About Aldo's Ristorante

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Food
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
3 More
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Special Occasion (89)
Romantic (58)
Notable Wine List (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Groups (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Lunch (26)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time for us. Recommended by anothe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 4 days ago

First time for us. Recommended by another couple when they found out it was our anniversary. Good selection, great food and outstanding service from the entire staff. Look forward to the next time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and the service was good. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and the service was good. Just one suggestion, may be they can go back to white table cloth, I think they had it before, it will make it more special.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of our favorite spots. We go here of ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of our favorite spots. We go here often and always recommend them to friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service! Fun atmosphe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service! Fun atmosphere. Love the piano music.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great service experience and great food

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

great service experience and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat for new clients and seas ...

vip
 (Veracruz)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a treat for new clients and seasoned veterans! Delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We vacation in Sandbridge every other ye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We vacation in Sandbridge every other year and always look forward to a special dinner at Aldo's. The food is delicious and the service always friendly and efficient. See you in 2018!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aldo's is always a great place for an ou ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Aldo's is always a great place for an outing. Service is top notch, food is great, and the ambiance is wonderful. Great place for date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was ok. We went t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was good, service was ok. We went to dine with the intention of taking our time and enjoying the weekend, but ended up feeling very rushed by our server. Just a short time after our appetizer arrived, our dinner showed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at Aldo's in celebration of our 33rd Anniversary. We visit regularly and have never been disappointed in the food and everything the restaurant has to offer. We highly recommend the restaurant to anyone seeking good food, a pleasant ambiance and excellent service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, I don't think that Aldo's ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Unfortunately, I don't think that Aldo's is living up to the service standards that they have provided and the quality of food that they provided in the past. The food was less than average and the waitstaff was all new. Even though we have been long time patrons of Aldo's, we will not go again. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Business lunch with co-workers and assoc ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Business lunch with co-workers and associate. Great food and service, always very consistent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful experience! Very c ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience! Very classy place, and made to feel welcome and relaxed. Entire staff was outstanding, especially our waiter. Knowledgeable, confident, service and customer oriented. The food was spectacular! Portioned just right, prepared to perfection. This was perhaps my best ever dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night started off nicely with cocktails ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Night started off nicely with cocktails at the bar. We went to our table and our waitress ended up not being attentive which is probably why I can't recall her name. Long, dangle feather earrings. We order our food and asked for a sommelier and Christopher helped us out. Picked a wonderful wine and even checked in on us more than than our waitress. I got the veal chop stuffed with spinach and mozzarella and it was amazing! My husband got the filet cognac. It was delicious however it came out medium rare when he ordered medium well. Waitress was too busy so manager finally came over to fix it. Instead of a new steak they tossed the pieces back on a plate. It wasn't good. Finally they made a new one that came out perfect. Unfortunately I was way past done eating so not ideal. Manager was too invasive after the kitchens mistake and not very friendly. Waitress came back to bring bill, notifying us they didn't take the steak off, not that we asked. She obviously knew something should have been taken off. Even after all that we would go back because the food was delicious. However, we will request Christopher next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Nice evening. Had the usual, Chicken Pa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nice evening. Had the usual, Chicken Parm, and not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great dining experience with friends

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great dining experience with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The veal chop was very tender and tasty ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The veal chop was very tender and tasty and my wife enjoyed her ravioli with walnut cream sauce. The wine list is wonderful as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointred, this visit was out ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Never disappointred, this visit was outstanding. A favorite location for special occasion meals. Worth the 1 1/2 hour drive each way because the table is always ready, we are greeted promptly and for special occasions, an appropriate acknowledgement. Good selection of cocktails, beer and wine plus appetizers. Service is always very good , not hovering but attentive, menu and specials offer a wide variety of dishes, prepared as desired, served at proper temperature and in a timely but never rushed manner. Similarly a good selection of desserts and for special occasions served with a plated acknowledgement.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always good and the service ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food is always good and the service is some of the best in the business. This has been one of our favorite restaurants for over 20yrs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Italian food experience in Va. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The best Italian food experience in Va. Beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had some family from out of town visitin ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had some family from out of town visiting and chose to take them to Aldo's last weekend- and the experience was excellent as always. Everytime I have dined at Aldo's it has been close to perfection. The food, ambience, service, and value were 5 star. As a Virginia Beach resident I appreciate having Aldo's as an option for dining that I feel 100% certain will always be an amazing experience. In fact, I have already made reservations for this weekend to return with family. Thank you, Dennis

