About Aldo's Ristorante

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
1 More
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (51)
Notable Wine List (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for a Date (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Music (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As an Italian on vacation in Virginia Be ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As an Italian on vacation in Virginia Beach area I found Aldo's like home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistent. Best cocoanut cake ev ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always consistent. Best cocoanut cake ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aldo's is my favorite Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Aldo's is my favorite Italian restaurant, I have been taking dates and business associates to Aldo's for years. My significant other has had bad meals or bad experiences at this restaurant more than a few times. I made this reservation for a special night out and to prove to her that Aldo's serves delicious food in a relaxed atmosphere with excellent service. It worked she had a steak special that was out of this world good and a nice house wine that she enjoyed very much, all in all a great evening.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wine tasting before dinner...f ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent wine tasting before dinner...food wine service excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a restaurant in a strip mall tha ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is a restaurant in a strip mall that I asked my wife to marry me at. The ambience used to be great with a piano player - a lot has changed in 15 years. The prices are not bad but the restaurant tries too hard in areas hat don't matter. You don't need valet parking for this restaurant - you need personable and more excited wait staff..... not a stuffy "are you done" attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I have been coming here for 28 years but ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been coming here for 28 years but had not been back in quite awhile. My youngest daughter visited and she and her sister always loved Aldo's so we went. It was as wonderful as ever; robust menu with something for all tastes, and a wine list that is extraordinary. Service is impeccable and the presentation truly remarkable. When we arrived for our Open Table reservation, there was a small line waiting outside. Our table was waiting and we were seated immediately. Superior cocktail menu and the desserts are phenomenal. In short, it was all that I remembered it for and it exceeded even the most rigorous expectations.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate special occasio ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place to celebrate special occasions. Our server Chris was very attentive and nice. Great specials especially the fish. Desserts were fabulous

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Great atmosphere. Went for a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. Went for an anniversary and we so pleased we came back for a 2nd date while vacation.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't get to visit often enough. The ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We don't get to visit often enough. The food, drinks, and service are always exceptional.

Without a doubt, one of the best fine dining experiences in Virginia Beach. Don't miss it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4 friends decided to get together for lu ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

4 friends decided to get together for lunch and Aldo's was the only restaurant we suggested. We met and had a great lunch while catching up on family activities.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food ... As always! We've eaten ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fabulous food ... As always! We've eaten at Aldo's many time & it's always great! The server, however, needed additional training. He brought the wrong cocktail to my table companion & slopped it in the table. He reversed entree plates between me & the person at the next seat. It wasn't until a couple bites in that I found chicken in my entree, which had been ordered meat & cheese-free. We switched plates, but I ended up eating s meal my table-mate already had eaten from, & he was forced to eat the meal I had sampled. Also, the bill arrived with an extra item we had not ordered, which I had to have removed. What a litany of appalling service! However, let me emphasize how tremendous the food was ... Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I brought a friend here for her 40th bir ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I brought a friend here for her 40th birthday. The staff was WONDERFUL!!! The food was and the peach bellini was AMAZING!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Aldo's is a beautiful and charming place ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Aldo's is a beautiful and charming place to take someone special. They did a great job. Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual our experience was excellent. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As usual our experience was excellent. Christopher our server was outstanding.

Great bottle of wine recommended by Toni the bartender. Food quality was of the highest quality. Sometimes I wish we lived closer. I love a professional, quality, well paced experience. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food. Highly ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Highly recommend going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Planned a very special surprise dinner f ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Planned a very special surprise dinner for my dear friend and it went way better then expected. The food and service were outstanding. Best dining experience I've had in Virginia.

