About Alden and Harlow

40 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Located at 40 Brattle Street in Harvard Square, Alden & Harlow serves thoughtfully sourced, honest American food in a subterranean, modern and comfortable space. Replicating the style of cooking he does for family and friends in his home kitchen, Chef Michael Scelfo prepares humble, unpretentious food that honors tradition of place in its quality. It's how he connects with anyone who joins them at their table.

While reservations are strongly suggested, we also save a portion of the dining room and bar for walk-ins in the event that your request cannot be accommodated. So please, come on in!

Parties of more than 8, please call to make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-1:00am, Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm - 2:00am

We serve our full dinner menu until 11pm nightly and then switch to our late night menu from 11pm-Midnight, Sunday - Wednesday; 11pm-1am, Thursday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Mt Auburn Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 864-2100

Website:
http://www.aldenharlow.com/

Parking Details:
University Place Garage at 124 Mt. Auburn St offers a discounted rate with validation.

Public Transit:
Alden and Harlow is accessible via the Harvard Square MBTA Red Line T stop, located just one block away at 40 Brattle Street, between Eastern Mountain Sports and the Cambridge Center for Adult Education.

Executive Chef:
Michael Scelfo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Alden and Harlow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Harvard Square ›

fit for foodies (361)
hot spot (205)
special occasion (194)
See All
vibrant bar scene (169)
neighborhood gem (165)
good for groups (135)
great for brunch (113)
romantic (113)
notable wine list (66)
late-night find (54)
great for lunch (31)
kid-friendly (14)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1021 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely atmosphere even though below stre ...

Dined 4 days ago

Lovely atmosphere even though below street level. Service was spot on, yet comfortably descrete. Very creative menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was outstanding, explaining t ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Our server was outstanding, explaining that each plate was more like tapas than a meal and gave us good guidance about how much to order. Everything was delicious, beautiful and we tried some unfamiliar things and greatly enjoyed nearly all of them. We tried beer, wine and craft cocktails and enjoyed it all. We skipped dessert. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Current favorite spot

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Really nailed it again. Great plates, well informed wait staff. Tremendous value, just awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Local and delicious food!

Dined 6 days ago

Local and delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not my original first choice, BUT...

Dined 7 days ago

...so glad we came here! A&H's hours are what made my mind up-we were attending an event close by that ran late, and I was looking for somewhere that still served dinner after 10pm. The food was amazing, the staff friendly and the atmosphere perfect for a birthday celebration. We're recommending A&H to friends, and looking forward to going back soon (can't wait to try their brunch)!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super Delicious

Dined on May 19, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious meal at Alden and Harlow! The crowd is young and super good looking! The vibe is stylish and energetic. The menu is creative and varied. The craft cocktails are not to be missed. Our server made great suggestions and our meal was absolutely scrumptious. We look forward to going again to try the many dishes that we missed. Don't hesitate to dine here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Slipping?

Dined on May 17, 2016

Ate here a few months back and the food was better. This was good, don't get me wrong, just not rave worthy like before. And the noise level is annoying.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the best restaurants I'v ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Probably one of the best restaurants I've ever been to! I loved that you get to share plates and everything is delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alden and Harlow continues to impress wi ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Alden and Harlow continues to impress with its wonderful Sunday brunch offerings. We shared the kale (had it before), the pancakes (just terrific) and the crumble (to die for). The coffee, water, greenhouse venue, waiter attention, and generally pleasant atmosphere greatly added to the enjoyment of the experience. Don't take the ingredients too seriously, for they are subtly blended and the taste is not necessarily what you would imagine by just reading the menu. Sharing courses is the way to go, even if it has not been your longstanding preference. You have to try it, for this is one place where it is worth having as many tastes as possible, which maintaining control of course for the scale awaits you the next morning. It is not hard to fill up on little food that is SO GOOOOOD.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Attended Alden and Harlow Saturday night ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Attended Alden and Harlow Saturday night with a friend. Very busy restaurant, lively, great music, great atmosphere. The restaurant was a little warm, we got a seat near a window, otherwise would have been hard to sit through a long meal. Had a couple of cocktails at the bar before our reservation. Bar was very crowded and could not get a seat. However, got our table before our reservation time, so that was great. Ordered the Chips and 2-onion dip which was a great snack; Charred Broccoli - was delicious; Crispy Baby Bok Choy - was a too greasy and egg was very sunny side up - would not order again; finally the Creekstone Farms New York Strip was fantastic. I was dreaming about it all night and still thinking about it 3 days later. I would definitely return when visiting Boston/Cambridge again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

If you're going to Alden & Harlow for a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

If you're going to Alden & Harlow for a special occasion or date, I would recommend requesting to be seated under the glass canopy in the front area of the restaurant. As for the food, I would recommend asking the waiter/waitress whether the dish you're ordering is enough for one or two as some of the dishes were smaller than others and were not listed under "snack". The Braised Berkshire Pork Belly was the highlight of the evening and I highly recommend it. The quality and presentation of the food was incredible. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Every plate was cooked to perfection. We ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Every plate was cooked to perfection. We had eight different plates, and short of licking them, we cleaned every one.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The restaurant A/C was broken and it was ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant A/C was broken and it was extremely uncomfortable inside. The waiters denied there was an issue - and should have informed those with reservations of the problem beforehand. They had all the doors and windows open and didn't even admit there was an issue. Other than that, the food was very good and unique, just hard to enjoy given the temperature.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Better service would have made for a great meal.

