About Alberto's Ristorante

71416 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Alberto's is a hidden gem serving local residence and international celebrities for the past 34 years. The intimate dining room gives you the feeling that you are in a lovely home or private club. The cozy cocktail bar, friendly service, authentic Northern Italian Cuisine makes Alberto's a must.Featured menu items are homemade Ravioli, Gnocchi, Manicotti, and Cannelloni, Veal dishes,such as our world famous Osso Buco,double broiled veal chop. Several Signature dishes consists of veal rapallo, veal garibaldi and Chicken Pappagallo. Also serving fresh white Fish, scampi and prime steak. We look forward to serving you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Country Club Dr. and Indian Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 346-3221

Website:
http://www.albertos-ristorante.com/

Parking Details:
There is free parking on the street or you may leave your car with our valet.

Public Transit:
Across the street is a public bus stop.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining is not always available during peak season. During non peak season, we can see if there is availability.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Pagliari: (760) 346-3221

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Alberto's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (9)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Romantic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The restaurant services good traditional Italian food.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Consistentry serves high qauality authentic Italian cuisine. From appetizer tp dessert...worth the trip!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This was our 4th time at Alberto's and we had friends in from Florida that enjoy great Italian food. Alberto's did not disappoint us and we had wine that was reasonably priced and delicious dinners. the veal dishes were particularly great with very tender veal and just the right amount of pasta as a side. The outside of the restaurant is nothing to speak of and actually hard to notice but inside is old world Italian décor. Most of the staff have been there for a very long time so they are very knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Am outstanding Old School Italian restaurant, been going there for 20 yrs, never disappoints, Den the waiter makes you feel like part of the family, as well as Tommy the bartender.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Old time Italian restaurant with old time waiters who seemed to have been there for years! Sat next to people whe frequent this place from as far away as a good 40 minute drive.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This was reccomended to us as an excellent restaurant. The food was very good, but the staff was not very attentive. I had to ask the waiter twice for water and also asked the bus boy for water also.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This restaurant probably hasn't changed much in 37 years. Is hey cozy old-school Italian restaurant catering to the older crowd in Rancho Mirage The food was very good and so was the service We were the youngest people in the place and we are 50s and 60s.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been eating at Alberto's for several years but saw a noticeable difference at dinner last nite. The Caesar salad was skimpy and watery. The whitefish was thin and overlooked. A sauce was brought to the table but it was too late to remedy the dry fish. The seafood pasta was filled with rubbery seafood which leads me to believe it was not fresh. Dinner was a big disappointment as Alberto's was always high on our list of places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Top 3 Italian restaurants in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Have been eating there for years. Always good food and service

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Retro to my childhood outside NYC; warm and inviting with attentive wait staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I always love Alberto's. Very authentic Italian restaurant. There are several semi private tables in the front that are fun for a group of 4 or more...I enjoyed everything bout Alberto's on my last visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Tasty food prompt service but this restaurant urgently needs a refresh

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Been going for years on special occasions, this time New Years Eve, but think the pricing is starting to get a bit over the top, $23 for plate of cannelloni, no sides or go withs, then $12 for a bar scotch on the rocks.

Food and service still very good!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was way to salty !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good, waiter was bad. Took long time to take order. Then never saw him again. Busboy did everything else. Brought food, ask how dinner was, asked if we needed anything else and even brought check and took payment. One of the worst waiter ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

DH wanted Italian for his birthday dinner and found Alberto's on Open Table. We really enjoyed our experience there. I noted his birthday on the reservation and asked for a nice table. The hostess led us (party of 3) to a corner booth where we could hear each other talk and watch the rest of the restaurant patrons enjoying their meals (a favorite pastime of mine).

