About Aldo's Ristorante

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Authentic (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Healthy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Live Music (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice atmosphere, decent food. The staff ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Nice atmosphere, decent food. The staff was pleaent. We went for a romantic dinner. It was not disappointing. The food was decent not much flavor, had the manicati,and lasagna.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find, very good food, very good s ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great find, very good food, very good service , found it from other reviews

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was ok, it was very crowded and not t ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

It was ok, it was very crowded and not too much room. They have a dress code, but really the ambient did not meet that code. Loud and tight all around . Food was ok.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Always reliably good. It has been one ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always reliably good. It has been one of our favorites for years. The staff is always courteous and professional. The reason that I gave them only 4 stars on the food this time is that my husband said one of the appetizer lamb chops was tough and rubbery...fortunately it was the one he ate first, because he said the other was tender and juicy. We enjoyed the focaccia. bread and split the spinach and pear salad. We each had steak, one special and one menu regular. The steaks were cooked to perfection. So really the food rating is 4.90, and we won't hesitate to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, as always. We have been ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent meal, as always. We have been before and will go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the food was excellent and t ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always, the food was excellent and the waiter was extremely knowledgeable and provided excellent service. The atmosphere was nice, quiet and relaxing. We took our neighbors to dinner and we all enjoyed it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary and research ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for our anniversary and researched the menu and reviews prior to going. It happened to be New Years Eve so they had a limited menu that did not include our selections. The food was good but pricey. The atmosphere was nice and people were friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We've been going to Also's since they op ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

We've been going to Also's since they opened and have always left full and with a take home bag. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent. They have an excellent wait staff. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I shared our annual holid ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

My friends and I shared our annual holiday dinner at Aldo's this year. Greg, our waiter, was fantastic! The food was very good but as others had commented, it was very very loud. I hadn't been to Aldo's in years so I will know next time to ask for reservations far away from the bar.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We go to Aldo's, as a family, several ti ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We go to Aldo's, as a family, several times a year. We have never been disappointed! Something for everyone, great food and service. Great for a special occasion, date, or if you are trying to impress someone!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always another excellent meal in an ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

As always another excellent meal in an excellent restaurant with excellent service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best! Christmas celebrat ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Absolutely the best! Christmas celebration with friends, and we had such a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner and service was outstanding as us ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Dinner and service was outstanding as usual. We ordered cocktails that were prepared expertly. We ordered an appetizer of crab, avocado, and lettuce with a nice sriracha/mayo sauce. My wife and I both had the sea bass which was cooked to perfection and seasoned with onions, capers, and a light sauce. It was served with roasted cauliflower which was a nice pairing with the fish and an al dente linguini. A bottle of pinot grigio went well with the meal. We finished by sharing a neopolitan for desert. Christopher F. provided service and was very attentive and efficient. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice menu, I had the house special ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very nice menu, I had the house special veal chop that was outstanding. Going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Early Christmas Eve dinner with my Husba ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Early Christmas Eve dinner with my Husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been sometime since we were at Al ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

It has been sometime since we were at Aldo's and now wonder why we waited so long. Excellent menu and superb specials. We had a delicious veal dish. Excellent wine list and the service was good. Overall a very nice experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are looking for a truly special p ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

If you are looking for a truly special place to celebrate a special moment Aldo's is the place to go. Excellent food courteous and professional staff. Make gal does your special place we have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited Aldo's after a 15 year absence, ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Visited Aldo's after a 15 year absence, and found it exactly as I remember it. The service is as good as at any restaurant I've ever eaten at, really fantastic. Our waiter made all of the expected visits, gave excellent suggestions, and had the kitchen decorate a tiramisu for my wife's birthday.

We brought my 2 teens, and they agreed that it was better than anything we found in Rome.

We each had a pasta dish, and they were delicious to the point that you would hesitate after each bite to savor it.

If I had to dig for negatives, it's a little chilly next to the door, and I would enjoy a nice bread at the table, not offered I guess.

