About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: (866) 943-1570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Historic (51)
Good for Birthdays (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Romantic (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Dancing (37)
Fun (31)
Live Music (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Seasonal (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (18)
Fireplace (15)
People Watching (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Family Style (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Scenic View (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Business Meals (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Private Room (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Should have requested a booth! Everythin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Should have requested a booth! Everything else was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The service was good but the food (aside ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was good but the food (aside from the bread and baked potato) was marginal at best. The steaks (at $45+) were disappointing. Mine was underdone (asked for medium and it was red/raw) and my husband's filet mignon was unexpectedly slathered in BBQ sauce (who does that??) We took all the meat home and are hoping to salvage it in a beef stroganoff or something. And, to boot, they were out of cakes by 8 pm (which was part of what we were looking forward to!). We won't return. Pretty sad dinner for $160 for two people!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

While my boyfriend loved his ribeye, my ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

While my boyfriend loved his ribeye, my filet was just "ok". I expected to be able to cut it with a butter knife, but it was crispy on the outside and rather tough and "rubbery" on the inside. I was disappointed.

It's a pricey menu and a "steakhouse" so I'd expect my steak to be 5 stars.

The champagne cake is a must do. Their house Cabernet is a good deal at $22/bottle and we enjoyed the taste.

Overall, I'd say everyone should eat here at least once, to say you've done it. We enjoyed it, but won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Madonna Inn, always good. Great people, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Madonna Inn, always good. Great people, food, décor.....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, , Comfort Food, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Dancing, Authentic, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy evening so maybe part of the proble ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Busy evening so maybe part of the problem. Soup cold, salad had 2 cups dressing on it . Steaks were cooked incorrectly, one overcooked one under cooked. Crew cleaning up, moving tables and getting ready to close during dinner.........spoils the dinning experience a bit. Spent $150......would not go again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Valentine's Day with wife, she really en ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day with wife, she really enjoyed the service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Felt like cattle being herded for Valent ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Felt like cattle being herded for Valentine night special.....not so special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We always have dinner at the Madonna Inn ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We always have dinner at the Madonna Inn when we visit SLO. It's a favorite place that we really enjoy. The New York Steak was wonderful and so was the Halibut. The dance music in the background along with the beautiful Valentine's Day decorations all around the restaurant all made for a lovely and memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most outstanding feature of this res ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The most outstanding feature of this restaurant was service. The wait staff was very attentive. Our drink glasses were always attended to without asking. The steak prices were very reasonable given that it was accompanied with soup or salad, starch, and bread.

Tags: Dancing, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This my wife and I's favorite restaraun ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This my wife and I's favorite restaraunt. Great food and and a great view. Good atmosphere for dancing as well. The prime rib is a must.

Tags: Dancing, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Family Style, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening full of food, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a wonderful evening full of food, conversation, and people watching! We definitely recommend to anyone!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Dancing, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice place. Had a great time, awe ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really nice place. Had a great time, awesome dinner, really creative and captivating drinks, live music and dancing was a great touch. Even a free slice of cake for my wife's birthday. Definitely going to come and visit again. Very well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere. Old tim ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere. Old time, classy feel, excellent service. Such a great place for a celebration. Watching the dance floor, with many experienced dancers, was a blast. Definitely somewhere we will return.

Tags: Dancing, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent. The atmosphere was f ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent. The atmosphere was fun, menu had many choices for food, drinks and wines.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Dancing, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful place to dine and s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely beautiful place to dine and stay with impeccable service!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience. Throughly enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

What a great experience. Throughly enjoyed our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Madonna Inn because it has senti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We love Madonna Inn because it has sentimental value to us - we went their 40 years ago on our honeymoon. So we revisited this past week for our 40th Anniversary. The food is nothing to brag about. We have better steaks at AJ Spurs for less $. The shrimp cocktail was $20 and just plain sad. Limp, watery shrimp - nothing compared to the shrimp cocktail you can get at Custom House in Avila Beach for $13. Vegetable was mushy snap peas. The ambiance is kitschy maximum - you don't want to miss it. Nothing much has changed in that over the past 40 years. The deliciously famous Champagne Cake for dessert doesn't disappoint - well worth a visit just for this cake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Lived on the central coast for 20 yrs an ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Lived on the central coast for 20 yrs and I had never been to The Madonna Inn or its steak house. We'll I've been missing out. Great service and good food. The bar was great with good seating options and stiff drinks. Attentive staff and quick service. The atmosphere is vintage but beautiful. Definitely worth a trip to eat there. The desserts are TO DIE FOR! Make sure you either save room for dessert or take some home with you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Authentic, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

the ambiance is exquisite along with the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

the ambiance is exquisite along with the customer service; wishing food presentation and taste will be at the same level. Food was a lil bland and wish food presentation look more elegant.

