About Alden and Harlow

40 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Located at 40 Brattle Street in Harvard Square, Alden & Harlow serves thoughtfully sourced, honest American food in a subterranean, modern and comfortable space. Replicating the style of cooking he does for family and friends in his home kitchen, Chef Michael Scelfo prepares humble, unpretentious food that honors tradition of place in its quality. It's how he connects with anyone who joins them at their table.

While reservations are strongly suggested, we also save a portion of the dining room and bar for walk-ins in the event that your request cannot be accommodated. So please, come on in!

Parties of more than 8, please call to make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-1:00am, Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm - 2:00am

We serve our full dinner menu until 11pm nightly and then switch to our late night menu from 11pm-Midnight, Sunday - Wednesday; 11pm-1am, Thursday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Mt Auburn Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 864-2100

Website:
http://www.aldenharlow.com/

Parking Details:
University Place Garage at 124 Mt. Auburn St offers a discounted rate with validation.

Public Transit:
Alden and Harlow is accessible via the Harvard Square MBTA Red Line T stop, located just one block away at 40 Brattle Street, between Eastern Mountain Sports and the Cambridge Center for Adult Education.

Executive Chef:
Michael Scelfo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Secret Burger
Duck & Pork Campagna
Grilled Octopus
Olive Oil Cake
Ubiquitous Kale Salad
Cheese Grits
Grilled Cheese And Tomato Sandwich
Sausage And Potatoes
Sauage And Potatoes
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding
Cornmeal Pancakes
Shrimp & Grits
Crispy Berkshire Pork Belly
Fried Baby Brussels Sprouts
Braised Rabbit Stew
Pickled Verrill Farm Corn Pancakes
Wild Mushroom Frittata
Berry Buckle
Stone Fruit And Olive Oil Trifle

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Alden and Harlow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
American
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Harvard Square ›

fit for foodies (319)
special occasion (178)
hot spot (170)
See All
neighborhood gem (148)
vibrant bar scene (132)
good for groups (127)
romantic (96)
great for brunch (93)
notable wine list (55)
late-night find (48)
great for lunch (29)
kid-friendly (15)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service1

Over an hour for hour drink order? And ...

Dined 2 days ago

Over an hour for hour drink order? And that was just the start. Server didn't even appear to be aware that a standard meal somehow took three hours

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food (beautiful presentation and g ...

Dined 3 days ago

great food (beautiful presentation and good balance of flavors). food came out in very good timing, like I've never experienced better timing (10 minutes or less between ordering and getting food then each plate followed as soon as we finished the last). Got a smaller table in a corner and while it wasn't quiet it certainly wasn't uncomfortably loud / open. I liked the ambiance of Edison bulbs and great music choices (played like ratatat, beck, indie stuff). Was a little dark (would have liked some light to see the pretty food! but not really a problem). nice staff! very accommodating and I forgot my bag and they called me and kept it up front and recognized me to give it back when I returned. overall would totally recommend. we went after seeing a movie (literally) next door at Brattle, good date night.

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was very good. Portions compared to ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good. Portions compared to price for a few dishes seemed off when glancing at others tables selections. Dishes all ordered at one time but showing up to the table when they are finished is a nice idea, except one dish took over an hour to show up which really broke the meal up uncomfortably. I'd give it another go.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food. Plan to go back very soon. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food. Plan to go back very soon. Definitely get the chicken fried rabbit and corn pancakes

food5
ambience5
service5

We were just in Boston for the weekend l ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were just in Boston for the weekend looking for a solid brunch spot before we all went our separate ways later that afternoon. Our local friend knew Alden and Harlow was a great dinner spot... So we decided to give it a go for brunch. Easily one of the best brunch spots I've ever been to. Great plates for sharing, incredible taste, good ambiance. Will be going back again for brunch the next time I'm in Boston.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The servers are very knowledgable about ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The servers are very knowledgable about the food and drinks.

food5
ambience3
service3

Loved the food. The big room was noisy ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Loved the food. The big room was noisy and sitting two top we were practically dining with our neighbors. Music was too loud and not anything I would play for a dinner crowd, more suited to the staff. I might try again but only on the bar where there are banquettes or front room. Was thinking about desert but we couldn't hear each other so we went elsewhere.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Another Boston area restaurant where you ...