Tags: Live Music, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is always consistent in the quali ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Aldo's is always consistent in the quality of their food and the service they provide. Our server was very good and he anticipated everything we needed immediately. All six of our party enjoyed the food tremendously. The Barretta starter/salad was excellent and the pasta was also the best. We always dine at Aldo's when we are in Virginia Beach.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our annual vacation to VA Beach always i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our annual vacation to VA Beach always includes a trip to Aldo's for some of the best Italian food anywhere. The burrata cheese appetizer is outstanding. The wine list has a great selection of glasses so you can try more than one with dinner. My wife had the Greek salad (she's Greek) and concluded it was one of the best she's had. For dinner I had the shrimp scampi, and my wife had penne with their home made marinara sauce. Both were extremely fresh and flavorful, and we cleaned our plates. Our only regret was that we were so full we couldn't eat dessert. All of their choices looked amazing. Aldo's is one of the reasons we look forward to returning to VA Beach for vacation. We're counting the days until we come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Aldo's every time we vac ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We have been to Aldo's every time we vacation in Virginia beach (last 7 years) and go to Aldo's every year. The food is always great and we always look forward to it. If we lived here we would go regularly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been a customer for about 8 years . Wish ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Been a customer for about 8 years . Wish they would do something about the Noise Level. Can't hear your self talk.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aldos is always reliable. The steak sp ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Aldos is always reliable. The steak special was absolutely wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Reliable and enjoyable! We are always pl ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Reliable and enjoyable! We are always pleased with Aldo's. Great food and very attentive service. Excellent drinks and coffee. The specials are especially good every time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Live Music, Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My veal chip was very good.mothers eggpl ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My veal chip was very good.mothers eggplant Parmesan was burnt on bottom. Father had requested no chicken in the chicken n sausage pasta but it had chicken. All desserts were very good and waiter put happy birthday on plate. Nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Aldo's in over six yea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We hadn't been to Aldo's in over six years, primarily because it is a 20 to 25 minute drive from where we live. Had a fabulous experience with Christopher as our waiter. He is very knowledgeable about wines and made some excellent recommendations. The food was very good, very well seasoned, and from fresh ingredients. We took a friend who was celebrating her 90th birthday, and the staff put Happy Birthday on her desert place, a special touch. Have returned two more times in the last month since our initial visit. Very highly recommended for Italian food and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went while on vacation to VB. What a fin ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went while on vacation to VB. What a find!! Food was outstanding. Our server was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the calamari appetizer and fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We ordered the calamari appetizer and found it to be rubbery (over-cooked), but our waitress took it back without hesitation, and the manager came over and apologized. We then had the antipasto, which was the best we ever had. Our entrees were also top notch. We have become fans of Aldo's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time for us. Recommended by anothe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

First time for us. Recommended by another couple when they found out it was our anniversary. Good selection, great food and outstanding service from the entire staff. Look forward to the next time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and the service was good. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and the service was good. Just one suggestion, may be they can go back to white table cloth, I think they had it before, it will make it more special.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of our favorite spots. We go here of ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of our favorite spots. We go here often and always recommend them to friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service! Fun atmosphe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service! Fun atmosphere. Love the piano music.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great service experience and great food

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

great service experience and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat for new clients and seas ...

vip
 (Veracruz)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a treat for new clients and seasoned veterans! Delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We vacation in Sandbridge every other ye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We vacation in Sandbridge every other year and always look forward to a special dinner at Aldo's. The food is delicious and the service always friendly and efficient. See you in 2018!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aldo's is always a great place for an ou ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Aldo's is always a great place for an outing. Service is top notch, food is great, and the ambiance is wonderful. Great place for date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was ok. We went t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was good, service was ok. We went to dine with the intention of taking our time and enjoying the weekend, but ended up feeling very rushed by our server. Just a short time after our appetizer arrived, our dinner showed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at Aldo's in celebration of our 33rd Anniversary. We visit regularly and have never been disappointed in the food and everything the restaurant has to offer. We highly recommend the restaurant to anyone seeking good food, a pleasant ambiance and excellent service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, I don't think that Aldo's ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Unfortunately, I don't think that Aldo's is living up to the service standards that they have provided and the quality of food that they provided in the past. The food was less than average and the waitstaff was all new. Even though we have been long time patrons of Aldo's, we will not go again. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Business lunch with co-workers and assoc ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Business lunch with co-workers and associate. Great food and service, always very consistent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful experience! Very c ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience! Very classy place, and made to feel welcome and relaxed. Entire staff was outstanding, especially our waiter. Knowledgeable, confident, service and customer oriented. The food was spectacular! Portioned just right, prepared to perfection. This was perhaps my best ever dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night started off nicely with cocktails ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Night started off nicely with cocktails at the bar. We went to our table and our waitress ended up not being attentive which is probably why I can't recall her name. Long, dangle feather earrings. We order our food and asked for a sommelier and Christopher helped us out. Picked a wonderful wine and even checked in on us more than than our waitress. I got the veal chop stuffed with spinach and mozzarella and it was amazing! My husband got the filet cognac. It was delicious however it came out medium rare when he ordered medium well. Waitress was too busy so manager finally came over to fix it. Instead of a new steak they tossed the pieces back on a plate. It wasn't good. Finally they made a new one that came out perfect. Unfortunately I was way past done eating so not ideal. Manager was too invasive after the kitchens mistake and not very friendly. Waitress came back to bring bill, notifying us they didn't take the steak off, not that we asked. She obviously knew something should have been taken off. Even after all that we would go back because the food was delicious. However, we will request Christopher next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.