About Alberto's Ristorante

71416 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Alberto's is a hidden gem serving local residence and international celebrities for the past 34 years. The intimate dining room gives you the feeling that you are in a lovely home or private club. The cozy cocktail bar, friendly service, authentic Northern Italian Cuisine makes Alberto's a must.Featured menu items are homemade Ravioli, Gnocchi, Manicotti, and Cannelloni, Veal dishes,such as our world famous Osso Buco,double broiled veal chop. Several Signature dishes consists of veal rapallo, veal garibaldi and Chicken Pappagallo. Also serving fresh white Fish, scampi and prime steak. We look forward to serving you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Country Club Dr. and Indian Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 346-3221

Website:
http://www.albertos-ristorante.com/

Parking Details:
There is free parking on the street or you may leave your car with our valet.

Public Transit:
Across the street is a public bus stop.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining is not always available during peak season. During non peak season, we can see if there is availability.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Pagliari: 7603463221x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alberto's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.5

ambience

2.5

value

2.3

noise

Moderate

33% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Italian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Rancho Mirage ›

Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
80 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Restaurant was nearly empty and food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Restaurant was nearly empty and food was only so so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Food was excellent. Atmosphere was some ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was excellent. Atmosphere was somewhat disappointing as our party was one of only three parties in the restaurant, as it was closing for the season. Too quiet. Could not hear the background music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

We are in town for a quick getaway weeke ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We are in town for a quick getaway weekend! We give every restaurant a chance but, this was B-A-D from the start. We enter at 7:30 AM - total of 3 others tables taken. First, sign! A gentleman, very nice - seats us and tells us Juan will be our waiter. We had brought a nice bottle of wine (keep in mind). We sit and Juan, who clearly has a bad attitude - came over - states he is opening the wine - why ask!? - he's just doing it! We acknowledge he pours mine then my husbands glass, leaves. After 10 minutes brings bread with butter, leaves! Ok, we'd like some water!?!? I get his attention and ask Juan for some sparkling water - he brings it puts the bottle on the table with lemon & lime -leaves! Ok, maybe see if my husband wants water!?!? After we flag him down pours my husband a glass of flat water. Finally, Juan returns bad attitude and all - as if we are inconveniencing him by even wanting to order. Now, reviews - overall, are good, we are overlooking Juan and really anticipating this "incredible, out of this world Italian dinner!" Not to mention my husband is Italian! We order appetizer: Prosciutto with Melon (PM) & Tomato & Mozzarella (TM). The PM was good, can't go wrong, TM - mozzarella was good but used beefsteak tomatoes they were too big, altogether ok start. I order Manicotti & my husband Veal Scallopini, first my sauce was literally salsa- tasted like Mexican Salsa - NO JOKE! My husbands had NO flavor, ZIP! His spaghetti sauce - same flavor like a Mexican red salsa. We were ready to scream! Was this a joke!? Then the bill, we see a bar charge for $30!? We ask &they state the corkage is $25! Huh, what! Not even Mastro's charges that! The waiter tells my husband, he just works here, talk to a manager, my husband - tells him that is a ridiculous charge! Juan says, then don't come back! WHAT!? Really!? Just save yourself the disappointment & go to the Edge steakhouse or find another Italian Restaurant! Not worth it, who likes place & food???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Sorry to say restaurant is back in the 5 ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Sorry to say restaurant is back in the 50's. Staff was friendly food fair. We would have walked out but a little embarrassing to get up very few people in restaurant. Old and stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Best food in town

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Best food in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Veal Garibaldi To Die For

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My dining group of three has been to Alberto's a half dozen times now and we have always found our ordering choices to be quite tasty--sometimes just good, sometimes really, really, rave worthy good. This trip we thought the food was the best it has ever been. Our entrees, the Chicken Alberto, Fettuccine Pesto, and Veal Garibaldi were all outstanding. I, in particular, will recommend the Veal Garibaldi. And the side of spaghetti was phenomenally fresh and savory. The service was a tiny bit on the gruff side, but gruff with love. We had a blast and are looking forward to our return again soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Alberto's delivers