Dined 6 days ago

Another Boston area restaurant where you have to stop at McDonalds on the way home because you're still hungry. The food tasted good, but for the price, there was hardly any of it. One crab for $17 and 6 small clams for $18. Are you kidding? Although the place was only half full, the hostess took one look at us and put us in the worst table, behind a column with no light. They should return this place to the Casablanca.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I were Extremely impresse ...

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I were Extremely impressed with Alden and Harlow! We've had the place on our list for awhile, and we LOVED every bite of every dish we ordered. Everything is special and has a unique preparation or presentation. Every single dish was seasoned perfectly. For sure, the #1 best burger I have ever had! Make sure to try the chickpea cakes and the celery root slaw. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a reservation and were greeted wa ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation and were greeted warmly by the host. The seating was comfortable,atmosphere eclectic . The waiter came to give us menus-no personality at all. The food is tapas style-served as it is prepared and small plates to share. Food arrived shortly after placing our order. Kale salad, excellent, warm quinoa, excellent , cheesy smoked grits, excellent, Daves sausage and potato skillet, excellent , Bentons Bacon, excellent and torched fruit, good. The only downside was that a bus person cleared a plate with food on it and the lack of personality on our waiter! I highly recommend this restaurant for food!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great good and atmosphere for a relaxing ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great good and atmosphere for a relaxing brunch. The variety of small plates you can share for brunch is excellent. Everyone in the party will be satisfied whether they have sweet, savory, or some combo of taste preferences.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and fabulous service. I have ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food and fabulous service. I have been several times and will return. Only complaint is they do not pour enough wine when ordering by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Broccoli is always my favorite!

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Broccoli is always my favorite!

food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Good food, but if you're with more than ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Good food, but if you're with more than one other person (we had 3) the small plate approach to dining, with the plates being delivered as they are ready, breaks down. A small plate gets dropped off and everyone gets one fork full and then you sit waiting for the next small plate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, passion connect to the plate ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food, passion connect to the plates well done

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was my second time at the restauran ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my second time at the restaurant I was a little disappointed this time Signature hamburger just kind of burnt Broccoli just quite burnt w/o pazazz Popcorn pancake good as ever Maybe an off night?

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cannot say enough about the food! Spec ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Cannot say enough about the food! Specifically, the pancakes don't sound interesting on the menu but were spectacular. Wine list was very thoughtful and waitress knowledgeable on selection. A foodie paradise. The only negative part of the experience was a bit of an odor due to what I assume was a temporary plumbing issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything I ate (devoured) was deliciou ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything I ate (devoured) was delicious. The service was exceptional. My girlfriend and I sat under the skylight among the plants. It was very nice.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Well crafted eclectic food with a variet ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Well crafted eclectic food with a variety of interesting tastes. An unusual meal of small plates and great bites. The servers and the kitchen easily made accommodations for various dietary restrictions. A great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazon ideas for unique dishes! Will vis ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazon ideas for unique dishes! Will visit again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, my second dinner vi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a great time, my second dinner visit to Alden & Harlow and everything was delicious! Out waitress was great, and we did not feel rushed through the meal. Definitely will be returning! I love all the nooks in the restaurant that make it feel like you are in a much smaller restaurant, great for intimate conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The menu is set up for sharing and the w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The menu is set up for sharing and the wait staff pointed that out. Excellent drinks and food. The service got very slow in the middle of the meal, but they recognized it without us even mentioning it and they topped off our wine and comped us a dessert to share. Overall a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was excellent and provided gr ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Our server was excellent and provided great recommendations. When we strayed from his recs, we were not as happy. The duck tongue salad was kind of slimy. On the other hand -- the corn pancakes and beef cheek were both AMAZING dishes. Generally excellent food and drink!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

a totally different menu so imagintive. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

a totally different menu so imagintive. great combinations of flavours. so many choices that deciding on the not so small plates is hard.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They are known for the best burger and i ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

