About Aldo's

306 South High Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

“One of the best Italian restaurants in America” / "The wine list at Aldo's is exemplary, easily one of the best on the east coast” / “This is clearly a labor of familial love, and it shows in every dish" -- John Mariani (of Esquire Magazine), 2012

Aldo’s is Baltimore’s most celebrated Italian restaurant. Aldo's features the delicately balanced southern-influenced regional Italian cuisine of Chef/Owner Aldo Vitale and his son Chef Sergio Vitale--all served in sumptuously-appointed rooms steeped in classical Italian tradition.

The media rave about Aldo's, calling it "An Italian Masterpiece" (NY Times) and have recognized Aldo's for offering Maryland's "Best Private Dining" (The Baltimore Sun) and "Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Private dining room options include a belowground, climate-controlled Wine Cellar and a Medici-inspired Library. Visit the website at www.aldositaly.com for a virtual tour.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner nightly from 5 PM. Last seatings: Monday-Thursday, 10 PM; Friday & Saturday, 11 PM; Sunday, 9 PM.

Cross Street:
Fawn Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 727-0700

Website:
http://www.aldositaly.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered, available at $10 (higher on holidays). The Baltimore City-owned "Little Italy Parking Garage" is located at 400 S. Central Avenue (http://goo.gl/nwG6pc), approximately 1 block from Aldo's. Street parking available: 3-hour time limit, strictly enforced.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Vitale & Sergio Vitale

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your next private dining event a memorable affair! Our Private Dining service is high-touch, making event planning seamless--and painless! Our experienced Private Dining Manager will work with you to orchestrate all of the details of your private dining event for a bespoke dining experience that exceeds your expectations and meets your budget. For more information, contact Margaret Occhiogrosso at 410.662.2284 or PrivateDining@aldositaly.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Housecured Soppressata
  • Quail
  • Warm Rustic Apple Tart
  • House Made Limoncello
  • Lobster Risotto
  • Cucumber & Tomato
  • Watermelon & Feta
Housecured Soppressata
Quail
Warm Rustic Apple Tart
House Made Limoncello
Lobster Risotto
Cucumber & Tomato
Watermelon & Feta

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

"Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Aldo’s is the ultimate setting for memorable private dining events. Event planning is seamless and stress-free as our experienced Private Dining Manager orchestrates all of the details for you.

Aldo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
3 More
Romantic
Baltimore
Special Occasion
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (54)
fit for foodies (41)
See All
notable wine list (38)
neighborhood gem (31)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (8)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were amazing. Wou ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were amazing. Would like to go back when we are in Baltimore.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent authentic Italian food with ex ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian food with exceptional service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Pasta was good but not worthy of the exp ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Pasta was good but not worthy of the expensive price tag

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Pleasant Surprise in Little Italy

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Lovely ambiance and fantastic food. The service is superb, very helpful and formal but friendly. We had the homemade pastas, carbonara and the seafood special. Never had better--including New York Little Italy...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Paid 21 for three bottles of water that ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Paid 21 for three bottles of water that the waiters kept pouring without asking. Food was great. Service could have been a bit faster. We did not realize that the check could not be split until we were ordering. Will try other restaurants in Little Italy before coming back.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Worst. Ever. And I mean EVER.

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Horrible. There was a draft at our table. We asked if we could move to another table. The hostess told us "No. No other tables are set." Asked someone else if the air conditioning could be lowered or the temperature raised. "No. The setting has to stay where it is." We saw that there were several other open tables. We asked another server if we could move. He agreed. He told us to carry our plates, silverware, glasses to the other table. Wow. We sat at our new table. And waited. 20 minutes later we hailed down a server and alerted him that we had been sitting for some time and no one had even acknowledged us. He said, "I saw someone greet you over at the other table." Ooof. We hailed yet another server. He asked us to give him a minute and he'd be right back. Several minutes later he returned. We gave him our drink orders and asked for bread. 10 minutes later... drinks but no bread. Reminded our server. 10 minutes later he came back to take our order. We ordered AND reminded him about the bread. He said it would be right out. 5 minutes later -- BREAD. And butter (which we had to ask for twice). We asked for a butter knife. We were told that the restaurant didn't have butter knives. There were only about 4 very small, ordinary pieces of bread. As we were starving -- and anticipating that we wouldn't see our server anytime soon -- we asked the pre-server for more bread. He told us that we needed to eat what he brought and then he'd bring more. So. The food. Warm Spinach Salad: OK. Beet salad: OK. Wild Mushroom Risotto: Under-cooked, cold risotto with a huge glob of mushrooms in brown gravy (like out of a can) poured over top. DISGUSTING. Eggplant Tower: A pile of mush. Overcooked. DISGUSTING. Linguine w/ clams: Meh. No dessert. No way. Decor: Old, chipped, scuffed wooden chairs. Walls padded in large swatches of what resembled old sofa fabric. The whole place felt run-down and depressing. Summary: Horrible

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Dining Experience

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Aldo's was great from the minute we walked in. We were warmly greeted and taken to our table. The servers were all very attentive, and the food was delicious. Great spot for gluten free pasta! And all the appetizers ordered at the table were enjoyed as well. The wine list was extensive and we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aldo's is a pearl in the rough.

