About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: 8669431570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn
House Salad
Truffle Fingerling Potatoes
Broiled Atlantic Salmon
Filet Mignon With Baked Potato
Pumpkin Pie
Dreamcicle Cocktail
Fingerling Potatoes
Chocolate Éclair
TOP SIRLOIN STEAK
Roast Tom Turkey
Pink Champagne Cake
Antipasto Sampler Appetizer
Pumpkin Spice Soup
Filet Mignon
Buffalo Wings
Holiday Cocktail
Lamb
Abalone
Fresh Salmon
Grilled Eggplant
Filet Mignon & Lobster Tail Special
Black Forest Ca
Barbacue Chicken
Black Forest Cake
BBQ Chicken
Fig and Goat Cheese Crostini
Crostini
Salmon

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
California Central Coast
Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
6 More
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Service
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Special Occasion
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (68)
Good for Groups (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Scenic View (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House was worth every penny! Go if you want to experience a dining atmosphere like none other, with a superbly friendly staff. Get the enormous filet mignon; you can cut it with a fork!

Tags: Live Music, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We just celebrated our 1 year anniversar ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

We just celebrated our 1 year anniversary there. We stayed in the Romance Room and enjoyed the pool and the steakhouse. It was all wonderful except for the screaming kid we had to listen to all through dinner. For that nice of a restaurant and for the prices we paid I was a little surprised that the wait staff didn't ask the parents to calm the kid down outside. He just kept screaming and screaming all through dinner. It really out a damper on my dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really wonderful dinner at Madonna's ste ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really wonderful dinner at Madonna's steak house. Fanciful setting dining room with a lot to take in and gaze at, including the cherub candelabra holders. Great romantic evening.

Wait staff was superb. Food was excellent.

Will definitely go again! A band was just starting up as we left, but I could tell there would be good music and dancing that evening. Nice touch.

Plenty of on-site parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor food for the location and surr ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very poor food for the location and surroundings. I was looking forward to it and was very disappointed. Far too expensive for the amount charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Madonna Inn continues to serve some of t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Madonna Inn continues to serve some of the best steaks in the county. We have found that the services has greatly improved. The only thing we see is that the cost has also risen. Not any more that you would pay say in San Francisco. The quality of the meat is there to support the cost, I guess.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is the ultimate in kitsch. B ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This place is the ultimate in kitsch. But everyone should know that going in, right? It's the Madonna Inn for God's sake. It's way, way, way over the top ambiance wise. My son had the rib eye, which was phenomenal. I had the fried chicken, which was very good. The salad it comes with is a good size. The rolls were warm and heavenly. There desserts are very large pieces of sumptuous cakes or amazing fruit pies. The service has always been great each time I've been there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unexpected place for dinner. A must try ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Unexpected place for dinner. A must try for anyone staying for a night in SLO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

OUR SERVER SHARON ( I THINK - SHE'S BEEN ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

OUR SERVER SHARON ( I THINK - SHE'S BEEN THERE 22 YEARS) WAS VERY COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL. PLEASE LET HER KNOW THAT SHE HELPED TO MAKE THE CELEBRATION OF OUR ANNIVERSARY THAT MUCH BETTER. GREAT SERVICE REALLY MAKES THE MEAL MORE ENJOYABLE. WE WERE PASSING THROUGH AND WOULD MOST CERTAINLY STOP AGAIN. LOVED OUR STAY!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is a little pricy, but the service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food is a little pricy, but the service was outstanding. Ask for Ashlee, great personality and can't do enough for you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It is more than a food experience. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It is more than a food experience. The entire place is something to experience at least once - unforgettable to say the least. The steaks are fantastic. It is a pricy place so might reserve going to special occasions. We took another couple on Sat. night and learned there is always live music for dancing at 7:00pm on Sat. Makes for an entertaining evening even if not dancing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This restaurant is so amazing. It's so f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This restaurant is so amazing. It's so fun, great atmosphere and the food is to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was absolutely beautiful. O ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The ambience was absolutely beautiful. Our waitress was outgoing, warm and offered great suggestions regarding menu choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine several time a year at Gold Rush ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We dine several time a year at Gold Rush Steak House and never disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere are consistent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent grill-dinner! Expensive but wo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent grill-dinner! Expensive but worth every penny!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We chose the Madonna Inn because it's a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We chose the Madonna Inn because it's a "destination " when traveling in Central California.

