About Alden and Harlow

40 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Located at 40 Brattle Street in Harvard Square, Alden & Harlow serves thoughtfully sourced, honest American food in a subterranean, modern and comfortable space. Replicating the style of cooking he does for family and friends in his home kitchen, Chef Michael Scelfo prepares humble, unpretentious food that honors tradition of place in its quality. It's how he connects with anyone who joins them at their table.

While reservations are strongly suggested, we also save a portion of the dining room and bar for walk-ins in the event that your request cannot be accommodated. So please, come on in!

Parties of more than 8, please call to make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-1:00am, Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm - 2:00am

We serve our full dinner menu until 11pm nightly and then switch to our late night menu from 11pm-Midnight, Sunday - Wednesday; 11pm-1am, Thursday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Mt Auburn Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 864-2100

Website:
http://www.aldenharlow.com/

Parking Details:
University Place Garage at 124 Mt. Auburn St offers a discounted rate with validation.

Public Transit:
Alden and Harlow is accessible via the Harvard Square MBTA Red Line T stop, located just one block away at 40 Brattle Street, between Eastern Mountain Sports and the Cambridge Center for Adult Education.

Executive Chef:
Michael Scelfo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Berkshire Pork Belly
Cornmeal Pancakes
Grilled Beef
Sweet Corn Spooncake
nectarine salad
Charcoal Grilled Broccoli
Lemonade
Pistacho Cake, Sweet Corn Spooncake, Smoked Chocolate Breadpudding
Burger
Strawberry Cocktail
Kale Salad
chips and dips
Pan Cakes
Pickled French Bean
Orange Juice
Menu
Secret Burger
Duck & Pork Campagna
Grilled Octopus
Olive Oil Cake
Cheese Grits
Ubiquitous Kale Salad
Grilled Cheese And Tomato Sandwich
Sausage And Potatoes
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding
Sauage And Potatoes
Shrimp & Grits
Fried Baby Brussels Sprouts
Braised Rabbit Stew
Pickled Verrill Farm Corn Pancakes
Wild Mushroom Frittata
Berry Buckle
Stone Fruit And Olive Oil Trifle

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Alden and Harlow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
American
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Harvard Square ›

Fit for Foodies (257)
Special Occasion (156)
Hot Spot (139)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (132)
Good for Groups (110)
Vibrant Bar Scene (99)
Romantic (84)
Great for Brunch (64)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Notable Wine List (43)
Late-night Find (37)
Good for a Date (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Local Ingredients (30)
Fun (29)
Tapas (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Casual (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Authentic (12)
Seasonal (12)
Cozy (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Healthy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great Beer (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
People Watching (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Organic (5)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant was wonderful! Everythi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant was wonderful! Everything we tried was great. My only complaint is that I put a note in the reservation that one of us is vegan, and no one addressed that to help navigate the menu. All in all, this spot is an excellent find and I love that it's tucked away in Harvard Square. Will definitely return!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Tapas, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We've visited twice and on both occasion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

We've visited twice and on both occasions, once with kids and once without, and were impressed by the food and service--clearly there is an appreciation for detail. My food allergies were accommodated nicely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Alden and Harlow is unique a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food at Alden and Harlow is unique and ever so tasty. Sharing made it fun, kind of an event. We are partial to a below-stairs location to say nothing of its proximity to a.r.t. Our only caveat is the noise level when a group of young people are having fun. Maybe there could be a corner for quiet conversation?

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food at Alden and Harlow was impress ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food at Alden and Harlow was impressive - so delicious and creative. Things sounded a little weird when reading the menu, but literally everything we ate was incredibly tasty. So fun to share a bunch of items at the table with friends and explore interesting dishes that we probably would not have otherwise ordered. Loved it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

hip atmosphere food was interesting, but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

