About Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn

100 Madonna Road
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
View Larger Map

Enjoy an award winning dining experience, renowned for its outstanding menu and spectacular pink and gold décor. Indulge in a delicious oak-pit-barbecued steak, fresh seafood, chicken, or vegetarian entrees. Featuring a superb wine list, decadent world-famous desserts and nightly entertainment and dancing. Adjacent the Steak House is our elegant Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge featuring classic and uniquely, inspired cocktails. Boutique shopping makes for a fun experience before or after you dine with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5pm to 10pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 543-3000

Website:
http://www.madonnainn.com/

Entertainment:
Voted biggest and best dance floor on the Central Coast! Come dance to a live band Thursday through Saturday nights. No Cover Charge. On Sunday, join DJ Nancy Lara for West Coast swing, salsa, cha cha, and just about anything! Monday nights are Swing Nights with DJs from SLO Swing. Days and times are subject to change.

Catering:
The Madonna Inn offers an in-house bakery & pastry shop for after dinner desserts as well as sweets for all your banquet, wedding or special occasions. Pick up only. For more information, call our bakery at 805-543-3000.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free private parking! Easy on and off freeway access with parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop at the entrance to Madonna Inn.

Executive Chef:
Jacqui Hanover

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or lavish event, our Event Specialists will help you plan a beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. Please note this is a reservation request only. Kindly allow at least 5 days minimum notice for your request.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Department: 8669431570

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
House Salad - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Truffle Fingerling Potatoes - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Broiled Atlantic Salmon - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Filet Mignon With Baked Potato - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Pumpkin Pie - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Dreamcicle Cocktail - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Fingerling Potatoes - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Chocolate Éclair - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Roast Tom Turkey - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Pink Champagne Cake - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Antipasto Sampler Appetizer - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Pumpkin Spice Soup - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Filet Mignon - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Buffalo Wings - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Holiday Cocktail - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Lamb - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Abalone - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Fresh Salmon - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Grilled Eggplant - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Filet Mignon & Lobster Tail Special - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Black Forest Ca - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
TOP SIRLOIN STEAK - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Barbacue Chicken - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Black Forest Cake - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
BBQ Chicken - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Fig and Goat Cheese Crostini - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Crostini - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA
Salmon - Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn, San Luis Obispo, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate the Season with Prime Rib and Baked Ham, or classic entrees such as Filet Mignon, Lobster Tail, BBQ Chicken or Salmon: All served with homemade soup or salad, sides, and fresh dinner rolls

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Celebrate the Season with Long Island Duckling, Roast Tom Turkey and Baked Honey Cured Ham, or classic entrees such as Filet Mignon, Lobster Tail, BBQ Chicken or Salmon: All served with homemade soup or salad, sides, and fresh dinner rolls

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

New Year's Eve Gala, all inclusive event. Enjoy choice of prime rib, filet mignon, lobster, fried chicken, salmon, swordfish, or vegetarian entrees. Includes Seafood Chowder or salad, glass of champagne, and world-famous chocolate eclairs. $125.00 per person Two seatings!

Alex Madonna’s Gold Rush Steak House, at Madonna Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Steakhouse
California Central Coast
Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
5 More
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Service
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Ambiance
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in San Luis Obispo ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (44)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Historic (36)
Fun (35)
Worth the Drive (29)
Dancing (25)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Live Music (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (14)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fireplace (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Family Style (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Scenic View (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very expensive for what it is, but the s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Very expensive for what it is, but the servings are generous. The vegetables were overcooked and soggy, which should not be the case on a $48 steak. The greeting staff were disinterested and confused, service was just okay. It was a unique place, and convenient as we were staying at the hotel, but I would never go back again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

They took care of us for our 20th weddin ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

They took care of us for our 20th wedding anniversary. My wife wife was very happy.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful experience, top notch. Really ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful experience, top notch. Really enjoyed the steak and lobster.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

After cancellations for family celebrati ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

