About Alcomar

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Mexican Seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

Alcomar features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from each of Mexico’s coastlines.

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN: 10AM - 10PM
MON - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI: 11AM - 11PM
SAT: 10AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM - 3PM

Weekend Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Catering:
We provide catering to any scale event you mat be planning, for example, holiday parties, wedding receptions, family celebrations, or corporate events. Catering includes pick-up, delivery and full service on site. Let our friendly and experienced staff create an exceptionally memorable occasion for you and your guests.

catering@alcomaratx.com

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building at the corner of Mary and S 1st Street. We have valet parking Thursday nights, Friday nights, all day Saturday and Sunday morning. There is more parking available in the neighborhoods on either side of S 1st Street.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Authentic (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Casual (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Tapas (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Was very expensive for the amount of food we got. The atmosphere was fun and relaxing until 7pm when the restaurant filled and the noise level was increased. The tables were almost to big to have conversation that didn't feel like shouting. $13 Margaritas good but very small in comparison to other local places! The crab and guacamole dip was ok -crab dip a bit fishy, the lobster taco appetizer of three street size corn tortillas was resist delicious with some melted butter. It was a $23 app we shared. - chips are over cooked but kept us from over eating. Beautiful neighborhood restaurant- a little pricey tho.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Too expensive for the food that they offer.
I ordered the enchiladas with lobster but I didn't see the lobster only little bits and pieces on it (and I'm not sure if it was lobster)
I will never come back exorbitant prices for common food no thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great speciality seafood with a twist, you won't find this kind of Mexican food a lot. Creative dishes that had beautiful plate presentation. Service spot on. Nice specialty drink menu. Starts jumping on a Saturday night about 830pm. Will return and recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

THE DRINKS WERE VERY GOOD. SERVICE WAS EHH!! AND WAS EXPECTING A LOT MORE FROM THE FOOD. NOT THE BEST FLAVOR. IT'S OK.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I think we ordered the wrong things, but we went off of the server's suggestion. Two of the ceviches were okay (tuna and scallop). Chiliquiles were okay. Lobster omelet was very good. Be careful with the limonada, it's like sucking the juice straight from the lemon. Very pretty place, did was underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our dinner was excellent and celebrating here for a family birthday was perfect. The margaritas are delicious but overpriced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Alcomar was a disappointment, from the service to the food and drinks. Drinks took over 1/2 hour to get to the table, one of the drinks were lukewarm.

Expediter slammed dishes down didn't make room for plates. Seemed to not want to be at work. I believe the waiter was new. Appetizers we're just okay. We ended up leaving and went somewhere else for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I expected a craft cocktail and was disappointed especially since their drinks were priced that of a high end bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The big guy in a dress with giant hoop ear rings serving as the greeter was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 29, 2017

A restaurant that actually has Mexican, not tex mex, but Mexican dishes prepared with culinary expertise. Cheers to Chef Martinez.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was tasty and fresh. Drinks were very good. Some of the items we ordered were not fantastic and others were. The salmon was awesome!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I truly love this place! I came here recently for my birthday, and had a wonderful time. The food is always great, and the brunch and happy hour options are awesome. The service is also top notch with friendly and helpful staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food as always. Enjoyed spending Fathers Day with you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great. Always is

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Not the ideal spot for carrying on a conversation, but the food is marvelous. Best lobster enchiladas ever and a fine selection of craft cocktails.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Awesome food! Awesome service! Our second time here and didn't disapoint!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Their butternut squash wasn't great. My mom makes a great butternut squash bisque and I was excited to try this one. My boyfriend ate the scallops DELICIOUS!!!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Amazing food! Nice and relaxing atmosphere! I would definitely recommend checking this place out!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very loud. My husband's halibut, the special he said was dry. I ordered the butternut squash poblano relleno was all right, but not as good as I thought it would be. I wished I had gotten the lobster enchiladas which my two children ordered. My son-in-law ordered the chicken mole and seemed to like it. The service was good and our waitress attentive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Not fancy but good, fresh food with friendly and helpful service. Wonderful fruit flavored ice tea. First rate crab cake

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service is excellent- our waitress was very attentive and the food came out efficiently. The food was DELICIOUS- the best pork shank I've ever tasted and I can't wait to go back and eat it again. Our only beef is they do not have decaf coffee

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Jason was friendly, informative and attentive. The lobster enchiladas and red snapper were great. We had the guacamole and crab as an appetizer and it was a great combination. Margaritas were also really good. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wonderful birthday celebration for my husband. The service was great just as always. Everyone had a great time and it proved again our belief that you can never go wrong choosing Alcomar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Alcomar never fails to disappoint - excellent, authentic fresh food and killer cocktails, served by friendly and informed staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 25, 2017

We were extremely impressed with Alcomar. The food was fresh and delicious. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great variety of creative fish, Mexican and Cocktails!

