About Alcomar

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Mexican Seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

Alcomar features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from each of Mexico’s coastlines.

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN: 10AM - 10PM
MON - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI: 11AM - 11PM
SAT: 10AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM - 3PM

Weekend Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Catering:
We provide catering to any scale event you mat be planning, for example, holiday parties, wedding receptions, family celebrations, or corporate events. Catering includes pick-up, delivery and full service on site. Let our friendly and experienced staff create an exceptionally memorable occasion for you and your guests.

catering@alcomaratx.com

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building at the corner of Mary and S 1st Street. We have valet parking Thursday nights, Friday nights, all day Saturday and Sunday morning. There is more parking available in the neighborhoods on either side of S 1st Street.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Authentic (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Casual (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Tapas (7)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Romantic (4)
Spicy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

There are not enough great words for delectable for me to rain upon Alcomar. I LOVE this restaurant! The menu is chock full of unique, FRESH offerings. I am always challenged, because I want to go back to the great taste I enjoyed the last time, but then I miss out on all the things I haven't tried. BEST option...come with friends who like to share, and order up! Do NOT skip the roasted butternut squash in mojo butter. To Die For. Every wood-grilled seafood option is worth a mention. And the Ceviche Verde is a part of EVERY meal I've had there. Another one I just can't do without.
THANK YOU ALCOMAR for keeping this Austinite VERY happy!

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were there for late lunch. Dinner may be different

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very nice, high quality, authentic Mexican seafood restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food. Great atmosphere. Can't wait to go back. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

As usual, delicious and easy to get in and out of. Noise level is a little loud but worth it for the Mezcal Mule and butternut relleno.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We went here for lunch and the food was really good. Giant portions... so stuffed leaving. Had the crab and guac, oysters, lobster enchiladas (my absolute favorite) and pork carnitas and poached eggs. It wasn't our favorite meal over our weekend trip in Austin but one of the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was original and tasty. Service was attentive without being overbearing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Engagement dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Alcomar was an absolutely lovely experience! The food was divine (especially the lobster enchiladas) and the watermelon margarita was amazing! Our waitress was very attentive, and everyone, from the hostess to the wait staff, was very friendly. Definitely planning on returning in December!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves. The waiter was great; personable. Portions were generous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Very unique combination of upscale Mexican influenced seafood plus beef and salads. Very nice atmosphere, excellent drinks, friendly staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love the food and the attentive staff at this south side gem!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was decent, food had nice flavors/seasoning, but considering ingredients and portions it was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This has been one of my favorite restaurants for years. However, I was disappointed on this visit. Loved it when the dishes are served simply and elegantly with high quality ingredients. This time I thought the menu did not offer much in this way. More sauces and cheeses than I think desirable when serving good seafood. I'll try it again soon though.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have been to this restaurant twice and enjoyed it both times. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Altomar is a very good restaurant. Authentic food with a Mexican flare. It is worth the extra few minutes from downtown.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Colorful, delicious food. Fantastic service. Convenient valet parking. Will gladly come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We love this south Austin hidden gem that keeps us coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very tastful, quiet restaurant with spot on service - not overly attentive but perfectly timed. Mean dirty martini, oysters were excellent, scallops cooked perfectly and the beat salad was fantastic. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Was very expensive for the amount of food we got. The atmosphere was fun and relaxing until 7pm when the restaurant filled and the noise level was increased. The tables were almost to big to have conversation that didn't feel like shouting. $13 Margaritas good but very small in comparison to other local places! The crab and guacamole dip was ok -crab dip a bit fishy, the lobster taco appetizer of three street size corn tortillas was resist delicious with some melted butter. It was a $23 app we shared. - chips are over cooked but kept us from over eating. Beautiful neighborhood restaurant- a little pricey tho.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Too expensive for the food that they offer.
I ordered the enchiladas with lobster but I didn't see the lobster only little bits and pieces on it (and I'm not sure if it was lobster)
I will never come back exorbitant prices for common food no thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great speciality seafood with a twist, you won't find this kind of Mexican food a lot. Creative dishes that had beautiful plate presentation. Service spot on. Nice specialty drink menu. Starts jumping on a Saturday night about 830pm. Will return and recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

THE DRINKS WERE VERY GOOD. SERVICE WAS EHH!! AND WAS EXPECTING A LOT MORE FROM THE FOOD. NOT THE BEST FLAVOR. IT'S OK.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I think we ordered the wrong things, but we went off of the server's suggestion. Two of the ceviches were okay (tuna and scallop). Chiliquiles were okay. Lobster omelet was very good. Be careful with the limonada, it's like sucking the juice straight from the lemon. Very pretty place, did was underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our dinner was excellent and celebrating here for a family birthday was perfect. The margaritas are delicious but overpriced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Alcomar was a disappointment, from the service to the food and drinks. Drinks took over 1/2 hour to get to the table, one of the drinks were lukewarm.

Expediter slammed dishes down didn't make room for plates. Seemed to not want to be at work. I believe the waiter was new. Appetizers we're just okay. We ended up leaving and went somewhere else for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I expected a craft cocktail and was disappointed especially since their drinks were priced that of a high end bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The big guy in a dress with giant hoop ear rings serving as the greeter was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 29, 2017

A restaurant that actually has Mexican, not tex mex, but Mexican dishes prepared with culinary expertise. Cheers to Chef Martinez.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was tasty and fresh. Drinks were very good. Some of the items we ordered were not fantastic and others were. The salmon was awesome!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I truly love this place! I came here recently for my birthday, and had a wonderful time. The food is always great, and the brunch and happy hour options are awesome. The service is also top notch with friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food as always. Enjoyed spending Fathers Day with you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great. Always is

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Not the ideal spot for carrying on a conversation, but the food is marvelous. Best lobster enchiladas ever and a fine selection of craft cocktails.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Awesome food! Awesome service! Our second time here and didn't disapoint!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Their butternut squash wasn't great. My mom makes a great butternut squash bisque and I was excited to try this one. My boyfriend ate the scallops DELICIOUS!!!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Amazing food! Nice and relaxing atmosphere! I would definitely recommend checking this place out!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very loud. My husband's halibut, the special he said was dry. I ordered the butternut squash poblano relleno was all right, but not as good as I thought it would be. I wished I had gotten the lobster enchiladas which my two children ordered. My son-in-law ordered the chicken mole and seemed to like it. The service was good and our waitress attentive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Not fancy but good, fresh food with friendly and helpful service. Wonderful fruit flavored ice tea. First rate crab cake

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.