About Alcomar

1816 1st Street
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

For years, El Chile Group owner Carlos Rivero has dreamed of opening a Latin-inspired seafood concept, unique to Austin. After a recent excursion to South America to join his sister on a culinary tour of several countries, Rivero had a revelation – timing was perfect to make his seafood dream a reality. Already positioned on South Austin’s burgeoning restaurant row, Rivero decided the building at 1816 South 1st St (formerly El Chile #2) was the ideal space to house his upcoming project.

The new eatery is called Alcomar – a Latin Coastal Kitchen – and features cuisine from co-executive chefs Alma Alcocer (of El Alma) and Jeff Martinez (of El Chile). “Alcomar” is a conflation of the two chefs’ last names, but also speaks to the coastal aspect of the menu with “mar,” the Spanish word for “sea.” Together, Alcocer and Martinez have devised a menu sampling regional flavors, ingredients, and dishes from Latin America’s coastlines.

Alcomar - Mariscos y Más

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
SUN: 10AM - 9PM
MON: 11AM - 9PM
TUES - THURS: 11AM - 10PM
FRI: 11AM - 11PM
SAT: 10AM - 11PM

Happy Hour: Every Day 3PM - 6PM

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM - 3PM

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 11AM - 3PM

Cross Street:
Mary St W

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 401-3161

Website:
http://www.alcomaratx.com/

Catering:
We provide catering to any scale event you mat be planning, for example, holiday parties, wedding receptions, family celebrations, or corporate events. Catering includes pick-up, delivery and full service on site. Let our friendly and experienced staff create an exceptionally memorable occasion for you and your guests.

catering@alcomaratx.com

Parking Details:
Parking on the street or our lot surrounding the building at the corner of Mary and S 1st Street. We have valet parking Thursday nights, Friday nights, all day Saturday and Sunday morning. There is more parking available in the neighborhoods on either side of S 1st Street.

Executive Chef:
Alma Alcocer-Thomas & Jeff Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alcomar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for a Date (31)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (19)
Fun (18)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Healthy (11)
Tapas (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The room is pleasant, and the food is very good. My husband and I both liked it, and, with friends, we are going back for the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

Cozy little place with great ambiance. We had a dinner for 2 on a Thursday, not too crowded, but they still stuck us in the corner. (even with a reservation) We were excited about the menu, and maybe the expectations were part of this restaurants downfall. We ordered drinks, and my wife ordered the lobster enchiladas and I had the Red Snapper. Both dishes were "okay", but neither was "good". My fish was cooked perfectly, but had zero flavor? It came with butternut squash, which consisted of literally 4 small 1/2 inch cubes of the vegetable. My wife's dish wasn't any better. The service was so-so as our waitress was dealing with a large party, so that's understandable. All in all, for the price and the food, we won't be coming back to Alcomar again... sad to say.

*got home from dinner and received an email from OpenTable asking why we didn't show up for our reservation at Alcomar? Apparently the restaurant put us as a no-show?! Seems about right...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

We have dined here several times and we really love it here! The food is stellar, creative, fresh and delicious with beautiful presentation. The staff is very friendly and attentive! The margaritas are great!! We will continue to come back and bring our friends and family!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reminds me of a mix of Perla's and El naranjo on Rainey. Was an amazing experience full of oysters and seafood and mole. The staff was so welcoming, and we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food - great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

1st time visitors (party of 4).

Friendly hostess greeting, good wait staff coordination.

Ceviche had nice heat; flameado mojo crab was a hit.

Mains: lobster enchiladas, relleno stuffed with shrimp & crab, red snapper -- well presented and enjoyed.

Peruvian bean coffee with desert was a nice finish.

Recommend to friends + planning a return brunch & weekday lunch visit.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food & menu ! The free valet parking is super convenient. The restaurant wasn't that crowded, but still service was noticeably slow. Still, I definitely plan on going again, just not when I don't have a lot of time.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, great service! My friends and I were meeting to catch up and we wanted nice Mexican food, not Tex-Mex. Alcomar did not disappoint. My crab chile relleno was spicy, but not too spicy. The shrimp pozole one of my friends ordered was rich and delicious. My other friend ordered the chicken with mole and it was PERFECT mole! Oh, and the queso flameado was so good we were scraping the cast iron!