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It's always a pleasure to dine here when I get a chance to. A very scrumptious menu to decide from.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was good and not the typical texmex. Drinks were a little pricey, $12 for a margarita. But overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We hosted our son's graduation celebration dinner here with a group of 12 adults. The food and service were excellent. We spent several hours there ordering food and drinks on a continuous basis, changing seats regularly. It was like being at home, with a fabulous vibe. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overpriced for what you get. And come on, you charge us for some extra tortillas. Not planning on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is delicious. The drinks are very good. The service is slow. A really nice and helpful waiter, but there were huge gaps in time between when we would see the waiter. It is perhaps that the restaurant was just so busy and maybe they were understaffed. I will absolutely go here again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Friends have always given me spotty reviews of Alcomar and I had only been once for drinks and appetizers at the bar, which was great. We went for Mother's Day and a birthday on Sunday and they seemed to struggle with the service. We were informed they were out of the crab when we arrived, which was fine. We placed an order for a ceviche and were told they were out of that as well. We were also informed that they were out of guac and that they had been hit hard with the Mother's Day crowd. It was 6:30pm which seemed a little early to run out of something like guac. We ordered our meals and two of us ordered the fish special. The server came back to inform us there was only one fish special left so one of us changed our order. A manager later came to state the fish special was actually not the special for the day and they didn't have it at all. We then ordered the red snapper with verde mole. When our food arrived one of the dishes ordered surprisingly had the crab on it we were told they were out of. It was unclear if they were really out of all of the items or if our server was confused as to what was going on in the kitchen. The manager took over our table at the second notification missing fish special and that point on the service was great. The food was also very good - the snapper was very well prepared and the verde mole was much better than most verde moles I've had. I'm not sure if the restaurant was unable to handle the Mother's Day crowd or the server was in the weeds. I would go back but probably during the week when I know it won't be as busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Sat at the bar and enjoyed happy hour while waiting on the rest of the party. The bartender was great. Moved on to the table for the rest of the evening and enjoyed more happy hour food and drinks . Too pricey for dinner.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very stylish setting, service was great from the hostess to server, drinks were tasty, and food was delicious! I had the shrimp enchiladas, LOVED the sauce so much I almost licked the plate clean!

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food here is fantastic. Service was unacceptably slow for an uncrowded weeknight ( Wed) and at this price point you want the service to be on point. There are better restaurants within a stone's throw in South Austin where they treat you right by noticing when you need a refill or side dish or the check. They need to tighten the service way up. If you don't mind slowness then the food is definitely very special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The staff are amazing and the food is fantastic! This is a must try if you are in Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Sloooooow service. Ran out of oysters on a Saturday night by 7:30pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was real good. Waitress excellent. To loud to have a reasonable conversation without having to ask."what did you just say" Will try again though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great. Menu options gave variety. Third time eating at Alcomar and the food is always consistent. Service was little spotty this trip. Our waitress seemed really distracted, but it was so bad it effect our meal. Service has been good the past two time we've eaten there.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything I've ever eaten at Alcomar was perfect and delicious. Gorgeous fish and seafood. So fresh! The crab and avocado app takes guac to an ethereal level. The sauces and soups are a divine balance of flavors and textures. Food is seriously great. The complimentary valet is a nice touch and service is fine.

Room for improvement: it would be fun to see more of the chef(s) in the dining room. The front of the restaurant is right on the street so the glare of headlights and tail lights at night is a bit unpleasant after a while if you're facing the street- they could use some shades to cut down on their patrons squinting. The biggest inconsistency here is the restroom's bright lights and metal stalls are really out of step with the ambiance of the restaurant during the evening- entering the restroom is a little jarring. Overall, not a big deal but sometimes it's the little things that make a 5-star experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.