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

This was the 2nd time we were here in 5 weeks. it was always on our bucket list, but out of site out of mind. If you like great Italian food, this is a must. You can tell it has been around for decades. They have it perfected, when it comes to quality food and service. We will continue to visit here often when in the Palm Springs area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful intimate restaurant with excel ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Wonderful intimate restaurant with excellent food .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tucked away in an unexpected location, A ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Tucked away in an unexpected location, Albertos is worth finding. The northern Italian food is well prepared - veal rappallo medallions were tender and flavorful. My husband is not a big pasta eater, but he ate all of his with shrimp. the wine list is reasonably priced and we had a lovely experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

one of the best

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Our group of 8 were treated like royalty. Excellent service, varied and delicious cuisine - we all raved about it. Extensive and reasonably priced wine list. Not the place for al fresco dining, but if you crave a warm, inviting environment, i don't think you can find a better restaurant in the valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My parents used to dine here always until one night the owner told them that because my father was in a wheel chair, he was a fire hazard and his patronage was not welcome any longer. So for twenty plus years, I have avoided dining there because of their rudeness. So last Saturday , I came with two of my friends and found out that their son was now in charge and actually saw a woman in a motorized wheel chair at the restaurant. Made me very happy. The food was wonderful. Our waiter was a little stiff. But bottom line. I'll be going back again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Italian Food in the Desert

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Alberto's was recommended by a good friend who is Italian and has lived in several major cities. He describes Alberto's as his favorite Italian Resturant. I cannot disagree. Do not go if you are looking for fancy; it is not. Go if you want superb, flavorful Italian quisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was exceptional and service very at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was exceptional and service very attentive...great small restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fine dining occassion

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Our latest visit to Albertos was a good as we anticipated. We had a warm welcome from the staff, and made a good start with a bottle of Prosecco. The dinner itself was delicious. It's so nice that the portions are not enormous, so we had room for desserts. We always dine at Albertos when we are in Palm Springs - we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alberto's

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Alberto's is a charming - old style - resto. Food was really good,except the escargots, they were not in the 'original style' Bourgignon, with just herbs, garlic and butter, they were quite nicely done but not authentic. But everything else we had was very good. Would be nice if there were more of a choice for GLASSES of wine, not only bottles. All in all though a very pleasant experience, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed in quality and preparation of food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Unless an upgrade in food is in the offing - just an ole has been joint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great find.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We loved this restaurant The food is great and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Local spot with great food

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Local Italian restaurant with great food and service. Romantic old school "Mad Men" type decor makes for great martini's. Loved it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old world Italian cuisine and service

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

This restaurant is reminiscent of old Italian restaurants in San Francisco. Fantastic food and excellent service. We are repeat customers and have never been disappointed. My husband loves the tomato and onion salad and the manicotti was excellent. Nice to patronize a restaurant that has kept it's standards high. It is like visiting old friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times and have always enjoyed good food and service. We were looking forward to a romantic evening with good food and wine - but were very disappointed with the poor service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We frequent Alberto's every time we are ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

We frequent Alberto's every time we are visiting Palmsprings .

The eggplant Parmesan and the of the veal dishes will not disappoint . All of the entree are served with pasta on the side.

We always request Jose as our server he and Is wait team always give impeccable service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional Old School Italian

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Among the best Italian food I have had anywhere in the world, including Italy. Everything is excellent on the menu, especially the veal parmesian and the homemade pasta. Fantastic osso buco! And all of the desserts are outstanding. Terrific service in a quiet, elegant atmosphere. Everything is done right!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall nice place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

The food and ambiance were pleasant but not as good as other Italian restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pricey. Good pasta dishes. Cold ambiance.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Ambiance was cold. Made us move our car because the totally empty parking lot was for valet parking only. Hostess ignored our request to be seated away from chilly entrance door although the place was empty at the time. The food ranged from bad to delicious. Strachiatella soup tasted like hot water but the pasta courses were excellent. Conolli was old, cold and very hard inside. Glass of pino grigio wine was icey cold and poor quality. Staff was busy speaking loudly and constantly to each other in Spanish, over our heads, paying very little attention to us. I felt like we were interrupting them. I was searching for a warm and friendly Italian Mom and Pop place. Not here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

