About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: 8669431570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
House Salad
Truffle Fingerling Potatoes
Broiled Atlantic Salmon
Filet Mignon With Baked Potato
Pumpkin Pie
Dreamcicle Cocktail
Fingerling Potatoes
Chocolate Éclair
Roast Tom Turkey
Pink Champagne Cake
Antipasto Sampler Appetizer
Pumpkin Spice Soup
Filet Mignon
Buffalo Wings
Holiday Cocktail
Lamb
Abalone
Fresh Salmon
Grilled Eggplant
Filet Mignon & Lobster Tail Special
Black Forest Ca
TOP SIRLOIN STEAK
Barbacue Chicken
Black Forest Cake
BBQ Chicken
Fig and Goat Cheese Crostini
Crostini
Salmon

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Steakhouse
California Central Coast
Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
6 More
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Service
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Special Occasion
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (63)
Good for Groups (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Scenic View (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Historic (10)
Dancing (9)
Fun (9)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Live Music (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is epic and the filet is to d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

This place is epic and the filet is to die for! The Madonna Inn is a fun enchanted place that everyone should visit! Great steakhouse, fun environment to be apart of and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was like a throwback in t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

The experience was like a throwback in time. Tons of pink everywhere and very unusual but the food was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

They need to update the menu a little. I ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

They need to update the menu a little. It has not changed much in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Ambiance was fun and unique and the serv ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ambiance was fun and unique and the service was good. You definitely pay for the ambiance however, as the food was not worth the price. Very simple meat and vegetables, almost bland, and the cake was basic, yet it was the most expensive restaurant we went to in the area. I would recommend enjoying their bar and dancing instead of the steak house to experience the ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Dancing, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Celebrated my wife's milestone birthday ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Celebrated my wife's milestone birthday and could not be more pleased. The food and service were excellent making the pricing an even better bargain than it is. The décor caught me off guard as it was a throwback to the glamour era, which my wife, daughter and I truly enjoyed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last night we had a party of 10 people f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Last night we had a party of 10 people for my husbands birthday...........unfortunately due to the extremely BAD service the night ended very poorly. I had to constantly get up and find our waiter and buss boy to get any help, even with that we were left with dirty dishes all over the table during coffee and dessert at the end of the meal. The food was not great, the steaks were not cooked to order, most was taken home for the dog because it was too rare to eat. Especially considering the high price of these meal I was beyond disappointed! We always love to eat in the copper cafe, it is consistently great.............but the dining room experience was a big let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

This is the best most memorable stay on ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This is the best most memorable stay on our road trip, was just unfotunate the weather was not so kind. Wished we had stayed another night !,,,

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was very nice and the service ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The dinner was very nice and the service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

When we stay at the Madonna Inn we alway ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

When we stay at the Madonna Inn we always make sure we have dinner at the Steak House. It was great listening to live music while dining.

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had the sirloin and I had the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My husband had the sirloin and I had the prime rib steaks. They were both excellent. However, I was surprised to see that they no longer provide the veggie/cheese as a courtesy appetizer. Nevertheless, their portions are very generous so we did not leave hungry!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Generally poor. Service was sparse to no ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Generally poor. Service was sparse to nonexistent. Food was less than fair & not very busy. Ambiance was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

My husband took me here for my 40th birt ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

My husband took me here for my 40th birthday and i couldn't be happier about everything at the Madonna. From the hostes beautiful smile and warm greeting with a happy birthday to me to the waitress which was amazing and the food was out of this world good.... My new favorite place to have a special night out!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere and ambiance were interes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The atmosphere and ambiance were interesting and fun, but the food was underwhelming and over priced, and the service only ok. The food looked like sisco was making an effort but it wasn't anything special. The menu selection was extensive for desert but when we came to order we were informed that there were in fact only two items to choose from. They were store bought style cakes, dry and un-appealing. I would not go here again, and I would not recommend it.

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Madonna Inn should be on everyone's buck ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Madonna Inn should be on everyone's bucket list. The waitstaff is friendly, the food is great!

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate a birthday! Hig ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place to celebrate a birthday! Highly recommended!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Dancing, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not good tea was empty all t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was not good tea was empty all through dinner. At end of dinner she asked my wife if she wanted coffee then started to walk away and my wife stopped her and asked for my tea to be refilled i said forget it at that point. My prime rib was very tough looked as if reheated and way over cooked. While eating the rice i had to pull out all the carrots because they were hard and not cooked. Suggest the managers walk the tables instead of cleaning them, then this type of stuff wont happen or are atleast corrected before guests leave establishment . I usually have a good experience here. I was very surprised on this visit. And breakfast way over priced dont mind paying if the food warrants it but eggs were hard and very little hollandaise sauce on my eggs Benedict.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

What a GREAT PLACE TO EAT!!! THE FOOD, H ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

What a GREAT PLACE TO EAT!!! THE FOOD, HOTEL, SPA AND POOL WERE A+

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the filet Mignon and it was prepa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had the filet Mignon and it was prepared to perfection!! The service was also very good. We will return. Thanks Madonna Inn!!