hip atmosphere

food was interesting, but not amazing

for me, it didn’t live up to its hype

cocktails were great, but small

chips and onion dip were good

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was extraordinary-- two small p ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was extraordinary-- two small plates in it became our favorite restaurant in Harvard Square. When I saw the menu I hesitated because there were a lot of things on it I don't like such as duck, blue fish, liver. But there were so many options that looked good I have to go again just to try more. The small plates are much larger than tapas and prepared to make sharing easy-- we ordered five plates for 2 people with good appetites and it was more than enough. Literally everything we saw go by the table looked amazing. The charred broccoli with pumpkin hummus and the eggplant were exquisite, the kind of food you keep thinking about the next day but too complex and nuanced to prepare at home. Little neck clams with pig tail and chili toasts was an unusual combo that worked beautiful, the pork belly was sinfully crisp and succulent at the same time and the steak was cooked perfectly, served as six hearty slices on a bed of grilled lettuces with a sauce that was perfect but you couldn't quite identify the spice combo-- making it rise from what could be a standard type offering. Only issue was service, we had two hours before the show, wanted it spaced but first three courses came out 15 minutes apart then a 45 minute wait until we got nervous, reminded them about theater, said it would be out in a few minutes-- 15 minutes later the pork came and then the steak arrived literally giving us five minutes to eat before we had to go. Hate to rush a meal and it was annoying but the food was so good I'll be back in a heartbeat-- and make sure I give them an end time a half hour earlier than i need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was overall very good and the s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was overall very good and the service was also good. I think compared to other highly rated restaurants it fell short in the way they decided which plates to bring first as typically a table will order several small plates to share. Overall good but not amazing when compared to similar restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic food. Wonderful ambiance. Frie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food. Wonderful ambiance. Friendly, knowledgeable service. My husband and I, who are very adventurous, went here with my mom, who can be a picky eater, and our five year old, who is very open-minded. Everyone left happy. We ordered too much food, unfortunately, so we never got to dessert, but all agreed it was still the perfect meal. We moved to MA from NYC 3 years ago and this restaurant very much reminded us of home (like the now defunct Hungry Mother back in its heyday). It hits all the marks and exceeded expectations. We would highly recommend and will undoubtedly return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVED our burgers and the GF bun/toast a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

LOVED our burgers and the GF bun/toast alternative was superb! We also enjoyed several great appetizers. Sadly, our kale salad never arrived to our table but appeared on the final bill. Our server kindly made the appropriate adjustment.

Tags: Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had the most outgoing and friendly serve ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had the most outgoing and friendly server ever. His recommendations were things that we otherwise would not have ordered, but he did not let us down. The ambience was superb too. If you're in Harvard Square, you won't be disappointed by this spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great small plates restaurant, food wond ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great small plates restaurant, food wonderfully prepared and excellent knowledgeable server. Only complaint is the plants were too intrusive and hung on our heads. My son came away with his shirt covered in moss and dirt. Otherwise, highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was a bit weird. Our waiter was ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was a bit weird. Our waiter was outstanding; he helped make several food selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What's the quote? Sound and fury signify ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

What's the quote? Sound and fury signifying nothing....or something along those lines.... Alden & Harlow gets lots of hype but we didn't see the execution matching the reputation. Of the five dishes we shared we were only impressed by two and agreed that we wouldn't bother to return. Nice enough staff and not a bad meal, just trying a bit too hard and not always succeeding. Nothing rose to the level of sublime, which was disappointing after all we'd heard. There ar better options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I came to Alden & Harlow on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I came to Alden & Harlow on a whim and we were not disappointed. The service was great and we really appreciated the due diligence he provided. Although a tad repetitive, it does give Alden's staff credit to present the food to us and describe it again to help us remember. The corn fritters and bigoli pasta were absolutely delicious and you can tell there was attention to detail in presentation and ingredients. The beer, while a bit pricier than its surrounding areas which is a word of caution in case they seek to compete, did not disappoint. The mocktail made for my wife had just the right amount of sweetness and flavor that at no point was overwhelming.

Overall a very good experience and we'd go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

All the food tasted the same--fried with ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

All the food tasted the same--fried with gooey sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food and service are impeccable and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service are impeccable and the cocktails are the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A wonderful creative delicious experienc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A wonderful creative delicious experience. Our table of 4 ordered 9 dishes. All where memorable. The menu changes depending on availability but given our experience I am confident tomorrow's menu will be equally great

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Each visit to Alden & Harlow is a great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Each visit to Alden & Harlow is a great experience -- the food is interesting, fun and delicious. At the same time, the service is well paced (we ordered a few dishes, ate them and then ordered another set), knowledgeable and helpful. And when the bill comes, each time we are surprised that the great food and pleasant few hours comes with a reasonable price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Burger was incredibl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was very good. Burger was incredible! But I'd say the value is not quite there. Trying too hard to be fancy, means tiny portions for most dishes. And what I didn't realizing when picking this restaurant and needed to use cost as a deciding factor, was that they recommend two or three dishes per person. I did not know it was like a tappas place. That meant it was 2-3 times more expensive than expected. :-/

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Visiting from Australia, we were delight ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Visiting from Australia, we were delighted to find this charming restaurant which allowed us to sample a range of delicious local produce. Our waitress was very friendly and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The "Secret Burger" is to die for! And, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The "Secret Burger" is to die for! And, we really enjoyed CREEKSTONE FARMS NEW YORK STRIP. If only all red meat was cooked and amazing as this.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a delightful dinner - service was ve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

had a delightful dinner - service was very good. Food was great with only one "miss" among the dishes we chose. In our previous visits the special burger had not been available. This time one of our party was able to get it, and voted it worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good was very delicious and service was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Good was very delicious and service was great! Would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both the cocktails and the food are topn ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Both the cocktails and the food are topnotch. Definitely check this place out if you're a foodie or a mixologist.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Comfort food meets tapas. Inventive dis ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Comfort food meets tapas. Inventive dishes perfectly prepared to inspire and delight.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The best dining experience I have had ap ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The best dining experience I have had apart from Dill in Reykjavik. Service was top notch, food was out of this world and place incredibly vibrant. Will visit again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Late-night Find, Healthy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Fun, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My top place for dinner or brunch in the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My top place for dinner or brunch in the Greater Boston area. Always delicious, and always worth the price.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The emperor has no clothes. Pancakes wi ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The emperor has no clothes. Pancakes with maple sour cream and jalapeños?

Pickled canned green beans? It was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Wonderful food - especially the parsley ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful food - especially the parsley bigoli, a pasta dish with corn and bacon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Although somewhat flavorful the food was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Although somewhat flavorful the food was cold. We complained and got free dessert but the irony of that is that one of the desserts which was supposed to be warm came out cold! We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Alden and Harlow is my favorite dining e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Alden and Harlow is my favorite dining experience not only in the Boston area, but also in the nation! Their impeccable service, decadent menu, and perfected cocktails are unmatched. The menu is continuously updated their menu with creative new dishes, and luckily they still keep around the classic favorites, including the clams with pig's tail and the braised pork belly. Still haven't been able to grab the burger, as they always run out by dinner time, but that just means I have an excuse to keep coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, but it's hard to enjoy it ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Fabulous food, but it's hard to enjoy it fully given the low light and loud acoustics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

It was much too noisy on a weekday night ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

It was much too noisy on a weekday night. We could not hear each other talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great, healthy farm to table concept. Fl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great, healthy farm to table concept. Flavors excellent, expensive but worth it. Very hip, almost all 20 somethings with dough, rap as the choice of restaurant music. Vibrant, in, & healthy, with culinary sophistication. Nice wine list; terrific beer list (Hacker-Pschorr Oktoberfest)! Accommodating and professional wait staff and hostesses ( esp. Emily w degree in Art History & Religion). Made my wife's birthday pleasant (dessert on the house!) Will return.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good meal, loved all of our dishes ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very good meal, loved all of our dishes except for the Rabbit. It didn't seem cooked through.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This is a small plates restaurant. These ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is a small plates restaurant. These are very trendy these days because it cuts costs for the restaurant - no worries about plating or waiting for all the mains to come out together. I have noticed that it is not cool to ask for a serving utensil in these types of places and this was no exception. The food was quite good however. The place is noisy but our table was next to a wall and was not terribly noisy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Some dishes were cold. Eggplant wasn't c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Some dishes were cold. Eggplant wasn't cooked all the way. Service was slow. Dishes took 20-30 minutes to come out one after another. Pretentious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing. Food was over-the-top ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Disappointing. Food was over-the-top -- very heavy with a tilt toward unhealthy. Way too much fat. Temperatures were wrong -- hot things should be hot...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

best hamburger ever! all the tapas were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

best hamburger ever! all the tapas were outstanding - corn cakes, charred broccoli, etc

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing!!! Food was phenomenal, especial ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Amazing!!! Food was phenomenal, especially the chicken liver pate and the corn pancakes. Cocktails were inventive and delicious! Service was attentive and helpful in explaining the dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.