About Aldo's Ristorante

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
2 More
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

special occasion (89)
romantic (58)
notable wine list (51)
See All
fit for foodies (43)
good for groups (37)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for lunch (25)
great for brunch (12)
hot spot (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is always good and the service ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always good and the service is some of the best in the business. This has been one of our favorite restaurants for over 20yrs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant and having a person ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and having a person playing the piano is a real classy addition. The overall noise level was a bit too high and I was bummed that I couldn't sit next to my date at our table for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Italian restaurant away from ocean ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great Italian restaurant away from oceanfront. Wonderfulmenuandspecils. We visited twice in oneweek.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service, Food and drinks very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent Service, Food and drinks very good. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, atmosphere and service. Love ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food, atmosphere and service. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant was extremely busy . Service ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Restaurant was extremely busy . Service was very slow because there were several larger tables that were attended to first (we were four diners). However the food was very good, as always. This was a business meeting, but we could not hear each other because of the other diners. Next time, for a business meeting, we will ask to be seated in the smaller part of the restaurant, away from the larger tables.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent customized service! Mike provi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent customized service! Mike provided us with exactly what we wanted for dinner although it was not on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful time with large group during s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful time with large group during summer holiday. We had a nine month old. Staff very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our Anniversary and I was looking ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It was our Anniversary and I was looking for a nice place with some ambience. We were sat right next to a bunch of people and the bar. The table behind me was so close I bumped the chair of the person behind me and got bumped as well. The food was ok. I would not go back for dinner but may for lunch. That's about it.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very elegant restaurant, staff dressed p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very elegant restaurant, staff dressed professionally. My only complaint is that as an Italian dining place, with oil and vinegar and bread plates on the table, you would expect bread is served. No, our waitress said you have to ask for it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love the piano music with our meal.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We love the piano music with our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a perfect spot for a work or casu ...

 
 (Veracruz)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always a perfect spot for a work or casual lunch! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had 4 courses with a very nice bottle ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had 4 courses with a very nice bottle of wine. Service was poor. Order was wrong. Manager did come by finally...adjusted our bill. They really didn't care in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Service very slow. From sit down to mai ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service very slow. From sit down to main course on the table was 1 hr and 40 minutes. Appeared that the waiter had too many tables to service. Disappointing experience. Not a typical Aldo's night.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

From the moment you arrive at Aldo's the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

From the moment you arrive at Aldo's the staff ensures that you feel special. As always the food is superb and never disappoints. The service was impeccable. If you have the pleasure of requesting Jade she will take good care of you. Her wine pairing choice was spot on and she was very attentive to our table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always outstanding. We have b ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service is always outstanding. We have been eating at Aldo's for about 20 years. We have only had one bad meal and that was immediately replaced. Great for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The only negative was the noise level which was very loud.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Wonderful! Always a delicious meal and g ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Wonderful! Always a delicious meal and great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated immediately when we arriv ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were seated immediately when we arrived at a booth that we requested. The drinks were excellent. We split a meal of the Shrimp Gargonzola. It was outstanding. The waitress was very friendly and helpful with the wine selection. We go to Aldo's probably twice a year. Every once in a while it has been a disappointment but usually it is very good. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet, tasty dinner away from the ocean front rush.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always liked Aldo's but this visi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I have always liked Aldo's but this visit was not the best. 7 ladies at a rectangular table, bench seating against the wall, chairs on the other side....it was difficult to talk, noisy, and although we had a nice girl for a waitress, she needed a bit more training. She had only been with you for 4 days. The food according to some at the table was satisfactory but expensive. Several of the ladies ordered one of the evening's specials and were quite surprised at the cost. The waitress had not mentioned the prices of the specials but told them she thought it was $10-12 when asked. It turned out to be $15-16. I will definitely come back but do not know about some of the others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

It was one of the best experiences we ha ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was one of the best experiences we have had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. Highly ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Highly recommend if you want fine dining in VA Beach area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't know how our experience could ha ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I don't know how our experience could have been any better. Our server, Steven, was knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always cooked with fresh ingredi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is always cooked with fresh ingredients and is delicious!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Aldo's is pretty good - I've been here a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Aldo's is pretty good - I've been here a few times on date nights, for lunch, dinner with my mom, etc. Service is always prompt and polite. Their menu features a nice assortment of pasta, meat, fish, salads, breads, etc.