The steaks were so delicious as well as the side dishes. We had excellent service. A unique venue!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great all American dinner exper ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a great all American dinner experience with a lovely waitress

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been coming to the Madonna Inn f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have been coming to the Madonna Inn for the last 26 years (our honeymoon was the first time). We love everything about it! The pool and spa was a much needed attraction--we use it all the time! Thank you for a memorable Anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service. A won ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent food and great service. A wonderful place to celebrate your anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere and service were great. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The atmosphere and service were great. I brought my daughter to the Madonna Inn for her 16th birthday and it was lovely overall. We wanted to have a special meal and I wanted to have a whole Madonna Inn experience. Unfortunately, the food was very disappointing and expensive. It was basically diner food. Such a fun, beautiful place to visit but I was looking for a special dining experience as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Best restaurant on the Central Coast for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best restaurant on the Central Coast for a steak! I love this place. The noise level rating goes up when the band starts to play around 7:30/8:00 ish so if that bothers you, go earlier. But the band is so fun to listen to and watch people dance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional in every way. Just leave roo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Exceptional in every way. Just leave room for the Pink Champagne cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was outstanding! The dining ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our service was outstanding! The dining and our server is a memory my whole family will remember for a very long time. Thank you!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointed with hostess...we asked for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Disappointed with hostess...we asked for a booth (they had plenty available - it was 5) and she TRIED to sit us at banquette seating. When we said no...we wanted a booth she was very indignant and argued that it WAS a booth. Who wants to spend a romantic dinner sitting right next to another party? She finally sat us at one of the many available booths after rolling her eyes. Just set the whole night off! Too bad...a hostess should be trained to know the difference.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our waitress was just exceptional - we a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our waitress was just exceptional - we all loved her!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was the best birthday ever I couldn't ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was the best birthday ever I couldn't ask for something better I love it I will be happy to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience. Excellent foo ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. Excellent food and service. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a special gem. This restaurant has ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

What a special gem. This restaurant has it all. The menu is wonderful. The service most attentive. Wow! Loved every minute! PS don't say no to dessert!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I checked in and was told to wait. I wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I checked in and was told to wait. I waited 10 minutes and saw other people arriving after me and getting seated. I went to counter and spoke with a different host and she informed me the guy that took my name didn't check me in. So i can't lie -I was already annoyed going in.

the waitress forgot our soup and salad since we had ordered an appetizer. i didn't worry about that too much though because she was really good otherwise. Food was outstanding. Although pink champagne should technically be the color pink. But still very tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every year for the past few years now my ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Every year for the past few years now my boyfriend has taken me to the Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House for my birthday. It is one of my favorite places, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is magical and if it is your birthday you get a complimentary slice of their delicious pink champagne cake!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had eaten at the restaurant twice wit ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had eaten at the restaurant twice with groups, but this was the first time as a couple. The hostess and waitress were very professional and pleasant, the food excellent, including meat prepared precisely as my wife and I requested, which seems hard to find in most restaurants. My coconut cream pie was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was excellent. Decor is kitsch. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Steak was excellent.

Decor is kitsch.

Salad was drowned in dressing.

Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a wonderful meal with friends & rela ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a wonderful meal with friends & relatives from Germany, they were so impressed with everything! They felt it was like a fairy land ! The dinner was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jordan -server was very attentive and ma ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Jordan -server was very attentive and made sure we were OK at all times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came here in a group of 6 for a bache ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came here in a group of 6 for a bachelorette party, and it was a great experience! Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Such a fun atmosphere, and a ton to look at which made for fun photo opportunities! They even gave us a slice of their yummy champagne cake on the house! A little pricey, but not terrible and worth it for a great experience and good food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There are very few places like The Madon ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

There are very few places like The Madonna Inn. The décor is kitsch, tacky and truly wonderful! The band was perhaps a little too loud and made conversation a touch hard. The entrees were exceptionally delicious, though over-generous, and the service was super. We were celebrating birthdays, and were made to feel special - even got a balloon and complimentary cake. I'd absolutely recommend The Gold Rush Steak House for a special occasion since the entire place makes everything special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Was our first time in the hotel/Restaura ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Was our first time in the hotel/Restaurant and the place is very interesting and unique.

The restaurant is pretty, good decor and atmosphere.

About food, the only complain was the salad.. I suggest them do not put the dressing for the salad on the top of the portion, please bring it on the side!

We got our salad with a big portion of sauce on the top that doesn't look it nice presentation and tasty... we tried it but leave half portion... lot of sauce on the plate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

My Filet wasn't quite what I wanted. I a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My Filet wasn't quite what I wanted. I asked for Med Well and I got well done. Disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stake House at Madonna Inn was excep ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The Stake House at Madonna Inn was exceptional!! I am dairy free and they were able to accommodate me no problem! The service was amazing. The ambiance is so perfect I couldn't stop smiling! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects! The best file ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent in all respects! The best filet mignon possible!! Just order it and it arrives perfect!!

Service waa outstanding despite it being a full house!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The decor is very powerful. So powerful ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The decor is very powerful. So powerful that it can either add to the experience or detract from it. In our case it was just too flamboyant. Our waitress was nice but the service was a bit slow, probably due to a week-end of College Graduations and large parties. Although the food portions were large and complete with vegetables and side dishes, we had mixed reviews in our party of seven. All in all I am sure this restaurant has it's admirers, however, it was simply too extravagant and too exaggerated for our family.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.