Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
See All
Romantic (38)
Historic (35)
Dancing (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Fun (26)
Live Music (22)
Authentic (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Family Style (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Fireplace (13)
People Watching (12)
Cozy (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Scenic View (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The experience was good, the food great!. However the drinks the bartender made were off.
We ordered Godmothers.

O well

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, friendly staff, good food and music!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Steaks were tender, but I had to send my fillet back as it was underdone. The salad was the typical green salad, The baked potato was small for the price of the meal and was overwhelmed by the butter and sour cream. The veggies were pretty, colored cauliflower, but un interesting. Since it was my birthday she brought me a piece of cake, which was something I wanted anyway, so that brought the value of the meal up. We go here for special occasions
The staff was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Disappointed that nothing special happened for my husband's birthday. Was told that they had run out of cakes & we were offered small bite size cakes on the house. Not what I expected. Did the waitress forget this was a special occasion?
Fun unique place though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place is over the top when it comes to decor. I've never seen anything like it. Food and service were top notch. I had the fillet, my wife the prime rib. Both were cooked perfectly. The Caesar salad was also great. No complaints, we had a wonderful Mothers Day dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best Mother's Day brunch I have ever had! Although it was very crowded, the staff ensured that we were taken care of and the buffet food was consistently replenished. The prime rib was exquisite and the dessert options were phenomenal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

best brunch ever. prime rib melted in your mouth crab, cakes, omelettes. none better

Tags: Dancing, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day buffet brunch is the food event of the year that we always look forward to. Despite the large crowds, they still pull off outstanding food and service. Simply amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always fun to go back to for Mother's Day year after year. We have actually had the same hostess a couple of times and she does a fantastic job!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My girlfriend and I had an amazing time at the Gold Rush Steak house. Our food was excellent as was our service. Our server was Ashley (I apologize, I did not get her last name) and she was very sweet and kind and overall a very good server. Thank you very much for our experience. We truly enjoyed our weekend. We will definitely come back another time.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was fantastic!! The food, ambiance and staff are all top notch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Dancing, Fun, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

very slow service. Manager hostess and waiter didn't care I never plan on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Novelty restaurant that out of town friends wanted to try. Pleasant enough experience, although the food is general fare & nothing to write home about.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The waiter was exceptional and saw to our every need. Food tasted great and we had a good time...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Dancing, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Historic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Proposed to my girlfriend. Staff was very supportive and helpful. Worked out perfect! Unforgettable

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were very pleased with the whole experience with the Madonna inn . We also ate at the cafe the best !thank you all.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We came to The Madonna for my mothers birthday dinner. The cake was phenomenal, but the entrees were average and priced as if I was in Manhattan. It was worth it to be in the dining room but I was expecting a bit more wow factor for the price of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very unusual place everyone needs to go to at least once in a lifetime. Great place for beef eaters. Not many steakhouses in this area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter Brunch on April 16th.
It was fantastic! Fantastic food and atmosphere. Couldn't have been a better place . Entire family enjoyed it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was delightful. I even got a "Peep" in my cocktail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a great Easter Brunch with family. The staff was attentive and very accommodating. The food was wonderful and their buffet set up was easy to access. Highly recommend their brunch and appreciate the staff and all the hard work that went into this holiday. A++

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Celebrated Easter. Fantastic breakfast buffet

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food and atmosphere was very good. A must if staying at the inn. Would recommend as a destination dinner. Will not forget.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a delicious dinner at this iconic destination . Worth the drive .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This place is very... interesting. It's got tons of kitschy character, very interesting to explore, even if the "new" is worn off most of it.

The food is not really very interesting at all. The portions are a good size, but what you get is very unremarkable. The meat was cooked correctly, but the presentation reminded me of a diner.

The "appetizer" that they put on every table is downright weird: some salami and cheese stacked on top of raw scallions, carrots and pepperoncinis. No bread to go with it, and if you're on a date, stay away from everything but the carrots. The desserts have huge portions, but are otherwise unremarkable: they look like they came from a supermarket.

The prices are insanely high for what you get. The steak was good, but I've had just as good at much cheaper chain restaurants. Because the side dishes are nothing to write home about (steamed cauliflower?), it's just a slab of meat on a plate, and I can make that at home for 1/4 the price.

