About Aldo's

306 South High Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

“One of the best Italian restaurants in America” / "The wine list at Aldo's is exemplary, easily one of the best on the east coast” / “This is clearly a labor of familial love, and it shows in every dish" -- John Mariani (of Esquire Magazine)

Aldo’s is Baltimore’s most celebrated Italian restaurant. Aldo's features the delicately balanced southern-influenced regional Italian cuisine of Chef/Owner Aldo Vitale and his son Chef Sergio Vitale--all served in sumptuously-appointed rooms steeped in classical Italian tradition.

The media rave about Aldo's, calling it "An Italian Masterpiece" (NY Times) and have recognized Aldo's for offering Maryland's "Best Private Dining" (The Baltimore Sun) and "Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Private dining room options include a belowground, climate-controlled Wine Cellar and a Medici-inspired Library. Visit the website at www.aldositaly.com for a virtual tour.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner nightly from 5 PM. Last seatings: Monday-Thursday, 9:45 PM; Friday & Saturday, 10:45 PM; Sunday, 8:45 PM.

Cross Street:
Fawn Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 727-0700

Website:
http://www.aldositaly.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered, available at $10 (higher on holidays). The Baltimore City-owned "Little Italy Parking Garage" is located at 400 S. Central Avenue (http://goo.gl/nwG6pc), approximately 1 block from Aldo's. Street parking available: 3-hour time limit, strictly enforced.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Vitale & Sergio Vitale

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your next private dining event a memorable affair! Our Private Dining service is high-touch, making event planning seamless--and painless! Our experienced Private Dining Manager will work with you to orchestrate all of the details of your private dining event for a bespoke dining experience that exceeds your expectations and meets your budget. For more information, contact Margaret Occhiogrosso at 410.662.2284 or PrivateDining@aldositaly.com

Specials

Free Corkage Mondays!

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Free Corkage Mondays!

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage Mondays!. Bring your own wine! Some restrictions apply. More info: www.goo.gl/H5UCsV. Special valid Aug 17, 2016 - Dec 17, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

"Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Aldo’s is the ultimate setting for memorable private dining events. Event planning is seamless and stress-free as our experienced Private Dining Manager orchestrates all of the details for you.

Aldo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Romantic (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had never been to Aldo's before. It w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had never been to Aldo's before. It was our special anniversary celebration. It was first class

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Aldo was there and along with a spe ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef Aldo was there and along with a spectacular waitstaff we got to experience a fantastic evening from beginning to end. It doesn't get much better than Aldo's homemade sopresata and cheese from his hometown. The wine list is superb. And again the waitstaff is just top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening out. Ambiance was for ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Enjoyable evening out. Ambiance was formal and elegant but relaxing. Waiters wore tuxedos but most diners were business causal. Service was professional and courses were well paced. Our waiter, Endrit, and the supporting staff were excellent, My perfectly mixed martini was brought promptly. The eggplant Parmesan appetizer and the Caprese salad were outstanding and will order next time. I was torn between the calamari appetizer and the beef Carpaccio. I went with the calamari which was very good although next time I'll give the beef Carpaccio a try. Both homemade pasta entrees were very tasty and filling. The spaghettoni all'Amatriciana was an authentic Italian dish with ingredients you just don't find at other restaurants. My spouse ordered linguine with a marina sauce. The wine menu had an extensive listing of bottles but a limited number of offerings by the glass. I ordered a glass of the pinot noir which was very good. The meal ended with an excellent homemade tiramisu and a glass of the limoncello liqueur (without cream). The two hours it took for the meal passed too quickly. Valet parking is offered but I recommend using the parking structure two blocks away for only $4.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a family favorite! Risotto, bologn ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It's a family favorite! Risotto, bolognese, veal, desserts are the best - as are Aldo and the staff. This is not your typical red sauce Italian restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service, well worth ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and great service, well worth the visit if you're going to be in the Little Italy area of Baltimore.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with this choice in Little ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very pleased with this choice in Little Italy. Food was very good. Service was excellent. A bit pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Italian restauranr but expensive.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good Italian restauranr but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I made this reservation because the crab ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I made this reservation because the crab cakes were recommended online and they were terrible! and very expensive $38; no backfin and nearly as flat and tasteless as a pancake. This was a very expensive restaurant in Little Italy, the house wine by the glass was $14 and up. Out bill was over $150 and my wife had spaghetti with a few shrimp and I had just one "crab cake". The ambiance was wonderful and the waiter was great, but one a scale of 1-10 the crab cake was a 3.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

