About Alcomar

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Mexican Seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

Alcomar features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from each of Mexico’s coastlines.

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN: 10AM - 10PM
MON - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI: 11AM - 11PM
SAT: 10AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM - 3PM

Weekend Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Catering:
We provide catering to any scale event you mat be planning, for example, holiday parties, wedding receptions, family celebrations, or corporate events. Catering includes pick-up, delivery and full service on site. Let our friendly and experienced staff create an exceptionally memorable occasion for you and your guests.

catering@alcomaratx.com

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building at the corner of Mary and S 1st Street. We have valet parking Thursday nights, Friday nights, all day Saturday and Sunday morning. There is more parking available in the neighborhoods on either side of S 1st Street.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Authentic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Fun (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Casual (17)
Romantic (15)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Tapas (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (6)
Spicy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

It's always a pleasure to dine here when I get a chance to. A very scrumptious menu to decide from.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good and not the typical texmex. Drinks were a little pricey, $12 for a margarita. But overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overpriced for what you get. And come on, you charge us for some extra tortillas. Not planning on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is delicious. The drinks are very good. The service is slow. A really nice and helpful waiter, but there were huge gaps in time between when we would see the waiter. It is perhaps that the restaurant was just so busy and maybe they were understaffed. I will absolutely go here again!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Friends have always given me spotty reviews of Alcomar and I had only been once for drinks and appetizers at the bar, which was great. We went for Mother's Day and a birthday on Sunday and they seemed to struggle with the service. We were informed they were out of the crab when we arrived, which was fine. We placed an order for a ceviche and were told they were out of that as well. We were also informed that they were out of guac and that they had been hit hard with the Mother's Day crowd. It was 6:30pm which seemed a little early to run out of something like guac. We ordered our meals and two of us ordered the fish special. The server came back to inform us there was only one fish special left so one of us changed our order. A manager later came to state the fish special was actually not the special for the day and they didn't have it at all. We then ordered the red snapper with verde mole. When our food arrived one of the dishes ordered surprisingly had the crab on it we were told they were out of. It was unclear if they were really out of all of the items or if our server was confused as to what was going on in the kitchen. The manager took over our table at the second notification missing fish special and that point on the service was great. The food was also very good - the snapper was very well prepared and the verde mole was much better than most verde moles I've had. I'm not sure if the restaurant was unable to handle the Mother's Day crowd or the server was in the weeds. I would go back but probably during the week when I know it won't be as busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Sat at the bar and enjoyed happy hour while waiting on the rest of the party. The bartender was great. Moved on to the table for the rest of the evening and enjoyed more happy hour food and drinks . Too pricey for dinner.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very stylish setting, service was great from the hostess to server, drinks were tasty, and food was delicious! I had the shrimp enchiladas, LOVED the sauce so much I almost licked the plate clean!

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food here is fantastic. Service was unacceptably slow for an uncrowded weeknight ( Wed) and at this price point you want the service to be on point. There are better restaurants within a stone's throw in South Austin where they treat you right by noticing when you need a refill or side dish or the check. They need to tighten the service way up. If you don't mind slowness then the food is definitely very special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The staff are amazing and the food is fantastic! This is a must try if you are in Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sloooooow service. Ran out of oysters on a Saturday night by 7:30pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was real good. Waitress excellent. To loud to have a reasonable conversation without having to ask."what did you just say" Will try again though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great. Menu options gave variety. Third time eating at Alcomar and the food is always consistent. Service was little spotty this trip. Our waitress seemed really distracted, but it was so bad it effect our meal. Service has been good the past two time we've eaten there.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Spicy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything I've ever eaten at Alcomar was perfect and delicious. Gorgeous fish and seafood. So fresh! The crab and avocado app takes guac to an ethereal level. The sauces and soups are a divine balance of flavors and textures. Food is seriously great. The complimentary valet is a nice touch and service is fine.

Room for improvement: it would be fun to see more of the chef(s) in the dining room. The front of the restaurant is right on the street so the glare of headlights and tail lights at night is a bit unpleasant after a while if you're facing the street- they could use some shades to cut down on their patrons squinting. The biggest inconsistency here is the restroom's bright lights and metal stalls are really out of step with the ambiance of the restaurant during the evening- entering the restroom is a little jarring. Overall, not a big deal but sometimes it's the little things that make a 5-star experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Once again, Alcomar never fails to delight. We shared this gem with new friends who were also delighted and sure to return. It's small, so you might need reservations, especially on the weekends. Our food was outstanding. The butternut squash lobster bisque is amazing. The soup alone is worth coming for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food and great service! We will definitely be back for your killer happy hour.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic! Will return! I'm a Celiac and almost the whole menu was safe!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

There was an issue with my entree and they graciously and quickly replaced with another item . Drinks were very nice. Beautifully plated and delicious . Free valet parking made meeting up with friends at a specific time stress free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The locally source salad was exceptionally fresh. All the food was interesting and enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Atypical, but excellent seafood with an influence of Tex-Mex.

A touch on the pricey side, but a fair value for the exceptional quality of seafood which is hard to come by in Austin.

The seafood enchiladas seems to be the real standout item after a couple of visits and sampling.

The seafood chile relleno is another nice choice.

Wish they had nachos.

Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service and the queso was to die for! Good choice to dine at in south Austin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, drinks, & little patio. Loved our time there. A few times we felt forgotten by our waitress or ran out of water, but all in all the experience was wonderful and we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The office employees enjoyed the variety of food choices. There were no complaints. Everyone said the food was very good. Parking was not an issue either. Staff was friendly. Making reservations was easy.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A little overpriced for what you get such as a small champagne glass for a margarita for $13 and $27 for "lobster" enchiladas filled with peppers and onions and a few bit-sized pieces of lobster on top. Quite disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fabulous place for brunch even though the brunch menu is not on the website. Highly recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service was not very good, there were lots of mistakes with our order and the wait staff had a lot of attitude. This may have been a better experience with a smaller party and a non-weekend night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went here for Saturday brunch. The food and service were great. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Celebrated an anniversary with our grown children. Excellent food and service. Would do again!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Waiter took a while to get our drink and dinner order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great food and drink! Lots of options and service is attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fantastic brunch with 12 of my family in town for a wedding. Lobster enchiladas were amazing as was the crab relleno

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have made Alcomar a go to date night place over the last 18 months. And we have taken groups to eat there. This last visit was way off. Waiter missed our app order so it came out after entrees. Grilled Calamari (previously our fave) was rubbery and undercooked. Ceviche Verde (our other favorite) was all veggies, light on the fish and not nearly as good as in past. Also place was very loud and only 3/4 filled which we had not noticed before. If there was just one miss, we would be back. But will most likely remove from rotation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Innovative Latin infusion. Very tasty dishes. Try the mushroom gorditas and the ceviche.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tapas, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great ambiance, macrame on walls and subdued lighting. Food delish - waitstaff a bit drab though. I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was just a little off. The sangria was the best part of our meal. Service was slow. This was our second time to Alcomar, probably won't return. Or at least very soon.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Enjoyed a tapas-style mix of appetizers and sides. Recommend the cauliflower flan and the salmon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Loved the "real feel" of Alcomar. No imitation here! Nice decor and great eats!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our meal at Alcomar was top notch. I was a little disappointed with the cauliflower "flan" which seemed more like a crustless quiche than a flan. Everything else I had was impressive, though I thought the portion of the tuna ceviche was on the skimpy side.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great fun and great but rich food! Our waiter was precious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was great, but when serve was not hot. On the patio the noise from 1st street was very loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

the calamari salad is outstanding. as are margaritas, oysters!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.