About Aldo's Ristorante

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Authentic (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Groups (17)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Wood Oven (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Live Music (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Have eaten at Aldos many times and have always had a good meal. Highly recommend service is good people are friendly,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service, but food was not quite as good as the last time we were there several years ago. I was hoping for a special meal. It was good, just not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect Saturday afternoon with a dear friend! Great cuisine and cozy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent authentic Italian. The service from the moment we walked in the door to departure was perfect. It's now a favorite for our special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

great food good ambiance good service. Jade was our waitress. She remembered us from over a month ago. As she greeted us she asked if we would like the wine (which was not on the menu) that we had on our last visit. It is this personal touch that keeps us coming back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service, and great atmosphere. Excellent for a date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Have been enjoying Aldo's for 20 + years, have never been disappointed !!! The food, the service, all 5 stars!

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food is always the top whenever I eat at Aldo's I have never not enjoyed my meal or could have ever had it prepared or cooked any better. I will go back again and again and again as often as my husband will take me. :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wife and I went for Valentine's Day. Had a set menu for he day, but had a nice selection even if it wasn't as large as normal. Piano player was nice to set the mood. A bit pricey, but Overall very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The shrimp gorgonzola and crab ravioli were outstanding!! We also had calamari which was just average. But above all, our server was so professional knowledgeable and attentive. We would go back again just because of him !!! 5 stars + for our server who unfortunately we don't remember his name but he is the sommelier for the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My favorite place to dine in VA Beach! Very romantic!! Great service!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Aldo's is a fantastic restaurant for dates, groups, business, etc. Their menu is authentic and offers items that you will not see anywhere else. They also have a great drink selection along with signature specials. I HIGHLY recommend Aldo's for almost any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It had been a while since we dined here, and it lived up to its reputation again. The signature martini is made with fresh squeezed lemon. The wine list is extensive, and the food amazing. We even had a minor issue with our table location, and were moved immediately when we brought it to the host's attention. Overall, this was a great meal and well worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Pros: Our food and server were great. Focaccia bread was tasty though it was offered as if it was complimentary and I'm just seeing that it's an appetizer (my husband paid and did not tell me about the $5 charge I assume was on the bill). Calamari was seasoned perfectly even though I thought the marinara was basic (but how do you jazz up marinara). I had shrimp Alfredo minus the ham and the shrimp was the freshest I've ever had. The sauce was also very tasty and the peas were a pleasant surprise. My husband had the shrimp gorgonzola that he loved. Portion size was perfect as well. The pianist was a rock star! Loved his selection of music and he played very well. Cons: Had an 8pm reservation, was told 10 minutes by the host and still waited 20-30 minutes. We were seated at a table that sits in a doorway that is obviously not supposed to be in use but customers still squeeze by you to go through it. I already mentioned the upsell bread. So overall it was a good date night. We were in town for a marriage retreat and the date was an assignment of sorts as well as an early Valentines Day date and late Birthday dinner for my husband. I'd go back but my husband said the wait alone had him saying he won't go back. We visit my brother in Va. Beach often so I hope I can change his mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The best service of any restaurant in Tidewater. We always come back because it feels like home. Food is outstanding and they have a wonderful wine list. Make reservations because it gets really busy on the weekends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very disappointed this visit, definitely not a good experience. The team did not have their stuff together.....from wait time for a table regardless of reservation to food delivery and presentation...(waiter service was good though). That said, historically a great choice, maybe just a bad night? I hope????

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As our hour and a half from home go to place for special occasions, we were again pleased with service and food. We were early to a packed house, enjoyed a beverage at the bar and were seated within 5 minutes of the reserved time. During the meal we never felt rushed and Christopher's service and personality were very good. The veal chop was excellent as was the veal medallions. The table was adjacent to the entry thus more busy and nosier than usual and one nearby table of 6 had one diner who was loud, at times vulgar and dominated his table and surrounding ones. But all in all a very fine experience we have always enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Every year for Valentine's we try to go to a nicer restaurant (since we don't have the kiddos) and we try somewhere new every year. The food was delicious but our server lacked charisma unlike the other servers we witnessed while dining. Even though we had a reservation we still waited about 15-20 minutes for our table. It was also extremely noisy and not very private so trying to have a conversation with my husband was difficult. Would like to go again but would choose a different night of the week and request a different seating location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have been coming to Aldo's for 25+ years. On Friday, February 10th, we met friends for dinner. It was a fabulous dinner. Everything was spot on - especially the service and the food. We cannot thank you enough.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 9, 2017

food, service and atmosphere were excellent! first time here and will defiantely go back! mussel appetizer was especially good and very reasonably priced for the large portion