After cancellations for family celebration, we made reservations at Madonna Inn steakhouse 2 days before Thanksgiving and were able to get a table at 8 pm for 2 people. Both our filet mignon and ribeye steak were delicious. Rest of meal was simple and basic American style - potatoes, steamed beans, antipasto. The pumpkin soup was good and stood out from the rest of the meal - a little bit spicy with small chunks of pumpkin which gave it an excellent texture. The serving of toffee crunch cake was huge and indeed crunchy. This was the first time we have eaten at Madonna Inn. Decorations were western and Bavarian themed plus Christmas season and over-the-top but fun. Mostly, I enjoyed looking at the photos throughout the restaurant and I am now curious how the Madonnas are possibly related to another rancher and also botanist of southern CA Ernest C. Twisselmann although he spells his last name with two n's.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Celebrated Thanksgiving here. They do a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Celebrated Thanksgiving here. They do a very robust business during the holidays & of course the decor is a must-see (at least once in your lifetime.) The food was average (my lamb was very tough) the service was sub-par (I'm guessing they bring in extra wait-staff during their busy season, so service isn't necessarily high on their list of requirements) the ambience is like being in Liberace's lair, but despite all that - it was fun to experience it. We probably won't go back, but it was perfectly adequate for this special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We have always enjoyed the Madonna Inn. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have always enjoyed the Madonna Inn. We usually are there for Thanksgiving and several other special days of the year.

The food is delicious and the service is unsurpassed. I'm sure we will be there again before the end of the year.

Thank you again for making it a pleasant experience every time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved The Madonna Inn and ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have always loved The Madonna Inn and never have been here for a big holiday.

It was disappointing to be served old carrots/celery in the relish tray and rolls that had been sitting too long (they turned hard as soon as they cooled). I was very surprised at being served powdered mashed potatoes too.

I understand that the numbers they are trying to serve on Thanksgiving was enormous but they should be able to do it if they are filling all those seats.

The service was very good, they had plenty of coverage in the dining room.

The kitchen needs more coverage so the food can be better managed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My service was very bad, food was set by ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My service was very bad, food was set by my group (8) and no one served us, food got cold. I got up and started handing the plates out to my family.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Service was pretty good. Took a long ti ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was pretty good. Took a long time for waiter to get to table when we first arrived. Asked for our drink order, but hostess never left wine list. I ordered traditional turkey dinner. Turkey was dry, did not like stuffing, yams tasted like jarred baby food, and snap peas were soggy. Husband enjoyed his filet mignon. Ordered dessert. I have always heard people rant and rave over Pink Champagne cake. Disappointed. It has almond flavoring which I hate and it is not part of the description. Was dry and way too sweet. Husband ordered Coconut Cream Pie, and it was delicious. We are living in the area for a short time and felt we need to eat at this spot before leaving the area. Maybe holiday time is a bad time. I understand it is priced high, and that is okay if you get a good meal, but mine was disappointing.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We traveled 300 miles to this area for a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We traveled 300 miles to this area for a family Thanksgiving Dinner. The special Thanksgiving dinners were $40 each and that did not include desert. The dressing with the Turkey dinner was soggy, the snap peas were soft and had no snap left in them, the yams were very plain and you just can't ruin mash potatoes. For the price we were not impressed. Other people in the party did not order the Thanksgiving dinners and they were pleased with the prime rib and the lamb chops. In my opinion this was at most a $15-$20 meal.

 The server was attentive and gave us good service.
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I couldn't believe my Thanksgiving turke ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I couldn't believe my Thanksgiving turkey plate had instant potatoes at that price!

My husband said his ribeye steak meat quality was not good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Eating at the Madonna Inn steakhouse is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Eating at the Madonna Inn steakhouse is an experience everyone should have. It's beautiful, wild and gaudy. And super fun. The food is old-school and nothing contemporary or artisan. Basic salad with blue cheese. Basic steak. Potatoes. White bread dinner rolls. And you'll pay hefty prices. But the experience is fun and worth it for an occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Got the chop steak salad. Looks like som ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Got the chop steak salad. Looks like something out of Ramsey's kitchen nightmare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

I have given the Gold Rush steakhouse ju ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I have given the Gold Rush steakhouse just an average review primarily because the food was not very good at all for the price paid. The steak was very unevenly cooked and over done for the most part. Rosann who was our waitress was a saving grace behind my review for her excellent service and friendly nature. Otherwise, I would have to pass on the steakhouse if it is presented as an option again based on the food quality.