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Went for a pre-theatre dinner. We shared 4 items and 3 were very good. We had a pasta that just didn't work but the rest were yummy. Unfortunately, after taking our order the waiter seemed to think he was done with us and drinks stayed empty for going on 20 minutes. I'd definitely try it again and hope this guy wasn't assigned my table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fab menu not so fab dessert

Dined on May 11, 2016

Went there with two friends for a girl's catch up. The drinks were really great. We ordered a few different plates that were delicious, highlighting the range of the kitchen. The dessert though was disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Mother's Day so with all the li ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day so with all the little kids it was a bit louder but still able to have a nice conversation with those at my table. Wait staff was nice I will for sure going back love the little plate sharing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the Boston area

Dined on May 8, 2016

Alden and Harlow remains my favorite restaurant in the area. Superb service, amazing food (including some pork fat biscuits with a pimento sauce that was one of the best brunch dishes I've tasted), and wonderful booze. Their staff knows their menu and dishes incredibly well, and can both advise and handle allergy requests and concerns. It's not cheap, but it's worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Eclectic combination of unusual flavors

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food, eclectic combination of unusual flavors. Restaurant very popular and crowded, therefore a bit noisy and hard to hear others at our table. Would recommend curtains or something to help with noise absorption.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent food, fun to have small plates

Dined on May 6, 2016

well informed wait staff, especially about wines. Generally a very pleasant and unusual (in a good way) experience. We were with a European guest and foodie and he was duly impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was good and better than expect ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was good and better than expected given the hype. The service was artificial and pushy, trying to get us to spend $45 on a tuna collar when it really wasn't what we wanted. Also, not very organized in explaining options I could enjoy that were dairy-free -- asking repeatedly if she should return when I've had more time to think but couldn't tell me at once what I could/could not eat (only as I asked about each). The wine was wonderful - nice options. The seating area behind the host stand was tight and not at all cozy, avoid that area if you can, because there were 3 hosts actively on duty (on a Thursday night) and it felt as if they were on top of us, listening to our convo. It was a special night for us and I really wished service and seating was more on point. The bartenders were wonderful and if I return I hope to dine at the bar.

food5
ambience4
service5

Always nice combinations of ingredients ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Always nice combinations of ingredients for unique plates, and cocktails. It's pricey definitely but good to go once now and then. If you sit close to the open kitchen you may smell a bit of all the different cooking smells. One of my fave spot in boston.

food5
ambience4
service4

Loved the food and they were very accomm ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Loved the food and they were very accommodating of intolerances!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm setting, awesome food, terrific service

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We were visiting from San Francisco and our daughter chose this restaurant for her birthday and college graduation celebration dinner! We all were so impressed by the unique spices and food pairings! Delicious! There was a selection for all to eat whether vegetarian, meat lover, fish lover, etc! The service was terrific and the noise level was quiet since we sat to the right of the entrance in a smaller private area with a skylight to the sidewalk! Our server was helpful with his descriptions and suggestions and he was attentive, but not hovering! Perfect evening and will recommend to friends who frequent Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

"New American"

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

This restaurant perfectly exemplifies the "New American" concept: expensive food (think $5/egg) that comes in tiny portions (they make sure to tell you it's 'family style' to justify this), and while delicious is often unnecessarily complex in flavor (sometimes less is more). The 'special' of the day was also 3x more expensive than anything else. It would've been good to know the price, but since I didn't, I was left feeling blindsided. The dessert was the most positive aspect of this meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Solid Dinner Round Two!

Dined on May 3, 2016

This is the second time that we have gone to Alden and Harlow. First go round was with my brother and his lady friend and we all loved it then. This time around was just me and my wife. The way it works is that they have small-medium and medium sized plates. Order a bundle of them! We went with the duck wrapped in bacon with figs, corn cake pancakes (they are awesome and come with popcorn), charred broccoli, kale salad, rabbit fritter and finally the steak (smaller size, think 8oz). That was for the two of us and it was boat loads we were stuffed and took a hearty amount of left overs home but we wanted to try it all. Good cocktails, they use big ole chunks of ice. We got the peanut butter cake desert, it was also delicious. I want to try their bread pudding. Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food! Came here for brunch. Wasn't ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food! Came here for brunch. Wasn't expecting the tapas style, but I think it worked out better because my friend and I got to try a few different meals instead of choosing one! Food was delicious and came out quickly even though they were busy. Inside was much bigger than expected, and I loved the feel of the restaurant. Cocktails were okay but didn't stand out. Overall a high recommendation for a different style of brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, always new interesting dishe ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food, always new interesting dishes and old standbys. Wish I could try them all

