Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.08mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About Aldo's Ristorante

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romantic (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Authentic (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Business Meals (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Wood Oven (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Cozy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Casual (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fun (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Family Style (8)
Live Music (7)
Private Room (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

We were celebrating our son's 18th birthday and couldn't have picked a better spot. The food was great and the atmosphere was perfect. Our waiter was smart, funny and paid us the perfect amount of attention. What a great experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 3 days ago

It's our families very favorite restaurant. It was a birthday celebration. Jonathan, our favorite waiter, made us all feel So special. The food is always superb and the dessert selection, over the top delicious!
We will look forward to our next visit!
Laura

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Stuffed veal chop, fish, calamari, focaccia bread, gazpacho, tiramisu, strawberry zabaglione--all were EXCELLENT. We've been going there for years and it is the "go to" place when entertaining guests.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Lovely Italian restaurant with super waiter who was so knowledgeable we all wanted to try everything and it all lived up to his descriptions . Lovely food in lovely restaurant

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This restaurant was absolutely great. Michael, our waiter, was phenomenal. He was very knowledgeable about all the dishes and did a great presentation. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our meal, it came out quick and was really really ( I mean really) good. This is our new favorite. We usually frequent Ruth's Chris but I actually think this is better overall. Price, quality of food, parking, ambiance and all. I hope to see you guys again, soon.



Denise & Jerry

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fantastic dinner, exceptional service. Highly recommend. If possible, request Barney as your server

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Not as good as it usually is; my food was only OK. I had the seafood special of the day and it was not very tasty.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent meal, cocktails, and service! Only detractor was that we were asked to settle the bar bill before being seated.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We have been fans of Aldo's for years and have always had wonderful meals there. Sadly, our lunches on Friday were very disappointing. Three of us had the Grilled Chicken Cobb Salad. We all agreed that there was hardly any chicken on the salad. Mine had one clump of gorgonzola cheese, one small piece of egg white, and two slivers of avocado. Both of the other diners said later that their salads were just as meager as mine was. At $14 this was a poor excuse for a luncheon salad.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great place for a special meal. Authentic Italian just like I used to get in Napoli. Especially liked the veal marsala. Quiet, pleasant ambience but good for friendly groups, too. Helpful, non-obtrusive service. Surprisingly good value for the price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Family get together for us and it made for a pleasant evening. The food and service was great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent! We split the beet & arugala salad. Delish! Husband had the stuffed veal chop special & I had the pasta special with lobster meat. We were both very full afterwards. We took a Napoleon home for dessert. Service was quick & efficient. Wine prices are steep. Menu prices are reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Excellent food. The wait staff was very attentive. We had a fabulous time and wonderful leftovers for the next day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful dinner, as always. Thoroughly enjoyed the lamb lollipop appetizer. The lemontini was perfect and the tiramisu was deliciously Italian! Our waiter, Steve, gave us just the right amount of attention, and was very friendly. One of our favorite date night restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Dinner with friends last Saturday night. Excellent service! Lively atmosphere with live piano music. Had my favorite dish, the veal chop stuffed with spinach and mozzarella cheese cooked to perfection. Good Caesar salad with anchovies and hot out of the oven focaccia bread first. Friends ordered bronzing and salmon which they enjoyed. Husband had ziti with broccoli which was a bit too spicy for him. All and all a very enjoyable evening!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 25, 2017

the food and ambiance was incredible as always despite the monsoon happening outside. great evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Birthday dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have dined here many times and have always found it enjoyable! If you want delicious food options, from seafood to steak, and you have a special occasion such as a date night or anniversary this is the place to go. Definitely worth the wait and price tag! Highly Recommended!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent Italian in an upscale restaurant. Situated in a strip shopping center, but the restaurant feels a world away inside. Creative drink menu, and awesome Italian. Definitely worth a visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was great..veal , italian sausage pasta and great wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

AMAZING!!! Felt like I was in Italy again, will recommend this to anyone looking for a good Italian experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Aldo's is an outstanding restaurant. The food is out-of-this-world. Our family of five had pasta dishes, seafood, lamb, and pizza. Everything was delicious. We highly recommend Aldo's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was very good, as usual, but the kitchen got backed up and our food took way too long for 3 pasta dishes and 1 veal scallopini. These are all sauté station dishes and should have been very easy to fire and get out. Twenty minutes at least, probably more like 25, and it was not that crowded.

Sometimes the expediting is off and that's that. Still a good overall experience. That's the thing about Aldo's. In the 24 years we've been going there, you can always count on a consistently good experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was my wife and I first time going. The restaurant was very nice and had a great atmosphere. I would recommended for a special date night. Not the type of place to bring children.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. A fantastic restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were fortunate to get a reservation at the last moment but were glad we did!
we've been there before and have never been disappointed. This visit was to celebrate a birthday.
Thanks to Open Table for the convenient way to make a reservation.
As General MacArthur said in WWII, "I shall return".

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I had. It been to Aldo's in 12 years, it did. It disappoint, the food and ambiance was as great as I remember! My friend and I had a great time and plan on returning soon. The waiter was attentive, but not hovering. Over all an excellent experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Private Room, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Wood Oven, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great restaurant great service even better food. Will be returning for sure!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent dining experience. Food excellent, wait staff very attentive, atmosphere quiet and reserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The veal chop was terrific. Best ever!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

As always, wonderful food and great ambiance! This is a favorite spot for us!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We all raved about the quality of our meals--said it was the best that we'd had in a long time. Our server Michael was one of the most professional and courteous waitors I've had. From appetizer, to entree, to dessert--magnificent.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Celebrated my birthday this year at Aldo's, thanks to an early season conference. It's been a regular stop during our August vacations to VA Beach. Food, service and atmosphere were all fantastic as usual! I had the scallopini special it was absolutely delicious! The chef is creative and does all of the classics well - is it August yet? 😀

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Aldo's has been open for 29 years and I have been going there sine it opened. I have never had a bad experience. Always outstanding!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. Usually a waiter will bring bread to the table. Upon being seated the host asked if we would like some fo ccaia bread, we replied, sure. What a surprise when the bill came and we were charged for that bread. Very sneaky. We thought it was complimentary bread, otherwise we wouldn't have said yes since we only wanted a piece. I had the chicken marsala and it was good but needed some salt and pepper.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Top notch as usual. It was their 29th anniversary week and the special menu was varied and priced well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My wife and I were on date night and glad we selected Aldo's. Robert, our server, was terrific and he actually changed our mind when he discussed the evening's specials. We originally came to have the anniversary special but opted for 2 of the specials, a lobster pasta dish and a sea bass.. We shared a Napoleon at the end and it was divine. We live in northern Virginia but will be back---

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Veal was over cooked and oily and they initially couldn't find our reservation. They did apologize for this.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our server was Todd and he was outstanding. All of his recommendations were spot on. The Bone in veal chop and there Napoleon are to die for. I highly recommend Aldo's. Aldo's is hands down one of the most consistent restaurants in Virginia Beach. I came here for the first time in 1998 for my senior prom & I have be coming on & off for the last 19 years. It's still consistently great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food is always fresh and well prepared. The antipasto serves four as an appetizer, but my husband and I have enjoyed it as a healthy meal with a glass of wine for the two of us. The service is some of the best in the area. This is a great place for a casual meal or a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.