Many items are made in-house.

I LOVE the coconut cake which, I was informed last time, is made fresh by the owner's mother... it's amazing. Probably the best coconut cake of my life.

On my last visit we tried the calamari and lamp chop appetizers, yum. I chose the chicken francese (I think) which was egg battered chicken with lemon wine sauce and pasta. Very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service. Only issue wa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great service. Only issue was having to wait 20mins for seating, when reservations had been previously made four days prior.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In the past we have thoroughly enjoyed t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

In the past we have thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. During our past visit we had some issues with the entree. Will probably try again eventually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The crab stuffed avocado appetizer super ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The crab stuffed avocado appetizer superb. Lamb chops fantastic. On a very very busy night our table was ready on time and the service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I have been going to aldos ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My wife and I have been going to aldos for decades and their food is always fantastic. We had a reservation for dinner tocelebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. Our table was not ready specifically situated by the piano for this special occasion. We had to wait for a long time and just gave up and just asked for any table. We were seated and our waiter, Jeff took care of us. We ordered a bottle of wine which was good but not the specific year we asked for. We subsequently ordered our dinner which took an unusual amount of time which the waiter told us that basically our orders got lost in the shufflend . Dessert was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great time! Our server was exce ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a great time! Our server was excellent as was the food. My Husband was very pleased with his birthday dinner. Thank you for making it special!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Although the food was delicious and wait ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Although the food was delicious and waitress accommodating, I don't appreciate their suggested tip request. They used the total, including tax, for the %. Correctly, one does not tip tax. The price of food is what is used to figure out tip. This should be corrected in the future if you must give a suggestion. I can figure my own tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Restaurant was recommended by other vaca ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by other vacationers. My husband decided to give it a try while vacationing at Virginia Beach. We probably will not return since there are many more eaters that sparked our interest.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious food. Professional staff. Felt ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious food. Professional staff. Felt like royalty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place near the Beach!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

A great find in Virginia Beach. Aldo’s is a very nice Italian restaurant near the beach. Aldo’s provides a very friendly and energetic atmosphere. We had a great meal and the service was good as well. We visit Aldo’s on our trips when we're down to the beach from Ohio. It was a very refreshing experience! We make Aldo’s Ristorante as primary stop. Easy to get in and out with easy access to I-264 and VB Blvd.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great evening

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

From the time you entered the door until you leave you are treated as someone special. Food was great, service was fantastic. Great menu selection and the specials were truly special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aldo's is one of my ALL TIME favorite restraunts!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

My wife and had already experienced a wonderful 5-day getaway in NYC to celebrate our 30th anniversary early, but once we returned to the beach decided we would spend the actual day dining at Aldo's. It is an amazing restraunt, with great variety of food - although I usually would come to take part in the outstanding pastas and red sauce - this time I was talked into getting the red snapper. What a great choice! Was simply phenomenal! The wine, ambience, and extremely friendly staff makes this a home-run for our entire family every time. This kind of a restraunt would usually bring prices between $36-$50 per entree in NYC, but is incredibly cost-friendly for families. This is our favorite place!!

- Doug and Megan Earlenbaugh -

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Family in from out of town and we celebrated a 52nd Anniversary, two birthdays, and Mother's and Father's Day all in one fell swoop.

The staff was friendly, engaging, and made certain we were pleased with our selections for dinner and they were not overbearing. Which simply means they didn't hover while we were dining and having conversation.

We enjoyed the antipasto plate appetizer. Everyone enjoyed their meal! And we enjoyed the chocolate gelato and chocolate ganache cake for dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting for an amazing dinner. Fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Lovely setting for an amazing dinner. Food was delicious and service was impeccable. Their specials are well worth trying!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoy coming to Aldo's. Great food selec ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Enjoy coming to Aldo's. Great food selection and wine list. Great place for date night!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant and service was excellent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant and service was excellent however I requested the remainder of my entree to go, the waiter discarded it. So half my food went in the trash.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.