Dined on May 28, 2016

As soon as you walk in, the decor and ambiance show you to expect a treat. The main dining area is gorgeous. Reminiscent of a Roman villa courtyard, and the view and location of 'Romeo and juliet's balcony' were incredible! The bartender and service staff were perfect. So accommodating and informative yet gracious and never rushing us. The food was absolutely exquisite from the appetizer through to desert. It was a little pricey but definitely worth it for a special occasion! We will be back for sure. We forgot we were in Baltimore and sometimes that can be a good thing :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place nestled in the heart of ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic place nestled in the heart of little Italy. Everything was magnificent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Italian food. Be prepared to wait. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Italian food. Be prepared to wait...just imagine you're in Italy and pace your courses as you would in Italy

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was great. The service was very ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was great. The service was very slow the night we were there. We felt given the quality of the restaurant someone on the staff should have noticed and stepped in. A simple acknowledgement and apology would have gone a long way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service fantastic, food delicious, atmos ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Service fantastic, food delicious, atmosphere perfect, especially for a special romantic occasion. I sent a note through Open Table stating it was for an anniversary and Aldo' s had a special desert and an aperitif. Nothing was requested, just a very pleasant and thoughtful surprise. Go there if you can! A little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, wine and service were all exce ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food, wine and service were all excellent as always.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The specials were so amazing I never looked at the menu! Definitely in my TOP 5 restaurants in Baltimore.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Little Italy

Dined on May 10, 2016

I've been to other Little Italy restaurants and I've always heard good things about Aldo's but I never dined at Aldo's until last night. I must admit; It lived up to its reputation. The service was warm and attentive and the food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had an excellent meal at Aldo's. The service was attentive even though the restaurant was busy. The biggest surprise was how much fun we had at the bar after dinner. Apparently, the bar has a bit of a "neighborhood" following. Everyone knows each other and we had a great time over their housemade lemoncello. I recommend the eggplant and the shrimp scampi as appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Roman was excellent

Dined on May 8, 2016

Roman was excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Special Place for Special Occasions

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food--great service--easy to use valet parking at front door. Aldo's is our favorite place for a special occasion. The prices are a bit pricey if your use to the the ma & pa places near home. We had the roasted beet salad which was out of this world. The quality of the filet steaks we had were awesome as was the seafood & pasta. The desserts were also good. We had the cannoli's and the cheese filling were the best we have ever had from Little Italy. i would say reservations are the best way to go to make sure you get a table when you want.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Special requests seem to be an issue. My ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Special requests seem to be an issue. My wife is allergic to onion & garlic & I was told prior to arrival it would not be an issue. It was though. Her food had to be sent back and what she was finally served was third rate at best.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We were extremely disappointed.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed. No flexibility on the menu so my vegetarian daughter could not get eggs Benedict with spinach instead of meat (cost an extra $10 for spinach). The eggs were badly overcooked. The smoked salmon was supposed to come with toast points, it came with one tiny piece of toast only. Even the ice tea had soap in it so I sent it back. The prices were very high. Basically a total waste of time. You can go to Denny's and get a better meal and a fifth of the price. This was a new low for what should have been a lovely Mother's day lunch. Never ever go back there. Ruined my day and embarrassed me.

food5
ambience5
service5

We brought an infant with us for their ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We brought an infant with us for their mother's day brunch, and the restaurant was more than happy to accommodate us. We went knowing the food at Aldos would be topnotch, and we weren't disappointed. The service throughout our dining experience was extraordinary from the time we walked in the door, to when we had to depart. They doted over our baby and made my wife and I feel special. We will return soon. And I believe we will make Aldos our mother's day brunch tradition.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Great food!!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Took my wife for our 9 year anniversary and was not disappointed. Greeted promptly by hostess and sat in the upper dining area. The wait staff did not skip a beat and was always nearby to assist. The food was outstanding. Highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion. Thank you