Tags: Dancing, Authentic, Historic, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was overpriced for the quality give ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was overpriced for the quality given

and the interior of the restaurant is a bit odd

it's all pink...like dining inside a Pepto Bismol

bottle....egh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House was worth every penny! Go if you want to experience a dining atmosphere like none other, with a superbly friendly staff. Get the enormous filet mignon; you can cut it with a fork!

Tags: Live Music, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We just celebrated our 1 year anniversar ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We just celebrated our 1 year anniversary there. We stayed in the Romance Room and enjoyed the pool and the steakhouse. It was all wonderful except for the screaming kid we had to listen to all through dinner. For that nice of a restaurant and for the prices we paid I was a little surprised that the wait staff didn't ask the parents to calm the kid down outside. He just kept screaming and screaming all through dinner. It really out a damper on my dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really wonderful dinner at Madonna's ste ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really wonderful dinner at Madonna's steak house. Fanciful setting dining room with a lot to take in and gaze at, including the cherub candelabra holders. Great romantic evening.

Wait staff was superb. Food was excellent.

Will definitely go again! A band was just starting up as we left, but I could tell there would be good music and dancing that evening. Nice touch.

Plenty of on-site parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor food for the location and surr ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very poor food for the location and surroundings. I was looking forward to it and was very disappointed. Far too expensive for the amount charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Madonna Inn continues to serve some of t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Madonna Inn continues to serve some of the best steaks in the county. We have found that the services has greatly improved. The only thing we see is that the cost has also risen. Not any more that you would pay say in San Francisco. The quality of the meat is there to support the cost, I guess.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is the ultimate in kitsch. B ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This place is the ultimate in kitsch. But everyone should know that going in, right? It's the Madonna Inn for God's sake. It's way, way, way over the top ambiance wise. My son had the rib eye, which was phenomenal. I had the fried chicken, which was very good. The salad it comes with is a good size. The rolls were warm and heavenly. There desserts are very large pieces of sumptuous cakes or amazing fruit pies. The service has always been great each time I've been there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unexpected place for dinner. A must try ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Unexpected place for dinner. A must try for anyone staying for a night in SLO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

OUR SERVER SHARON ( I THINK - SHE'S BEEN ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

OUR SERVER SHARON ( I THINK - SHE'S BEEN THERE 22 YEARS) WAS VERY COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL. PLEASE LET HER KNOW THAT SHE HELPED TO MAKE THE CELEBRATION OF OUR ANNIVERSARY THAT MUCH BETTER. GREAT SERVICE REALLY MAKES THE MEAL MORE ENJOYABLE. WE WERE PASSING THROUGH AND WOULD MOST CERTAINLY STOP AGAIN. LOVED OUR STAY!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is a little pricy, but the service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food is a little pricy, but the service was outstanding. Ask for Ashlee, great personality and can't do enough for you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It is more than a food experience. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It is more than a food experience. The entire place is something to experience at least once - unforgettable to say the least. The steaks are fantastic. It is a pricy place so might reserve going to special occasions. We took another couple on Sat. night and learned there is always live music for dancing at 7:00pm on Sat. Makes for an entertaining evening even if not dancing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This restaurant is so amazing. It's so f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This restaurant is so amazing. It's so fun, great atmosphere and the food is to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was absolutely beautiful. O ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The ambience was absolutely beautiful. Our waitress was outgoing, warm and offered great suggestions regarding menu choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine several time a year at Gold Rush ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We dine several time a year at Gold Rush Steak House and never disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere are consistent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent grill-dinner! Expensive but wo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent grill-dinner! Expensive but worth every penny!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We chose the Madonna Inn because it's a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We chose the Madonna Inn because it's a "destination " when traveling in Central California.

The steaks were so delicious as well as the side dishes. We had excellent service. A unique venue!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great all American dinner exper ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a great all American dinner experience with a lovely waitress

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been coming to the Madonna Inn f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have been coming to the Madonna Inn for the last 26 years (our honeymoon was the first time). We love everything about it! The pool and spa was a much needed attraction--we use it all the time! Thank you for a memorable Anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service. A won ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent food and great service. A wonderful place to celebrate your anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A unique and fun restaurant- it is very ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A unique and fun restaurant- it is very pink. the service is amazing and excellent. there is a bar and dancing and a band which makes for a noisy atmosphere. The food was good, no complaints. Probably over-priced but you pay for the ambiance and unique place. Check out the waterfall in the men's room. there is a nice fireplace to sit by. Have been going here for special occasion for many many years. A good clean fun restaurant if you have the funds.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere and service were great. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The atmosphere and service were great. I brought my daughter to the Madonna Inn for her 16th birthday and it was lovely overall. We wanted to have a special meal and I wanted to have a whole Madonna Inn experience. Unfortunately, the food was very disappointing and expensive. It was basically diner food. Such a fun, beautiful place to visit but I was looking for a special dining experience as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Best restaurant on the Central Coast for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best restaurant on the Central Coast for a steak! I love this place. The noise level rating goes up when the band starts to play around 7:30/8:00 ish so if that bothers you, go earlier. But the band is so fun to listen to and watch people dance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.