About Aldo's

306 South High Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

“One of the best Italian restaurants in America” / "The wine list at Aldo's is exemplary, easily one of the best on the east coast” / “This is clearly a labor of familial love, and it shows in every dish" -- John Mariani (of Esquire Magazine)

Aldo’s is Baltimore’s most celebrated Italian restaurant. Aldo's features the delicately balanced southern-influenced regional Italian cuisine of Chef/Owner Aldo Vitale and his son Chef Sergio Vitale--all served in sumptuously-appointed rooms steeped in classical Italian tradition.

The media rave about Aldo's, calling it "An Italian Masterpiece" (NY Times) and have recognized Aldo's for offering Maryland's "Best Private Dining" (The Baltimore Sun) and "Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Private dining room options include a belowground, climate-controlled Wine Cellar and a Medici-inspired Library. Visit the website at www.aldositaly.com for a virtual tour.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner nightly from 5 PM. Last seatings: Monday-Thursday, 9:45 PM; Friday & Saturday, 10:45 PM; Sunday, 8:45 PM.

Cross Street:
Fawn Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 727-0700

Website:
http://www.aldositaly.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered, available at $10 (higher on holidays). The Baltimore City-owned "Little Italy Parking Garage" is located at 400 S. Central Avenue (http://goo.gl/nwG6pc), approximately 1 block from Aldo's. Street parking available: 3-hour time limit, strictly enforced.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Vitale & Sergio Vitale

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your next private dining event a memorable affair! Our Private Dining service is high-touch, making event planning seamless--and painless! Our experienced Private Dining Manager will work with you to orchestrate all of the details of your private dining event for a bespoke dining experience that exceeds your expectations and meets your budget. For more information, contact Margaret Occhiogrosso at 410.662.2284 or PrivateDining@aldositaly.com

Specials

Free Corkage Mondays!

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Free Corkage Mondays!

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage Mondays!. Bring your own wine! Some restrictions apply. More info: www.goo.gl/H5UCsV. Special valid Aug 17, 2016 - Dec 17, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

"Feast of the Seven Fishes" Menu (as featured by television's Food Network): $69 per person (excluding beverages, tax, gratuity). Dinner service begins at 3pm. Our full, standard menu available, as well

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate 2017 in style: complimentary glass of bubbly on arrival and our four course prix fixe NYE Celebration Menu, featuring your favorite selections from our a la carte menu and our chefs' special preparations for the evening. $100 per person (excludes beverages, gratuity and tax).

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

"Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Aldo’s is the ultimate setting for memorable private dining events. Event planning is seamless and stress-free as our experienced Private Dining Manager orchestrates all of the details for you.

Aldo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (7)
Private Room (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

place was beautiful and Service great bu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2016

place was beautiful and Service great but too expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious! We don't usuall ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was delicious! We don't usually go to this fancy of a restaurant, but we really enjoyed it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I didn't want to draw attention in front ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I didn't want to draw attention in front of my colleagues. I had the risotto with sous vide lobster. It was not good. Very salty. Lobster was a shrimp sized piece, and tough. So disappointed. I couldn't eat it. I started with the fois gras though and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful , attentive, helpful service i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful , attentive, helpful service in an upscale setting. Some of the food was very good, but on the whole, the food didn't meet high expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I moved from Baltimore to CA 5 years ago ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I moved from Baltimore to CA 5 years ago and besides my friends, the thing I miss the most is Aldo's Restaurant. By far my favorite restaurant ever. The food is always fresh and delicious. The service is impeccable Aldo, his sons and staff always make you feel right at home. Can't say enough good things about this restaurant...

Try anything off the menu; I have...you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the meal and the service and the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and the service and the quiet atmosphere . We continue to be very happy with Aldo's as one of the best restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Aldo's is always a great exper ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Dining at Aldo's is always a great experience. We were welcomed very warmly and had a very pleasant evening. Carbonara is always a hit and the Saltimboca ala Floroentine is spectacular.