Our server was so gracious and helpful and she helped make it a perfect evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great staff and awesome food! Love the ambience. Very accomodating with our food requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was delicious from the appetizer to the dessert. We all four ordered different main dishes and we all loved them. I got the trout special-- delicious! Katie, our server did an excellent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great seafood - lots of unique options. Several of the apps shared make a good meal for a small group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My clients were really impressed by the menu and drink options. The food was amazing and overall a great night!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Took some good friends there for dinner--it was their first visit and they were impressed with the food. Brings an interesting seafood focus to the string of Mexican restaurants on S. 1st St. Drinks and service were great.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Really great experience! Food was really good, waiter super nice..a little bit noisy. But it was my 4th time there and I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food as always. My favorite restaurant in Austin. However, beware the house margarita. It's very strong and will knock you on your rear!! I haven't felt so drunk on one drink in years.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed Alcomar very much. I can't believe we haven't been there before. It is now on our "go to" list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We met to celebrate our Lunar new years and had a lovely time. All our foods were very good and our waiter was super! I hope this year will be as good. Thanks,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food with friendly staff willing to answer any questions about the menu. Did not enjoy the fishy smell as we were leaving the restaurant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was awful! I was disappointed that we spent my birthday here and spent so much money on bad food. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the decor but I wouldn't recommend this establishment to anyone. I was looking for place to celebrate my birthday with good food and drinks. But neither satisfied me or my company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had the mushroom gorditas (delicious!) for the appetizer. I got the Trout with mole verde and my husband got the Achiote salmon. Both the entrees were fantastically cooked and delicious! The atmosphere was a tad loud but overall a great date night spot with yummy food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My family celebrated my father's birthday at Alcomar and it was perfect. The food is delicious and the ambiance is cozy. Our server Jason was awesome. It was our first time dining here and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I love this place for lunch or dinner, but not so much for brunch. Limited brunch menu and not very exciting. However, all the seafood is excellently prepared and unique so it is very delicious and fun for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Greeter was terrible. Sour facial expression. Food & service was great. Greeter ruin the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great time had by all, service was impeccable. Menu interesting. All the food was delicious. We had the ceviche, the chorizo quest, the calamari. Non fried calamari is a nice find. Would recommend the restaurant to a friend and would come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Super drinks and food. There were inventive items on the menu and not your standard fare as well as creative cocktails. The staff were very attentive and at least appeared interested in what we had to say and our requests ...haha...no eye rolling. Very nice place and I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently excellent. I've never had a bad meal. Delicious latin twist to seafood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Tapas, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great as always. Good drink and excellent pasole and fantastic service.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We took a good friend in from out of town and Alcomar was over the top as usual! Alcomar is always innovative in their menu. The service is excellent and they remember you after your second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The ambiance and decor were lovely, however the food left something to be desired with little flavor in both the appetizers and main course. Creative and delicious beverages so would recommend just for happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Brilliant food. Complementary valet. Great service. Yummy margaritas.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is an upscale Latin seafood themed restaurant with creative fusion overtones. When exploring a new restaurant, we often start with soup and/or salad (both here), then have an assortment of appetizers for our main meal. This allows us to sample more examples of the cuisine than just one entree would. We focused on crab, lobster, oyster and shrimp, and we were not disappointed. A simple baked queso appetizer with home made corn tortillas offered great flavor and substance towards the end of the meal. The sopapillas cheesecake was fabulous for desert.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I brought two friends from Phoenix in for dinner. They could not stop raving about the food well into the next day. The cocktail of the day was perfect for the freezing weather that night as was the entreé. Everyone enjoyed the dining experience. Service was great, as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great cocktails, tasty and well portioned appetizers, and delicious entrees. The atmosphere was perfect for a casual date night and the service was excellent. We made it for happy hour, which included discounts on drinks and apps. I recommend the Mezcal Mule, Ceviche Verde, and the Chocolate tarte for dessert- heavenly! We also had the lobster enchiladas, which were good too. We were very impressed and enjoyed every sip and bite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was my second trip to Alcomar in one week, and it was just as good the second time around. This time we went for brunch, and I highly recommend it. The patio was perfect and I appreciated that the full menu was available in addition to the brunch menu. We got the gorditas, the butternut squash omelet, and the avocado toast; all were excellent. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Superb attention to detail by the service staff! The food was fresh, creative, and extremely good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great drinks, excellent drinks! Very accommodating for our large group of 16!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ceviche is the bomb! I could eat it all day. The ribeye steak my husband ordered was cut a little thin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great authentic Mexican flavors without the pretension and blandness of some other high-end Mexican restaurants in Austin. No kids' menu available, but our little ones were happy with the queso flameado with hanger steak on the side - perfect for several DIY quesadillas and tacos.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Alcomar is a great place for a drink and dinner. Hip vibe and laid back feel. All their food is prepared with care. Usually go for happy hour but dinner never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fabulous dinner on Christmas Eve. Great service and amazing food. Will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was our first time and we are foodies. The food, bar, service and ambience were great! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our food and service was great! We all had different things and everyone was very pleased! Loved the valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

So In Love with Alco.ar6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went to Alcomar to celebrate our 11th anniversary. I made a note about it on our reservation and the staff very kindly sat us at a "quieter" table in the back. The restaurant was incredibly loud... so loud we had to yell at each other from across the table and by the time we left, I was so thankful to be out of there. That being said, I appreciated the staffs attempt to give us a quiet, romantic table away from the main eating area, and it was definitely quieter there. Our server was waiting on a large party, so she wasn't as attentive as she could have been. At one point, she forgot a dessert menu, but we were stuffed anyway. She did a good job overall. The food was delicious. We had queso, chicken mole and carnitas. I had two margaritas and they were amazing. I would definitely recommend Alcomar. The food was amazing and we love the S. 1st area. Great location with plenty of parking. We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food and drink. Consistently good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Best find in a long time. Wood fired oysters are heavenly. Had the shrimp enchiladas and crab cake salad. Both were Devine. Our new favorite was the "chips and salsa" they brought to the table! Definitely a nice surprise and easily a reason to return...they are that addicting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Awesome food!! Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had eaten in the restaurant once before and thought the food was excellent. This time it was all right, but not much more. The service was good, but we left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had dinner and drinks. Loved the red snapper, ahi ceviche, and mezcal toddy. The server was very attentive to our table...good ambiance and vibe. Owner even stopped by to check in on us. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.