About Alcomar

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Latin-inspired seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

The new eatery is called Alcomar – a Latin Coastal Kitchen – and features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from Latin America’s coastlines.

Alcomar - Mariscos y Más

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN & MON: 11AM - 9PM
TUES - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI & SAT: 11AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Brunch: Every day 11AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Austin
Seafood
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Great for Lunch (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Authentic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Meals that you won't find anywhere in Au ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 11 hours ago

Meals that you won't find anywhere in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome food. I highly recommend the lob ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined a day ago

Awesome food. I highly recommend the lobster enchiladas and shrimp and crab rellino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They forgot our appetizers, we had to wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

They forgot our appetizers, we had to wait additional time for that. The waitress told me that the dish I ordered was dairy free, then delivered it to my table and proceeded to tell me that it had heavy cream on the side dish. Brought me potatoes instead, then asked me why, in front of the entire table why I didn't finish them and if I wanted to take them to go.

Irritating.

Parking is minimal, had to park down the street.

Overall, I'll go back because what I could eat was great, the experience just needed improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It is soooo loud in there. But... the fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It is soooo loud in there. But... the food & drinks were delicious The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food and service, but customer ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food and service, but customer noise level so loud you can't hear each other talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Although being very attentive the staff ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Although being very attentive the staff never made us feel rushed . We were able to enjoy a delicious meal and relaxed conversation with friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I highly recommend this restaurant for a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant for all occasions and for its original cuisine!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, thank you Alma! Great ambi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food, thank you Alma! Great ambiance, just really loud, hard to hear across the table on a Saturday night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The decor is great, very "Mexican beach" ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The decor is great, very "Mexican beach". The food was good. But after this second visit to Alcomar, we won't be returning. It was dinner before a performance of the symphony on a Friday night, the location is good for the Long Center although parking is a real problem. The noise level will keep us away. We were there by 6 pm and the restaurant was already quite full, which is great for the restaurant. However, we couldn't carry on a conversation with our friends. I am a fan of Chef Alcomar and enjoy eating at El Alma. Surely something could be done about the noise level in the restaurant. I am sorry to not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

A friend and I stopped by Alcomar for ha ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

A friend and I stopped by Alcomar for happy hour last week and were very impressed! The restaurant itself is beautiful, with an ocean-theme and lots of natural light streaming through the windows. We had a reservation but it didn't seem necessary as there were only a few other patrons when we arrived around 5:30. Our server took a little bit longer than necessary to bring us water and drinks, but after that she was very attentive.

We ordered the Ceviche Verde, Mushroom Gorditas, and the Wood Grilled Calamari.

The Ceviche Verde was very fresh and tasty, not too spicy at all and the jicama provided a nice crunch to the otherwise soft fish and vegetables.

The Mushroom Gorditas were also delicious, although the tostada itself was a bit soggy by the time it got to our table and was falling apart. We ended up having to eat this one with our forks.

The Wood Grilled Calamari was probably our favorite, the smoky flavor was unique and an interesting twist on typical calamari, and we ate every last bite!

I also tried their House Frozen Margarita, and it was both delicious and strong!

Would definitely recommend coming here for happy hour, we were both happy and full and only spent about $20 a piece.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

while the food and personal are friendly ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

while the food and personal are friendly the ability to clean the table prior to bringing our main dish is not there... why waitress does not get the point to clean the table first remove finished plates prior to bringing more... ? Just use a little bit of logical thinking please

Thanks

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

All six in our party loved the ambiance, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

All six in our party loved the ambiance, drinks, food and location. We'll be back, Alma. Thank you for a fabulous dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic....as always!!!!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Fantastic....as always!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood with a Mexican twist. Sign ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great seafood with a Mexican twist. Signature cocktails were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Alcomar was wonderful. It was the perfec ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Alcomar was wonderful. It was the perfect place to catch up with a good friend and have a healthy dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Healthy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Will be back soon!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing food. Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have enjoyed this restaurant whether w ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have enjoyed this restaurant whether with a large party or just dinner for two. Both food and service are consistently excellent. They have reasonable happy hour discounts on drinks and food items, and the dinner menu offers a wide variety of entrée choices to please just about everyone. Compared to the many other great restaurants in that vicinity, they will not disappoint. .. a good choice anytime.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chargrilled oysters were great. Din ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The chargrilled oysters were great. Dinner entrees not as great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My friends and I had a lovely evening to ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My friends and I had a lovely evening together. We all ordered different dishes and everyone was delighted with her choice. Our server was most attentive and knowledgeable. One of my friends has Celiac disease and she was able to find more than one choice. Be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is excellent and I am looking forwa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is excellent and I am looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and Service. Took the who ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fantastic food and Service. Took the whole family out for dinner and everything from the hostes, ambient and food was great. We ordered Ceviche, Pozole and Lobster Enchiladas and had to share it all because it was so good.