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the city.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. Options to try ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food was very good. Options to try different pastas ad a tasting menu. We tried three and all were quite good. Waiter (Nick) was very knowledgeable and friendly. Buratta and carpaccio appetizers were also excellent. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love the place. The food is d ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Absolutely love the place. The food is delicious, the staff are very knowledgeable, attentive and friendly. Overall Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great but service was terrible. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was great but service was terrible. It took 20 minutes and us flagging down a manager just to get our drink order taken. Even after that the waiter rarely came by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Fabulous meal and completely authentic! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fabulous meal and completely authentic! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great...service, food, an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was great...service, food, and venue. Can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Cooked to perfection ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was great. Cooked to perfection. I will definitely be returning for the shrimp scampi.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Helmand's food continues to be incredibl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Helmand's food continues to be incredible and consistently high quality with a weekly special menu of 5-10 additional items on top of their normal menu.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My family took me for my birthday,and it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My family took me for my birthday,and it was a great dining experience. The food was amazing, beautifully prepared and Victor took great of us. He also brought out a tiramisu birthday mini cake and 5 glasses of home made limoncello for the table! If in. Baltimore I will go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for anniversary celebration ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place for anniversary celebration . The food and atmosphere was great!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and attentive service. The v ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and attentive service. The valet is shared with other restaurants in the area, so we had to wait for that, but only had to circle to the block a couple of times for him to show up. Seated immediately but had a wait a bit for the waiter. However, he was very knowledgeable and helpful with our order. The food was AMAZING! We were a bit surprised by the level of noise in the restaurant, but some of the other diners were somewhat loud. We plan to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was exquisite especially the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Everything was exquisite especially the food...It was a lovely dining experience although we would have been more comfortable with some less expenses wine choices - there are many good possibilities available without the steep mark-up. We are all familiar with the basic cost of these wines and think that it is unfortunate that guests are not encouraged to choose and enjoy theme more but are prohibited...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I've had in Baltimore, and tha ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Best meal I've had in Baltimore, and that's saying a lot because I've had some excellent meals in most of the top restaurants around town. Waiter was equally impressive and a class act. We all ended up sharing bites of 4 different entrees because everyone was raving about their own choice, rightfully so. Also one of best wine lists I've seen on the east coast.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always wanted to experience Baltimore's ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always wanted to experience Baltimore's Little Italy and Aldo's was the perfect spot, we had a wonderful evening. The food, we each had fish, was OUTSTANDING, our Cocktails were perfect. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants. Food is ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Food is fantastic...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but too pricey. Waiters lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was good but too pricey.

Waiters look great and service was attentive. Kitchen was very slow. The time between placing an order and receiving the main course was an hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

When we got there, I attempted to order ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2016

When we got there, I attempted to order 4 different red wines (100-200$ range), and they were out of all of them. Suggesting instead I order wines off there list I've never heard of. They brag of being a wine spectator recognition restaurant but it's from 1998. They now would never come close to that. Poor selection of wine is fine but not when you claim to have a great selection.

As for the food...

The pastas we had were so salty they tasted like they were soaked in brine. Truly inedible. We had three types of Pasta. Not a good effort by the kitchen. The dinner was a very sad dining experience.

This place looks like time has passed it by. We were sad we wasted our night here.

As for the food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Aldo's is a wonderful restaurant. We hav ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Aldo's is a wonderful restaurant. We have been here three times in the past year, twice with friends. It does not disappoint. The food is delicious. The wine list is very good, although I would appreciate a few more bottles under $50. There are quite a few charming rooms and we have never been in the same place twice. One of the best features, at least for is, is that the noise level is low. It's more hoppin' at the bar, but we go for food, wine, and conversation and that's what we get. There is a big enough menu but not pages and pages. The service is excellent, attentive but not overly-familiar. It's expensive but well worth the investment.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was a little too salty for my t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was a little too salty for my taste. Not exceptional in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

An otherwise excellent meal was ruined b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

An otherwise excellent meal was ruined by a wait of 45 minutes past our reservation. Multiple parties ahead of ours waited even longer. What's the use of a reservation?

