Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy an elegant champagne brunch featuring an omelet station, crab legs, jumbo shrimp, prime rib, roast ham and turkey, as well as, bacon, fresh fruit, and world-famous Madonna Inn cakes, cobblers and desserts. Includes champagne! Offered 9am to 2pm. Adults 39.95, children 24.95

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Historic (44)
Romantic (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Dancing (37)
Fun (30)
Live Music (29)
Authentic (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
People Watching (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Cozy (15)
Fireplace (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Seasonal (13)
Scenic View (12)
Family Style (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Casual (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined a day ago

Proposed to my girlfriend. Staff was very supportive and helpful. Worked out perfect! Unforgettable

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

We were very pleased with the whole experience with the Madonna inn . We also ate at the cafe the best !thank you all.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We came to The Madonna for my mothers birthday dinner. The cake was phenomenal, but the entrees were average and priced as if I was in Manhattan. It was worth it to be in the dining room but I was expecting a bit more wow factor for the price of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very unusual place everyone needs to go to at least once in a lifetime. Great place for beef eaters. Not many steakhouses in this area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter Brunch on April 16th.
It was fantastic! Fantastic food and atmosphere. Couldn't have been a better place . Entire family enjoyed it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was delightful. I even got a "Peep" in my cocktail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a great Easter Brunch with family. The staff was attentive and very accommodating. The food was wonderful and their buffet set up was easy to access. Highly recommend their brunch and appreciate the staff and all the hard work that went into this holiday. A++

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Celebrated Easter. Fantastic breakfast buffet

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food and atmosphere was very good. A must if staying at the inn. Would recommend as a destination dinner. Will not forget.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a delicious dinner at this iconic destination . Worth the drive .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This place is very... interesting. It's got tons of kitschy character, very interesting to explore, even if the "new" is worn off most of it.

The food is not really very interesting at all. The portions are a good size, but what you get is very unremarkable. The meat was cooked correctly, but the presentation reminded me of a diner.

The "appetizer" that they put on every table is downright weird: some salami and cheese stacked on top of raw scallions, carrots and pepperoncinis. No bread to go with it, and if you're on a date, stay away from everything but the carrots. The desserts have huge portions, but are otherwise unremarkable: they look like they came from a supermarket.

The prices are insanely high for what you get. The steak was good, but I've had just as good at much cheaper chain restaurants. Because the side dishes are nothing to write home about (steamed cauliflower?), it's just a slab of meat on a plate, and I can make that at home for 1/4 the price.

So I guess you're paying for the kitchy character, but as that's about 20-30 years past its prime, it's not worth the cost. My recommendation is to stop in, check out the decor, and then go somewhere else to eat.

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Their steaks were way overpriced. You can get a phenomenal steak at Flemings for $10 more. I would not recommend this steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Exceptional food, service and ambiance. You feel as if your party is the only group in the restaurant. On Thursdays-Sat/Sun there is great music and ballroom dancing. This place is unforgettable. Take your camera. Madonna in is my place for Ribeye and Pork Chops. The beef comes from Hearst Ranch. Need I say more...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was a nice family weekend get together & was lots of fun discovering all of our different room styles. The pool was very relaxing. Over all, the scenerie is so beautiful around there this time of year with the hills all green. The cows in the distance grazing so peacefully. We all enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

While expensive, this place was fun and my food was delicious! The cocktails were excellent and our service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Dancing, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My fiancee and I had dinner at this steakhouse. I was disappointed. I ordered a French filet mignon with Brussels sprouts and my partner ordered a portabello mushroom with goat cheese and balsamic vinegar. In total that was about 90 dollars.

The meat on my dish was okay...with part medium rare...some rare and nearly raw. I ordered medium rare. Meat was good otherwise. The sprouts were horrible...like they were boiled and lost their color. The tasted like they were soaked in vinegar as well.

My partners mushroom was under cooked...too stiff in some areas and too soft in the center. The balsamic vinegar on the mushroom was in too large of quantity...running all over the plate making everything taste like vinegar. She couldn't even taste the distinct flavor of her asparagus...without the cloying scent of the vinegar.

I do not recommend this restaurant. While the decor is unique and interesting...the food quality was poor and frankly over priced for what we received.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We have been customers here since the early 1970's. The restaurant has gone dramatically downhill recently. Service the last 2 times we came has been poor. This time, while our waitress did take note of my dairy allergy, she almost refused to show us the desert tray, strongly recommended a very bad wine (we purchased a bottle) after refusing to let us have a small taste (and both wi es we were considering were available by the glass), and said "you probably will not get anything" when I insisted on my Grand Marnier in a snifter. Also, the prime rib was tough, with minimal flavor at $43 pp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Worst food ever. Sent back my chicken( but they did take it off the bill). Extremely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Seems very dated now losing it's luster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Really unusual restaurant great food, seeing is believing definitely worth the trip

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Unfortunately I was served the toughest $46 NY steak ever! Seriously I didn't finish it. My fault. I should have returned it. It was grilled and presented perfectly. How could a cook in a world renown restaurant not recognize a totally unacceptable piece of beef?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service at Victorias Secret dining room. Filet was lerfeft4, clarified butter was crystal clear, lobster not rubbery cooked well. Staff attentive and welcoming...rock candy stir stick for coffee was a nice touch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This place was extremely expensive......Overpriced is not the word, more like Highway Robbery will never go back. Disappointed

