About Alcomar

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Latin-inspired seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

The new eatery is called Alcomar – a Latin Coastal Kitchen – and features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from Latin America’s coastlines.

Alcomar - Mariscos y Más

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN: 10AM - 9PM
MON: 11AM - 9PM
TUES - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI: 11AM - 11PM
SAT: 10AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM - 3PM

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Catering:
We provide catering to any scale event you mat be planning, for example, holiday parties, wedding receptions, family celebrations, or corporate events. Catering includes pick-up, delivery and full service on site. Let our friendly and experienced staff create an exceptionally memorable occasion for you and your guests.

catering@alcomaratx.com

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building at the corner of Mary and S 1st Street. We have valet parking Thursday nights, Friday nights, all day Saturday and Sunday morning. There is more parking available in the neighborhoods on either side of S 1st Street.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Austin
Seafood
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Casual (19)
Authentic (19)
Special Occasion (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Fun (12)
Romantic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tapas (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food!! Great service!!!

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food!! Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had eaten in the restaurant once befo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We had eaten in the restaurant once before and thought the food was excellent. This time it was all right, but not much more. The service was good, but we left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had dinner and drinks. Loved the red sn ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Had dinner and drinks. Loved the red snapper, ahi ceviche, and mezcal toddy. The server was very attentive to our table...good ambiance and vibe. Owner even stopped by to check in on us. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Alcomar. Its'a great sp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We always enjoy Alcomar. Its'a great spot for casual meals and drinks. I can get loud when busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and great seafood. We will ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service and great seafood. We will definitely visit again. The seating outside was quiet and perfect for the cooler weather.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing. Their happy hour is ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food is amazing. Their happy hour is fabulous. We have been there several times and it never disappoints. The food is consistently great. Fresh. The seafood is outstanding. The combination of flavors is wonderful. If you haven't been here, make reservations now!

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good. The food was ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was very good. The food was rather bland and overpriced for what you got. Fresas, a block away, is a much better place all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best meal in Austin! Creative and delici ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best meal in Austin! Creative and delicious. Friendly and prompt service. Cute restaurant decor. Only drawback is that it is a bit noisy, but that's because everyone there was having a good time and enjoying themselves.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the food. Lobster bisque was yum ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I loved the food. Lobster bisque was yummy. The scallops were tasty. A bit too loud, I'm 59. Maybe for the younger crowd is ok. The service was prompt and very pleasant. The wait was perfect, we had reservations for 7pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was absolutely delicious. Service ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious. Service was exceptional - I believe our server was Marissa. It's a beautifully decorated restaurant. Best lunch experience we've had in a while. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lost its appeal. This was our fifth or ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Lost its appeal. This was our fifth or sixth visit and found all dishes wanting. Especially the rice , which was tasteless. What happened??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food and service. We ordered e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. We ordered everything to share amongst 6 ppl. Too many things to remember which were favorites. Got great recommendations from knowledgeable server and enjoyed all of it. Only criticism is that it is very noisy....ppl at one end of table could not be in same convo w/ppl at other end.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exciting and innovative menu. Each entr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Exciting and innovative menu. Each entree is paired with different salads/vegetables with unique flaovrs and fresh herbs. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

While visiting Austin, we arranged a din ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

While visiting Austin, we arranged a dinner with alumni friends that were living locally. This restaurant was on nearly everyone's list, so we were very excited to have our dinner there. The drink list was great, and recommendations from the servers were actually delicious. We had oysters, crab-guac, lobster tacos, and mushroom roulettes as appetizers for the table... there was not a speck left of any of those... each were unique and very tasty.

I had the pork carnitas for dinner, and that verde sauce was perfect, as were the refried white beans (a first for me), but I did not indulge in the tortillas. The enchiladas were an all-around favorite as was the ribeye.

Highly recommend this spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started our meal with today's special- ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Started our meal with today's special- Mussels with mole. We didn't like the flavor of mole, bland. For the entree, we ordered shrimp & crab relleno and Achiote Salmon. Both had really good flavors, love the rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is truly amazing!!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food is truly amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there on a Saturday night after ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were there on a Saturday night after UT football game. VERY vibrant (read loud), but not unbearable. Everyone loved their meal and other than them not having a few drinks that were on the menu, the experience was fabulous. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant with lovely ambiance. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great restaurant with lovely ambiance. The food was fresh and thoughtful. Not your run of the mill seafood. Very inventive dishes. Lovely decor with a great patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unimpressed for the price/value. Fish wa ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Unimpressed for the price/value. Fish was overcooked and lobster enchiladas were veggies topped with very few small bits of lobster in a sauce. Unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The food was delicious and came to us wi ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was delicious and came to us with little wait time. The restaurant was crowded so it took about 10 minutes for our waitress to get our drink order. It was a bit noisy and we could easily hear the conversation from the neighboring table. The plates were large and my boyfriend and I were able to satisfy our big appetites. I love their mole sauce and it was served with half a roasted chicken. The sweet plantains were a nice touch! My bf ate the lobster enchiladas which he liked, but not something I would order. Alot to pay for Mexican food but the large portions made it worth it. With tip and a drink each, we got out for less than $100 total. Want to bring our book club here soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fresh, lively food and attentive service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh, lively food and attentive service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a pleasant dining e ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I had a pleasant dining experience, but not one that I could call totally great. The waitress seemed rushed and disinterested in being friendly. Not that she was unfriendly, but just very disengaged. It was our 6yr anniversary, which was noted and we were surprised for an upscale restaurant nothing was acknowledge we were dining on our anniversary.

