About Aldo's

306 South High Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

“One of the best Italian restaurants in America” / "The wine list at Aldo's is exemplary, easily one of the best on the east coast” / “This is clearly a labor of familial love, and it shows in every dish" -- John Mariani (of Esquire Magazine)

Aldo’s is Baltimore’s most celebrated Italian restaurant. Aldo's features the delicately balanced southern-influenced regional Italian cuisine of Chef/Owner Aldo Vitale and his son Chef Sergio Vitale--all served in sumptuously-appointed rooms steeped in classical Italian tradition.

The media rave about Aldo's, calling it "An Italian Masterpiece" (NY Times) and have recognized Aldo's for offering Maryland's "Best Private Dining" (The Baltimore Sun) and "Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Private dining room options include a belowground, climate-controlled Wine Cellar and a Medici-inspired Library. Visit the website at www.aldositaly.com for a virtual tour.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner nightly from 5 PM. Last seatings: Monday-Thursday, 9:45 PM; Friday & Saturday, 10:45 PM; Sunday, 8:45 PM.

Cross Street:
Fawn Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 727-0700

Website:
http://www.aldositaly.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered, available at $10 (higher on holidays). The Baltimore City-owned "Little Italy Parking Garage" is located at 400 S. Central Avenue (http://goo.gl/nwG6pc), approximately 1 block from Aldo's. Street parking available: 3-hour time limit, strictly enforced.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Vitale & Sergio Vitale

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your next private dining event a memorable affair! Our Private Dining service is high-touch, making event planning seamless--and painless! Our experienced Private Dining Manager will work with you to orchestrate all of the details of your private dining event for a bespoke dining experience that exceeds your expectations and meets your budget. For more information, contact Margaret Occhiogrosso at 410.662.2284 or PrivateDining@aldositaly.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

"Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Aldo’s is the ultimate setting for memorable private dining events. Event planning is seamless and stress-free as our experienced Private Dining Manager orchestrates all of the details for you.

Aldo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
See All
Authentic (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Business Meals (9)
Private Room (8)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely delicious homemade pastas! I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely delicious homemade pastas! I love that they have the options of small plates. Had a few service mishaps such as ordering only two glasses of a wine the waiter suggested that wasn't on the menu but instead received the bottle of wine which the waiter opened and quickly poured both glasses without having one of us at least try it. I suppose we should have asked him to take away but felt awkward. A few times during our meal the waiter would apologize for not giving us the best possible service which was slightly odd. My friends and I enjoyed our meal so much that we didn't let this bother us. Lastly when we received our check we had been told it was paid for by another party. Thinking this was strange and had inquired we quickly found out that it wasn't intended for us. When the check came we saw how expensive the bottle of wine was and regretted not returning the bottle. Great food but strange experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent everything. From cocktails ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent everything. From cocktails to dessert and coffee, everything was pretty well perfect. This is fast becoming my favorite restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable food and service; friendly an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Impeccable food and service; friendly and professional. A first class meal and a relaxing, perfectly paced experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always outstanding at Aldo's ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food is always outstanding at Aldo's, not cheap but so good you don't mind the price. The pasta's are cooked perfectly and the sauces are so rich and creamy. I had the Foie Gras to start and was in absolute heaven. No little one bite amuse bouche either, it was one of the nicest portions I've seen in a while. The Carbonara is creamy and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely experience, from arrival, the bla ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lovely experience, from arrival, the black tie wait staff, to the homemade pasta. All of the food was incredible!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and the service was excellent ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food and the service was excellent. First time here and we had a fantastic experience. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 46th wedding ann ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary with another couple. For appetizers my husband and the other lady had the special of cream of crab and corn chowder. I had the caprese salad and the other gentleman had fried oysters. All appetizers were declared "delicious." For entrees my husband and the other couple had the seafood specials--salmon wrapped in puff pastry for them and stuffed flounder for my husband. Again these dishes were judged outstanding. I had the spaghetti carbonara. It was good, not outstanding, and a bit too salty. The only downside to this otherwise delightful evening was the inordinate time, at least 20 minutes, we waited on a cold and windy night for the only valet parker on duty to bring our car.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful from start to finish!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great from start to finis ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great from start to finish. The bread was fresh out of the oven, the specials were incredible, and the crab cakes were lights out! The service was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb. I love it so much, I'd live ther ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Superb. I love it so much, I'd live there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best meals that I ha ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was one of the best meals that I have enjoyed in a long time. Everything was just perfect from drinks in the bar with Margaret, to our server Ramon and most importantly....we loved meeting Aldo himself.

