About Alcomar

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Latin-inspired seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

The new eatery is called Alcomar – a Latin Coastal Kitchen – and features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from Latin America’s coastlines.

Alcomar - Mariscos y Más

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN: 10AM - 9PM
MON: 11AM - 9PM
TUES - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI: 11AM - 11PM
SAT: 10AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM - 3PM

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Catering:
We provide catering to any scale event you mat be planning, for example, holiday parties, wedding receptions, family celebrations, or corporate events. Catering includes pick-up, delivery and full service on site. Let our friendly and experienced staff create an exceptionally memorable occasion for you and your guests.

catering@alcomaratx.com

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building at the corner of Mary and S 1st Street. We have valet parking Thursday nights, Friday nights, all day Saturday and Sunday morning. There is more parking available in the neighborhoods on either side of S 1st Street.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Casual (20)
Authentic (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tapas (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this place for lunch or dinner, b ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this place for lunch or dinner, but not so much for brunch. Limited brunch menu and not very exciting. However, all the seafood is excellently prepared and unique so it is very delicious and fun for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Greeter was terrible. Sour facial expres ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Greeter was terrible. Sour facial expression. Food & service was great. Greeter ruin the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great time had by all, service was impec ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Great time had by all, service was impeccable. Menu interesting. All the food was delicious. We had the ceviche, the chorizo quest, the calamari. Non fried calamari is a nice find. Would recommend the restaurant to a friend and would come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent. I've never had a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently excellent. I've never had a bad meal. Delicious latin twist to seafood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Tapas, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always. Good drink and excellen ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Great as always. Good drink and excellent pasole and fantastic service.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We took a good friend in from out of tow ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We took a good friend in from out of town and Alcomar was over the top as usual! Alcomar is always innovative in their menu. The service is excellent and they remember you after your second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and decor were lovely, howe ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The ambiance and decor were lovely, however the food left something to be desired with little flavor in both the appetizers and main course. Creative and delicious beverages so would recommend just for happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Brilliant food. Complementary valet. Gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Brilliant food. Complementary valet. Great service. Yummy margaritas.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is an upscale Latin seafood themed ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is an upscale Latin seafood themed restaurant with creative fusion overtones. When exploring a new restaurant, we often start with soup and/or salad (both here), then have an assortment of appetizers for our main meal. This allows us to sample more examples of the cuisine than just one entree would. We focused on crab, lobster, oyster and shrimp, and we were not disappointed. A simple baked queso appetizer with home made corn tortillas offered great flavor and substance towards the end of the meal. The sopapillas cheesecake was fabulous for desert.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I brought two friends from Phoenix in fo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I brought two friends from Phoenix in for dinner. They could not stop raving about the food well into the next day. The cocktail of the day was perfect for the freezing weather that night as was the entreé. Everyone enjoyed the dining experience. Service was great, as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails, tasty and well portione ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great cocktails, tasty and well portioned appetizers, and delicious entrees. The atmosphere was perfect for a casual date night and the service was excellent. We made it for happy hour, which included discounts on drinks and apps. I recommend the Mezcal Mule, Ceviche Verde, and the Chocolate tarte for dessert- heavenly! We also had the lobster enchiladas, which were good too. We were very impressed and enjoyed every sip and bite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second trip to Alcomar in on ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was my second trip to Alcomar in one week, and it was just as good the second time around. This time we went for brunch, and I highly recommend it. The patio was perfect and I appreciated that the full menu was available in addition to the brunch menu. We got the gorditas, the butternut squash omelet, and the avocado toast; all were excellent. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb attention to detail by the servic ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Superb attention to detail by the service staff! The food was fresh, creative, and extremely good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drinks, excellent drinks! Very ac ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great drinks, excellent drinks! Very accommodating for our large group of 16!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ceviche is the bomb! I could eat it all ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ceviche is the bomb! I could eat it all day. The ribeye steak my husband ordered was cut a little thin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great authentic Mexican flavors without ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great authentic Mexican flavors without the pretension and blandness of some other high-end Mexican restaurants in Austin. No kids' menu available, but our little ones were happy with the queso flameado with hanger steak on the side - perfect for several DIY quesadillas and tacos.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Alcomar is a great place for a drink and ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Alcomar is a great place for a drink and dinner. Hip vibe and laid back feel. All their food is prepared with care. Usually go for happy hour but dinner never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner on Christmas Eve. Great ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fabulous dinner on Christmas Eve. Great service and amazing food. Will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time and we are foodi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was our first time and we are foodies. The food, bar, service and ambience were great! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and service was great! We all ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our food and service was great! We all had different things and everyone was very pleased! Loved the valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So In Love with Alco.ar6