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding restaurant, one of the very ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, one of the very best in Baltimore

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb food, amazing wine list. The foie ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Superb food, amazing wine list. The foie gras was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very crowded, slow service food good ex ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very crowded, slow service food good except small portions for the price. Disappointed

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

it was a wonderful dinning experience, t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2016

it was a wonderful dinning experience, the food was great, the service outstanding, I am so glad we had dinner here, it was chosen based on the reviews we read on Open Table. The location and ambience were also great

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aldo's is definitely a "special occasion ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Aldo's is definitely a "special occasion" restaurant. The main courses are well into the $30 price range. The wine list is very expensive. The Boar Bolognese was outstanding. The whole fish was delicious. The servers know their product and explain everything very well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had never been to Aldo's before. It w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had never been to Aldo's before. It was our special anniversary celebration. It was first class

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Aldo was there and along with a spe ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef Aldo was there and along with a spectacular waitstaff we got to experience a fantastic evening from beginning to end. It doesn't get much better than Aldo's homemade sopresata and cheese from his hometown. The wine list is superb. And again the waitstaff is just top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening out. Ambiance was for ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Enjoyable evening out. Ambiance was formal and elegant but relaxing. Waiters wore tuxedos but most diners were business causal. Service was professional and courses were well paced. Our waiter, Endrit, and the supporting staff were excellent, My perfectly mixed martini was brought promptly. The eggplant Parmesan appetizer and the Caprese salad were outstanding and will order next time. I was torn between the calamari appetizer and the beef Carpaccio. I went with the calamari which was very good although next time I'll give the beef Carpaccio a try. Both homemade pasta entrees were very tasty and filling. The spaghettoni all'Amatriciana was an authentic Italian dish with ingredients you just don't find at other restaurants. My spouse ordered linguine with a marina sauce. The wine menu had an extensive listing of bottles but a limited number of offerings by the glass. I ordered a glass of the pinot noir which was very good. The meal ended with an excellent homemade tiramisu and a glass of the limoncello liqueur (without cream). The two hours it took for the meal passed too quickly. Valet parking is offered but I recommend using the parking structure two blocks away for only $4.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a family favorite! Risotto, bologn ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It's a family favorite! Risotto, bolognese, veal, desserts are the best - as are Aldo and the staff. This is not your typical red sauce Italian restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service, well worth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and great service, well worth the visit if you're going to be in the Little Italy area of Baltimore.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with this choice in Little ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very pleased with this choice in Little Italy. Food was very good. Service was excellent. A bit pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Italian restauranr but expensive.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good Italian restauranr but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I made this reservation because the crab ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 24, 2016

I made this reservation because the crab cakes were recommended online and they were terrible! and very expensive $38; no backfin and nearly as flat and tasteless as a pancake. This was a very expensive restaurant in Little Italy, the house wine by the glass was $14 and up. Out bill was over $150 and my wife had spaghetti with a few shrimp and I had just one "crab cake". The ambiance was wonderful and the waiter was great, but one a scale of 1-10 the crab cake was a 3.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

I've been coming to Baltimore's Little I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2016

I've been coming to Baltimore's Little Italy (from DC) for 30 years and usually go to the same places (which are obviously good) but had never dined at Aldo's. I just decided to try someplace different based on reviews on OpenTable, even though I'm always wary of being disappointed. Absolutely no disappointment with Aldo's! We tried a variety of dishes; sharing some of them with our party of 4. Everything was excellent...2 different veal dishes, a fish dish, 2 different pastas. The limoncello cream to top of the meal was lovely and an appropriate touch at this Italian restaurant. I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.