The venue is beautiful, and the attention to detail is fabulous. But, the food really was a show stopper. This will be one of our most favorite memories for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They changed waiters on us three times, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

They changed waiters on us three times, most peculiar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great job by the entire staff to make ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great job by the entire staff to make our group feel welcome and cared for the entire evening. The food and the service were both spectacular on a very busy Friday night on Army Navy weekend. Well done! Go Army!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places! Absolutely de ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of my favorite places! Absolutely delicious and wonderful service EVERY SINGLE TIME!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best bolognese I have had outside Italy. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best bolognese I have had outside Italy. Good wine list if a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

place was beautiful and Service great bu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2016

place was beautiful and Service great but too expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious! We don't usuall ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was delicious! We don't usually go to this fancy of a restaurant, but we really enjoyed it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I didn't want to draw attention in front ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I didn't want to draw attention in front of my colleagues. I had the risotto with sous vide lobster. It was not good. Very salty. Lobster was a shrimp sized piece, and tough. So disappointed. I couldn't eat it. I started with the fois gras though and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful , attentive, helpful service i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful , attentive, helpful service in an upscale setting. Some of the food was very good, but on the whole, the food didn't meet high expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Perfect meal from start to finish. Enthu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Perfect meal from start to finish. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff. Must try the caprese salad, best we've ever had!!! Can't wait to dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I moved from Baltimore to CA 5 years ago ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I moved from Baltimore to CA 5 years ago and besides my friends, the thing I miss the most is Aldo's Restaurant. By far my favorite restaurant ever. The food is always fresh and delicious. The service is impeccable Aldo, his sons and staff always make you feel right at home. Can't say enough good things about this restaurant...

Try anything off the menu; I have...you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the meal and the service and the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and the service and the quiet atmosphere . We continue to be very happy with Aldo's as one of the best restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Aldo's is always a great exper ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Dining at Aldo's is always a great experience. We were welcomed very warmly and had a very pleasant evening. Carbonara is always a hit and the Saltimboca ala Floroentine is spectacular.

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the city.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. Options to try ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food was very good. Options to try different pastas ad a tasting menu. We tried three and all were quite good. Waiter (Nick) was very knowledgeable and friendly. Buratta and carpaccio appetizers were also excellent. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great but service was terrible. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was great but service was terrible. It took 20 minutes and us flagging down a manager just to get our drink order taken. Even after that the waiter rarely came by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Absolutely love the place. The food is d ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Absolutely love the place. The food is delicious, the staff are very knowledgeable, attentive and friendly. Overall Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous meal and completely authentic! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fabulous meal and completely authentic! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great...service, food, an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was great...service, food, and venue. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Cooked to perfection ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was great. Cooked to perfection. I will definitely be returning for the shrimp scampi.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Helmand's food continues to be incredibl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Helmand's food continues to be incredible and consistently high quality with a weekly special menu of 5-10 additional items on top of their normal menu.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My family took me for my birthday,and it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My family took me for my birthday,and it was a great dining experience. The food was amazing, beautifully prepared and Victor took great of us. He also brought out a tiramisu birthday mini cake and 5 glasses of home made limoncello for the table! If in. Baltimore I will go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for anniversary celebration ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place for anniversary celebration . The food and atmosphere was great!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and attentive service. The v ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and attentive service. The valet is shared with other restaurants in the area, so we had to wait for that, but only had to circle to the block a couple of times for him to show up. Seated immediately but had a wait a bit for the waiter. However, he was very knowledgeable and helpful with our order. The food was AMAZING! We were a bit surprised by the level of noise in the restaurant, but some of the other diners were somewhat loud. We plan to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was exquisite especially the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Everything was exquisite especially the food...It was a lovely dining experience although we would have been more comfortable with some less expenses wine choices - there are many good possibilities available without the steep mark-up. We are all familiar with the basic cost of these wines and think that it is unfortunate that guests are not encouraged to choose and enjoy theme more but are prohibited...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I've had in Baltimore, and tha ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Best meal I've had in Baltimore, and that's saying a lot because I've had some excellent meals in most of the top restaurants around town. Waiter was equally impressive and a class act. We all ended up sharing bites of 4 different entrees because everyone was raving about their own choice, rightfully so. Also one of best wine lists I've seen on the east coast.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always wanted to experience Baltimore's ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always wanted to experience Baltimore's Little Italy and Aldo's was the perfect spot, we had a wonderful evening. The food, we each had fish, was OUTSTANDING, our Cocktails were perfect. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants. Food is ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Food is fantastic...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but too pricey. Waiters lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was good but too pricey.

Waiters look great and service was attentive. Kitchen was very slow. The time between placing an order and receiving the main course was an hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

When we got there, I attempted to order ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2016

When we got there, I attempted to order 4 different red wines (100-200$ range), and they were out of all of them. Suggesting instead I order wines off there list I've never heard of. They brag of being a wine spectator recognition restaurant but it's from 1998. They now would never come close to that. Poor selection of wine is fine but not when you claim to have a great selection.

As for the food...

The pastas we had were so salty they tasted like they were soaked in brine. Truly inedible. We had three types of Pasta. Not a good effort by the kitchen. The dinner was a very sad dining experience.

This place looks like time has passed it by. We were sad we wasted our night here.

As for the food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Aldo's is a wonderful restaurant. We hav ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Aldo's is a wonderful restaurant. We have been here three times in the past year, twice with friends. It does not disappoint. The food is delicious. The wine list is very good, although I would appreciate a few more bottles under $50. There are quite a few charming rooms and we have never been in the same place twice. One of the best features, at least for is, is that the noise level is low. It's more hoppin' at the bar, but we go for food, wine, and conversation and that's what we get. There is a big enough menu but not pages and pages. The service is excellent, attentive but not overly-familiar. It's expensive but well worth the investment.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.