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was off the charts. The wine list is a little pricey, but extensive. Overall, a top notch experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Ken was top shelf and handle ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server Ken was top shelf and handle everything with patience and class. All his recommendations were on point. The food was prepared excellent, the drinks made us happy and the service was amazing. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baltimore's Best Italian

Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Aldo's. It wasn't our first time dining here and it never disappoints. The restaurant is beautiful, the staff is always gracious and warm, and the food is out of this world. My wife and I celebrated our last anniversary touring Italy--dining at Aldo's brought back a flood of vivid memories. The food is on-par with the best meals we had in Italy. My favorites at Aldo's include the eggplant tower, the linguine clams, and the slow-braised veal ossobuco. My wife had a whole grilled bronzino stuffed with garlic, lemon, and fresh herbs. It was outstanding. Aldo's will always be a special place for us. Ty!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I travel for business and dine out often ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

I travel for business and dine out often. Aldo's was one of the best restaurants I've ever experienced. The bartender (Margaret?) made a superlative Manhattan with a special Italian vermouth. The lobster parmigiana was incredible. Service was superb, the food was superb, the restaurant was superb. A hidden gem in Baltimore.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish I could give 10 stars!!!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Another outstanding night at Aldo's. This night was a romantic birthday celebration that Aldo's made perfect in every way. Words can't express enough how made I love this place. Tucked away in the quaint Little Italy area of Baltimore. Roman, our waiter was superb as always and our appetizers were out of this world. We both ordered the 8oz fillet and they was perfect, tender and to die for. We had the Delamotte Brut champagne for birthday toasting and it was delish!!! Please note Aldo's has an extensive wine list and can assist you in choosing the perfect wine for your meal. I had the chocolate mousse and it was dark and ultra rich. My SO had the cannoli and it was the best he ever had. As a bonus I have to mention, Roman ran over a block to get us a cab!!! And Aldo and his son were both there to wish us well as we departed. I will dine with you every time I'm in Baltimore!!! LT

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Aldo's food was very good. Pasta was per ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Aldo's food was very good. Pasta was perfectly prepared; everything else was tasty as well. The wine list is excessively expensive, perhaps in keeping with the pretentious nature of our waiter and this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's

Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful food, wonderful atmosphere, and wonderful service. I was intimidated at first because it was my first time being in such a "A" class, high end restaurant. Then it ended up being one of the most perfect moments for me and my wife. Life is all about memories and Aldo's created a perfect one for us!

food5
ambience4
service4

From the moment I dropped the car at the ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

From the moment I dropped the car at the Valet the service was excellent. The venue is classy and the ambiance is awesome. Wait staff was helpful and prompt. Food was terrific

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Favorite!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The best restaurant in Little Italy. Love their risotto, eggplant and bolognese dishes. Chef Aldo is a treasure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful evening. Eugene, ou ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Absolutely wonderful evening. Eugene, our server was attentive without being over the top. The food was excellent and couldn't have been better. The Buffalo mozzarella was the best ever and my Berkshire pork was out of this world. Definitely will return and will tell everyone that Aldo's in Baltimore is a must!

food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service! Food good, will ret ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Outstanding service! Food good, will return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, Roman was an excellent serve ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food, Roman was an excellent server can't wait to go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To know Aldo's is to love Aldo's!

Dined on March 27, 2016

For a wonderful time with great service, food and wine this place cannot be missed. One of our two 'go to' Italian restaurants in Baltimore's Little Italy. The wine cellar will have some of the best wine selections to compliment the award winning meals that are offered. And if the service is your hot button, be prepared to be treated like the most important person in the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

We specifically chose Aldo for their glu ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

We specifically chose Aldo for their gluten free statement and when we arrived, the only thing our waiter told us was the gluten free pasta option. I was very pleased with our service and ambiance. But we were very disappointed with how they presented the gluten free options. I honestly think they might have had more gluten free options but the menu didn't have them marked and then our waiter didn't elaborate as to any other options. My food was good just not outstanding considering this was an expensive meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Takes me back to Italy everytime!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Fabulous Service and really delicious food! Well worth the $$$$$

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Go lobster linguine 100%. For desert get ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Go lobster linguine 100%. For desert get more lobster linguine. It's amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always spectacular!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

An evening at Aldo's is a guarantee that you will receive outstanding service and be served a deliciously memorable meal - every time. We enjoyed several courses, each as exceptional as the next. Truly spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place

Dined on March 14, 2016

I ate here with two colleagues when at a conference in Baltimore. The servers were polite, but humorous. The food was very good, especially the pasta with lobster tail. It was a very good evening. A little on the expensive side

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.