They are known for the best burger and it doesn't disappoint. The cheese crispy is much better than melted cheese. I love the section under the skylights.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and ambiance! Perfect for ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance! Perfect for a date night or large group of friends. Dishes are creative and super flavorful. Their Secret Burger is supposedly the best in town. A must try if in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Cynthia, was outstanding. T ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server, Cynthia, was outstanding. The charred broccoli and corn pancake things were amazing. At first I thought corn pancake? Gross. However, I usually listen to servers suggestions so we tried it and glad we did. I would certainly come back.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

It is fun! We ate breakfast, and all the ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

It is fun! We ate breakfast, and all their breakfasts are perfect for hangover.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good variety in the menu. They have rea ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Good variety in the menu. They have really lovely panko breaded fried disks. I enjoyed the rabbit & the bluefish. A lot of "char" as a seasoning. Insufficient small salad options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food and experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I recently had a sate night here and loved it. The wait staff was very knowledgable and the food was amazing. Loved the charred broccoli, I would order that plate any day of the week. We heard the smokey burger was a must get, and that too did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The octopus and broccoli are to die for.

Dined on June 10, 2016

The octopus and broccoli are to die for.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

ecclectic, fun, adventuroues

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

not for the faint of heart, but a good meal. some creative dishes and solid execution

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Meal

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have spent a half dozen weekends in Boston and this has, by far, been my best dining experience. The menu is interesting, creative, and well executed. Service was great for date night (not on top of us, but attentive) and the music was fun! I'd return to Alden and Harlow again and again with friends and family in tow to give them a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A Restaurant in Search of an Identity

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

This was a very disappointing meal, both in terms of food and in terms of service. First the food. The general effect was that of someone saving up interesting recipes over the year and then deciding to make them all for guests one night. Without first testing them out. There was absolutely no cohesion to the menu, and out of seven dishes (the three of us ordered one more than the suggested two items per person) only one - the charred broccoli - was anything that could be considered particularly good (it was, in fact, delicious); the chips were quite tasty but the dip that came with the chips was boring and a bit nasty. Many of the menu flourishes were just pretentious, without adding anything, and in many cases detracting (e.g., putting a crust on the beef cheeks, thus intruding on their tenderness). In addition, we were seated around 8 pm, and already three of the dishes (including the famous signature burger) were no longer available - this does not reflect a professionally run kitchen. In addition, the gimmick of "bringing things out when they are ready" led to an uneven parade of dishes, and a 10-15 minute wait for the last dish after the previous ones had been served. With respect to service, although we had made a reservation three weeks in advance, we were initially shown to a table adjacent to the bar, and then to another similarly situated. We preferred to wait for a better table, which we did while sitting at the bar, drinking interesting-sounding but operationally indifferent cocktails while two of the bartenders squabbled with one another. When I made the reservation I also had indicated that this was a birthday celebration, and I also reminded the hostess of this after we were finally seated a decent table. We ordered two deserts, but they did not manage to put a candle in either one. Clearly there is someone in the kitchen with talent, but the delivery is spotty and the operation of the restaurant does not help to showcase that talent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celiac

Dined on June 4, 2016

The waitress was very good about which items were gluten free and substitutions that could be made.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I split 4 plates and a snack ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I split 4 plates and a snack. It was the perfect amount and everything was delicious. The grilled octopus was a standout. Being paired with corn was a great move. I'm sure we'll be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Allergy friendly

Dined on June 3, 2016

The waitstaff was extremely accommodating for a fish allergy in our group.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience. This is a g ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. This is a great dinner option if you want to take your time, enjoy small plate after small plate, have drinks, and chat with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

superb!

Dined on May 30, 2016

It was the last day of our holiday in the USA and we were recommended this place by our host. We wanted somewhere special and this place truly delivered. It was the best place we went in two weeks in New York and Boston. It was very busy but had a really nice chilled feel, with lots of people tucking into great looking food. We shared 4 dishes between two (Kale, Octopus, Pork Belly and Rabbit), all amazing. For me the stand-out was a great octopus dish, but my partner loved the Kale salad. Highly recommend this place, it's not cheap, but then the food is excellent and one of the best meals we've had. Ever. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service2

Food is trying to be something it is not ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Food is trying to be something it is not. Trendy menu without really striking pleasing flavors. Italians and French know how to respect the ingredients and allow the flavors to emerge. This food is forced, salty and rich.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.