About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: 8669431570

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
House Salad
Filet Mignon With Baked Potato
Truffle Fingerling Potatoes
Broiled Atlantic Salmon
Pumpkin Pie
Fingerling Potatoes
Dreamcicle Cocktail
Chocolate Éclair
TOP SIRLOIN STEAK
Roast Tom Turkey
Pink Champagne Cake
Pumpkin Spice Soup
Antipasto Sampler Appetizer
Filet Mignon
Buffalo Wings
Black Forest Ca
Lamb
Grilled Eggplant
Barbacue Chicken
Fig and Goat Cheese Crostini
Holiday Cocktail
Abalone
Salmon
Fresh Salmon
Filet Mignon & Lobster Tail Special
BBQ Chicken
Crostini
Black Forest Cake

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Steakhouse
California Central Coast
Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
5 More
Best Service
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Special Occasion
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

special occasion (88)
romantic (73)
good for groups (40)
See All
fit for foodies (24)
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
scenic view (17)
kid-friendly (14)
great for brunch (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere and service were great. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The atmosphere and service were great. I brought my daughter to the Madonna Inn for her 16th birthday and it was lovely overall. We wanted to have a special meal and I wanted to have a whole Madonna Inn experience. Unfortunately, the food was very disappointing and expensive. It was basically diner food. Such a fun, beautiful place to visit but I was looking for a special dining experience as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Best restaurant on the Central Coast for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best restaurant on the Central Coast for a steak! I love this place. The noise level rating goes up when the band starts to play around 7:30/8:00 ish so if that bothers you, go earlier. But the band is so fun to listen to and watch people dance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional in every way. Just leave roo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Exceptional in every way. Just leave room for the Pink Champagne cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was outstanding! The dining ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our service was outstanding! The dining and our server is a memory my whole family will remember for a very long time. Thank you!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointed with hostess...we asked for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Disappointed with hostess...we asked for a booth (they had plenty available - it was 5) and she TRIED to sit us at banquette seating. When we said no...we wanted a booth she was very indignant and argued that it WAS a booth. Who wants to spend a romantic dinner sitting right next to another party? She finally sat us at one of the many available booths after rolling her eyes. Just set the whole night off! Too bad...a hostess should be trained to know the difference.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our waitress was just exceptional - we a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our waitress was just exceptional - we all loved her!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was the best birthday ever I couldn't ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was the best birthday ever I couldn't ask for something better I love it I will be happy to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience. Excellent foo ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. Excellent food and service. Can't wait to return.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a special gem. This restaurant has ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

What a special gem. This restaurant has it all. The menu is wonderful. The service most attentive. Wow! Loved every minute! PS don't say no to dessert!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I checked in and was told to wait. I wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I checked in and was told to wait. I waited 10 minutes and saw other people arriving after me and getting seated. I went to counter and spoke with a different host and she informed me the guy that took my name didn't check me in. So i can't lie -I was already annoyed going in.

the waitress forgot our soup and salad since we had ordered an appetizer. i didn't worry about that too much though because she was really good otherwise. Food was outstanding. Although pink champagne should technically be the color pink. But still very tasty.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every year for the past few years now my ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Every year for the past few years now my boyfriend has taken me to the Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House for my birthday. It is one of my favorite places, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is magical and if it is your birthday you get a complimentary slice of their delicious pink champagne cake!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had eaten at the restaurant twice wit ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had eaten at the restaurant twice with groups, but this was the first time as a couple. The hostess and waitress were very professional and pleasant, the food excellent, including meat prepared precisely as my wife and I requested, which seems hard to find in most restaurants. My coconut cream pie was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was excellent. Decor is kitsch. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Steak was excellent.

Decor is kitsch.

Salad was drowned in dressing.

Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a wonderful meal with friends & rela ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a wonderful meal with friends & relatives from Germany, they were so impressed with everything! They felt it was like a fairy land ! The dinner was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jordan -server was very attentive and ma ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Jordan -server was very attentive and made sure we were OK at all times.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came here in a group of 6 for a bache ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came here in a group of 6 for a bachelorette party, and it was a great experience! Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Such a fun atmosphere, and a ton to look at which made for fun photo opportunities! They even gave us a slice of their yummy champagne cake on the house! A little pricey, but not terrible and worth it for a great experience and good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There are very few places like The Madon ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

There are very few places like The Madonna Inn. The décor is kitsch, tacky and truly wonderful! The band was perhaps a little too loud and made conversation a touch hard. The entrees were exceptionally delicious, though over-generous, and the service was super. We were celebrating birthdays, and were made to feel special - even got a balloon and complimentary cake. I'd absolutely recommend The Gold Rush Steak House for a special occasion since the entire place makes everything special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Was our first time in the hotel/Restaura ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Was our first time in the hotel/Restaurant and the place is very interesting and unique.

The restaurant is pretty, good decor and atmosphere.

About food, the only complain was the salad.. I suggest them do not put the dressing for the salad on the top of the portion, please bring it on the side!

We got our salad with a big portion of sauce on the top that doesn't look it nice presentation and tasty... we tried it but leave half portion... lot of sauce on the plate.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

My Filet wasn't quite what I wanted. I a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My Filet wasn't quite what I wanted. I asked for Med Well and I got well done. Disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stake House at Madonna Inn was excep ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The Stake House at Madonna Inn was exceptional!! I am dairy free and they were able to accommodate me no problem! The service was amazing. The ambiance is so perfect I couldn't stop smiling! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects! The best file ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent in all respects! The best filet mignon possible!! Just order it and it arrives perfect!!

