extremely helpful staff. We weren't rushed and spent a while at the place. Definitely worth the money!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanting!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The ambiance is magical. The service friendly and genuine. The food was high quality. You get what you pay for! We will visit again! Thank you for a lovely experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

not the best experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

Food experience not what I remember it to be. Have eaten here before, steaks not up to par for the price. They were cooked right, but that old Madonna taste was missing. Disappointing night on my wife's birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a delight

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were there for the first time and it was my boyfriends birthday. We loved the whimsically overdone ambiance. It was so cool to look at there was a big band playing and it gave the night a lot of character. The food was fantastic! From the appetizers to the filet.. But, most of all the staff was genuinely excited to be there. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

SLOW LEARNERS KEEPING HOPE ALIVE

Dined on April 21, 2016

My family and I have eaten at the Gold rush restaurant several times over the past 20 or so years. We've watched the food quality steadily decline during this time. Regardless, we've kept the faith that it will magically improve . . . dramatically. Not happening. On April 21, 2016 we took a guest and were actually embarrassed, had to apologize. A pile of hor'd'oeuvres in a bowl topped with cheap cheese sticks started our latest experience. A pleasant waitress brought our steaks (2 of 3 basically seared instead of medium rare), and the quality was, well, mediocre at best. Our guest sawed away bravely on his sirloin but had to sacrifice about half of the portion. And the poor vegetables: I gave mine last rites. They were dry and totally limp. Yea! The baked potatoes saved the day, along with desserts. Come on folks: get the steaks right. You're a STEAK HOUSE.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique experience

Dined on April 15, 2016

This was our first visit to this quite unique and famous "inn". Our food was very good (filet and lobster, and rib eye steak) and the server (Sharon) was delightful. Lots of visual interest, to say the least. Overall it was a very pleasant and positive dining experience for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We had a wonderful experience here. Our waiter was awesome, he was funny, knowledgable and nice, he even brought an extra abalone shell so each of my daughters had one to take home. The kids menu had a variety to select from and the kids prime rib was amazing. My abalone was so tender I could cut it with a fork and my husband's lamb was really tasty. We will definitely dine here again the next time we're in town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

If you can look past the decor and I'll ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

If you can look past the decor and I'll be owns the food is actually quite good. My wife had the porch up and I had the ribeye. Both were cooked well and were exceptionally flavorful.

food3
ambience3
service5

Pretty good steaks. Wonderful waiter nam ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Pretty good steaks. Wonderful waiter named Abel.

food4
ambience5
service4

The decor is just so much fun and makes ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

The decor is just so much fun and makes it an adventure. We all enjoyed our evening in it. It was a treat the dance floor was hopping. Come hungry, large portions. Very friendly and helpful Service. So much to see and enjoy.

food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was excellent and the ser ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The atmosphere was excellent and the service was perfect. The live music was a nice bonus.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! Like nothing you have ever see ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Fabulous! Like nothing you have ever seen. Maybe you've entered another era or walked onto a Hollywood set. Great food, fantastic service, delectable desserts (make sure to save room) and live music with a dance floor! Expensive but you weren't really looking for Outback, were you? Enjoy!

food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Not the same Madonna Inn Steakhouse

Dined on March 28, 2016

The Madonna Inn Steakhouse was amazing when Alex was alive, but now its just not the same! The service is fair, the food is horrible and they are trying to be an upscale restaurant but to me they failed at it. My husband had the Ribeye steak and he said it was more like a top sirloin and not a Ribeye. I had the halibut, but I disagree it wasn't halibut it tasted like cod. The rice pilaf was salty and the grilled veggies tasted like they were pickled then put on the grill. The Cadillac margarita I had was horrible! The service felt rushed!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Good food, great service!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Good food, great service!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for Easter brunch.We had reservations,but the wait was still long. Buffet was yummy,but a little hard to maneuver through.Definitely enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Over priced

Dined on March 27, 2016

The quantity of items was very small and for a special occasion brunch there was no prime rib or seafood item.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch at the Madonna Inn

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food and the service were fantastic! Our family thoroughly enjoyed our Easter Brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

the food was outstanding and quite a large variety of food items for breakfast. it would have been nice if an assortment of cheeses and more bread items were on the menu. overall, quite delicious and waitress was excellent

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast Buffet

Dined on March 27, 2016

Came in for the Breakfast Buffet for the first time...it was delicious! My husband and I enjoyed it immensely. Lots of variety. We would do this again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