I've been coming to Baltimore's Little I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I've been coming to Baltimore's Little Italy (from DC) for 30 years and usually go to the same places (which are obviously good) but had never dined at Aldo's. I just decided to try someplace different based on reviews on OpenTable, even though I'm always wary of being disappointed. Absolutely no disappointment with Aldo's! We tried a variety of dishes; sharing some of them with our party of 4. Everything was excellent...2 different veal dishes, a fish dish, 2 different pastas. The limoncello cream to top of the meal was lovely and an appropriate touch at this Italian restaurant. I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Aldo's always provides excellent meals a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Aldo's always provides excellent meals and very good service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I love this place -- and our ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My wife and I love this place -- and our latest visit cemented that love. The food was incredible, per usual -- but the best part was the service. INCREDIBLE thoughtfulness displayed by the people of Aldo's by not only taking my wife's gluten allergy into consideration when recommending entre options, but also surprising her with a GF chocolate cake, on the house! Top the great food and INCREDIBLE service with the romantic ambiance and you have the most incredible date night location in Baltimore. Love this place and will continue singing its praises to family/friends and acquaintances. Aldo's is simply the best.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, fantastic wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and service, fantastic wine list with reasonable prices and great advice from wait staff on food and wine. A truly memorable and wonderful evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Aldo's has been consistently excellent f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Aldo's has been consistently excellent for over 25 years we have been eating there. The wait staff knows the specials and what is on the menu very well. They made our dining experience even better.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not the first time that we had ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was not the first time that we had been to Aldo's but the first time we were very disappointed. First, we tried to order champagne but the restaurant was out of two of the less expensive choices and then the waiter suggested a bottle of much more expensive champagne. We then attempted to order Prosecco but this was not available either. One of the entree's was fine, but an order of tornedos Rossini that was supposed to be medium-well done was medium rare. Finally, our water glasses were not filled during the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Lobster Parmesan, Escargot + Shiitakes, ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lobster Parmesan, Escargot + Shiitakes, Caprese, and Bolognese were amazing! Service was top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful quiet dining room. Food was ov ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Beautiful quiet dining room. Food was overpriced and inconsistent. Crab cakes only average for $38. Disappointed that they only offer 3 white and 3 red wines by the glass.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Unfortunately they were probably was the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Unfortunately they were probably was the day that I came to Aldos. We waited nearly an hour and a half and I had ordered a veal chop which came out wrong. They were very apologetic and I ordered another dish which is the ossobuco. That dish is always good but it took yet another 20 minutes to get and dessert was still yet another 20 minutes. Also we were there from a quarter to 7 till 9. It was our 42nd anniversary and it was disappointing period normally Aldos has had exceptional food and exceptional service this night not so much so. Hopefully it was just a fluke and this restaurant will continue to be the excellent restaurant it always has been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

My grilled bronzino was excellent! The s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My grilled bronzino was excellent! The service was very attentive but not overwhelming, and our waiter didn't rush us, even though it was late in the evening before we left the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner and service! We sat in t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fabulous dinner and service! We sat in the private room and it was really superb -- from food, to service...dessert... all great! We will definitely be back...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Resturant with great food great pl ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great Resturant with great food great place to dine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really liked the early escargot. Sauce w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Really liked the early escargot. Sauce was unique and very good. Caesar salad was one of the best I have had. Wife really like her Clams Linguini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our last night living in Virginia Beach. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our last night living in Virginia Beach. It was 11 1/2 years ago that we found Aldo's. It was the first restaurant we tried in VB and we have enjoyed ever since!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is an amazing restaurant.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Aldo's is an amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I met friends from out of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My husband and I met friends from out of state and wanted to try a place we had not been to before. Aldo's was rated very highly. We were not disappointed.

We enjoyed the escargot in a puff pastry that was fantastic. More bread was needed to make sure we did not miss any of the excellent sauce. The calamari was done to perfection.

Our entrees were also excellent. We each ordered a different dish and ended up sharing all of them. I had veal in a lemon butter sauce. Also ordered, were two of the specials, lobster parmigiana and sea bass. Both were absolutely delicious. The last entrée was homemade pasta, also excellent.

We finished off the meal with three of the best desserts, a crème brulee, a Napoleon, and a fresh fruit in cream. Again, we shared all of them and not a bite was left.