The food was really good. The plank salmon was delicious and had such a wonderful flavor. The appetizer was good as well and the wine selection had several choices.

The decor is really nice and the restaurant was very clean.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We celebrated a friend's birthday at Alc ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We celebrated a friend's birthday at Alcomar, and we were mostly pleased with the experience. The food, drinks, and ambiance were fantastic, but the service could be a little inattentive at times. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Came as part of a food tour for our 1-ye ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Came as part of a food tour for our 1-year anniversary and it was splendid. Bright and clean seafood bites. It was a perfect stop on our tour.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite restaurant. Beautiful ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant. Beautiful innovative menu, everything we love to eat. Deciding which items to order was the hard part. Everything we tasted was beyond expectation. Yum.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Wood Oven, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My second time going to Alcomar for dinn ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My second time going to Alcomar for dinner was just as great as the first. Alcomar has a great ambiance and was perfect for my birthday dinner with my partner. Food, drinks, and desserts were fantastic. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great ambiance ! Inconspicu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food, great ambiance ! Inconspicuous restaurant at first sight, but really a hidden gem, one of my all time favorite restaurants in Austin . Food is to die for ! Savory till the last bite, very authentic ethnic food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was really looking forward to this aft ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I was really looking forward to this after looking at the menu and hearing commercials on the radio. But the food sounded better than it actually tasted. I had the shrimp & crab chile relleno (combines my love for heat and seafood), but instead it was rather bland. My companion's fish in green mole was pretty good, but for the entree price of $30 each, it's a little steep for bland!

The appetizer of grilled calimari didn't get finished at our table of four. Just not good, and certainly not as good as it sounded.

It was OK, but not for the price. $250 for four is steep for "OK".

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A surprise. I have been to many over-hy ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A surprise. I have been to many over-hyped restaurants lately. They do not live up to their billing. I had no expectations besides my wife said the food was good. The food was excellent and the service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate here for the first time last wek ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We ate here for the first time last wek and enjoyed it. It is billed as 'seafood' and it certainly is, but it leans towards preparations you'd find on at a very nice beach palapa restaurant near Cozumel. We'll be back. Pretty miserable parking, but most of the outh Austin restaurants like this one have generally horrible parking. This has a small lot, but too small for their traffic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Delicious and fresh bites with a heavy e ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Delicious and fresh bites with a heavy emphasis on seafood. The waitstaff seem well trained and are friendly and appropriately attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Meals that you won't find anywhere in Au ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Meals that you won't find anywhere in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome food. I highly recommend the lob ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Awesome food. I highly recommend the lobster enchiladas and shrimp and crab rellino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our meal--delicious Me ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal--delicious Mexican seafood! Parking was hard to find, but we finally found a spot at a neighboring restaurant's lot. The only setback was the high noise level; it is not possible to have a quiet conversation during peak dinner hours.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was an off night for Alcomar. It happ ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It was an off night for Alcomar. It happens. Food and drinks were lacking. Service was fine. Hostesses were pleasantly indifferent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

They forgot our appetizers, we had to wa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 22, 2016

They forgot our appetizers, we had to wait additional time for that. The waitress told me that the dish I ordered was dairy free, then delivered it to my table and proceeded to tell me that it had heavy cream on the side dish. Brought me potatoes instead, then asked me why, in front of the entire table why I didn't finish them and if I wanted to take them to go.

Irritating.

Parking is minimal, had to park down the street.

Overall, I'll go back because what I could eat was great, the experience just needed improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It is soooo loud in there. But... the fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It is soooo loud in there. But... the food & drinks were delicious The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food and service, but customer ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food and service, but customer noise level so loud you can't hear each other talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Although being very attentive the staff ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Although being very attentive the staff never made us feel rushed . We were able to enjoy a delicious meal and relaxed conversation with friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I highly recommend this restaurant for a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant for all occasions and for its original cuisine!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.