I really have no complaints other than to make you aware that it's a very noisy place, it's an old building in South First so it can be pretty echoe and loud. We did find ourselves somewhat screaming across the table to speak to each other. Just something to consider for a date night or something similar seeking some quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and awesome service. Happy ho ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and awesome service. Happy hour is daily from 3-7 pm and it's pretty dang good. I can't wait until I have my baby so I can try some of their margaritas and cocktails. Definitely a must go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service started off a bit slow but picke ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service started off a bit slow but picked up. Food was delicious and not a bit ordinary. Drinks were good. Loved the pumpkin seed habanero dip. Plan to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Delicious! Have been here several times ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious! Have been here several times and have never been disappointed. Love the calamari, cebiche, salmon and lobster tail. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alcomar was excellent, once again, this ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Alcomar was excellent, once again, this being my 10th time? to dine. I came with serious foodies from Houston, and they loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere. We went durin ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. We went during happy hour, which was great because most appetizers were on happy hour.

The cheesecake was amazing! Good way to end the meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The entrees were great, but the oysters ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The entrees were great, but the oysters seemed a couple of days past fresh - no liquor and the gills were dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Fun menu with lots to choose from and th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fun menu with lots to choose from and the waitstaff is attentive without hovering. The bar list is small but gets the job done. Parking is limited, so share a cab.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were told when we walked in that the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were told when we walked in that the reservation that we made through OpenTable didn't register in their system, even though I had a confirmation email.

Generally were treated rudely by the front of house. Our server was nice, and the food was fine.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

It was all fantastic!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was all fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for a double birthday with our fam ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came for a double birthday with our family. Great food, great service. Happy hour fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We got seated quickly. The food select ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We got seated quickly. The food selections were large. The service was slow, but worth waiting for; because, the food was wonderful! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Have dined at alcomar fairly frequently ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have dined at alcomar fairly frequently since we discovered it. We love the food and the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we first walked in, we almost turne ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

When we first walked in, we almost turned around and walked out because the noise level was so high. We decided to stay and try the food. We had to yell to hold a coversation. Service was ok. They didn't clear plates right away and the server forgot what drink I had ordered. The food was so so. My fried plobano still had the stem on so my first bite was pulling pieces of the hard stem out of my mouth. The drinks were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Must get the wood grilled oysters to sta ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Must get the wood grilled oysters to start!! I've been with a small group of 6 and it was great and also went with my parents and they loved it as well! Dressy casual. Great atmosphere. Wonderful cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good appetizers. Happy hour prices ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good appetizers. Happy hour prices a plus. Great service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Alcomar is a under publicized treat. Ha ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alcomar is a under publicized treat. Handcrafted cocktails, great service and wonderful food. Always a treat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pleasant decorations gave way to a noisy ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pleasant decorations gave way to a noisy environment. Drinks were frivolous & fun. Food was pleasantly different from the usual Tex-Mex, with a Yucatan flare. Chicken Mole was excellent, and the plantains & saffron rice were done to perfection! Only downfall was the salmon, which was fresh & tasted great, but was undercooked. Mgt kindly offered a free dessert, but we passed the offer. Overall worth the higher $$$, for a nice evening out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Nice change of pace from typical seafood ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Nice change of pace from typical seafood place. Good flavors with good specialty drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were excited to try Alcomar although ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were excited to try Alcomar although I had heard both good and not-so-good things about it. We were seated promptly - but oddly at a long table for 6 or 8 and there were only 3 of us and several smaller tables open. We ordered margaritas which initially tasted good but quickly became watery from all the ice if you didn't drink them quickly. Our appetizers were fine but the ceviche was tiny and had more jicama than fish. Our waitress forgot to bring us their version of chips and salsa but did so when we asked. The grilled oysters were reportedly good and the grilled calamari was fine but not memorable. I ordered a Wagyu flank steak medium-well. I got a chunk of terribly overcooked, tough, and flavorless meat. I have never seen flank steak like this before. I should've sent it back but I often hesitate to do this - my fault there. At any rate, I ate just a few bites and told our waitress when we asked for the bill that it was very overdone. She said that she had noticed that as well and then spoke to her manager. (Not sure why she didn't say anything to me when she originally noticed it). We divided our bill one third/two thirds as we were with a single friend and they kindly gave us a discount for my dish but oddly, split the discount between my husband's and my bill and that of our friend. So she got a discounted bill for my bad meal! Odd way to handle that to say the least. My flank steak was $31 and came with some fried potatoes that were just your basic side. I will say that my husband said that his fish was good and my friend liked her lobster enchiladas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.