Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 5/20
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

4.3
1858 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 5pm to 10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 543-3000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jacqui Hanover
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1858 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

You are really just paying for the decor; the food is mediocre at best.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

We were very disappointed in the food at the Madonna. We have not been here in a few years and we wont go back. I had the over priced Abalone and it was chewy and overcooked. My husband had the bacon wrapped filet and my son the ribeye, both were under seasoned and bland. We had a piece of the black forest cake and we left most of it on the table. Sad to see a place relying on its reputation and failing to deliver.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Filet mignon was pretty tough. Vegetables not throughly cooked. Asked for drink to go but couldn’t get a refill. Price was high for the value.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2018

steak was too dry to eat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Overall a very enjoyable experience. Wait staff was excellent. Our server #137, (Ashlee B.) was really sweet and accomodating. Food was very good. A little overpriced but still very good. Decor needed to be updated cleaned Etc. This restaurant is an icon for the area but the lack of cleaning is evident. Updating old worn out decor would help ie; carpet, scratched dirty plexiglass table in front of fireplace etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We recently had Mother’s Day Brunch at Madonna. When we arrived there were many, many people and we assumed we would have a wait before being seated at our table. Within 10 minutes we were seated at our table. Even though there were many people going through the buffet line, we never had to wait for our food. It was amazing to see so many people eating their food without having to wait. The service was on point, coffee and tea were quickly brought to our table. I have been to many Buffet Brunches for special Holiday occasions and Inwould rate Madonna as one of the very best for service, food and ambience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had a lovely Mother’s Day brunch at the Madonna Inn restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was our second time having Mother's Day Champagne Brunch and it was fantastic and delicious as the first time. Food, service, and ambience was great as always. A variety of foods to choose from plus refills on champagne if you want.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We thought the buffet area was cramped and didn’t flow very well. Selections were picked over. Salmon was two giant long pieces not sliced and once staff was alerted they solved by placing a butter knife down next to it. Surfaces and gripping utensils were sticky. Cake tongs were covered in frosting. Coffee area had water all over the counter. Overall buffet just was not enjoyable. Our table was on the main thoroughfare and my chair was continually being bumped and jostled. Also was a test of patience to maneuver our way through the tables to get to the buffet. The place is cool but we agreed this was our last holiday at the Madonna Inn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother's Day brunch was great. Roast beef was spot on, the crab legs were easy to eat, the jumbo shrimp was peeled and the desserts were moist and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch was excellent!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very disapointing. Way too expensive for the quality of the food. Meals were very basic. Chicken pesto pasta was tasteless. Fish was fresh, but no fancy sauce and a few badly boiled/steam veggies.. Definitely not worth the +$60/ per person, and that was for the cheap items on the menu.

Most tables were empty on a Saturday night, with a fully booked hotel.. never a good sign.

Service was fine. Still NOT recommended even with the nice picturest decoration in the hotel.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Historic and beautiful, you're not just getting delicious food but also a one-of-a-kind dining experience. Loved the service and the scenery.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Yuck. Talk about gross food. While the Madonna Inn is one of the most notable spots in SLO, it’s really only worth it for a drink, some live music and dancing, and for gazing at the decor. The food was lacking flavor, yet the portions were gigantic. The Cesar Salad dressing was flavorless and my portobellos mushroom entree was mediocre at best. I was definitely disappointed, and know that going forward I do not need to eat at this establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

food and service excellent,we enjoyed ourselves very much and liked our server too

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Not the same anymore. Food not properly prepared. Poor quality food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Such a lovely setting. The food and service however was a huge letdown. The vegetarian food (one dish) was really boring and the meat/ fish was average. The service was ok but they removed my sons plate before he stopled eating...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

First time on the property even though have starred at it for years driving by it.
Ashlee was a wonderful waitress. ...Abalone was VERY GOOD.....rare chance to have abalone. ....the Black Forest Cake and Raspberry Delight cakes were huge but delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My family and I eat here very often for special occasions like birthday parties, Valentine’s Day and even holiday dinner with the family.

We were celebrating my 25th birthday and I choose Madonna because of seating and I know what to expect. There was 14 of us and our server didn’t come over and greet us right away which I thought was rather strange. Once our server did come over he had another server with him, not sure if he was training this other person or if he was just helping because of the large party. Once our order was taken we waited for a while to get our food and even our salads.

During the course of the night our drinks would continue to sit empty and did not get asked for refills very often or even see our server very often. One of my family members ordered the prime rib and it was over cooked and very dry. Thankfully the server offered another piece which was better once it got brought out.

When we finally made it to desert the bus boy ended up taking over for our cakes since our server was no where to be found. When the bus boy came back with our cakes he ended up bringing the wrong cakes. When he came back the second time he put the wrong cakes in a to go box and then dropped one of the cakes on the floor and told us he was sorry. He didn’t offer to get us another piece but instead still gave us the one in the box he dropped on the ground. It took him 4 times to finally get our order right.