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

So In Love with Alco.ar6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Alcomar to celebrate our 11th ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went to Alcomar to celebrate our 11th anniversary. I made a note about it on our reservation and the staff very kindly sat us at a "quieter" table in the back. The restaurant was incredibly loud... so loud we had to yell at each other from across the table and by the time we left, I was so thankful to be out of there. That being said, I appreciated the staffs attempt to give us a quiet, romantic table away from the main eating area, and it was definitely quieter there. Our server was waiting on a large party, so she wasn't as attentive as she could have been. At one point, she forgot a dessert menu, but we were stuffed anyway. She did a good job overall. The food was delicious. We had queso, chicken mole and carnitas. I had two margaritas and they were amazing. I would definitely recommend Alcomar. The food was amazing and we love the S. 1st area. Great location with plenty of parking. We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and drink. Consistently good ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food and drink. Consistently good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best find in a long time. Wood fired oys ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Best find in a long time. Wood fired oysters are heavenly. Had the shrimp enchiladas and crab cake salad. Both were Devine. Our new favorite was the "chips and salsa" they brought to the table! Definitely a nice surprise and easily a reason to return...they are that addicting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food!! Great service!!!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Awesome food!! Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had eaten in the restaurant once befo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had eaten in the restaurant once before and thought the food was excellent. This time it was all right, but not much more. The service was good, but we left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had dinner and drinks. Loved the red sn ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had dinner and drinks. Loved the red snapper, ahi ceviche, and mezcal toddy. The server was very attentive to our table...good ambiance and vibe. Owner even stopped by to check in on us. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was awesome

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We always enjoy Alcomar. Its'a great sp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We always enjoy Alcomar. Its'a great spot for casual meals and drinks. I can get loud when busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and great seafood. We will ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service and great seafood. We will definitely visit again. The seating outside was quiet and perfect for the cooler weather.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing. Their happy hour is ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food is amazing. Their happy hour is fabulous. We have been there several times and it never disappoints. The food is consistently great. Fresh. The seafood is outstanding. The combination of flavors is wonderful. If you haven't been here, make reservations now!

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good. The food was ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was very good. The food was rather bland and overpriced for what you got. Fresas, a block away, is a much better place all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best meal in Austin! Creative and delici ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best meal in Austin! Creative and delicious. Friendly and prompt service. Cute restaurant decor. Only drawback is that it is a bit noisy, but that's because everyone there was having a good time and enjoying themselves.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the food. Lobster bisque was yum ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I loved the food. Lobster bisque was yummy. The scallops were tasty. A bit too loud, I'm 59. Maybe for the younger crowd is ok. The service was prompt and very pleasant. The wait was perfect, we had reservations for 7pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was absolutely delicious. Service ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious. Service was exceptional - I believe our server was Marissa. It's a beautifully decorated restaurant. Best lunch experience we've had in a while. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lost its appeal. This was our fifth or ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Lost its appeal. This was our fifth or sixth visit and found all dishes wanting. Especially the rice , which was tasteless. What happened??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food and service. We ordered e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. We ordered everything to share amongst 6 ppl. Too many things to remember which were favorites. Got great recommendations from knowledgeable server and enjoyed all of it. Only criticism is that it is very noisy....ppl at one end of table could not be in same convo w/ppl at other end.

Tags: , Tapas, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exciting and innovative menu. Each entr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Exciting and innovative menu. Each entree is paired with different salads/vegetables with unique flaovrs and fresh herbs. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

While visiting Austin, we arranged a din ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

While visiting Austin, we arranged a dinner with alumni friends that were living locally. This restaurant was on nearly everyone's list, so we were very excited to have our dinner there. The drink list was great, and recommendations from the servers were actually delicious. We had oysters, crab-guac, lobster tacos, and mushroom roulettes as appetizers for the table... there was not a speck left of any of those... each were unique and very tasty.

I had the pork carnitas for dinner, and that verde sauce was perfect, as were the refried white beans (a first for me), but I did not indulge in the tortillas. The enchiladas were an all-around favorite as was the ribeye.

Highly recommend this spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started our meal with today's special- ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Started our meal with today's special- Mussels with mole. We didn't like the flavor of mole, bland. For the entree, we ordered shrimp & crab relleno and Achiote Salmon. Both had really good flavors, love the rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.