The service was very, very good. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely excellent experience; the foo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Absolutely excellent experience; the food was superb. It was probably the overall best authentic Italian meal I've had outside of Italy and New York.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were amazing. Wou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and service were amazing. Would like to go back when we are in Baltimore.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent authentic Italian food with ex ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian food with exceptional service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pasta was good but not worthy of the exp ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Pasta was good but not worthy of the expensive price tag

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A Pleasant Surprise in Little Italy

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Lovely ambiance and fantastic food. The service is superb, very helpful and formal but friendly.

We had the homemade pastas, carbonara and the seafood special. Never had better--including New York Little Italy...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paid 21 for three bottles of water that ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Paid 21 for three bottles of water that the waiters kept pouring without asking. Food was great. Service could have been a bit faster. We did not realize that the check could not be split until we were ordering. Will try other restaurants in Little Italy before coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The Worst. Ever. And I mean EVER.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Horrible.

There was a draft at our table. We asked if we could move to another table. The hostess told us "No. No other tables are set." Asked someone else if the air conditioning could be lowered or the temperature raised. "No. The setting has to stay where it is." We saw that there were several other open tables. We asked another server if we could move. He agreed. He told us to carry our plates, silverware, glasses to the other table. Wow.

We sat at our new table. And waited. 20 minutes later we hailed down a server and alerted him that we had been sitting for some time and no one had even acknowledged us. He said, "I saw someone greet you over at the other table." Ooof. We hailed yet another server. He asked us to give him a minute and he'd be right back. Several minutes later he returned. We gave him our drink orders and asked for bread. 10 minutes later... drinks but no bread. Reminded our server. 10 minutes later he came back to take our order. We ordered AND reminded him about the bread. He said it would be right out. 5 minutes later -- BREAD. And butter (which we had to ask for twice). We asked for a butter knife. We were told that the restaurant didn't have butter knives. There were only about 4 very small, ordinary pieces of bread. As we were starving -- and anticipating that we wouldn't see our server anytime soon -- we asked the pre-server for more bread. He told us that we needed to eat what he brought and then he'd bring more.

So. The food. Warm Spinach Salad: OK. Beet salad: OK. Wild Mushroom Risotto: Under-cooked, cold risotto with a huge glob of mushrooms in brown gravy (like out of a can) poured over top. DISGUSTING. Eggplant Tower: A pile of mush. Overcooked. DISGUSTING. Linguine w/ clams: Meh. No dessert. No way.

Decor: Old, chipped, scuffed wooden chairs. Walls padded in large swatches of what resembled old sofa fabric. The whole place felt run-down and depressing.

Summary: Horrible

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome Dining Experience

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Aldo's was great from the minute we walked in. We were warmly greeted and taken to our table. The servers were all very attentive, and the food was delicious. Great spot for gluten free pasta! And all the appetizers ordered at the table were enjoyed as well. The wine list was extensive and we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldo's is a pearl in the rough.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

As soon as you walk in, the decor and ambiance show you to expect a treat. The main dining area is gorgeous. Reminiscent of a Roman villa courtyard, and the view and location of 'Romeo and juliet's balcony' were incredible! The bartender and service staff were perfect. So accommodating and informative yet gracious and never rushing us. The food was absolutely exquisite from the appetizer through to desert. It was a little pricey but definitely worth it for a special occasion! We will be back for sure. We forgot we were in Baltimore and sometimes that can be a good thing :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic place nestled in the heart of ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic place nestled in the heart of little Italy. Everything was magnificent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food. Be prepared to wait. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Italian food. Be prepared to wait...just imagine you're in Italy and pace your courses as you would in Italy

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great. The service was very ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was great. The service was very slow the night we were there. We felt given the quality of the restaurant someone on the staff should have noticed and stepped in. A simple acknowledgement and apology would have gone a long way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Service fantastic, food delicious, atmos ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Service fantastic, food delicious, atmosphere perfect, especially for a special romantic occasion. I sent a note through Open Table stating it was for an anniversary and Aldo' s had a special desert and an aperitif. Nothing was requested, just a very pleasant and thoughtful surprise. Go there if you can! A little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, wine and service were all exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food, wine and service were all excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The specials were so amazing I never looked at the menu! Definitely in my TOP 5 restaurants in Baltimore.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best in Little Italy

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I've been to other Little Italy restaurants and I've always heard good things about Aldo's but I never dined at Aldo's until last night. I must admit; It lived up to its reputation. The service was warm and attentive and the food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.