So I guess you're paying for the kitchy character, but as that's about 20-30 years past its prime, it's not worth the cost. My recommendation is to stop in, check out the decor, and then go somewhere else to eat.

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Their steaks were way overpriced. You can get a phenomenal steak at Flemings for $10 more. I would not recommend this steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Exceptional food, service and ambiance. You feel as if your party is the only group in the restaurant. On Thursdays-Sat/Sun there is great music and ballroom dancing. This place is unforgettable. Take your camera. Madonna in is my place for Ribeye and Pork Chops. The beef comes from Hearst Ranch. Need I say more...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was a nice family weekend get together & was lots of fun discovering all of our different room styles. The pool was very relaxing. Over all, the scenerie is so beautiful around there this time of year with the hills all green. The cows in the distance grazing so peacefully. We all enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

While expensive, this place was fun and my food was delicious! The cocktails were excellent and our service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Dancing, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My fiancee and I had dinner at this steakhouse. I was disappointed. I ordered a French filet mignon with Brussels sprouts and my partner ordered a portabello mushroom with goat cheese and balsamic vinegar. In total that was about 90 dollars.

The meat on my dish was okay...with part medium rare...some rare and nearly raw. I ordered medium rare. Meat was good otherwise. The sprouts were horrible...like they were boiled and lost their color. The tasted like they were soaked in vinegar as well.

My partners mushroom was under cooked...too stiff in some areas and too soft in the center. The balsamic vinegar on the mushroom was in too large of quantity...running all over the plate making everything taste like vinegar. She couldn't even taste the distinct flavor of her asparagus...without the cloying scent of the vinegar.

I do not recommend this restaurant. While the decor is unique and interesting...the food quality was poor and frankly over priced for what we received.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We have been customers here since the early 1970's. The restaurant has gone dramatically downhill recently. Service the last 2 times we came has been poor. This time, while our waitress did take note of my dairy allergy, she almost refused to show us the desert tray, strongly recommended a very bad wine (we purchased a bottle) after refusing to let us have a small taste (and both wi es we were considering were available by the glass), and said "you probably will not get anything" when I insisted on my Grand Marnier in a snifter. Also, the prime rib was tough, with minimal flavor at $43 pp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Worst food ever. Sent back my chicken( but they did take it off the bill). Extremely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Seems very dated now losing it's luster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Really unusual restaurant great food, seeing is believing definitely worth the trip

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Unfortunately I was served the toughest $46 NY steak ever! Seriously I didn't finish it. My fault. I should have returned it. It was grilled and presented perfectly. How could a cook in a world renown restaurant not recognize a totally unacceptable piece of beef?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service at Victorias Secret dining room. Filet was lerfeft4, clarified butter was crystal clear, lobster not rubbery cooked well. Staff attentive and welcoming...rock candy stir stick for coffee was a nice touch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This place was extremely expensive......Overpriced is not the word, more like Highway Robbery will never go back. Disappointed

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I've eaten at the coffee shop numerous times for dinner and lunch. I love the coffee shop, but this time we decided to try out the steak house. I'm a waitress, and am forgiving of service when its busy and short-staffed. However, this was the WORST SERVICE I had ever received -- by far. We sat down at 8:30pm (our reservation time) and we were not greeted by our server for 15 minutes. The manager came by after 10ish minutes and told us the server would be right with us. At my restaurant, the manager will take care of any forgotten table and get them drinks, appetizers, anything to help out the busy server. I saw him standing and talking after he approached us. Finally, once the waitress got to our table, she muttered something under her breath and then said (in a rush) "OK, what can I get you." No apology, no introduction. She did not ID me when I ordered drinks, and I am younger-looking and always get ID'd. My steak came out UNDERCOOKED (and I ordered a 50 dollar steak). Every step of her service was extremely slow -- we saw tables across from us sit down, eat and LEAVE before we got our food!!! We were there for 2.5 HOURS and could have been in and out in an hour. It was NOT busy on a Tuesday night, and I will NOT be back. Madonna Inn lost my respect and a life-long local customer. I am appalled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice restaurant that has one of a kind ambience! Food is good, but a little pricey for the quality. Good portions and there's entertainment each night. Casual dress is ok, but you could dress up too.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Dancing, Casual, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.