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Alden & Harlow is a great find. I am so sorry I found it on our last night in Boston. We would have gone back every night if we had more time. The small plates make for a fun and tasty sharing experience. We tried things we'd never had before. We loved it all. The food is unique without being weird. At the end of the evening I went over the check because I thought the total amount was too low for the great food, wine and fun we'd had.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A fantastic dining experience!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

A fantastic dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service4

We sampled a large number of small plate ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We sampled a large number of small plates. Everything was outstanding. Dishes were thoughtfully composed and the flavors sophisticated. We loved the grilled octopus and the fried bok choy. Great night out!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Will return again and again

Dined on April 23, 2016

Secret Burger!! Keep it a secret so there will be enough for me !! Apps are excellent very different twist Always have the burger for dinner so cannot comment on main dishes A bit pricey as tapa style usually is Drinks are amazing too

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Family style for one

Dined on April 23, 2016

Never have I been to a restaurant so challenged by the definition of family style. The cinnamon roll was hard, crusty, and while it had a gooey center, it was difficult to share. The roll was a big lump of overcooked dough with cream cheese icing on top. It would've been difficult for one person to eat, much less four. One friend ordered the pork campagne sandwhich, and it was an actually delectable (but rich) meal. But it wasn't meant to be shared by four people - it was cut in half, and served with chips, just like a regular sandwich. Another friend had kale toast. The bacon was cured for so long that it more resembled jerky, and she had to hunt for the kale. It too was rich. So were the skillet potatoes, and so was the croissant toad in the hole. We ate for brunch, and by nightfall our stomachs still felt as though they were well greased. We ordered coffee, because that's what you do at brunch, and it was good, but it sure was not cheap. Four dollars. Every coffee house in Boston sells drip coffee for less than four dollars a cup. In all Alden & Harlow, is definitionally challenged, likely lazy (they bring the food as it's prepared, which would be okay if it were family style, but it isn't), overpriced, and over greased. Go somewhere else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for foodie friends

Dined on April 22, 2016

We always love to go to Alden and Harlow with friends who have not been there before. The creativity of the menu and the sharing of small plates make for great dinner conversation with foodie friends. Try the orange wine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High end dining with super relaxed vibe

Dined on April 22, 2016

Absolutely professional and relaxed staff with excellent high end dining. The staff was very courteous, professional and relaxed. Made my wife and I very comfortable and our server was very knowledgeable of the menu. Great drink menu with a lot of local beers and really unique cocktails. The food was AWESOME! Really fresh and vibrant options. It was really tough to pick just a few from the small plate selections. Highlights were the smoked broccoli and the chicken liver pate. The food was excellent. The vibe was great. Very professional staff. Definitely going to be planning another visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Energetic Ambiance and Delicios Food

Dined on April 22, 2016

Alden and Harlow was really great for a friends' get together and a fun Thursday night out. There was a great variety of food and everything was delicious. Staff was also incredibly friendly. Overall great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 21, 2016

Loved the variety of choices and the eclectic food. The charred broccoli was a clear highlight. Fish selection was great (char, tuna) and so was the chicken fried rabbit. Can highly recommend and great place to share dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous, as always. Smoked eggs, Caesar ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Fabulous, as always. Smoked eggs, Caesar salad and that ridiculous burger were more than enough to leave us sighing with contentment.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food doesn't disappoint

Dined on April 18, 2016

We have enjoyed the food at this restaurant since our first visit two years ago. Alden and Harlow is the only non-tapas restaurant where I've found the small plates system not precious and annoying. This is because the food has been so consistently good that it is exciting to order a variety of menu items each visit, and the amount of food you receive makes it possible to share enough of each offering to enjoy the dish and yet when you're done you still feel like you've shared a meal, rather than a prolonged snack. Spring menu was delicious. We shared four plates and an appetizer during the first hour. The beef cheek dish was our hands down favorite. However, the service slipped when we ordered desserts- a piece of cake and the cheese plate. We sipped coffee and waited nearly half an hour with no dessert. Finally I saw our waiter and asked him if it would be possible to have our desserts and the bill because we still needed to eat and get to an event. The waiter complied quickly, and our desserts were tasty. In all, that was the only true disappointing experience at any of my Alden & Harlow visits. I am not a big fan of their model where the kitchen brings food out at their own pace. Yet, Alden and Harlow has only failed to deliver in that capacity just that one time on my visits.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great place!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Amazing food, service and ambiance - wish they would open up in NY as we were only visiting Boston for the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place to go before the Boston Marathon

Dined on April 16, 2016

One of my chef friends from Pittsburgh told me to go. They were very busy, only get a late table, but upon calling they reserved 2 seats at the bar, which was great (love dining at the bar anyway). Server/bartender was great, had a very nice time, food excellent and very interesting. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.