Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About Aldo's Ristorante

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Authentic (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (9)
Fun (8)
Healthy (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Live Music (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1543 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We were stationed in Virginia beach for 6 years and have been going to Aldo's since2001
the food is always consistently great , my family owns a Italian restaurant at the Jersey shore .
Our waiter was fantastic the atmosphere was great and the food was outstanding as usual

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The ambiance and atmosphere provided for a lovely evening. The "award winning" Calamari definitely wouldn't have won any awards with my husband or me, and we more than likely will not order it again. The calamari was very tough and rubbery. The signature lamb chops were ordered medium and they were definitely medium rare, tough, very fatty, difficult to cut and chew, and not the experience we were hoping to have. Will not order those again either. The wine choices were very nice and the saxophone player did a great job. Our waiter was very attentive, pleasant and helped offset the quality of the food.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Our waiter Brandon was AMAZING! The food was absolutely delicious! Dessert was the cherry on top!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Beautiful facility, excellent food and service. Waitress Jennifer was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

In the middle of our waiter giving us the specials, he stopped saying he'd be right back. We watched him bring water, bread and menus to two women who had just sat down. ( we never received that welcome). He came back again, and with a minute he left us again. He came out with dinners for another table. ( our food was never delivered by our waiter). The food arrived, mine was tasty however others asked for veggies to be well done, dad asked for hot pepper - all of which we never received. Our waiter never came back to the table until he delivered the check. When I told him about his performance, he dismissed us saying he was called to deliver hot food. When I told him he left us the first time to welcome two women to a table, he said oh well.....

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

It's been a couple of years since my wife and I last dined at Aldo's, but the food and service still remain outstanding. We came in to celebrate an anniversary and it happened to be during restaurant week, so we enjoyed a great meal at a very good price. The lamb chops were cooked perfectly as was the grilled halibut. We are not going to wait as long before we return.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I had veal and it was the best I have ever had !! I have had veal all over the world to include at least 4 different places in Italy. The veal, was by far, the best I have ever had !! The calamari was also very very very good.!!!
This was my first trip to Aldo’s, but it will not be the last !!!!!!!!!!
Kicking myself for not trying Aldo’s a lot sooner !!!
Cheered,
Rex

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Aldo's never disappoints. It is a favorite place for me and my husband. Their food is delicious and service is impeccable. Robert was our waiter and he was awesome. It was our anniversary and he made us feel very special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Michael enhanced our 17th wedding anniversary dining experience!!
His bubbly personality, extensive knowledge of the food menu as well as the wine menu was impressive.
Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always the best in VB!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great place! Definitely a place to try if your visiting Virginia Beach.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Great service - best in the area!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Exceptional as always! One of our favorite spots. We are always impressed!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always the food and the service where outstanding. The time that we arrived was in the middle of the dinner rush so it was quite crowded making for a noisy room. The weather that evening was amazing an yet no one was being seated outside for dining. Our table was right next to the kitchen so that was noisy and busy and then add in the live music that was being played made the noise level even worse causing everyone to talk even louder so it was not the relaxed casual dining we have come to expect. Maybe they should have been seating people outside as well so that the inside rooms did not have to be so loud and crowed and then we may not have had to been seated in a less then desirable location which made our evening a little less enjoyable then it could have been. Table location and noise level aside everything was still great and I would highly recommend to anyone to go have dinner. Just maybe make sure to fill every table before putting guests so close to a busy kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Oceana airplanes were really really deafeningly loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

first time at Aldo's - meal was great, service was even better. I would highly recommend this restaurant.
AWESOME!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We always visit Aldo's when in town. A restaurant not to be missed. Food preparation, quality, and service are unmatched. Fabulous food!!! Thank you again for a wonderful experience!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Outstanding attentive server was able to recommend dishes that were absolutely delicious. Preparation and presentation was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Aldo's is always a class act. I normally love what we have, but the special Mediterrian bronzini fishwas sort of tasteless. Their calamari is always delicious and cooked to perfection. My husband loves the Shrimp Gorgonzola and can't help but order it every time. The service is impressive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The ambiance was great and our server was wonderful. My husband ordered the lollipop lamb chops which were amazing. I ordered the halibut which was pretty dry and lacked flavor. We also ordered calamari and I found that too to be lacking in flavor. My husband also ordered an Old Fashioned cocktail which was 16.00! Way overpriced. We spent 145.00 not including a 30.00 tip we left. We ordered an appetizer, one alcoholic beverage each and two entrees. The food was good but not THAT good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was excellent. My waitress was extraordinary. She was patient and very knowledgeable about the menu. I made a reservation and arrived 15 minutes before and my table was ready. Everything about the food and drinks were magnificent. I recommend to everyone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. The occasion was our wedding anniversary and dinner helped make it special. The staff is always very professional, welcoming every customer and making them feel important. Our server, Michael, was prompt, helpful, and courteous. Another great evening at Aldo's