But those details were greatly overshadowed by the fantastic service. I wish I still had a memory, but I think the waiter's name was Brendan?

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My 1st visit- our Wedding Anniversary. e ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

My 1st visit- our Wedding Anniversary. excellent food, service and a great waiter who was very attentive without being obvious. Will definitely come back. Have lived in Virginia Beach 24 years and can't imagine missing out on this place up until now.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service!! Can't wait to ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food & service!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I like Aldo's for our annive ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

My wife and I like Aldo's for our anniversary and other special occasions. The service is impeccable, the wait staff knowledgeable on the wines as well as the food.

Aldo's isn't cheap but that's the difference between fine dining and just eating out. I would highly recommend Aldo's for birthdays, anniversaries, and any other special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner at the bar. Teri and To ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent dinner at the bar. Teri and Tonie did a fine job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food.

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT location for holiday group luncheo ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

GREAT location for holiday group luncheons and authentic Italian cuisines. ;-)

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very good. One big issue for u ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Overall very good. One big issue for us -- we couldn't believe a restaurant of this caliber did not have blue cheese/Roquefort salad dressing. That was very disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waiter and ambiance was great food n ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

The waiter and ambiance was great food not so good portions to small.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Several things stood out to me as I ente ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Several things stood out to me as I entered Aldo's, waited for my meal and dined, but three things in particular. First, the greeting, seating and service that I had received was very attentive and cordial. Moreover, the warm, informative service from my waitress Samatha as I waited on my meal to be fully served was outstanding. Secondly, the ambience and Christmas decorations were beautiful. Lastly, my meal was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter (Michael) was excellent. It was m ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Waiter (Michael) was excellent. It was my wife's birthday. I only gave the ambience a 2 because we were near an exit door and whenever someone left a huge draft hit us. It was not the main entrance/exit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Service is the model others should emula ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Service is the model others should emulate. Food is impeccable. Primarily Italian dishes, sufficient fish, fowl, and hoof options. My #1 choice for special outings.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is one of the top restaurants in ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Aldo's is one of the top restaurants in the area. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, but we found it to be to ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very good food, but we found it to be too pricey for the amount of food served.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Aldo's gourmet cuisine is absolutely out ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Aldo's gourmet cuisine is absolutely outstanding with great presentation, fresh ingredients and authentic Italian dishes. The service is great too. We were the last patrons of the evening and were not rushed. We highly recommend Aldo's and plan to return next time we are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, , Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful experience we were ce ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was a wonderful experience we were celebrating the 34th anniversary. They made it very special as they always have. We think coming there celebrating your anniversary since our 15th anniversary so it's been a lot of years and every time they made it special and we always want to come back. My husband's favorite dish is your specialty veal chop dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I wanted Italian food and ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

My family and I wanted Italian food and this was excellent! Everyone was pleased with their meals. Even had some lighter choices on their menu. Great atmosphere and great service as well. My new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were greeted as we entered and prompt ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were greeted as we entered and promptly taken to our table. The waitress was outstanding and congenial. Food and pumpkin Martini very good. Very nice evening!!!

Tags: , Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food at Aldo's was deliciou ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

As usual the food at Aldo's was delicious. Our waitress never stopped by after we received our meals to see if everything was ok. Kind of strange in a higher end restaurant. The owner actually said goodnight to us as we were leaving-usually they just ignore you (one of the main reasons we don't go there more often).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Aldos. It's our favorite Italian ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love Aldos. It's our favorite Italian restaurant. They never disappoint. We always get seated in our favorite section and service is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT! We love Aldo's. Favorite Ital ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

EXCELLENT! We love Aldo's. Favorite Italian restaurant in Hampton Roads!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful staff and food. We have been g ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful staff and food. We have been going to Aldo's for many years. Aldo's is a locals favorite!!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and superb service. Our w ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and superb service. Our waiter, Barney, was outstanding! Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.