About Aldo's Ristorante

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
1 More
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

special occasion (97)
romantic (77)
notable wine list (63)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
neighborhood gem (35)
good for groups (32)
great for lunch (26)
great for brunch (13)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is Ah-mazing!

Dined 7 days ago

We've been to Aldo's twice on the recommendation of a friend and they do not disappoint! The service is fantastic - polite, friendly, & knowledgable servers about the all beverages and cuisine. And the food is more than amazing! You cannot go wrong with any dish but the Tortellini Six Fromaggi, Chicken Marsala, Veal Scallopini (which was a chef's special) and the Lollipop Lamb dish (also chef's special) are our favorites. The atmosphere is classy enough for special occasions, but I've seen even casual attire. If you get a seat near the piano, it can be a little loud, but there are really no complaints for this restaurant. You'll love it no matter the mood or what you wear!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Really, really good food. Sunday night ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Really, really good food. Sunday night is traditionally the worst night of the week for dining but Aldo's is 100% in every category

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had a business dinner here last week. The services was impeccable and the food was delicious. I would definitely take vendors here again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aldo's is outstanding in every respect. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Aldo's is outstanding in every respect. The wine list is superb.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best Italian restaurant within 100 miles.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit. We visited on Mother's Day. Crowded but it did not affect the quality of service or food. Likely, the best Italian restaurant within 100 miles. We were a party of four and each had a very different entree and individually and collectivley they were excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not A Good Value

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had reservations for 6 at 4:00PM, their normal opening time, however this was Mother's day so they opened early. 3 of us wanted the chunky chicken salad and were told they were out. If it had been 8 or 9 PM, we could see being out of something, but 4:00 in the afternoon? That is not acceptable. 2 of us ended up getting grossly over priced pizzas, since none of the other salads sounded appetizing. We could have gotten 3 16" large pizzas with the works anyplace else for what we paid for 2 10" pizzas with little to no toppings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Robert was on top of everything the whole time. He started with great suggestions on food based both on what each person liked and did not like. he was there each time somebody wanted something, pleasant conversationalist as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service

Dined on May 7, 2016

We chose Aldo's to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. We have been there many times and have never been disappointed. Our food was excellent and our service was too. As we left I told my wife that one thing I will miss after we complete our upcoming move to NC is that we didn't visit Aldo's more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revisit

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had dinner at Aldo's after a mini-honeymoon in VB 26 yrs ago. We returned last weekend for our 26th anniversary. Still delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. I've been to a lot of Italian r ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing. I've been to a lot of Italian restaurants and Aldo's is one of the best.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional cuisine

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Exceptional cuisine

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience at Aldo's! We ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Always a great experience at Aldo's! We feel welcomed and taken care of on every occasion. Our waiter, Chris, is outstanding in every regard. The 28th anniversary menu was fantastic. Highly recommend Aldo's to all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding atmosphere like the live piano.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Professional quality service, excellent interface.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific as always. Everything on the m ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Terrific as always. Everything on the menu is great.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was second to none.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The food and service was second to none.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Girls night dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had a party of 3 and one of my girlfriends steak was over cooked. She asked for medium well but received a well done steak. Everyone was apologetic and the manager came and spoke with her and they replaced her steak. However, I was disappointed there was no discount offered for her meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great time

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants -

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice Lunch

Dined on April 2, 2016

Aldo's is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. The food is always enjoyable, the atmosphere is high quality and the staff is professional. This lunch was for a family gathering, so we had more than lunch - it was more like an early dinner - with appetizers, wine and normal entrees. Everyone was please with their meals and we were able to have a nice family moment in a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another favorite for the once a year I'm ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Another favorite for the once a year I'm in town. I don't leave without eating here.

food4
ambience4
service4

We love Aldo's. Great consistency in ser ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We love Aldo's. Great consistency in service and food. You can go as a family on a weeknight, or make a special night there. My husband orders veal piccata, which isn't even on the menu, and they're happy to accommodate. The waiters are well trained and know the dishes. We're always happy we went there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is AMAZING! Best in the area!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Aldo's totally lives up to every rave review from our friends! Worth the drive & money because the entire experience was fabulous! We can't wait for another special occasion so we can go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Checked off the list.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was good but nothing special. Service was excellent. Piano music was a nice touch.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved it all!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Best food ive had in a long time. Such a great place and enviorment. I Loved everything about our trip to this location. Our waiter Robert was amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible and they were ab ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was incredible and they were able to meet our dietary requests. I don't usually eat deserts, of course if there's Napoleon then I make an exception. It was the perfect ending to a great meal

