About Alcomar

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Latin-inspired seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

The new eatery is called Alcomar – a Latin Coastal Kitchen – and features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from Latin America’s coastlines.

Alcomar - Mariscos y Más

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN & MON: 11AM - 9PM
TUES - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI & SAT: 11AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Brunch: Every day 11AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Austin
Seafood
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (78)
neighborhood gem (68)
good for groups (49)
See All
special occasion (39)
great for brunch (39)
great for lunch (28)
hot spot (22)
great for outdoor dining (22)
romantic (19)
vibrant bar scene (11)
kid-friendly (11)
notable wine list (8)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The entrees were great, but the oysters ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

The entrees were great, but the oysters seemed a couple of days past fresh - no liquor and the gills were dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Fun menu with lots to choose from and th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fun menu with lots to choose from and the waitstaff is attentive without hovering. The bar list is small but gets the job done. Parking is limited, so share a cab.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were told when we walked in that the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were told when we walked in that the reservation that we made through OpenTable didn't register in their system, even though I had a confirmation email.

Generally were treated rudely by the front of house. Our server was nice, and the food was fine.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

It was all fantastic!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was all fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for a double birthday with our fam ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came for a double birthday with our family. Great food, great service. Happy hour fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We got seated quickly. The food select ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We got seated quickly. The food selections were large. The service was slow, but worth waiting for; because, the food was wonderful! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Have dined at alcomar fairly frequently ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have dined at alcomar fairly frequently since we discovered it. We love the food and the ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we first walked in, we almost turne ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

When we first walked in, we almost turned around and walked out because the noise level was so high. We decided to stay and try the food. We had to yell to hold a coversation. Service was ok. They didn't clear plates right away and the server forgot what drink I had ordered. The food was so so. My fried plobano still had the stem on so my first bite was pulling pieces of the hard stem out of my mouth. The drinks were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Must get the wood grilled oysters to sta ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Must get the wood grilled oysters to start!! I've been with a small group of 6 and it was great and also went with my parents and they loved it as well! Dressy casual. Great atmosphere. Wonderful cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good appetizers. Happy hour prices ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good appetizers. Happy hour prices a plus. Great service.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Pleasant decorations gave way to a noisy ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pleasant decorations gave way to a noisy environment. Drinks were frivolous & fun. Food was pleasantly different from the usual Tex-Mex, with a Yucatan flare. Chicken Mole was excellent, and the plantains & saffron rice were done to perfection! Only downfall was the salmon, which was fresh & tasted great, but was undercooked. Mgt kindly offered a free dessert, but we passed the offer. Overall worth the higher $$$, for a nice evening out.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Nice change of pace from typical seafood ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Nice change of pace from typical seafood place. Good flavors with good specialty drinks.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were excited to try Alcomar although ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were excited to try Alcomar although I had heard both good and not-so-good things about it. We were seated promptly - but oddly at a long table for 6 or 8 and there were only 3 of us and several smaller tables open. We ordered margaritas which initially tasted good but quickly became watery from all the ice if you didn't drink them quickly. Our appetizers were fine but the ceviche was tiny and had more jicama than fish. Our waitress forgot to bring us their version of chips and salsa but did so when we asked. The grilled oysters were reportedly good and the grilled calamari was fine but not memorable. I ordered a Wagyu flank steak medium-well. I got a chunk of terribly overcooked, tough, and flavorless meat. I have never seen flank steak like this before. I should've sent it back but I often hesitate to do this - my fault there. At any rate, I ate just a few bites and told our waitress when we asked for the bill that it was very overdone. She said that she had noticed that as well and then spoke to her manager. (Not sure why she didn't say anything to me when she originally noticed it). We divided our bill one third/two thirds as we were with a single friend and they kindly gave us a discount for my dish but oddly, split the discount between my husband's and my bill and that of our friend. So she got a discounted bill for my bad meal! Odd way to handle that to say the least. My flank steak was $31 and came with some fried potatoes that were just your basic side. I will say that my husband said that his fish was good and my friend liked her lobster enchiladas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

My favorite Austin restaurant. It was ou ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My favorite Austin restaurant. It was our first time sampling the brunch menu. The bread pudding was superb and everything else was yummy too

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't sure what to expect. Made reserva ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wasn't sure what to expect. Made reservations on a whim... Totally blown away by the flavors the chefs were able to incorporate into each course!! Definitely one of my favorite new spots...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was delicious ... A bit loud, but fun ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was delicious ... A bit loud, but fun. Am going back for brunch on Saturday.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it all! Alcomar is good for vegeta ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loved it all! Alcomar is good for vegetarians like my husband as it has great sides and he loved the main dish (but would be great to have one more dish on menu). Thank you!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wanted something out of the ordinary, an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wanted something out of the ordinary, and Alcomar has a fun, different menu from most places. Excellent service, drinks and food. I highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the snapper, which was outstanding ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I had the snapper, which was outstanding. In fact, everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at so many of Austin's "ho ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have dined at so many of Austin's "hot" new restaurants and typically feel underwhelmed afterwards. Alcomar was completely different. Excellent service, innovative menu and fresh (not heavy/salty) delicious food. The drink menu was spectacular too. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting variety in appetizers and sm ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Interesting variety in appetizers and small plates. Wonderful value for happy hour. Good service, but a little loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I was really looking forward to checking ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I was really looking forward to checking out this place and I was not disappointed. Great drink specials during HH, amazing ceviche, excellent dinner menu. I walked away stuffed. Atmosphere is casual, cool. I am definitely going back to try their brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was our first time to try Alcomar. We went for dinner tonight (Tuesday). Our servers were very attentive. Both appetizers were fresh. We had the oysters on the half shell and the ahi ceviche. Really liked the ceviche. For dinner, I had the redfish and mole verde. Really good and fresh. Nice combination with the butternut squash and spinach. Will definitely come back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great for Happy Hour