Tip: corkage fee is $15 per bottle

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

A-Freakin-mazing! The prime rib was en p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A-Freakin-mazing! The prime rib was en pointe, the baked potato was cooked perfectly, the sugar snap peas snapped right down my throat. YUM!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was more than I had dreamed. Loved ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was more than I had dreamed. Loved everything, and the best steaks ever! We can't wait to go back. Service was EXCELLENT in the bar and the restaurant and all of the staff were very friendly. The music was wonderful in the ballroom after dinner. Will go back to stay next time.

We had a wonderful anniversary celebration with our friends! A++++

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Filet Mignon & Lobster was excellent. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My Filet Mignon & Lobster was excellent. We had excellent service with Sharon. She was very friendly, timely and efficient. She is an asset to the Madonna Inn. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would have loved to sit in the center ne ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Would have loved to sit in the center near the booths (like we asked and they said they would set us in the center) but we always get set past the bar because we have a wheelchair with us. There IS access for the wheelchair to get to the center and they said they could get us in there. Instead they took us around past the bar and sat on the outside. Just ONCE we would like to sit where the booths are, but no, wheelchairs get set in the back. :( My girlfriend would like to enjoy the main center setting, just like everyone else. I'm not sure if we'll come back a third time because we never get what we request (even though I made clear we were willing to wait for an open table in the center). Bummer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service. Ask to sit in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great food, great service. Ask to sit in Sharon's section. She is awesome! All staff are fantastic, and they are warm and friendly. It' s worth the drive from Los Angeles to San Luis Obispo. Order the lamb chops, or the rib eye.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This occasion was my Granddaughters birt ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This occasion was my Granddaughters birthday,.......we both love Maddona Inn.....go there often.......everything was as expected, good food, good service, friendly staff....

Quiet music.......

The decor is like a fantasy land, we love it......

The pink champagne cake was great.......a must for dessert,

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, the service am ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was outstanding, the service amazing. One of the kids started to fall asleep and the waiter offered to make a pillow from a napkin. And of course being in the Madonna inn classic decor is priceless. One of the last places that still has dinner and dancing to live music.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Dancing, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best steak I've ever had. An ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the best steak I've ever had. And if you have a been here before it's got to be on your bucket list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Live Music, Dancing, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our friendly server sat us in a private ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our friendly server sat us in a private booth. The decor was very impressive and there was live music. My partner ordered the grilled swordfish which was very bland and it looked like it had been poached instead of grilled. My ribeye was bland and poor quality. The salad was drenched in vinaigrette and the veggies were mushy. Please just go for cocktails at the bar and enjoy the vibe and music. Save yourself a hefty bill!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

We've enjoyed the Gold Rush Steakhouse a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We've enjoyed the Gold Rush Steakhouse at the Madonna Inn for more than 25 years. We've had most everything on the menu from the Fried Chicken to the Prime Rib and they've never disappointed. This visit, we enjoyed the Abalone and the Filet with 1/2 Lobster tail. Both meals were wonderful. We had a very comfortable booth and the service was excellent. Wednesday thru Saturday evening they also offer Live Big Band Music and dancing. Although we don't typically dance, the music in the background adds to the wonderful atmosphere of the restaurant. We plan to return again and again when we're in the SLO area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steaks I ever had

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

One of the best steaks I ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place that has a feel special am ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Amazing place that has a feel special ambiance! The dinner and dessert were wonderful! Definitely would go again!

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service I've had in years!!! Thank ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Best service I've had in years!!! Thank you for having such amazing servers. My son has celiac and they accommodated his diet perfectly! The band and the ambiance are awesome and you just can't beat having dinner with live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We dined at the steakhouse while visitin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We dined at the steakhouse while visiting our daughter at Cal Poly. We Sometimes visited

The Inn when I was on family road trips as a kid and the restaurant and Inn

were just how I remembered it! The food and service were wonderful and it was fun to sit in the big "pink" formal leather booth and Appreciate all the ambiance of the Gold Rush area! They still have the best Roquefort salad dressing and steaks were cooked perfectly! Their apple pie for dessert was Devine! So glad we took the time to dine there and feel a bit of nostalgia....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sharon was a great waitress and had good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Sharon was a great waitress and had good food we enjoyed our dinner on Tuesday night and couple got up and dance to live music.