Tags: Dancing, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The staff was very friendly and helpful. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Dancing, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great but the food was p ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was great but the food was poor. I was there to celebrate a friends bday he said his ribs were good. My daughter and I had the steak that was hard as a shoe and all of our vegetables were over cooked. We are all very disappointed. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Madonna Inn is always a treat. The atmos ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Madonna Inn is always a treat. The atmosphere is pleasant & it's the one place that still gives you a delicious relish tray to begin your experience 😀

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very bad experience on my 3rd visit to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very bad experience on my 3rd visit to this restaurant. After waiting 1-1/2hrs for our meal to arrive (we did not order appetizers, only entrees) my order was incomplete and served with the wrong side dish. Upon addressing the manager about the issue I was treated to a condescending tone & scolded for the way that I had ordered. At that point I was so disappointed I didn't have it in me to further announce that the steak was also served cold!! I understand that mistakes happen & can easily be rectified with proper customer service, that did not happen here. Grateful that our dessert was comped, but the attitude from the manager left a bad taste in my mouth. Not cool!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

I had very poor service. I didn't get my ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I had very poor service. I didn't get my dinner meal, forgot my dinner rolls, forgot to keep filling my drinks, also it was my birthday gave me a balloon that deflated in about two mins and didn't even ask what cake I wanted .... and the whole place had ran out of candles it was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lovely decor and the food was very good. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Lovely decor and the food was very good. The 3 for 30 restaurant deal is very good value and recommended. Will do this again. Service was good. We will take friends and family there any time. Keep it up !

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a unique dining venue, loads of ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is a unique dining venue, loads of character. Service by Alberto was outstanding. Meal was good but dessert was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been there before really enjoyed ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been there before really enjoyed ourselves. The food was fantastic loved the ambiance so unique Love it so much that i brought my whole family. This time The food was very good no it was Excellent, the waiter not so much to a very long time to get our drinks, food and desserts we had little kids with us and they were anxious from setting and waiting so long.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Fabulous meal for bday celebration great ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous meal for bday celebration great steak, ribs, etc

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The special for January with the wine pa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The special for January with the wine pairings was outstanding and were generous portions. The only bump in the road is that they tried to seat up in one of those cute alcove like booths. Way to small for our party, so we requested a regular table which they quickly got us into. Nice touch that they gave the birthday lady a balloon and a piece of cake. Madonna Inn is one our favorite places for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our dining was fabulous, as always. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our dining was fabulous, as always. The fairy-tale decor, dancers beyond the dining room, friendly wait persons, and wonderful food combine for a fine meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've driven by the Madonna Inn for decad ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I've driven by the Madonna Inn for decades and finally stopped in for Restaurant Month. It is worth seeing the décor and sitting in the cozy booths. The live band started at 7:00 and was also enjoyable. The food and the service were both good, but nothing spectacular.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Second time we have been hear and the st ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Second time we have been hear and the steaks were under cooked and small for the price. Abalone was small and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed our dinner at Madonna Inn so ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Madonna Inn so much we decided to have my wife's birthday Saturday Jan. 28, there and 14 friends are joining us.

Tags: Scenic View, , Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here a few times and had much ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've been here a few times and had much better. Our visit this time the Service was great, But we didn't find the food to be all that great. The salad was so so, the Baked Potato was smothered in sour cream, more sour cream than potato. And although our steaks were cooked great they were lacking flavor. It just didn't have that Wow factor, we wanted to go away saying that meal was delicious 😋 But it wasn't so much. Somewhat Disappointed as we brought friends who had driven 4 hrs and had never been before, we wanted them to love the whole experience.😳

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A MUST GO TO!!! Absolutely worth any dr ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A MUST GO TO!!! Absolutely worth any drive, price, occasion, group, etc. a price of time you MUST experience. And very comfortable seating!

Tags: Comfort Food, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Cozy, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, , Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Waterfront, Fireplace, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've had Ashlee serve us twice and she' ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We've had Ashlee serve us twice and she's a phenomenal server! The Alex Madonna Goldrush Steakhouse is now my go-to-place for a special dinner. Thanks Ashlee!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak is worth going out of your way ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The steak is worth going out of your way for. For restaurant month we shared a meal and one was enough. Don't miss this place!!

Tags: Romantic, Dancing, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I rated the way I did because the food w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I rated the way I did because the food was phenomenal, the atmosphere was elegant as well as entertaining in itself, but our server Jamie was somewhat disingenuous. The way she asked us questions about how we wanted our meal prepared; she worded it differently to patrons who were seated nearby who you could definitely tell had money (we ordered the restraunt month special) . Jamie was attentive but we felt like we were treated like second class. Lastly I did not like the port I was served at the end of the meal and she refused my husband to take it off the bill. I only took two sips of it.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

As a local, I do like visiting the Madon ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As a local, I do like visiting the Madonna Inn, especially during the holidays. Always over-the-top decorations. I usually eat at the coffee shop (really good coffee btw) and enjoy their desserts. This time I met friends at the steakhouse. Mediocre steak, great baked potato. Had to send back the Bloody Mary because it had a funky smokey taste. I recommend visiting...but stick to the coffee shop/bakery!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I went here for the new years dinner, I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I went here for the new years dinner, I loved the food!

The way their New Years Dinner was set up was close quarters to many tables around us. They tried to get as many people into a small area as possible. It was a section away from where the normal steak house reservations were. The price we paid included gratuity and taxes, drinks from the bar were on a separate bill. Only thing that I did not like was that the menu & price stated we would get champagne and none was ever brought out to us or offered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.