About Alden and Harlow

40 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Located at 40 Brattle Street in Harvard Square, Alden & Harlow serves thoughtfully sourced, honest American food in a subterranean, modern and comfortable space. Replicating the style of cooking he does for family and friends in his home kitchen, Chef Michael Scelfo prepares humble, unpretentious food that honors tradition of place in its quality. It's how he connects with anyone who joins them at their table.

While reservations are strongly suggested, we also save a portion of the dining room and bar for walk-ins in the event that your request cannot be accommodated. So please, come on in!

Parties of more than 8, please call to make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-1:00am, Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm - 2:00am

We serve our full dinner menu until 11pm nightly and then switch to our late night menu from 11pm-Midnight, Sunday - Wednesday; 11pm-1am, Thursday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Mt Auburn Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 864-2100

Website:
http://www.aldenharlow.com/

Parking Details:
University Place Garage at 124 Mt. Auburn St offers a discounted rate with validation.

Public Transit:
Alden and Harlow is accessible via the Harvard Square MBTA Red Line T stop, located just one block away at 40 Brattle Street, between Eastern Mountain Sports and the Cambridge Center for Adult Education.

Executive Chef:
Michael Scelfo

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Secret Burger
Grilled Beef
nectarine salad
Charcoal Grilled Broccoli
Lemonade
Burger
Strawberry Cocktail
Kale Salad
chips and dips
Pan Cakes
Pickled French Bean
Orange Juice
Menu
Duck & Pork Campagna
Cheese Grits
Ubiquitous Kale Salad
Grilled Octopus
Olive Oil Cake
Grilled Cheese And Tomato Sandwich
Sausage And Potatoes
Cornmeal Pancakes
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding
Sauage And Potatoes
Shrimp & Grits
Crispy Berkshire Pork Belly
Fried Baby Brussels Sprouts
Braised Rabbit Stew
Pickled Verrill Farm Corn Pancakes
Wild Mushroom Frittata
Berry Buckle
Stone Fruit And Olive Oil Trifle

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Alden and Harlow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
American
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Harvard Square ›

Fit for Foodies (292)
Special Occasion (172)
Hot Spot (152)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (141)
Good for Groups (123)
Vibrant Bar Scene (108)
Romantic (95)
Great for Brunch (71)
Notable Wine List (47)
Late-night Find (44)
Great for Lunch (22)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding! However, our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was outstanding! However, our server was not the most enthusiastic person. He did not engage in much conversation. Towards the end of our meal he dropped the dessert menus on the table without a word and walked away.

Also, the music - hip hop and rap - was a bit jarring for the environment.

Again it's all about the food and that was great. Having said that, it's unlikely we would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

We appreciate the chef did not settle fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

We appreciate the chef did not settle for standard brunch fare and offered an imaginative menu. We intend to visit agin.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Overall a great experience. Had to wait ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall a great experience. Had to wait a while for our table (even though we had reservations) but the manager came by with complimentary onion dip & chips to make up for it. Service was great and the food was inventive and delicious. At the end however - we were charged for the onion dip and chips that we were given because of our long wait. We didn't even bother raising the issue to the server by that point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It took 20 minutes after we ordered 1 be ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

It took 20 minutes after we ordered 1 beer for it to arrive. The same person didn't have any food that he specifically ordered arrive until 40 minutes after he ordered. We eat here often, and this was the first time we experience such slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Amazing food second to one of best servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food second to one of best services I have experienced in the greater Boston area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great variety, creativity, and taste. S ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great variety, creativity, and taste. Small plates to share, but you'll need to order a good amount of plates if you're going for a meal. Our server was informative, pleasant, and courteous. Overall, a good, fun spot, especially if with friends or on a date.

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall experience was great! Food was d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall experience was great! Food was delicious. Service was great. However, we were not thrilled seeing a mouse scattering about by our table and feet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My boyfriend and I wanted a spontaneous ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

My boyfriend and I wanted a spontaneous mid-week date night and were craving the secret burger. We made a reservation last minute for 6:45p. Sold out of burger before we arrived and the hostess was kind enough to share some times I could return (this was my third attempt to try this burger).

The kale salad with pistachio dressing was phenomenal. The potatoes turned ordinary fingerlings into delicious and perfectly cooked bites in a aioli sauce.

Our waitress was friendly, timely, and helpful with wine tasting and selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What I especially love is how they can m ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

What I especially love is how they can make marvelous vegetables and great meat. We loved a simple kale salad as much as the collar of bass and the short rib crudo. There really is something for everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our second visit to this fun place. Ever ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our second visit to this fun place. Every dish was flavorful and interesting, especially the fried squash blossoms - WOW. Very nice if a bit pricey Cotes du Rhone; I was told corkage not permitted by law in Cambridge (Boston? MA?) and I had brought an old, classified Bordeaux for a celebration - that was the only disappointment of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice place. Unusual food . Nicely stocke ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Nice place. Unusual food . Nicely stocked bar. but very good. Noisy and dimly lit. Would go again.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a major disappointment. Dishes ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was a major disappointment. Dishes came out in a massive jumble. Dishes were drowning in oily & excessive sauces. The noise level was so loud it was impossible to converse with dinner partner on other side of table. We felt rushed and it marked our final visit. Enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

One of the best Sunday Brunch experience ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of the best Sunday Brunch experiences we've ever had!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

What a terrific night at Alden & Harlow! ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What a terrific night at Alden & Harlow!! My husband, I, and two dear friends enjoyed practically everything on the menu! Fantastic flavors in the cocktails and the food. Andrew was an excellent waiter! Great night!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and unique dishes to choo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious food and unique dishes to choose from. The kale salad was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Clams were AWESOME! Please make rabbit ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Clams were AWESOME! Please make rabbit that is not fried in any fashion...since it's hard to find on menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First of all, the look and ambiance of t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

First of all, the look and ambiance of the place is wonderful. Depending on where you are seated you feel like you are in a private garden dining spot or a hip dining bar.