Service waa outstanding despite it being a full house!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The decor is very powerful. So powerful ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The decor is very powerful. So powerful that it can either add to the experience or detract from it. In our case it was just too flamboyant. Our waitress was nice but the service was a bit slow, probably due to a week-end of College Graduations and large parties. Although the food portions were large and complete with vegetables and side dishes, we had mixed reviews in our party of seven. All in all I am sure this restaurant has it's admirers, however, it was simply too extravagant and too exaggerated for our family.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Good food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great. We had fish and steak. Both were cooked to perfection. They have a very nice wine list and beer list. The mushroom appetizers were the best I ever tasted. The decor is very pink but it is what the Madonna Inn is all about. They had live music and wit was very nice to listen to.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Lets see: the menu is way over priced.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Ordered a Rib Eye medium well. It was served rare..... They took it back but you know what that means... My wife's Filet was excellent....

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The Madonna Steakhouse makes you feel li ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The Madonna Steakhouse makes you feel like you are in the 1950's. Crazy pink colored booths, 50's music playing. Our server was enthusiastic, informative and very responsive. The plate of veggies, cheese and meats provided after we sat down were a pleasant surprise. Our steaks were terribly undercooked, even after being sent back to cook them further. Surprising and disappointing considering they consider themselves a steakhouse. The barbecue chicken was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

This is our second time at the Gold Rush ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This is our second time at the Gold Rush Steakhouse during our stay at the Madonna Inn. This place is not to be missed. Great service, wonderful food.....and the decor...just like dining in a fantasy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't cool a steak, or make the right cake.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I preordered a surprise for my friends bridal dinner. They told me what the cake was supposed to be, but the whole thing was plain vanilla. They even forgot to bring it out, I had to ask after they brought some cheap piece of coconut cake for her.

I could forgive this, but my dinner was so bad they had to refund that too. I ordered a medium filet mignon for $40 and it came out dry and burnt. My friend had the same meal with the same problem. They came back with two blood red steaks...I think it was a joke honestly. I asked for the manager and he never even came. So disappointed. Stop in to buy a goblet and skip the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Romantic!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This steak house has everything you'd want for a romantic and delicious dinner. My husband and I ordered two different steaks which were cooked to perfection. The wine and ambiance were fantastic! The service was great too. I will definitely go again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Ribeye

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Best night ! A little loud from the bar area. Staff did there best, to make it light. But the yuppies were in force.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

great diner experience, best service and very good food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Booked this together with a 2 night stay for my wife's 40th birthday. Despite saying this on the reservation, no mention of her birthday, no special service and her meal was very, very poor.

Did not enjoy this experience at all!

I have fed this back to the hotel and no response what so ever!

Rubbish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great for creating a spectacular memory. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great for creating a spectacular memory. The food is true to the Madonna Inn aesthetic -- it isn't trying to hop onto foodie trends, it is giving you a dining experience that has that large scale crowd-pleasing 50s-60s feel.

The ambiance of this space is spectacular and the booths are intimate and luxurious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great to try just once

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Personally I think it is overpriced for what it is. We were there for our anniversary and was hoping for an elegant dinner. I mean, its great to try this place once but for the price we paid, we would of rather had Tahoe Joes Steakhouse. Everyone has different taste buds, I just prefer mine the way Tahoe does their steaks. And unfortunately, after staying there a couple of days, the pink colors and the flowers just start becoming overwhelming. Maybe its time for a more modern look and still keep those colors in mind. As for service being provided, it was very pleasant! Not to mention that delicious chocolate cake they give you if you are there to celebrate something special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We celebrated mom's 80th birthday and sh ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We celebrated mom's 80th birthday and she was thrilled. Service was excellent and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Host/Hostess Wait

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The main disappointment to the evening for a place that has great history and suppose to have great service was the wait at the check in. Here we had reservation we had to wait at the desk for over 20 minutes to be sat even with empty tables. The hostess did not say "it would be a few minutes and why do you not have a seat and the bar and when we are ready for you will we come and get you". And as we stood there she sat other people and was more concerned helping out a waitress that had a problem with a check. I final had to ask when we would be seated and she stated "now", but yet we still had to wait. Then finally after about another 5 or so minutes we were sat, but to our disappointment was at a table in the middle of the floor and up against a service area and path that staff used, there were a few booths open but we were not offered one. My wife was bumped a number of times by staff during our dinner.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great ambiance! We had a fantastic serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great ambiance! We had a fantastic server. You can count on our returning for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

let's be honest...it's all about the kit ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

let's be honest...it's all about the kitch that IS the Madonna Inn..... the food is okay....but, the service is wonderful and it's all about the fun of this California icon !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fancy and Fun

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The Madonna Inn is beautiful and fancy. It is really fun to celebrate special occasions there. The service is great. Unfortunately, the food is awful every time I go there, and for $43, it would be nice to have a good steak. We keep going back because the atmosphere and ambiance is really special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

POOR, POOR MADONNA

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Our family has been patronizing "Madonna" for many years and it was always a treat to be there. However, recent experiences there have not been good. We're big beef eaters and the quality/grade of beef they serve is poor. It's tough and doesn't taste good. It's really too bad, because one loves the kitschy surroundings and the always party atmosphere. This last dining experience will be my last. After the past few years of declining quality of food I finally complained about my filet mignon that was not only overdone but 'mealy' and of poor flavor, and a replacement piece of prime rib though cooked well had the same poor flavor. The servers, as always, were great, the surroundings, as always, enjoyable...alas if we'd only gone there to not dine, but just look.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

love!!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Super friendly environment and extremely helpful staff. We weren't rushed and spent a while at the place. Definitely worth the money!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.