About Aldo's Ristorante

1860 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
View Larger Map

Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients.

Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995.

Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's.

We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00am-10:30pm; Friday-Saturday 11:00am-11:30pm; Sunday 4:00pm-10:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 491-1111

Website:
http://www.aldosvb.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a wonderful piano player every Friday and Saturday evening.

Parking Details:
Aldo's Ristorante is located in La Promenade Shopping Center. We have plenty of available parking right at our front door.

Executive Chef:
Giancarlo Catenese

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

State of the art wine cellar located in private dinning room. Grand piano player available upon request. Audio visual hook ups available.

Aldo's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
3 More
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

special occasion (74)
romantic (53)
notable wine list (49)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (32)
neighborhood gem (32)
great for lunch (23)
great for brunch (13)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

I have always liked Aldo's but this visi ...

Dined 4 days ago

I have always liked Aldo's but this visit was not the best. 7 ladies at a rectangular table, bench seating against the wall, chairs on the other side....it was difficult to talk, noisy, and although we had a nice girl for a waitress, she needed a bit more training. She had only been with you for 4 days. The food according to some at the table was satisfactory but expensive. Several of the ladies ordered one of the evening's specials and were quite surprised at the cost. The waitress had not mentioned the prices of the specials but told them she thought it was $10-12 when asked. It turned out to be $15-16. I will definitely come back but do not know about some of the others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was one of the best experiences we ha ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was one of the best experiences we have had in a long time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were excellent. Highly ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service and food were excellent. Highly recommend if you want fine dining in VA Beach area!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know how our experience could ha ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I don't know how our experience could have been any better. Our server, Steven, was knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. Food was outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always cooked with fresh ingredi ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is always cooked with fresh ingredients and is delicious!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Aldo's is pretty good - I've been here a ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Aldo's is pretty good - I've been here a few times on date nights, for lunch, dinner with my mom, etc. Service is always prompt and polite. Their menu features a nice assortment of pasta, meat, fish, salads, breads, etc. Many items are made in-house. I LOVE the coconut cake which, I was informed last time, is made fresh by the owner's mother... it's amazing. Probably the best coconut cake of my life. On my last visit we tried the calamari and lamp chop appetizers, yum. I chose the chicken francese (I think) which was egg battered chicken with lemon wine sauce and pasta. Very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service. Only issue wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great service. Only issue was having to wait 20mins for seating, when reservations had been previously made four days prior.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

In the past we have thoroughly enjoyed t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

In the past we have thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. During our past visit we had some issues with the entree. Will probably try again eventually.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The crab stuffed avocado appetizer super ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The crab stuffed avocado appetizer superb. Lamb chops fantastic. On a very very busy night our table was ready on time and the service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I have been going to aldos ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My wife and I have been going to aldos for decades and their food is always fantastic. We had a reservation for dinner tocelebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. Our table was not ready specifically situated by the piano for this special occasion. We had to wait for a long time and just gave up and just asked for any table. We were seated and our waiter, Jeff took care of us. We ordered a bottle of wine which was good but not the specific year we asked for. We subsequently ordered our dinner which took an unusual amount of time which the waiter told us that basically our orders got lost in the shufflend . Dessert was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a great time! Our server was exce ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a great time! Our server was excellent as was the food. My Husband was very pleased with his birthday dinner. Thank you for making it special!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Although the food was delicious and wait ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Although the food was delicious and waitress accommodating, I don't appreciate their suggested tip request. They used the total, including tax, for the %. Correctly, one does not tip tax. The price of food is what is used to figure out tip. This should be corrected in the future if you must give a suggestion. I can figure my own tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Restaurant was recommended by other vaca ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by other vacationers. My husband decided to give it a try while vacationing at Virginia Beach. We probably will not return since there are many more eaters that sparked our interest.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Professional staff. Felt ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious food. Professional staff. Felt like royalty.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place near the Beach!

Dined on June 3, 2016

A great find in Virginia Beach. Aldo’s is a very nice Italian restaurant near the beach. Aldo’s provides a very friendly and energetic atmosphere. We had a great meal and the service was good as well. We visit Aldo’s on our trips when we're down to the beach from Ohio. It was a very refreshing experience! We make Aldo’s Ristorante as primary stop. Easy to get in and out with easy access to I-264 and VB Blvd.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on June 1, 2016

From the time you entered the door until you leave you are treated as someone special. Food was great, service was fantastic. Great menu selection and the specials were truly special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is one of my ALL TIME favorite restraunts!

