About Alcomar

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Mexican Seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

Alcomar features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from each of Mexico’s coastlines.

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN: 10AM - 10PM
MON - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI: 11AM - 11PM
SAT: 10AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM - 3PM

Weekend Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Catering:
We provide catering to any scale event you mat be planning, for example, holiday parties, wedding receptions, family celebrations, or corporate events. Catering includes pick-up, delivery and full service on site. Let our friendly and experienced staff create an exceptionally memorable occasion for you and your guests.

catering@alcomaratx.com

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building at the corner of Mary and S 1st Street. We have valet parking Thursday nights, Friday nights, all day Saturday and Sunday morning. There is more parking available in the neighborhoods on either side of S 1st Street.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for a Date (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fun (18)
Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Authentic (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Bar Seating (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Tapas (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fun and great but rich food! Our waiter was precious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was great, but when serve was not hot. On the patio the noise from 1st street was very loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

the calamari salad is outstanding. as are margaritas, oysters!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My Neice came to visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

very mediocre, rude hostess, food is overpriced, would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First time at Alcomar. Intrigued by menu and history of how the restaurant was established. Great choice for our anniversary dinner. The lobster enchiladas were amazing! Eclectic selection of apps and drinks too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We love this place! The team is fun, energetic and friendly. Of course the flavors are phenomenal too.

They recently installed sound buffers on the ceiling. You don't see them and they dramatically reduced the noise level! Give them another try if you found that annoying pretty iously.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

いつの間にかキッチンがクローズし、追加注文できなくなる。
エビとカキのフリッター、レタスとチーズのサラダが旨い。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall it was great - food and service - the only negative was that we were seated right next to restrooms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome place! Gabe was our waiter and if possible get seated in his area. Genuinely nice guy and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Another wonderful evening at our neighborhood favorite

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

the cebiche tasted super fishy and stunk. have had this dish before and it was great. fish was obviously bad this go round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We go here often and really enjoy the specials. Tonight it was scallops that were prefect. I do not care for scallops but my husband loves them. We are coming back for the scallops this weekend. Great food, drinks and friendly staff make a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food & service for a party of 11! Will be back soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a lovely meal at Alcomar, decided to try based on proximity to where we needed to be later in the evening, the menu we looked at online, plus Yelp reviews. I was expecting delicious seafood and Alcomar delivered. The wood grilled calamari dish was so good - tender calamari with delicious flavors and smokiness, served with grilled bread to soak up the broth. We had the lobster enchiladas and the scallop dish for entrees, would recommend both. Topped off with the chocolate tort and coffee for a perfect ending.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was a great experience. All the plates were delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything on the menu looked so good, it was hard to choose. I ended up choosing the lobster tail tacos. They were on the appetizer menu, but the portions were enough for an entree and they were delicious! I will definitely be a regular customer!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

the snapper entrée with mole sauce was fabulous. The verde ceviche was not as good. the spices and olives totally overpowered the fish, which was already in short supply. The crunchy texture of the jicama did not fit with the ceviche.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The room is pleasant, and the food is very good. My husband and I both liked it, and, with friends, we are going back for the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Cozy little place with great ambiance. We had a dinner for 2 on a Thursday, not too crowded, but they still stuck us in the corner. (even with a reservation) We were excited about the menu, and maybe the expectations were part of this restaurants downfall. We ordered drinks, and my wife ordered the lobster enchiladas and I had the Red Snapper. Both dishes were "okay", but neither was "good". My fish was cooked perfectly, but had zero flavor? It came with butternut squash, which consisted of literally 4 small 1/2 inch cubes of the vegetable. My wife's dish wasn't any better. The service was so-so as our waitress was dealing with a large party, so that's understandable. All in all, for the price and the food, we won't be coming back to Alcomar again... sad to say.

*got home from dinner and received an email from OpenTable asking why we didn't show up for our reservation at Alcomar? Apparently the restaurant put us as a no-show?! Seems about right...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We have dined here several times and we really love it here! The food is stellar, creative, fresh and delicious with beautiful presentation. The staff is very friendly and attentive! The margaritas are great!! We will continue to come back and bring our friends and family!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reminds me of a mix of Perla's and El naranjo on Rainey. Was an amazing experience full of oysters and seafood and mole. The staff was so welcoming, and we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food - great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

1st time visitors (party of 4).

Friendly hostess greeting, good wait staff coordination.

Ceviche had nice heat; flameado mojo crab was a hit.

Mains: lobster enchiladas, relleno stuffed with shrimp & crab, red snapper -- well presented and enjoyed.

Peruvian bean coffee with desert was a nice finish.

Recommend to friends + planning a return brunch & weekday lunch visit.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food & menu ! The free valet parking is super convenient. The restaurant wasn't that crowded, but still service was noticeably slow. Still, I definitely plan on going again, just not when I don't have a lot of time.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, great service! My friends and I were meeting to catch up and we wanted nice Mexican food, not Tex-Mex. Alcomar did not disappoint. My crab chile relleno was spicy, but not too spicy. The shrimp pozole one of my friends ordered was rich and delicious. My other friend ordered the chicken with mole and it was PERFECT mole! Oh, and the queso flameado was so good we were scraping the cast iron!
Our server was so gracious and helpful and she helped make it a perfect evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great staff and awesome food! Love the ambience. Very accomodating with our food requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was delicious from the appetizer to the dessert. We all four ordered different main dishes and we all loved them. I got the trout special-- delicious! Katie, our server did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great seafood - lots of unique options. Several of the apps shared make a good meal for a small group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My clients were really impressed by the menu and drink options. The food was amazing and overall a great night!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Took some good friends there for dinner--it was their first visit and they were impressed with the food. Brings an interesting seafood focus to the string of Mexican restaurants on S. 1st St. Drinks and service were great.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Really great experience! Food was really good, waiter super nice..a little bit noisy. But it was my 4th time there and I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food as always. My favorite restaurant in Austin. However, beware the house margarita. It's very strong and will knock you on your rear!! I haven't felt so drunk on one drink in years.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed Alcomar very much. I can't believe we haven't been there before. It is now on our "go to" list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We met to celebrate our Lunar new years and had a lovely time. All our foods were very good and our waiter was super! I hope this year will be as good. Thanks,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service was a bit spotty, but the cocktails, meal, and ambiance were all terrific. I'd be happy to go back and hope for a more attentive waitress.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food with friendly staff willing to answer any questions about the menu. Did not enjoy the fishy smell as we were leaving the restaurant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was awful! I was disappointed that we spent my birthday here and spent so much money on bad food. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the decor but I wouldn't recommend this establishment to anyone. I was looking for place to celebrate my birthday with good food and drinks. But neither satisfied me or my company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had the mushroom gorditas (delicious!) for the appetizer. I got the Trout with mole verde and my husband got the Achiote salmon. Both the entrees were fantastically cooked and delicious! The atmosphere was a tad loud but overall a great date night spot with yummy food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.