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I've eaten at the coffee shop numerous times for dinner and lunch. I love the coffee shop, but this time we decided to try out the steak house. I'm a waitress, and am forgiving of service when its busy and short-staffed. However, this was the WORST SERVICE I had ever received -- by far. We sat down at 8:30pm (our reservation time) and we were not greeted by our server for 15 minutes. The manager came by after 10ish minutes and told us the server would be right with us. At my restaurant, the manager will take care of any forgotten table and get them drinks, appetizers, anything to help out the busy server. I saw him standing and talking after he approached us. Finally, once the waitress got to our table, she muttered something under her breath and then said (in a rush) "OK, what can I get you." No apology, no introduction. She did not ID me when I ordered drinks, and I am younger-looking and always get ID'd. My steak came out UNDERCOOKED (and I ordered a 50 dollar steak). Every step of her service was extremely slow -- we saw tables across from us sit down, eat and LEAVE before we got our food!!! We were there for 2.5 HOURS and could have been in and out in an hour. It was NOT busy on a Tuesday night, and I will NOT be back. Madonna Inn lost my respect and a life-long local customer. I am appalled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice restaurant that has one of a kind ambience! Food is good, but a little pricey for the quality. Good portions and there's entertainment each night. Casual dress is ok, but you could dress up too.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Dancing, Casual, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The restaurant was very nice. It had a very romantic feel. It's definitely PINK! My girlfriend loved it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant many times however the last two years that we have eaten here we have noticed a decline in the quality of the steaks and the service. The ambience is by far and away the most charming of any setting I have ever been in. However our waitress seemed a little off or odd or maybe even on something. My steak was ordered medium well and it came out medium rare. I also sent back my solid as it was not to my taste And it took a very long time to get my salad the way I wanted it it just seemed like it was off a bit the entire evening I would still return but next year when we go out there we are all actually planning to go elsewhere

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I expected more from the dinner being as how it was on the expensive side. I asked for my steak to be rare, but it was cooked medium well in some portions and purple on other. Everything else was quite mediocre. My fiance said her pasta was "good," but I believe she was being nice. She's a real forgiving person. The band was decent...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Don't come here if you are looking for high end cooking. For a $50 steak about $20 is for the actual food and the rest you are paying for the privilege to be in their restaurant. It felt like the chef hadn't changed his cooking since the 70's. I would say come here and have a beer and enjoy the amazing decor, but don't come thinking you're gonna have a meal worth $50. The steak was ok, however my girlfriend asked for medium rear and got a very tough medium well. The second steak was better. You only get 2 very average sides. The string beans were boiled within an inch of their life and the jacket potato was just a jacket potato. Don't get me wrong, for a side of the road, mom and pop steak house this place would be great, but no where near worth $50.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Server was excellent food was very good At the steakhouse. stayed in the Yosemite rock room amazing architecture very clean rooms Great ballroom band Great ambience all in all an awesome experience for our honeymoon

Tags: Fun, Dancing, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Restaurant service and live entertainment were *exceptional*. However, dinner was a big disappointment. The filet mignon ordered medium rare was plated "mooing", while $70 breaded abalone was cold and mushy. The vegetables -- Brussel sprouts and butternut squash -- were overcooked, mushy and tasteless. Though dessert was delicious, as a long time patron of the Madonna Inn, we were extraordinarily disappointed in the dinner. Alex and Phyllis Madonna would have been mortified. We will be back for the entertainment but will skip the Gold Rush Steak House until we know it has returned to its reputation as a fabulous go-to place for steaks and seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This restaurant is great to visit and to celebrate Birthdays because of the ambiance. Our steaks and prime rib dinners was not up to par, tough and over salted.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful and beautiful atmosphere! It's one of those places you have to go to at least once in your life. It's on the higher price range but even with wine dinner and dessert it was a little over a hundred so not bad for a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We celebrated a family birthday and we loved everything but the food. Next time, we'll go to the coffee shop and leave the fine dining. Pricy and just not good enough for what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Should have requested a booth! Everything else was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was good but the food (aside from the bread and baked potato) was marginal at best. The steaks (at $45+) were disappointing. Mine was underdone (asked for medium and it was red/raw) and my husband's filet mignon was unexpectedly slathered in BBQ sauce (who does that??) We took all the meat home and are hoping to salvage it in a beef stroganoff or something. And, to boot, they were out of cakes by 8 pm (which was part of what we were looking forward to!). We won't return. Pretty sad dinner for $160 for two people!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

While my boyfriend loved his ribeye, my filet was just "ok". I expected to be able to cut it with a butter knife, but it was crispy on the outside and rather tough and "rubbery" on the inside. I was disappointed.

It's a pricey menu and a "steakhouse" so I'd expect my steak to be 5 stars.

The champagne cake is a must do. Their house Cabernet is a good deal at $22/bottle and we enjoyed the taste.

Overall, I'd say everyone should eat here at least once, to say you've done it. We enjoyed it, but won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Madonna Inn, always good. Great people, food, décor.....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Dancing, Authentic, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Busy evening so maybe part of the problem. Soup cold, salad had 2 cups dressing on it . Steaks were cooked incorrectly, one overcooked one under cooked. Crew cleaning up, moving tables and getting ready to close during dinner.........spoils the dinning experience a bit. Spent $150......would not go again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day with wife, she really enjoyed the service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.