When we finally paid for our meal since we all had to be on one check because of the size of the party I had everyone bring cash. Once again our bus boy took care of our bill and not the server we originally had. We told him we wanted to use the cash and then the rest split up on the 2 cards that we also provided and gave him the exact amount. He returned and used the cash to pay for the bill and didn’t remember we told him the cash also included tip.

He returned and did not put what we told him on the credit cards and started saying he was dumb

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Food, service, ambiance all very good. But not impeccable (5-Star). Filet should have a sauce...like bearnaisse (got A-1). Lettuce was a bit un-fresh. Service was great, almost a 5, but it was awhile before waitress checked on us after serving meal. Ambiance is great but it’s like they can’t decide whether to go “fine dining” or “steak house” (ala McClintock’s). Suggest a dress code.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Never disappointed at the Madonna Inn when dining at the steak house. Starting with the generous relish tray, then big, well prepared steaks with just the right sides and soup or salad included for a reasonable price. Excellent service and over-the-top ambiance, we always have to eat there at least once when we're in San Luis Obispo or nearby. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Enjoyed a lovely birthday dinner, they gifted me with a slice of their famous champagne cake and a ballon. Overall a very nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

We don’t eat steak often but when we do one can’t beat your steak house. Staff appeared very professional but not overwhelming.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Horrible food for the outrageous prices. The only thing worth it was the cake. We will never return to Madonna Inn for dinner. Veggies consisted of frozen peas, bbq chicken was awful smothered in BBQ sauce no oak flavor at all. My husband's food the half lobster and fillet steak was uneventful and his rice had more variety of veggies than my dish. Very disappointed

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

NY Steak undercooked, Rib Eye was good, vegetables must have been from a can- slimey, no flavor and not fresh. Way too expensive for the quality of food you receive. The Madonna Inn wine was not the best either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Really unusual decor-cherubs and there is a hanging little girl and lots of lights and a staircase from Hearst Castle. Men’s bathroom is wild with waterfall as part of urinal. Food very good- known for steaks since on a ranch. Deserts excellent as is the service. Memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

One of the best meals I’ve ever had!! Great food! We were there to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We were given a discount because it was our anniversary. Great food and great service!! Would highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Perfect place to celebrate! I had my 30th birthday at the madonna inn and everything was perfect for my fancy dinner with white champagne cake for dessert! My friends and I enjoyed the delicious food and great wine and spending time with one another!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

What an amazing dinner! My daughter and I celebrated her sweet 16th birthday here! We were on a long road trip together and accidentally found this restaurant and the Madonna Hotel online. Thank goodness we made reservations so we didn't miss this! Ask for Jamie, she was amazing! She provided the best and friendliest service we had on our entire trip! The food was fantastic! I had steak and my daughter had the bbq chicken. I highly recommend the garlic cheese bread too! The ambiance is truly amazing and it all made for an incredible memory. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

One of a kind unique eccentric restaurant!! Portions were huge and prices were very reasonable.
Service is great food with great food, especially for meat lovers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

My 12 year old daughter and I stayed at the Madonna Inn during her Spring Break on our way to visit friends in Irvine.
We of course had to dine in the famous pink dining room.
We each had the filet mignon and it was melt in your mouth fabulous!
Our server was absolutely amazing and attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great ambiance as always. I wished they had more of an extensive brunch for Easter. A waffle station would be great and turkey or chicken sausage. Also roast beef or lamb sliced. Shrimp or crab legs would also be a great addition. More desserts offered as well. It's a pretty skimpy Buffett and you still have to pay out of pocket for champagne. I would prefer to up the price $5 More and add additional items including champagne.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had such a nice time on Easter there. Staff friendly, food good, and the Peep-tini's made for smiles.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We were pretty bummed out, the menu they had posted online for the buffet food was not accurate. They posted saying the buffet included prime rib, frittatas, brie and numerous other items that weren't included. It felt more like a decent hotels nice continental breakfast, especially for $30. It was nice for larger parties but the 14 of us probably would have gone elsewhere knowing what the menu offered.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

we celebrated Easter Brunch at Madonna Inn this year. I was disappointed at the quality of the food, although it was plentiful. Choices of breakfast cuisine was limited, the scrambled eggs were luke warm, and the cheese potatoes (the only ones they had available) were barely warm. Heat lights are definitely needed along with choices not normally seen at any continental breakfast at any Hotel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Easter brunch!! Great service and staff. We really enjoyed and will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Steaks we're either way undercooked or overcooked. Very expensive mistake.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Offered a free dessert for poor service and then forgot to bring dessert and also charged for it on check.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2018

I had requested in writing for cake to be delivered to the table. It was a birthday dinner. I noticed 7 birthday balloons around the dining room. Ours was not one of them. Cake slices with candles were delivered to every table but ours. The Tri-Tip salad was disgusting with old over cooked meat. Service was super slow. A lot of waiting around.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
47

Tweets by Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn