About Alden and Harlow

40 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Located at 40 Brattle Street in Harvard Square, Alden & Harlow serves thoughtfully sourced, honest American food in a subterranean, modern and comfortable space. Replicating the style of cooking he does for family and friends in his home kitchen, Chef Michael Scelfo prepares humble, unpretentious food that honors tradition of place in its quality. It's how he connects with anyone who joins them at their table.

While reservations are strongly suggested, we also save a portion of the dining room and bar for walk-ins in the event that your request cannot be accommodated. So please, come on in!

Parties of more than 8, please call to make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-1:00am, Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm - 2:00am

We serve our full dinner menu until 11pm nightly and then switch to our late night menu from 11pm-Midnight, Sunday - Wednesday; 11pm-1am, Thursday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Mt Auburn Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 864-2100

Website:
http://www.aldenharlow.com/

Parking Details:
University Place Garage at 124 Mt. Auburn St offers a discounted rate with validation.

Public Transit:
Alden and Harlow is accessible via the Harvard Square MBTA Red Line T stop, located just one block away at 40 Brattle Street, between Eastern Mountain Sports and the Cambridge Center for Adult Education.

Executive Chef:
Michael Scelfo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Secret Burger
Duck & Pork Campagna
Grilled Octopus
Olive Oil Cake
Ubiquitous Kale Salad
Cheese Grits
Grilled Cheese And Tomato Sandwich
Sausage And Potatoes
Sauage And Potatoes
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding
Cornmeal Pancakes
Shrimp & Grits
Crispy Berkshire Pork Belly
Fried Baby Brussels Sprouts
Braised Rabbit Stew
Pickled Verrill Farm Corn Pancakes
Wild Mushroom Frittata
Berry Buckle
Stone Fruit And Olive Oil Trifle

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Alden and Harlow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
American
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Harvard Square ›

fit for foodies (338)
special occasion (191)
hot spot (177)
See All
neighborhood gem (163)
good for groups (143)
vibrant bar scene (130)
romantic (105)
great for brunch (91)
notable wine list (52)
late-night find (47)
great for lunch (29)
kid-friendly (14)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

loved everything about this place! food ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

loved everything about this place! food, service, ambiance all outstanding! looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Each plate we had was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service. Each plate we had was great...especially the rabbit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Alden, they're my favorite. The f ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love Alden, they're my favorite. The food is amazing. But it is way too HOT in there! We had to leave still hungry because we felt like we were going to faint. It was in the high 80s at night outside and going outside was even cooler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Good service. Unique menu. Disappointed ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good service. Unique menu. Disappointed that the Secret Recipe Burger, there specialty plate is so limited in quantity.. They ran out of them at 7:45...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A very large, busy restaurant. The food ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

A very large, busy restaurant. The food is truly excellent. The service is attentive--extremely attentive--but seemingly focused on moving the table before all else. I would return on another day of the week to see if that would make for a more relaxed meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Alden and Harlow is a gem of a restauran ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Alden and Harlow is a gem of a restaurant. My boyfriend and I went for date night after a long week and were so pleased to have small portions of multiple things because we always want to try more! Each dish was so thoughtful and well composed- never have had anything like it. Great ambiance and great food and company :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In town with family (two teenagers). Ve ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

In town with family (two teenagers). Very friendly service and . Interesting and diverse menu with enough variety to satisfy even our picky eater. The rest of us enjoyed experimenting across many selections. Great cocktail menu also.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely tapas-style meal. Creative food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely tapas-style meal. Creative food choices in which flavors were not shadowed by their unconventional ingredient combinations. Actual popcorn was awkward and bizarre paired with delicious raw bass that could have stood alone in its divine flavor. Overall, lovely food, great atmosphere and sweet, knowledgable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Two of us shared 4 smalls. Everything wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Two of us shared 4 smalls. Everything was delicious. Specialty cocktails were also on point. I had the stand tall and it was refreshing. Definitely a MUST try. I highly recommend the porkbelly. I went for the specialty burger but at 745 they were already out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard great things about this rest ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had heard great things about this restaurant and it did not disappoint I had the best meal I have had in Boston!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was terrible. The ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our dining experience was terrible. The noise level was appalling; it was not that of a fun, exuberant spot -- it was literally impossible to have a conversation. The seats were incredibly uncomfortable. I signed up on Open Table for a table -- yet we ended up at a high bar table with legs dangling uncomfortably. Two of us sat on a bench where we were unable to move the table closer (the base of the table hit the bench, so it was impossible to move), which left us leaning forward and backless for the entire uncomfortable meal. The food was quite good -- but they serve plates to share with no serving spoons. Our server was lovely, quite nice but it couldn't compensate for a meal without conversation and in physical discomfort.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Had been there on two previous occasions ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Had been there on two previous occasions both where the food was fabulous but the third time was not a charm. The food was average this time around with the rabbit just inedible. I really don't mind to pay up for great food but this time I felt robbed on two counts, once for the average food and again when the bill came. Service continues to be excellent and I should note the rabbit was taken off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Alden and Harlow had some of the most un ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Alden and Harlow had some of the most unique and interesting food I have ever eaten. Moreover, their cocktail selection is unparalleled. To top it off, the service is amazing. I was surrounded by friendly, knowledgeable, and skillful servers all evening. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried four plates. Pistachio kale salad ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Tried four plates. Pistachio kale salad was good. Striped bass crudo was good but small portion size - didn't see the need for them to put popcorn on the side. Rabbit was good but a small portion - kind of a play on cordon bleu. Pork belly was kind of lack luster - I've had better elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved this restaurant! Hip atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved this restaurant! Hip atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and knew the menu well and what would be ok for to eat and not to eat (gluten and dairy allergy.) Yummy yummy drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had brunch at Alden & Harlow on the r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had brunch at Alden & Harlow on the recommendation of a friend. It was our first time at the restaurant and we were both very pleased. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable, providing good recommendations. The brunch menu consists mainly of small plates, a wonderful change from the standard U.S. approach of giant meals. The small plates allowed us to try a range of choices and the restaurant encourages sharing. Another welcome change! All in all it was a wonderful meal in very nice location and we plan to become regular customers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I was there just as they opened on a Sat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was there just as they opened on a Saturday at 10:30. Felt just a bit rushed as I would have preferred to get more of my Bloody Mary down before all the food arrived as they didn't mix very well. There was just a hint of "we're too cool for words, aren't we" from the wait staff. While the dishes were indeed inventive and excellent, I would have preferred to come to that conclusion unaided by my server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This is a large, loud, faux farm to tabl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is a large, loud, faux farm to table restaurant with carelessly prepared food. The servers are as attentive as they can be within such a deafening and distracting environment. There was grit in the kale salad and the charred broccoli was burnt beyond being edible. No one at our table of 6 ate anything they truly enjoyed and left a lot of the overpriced food on the table. We fled and went somewhere else to finish our meal and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Great service and food but a but pricy g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great service and food but a but pricy given the quantity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good somewhat over priced but great vege ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good somewhat over priced but great vege options. Staff fantastic. The air con wasn't nearly high enough I swear through the entire meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Corn pancakes -yum! I had that with the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Corn pancakes -yum! I had that with the kale salad, which was a nice savory/tart combo with the savory/sweet corn pancakes.

But a friend ordered the chocolate smoke-y dessert, which I found to be not palatable.

SERVICE WAS WONDERFULLY FRIENDLY & GOOD

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to A&H. I've h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This was my second visit to A&H. I've had the burger both times - recommended; cooked to perfection. My girlfriends had a variety of dishes, all very good - the kale salad is a stand out as were the cavatelli. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We asked to change to a quieter table and they did so immediately, without a fuss during a busy time. They also allow you to taste wines before committing to a glass. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great, lively meal with 7 coworker ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Had a great, lively meal with 7 coworkers. Perfect kind of menu for a group that likes to share. Delicious cocktails. Wonderful service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish this restaurant would relax and n ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I wish this restaurant would relax and not try shard to be hip. Had a great drink and some good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding American cuisine! Hip atmos ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding American cuisine! Hip atmosphere! Cool...very cool!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A good go-to if you're looking for more ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A good go-to if you're looking for more ambitious cuisine in Harvard Square. Get the charred bok choy and quail. Cocktails and desserts are a must. We weren't so keen by the absent-minded service, nor the snottiness from the bar staff. This is Cambridge, guys, not Manhattan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I like Alden and Harlow for the Boston-f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I like Alden and Harlow for the Boston-feeling it has when you walk in. The warm wood and low light creates an atmosphere of belonging.

The food has always been creative, delicious and makes you want to go back to try more items from the menu.

I recently had brunch there and the dishes were accompanied by the slow cooked egg that I like a lot. Everything was tasty !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a great reason to go to Cambridge ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always a great reason to go to Cambridge. Excellent and imaginative food. Well presented.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

I was excited because of all the hype an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was excited because of all the hype and good reviews, to visit Alden and Harlow. We visited for brunch. Our table was small and we were sitting very close to the next party. The service was ok but food coming out was very slow. The corn pancakes were excellent and would order again. The dish with the eggs and pig tails was good but very rich. The torched fruit was very good. All in all pretty small plates and a bit expensive and a good but not a wow experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Poor service, poor food...would definite ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Poor service, poor food...would definitely not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

2nd time I have eaten here and I thought ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

2nd time I have eaten here and I thought it was good not great. Hated our table under the window with the plants growing out of the wall and lots of tiny black flies. The server was fine not overly friendly. Overall not memorable.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Our waitress was really great. She was s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waitress was really great. She was so friendly and helpful with our selections. We ended up with 5 dishes between us (they're small plates I swear) and ended up getting an extra due to some confusion in the kitchen and we were stuffed by the time we left. Everything was very delicious and their drink menu is crazy good.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good as expected but the se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was good as expected but the service was above and beyond our expectations from our server Cynthia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I keep coming back to Alden & Harlow bec ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I keep coming back to Alden & Harlow because the menu keeps changing; the food is unusual and ridiculously tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails were great. The servers we ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The cocktails were great. The servers were knowledgable. The food was generally great. However, avoid the bok choy unless you like it done in the blossoming onion/kale chips preparation style. We didn't get the secret burger but I heard later that it was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome service and memorable food and d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Awesome service and memorable food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing tasting food with unique, bold f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Amazing tasting food with unique, bold flavors. Would've liked to be seated in the main dining area even as a small party instead of the more private nook by the main entrance, but will note that for the future. Otherwise, the food was delicious and just the right portion size to sample a variety of different things. The quail dish and the smoked chocolate bread pudding were particularly outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Everything about our night at Alden and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything about our night at Alden and Harlow was amazing! Our waitress really made our night extra special!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tapas menu format was not very suitable ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Tapas menu format was not very suitable to the persons, and the noise level was excessive, making conversation difficult. The food was, however, innovative and well-prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Service was incredibly slow. Minimalisti ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service was incredibly slow. Minimalistic food, and every vegetable is pickled. Very few dishes on the menu that can be understood or that even seem appealing. While the beer list is fairly good, the over pricing really adds a nice snobby touch to this hipster haven.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.