About Aldo's Ristorante

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Food
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
4 More
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Special Occasion (47)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Authentic (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Wood Oven (18)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Live Music (7)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall very good. One big issue for u ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall very good. One big issue for us -- we couldn't believe a restaurant of this caliber did not have blue cheese/Roquefort salad dressing. That was very disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waiter and ambiance was great food n ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

The waiter and ambiance was great food not so good portions to small.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Several things stood out to me as I ente ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Several things stood out to me as I entered Aldo's, waited for my meal and dined, but three things in particular. First, the greeting, seating and service that I had received was very attentive and cordial. Moreover, the warm, informative service from my waitress Samatha as I waited on my meal to be fully served was outstanding. Secondly, the ambience and Christmas decorations were beautiful. Lastly, my meal was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter (Michael) was excellent. It was m ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Waiter (Michael) was excellent. It was my wife's birthday. I only gave the ambience a 2 because we were near an exit door and whenever someone left a huge draft hit us. It was not the main entrance/exit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Service is the model others should emula ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Service is the model others should emulate. Food is impeccable. Primarily Italian dishes, sufficient fish, fowl, and hoof options. My #1 choice for special outings.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is one of the top restaurants in ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Aldo's is one of the top restaurants in the area. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, but we found it to be to ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very good food, but we found it to be too pricey for the amount of food served.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Aldo's gourmet cuisine is absolutely out ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Aldo's gourmet cuisine is absolutely outstanding with great presentation, fresh ingredients and authentic Italian dishes. The service is great too. We were the last patrons of the evening and were not rushed. We highly recommend Aldo's and plan to return next time we are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful experience we were ce ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was a wonderful experience we were celebrating the 34th anniversary. They made it very special as they always have. We think coming there celebrating your anniversary since our 15th anniversary so it's been a lot of years and every time they made it special and we always want to come back. My husband's favorite dish is your specialty veal chop dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I wanted Italian food and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My family and I wanted Italian food and this was excellent! Everyone was pleased with their meals. Even had some lighter choices on their menu. Great atmosphere and great service as well. My new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were greeted as we entered and prompt ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were greeted as we entered and promptly taken to our table. The waitress was outstanding and congenial. Food and pumpkin Martini very good. Very nice evening!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food at Aldo's was deliciou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As usual the food at Aldo's was delicious. Our waitress never stopped by after we received our meals to see if everything was ok. Kind of strange in a higher end restaurant. The owner actually said goodnight to us as we were leaving-usually they just ignore you (one of the main reasons we don't go there more often).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Aldos. It's our favorite Italian ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love Aldos. It's our favorite Italian restaurant. They never disappoint. We always get seated in our favorite section and service is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT! We love Aldo's. Favorite Ital ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

EXCELLENT! We love Aldo's. Favorite Italian restaurant in Hampton Roads!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful staff and food. We have been g ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful staff and food. We have been going to Aldo's for many years. Aldo's is a locals favorite!!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and superb service. Our w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and superb service. Our waiter, Barney, was outstanding! Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's never fails with outstanding food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Aldo's never fails with outstanding food quality and consistency, outstanding service and a great wine list! We had a clam appetizer and entrees of lamb, fish and two pasta dishes, romanelli alla vodka and shrimp gorgonzola - fabulous!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Todd was/is the best service we experie ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Todd was/is the best service we experienced in a number of years. Food was fantastic, drink was perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better evening. Thank you!

Tags: Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always at the top of my Best Restaurants ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Always at the top of my Best Restaurants in Hampton Roads. Consistently good for decades. It has an energy that you feel as soon as you walk in. The service is the best in the area and the menu choices are fantastic.

Debbie Kassir and Jim Farsi always make you feel special.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful but it was very ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was wonderful but it was very loud lots of people in small space creates a lot of noise. At dinner with my parents it was difficult to talk even across our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

MIchael our waiter and we enjoyed very m ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

MIchael our waiter and we enjoyed very much he was always available when we needed him

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was outstanding. The food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was outstanding. The food was mediocre. To start, my husband and I split the avocado and crab salad. It had excessive mayonnaise, which killed the crab flavor. For dinner I had pasta with Alfredo sauce. The Alfredo sauce was bland. It lacked cheese and garlic. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent as always!! We have never bee ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent as always!! We have never been disappointed. Friendly atmosphere with consistently good food and wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner! Our server Michael was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing dinner! Our server Michael was awesome! Everyone there was engaging, friendly, and made the place really special! The entrees were excellent from the appetizers through the dessert and coffee. We were there on a Sat night, so there was a fantastic pianist creating a great ambiance! I would highly recommend if you are local to Virginia Beach or if you are simply visiting. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent as always. Good wine ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Good wine list. It was very busy when we visited on a Saturday night and service was not up to par. We eat there a lot and usually get superior service- so it was a little disappointing. We still love Aldo's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I made reservations to celebrate our wed ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I made reservations to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food and the service were excellent. I had been to Aldo's many times before and had previously ordered pasta carbonara. It is no longer on the menu but when I asked if perhaps the chef could make it for me our server was very kind and made my request. The chef complied and as I had remembered it was absolutely delectable. I Aldo's would consider it back on the menu.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening! Enjoyed a table for t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Wonderful evening! Enjoyed a table for two at the window watching the rain knowing that we were warm, dry and looking forward to a great night. Wait staff was excellent; knew the menu and wines extremely well.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was great. our server Jacqueline wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

food was great. our server Jacqueline was especially lovely and gregarious.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was delightful and food was ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service was delightful and food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Filet Al Cognac was superb! Best cut ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Filet Al Cognac was superb! Best cut of beef I've enjoyed in a long time. Service was great. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service, but pricy $$ ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent food and service, but pricy $$$$$. Had dinner on a relative quiet evening, but it was still noisy. Attempted to get a reservation for 6PM, but couldn't. Yet at 6PM there were very few people in the restaurant...I know because I sat outside from 5PM until 6:30.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Aldo's never fails our expectations. Gr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Aldo's never fails our expectations. Great food, service and ambiance. Our go to place for any celebration or just a nice dinner out.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is our favorite restaurant, and w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Aldo's is our favorite restaurant, and we always absolutely dine here on our Anniversary. We just celebrated #24, and had such a great time! I recommend Aldo's to everyone I know, especially to friends and colleagues that come to this area from out of town.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The veal francese and the tomato and moz ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The veal francese and the tomato and mozzarella are my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was excellent. The back room ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything was excellent. The back room gets a bit loud when larger groups try and talk over the Piano but overall was very good

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

A fabulous dinner with Christopher as ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A fabulous dinner with Christopher as our server. We had the Chicken Alfredo and Chicken Marsala. We both enjoyed our selections. A lovely experience. Has become one of our favorite restaurants in Virginia Beach!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Aldo's on multiple occasi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I have been to Aldo's on multiple occasions. The service is wonderful the staff is very friendly and take special care to be sure all of your needs are met. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As an Italian on vacation in Virginia Be ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

As an Italian on vacation in Virginia Beach area I found Aldo's like home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Aldo's a couple of times a year ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We go to Aldo's a couple of times a year. For a little while it was hit or miss but the last few years it's been very consistent. The drinks are generous and good. The food this time was terrific for both myself and my wife. Service is always excellent and the prices are reasonable. I will definitely continue to go to Aldo's every vacation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent. Best cocoanut cake ev ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always consistent. Best cocoanut cake ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.