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant and having a person ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and having a person playing the piano is a real classy addition. The overall noise level was a bit too high and I was bummed that I couldn't sit next to my date at our table for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Italian restaurant away from ocean ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great Italian restaurant away from oceanfront. Wonderfulmenuandspecils. We visited twice in oneweek.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service, Food and drinks very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent Service, Food and drinks very good. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, atmosphere and service. Love ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food, atmosphere and service. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant was extremely busy . Service ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Restaurant was extremely busy . Service was very slow because there were several larger tables that were attended to first (we were four diners). However the food was very good, as always. This was a business meeting, but we could not hear each other because of the other diners. Next time, for a business meeting, we will ask to be seated in the smaller part of the restaurant, away from the larger tables.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent customized service! Mike provi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent customized service! Mike provided us with exactly what we wanted for dinner although it was not on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful time with large group during s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful time with large group during summer holiday. We had a nine month old. Staff very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our Anniversary and I was looking ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It was our Anniversary and I was looking for a nice place with some ambience. We were sat right next to a bunch of people and the bar. The table behind me was so close I bumped the chair of the person behind me and got bumped as well. The food was ok. I would not go back for dinner but may for lunch. That's about it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very elegant restaurant, staff dressed p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very elegant restaurant, staff dressed professionally. My only complaint is that as an Italian dining place, with oil and vinegar and bread plates on the table, you would expect bread is served. No, our waitress said you have to ask for it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love the piano music with our meal.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We love the piano music with our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a perfect spot for a work or casu ...

vip
 (Veracruz)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always a perfect spot for a work or casual lunch! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had 4 courses with a very nice bottle ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had 4 courses with a very nice bottle of wine. Service was poor. Order was wrong. Manager did come by finally...adjusted our bill. They really didn't care in my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Service very slow. From sit down to mai ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service very slow. From sit down to main course on the table was 1 hr and 40 minutes. Appeared that the waiter had too many tables to service. Disappointing experience. Not a typical Aldo's night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

From the moment you arrive at Aldo's the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

From the moment you arrive at Aldo's the staff ensures that you feel special. As always the food is superb and never disappoints. The service was impeccable. If you have the pleasure of requesting Jade she will take good care of you. Her wine pairing choice was spot on and she was very attentive to our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always outstanding. We have b ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service is always outstanding. We have been eating at Aldo's for about 20 years. We have only had one bad meal and that was immediately replaced. Great for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The only negative was the noise level which was very loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Wonderful! Always a delicious meal and g ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Wonderful! Always a delicious meal and great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated immediately when we arriv ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were seated immediately when we arrived at a booth that we requested. The drinks were excellent. We split a meal of the Shrimp Gargonzola. It was outstanding. The waitress was very friendly and helpful with the wine selection. We go to Aldo's probably twice a year. Every once in a while it has been a disappointment but usually it is very good. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet, tasty dinner away from the ocean front rush.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always liked Aldo's but this visi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I have always liked Aldo's but this visit was not the best. 7 ladies at a rectangular table, bench seating against the wall, chairs on the other side....it was difficult to talk, noisy, and although we had a nice girl for a waitress, she needed a bit more training. She had only been with you for 4 days. The food according to some at the table was satisfactory but expensive. Several of the ladies ordered one of the evening's specials and were quite surprised at the cost. The waitress had not mentioned the prices of the specials but told them she thought it was $10-12 when asked. It turned out to be $15-16. I will definitely come back but do not know about some of the others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.