Dined on May 31, 2016

My wife and had already experienced a wonderful 5-day getaway in NYC to celebrate our 30th anniversary early, but once we returned to the beach decided we would spend the actual day dining at Aldo's. It is an amazing restraunt, with great variety of food - although I usually would come to take part in the outstanding pastas and red sauce - this time I was talked into getting the red snapper. What a great choice! Was simply phenomenal! The wine, ambience, and extremely friendly staff makes this a home-run for our entire family every time. This kind of a restraunt would usually bring prices between $36-$50 per entree in NYC, but is incredibly cost-friendly for families. This is our favorite place!! - Doug and Megan Earlenbaugh -

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

Family in from out of town and we celebrated a 52nd Anniversary, two birthdays, and Mother's and Father's Day all in one fell swoop. The staff was friendly, engaging, and made certain we were pleased with our selections for dinner and they were not overbearing. Which simply means they didn't hover while we were dining and having conversation. We enjoyed the antipasto plate appetizer. Everyone enjoyed their meal! And we enjoyed the chocolate gelato and chocolate ganache cake for dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting for an amazing dinner. Fo ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Lovely setting for an amazing dinner. Food was delicious and service was impeccable. Their specials are well worth trying!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoy coming to Aldo's. Great food selec ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Enjoy coming to Aldo's. Great food selection and wine list. Great place for date night!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant and service was excellent ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant and service was excellent however I requested the remainder of my entree to go, the waiter discarded it. So half my food went in the trash.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Aldo's in the past and ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We have eaten at Aldo's in the past and always enjoyed it. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The food was excellent. They serve the usual Italian fare, but also have appetizers and entrees you don't see anywhere else. The wine list is extensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is Ah-mazing!

Dined on May 20, 2016

We've been to Aldo's twice on the recommendation of a friend and they do not disappoint! The service is fantastic - polite, friendly, & knowledgable servers about the all beverages and cuisine. And the food is more than amazing! You cannot go wrong with any dish but the Tortellini Six Fromaggi, Chicken Marsala, Veal Scallopini (which was a chef's special) and the Lollipop Lamb dish (also chef's special) are our favorites. The atmosphere is classy enough for special occasions, but I've seen even casual attire. If you get a seat near the piano, it can be a little loud, but there are really no complaints for this restaurant. You'll love it no matter the mood or what you wear!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Really, really good food. Sunday night ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Really, really good food. Sunday night is traditionally the worst night of the week for dining but Aldo's is 100% in every category

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had a business dinner here last week. The services was impeccable and the food was delicious. I would definitely take vendors here again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aldo's is outstanding in every respect. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Aldo's is outstanding in every respect. The wine list is superb.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best Italian restaurant within 100 miles.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit. We visited on Mother's Day. Crowded but it did not affect the quality of service or food. Likely, the best Italian restaurant within 100 miles. We were a party of four and each had a very different entree and individually and collectivley they were excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not A Good Value

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had reservations for 6 at 4:00PM, their normal opening time, however this was Mother's day so they opened early. 3 of us wanted the chunky chicken salad and were told they were out. If it had been 8 or 9 PM, we could see being out of something, but 4:00 in the afternoon? That is not acceptable. 2 of us ended up getting grossly over priced pizzas, since none of the other salads sounded appetizing. We could have gotten 3 16" large pizzas with the works anyplace else for what we paid for 2 10" pizzas with little to no toppings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Robert was on top of everything the whole time. He started with great suggestions on food based both on what each person liked and did not like. he was there each time somebody wanted something, pleasant conversationalist as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service

Dined on May 7, 2016

We chose Aldo's to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. We have been there many times and have never been disappointed. Our food was excellent and our service was too. As we left I told my wife that one thing I will miss after we complete our upcoming move to NC is that we didn't visit Aldo's more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revisit

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had dinner at Aldo's after a mini-honeymoon in VB 26 yrs ago. We returned last weekend for our 26th anniversary. Still delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. I've been to a lot of Italian r ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing. I've been to a lot of Italian restaurants and Aldo's is one of the best.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional cuisine

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Exceptional cuisine

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience at Aldo's! We ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Always a great experience at Aldo's! We feel welcomed and taken care of on every occasion. Our waiter, Chris, is outstanding in every regard. The 28th anniversary menu was fantastic. Highly recommend Aldo's to all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding atmosphere like the live piano.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Professional quality service, excellent interface.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific as always. Everything on the m ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Terrific as always. Everything on the menu is great.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was second to none.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The food and service was second to none.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Girls night dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had a party of 3 and one of my girlfriends steak was over cooked. She asked for medium well but received a well done steak. Everyone was apologetic and the manager came and spoke with her and they replaced her steak. However, I was disappointed there was no discount offered for her meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great time

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants -

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.