The food was decent. The concept - small plates shared family style - makes for a hip and modern yet communal dining experience. The pickled corn pancakes were a suprising delight, as were the green beans. The secret burger deserves its reputation as an excellent burger. The other small plates were also tasty, but felt significantly overpriced for what the food actually was.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We were lucky enough to visit Alden and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were lucky enough to visit Alden and Harlow and had a spectacular evening. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The food was exceptional. Our group ordered 10 things from the menu and all were absolutely wonderful, original, and some of the best food we've ever tasted. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG...amazing. The menu seems mundane on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

OMG...amazing. The menu seems mundane on the surface, but what the kitchen does with seasonal offerings is delicious. Nothing would be easily replicated at home (except by a professional). I've been a few times this summer; it's on my go to list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow... if you want fantastic food, with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wow... if you want fantastic food, with wonderful eclectic cocktails... this is the place! My wife and I had a truly wonderful dinner here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food- especially the Sausage and p ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food- especially the Sausage and potato skillet. The kale salad was over salted which made it hard to chow down on. The Berry buckle was delicious as was the burger! I would definitely recommend this to a friend- although each portion was plenty enough for one rather than a "tapas style brunch" as the waiter described it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and cocktails were wonderful, as al ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and cocktails were wonderful, as always. However the service was slow. No one came to refill our water until the end of the meal, and the server didn't check after he took our order until he brought the check.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All the dishes we got were good, but eac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

All the dishes we got were good, but each kind of fell short. The highlight was the Kale salad - providing a fresh and crunchy experience. The corn meal pancakes were delicious, but no cohesive. Each item on the plate was like and individual treat that didn't work well together. The pork belly was boring and tasteless.

We got stuck in this corner booth near the hostess station. This had the odd effect of feeling very separated from the rest of the restaurant and also being rather forgotten by our server. Lots of needing to flag him down to get more drinks or place our order. At one point he just walked away mid-sentance explaining a dish. Odd.

Overall, the food was enjoyable enough. It just didn't seem to live up to our expectations. Beer list was unimaginative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

This restaurant was amazing!! The staff ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant was amazing!! The staff were attentive and knowledgeable. The food was phenomenal! Nothing disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it's a small plates restaurant with lots ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

it's a small plates restaurant with lots of choices. so we had to ask the server for her advice and she was extremely knowledgeable in all the dishes. the food was fantastic. could eat several of the soft shell crab dish. the bartenders mix good cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

pretence food! slow service maybe impres ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

pretence food! slow service

maybe impressive for young wannabees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great service and food is consistently d ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great service and food is consistently delicious! I've especially loved the vegetable dishes here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Haven't been to Alden and Harlow in a wh ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Haven't been to Alden and Harlow in a while. Food very well thought out, and unusual without being too exotic. Wish it had been tastier, however. Not bad, just not terrific either. Service was extremely friendly, prompt, and helpful. Noise was over the top. Even with tables pretty well spaced, it was very hard to have normal conversation. I'd come back, but not frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bar food.Young crowd. Nothing special bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Bar food.Young crowd. Nothing special but nothing annoying.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We waited way too long to get our food. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We waited way too long to get our food. They're whole thing is small plates but things came in weird time intervals. Our last plate we waited 40 minutes for. So we just got the check early without that plate and left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

I was very underwhelmed by the food. I h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I was very underwhelmed by the food. I had heard a lot of good things but the food did not live up to the hype.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I reserved seats for two people under th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I reserved seats for two people under the ceiling glass, with green wall behind. The sof-shell crab is incredible, so delicious! I will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a trendy restaurant with unusual ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a trendy restaurant with unusual food offerings. It seems to have a "following". We were seated at a small table next to the service bar at the end of the wall...hmmmm since the restaurant was not too busy, we wondered why???...guess they do not care about Open Table reviews. The waitress was informative and pleasant so we decided not to request another location. Favorites of the evening: pickled green beans and onion dip. Corn and cheese fritters were ok-could have used more aioli since they were a bit dry. Small plates and wines by glass are $ and not particularly generous. Pork belly was ok but the crackling was very hard and unpleasant. The NY strip steak was flavorful. We will not return but know the restaurant will stay in business attracting a particular diner. Apparently the chef is opening another place soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Alden and Harlow is interesting and tren ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Alden and Harlow is interesting and trendy with a hipper than thou vibe. It is noisy and serves mostly good and novel food, however the portions are tapas size but the price is entree size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Enjoyed brunch. Creative and well prepar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Enjoyed brunch. Creative and well prepared selection. Noise level a bit high for me. A couple would do well sitting next to each other. We were a party of four.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

really quality meal, lots of innovative ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

really quality meal, lots of innovative tapas types dishes. would definitely go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Alden & Harlow. Great service & d ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love Alden & Harlow. Great service & delicious food! I love the design of the place. Definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome amazing meal will go back again ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome amazing meal will go back again when I visit boston

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is one of my favorite spots i ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is one of my favorite spots in Harvard Square. They locally source throughout their entire menu and you can tell that they put so much thought into their food and presentation. Great drink list too. Whether you are here are dinner which is more of a shared plate kind of approach or their brunch which I just had for the first time, the food is impressive and very tasty and makes you feel like you really did go out on an outing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was yummy, wish I had room for mor ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was yummy, wish I had room for more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.