Tags: Dancing, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We stayed overnight at the Madonna Inn a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We stayed overnight at the Madonna Inn and made a reservation at the Steakhouse. We arrived pretty late, so our reservation was at 9pm. It was very quiet and felt intimate since their weren't a lot of people around.

The decor is gaudy & eclectic, but I ate up every minute of it! Hot pink and gold adornments and twinkle lights made the room feel magical and special. Having a huge, cozy booth to ourselves didn't hurt either.

We ate like Kings! Shrimp cocktail, Cesar Salad, Steak & Potatoes, a bottle of wine chilled table side-- it was a fun experience! The salad was overdressed, but that's my only complaint.

We were presented with the dessert tray and opted for the Pink Champagne Slice to-go because we were stuffed. Back in our room, we put on our comfy robes and ate the cake in bed.

I definitely felt spoiled and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor and ambiance is amazing. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The decor and ambiance is amazing. The service was unbeatable, and everyone is treated like it's a special occasion. The food was delicious and worth the cost, which was reasonable for the amazing quality. We both agreed it was the best cooked steak we've ever had. So charming and such amazing character.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Food was very good. Lo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great experience. Food was very good. Loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has a ton of character. Staf ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This place has a ton of character. Staff was friendly, attentive, and accommodating, but not pushy or overbearing. Nearly everyone there was having a birthday or anniversary, so it is a very popular place for special occasions. Not the place to go if you're on a budget, but you certainly get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and Service at the Gold Rush St ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food and Service at the Gold Rush Steak House has always been great. We go there every time we are in the area. We haven't had a bad service or meal yet in 11 years of going to the Steak House. We go for anniversaries or birthdays or just because we are in San Luis Obispo or passing thru. It's nice to see the same waiters and waitresses there over the years.

It's nice to listen to the band and go dancing after dinner. You need to try it once and you will probably be going back often.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Dancing, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very expensive staff great but all in a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Very expensive staff great but all in all not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Wonderful food, drinks and atmosphere. B ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wonderful food, drinks and atmosphere. Best place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Dancing, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the Madonna Inn and first ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 26, 2016

First time at the Madonna Inn and first time at the Gold Rush. The service and staff were very nice, our one big complaint was there is a banquet room downstairs (where the wine cellar/store and the 'infamous public bathrooms' are) and there was a quinceañera going on and a DJ playing so much bass and loud music that it sounded like a rave. This was EASILY heard in the restaurant and was very distracting for those trying to have a nice dinner on a Sunday night.

If you know what the Madonna Inn is and what to expect you will love this. It is 'kitchy' but I loved it! The food is very 'homestyle' cooking/comfort food type and a bit over priced (it is a 'resort'). We would come back again but would hope a private event is not happening again.

On the night we were there, in the restaurant there was live band/music and people swing dancing which looked like fun but I am amazed they could hear their music over the bass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Dancing, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Madonna Inn is THE Iconic spot on th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The Madonna Inn is THE Iconic spot on the Central Coast..

It is known for its decor and has always lived up to its expectations .

The deserts are worth the occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a special reservation for our ann ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I made a special reservation for our anniversary dinner. We were staying at the Madonna Inn. The first thing wrong was every other table had a special balloon for a special event, except ours. They said they were out of helium. Next they put us at the worst table in the whole restaurant. It was in between two other table and you had to put your back to hump in the booth, as if we squeezed in between two parties. We asked to be moved. Next the waitress took three tables orders at once, like a waitress at Denny's. Her first words out of her mouth was, "are you ready?" After we gave her our order, we hardly saw her again. We had to ask for everything. I don't mind this kind of service at a diner, but this is an upscale restaurant and our bill was around 200 dollars. In fact, we had much better service at the cafe in the same hotel for half the price than we did at this place. The food was adequate, but nothing special. Last thing was a free piece of cake with our special dinner. A nice gesture I will admit, but instead of asking what we wanted, the waitress gave us a piece of chocolate cake. This restaurant has 5 different kinds of cake, but I guess we didn't get a choice even though I am not a fan of chocolate. I don't know why she chose that cake; maybe it was extra. She couldn't be bothered to ask what we wanted to drink let alone what cake we wanted so I should not have been surprised. It was not worth the price, or the wait. I will never go there again and recommend no one waste their time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Favorite date night spot

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Favorite date night spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.