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service

Dined on March 12, 2016

We sat our table for 10 minutes before we flagged a server down, we never received our salad and the owner/host never looked up and said thank you or goodbye as we exited his business. Never again. Isle of Capri has much better food and great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food at its best:

Dined on February 29, 2016

I loved the variety of choices on the menu. The food was simply outstanding!!! The customer service was superior and the ambience was perfect!. Would highly recommend eating at this restaurant. It was time well spent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Aldo's. The food was outstanding ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

We love Aldo's. The food was outstanding as always. Great restaurant week choices on the nenu. The waiter Rob was very good. We had a discussion about Vodka and he turned us on to one we had not tried. It was very good. All 4 of us were extremely happy with the food. Another great experience at Aldo's.

food5
ambience5
service5

Zoe our waitress was perfect. Couldn't o ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Zoe our waitress was perfect. Couldn't of asked for a better experience. Perfect service, excellent atmosphere, great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Great Service, Great Atmosphere

Dined on February 23, 2016

We went to Aldo's for Restaurant Week Dinner. Hadn't been there for more than a year and we had forgotten how much we really loved the place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 22, 2016

The antipasto plate is the best in the region. Crème brulee was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice local hot spot

Dined on February 22, 2016

Aldo's is a reliable Italian spot. Good food, good service. only knock is no free bread...

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on February 21, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants . After my latest experience, I feel as though there are several more appealing options in the area. Service was OK, as was the food. We were celebrating a birthday and looking for better than OK. We were given food with a black and wilted garnish of basil. We attempted to speak with the manager, but he simply walked away. I definitely will not recommend or return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience! Wife and I came i ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent experience! Wife and I came in with our 3 month old and they were very accommodating. Food was excellent as always and the waiter was magnificent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING DINING EXPERIENCE

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food, ample selection and at reasonable prices. Highly recommended as a special night out dining choice for special occasions. Reservations highly recommended. This place is very popular by the waiting line in front as we left. Made our reservation a week early. Same day reservations are a long shot for a Saturday night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always the best....

Dined on February 16, 2016

Aldo's is my favorite restaurant. As someone who lived in Ghent for 30 years, Aldo's is the one reason to go to Virginia Beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Dissapointed

Dined on February 15, 2016

Aldos is beautiful inside. The lighting and ambiance is perfect for a romantic night out and the weekend nightime piano player is the cherry on top. However the food leaves ALOT to be desired. It was bland, and I say that to be nice, no flavor at all, including the "parm/romano cheese" which reminded me of the off brand store Shaker cheese that has no flavor of cheese at all. My linguini noodles we're undercooked.....not aldenta undercooked....the shrimp in our meal still had shells on it.....that was fine for the shrimp appetizer but not for an Alfredo noodle meal where you have to mix the noodles with the shrimp.....my lemonade was from a store bought jar and I had to pay for a refill...... $8.....a tab of $100 is worth it if the food is good.......a frozen Alfredo dinner has more flavor, I'll never go back

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food and service!

Dined on February 15, 2016

As the title states, outstanding food and service. The stuffed lamb chop was phenomenal and my wife raved about the lobster ravioli. The wait staff were very courteous and attentive. My only complaint is the setting. It seems a bit dated. The ceiling tiles look like in particular were distracting. Our table was right next to the open kitchen, only divided by a wall. The other side of the restaurant seemed much more cozy and fitting for an establishment of such a high caliber. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and terrific wait staff

Dined on February 15, 2016

Dining on Valentine's Day night, 8pm, the waiter and staff were all still energetic, helpful, considerate and timely. The food came quickly and it tasted superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fine Italian restaurant for many years

Dined on February 15, 2016

We enjoyed dinner at Aldo's recently (Valentine's Day), and recommend it to all. The traditional warm atmosphere, complete with live piano background music, made the occasion special for the two of us. The food was delicious, and service on a very busy evening was prompt and courteous. We promised ourselves to come by more often. Great value, stands out among the many dinner choices near the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.