Although our waiter was initially brusque (the place was packed), we all warmed up to each other quickly. He was very attentive to us and the other tables he was serving. The food was delicious, but my main course of sausage and peppers was too heavily salted. There is nothing wrong with the pasta sauce, but it had too much oregano for my taste - one of our tablemates thought it was fantastic (but salty), so that's a personal preference. Our calamari appetizer was terrific and more than enough for two to share. Dessert was a tiramisu on the house, with a birthday candle. DH was tickled pink. We hope to return some day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent Service and Food.... a GEM in RM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We're never disappointed when we go to Alberto's. We live in Houston and visit Palm Springs a couple of time a year. We always ask for Din, the best waiter ever!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A great find. Historic and very traditional. Loved the Caesar salad prepared on a cart near our table. Warm, inviting atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The restaurant is very old and rather shabby. Food was ok but turn us off immediately in the area to choose from like Mimmo's. The odor of cooked broccoli hit us in the nose when we walked in which helped turn us off right away!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Main entrees very good. Caesars salad for two was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great classic Italian cooking....wonderful service.

Don't miss!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Restaurant was nearly empty and food was only so so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was excellent. Atmosphere was somewhat disappointing as our party was one of only three parties in the restaurant, as it was closing for the season. Too quiet. Could not hear the background music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We are in town for a quick getaway weekend! We give every restaurant a chance but, this was B-A-D from the start. We enter at 7:30 AM - total of 3 others tables taken. First, sign! A gentleman, very nice - seats us and tells us Juan will be our waiter. We had brought a nice bottle of wine (keep in mind). We sit and Juan, who clearly has a bad attitude - came over - states he is opening the wine - why ask!? - he's just doing it! We acknowledge he pours mine then my husbands glass, leaves. After 10 minutes brings bread with butter, leaves! Ok, we'd like some water!?!? I get his attention and ask Juan for some sparkling water - he brings it puts the bottle on the table with lemon & lime -leaves! Ok, maybe see if my husband wants water!?!? After we flag him down pours my husband a glass of flat water. Finally, Juan returns bad attitude and all - as if we are inconveniencing him by even wanting to order. Now, reviews - overall, are good, we are overlooking Juan and really anticipating this "incredible, out of this world Italian dinner!" Not to mention my husband is Italian! We order appetizer: Prosciutto with Melon (PM) & Tomato & Mozzarella (TM). The PM was good, can't go wrong, TM - mozzarella was good but used beefsteak tomatoes they were too big, altogether ok start. I order Manicotti & my husband Veal Scallopini, first my sauce was literally salsa- tasted like Mexican Salsa - NO JOKE! My husbands had NO flavor, ZIP! His spaghetti sauce - same flavor like a Mexican red salsa. We were ready to scream! Was this a joke!? Then the bill, we see a bar charge for $30!? We ask &they state the corkage is $25! Huh, what! Not even Mastro's charges that! The waiter tells my husband, he just works here, talk to a manager, my husband - tells him that is a ridiculous charge! Juan says, then don't come back! WHAT!? Really!? Just save yourself the disappointment & go to the Edge steakhouse or find another Italian Restaurant! Not worth it, who likes place & food???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Recommended by others. Met our expectations. Italian food great. Nice small local restaurant without tourists.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Sorry to say restaurant is back in the 50's. Staff was friendly food fair. We would have walked out but a little embarrassing to get up very few people in restaurant. Old and stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Best food in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 1, 2016

My dining group of three has been to Alberto's a half dozen times now and we have always found our ordering choices to be quite tasty--sometimes just good, sometimes really, really, rave worthy good. This trip we thought the food was the best it has ever been. Our entrees, the Chicken Alberto, Fettuccine Pesto, and Veal Garibaldi were all outstanding. I, in particular, will recommend the Veal Garibaldi. And the side of spaghetti was phenomenally fresh and savory. The service was a tiny bit on the gruff side, but gruff with love. We had a blast and are looking forward to our return again soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 25, 2016

This was the 2nd time we were here in 5 weeks. it was always on our bucket list, but out of site out of mind. If you like great Italian food, this is a must. You can tell it has been around for decades. They have it perfected, when it comes to quality food and service. We will continue to visit here often when in the Palm Springs area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Wonderful intimate restaurant with excellent food .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Tucked away in an unexpected location, Albertos is worth finding. The northern Italian food is well prepared - veal rappallo medallions were tender and flavorful. My husband is not a big pasta eater, but he ate all of his with shrimp. the wine list is reasonably priced and we had a lovely experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2016