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The drink and appetizer specials for happy hour make this place what it is. Lovely margaritas.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Clueless Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was delicious but the waitstaff seemed to be strangers to their own menu. The simplest questions about the food and beverages were met with a confused stare, cocktails were mixed up or forgotten altogether, and food orders were also confused. Unacceptable for a tab approaching $300.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Outstanding

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were in Austin for a long weekend visit and had read some great reviews of Alcomar. We weren't disappointed. We started with the Calamari, then enjoyed the Manchego Shrimp and the Red Snapper & Mole Verde, which were wonderful. We ended the evening with El Rey Chocolate Tart, a dense, decadent, but oh so good delight. Our servers were warm, informative and professional. The high marks Alcomar has received are well-deserved!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Truly enjoyed our dinner at Alcomar. Service was fantastic and the meal was excellent. Highly recommend Alcomar for your next meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ample parking, great service and food. T ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Ample parking, great service and food. The wood grilled oysters??? Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable Sunday happy hour!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We decided to try this on Mother's Day when we had not made any plans and wanted somewhere fun to go at the last minute. Happy hour was amazing with great margaritas and delicious small plates for very reasonable prices. Everything was extremely fresh and the two ceviches were particularly delicious. We enjoyed the queso flameado with mushrooms, as well. Although the calamari had been well reviewed, it was not our favorite; we liked the smokiness but it was a bit too chewy for our taste. And, although the gulf oysters were fresh, they were a little bland. The atmosphere was fun and upbeat and our waiter was friendly and helpful. Next time we will go for dinner and try some of the entrées! We definitely enjoyed our experience at Alcomar and we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was outstanding. Service was great.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious on S. Congress

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Alcomar is a gem on S. First. Creative and delicious Mexican-themed seafood dishes and cocktails, fantastic service, nice ambiance and easy to park.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just Okay

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I read some good reviews about this restaurant. The grilled squid appetizer was very good. The pork carnitas & salmon entree was just okay. Service was excellent but with all the great restaurants in Austin I would probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Not spectacular

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The food was not great, except for the snapper dish, which was excellent. The margaritas were good, also. Bottom line: I was not impressed. It was disappointing for the price.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We love Tapas, so we thought we give the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We love Tapas, so we thought we give the spot to try. It was generally very good spicy shrimp was excellent. The menu was a little bit more limiting than I would've guessed. Topless restaurants usually have a wide selection of different options. Service was first rate. Our server let me try a few wines before ordering one. The atmosphere was nice but casual. Overall, it is five that we could recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great Job!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I will definitely be back. Can't wait to try your brunch! Erin our serve was awesome. Great service and really fun to interact with.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The crab guac. was good Scallops were go ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The crab guac. was good Scallops were good. The butternut,goat cheese chile relleno was dissapointing. Couldn't find the goat cheese in it. Cocktail 's were watered down. Service was slow. The food was cold on arrival. Dissapointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Aw!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

OK, we admit the mural is awesome! It’s great to have a diversion from too many mediocre Tex-Mex restaurants in the vicinity. But El Chile was a standout of the bunch!! It was terrific. Bring it back! I don’t get this morph to Alcomar – the menu is not so approachable now. It’s too much. Literally and figuratively. The seafood relleno at $27 is way overpriced – it was skimpy on the seafood (3 shrimp were the only seafood I could find) and in my opinion just not a good interpretation of great seafood relleno we’ve had. The service was outstanding. The ambience is great. But, sorry, we won’t be back until the menu changes it up and price comes down ……

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

My new favorite place

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I have loved everything I've tried. Been to Alcomar 3 times and can't wait to go back many more times. They have given a nice twist to all their menu items. Love the ceviche, which is served similar to sashimi the marinate on it was fabulous. The cauliflower soufflé was incredible and their chips are like you get in Mexico. All the seafood is cooked to perfection.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my specialty margarita...honestl ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I loved my specialty margarita...honestly best I've ever had! Food was delicious as well! So glad we finally tried it. I'm looking forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We discovered Alcomar quite by accident when the Bouldin St. Cafe had a long wait. We had a wonderful lunch and then found out that it was voted one of the nine best new restaurants in Austin by Austin Monthly. Now, we go at every opportunity we can. Delicious, creative food and a great happy hour.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.