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great Service and amazing food. Really enjoyed this dinner

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This truly was the best meal I have had in Big Sky. The Caprese salad & ravioli were both delicious. Definitely go for homemade pasta. Can’t wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent food. Comfortable seating. Time to linger over lunch. A wonderful place to dine anytime.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 29, 2017

My wife and I always dine at Aldo's when we visit VA Beach. It's one of the best overall restaurants in the area! This year we got to dine here twice- in May and August. On this visit we had the clams appetizer and it was fantastic! The broth had a spicy kick and the clams were clean and fresh. My wife had capellini with Aldo's marinara sauce and I had the hearty sausage and chicken rigatoni. Both portions were very generous, the pastas were fresh as were the sauces. Absolutely delicious! We had napoleon and zabaglione for desserts, and they were both outstanding! They were so big we couldn't finish them! We'll be back next year when we're on vacation to help Aldo's celebrate their 30 year anniversary! Great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at Aldo's before but it has been many years since we have been. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was romantic. We enjoyed the live piano! We will definitely be back for more!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I find Aldo's outrageously expensive. My bourbon manhatten (not top shelf) costs $18.50. The portions are meager compared to the hefty prices. I am a local. You won't find me dining there again. No wonder the place was only half full on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Food was very good, restaurant ambiance was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I service and food was above expectation . I enjoy the atmosphere and it was a great birthday celebration for my wife. Will return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was our third time dining at Aldo's. When we visit Virginia Beach, this one of our favorite places to eat. The food is phenomenal! Our family of four has had a different dish every time amd they have all been delicious! We especially enjoy sitting in the back room and listening to the live piano music. The restaurant is always busy, so I definitely recommend making reservations. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We've been dining at Aldo's for many years and will continue returning for the excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had 3 for dinner on a Friday night. Loved our server, the food, and the music.
Could not have been abetter night in Virginia Beach!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Took my husband there for his 58th Birthday! We had not been there in 10 years , and it hasn't changed a bit - great food, excellent service and extensive wine/bar offerings. It is a bit pricey ($41.00 for a veal chop) but the food was excellent! We previously had overlooked Aldo's due to higher than average menu prices, but after our recent visit, we plan to put Aldo's back on our restaurant list because the food and service were so very good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I loved this place. as a person with allergies its hard for me to find a place where I do not have to remove just about everything from my meal. the waiter knew the menu and explained how I could change my meal and what meals I could get without having to make any changes.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food , service and the ambience is captivating. Our group was celebrating a birthday of many years. The dessert arrived with a happy Birthday plate and candle. Perfect ending to a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Ambience, If this is an Italian restaurant where is the romantic Italian music? Where is the fresh baked bread? The Antipasto was 15 dollars and did not represent a typical Italian Antipasto plate. The salami, bologna, tomatoes and mozzarella were very poor in quality, I think they picked their ingredients up at a local bargain supermarket. very disappointed for the price. This can not be overstated. When a Server announces the specials, This usually means Items that are at a discounted price but when she listed the specials, She did not say the price and in return we were surprised that we ordered a meal that was nearly double the price of the average menu Items. The main course, the Veal, was good but not worth the price of the so called special. It only came with one side, No value here. The whole experience was disappointing for a restaurant of this caliber. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Overall great atmosphere great people the food was really good it was a special occasion for my father's 80th birthday and he had a hoot. Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Aldo's is a go to restaurant for special occasions, business dinners or just to have a great meal in a vibrant environment. You can expect great service & food every time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.