Our group of 8 were treated like royalty. Excellent service, varied and delicious cuisine - we all raved about it. Extensive and reasonably priced wine list. Not the place for al fresco dining, but if you crave a warm, inviting environment, i don't think you can find a better restaurant in the valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 6, 2016

My parents used to dine here always until one night the owner told them that because my father was in a wheel chair, he was a fire hazard and his patronage was not welcome any longer. So for twenty plus years, I have avoided dining there because of their rudeness. So last Saturday , I came with two of my friends and found out that their son was now in charge and actually saw a woman in a motorized wheel chair at the restaurant. Made me very happy. The food was wonderful. Our waiter was a little stiff. But bottom line. I'll be going back again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Alberto's was recommended by a good friend who is Italian and has lived in several major cities. He describes Alberto's as his favorite Italian Resturant. I cannot disagree. Do not go if you are looking for fancy; it is not. Go if you want superb, flavorful Italian quisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was exceptional and service very attentive...great small restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Our latest visit to Albertos was a good as we anticipated. We had a warm welcome from the staff, and made a good start with a bottle of Prosecco. The dinner itself was delicious. It's so nice that the portions are not enormous, so we had room for desserts. We always dine at Albertos when we are in Palm Springs - we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2016

Alberto's is a charming - old style - resto. Food was really good,except the escargots, they were not in the 'original style' Bourgignon, with just herbs, garlic and butter, they were quite nicely done but not authentic. But everything else we had was very good. Would be nice if there were more of a choice for GLASSES of wine, not only bottles. All in all though a very pleasant experience, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Unless an upgrade in food is in the offing - just an ole has been joint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We loved this restaurant The food is great and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Local Italian restaurant with great food and service. Romantic old school "Mad Men" type decor makes for great martini's. Loved it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 7, 2016

This restaurant is reminiscent of old Italian restaurants in San Francisco. Fantastic food and excellent service. We are repeat customers and have never been disappointed. My husband loves the tomato and onion salad and the manicotti was excellent. Nice to patronize a restaurant that has kept it's standards high. It is like visiting old friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times and have always enjoyed good food and service. We were looking forward to a romantic evening with good food and wine - but were very disappointed with the poor service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 25, 2016

We frequent Alberto's every time we are visiting Palmsprings .

The eggplant Parmesan and the of the veal dishes will not disappoint . All of the entree are served with pasta on the side.

We always request Jose as our server he and Is wait team always give impeccable service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Among the best Italian food I have had anywhere in the world, including Italy. Everything is excellent on the menu, especially the veal parmesian and the homemade pasta. Fantastic osso buco! And all of the desserts are outstanding. Terrific service in a quiet, elegant atmosphere. Everything is done right!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2016

The food and ambiance were pleasant but not as good as other Italian restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Ambiance was cold. Made us move our car because the totally empty parking lot was for valet parking only. Hostess ignored our request to be seated away from chilly entrance door although the place was empty at the time. The food ranged from bad to delicious. Strachiatella soup tasted like hot water but the pasta courses were excellent. Conolli was old, cold and very hard inside. Glass of pino grigio wine was icey cold and poor quality. Staff was busy speaking loudly and constantly to each other in Spanish, over our heads, paying very little attention to us. I felt like we were interrupting them. I was searching for a warm and friendly Italian Mom and Pop place. Not here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Alberto's is one of our favorite restaurants in the desert not only for its delicious dishes but also because of its more intimate atmosphere. However, for the first time, this year we have noticed some slipping in service and food quality such as the salad greens aren't crisp, and house wines not up to standard. I had a dinner of veal scallopini with peppers which was delicious, but meager in portion which isn't the usual case. We will probably return to see if our favorites will still be as good as we remember them .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.