The restaurant was decorated beautifully for the Easter holiday and our waitress was kind and attentive. Everything about our experience was great. My only suggestion was that Alex Madonna's gold Rush Steak House and neighboring Cafe are known for their delicious desserts. They only had 3 small desserts available at the brunch and they almost seemed store bought. We wish they had more of their homemade dessert options that we know they serve there.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

We hadn't eaten at the Madonna Inn's restaurant for almost 30 years and it was still great! We had the filet mignon and it was delicious! Because we were celebrating a birthday, they were extra attentive and gave us a dessert on the house. There was a house band that night and it was very pleasant to listen to the music and enjoy our dinner. A very good experience and a fun place to celebrate!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Really overpriced

Dined on March 25, 2016

I know, I know, it's a restaurant in a kitschy hotel, of course they can charge whatever they want. But there's nothing great about any of it except the pink decour. The steaks taste like steaks, the pretty cakes take like cakes. The best thing on my plate was a carrot that came in the rice pilaf. It's fun, you'll blow a hundred bucks a head if you want to, just know what you're getting into. Also, our server wasn't very attentive and I had to wait until I was done with dinner for my second glass of wine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Evening

Dined on March 24, 2016

For our daughter's 18th birthday we took her to Madonna's where she had been wanting to go. The ambience was perfect. The service was excellent and our waitress's never left us wanting for anything. The band played great music (big band, jazz and pop. Couples never missed a dance. The wine selection was very good, we opted to have the house wine. Excellent! All three of us had Fillet Minion, each of us has different degrees of done-ness and each one cooked to perfection! The only thing is perhaps the Fillets could have been a little larger but that might have been because they tasted so great and were so very tender. One thing for sure, you will not come away hungry. The Champagne cake is not only pretty but yummy too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Friday night date night

Dined on March 19, 2016

our experience at the Madonna inn surpassed our expectations. Excellent service, amazing food and superb ambiance. The decor is so bizarre but somehow it works!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was absolutely amazing!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was spectacular and the band gave of a wonderful vibe! So much fun to go with a group of people.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic classic dining

Dined on February 28, 2016

Romantic ambiance, excellent steaks and a nice selection of seafood makes this the go to spot for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Power Outage

Dined on February 15, 2016

My dinner was superb, the service was professional however the occasion was memorable because the power went out. Lucky for me I carry a bright flashlight to give my date and the surrounding tables decent lighting until the staff came around and supplied each table with glow sticks.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Fun, but not fantastic

Dined on February 15, 2016

Decided to go here for Valentine's Day dinner since my boyfriend and I were already staying at the inn all weekend. The other inn services were great (actual room stay and the spa), but the dinner at the steakhouse was mediocre. Compared to other steakhouses, it was ok. Depending how you see it, the kid-friendly aspect could be a good or bad thing (I personally didn't mind). The atmosphere was energetic, with the live music and dancing right by the dining area, but there was constant speaker feedback from the live band which was a bit irritating (on the ears) at times. The actual decor of the restaurant was fun! Super super pink everywhere. We originally were going to go with the Valentine's Dinner prix fixe with wine pairing, but went with other things we saw on the menu. For starters we had the albacore which was tasty and set my expectations for what I thought would be a pretty good dinner. I had the lamb chops with mint jelly and baked potato; asked for medium rare, got one chop that was medium rare, the other was cooked a bit more, both pieces were somewhat tough. I couldn't finish it and lamb is my favorite meat. My boyfriend got the prime rib rare, which was good but not super good. We also paired it with a bottle of the Madonna Inn Cabernet which was nice and sweet. Overall, the people and service were nice, but I wouldn't go back for the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Valentines Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Enjoyed a beautiful dinner with my Fiancee for Valentines day. Great Service. Great Price. Was very Romantic. The dinning room was decorated beautifully. and Service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine Delight

Dined on February 15, 2016

The decor of Madonna Inn fit Valentine Day perfectly. The food, service and ambiance were all excellent! My parents are both in their 80's and the music provided by the live combo offered them an opportunity to "kick up their heels". Great evening for all of us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not a real meal deal.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Melissa provided exceptional service. She was probably the saving part of our Valentine's dinner. Ordered the prime rib medium. Initially served rare, returned it to kitchen, came back medium rare, then decided to accept it as it was. Difficult to answer other questions in your survey based upon that.

food1
ambience5
service3
value1

lobster

Dined on February 15, 2016

not fit to eat way too salty and taste did not even resemble lobster.

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.