New Year's Eve dinner with friends

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Alberto's is one of our favorite restaurants in the desert not only for its delicious dishes but also because of its more intimate atmosphere. However, for the first time, this year we have noticed some slipping in service and food quality such as the salad greens aren't crisp, and house wines not up to standard. I had a dinner of veal scallopini with peppers which was delicious, but meager in portion which isn't the usual case. We will probably return to see if our favorites will still be as good as we remember them .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Cant wait to go back!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 7, 2015

Definitely old world, even the very nice server. It's a little musty, but forgot all about it once we sat down. The food was amazing! Their marinara is lighter, more flavorful and better than any we've had - even in Italy! If you dine early, it's nice and quiet, the later the louder as the tables are closely spaced. Can't wait to go back and have the authentic caesar for two and try another veal dish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Our new favorite Palm Springs Resturant

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

We have been visiting Palm Springs once a year for the past 20 years, and have enjoyed many amazing meals in the valley. I found Albertos on open table and made reservations for our group of eleven, someone from the Resturant called me to confirm and they easily accomadated our large group. Three of the eleven of our group said that it was the best Italian meal they had ever had. Personally I have been on a world wide search for the best spaghetti and meatballs, and Albertos has pushed Il Mulino in Fort Laurdale into second place. Our waiter was a safistacated older gentleman who paid close attention to detail and made us feel we were the only table in the Resturant. Another nice touch and reminiscent of a 1970s Midwest supper club, the owner stopped by at our table to see how our meal was. We were all full at the end of the meal but reluctantly ordered desert after hearing the deserts on the menu including the spumoni were home made. This was one of the very best dinning experiences I have had in recent memory.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OLD SCHOOL ITALIAN

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Alberto's has been in business for 35 years and not much, if anything, has changed. That's a good thing! Classic Italian dishes and dark and cozy décor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Favorite!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

This has become our favorite Italian Ristorante in the Valley. Food is authentic Italian, good ambiance and excellent service. We've not been disappointed yet.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Our Veal dishes were expertly prepared. The presentation good; service was attentive. The Gnocchi was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Past Its Prime?

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

On a Friday, 7:30 PM the restaurant was nearly empty. Service was OK, though a little dour. Faded, tired ambiance. My husband's fettuccine alfredo was pasta floating in a tasteless, milky liquid. My cannellonis were rolled in the expected crepes but the filling was tasteless and ground to a mush. Both the food and the restaurant need a complete refurbishing, even the exterior, to bring back the style and class it must have had many years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Wonderful!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Excellent ambiance and authentic Italian food. Waiters are attentive. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not good

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

food was very bland

service was good

food and ambiance was not

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Very disappointed

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

The restaurant was comfortable but the staff seemed overly tired. The hostess was fine until after we were seated and then proceeded to talk to other staff about sports or other subjects that could easily be overheard by customers (when there should have been no talking). There were no greens for a salad other than for a Caesar salad. The bread was 'cheap." There were few vegetable choices and the broccoli was very al dente and the waiter said that was all the kitchen could do.

We chose two veal entrees. Unfortunately, the veal was tough and required a knife to cut it-not so at most other Italian restaurants in the area. Prices were moderate though the food didn't justify them. We didn't realize that this was the last night of the season for this restaurant and we believe that everyone was just ready to leave for the summer. We would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

So so service

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

Food was good Italian, but, somewhat overpriced. Waiter was slow, and missed a salad order on one of our party of 3 (I witnessed the order). This would have been ok except for his response when called on it ("No, you didn't order a salad.")

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The waiters are not nice and don't care.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

The help has been there too long and are tired of helping guests. Also menu is old and same as it was 30 years ago. This place needs to be gutted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Sophisticated

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 18, 2015

Once again, a delicious meal with great service. All four people in our party were delighted with our choice of restaurant. From the calimari to the Chicken Alberto dinner, I was on top of the world. Everyone loved their salads, and then ate vociferously their choice of Chicken Garibaldi. (yes, they will substitute the veal with the chicken, if requested).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and atmosphere. We bring all ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

Great Food and atmosphere. We bring all our out of town guest here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unhappy Customer

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

Nothing exciting, food, presentation and staff friendliness just average. Would not recommend nor do I expect to revisit any time soon. Many other better restaurants in Valley. Found staff to be very cold and and felt like they were doing me a favor in having them serve us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Cant wait to go back.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

Excellent food. We had delightful service from Din. Robert attends to the needs of all his patrons. Do your self a favor and go!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.