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent service, food and wine. Piano man was lovely to listen to. Great atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Overall service and food were very good, would recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We come here at least twice a month for our favorites; chicken marsala and fettucine alfredo. Always the best, and our server Christopher is fabulous. Be sure and try it!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Overall a great restaurant. I think our server was new. She fumbled through the specials. Later we heard another server telling specials and realized we didn't hear of the lobster special. And while we weren't familiar with the fish that evening later when we heard the other server, he spoke in more detail and we found out it was a sea bass.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Extremely pleasant evening spent with my daughter to celebrate her accomplishments in the real estate world for 2016. The wait staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs and contributed tremendously with order suggestions that made our meals an exciting experience. Bravo Aldo's for helping us enjoy a perfect evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful dining experience at Aldo's Ristorante. My husband is in the navy and will be at sea on Valentine's Day so we took our VDay dinner early. The atmosphere was alive and warm and romantic. The food was tasty and fresh! The waiter was attentive and informative and extremely helpful. We had a wonderful time and will come again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

From our experiences, Aldo's has always been excellent in every way ! Highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was my first visit and I did not know there would be a Pianist. If you want to have a conversation with your dinner guest; I recommend that you request a seat as far from the Piano as possible, when making your reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Love the food, love the service, love everything about Aldo's. Can't wait till we go back 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Nice atmosphere, decent food. The staff was pleaent. We went for a romantic dinner. It was not disappointing. The food was decent not much flavor, had the manicati,and lasagna.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great find, very good food, very good service , found it from other reviews

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It was ok, it was very crowded and not too much room. They have a dress code, but really the ambient did not meet that code. Loud and tight all around . Food was ok.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always reliably good. It has been one of our favorites for years. The staff is always courteous and professional. The reason that I gave them only 4 stars on the food this time is that my husband said one of the appetizer lamb chops was tough and rubbery...fortunately it was the one he ate first, because he said the other was tender and juicy. We enjoyed the focaccia. bread and split the spinach and pear salad. We each had steak, one special and one menu regular. The steaks were cooked to perfection. So really the food rating is 4.90, and we won't hesitate to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent meal, as always. We have been before and will go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always, the food was excellent and the waiter was extremely knowledgeable and provided excellent service. The atmosphere was nice, quiet and relaxing. We took our neighbors to dinner and we all enjoyed it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for our anniversary and researched the menu and reviews prior to going. It happened to be New Years Eve so they had a limited menu that did not include our selections. The food was good but pricey. The atmosphere was nice and people were friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We've been going to Also's since they opened and have always left full and with a take home bag. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent. They have an excellent wait staff. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My friends and I shared our annual holiday dinner at Aldo's this year. Greg, our waiter, was fantastic! The food was very good but as others had commented, it was very very loud. I hadn't been to Aldo's in years so I will know next time to ask for reservations far away from the bar.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We go to Aldo's, as a family, several times a year. We have never been disappointed! Something for everyone, great food and service. Great for a special occasion, date, or if you are trying to impress someone!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As always another excellent meal in an excellent restaurant with excellent service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Absolutely the best! Christmas celebration with friends, and we had such a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Dinner and service was outstanding as usual. We ordered cocktails that were prepared expertly. We ordered an appetizer of crab, avocado, and lettuce with a nice sriracha/mayo sauce. My wife and I both had the sea bass which was cooked to perfection and seasoned with onions, capers, and a light sauce. It was served with roasted cauliflower which was a nice pairing with the fish and an al dente linguini. A bottle of pinot grigio went well with the meal. We finished by sharing a neopolitan for desert. Christopher F. provided service and was very attentive and efficient. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very nice menu, I had the house special veal chop that was outstanding. Going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Early Christmas Eve dinner with my Husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It has been sometime since we were at Aldo's and now wonder why we waited so long. Excellent menu and superb specials. We had a delicious veal dish. Excellent wine list and the service was good. Overall a very nice experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

If you are looking for a truly special place to celebrate a special moment Aldo's is the place to go. Excellent food courteous and professional staff. Make gal does your special place we have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Visited Aldo's after a 15 year absence, and found it exactly as I remember it. The service is as good as at any restaurant I've ever eaten at, really fantastic. Our waiter made all of the expected visits, gave excellent suggestions, and had the kitchen decorate a tiramisu for my wife's birthday.

We brought my 2 teens, and they agreed that it was better than anything we found in Rome.

We each had a pasta dish, and they were delicious to the point that you would hesitate after each bite to savor it.

If I had to dig for negatives, it's a little chilly next to the door, and I would enjoy a nice bread at the table, not offered I guess.

But those details were greatly overshadowed by the fantastic service. I wish I still had a memory, but I think the waiter's name was Brendan?

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My 1st visit- our Wedding Anniversary. excellent food, service and a great waiter who was very attentive without being obvious. Will definitely come back. Have lived in Virginia Beach 24 years and can't imagine missing out on this place up until now.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food & service!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.